About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan, an elegant designed dining room that combines high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine and fine liquors selections and a unique ambiance will make of your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Sash Kurgan

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Itai Ben Eli: 5042673500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans / Louisiana
Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (115)
fit for foodies (98)
notable wine list (78)
See All
romantic (77)
neighborhood gem (43)
hot spot (39)
good for groups (27)
great for outdoor dining (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for lunch (15)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

My friend and I split the 18 oz ribeye a ...

Dined 7 days ago

My friend and I split the 18 oz ribeye and it was quite chewy and not especially flavorful. The asparagus au gratin, truffle fries and grilled vegetables were all pretty average. The one delicious thing we had was the sweetbreads. Service was excellent though and the restaurant itself is very attractive.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

appetizers

Dined on May 17, 2016

Waitress would not allow us to order appetizers and enjoy our drinks prior to ordering entrees I asked twice and was told it is the managers policy. I will not return and have brought customer there the past 2 years for at least 15-20 dinners

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner in all respects! The sh ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent dinner in all respects! The short ribs were outstanding and the lamb chops were incredible. Highly recommend Doris!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Setting & Food

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I have wanted to go to Doris Metropolitan for a while. Finally got the opportunity to go and the food, service, and setting were outstanding. Our server, Bonnie, did a great job of taking care of us. The food was expertly prepared and presented beautifully. The setting was just right for a romantic dinner. My only caveat is the prices. Apps are in the $15-$20 range and the average entree is $35-$45. While the food was very good, its tough to reconcile a 9oz steak with it's $46 menu price. My wife's fish was great quality and nicely prepared, but it could be found in a half dozen other restaurants at half the price. Dinner for two with two cocktails, two apps, two entrees, and a shared dessert was $250 with tip. We brought our own wine (we'd been saving for a special occasion) and paid an exorbitant $35 corkage. Will we return? Maybe. Got to start saving up for the next one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Doris is simply the best!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Doris is simply the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal at Doris Metropolitan! They have a great wine list but it is pricey. The bread and butter is great to start (three different types of butter) - Plus oil and vinegar. My wife and I shared the bruschetta appetizer which was delicious. We then split the porter house for our entree. It was cooked perfectly and tasted great. Between the bread, appetizer, and entree (plus wine) we were too full for dessert. Our server was friendly and very attentive. We had a seat next to the window which made dinner very entertaining as we could watch people on the street. This restaurant is expensive but worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Here for a visit

Dined on May 13, 2016

I found this restaurant on trip advisor, and being a steak lover I am glad i did. The Ribeye was probably the best I've ever had…plus we met Doris!!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Even if you don't like beets (like me) y ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Even if you don't like beets (like me) you have order the beet! The bone-in tenderloin is outstanding. It was more than enough for four.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed the meal had a meat board ,st ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed the meal had a meat board ,staff was excellent ambience was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in New Orleans by far.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Best steak in New Orleans by far.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I have ever had

Dined on May 10, 2016

Best steak I have ever had

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we had a very enjoyable dining experienc ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

we had a very enjoyable dining experience. The food, service and atmosphere was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good piece of meat

Dined on May 10, 2016

The scene is definitely upscale and elegant with a lovely courtyard dining area. I had to minus one star because they could not transfer the bar tab to the table. If a restaurant is going to host business dinners, they should be able to transfer bar tabs to the table for the ease and convenience of the customer. Mot top notch restaurants do that. As far as the service, it was friendly and good, but not in the top category as I would have expected for a restaurant with this reputation. Example, "what should I have here that I can't get anywhere else"?, Answer, "You can get a steak anywhere". That was not the answer of a person who knows their menu, or knows how to explain the nuances of their product over their competitors. Now to the meal. The portions were excellent and the quality of the meat was very good. The short rib was the star of the meal. The 21 day NY strip was beautifully cooked, and had decent flavor. The sides were small and non descript especially the truffle fries with parmesan which had little or no truffle nor parmesan. The prices were extremely high for what you get. In summary, this is a solid 3 star restaurant in a market of 5 star restaurants. I'm glad I tried it, but I'm not sure I'd return or recommend.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was tucked away in a ver ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This restaurant was tucked away in a very cool part of NOLA. The food was outstanding and service excellent. Don't miss out on the tuna carpaccio.. a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars all around.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, decor, menu selections. Attentive wait staff without over doing it, food fit for a magazine cover.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Professional and Warm

