About Double Nickel Steak House

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: (806) 792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 2 days ago

Noisy, tables so close to each other you feel cramped and can hear everyone's conversation, asked for additional bread and never received it. Waitress must have had friends at next table, spent her time visiting. Food was very good but not exceptional, Two filet's, no desert, water for the drinks for $100. Seems a little pricey for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 6 days ago

Expensive food and drink but it was all good. Definitely a place I would save for special dates.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My hubby and I go out once a year and this was the perfect annual steakhouse date night for us!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The atmosphere was great. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have eaten at the Double Nickel several times in the past and it is always amazing. We dined there this past Saturday and the service was totally lacking. Our server didn't even offer to wrap our steak but just dropped off a box; when we asked why our steaks weren't wrapped as the other tables were, he commented "I didn't notice that you still had enough steak"; more than half of my steak was still on my plate. I will absolutely go back to the Double Nickel but I will hope that I have a different server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! Would definitely eat here again! It's a little pricey but quality comes with a price!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awful experience on Valentines Day. Poor food quality, extremely overpriced for what they serve. Steaks were sent back. It's a Ruth Chris knockoff and doesn't even come close to the quality. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

4th Valentines dinner there will be back next year!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is an excellent place for a date or special occasion. The food, service and wine are always very good. It is also good for everyday evening dining. Don't be surprised if the owner comes to your table to inquire about your meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere was exceptional. My husband took me for my Birthday/ Valentines dinner. I loved the service, the quiet atmosphere, the music selection and the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place to eat. The atmosphere is really cool.

Thanks,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great for romantic dinners / date nights. Food was well seasoned and tasted excellent. Service was quick and server was knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great steaks. Perfect sear on the strip. Filet perfectly cooked

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and the atmosphere are awesome! I asked for a secluded table and we had the best table in the house.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waitstaff very well trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ambiance was very nice but the food quality for the cost was not. It is a very nice restaurant but there are better cuts of meat and service at Aspen Creek. With Double Nickle you are paying for the ambiance but not much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent jumbo shrimp cocktail and steaks. Nice cocktails and attention to table needs was good.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We have dined at Double Nickel many times. It is one of our favorites whenever we're in Lubbock. The steaks are great, but the sea bass is my favorite! I love that it's quiet... One of the few places you can go these days and enjoy conversation with your dinner. Will definitely be back whenever we're in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We like to go here to celebrate our anniversary each year. The steaks are always melt in your mouth and the double nickel salad is wonderful! We would certainly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have been to Double Nickel many times. Quality and service has truly declined since they first opened. We were here for son's 18th birthday and even put that on our special request on Open Table. Mentioned it to server and nothing was ever said. A Happy Birthday would have been nice. New York Strip for 2 had a huge piece of grisle and husband requested his filet "medium well" and it came out "medium rare!" Server did not come back to check if meat was cooked properly. Since service was so slow, my husband opted not to send his back and ate the edges. Very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a treat for our Anniversary! Our waitress was excellent and the food was wonderful. Great Ribeye and we especially loved the spinach rockefeller!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Filets excellent as always. Had mushrooms and creamed spinich too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I have been coming here each year for our anniversary. The food is great and the service is excellent. We will continue coming here every year.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything was delicious. Great martini selection. Steaks were perfect. Salads were large. Great waiters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was amazing and served very quickly. Good selection of steaks although other than that options were limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is a very classy restaurant with a kitchen to back it up.

