About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: 5042673500x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Orleans / Louisiana
Steakhouse
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
4 More
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (77)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Notable Wine List (55)
See All
Romantic (51)
Hot Spot (28)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The beef hangs behind glass windows as y ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 4 days ago

The beef hangs behind glass windows as you enter the restaurant. The steaks were to die for-best we've ever had, so tender you could cut it with your fork. Everything was delicious, service was awesome, and our waitress was friendly and very informative.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were exceptional. The veggies ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

The steaks were exceptional. The veggies and dessert were not impressive, however the truffle fries were a hit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we came with great expectations, but com ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

we came with great expectations, but compared to the price, the food was average

not bad or good, but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Some of the food choices, especially the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Some of the food choices, especially the appetizers, are too flamboyant. Many simple dishes are spruced up to be so original that they become no longer appetizing. Steak was of good quality but under cooked to my order. Tight seating. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Doris has been on my bucket list for a w ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Doris has been on my bucket list for a while, and we decided to go on our Anniversary. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the service was good.

I felt the food was way too salty. Also, felt it could have been prepared more simple. Chilean Sea Bass, in my opinion, should be grilled and left without creamy/cheese sauce. A good cut of meat or fish does not need to be masked with sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great steak and nice atmosphere. Our ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great steak and nice atmosphere. Our server, Zachary was very knowledgeable with which choice cut we should get for the meat board and pairing with a bottle of wine. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely love this restaurant. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I absolutely love this restaurant. The food and atmosphere are exceptional! It is very expensive, however, and I am only able to go for very special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the food and atmosphere. This was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loved the food and atmosphere. This was my first time. Only thing that ruined it for me was me and my wife asked for well done steak and the steaks came to our table medium. We had to send them both back and wait for them to cook the steaks some more.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in NOLA for our 35th wedding ann ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were in NOLA for our 35th wedding anniversary. The meal at Doris Metropolitan was superb. We were greeted immediately and our waitress was very attentive during our entire dinner. We would definitely return, but would possibly share a steak, with all the extras, the steaks were a bit much. The bread was so delicious and the beet root supreme was outstanding. A very pleasurable experience. Thank you Doris Metropolitan.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous meat "fix." Retuened following ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous meat "fix." Retuened following week after first din there. Will be back soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding steak. One of the best I've ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Outstanding steak. One of the best I've ever had, along with impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't get the meat plate. Order your own ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Don't get the meat plate. Order your own steak. Appetizers were great. Ambiance is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Appetizers were good. Calamari Salad was ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Appetizers were good. Calamari Salad wasn't the usual cookie cutter salad with nuances of middle eastern flavors making it unique. Tuna Tartare was also a standout appetizer. Expectations met with the dry aged Ribeye. New dessert menu completes a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great resturaunt and wine list. Poor ser ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great resturaunt and wine list. Poor service, our waiter was too pushy and ruined the experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

We went for our anniversary and it was a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for our anniversary and it was a great choice for the occasion. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down the best steak I've had in No ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Hands down the best steak I've had in Nola- we essentially had the chef's tasting menu and it was all perfectly prepared and delicious. We all started with craft cocktail, I had the panda complete with a panda face created from my egg white foam ( loved the extra touch). For a party of 4 we got 3 aps that were on the lighter side (snapper, tuna, and a beat salad). Thank got the starters were light because the next course was full on meat in the best possible way. Finished the meal up with tea and a non-traditional Halva. My Persian boyfriend raved about the tea and was excited for us to try the halva (a traditional Arabic dessert that is seen frequently in Persian culture). Over all amazing experience start to finish!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anoother wonderful evening. Exceptional ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Anoother wonderful evening.

Exceptional service and great food.

I highly recommend this superb restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the bar , sweetbreads were delicio ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Loved the bar , sweetbreads were delicious

I was disappointed in the thickness of steak for a steakhouse. The ribeye 31 day old was very thin , like u would find in grocery store

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Can you say SteakHouse! On site 21 and 3 ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Can you say SteakHouse! On site 21 and 31 dry aged steaks! Loved the place and will be back for sure!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal. A steakhouse where the ste ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing meal. A steakhouse where the steak is excellent, but it's the rest of the menu that makes this a stellar meal. No shrimp cocktail or mashed potatoes here. Inventive sides, salads and appetizers steal the show!

