Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Double Nickel Steak House

4.5
288 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(806) 792-0055
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lisa West
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Janice: (806) 792-0055
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
50th
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 288 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Went to celebrate my son’s graduation from college and they gave us a complimentary dessert which was very tasty and much appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated 2 Texas Tech graduates. Everything was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always Delicious! Great wait staff! Drinks and food were outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Had daughter at ttu last 4 years and has always been our go to place love love love it!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

One of the best steaks we have ever had. Prepared as requested. Wait staff was just adequate. Our daughter never received the cheese stick that came with the meal and were told that they were making more but were out at the time. This should never happen at a quality establishment that charges such high prices for everything. Very busy night d/t graduation staff was extremely rushed. Everyone was running around like lil chickens. Made me nervous and certainly not a relaxed atmosphere. Servings of whipped potatoes/ creamed corn were very skimpy not what was expected based on pricy meal. Would not return again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Steaks are good, not great. It was about an hour and a half before closing. As diners left the wait staff began cleaning the restaurant, they need to wait until all customers have left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The serves was amazing! Monica made sure we understood the menu and went completely out of her way to make the special occasion special! Loved it and this place has become our new special occasion location for every event in our family and friends life.❤️❤️

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great steaks and wine selection. Salad did taste like been open in refrigerator should be easily fix. Service was great and very attentive. Great place to celebrate your occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We were celebrating our daughters birthday. We had a lovely meal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Anniversary. It was pretty noisy and our table was in an area that was busy. The service was good and food was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Steak was very good, as were side dishes. The house salad was very disappointing however. Iceberg lettuce and romaine, still wet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We just had a baby, and this was the first date we have been able to arrange without the kiddo in months. Our server was very nice and professional. We asked for his recommendation, and he suggested the filet dinner for two. This was a mistake, because we had our steaks cooked completely different - she wanting hers cooked well done. Because of this, I got my steak first, and we ended up having to wait another 15-20 minutes for hers to be done. The food overall was good, but I think it compared closely to the other steakhouses in Lubbock - 50 yard line, Las Brisas.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Place was way above my pay grade. I felt like I was a farmer come to the big city (my issue, not theirs). However, the food was marvelous and the wait staff friendly and eager to serve. The steak was the absolute best I have ever eaten. Kudoes to the chef. The service was a little iffy. Forgot our appetizer totally and then forgot to refresh my dinner drink until we were well into the dessert and coffee portion of the meal and waiting for the bill. Effuse with apologies but I will still remember. Do it again? Sure, why not. One visit does not make for good data.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Excellent as always. Best steaks anywbere. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very nice restaurant for special dining and easy to find..homemade bread and salad dressing, real butter ..reservations for prime time recommended. .
40's music, knowledgeable wait staff , spaced out sitting, perzonal service, had 3 peppercorn seared ribeys, corm was fresh and creamy. Some sides are included a la carte for more options. .Adrian our server was very attentive..will try tbe filet next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Simply the best high end steak in Lubbock!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We often choose the Double Nickel for special occasions, and Friday we wanted a special place to treat friends who had done us a favor. We also wanted a place that was quiet so that we could have a good visit with these gems in our life. The food was excellent, as always. The men ordered rib eye steaks, I ordered the filet, and the other lady ordered the salmon. No food was left on any plate! We shared bananas foster for dessert, one of the reasons my husband and I always return to the Double NIcklel. The cake just makes that dessert even more wonderful! One of our friends said, "I wonder if it is okay here to spoon up the extra sauce?" We encouraged him to feel at home and do it. That's another wonderful thing, the Double NIckle is a very nice place, but it also feels homey. Even though we stayed at the table and chatted for three hours, the staff kept our glasses full and any needs tended to. Quite the treasure on the Lubbock restaurant scene!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Special evening with my wife...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The options in the area are a little limited for a true Steak House, but this location was a good choice. Nothing special to report across the board, service, food, drinks and cost all fell in line for a business dinner in Lubbock. Troubling when the cheese stick that comes with a 20 oz Bone-In Ribeye is the best part of the meal however. I will go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Service was terrible. Steak was undercook for my taste. Waiter forgot to bring things he promised. Vacuuming the table when we weren't finished was rude. Service was slow

