About Douro Restaurant Bar

363 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830
View Larger Map

DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Fawcett Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(203) 869-7622

Website:
http://dourogroup.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rui Correia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Douro Restaurant Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Connecticut
Best Restaurants in Greenwich ›

Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Tapas (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite local restaurants fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice cost restaurant. Fantastic s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really nice cost restaurant. Fantastic service and good food. Best thing were the cocktails and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food is great and service too!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food is great and service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and unique flavors!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent service and unique flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place. This is probably our ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love this place. This is probably our 6th visit. Great Paella. Wonderful Tapas. Good Service. It does get loud though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the crispy brussel sprouts as an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had the crispy brussel sprouts as an app and the paella for our main course. The meal was cooked to perfection and authentic to what we have eaten in Portugal. We went on a Monday evening and the place was packed. The noise level was a quite loud , so if you are looking for an intimate quieter ambiance, ask p be seated near the front pf the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good food although couldn't see/taste th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food although couldn't see/taste the shrimp in the shrimp flat bread. Tacos were excellent. Great paella and creative deserts. Attentive staff as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is an excellent busy restaurant in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is an excellent busy restaurant in Greenwich that I am happy to recommend. The food and service are outstanding. My biggest problem is that I want to further explore the menu and I am always drawn back to my favorites. These are the pork belly BLT Taco and the Paehlas, which are the best I have ever eaten anywhere. I've been with a few people and sampled the delicate clams, shrimp, and fish dishes. The chef gets it when it comes to seafood. Oh yes, the desserts are interesting. My favorite is the Affogato, but the crowd sampled the menu and there was nothing that did not disappear. I will go back, often. It is not a quiet place, but we can hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Traveling in the area

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Traveling in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

the food here never disappoints! i was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

the food here never disappoints! i was looking forward to this meal since i booked the reservation and it didnt let me down. everything is fresh and delicious! i cant wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, with real Portuguese fla ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food, with real Portuguese flavors and products served in a very modern and tasteful way. You can not find best fish, meat, chouriço, frango de churrasco, bacalhau and paellas. This is the real Portuguese gastronomy authenticity. For the salads and vegetables, it uses the local suppliers, so everything is fresh and beautiful served. The wine lists includes some very unique and exclusives reds and whites from Portugal, at an incredible low price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed, we were looking forwa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very disappointed, we were looking forward to having Potuguesse cuisine! We went and were seated at our table on time (6pm) and ordered cocktails. While enjoying our cocktails and chatting. We were told after about 40 minutes that we needed to place our order, that our table was reserved at 7:30pm and they needed to get our order in so we could be done for the next reservation. We were shocked, especially since the restuarant, including the bar was empty. We were the only couple sitting at a table until another table arrived at 6:45pm and the bar had at most 8 people. So, we paid our drink check and left. We left without eating for 2 reasons, 1. we were not going to be rushed through our dinner and 2. didn't like the attitude that we received by management that turning a table for 2 was the bottom line, even with the place being empty. We will not be going back, ever. We went across the street to The National, were seated right away (they were busy) and had excellent service and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

First time at Douro Restaurant and would ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

First time at Douro Restaurant and would return. The meal was the star. Service was attentive but not overly so. This is a fairly small place with bar and several tables up font and a small dining room in the back. There's also a private room that looks to accommodate 8-10. Lots to choose from on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is terrific. Noise level is awful. ...

vip
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is terrific. Noise level is awful. So if you don't mind the noise and want good food, this is the place for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food at this fun Spanish/Portugues ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food at this fun Spanish/Portuguese restaurant. All the paellas and roasted chicken are fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend and I found Douro to celebrate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My friend and I found Douro to celebrate our September birthdays. The service was fantastic and the food delicious! We could take our time enjoying the meal and the company. I definitely will want to go back here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cool interior. Fabulous menu. DELIC ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Very cool interior. Fabulous menu. DELICIOUS food! Not terribly expensive. Easy to have a conversation. Terrific service. Great all around. We go there often.

