About Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel

604 Brazos St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

The legendary Driskill Grill serves exquisite modern American cuisine Tuesday through Saturday. The Driskill Grill is a Four Diamond rated restaurant and is repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin. The Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. The Driskill Grill uses locally sourced products, seasonal ingredients and cutting edge menu choices which create a truly memorable dining experience.

The Driskill Grill has received numerous awards and accolades including the coveted Foder's Choice Award, Zagat's ranking of "Extraordinary to Perfection" and OpenTable's Diners Choice Award. Wine Spectator, America's leading wine appreciation magazine has honored The Driskill Grill with their "Award of Excellence 2011."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Happy Hour in the Bar: Daily 5:00pm - 7:00pm, and all day Sunday

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 391-7162

Website:
http://www.driskillgrill.com/

Entertainment:
The Driskill Grill and Driskill Bar have live music Tuesday - Saturday offered in the Lounge starting at 6:00pm and ending at 11:00pm.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for all guest at a discounted rate through the Driskill Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Troy Knapp

Private Party Facilities:
The Chisholm Room is the historic private dining room accommodating groups of up to 35 People. Reservations are required for this room and special audio visual needs are available.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Singleton: 512-391-7178x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
Romantic
Austin
7 More
Special Occasion
Austin
Contemporary American
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Contemporary American
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (38)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (16)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went during the week and it was very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went during the week and it was very empty, but the food, wine and service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

After trying out all the "new trending e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

After trying out all the "new trending eateries" we decided to give the Driskill another visit since it has been a long while since we last went. I have to say it was a wonderful and delicious choice. We were greeted warmly and personally. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of not just the menu items and it's preparation but also of the wine list. We shared the steak tartar and the peach salad. The attention given to the sharing of the plate did not go unnoticed - they weren't just split in half, they were portioned out and presented to the mirror image of each other. I had the Venison and my husband had the duck. Both dishes we tend to stir clear of outside restaurants not focused heavily on game. Both dishes luscious. We dont eat dessert so we opted for coffee and port - a perfect ending to a fabulous dinner. It is also worth mentioning that probably because there was fabric around (linen table clothes, carpeting, drapes etc.which absorbs the noise of a full dining room) we were able to talk comfortably to each other without having to shout across the table or lean in to be heard. It was a pleasant and welcomed change to not have to talk over the table next to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Gre ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Great Austin restaurant not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was simply fantastic. From th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place was simply fantastic. From the door, the hostess (Chris) was charming and welcoming. The wait staff was professional, knowledgable and warm. The food was unparalleled...I had the venison and my wife had the sea bass. The chef sent out something special for dessert to boot. I WILL be dining here again when I return to Austin. A+!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd like to see chefs get past the "deco ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I'd like to see chefs get past the "deconstructed" trend. It's old news, and not very good.

The Driskill Grill is elegant in appearance, and the staff is quite friendly. We did not find the food particularly good, except for the soft shell crawfish appetizer. The Wagyu beef had gristle in it, not fat, gristle...which I could not believe. It's a lovely place with great history, but the kitchen and Grill and wait staff need a bit of attention, in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Restaurant looks spectacular. Very roman ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant looks spectacular. Very romantic. Service was great. Most of the food was good, but my wife's main entree was very disappointing. Room temperature ribeye over cold mush. Even if it had been executed correctly, it would have been interesting, at best. My venison was very good, however, and so was the grilled peach salad and chocolate dessert. Overall, everything was too salty, and definitely overpriced. It was a good way to celebrate our anniversary, but we wouldn't go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The food and service was some of the bes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and service was some of the best I've had . . . anywhere. The arctic char and peach salad were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best dining experience I've had in q ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in quite a long time. The waitstaff was very attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent. We were disappointed to learn that the dish my boyfriend ordered was not available, however, the steak more than made up for it. I had the duck. It was tender and flavorful. We overdid it with desert. I ordered the Chocolate Terrine, he had the Creme Brulee. The Chocolate Terrine was almost too rich. I would suggest sharing this desert. We will definitely return to the Grill.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic staff made our engagement nigh ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic staff made our engagement night really special! Great 5 course dinner, and they took care of all the small details to make it a great lasting memory!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easily one of the best dinners I've ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Easily one of the best dinners I've ever had. We ordered the five course tasting menu, which was absolutely delicious. Not a single course was a disappointment. On top of that the wait staff was very attentive and polite. There were three waiters/waitresses taking care of our table and they timed the dinner perfectly. I also never had a moment where I had to wait to order another cocktail. At the end of the dinner they brought out a trio of the amazing desserts for my grandmother who was celebrating her birthday. Overall it was just an amazing experience. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions as there is no detail left unattended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our last night at the hotel so we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was our last night at the hotel so we decided to try the Driskill Grill. We sat at a lovely table that we later found out was LBJ's table. Who knows if it's true but it did make for a good story. I had a Lady Bird cocktail in honor of our table. It was delicious. Our waiter was terrific the right amount of chatty and helpful with great suggestions but gave us our privacy too. The meal was outstanding. One of the best steaks I've ever had, really flavorful and done to perfection. My husband splurged on the 10 oz with foie gras and was not disappointed. It's not an inexpensive meal but the quality, service and atmosphere make it perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 43rd anniversary and as we wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was our 43rd anniversary and as we walked in to the restaurant we were greeted by our names and given a glass of champagne. We choose the six course meal and it was fantastic. At the end they presented us with a beautiful creme brûlée with Happy Anniversary written on the plate. All of the hotel staff were exceptional and the hotel and rooms live up to it's stellar reputation. Put this historic, unique, beautiful hotel on your bucket list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Driscoll Hotel Grill--Austin

