Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today
Special offers available. See details

Douro Restaurant Bar

4.5
211 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Portuguese
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
DOURO offers an inventive approach to Portuguese-Mediterranean fare, using the best of local & seasonal ingredients from natural production, sustainable farmhouses & purveyors.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Portuguese, Mediterranean, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(203) 869-7622
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Rui Correia
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fawcett Place
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
With Chef Rui's artistic direction, DOURO offers a unique catering & event planning experience. Focused on your needs, Chef Rui will create the perfect menu, whether for a cocktail party or dinner with friends & family, at the restaurant or in your home.

SEATED LUNCHEON & DINNER | DROP-OFF CATERING | PASSED HORS D’OEUVRES & COCKTAILS
STATIONS & BUFFET | FULL SERVICE STAFF | CUSTOM MENUS | COOKING CLASSES WITH CHEF RUI IN YOUR HOME | WINE PAIRING | CUSTOM PRINTED MENUS
AND SO MUCH MORE…

THE PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CHEF RUI CORREIA IN YOUR KITCHEN

YOU & CHEF RUI WILL PLAN A DELICIOUS MENU THAT HE WILL PREPARE FOR YOU & YOUR GUESTS

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO BOOK YOUR NEXT EVENT, CATERING OR PRIVATE CHEF EXPERIENCE
CONTACT DANA – 203.869.7622 | events@dourogroup.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

What 211 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The food is great and the atmosphere friendly; the owner/chef is gracious and talented!! All in all we had a perfect evening

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing food, didn’t get the best table, but otherwise great restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great evening catching up w/friends. Shared multiple small plates. The Brussels is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Had a great lunch. Had Canja and Paehla Valencia. My wife had the Spinach salad and Paehla Valencia. And the Sangria was spectacular!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food was a little bland. The Tacos were good though. Service was very good. Decent ambiance. Probably won’t go again though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Our waitress was very pleasant, however took our dinner order without writing anything down
(something which often concerns me with a dinner order). The food was delivered by other people from the kitchen and our side orders of vegetables never arrived. After waiting another 5 minutes or so expecting it to still be delivered, we could not find our server or any other person for another 5+ minutes. When we told someone our server eventually came back and we explained the situation. She went into the kitchen and came back after about 3-5 minutes and said it was her fault as she never ordered it. She then said it should be right out. Of course it arrived when we were just about finished eating our main course. She never offered to take it off the bill or maybe give us dessert or coffee "on the house" which I thought would be customary under the circumstances.
The food was average at best and the service was less. Probably would not go back as the quality, value and experience was not what we expected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Love Douro; consistently wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Just a pleasure as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The food at Douro is excellent. I have enjoyed every visit, whether with my husband, another couple, or friends. This particular occasion allowed a group of us only a short time before we needed to be elsewhere for an event. The small plates were perfect. Lots of variety, and absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great food.
Bar area nice seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

It always tends to be our go to!
Food always fresh and delicious.
Place just has a good vibe!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Excellent food and service. Becoming a regular!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Party of 4 and we all found the food original, tasty, authentic, and of v. good quality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

What a great this place is!! Paella with those INCREDIBLE Peruvian peppers...(which id never heard of but are sweet as candy and are the size of peas but shaped like a teardrop). Service was great and love the decor. We are already booked to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Very nice local restaurant. The food, service and ambiance is all good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentine’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent place to come for dinner, food was wonderful and staff super accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Always consistent service with delicious appetizers and entrees!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Food at Douro is great...consistently excellent. Wine list has contracted over the years which is a bit unfortunate
as there used to be a broader range of very fine Portuguese wines. Service is fine. My only criticism is that space itself is cramped
and not particularly attractive or comfortable. Seating in the main bar room is noisy and crowded. The alternative space feels like a
corridor. Improving the setting would make Douro a 5 star spot for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Recently tried Gaia, their other restaurant and this was even better (tho Gaia also excellent). Very extensive menu and lots of attractive options. Will definitely be back. Decor is gorgeous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Really good food and really reliable. I think that you can put their piri piri sauce on your shoes and it would be better than what you can get at most restaurants. The brussel sprouts are out of this world, and even the garlic bread at the table is fantastic. A little overpriced? Perhaps, but it makes up for it in quality and consistency of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

The service was good , the food was excellent. A good place to enjoy with your friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

One of our favorites. Food is simple, flavorful and prepared by Chef Route perfectly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Douro is one of our favorite places to eat at in the area. Generally we grab two seats at the bar for dinner. Food and service is always good. Everything on the menu is a bit on the heavier side though - not much in terms of fresh/light/crisp. A few more options like that would be great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Great lunch price fixe

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Douro restaurant was excellent. The food was superb! I had never been to a Portuguese restaurant before, and wasn't sure of what to expect. But was pleasantly surprised how delicious the food and sauces were!! The ambience was also very nice! Overall, a great restaurant to visit!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Disappointed in service.
We sat and waited 20 minutes or more to see a wait person.
We caught one as they passed by our table and eventually a waitress came to our table.
She was obviously annoyed that she was sent to us.
After that a different waiter became our server.
All in all not bad just wish we hadn’t been exposed to a very very unwilling waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Food is excellent with nice-sized portions ... not huge (they bill it as tasting) but enough to satisfy; they're very quiet at lunch so great for being really able to talk (although the decor is modern and spare so it could get noisy if it's packed). The staff is also very friendly, highly professional and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Rui, the owner, directs an outstanding restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Great experience. First time eating at Douro.
Staff great and we both had the best meal we’ve had in 6 mos. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

This is our favorite resturant! We love chef Rui and his wonderful palate pleasers. The vibe is up beat and fun. Staff is attentive and recognize us by name. It makes us feel special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was outstanding. Snapping fresh seafood and the best paella I’ve ever had. Garlic shrimp and octopus appetizers were amazing. Deep flavors, expertly and elegantly prepared and presented without being fussy. A stellar experience. The only negative is the volume — it’s a smallish place with hard walls and the noise is cacophonous. A definite repeat but not for intimate conversations.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Really nice brussell sprouts dish. Good wine. Very nice service. My friend and I sat and lingered over Saturday lunch and never felt rushed or bothered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

Absolutely must visit when in Greenwich. Food was great, service was terrific.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Great addition to Greenwich Ave. The lunch special is totally worth it. The atmosphere is very cool and hip without being trendy.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Great food, but horrific service. Took a half hour for water and another half hour for wine. The waiter botched the entrées ordered. Hostess and owner weren't even apologetic when we let them know how bad the server was.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Good food, expensive, service was just fair. Waiter ignored us unless I flagged him down.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 24, 2017

I have been here many times. The food is always good. We loved the bottle of wine that was chosen for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Christine(a) always a great hostess! Best paella dishes around. Supeme hot sauce!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6