Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Doris Metropolitan

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: (504) 267-3500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Romantic (54)
See All
Good for a Date (52)
Notable Wine List (44)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Authentic (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
People Watching (7)
Historic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Server was loud, pushy, got the order wrong two times, one appetizer and one wine choice.
Eggplant was horrible, tasted like propane gas
Beet App. was unique and tasty
Ribeye was a low grade cut of meat, cooked poorly and again tasted like propane gas char..... i can cook better steaks at home on a webber grill, or gas grill.

Fire the cook and that waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is excellent but pricey overall a great meal and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding steak restaurant with Prime meats. Service was excellent, first all the way

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Best meal we had in New Orleans. Most tender
Piece of tenderloin I've ever had. Friendly and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very chill and great staff with amazing food

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Everything was perfect !

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My experience was horrible due to fact our steaks had to be taking back to the kitchen to finish cooking. One of our guest had to wait to eat his steak due to ours being recooked. This is the type of experience you expect from outback and or chain restaurant. If this is what they call fine dining then it is a joke

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful food. Best steak I have had. Attentive servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Pricey but the food and extensive wine list are excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was good. The service was nice. Definitely will be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

とても美味しかったです
外からは想像できない素敵な雰囲気でした
地図に表示される場所は少しだけ違うみたいです
道を挟んで向かい側にありました

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Absolutely spectacular! Wonderful aged beef. Can't wait to go back for the 60 days aged beef! Wow!!! Also have eaten at he Costa Rica location. Rock - On DORIS!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent in every regard. Flawless food, service, and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I've eaten here a number of times and always eat the ribeye. I've found it to be the best steak I've ever had.
Last night I was talked into the "steak board". The steaks were cold and the meat did not taste good. The truffle fries were cold also.
The desserts however were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Hands down, the best steak in New Orleans. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was great and service was exceptional!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The restaurant was wonderful about accommodating us. We got stuck coming from Uptown back to French Quarter during Mardi Gras and we were 30 minutes late to restaurant. They were super understanding and whisked us right to our table. Our waiter was Troy and he was phenomenal! One of my favorite restaurants in NOLA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Aged new york is a must.

Egg yolk on a diverse tomato salad was something i was not expected and exceed my expectations.

Good wine recommendation.

Love the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great meal. Kobe steaks were cooked to prefectuon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Absolutely wonderful, our waiter Sean (or Shaun? ) was great and the food, as usual, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The bartender at our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were glad he did!! The food was delicious and many different apps and entrees to choose from. We love trying foods prepared in different ways. The stuffed red beet was awesome! Our waiter was very attentive and very helpful when choosing what we might enjoy most. It is a bit pricey, but we really enjoyed it!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great and the service was top notch. I have not had a bad meal. I always recommend to friends and they have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful steakhouse, with delicious cocktails and superb service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wow! I have walked by this restaurant many times and finally had the pleasure of dining there. Our waiter, Troy, was attentive without being overbearing. The bartender made a very good Old Fashioned and French 75. The wine list was reasonably priced.... the menu is moderately pricey, but the food was well worth every penny. We had the cheese plate and tuna tartare for appetizers. We both had steaks for dinner... cooked to perfection and melted in our mouths. All of this in a dimly lit, romantic setting. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dantay and Atticus were superb as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, our waiter Yan was awesome,he made great suggestions! Best steak I've ever had in my life!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went to Doris Metropolitan two weeks ago and had the meat Board for dinner with my 3 guests. It is where they bring 3 cuts of meat on and the waiter carves it at your table. It was a great meal that night so 2 weeks later I tried it again. The rest of the menu looks great but I think that I will have this every time I eat here. Its a great presentation and great food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A wonderful evening. Great service. Wonderful food. Great wine. Would highly recommend this place and will absolutely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food, a bit pricey but the quality and taste is one of the best in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Doris Metropolitan has never disappointed us. Our waiter, Troy, was very attentive and offered suggestions. We had a very nice Heitz Trailside Vineyard Cab. We started with a cheese plate that also included honey. flavored with blood orange juice. For the main course we had beef tenderloins that were cooked perfectly. The truffle and cheese fries were a very good side dish. We opted to have a little liquid dessert and had a Sauterne tasting, phenomenal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My second visit. The first was better. Overall good, but the beef was disappointing, especially for the price. Portion size was a little small. I'd go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wow.....We showed up early and was seated right away. Service was great and the food even better. Great spot in the French Quarter with great food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Celebrated our 6 year anniversary here and it was amazing. The tuna tartare was our appetizer and it was very flavorful. Our waitress was very polite and made our experience there even better. Our main course we had the tomahawk steak and it was beautifully presented to us. The steak was an explosion of flavor. All you need was freshly ground pepper and their special salt. There was no leftovers! We will be back shortly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best steaks we have ever had and the service was outstanding. Definitely on our list for a return trip to New Orleans!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent meal and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was amazing and the restaurant atmosphere very nice. It was a little pricy, so it would have to be a special occasion for me to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We looked at Trip Advisor to see the list of quality restaurants in New Orleans. Doris Metropolitan was in the top 10. We agree with that ranking. The butcher cut steaks (10oz) were cooked perfectly and extremely tender. The tomato appetizer prepared four ways was outstanding. the side dish of asparagus was cooked perfectly. Yan, our waiter, was outstanding and supported by all the other wait staff. We will return to this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We booked a reservation in advance of our trip to New Orleans for a special meal. It exceeded our expectations and we actually canceled a reservation at a different restaurant to go back before our vacation ended. Food is on point! The Ribeye steak and sea bass are both amazing. I also recommend the Tuna tartar.
The service is beyond amazing. They are knowledgeable and friendly and make you feel catered to without being overbearing our intrusive! Two totally different staffs for two different nights (shifts) same excellent service.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Totally awesome.....Melissa and her staff do an incredible job

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.