About Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel

604 Brazos St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

The legendary Driskill Grill serves exquisite modern American cuisine Tuesday through Saturday. The Driskill Grill is a Four Diamond rated restaurant and is repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin. The Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. The Driskill Grill uses locally sourced products, seasonal ingredients and cutting edge menu choices which create a truly memorable dining experience.

The Driskill Grill has received numerous awards and accolades including the coveted Foder's Choice Award, Zagat's ranking of "Extraordinary to Perfection" and OpenTable's Diners Choice Award. Wine Spectator, America's leading wine appreciation magazine has honored The Driskill Grill with their "Award of Excellence 2011."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Happy Hour in the Bar: Daily 5:00pm - 7:00pm, and all day Sunday

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 391-7162

Website:
http://www.driskillgrill.com/

Entertainment:
The Driskill Grill and Driskill Bar have live music Tuesday - Saturday offered in the Lounge starting at 6:00pm and ending at 11:00pm.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for all guest at a discounted rate through the Driskill Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Troy Knapp

Private Party Facilities:
The Chisholm Room is the historic private dining room accommodating groups of up to 35 People. Reservations are required for this room and special audio visual needs are available.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Singleton: 512-391-7178x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Historic (12)
Business Meals (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Driskill Grill was a great place to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The Driskill Grill was a great place to have a business meeting. The atmosphere is serious, pleasant, historically Texan, and unabashedly upscale. Menu features contemporary culinary takes on classically Texan cuisine, all of it of superior to superlative quality. Outside is the lobby bar, which is more causal and, on a busy night, raucous -- but the Grill is enclosed in glass and the live music and revelry from the lounge does not intrude on the fine dining atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fabulous experience. We decided o ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

What a fabulous experience. We decided on the 5 course tasting menu for our dinner. Wowed us completely!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had their 7 course price fix Thanksgivin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had their 7 course price fix Thanksgiving meal. I had traditional turkey with the sides. Very good but a tad short on gravy. Wife had the short ribs and the sides. She enjoyed it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Thanksgiving dinner, 5 course ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving dinner, 5 course tasty and beautifully presented and served. Memorable oldies playing in the background. A very pleasant afternoon.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the Traditional Thanksgiving ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for the Traditional Thanksgiving Feast. It was anything but a feast or traditional. The food was off the wall and terrible. I could not believe they could charge $85 person for what they put on the table representing one of the finest historic hotels in Austin. I found out later that the Capital Grille as well as Ruth's Chris were serving "traditional" Thanksgiving dinner for half the price. I will never go to the Driskill to eat ever again. Do what you do well and stay away from Thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

My boyfriend and I went to the Driskill ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to the Driskill last night to celebrate my birthday. We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. It's pricey and best for special occasions but was very worth it. The food was delicious- especially the filet. The meal and wine pairing were planned out perfectly and service was great. We liked the vibe out at the bar and had fun exploring some of the history of the hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Driskill Grill provided an outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Driskill Grill provided an outstanding experience -- the food was exquisite, the service was outstanding, and the ambience was everything I could have hoped for. This was a special occasion, and the restaurants did all of the little extra things that made for a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME birthday for my wife!!Will recom ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

AWESOME birthday for my wife!!Will recommend to all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our filets were outstanding and flavorfu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our filets were outstanding and flavorful, cooked to perfection. The grits are not to be missed, and the risotto was lovely. Wonderful place for a special family celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful place for our family's' birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful place for our family's' birthday dinner. Especially appreciated the quiet sedate atmosphere and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What a fabulous place!! Steak dinner was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a fabulous place!! Steak dinner was amazing! Fantastic service!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Noise from the bar was distr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food! Noise from the bar was distracting and didn't make for a good romantic dinner since we could barely hear ourselves talk. But will recommend for the good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food mediocre and service worse. Disapp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food mediocre and service worse. Disappointed based on the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The ambiance was the only missing factor ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The ambiance was the only missing factor, I felt the lighting could have been dimmed for a 8:00pm dinner. TI'd suggest having some light music in the dinning room, and toning down the lights to make it feel more romantic. Additionally, the lounge area was also very noisy and you could hear them when the doors would swing open -- but again it was the F1 crowd.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing meal, service and staff. Perfect ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing meal, service and staff. Perfect for celebrating a special event.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was plesant but t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Overall the experience was plesant but the service was unacceptable for the reputation and the price point of the Driskill. Our steaks were not cooked to order, actually flat wrong, where the entrees were exchanged between the guests.

The bill was incorrect, where we were overcharged, and we did not receive attendance after the meals were served until a significant time later.

I did not find the steaks flavorful or memorable.

The restaurant needs to change the carpeting as there is a funk smell and carpet is outdated.

The restaurant is difficult to access for people with physicial disabilities.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had the Lockhart quail and it was delici ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Had the Lockhart quail and it was delicious. Only problem was everything was over salted. The bread, quail,vegetables all way too much salt.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience overall, had a few comm ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great experience overall, had a few communication issues that were ultimately resolved. Always impressed with the tasting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Old Texas setting with food that ranged ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Old Texas setting with food that ranged from excellent to good +. In the latter category was my sort-of tasty dry-aged Wagu ribeye that was far less tasty than those I buy from Whole Foods and others of like source. In the former were the salads and new potatoes (cold on the first try but fabulous upon revisit to the kitchen). Service was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A perfect Birthday dinner!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

