Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Double Nickel Steak House

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: (806) 792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Exelent service! Food was very good. And a good place for date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The Double Nicole is always a treat to dine at. The food quality is consistent, the service is always excellent, and they have a great selection of wines and mixed drinks. I highly recommend the Double Nickel for a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Filet was wonderful ,
Ordered medium rare and was perfect!
Sea bass was perfect as well

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Stopped on a whim - had never heard of this place since we don't live in Lubbock. Was very pleasantly surprised and would stop here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

My wife and I always frequent the DN while in Lubbock. Great atmosphere, food and wait staff. I would love to see one open in Midland.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great time been there twice, both times the food was wonderful steak was cooked perfect. Next time I go I'll have to try the lamb it looked and smelled wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had the beef medallions which were awesome. The service was great and ALL the people were friendly!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food is good. I enjoy eating there but there are some small things they can do to make it great. Adding lobster meat to the lobster bisque and not overloading or underserving the salad dressings. It's just some small details that keep this from being a top tier steakhouse.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great night out with my family. We all had the filet and it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fantastic, as always! We were especially impressed with a new waiter named John . 😎

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Would highly recommend Double Nickel for a special occasion or business meeting. Main reason we like it is because, you can hear the the other people at the table. Most places are too loud!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We love eating at Double Nickel for dates and business dinners. The lighting is a little off, but overall the atmosphere lends itself to good conversations. The food is good, arguably the best steak in town. I always get a side salad with ranch (delish!) and potatoes/creamed corn for sides. Don't forget chocolate cake for dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

First time @ DN for my wife and I (anniversary). Loved everything. Food, service (David) and mgt. (Willie) were all excellent. A bit pricy for the avg. guy but perfect to splurge for a special occasion! Well worth it! We will be back :) One of the best steaks (filet) I've ever eaten. Great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was fantastic and food was terrific. Great atmosphere. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our first dining experience at Double Nickel Steak House and not one of us was disappointed. There were four of us for dinner and selected lobster bisque soup, the house salad (delicious and tangy dressing), the New York Strip (my husband states is was "excellent"), and Chateaubriand for two. Everything was perfect and we could not have asked for more. So good that we did not need any "to-go" boxes as there were no leftovers. I think our server's name was Landon and he was wonderful, seemed to show up at the table at just the right time but never hovered. We were stuffed and no one ordered dessert. Yes, we would eat at Double Nickel again and again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We wouldn't normally go to a steak house for seafood, but the Double Nickel intrigued us with its positive reviews and varied menu. This was a Tuesday evening when we had a night's stop before continuing to Austin the next morning and we wanted to keep it light and easy. The Double Nickel impressed us as the kind of dining experience one would have had in the 1930s, with its dark, plush interior, period music, and its attention to detail. We were greeted at the door and I was told that hats were not permitted but would be kept safe while we dined. Dress was business casual but jackets and ties not required. We were immediately seated and provided with bread and water and asked by Landry, our attentive server, if we wanted drinks. My wife had ice tea and I had a Shiner Bock (carefully poured into an iced glass). Our meal began with lobster bisque that was more like a tomato puree and had no trace of lobster but was tasty. For entrees my wife had the salmon salad, which was excellent, and I had the farm raised fresh salmon, which was perfectly prepared. Both were very generous proportions, more than we could finish, and Landry personally wrapped the remaining salmon in foil (creating a swan shape) and, using two spoons in one hand, dished the remaining salad, vegetables and new potatoes into a to-go box. Throughout our meal the noise level varied from quiet to moderate, and it was always possible to converse without straining to hear. The manager stopped at our table once to ask how everything was during our meal. With this level of attention and ambiance I almost expected after the meal to be offered brandy and a cigar. Altogether a quite enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We love the Mexi-Tinis!! We had steak, chicken and fish which was all delicious!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had the chateau briand and it was fabulous, as always! We went celebrating my birthday so it was worth the pretty steep price. The whole meal was delicious right down to the bread pudding. We loved everything!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 11, 2017

My wife found Double Nickel because she knows the affinity I have for steak. She told me I would have a good steak for my birthday, she did not tell me I would be having the best dining experience of my life on my birthday! This place has an amazing ambiance, the colors of red and black are played with by the decorator to make the place look fancy, romantic, and yet relaxed at the same time.

The manager and our waiter made us feel like we were at home. Amazing service. My wife's steak did not come out the way she asked. The took it back to fix it, and brought fresh sides back out for her. Who does that!?

Now when I say that I had the absolute best prime rib I've ever had in my life, I mean it. This was the best prime rib I've ever had.

