About Double Zero

1577 North Decatur Rd
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

Our ancestors, and many others like them, made the pilgrimage from southern Italy to Ellis Island. These immigrants hit the streets of NYC with a ripe attitude and a culture deeply rooted in food. Their entrepreneurial spirit spawned many businesses as Italian-Americans infiltrated the neighborhoods surrounding Mulberry Street and much of the Lower East Side of Manhattan. This new home was rich in Neapolitan ties; however, a uniquely American identity was taking form as they embraced their status as first generation Italian-Americans.

Now generations removed from that first journey across the Atlantic, we aim to update the concept of an Italian-American restaurant. The sourcing of our ingredients, our techniques, and the design of our space is modern, but we take inspiration from the tenacity, originality, and hustle of our ancestors — and of course, their damn delicious food. We hope that those who came before us would be proud of this effort.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Oxford Rd NE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 991-3666

Website:
http://www.doublezeroatl.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet is available during dinner hours to assist our patrons with the limited nature of our parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Edwin Molina

Private Party Facilities:
We have private dining experiences available for all of your special occasion needs. Please contact us to set up an appointment to see our offerings.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Cruz: 4049913666x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Double Zero offers a variety of special events including, but not limited to the following:

- Private Corporate Events
- Classic Cocktail receptions
- Chef's tasting menus
- Wine Tasting events
- Whiskey Tasting events

Please inquire about our private areas.

Restaurant Photos

  • Double Zero, Atlanta, GA
  • Double Zero, Atlanta, GA
  • Double Zero, Atlanta, GA
  • Double Zero, Atlanta, GA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Double Zero Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Tapas (35)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fun (28)
Casual (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Wood Oven (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Cozy (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Business Meals (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nicely located in Emory Village. Higher ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Nicely located in Emory Village. Higher level dining, exotic cocktails, very nice food and originally prepared, tapas style. Friendly atmosphere, but gets bit noisy in the weekend.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was Ash he was awesome I had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was Ash he was awesome I had the assorted mushroom pizza it was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected, mediocre at best. Caters to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

As expected, mediocre at best. Caters to the lowest common denominator just like Iberian Pig

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Overall good but a few issues worth. Som ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall good but a few issues worth. Some- food came out too quickly and wasn't paced properly. Some food wasn't hot enough (artichokes and duck toast dishes).

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a great find! We struggled to d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This is a great find! We struggled to decide where to eat, but this was the right spot. Trey, our server, recommended some awesome cocktails (I recommend the Bitter Ginger) and great food. We had several items and they were all very good. Three things stood out: kale salad, scallops, and ricotta cheesecake.

The scallops were plump, buttery, and perfectly cooked. The flavors in the scallop dish were worthy of Michelin star restaurant. It was truly an exceptional experience.

The ricotta cheesecake was on special, but I would recommend that the pastry chef put this on the menu permanently. This cheesecake was phenomenal. After we ate every single bit of it, we decided that it tasted like a tender post-coital head scratch feels -- intimate, sweet, light, personal, and perfect. Just wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Have eaten here numerous times before th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have eaten here numerous times before they moved to emory and have always enjoyed it. Eating here the other night, it seemed to be a shadow of what it once was. Maybe just a bad night for them. We ordered the octopus, the burrata, and 2 of their pizzas.

Both the octopus and burrata worked and we're well conceived and prepared, but they were lacking in salt to the extent that they fell flat. No shakers on the table means it shouldnt be bland. Taste your food. Finishing salt would have helped a lot.

The burrata only came with one slice of bread cut in half, which was barely enough for half of the dish. We had to ask for more.

The pizzas were soggy. Blistered appropriately on the top but mostly white and soft on bottom. Not sure how that would have happened, but it lacked the crisp crust they've had in past. Maybe everything got fired at once instead of being coursed like we asked for and it sat too long.

