About Dragonfly

364 Calle fortaleza
San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

DragonFly is one of Old San Juan"s favorite night spots, featuring cutting edge Latin-Asian cuisine and a creative selection of sushi with a Latin flair.
DragonFly's food mingles exotic spices and ingredients from Asia and Latin America with inventive twists such as Seafood Singapore Noodles, Korean Dragon Fajitas, Peking Duck Nachos and Tropical Threesome Rolls.

The creative cocktails are not to be missed, experience DragonFly's famous Martinis and elixirs such as the Triple XXX, Dragon Rum Punch and Magic Mojitini. Designed to resemble an old opium den in tropical Asia, DragonFly's sexy, black and gold interior is transporting. Two dining areas, a seductive lounge and two bars, as well as the communal noodle bar create intimate, candle lit spaces within the restaurant. Also featuring dining under the stars in the zen garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
O"Donnal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3886

Website:
http://www.oofrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
On Thursday, Friday and Saturday we feature local DJ"s spinning modern upbeat disco funk with a latin flair, in our bar/lounge area, starting at 10pm. We offer our entire sushi menu and other specials all night.

Catering:
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.

Parking Details:
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Hector Crespo

Private Party Facilities:
Dragonfly features two dining rooms and a lounge area that can be reserved for private functions. Please call or email for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Ocana: 7875065000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Dragonfly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

special occasion (10)
fit for foodies (10)
romantic (9)
See All
good for groups (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Latin-Asian fusion at dragonfly is r ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Latin-Asian fusion at dragonfly is really well done. Each dish we had was great. The music playing throughout was a little strange, but it didn't detract from the great lighting and nice surrounds.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and quality cuisine.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding service and quality cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We ordered several dishes and all of them were great. The calamari was probably the best I've ever had. Definitely try it. I'm still dreaming about it. We're really happy we ate here and will come again if we ever come to PR again. In the meantime, we're recommending it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, food and drinks! Saki punch was awesome.. Great apps and entrees . Friendly staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Latin Asian Fusion

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The Dragonfly was a great dining experience, awesome mix of Asian cuisine with Latin flare. The Lychee Burst drink was exploding with citrus flavor and the sweetness from the lychee fruit. Amazing staff and very friendly. If you are ever in Old San Jaun you gotta check out the Dragonfly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but expensive

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was tasty and creative but expensive $180 for 2 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Wonderful innovative food- great service- NOISY

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We loved our experience here- food was great and the wait staff very attentive an flexible. The only downside was the pounding music - which was overwhelming and interfered with being able to communicate with our friends.

To the credit of the restaurant they agreed to lower the volume after the third request and changed the music to less of a pounding beat and Bass level....there is great ambiance that does not NEED this level of intense music.

Recommend to the restaurant to create different zones in the place so BAR can be blasting music but downstairs more relaxed.

I loved my sushi dish and the drinks were creative and delicious!!

I am definitely coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great SPot in Old San Juan

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Went here for dinner on Good Friday in Old San Juan. The food was really good. Service was great. Sat outside with lots of foot traffic. Will come back here if we ever come back to San Juan,

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good service, interesting menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The service was great, interesting menu, the portions are very large. The drink menu was a fusion too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The waiter advised us to order as we ate ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The waiter advised us to order as we ate. The dishes come out as soon as they're prepared. I thought it was a good meal. Ordered a couple of apps then main courses. Just off plaza colon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fusion dishes are great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The trick with Dragonfly is to get the fusion dishes and avoid the straight up Asian dishes. We ordered the duck spring rolls, coconut shrimp, pork dumplings, fried rice, and two sushi dishes. The sushi is just ok. Too much rice! The best were the duck spring rolls and coconut shrimp. The pork dumplings were not good.

