About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Restaurant Photos

  • Driftwood Southern Kitchen, Raleigh, NC
  • Driftwood Southern Kitchen, Raleigh, NC

Report a photo problem

Specials

Tappin' Tuesday

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

50% Off Select Cocktails

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

50% off all wines by the glass

Thursdays and Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Dark & Stormy

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

PBR Tallboys

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Brunch Specials

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Specials

Tappin' Tuesday

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

All draft beers are just $3. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 25, 2016 - Feb 21, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

50% Off Select Cocktails

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 26, 2016 - Feb 22, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

50% off all wines by the glass

Thursdays and Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% off all wines by the glass. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 27, 2016 - Feb 23, 2017 on Thursdays and Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Dark & Stormy

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

All dark and stormy cocktails are just $5. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 28, 2016 - Feb 24, 2017 on Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

PBR Tallboys

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

PBR Tallboys are $3. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 22, 2016 - Feb 18, 2017 on Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Brunch Specials

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

Bloody Mary $5 and Mimosas $2 each. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 23, 2016 - Feb 19, 2017 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM.

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Comfort Food (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fun (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (4)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dancing (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food. Great place for a date n ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food. Great place for a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time eating here and I ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our first time eating here and I was bringing my twins who turned 20 that day and 4 other adults to help us celebrate so we needed a big table and a good selection of hearty meals (meat)! My guys all loved their giant plates of ribs and brisket and my daughter and I loved our salads and fish. Basically they have something for everyone and the flavor was amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

New Years Day

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was probably my 3rd or 4th time goi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was probably my 3rd or 4th time going to Driftwood and I have never been disappointed! The atmosphere is unique, the staff is very friendly and the food is always incredible.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent house cocktails here. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had excellent house cocktails here. We also appreciated not being forced in to a fixed menu even though it was NYE. They had unique specials, but we could still get some of their standard favorites.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bri was our waitress for NYE. She was gr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bri was our waitress for NYE. She was great. Great dinner menu, wonderful service. Will definitely make a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit. I asked for a q ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was my first visit. I asked for a quiet table because one member of our party is hearing impaired. The restaurant seated us at a quiet corner table. Our server, Fawn, was helpful and informative. The food was delicious! We'll definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Holiday dinner with family. Our server ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Holiday dinner with family. Our server was awesome. The food was delicious and portions were enough that we ended up taking home some food.

The meat platter was a hit with the carnivores and even filled them up to where they had take home boxes.

I highly recommend Driftwood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Driftwood Southern Kitchen is one of our ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Driftwood Southern Kitchen is one of our favorites! This was the third Christmas Eve we have spent together there. We have never been disappointed. And did I say the brisket is to die for? Everything served was fresh, quickly brought, and the cocktails are unique and tasty. Celebrate your next occasion at Driftwood!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for whatever occasion you mi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place for whatever occasion you might want to celebrate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit on 12/23. Had a reservation ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First visit on 12/23. Had a reservation and was seated promptly. Nice varied menu. Good choice of full dinners and sandwiches. Limited but ok beer and wine selection. Specialty is Southern "comfort" foods. Wife had the half portion of the ribs. Very good and plenty for anyone but the biggest appetite. I had the braised beef short ribs on top of cheese grits with onion rings on the side. Excellent and again plenty of food. Our server was great.

I will definitely go back.

Only knock is parking is tight near the entrance but I noticed a parking garage on my walk in that I'll. Try next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious. Will go back

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delicious. Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent restaurant. The good was fant ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant. The good was fantastic and the service was great as well. Loved the menu selections.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers are amazing, the hush puppie ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Appetizers are amazing, the hush puppies are a must!!!

Food is great, Waite staff helpful and friendly. Not good for anyone in a hurry, not to say the service is slow....merely paced to offer time to enjoy the food and company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

LOVED the pork rinds on the table! My co ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

