Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Douro Restaurant Bar

DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.

363 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Fawcett Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(203) 869-7622

Website:
http://dourogroup.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rui Correia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Douro Restaurant Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Fun (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Tapas (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall disappointing experience. We're not sure what all the positive reviews are about, should have listened to the negative reviews. The restaurant is overpriced and overrated. We don't mind paying for a good dinner but when the food is bland and not authentic and the portions are small, its disappointing nonetheless. We had the shrimp and chorizo appetizer and the appetizer portion of the Marisco paella as well as the beet salad and the Rodizio entrée (which was a joke and certainly should not be named as such). Service was rushed, layout of the restaurant in the back/kitchen was strange. Definitely would not waste our money and ever go back again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

service was wonderful! our server was on point with everything! not a single complaint!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food is great. Anything with the peri peri sauce is fantastic. I did the frango, but others did the tuna or the fish tacos. The octopus was great, as was the brussell sprouts. The food is just terrific.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If you are looking for authentic Portuguese food, Douro is not the place for you. Although tasty and great service, if you like to eat and indulge in authentic food, you should go elsewhere... ambiance only goes so far.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time visiting - food selection excellent, service very good. Atmosphere busy but not too noisy. Nice find on Greenwich Avenue!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went on a double date. we were all underwhelmed by the food. We had several apps plus entreas and desserts. Only really enjoyed the tacos, burrada, and brussels. The paelha was like microwave uncle bens. I did really enjoy the drinks and the atmosphere, so I would recommend for drinks and apps only.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cozy and lively atmosphere with great,flavorful dishes.The service never felt rushed yet always on que.The staff was helpful and knowdgeable of their menu.Portuguese cuisine lives in Greenwich.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Historic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Service at bar was excellent. Tasty tapas . A bit noisy. Made reservation that was not ready it ate at bar. Glad we did.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I frequent Douro. The food is very good, pleasant atmosphere, good service, and well designed,

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great local restaurant with fabulous food and service. If you want to just and eat/drink at a bar this is great for that as well!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food as always. Service was a bit slow. Always lively.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Waitress needs more training. Careless. Dropped silverware. Combined two appetizers on one plate and served both to one person.

Also, and very important: the mark-up on the wine we ordered was about 4X ($45 for a $10 cost).

The food, as always, is delicious and presented well.

Pity about the service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I always enjoy the food and service. The BLT taco is a very tasty morsel. My friend had the tuna taco and said it was delicious. The Valencia Paella was a great combination of flavors with wonderful rice. I have to try the other Paellas. We shared the dense Chocolate pudding and scraped the glass. We plan to go back and work our way through the menu. Service was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was good and the waiter polite

The noise level made it impossible to chat at the table. We all left with a headache

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Douro provides a great value for Greenwich restaurants. The staff are friendly and the food is tasty as well as somewhat different from typical offerings because Portuguese is not a very common cuisine in the US. No single thing was incredible but all was very good, including the value, so it's definitely one of my top restaurants in Greenwich.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

As always, food was delicious and service was great. I have never been disappointed, and I have been coming here since shortly after it opened a few years ago. It was my friends' first time and they all loved it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Switzerland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Delicious creative food with excellent service and a good wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food is fantastic! I have celiac disease and I had no symptoms. Most of the menu is gluten free and they take care of cross contamination. They also are kids friendly!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was amazing! Great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here to celebrate my birthday and we absolutely loved everything about this restaurant. The ambiance of the restaurant was incredible, the food was delicious, the service was great. We will most definitely be coming back to eat here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was excellent and the wine list is attractive with many well priced choices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great dinner experience. Ordered the ribs and they were fantastic. My grandson also ordered them and he was - as they - in pig heaven. Overall very interesting menu and attentive service. Will definitely return in the near-term.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My dorado was very good but my husband had the paella and the chicken was dry.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at Douro this past Saturday night. We ordered several tapas and shared the Brazilian paella. Everything was amazing. I find most restaurants fail in the dessert department but the chocolate pudding was sublime. The cookies and cream was pretty good but I loved the pudding (not really "pudding") so much and couldn't stop eating it! All in all I would run back to Douro. I am so pleased to have found another restaurant that I love.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great as always! Food and service excellent. Fun bar too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here with Spouse for Valentines Day. Had a great experience beginning to end. Food drinks service dessert all great. We had been there before with two other couples, had a great time, been wanting to go back. Glad I did

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently great food! My faves include the Brussels sprouts and paella! Tacos too! We took friends and they will be back too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very very loud in the bar area. When you're sitting across from people at a table, it's hard to hear them. The burger was great and so was the burrata appetizer. Excellent waitress and good vibe overall, just very loud.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Consistently a great time and excellent yummy food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always awesome. Hot spot great food and phenomenal service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It's not the restaurant's fault, but an insanely loud group of six were seated next to us. In combination with the low ceiling and wall, we literally tried shouting across our table and still could not be heard by our table. We picked up and left. Ruined our special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went with a party of 6 yesterday for a birthday lunch. The owner & chef himself came over to our table, introduced himself, & made us feel so welcome. It was our first visit to this restaurant & certainly will not be our last. From the moment we sat down, the wait staff is absolutely attentive & respectful. Our waiter offered to bring out a mix of appetizers that he highly recommended. We even got the chef's recommended codfish cakes, which were the best I ever ate. The apps were beyond delicious - fresh & flavorful. The presentation of the food was amazing. Our meals were also delicious - we ordered 3 different paelhas, a shrimp dish, & a meat dish. We had Portuguese wine & then ordered 4 desserts, espressos, & coffee. We all agree this was the best Portuguese food we have ever eaten & are already thinking of when we can return. Thank you, Rui. - Danbury friends

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Recommend having 2 Bartenders on Fri and Sat nights. Too much on 1 Bartender and wait to long for drinks.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was extremely expensive for the quality of the food. It was good food but the prices were way to high. We ate better at great restaurants in Manhattan (and elsewhere in Greenwich) and the bill was not as high.

The service is outstanding, and the food came out fast, but again, I have issues with their prices in relationship to similar restaurants in the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went with a dear friend and thoroughly enjoyed the food. The vibe is typical Greenwich. Great service and nice cocktails to boot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great brunch with unique dishes, wonderfully attentive service, we highly recommend "Douro". Just surprised there weren't more patrons.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious as always. Anything you order on the menu is consistently good. Our go to Resturant for any occasion!! Highly recommend Douro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Brazilian in Greenwich. The small plates were excellent and the waiter was flexible enough to add a piece onto each, so that the four of us could have a bite. Croquetas were quite tasty. The rodizio was interminable and I am a large eater. Wine menu is generally over-priced, so stick to the Malbec.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I loved our first trip to the fabulous Portuguese restaurant. Different and delicious. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food
Excellent service
Excellent experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.