Dined on May 8, 2016

I sat at the bar during a business trip, and could not have had better service than CJ and the rest of the bar staff. Food - steak made in a sous-vide, a first for me. Juicy with great color, very good and highly recommended. The smallest steak on the menu and delish. The bartender paired the steak with a crisp Rose. Dessert was a chocolate dish, not too sweet but sweet enough. Nice crowd, friendly people.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The steaks were excellent and the best I ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The steaks were excellent and the best I have tasted in New Orleans. Serving crew could have been a bit more attentive . The ambience was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was fantastic. There were multiple different breads and butters to start followed by amazing meat appetizers. We both ordered the filet and it was cooked perfectly and the presentation made everything better. Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing. Definitely would go back for a good steak if I was in town again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated, gracious gem + foodies haven in FQ

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love the place so much I don't want too many people to find out. It's that wonderful! GREAT customer service and attention to detail. Our meals were divine. Also, Chef always accommodates any dietary needs I have.. AND somehow makes my dish look even better than everyone else's and that's difficult to do. My date and I were seated at one of my favorite tables. Love Doris Metropolitan and so glad they found our little corner of the world. It a town full of great eats and spectacular chefs .. we are blessed with Doris!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak restaurant in New Orleans

Dined on May 6, 2016

Anyone coming to New Orleans looking for one of the best steak restaurants in the city need to go to Doris Metropolitan. Incredible selection of house-aged meat, delicious appetizers, and impeccable service. Also, a great atmosphere, open kitchen and fun bar to hang out in. I cannot find anything I would suggest to improve on this experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal in Town

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was the most recent visit to Doris, and each one has been absolutely fabulous. We can't go with out passing up the Tomato Celebration salad, and supplemented it with the Chateaubriand Tartare. Both were fabulous. This was our first time to have the large Filet, which we shared. Cooked precisely to order and just melted in our mouths. Topped it off with the Chocolate Semifreddo for dessert. Can't wait for our next visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, friendly staff

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food, friendly staff

food5
ambience5
service5

Beet appetizer to die for!! Also loved ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Beet appetizer to die for!! Also loved the calamari salad!!! Veal cheeks were so tender and delicious!!! Love this place!!! Service was excellent!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

not another steakhouse

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Great steaks but great food as well! The stuffed roasted beet was wonderful as was the calamari salad. Unusual and interesting flavors make this a cut above Morton's, Ruth Chris and the like.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful meal!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went in for my girlfriends birthday. She wanted a steak dinner. Server was great, very knowledgeable about the food and the wine. Good was amazing! Was a little noisy at times, but not to the point of being a nuisance. Will definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, Delicious and Unique Steakhouse

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Doris Metropolitan was nothing short of fantastic. The restaurant is unique in that it's not just a typical or traditional steakhouse, and it doesn't focus on New Orleans style plates, which is very nice for locals. The ambiance is great, with a very modern and hip vibe, but that will still appeal to those wanting the classic steakhouse feel. Every dish we had was phenomenal - highlights include the beet salad, the smoked fish bruschetta, the porterhouse, the root puree, and even the table bread with an amazing wasabi butter was absolutely delicious. Everything was fresh and flavorful, and left us wanting more. The service was also excellent. Our server Reggie was both very attentive and entertaining, making for a very fun evening. We ordered the meat board to be able to share and taste different cuts of steak. I've never seen that offered before and do highly recommend it for groups. Every steak was perfectly seasoned, flavored and cooked. My only negative is that the meat board had an extra $10 charge that we didn't know about until we received the bill but it was still completely worth it. I would only suggest the extra charge be mentioned or noted somewhere on the menu so the customer knows before ordering it. The restaurant is pricey but absolutely worth every bite of food and every minute of time. I will definitely return and recommend everyone try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The place for steak

