About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Restaurant Photos

  • Driftwood Southern Kitchen
  • Driftwood Southern Kitchen
Driftwood Southern Kitchen
Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Fit for Foodies (46)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Groups (37)
See All
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Romantic (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
284 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The truth is....I am not a fan of Driftw ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

The truth is....I am not a fan of Driftwood and I will probably never go back. I went with a friend and we chose this restaurant because we have never been before. I ordered a small plate called the "shrimp stuffed poblano pepper" for 9.95 and my friend ordered the "smoked and grilled meatloaf" for 11.95. There was no bread offered nor crackers or anything else to munch on before our entrees arrived. When our entrees came I really thought I had gotten the wrong small plate, but the server reassured me that it was exactly what I ordered. It was basically a bowl of thick soup and if there were any shrimp in it I couldn't see or taste them. They gave me no spoon either so I ate it with my fork which was doable. My friend got a 1" slice of meatloaf, 4 oz. of mashed potatoes and a small bowl of green beans that she said were not cooked completely. However, she liked the rest of her food and I also liked my "soup" though we were still a bit hungry when we left. What we didn't like was the high price for what you got. To pay almost $10 for a bowl of soup is way too much and my friend thought paying almost $12 for what little food she got was awful. So we went, we tried it and we have decided to not go back. There are many other restaurants in Raleigh that will give you more bang for your buck. So long Driftwood....

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Delicious southern food with a fancy twi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious southern food with a fancy twist. We had the guacamole with cheese and bacon and corn in it (delish) and the short ribs. Great, fun meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading the reviews, I was very ex ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

After reading the reviews, I was very excited to try this place. However, after dining there last night, I'm in no rush to return. The restaurant has an industrial feel to it (think inner city loft) with a bright bar area, which is always a plus. It is pretty loud and hard to carry on a conversation. The server was very good. The food was okay. We had the oyster shots (watermelon gazpacho and vodka)--they were nothing to write home about. The fried green tomatoes were average. My friend's brisket was tender but the taste was lacking. The mac and cheese tasted like Velveeta shells and cheese from the box. The collards just lacked flavor. I had the chicken fried chicken with sausage gravy and mashed potatoes. I have to admit, it was pretty good. My friend agreed that it was probably the best tasting thing we had on the table. That and the bourbon pecan pie were both yummy. The strawberry and champagne drinks tasted okay but they were probably the weakest alcoholic drinks I've ever had. Overall, not worth the hundred dollars we paid for dinner. I wouldn't mind having the chicken fried chicken again but, again, no rush. I have to say that I'm a harsh critic of southern food because I was born and raised on it. This food tried hard but it just lacked authentic flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent service, chicken wings were am ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent service, chicken wings were amazing - perfect combination of sweet and spicy. The donuts for dessert were warm and really good as well - could've eaten a whole order myself with that delicious caramel sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, very good place to dine. Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall, very good place to dine. Food was really good, service was also great. A little noisy but not too bad. Wish they would have read my special note when I booked about it being my boyfriend's Birthday and potentially giving a free dessert. No one mentioned it and thankfully we were too full but would have been nicer if they read my note and sang for him or gave him free dessert. No biggie. Would still recommend to a friend.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food and service was very good. Excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service was very good. Excellent location for a unique night out. Servings of food and drinks are small for the price which leads to 4 stars vs 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Driftwood is ABSOLUTELY FABU ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food at Driftwood is ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! It is flavorful and filling. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food in a laid back atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By design the restaurant is going to be ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

By design the restaurant is going to be loud. High ceilings, concrete floor, no real insulation and very open floor plan.

The food is quite average. The price was fair given the volume of the food. We mostly had fried chicken, brisket, philly cheese steak sandwich. One of us had the lobster roll, which I would probably not recommend given that it is not really fresh lobster meat and is mixed into a "dressing" of sort. The fried chicken is a hefty portion, quite good, but definitely on the greasy side.

Service was very good. Our server was attentive, polite and always available.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding service and delicious food!! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Our server made ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server made some great recommendations. The pimento cheese board was a great starter, not to filling. The portions were a perfect size. The show stopper was the cinnamon sugar donuts! Oh they were amazing. We also had the strawberry shortcake which was outstanding. I will return for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated about an hour before the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were seated about an hour before the Sunday buffet was set to close. Our server seemed more interested in bussing a large table that just left, closing checks, doing sidework and going home than waiting on us, her last and only table. We had to ask repeatedly for drink refills (the food was very salty!). She did not remove our empty plates. We had to ask a host to go in the kitchen to tell our server we needed our check, then asked the same host to get her out of the kitchen again to run our credit card. Other servers passed with pitchers of tea and water and completely ignored our empty glasses, so obviously no team work. When we left, not one person said goodbye, thank you, come again. Very unprofessional and disappointing. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

