About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (30)
Casual (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Family Style (5)
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the lobster rolls at Driftwood. They taste great with any of the cold beers available. Portions are very generous and the handcut potato chips are delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed the catfish & the brisket (really tender!). The flavors were unique & everything was fresh. Perfect date night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Tonight was our first time but we will be back. The service was great and the food was excellent. Everyone at the table loved their food: meatloaf, cheeseburger, hushpuppies, mac and cheese, brisket...not a bad item on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice Mother's Day brunch, will visit again with girlfriends for a "Girls Day"

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

3rd time to this location - always excellent food. They have twice run out of brisket, but we've been quite happy with alternatives. The wait time with a reservation was about 20 minutes. Excellent service, great tasting food reasonably priced. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome gem in N.Raleigh. Even "downtownies" will like it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great find! Great Southern food in a casual environment. Our servers were thoughtful and friendly. If you're in the Raleigh-Durham area and are looking for a good place for dinner, you must come to Driftwood Southern Kitchen!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was great as usual. The only issue was they brought our children's food out and then it was at least 30 minutes before my husbands and my entree was delivered. Still love the place and they compensated by not charging for the appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The space is very open so noise carries, but we were never bothered by the noise level. The food was very tasty and a great value for your hard earned dollars.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had great service and enjoyed outstanding food at a good price. Driftwood offers an outstanding dining out experience.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was looking for a Sunday Brunch and was a little disappointed with the Menu. I guess they will have more during special occasions like Mother's Day.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it just as much as the first time! Just need more grits on the shrimp and grits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very good place for an evening meal as well as lunch, been there a few times, never a complaint‼️

Tags: Private Room, Healthy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Early dinner of small plates, nice food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch buffet at Driftwood. The selection was good and everything on the buffet was done quite well! Would like to go back when we can actually order from the menu!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good Brunch spot. Buffet-style. Outdoor seating available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a great time! Liked the option of where you would like to sit

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Good food, better cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Driftwood never ceases to impress! My girlfriend and I have eaten here several times for Sunday Brunch and dinner through the week. This time, one of my close childhood friends and I took some of his family for Sunday brunch. They all had rave reviews for the quality service and amazing buffet!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Both of our entrees were excellent - my husband ordered the short ribs and I ordered the chicken & dumplings. We also ordered a side of brussel sprouts, which were tossed in a delicious pecan vinaigrette, and there were plenty for us to share! Loved everything, even the complimentary house-made pork skins!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had EAster Brunch
Here and it was very good. Especially the French toast! Delicious cocktails as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was delicious and the food came out SUPER quickly. Everyone was very friendly and we ended up sitting at the bar closing the place down. He bartender didn't ask us to leave or tell us they were closing.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time there. Fully enjoyed it!!! Will definitely go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have had the shrimp and grits, excellent- the chicken fried chicken, excellent, most recent visit had the chicken and dumplings- not great more like chicken soup and I had 2 quarter sized dumplings. Not what I expected. Will not get this dish again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great. Server, Christine, was outstanding. The chairs are so very UNCOMFORTABLE! I would come much more often if they were replaced.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is our second time going here and sharing the plate-o-meat. We shared a main disk and got a couple sides and an app. That was the way to go as the plate-o-meat defiantly fed two people. It was delicious. Our little one had a burger and ate it all. They don't have ranch though. They have this ranch-like sauce that tastes like dill. I know they are trying to be cool, but kids like ranch. Other than that it was great and we liked walking around to all the shops before and after dinner. We will probably go back for a 3rd visit in a few months.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Not sure why this place is so popular with high reviews, seemed just above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was amazing! Way better then I ever expected. I will most DEFINITELY go back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic... Everything was just perfect...From the food to the service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wow, was this place a disappointment! I had heard good things--including from my wife, with whom my restaurant tastes usually align--and was looking forward to a Valentine's Day dinner with a large group of friends.

The baby kale salad I had was very good, but the salmon I had for a main course was bland and dry.

Worst of all was the service. We had a waiter who seemed very inexperienced and would disappear for extended periods. At least 30 minutes elapsed between when I finished my main course and the dirty dishes were retrieved.

I don't expect to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They provided a Great Valentines dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Generous portions however, there seemed to be too much salt in the collard greens and sausage. Pulled pork, brisket and ribs were some of the best I've had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been to Driftwood twice. Both times I found the food to be excellent and the service lacking. If the service was better I would go more often. I think they are understaffed.
I also think the decor could be improved, it is inconsistent with the idea of the food and the name of the restaurant.
I want to like the place, the food is good and the location is good ( but difficult to find parking) . I will be reluctant to return though because of the poor service.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My appetizers, dessert and the fried skins were good but I was disappointed in the eastern style barbecue. It didn't taste like it was made by anyone that is southern. Overall, it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love Sunday Brunch at Driftwood. We live in Durham, and gladly drive out for this. The food is delicious, and it's a buffet so you can get a good brunch for a great price. They have the best bacon, and french toast in the area.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great time. Food was hot and delicious. Portions were spot on.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant was very delightful. It had an open atmosphere and the food was very chow. I had the Chicken Fried Chicken and my wife had the ribs. The servings were extremely generous. I appreciated that our waitress allowed me to substitute white meat chicken for the dark meat which they currently use to prepare their chicken. It was vibrant but not romantic.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Driftwood Southern Kitchen had the charm of southern appeal with a modern/contemporary take on decor. The food selection was amazing and has your typical southern dishes on every part of the menu. I would say the price for the quality of the food is very fair and the ambiance of being in Lafayette Village also provides a great atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.