Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel

The legendary Driskill Grill serves exquisite modern American cuisine Tuesday through Saturday. The Driskill Grill is a Four Diamond rated restaurant and is repeatedly ranked the number one restaurant in Austin. The Driskill Grill invites diners to feast on an ever-changing array of innovative and impeccably prepared fare in the most elegant of surroundings. The Driskill Grill uses locally sourced products, seasonal ingredients and cutting edge menu choices which create a truly memorable dining experience.

The Driskill Grill has received numerous awards and accolades including the coveted Foder's Choice Award, Zagat's ranking of "Extraordinary to Perfection" and OpenTable's Diners Choice Award. Wine Spectator, America's leading wine appreciation magazine has honored The Driskill Grill with their "Award of Excellence 2011."

604 Brazos St.
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;

Happy Hour in the Bar: Daily 5:00pm - 7:00pm, and all day Sunday

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 391-7162

Website:
http://www.driskillgrill.com/

Entertainment:
The Driskill Grill and Driskill Bar have live music Tuesday - Saturday offered in the Lounge starting at 6:00pm and ending at 11:00pm.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for all guest at a discounted rate through the Driskill Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Troy Knapp

Private Party Facilities:
The Chisholm Room is the historic private dining room accommodating groups of up to 35 People. Reservations are required for this room and special audio visual needs are available.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Singleton: (512) 391-7178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter with us in The Grill! We will be offering a 3-Course prix-fixe brunch menu and a large selection of Chef Tony's delicious pastries. A complimentary glass of sparkling wine is included, we will also have a fantastic Mimosa Bar available.

Driskill Grill - Driskill Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The dinner was for my birthday but I did not notify the restaurant of that. During our meal one of the wait staff must have overheard a "happy birthday" from one of my guest because at the end of the meal our waiter brought out a dessert. It was wonderful and very thoughtful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter was awful I guess being the last reservation meant they were ready to go home

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Waited so long for the Driskill Grill receptionist to appear that I began to wonder if my business was important to them. The free appetizer, and cream squash soup, were excellent. The marble potatoes were tasty but so salty that I ate only half of them. The fillet was also salty to the point were I wondered if I would finish it, but I did. The fillet was $10 more expensive than that at a quality restaurant 2 blocks away. To me, this experience was a very expensive disappointment. I do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant is very good, but very pricey. We loved everything we ate except the steaks. They were coated in so much salt that they were inedible until we cut off all of the outside (which ended up making the steak much smaller than 8oz. ).

That said, I'd still go back. I just wouldn't get the steak.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It's very quiet. Food is delicious. Staff are very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It's one of only a handful of truly first-class restaurants in Austin. The decor is what used to be called "masculine" (oak, leather, etc.), and the ambiance is quiet and semi-formal. The waitstaff is expert and efficient without being overtly "cozy". And the food is exquisite---we loved the lamb loin with spinach, and the first course beef tartare was scrumptious.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing service, wine and pork belly! It was great for Valentine's Day!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were at the Driskill Grill for Valentine's Day dinner. We did not realize it would be a fixed menu, but staff made some accommodations for dietary restrictions. We opted for the additional wine parings and had great time discussing the choices and pairings with our waiter who was quite knowledgable. Service was Outstanding. Andrew was on of the best waiters we've had anywhere in the world. Historic decor is lovely. Price was a high.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We visited this hotel for Valentine's dinner. The food was excellent however service was not good at all. The menus was 5 course with your choice of 3 different entrees. Servers did not seem to be very knowledgeable about food and preparation. Much more expensive than what we anticipated at 150 per person especially when service was subpar. I believe the regular menu may not be quite as expensive but not for sure on that one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Too bright for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Pre ballet dinner. Was a great choice as the food pairing was amazing!!

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I took my fiancé here for his birthday while in ATX from Seattle. I had called ahead and discussed with one of the hostesses that I wanted a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived and that it was his birthday. She assured me that they would be able to accommodate my request and that they would include some extras for his birthday.

Sure enough, when we arrived they sat us down and then brought over the champagne and poured us two glasses. I told the waitress (I forgot her name but she was very cheerful and sweet!) we would do the 5-course and oh my GOODNESS my fiancé and I couldn't get over how amazing each and every course was.

They also surprised us with an extra course at the beginning of ahi tuna with a bell pepper relish which was amazing!

Our 5 course "Chef's Signature Tasting Menu" included:
1) Roasted Beet Salad
- this was incredible. We raved about the smokiness of the ricotta!
2) Steamed P.E.I Mussels
- this was personally my favorite dish. The mussels soaked up the wine/tomato sauce and was simply amazing. There was also a thin slice of bread served as well.
3) Slow Roasted Pork Belly
- oh. my. god. It was served in a cornbread purée (yes, really!) with a maple glaze. Simply amazing!
Intermezzo- "Texas Sweet Dreams" tea granita
I had never tried granita before but I was pleasantly surprised! It reminded me of a light sorbet.
4) Petite Prime Filet
- this was hands down the best steak I've ever had. So velvety and well seasoned! I also loved the carrot purée!
5) Crunch Bar
- think of a ferrero rocher bar, then make it into a candy bar. So rich and delicious! Our waitress also very sweetly surprised us with a dessert wine for his birthday which paired perfectly with the chocolate.

