Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel

The legendary Driskill Grill serves exquisite modern American cuisine Tuesday through Saturday. The Driskill Grill is a Four Diamond rated restaurant and is repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin. The Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. The Driskill Grill uses locally sourced products, seasonal ingredients and cutting edge menu choices which create a truly memorable dining experience.

The Driskill Grill has received numerous awards and accolades including the coveted Foder's Choice Award, Zagat's ranking of "Extraordinary to Perfection" and OpenTable's Diners Choice Award. Wine Spectator, America's leading wine appreciation magazine has honored The Driskill Grill with their "Award of Excellence 2011."

604 Brazos St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Happy Hour in the Bar: Daily 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 391-7162

Website:
http://www.driskillgrill.com/

Entertainment:
The Driskill Grill and Driskill Bar have live music Tuesday - Saturday offered in the Lounge starting at 6:00pm and ending at 11:00pm.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for all guest at a discounted rate through the Driskill Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Christian Apetz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Day Dinner

Thursday Nov 23, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Specials

Thanksgiving Day Dinner

Thursday Nov 23, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Details

The Driskill Grill will be serving a four course Thanksgiving Dinner starting at 12pm. Adults $89, Kids 12 and under $45, reservations required. Excludes Tax and Tip. 20% gratuity will automatically be added. Special valid on Thursday Nov 23, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM.

Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Live Music (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful setting, great service, just an uninspiring menu/cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Place was empty and had limited menu. One of our guests was vegetarian and they had very limited options.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This restaurant has declined since we ate there about four years ago. The food isn't bad--my lamb rack was good enough--but at the offered prices it should be excellent. Moreover, the noise is unpleasant--a cacophony of contemporary music played on speakers inside the dining area, live country music that can be heard through the thin wall separating the restaurant from the bar, and loud conversation/laughing of the many patrons in the bar. Finally, our waiter was a bit surly. When my wife politely told him she could not eat the soup because it contained cream, he said "You should have said so earlier." Mind you, she wasn't asking for it to be taken off the bill. And, someone needs to tell him that repeatedly saying "You got it" is inappropriate for a place that puports to offer fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was extremely good. We've dined many times over the years and we were worried since the chef had changed since the last time we went. We really liked the menu and the combination surf, turn and swine was a real hit. Service was great. The deserts were novel and tasty. $20 to park was a bit high -we were not expecting that. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Honesty I expected more from the chef. My rack of lamb was over cooked, our Risotto was over cook. They took the risotto back but I didn't complain about the lamb because the flavor was still good and it takes an hour to get your meal because it's a nice restaurant which I totally get. My friends steak was also not cooked to what she asked for. I would of spent my money somewhere else nd just walked the hotel to look at history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The quality and ambition of the menu have declined over the past 2-3 years. We last dined at the Driskill Grill in Summer 2015, and were impressed by the game meats and artistry; this Summer, the menu was very average and unimpressive. The servers were decent and pleasant, but were neither polished in their presentation nor particularly knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This was me and my wife's first date in years, and our waiter Roy made the occasion a wonderful experience and went into great detail about each dish, since we were not food savvy. If you have the option to have Roy as your waiter please ask for him.
If I could give 6 stars I would!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I only have good things to say. The food was amazing and pretty large portions for a high quality place like this. The waiter was knowledgeable if a bit formal. I think my date and I were a bit intimidated, but overall, it was an interesting experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Not the same restaurant as when David Bull and others were around. The prices are still high, but the quality isn't. Too bad; it's a great hotel and the bar is outstanding.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our dinner with friends -- steaks, lamb, grouper -- was delicious! And the sides are excellent too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Our food was very good but the waiter was not at all enthusiastic. He took one of our appetizers assuming we were finished without asking the table if we were ready for him to remove it. He leaned over the table to remove plates - across guests - which is very rude and not appropriate. He didn't appear to like the restaurant desserts when asked if they were good. He did not pay attention to our requests - when our male dinner guest requested another glass of wine for one guest - he failed to bring it. He never smiled and seemed irritated to be waiting on us. The $400 plus dinner was less than overwhelming given the lack of enthusiasm from the waiter. I am not sure I would recommend the restaurant based on this experience. I am unsure of his name, but this was on Wednesday, June 12th at 7:30 p.m. and he was a Caucasian waiter with glasses. We were sitting at the back of the restaurant on a 4-top.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were there to celebrate our anniversary. Our waiter, Andrew was exceptionally gracious and treated as the most special of his customers. He made it very special for our special day. We thank him for all of his special treatment. Marilyn and Paul Schilling Saturday night 1 July.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I ate at the Driskill Grill for a date while visiting Austin. Andrew was our server, and I honestly cannot say enough good things about him. As a Chef myself, I thoroughly enjoyed the food. I ordered the Wagyu Strip which was excellent. My wife ordered the French onion soup, which I tried. The soup was the only part of the meal that was subpar in our minds. The creamed spinach was excellent, and the bleu cheese in the creamed spinach was not over powering. The okra and tomatoes was by far the most surprising and my favorite dish. If you visit the Driskill Grill, ask for Andrew. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Unfortunately, the Driskill Grill isn't what it used to be. While our waiter was friendly and very nice, the service was very slow. Two hour dinner for five with a restaurant practically empty. The food was excellent, no doubt. However, there is no dress code, so the other diners were in shorts and tank tops. The Driskill is one of the most iconic and historic venues in town, with $$$$ menu prices. No one should be there in shorts and tank tops. It was sad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Loved it- food was great!
I almost feel like a jacket should be required when dining there to add to the old world ambiance that it exudes - it was very nice and we will be going back- the five course meal was worth the money and very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was well-seasoned but for an evening of one to cost over $50 without wine is a bit much. I wanted to experience the Driskill hotel and restaurant. I will not return to either. I can have a nice experience at other Hyatt hotels without the price tag.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Spicy, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A classy restaurant with excellent food and good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Party of 2. Wedge salad sent back. Limp lettuce on both wedge salad and caesar salad and flavorless dressings. Side dish of risotto with English peas was good.
Wagyu steaks ($64 each) were only fair, both dry with little flavor and only average tenderness.
Bread basket very ordinary and bread not really fresh.
Huge expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was the most impressive dining experience I could think of to treat my wife for our wedding anniversary. When I made the reservation, I asked for a 7 course meal with wine pairing, completely at the chef's discretion, and to not even bring us menus. I expected some fun, but I was blown away. Every course was something new, fascinating, delicious, and complex. Even the beet salad, which sounds terrible, was amazing.

Our waiter, who I believe was named Roy, gave a great little spiel about each wine and how it was meant to compliment the food, and otherwise, simply left us alone for our intimate meal. Between each course we were in suspense as to what was next, but never were we wanting for anything. Our service was world class.

The restaurant itself was mostly empty; it's a beautiful, historical building, and initially our table was perfect. A private spot as I requested. The hostess was the only problem we experienced. She sat a group of bickering old men in shorts just inches from us, despite the restaurant being more than 90% empty. Our little corner went from a nice quiet corner to a noisy trap where I couldn't hear myself think. Fortunately, we requested to be moved to another table and had no further trouble, but the hostess should have been more familiar with my instructions. This was a $400 check, and she could have spoiled the occasion needlessly. But thankfully the restaurant is full of great tables, and once we moved we were back to enjoying the terrific service, food, and ambiance.

