About Dragonfly

DragonFly is one of Old San Juan"s favorite night spots, featuring cutting edge Latin-Asian cuisine and a creative selection of sushi with a Latin flair.
DragonFly's food mingles exotic spices and ingredients from Asia and Latin America with inventive twists such as Seafood Singapore Noodles, Korean Dragon Fajitas, Peking Duck Nachos and Tropical Threesome Rolls.

The creative cocktails are not to be missed, experience DragonFly's famous Martinis and elixirs such as the Triple XXX, Dragon Rum Punch and Magic Mojitini. Designed to resemble an old opium den in tropical Asia, DragonFly's sexy, black and gold interior is transporting. Two dining areas, a seductive lounge and two bars, as well as the communal noodle bar create intimate, candle lit spaces within the restaurant. Also featuring dining under the stars in the zen garden.

364 Calle fortaleza
San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
O"Donnal

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 977-3886

Website:
http://www.oofrestaurants.com/

Entertainment:
On Thursday, Friday and Saturday we feature local DJ"s spinning modern upbeat disco funk with a latin flair, in our bar/lounge area, starting at 10pm. We offer our entire sushi menu and other specials all night.

Catering:
We offer a large selection of catering menu"s with prices to fit any budget, utilizing items from any combination of all six of our restaurants, and we are flexible enough to satisfy any desires, or dietary restrictions.

Parking Details:
There are 3 elevated parking structures within 3 blocks of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
We have a main bus terminal within 5 blocks of our restaurant, as well as a local trolley which stops right on the corner outside our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Hector Crespo

Private Party Facilities:
Dragonfly features two dining rooms and a lounge area that can be reserved for private functions. Please call or email for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Ricky Ocana: (787) 506-5000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Dragonfly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very disappointed. Everything fe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were very disappointed. Everything felt outdated, overused and slightly dirty. Drinks and Food was mediocre at best, I had better food at PF Chengs and its absolutely not worth the price. Most of the dishes are simply fried dishes, if that is what makes it Latin Asian Fusion, thens so be it. The only good thing was the friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointing meal. All sushi came with ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Disappointing meal. All sushi came with cream cheese, not my favorite idea. Cocktails were overly sweet. Service team asked same questions over and over ... are you celebrating a special event over 5 times!!! Final issue is that there was one women's bathroom and the toilet was not working. This had been much better on prior visits but seems to have fallen down this time

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, incredible food!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and lively atmosphere. Rec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service and lively atmosphere. Recommend the Tuna Tartare toward the end. Comes with Avocado ice cream on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dragonfly was horrible from start to fin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dragonfly was horrible from start to finish. The sushi was subpar and overpriced, and the first dish took over an hour to come. We had to finally say something as we sat down at 8:15 and didn't get our sushi until 9:30. The sushi was fine, but nothing special - good grocery store sushi is better than it. The bill was absurdly expensive and the wait staff was incredibly incompetent. I think they just pile people in there, but if you can't handle the volume and you don't have enough chefs/wait staff then limit the amount of people you take. I would not recommend this restaurant - even if you are patient and don't mind waiting an hour and a half to get your food (ours came in an hour and fifteen minutes only because we said something multiple times) the food just isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent experience. I had wonderful bi ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent experience. I had wonderful birthday with my girlfriends

Tags: Tapas, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would describe this restaurant as Lati ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I would describe this restaurant as Latin/ Asian Fusion. After reading reviews I had relatively high expectations. Unfortunately, for our family it started out bad. Despite having a reservation we were seated with another group. This was not what we had expected. The dim sum items were very good. Fried rice dishes not so hreat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Terrible service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great food and fun place to eat.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and fun place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff seemed flustered when we arriv ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The staff seemed flustered when we arrived at our reservation time. After shuffling around for 10 minutes they gave us a cozy table near the bar. By the way our server greeted us she was either having a rough shift or she was not in a great mood. We ordered edamame, short rib tacos, and a few items from the sushi menu around 9pm. About 30 minutes later the edamame arrived. By this time the restaurant was no longer packed with guests yet it took another 45 minutes to get the short rib tacos. (They were delicious but not worth over an hour wait.) Our waitress warned us the sushi bar was backed up - but being Dragonfly is a sushi restaurant we optimistically waited for our order. The sushi arrived around 10:30pm. The rolls were poorly constructed; breaking apart as we picked them off the plate. Small chunks of fish were haphazardly place on top of the rolls rather than the beautiful strips of fish typically used. The new sashimi was covered (not drizzled) in sesame oil which completely cooked the fish.

Unfortunately this will go down as one of my worst dining experiences. While this is the busy season for San Juan we live here and were truly disappointed in the meal and turned off by the staff (and lack there of).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst service ever Forgot to place 2 dis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Worst service ever

Forgot to place 2 dishes

30 minutes for drinks

2-1/2 hour dinner

Offerred us desert

At 10 .15 i said keep your desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great restaurant. First time in Puerto ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great restaurant. First time in Puerto Rico and this is the only restaurant we tried. Wee hit a home run. Great food, friendly and helpful staff, and a great atmosphere. The dumplings are outrageously good. The lo mein was unlike any I have ever tasted. We will look for their other locations if they are all like this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor, the ambiance, the food taste ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The decor, the ambiance, the food taste and the exceptional service, everything is outstanding about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and a robust explosion ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was amazing and a robust explosion of flavors! I woke up thinking about the entire experience.

