Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Double Nickel Steak House

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: (806) 792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort by
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2018

This place is great and the food was spot on. I would go eat here anytime.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2018

I will return for another steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We have been dining at Double Nickel since they opened. Over the last two years the food and service had gone down hill. My family wanted to have their monthly birthday dinner here so we tried again. I must say we were all pleasnatly surprised. Our food was amazing, steaks were cooked perfectly. The best part of the evening was our server. He was attentive but not overbearing, he had a sense of humor and made our service very personable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 13, 2018

TK was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Excellent food and service! Always consistent, kind, and memorable!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Nice ambiance, very friendly staff and a nice bar area, however the steaks were just okay. I’d probably return and try them again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Steak was cooked to specs as always. The wait staff is always friendly and professional. Also love the fried cheese they give you with your entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Sports, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Everything was lovely! Landry, our server, was pleasant and attentive. The chocolate cake was scrumptious.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Wonderful steak as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Dinner was delicious. We had a great family dinner celebrating my wife’s birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Excellent service, ample helpings, tasty steaks, classy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Graduation dinner. Lots of energy! Great food & service. Always a treat when we come to town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Service was great! Wives loved the the fish. My steak was awful. Fatty stringy and under cooked one part of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We are here for our anniversary and it was lovely. Great food, great drinks, wonderful dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

I had Filet Mignon. Even with 6 once, the food portion was way too large. The beef tasted just ok, but the side veggies were very fine. Everything is big, which makes this place less like fine dining place, but more like for hungry people.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2017

I was very disappointed in our experience at the Double Nickel. It was very loud so enjoying table conversation was difficult, then I had to remind the waiter twice that it was my friend’s birthday! We were not served any bread with our meal (as other reviews tables were) and all 3 of us ordered steak and wanted it medium. The waiter insisted it would be too rare for us, so we settled on medium well done. Well, it was TOO well done and tough! Not a good experience to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Totally ridiculous rules.... it was my 55th birthday, my sons and daughters and my son in law had all gathered for a great night. My Daughter has made me a small birthday cake for after dinner, we we told it was city ordinance we couldn’t have the cake, after speaking to the manager, that wasn’t the case, only large parties were allowed to have a cake. They had many tables available and we were refused to have our cake, I called another steak house while the manager was at my table, asked if we could get a table for 7 and have my cake, the other establishment welcomed us immediately, I asked one more time but to no avail, we left and had a wonderful meal and service, btw we spent 650.00 on a meal and enjoyed our BD cake... you missed a great sale Double Nickle, you should rethink your ridiculous policy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

The meal was mediocre at best, the fish was OK, the rice was cold and hard, the asparagus was over cook, told the waiter and his response was what you want me to do, nothing.
This is the first bad meal I have in your restaurant in a long time. Dr. Arnoldo Gutierrez.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Our entire dining experience was awful. I have dined many times over the years at 55 but it had been awhile since we had been back and things have digressed.

We were seated on time and got our first drink orders quickly but that was about the only thing that went well. It took 20 minutes to get our apps & entrees ordered. We drink wine at almost every meal but not once were we offered a wine list or asked about wine. They just grabbed the wine glasses off the table without a word. The appetizer was served on time but it was not edible. We sent it back. I am still waiting for my bisque I ordered.

We flagged down the manager and he found our soggy salads. Then the wait started. It took over an hour from the time we ordered to get our steaks. Then of course my steak was undercooked to the point it was cold. That is not medium anywhere I know of. I saw several steaks being sent back. It was almost comical it was so bad. Almost.

No one really was concerned about things other than a cursory "sorry". They better get things back on track or times will get tough for them. There are now too many other dining options in town to put up with such nonsense.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 2, 2017