Thank you Duoro!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks were delicious...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Drinks were delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We recently took a trip to Spain and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We recently took a trip to Spain and the paella here was much better! It was light and incredibly flavorful! Our only regret was not ordering another round to take home! We will definitely go back- and soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our neighborhood favorite. . .We love it ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our neighborhood favorite. . .We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We often go to Duoro. The food options a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We often go to Duoro. The food options are excellent. We love the small plates, yet someone in our group usually has the regular entre. Service is riendly and often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dream about the BLT tacos and Cookies ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I dream about the BLT tacos and Cookies & Cream dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is tasty and the paelha's rice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is tasty and the paelha's rice cooked just right. One of the wines, an Aphros vinho verde, is relatively inexpensive and complemented the meal perfectly. The service is very pleasant and timely. Certain dishes can be (and should be) shared and the establishment is ready to accommodate. All-in-all a very pleasant dining experience with new a distinct flavors to tempt one's palate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place. Chef Rui is awesome an ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love this place. Chef Rui is awesome and so is the staff. Gaia is equally good! Going there tonight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, helpful service. Killer gazpac ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Friendly, helpful service.

Killer gazpacho; good fish.

Wine list seems adequate. The accent is on Portugese/Spanish style dishes, either as tapas or entrees. The ambiance is elegant, noise levels a bit high as the narrow main dining room fills up.

Overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Each in our party had various paella dis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Each in our party had various paella dishes, while all were good, there was no taste of even a hint of saffron with the rice at all. Suggestion, BYOS ( bring your own saffron)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Quiet evening at Duoro, with everyone ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Quiet evening at Duoro, with everyone out of town for the holiday weekend. Food was good, service attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my first visit to Douro, althou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was my first visit to Douro, although it has been open for several years. I will definitely go back: The food was very tasty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have eaten here once before with a gro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2016

I have eaten here once before with a group and enjoyed my food and drink a great deal. I am a vegan and they had vegetarian Paella and I was thrilled. It was delicious. I brought a friend back to celebrate her attaining citizenship. We had a wonderful meal and they even allowed me to bring in a small cake. They brought it out with a sizzling candle! : ) The waiters/tress service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and inspire ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is always delicious and inspired.There is always a new unusual dish to try, or some remain on the menu to enjoy at each visit.Service can be a bit spotty: sometimes attentive, sometimes not, and sometimes even brusque.The restaurant can be quite loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Good Portuguese food and service.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Good Portuguese food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food, every dish. Service was effi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, every dish. Service was efficient and good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food friendly service. The staff was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Desserts were delicious and service exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Desserts were delicious and service excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've not had dinner, however we've lunc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've not had dinner, however we've lunched here a couple of times. Each time we sat at the bar where the service was solicitous and we enjoyed our experience. Several lunch choices were available at reasonable prices and included more than one course. The food here is very good. While there are other places in Greenwich where one can go for lunch, some venues have a very frenetic feel. Duoro is a place where one can relax in a serene that feels like a calm oasis.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food. Nice atmosphere..............................................................

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful late night spot

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Went to Douro late on a friday night. This was my second visit. First was so good, I was determined to come back. The food was delicious, service very good, and the noise levels were enough to give it a buzz, but not too loud, unlike most restaurants on greenwich ave

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fabulous, staff wonderful,

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was fabulous, staff wonderful, and the chef delightful and informative

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Up and Down

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2016

We have been to Douro twice in a few weeks. The first time, it was really good. Good food, good drinks attentive service. The second time, however, was much less impressive. The server couldn't remember our drink orders, and messed up one of our entrees. She didn't seem familiar with the menu and was distracted a great deal. My paella was good, although it would still be better if it had the crispiness of carmelized rice that you get in Spain/Portugal. The salmon, however, was flavorless, and was served very differently from how we had it just a few weeks prior.

Will try again, because it has promise and delivered once.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.