Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.46mi
  1. Distance: 6.46mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

AguavivaAguaviva
(401)
$$$$
Seafood | San Juan, Puerto Rico
Marmalade Restaurant & Wine BarMarmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar
(3178)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | San Juan, Puerto Rico
El AsadorEl Asador
(40)
$$$$
Seafood | Old San Juan, Puerto Rico
BarrachinaBarrachina
(321)
$$$$
Caribbean | San Juan, Puerto Rico
Carli's Fine Bistro & PianoCarli's Fine Bistro & Piano
(64)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Old San Juan, Puerto Rico
Bistro de ParisBistro de Paris
(24)
$$$$
French | Condado / Santurce, Puerto Rico
Booked 1 time today
Cinema Bar 1950Cinema Bar 1950
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Puerto Rican | Old San Juan, Puerto Rico
SantaellaSantaella
(1109)
$$$$
Puerto Rican | San Juan, Puerto Rico
Booked 24 times today
OceanoOceano
(1595)
$$$$
International | Condado / Santurce, Puerto Rico
Booked 9 times today
Mario Pagan  RestaurantMario Pagan Restaurant
(109)
$$$$
International | Condado / Santurce, Puerto Rico
Booked 1 time today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San JuanFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Juan
(194)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | San Juan, Puerto Rico
Booked 1 time today
1919 Restaurant1919 Restaurant
(523)
$$$$
Farm-to-table | San Juan, Puerto Rico
Booked 13 times today
Perla at La Concha, A Renaissance ResortPerla at La Concha, A Renaissance Resort
(841)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Condado / Santurce, Puerto Rico
Booked 5 times today
Eter Rooftop Lounge- Ciqala Luxury SuitesEter Rooftop Lounge- Ciqala Luxury Suites
(12)
$$$$
Puerto Rican | San Juan, Puerto Rico
Booked 1 time today
Rosa Mexicano - Puerto RicoRosa Mexicano - Puerto Rico
(181)
$$$$
Mexican | San Juan, Puerto Rico

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.46mi
  1. Distance: 6.46mi

About Dragonfly

DragonFly is one of Old San Juan"s favorite night spots, featuring cutting edge Latin-Asian cuisine and a creative selection of sushi with a Latin flair.
DragonFly's food mingles exotic spices and ingredients from Asia and Latin America with inventive twists such as Seafood Singapore Noodles, Korean Dragon Fajitas, Peking Duck Nachos and Tropical Threesome Rolls.

The creative cocktails are not to be missed, experience DragonFly's famous Martinis and elixirs such as the Triple XXX, Dragon Rum Punch and Magic Mojitini. Designed to resemble an old opium den in tropical Asia, DragonFly's sexy, black and gold interior is transporting. Two dining areas, a seductive lounge and two bars, as well as the communal noodle bar create intimate, candle lit spaces within the restaurant. Also featuring dining under the stars in the zen garden.

364 Calle fortaleza
San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
O"Donnal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3886

Website:
http://www.oofrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
On Thursday, Friday and Saturday we feature local DJ"s spinning modern upbeat disco funk with a latin flair, in our bar/lounge area, starting at 10pm. We offer our entire sushi menu and other specials all night.

Catering:
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.

Parking Details:
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Hector Crespo

Private Party Facilities:
Dragonfly features two dining rooms and a lounge area that can be reserved for private functions. Please call or email for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Ocana: (787) 506-5000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Dragonfly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (112)
Hot Spot (69)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Romantic (61)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for Groups (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Late-night Find (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Scenic View (11)
Good for a Date (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Pernil tostada was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was amazing! Every thing we ordered on the menu was excellent and I would recommend to anyone in the area looking for a great place to eat!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our favorite meal in Old San Juan by far. Innovative cuisine without being overly pretentious. Attentive service. Music is somewhat loud but we felt this added to the fun evirnmrnt. Cozy big booth made for a great family evening. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Unfortunately, the food was average and lacked the creativity that we had relied upon from other reviews. No food seemed to be prepared fresh and the establishment was extremely warm, a bit unappealing when eating raw fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server Nylmari was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

very good food---the wasabi fries and the chicken dumplings are a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent!! Great Food!!! Great everything .... this is one of my favorite rest in old san juan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 25, 2017

If you like amazing cocktails, this is the place for you! The food was great too. Our server provided some badass recommendations that kept our experience on-point. We had a wonderful time!

Highly recommend it if you're in town and have a craving for some eclectic and unique sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We used Open Table to make a reservation - but the restaurant was closed for a "Spa day" for the employees. They did not bother to update their online presence, so a trip into San Juan to dine here was for nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing!! Great food, awesome staff

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fun evening spot with some great service. Food was unique with amazing flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We made a reservation at Dragonfly for our 35th anniversary, and checked their website to see their hours since it was off season. When we got there, we found a sign on the door saying that on Mondays they "go to the spa", so they were closed. We did not receive any kind of advance notice-call, text, or email.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Showed up and the doors were padlocked shut. Guess they decided to close and could not be bothered to contact those customers who had reservations. Shame on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The atmosphere reminds me of a trendy place in NYC Or the Village. Great service and excellent cuisine!!! Must try it out if you're visiting San Juan, PR

