Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

SylvainSylvain
(1662)
$$$$
Contemporary American | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 39 times today
TableauTableau
(1741)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 25 times today
New Orleans Creole CookeryNew Orleans Creole Cookery
(204)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 28 times today
Crescent City BrewhouseCrescent City Brewhouse
(585)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 7 times today
The Rib Room at the Omni Royal OrleansThe Rib Room at the Omni Royal Orleans
(756)
$$$$
Steak | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 13 times today
Brennan'sBrennan's
(3357)
$$$$
Creole | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 155 times today
NOLA RestaurantNOLA Restaurant
(10198)
$$$$
Creole | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 64 times today
Muriel's Jackson SquareMuriel's Jackson Square
(5024)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 70 times today
Antoine'sAntoine's
(3740)
$$$$
Creole | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 90 times today
GW FinsGW Fins
(8510)
$$$$
Seafood | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 111 times today
MerilMeril
(1305)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Warehouse District, New Orleans
Booked 126 times today
DomenicaDomenica
(4128)
$$$$
Italian | Central Business District, New Orleans
Booked 152 times today
Mr. B's BistroMr. B's Bistro
(785)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 53 times today
Restaurant R'evolutionRestaurant R'evolution
(3284)
$$$$
Creole / Cajun / Southern | French Quarter, New Orleans
Booked 76 times today
Emeril's RestaurantEmeril's Restaurant
(8111)
$$$$
Creole | Warehouse District, New Orleans
Booked 103 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Doris Metropolitan

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Excellent in every way!!!! A must while in New Orleans!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I enjoy a good steak but wouldn't be torn up if I could never have red meat again. This restaurant made me rethink that stance. Amazing food and service. Highly recommended, and will be on our 'repeat' menu when we return to NOLA

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had the 31 day dry aged ribeye that was without a doubt the best steak I have ever had!
Fall off the bone short ribs were also excellent. Great sides. Overall outstanding meal.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Top 3 meal of all time. Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A definite must now for us when we are in NOLA
Cant wait to return.
The rosemary bread is phenomenal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Can't say enough about Doris. It is simply the best steak place I've ever been. It was quiet on this Sunday night and we got excellent cocktails and absolutely delicious steaks (ribeye and NY strip).

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This use to be our favorite Nola steakhouse. My husband and I ordered the same 18 ounce NYS.
When they came out they looked like 2 different cuts of meat. My husbands twice the size as mine. Both steaks were covered in fat and tasteless. Our favorite desert the Halvah was runny and more like a soup. We complained to the manager to no avail,
he could have offered us a dessert or after dinner drink to make up for our disappointing meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had an amazing evening, service was excellent with Ryan. We had a few appetizers eggplant I thought was tasty Mediterranean flavors, artichoke salad was delicious I loved the dressing, my favorite was the tuna sushi appetizer I could have just ordered 2 or 3 of those and called that dinner but my family went hard and order a chefs choice, it came out flaming with a couple of bone marrow, a couple of Gorgeous steaks but the wagoo steak melted in my mouth, the flavor was truly amazing and kind of ruined me for eating any other steaks. I'm totally spoiled! I give this place a triple thumbs up. Don't be surprised when you get the bill tho! $$$$$

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our service was excellent and the food was surpurb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This is one of my favorite places but it was a little off tonight. For some reason no one waited on us. We sat there for about 15 minutes before my husband finally went to see if there was confusion about who had our table. It was the waitress the tables in our area. I'm not sure why this happened but the manager came and apologized which showed he knew this was not the norm. Service after that was fine. The food was good with the exception of my lamb chops. They were mostly gristle. I had about one small bite of meat out of each piece. I actually left hungry. I'm assuming these were two usual circumstances and don't expect it to be that way again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

After several visits to New Orleans over the last several years for business, The Doris Metropolitan has become my favorite restaurant in a city of great restaurants. The staff are always friendly, the food is always great and the location - a block from Jackson Square - is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

~Paul is excellent manager.The red meat is very incredible and fresh. Lively environment.