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We decided to try Driskill after visiting it a few years ago. We knew it would be on the more expensive side but also that it has a fantastic history attached to it and Texas. We had heard and seen on line reviews of the Grill and that we would be treated to a memorable dining experience. We were not disappointed. We each had the 5-course chief choice meal, from soup and salad to dessert. Service was great as was each presentation. We took our time (almost 2 hours) and enjoyed each course. If you go you can offer ala carte but you do get a better "bang for your buck" ordering as we did. (You can also order a 7 course). Dress is smart casual but we saw a variety of attire. If you want a special dining experience this can be your spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent formal dining for our 30 weddi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent formal dining for our 30 wedding anneversary celebration

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old fashioned special restaurant with a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Old fashioned special restaurant with a fascinating history and terrific food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rates as one of the WORST dining experie ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Rates as one of the WORST dining experiences I've ever had. I'm a local Austinite who doesn't mind paying for good service and food. Dinner started with our waiter introducing himself and we thought we were on our way to professional, attentive service at this upscale expensive historic restaurant . After we ordered we barely saw him, or anyone else unless we flagged them down. There appeared to be 1 hostess, 3 busers and 2 waiters who literally looked the other way when we were trying to get service. No one checked to see whether our food was prepared correctly or we needed something, therefore our only recourse was to literally wave our arms to get attention so we could get any service! Manager showed little or no concern. Great way to enjoy this celebration night... FOOD: 1/2 hour for bread, kale salad over dressed so too sweet, caesar salad small on lettuce, chef palate cleansing with NO explanation of what they were putting in front of us (food allergies people!), steak so cold the butter on top wouldn't melt at all, 4 steaks with no accompanying sauces offered (didn't realize waiter messed this up until end of dinner) cauliflower steak and arctic char cooked well and tasty. Chocolate dessert yummy, creme brulee not so much. We were a party of 8 so tip was set, could this be part of the problem?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was great. I wasn't as sold on ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was great. I wasn't as sold on the bordelaise sauce for the steak as the server seemed to be, though. The major drawbacks were the service. The hostess welcomed us with a happy anniversary, but that was the last of it. We were sat right next to the door which adjoins the bar in what was a mostly empty dining room to the restaurant and the settings were right next to each other instead of across from each other. None of the service staff acknowledged our anniversary and none seemed particularly pleased to be there. We had high hopes for a special evening but were disappointed overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We went to the Driskill Grill for our 1s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to the Driskill Grill for our 1st wedding anniversary dinner. The service and food were fantastic. We had a great time and would definitely come back. The restaurant looks great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! We celebrated our daughter's c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing! We celebrated our daughter's college graduation on Friday night (May 20th). Everything was exceptional! From the moment we entered the restaurant, through the delicious meal with wine, to the attentive service, to the congratulatory macaroons for the graduate, the entire evening was spectacular. Everyone contributed to make this a very special occasion for our family celebration. Thank you ever so much!! Leesa & Roger Flora (Atlanta, GA)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service befitting the status of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service befitting the status of this wonderful hotel!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first time going to the Driskill. Our reservation was for 5:30 PM (opening time) and we were the first to enter. Our waiter was friendly and engaging when we first arrived. However after we were given the menus it was quite some time before he returned to take our order. The food was great (steaks are outstanding) . After eating, it took a long time to clear our plates. At one point in time the waiter came by and touched my plate as if to pick it up, but left to go move tables. Dessert menus were offered, but no one came by to see if we wanted anything. Finally I flagged down the manager and asked for our bill. IT took another 30 minutes for them to ring up the charges and give us the credit card back. Granted, the restaurant got busy really fast, I still don't think that accounts for the service. Oddly enough, I would go back. The food was that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Usually, the meat gets all my focus in a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Usually, the meat gets all my focus in any meal, but the salads and side dishes were also amazing. Kudos to the chef and the locally-sourced produce to convince me to enjoy cauliflower (roasted with chorizo) and a grilled kale salad. I could have made a meal of the smoked blue corn grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was a special occasion, our wedding party, and our wait staff, Charles and Brittany, was exceptional. The restaurant is beautiful and the food was excellent. The Driskill was recommended by friends who are locals. It was the perfect choice.

