About Dragonfly at Hotel ZaZa

2332 Leonard St.
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

With a newly redesigned menu, Dragonfly takes a playful twist on traditional modern American food classics. The updated culinary and design direction offers an experience accessible to all tastes, while delivering the same unsurpassed quality, creativity and artistic edge for which Hotel ZaZa is known. Chef Landsberg's menu uses the freshest foods of the season from local suppliers, as well as incorporating specialties from the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
McKinney Avenue & Maple-Routh

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 550-9500

Website:
http://www.hotelzaza.com/#dallas/dragonfly

Entertainment:
SIP & SPIN WITH DRAGONFLY EACH FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Sip cocktails while Dallas's top local DJs spin house favorites in Dragonfly Modern American Kitchen each Friday & Saturday night from 10pm-2am. For inquiries regarding bottle service and the weekly DJ lineup, please call 214.550.9500.

Catering:
The ultimate, Uptown experience is extended to accommodate beautiful private and semi-private parties, lavish celebrations and private business meetings. Each of our rooms deliver a memorable ZaZa experience with unique cuisine and impeccable service in an upscale atmosphere. Please call for details 214-550-9476.

Parking Details:
Valet is Complimentary

Executive Chef:
Dan Landsberg

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant can accommodate large parties. All groups 10 people or more, require a preset menu. Please contact us for additional details. Please call 214-550-9500 for large parties and special events.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate large parties. All groups 10 people or more, require a preset menu. Please contact us for additional details.

Dragonfly at Hotel ZaZa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas - Fort Worth
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (25)
vibrant bar scene (20)
romantic (20)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
hot spot (17)
great for brunch (11)
good for groups (10)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (8)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoy Lunch

Dined 5 days ago

It's an oasis away from the fast lunch crowds. The chef's salad with sauteed pine nuts was exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aniversary dinner was great

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went for our anniversary. Drinks were a little pricy but other than that we had a great time. We would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

So glad I went to Dragonfly to celebrate my birthday. The service was fantastic as well as the good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service at Dragonfly is top notch. I ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The service at Dragonfly is top notch. If you are into Whiskey's, you simply must go and ask to speak to Lewis. He is the curator and the "Gossip King of Whiskey!" The list is long, but speaking with Lewis made choosing a fun experience. Love the food - try the salmon entree, it's delicious. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service5

Incredibly delicious food, impeccable se ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredibly delicious food, impeccable service by our waiter Steve and the mimosas were truly bottomless. The manager was great as well. My mom really enjoyed her mother's day brunch. My fiancée wants to spend a weekend at the hotel due to the impressive attention and service at the restaurant. So we will dine at Dragonfly again. The Chicken fried lobster is highly recommended. That's my dish now.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Setting The Bar

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dragonfly sets the bar for every metric as the very best Dallas has to offer. We arrived at 8:45am for a Mother's Day brunch and were pampered the entire time. The parking valet, the hostess, the waiters, and the manager all contributed to an outstanding experience. The exquisite ambience complements their unique and delicious food. I ordered decaf and had to wait while they brewed a fresh pot. The waiter dripped 3 drops of coffee on the table. This was the only thing that was a negative. Somehow I can live with that. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to the Dragonfly experience. Better yet, take someone you want to impress.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool ambiance, wonderful service, and great food!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Our date night at Dragonfly was perfect. The restaurant is tucked away at the Hotel ZaZa and you walk through a very hip bar. We were seated in the quieter section of the restaurant which was preferable for a date. Our server Adam truly made the night memorable. They have an amazing Whiskey list of which he knew the labels quite well - impressive. Cocktail and wine list is excellent too. We like to share so we ordered just small plates, loved the grilled artichoke and ahi tacos. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific service from the staff. Our w ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Terrific service from the staff. Our waiter Steve made the evening exceptional. Great food and wine selection, ambience young and trendy, and great vibe overall. Definitely recommend.

food2
ambience2
service2

This was a disappointment. Very sub par ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

This was a disappointment. Very sub par food and ambiance.

food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome awesome awesome service. Recent ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Awesome awesome awesome service. Recent visit for my wife's birthday dinner and Steve (our waiter) meet and exceeded every expectation. The food was all wonderful (calamari salad, crab & avocado toast, lamb lollipop, scallops, salmon). The Doctor Doctor cocktail was recommended by Steve and was a hit for several in our group. I would definitely return for dinner and another birthday celebration!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Trendy Scene

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

This place is great for the let's be seen crowd and had a great setting. Overall the food is good but not as great as the price suggests. If they rolled off about 15% across the board on prices it would feel more appropriate. You are definitely paying for the hip crowd scene so be ready for that.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great

Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dragonfly experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

We had a great time with great food and fabulous service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lamb was my favorite.

