About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (34)
Casual (29)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fun (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Family Style (5)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Live Sports (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Dinner was delicious and the food came out SUPER quickly. Everyone was very friendly and we ended up sitting at the bar closing the place down. He bartender didn't ask us to leave or tell us they were closing.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time there. Fully enjoyed it!!! Will definitely go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have had the shrimp and grits, excellent- the chicken fried chicken, excellent, most recent visit had the chicken and dumplings- not great more like chicken soup and I had 2 quarter sized dumplings. Not what I expected. Will not get this dish again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great. Server, Christine, was outstanding. The chairs are so very UNCOMFORTABLE! I would come much more often if they were replaced.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is our second time going here and sharing the plate-o-meat. We shared a main disk and got a couple sides and an app. That was the way to go as the plate-o-meat defiantly fed two people. It was delicious. Our little one had a burger and ate it all. They don't have ranch though. They have this ranch-like sauce that tastes like dill. I know they are trying to be cool, but kids like ranch. Other than that it was great and we liked walking around to all the shops before and after dinner. We will probably go back for a 3rd visit in a few months.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Not sure why this place is so popular with high reviews, seemed just above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was amazing! Way better then I ever expected. I will most DEFINITELY go back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic... Everything was just perfect...From the food to the service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wow, was this place a disappointment! I had heard good things--including from my wife, with whom my restaurant tastes usually align--and was looking forward to a Valentine's Day dinner with a large group of friends.

The baby kale salad I had was very good, but the salmon I had for a main course was bland and dry.

Worst of all was the service. We had a waiter who seemed very inexperienced and would disappear for extended periods. At least 30 minutes elapsed between when I finished my main course and the dirty dishes were retrieved.

I don't expect to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They provided a Great Valentines dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Generous portions however, there seemed to be too much salt in the collard greens and sausage. Pulled pork, brisket and ribs were some of the best I've had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been to Driftwood twice. Both times I found the food to be excellent and the service lacking. If the service was better I would go more often. I think they are understaffed.
I also think the decor could be improved, it is inconsistent with the idea of the food and the name of the restaurant.
I want to like the place, the food is good and the location is good ( but difficult to find parking) . I will be reluctant to return though because of the poor service.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My appetizers, dessert and the fried skins were good but I was disappointed in the eastern style barbecue. It didn't taste like it was made by anyone that is southern. Overall, it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love Sunday Brunch at Driftwood. We live in Durham, and gladly drive out for this. The food is delicious, and it's a buffet so you can get a good brunch for a great price. They have the best bacon, and french toast in the area.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great time. Food was hot and delicious. Portions were spot on.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant was very delightful. It had an open atmosphere and the food was very chow. I had the Chicken Fried Chicken and my wife had the ribs. The servings were extremely generous. I appreciated that our waitress allowed me to substitute white meat chicken for the dark meat which they currently use to prepare their chicken. It was vibrant but not romantic.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Driftwood Southern Kitchen had the charm of southern appeal with a modern/contemporary take on decor. The food selection was amazing and has your typical southern dishes on every part of the menu. I would say the price for the quality of the food is very fair and the ambiance of being in Lafayette Village also provides a great atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Generous portions, fresh and very good. Meatloaf was excellent. Sampler was excellent and a lot of food. Chicken and dumplings was more like soup, but good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall the experience here was a good one. The southern cuisine is exactly what you'd expect to find except for the Farro Risotto. The blackened catfish was excellent as was the pairing with the sweet potato hash and plantains. Portions were more than adequate for dinner and the service was excellent. I would recommend it and look forward to see how they do with other southern, smoked favorites like pork and ribs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was Valentine's weekend so we could only get a 5PM reservation when we tried last minute, but that worked out okay. It was not crowded nor noisy then and we were able to have a great visit with old friends while our meal was prepared and served. Although my brisket was not very hot, it was quite good. Our friends had the chicken fried chicken and the BBQ ribs and both loved them and said they'd definitely order them again. Service was terrific. Friendly yet not intrusive. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food - great
Service- great
Restaurant- clean and spacious

Awesome as hell! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

brunch is awesome. highly recommended I'd go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for brunch... but forgot that we couldn't partake of the well priced mimosas and Bloody Mary's until noon! The brunch is buffet only and had a nice assortment of breakfast and lunch items. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was very good, but we had a couple of issues. First, due to an error somewhere, my husband's entree came as the rest of us were more than half done with ours. The waitperson laughed it off and the restaurant made no move to make amends for the their mistake, where other restaurants we frequent would have done something (e.g.a manager apology, reduced price, free wine, etc.). The second issue was the price of a glass of wine. No wine menu was provided (we should have asked) so we relied on the waitperson's recommendation - all were $11.50 a glass! So the food was a good value for the quality; the wine was not. The food will bring us back, but next time we'll dig deeper into drink pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Unique dishes. All very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The brunch at Driftwood is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A good restaurant to take your date out. Excellent menu with decent price.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food & a very fun and open atmosphere! Wasn't overly expensive & our service was great. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good twist on Southern dishes. Fun vibe. Good service. Makes for a good casual night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Pretty good overall. Salmon was great, but the pulled port was too salty and the brisket was too fatty. I'd go back if it was convenient, but it isn't worth the 20 min drive for us. Waitress, Fawn, was very nice.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great ambiance, delicious food, attentive but not overbearing service. We'll be back for when we want a fun night out that doesn't break the bank.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Third time at the restaurant. Food has always been good. Wait staff and timing of food delivery has been awkward and very out of sync

Drinks arrived 15 minutes after ordering...then the appetizer came....and before we even finished enjoying them the entrees arrived

Best advice to enjoy your meal...don't order all at once

Final comment...food is always good

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Fantastic meal and service. We were there with friends and had a wonderful time trying all the wonderful Sothern food!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was great! Only complaint is that our main course came out before we had finished our appetizer. Other than that it was so great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience! Waitstaff knew the menu and had great drink pairing suggestions!! Going back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was excellent especially the black bean and sausage soup. The Brussels sprouts were delectable as well. Went shopping in the village so it was a one stop shop experience. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great smoked BBQ platter... food was excellent and service was attentive. Definitely would return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Delicious with interesting choices and great ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was delicious. It was a great value for everything that we got. I don't often leave a restaurant full AND with leftovers. The pimento cheese board is a lot of delicious food for a $10 appetizer. BBQ sandwich and chicken fried chicken were both awesome.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Four of us ate at Driftwood, a meeting with old friends. Everyone was very pleased with their meal. I ordered their pork meatloaf, a very unusual order for me but absolutely delicious and highly recommended. The two ladies ordered shrimp and grits, one fried, one broiled, and both were very pleased. The fourth person ordered a beef dish, for which I have no specific feedback, but it was enjoyed. Desserts were too large but delicious. Wine list was decent. Our waitress was very attentive, and the wine server offered to bring us a sample first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.