About Douro Restaurant Bar

363 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830
View Larger Map

DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Fawcett Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(203) 869-7622

Website:
http://dourogroup.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rui Correia

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Douro Restaurant Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Connecticut
Best Restaurants in Greenwich ›

fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (17)
special occasion (11)
See All
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (9)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
romantic (5)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Each in our party had various paella dis ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Each in our party had various paella dishes, while all were good, there was no taste of even a hint of saffron with the rice at all. Suggestion, BYOS ( bring your own saffron)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Quiet evening at Duoro, with everyone ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Quiet evening at Duoro, with everyone out of town for the holiday weekend. Food was good, service attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my first visit to Douro, althou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was my first visit to Douro, although it has been open for several years. I will definitely go back: The food was very tasty!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have eaten here once before with a gro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I have eaten here once before with a group and enjoyed my food and drink a great deal. I am a vegan and they had vegetarian Paella and I was thrilled. It was delicious. I brought a friend back to celebrate her attaining citizenship. We had a wonderful meal and they even allowed me to bring in a small cake. They brought it out with a sizzling candle! : ) The waiters/tress service was top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and inspire ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is always delicious and inspired.There is always a new unusual dish to try, or some remain on the menu to enjoy at each visit.Service can be a bit spotty: sometimes attentive, sometimes not, and sometimes even brusque.The restaurant can be quite loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Good Portuguese food and service.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Good Portuguese food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food, every dish. Service was effi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food, every dish. Service was efficient and good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food friendly service. The staff was great.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Desserts were delicious and service exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Desserts were delicious and service excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've not had dinner, however we've lunc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've not had dinner, however we've lunched here a couple of times. Each time we sat at the bar where the service was solicitous and we enjoyed our experience. Several lunch choices were available at reasonable prices and included more than one course. The food here is very good. While there are other places in Greenwich where one can go for lunch, some venues have a very frenetic feel. Duoro is a place where one can relax in a serene that feels like a calm oasis.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food. Nice atmosphere..............................................................

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful late night spot

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Went to Douro late on a friday night. This was my second visit. First was so good, I was determined to come back. The food was delicious, service very good, and the noise levels were enough to give it a buzz, but not too loud, unlike most restaurants on greenwich ave

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fabulous, staff wonderful,

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was fabulous, staff wonderful, and the chef delightful and informative

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Up and Down

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We have been to Douro twice in a few weeks. The first time, it was really good. Good food, good drinks attentive service. The second time, however, was much less impressive. The server couldn't remember our drink orders, and messed up one of our entrees. She didn't seem familiar with the menu and was distracted a great deal. My paella was good, although it would still be better if it had the crispiness of carmelized rice that you get in Spain/Portugal. The salmon, however, was flavorless, and was served very differently from how we had it just a few weeks prior.

Will try again, because it has promise and delivered once.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always Fantastic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

There is nothing like the smell of hot crusty garlic bread, a great glass of Portuguese wine and the piri piri sauce at Douro on the roasted chicken !! The paella and salmon were fantastic as well. I stop at Douro any time I am in Greenwich, it is an amazing place with great service and a creative chef Rui.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really love Douro and feel like the o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We really love Douro and feel like the owners Dana and Rui are like family. Their assortments of wonderful foods has a broad enough offerings for true foodies and those with a les adventuresome pallet. We highly recommend Douro. You will not be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been there twice Plan to go back again E ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Been there twice

Plan to go back again

Excellent menu and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Duoro is still the best on the Avene

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

After a delicious Valentine's Day dinner at our favorite table, our group all agreed that Duoro continuously rocks it with its Mediterranean menu, friendly staff, great ambiance and delicious food...consistently good and the home grown tomatoes are to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid choice

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Good food in a "high energy" setting. The menu is large and varied. Everything we tried- from the flatbread to tacos to the paella were all tasty. The service was also professional. For the life of me, I don't understand why places like this don't hire or train a bus boy to keep the diner's water glasses full but that was the only downer. The noise level is also a little high at least from where we were sitting. I had to lean and shout to have a conversation until the place emptied out. That being said, we won't hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Solid

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Everything else is fine, but the food is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful place on Greenwich Ave

