About Double Nickel Steak House

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: 806-792-0055

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

special occasion (47)
romantic (37)
good for groups (20)
See All
notable wine list (20)
fit for foodies (15)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (3)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
43 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and the steaks are very ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and the steaks are very flavorful. The crab stuffed mushrooms are a must try

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My family and I wanted to celebrate my m ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

My family and I wanted to celebrate my master's graduation with a dinner to fit the occasion. Making reservations was easy with their website. The service was impeccable and we were treated with smiles and respect. I had the filet mignon and I literally said it was the best steak I've EVER had, and I have had the fortune of eating at a number of fine dining steakhouses over the years. Everyone in my family commented that they really enjoyed their dining experience and I was complimented on choosing the Double Nickel for this special occasion. I would recommend this restaurant as the best dining experience in Lubbock.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the food and eventhough my steak ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed the food and eventhough my steak was not quite done the first time, the staff was quick to make it right. The complimentary glass of champagne was an unexpected treat and our waitress was superb. She truly helped to make our anniversary dinner special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Just like every other time we have been ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Just like every other time we have been there: Great food, great service and a wonderful place to celebrate our 26th Anniversary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it

Dined on April 10, 2016

We enjoyed everything about the Double Nickel!! Good was excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4

Low quality steak

Dined on April 10, 2016

Low quality steak

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dinner Experience in Lubbock

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food, service, and overall experience at Double Nickle never let down. Highly recommend!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Atmosphere was on targe ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food. Atmosphere was on target. Would definitely recommend. Will visit again the next time we're in town. Waiter was excellent and very attentive.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

It was all that is expected in a well ru ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

It was all that is expected in a well run steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steak

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went here with friends to celebrate a birthday. Our steaks were prepared perfectly, and one of our diners ordered fish which she really enjoyed. Service was great (a tad slow but we were in no hurry). Great for a special occasion in Lubbock (bring your wallet)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A sure bet in Lubbocl

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

The Double Nickel is a traditional steakhouse that is a mainstay for business dinners and special occasions. The steaks are consistently good and I always enjoy the cheese toast. The wine list is pretty broad, but the prices seem a bit inflated. I had a hard time finding a high quality wine at a reasonable price, especially when they were out of my first choice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The beef was excellent and the staff ver ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The beef was excellent and the staff very friendly and accommodating. They had a very nice wine list and I was pleasantly surprised to see a wide range of wines for every taste. Will return every time I'm in Lubbock!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence in dining!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Invited my family all visiting from out of town....they were impressed and pleased with the quality of the food, portions, superb service!!! It is my go-to place for the best of everything when in Lubbock!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Arturo was an amazing server and even re ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Arturo was an amazing server and even remembered us from the last time we were in. Will definitely be back soon!

food3
ambience5
service5

While the service was professional and t ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

While the service was professional and the ambience was great (felt like something out of Mad Men) the value of the food for the price seemed mismatched. I had the filet, cream corn and snap peas, and the Double Nickel salad. All were good but most of the rest of my party had the ribeye. It was not the best quality cut for the price and one was a little grisly. I thought the snap peas were a little on the salty side, too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

Recently we went for anniversary dinner, the food is always outstanding and wonderful service!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good friends, a great evening

Dined on February 20, 2016

We all had the same entrée, so it is hard to determine if ALL the food is as great as ours. Small filets were still too much meat for some of us, but was just the best steak in Lubbock. Mine was a bit undercooked, but they took it back immediately and came back in less than 5 minutes with a perfect medium. We all enjoyed our meals tremendously.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Steak

Dined on February 19, 2016

You know when you order your steak rare and your waitperson asks, "cool or warm center?", you're in a place that knows their steaks. This place does. A bit pricey, bit great food and good wine selection. Very good service too.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Need A Broiler Cook

Dined on February 15, 2016

If you have a great cook you have no need for the servers to use a pin light not a flash light to see if your STEAK IS DONE to your liking !!!!!!!!!!!!! Had to send my steak back as did other customers in room had too!! Was a Broiler cook for many years and always cooked to the touch of the steak and never sent a pin light out with any of my steaks !!!!!!! And the cheese sticks were not cooked all the way through!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is out Go to place for date night

Dined on February 14, 2016

We brought some guest for there first time that's all they have talked about to everyone at church the excellence that they received from the atmosphere to Food and staff

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Very romantic atmosphere! Polite wait st ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very romantic atmosphere! Polite wait staff; we were even serviced by staff that were not assigned to our table. Clean environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very impressed with the food and ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were very impressed with the food and wait staff. Very romantic

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1

This is an expensive place - $30 and up ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

This is an expensive place - $30 and up for steaks - but you'd never know it from how the staff are trained. Airport service. They don't know anything about wine. They took my plate away before I was finished - asked me if I was done eating only after the plate was already lifted off the table. Asked for a glass of wine and never got a taste to make sure I liked it - just brought the whole thing. Little things, sure. But they add up. And isn't that the whole point of a fine dining experience?

food5
ambience4
service5

Have eaten here several times. Service i ...

