About Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel

604 Brazos St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

The legendary Driskill Grill serves exquisite modern American cuisine Tuesday through Saturday. The Driskill Grill is a Four Diamond rated restaurant and is repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin. The Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. The Driskill Grill uses locally sourced products, seasonal ingredients and cutting edge menu choices which create a truly memorable dining experience.

The Driskill Grill has received numerous awards and accolades including the coveted Foder's Choice Award, Zagat's ranking of "Extraordinary to Perfection" and OpenTable's Diners Choice Award. Wine Spectator, America's leading wine appreciation magazine has honored The Driskill Grill with their "Award of Excellence 2011."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Happy Hour in the Bar: Daily 5:00pm - 7:00pm, and all day Sunday

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 391-7162

Website:
http://www.driskillgrill.com/

Entertainment:
The Driskill Grill and Driskill Bar have live music Tuesday - Saturday offered in the Lounge starting at 6:00pm and ending at 11:00pm.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for all guest at a discounted rate through the Driskill Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Troy Knapp

Private Party Facilities:
The Chisholm Room is the historic private dining room accommodating groups of up to 35 People. Reservations are required for this room and special audio visual needs are available.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Singleton: (512) 391-7178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come celebrate Valentine's Day with us! We will be offering a 5-course prix fixe menu with the option to add sommelier selected wine pairings with each course.

Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Historic (18)
See All
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is beautifully decorated ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant is beautifully decorated and brings you back in time. The food was delicious and the staff made you feel special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with our experience at ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were delighted with our experience at the Driscoll. The wait staff was cordial, friendly and efficient. The food quality was outstanding, cooked and displayed to perfection. We were asked up front if we had any food allergies which we are gluten free. To our surprise, they served gluten free bread. Normally we just have to bypass the bread basket and the meal was prepared with that in mind. We couldn't have been more delighted by or experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish the experience can ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From start to finish the experience can be summed up in one word. Excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just amazing! We did the 5 course meal. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just amazing! We did the 5 course meal. Every course they brought out was better then the last.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second Christmas dinner at the Drisk ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our second Christmas dinner at the Driskill and again a perfect dining experience. Staff is friendly yet professional. My son is a graduate of The Culinary Institute of America and he was again impressed with the presentation and the wine pairing. A wonderful dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nobody told us it was a fix menu. Very, ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nobody told us it was a fix menu. Very, very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our server was absolutely top notch. Ver ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server was absolutely top notch. Very professional. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew was great waiter and brought us e ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Andrew was great waiter and brought us each a complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary, and he also bought us each a Mexican martini on him! Hostess (Chris?) was very nice and gave wife a rose. Everyone was wonderful!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The maitre'd and server were excellent. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The maitre'd and server were excellent. The food was good if a little esoteric. Expecting a bit more out of the steak. The risotto and Brussels sprouts were excellent. The steak tartare was good but not what I expected from the description. It was a hamburger looking concoction, I was thinking more carpaccio. Great ambiance. Not the menu for most kids.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I get it that it is in a historic venue, ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I get it that it is in a historic venue, but seriously not affordable for many. Sure if your single and hanging out with friends and you only have to pay for yourself, but forget it if your feeding your family. Two hundred dollars (including tip and two glasses of wine). Menu emphasis is not for Joe Public and certainly not kids. Our 20 yr old, non-beef/fish eater, tried to get by with a salad and side. Sadly, that was overdone in a "electric, fashionable way" and was a a bust.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was great and ambiance was perfect ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was great and ambiance was perfect for a date night dinner before going to listen to a show. Will certainly come back again for more.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the 5 course tasting menu with ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We tried the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. It was outstanding in every way and was a good value. The service was outstanding, very professional yet warm and friendly. We've always loved the bar, but it had been a while since we tried the restaurant. We will happily return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal but not great like I thought i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good meal but not great like I thought it would be especially for the amount of money I paid for it. Glad I went but don't feel the need to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely outstanding. Everyth ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was absolutely outstanding. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 5:30 and were the only din ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We arrived at 5:30 and were the only diners inside the restaurant. Our opening service was pleasant but really dropped off after a couple of tables were filled. The beef carpaccio was delicious. But kale Salad was flavorless. The entrees were ok.... The Pan Roasted Sea Bass was dry and over cooked served over a sloppy, taupe-colored couscous. Steak, duck and lamb were good, but very small potions. Didn't get to order dessert. They brought menus, but we waited 15 minutes to order and were ready to just leave. Kind of disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fantastic 5 course tasting menu with win ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic 5 course tasting menu with wine. Chef even adjusted menu for my friends meal preferences. And the wine pairings were wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Driskill Grill was a great place to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Driskill Grill was a great place to have a business meeting. The atmosphere is serious, pleasant, historically Texan, and unabashedly upscale. Menu features contemporary culinary takes on classically Texan cuisine, all of it of superior to superlative quality. Outside is the lobby bar, which is more causal and, on a busy night, raucous -- but the Grill is enclosed in glass and the live music and revelry from the lounge does not intrude on the fine dining atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fabulous experience. We decided o ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a fabulous experience. We decided on the 5 course tasting menu for our dinner. Wowed us completely!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had their 7 course price fix Thanksgivin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had their 7 course price fix Thanksgiving meal. I had traditional turkey with the sides. Very good but a tad short on gravy. Wife had the short ribs and the sides. She enjoyed it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Thanksgiving dinner, 5 course ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving dinner, 5 course tasty and beautifully presented and served. Memorable oldies playing in the background. A very pleasant afternoon.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the Traditional Thanksgiving ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for the Traditional Thanksgiving Feast. It was anything but a feast or traditional. The food was off the wall and terrible. I could not believe they could charge $85 person for what they put on the table representing one of the finest historic hotels in Austin. I found out later that the Capital Grille as well as Ruth's Chris were serving "traditional" Thanksgiving dinner for half the price. I will never go to the Driskill to eat ever again. Do what you do well and stay away from Thanksgiving.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