This was our first dining experience at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Driftwood and it was one to remember. The food was decadent, not laden with fat, but filling, fresh ingredients. From the crackling, to the cheddar biscuits, and down to the Bourbon Pecan Chocolate Chip Pie...the food was amazing. We are already planning a return visit- it would be worth the drive from Southwest Durham for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice place to eat. Waitress was pleasa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A nice place to eat. Waitress was pleasant and got me a special request order from the kitchen. Not overpriced. Will go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, fun atmosphere, and delic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great service, fun atmosphere, and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The noise level was high and it was diff ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The noise level was high and it was difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Son's burger not well done as requested ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Son's burger not well done as requested . Sat at bar and service not too quick even tho we were only ones there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Good food and a friendly staff. Second ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food and a friendly staff. Second time eating there and both times have been enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Had the Sunday Brunch. Great selection ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had the Sunday Brunch. Great selection of breakfast foods as well as lunch items. The cheddar biscuits are awesome with the sausage gravy. The stuffed pork tenderloin was melt in your mouth tender, moist and very tasty. Was not a big fan of the Latin themed music playing. A little too loud for a Sunday brunch and didn't seem to fit the 'Southern' theme. Overall, though, great meal and looking forward to trying out the dinner menu soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had been to Driftwood for lunch a whil ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had been to Driftwood for lunch a while back and was not impressed. So glad I gave it another chance. We went for dinner and we were all extremely pleased with our meals. Also had a wonderful server. I will definitely go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My experience at Driftwood was fine but ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My experience at Driftwood was fine but not outstanding. The service was okay overall. Our entrees did come out before we were done with our appetizer which was annoying. That is a sign of poor service in my opinion. The fried green tomatoes were tasty. I had the lobster roll for my entree. It was totally edible, but I am not eager to eat it again. The roll that the lobster was on was very good, and there was quite a bit of lobster on the roll. My friend had the risotto for dinner and said that it was only okay, because it was still a bit tough. For dessert, we split the chocolate pecan pie which I would not get again. The crust wasn't flaky at all, and the pie didn't excite me. My watermelon Mojito was once again okay, but it really could have used more alcohol. I probably wouldn't suggest dining at Driftwood, but it was fine enough that I would go again if someone else suggested going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The atmosphere is great! (Think HGTV Fix ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The atmosphere is great! (Think HGTV Fixer Upper style decor) but the food is not impressive. Their pork is extremely salty to the point of being inedible, and their "St Louis style" ribs are not St. Louis style at all. Food is served on a wooden cutting board which is not sanitary as you cannot keep that clean over time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Our favorite restaurant in all of Raleig ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in all of Raleigh. Always an outstanding meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch selection was mostly very sweet i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch selection was mostly very sweet items. Food OK. Waitress cordial. Not too impressed overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was introduced to Driftwood Southern K ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was introduced to Driftwood Southern Kitchen by two close friends and I was happy to be aware of such a wonderful buffet selection for a Sunday brunch. The only thing I would ask, as someone with Celiac Disease, is that each dish is labeled with ingredients so people who have to eat Gluten Free can know what is safe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A tasty and slightly different twist on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A tasty and slightly different twist on Southern-style cuisine. Even though what our party ordered was solidly in the "comfort food" category, the departure from the ordinary for the selections ordered really worked to make the occasion delicious and interesting. We will be returning, for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best thing I can say about Driftwood ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The best thing I can say about Driftwood is that is wildly inconsistent. We've eaten here at least a half-dozen times, and we really were hoping that it would find its groove, but I'm afraid we are done. Service and quality and taste of food are all over the place. Our latest meal was borderline inedible. One thing that I have found to be consistent-- attitude at host stand: surly and condescending. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We went for Father's day brunch. The fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's day brunch. The food was mediocre. Good selection but expected better taste for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We have been to Driftwood before for reg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to Driftwood before for regular dining and were very pleased so we were excited by the Father's Day brunch buffet. It was quite disappointing. Limited food choices with empty food trays, area around the trays was not cleaned of dropped food, dessert was a couple of cookies and canolies which tasted like they were right out of the box. Did not live up to the advertisement and cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The Father's Day brunch was so yummy! Lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Father's Day brunch was so yummy! Love the items available on the brunch buffet, particularly that French toast. Dang!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We love Driftwood. One of my new favori ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love Driftwood. One of my new favorites. Never disappoints

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food; beautiful décor; poor custome ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Good food; beautiful décor; poor customer service by wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Awesome food, wonderful atmosphere, exc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Awesome food, wonderful atmosphere, excellent staff!!!! We WILL be back!!!! Thank You!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Their BBQ sampler platter is always great to share with my husband and they carry my favorite low gluten beer - Omission!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Skip it

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Server was inattentive and slow to respond to our table even though her section was small (maybe 4 tables all together). The food was bland and lacked flavor. Atmosphere and décor was nice. Not a restaurant I would choose to go back to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Southern food with a twist

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place was a nice find. The menu is full of classic southern dishes, but with a twist. We had the Angry Tater Tots as an appetizer and they were delicious. I had the Risotto and my husband had the chicken sandwich. Both were delicious. We also shared the macaroni and cheese and collards as sides. They were both outstanding. This is a great place to dine and in a great location. Outdoor seating is available as well. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Southern kitchen in French environment.

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The fried green tomatoes were excellent. The sweet potato fries tasted cooked mot fried...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Cannot wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Cannot wait to bring our kiddos the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alway great, consistently

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food and service is always delicious and bar area is awesome! The best BBQ and sides you'd ever try in town. Atmosphere is always happenin but never too much...just right all the way around!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will return!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

There are six of us that go out every Saturday nite. All of us would definitely return for food, service and atmosphere. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you get. Fri ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you get. Fried Chicken was awful. I'd go elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.