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The steak was so tender! Best snap peas I've ever had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Fantastic food and ambiance. As always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Ambiance and mood was very nice. The house Pinot was very good and my wife enjoyed her Cosmo. 16oz ribeye was seasoned very well! Not over salted like many steak houses do these days. The mashed potatoes and broccoli side dishes were great. However, don’t order the chicken! It was seasoned well but the texture was like microwave chicken! We sent it back and they redid it and it was exactly the same texture. The manager took care of our problem promptly and comped dessert and the chicken meal. He also mentioned he had stopped serving the chicken for the rest of the evening until they figured out what was going on. The bread pudding dessert was incredible! We will eat here again thanks to the good service! I will recommend this restaurant to my friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Tremendous service and great food. I had forgotten how good the Double Nickel was for dinner. I highly recommend them for a special occasion or any business meal. Management was making the rounds making sure all the guests were loving the experience. The quality of the steaks was unbelievable and cooked to perfection. In Lubbock Texas you have the ambiance of a NYC steak house, but with a West Texas friendly feel. I must say an experience extremely well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Excellent food and service - very predictable from one experience to another! Always quiet enough to hear one another!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food everytime! It is a more upscaled restaurant great for special occasions and business. FYI headcover is not allowed so leave your top hat or cowboy hat at home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Went to Double Nickel with our family of five (parents, 2 teenagers, and a preteen) after a Good Friday service. As usual, we enjoyed the cocktails and wine (for the adults), and the perfectly prepared steaks and appetizers, but what stood out was the service. Excellent and attentive wait staff. We had an enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great! Ford and service fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Fantastic steak, great service and atmosphere. I had the NY strip and my wife had the filet and both were prepared to perfection. Next time we are in Lubbock will definitely return to the Double Nickel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Jason provided us excellent service. Great knowledge if their wine list.
Our entrees where tasty with great presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Overall, a very nice experience. Good bar, good food, meat cooked to perfection

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

The ambiance was very nice, close and intimate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The drinks were very tasty (I had a Gimlet, my wife had a more citrusy drink that I can't remember the name of). The appetizer bread was very nice, fresh, and a pleasant variance on the "bread before your meal". Our steaks were fine. I had a New York Strip and my wife had a Rib-eye. The texture was great, but I was expecting more overall flavor to the meat. Our side salads were fresh and flavorful, and the mashed potatoes were very good. We received an interesting Citrus cake for my wife's birthday that she LOVED, but I couldn't decide if I liked or not. It was interesting, just wasn't sure how much I really liked it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great food and service. Will go back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Usually love going to DN. I was not impressed at all this time. Food portions seem smaller every time I go there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The steak, cream corn, mashed potatoes, bread, salad and service were all excellent! The Lamb was very gamey and we only ate a couple of bites of the $42 entree. Otherwise we would have given them 5 stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Very good service and superb food. The atmosphere is so pleasant we stayed and chatted for quite a while after dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Best steak I have ever had, the services was exception. We were expecting the cost to be well over $100 but it wasn't, for the quality of food provided the price was fine. Everything was cooked to perfection and all the staff were friendly and helpful. I would certain go again and again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had a good waiter and good experience. Only thing was our waiter forgot to enter our appetizer. So we never got it. The food was good. I wouldn't say amazing. But it was good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 20, 2018

The food was terrible over all. But the steak and the asparagus were the absolute worst. I couldn't believe they served it to me. The manager was very reluctant to take the charge for the steak off the bill and made me feel very embarrassed and uncomfortable as I explained the issues. The wait staff was second hand at best. The last time O had been there it was AMAZING! That was back in 2007-2008.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8