Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Double Nickel Steak House

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: (806) 792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional, had a bone-in-ribeye and wife had the ribeye... Incredibly good. All the side ordered and appetizers were great a well! Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We always love coming here!! Food is always phenomenal and atmosphere is so romantic! Thanks for another great date night!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great steakhouse with wonderful service and excellent food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Double Nickel is one of my husbands favorite restraunts. We only go there on special occasions, can be a bit pricey, but the food is always great. And where else in Lubbock has lamb chops on their menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for our anniversary, food was average...... don't go if they have large dinner parties the waitstaff cauterize to them and ignore the smaller tables. Less tip money I guess is the factor. Meat was tough.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food, great service, great time!! Definitely looking forward to going back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

In town for graduations with Double Nickel's steaks being highly recommended.
My wife's and my steaks were definitely not what I would consider what a "Steak House" would consider serving. More fitting of a "all you can eat" restaurant.
Both of the steaks were extremely fatty, even for a rib eye, along with having a large gristle run down the middle. More than half of both of the steaks were waste.
Pointed this out to the server who apologized, but made no effort to correct.
As can be expected we shall not return when in town.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

service was outstanding & friendly. Great jazz and romantic music in the background. Food was pretty good; expensive menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary Dinner. Upscale steakhouse for a Lubbock area that doesn't have a lot to offer for a special night out. Eaten here a couple times, every time I leave happy and full! All the so-called food experts can say what they want, as far as I'm concerned it's exactly what you think it would be in this area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My husband and I recently ate here for his birthday. Both of our meals were delicious and the service was impeccable. We definitely recommend the Double Nickel for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything was just wonderful. The meat was just right. It wasn't loud, like some places. The service was excellent and knowledgeable. Will be back. Was everything that I had seen in reviews.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Double Nickel for special occasions. The food is always delicious and the service is fantastic. It is pricy so not a everyday place, but wish it could be....
The steaks are great and sides are delicious, love the giant cheese stick too.
Desserts are wonderful too, if you have room.
The beer and wine selections are great too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent restaurant, we celebrated daughter's Health Science Center degree from Texas Tech. Overall they scored very well on all fronts. Monica was our waitress, she knows her stuff. Ask for her! William the manager came by a few times to check on us. You can always tell a great restaurant when the wait staff jumps in to help each other out. And they did this flawlessly. Steak was really good for all of our party of 6. I would recommend this location to all of my clients, friends and family. Well done.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our waiter was great! He was very attentive to our needs!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The steaks were not up to the standerd we have experienced ar Las Brisas.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant is very nice and the food is excellent. The manager came and introduced himself to us which we appreciated. The service is good but not exceptional. We don't feel really special after dining there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great. Service was slow in between courses

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Easily the best service by the entire staff, including the manager. The food was good and cooked to temperature. The steaks were tough, however. It wasn't the fault of the kitchen staff by any means, they were cooked perfectly, it was the meat itself. The steaks were perfect medium rare ribeyes, which should never be tough. I think we just had the misfortune of getting a poor grade cut of meat. I'm sure it will be perfect the next time we go as their cooking skills are beyond reproach.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have been going here since they opened and can not recall one time that my meal was cooked as I ordered . Steaks were always rare regardless of how you order it, so I quit ordering steaks and orderd fish...it too came out raw. They said they don't want to serve it dried out, which I get, but there are many options besides raw and rare. They were kind of enough this time to not charge me for it, but I'm likely never to return unless invited which is how I usually end up there. I quit choosing it. It's a beautiful place with a great concept but they simply can not cook impressive meats...sorry. Sides, drinks and desserts are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was disappointed with Double Nickel this time around. I took friends for their b'day, and I'm afraid that the restaurant just didn't measure up. First, they took us to the wrong table and then we had to move. Second, my meal came out much later than my two friends, and the plate was burning hot, which meant the entire meal was cooked at one temperature. The fried cheese on my plate was much smaller than my friends, and the salmon was not cooked well; the crab on top was too minimal. I've had better fish in town for much cheaper. Finally, it was much too loud in the restaurant. The bread was good, though, and the stuffed mushrooms were delicious.I've enjoyed this restaurant before and I'd still recommend it, but this was a poor evening to be sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great Lubbock restaurant that is our go to whenever I want to treat my college son. The staff is always great and I would put the food comparable with any Fort Worth or Dallas steakhouse!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Waitress was slow, had to ask for refills & bread. Steak was more medium rare than medium. Wife did not middle part of steak. Free birthday orange cake was awesome