Service was slow, so make sure you're ready to enjoy the leisurely pace and the company you're in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Dissapointing experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

After reading the reviews I had high hopes for this restaurant, unfortunately I was underwhelmed but both the food & the service was a mess. We waited over an hour even with a reservation due to a large party inside which was fine if they stabilized our table & didn't throw food at us. They set up a table outside for 4 that was so unstable the food & drinks were falling off, the server a nice guy but clearly overwhelmed having to serve both in & out just threw everything together. The sushi & fried rice were good, but the dumplings were very heavy & over sauced. Overall the food was good but not great.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

great food, ambiance

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Although our reservation wasn't available due to unexpected diners, the staff, especially Bianca, took great care of us.

We sat at the bar, had a fun time interacting with Raphael (bartender). HE WAS TERRIFIC!!! also our server.

Enjoyed the evening. Many, thanks.

Don't miss this gem!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food, Very Slow Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Loved the outdoor dining at Dragonfly, the food was excellent, good mix of foods, such as duck nachos, sushi, Asian noodles, etc. very good cocktails as well. But, we were there well over two hours...with just decent service we would have been finished eating an hour earlier!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Too crowded Slow service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Too crowded Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Old San Juan Gem

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was excellent, especially the calamari (best I have ever had) and the Peking Duck nachos. They were busy (Friday night) and the time between courses was a little long, so don't be in a rush if you want to enjoy the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate outside, which appealed more than ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

We ate outside, which appealed more than the lounge / dark atmosphere inside - but that is personal preference. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Trendy sushi spot in Old San Juan. Great ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Trendy sushi spot in Old San Juan. Great service, food and music. Recommend it either for a romantic date, girls' night out or just dinner with friends/family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outside nicer than inside.

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Outside nicer than inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We just loved it!!!! Jorge was a delight ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

We just loved it!!!! Jorge was a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

I have been coming to Dragonfly for years and it never disappoints! The food is creative and amazing! Must eat spot when you visit Old San Juan!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

This was exceptional. From the cocktails to the food. We were going to have simply an appetizer and split an entree, but ended up splitting 3 outstanding appetizers. The chicken dumplings flavorful with a bite. The Peking duck rolls crispy with a killer sauce (ask for 4 if your sharing) and last but not least the short rib taco, unbelievably terrific.

Did not get to the entrees but will next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We were promptly seated at our reservation time. All the food looked incredible. We had the duck lettuce wraps and the sushi roll that has coconut sauce on top (I don't recall the name) both were delicious. The table next to us ordered lo mein that looked incredible and is on my list to try next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overrated

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Spent New Years Eve here. Food was overpriced and not even great. Ambiance was OK. They did not even do a countdown for the guests. But we did hear the owner and the employees counting down upstairs and later came out with drinking champagne.

Places like this are overrated. Please do not waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome spot!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food, very friendly cheerful staff, awesome anbiance - will definitely return next time we are in Old San Juan!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good place to waste your time and money

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

I was looking forward to my visit as I had had a great meal there a few years before...but not this time. The service was haphazard and inattentive.It took 20 minutes for drinks to arrive, yet food was piling up on our table. A request for green tea (it is an Asian themed place), caused our server to give an incredulous look as if we asked him to grow it himself. Food was basically poor. Short rib tacos had a near burnt shell that shattered with the first bite sending the remainder crashing to your plate or lap. Calamari was a disaster... overcooked to the point that was dry and burnt.. we wanted to send it back but we never saw our waiter... sauce was basically a chili garlic sauce you can buy in a supermarket. We were told that sushi would take 30 minutes!!!... and it did coming very late into our meal. It was passable. overall.... a big waste of time and money ... will know better next time .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointimg

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We came upon recommendation and were extremely disappointed. While the food was ultimately very good, the space was cramped and akward and the restaurant was a disaster with poor service and lack of attention to detail. They started by bringing the wrong drinks. A drink was then spilled and 10 staff members walked AROUND it before it was cleaned up (& only by request). An appetizer came out burnt, main meal showed up just as appetizers were plated, we had to ask several times for silverware. We spoke clearly with our server about our son's allergy to nuts and sesame, and while they took care to make our apps and entrees safe, a server showed up with sauces covered in sesame seeds. A dangerous mistake. Will we not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

seated late, food came really late!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We were finally seated at 9:45 pm for a 9:00 reservation after waiting on the front sidewalk for the full 45 minutes. No drinks offered. Crammed 5 people into a table for 4. Appetizers and entrees came out sporadically over an hour and a half period. No apologies and nothing comped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Service