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

We had a really great dinner starting with special cocktails. Appetizers, salad and main courses were all really delicious and beautifully prepared. Service was just right and even the desserts were outstanding. I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bad night at Douro

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is usually good but this night is tasted old and reheated. Service is always slow but tonight it was extremely slow and they forgot our order twice. First drinks were left at bar and not brought to our table for 20 minutes. next one salad was delivered and the second one forgotten. We had to repeatedly raise our hands and eventually someone noticed us. The chicken and rib combination tasted very old, dry and like yesterdays leftovers. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Hidden gem in plain sight

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We've walked by the restaurant for years, never paying much attention. Friends recently raved about the food and we were not disappointed. Amazing small plates, fantastic Brazilian paella and dessert that I'm still daydreaming about. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here and we loved it.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Food great, service good, ambiance lovely. Gets a bit loud but the food make up for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good find in Greenwich

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Food, service very good. I asked for a special wine from Portugal, it wasn't on the menu so the chef came to my table to talk to me about it and said he would have it next year. That was much appreciated. I was also with a well-known caterer and she loved the food as well. I will definitely go back and will try lunch next time

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was very good. Loved the octupus and shrimp appetizer. Wonderful bread as always. The kale appetizer with sea salt was very tasty as well as the Louisana Paella. Drinks expensive and not that strong but still good. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty loud, not so intimate. Food is mo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Pretty loud, not so intimate. Food is more contemporary than traditional but still good. Portions are on the smaller side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I've been here 3 times now, all on a Sun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I've been here 3 times now, all on a Sunday evening, and have loved it every time. I would guess it could be noisy on busy weekends, but it's been great for Sunday dnners.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, but they were a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was very good, but they were a little slow on the service. Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Unique and delicious

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

different flavors, great quality, interesting, and yet comforting. a special place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a successful business discussion ove ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Had a successful business discussion over lunch. Noise level was fine for a normal conversation. Food was straightforward yet excellent. A little difficult to find an entirely private spot to ensure confidentiality, but managed nonetheless. Would do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JP

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Douro impressive from street to bar to table. Very cool vibe - lots of stainless steel and grey tones with nice dim candle lighting. The menu has a variety for all tastes and you can't go wrong with any order. We had a bunch of appetizers that came out fast and dinner was fantastic - paella cannot be beat. Frank the bartender mixes up the best cocktails. Overall very impressed with this restaurant - can't wait to return and try the sister restaurant Gaia too.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Unique and interesting menu! Everything sounds great and anything I have tried has been so delicious! Love the grilled octopus!

Wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable. On my last visit, the chef came to our table to explain how Douro got its name and to discuss wines and olive oil. Very impressed that he took the time!

You cannot go wrong dining at Douro!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

been here several times. never disappoints. great paella, brussels sprouts also a hit, beet salad, dorado, salmon, never had a meal we didn't like. pretty good wine list if you are familiar with portuguese and spanish wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jaygigi47

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

This is a great neighborhood restaurant. Spanish and Portuguese which is a nice change from all the other restaurants in the area. We had the sea bass and the salmon and both were excellent. The appetizers are all great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Place to get Dinner on a weekday

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Doro is a great place to get a good weekend food, the menu has a good selection and everything on it is freshly prepared and seasoned to perfection, without over salting or peppering or garlic.

I come here on the weekends but I think you can go there anytime being it reminds me of a good place to get grub or a delicately prepared dish. One of the best restaurants in Greenwich, and I hope it stays that way.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best places in town. Outstan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

One of the best places in town. Outstanding food, very good yet reasonably priced wine, and a romantic but fun atmosphere. Try the meatballs and chicken lollies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was hoping for better

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

We had wanted to come to Duoro for a while.

We went with friends Joe and Carol.

We had a good night but the food was just ok.

I had the seared tuna appetizer and it was ok but the sauce was acidic and not a good

Match for the tuna. Kathy had the beet salad which was ok.

The Brazilian which was the paiela dish was just fair.

It was supposed to contain pork rib bites,shrimp chicken.

There was one pork rib and one shrimp. Kathy had the Valencia was ok

The service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.