Dined on April 26, 2015

Have eaten here several times. Service is always great. Always have what we need at the bar. Food has always been amazing no matter what we order. We recommend this place to all our friends.

food3
ambience3
service4

Getting somewhat old

vip
Dined on March 15, 2015

Have dinned at this steak house several times over the years... with mixed experiences... mostly good! Unfortunately, the menu is getting a bit stale... nothing has changed in the past 8 years! And it's not what it used to be... Please update the menu... and loose the mozzarella cheese sticks that come with the entree's and remain completely out of place and unappetizing!

food2
ambience3
service1

I waited for thirty minutes standing at ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2015

I waited for thirty minutes standing at the entrance beyond my reservation time. No apology. No "it'll just be a few minutes" Nothing. More than that there were vacant tables throughout the restaurant that the small line up could have been seated at. The food was fine, nothing memorable except that it was over priced. This is just a chain steak house restaurant pretending to be more.

food5
ambience4
service5

excellent steak house in Lubbock

Dined on September 28, 2014

I went there for dinner with family for the first time during our last visit to Lubbock. I am very impressed with the service, but more than the service, the food was delicious and the quality of meat was excellent. I had the "Filet Kabob" which was tender, cooked perfect and tasted awesome along with the peppers, onion and the wine sauce!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service4

Next time I will ask to hold

vip
Dined on February 19, 2014

Next time I will ask to hold the pepper on the steak. Otherwise excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas Dinner

Dined on December 21, 2013

We took my mother out for dinner the weekend before Christmas, and it was the perfect place! We made early reservations and enjoyed having the place practically to ourselves by the time our entrees arrived. Very nice! Our server was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Save room for dessert

Dined on January 23, 2013

Best steakhouse in Lubbock. Expect to spend about $100 per person. Save room for amazing dessert. The pecan bread pudding is a meal in itself and the bananas foster is as fun as it is tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

Myself and 3 business associates

Dined on November 10, 2012

Myself and 3 business associates had dinner at the Double Nickel on Saturday November 10, 2012. I ordered a ribeye, others ordered different steaks. My ribeye was the worst steak that I have been served in a restaurant outside of Mexico. Waiter(ess) seemed flustered when I complained, manager asked what I wanted to do . Replacement steak was better, not terrific. Business associates' steaks were satisfactory as was the rest of the food. Seems a little pricey for the quality of the food and the amateurish way that the problem was handled. Probably will not go there again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Double Nickel Saturday

Dined on November 4, 2012

Went to Double Nickel Saturday night after Tx vs. Tech game. Had reservation for 8:15,they went ahead and seated us at 7:00. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at how GOOD the NY strip steak was that we split. No way could either of us eaten it by ourselves. Sides were also plentiful and excellent. We live in Amarillo and we may make a special trip to Lubbock just to eat there again!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Needs improved wine list

Dined on October 20, 2012

Needs a much-improved wine list! Servers did not know their wine nor the years. One visit took me over 35 minutes to find a decent wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining

Dined on August 3, 2012

This was our first time dining there. The service was great and so was the food. I would rccomend for a special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Probably best steak house

Dined on June 30, 2012

Probably best steak house in Lubbock. Steak cuts good be better grade. Waiter was inexperienced.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Definitely our favorite steak

vip
Dined on January 28, 2012

Definitely our favorite steak place in Lubbock. Having moved to west TX from Houston, we really miss all of the food choices. The Double Nickel has very good steaks and the staff are always friendly. It's also one of the only options in Lubbock for fresh seafood. The seafood selections are very limited, but beggars can't be choosers.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing! Steaks is

Dined on January 4, 2012

Food was amazing! Steaks is incredible and ambiance is very romantic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Details, details, details

vip
Dined on December 22, 2011

For a place that hypes itself one of the best "independent" steakhouses, it has a long way to go. Its closer to the quality level of a chain place like Outback. In a bigger city with more high-end choices, it wouldn't survive (my wife and I don't live in Lubbock). True greatness shows in the details. Our menus both had different choices/prices. Waiter was switched. Salads drowned in dressing. Bread never came without multiple reminders. Sauteed mushrooms tasted sour. The steaks, fortunately, were very good but not served with advertised accompaniments, but a huge lump of bland julienned vegetables instead. Maybe they were off their game on this Wednesday night. Or maybe they aren't truly great. Neither is an acceptable outcome for my money.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so impressed with

Dined on October 13, 2011

We were so impressed with the bartender who dealt so well with an obviously intoxicated patron. She was loud & annoying, and he was very kind to her and put up with her constant jabber. We'd also like to thank the staff for providing us with dessert because of this distraction to our evening. Very impressed, and we'll definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous place, atmosphere,

Dined on May 21, 2011

Fabulous place, atmosphere, food & service outstanding!!!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.