About Double Nickel Steak House

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: 806-792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • NY Strip
NY Strip

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Texas Panhandle
Best Food
Texas Panhandle
Best Service
Texas Panhandle
5 More
Best Ambiance
Texas Panhandle
Best Value
Texas Panhandle
Special Occasion
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Private Room (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Without doubt...all in our group have be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Without doubt...all in our group have been to many steakhouses. Until this, Mickey Mantles in OKC held the crown. Now that crown must be shared! And it is more economical. An absolutely total success.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was very good and steak was prepare ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Meal was very good and steak was prepared exactly as ordered. Service was a little slow at some times; however, it was acceptable.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was wonderful! It has an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant was wonderful! It has an old school steakhouse feel to it. The food was wonderful! Our server Mariah was a pleasure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was outstanding! The atmosphere was n ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was outstanding! The atmosphere was nice. Our food was very good and stayed hot the whole time. The service was great and quick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list was good, however they were ou ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wine list was good, however they were out of many selections. It seemed to carry sounds throughout the restaurant. The filet mignon were excellent. I don't feel they were USDA prime beef as advertised.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Arturo was amazing as always! He always ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Arturo was amazing as always! He always remembers who we are and what we like! He's a great assets to this establishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my son and my husband ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I had dinner with my son and my husband on a Saturday night. The cocktails were delicious, I ordered a gin martini that was perfect. I had the Chilean seabass and was perfectly cooked along with the cilantro lime rice. My son and husband both had the filet, everyone was very happy with their meals. I would recommend Double Nickel to anyone looking for a nicely cooked steak or seafood. And the surprise cheese stick that comes with your entree is so so good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best steak Resturant in Lubbock.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best steak Resturant in Lubbock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food great service. Steak is m ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food great service. Steak is melt in your mouth good as well as the medallions.

T K Is a great server with a great personality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Lubb ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Lubbock Tx. The atmosphere is great and the service is off the charts. They know how to treat there customers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding all around the board from th ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding all around the board from the environment to the food! It is a beautiful escape from Lubbock without ever really having to leave. I will be attending again.. and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but service for fine dini ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was good, but service for fine dining was not up to par. Often didn't see the waiter, when needed help.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

we were only in town a few days, and are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

we were only in town a few days, and are glad we found your place. Any time we are in Lubbock, we will definitely be stopping by. waiter was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sarah Stafford was an amazing server!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Sarah Stafford was an amazing server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Double Nickel for date nights, d ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We love Double Nickel for date nights, dinner with friends, or celebrations. Amazing food that always delivers and wonderful atmosphere for a relaxing night out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had the special, a filet topped w/ a c ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had the special, a filet topped w/ a crab cake, which was excellent. Our waiter made great wine recommendations while being attentive but not annoying. Was a great meal and definitely want to make a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed to food. Server had wonde ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Really enjoyed to food. Server had wonderful knowledge of menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service - delicious steak ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

great food and service - delicious steaks, drinks, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, great waiter, however we were ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, great waiter, however we were seated next to the bar and it was very loud. We were celebrating our anniversary and it kinda of put a damper on the night trying to talk over the noise.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our third visit to this restaurant occurred several years after the first two. The food was average, the tables are jammed far too close together, and the chef doesn't know how to cook a steak to the preferred temp. With all of the other eateries available in Lubbock, I doubt we'll be back. Unfortunately for Lubbock, this is not an unusual trend. Other places have succumbed to the same sticky end.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great atmosphere and the steaks are very ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and the steaks are very flavorful. The crab stuffed mushrooms are a must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I wanted to celebrate my m ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My family and I wanted to celebrate my master's graduation with a dinner to fit the occasion. Making reservations was easy with their website. The service was impeccable and we were treated with smiles and respect. I had the filet mignon and I literally said it was the best steak I've EVER had, and I have had the fortune of eating at a number of fine dining steakhouses over the years. Everyone in my family commented that they really enjoyed their dining experience and I was complimented on choosing the Double Nickel for this special occasion. I would recommend this restaurant as the best dining experience in Lubbock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyed the food and eventhough my steak ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed the food and eventhough my steak was not quite done the first time, the staff was quick to make it right. The complimentary glass of champagne was an unexpected treat and our waitress was superb. She truly helped to make our anniversary dinner special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just like every other time we have been ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Just like every other time we have been there: Great food, great service and a wonderful place to celebrate our 26th Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We enjoyed everything about the Double Nickel!! Good was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Low quality steak

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Low quality steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Best Dinner Experience in Lubbock

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food, service, and overall experience at Double Nickle never let down. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Atmosphere was on targe ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food. Atmosphere was on target. Would definitely recommend. Will visit again the next time we're in town. Waiter was excellent and very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all that is expected in a well ru ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

It was all that is expected in a well run steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent steak

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We went here with friends to celebrate a birthday. Our steaks were prepared perfectly, and one of our diners ordered fish which she really enjoyed. Service was great (a tad slow but we were in no hurry). Great for a special occasion in Lubbock (bring your wallet)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A sure bet in Lubbocl

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The Double Nickel is a traditional steakhouse that is a mainstay for business dinners and special occasions. The steaks are consistently good and I always enjoy the cheese toast. The wine list is pretty broad, but the prices seem a bit inflated. I had a hard time finding a high quality wine at a reasonable price, especially when they were out of my first choice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The beef was excellent and the staff ver ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The beef was excellent and the staff very friendly and accommodating. They had a very nice wine list and I was pleasantly surprised to see a wide range of wines for every taste. Will return every time I'm in Lubbock!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellence in dining!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Invited my family all visiting from out of town....they were impressed and pleased with the quality of the food, portions, superb service!!!

It is my go-to place for the best of everything when in Lubbock!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arturo was an amazing server and even re ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Arturo was an amazing server and even remembered us from the last time we were in. Will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the service was professional and t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

While the service was professional and the ambience was great (felt like something out of Mad Men) the value of the food for the price seemed mismatched. I had the filet, cream corn and snap peas, and the Double Nickel salad. All were good but most of the rest of my party had the ribeye. It was not the best quality cut for the price and one was a little grisly. I thought the snap peas were a little on the salty side, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Recently we went for anniversary dinner, the food is always outstanding and wonderful service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, good friends, a great evening

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We all had the same entrée, so it is hard to determine if ALL the food is as great as ours. Small filets were still too much meat for some of us, but was just the best steak in Lubbock. Mine was a bit undercooked, but they took it back immediately and came back in less than 5 minutes with a perfect medium. We all enjoyed our meals tremendously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Steak

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

You know when you order your steak rare and your waitperson asks, "cool or warm center?", you're in a place that knows their steaks. This place does. A bit pricey, bit great food and good wine selection. Very good service too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Need A Broiler Cook

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

If you have a great cook you have no need for the servers to use a pin light not a flash light to see if your STEAK IS DONE to your liking !!!!!!!!!!!!! Had to send my steak back as did other customers in room had too!! Was a Broiler cook for many years and always cooked to the touch of the steak and never sent a pin light out with any of my steaks !!!!!!! And the cheese sticks were not cooked all the way through!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This is out Go to place for date night

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We brought some guest for there first time that's all they have talked about to everyone at church the excellence that they received from the atmosphere to Food and staff

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.