My boyfriend and I went to the Driskill ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to the Driskill last night to celebrate my birthday. We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. It's pricey and best for special occasions but was very worth it. The food was delicious- especially the filet. The meal and wine pairing were planned out perfectly and service was great. We liked the vibe out at the bar and had fun exploring some of the history of the hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Driskill Grill provided an outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Driskill Grill provided an outstanding experience -- the food was exquisite, the service was outstanding, and the ambience was everything I could have hoped for. This was a special occasion, and the restaurants did all of the little extra things that made for a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME birthday for my wife!!Will recom ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

AWESOME birthday for my wife!!Will recommend to all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our filets were outstanding and flavorfu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our filets were outstanding and flavorful, cooked to perfection. The grits are not to be missed, and the risotto was lovely. Wonderful place for a special family celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful place for our family's' birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful place for our family's' birthday dinner. Especially appreciated the quiet sedate atmosphere and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What a fabulous place!! Steak dinner was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a fabulous place!! Steak dinner was amazing! Fantastic service!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Noise from the bar was distr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food! Noise from the bar was distracting and didn't make for a good romantic dinner since we could barely hear ourselves talk. But will recommend for the good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food mediocre and service worse. Disapp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food mediocre and service worse. Disappointed based on the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The ambiance was the only missing factor ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The ambiance was the only missing factor, I felt the lighting could have been dimmed for a 8:00pm dinner. TI'd suggest having some light music in the dinning room, and toning down the lights to make it feel more romantic. Additionally, the lounge area was also very noisy and you could hear them when the doors would swing open -- but again it was the F1 crowd.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing meal, service and staff. Perfect ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing meal, service and staff. Perfect for celebrating a special event.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was plesant but t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Overall the experience was plesant but the service was unacceptable for the reputation and the price point of the Driskill. Our steaks were not cooked to order, actually flat wrong, where the entrees were exchanged between the guests.

The bill was incorrect, where we were overcharged, and we did not receive attendance after the meals were served until a significant time later.

I did not find the steaks flavorful or memorable.

The restaurant needs to change the carpeting as there is a funk smell and carpet is outdated.

The restaurant is difficult to access for people with physicial disabilities.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had the Lockhart quail and it was delici ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Had the Lockhart quail and it was delicious. Only problem was everything was over salted. The bread, quail,vegetables all way too much salt.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience overall, had a few comm ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great experience overall, had a few communication issues that were ultimately resolved. Always impressed with the tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Old Texas setting with food that ranged ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Old Texas setting with food that ranged from excellent to good +. In the latter category was my sort-of tasty dry-aged Wagu ribeye that was far less tasty than those I buy from Whole Foods and others of like source. In the former were the salads and new potatoes (cold on the first try but fabulous upon revisit to the kitchen). Service was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A perfect Birthday dinner!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

A perfect Birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated immediately for our reserved tim ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Seated immediately for our reserved time. Sat for over 45 minutes while the waiter took care of two other tables. There were no other people in the restaurant ( this should have been a sign). Ordered drinks that never came. Finally got up and left . It doesn't matter how good the food is if you get bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We went to the the Driskill Grill for ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went to the the Driskill Grill for our 46th wedding anniversary. Given its reputation we expected to have a very good experience with excellent food. From the moment we sat down we were an interruption to our waiter, who was rude, short, and basically unpleasant. When my $60 dollar ribeye came it looked and tasted like a piece of round steak. My wife's lamb was as bad. Both entres were warm and the quality of meat is better at Outback for less than a quarter of the price. We will never go back and will let everyone we know aware of the bad food and bad service. After talking with others here in Austin our experience is not unusual at the Driskill Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The Driskill experience is more than the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Driskill experience is more than the restaurant, which is gorgeus, but also includes walking around the hotel. The restaurant features just outstanding decor, and is worth seeing in its own right. The food is excellent, but the portions are small. Extensive wine list. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and attentive service.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.