Thanks so much for the great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Night Out

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My fiancé and I were celebrating the 1 year countdown until our wedding (April 22, 2017) with a special date night at the Driskill since this is also the wedding venue we have chosen.

We were greeted immediately upon sitting down by who I believe to be the manager. He handed us each a glass of champagne and congratulated us on our upcoming wedding! It was so kind and set the dinner off to a perfect start.

We ordered the soft-shell crawfish for an appetizer and each ordered a filet as our main course. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious! We noticed some live music and fun happening in the bar area. So after finishing our dinner we decided to hang out in the bar area and listen to the music and have another drink.

Absolutely perfect date night! We cannot wait to get married there next Spring!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, but pretty pricey.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good, but pretty pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Special night was great

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Celebrating our wedding anniversary. They gave us a champagne toast and dessert, all unexpected. Nice touch. Great service all around. Glad we came to celebrate.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special service was awesome they read my ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Special service was awesome they read my notes and upon being seated we were handed a special drink for my husband's birthday and they greeted my son and acknowledged he was home from college in DC and greeted his girlfriend acknowledging she was from Ireland.

Everyone loved the mashed potatoes and duck. We really liked the small size of the restaurant. Will come again!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Old Time Austin Gem

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The Driskill is an Austin classic that also stays modern with their food. The service is impeccable and the food is delicious. I've been eating their for many years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner. Beautiful ambience. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Beautiful ambience. Started with the mussels- divine. Shared the wedge salad. Had a wonderful ny steak with bordelaise sauce on the side. Enjoyed the mash and Brussels sprouts with it. Nice wine list. Always enjoy dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Big changes

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The menu has changed greatly & not for the better. Not much to choose from. Brandon wa a great waitperson but I guess they were short staffed when we went & he had an abundance of tables to wait on. I was somewhat disappointed in our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Poor Experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

We had a Wednesday evening reservation for four persons. There was ample seating available.

We ordered appetizers and wine immediately, and these were served quite promptly, and were

decent enough. We placed our main course entrees at the same time, and then waited nearly an hour for them to be served. They were delivered nearly cold. They were returned, and came back just warm. At these menu prices, this is simply not good enough.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

NOT WORTH IT! ESPECIALLY ON VALENTINES DAY

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I MADE A RESERVATION AHEAD OF TIME FOR VALENTINES DAY AND CHECKED THE WEBSITE FOR THE MENU TO SEE WHAT TO EXPECT FOR MENU AND PRICING. I WAS EXPECTING TO PAY ABOUT $150 FOR THE EVENING BASED ON THE ONLINE MENU, AND SAW PARTICULAR ITEMS THAT MY DATE WOULD ENJOY. WHEN WE ARRIVED, WE RECEIVED SET-PRICED MENUS FOR $125 PER PERSON WHICH DID NOT INCLUDE THE ITEMS I HAD IN MIND FOR MY DATE. THIS WAS NOT MENTIONED AT ALL TO ME BY THE DRISKILL WEBSITE OR OPEN TABLE. IT WASN'T MENTIONED WITH THE RESERVATION ANYWHERE EITHER. I RESERVED ALMOST 2 MONTHS IN ADVANCE WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN AMPLE TIME TO GET NOTIFICATION OF A SPECIAL MENU. I HAD EVEN CHECKED THE DRISKILL WEBSITE THE DAY BEFORE MY RESERVATION. I ASKED THE WAITER FOR THE REGULAR MENU, AND HE REPLIED THAT IT WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE EVENING. I WOULD HAVE LEFT BUT DID NOT WANT TO MAKE A BAD IMPRESSION ON MY DATE. THE BILL CAME OUT TO BE $325, MORE THAN TWICE WHAT I EXPECTED. ON TOP OF THIS, MY TENDERLOIN WAS NOT AT ALL CLOSE TO THE VALUE FOR THE PRICE. I'VE HAD BETTER TENDERLOIN FROM ALMOST ANY OTHER STEAKHOUSE IN AUSTIN. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH BOTH DRISKILL AND OPEN TABLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not recommended, especially for special occasions

