Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.15mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Double Nickel Steak House

In the 20th century times were simpler, dining out was reasonable, the service was excellent and cooking was an art. My staff and I have tried to capture that ambiance of simple elegance. Our traditional values extend even further: There are no heat lamps or microwaves in our kitchen. Everything comes to your table straight from the broilers and ovens - good and hot - the way it used to be. ~Lisa West~

5405 Slide Road
Lubbock, TX 79414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
50th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 792-0055

Website:
http://www.doublenickelsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Lisa West

Private Party Contact:
Janice: (806) 792-0055

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Double Nickel Steak House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Steaks were great. Sides superb and drinks were well made. Staff took excellent care of our needs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 6 days ago

GREAT SERVICE, EXCELLENT MEAL. WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN.....

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Took 1.5 hours to get food. Service was terrible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Absolutely the best blackend salmon i have had. waiter had a great personality, very professional. Wonderful place.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 10, 2017

perfect food and service but a little dark had to use my phone for light

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Went for a business celebration. The meal & the place hit the spot

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We veered off the steak, and I got the Double Nickel salmon. Delicious!! And the house wine was good as well! And I am VERY picky on both!! A lovely meal, great service, as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great special occasion time in a romantic setting
The cheese sticks on each plate are delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food. Menu a little difficult to read with the "romantic" lighting.
The fact that I had to remove my TECH cap was a little disconcerting. I do not have to do that at Las Brisas..
However, overall excellent food

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This steak house is top class. I describe it similar to the quality of food you can find in a place like Las Vegas. On my last visit I ordered the filet and it came out perfect, exactly how I ordered. The waiter was very kind and responsive to our requests. To anyone who says the double nickel is expensive I would tell them that may be true but it is quality food! I would recommend everyone/anyone to dine here.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Will be back at next birthday occasion..\

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall score: 6 out of 10

Picture the scene:
Visiting for Mom's bday (this is her favorite restaurant), 7pm Sat night, table toward the back, near a corner. I really liked the dinning room - red & black throughout with low lighting from small, unique chandeliers (if life was Gunsmoke, this would be the nicest restaurant in town). Larger than expected with low to medium noise & energy - which was perfect for 7pm dinner w/ Mom.

Play by Play:
-Sat promptly w/ our reservation
-Drinks & dinner ordered - glass of wine, salad and we both had the shish ka-bobs. The Malbec, salad & cream corn were all finger-licking fantastic. Our ka-bobs were tasty, but completely different - one was medium-rare the other medium-well...as if they were not cooked together, and one order was rushed. We allowed a wide berth for ka-bobs, if these were steaks - another story.

In Conclusion:
Great dinning room and tasty meal - I left satisfied, but not anxious to return. Unfortunately, on this night, timing was a little off...We were sat quickly, but waited 5 min for the waitress; Wine was great & finished half way though the entree, didn't see the waitress for a refill; Salads came out appropriately, but once finished, there was a 10+ min gap before our entrees arrived. The waitress apologized for the delay on our entrees, but all night, things seemed to start & stop sporadically...as if our table was outside on a secluded patio and inconvenient.

Mom kept making excuses, stating everything is stressed & behind because of the two, large, private dinner parties...not a good excuse in my book. We'll be back, Mom is confident "next time" we'll see a significant improvement.

Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Our waiter knew exactly what to recommend and was knowledgeable. The food is practically the best I've ever eaten. The atmosphere is very romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best dining experience since we moved to this area. Double Nickle can hold its own compared to fine dining in the Fort Worth area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Noisy, tables so close to each other you feel cramped and can hear everyone's conversation, asked for additional bread and never received it. Waitress must have had friends at next table, spent her time visiting. Food was very good but not exceptional, Two filet's, no desert, water for the drinks for $100. Seems a little pricey for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Expensive food and drink but it was all good. Definitely a place I would save for special dates.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My hubby and I go out once a year and this was the perfect annual steakhouse date night for us!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The atmosphere was great. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have eaten at the Double Nickel several times in the past and it is always amazing. We dined there this past Saturday and the service was totally lacking. Our server didn't even offer to wrap our steak but just dropped off a box; when we asked why our steaks weren't wrapped as the other tables were, he commented "I didn't notice that you still had enough steak"; more than half of my steak was still on my plate. I will absolutely go back to the Double Nickel but I will hope that I have a different server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! Would definitely eat here again! It's a little pricey but quality comes with a price!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awful experience on Valentines Day. Poor food quality, extremely overpriced for what they serve. Steaks were sent back. It's a Ruth Chris knockoff and doesn't even come close to the quality. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

4th Valentines dinner there will be back next year!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is an excellent place for a date or special occasion. The food, service and wine are always very good. It is also good for everyday evening dining. Don't be surprised if the owner comes to your table to inquire about your meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere was exceptional. My husband took me for my Birthday/ Valentines dinner. I loved the service, the quiet atmosphere, the music selection and the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place to eat. The atmosphere is really cool.

Thanks,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great for romantic dinners / date nights. Food was well seasoned and tasted excellent. Service was quick and server was knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great steaks. Perfect sear on the strip. Filet perfectly cooked

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and the atmosphere are awesome! I asked for a secluded table and we had the best table in the house.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waitstaff very well trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ambiance was very nice but the food quality for the cost was not. It is a very nice restaurant but there are better cuts of meat and service at Aspen Creek. With Double Nickle you are paying for the ambiance but not much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent jumbo shrimp cocktail and steaks. Nice cocktails and attention to table needs was good.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We have dined at Double Nickel many times. It is one of our favorites whenever we're in Lubbock. The steaks are great, but the sea bass is my favorite! I love that it's quiet... One of the few places you can go these days and enjoy conversation with your dinner. Will definitely be back whenever we're in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We like to go here to celebrate our anniversary each year. The steaks are always melt in your mouth and the double nickel salad is wonderful! We would certainly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have been to Double Nickel many times. Quality and service has truly declined since they first opened. We were here for son's 18th birthday and even put that on our special request on Open Table. Mentioned it to server and nothing was ever said. A Happy Birthday would have been nice. New York Strip for 2 had a huge piece of grisle and husband requested his filet "medium well" and it came out "medium rare!" Server did not come back to check if meat was cooked properly. Since service was so slow, my husband opted not to send his back and ate the edges. Very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a treat for our Anniversary! Our waitress was excellent and the food was wonderful. Great Ribeye and we especially loved the spinach rockefeller!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Filets excellent as always. Had mushrooms and creamed spinich too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife and I have been coming here each year for our anniversary. The food is great and the service is excellent. We will continue coming here every year.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything was delicious. Great martini selection. Steaks were perfect. Salads were large. Great waiters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was amazing and served very quickly. Good selection of steaks although other than that options were limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.