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our first trip to Texas so we were seeking good steakhouses. The Double Nickel was a good choice for both the steaks and the atmosphere. Our waiter Nick was professional and attentive. The Manhattans were quite good. Bread was offered and when served was warm and had a selection of both dark and white with soft butter. We had the NY strip steak for two cut table side. Nick sliced into it and asked if it was cooked to our liking. It was served with whipped potatoes and sugar snap peas. There were several wines by the glass available and we tried two reds, a Zinfandel and a Malbec, and both were good. We shared a large slice of NY style cheesecake for dessert.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious food. Everything was so good. We came from out of town and i chose this place and we dont regret it. We asked for a table in one of the rooms and it was quiet snd romantic. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Steaks were great. Sides superb and drinks were well made. Staff took excellent care of our needs.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 23, 2017

GREAT SERVICE, EXCELLENT MEAL. WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN.....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Took 1.5 hours to get food. Service was terrible.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely the best blackend salmon i have had. waiter had a great personality, very professional. Wonderful place.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 10, 2017

perfect food and service but a little dark had to use my phone for light

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Went for a business celebration. The meal & the place hit the spot

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We veered off the steak, and I got the Double Nickel salmon. Delicious!! And the house wine was good as well! And I am VERY picky on both!! A lovely meal, great service, as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great special occasion time in a romantic setting
The cheese sticks on each plate are delicious.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food. Menu a little difficult to read with the "romantic" lighting.
The fact that I had to remove my TECH cap was a little disconcerting. I do not have to do that at Las Brisas..
However, overall excellent food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This steak house is top class. I describe it similar to the quality of food you can find in a place like Las Vegas. On my last visit I ordered the filet and it came out perfect, exactly how I ordered. The waiter was very kind and responsive to our requests. To anyone who says the double nickel is expensive I would tell them that may be true but it is quality food! I would recommend everyone/anyone to dine here.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Will be back at next birthday occasion..\

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall score: 6 out of 10

Picture the scene:
Visiting for Mom's bday (this is her favorite restaurant), 7pm Sat night, table toward the back, near a corner. I really liked the dinning room - red & black throughout with low lighting from small, unique chandeliers (if life was Gunsmoke, this would be the nicest restaurant in town). Larger than expected with low to medium noise & energy - which was perfect for 7pm dinner w/ Mom.

Play by Play:
-Sat promptly w/ our reservation
-Drinks & dinner ordered - glass of wine, salad and we both had the shish ka-bobs. The Malbec, salad & cream corn were all finger-licking fantastic. Our ka-bobs were tasty, but completely different - one was medium-rare the other medium-well...as if they were not cooked together, and one order was rushed. We allowed a wide berth for ka-bobs, if these were steaks - another story.

In Conclusion:
Great dinning room and tasty meal - I left satisfied, but not anxious to return. Unfortunately, on this night, timing was a little off...We were sat quickly, but waited 5 min for the waitress; Wine was great & finished half way though the entree, didn't see the waitress for a refill; Salads came out appropriately, but once finished, there was a 10+ min gap before our entrees arrived. The waitress apologized for the delay on our entrees, but all night, things seemed to start & stop sporadically...as if our table was outside on a secluded patio and inconvenient.

Mom kept making excuses, stating everything is stressed & behind because of the two, large, private dinner parties...not a good excuse in my book. We'll be back, Mom is confident "next time" we'll see a significant improvement.

Cheers!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Our waiter knew exactly what to recommend and was knowledgeable. The food is practically the best I've ever eaten. The atmosphere is very romantic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best dining experience since we moved to this area. Double Nickle can hold its own compared to fine dining in the Fort Worth area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Noisy, tables so close to each other you feel cramped and can hear everyone's conversation, asked for additional bread and never received it. Waitress must have had friends at next table, spent her time visiting. Food was very good but not exceptional, Two filet's, no desert, water for the drinks for $100. Seems a little pricey for the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Expensive food and drink but it was all good. Definitely a place I would save for special dates.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.