About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Restaurant Photos

  • Driftwood Southern Kitchen
Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (51)
neighborhood gem (49)
good for groups (44)
See All
great for brunch (29)
great for lunch (27)
great for outdoor dining (22)
special occasion (21)
kid-friendly (19)
hot spot (16)
romantic (9)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The noise level was high and it was diff ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

The noise level was high and it was difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Son's burger not well done as requested ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Son's burger not well done as requested . Sat at bar and service not too quick even tho we were only ones there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Good food and a friendly staff. Second ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food and a friendly staff. Second time eating there and both times have been enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Had the Sunday Brunch. Great selection ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had the Sunday Brunch. Great selection of breakfast foods as well as lunch items. The cheddar biscuits are awesome with the sausage gravy. The stuffed pork tenderloin was melt in your mouth tender, moist and very tasty. Was not a big fan of the Latin themed music playing. A little too loud for a Sunday brunch and didn't seem to fit the 'Southern' theme. Overall, though, great meal and looking forward to trying out the dinner menu soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had been to Driftwood for lunch a whil ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had been to Driftwood for lunch a while back and was not impressed. So glad I gave it another chance. We went for dinner and we were all extremely pleased with our meals. Also had a wonderful server. I will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My experience at Driftwood was fine but ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My experience at Driftwood was fine but not outstanding. The service was okay overall. Our entrees did come out before we were done with our appetizer which was annoying. That is a sign of poor service in my opinion. The fried green tomatoes were tasty. I had the lobster roll for my entree. It was totally edible, but I am not eager to eat it again. The roll that the lobster was on was very good, and there was quite a bit of lobster on the roll. My friend had the risotto for dinner and said that it was only okay, because it was still a bit tough. For dessert, we split the chocolate pecan pie which I would not get again. The crust wasn't flaky at all, and the pie didn't excite me. My watermelon Mojito was once again okay, but it really could have used more alcohol. I probably wouldn't suggest dining at Driftwood, but it was fine enough that I would go again if someone else suggested going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The atmosphere is great! (Think HGTV Fix ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The atmosphere is great! (Think HGTV Fixer Upper style decor) but the food is not impressive. Their pork is extremely salty to the point of being inedible, and their "St Louis style" ribs are not St. Louis style at all. Food is served on a wooden cutting board which is not sanitary as you cannot keep that clean over time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Our favorite restaurant in all of Raleig ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in all of Raleigh. Always an outstanding meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch selection was mostly very sweet i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch selection was mostly very sweet items. Food OK. Waitress cordial. Not too impressed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was introduced to Driftwood Southern K ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was introduced to Driftwood Southern Kitchen by two close friends and I was happy to be aware of such a wonderful buffet selection for a Sunday brunch. The only thing I would ask, as someone with Celiac Disease, is that each dish is labeled with ingredients so people who have to eat Gluten Free can know what is safe.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A tasty and slightly different twist on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A tasty and slightly different twist on Southern-style cuisine. Even though what our party ordered was solidly in the "comfort food" category, the departure from the ordinary for the selections ordered really worked to make the occasion delicious and interesting. We will be returning, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best thing I can say about Driftwood ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The best thing I can say about Driftwood is that is wildly inconsistent. We've eaten here at least a half-dozen times, and we really were hoping that it would find its groove, but I'm afraid we are done. Service and quality and taste of food are all over the place. Our latest meal was borderline inedible. One thing that I have found to be consistent-- attitude at host stand: surly and condescending. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We went for Father's day brunch. The fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's day brunch. The food was mediocre. Good selection but expected better taste for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We have been to Driftwood before for reg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to Driftwood before for regular dining and were very pleased so we were excited by the Father's Day brunch buffet. It was quite disappointing. Limited food choices with empty food trays, area around the trays was not cleaned of dropped food, dessert was a couple of cookies and canolies which tasted like they were right out of the box. Did not live up to the advertisement and cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The Father's Day brunch was so yummy! Lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Father's Day brunch was so yummy! Love the items available on the brunch buffet, particularly that French toast. Dang!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We love Driftwood. One of my new favori ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love Driftwood. One of my new favorites. Never disappoints

