Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today
Special offers available. See details

Driftwood Southern Kitchen

4.5
558 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Perfect For:
  • Comfort Food
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
*WALK-INS ONLY on Friday and Saturday evenings (exceptions for large parties)*
Driftwood Southern Kitchen is located in Lafayette Village. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Comfort Food, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 977-8360
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nunzio Scordo
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Falls of Neuse Rd. and Honeycutt Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On site parking in private lot, underground parking garage, and street parking
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Brunch buffet - prime rib and smoked turkey carving, roasted salmon, shrimp cocktail, roasted chicken, and all of the other brunch favorites regularly offered $26.95 adults $14.95 kids under 10 (pricing includes juice, coffee, tea, soda)

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 558 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The food was just okay. Not really much brunch selection or flavor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

My first lunch experience here. It was as good as the dinners have been. I tried the crispy shrimp and grits and it was quite good. The serving size was perfect for lunch. The pecan pie for dessert was full of pecans and very flavorful! I'll definitely be back for lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Overall food was good, service was great. The ribs had good flavor but were extremely tough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Such good food and drinks! Love that specialty drinks are half off on Mondays! Highly recommend the chicken stacks.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We showed up ten minutes ahead...but didn’t get a table for twenty minutes...😦
Inside was far too loud so we sat outside on the uncomfortable chairs😠
Only the buffet was available so...it was not good, in fact boring 😦
Service was bad,,,had to ask for a drink menu twice😣
Prices were premium... but everything else was 😡

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went with family for Easter Sunday Brunch and we all were very pleased. Excellent service even though the restaurant was quite busy. Food was very good and price was fair. Will go back to do a regular Sunday brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Good food and a nice atmosphere.
A great spot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were seated promptly by the host, who was very polite and professional. Our server (blonde bartender) gave us EXCELLENT service! Our first visit to Driftwood for brunch exceeded expectations!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Very unorganized. More times than not food trays empty cold they could not keep food out .. left feeling like dang do I need to go some where and eat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The service was prompt, friendly and very knowledgeable. The menu was amazing—I couldn’t decide so the sever helped me narrow down choices I did not regret! So, so good. The bacon jelly was something I didn’t realize my life was missing but at the server’s suggestion I bought a pint to take home so now my family thanks her too! One of my favorite places in Raleigh. I will be back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food, great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I thought the Sunday buffet was pretty delicious. My dad is in a wheelchair and they put us in an awkward area but overall the service and food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great southern comfort with a gourmet twist! We thoroughly enjoyed it!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Will never go back. Service was horrific for our table of 6, and it was not even half full in the restaurant. Food was just ok.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 7, 2018

We had meatloaf and the chicken stack ... The sauces were very salty and thick and actually detracted from the flavor of the food ... Very disappointing ... I cannot see myself returning to this restaurant, nor recommending it to a friend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

This was my 3rd visit to Driftwood and I've always loved the food and service in the past - still love the food but this last visit i wasn't very impressed with how things were handled. This visit was for a special occasion. My friend was having a birthday and 5 of us girls got together to grab a late lunch and celebrate. When i reserved I made a reservation for 1:45 which was accepted. I had no idea until we got there that this was a brunch buffet menu (that was fine btw) AND that the restaurant closes at 2pm. So needless to say we were rushed out of there and generally had not much time to eat, catch up, and celebrate. Why would you accept reservations at 1:45 if you close at 2? Not a great experience....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

I think our servers name was Bre. She was phenomenal. She was super friendly and extremely attentive. The food was great as well. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Food is good and atmosphere is nice and quiet. Easy to get and parking is not a problem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Shannon took great care of us. We dined early because the noise level would have prohibited a conversation. Food was delicious. We will be back. Cocktails and dessert was awesome as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This was our second time visiting, we had family from out of town. They loved it and want to come back next time they are in town. The food it outstanding great selection and the service is a 12 out of a 10. When you have servers that treat you like friends you can't ask for anything more. Keep up this kind of food and service and we will be regulars!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

The food was delicious and definitely southern comfort food. But it had a modern twist and was fun to eat. Brussels sprouts with bacon? Amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants. Food and service are outstanding and Kathy and Justin always treat us like royalty. I always recommend Driftwood to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Having eaten there before, my wife and I went there for a Valentine's dinner. We had made reservations and were , promptly seated. We were given tables that we're cleaned . We asked the hostess if we could change for seats near a window which we were. For dinner , I ordered the pork/beef meatloaf with mashed potatoes. My wife ordered the salmon in chipotle sauce with salad. The meatloaf was moist and tender in a mushroom gravy over the mashed potatoes. My wife's salmon was cooked just enough and flaked easily. The salad was tasty and the vinegarette was sweet and tart. Afterwards, we had the chocolate lava cake with ice cream. The cake was delicious with oozing chocolate pudding ,inside. The one missing piece was the ice cream. It must have been left open because it tasted like freezer burned . I let our hostess know and was given a replacement. So other than that ,we had an enjoyable evening. Music and TV's showing the games kept the ambience light. We will have to try their brunch one day . A special thanks to our hostess, Shannon for her great hosting in such a busy atmosphere. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

My wife try new restaurants every week all over the world. On a recommendation we tried Driftwood in Lafayette Plaza. This locations is really beautiful, with many upscale shops, and a really great butcher shop next door. The ambiance is very nice, I guess you'd call it retro southern with a little hipster thrown in. Not sure if this is part of a chain, because some of the décor is similar to other high end restaurants in town (example: Oak). There were plenty of staff, and the kitchen is open so you can see the activity. Two small items of note: the metal chairs look cool, but are quite uncomfortable, and the lighting is too dim to properly read the menu. The little lights in the ball jar on the table is a nice touch instead of the usual candle. Restrooms were clean, and the sinks/faucets were kind of upscale.