LOVED the pork rinds on the table! My cocktail and dinner (shrimp and grits) were excellent. The service was spot on, but it was a slow night for them. I could see how the restaurant could get noisy if busy, but the food would be worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We celebrated a family birthday there an ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday there and had a great evening. The food was very good...the chef is very creative. We had one of the best waiters we have ever had anywhere! She went above and beyond and did everything possible to make our experience special. Love the eclectic ambiance there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner! Doughnuts are a must, lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great dinner! Doughnuts are a must, loved the chicken fried chicken with sausage gravy. Ordered the small entrees so we could try salads and appetizers. Service was warm and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and superb service! We w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wonderful food and superb service! We will be back Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch at Driftwood is amazing every ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The brunch at Driftwood is amazing every time. They do a great job with variety, the food (including dinner) is always enjoyable. One of my favorite restaurants in North Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food on the Sunday Brunch buffet was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food on the Sunday Brunch buffet was great. We were celebrating my mother's birthday with her sisters from out of town. They enjoyed the food and modern decor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the experience. Although the foo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoyed the experience. Although the food was very good, the cocktails were not. My husband ordered a vodka tonic and they brought a vodka and club soda. It was returned but then the tonic water tasted flat. I had a margarita which tasted like it was made from a cheap grocery store mix. I would definitely recommend the restaurant for it's food and atmosphere but would say to stick with beer or wine.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time at Driftwood Sou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was our first time at Driftwood Southern Kitchen. The food was delicious! I had the ribs with mac & cheese and it was really good. For dessert I had the chocolate pecan pie with a side scoop of the bourbon burnt sugar ice cream. The pie was really good, although it didn't taste chocolatey to me at all and the ice cream was also really good! My husband had the catfish and he said it was really good! They didn't bread the fish but it had crispy edges; which he really liked. It came with a plantain and sweet potato mash that he really enjoyed. For dessert he had a peanut butter pie; which he loved!

My only feedback would be this: when making reservations I noted that we were celebrating our 18th anniversary and the restaurant didn't even acknowledge it. And the service was very, very slow! We went on a Monday evening and there were only about 5 tables with customers seated, yet our server seemed busy doing other things and was not very attentive to our table. She was very nice and helpful with the menu, though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food excellent. Beer list was okay but ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food excellent. Beer list was okay but most of the beers are way over hopped. Some traditional lagers, pale ales and porters would be a benefit. Ribs were really good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Overall pretty disappointed. Mixed drink ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall pretty disappointed. Mixed drinks were good, but felt the food was sub par. Chicken and dumplings was really soupy and only had 3 small dumplings included. Definitely not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to brunch for the 1st time there ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went to brunch for the 1st time there. The food was ok and we had to wait a lot for the pans to be refilled. Our waitress was a bit less than attentive but nice. I had to get up and refil our water because we were thirsty and she came to check on us sparingly. Im not sure that we would come back for brunch, but we would possibly try a different meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Driftwood always impresses!! Excellent s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Driftwood always impresses!! Excellent service with great southern food in a great atmosphere. If this is your first time here you need to try the shrimp and grits and the biscuits!! Leave room for the doughnuts at end for desert.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent .... wil ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service and food were excellent .... will definitely go back and take friends with us.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there for Sunday brunch.great atmosp ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was there for Sunday brunch.great atmosphere friendly staff, good food, nice variety of food. Waitress was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate here for the first time a month ago ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ate here for the first time a month ago and the food was great. When I came back for another meal last night, my food was nowhere near as good. The risotto had enough salt to fill a 1LB bag. And the shrimp and grits were way greasier than I remember. Not sure if there was just a different cook on staff, but I certainly did not enjoy my meal. Our waiter was great and the ambiance was too. But if the food is like this again on my next visit, I'm never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Last night was our first but not our las ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Last night was our first but not our last dining experience at Driftwood Southern Kitchen. There was a slight mix up with the wait staff to start off our evening however it was quickly corrected and we has a fantastic dinner. The food was outstanding along with the service. I would recommend Driftwood Southern Kitchen to anyone looking for great food in a great setting. We loved the Southern charm in the decor at the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mmmmm. The oysters were great. It was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mmmmm. The oysters were great. It was our first time there. We'll surely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very helpful with food an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our server was very helpful with food and wine recommendations. We enjoyed our selections and the service was excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my first time here but it was for my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Not my first time here but it was for my dining partner's. We loved it. She said her salad was superb. I had the blackened catfish sandwich and as usual, the collards with bacon. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome surprise! Wonderful food, great ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Awesome surprise! Wonderful food, great atmosphere, music. Very clean! Crystal clear H2O was relish! Smoked wings with peach glaze and jalapeños, cheddar biscuits with sweeeeeet whipped butter ant sweet potato tarts were sssssooooo good. I need more adjectives to adequately describe experience. Bonus- we earned Open Table rewards. 😁Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent staff. Great service and great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent staff. Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I really enjoyed my experience. I recent ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I really enjoyed my experience. I recently stopped eating meat and was worried there would not but be may choices. There were plenty of choices to make and the other people I was with seemed to really enjoy there meat. I chose the FARRO RISOTTO

asparagus, mushrooms, farro, wilted arugula, truffle oil and it was absolutely delicious. One of the best meals I have ever had. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We moved to Raleigh in July after visiti ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We moved to Raleigh in July after visiting the city for years. This is hands down the best restaurant in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is great place for Sunday brunch bu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is great place for Sunday brunch buffet with really good food for reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great food.

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, friendly service. Loved the k ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent, friendly service. Loved the kale salad! Did not love the cocktail special (really dark & stormy).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.