Dined on March 4, 2016

The Lamb was my favorite.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dining experience was excellent!

Dined on February 28, 2016

I took my sister to ZaZa for her birthday celebration. When she learned where we were going, she was not very excited; felt it might be too fancy for her taste. We were welcomed by an amazing hostess, Linda (I believe). She was so gracious! Our server, whose name I think was Luis, was exceptional. He was attentive, but didn't hover. His recommendations were fantastic! The calamari salad was a great hit! We had the halibut and the tenderloin. Both were cooked perfectly! The desert was so flavorful and not too sweet. Our server brought it as a surprise. My sister left feeling so special and she enjoyed herself tremendously!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was very disappointing

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is my first review and the fact that I am writing one says something . Me and my girlfriend attended Dragonfly for our Valentine's Day dinner. We both ordered off the special menu, she had the filet and I had the tuna but we were both so disappointed. We are both usually not picky at all but I really can't find anything good to say about the food . The temperature, the taste , the texture all was very off. Maybe it was the rush or just a fluke for the Valentine's Day menu but it was enough to have us never come back. The restaurant itself was a cool vibe, the service was great and our waiter Adam was phenomenal . If you are going to pay that kind of price for a steak or tuna you expect to get that quality in the food and it wasn't close at all. I wish I would have been more vocal in person so that may fall on me but as a review that is all I can say.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific restaurant!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Absolutely wonderful service--can't say enough good things here. Very inventive food. Great place for brunch. Vibrant ambience. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

It's great to eat at dragonfly always gr ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It's great to eat at dragonfly always great food and great service. They can mix just about any cocktail and the pool bar is always fun

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adam Curry was amazing! Best server we've ever had

Dined on February 14, 2016

Adam Curry was amazing. He was attentive, efficient and happy. The food was amazing. Great experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Girls Brunch

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here foe the first time for a girls brunch with my friend. The bottomless mimosas and the amazing brunch menu will make you want to eat more and more. The french toast is an absolute must to try.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Nothing really stands out at DragonFly

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Competition in Uptown is strong. The bar is active but the restaurant is lacking in a lot of areas. The service was good, but the dining room is pretty stark. Like just walking into a large room. The food was OK, but for the cost of high end eating, I prefer many other places. It was my first time to eat here and if I return, I will just eat in the bar.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Dinner with employees

Dined on January 28, 2016

The hotel is fabulous! I was not as impressed with the food choices at Dragonfly or how it was prepared. The ceasar salad was falling off the plate and was dry like you were eating lettuce. I had market fish that was to be sushi grade but I did have to cut it. My guests had chicken and it looked like round pieces of chicken on rice. I remember going to this restaurant about 10 years ago and it was great but was not impressed at all on this trip. Hope they get a better menu with more tasty flavors and not being safe with bland foods.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The Dragonfly @ ZaZa

Dined on January 17, 2016

Would have been so much better with properly cooked proteins. Steaks were over or undercooked, fish overcooked - twice. Service is outstanding & the hotel itself is wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Go somewhere else!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was too frilly and froufrou. The dessert menu was about is awful of a dessert menu as you can have. With all the wonderful restaurants in Dallas, I would never suggest to anyone that they go here ever again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

Dined on December 29, 2015

I took my wife here to celebrate her getting her Aggie Ring. She had it stolen 10 years ago and I wanted to surprise her with a new one. The restaurant decorum, atmosphere, and staff all made that evening memorable. The service was top notch and the food quality was superb. Overall, a very professional and charming place to eat, drink, and relax.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas at Dragonfly