A nice location, with fair/good food, but the service was very slow and inattentive. We had a reservation for 7:15 and it took 15 minutes after seating to order drinks and 20 more minutes for drinks to come out. although we ordered appetizers and entrees at the same time, the time between appetizers and steaks being served was ridiculously long; our entrees did not arrive at the table until 9 pm. My wife and son's fillets were very good, although a little overdone (having had the waiter say that they like to do their steaks on the less cooked than standard). I ordered the rib-eye and it was tough, grisly and more medium than medium rare; on the menu it comments that the steak will be marbled...but that should not mean rubbery.
Overall it was a nice setting, with good atmosphere, but there is need to for work on service and food consistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Excellent Meal, service was superb, eat here every time I’m in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Amazing setting, staff, and food. One person from our party did not have their reading glasses, however Double Nickle had some she was able to use. It's the little things that make the biggest impression. Food, wine, and atmosphere were amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Cramped small table. Took an hour to get our meal. Steak was too tough to eat. Manager came by at least twice to apologize. Have had better steaks at Golden Corral!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food is always great and you can not beat their steaks and seafood. I do wish they would change up their side dishes. For the price they need better options for side to accompany the great steaks and seafood.

Overall great very pleasant waiter staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

My husband’s absolute favorite place for steak. We are from Brownwood, recently moved to Lubbock. I recently spoke to a friend who lives in San Angelo (who is also from Brownwood) and upon hearing that I had moved to Lubbock, the first thing she asked me was if I had eaten at the Double Nickel. It’s that good. Worth the expense.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Very good food and great service. High end meals but worth the money

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Steaks were done perfectly. The quality of the meat is consistently excellent here. You will be glad you came.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great service and food, as usual. Our trips to Lubbock always includes a stop at the Double Nickel.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I was so excited to celebrate my birthday with family over dinner... the noise level was so HIGH that we could not even have a conversation!!!!! The waitress was handling so many tables she never wven refilled our tea or water! Food was good but so disappointed to spend several hundred and leave so disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

I have dined at this establishment more than once. Although my steak was delicious, after sending it back to be cooked more (because the appearance of doneness did not even match the waitstaff's description of medium) due to the rawness of the meat, I find the service to be terribly lacking in efficency and training. I have given them several "second" chances. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great service, best ribeye steak! wait staff was friendly and professional! Great dining experience. Definitely recommend and will return next time we are in town!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I will have to say that for $128.00, this was a most unmemorable meal. Our waiter, while nice, couldn't answer the simplest questions. We opted to split a 16 oz. Ribeye and requested it Medium Well, which the waiter stated would be pink throughout. The steak was practically mooing when we got it. My sides (whipped potatoes and sugar snap peas) were not hot. My husband ordered the corn and it tasted like someone dumped a cup of sugar on them. We also received complimentary cheese sticks that were cold. I'm extremely surprised someone didn't notice that. They brought us another order...not much difference. When we finally received our steak, while cooked better, we were almot finished with our sides. The whole experience was off putting. Don't know that I could recommend this restaurant to anyone. No offer to discount any item even though it wasn't prepared well. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This is my favorite place to eat in Lubbock. Do yourself a favor and save room for Bananas Foster.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I went with my husband and son. We all had the filet. We got whipped potatoes, creamed corn, and the spinach rockafeller. The food was very good, but the service was kind if lacking. My husband and had opted for salads and my son the soup for the start of our meal. We finished our salads before my son received his soup. Then, when our steaks arrived, we noticed they didn't bring the spinach, which we told them immediately. The spinach did not arrive until we were half-way through with our steaks. But, like I said, the food was very good. I got a Mandarin cake for dessert and it was delicious as was my husband's bread pudding. My son's cheesecake was just a standard cheesecake.

Also of note, they have a lot of tables packed in there and they are very close together. I got up to go wash my hands and had a hard time getting past other tables to get to the ladies room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our visit to Lubbock was to att nd Parents Weekend @ TX Tech. We wanted to treat our son to a nice meal and wanted restaurant that accepted reservations.

The appetizer & entrees were delicious.
Our server was wonderful!

We will return.

Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Hostess was extrmely friendly. Waiter was tentative, good with people, polite, ans overall an awesome person. Manager came by to say hello- very professional. Our water glasses were never half full! The Caesar salad was fresh with crispy croutons. Steak was cooked perfectly! Mashed potatoes, rice, and fries very tasty! Thank you for a wonderful night out with the family! Family Dinner Time!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Server was top notch, leak in roof made for a damp seat. Didn't seem to bother the manager though! Beef points were dry and boring. Steak ok, but expensive. We expected more.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.