About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd. and Honeycutt Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot, underground parking garage, and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Offering a Valentine's Dinner menu with some new features and other Driftwood favorites

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort by
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great night, great service and yummy food but honestly my dinner salad was really tiny. Everyone else’s meals we’re great just so don’t get a dinner salad as a full meal, Get an app with it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice atmosphere our waitresses was excellent and attentive, food was delicious we set up at the hightop tables had an appetizer and dinner very nice place we will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is amazing and love the ambiance. Only flaw was that in a dining area that was 80% empty at the time, the hostess tried to seat us at the worst table in the glare of the kitchen lights.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

First time dining experience, suggested by the customer. Food and service were terrific! Definitely will go back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Good food with slightly unusual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Food was good but service was awful. Took 15 minutes for waiter to even acknowledge us and at least another 20 minutes for a drink order to arrive. We had been there for 45 minutes before our food order was taken. Asked for ketchup for fries, but never came. Diners next to us we’re having similar experience with service. Menu was a nice variation, but rosemary fries had zero taste of rosemary and were disappointing. Would like to go back, but concerned about having such poor service which really affected our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We didn't know quite what to expect but we had a delightful time and fully enjoyed New Year's Eve brunch with our daughter and son-in-law. We loved the beautiful Christmas tree, holiday atmosphere, and cozy rustic feel of the place. Our waitress Allison was friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and with such a variety, we were full when we left for home. Great place, great time, memorable experience.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The company is always the best part of our Sunday brunch but Driftwood always provides the perfect place for our monthly get together! The food was, as always, amazing and the service was even better this time! Thanks you guys for a perfect brunch with the ladies!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent restaurant!!! Great food, great ambiance and great service! One of my favorite restaurants in town!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The food was superb! We had chicken and dumplings & the chicken stacker...both were well seasoned southern comfort.
Wait staff was knowledgeable and pleasant. Just enough help but not overbearing. Overall, a fantastic first impression!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Had the apple bacon Brie grilled cheese - way too sweet and mushy. Needed some element of acid and texture to balance it (perhaps a few slices of a Granny Smith Apple and less of the apple jam).

My husband had the Frito chili - tasted like cinnamon. Neither of us liked it.

Service was good, but the food was mediocre. Also - the chairs are metal and uncomfortable. The atmosphere is very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Service and ambience was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. First time here for both of us. Attractive inside. Unfortunately my seat had the sun from upper windows in my eyes and every-time the door was opened cold air seemed to come right to our table. I ordered pulled pork sandwich and was very underwhelmed. It sounded so good on the menu but was really tasteless. No smoky flavor. Very bland. Not much barbecue sauce or slaw on the sandwich. I asked for additional sauce on the side. My friend had Shrimp and Grits and thought it was wonderful. I think I just chose the wrong thing. My side was the brussel sprouts in bacon vinaigrette. They were to die for. I would go back and just order a plate of those. They were sooooo good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2017

This is my 6th or 7th time at Driftwood and every single experience has been great. The food is fantastic and the servers have always been attentive and friendly whether I was with a large party or a party of two. The moinshine flasks are one of my favorite things and the Apple Cider shine is great! I have recommended Driftwood to others and I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Would have liked to be able to order from the menu istead of only having a brunch buffet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The food was delicious, including the fried green tomatoes, wings (we chose a peach-jalapeno sauce with it), and hush puppies. The crispy shrimp and grits were flavorful and filling. The short ribs were tasty and very tender. The quality of food was consistently of a high quality since our last visit. We will continue to dine here again and introduce friends to Driftwood.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Unable to edit/change the number of guests on the open table app, somehow it defaults to 2 and I wasn't able to find any where in my settings to change that. Please advise

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2017

The dinner and staff were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great food and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Brunch was great as always. Service was casual and fun. Always a fan.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Food was tasty. Service a bit slow, though nice waitstaff. Had to wait 15 mins for a cocktail. Good oysters, flavors good. Shrimp and grits good but not hot, sent back, still not hot.
Desserts lacking in selections.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

The chicken wings appetizer was delicious. The fried oysters were good as well. For meals we had fried catfish and beef brisket. Both very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Everything we had was delicious! Great service from Michelle for our party of 6, kids through seniors. Can't wait to go back for the softshell crab gumbo, and hope to have Michelle as our server again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Nice dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was good. The service left a bit to be desired. Both the waiter and the hostess acted like our simple request would take an act of congress. When we asked for a manager, suddenly they could accommodate us. That said, the food was good and I liked the decor. I'd go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2017

They have changed the menu. The original is much more appealing. New choices are merely fair and mostly unnecessary. Go back to the original-a meal should come with a side order not have to pay extra,especially a smoker meal. On the positive the biscuits served upon seating are delicious. However they should be unlimited, not .50 extra per biscuit. There were only 3 tiny ones upon sit down. Just keep the buffet brunch please!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Loved the food and service!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic anniversary dinner at this restaurant. Not only was the food fantastic, but our waitress - Fawn, was total perfection. She kept our glasses full and offered amazing stories. We look forward to going back soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Birthday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Overall everything about our dinner was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing food and environment. Brie was our server and she gave fantastic recommendations from the menu. The chicken friend chicken and ribs were incredible! Also, the fried tomatoes were wonderful. Would definitely go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Driftwood has delicious, southern food at a reasonable price. They were pretty quiet for a Monday night, and our server was not the most attentive and did not come by our table very often even though they were not busy. Their menu is very extensive when it comes to southern foods. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and the food was pretty good, though the pork was a bit dry. The brussel sprouts were amazing though! The portion was just right as well.

I would definitely give it another chance if I were in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Nice location, attentive service & great comfort food choices. There were 5 of us and none of us had been here. We ALL said we would be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food is always delicious. We brought our friends here for brunch and they loved it! They will definitely be back and we’ll keep bringing others. The brunch is one of the best in Raleigh!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Last minute decision for dinner and it was really good. Food was delicious. Server was awesome. Ambiance was just what we like. Only negative would be plate descriptions. Chicken and dumplings was more chicken soup with a few "dumplings" than a traditional Southern dish where the dumplings are as much the star as the chicken (if not more). Too much broth and veggies. Very tasty, but not at all "chicken and dumplings" as most of us NC natives would define it. My son's meatloaf was fantastic; father-in-law's beef brisket was pure melt-in-your mouth smokey goodness; and wife's fried shrimp and grits was a nice twist on the tried and true. Definitely will be back again (and again).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The menu didn't seem to have as much variety as I remember. Too much of the same dish but different meat. Needs more variety.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was great! With two people in our group who do not eat meat, there were still plenty of options. This was the largest place for our get together and the brunch buffet was awesome. The best part was how reasonably priced everything was! Thank you for great service and a great place for us ladies to get out and enjoy each other's company!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I enjoyed their new menu that they have for The Fall season and I was able to find a lot of gluten-free dishes on the menu it made me really enjoy my birthday celebration for the weekend

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant in north Raleigh. Southern comfort food with a twist. Good food and fair price. Service was unbelievably good for a Friday night. Waitress was knowledgeable, and helpful without being intrusive. Her recommendations were spot on. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.