A perfect Birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated immediately for our reserved tim ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Seated immediately for our reserved time. Sat for over 45 minutes while the waiter took care of two other tables. There were no other people in the restaurant ( this should have been a sign). Ordered drinks that never came. Finally got up and left . It doesn't matter how good the food is if you get bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We went to the the Driskill Grill for ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went to the the Driskill Grill for our 46th wedding anniversary. Given its reputation we expected to have a very good experience with excellent food. From the moment we sat down we were an interruption to our waiter, who was rude, short, and basically unpleasant. When my $60 dollar ribeye came it looked and tasted like a piece of round steak. My wife's lamb was as bad. Both entres were warm and the quality of meat is better at Outback for less than a quarter of the price. We will never go back and will let everyone we know aware of the bad food and bad service. After talking with others here in Austin our experience is not unusual at the Driskill Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The Driskill experience is more than the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Driskill experience is more than the restaurant, which is gorgeus, but also includes walking around the hotel. The restaurant features just outstanding decor, and is worth seeing in its own right. The food is excellent, but the portions are small. Extensive wine list. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and attentive service.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the Driskill Grill has one of ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

As always, the Driskill Grill has one of the best steaks in Texas...this time however the risotto was undercooked, the mussels were bland and the spinach was over cooked. Our service was mediocre at best. Having said all that I will definitely go back again because the atmosphere, history and management are great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Thank you for making my Mom's retirement ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Thank you for making my Mom's retirement celebration special! We thoroughly enjoyed the 7course tasting menu and complimentary champagne!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal and the service was so bad I d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

This meal and the service was so bad I don't know where to begin. The waiter was totally arrogant as if he was doing us a favor to be served at the famous Driskill Grill. The first 2 wine selections were not available and then there's the meal. The ice berg lettuce was not drained so there was a pool of water on the salad plate and the dressing became white water not dressing. The menu read "Wagu New York Strip" The stake came but it was not a steak it was 4 small slices of tough meat which I couldn't eat. We would have all sent our meals back but it was a dinner meeting and could not be interrupted with diversions around a bad dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The outstanding service from everyone on ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The outstanding service from everyone on the staff was amazing. Take care of all of your needs. The food was exactly how we ordered it. Truly a quality venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Previously good experience but this was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Previously good experience but this was very poor. Service was worst i've experienced. Ruined the evening. Appetizer took way too long. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Love our experience here year after year ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love our experience here year after year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during the week and it was very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went during the week and it was very empty, but the food, wine and service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

After trying out all the "new trending e ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 3, 2016

After trying out all the "new trending eateries" we decided to give the Driskill another visit since it has been a long while since we last went. I have to say it was a wonderful and delicious choice. We were greeted warmly and personally. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of not just the menu items and it's preparation but also of the wine list. We shared the steak tartar and the peach salad. The attention given to the sharing of the plate did not go unnoticed - they weren't just split in half, they were portioned out and presented to the mirror image of each other. I had the Venison and my husband had the duck. Both dishes we tend to stir clear of outside restaurants not focused heavily on game. Both dishes luscious. We dont eat dessert so we opted for coffee and port - a perfect ending to a fabulous dinner. It is also worth mentioning that probably because there was fabric around (linen table clothes, carpeting, drapes etc.which absorbs the noise of a full dining room) we were able to talk comfortably to each other without having to shout across the table or lean in to be heard. It was a pleasant and welcomed change to not have to talk over the table next to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Gre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Great Austin restaurant not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was simply fantastic. From th ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place was simply fantastic. From the door, the hostess (Chris) was charming and welcoming. The wait staff was professional, knowledgable and warm. The food was unparalleled...I had the venison and my wife had the sea bass. The chef sent out something special for dessert to boot. I WILL be dining here again when I return to Austin. A+!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd like to see chefs get past the "deco ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2016

I'd like to see chefs get past the "deconstructed" trend. It's old news, and not very good.

The Driskill Grill is elegant in appearance, and the staff is quite friendly. We did not find the food particularly good, except for the soft shell crawfish appetizer. The Wagyu beef had gristle in it, not fat, gristle...which I could not believe. It's a lovely place with great history, but the kitchen and Grill and wait staff need a bit of attention, in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Restaurant looks spectacular. Very roman ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant looks spectacular. Very romantic. Service was great. Most of the food was good, but my wife's main entree was very disappointing. Room temperature ribeye over cold mush. Even if it had been executed correctly, it would have been interesting, at best. My venison was very good, however, and so was the grilled peach salad and chocolate dessert. Overall, everything was too salty, and definitely overpriced. It was a good way to celebrate our anniversary, but we wouldn't go back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The food and service was some of the bes ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and service was some of the best I've had . . . anywhere. The arctic char and peach salad were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best dining experience I've had in q ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in quite a long time. The waitstaff was very attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent. We were disappointed to learn that the dish my boyfriend ordered was not available, however, the steak more than made up for it. I had the duck. It was tender and flavorful. We overdid it with desert. I ordered the Chocolate Terrine, he had the Creme Brulee. The Chocolate Terrine was almost too rich. I would suggest sharing this desert. We will definitely return to the Grill.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic staff made our engagement nigh ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic staff made our engagement night really special! Great 5 course dinner, and they took care of all the small details to make it a great lasting memory!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easily one of the best dinners I've ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Easily one of the best dinners I've ever had. We ordered the five course tasting menu, which was absolutely delicious. Not a single course was a disappointment. On top of that the wait staff was very attentive and polite. There were three waiters/waitresses taking care of our table and they timed the dinner perfectly. I also never had a moment where I had to wait to order another cocktail. At the end of the dinner they brought out a trio of the amazing desserts for my grandmother who was celebrating her birthday. Overall it was just an amazing experience. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions as there is no detail left unattended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.