About Driftwood Southern Kitchen

Driftwood Southern Kitchen, located in Lafayette Village, is the latest addition to North Raleigh's blossoming local dining scene. Our ever-changing menu showcases the finest of ingredients from supporting local farms and purveyors, allowing us to make as much as possible in house. For us, cooking is not a job- it's our lives, and we believe breaking bread at the table should be a fun and soul satisfying experience. Born out of our strong love for southern ingredients and southern hospitality, Driftwood displays rustic farmhouse cooking at its best. Our menu is designed so our guests can playfully piece their meals together and share with one another for a true communal dining experience, just like sitting down for supper at your grandmother's house.
We're a little quirky, with a touch of serious, but we put a lot of love into what we do. Come join us at Driftwood Southern Kitchen to create memories and share your experiences, we can't wait to see you at our table.

8460 Honeycutt Road
Ste. 112
Raleigh, NC 27613
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Thursday: 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Falls of Neuse Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 977-8360

Website:
http://www.driftwoodraleigh.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking in private lot and street parking

Executive Chef:
Nunzio Scordo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note, if you are celebrating and bringing a cake there will be a $15.00 charge.

Driftwood Southern Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Driftwood for my birthday. The menu was great...I had a really difficult time choosing between a few of the entrees. I eventually decided on the small plate Shrimp and Grits, and I was very pleased with my choice!
The restaurant is beautiful, and the waitress was pleasant. We will definitely be back to try a few other things.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Always great food! The lobster roll is stuffed full on a soft, delicious bun. Can't beat homemade chips.
Insteresting moonshine cocktails. Half price wine on Thursdays!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Driftwood offers delicious, creative upscale Southern fare. The lavendar martini was divine and you can't beat 1/2 off wine on Thursday nights! My picky son devoured his Chicken Fried Chicken and my daughter loved the ribs with housemade mac and cheese. Start with the cheddar biscuits and finish with the doughnuts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We heard about this place and decided to check it out. The food was very tasty (minus cookies) and server was sweet and kind. Loved the atmosphere. We would definitely return to their Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Locally sourced (mainly) food spot with a nice menu of meat, veggie and fish options. All of us had fish and the Mahi blackened was very tasty but a bit overcooked. It came with a cold corn, sprout type salad below it which was also flavorful. The sprouts are a bit tough to eat with the stems. The side dish of local collards really stole the evening with bold southern flavor.

Fair but higher prices, very attentive service from Bri and a fun, people watching prime spot in Lafayette Village.

Side note - the Sunday brunch is top shelf, pricey but excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The food and the service never disappoint. Driftwood is our go-to restaurant. I highly recommend

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Brunch here is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice mix for kids and adults-we did the lunch buffet and the BBQ was pretty good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food and staff was awesome. I definitely recommend making a reservation on holidays. Great variety of items on brunch menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Father's Day buffet was delicious. Loved how quick the food was refreshed, you didn't feel like you were eating at a buffet. The menus was outstanding and the French toast was perfection! The brisket impressed these Texans and we are tough critics.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a great time!
The food was good, some of it very good. The short ribs & the sausage gravy was great, fried green tomatoes were the fave of our appetisers. I thought the collards were a little salty. My friend didn't like the apple cobbler, she was expecting a crust. I thought it was good , but really - ultra sweet!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We tried their Sunday buffet brunch. The buffet options are limited, had more of a home cooked meal vibe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The brunch was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Dallas took great care of us. Food was interesting and well executed. My husband already wants to go back and try the chicken fried chicken :).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was mediocre. Had the chickens and dumplings(should have been advertised as a soup instead) did not taste good at all. Also had the dw burger which tasted great. Had order Farro salad instead of house chips, was brought chips. The salad was ok but not the greatest. Would not recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch was amazing here! Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were disappointed to find out we could not order off the menu. We had no idea that it was a buffet ONLY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a new place to try and just looked up some restaurants in Raleigh. Upon arriving we were definitely impressed with the scenery and the layout of Driftwood. The staff was friendly the whole time and our waitress Fawn was excellent. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love the lobster rolls at Driftwood. They taste great with any of the cold beers available. Portions are very generous and the handcut potato chips are delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We enjoyed the catfish & the brisket (really tender!). The flavors were unique & everything was fresh. Perfect date night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Tonight was our first time but we will be back. The service was great and the food was excellent. Everyone at the table loved their food: meatloaf, cheeseburger, hushpuppies, mac and cheese, brisket...not a bad item on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Visiting Raleigh for a few day touring university's and did a local search for good southern cuisine and Driftwood popped up. We were very happy, the biscuits were amazing! Lobster roll was A+, and so were all the sides we ordered. My spicy martini was delicious too! The ambiance was amazing, we sat outside and enjoyed the weather. A must visit if in in area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice Mother's Day brunch, will visit again with girlfriends for a "Girls Day"

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

3rd time to this location - always excellent food. They have twice run out of brisket, but we've been quite happy with alternatives. The wait time with a reservation was about 20 minutes. Excellent service, great tasting food reasonably priced. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome gem in N.Raleigh. Even "downtownies" will like it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great find! Great Southern food in a casual environment. Our servers were thoughtful and friendly. If you're in the Raleigh-Durham area and are looking for a good place for dinner, you must come to Driftwood Southern Kitchen!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was great as usual. The only issue was they brought our children's food out and then it was at least 30 minutes before my husbands and my entree was delivered. Still love the place and they compensated by not charging for the appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The space is very open so noise carries, but we were never bothered by the noise level. The food was very tasty and a great value for your hard earned dollars.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had great service and enjoyed outstanding food at a good price. Driftwood offers an outstanding dining out experience.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was looking for a Sunday Brunch and was a little disappointed with the Menu. I guess they will have more during special occasions like Mother's Day.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it just as much as the first time! Just need more grits on the shrimp and grits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very good place for an evening meal as well as lunch, been there a few times, never a complaint‼️

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Early dinner of small plates, nice food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch buffet at Driftwood. The selection was good and everything on the buffet was done quite well! Would like to go back when we can actually order from the menu!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good Brunch spot. Buffet-style. Outdoor seating available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a great time! Liked the option of where you would like to sit

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good food, better cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.