Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Doris Metropolitan

4.7
954 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Notable Wine List

Similar Restaurants

About

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, International, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 267-3500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Sibley
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wilkenson St.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 954 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.7based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent in every way!!!! A must while in New Orleans!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

I enjoy a good steak but wouldn't be torn up if I could never have red meat again. This restaurant made me rethink that stance. Amazing food and service. Highly recommended, and will be on our 'repeat' menu when we return to NOLA

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2017

I had the 31 day dry aged ribeye that was without a doubt the best steak I have ever had!
Fall off the bone short ribs were also excellent. Great sides. Overall outstanding meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Top 3 meal of all time. Service was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

A definite must now for us when we are in NOLA
Cant wait to return.
The rosemary bread is phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Can't say enough about Doris. It is simply the best steak place I've ever been. It was quiet on this Sunday night and we got excellent cocktails and absolutely delicious steaks (ribeye and NY strip).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 26, 2017

This use to be our favorite Nola steakhouse. My husband and I ordered the same 18 ounce NYS.
When they came out they looked like 2 different cuts of meat. My husbands twice the size as mine. Both steaks were covered in fat and tasteless. Our favorite desert the Halvah was runny and more like a soup. We complained to the manager to no avail,
he could have offered us a dessert or after dinner drink to make up for our disappointing meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 25, 2017

We had an amazing evening, service was excellent with Ryan. We had a few appetizers eggplant I thought was tasty Mediterranean flavors, artichoke salad was delicious I loved the dressing, my favorite was the tuna sushi appetizer I could have just ordered 2 or 3 of those and called that dinner but my family went hard and order a chefs choice, it came out flaming with a couple of bone marrow, a couple of Gorgeous steaks but the wagoo steak melted in my mouth, the flavor was truly amazing and kind of ruined me for eating any other steaks. I'm totally spoiled! I give this place a triple thumbs up. Don't be surprised when you get the bill tho! $$$

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Our service was excellent and the food was surpurb

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 23, 2017

This is one of my favorite places but it was a little off tonight. For some reason no one waited on us. We sat there for about 15 minutes before my husband finally went to see if there was confusion about who had our table. It was the waitress the tables in our area. I'm not sure why this happened but the manager came and apologized which showed he knew this was not the norm. Service after that was fine. The food was good with the exception of my lamb chops. They were mostly gristle. I had about one small bite of meat out of each piece. I actually left hungry. I'm assuming these were two usual circumstances and don't expect it to be that way again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

After several visits to New Orleans over the last several years for business, The Doris Metropolitan has become my favorite restaurant in a city of great restaurants. The staff are always friendly, the food is always great and the location - a block from Jackson Square - is excellent.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 19, 2017

~Paul is excellent manager.The red meat is very incredible and fresh. Lively environment.

W.Gee

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Doris Metropolitan, and it did not disappoint! The appetizers were delicious, we had tuna tartar and beef carpaccio, and the steaks were perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked! Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great atmosphere, extensive wine list, incredible service, and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful birthday experience! Great food. Loved the caviar experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 18, 2017

The food at Doris was good as usual. In fact, it borders on great. I continue to believe it is the best steak in New Orleans. Went for a birthday dinner, had a group of 10. Two main issues with my experience - first, the waiter was very loud, and secondly rushed the whole evening (but was slow when it came to getting drinks and bread out). Additionally, I ordered wine early so that we could have that done and let it breathe, but they poured it immediately, even after asking them not to. Chalk it up to a minor miscommunication, but we had just gotten our first cocktail when wine was being served. Seemed to want us out of the place as quickly as possible (odd considering that even when we left at 8:30 pm there were tables that were open and had been all night). Not something I expect when spending the type of money that we spent. Overall, I still like Doris, the food is fantastic. The service has always been good in my opinion, but this is the first large group I have ever hosted there and I was disappointed in the service. I will think twice about bringing more than 4 people back here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was delicious! Kate's service was incredible.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 8, 2017

Ok meal. Quality of food and service has dropped off significantly since opening a few years ago. Unfortunately they appear to be taking the typical arc of Quarter restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2017

It was a perfect night. My three friends and I had a wonderful meal and time. Ashley, our server was amazing, knowledgeable and personable. Thank you for a great night. I am local and will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Perfect place to date or enjoy your night!
Rib eye was extremely delicious.
But I want to try Wagyu...lol...expen!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 3, 2017

This restaurant is all about meat, mostly steaks, done perfectly. Everything is a la carte. The wine list is outstanding with some reasonably priced bottles but also over a grand if your wallet can afford it. The wait staff has been superbly trained. It was a special experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

service was 100% food was 100% drinks 100% will go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 25, 2017

One word ... Outstanding! Dinner was absolutely fabulous! Recommended highly !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2017

Our waiter, Dante, was great. We had heard about him and were glad when he greeted us. He definitely lived up to his reputation and beyond.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2017

A must to experience when in New Orleans. Amazing food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

5th time we eat there. Crazy good!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2017

Doris never disappoints. Thank you to Melissa the Somm very helpful with a great wine choice and paired perfectly with the 40 oz of meat we indulged in! Amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent staff, excellent food....we very much enjoyed the over all experience and will definitely come back. I highly recommend anyone who likes steak to try it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Creative menu tastefully executed; amazing steaks, aged in-house. Great wine list. While the entire menu was tempting, and everything we ordered was enjoyed--the cap-off, bone-in ribeye was perhaps one of the best steaks I have ever been served.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Sophie was an excellent server! The food lived up to all recommendations I have had from friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Great date night. Food was great, wine was great, service was great. One of our favorite spots in New Orleans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing eating experience. Our waiter was phenomenal, steak was terrific. Will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2017

Best steak, hands down. You can definitely tell they take pride in what they do there. Menu is simple and to the point, no dancing around it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, the food and service were impeccable at our recent dinner at Doris. The Lamb Chops are my favorite meal, anywhere. My only suggestion is don't arrive too early for your dinner. The bar area is not very large, and it was filled with people who had sat at the bar to order dinner. There was really not room just to sit or stand to have a drink while waiting for your table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been for date nights as well as with small groups. Doris is consistently excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2017

If you are wanting a great aged steak, this is your place! Not only was the meat incredible but the appetizers were phenomenal! We split two of them, the whole beet stuffed with mascarpone cheese & the charred eggplant! The presentation was exceptional & the taste was divine! We were full after the first course! All of the bread, three different types, are made in-house. This place is such a find! We will definitely be back!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

If you want a cut of the finest beef cooked to perfection then this is your place and they have awesome service! 5 stars all day!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2017

We arrived for our 7pm reservation and greeted with smiles as we were seated. The service was friendly and professional. The six of us split 4 appetizers. Each had unique flavors and were beautifully plated. The entrees came, 5 steaks and one fish. The tenderloins were served with a marrow bone. Oh so good! Only the bones went home for the dogs. We split 3 sides. The truffle fries were the best choice. The others were OK but not as exceptional as the appetizers or steaks. We shared 4 desserts. They were all interesting and delicious. Dinner at Doris Metropolitan was a delightful dining experience especially for special occasions. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service and ambience. Desserts were the best. Olive oil cake and decadent chocolate dessert!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Awesome dinner and service. Crazy expensive but a great special occasion place. Service and attention from wait staff excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Three diners, three great steaks. I continue to feel this is the best steak in New Orleans. Great cocktails. On this particular night our service was only FAIR. I saw other servers providing other tables the exceptional service I'm used to at Doris, but OUR server was not as attentive and polished as I wished.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24