Jimmy was an incredible server and Bianca was a beautiful side dish of food expertise and local information. Thanks to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The sushi & service were incredible. E ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The sushi & service were incredible. Everything was so fresh and my glass was never empty because the server was always topping me off. Please go here if you are in San Juan

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good location with romantic ambianc ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good location with romantic ambiance. Exquisite cuisine with creole flavors. Our waiter, Jaime Santi was outstanding with his menu knowledge. His recommendations were delightful and accurate. Definitively +A if you want to have a private moment or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Dragonfly! They have the freshes ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We love Dragonfly! They have the freshest sushi! You have to try the Godzilla Roll. Amazing food and amazing DJ playing fun energetic music. We had so much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance was very modern and opulent. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ambiance was very modern and opulent. We enjoyed all the recommendations from our server which were Asian with a Caribbean flair. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overrated and overpriced. Supposedly Asi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overrated and overpriced. Supposedly Asian with a Latin flair. Good idea but weak implementation. Basically sushi with mango, steak with allspice. Small plates, too much fried food. Dark bar scene. Waiters have attitude and for no good reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

AMAZING !!!

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 31, 2016

AMAZING !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible. The service was ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was incredible. The service was great. We wanted to go back again just because the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Latin-Asian fusion at dragonfly is r ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The Latin-Asian fusion at dragonfly is really well done. Each dish we had was great. The music playing throughout was a little strange, but it didn't detract from the great lighting and nice surrounds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and quality cuisine.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding service and quality cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We ordered several dishes and all of them were great. The calamari was probably the best I've ever had. Definitely try it. I'm still dreaming about it. We're really happy we ate here and will come again if we ever come to PR again. In the meantime, we're recommending it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect Perfect

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Perfect Perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, food and drinks! Saki punch was awesome.. Great apps and entrees . Friendly staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Latin Asian Fusion

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 19, 2016

The Dragonfly was a great dining experience, awesome mix of Asian cuisine with Latin flare. The Lychee Burst drink was exploding with citrus flavor and the sweetness from the lychee fruit. Amazing staff and very friendly. If you are ever in Old San Jaun you gotta check out the Dragonfly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but expensive

 
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was tasty and creative but expensive $180 for 2 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Wonderful innovative food- great service- NOISY

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 28, 2016

We loved our experience here- food was great and the wait staff very attentive an flexible. The only downside was the pounding music - which was overwhelming and interfered with being able to communicate with our friends.

To the credit of the restaurant they agreed to lower the volume after the third request and changed the music to less of a pounding beat and Bass level....there is great ambiance that does not NEED this level of intense music.

Recommend to the restaurant to create different zones in the place so BAR can be blasting music but downstairs more relaxed.

I loved my sushi dish and the drinks were creative and delicious!!

I am definitely coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We got there and it was empty, no host, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2016

We got there and it was empty, no host, no customers... the kitchen staff was taking the trash out and there was no manager to talk to or anyone at all! So we had to leave... it was our first time and I guess the last one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great SPot in Old San Juan

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Went here for dinner on Good Friday in Old San Juan. The food was really good. Service was great. Sat outside with lots of foot traffic. Will come back here if we ever come back to San Juan,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good service, interesting menu

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The service was great, interesting menu, the portions are very large. The drink menu was a fusion too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The waiter advised us to order as we ate ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The waiter advised us to order as we ate. The dishes come out as soon as they're prepared. I thought it was a good meal. Ordered a couple of apps then main courses. Just off plaza colon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect perfect

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Perfect perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fusion dishes are great

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2016

The trick with Dragonfly is to get the fusion dishes and avoid the straight up Asian dishes. We ordered the duck spring rolls, coconut shrimp, pork dumplings, fried rice, and two sushi dishes. The sushi is just ok. Too much rice! The best were the duck spring rolls and coconut shrimp. The pork dumplings were not good.

Service was slow, so make sure you're ready to enjoy the leisurely pace and the company you're in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Dissapointing experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2016

After reading the reviews I had high hopes for this restaurant, unfortunately I was underwhelmed but both the food & the service was a mess. We waited over an hour even with a reservation due to a large party inside which was fine if they stabilized our table & didn't throw food at us. They set up a table outside for 4 that was so unstable the food & drinks were falling off, the server a nice guy but clearly overwhelmed having to serve both in & out just threw everything together. The sushi & fried rice were good, but the dumplings were very heavy & over sauced. Overall the food was good but not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

great food, ambiance

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Although our reservation wasn't available due to unexpected diners, the staff, especially Bianca, took great care of us.

We sat at the bar, had a fun time interacting with Raphael (bartender). HE WAS TERRIFIC!!! also our server.

Enjoyed the evening. Many, thanks.

Don't miss this gem!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food, Very Slow Service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2016

Loved the outdoor dining at Dragonfly, the food was excellent, good mix of foods, such as duck nachos, sushi, Asian noodles, etc. very good cocktails as well. But, we were there well over two hours...with just decent service we would have been finished eating an hour earlier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Too crowded Slow service

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Too crowded Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I stumbled upon this restaurant while st ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2016

I stumbled upon this restaurant while staying in Old San Juan, and thank goodness I did. The food was amazing - some of the best I have ever had. They specialize in Latin-Asian fusion, and they sure know how to do it. It is a very small restaurant, so if you like space while you eat, this is not for you. We were practically eating with the table next to us (I was on a long bench against the wall, and my husband was in a chair). But, it was nice because we were able to strike up a nice conversation with them about the food. The mixed drinks are great with a plentiful amount of alcohol, so you never feel like they are ripping you off. If you ever find yourself in Old San Juan, definitely stop there for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.