Aside from food being disappointing, service seemed rushed. It was nye, but reservation was at 9pm and it wasn't that crowded. Maybe she just didn't want to be working, but it just seemed like she didn't want to be there. We didn't get dessert menus offered. It was my friends birthday, and they just dropped off some dessert fritters with a candle, which was nice, but not good at all. Too soft, just unpleasant. I would have liked more options, as she wanted cake. Really disappointed us, as we've both loved double zero in past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for New Years dinner and it was fan ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years dinner and it was fantastic! Only complaint is that the menu should be labeled better, we didn't realize it was a tapas style restaurant until ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty, ambiance was nice, and t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was tasty, ambiance was nice, and the service was great, but the portion sizes are on the smaller side (unless you get a pizza)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a family celebration with 3 famil ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a family celebration with 3 families for a very special birthday! Kids ranged in age from 7 to 17 and all enjoyed the menu. The adults especially enjoyed the food and wine. The open kitchen was fun to watch and the pizza ovens have inspired a kitchen remodel!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Served by a young man named Truman. Ver ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Served by a young man named Truman. Very knowledgeable with food and drinks. Professional and Courteous. Good job young Man.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal service for what I expected. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Phenomenal service for what I expected. The food, though very good, was lacking a bit of the magic of the previous location. Same for the ambience (though more comfortable now than edgy). Definitely would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were regulars at the Sandy Springs lo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were regulars at the Sandy Springs location of Double Zero. Obviously, very disappointed when they relocated the restaurant to Decatur. For my husband's birthday, he was craving one of the dishes he always got at the old location. We decided to drive over to the new location expecting the menu to be somewhat the same. Unfortunately, the whole concept had changed. It is now more like a casual pizza restaurant with small plates. None of our pasta favorites were on the current menu. The kale and arugula salads were good (but small). My husband ordered a pizza similar to a Margarita pizza but with thicker crust (which was charred on the edges). He also ordered the meatballs which were small (4 meatballs) but tasty with an excellent sauce. My daughter had the cheese and meat platter which was very good. Not worth the drive for us from Sandy Springs.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service. Fam friendly.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent service. Fam friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was cozy and inviting, bu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant was cozy and inviting, but the food was very salty. We ordered a pizza and the pasta carbonara--both were too salty. We love Iberian Pig so we were disappointed with this experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything about this restaurant was on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was on point. Modern ambiance, friendly and professional staff and great food. I must commend our waitress she ensured we understood every aspect of the menu and made great suggestions. I'd highly recommend Double Zero. 10 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!!!! Enjoyed every item we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great place!!!! Enjoyed every item we tried. Fun place with different menu options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love all tapas, especially the polenta. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love all tapas, especially the polenta. And the Scotch cocktail- The Referendum- is my favorite drink anywhere.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ww really enjoyed dining at Double Zero ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Ww really enjoyed dining at Double Zero at Emory the other night. We especially were pleased with the meatballs, and the pizza. This was our first time at this location, and we will bring friends next time.

I enjoyed watching the gentleman bring in wheel barrows of fire wood for the wood fired ovens.