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My son recommended Doris to us. We were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My son recommended Doris to us. We were in town for a wedding and decided that a mid-day meal there would be worth the try. We all were greatly satisfied with our food and drink. The wait staff was very helpful and contributed much to our overall enjoyment. We definitely plan to go back very soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atticus was great the food was excellent

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Atticus was great the food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been several times on our numero ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been several times on our numerous trips to New Orleans. In fact we always eat at Doris a couple of times each trip because we love it so much. We usually sit at the bar. The bartenders are super creative and their service is top notch. Everything that me and my husband have had has been exceptional! The crafted drinks and food are equally great! Some of our favorites besides the aged steaks are the artichoke salad, truffle polenta, beet salad and beef carpaccio...wouldn't change anything. Wish we had this restaurant in PA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was in New Orleans with a friend for the ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was in New Orleans with a friend for the weekend. Decided to dine at Doris Metropolitan for dinner on a Friday PM. Had a wonderful experience. Highly recommend the filet! The bone marrow on the side to use as a spread is a brilliant addition to the flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in New Orleans for business on my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was in New Orleans for business on my birthday and had lunch here by myself to celebrate. There isn't a huge variety on their lunch menu but what is on offer was exceptionally good. I had a tomato celebration salad (enjoyed this more that I expected to), the minute steak (this was quite thin steak) and a desert with a double decaf espresso. They had a reasonable wine selection and I had Prosecco with my starter, a red wine with my main and a port with my desert.

Some time ago I had dinner here and had been wanting to return ever since. They do a great job and I intend to bring friends here when I'm back in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great and we appreciated th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was great and we appreciated them accommodating our request for a meat board with table side service. It was a bit disappointing to see the lunch menu scaled back so much compared to the original lunch menu. We missed the tuna tartare three ways!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my daughter's 50th birthda ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's 50th birthday, and Doris Metropolitan was her choice. Steaks were good, but not outstanding (check out Doe's Eat Place in Greenville, Mississippi, for a superior beef experience). Our waitress was fabulous; great smile and terrific service. She could not have been better. One in our party of four ordered a Beefeater martini; the martini was good, but it was NOT Beefeater. The bartender should have informed us that Beefeater wasn't available and allowed a second choice. Biggest complaint was that the food came out too fast. Way too fast. We had enjoyed an appetizer of excellent sweetbreads, but when that plate was removed, all the food seemed to arrive like a lightning bolt. Not pleasant. It felt like the restaurant was trying to turn over the table and move us on. While this place has garnered a lot of praise, New Orleans is full of wonderful eateries that provide a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Asked to have my steak MR + extra char, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Asked to have my steak MR + extra char, but they couldn't get that temp. Beca

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The restaurant is beautiful and the wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the waiters were wonderful. The rest of the people in our large group really loved the appetizers and steaks. I wasn't a fan of the Classified Steak that I ordered. It was very fatty. The side vegetables were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants! Excellen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! Excellent dining experience. Food, ambiance, wine selection and service are outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. In a city that ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love this restaurant. In a city that is all about seafood, this is one of my top 5 restaurants and it is all about steak. Service fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a wonderful restaurant! The food a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! The food and service were wonderful. My only complaint is the people at the table next to us were so loud, we could not hear anything else, so no conversation at our table. Shame.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous meal!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fabulous meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I noticed Doris one day while walking th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I noticed Doris one day while walking through the quarter. I made a mental note to try it out. Oh my gosh, what a pleasant surprise. Wonderful experience. Already planning to go back. Food, service and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Doris Metropolitan for a birt ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at Doris Metropolitan for a birthday dinner. Very good service and the best, they love meet. So fare I had the best steak in town. Even the price was ok. I will recommend the restaurant to my friends to test it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the 31 day aged ribeye 5 stars!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Tried the 31 day aged ribeye 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tables were way too close together.. For ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Tables were way too close together.. For the price the food was just good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

One of the best steaks I've ever had, pl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever had, plus the sides were just as awesome. They also bake their bread in-house and melts in your mouth. The cocktails weren't so shabby either with a perfectly concocted Old Fashion & French 75. We will be back sooner than later

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I originally thought the restaurant was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I originally thought the restaurant was in the Warehouse district in NOLA. Boy was I surprised when I actually saw the address. I typically avoid the French Quarter at all costs due to parking and mainly because i'm a local, i don't really need to frequent the FQ. As i suspected finding parking was a HUGE headache but, I braved it out and found a spot, after searching for 30 minutes. I'd heard the food was excellent and that's the only thing that kept me from skipping out on the reservation completely.

I'm so glad I found a spot!!! This place. The food. The drinks. Everything was absolutely phenomenal! I know going to a restaurant such as this the worst thing you can do is order fries, but i had a hankering for some fries. I ordered the truffle fries as an appetizer, they were DELICIOUS. As was everything else. I ordered the bone-in rib eye cooked medium(first time i tried medium) I was very impressed at the taste of the steak and I had the root puree for a side dish. Everything was absolutely wonderful.

If you're looking for a great steak with great ambiance and tasty drinks, this is definitely the place for you. When reading reviews about the restaurant I thought it was a bit more refined and uppity but i was pleasantly surprised about how upbeat and modern the ambiance is.

The staff was wonderful...friendly, very accommodating and food service was quick.

I would recommend everyone to Doris Metropolitan in a heartbeat!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.