Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Douro Restaurant Bar

DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.

363 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Fawcett Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(203) 869-7622

Website:
http://dourogroup.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rui Correia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Douro Restaurant Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (7)
See All
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Tapas (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort by
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. Rui, the owner, directs an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tapas, Bar Seating, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great experience. First time eating at Douro.
Staff great and we both had the best meal we’ve had in 6 mos. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This is our favorite resturant! We love chef Rui and his wonderful palate pleasers. The vibe is up beat and fun. Staff is attentive and recognize us by name. It makes us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was outstanding. Snapping fresh seafood and the best paella I’ve ever had. Garlic shrimp and octopus appetizers were amazing. Deep flavors, expertly and elegantly prepared and presented without being fussy. A stellar experience. The only negative is the volume — it’s a smallish place with hard walls and the noise is cacophonous. A definite repeat but not for intimate conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Really nice brussell sprouts dish. Good wine. Very nice service. My friend and I sat and lingered over Saturday lunch and never felt rushed or bothered.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Absolutely must visit when in Greenwich. Food was great, service was terrific.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Great addition to Greenwich Ave. The lunch special is totally worth it. The atmosphere is very cool and hip without being trendy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food, but horrific service. Took a half hour for water and another half hour for wine. The waiter botched the entrées ordered. Hostess and owner weren't even apologetic when we let them know how bad the server was.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Good food, expensive, service was just fair. Waiter ignored us unless I flagged him down.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have been here many times. The food is always good. We loved the bottle of wine that was chosen for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Christine(a) always a great hostess! Best paella dishes around. Supeme hot sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Been there several times before always enjoy the experience. We know they will be moving to a new larger venue and will be excited to go there.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Paellas were excellent! Empanadas/Hush Puppies very mushy, garlic shrimp very tasty. Desserts were not memorable. Service was spotty, our main waiter took the order and dropped the check, a few others took over in between, not bad service just a bit spotty. I will definitely try again, great energy, lots of happy looking folks, the hostess was very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

REALLY GOOD FOOD
REALLY GOOD FOOD
REALLY GOOD FOOD
REALLY GOOD FOOD

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was good although a little bit rich and buttery or oily for my tastes.
But the portions are very small for the prices they charge. My husband and I shared a "large" paella and two appetizers and it was not really what you'd expect for the price.
When it came out we thought they had divided the paella for us but they were each large portions for us to share and another couple we were with to share.
Not sure I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food and drink in this place is phenomenal. I bit pricey, but it is well worth it. You'll be glad you came here. Nice, convenient location. Come out and see for yourself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We were the only patrons at Douro for a 12:30pm brunch reservation but were seated at the last table in the back of the restaurant. I had to ask the waiter for menus, ask the waiter to order and then question the waiter as to the whereabouts of our food. Don't bother with this place - many other options in Greenwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Consistently delicious also great desserts especially cookies. Recommend 100 percent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We love this restaurant. It is our favorite in Greenwich. Chef Rui does an amazing job putting together a fresh, flavorful and healthy menu of delicious Portuguese food. The tacos are amazing, the paella is great, and there are so many delicious options. There is a vivid bar scene.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

terrific food, unique and wonderfully prepared. interesting wine selection and an excellent full bar with unusual tasty cocktail offerings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always delicious. The chef really cares about what is on the plate. Waiters are well trained and provide excellent service. Octopus is top notch. If. Y chance they have the octopus and white bean feijoda it's a must have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We love going to Douro. The service is always excellent and the food is delicious. They also do a fantastic job with providing gluten free options for my celiac husband and are very conscientious about it. One of my favorite things Douro does ... offers a 1/2 glass of wine for when you want a little more but not a whole other glass.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our quest to try all the better restaurants in the area after a recent move here continues. Duoro has so far been one of the best we've tried. A nice space with friendly waitstaff that serves inventive cuisine. If I was to nitpick to find something that could have been improved it was the shrimp in garlic appetizer. It was good but anyone that has visited Portugal will tell you that the correct way to serve this dish is in a clay bowl with huge pieces of garlic. Duoro's version is presented in a nice white bowl with not a piece of garlic in sight. Again it was good but if done the right way could have been great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Lovely waiters !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

First rate restaurant with excellent service but was disappointed in pseudo paella, acceptable but far from the real thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Good food that is consistent, with an attentive wait staff. The star is the piri piri sauce but all of our meals were good

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We ordered a bunch of small plates and then placed additional orders after we finished those. Didn't feel rushed at all by the wait staff at all, which I love. Everything looked good so it was nice to get a little bit of it all.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We've been to Douro many times and find the cuisine and service dependably good.
The problem is that the menu is now stale, and the execution reflects it.
Dishes once vibrant and exciting (tuna with hummus, Chicken Frango), now lack pizazz.
And there's really nothing new on the menu.
The restaurant is noisy in the bar area, and too dark in the back--things I never focused on
when the food had spark. The wine list is uniformly excellent with great Portuguese wines
not easily found elsewhere.
I do hope the proprietor shakes things up at Douro. The place will soon suffer from lack
of interest, if it's not doing so already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall disappointing experience. We're not sure what all the positive reviews are about, should have listened to the negative reviews. The restaurant is overpriced and overrated. We don't mind paying for a good dinner but when the food is bland and not authentic and the portions are small, its disappointing nonetheless. We had the shrimp and chorizo appetizer and the appetizer portion of the Marisco paella as well as the beet salad and the Rodizio entrée (which was a joke and certainly should not be named as such). Service was rushed, layout of the restaurant in the back/kitchen was strange. Definitely would not waste our money and ever go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

service was wonderful! our server was on point with everything! not a single complaint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food is great. Anything with the peri peri sauce is fantastic. I did the frango, but others did the tuna or the fish tacos. The octopus was great, as was the brussell sprouts. The food is just terrific.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, good service and comfortable atmosphere is a winning combination. I really appreciate that the restaurant is a perfect size -- not big, not too small. One does not feel rushed nor overwhelmed by the noise. The food is delicious and authentic. Loved the creamy hummus, kale salad and Brussels sprouts. My family had the octopus, tacos, and chicken. All a hit! Interesting wine list with various choices of Portuguese wines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If you are looking for authentic Portuguese food, Douro is not the place for you. Although tasty and great service, if you like to eat and indulge in authentic food, you should go elsewhere... ambiance only goes so far.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time visiting - food selection excellent, service very good. Atmosphere busy but not too noisy. Nice find on Greenwich Avenue!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went on a double date. we were all underwhelmed by the food. We had several apps plus entreas and desserts. Only really enjoyed the tacos, burrada, and brussels. The paelha was like microwave uncle bens. I did really enjoy the drinks and the atmosphere, so I would recommend for drinks and apps only.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cozy and lively atmosphere with great,flavorful dishes.The service never felt rushed yet always on que.The staff was helpful and knowdgeable of their menu.Portuguese cuisine lives in Greenwich.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Service at bar was excellent. Tasty tapas . A bit noisy. Made reservation that was not ready it ate at bar. Glad we did.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I frequent Douro. The food is very good, pleasant atmosphere, good service, and well designed,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great local restaurant with fabulous food and service. If you want to just and eat/drink at a bar this is great for that as well!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food as always. Service was a bit slow. Always lively.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.