Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Douro Restaurant Bar

DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.

363 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Fawcett Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(203) 869-7622

Website:
http://dourogroup.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rui Correia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Douro Restaurant Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tapas (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

terrific food, unique and wonderfully prepared. interesting wine selection and an excellent full bar with unusual tasty cocktail offerings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always delicious. The chef really cares about what is on the plate. Waiters are well trained and provide excellent service. Octopus is top notch. If. Y chance they have the octopus and white bean feijoda it's a must have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We love going to Douro. The service is always excellent and the food is delicious. They also do a fantastic job with providing gluten free options for my celiac husband and are very conscientious about it. One of my favorite things Douro does ... offers a 1/2 glass of wine for when you want a little more but not a whole other glass.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our quest to try all the better restaurants in the area after a recent move here continues. Duoro has so far been one of the best we've tried. A nice space with friendly waitstaff that serves inventive cuisine. If I was to nitpick to find something that could have been improved it was the shrimp in garlic appetizer. It was good but anyone that has visited Portugal will tell you that the correct way to serve this dish is in a clay bowl with huge pieces of garlic. Duoro's version is presented in a nice white bowl with not a piece of garlic in sight. Again it was good but if done the right way could have been great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Lovely waiters !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

First rate restaurant with excellent service but was disappointed in pseudo paella, acceptable but far from the real thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Good food that is consistent, with an attentive wait staff. The star is the piri piri sauce but all of our meals were good

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We ordered a bunch of small plates and then placed additional orders after we finished those. Didn't feel rushed at all by the wait staff at all, which I love. Everything looked good so it was nice to get a little bit of it all.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We've been to Douro many times and find the cuisine and service dependably good.
The problem is that the menu is now stale, and the execution reflects it.
Dishes once vibrant and exciting (tuna with hummus, Chicken Frango), now lack pizazz.
And there's really nothing new on the menu.
The restaurant is noisy in the bar area, and too dark in the back--things I never focused on
when the food had spark. The wine list is uniformly excellent with great Portuguese wines
not easily found elsewhere.
I do hope the proprietor shakes things up at Douro. The place will soon suffer from lack
of interest, if it's not doing so already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall disappointing experience. We're not sure what all the positive reviews are about, should have listened to the negative reviews. The restaurant is overpriced and overrated. We don't mind paying for a good dinner but when the food is bland and not authentic and the portions are small, its disappointing nonetheless. We had the shrimp and chorizo appetizer and the appetizer portion of the Marisco paella as well as the beet salad and the Rodizio entrée (which was a joke and certainly should not be named as such). Service was rushed, layout of the restaurant in the back/kitchen was strange. Definitely would not waste our money and ever go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

service was wonderful! our server was on point with everything! not a single complaint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food is great. Anything with the peri peri sauce is fantastic. I did the frango, but others did the tuna or the fish tacos. The octopus was great, as was the brussell sprouts. The food is just terrific.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, good service and comfortable atmosphere is a winning combination. I really appreciate that the restaurant is a perfect size -- not big, not too small. One does not feel rushed nor overwhelmed by the noise. The food is delicious and authentic. Loved the creamy hummus, kale salad and Brussels sprouts. My family had the octopus, tacos, and chicken. All a hit! Interesting wine list with various choices of Portuguese wines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If you are looking for authentic Portuguese food, Douro is not the place for you. Although tasty and great service, if you like to eat and indulge in authentic food, you should go elsewhere... ambiance only goes so far.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time visiting - food selection excellent, service very good. Atmosphere busy but not too noisy. Nice find on Greenwich Avenue!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went on a double date. we were all underwhelmed by the food. We had several apps plus entreas and desserts. Only really enjoyed the tacos, burrada, and brussels. The paelha was like microwave uncle bens. I did really enjoy the drinks and the atmosphere, so I would recommend for drinks and apps only.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Cozy and lively atmosphere with great,flavorful dishes.The service never felt rushed yet always on que.The staff was helpful and knowdgeable of their menu.Portuguese cuisine lives in Greenwich.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Service at bar was excellent. Tasty tapas . A bit noisy. Made reservation that was not ready it ate at bar. Glad we did.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I frequent Douro. The food is very good, pleasant atmosphere, good service, and well designed,

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great local restaurant with fabulous food and service. If you want to just and eat/drink at a bar this is great for that as well!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food as always. Service was a bit slow. Always lively.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Waitress needs more training. Careless. Dropped silverware. Combined two appetizers on one plate and served both to one person.

Also, and very important: the mark-up on the wine we ordered was about 4X ($45 for a $10 cost).

The food, as always, is delicious and presented well.

Pity about the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I always enjoy the food and service. The BLT taco is a very tasty morsel. My friend had the tuna taco and said it was delicious. The Valencia Paella was a great combination of flavors with wonderful rice. I have to try the other Paellas. We shared the dense Chocolate pudding and scraped the glass. We plan to go back and work our way through the menu. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was good and the waiter polite

The noise level made it impossible to chat at the table. We all left with a headache

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Douro provides a great value for Greenwich restaurants. The staff are friendly and the food is tasty as well as somewhat different from typical offerings because Portuguese is not a very common cuisine in the US. No single thing was incredible but all was very good, including the value, so it's definitely one of my top restaurants in Greenwich.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

As always, food was delicious and service was great. I have never been disappointed, and I have been coming here since shortly after it opened a few years ago. It was my friends' first time and they all loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Switzerland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Delicious creative food with excellent service and a good wine list.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food is fantastic! I have celiac disease and I had no symptoms. Most of the menu is gluten free and they take care of cross contamination. They also are kids friendly!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was amazing! Great service.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here to celebrate my birthday and we absolutely loved everything about this restaurant. The ambiance of the restaurant was incredible, the food was delicious, the service was great. We will most definitely be coming back to eat here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was excellent and the wine list is attractive with many well priced choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great dinner experience. Ordered the ribs and they were fantastic. My grandson also ordered them and he was - as they - in pig heaven. Overall very interesting menu and attentive service. Will definitely return in the near-term.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My dorado was very good but my husband had the paella and the chicken was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at Douro this past Saturday night. We ordered several tapas and shared the Brazilian paella. Everything was amazing. I find most restaurants fail in the dessert department but the chocolate pudding was sublime. The cookies and cream was pretty good but I loved the pudding (not really "pudding") so much and couldn't stop eating it! All in all I would run back to Douro. I am so pleased to have found another restaurant that I love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great as always! Food and service excellent. Fun bar too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went here with Spouse for Valentines Day. Had a great experience beginning to end. Food drinks service dessert all great. We had been there before with two other couples, had a great time, been wanting to go back. Glad I did

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Consistently great food! My faves include the Brussels sprouts and paella! Tacos too! We took friends and they will be back too!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very very loud in the bar area. When you're sitting across from people at a table, it's hard to hear them. The burger was great and so was the burrata appetizer. Excellent waitress and good vibe overall, just very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Consistently a great time and excellent yummy food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always awesome. Hot spot great food and phenomenal service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.