About Double Nickel Steak House

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: 806-792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Tomato Caprese Salad - Double Nickel Steak House, Lubbock, TX
  • NY Strip - Double Nickel Steak House, Lubbock, TX
Tomato Caprese Salad - Double Nickel Steak House, Lubbock, TX
NY Strip - Double Nickel Steak House, Lubbock, TX

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Texas Panhandle
Best Food
Texas Panhandle
Best Service
Texas Panhandle
4 More
Best Ambiance
Texas Panhandle
Best Value
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were extremely pleased! The food was ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were extremely pleased! The food was excellent and our waiter was outstanding. The atmosphere is wonderful for a date or a very nice dinner. I was surprised at how reasonably priced the menu is for an upscale steakhouse. Will absolutely be back and absolutely would recommend with out hesitation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Double nickel was recommended by a local ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Double nickel was recommended by a local. We had out of town guests and had an absolutely enjoyable top-notch dinner. The service was excellent and the timing of food delivery was the best I've had in years. The steak was among the best I can remember. I would highly recommend double nickel, and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner with friends. Gre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with friends. Great steaks for sure. Better value and food than another well known steak place in town in my opinion. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was outst ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was delicious and service was outstanding! Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a kind non chain restaurant. The ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of a kind non chain restaurant. The food was very good as were the cocktails and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent seafood at a unique steakhouse ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent seafood at a unique steakhouse. The service was excellent our waiter as well as the owner walking table to table to make sure everyone was satisfied

I highly recommend the double nickel for any occasion

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was good and the atmosphere was nice. For the price, the food was good (not great) - have been to other steak houses in Texas where the cost is about the same, but the food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very good. Everyone enjoyed ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very good. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. The service was excellent! I have already recommended Double Nickel to my son and his girlfriend. The decor is very classy, old west and I liked that. Best to make reservations because the restaurant is only open at night and opens early at 5:00. Don't eat a lot during the day before you come to the Double Nickel so that you can enjoy the desserts!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We don't get out for a special dinner ve ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We don't get out for a special dinner very often and we just moved to Lubbock. We were very pleased with the food and our waiter Matthew.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We (my wife, sister and niece) were in L ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We (my wife, sister and niece) were in Lubbock for my mother's memorial and decided we wanted an exceptional dining experience. I looked up steak houses and the Diamond Nickel was listed as one of the best in town -- and one of the most expensive. When we arrived the atmosphere was excellent, nicely decorated, etc.

When it was time to order, my wife asked if the fish as fresh (not frozen) and the waiter said of course the fish was fresh, that the chef would not serve fish that was old. That told us right away that he didn't have a clue what we were talking about.

So, we decided against any fish and I ordered one of the better steaks, my wife ordered the chicken (which was so salty that she couldn't eat it), my sister ordered the steak salad (which was OK) and niece one of the lower costing steaks. The steak meat was good but not excellent, but the sides were a disaster. The mashed potatoes were very thick, almost like rubber, the sugar peas had a sweet sauce and so over cooked you couldn't tell they were sugar snap peas.

My wife ordered a glass of wine (cost $16.00) and it tasted like a glass of $3.00 wine you would get at a fast food restaurant.

Not any enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was very good and presented ver ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was very good and presented very nicely. We requested to be served as quickly as possible because we were going to a football game. The food arrived faster than we expected which was perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service is the best in town. Excelle ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service is the best in town. Excellent wine list. My steak was a perfect medium rare and my wife's salmon was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the "Best Restaurant or Steak House" ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

For the "Best Restaurant or Steak House" in Lubbock, we found the menu and waiter confusing. There were a la cart sides which is typical with high end Steak Restaurants, but there were also sides that came with your meal. You could just order the a la cart sides and not the sides that came with the meal, but there was no credit given back if you chose not the take the side that came with the meal. At least that was what the waiter indicated.

Protein was cooked properly, however the waiter never asked how we wanted it prepared, we had to explain our temperature preferences. Waiter did not know what medium rare plus was either.

Wine, nice selection however we were not told of the other wine the proprietor has in the cooler behind the bar. There were some nice wines that we probably would have selected if told to us.