Dined on December 26, 2015

Our second year in a row dining on Christmas Day Evening at this beautiful restaurant in the Hotel Zaza has elevated itself to become our new holiday tradition. It is difficult to find a nice dining room on Christmas Day that is both open & doesn't serve it's guests an enormous & typically flavorless, generic buffet. For this repeat year, we were again a banquette of four & individually very happy with Dragonfly's food, service, & elegantly welcoming ambience. The chef here has been handling Dragonfly's studio of culinary artistry for 5 + years. Last year he created a special three-course menu for this celebratory day. This year, he provided another, & with different choices from last year's Christmas Day offerings. Plus, we had the options of ordering from the restaurant's regular menu, or combining course items from both. Each of our choices was beautifully presented on artfully laden plates & all provided muti-levels of flavors & textures ~~ from the chef's amuse bouche to the holiday spice-infused dessert. No constructive criticism~~ all things were as they should have been or else they exceeded my expectations. Well done! Thank you Dragonfly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

great time

Dined on December 25, 2015

great time

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ZaZa makes the celebration

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

I have reviewed this restaurant before, all favorable reviews. I won't disappoint, they continue to deliver some of the best food service in Dallas and the USA. Their attention to detail and making your dining experience fun and upscale was perfect for my wifes birthday celebration. If you want a great experience with top notch food this is your place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A night to remember!!!!!!.

Dined on December 8, 2015

We arrived at the Zaza with a smile from the valet we got to the door with a smile from the hostess and when we got inside we got a smile and a hug from the waiter he called himself Superman. My wife and I are making the Dragonfly a tradition it was our 14th year anniversary and he remembered us from last year which was our 13th year anniversary. I would just like to say everyone the Dragonfly treated us like king and Queen for the night. Scott Syptak the Sous Chef came and greeted us at our table. After talking for a while he asked if we wanted to order off the menu or would we allow him to prepare our meal for us. I smiled and put my menu aside said we'd love to and he cooked for us from his heart. It was just a wonderful amazing absolutely fabulous night, I would highly recommend the Dragonfly to anyone who enjoys good food and wonderful people.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Ask for Steve the best waiter/bartender ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

Ask for Steve the best waiter/bartender we've ever had!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely evening

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

The staff was friendly, attentive and knowledgable. The ZaZa salad and lamb lollipops were very tasty. It was a lovely evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Great new fall menu that has something for everyone. Everyone at our table raved about the food. Scallops, steak, red snapper and chicken were all delicious. Our server Steve took care of our every need. Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Eclectic dining at it's best

Dined on November 7, 2015

We were looking for a place with character and we found it! We had a group of 6 people and 2 waiters took care of ours needs. The head waiter made suggestions for everything from appetizers to dessert and no one in the group was disappointed! We will definitely go back on our next trip to Dallas!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

had the scallops one night, filet the other.

Dined on November 6, 2015

Food was good, menu limited. Ambiance is OK - very dark, quite cold. Tables around the perimeter are directly below A/C vents, and so dress warm! Very good wine list.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Halloween Pre-dinner

Dined on November 1, 2015

Dragonfly puts on quite a Halloween bash! Decided to give it a try this year. Knowing we would be consuming a plethora of Halloween "liquid" treats, we decided it would be in our best interest to eat before the festivities. I got the lamb lollipops, ahi tuna tacos, and the wedge salad. The lamb was seasoned and cooked perfectly. The ahi tuna tacos were served in fried wonton shaped like little taco shells. Ahi was a good grade topped with good flavored guacamole and radish sprouts which gave them a refreshing kick. The wedge salad was your typical wedge salad. Iceberg lettuce wedge, bleu cheese dressing, bacon bits, a few pieces of bleu cheese. Good and fresh but nothing over the top. Service was excellent. Very attentive. We had one waiter and a trainee. Trainee's name was Johnny. Don't remember our waiter's name but it started with a "J" as well. They were super friendly! Oh, a manager (I think) gave us a WONDERFUL fresh green bean relish dish to start, compliments from the chef. It was DEEE-LISH! Would order that if it were on the menu! Ambiance was mellow upon our arrival but the Halloween liveliness picked up just before we finished our meal. Great, fun, SPOOK-TACULAR night! Can't wait until next year!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've had in a very ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

One of the best meals I've had in a very long time. The wait staff made excellent recommendations based on our questions!

food3
ambience5
service5

Lite dinner and drinks

Dined on October 24, 2015

Nice venue for lite fare and drinks. Bar ambiance with eclectic flair. Not quiet for conversation but nice

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

business lunch

Dined on October 14, 2015

Had a small lunch meeting here, food and service were good, noise level was fine. coffee wasn't very good. great otherwise.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience overall

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We had Sunday brunch with friends at this lovely restaurant. The attention to detail was outstanding in every respect. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

PreWinspear

Dined on October 2, 2015

The ambiance was warm and inviting. Service was impeccable, as was the food. We will definitely come back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.