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

I made a reservation on OpenTable for 8 pm, and I arrived at five minutes to eight. The host informed us that the restaurant was "very full" and didn't seem to acknowledge the entire purpose of making reservations. After realizing our discontent, he assured us it would only be 10 minutes. 40 minutes later, and we had still not been seated. Finally, an entire hour later, my hungry and tired family was seated.

Our waiter was informed of our situation, and tried to make up for lost time by taking our order right away and bringing drinks relatively quickly. After we had two appetizers which tasted fine, we eagerly awaited our sushi. After about 30 more minutes, our waiter came up to our table and informed us that the electricity was out in the kitchen, and therefore no sushi could be made. Nobody offered us any comped drinks, dessert, etc for our troubles. It was also confusing because multiple other tables around us were receiving sushi although the kitchen apparently wasn't working.

Essentially, we waited over an hour (with a reservation) and weren't able to even eat any sushi. Absolutely one of the worst restaurant experiences I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Overwhelming

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

very crowded

great scene

service was a bit slow,they seemed overwhelmed.

Missed 2 dishes of ours

Food was very good,

We would try it again for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Our ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Our server's recommendations were very good. Only miss was flavorless chichen atop lo mein noodles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

delicious food, yummy drinks

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

Excellent sushi and noodles. Loved the guava punch drink I tried. I would highly recommend this place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food in Old San Juan

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

You can't go wrong with ANYTHING on the menu, but specifically try the duck nachos, any of the salads, any of the sushi rolls, and the lo mein. The pot du creme is divine. The staff is attentive and friendly, and the decor and ambiance is elegant and conducive to conversation. Drinks are also a highlight. Go for the cucutini, or if you're in the mood for something spicy, the dragonfire martini has a nice jalapeño kick. You will NOT be disappointed!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dragonfly review

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

Though the food was enjoyable enough, my experience at Dragonfly was completely ruined by the overly-solicitous, intrusive service. My companion and I had barely taken one sip of wine and bite of appetizer when three servers in rapid succession descended upon us, asking, "How is it? How is it?" "HOW IS IT?" This happened again five minutes later and continued throughout the meal. It got so bad I simply ignored them altogether. Is the chef so neurotic and insecure that he/she expects diners to fawn over and report back on every mouthful of food? Too absurd for words. But that's not all.

I had asked that the kitchen hold our entrees so we could enjoy our wine and each other's company without interruption. Instead, the appetizer plates had barely been whisked away when our entrees were put down before us. With that, we skipped dessert, paid our check and left.

The piece de resistance, of course, is that Dragonfly claimed that we never honored our OpenTable reservation, which of course was untrue, as OT has already discovered. I wouldn't recommend this place to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Excellent Food

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Excellent food with Oriental base and Latin overtones. Service a bit spotty with a long time between the first diner served and the rest of the diners. Music way too loud and made conversation difficult. Food made the experience worthwhile.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was delicious. Sooo good. The staff ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Food was delicious. Sooo good. The staff was excellent and so polite and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

big hype but disappointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

I think the experience could have been better if we were seated outside. Food was really very average and we didn't get to experience the pretty outdoor cafe style seating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Dinner for Four at Dragonfly

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

We had an excellent meal. The food was tasty and attractively presented. The service was excellent and we were not rushed in any way. The pork quesadillas were not quite as hot as they should have been or it would have been a five all the way around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dragonfly

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Great sushi...excellent service. ..loved the lemongrass skicker...not a fan to the tacos, ..great colors and ambience

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not Very Good

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Too expensive for the quality of the meals. The dinners my wife and had were not very tasty. If you like fine dining, you should try another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.