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Interesting decor and food at this Asian-Latin place in Old San Juan. There many interesting options for food and drink.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were in San Juan for vacation weekend. I am so happy a fried had recommended Dragonfly. Great food, outside dining good drinks and nicely priced. What more do you need!! Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was outstanding and service superb. Xavier was fabulous!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Asian fusion restaurant. The food was ok but it seems this is a hangout bar/restaurant instead of a place to seriously have a meal as advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and ambiance!!!! The Chino Latino Lo Menin is spectacular as well as the coconut shrimp. Drinks were well prepared!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall, I would recommend this place to someone looking for some light apps but not a meal. he food wasn't terrible, but I generally wouldn't recommend a place to a friend that's ok. The Tuna Tartar and Chicken dumplings were great and set a promising tone that wasn't paid off by anything else we got. The staff wasn't rude, but it was clear that were was a discipline problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Dragonfly has an adventurous menu that combines local Puerto Rican spices and flavors with Asian staples like sushi, dumplings, udon noodles, and kimchee. It may seem like an odd combination at first, but the food was wonderful. The location in Old San Juan is fantastic. If the weather is nice, try to reserve a table outside, where you can hear lively street music and people watch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent food and charming ambiance. The sushi rolls were delicious, creative and fresh.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Poor service. Tried to Serve entree before appetizers. Very slow service, including waiting 20 minutes for drinks. Food was OK, nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food and ambience. Our server was helpful and keep checking if everything was ok. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was amazing. Had a new waiter who was not quite as attentive as I would have expected. This is my second time dining there and second time the service was not on par with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best sushi 🍣 restaurants I have ever eaten at

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

nice waiter - only problem was when you order they tell you it all comes out when it's ready - I guess we should have believed them and ordered appetizers and then when they came ordered entrees. We ordered all at once and they came out all at once - in fact entrees before one of the appetizers. Also - and we have never run into this anywhere ever - they wanted the tip put on the tab BEFORE running the credit card - they claimed they had to do this. Not a huge deal, but could be uncomfortable if you were really unhappy with the food or service. Very odd. Food was a solid 'ok' for PR Asian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were very disappointed. Everything felt outdated, overused and slightly dirty. Drinks and Food was mediocre at best, I had better food at PF Chengs and its absolutely not worth the price. Most of the dishes are simply fried dishes, if that is what makes it Latin Asian Fusion, thens so be it. The only good thing was the friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Disappointing meal. All sushi came with cream cheese, not my favorite idea. Cocktails were overly sweet. Service team asked same questions over and over ... are you celebrating a special event over 5 times!!! Final issue is that there was one women's bathroom and the toilet was not working. This had been much better on prior visits but seems to have fallen down this time

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, incredible food!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service and lively atmosphere. Recommend the Tuna Tartare toward the end. Comes with Avocado ice cream on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Dragonfly was horrible from start to finish. The sushi was subpar and overpriced, and the first dish took over an hour to come. We had to finally say something as we sat down at 8:15 and didn't get our sushi until 9:30. The sushi was fine, but nothing special - good grocery store sushi is better than it. The bill was absurdly expensive and the wait staff was incredibly incompetent. I think they just pile people in there, but if you can't handle the volume and you don't have enough chefs/wait staff then limit the amount of people you take. I would not recommend this restaurant - even if you are patient and don't mind waiting an hour and a half to get your food (ours came in an hour and fifteen minutes only because we said something multiple times) the food just isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent experience. I had wonderful birthday with my girlfriends

Tags: Tapas, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I would describe this restaurant as Latin/ Asian Fusion. After reading reviews I had relatively high expectations. Unfortunately, for our family it started out bad. Despite having a reservation we were seated with another group. This was not what we had expected. The dim sum items were very good. Fried rice dishes not so hreat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and fun place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The staff seemed flustered when we arrived at our reservation time. After shuffling around for 10 minutes they gave us a cozy table near the bar. By the way our server greeted us she was either having a rough shift or she was not in a great mood. We ordered edamame, short rib tacos, and a few items from the sushi menu around 9pm. About 30 minutes later the edamame arrived. By this time the restaurant was no longer packed with guests yet it took another 45 minutes to get the short rib tacos. (They were delicious but not worth over an hour wait.) Our waitress warned us the sushi bar was backed up - but being Dragonfly is a sushi restaurant we optimistically waited for our order. The sushi arrived around 10:30pm. The rolls were poorly constructed; breaking apart as we picked them off the plate. Small chunks of fish were haphazardly place on top of the rolls rather than the beautiful strips of fish typically used. The new sashimi was covered (not drizzled) in sesame oil which completely cooked the fish.

Unfortunately this will go down as one of my worst dining experiences. While this is the busy season for San Juan we live here and were truly disappointed in the meal and turned off by the staff (and lack there of).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Worst service ever
Forgot to place 2 dishes
30 minutes for drinks
2-1/2 hour dinner
Offerred us desert
At 10 .15 i said keep your desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great restaurant. First time in Puerto Rico and this is the only restaurant we tried. Wee hit a home run. Great food, friendly and helpful staff, and a great atmosphere. The dumplings are outrageously good. The lo mein was unlike any I have ever tasted. We will look for their other locations if they are all like this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent location, good food and drinks. A must-try when in Old San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.