I only wish I had thought to thank the chef for what appeared to be hard and inspired work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Nice place.
Good food and ambiance. Could be a bit more creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great overall. But I expected it to be a little quieter

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 19, 2017

College graduation. Wonderful steaks and delicious sides. Very good wine list

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Onion soup phenomenal. Lamb excellent. All around great quality food and wine.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I took my wife here for a special occasion. I let them know in the reservation that we were celebrating a special occasion. When we arrived, we were the only patrons in the restaurant (it was early). They sat us at an intimate table for 2 in aback corner. Then a party of 6 arrived, and they sat them right next to us. Destroying any intimate atmosphere that had been there.
I had asked them for something special to help us celebrate. I guess I should have called to clarify that I was not simply looking for a freebie, and would be happy to pay for something extra. What they came up with was a free dessert. I can get a free dessert at The Olive Garden. I expect a place like this to come up with something better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The waitress was rude and horrible. The food was not good. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had dined at The Driskell Grill before at Easter. They had a huge spread on the 2nd floor with every food you could imagine. This dining experience was nothing like that. For a $112.00 person you were offered a limited menu that didn't sound good on paper and was worse when it was served. One of the offerings was rabbit, who serves rabbit on Easter! My children were appalled. I had the wild boar for lack of anything else to order, it was tough and had a huge piece of fat through the bottom. My children ordered off the children's menu and received a waffle at $35.00 a piece. The service was terrible, had to ask for a refill of coffee and my husband's drink finally came as we were signing for the bill. I did ask for some compensation and received $50.00 off a nearly $400.00 bill. Never again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great staff, incredible food and staff. The steaks are delicious but leave some room for the sides.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The Driskill Grill was excellent in every way. We were looking for a meal in a historic hotel and we found it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Food and ambience over the top!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were disappointed with the wait staff. We chose the 7 course chef tasting menu with wine. Generally, that includes the sommelier talking about the food and how it pairs with the wine. We got no explanation or description about why a particular wine was chosen for a certain course. The time between courses was ridiculously long. This is the first time I have ever been disappointed with a meal at the Driskill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and enjoyed the 5 course menu with wine pairing. Everything was on point! We enjoyed the ombience, the service and the fabulous food! Thank you for making our 11 year anniversary so special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The dinner was for my birthday but I did not notify the restaurant of that. During our meal one of the wait staff must have overheard a "happy birthday" from one of my guest because at the end of the meal our waiter brought out a dessert. It was wonderful and very thoughtful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The waiter was awful I guess being the last reservation meant they were ready to go home

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Waited so long for the Driskill Grill receptionist to appear that I began to wonder if my business was important to them. The free appetizer, and cream squash soup, were excellent. The marble potatoes were tasty but so salty that I ate only half of them. The fillet was also salty to the point were I wondered if I would finish it, but I did. The fillet was $10 more expensive than that at a quality restaurant 2 blocks away. To me, this experience was a very expensive disappointment. I do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is very good, but very pricey. We loved everything we ate except the steaks. They were coated in so much salt that they were inedible until we cut off all of the outside (which ended up making the steak much smaller than 8oz. ).

That said, I'd still go back. I just wouldn't get the steak.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It's very quiet. Food is delicious. Staff are very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It's one of only a handful of truly first-class restaurants in Austin. The decor is what used to be called "masculine" (oak, leather, etc.), and the ambiance is quiet and semi-formal. The waitstaff is expert and efficient without being overtly "cozy". And the food is exquisite---we loved the lamb loin with spinach, and the first course beef tartare was scrumptious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing service, wine and pork belly! It was great for Valentine's Day!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were at the Driskill Grill for Valentine's Day dinner. We did not realize it would be a fixed menu, but staff made some accommodations for dietary restrictions. We opted for the additional wine parings and had great time discussing the choices and pairings with our waiter who was quite knowledgable. Service was Outstanding. Andrew was on of the best waiters we've had anywhere in the world. Historic decor is lovely. Price was a high.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We visited this hotel for Valentine's dinner. The food was excellent however service was not good at all. The menus was 5 course with your choice of 3 different entrees. Servers did not seem to be very knowledgeable about food and preparation. Much more expensive than what we anticipated at 150 per person especially when service was subpar. I believe the regular menu may not be quite as expensive but not for sure on that one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.