HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Dragonfly

4.2
124 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Hot Spot
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

DragonFly is one of Old San Juan"s favorite night spots, featuring cutting edge Latin-Asian cuisine and a creative selection of sushi with a Latin flair.
DragonFly's food mingles exotic spices and ingredients from Asia and Latin America with inventive twists such as Seafood Singapore Noodles, Korean Dragon Fajitas, Peking Duck Nachos and Tropical Threesome Rolls.

The creative cocktails are not to be missed, experience DragonFly's famous Martinis and elixirs such as the Triple XXX, Dragon Rum Punch and Magic Mojitini. Designed to resemble an old opium den in tropical Asia, DragonFly's sexy, black and gold interior is transporting. Two dining areas, a seductive lounge and two bars, as well as the communal noodle bar create intimate, candle lit spaces within the restaurant. Also featuring dining under the stars in the zen garden.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian, Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 977-3886
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hector Crespo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Dragonfly features two dining rooms and a lounge area that can be reserved for private functions. Please call or email for more details.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ricky Ocana: (787) 506-5000
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
O"Donnal
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
On Thursday, Friday and Saturday we feature local DJ"s spinning modern upbeat disco funk with a latin flair, in our bar/lounge area, starting at 10pm. We offer our entire sushi menu and other specials all night.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 124 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on August 17, 2017

Pernil tostada was delicious!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Caribbean)
5.0  Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was amazing! Every thing we ordered on the menu was excellent and I would recommend to anyone in the area looking for a great place to eat!

Report
Helpful
DoryJ (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on July 25, 2017

Our favorite meal in Old San Juan by far. Innovative cuisine without being overly pretentious. Attentive service. Music is somewhat loud but we felt this added to the fun evirnmrnt. Cozy big booth made for a great family evening. Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
vipAshley (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on July 22, 2017

Unfortunately, the food was average and lacked the creativity that we had relied upon from other reviews. No food seemed to be prepared fresh and the establishment was extremely warm, a bit unappealing when eating raw fish.

Report
Helpful
vipShem (Dallas)
4.0  Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server Nylmari was awesome!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on June 16, 2017

very good food---the wasabi fries and the chicken dumplings are a must try!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Caribbean)
5.0  Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent!! Great Food!!! Great everything .... this is one of my favorite rest in old san juan

Report
Helpful
vipCowgirlFoodie (Wilmington)
4.0  Dined on May 25, 2017

If you like amazing cocktails, this is the place for you! The food was great too. Our server provided some badass recommendations that kept our experience on-point. We had a wonderful time!

Highly recommend it if you're in town and have a craving for some eclectic and unique sushi.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Indiana)
1.0  Dined on May 24, 2017

We used Open Table to make a reservation - but the restaurant was closed for a "Spa day" for the employees. They did not bother to update their online presence, so a trip into San Juan to dine here was for nothing.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Caribbean)
5.0  Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing!! Great food, awesome staff

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Caribbean)
5.0  Dined on May 20, 2017

Fun evening spot with some great service. Food was unique with amazing flavor.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on May 15, 2017

We made a reservation at Dragonfly for our 35th anniversary, and checked their website to see their hours since it was off season. When we got there, we found a sign on the door saying that on Mondays they "go to the spa", so they were closed. We did not receive any kind of advance notice-call, text, or email.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on May 1, 2017

Showed up and the doors were padlocked shut. Guess they decided to close and could not be bothered to contact those customers who had reservations. Shame on them.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on April 21, 2017

The atmosphere reminds me of a trendy place in NYC Or the Village. Great service and excellent cuisine!!! Must try it out if you're visiting San Juan, PR

Report
Helpful
vipBobby (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on April 11, 2017

Interesting decor and food at this Asian-Latin place in Old San Juan. There many interesting options for food and drink.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on April 8, 2017

We were in San Juan for vacation weekend. I am so happy a fried had recommended Dragonfly. Great food, outside dining good drinks and nicely priced. What more do you need!! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was outstanding and service superb. Xavier was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
vipdonaldelisburg (Miami)
3.0  Dined on March 28, 2017

Asian fusion restaurant. The food was ok but it seems this is a hangout bar/restaurant instead of a place to seriously have a meal as advertised.

Report
Helpful
Adiazjr15 (Caribbean)
5.0  Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and ambiance!!!! The Chino Latino Lo Menin is spectacular as well as the coconut shrimp. Drinks were well prepared!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
3.0  Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall, I would recommend this place to someone looking for some light apps but not a meal. he food wasn't terrible, but I generally wouldn't recommend a place to a friend that's ok. The Tuna Tartar and Chicken dumplings were great and set a promising tone that wasn't paid off by anything else we got. The staff wasn't rude, but it was clear that were was a discipline problem.

Report
Helpful
BeckyC (Baltimore)
4.0  Dined on March 12, 2017

Dragonfly has an adventurous menu that combines local Puerto Rican spices and flavors with Asian staples like sushi, dumplings, udon noodles, and kimchee. It may seem like an odd combination at first, but the food was wonderful. The location in Old San Juan is fantastic. If the weather is nice, try to reserve a table outside, where you can hear lively street music and people watch.

Report
Helpful
GbRb (Caribbean)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent food and charming ambiance. The sushi rolls were delicious, creative and fresh.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on February 20, 2017

Poor service. Tried to Serve entree before appetizers. Very slow service, including waiting 20 minutes for drinks. Food was OK, nothing special.

Report
Helpful
NiceDner4two (Caribbean)
4.0  Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food and ambience. Our server was helpful and keep checking if everything was ok. I'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
vipmogo19 (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was amazing. Had a new waiter who was not quite as attentive as I would have expected. This is my second time dining there and second time the service was not on par with the food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best sushi 🍣 restaurants I have ever eaten at

Report
Helpful
vipRobert (New England)
4.0  Dined on January 30, 2017

nice waiter - only problem was when you order they tell you it all comes out when it's ready - I guess we should have believed them and ordered appetizers and then when they came ordered entrees. We ordered all at once and they came out all at once - in fact entrees before one of the appetizers. Also - and we have never run into this anywhere ever - they wanted the tip put on the tab BEFORE running the credit card - they claimed they had to do this. Not a huge deal, but could be uncomfortable if you were really unhappy with the food or service. Very odd. Food was a solid 'ok' for PR Asian.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

We were very disappointed. Everything felt outdated, overused and slightly dirty. Drinks and Food was mediocre at best, I had better food at PF Chengs and its absolutely not worth the price. Most of the dishes are simply fried dishes, if that is what makes it Latin Asian Fusion, thens so be it. The only good thing was the friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
vipCaterio (New England)
3.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

Disappointing meal. All sushi came with cream cheese, not my favorite idea. Cocktails were overly sweet. Service team asked same questions over and over ... are you celebrating a special event over 5 times!!! Final issue is that there was one women's bathroom and the toilet was not working. This had been much better on prior visits but seems to have fallen down this time

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, incredible food!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5