Great atmosphere and excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were extremely pleased! The food was excellent and our waiter was outstanding. The atmosphere is wonderful for a date or a very nice dinner. I was surprised at how reasonably priced the menu is for an upscale steakhouse. Will absolutely be back and absolutely would recommend with out hesitation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Double nickel was recommended by a local. We had out of town guests and had an absolutely enjoyable top-notch dinner. The service was excellent and the timing of food delivery was the best I've had in years. The steak was among the best I can remember. I would highly recommend double nickel, and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with friends. Great steaks for sure. Better value and food than another well known steak place in town in my opinion. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was delicious and service was outstanding! Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of a kind non chain restaurant. The food was very good as were the cocktails and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent seafood at a unique steakhouse. The service was excellent our waiter as well as the owner walking table to table to make sure everyone was satisfied

I highly recommend the double nickel for any occasion

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was good and the atmosphere was nice. For the price, the food was good (not great) - have been to other steak houses in Texas where the cost is about the same, but the food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very good. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. The service was excellent! I have already recommended Double Nickel to my son and his girlfriend. The decor is very classy, old west and I liked that. Best to make reservations because the restaurant is only open at night and opens early at 5:00. Don't eat a lot during the day before you come to the Double Nickel so that you can enjoy the desserts!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We don't get out for a special dinner very often and we just moved to Lubbock. We were very pleased with the food and our waiter Matthew.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We (my wife, sister and niece) were in Lubbock for my mother's memorial and decided we wanted an exceptional dining experience. I looked up steak houses and the Diamond Nickel was listed as one of the best in town -- and one of the most expensive. When we arrived the atmosphere was excellent, nicely decorated, etc.

When it was time to order, my wife asked if the fish as fresh (not frozen) and the waiter said of course the fish was fresh, that the chef would not serve fish that was old. That told us right away that he didn't have a clue what we were talking about.

So, we decided against any fish and I ordered one of the better steaks, my wife ordered the chicken (which was so salty that she couldn't eat it), my sister ordered the steak salad (which was OK) and niece one of the lower costing steaks. The steak meat was good but not excellent, but the sides were a disaster. The mashed potatoes were very thick, almost like rubber, the sugar peas had a sweet sauce and so over cooked you couldn't tell they were sugar snap peas.

My wife ordered a glass of wine (cost $16.00) and it tasted like a glass of $3.00 wine you would get at a fast food restaurant.

Not any enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was very good and presented very nicely. We requested to be served as quickly as possible because we were going to a football game. The food arrived faster than we expected which was perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service is the best in town. Excellent wine list. My steak was a perfect medium rare and my wife's salmon was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

For the "Best Restaurant or Steak House" in Lubbock, we found the menu and waiter confusing. There were a la cart sides which is typical with high end Steak Restaurants, but there were also sides that came with your meal. You could just order the a la cart sides and not the sides that came with the meal, but there was no credit given back if you chose not the take the side that came with the meal. At least that was what the waiter indicated.

Protein was cooked properly, however the waiter never asked how we wanted it prepared, we had to explain our temperature preferences. Waiter did not know what medium rare plus was either.

Wine, nice selection however we were not told of the other wine the proprietor has in the cooler behind the bar. There were some nice wines that we probably would have selected if told to us.

Decor, a little dated but warm feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The Double Nickel has always been portrayed as expensive in the word-of-mouth circles in town. However, I have never had a bad steak here and the service is the best. I cannot say that for some of the other steak houses in town that we have used to business visitors. Steaks are great, atmosphere is great for talking, and service is excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Salmon was VERY over cooked; sides well prepared with ample portions. Great service. Friends beaf tenderloin was good.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service by Dillion. Wonderful food. Tradition for our family/friends to come here when we return to Lubbock. Makes our trip even better to enjoy this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

During football season I make it a point to dine at the Double Nickle. This was my second time this season. As always, the service was great, the martini was perfect as was the wine choice, and the steak was perfect. As usual, Lisa came by and made sure everything was all right as did the Manager.

This is quite gem on the high plains.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always good! Ambiance great with good service. Recommend for a good place in Lubbock.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Steaks were not cooked to order. No anchovies for the salad and no creme brûlée for desert. Very disappointing. Over priced for the options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Dillon was awesome! Food was great and wine was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love the medallions, creamed corn and mashed potatoes. (With the side cheese stick) Meal can't be beat.

The orange cake is my wife and I's favorite!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 9, 2016

all was exceptional; however, servers where amazing. Yummy food as well!!! we will be back definitely. Thanks!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food great service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.