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food; beautiful décor; poor custome ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good food; beautiful décor; poor customer service by wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Awesome food, wonderful atmosphere, exc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Awesome food, wonderful atmosphere, excellent staff!!!! We WILL be back!!!! Thank You!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Their BBQ sampler platter is always great to share with my husband and they carry my favorite low gluten beer - Omission!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Skip it

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Server was inattentive and slow to respond to our table even though her section was small (maybe 4 tables all together). The food was bland and lacked flavor. Atmosphere and décor was nice. Not a restaurant I would choose to go back to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Southern food with a twist

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was a nice find. The menu is full of classic southern dishes, but with a twist. We had the Angry Tater Tots as an appetizer and they were delicious. I had the Risotto and my husband had the chicken sandwich. Both were delicious. We also shared the macaroni and cheese and collards as sides. They were both outstanding. This is a great place to dine and in a great location. Outdoor seating is available as well. We will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Southern kitchen in French environment.

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The fried green tomatoes were excellent. The sweet potato fries tasted cooked mot fried...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Cannot wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Cannot wait to bring our kiddos the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alway great, consistently

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food and service is always delicious and bar area is awesome! The best BBQ and sides you'd ever try in town. Atmosphere is always happenin but never too much...just right all the way around!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will return!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

There are six of us that go out every Saturday nite. All of us would definitely return for food, service and atmosphere. Excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you get. Fri ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you get. Fried Chicken was awful. I'd go elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Mother's Day Brunch Review

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good however not overturned quickly so had to return to the line often to see if food was available. Was told Fried Chicken was on the buffet but what was actually served was smoked grill chicken thighs which was disappointing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Restaurant

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to this restaurant to celebrate Mother's Day. Food was great, seated on time (had reservation), service was a little slow, but overall great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I had a group of 12 for Sunday brunch an ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I had a group of 12 for Sunday brunch and we all left so happy and raving about the food. Their brunch is absolutely delicious. All I can say is waffle bar and cheesy hash browns. We had 2 kids in our group and it was very accommodating. They sat us in a private area as requested and service was great. I loved the cute coffee set up. I know my husband and myself will make this a place we frequent on Sunday's for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food at a great price! The shrimp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food at a great price! The shrimp and grits was superb as was the Pork meatloaf. Only downside was the distracted two hostesses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great. Not sure if they were u ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was great. Not sure if they were understaffed in the night I was there, but our waitress was absentee for a good portion of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Great food. Cool take on southern food

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food. Cool take on southern food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheddar biscuits and chicken wing appeti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Cheddar biscuits and chicken wing appetizers were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great N. Raleigh spot

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Fun menu and solid food. Have gone several times and consistently good! Only drawback is people in N. Raleigh need to get out more during the week as we have been there twice on a weeknight (Wed & Thurs) and ended up closing the place by 9:30! Fortunately Friday and Sat it's much better with a later crowd. Keep up the good work Driftwood!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Dinner in a great setting

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

First time here and the food was fantastic from start to finish. Had the sampler and everything on it was outstanding! Brussel Sprouts were on point! A lot of food, but worth it to take home for that late night snack. Great atmosphere and big open kitchen. Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Plates!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Took my mom here for her birthday dinner and we had an excellent dinner. Our server was friendly and engaging and the food was awesome. Each plate was clean & my mother remarked at how delicious the food was. An perfect selection for my mom's special dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The place has a nice rustic design, and the staff was friendly. There were no explanation from the hostess who seated us about how the buffet and was conducted, since it was our first time there, so we just got up and went to where the crowd was. The food was good but I would have liked to see some labels in front of the food since some things that were there wasn't self explanatory.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Decent Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We went to Driftwood for Brunch to celebrate my son's First Communion. Overall, it was a good experience. The food quality was excellent. The angry tots, mac & cheese, and the biscuits are all top notch, and the bacon was also very good. The fresh berries were also a nice touch. I can't say enough about the boneless fried chicken - even my daughter enjoyed it. The service was pretty friendly, although a little slow. In full disclosure, I recently moved from the north and find most restaurants down here slow.

The only downside I saw was the selection was fairly limited based on other brunches I have tried. For $16.95 for adults, and $9.95 for children, I would have expected more.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Brunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Good Sunday brunch for the entire family! Friendly staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.