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I reviewed the menu in mid-January when I made a reservation for Valentine's Day. At that time the food selections were excellent, and I knew that the menu changes on regular basis, which was no problem. However, rather than a full menu, the restaurant chose to offer a "special Valentine's Day" menu at a set price of $125 per person, which included 7 courses but a very limited selection and no appetizers--bad idea. I was expecting to spend more than $200, no problem, but was also expecting a full menu. The food was nothing outstanding for an upscale restaurant, but was fine and I give it a 3. The service, however, was beyond unacceptable. I won't go into detail about that, though. Also, the menu said that a 20% gratuity would be added to parties of 6 or more, which is understandable, but the 20% was added to our bill even though there were only 2 of us. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Romantic

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I loved having a corner all to myself with my date, I just wish we could've been able to sit next to each other without the big wood column separating us. Still, we had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed our meals. I'd definitely recommend the restaurant to other couples for a fancy dinner on the town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Hotel with a great restaurant!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The hotel was absolutely breathtaking. We enjoyed reading the history of it. The room was recently remodeled but the authentic era was preserved. The room was clean and quiet. The restaurant was also beautiful and the food amazing. We had fillets that were cooked medium rare to perfection. The meat was flavorful and tender. I had the roasted cauliflower soup that was rich and yummy. I would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LisaLovesDining

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The Driskill Grill could have been fabulous. High quality food mostly well prepared was served slow and only warm upon arrival. The room has great architectural elements but the table clothes, curtains and staffs' attire needed ironing. The Mussel appetizer made the mark. The caesar salad with toasted capers and a truffle slice was nice. As a noted side the brussell sprouts were flavorful with good texture. The prime strip steak was medium rare on one end and medium on the other. I was hopeful for The Driskill Grill and its wonderful history, but hopes for a memorable Austin meal were dashed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but expensive

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Even with great service and very good food, it's just too expensive except for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was like eating cold Banquet Food

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Staff:

Hostess was pleasant and informative.

Waiter was attentive and informative.

Food:

App: Soft Shell Crawfish was good, but not very warm.

Salads: Caesar Salad was over salted and I could not finish. Pear/Pecan Salad was good.

Entrees: Lamb and Butcher Block Ribeye were tough and it seems like they may have sat out a while before they were served because the meat was served at near room temperature. The Ribeye Brown Sauce and Foie Gras on the Ribeye was cool to the touch, but had good grill markings.

Sides: Brussels Sprouts were the only item that were served warm. Maybe they were cooked last and the other food waited on them to be completed. The mashed potatoes had a runny consistency, but maybe that is the style. We liked the brussels sprouts, but did not care for the runny mashed potatoes.

Dessert: I do not remember the menu names, but we ordered two and the choc mousse type dish was excellent.

I brought up the saltiness of the salad while we were eating it, and it was taken off the bill without having to make that request. I am thankful for that credit, but it was definitely not required. The fried capers may have been the cause of the super salty flavor.

After a few bites of our main entrees my wife and I both were disappointed in the texture and temperature of our meal. We did not mention this to the server since we already complained about our salad, but we only had a few bites each and decided to move on to dessert since it was her birthday dinner and we wanted to just enjoy the evening.

We enjoyed our dessert and after dinner drinks and paid our check with a 20 percent tip. What really inspired me write this review was that, the very next evening we dined at a competing similar scale-fine dining restaurant in the downtown area and had an amazing experience with hot food. Our experience at the Driskill Grill was fair at best, and I would not recommend risking $180 per person to see if you might get hot food during your experience.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

There for New Years Eve. Worth the dini ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

There for New Years Eve. Worth the dining part as a preamble to the music portion outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wedding /New Year's Eve Dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I made reservations at the Driskill grill for my after wedding dinner. This happen to be on New Year's Eve and the menu was planned out. $125 per person 5 course meal. Was excited as I had never had a 5 course meal. The food was awful! Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.