Dined on April 30, 2016

Impressive glass wall beef cooler gives you a great view to the aged steaks that are their specialty. The restaurant is very chic with a sophisticated vibe. The waitress we had was very good but we were there during Jazz Fest and unable to get drinks from the bar or even close to the bar as it was packed. We tried and were unsuccessful in asking a waitress in the bar area and then someone who was likely the manager if they could assis it taking our drink order since we could not get access to the bar (small place, people waiting blocking access). No luck, but we were seated shortly after and able to enjoy drinks and our meal leisurely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was truly delicious! And our steaks ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was truly delicious! And our steaks fell apart like butter, but for the price of our meal I feel the star treatment of service could have been better. Our table for two on our anniversary night was important to us yet where they sat us (not intimate at all) we were so far apart my husband could not hear me talk. (The table was so large) They eventually came and moved our table into a different direction so we could be closer. It was a big night for us and we felt there wasn't much special about the entire experience for a $200 +meal for two. Maybe it was just an off night? But if you want hip city vibe and really great fine dining eats , I would hands down choose DM! Also...The view of the meat as you walk is , is an impressive touch too!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

D is for Doris

Dined on April 29, 2016

I chose Doris as my "D" restaurant on my NOLA A to Z restaurant tour. I went for lunch because I heard the burger was good. It was excellent. Go for lunch. Get the burger. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tomas was amazing!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Tomas, you're the man! Anyone that comes here should recommend him by name. Just do it. You'll see why. The best steak you'll have in NOLA!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Muriel's Delights!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food is inventive and delicious! Staff is attentive and engaging, however, they snapped the cork in our bottle of wine and made no mention of it at all, and we waited a very very long time for dessert. The food was exceptional so we will most certainly be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak - again!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Second time here and just as impressive as first! This time we shared the Porter House. If you are a true steak lover, Doris is THE place for you! My guest was so impressed she wanted to call her friends around the country to tell them Doris is a must. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dry aged steaks !

Dined on April 23, 2016

Outstanding dry aged steaks !

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is spectacular

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and service is spectacular

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Sitting in a FishBowl

Dined on April 22, 2016

We sat in the courtyard our first visit and it was quite nice. This time we sat inside behind the hostess and it just felt like we were in a fish bowl. Since we ate early (530pm) most of the staff wasn't busy yet so they were all lined up by the wine facing us. It just took the romance out of the experience and was uncomfortable. I think there is a better place for the staff to stand. With the prices as high as they are privacy would seem to be an expected thing.I must say that our waiter who apparently had only been there two weeks was magnificent and you would have thought he had been there for years he was so well educated on the menu.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steaks I have ever eaten.

Dined on April 22, 2016

First food review ever. My wife and I often shape our vacations around food destinations. New Orleans has some exceptional restraunts, but I did not expect to have the best steak in my life two times in a week. We had a bone in tenderloin special which was a carniverous celebration. We came back and I had the Wagyu.....unbelievable. My wife had the classified...so actually three of the best steaks in my life in one week. Pull the trigger on the Wagyu and pair with a a goood bordeux. My wife had Kobe in Japan, and said this was much better😍. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Divine food and experience.

Dined on April 20, 2016

Divine food and experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Highly recommend tuna tartare

Dined on April 18, 2016

Mouth watering tuna tartare to begin + velvety red wine blend = amazing experience! On recommendation of server, I had the tenderloin which was perfectly cooked, tender and juicy! Great servers here, very knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steaks in the city along with La Bo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best steaks in the city along with La Boca. "Chef's Secret" cut was a great steak and reasonably priced at $44

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT PLACE

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

this gem is in the heart of the French quarter...we have returned every time we are in town. Sit at the bar and enjoy the food ad drink if you cant score a reservation. I highly recommend dinner as well as lunch....one of our favorite spots.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.