Food was a mix. We had fried green tomatoes (outstanding with the goat cheese), crispy clam chowder (chowder was great, fried clams were just too much), and fried oysters (a little too much breading for our taste). Had the moonshine raspberry lemonade mixed drink (potent, nice flavor). For the mains my wife had the Orzo risotto with chicken(too dry, needed a cream sauce, lacked definitive flavor, ultimately a dissapointment), and I had the mixed smoke platter (pulled pork was excellent, brisket was too salty and mushy, baby back ribs were good, a little dry, needed more sauce).

Our good friends recently dined there and raved about the blackened catfish. We will head there again, but will be a bit more picky about the number of fried items that we order. I believe that their menu is creative, reflects southern influence, but needs some rework, and development of flavors to take the next step. If the restaurant merged their menu with something similar to what you would find at the Stanbury, I would eat there every day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Yum. Everything was fantastic. Waitress was especially kind to the kids. Happy to go there again. Get the smoker platter!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Top notch service and wonderful food, in a lively environment!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

We love this restaurant ! It is very cute and the service is over the top! However, we ordered the Louisiana crawfish and crab dip and 6 of us had severe heartburn and stomach cramps for hours!! We ate dinner at 5pm and were still miserable at 2am. Not sure what was up with the dip but I would not recommend it! It wasn’t fun to spend over $200 for a night of agony. No more dip for us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

I'd been to Driftwood Southern Kitchen for lunch and it was great. This visit was my first for Sunday brunch. We had a table of four (two couples). I'm not always a fan of buffets but Driftwood did such a nice job with their buffet...they should be the model for brunch buffets! Breakfast items were in one line, right in front of the open kitchen. Items were consistently refilled so there was no need to stand around and wait. They had waffles, French toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, muffins and a freshly cut fruit bowl in the breakfast line. The lunch line - on the bar - had bbq beef brisket (so tender!), fried chicken, mac and cheese, beans, salads and dessert items. Here's the best part - $2 mimosas and $5 Bloody Mary's! The buffet was a reasonable $17. Add a mimosa, and you're still under $20. The service was great...lots of water refills, plate clearing, etc.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We really enjoyed our short rib and chicken stack entrees, and our server was outstanding. She was super friendly and attentive, knowledgeable about the menu, and on point through the meal. The key lime pie was a little sweet for our tastes, and the cinnamon donuts were really dense, so dessert was a little but of a letdown. Still good, just not as good as they could have been. We definitely plan to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Food was delicious and service attentive. I require gluten free and the server understood and adjusted the menu to accommodate me. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was fair. Nothing outstanding but nothing terrible. It was just ok

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The restaurant was nearly empty and they wanted to seat us next to the bathroom. How do you do that to a top in an empty restaurant? We even had a reservation.

I think the seating issue may have started us off on the wrong foot. Had we been seated in any of the empty half-booths or tables near the windows, then we probably would have been more satisfied. I just didn’t want to ask for a third option in seating.

Food was great and the server was incredible until we had to wait for our check. We must have waited 10min after she cleared plates for the server to come by and I finally ended up flagging her down to ask for our bill. Once we had the check she turned pmt around quickly and still garnered a 20% tip based on the quality of service up to that point. Hopefully this hiccup was caused by our timing (late lunch/early dinner) and they were just working out kinks prior to the dinner rush.

All-in-all food was a good value and the dining experience is decent. There are just three tables in the back half of the restaurant (2 by the bathroom and 1 equidistant between them) that are really unappealing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The food was great as always. It's warm and friendly, quiet enough to have conversation. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Celebrating a birthday, we had reservations for a party of 6. We arrived for our 7:30 reservation promptly at 7:30. We were told that they were “getting our table ready”. We were not sat until 8:05, with no explanation of what was taking so long, no offer for water or refreshments. Not a great start. Thankfully, the experience improved after we were sat. We were provided with three complimentary appetizers, our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Our food came out in a reasonable amount of time. I ordered the French Philly: brioche bun with smoked brisket, caramelized onions, gruyere cheese. The sandwich was quite tasty and the brisket was very tender. The rest of my family all enjoyed their meals as well. Would return, but maybe not on a Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

What an outstanding establishment, everything was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

There is nothing on the menu that not delicious. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

The service was very slow. We were holding our menus for 15 min and waited that long to order. The seats were very uncomfortable. Need cushions!! The brisket was something you can get anywhere. But the green tomatoes were very good (if you like goat cheese)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Great comfort food and great service. Short ribs were melt in your mouth good. Great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2018

This was our first visit for dinner and it was great. It was raining outside so it wasn't that busy. Michelle provided great service and recommended some great choices. We each had the Chicken and Dumplings and had the biscuits for our appetizer. Everything was delicious and the chicken and dumplings were almost as good as my mom's. We 'll be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Great night, great service and yummy food but honestly my dinner salad was really tiny. Everyone else’s meals we’re great just so don’t get a dinner salad as a full meal, Get an app with it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Driftwood Southern Kitchen