About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd. and Honeycutt Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot, underground parking garage, and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Third annual Thanksgiving Feast! Order your feast and get out of the kitchen and enjoy your day with friends and family. See restaurant's site for details.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Come in for a special Christmas Eve brunch buffet from 10am to 2pm. $24.95 adults, $14.95 kids. Items to include...

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Third annual Christmas Feast! Order your feast and get out of the kitchen and enjoy your day with friends and family. See restaurant's site for details.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Come in for a special New Years Eve brunch buffet from 10am to 2pm. $19.95 adults, $12.95 kids. Items to include...

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (22)
Casual (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort by
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant. Loved the food and service!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic anniversary dinner at this restaurant. Not only was the food fantastic, but our waitress - Fawn, was total perfection. She kept our glasses full and offered amazing stories. We look forward to going back soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Overall everything about our dinner was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing food and environment. Brie was our server and she gave fantastic recommendations from the menu. The chicken friend chicken and ribs were incredible! Also, the fried tomatoes were wonderful. Would definitely go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Driftwood has delicious, southern food at a reasonable price. They were pretty quiet for a Monday night, and our server was not the most attentive and did not come by our table very often even though they were not busy. Their menu is very extensive when it comes to southern foods. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and the food was pretty good, though the pork was a bit dry. The brussel sprouts were amazing though! The portion was just right as well.

I would definitely give it another chance if I were in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Nice location, attentive service & great comfort food choices. There were 5 of us and none of us had been here. We ALL said we would be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food is always delicious. We brought our friends here for brunch and they loved it! They will definitely be back and we’ll keep bringing others. The brunch is one of the best in Raleigh!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Last minute decision for dinner and it was really good. Food was delicious. Server was awesome. Ambiance was just what we like. Only negative would be plate descriptions. Chicken and dumplings was more chicken soup with a few "dumplings" than a traditional Southern dish where the dumplings are as much the star as the chicken (if not more). Too much broth and veggies. Very tasty, but not at all "chicken and dumplings" as most of us NC natives would define it. My son's meatloaf was fantastic; father-in-law's beef brisket was pure melt-in-your mouth smokey goodness; and wife's fried shrimp and grits was a nice twist on the tried and true. Definitely will be back again (and again).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The menu didn't seem to have as much variety as I remember. Too much of the same dish but different meat. Needs more variety.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was great! With two people in our group who do not eat meat, there were still plenty of options. This was the largest place for our get together and the brunch buffet was awesome. The best part was how reasonably priced everything was! Thank you for great service and a great place for us ladies to get out and enjoy each other's company!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I enjoyed their new menu that they have for The Fall season and I was able to find a lot of gluten-free dishes on the menu it made me really enjoy my birthday celebration for the weekend

