Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Douro Restaurant Bar

DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.

363 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Fawcett Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(203) 869-7622

Website:
http://dourogroup.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rui Correia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Douro Restaurant Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Tapas (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I came here to celebrate my birthday and we absolutely loved everything about this restaurant. The ambiance of the restaurant was incredible, the food was delicious, the service was great. We will most definitely be coming back to eat here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the wine list is attractive with many well priced choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner experience. Ordered the ribs and they were fantastic. My grandson also ordered them and he was - as they - in pig heaven. Overall very interesting menu and attentive service. Will definitely return in the near-term.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My dorado was very good but my husband had the paella and the chicken was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at Douro this past Saturday night. We ordered several tapas and shared the Brazilian paella. Everything was amazing. I find most restaurants fail in the dessert department but the chocolate pudding was sublime. The cookies and cream was pretty good but I loved the pudding (not really "pudding") so much and couldn't stop eating it! All in all I would run back to Douro. I am so pleased to have found another restaurant that I love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great as always! Food and service excellent. Fun bar too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here with Spouse for Valentines Day. Had a great experience beginning to end. Food drinks service dessert all great. We had been there before with two other couples, had a great time, been wanting to go back. Glad I did

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently great food! My faves include the Brussels sprouts and paella! Tacos too! We took friends and they will be back too!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very very loud in the bar area. When you're sitting across from people at a table, it's hard to hear them. The burger was great and so was the burrata appetizer. Excellent waitress and good vibe overall, just very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Consistently a great time and excellent yummy food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always awesome. Hot spot great food and phenomenal service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It's not the restaurant's fault, but an insanely loud group of six were seated next to us. In combination with the low ceiling and wall, we literally tried shouting across our table and still could not be heard by our table. We picked up and left. Ruined our special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went with a party of 6 yesterday for a birthday lunch. The owner & chef himself came over to our table, introduced himself, & made us feel so welcome. It was our first visit to this restaurant & certainly will not be our last. From the moment we sat down, the wait staff is absolutely attentive & respectful. Our waiter offered to bring out a mix of appetizers that he highly recommended. We even got the chef's recommended codfish cakes, which were the best I ever ate. The apps were beyond delicious - fresh & flavorful. The presentation of the food was amazing. Our meals were also delicious - we ordered 3 different paelhas, a shrimp dish, & a meat dish. We had Portuguese wine & then ordered 4 desserts, espressos, & coffee. We all agree this was the best Portuguese food we have ever eaten & are already thinking of when we can return. Thank you, Rui. - Danbury friends

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Recommend having 2 Bartenders on Fri and Sat nights. Too much on 1 Bartender and wait to long for drinks.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was extremely expensive for the quality of the food. It was good food but the prices were way to high. We ate better at great restaurants in Manhattan (and elsewhere in Greenwich) and the bill was not as high.

The service is outstanding, and the food came out fast, but again, I have issues with their prices in relationship to similar restaurants in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went with a dear friend and thoroughly enjoyed the food. The vibe is typical Greenwich. Great service and nice cocktails to boot.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great brunch with unique dishes, wonderfully attentive service, we highly recommend "Douro". Just surprised there weren't more patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious as always. Anything you order on the menu is consistently good. Our go to Resturant for any occasion!! Highly recommend Douro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Brazilian in Greenwich. The small plates were excellent and the waiter was flexible enough to add a piece onto each, so that the four of us could have a bite. Croquetas were quite tasty. The rodizio was interminable and I am a large eater. Wine menu is generally over-priced, so stick to the Malbec.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I loved our first trip to the fabulous Portuguese restaurant. Different and delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food
Excellent service
Excellent experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants for everyday dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really nice cost restaurant. Fantastic service and good food. Best thing were the cocktails and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food is great and service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent service and unique flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love this place. This is probably our 6th visit. Great Paella. Wonderful Tapas. Good Service. It does get loud though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had the crispy brussel sprouts as an app and the paella for our main course. The meal was cooked to perfection and authentic to what we have eaten in Portugal. We went on a Monday evening and the place was packed. The noise level was a quite loud , so if you are looking for an intimate quieter ambiance, ask p be seated near the front pf the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food although couldn't see/taste the shrimp in the shrimp flat bread. Tacos were excellent. Great paella and creative deserts. Attentive staff as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is an excellent busy restaurant in Greenwich that I am happy to recommend. The food and service are outstanding. My biggest problem is that I want to further explore the menu and I am always drawn back to my favorites. These are the pork belly BLT Taco and the Paehlas, which are the best I have ever eaten anywhere. I've been with a few people and sampled the delicate clams, shrimp, and fish dishes. The chef gets it when it comes to seafood. Oh yes, the desserts are interesting. My favorite is the Affogato, but the crowd sampled the menu and there was nothing that did not disappear. I will go back, often. It is not a quiet place, but we can hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Traveling in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

the food here never disappoints! i was looking forward to this meal since i booked the reservation and it didnt let me down. everything is fresh and delicious! i cant wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food, with real Portuguese flavors and products served in a very modern and tasteful way. You can not find best fish, meat, chouriço, frango de churrasco, bacalhau and paellas. This is the real Portuguese gastronomy authenticity. For the salads and vegetables, it uses the local suppliers, so everything is fresh and beautiful served. The wine lists includes some very unique and exclusives reds and whites from Portugal, at an incredible low price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very disappointed, we were looking forward to having Potuguesse cuisine! We went and were seated at our table on time (6pm) and ordered cocktails. While enjoying our cocktails and chatting. We were told after about 40 minutes that we needed to place our order, that our table was reserved at 7:30pm and they needed to get our order in so we could be done for the next reservation. We were shocked, especially since the restuarant, including the bar was empty. We were the only couple sitting at a table until another table arrived at 6:45pm and the bar had at most 8 people. So, we paid our drink check and left. We left without eating for 2 reasons, 1. we were not going to be rushed through our dinner and 2. didn't like the attitude that we received by management that turning a table for 2 was the bottom line, even with the place being empty. We will not be going back, ever. We went across the street to The National, were seated right away (they were busy) and had excellent service and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

First time at Douro Restaurant and would return. The meal was the star. Service was attentive but not overly so. This is a fairly small place with bar and several tables up font and a small dining room in the back. There's also a private room that looks to accommodate 8-10. Lots to choose from on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is terrific. Noise level is awful. So if you don't mind the noise and want good food, this is the place for you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food at this fun Spanish/Portuguese restaurant. All the paellas and roasted chicken are fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My friend and I found Douro to celebrate our September birthdays. The service was fantastic and the food delicious! We could take our time enjoying the meal and the company. I definitely will want to go back here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Very cool interior. Fabulous menu. DELICIOUS food! Not terribly expensive. Easy to have a conversation. Terrific service. Great all around. We go there often.
Thank you Duoro!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Drinks were delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We recently took a trip to Spain and the paella here was much better! It was light and incredibly flavorful! Our only regret was not ordering another round to take home! We will definitely go back- and soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.