About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd. and Honeycutt Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot, underground parking garage, and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always awesome. Everything we have tried on the menu has been delicious! Service is always fast and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always enjoy Driftwood. I bring out of town guests to experience some southern cuisine. I order the pimento cheese plate with hot pepper jelly and fired green tomatoes.

They have E. Carolina BBQ which I tell people is local food, but I always order the pork meat loaf. Good local draft beer selection

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The brunch was a second visit. The restaurant is simply beautiful! Would like to see more options ex. Grits and or turkey meat options. Overall the experience was ok.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good eats on the Sunday Buffet side. This is my second brunch here and I would have to say the food could be hit or miss sometimes. The goto for me always is the French Toast, Mac and cheese, Salad,Ribs, Shrimp and Grits and Mimosas some of these items very depending on the Sunday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Breakfast buffet was overpriced for the selection that was available. The waffles were not freshly cooked, they were just warmed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and the staff was very blasé about the occasion. The food, however, was delicious and we liked that we could order large or small servings.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Chicken on the brunch buffet was under cooked. Waffles were dried out and needed to be replenished. Meager selections. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Made reservations for Sunday brunch. Buffet was delicious with a lot of variety and drink specials made this our new brunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was good, but they lost the reservation but were able to seat us. The restaurant was kind of noisy and the lighting a little too dim. Overall, we had a great experience and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Sunday Brunch hit the mark for me and my diet which allows me to have one cheat day a week. This is a great place to get a diet cheat day kicked off. If you are bent on eating healthy then the Sunday Brunch is not likely for you.

The French Toast was the best I've ever had and only tried it based on other reviews I'd seen. It did not disappoint and was able to kick it up a notch with a good dollop of whip cream along with a mixed berry topping. Yum! My wife liked the waffles. We tried a little of most everything and it was all very tasty. This will definitely be one of my favorite cheat day venues in the future.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Quality and well prepared food. The mac and cheese is must! Service was very good and staff is friendly and accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Took my cousin from NYC here. Absolutely loved it. Can't wait to come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This was an interesting experience. The food was southern with a heavy hand on what the chef thought were southern prerequisites: grease and salt. One thing that disturbed us was the amount of salt in the dishes. I had to return the collard greens because they were inedible. The corn side dish was much better although it had lots of bacon, hence greasy. The fried chicken is very tasty, although a bit salty - just glad I asked for the gravy to be withheld. My husband liked his oysters with a light breading and his farro salad. I tasted the salad and agree it is probably one of the best dishes on the menu. Cracklings are served as the nibble prior to dinner, an interesting twist. I would recommend this restaurant to some of my southern foodie friends only to get their response.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food and service was exceptional. That will be added to list of places we dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good food, good atmosphere, wonderful waitress. Will be back again and recommend to others.

Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food! Phenomenal service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

As always, excellent quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Second time visit and both times were great. I've tried the chicken sandwich & the catfish, chicken on the first visit was great, catfish needed more seasoning but combined with the sweet potato & plantain was good. My partner had the oyster BLT and said that was great. Mac and cheese would have been better if seasoned (salt). Waitress was great and helpful. She recommended the Friday drink special and it was great. Oh the fried green tomatoes were good also. The price surprised me on my first visit but it's not to bad for such a small choice selection. I would definitely visit back with friends, especially to introduce them to something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went to Driftwood for my birthday. The menu was great...I had a really difficult time choosing between a few of the entrees. I eventually decided on the small plate Shrimp and Grits, and I was very pleased with my choice!
The restaurant is beautiful, and the waitress was pleasant. We will definitely be back to try a few other things.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always great food! The lobster roll is stuffed full on a soft, delicious bun. Can't beat homemade chips.
Insteresting moonshine cocktails. Half price wine on Thursdays!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Driftwood offers delicious, creative upscale Southern fare. The lavendar martini was divine and you can't beat 1/2 off wine on Thursday nights! My picky son devoured his Chicken Fried Chicken and my daughter loved the ribs with housemade mac and cheese. Start with the cheddar biscuits and finish with the doughnuts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was generally very tasty (skip the greasy, deep-fried French toast!), the ambiance was perfect, and our server was absolutely amazing. Unfortunately, the staff in the kitchen and those resupplying the brunch buffet were a completely different matter. Serving dishes were constantly empty and clean bowls and spoons were often hard to come by, even an hour or longer before brunch service ended. When i couldn't get anyone's attention in the open kitchen, I asked one server walking by, if she would please ask to have an item replenished. Just after I asked, a man (possibly a manager?) stopped her and very begrudgingly filled it, not making eye contact or engaging me in any way, like I had horribly imposed on him or something. It was bizarre and completely threw off the whole experience. Honestly, if not for the great server and yummy food (when it was there), I probably wouldn't consider returning. Hopefully, it was just an off day, but it did add a sour note to an otherwise fun morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We heard about this place and decided to check it out. The food was very tasty (minus cookies) and server was sweet and kind. Loved the atmosphere. We would definitely return to their Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Locally sourced (mainly) food spot with a nice menu of meat, veggie and fish options. All of us had fish and the Mahi blackened was very tasty but a bit overcooked. It came with a cold corn, sprout type salad below it which was also flavorful. The sprouts are a bit tough to eat with the stems. The side dish of local collards really stole the evening with bold southern flavor.

Fair but higher prices, very attentive service from Bri and a fun, people watching prime spot in Lafayette Village.

Side note - the Sunday brunch is top shelf, pricey but excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The food and the service never disappoint. Driftwood is our go-to restaurant. I highly recommend

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunch here is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice mix for kids and adults-we did the lunch buffet and the BBQ was pretty good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food and staff was awesome. I definitely recommend making a reservation on holidays. Great variety of items on brunch menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Father's Day buffet was delicious. Loved how quick the food was refreshed, you didn't feel like you were eating at a buffet. The menus was outstanding and the French toast was perfection! The brisket impressed these Texans and we are tough critics.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a great time!
The food was good, some of it very good. The short ribs & the sausage gravy was great, fried green tomatoes were the fave of our appetisers. I thought the collards were a little salty. My friend didn't like the apple cobbler, she was expecting a crust. I thought it was good , but really - ultra sweet!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We tried their Sunday buffet brunch. The buffet options are limited, had more of a home cooked meal vibe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The brunch was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Dallas took great care of us. Food was interesting and well executed. My husband already wants to go back and try the chicken fried chicken :).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was mediocre. Had the chickens and dumplings(should have been advertised as a soup instead) did not taste good at all. Also had the dw burger which tasted great. Had order Farro salad instead of house chips, was brought chips. The salad was ok but not the greatest. Would not recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch was amazing here! Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were disappointed to find out we could not order off the menu. We had no idea that it was a buffet ONLY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a new place to try and just looked up some restaurants in Raleigh. Upon arriving we were definitely impressed with the scenery and the layout of Driftwood. The staff was friendly the whole time and our waitress Fawn was excellent. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It's a good spot, but the staff was awful, don't spend any attention, we need call all the time, long time waiting between the orders we made it! The stars is just for the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love the lobster rolls at Driftwood. They taste great with any of the cold beers available. Portions are very generous and the handcut potato chips are delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.