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant in north Raleigh. Southern comfort food with a twist. Good food and fair price. Service was unbelievably good for a Friday night. Waitress was knowledgeable, and helpful without being intrusive. Her recommendations were spot on. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Didn't seem like they specialized in anything. Menu was all over the place. In the pricey end of a family friendly restaurant with a very casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Excellent dishes, attentive and knowledgeable servers. Best Chicken Fried Chicken I ever tasted. Great family experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We had returned for Sunday brunch. DSK never disappoints. From the greeting, to seating, to service, and of course the food. Everything was excellent! Looking forward to our return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We really enjoyed Driftwood Southern Kitchen. Our server was awesome, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was fun. We will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I went for brunch. I loved that you could choose between the savory or sweet buffets. For the price, I definitely ate my fill, but the bloody Mary mix was definitely over seasoned and the mimosas were mostly OJ. The food itself wasn't anything special but everything was handled cleanly and very tasty for a basic brunch. The service was confusing because we seemed to have two servers that took care of us simultaneously asking the same questions of us but not communicating with each other at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. We had a wonderful waitress. Our 2 person table, where is what located, definitely needed more light. I had to use my phone light to be able to see menu & food. Didnt like that at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food is amazing! Normally we have our favorites, but we tried something new and was not disappointed! The drinks were great, beer is slightly over priced but a good local craft selection and good bourbon for after the meal. This is one of our favorite spots to visit and go on date night to. Always recommend to incoming friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I decided to frequent this restaurants for lunch based on good reviews I had read. When I arrived I was immediately seated because the place was practically empty. I ordered the lobster roll which came with homemade chips. The lobster roll looked delicious upon it's arrival. One bite and I tasted a lot of sodium. It's was tolerable, but it definitely was not a Maine lobster sandwich. The homemade chips were the best part of the meal. When the waitress arrived. I asked did the chef steam fresh lobsters and remove the meat for the salad or did this come out of a can or plastic container. I was told the latter and then I figured out why the meat was so salty. Next, I asked our waitress about dessert. There were four items available. One was some sort of local fresh peaches with cake. I hinted to the waitress that local fresh peaches aren't available in North Carolina in October. She had an embarrassed grin and told me I was right and she was not sure why they advertised a local fresh peach dish when local peaches are not in season. Our waitress then went on to describe a beignet type of dessert with different sauces. I ordered the beignets with the sauces. Man, was I in for another poor excuse for a dessert. The hot round dough round concoction was analogous to eating hard chicken nuggets and the sauce was nothing more then thick syrup. The place looks like it has potential but it causes me concern when menu items are being sold as local and fresh during a time when clearly they are not in season. Moreover, something as simple as a cake doughnut like dessert is presented with a very tough and crunchy exterior and is comparable to expired chicken nuggets at a fast food restaurant. Unfortunately, I will not be going back to Driftwood.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fantastic service
Fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went to Driftwood for a family brunch meal and my Mom's 80th birthday get together (for just 4 of us). It was our first trip there and we were all pleased!!! The food was delicious and the buffet had something for everyone! The price was great ... especially when the bill came and we found that it included drinks as well (at least coffee and juice ... and refills on both!)

They were also amazing about a food allergy I had alerted them to and went above and beyond to make sure I knew what not to eat.

While they aren't convenient for me (I'm almost an hour away), we'll definitely be back for special occasions!!!

Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Driftwood is our favorite place for Sunday brunch. Their buffet leaves nothing to be desired for & every dish is perfection. We took our friends this last time & they raved about it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Won’t be going back. Too loud. Hard to have a conversation. Pork was just salty. No vinegar or red pepper flavor. No bread served by default or chips or anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our waiter was not very endearing. We have been to this restaurant many times and normally,our servers are much more pleasant. The noise level was extremely high and it made it difficult for conversation at the table. But, the food is always good!

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

What a great restaurant! The food was delicious with a great variety to choose from. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great location and very welcoming. Server very friendly and offered personal preferences for food and drinks. Everyone loved their entrees which were just a perfect size. Lovely night out @

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Prices reflect the high rent and not the value of the meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

First visit, nice atmosphere, good food, very loud as there's nothing to absorb the sound. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

excellent food and excellent service. price is not so bad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing food and a fantastic atmosphere! I have absolutely loved everything I've tried here. The Southern style cuisine is perfection and all of the decor and details in the restaurant are spot on. It has truly become a new favorite for our family!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food and service were excellent. The oyster shooter with watermelon gazpacho was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We have been to a lot of places around the Triangle and everything about this was was amazing! Every dish was perfect, including the apps and drinks and we can't wait to go back and divulge in more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food is always awesome. Everything we have tried on the menu has been delicious! Service is always fast and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always enjoy Driftwood. I bring out of town guests to experience some southern cuisine. I order the pimento cheese plate with hot pepper jelly and fired green tomatoes.

They have E. Carolina BBQ which I tell people is local food, but I always order the pork meat loaf. Good local draft beer selection

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The brunch was a second visit. The restaurant is simply beautiful! Would like to see more options ex. Grits and or turkey meat options. Overall the experience was ok.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good eats on the Sunday Buffet side. This is my second brunch here and I would have to say the food could be hit or miss sometimes. The goto for me always is the French Toast, Mac and cheese, Salad,Ribs, Shrimp and Grits and Mimosas some of these items very depending on the Sunday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Breakfast buffet was overpriced for the selection that was available. The waffles were not freshly cooked, they were just warmed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and the staff was very blasé about the occasion. The food, however, was delicious and we liked that we could order large or small servings.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.