W.Gee

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Doris Metropolitan, and it did not disappoint! The appetizers were delicious, we had tuna tartar and beef carpaccio, and the steaks were perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked! Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great atmosphere, extensive wine list, incredible service, and delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful birthday experience! Great food. Loved the caviar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food at Doris was good as usual. In fact, it borders on great. I continue to believe it is the best steak in New Orleans. Went for a birthday dinner, had a group of 10. Two main issues with my experience - first, the waiter was very loud, and secondly rushed the whole evening (but was slow when it came to getting drinks and bread out). Additionally, I ordered wine early so that we could have that done and let it breathe, but they poured it immediately, even after asking them not to. Chalk it up to a minor miscommunication, but we had just gotten our first cocktail when wine was being served. Seemed to want us out of the place as quickly as possible (odd considering that even when we left at 8:30 pm there were tables that were open and had been all night). Not something I expect when spending the type of money that we spent. Overall, I still like Doris, the food is fantastic. The service has always been good in my opinion, but this is the first large group I have ever hosted there and I was disappointed in the service. I will think twice about bringing more than 4 people back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was delicious! Kate's service was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Ok meal. Quality of food and service has dropped off significantly since opening a few years ago. Unfortunately they appear to be taking the typical arc of Quarter restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was a perfect night. My three friends and I had a wonderful meal and time. Ashley, our server was amazing, knowledgeable and personable. Thank you for a great night. I am local and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Perfect place to date or enjoy your night!
Rib eye was extremely delicious.
But I want to try Wagyu...lol...expen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This restaurant is all about meat, mostly steaks, done perfectly. Everything is a la carte. The wine list is outstanding with some reasonably priced bottles but also over a grand if your wallet can afford it. The wait staff has been superbly trained. It was a special experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

service was 100% food was 100% drinks 100% will go again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

One word ... Outstanding! Dinner was absolutely fabulous! Recommended highly !!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our waiter, Dante, was great. We had heard about him and were glad when he greeted us. He definitely lived up to his reputation and beyond.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

A must to experience when in New Orleans. Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 21, 2017

5th time we eat there. Crazy good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Doris never disappoints. Thank you to Melissa the Somm very helpful with a great wine choice and paired perfectly with the 40 oz of meat we indulged in! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent staff, excellent food....we very much enjoyed the over all experience and will definitely come back. I highly recommend anyone who likes steak to try it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Creative menu tastefully executed; amazing steaks, aged in-house. Great wine list. While the entire menu was tempting, and everything we ordered was enjoyed--the cap-off, bone-in ribeye was perhaps one of the best steaks I have ever been served.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Sophie was an excellent server! The food lived up to all recommendations I have had from friends and family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great date night. Food was great, wine was great, service was great. One of our favorite spots in New Orleans.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing eating experience. Our waiter was phenomenal, steak was terrific. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Best steak, hands down. You can definitely tell they take pride in what they do there. Menu is simple and to the point, no dancing around it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, the food and service were impeccable at our recent dinner at Doris. The Lamb Chops are my favorite meal, anywhere. My only suggestion is don't arrive too early for your dinner. The bar area is not very large, and it was filled with people who had sat at the bar to order dinner. There was really not room just to sit or stand to have a drink while waiting for your table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been for date nights as well as with small groups. Doris is consistently excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If you are wanting a great aged steak, this is your place! Not only was the meat incredible but the appetizers were phenomenal! We split two of them, the whole beet stuffed with mascarpone cheese & the charred eggplant! The presentation was exceptional & the taste was divine! We were full after the first course! All of the bread, three different types, are made in-house. This place is such a find! We will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

If you want a cut of the finest beef cooked to perfection then this is your place and they have awesome service! 5 stars all day!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We arrived for our 7pm reservation and greeted with smiles as we were seated. The service was friendly and professional. The six of us split 4 appetizers. Each had unique flavors and were beautifully plated. The entrees came, 5 steaks and one fish. The tenderloins were served with a marrow bone. Oh so good! Only the bones went home for the dogs. We split 3 sides. The truffle fries were the best choice. The others were OK but not as exceptional as the appetizers or steaks. We shared 4 desserts. They were all interesting and delicious. Dinner at Doris Metropolitan was a delightful dining experience especially for special occasions. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service and ambience. Desserts were the best. Olive oil cake and decadent chocolate dessert!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Awesome dinner and service. Crazy expensive but a great special occasion place. Service and attention from wait staff excellent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Three diners, three great steaks. I continue to feel this is the best steak in New Orleans. Great cocktails. On this particular night our service was only FAIR. I saw other servers providing other tables the exceptional service I'm used to at Doris, but OUR server was not as attentive and polished as I wished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.