I encourage everyone to eat at this place. Eat at Double Nickel. It is worth every penny!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Hats off to Landry, our server, who was engaging and professional. I was also impressed with a quick investigation of a white burgundy; while we ended up having the pinot, I was pleasantly surprised when they came up with a unique bottle that was "off the list". Next time, we will hopefully get to try it! A great birthday dinner, with take-home foil swans! Always can count on the Double Nickel for great food and service! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A great evening, a little pricey, always great if you are willing to pay $50 minimum per person. 1 of 3 steaks were under cooked actually 2 but the waiter let the other servers deliver it and they screwed up on, we switched plates and fixed it. The other one was ordered medium rare and came rare... hard to get a 1.5 inch thick steak cooked right. Sent the steak back and ate the veggie and mashed potatoes... and the manager delivered a whole new plate, nice touch. The desert bread pudding came without whipped cream and we asked the waiter he said they didn't have any... surprise the manager brought some anyway... a special evening with family remembering my father's murder in Lubbock 10 years ago....his angelversary!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and the waiter was very friendly and took good care of our table
First time there I will be back

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great service. There were four people in our party. We ordered the crab stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer...they were delicious; lots of cheese, lots of crab and lots of garlic. Three of the four people at our table ordered filets; one person ordered a seafood dish. All four entrees were cooked perfectly. The creamed corn is delicious and the fried cheese is a nice nod to the owner's other restaurant in town. We finished the meal with the bread pudding with bourbon pecan sauce. Our server perfectly described it as a fluffy cinnamon roll with bourbon pecan sauce. The dessert was fantastic. Landry provided knowledgeable and great service and the evening was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were there to celebrate our 37 th anniversary. Our waitress and the manager tried really hard to make it special for us. The food was great and so was the service. It's just a great place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Best filet I've had in a long time and me and
My team are very lucky to eat in restaurants all over the country. We were all raving about how good the meat was! Also, we had a very nice welcome by the owner. All in all a great dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Exceptional, had a bone-in-ribeye and wife had the ribeye... Incredibly good. All the side ordered and appetizers were great a well! Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We always love coming here!! Food is always phenomenal and atmosphere is so romantic! Thanks for another great date night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great steakhouse with wonderful service and excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Double Nickel is one of my husbands favorite restraunts. We only go there on special occasions, can be a bit pricey, but the food is always great. And where else in Lubbock has lamb chops on their menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I was traveling for business and this restaurant was recommended. I had one of the best filet mignons ever along with some wonderful side dishes. The food was so good I returned a few days later. My experience was great once again. I highly recommend this Steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for our anniversary, food was average...... don't go if they have large dinner parties the waitstaff cauterize to them and ignore the smaller tables. Less tip money I guess is the factor. Meat was tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great food, great service, great time!! Definitely looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

In town for graduations with Double Nickel's steaks being highly recommended.
My wife's and my steaks were definitely not what I would consider what a "Steak House" would consider serving. More fitting of a "all you can eat" restaurant.
Both of the steaks were extremely fatty, even for a rib eye, along with having a large gristle run down the middle. More than half of both of the steaks were waste.
Pointed this out to the server who apologized, but made no effort to correct.
As can be expected we shall not return when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 20, 2017

service was outstanding & friendly. Great jazz and romantic music in the background. Food was pretty good; expensive menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Anniversary Dinner. Upscale steakhouse for a Lubbock area that doesn't have a lot to offer for a special night out. Eaten here a couple times, every time I leave happy and full! All the so-called food experts can say what they want, as far as I'm concerned it's exactly what you think it would be in this area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My husband and I recently ate here for his birthday. Both of our meals were delicious and the service was impeccable. We definitely recommend the Double Nickel for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything was just wonderful. The meat was just right. It wasn't loud, like some places. The service was excellent and knowledgeable. Will be back. Was everything that I had seen in reviews.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Double Nickel for special occasions. The food is always delicious and the service is fantastic. It is pricy so not a everyday place, but wish it could be....
The steaks are great and sides are delicious, love the giant cheese stick too.
Desserts are wonderful too, if you have room.
The beer and wine selections are great too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent restaurant, we celebrated daughter's Health Science Center degree from Texas Tech. Overall they scored very well on all fronts. Monica was our waitress, she knows her stuff. Ask for her! William the manager came by a few times to check on us. You can always tell a great restaurant when the wait staff jumps in to help each other out. And they did this flawlessly. Steak was really good for all of our party of 6. I would recommend this location to all of my clients, friends and family. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our waiter was great! He was very attentive to our needs!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.