Decor, a little dated but warm feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The Double Nickel has always been portra ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The Double Nickel has always been portrayed as expensive in the word-of-mouth circles in town. However, I have never had a bad steak here and the service is the best. I cannot say that for some of the other steak houses in town that we have used to business visitors. Steaks are great, atmosphere is great for talking, and service is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Salmon was VERY over cooked; sides well ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Salmon was VERY over cooked; sides well prepared with ample portions. Great service. Friends beaf tenderloin was good.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service by Dillion. Wonderful foo ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service by Dillion. Wonderful food. Tradition for our family/friends to come here when we return to Lubbock. Makes our trip even better to enjoy this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During football season I make it a point ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

During football season I make it a point to dine at the Double Nickle. This was my second time this season. As always, the service was great, the martini was perfect as was the wine choice, and the steak was perfect. As usual, Lisa came by and made sure everything was all right as did the Manager.

This is quite gem on the high plains.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good! Ambiance great with good s ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always good! Ambiance great with good service. Recommend for a good place in Lubbock.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were not cooked to order. No anch ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Steaks were not cooked to order. No anchovies for the salad and no creme brûlée for desert. Very disappointing. Over priced for the options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5

Dillon was awesome! Food was great and w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Dillon was awesome! Food was great and wine was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the medallions, creamed corn and ma ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love the medallions, creamed corn and mashed potatoes. (With the side cheese stick) Meal can't be beat.

The orange cake is my wife and I's favorite!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all was exceptional; however, servers wh ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 9, 2016

all was exceptional; however, servers where amazing. Yummy food as well!!! we will be back definitely. Thanks!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food great service!!!!

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food great service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our experience here. Thank you for ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved our experience here. Thank you for excellent service, ambience and cuisine Texas- style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food and service. I will definitely ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

good food and service. I will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service and filet mignon that ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fantastic service and filet mignon that I could cut with a fork; a perfect combination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime I come to Lubbock for a ball g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Everytime I come to Lubbock for a ball game I try to go to the Double Nickle. The food is always great there, the ambiance is reminisant of an old time steak house, and the service is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is as good as it looks. ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant is as good as it looks. My husband and I met my mom and her boyfriend for a quick bite as we both passed through lubbock. I was extremely impressed by the service and the food. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a special date or family dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without doubt...all in our group have be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Without doubt...all in our group have been to many steakhouses. Until this, Mickey Mantles in OKC held the crown. Now that crown must be shared! And it is more economical. An absolutely total success.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was very good and steak was prepare ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Meal was very good and steak was prepared exactly as ordered. Service was a little slow at some times; however, it was acceptable.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was wonderful! It has an ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant was wonderful! It has an old school steakhouse feel to it. The food was wonderful! Our server Mariah was a pleasure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was outstanding! The atmosphere was n ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was outstanding! The atmosphere was nice. Our food was very good and stayed hot the whole time. The service was great and quick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list was good, however they were ou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wine list was good, however they were out of many selections. It seemed to carry sounds throughout the restaurant. The filet mignon were excellent. I don't feel they were USDA prime beef as advertised.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Arturo was amazing as always! He always ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Arturo was amazing as always! He always remembers who we are and what we like! He's a great assets to this establishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my son and my husband ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I had dinner with my son and my husband on a Saturday night. The cocktails were delicious, I ordered a gin martini that was perfect. I had the Chilean seabass and was perfectly cooked along with the cilantro lime rice. My son and husband both had the filet, everyone was very happy with their meals. I would recommend Double Nickel to anyone looking for a nicely cooked steak or seafood. And the surprise cheese stick that comes with your entree is so so good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best steak Resturant in Lubbock.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best steak Resturant in Lubbock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food great service. Steak is m ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food great service. Steak is melt in your mouth good as well as the medallions.

T K Is a great server with a great personality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Lubb ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Lubbock Tx. The atmosphere is great and the service is off the charts. They know how to treat there customers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding all around the board from th ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding all around the board from the environment to the food! It is a beautiful escape from Lubbock without ever really having to leave. I will be attending again.. and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but service for fine dini ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was good, but service for fine dining was not up to par. Often didn't see the waiter, when needed help.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.