He really knows how to keep the wood fired ovens going on a consistent basis.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got the grilled kale salad, artichoke ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We got the grilled kale salad, artichoke al forno, cauliflower, clams, octopus, oxtail, and a kids pizza for 2 adults and 2 kids. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. The app/tapa portion size is perfect - not too big, not too small. Tapas sizes allows you to try different dishes. I avoid many carbs (bread, potatoes, starches) and the menu has so much variety that it's very easy to find plenty of foods to enjoy. the Service is very attentive. Can't think of a single negative thing!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pastry chef was very accommodating ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The pastry chef was very accommodating and made a fantastic version of chocolate calda, thick with chocolate spiced with cinnamon. the small plates were creative and the flavors were delightful. The desserts were delicious !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service ... an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service ... and great neighborhood gem in the Emory Village!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A happy addition to Emory Village--long ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A happy addition to Emory Village--long known for student-type eateries. Double Zero adds an imaginative, excellent menu to the area and is an excellent place for a special dinner or a business dinner. Wine selection is very good and the small and shared dishes are really unique and all were quite excellent. This is a place worth supporting and is a find for the Village.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ordered a bunch of small plates. Great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Ordered a bunch of small plates. Great for sharing, which in turn helps create a cozy and intimate ambiance. Moderate noise level, allowing for ongoing conversations. Setting is spartan/hip. Menu is creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was absolutely delicious! The w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious! The waiter told us that the small plates were designed for sharing. I would let go of that concept all together. The pasta dishes were really impossible to split up. If they mean for the food to be shared the kitchen should prepare it based on the number of people at the table. Three pieces of something to be shared amongst for people is an odd way to split something. But the food is very inventive and I look forward to going back many times.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and wine/ drink optio ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was delicious and wine/ drink options were extensive. Our server, Ashe, was excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience - first time there! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful experience - first time there! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen was backed up when we arrive ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The kitchen was backed up when we arrived for dinner. One of our orders was forgotten and to compensate for the slow service, our pizzas were cooked but burned around the edges. In addition, there were hardly and kosher selections to satisfy everyone in our party. Sadly, the most memorable part of our dinner was the beginning (appetizer) and end (comped dessert and porsecco). We were loyal patrons to the Roswell location and are disappointed with the new location's ambiance, food service and selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Excellent food. Patrick served us and we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent food. Patrick served us and we went his suggestions on food and wine. Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great enjoyed it. The servers were help ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great enjoyed it. The servers were helpful at the bar and the table. Wine delicious, and interesting selection of unusual beers. Meal appreciated by all

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The cauliflower was a star, along with t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The cauliflower was a star, along with the octopus. We loved

the small plates that were easy to share. And of course the pizza was spectacular. Great variety for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal, wonderful service. We ca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful service. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tapas, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, , Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 3 ordered 5 small plates. T ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our group of 3 ordered 5 small plates. The portions were adequate and it was a fun way to eat. We started with burrata cheese that came with toasted sourdough bread. The fried cauliflower and arancini arrived next. After all that was polished off, they delivered our scallop and lamb chop dishes. Every dish was delicious and creative. This place is a winner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic! We used to frequent their ol ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic! We used to frequent their old space in Sandy Springs and loved their old menu. We were apprehensive about their menu, however we did want to give it a try

The food was fantastic, smaller plates means trying more dishes and they were all great.

It was our anniversary and everyone there made its feel special. Well done everyone, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first trip to Double Zero. We live ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our first trip to Double Zero. We live in Decatur, and go to Iberian Pig now and again, which is also operated by the Castellucci Hospitality Group. We enjoy the food at I-Pig, but the restaurant is too loud and too crowded. Double Zero by contrast was open and relaxed, and it was easy to have a conversation. The food is more Mediterranean than Spanish, but the approach to dining is comparable, and it was all quite delicious. Our server Patrick was very entertaining and offered good advice about the meal. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Double Zero in Emory Vill ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have been to Double Zero in Emory Village four times, and it has always been a pleasant experience. The tapas dishes on the menu are interesting and, so far, delicious. The pizzas are also excellent. Many restaurants that have good food have mediocre desserts, but Double Zero's desserts are outstanding. On our last visit, the one downside was that I opted for a dish of Wagyu beef because the waiter raved about it. I should have asked the price but didn't; he should have told us the price but didn't. It was far more expensive than other tapas items and was much tougher than Wagyu should have been--still pretty good, but certainly not worth the cost. That isn't a black mark in my mind but just a gray smudge. Double Zero is a great dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great server. All the staff including th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great server. All the staff including the valet were very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are here before going to an event at ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We are here before going to an event at Emory. Great, friendly service, good food, convenient location, and the advantage of valet in area where parking can be tricky.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our first time dining at Double ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first time dining at Double Zero !

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and extremely attentive. The Red Snapper was amazing and the cocktails were also delicious. I would have given all "5 stars", but found the small plates a bit too small. However the large plates are definitely shareable!

We will definitely be returning for another "date night".

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great space, tables, friendly wait staff ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great space, tables, friendly wait staff and good service. Good food. Fair prices.

Glad it is in the neighborhood, much needed!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time at new location. Food was all ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First time at new location. Food was all good, but prefer old menu. A bit pricey for some of the small plates. Unlikely to be back anytime soon due to changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.