My fiancé also had an Old Fashioned as well as a Chimay to drink and he raved about each of those as well.

The atmosphere was sophisticated and romantic and my fiancé and I had an incredible time. Thank you so much for making his birthday dinner so special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We ate a 7 course tasting menu. Every course was amazing and the matching wine list just made the meal even more amazing. The chef came out to speak with us and made us feel even more special. This was a anniversary dinner and everyone working made it a point to speak to us and congratulate us on our anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The restaurant is beautifully decorated and brings you back in time. The food was delicious and the staff made you feel special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were delighted with our experience at the Driscoll. The wait staff was cordial, friendly and efficient. The food quality was outstanding, cooked and displayed to perfection. We were asked up front if we had any food allergies which we are gluten free. To our surprise, they served gluten free bread. Normally we just have to bypass the bread basket and the meal was prepared with that in mind. We couldn't have been more delighted by or experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

From start to finish the experience can be summed up in one word. Excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just amazing! We did the 5 course meal. Every course they brought out was better then the last.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our second Christmas dinner at the Driskill and again a perfect dining experience. Staff is friendly yet professional. My son is a graduate of The Culinary Institute of America and he was again impressed with the presentation and the wine pairing. A wonderful dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nobody told us it was a fix menu. Very, very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server was absolutely top notch. Very professional. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Andrew was great waiter and brought us each a complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary, and he also bought us each a Mexican martini on him! Hostess (Chris?) was very nice and gave wife a rose. Everyone was wonderful!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The maitre'd and server were excellent. The food was good if a little esoteric. Expecting a bit more out of the steak. The risotto and Brussels sprouts were excellent. The steak tartare was good but not what I expected from the description. It was a hamburger looking concoction, I was thinking more carpaccio. Great ambiance. Not the menu for most kids.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I get it that it is in a historic venue, but seriously not affordable for many. Sure if your single and hanging out with friends and you only have to pay for yourself, but forget it if your feeding your family. Two hundred dollars (including tip and two glasses of wine). Menu emphasis is not for Joe Public and certainly not kids. Our 20 yr old, non-beef/fish eater, tried to get by with a salad and side. Sadly, that was overdone in a "electric, fashionable way" and was a a bust.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was great and ambiance was perfect for a date night dinner before going to listen to a show. Will certainly come back again for more.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We tried the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. It was outstanding in every way and was a good value. The service was outstanding, very professional yet warm and friendly. We've always loved the bar, but it had been a while since we tried the restaurant. We will happily return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good meal but not great like I thought it would be especially for the amount of money I paid for it. Glad I went but don't feel the need to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was absolutely outstanding. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We arrived at 5:30 and were the only diners inside the restaurant. Our opening service was pleasant but really dropped off after a couple of tables were filled. The beef carpaccio was delicious. But kale Salad was flavorless. The entrees were ok.... The Pan Roasted Sea Bass was dry and over cooked served over a sloppy, taupe-colored couscous. Steak, duck and lamb were good, but very small potions. Didn't get to order dessert. They brought menus, but we waited 15 minutes to order and were ready to just leave. Kind of disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic 5 course tasting menu with wine. Chef even adjusted menu for my friends meal preferences. And the wine pairings were wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Driskill Grill was a great place to have a business meeting. The atmosphere is serious, pleasant, historically Texan, and unabashedly upscale. Menu features contemporary culinary takes on classically Texan cuisine, all of it of superior to superlative quality. Outside is the lobby bar, which is more causal and, on a busy night, raucous -- but the Grill is enclosed in glass and the live music and revelry from the lounge does not intrude on the fine dining atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a fabulous experience. We decided on the 5 course tasting menu for our dinner. Wowed us completely!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had their 7 course price fix Thanksgiving meal. I had traditional turkey with the sides. Very good but a tad short on gravy. Wife had the short ribs and the sides. She enjoyed it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving dinner, 5 course tasty and beautifully presented and served. Memorable oldies playing in the background. A very pleasant afternoon.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for the Traditional Thanksgiving Feast. It was anything but a feast or traditional. The food was off the wall and terrible. I could not believe they could charge $85 person for what they put on the table representing one of the finest historic hotels in Austin. I found out later that the Capital Grille as well as Ruth's Chris were serving "traditional" Thanksgiving dinner for half the price. I will never go to the Driskill to eat ever again. Do what you do well and stay away from Thanksgiving.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to the Driskill last night to celebrate my birthday. We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. It's pricey and best for special occasions but was very worth it. The food was delicious- especially the filet. The meal and wine pairing were planned out perfectly and service was great. We liked the vibe out at the bar and had fun exploring some of the history of the hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Driskill Grill provided an outstanding experience -- the food was exquisite, the service was outstanding, and the ambience was everything I could have hoped for. This was a special occasion, and the restaurants did all of the little extra things that made for a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

AWESOME birthday for my wife!!Will recommend to all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our filets were outstanding and flavorful, cooked to perfection. The grits are not to be missed, and the risotto was lovely. Wonderful place for a special family celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful place for our family's' birthday dinner. Especially appreciated the quiet sedate atmosphere and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a fabulous place!! Steak dinner was amazing! Fantastic service!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.