Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Doris Metropolitan

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: (504) 267-3500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (47)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Romantic (37)
Business Meals (34)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Bar Seating (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Authentic (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (12)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

~Paul is excellent manager.The red meat is very incredible and fresh. Lively environment.

W.Gee

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our 4th visit to Doris Metropolitan, and it did not disappoint! The appetizers were delicious, we had tuna tartar and beef carpaccio, and the steaks were perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked! Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great atmosphere, extensive wine list, incredible service, and delicious food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful birthday experience! Great food. Loved the caviar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Doris was good as usual. In fact, it borders on great. I continue to believe it is the best steak in New Orleans. Went for a birthday dinner, had a group of 10. Two main issues with my experience - first, the waiter was very loud, and secondly rushed the whole evening (but was slow when it came to getting drinks and bread out). Additionally, I ordered wine early so that we could have that done and let it breathe, but they poured it immediately, even after asking them not to. Chalk it up to a minor miscommunication, but we had just gotten our first cocktail when wine was being served. Seemed to want us out of the place as quickly as possible (odd considering that even when we left at 8:30 pm there were tables that were open and had been all night). Not something I expect when spending the type of money that we spent. Overall, I still like Doris, the food is fantastic. The service has always been good in my opinion, but this is the first large group I have ever hosted there and I was disappointed in the service. I will think twice about bringing more than 4 people back here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was delicious! Kate's service was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Ok meal. Quality of food and service has dropped off significantly since opening a few years ago. Unfortunately they appear to be taking the typical arc of Quarter restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was a perfect night. My three friends and I had a wonderful meal and time. Ashley, our server was amazing, knowledgeable and personable. Thank you for a great night. I am local and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Perfect place to date or enjoy your night!
Rib eye was extremely delicious.
But I want to try Wagyu...lol...expen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This restaurant is all about meat, mostly steaks, done perfectly. Everything is a la carte. The wine list is outstanding with some reasonably priced bottles but also over a grand if your wallet can afford it. The wait staff has been superbly trained. It was a special experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

service was 100% food was 100% drinks 100% will go again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

One word ... Outstanding! Dinner was absolutely fabulous! Recommended highly !!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our waiter, Dante, was great. We had heard about him and were glad when he greeted us. He definitely lived up to his reputation and beyond.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

A must to experience when in New Orleans. Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 21, 2017

5th time we eat there. Crazy good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Doris never disappoints. Thank you to Melissa the Somm very helpful with a great wine choice and paired perfectly with the 40 oz of meat we indulged in! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent staff, excellent food....we very much enjoyed the over all experience and will definitely come back. I highly recommend anyone who likes steak to try it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Creative menu tastefully executed; amazing steaks, aged in-house. Great wine list. While the entire menu was tempting, and everything we ordered was enjoyed--the cap-off, bone-in ribeye was perhaps one of the best steaks I have ever been served.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Sophie was an excellent server! The food lived up to all recommendations I have had from friends and family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great date night. Food was great, wine was great, service was great. One of our favorite spots in New Orleans.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing eating experience. Our waiter was phenomenal, steak was terrific. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Best steak, hands down. You can definitely tell they take pride in what they do there. Menu is simple and to the point, no dancing around it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, the food and service were impeccable at our recent dinner at Doris. The Lamb Chops are my favorite meal, anywhere. My only suggestion is don't arrive too early for your dinner. The bar area is not very large, and it was filled with people who had sat at the bar to order dinner. There was really not room just to sit or stand to have a drink while waiting for your table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been for date nights as well as with small groups. Doris is consistently excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If you are wanting a great aged steak, this is your place! Not only was the meat incredible but the appetizers were phenomenal! We split two of them, the whole beet stuffed with mascarpone cheese & the charred eggplant! The presentation was exceptional & the taste was divine! We were full after the first course! All of the bread, three different types, are made in-house. This place is such a find! We will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

If you want a cut of the finest beef cooked to perfection then this is your place and they have awesome service! 5 stars all day!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We arrived for our 7pm reservation and greeted with smiles as we were seated. The service was friendly and professional. The six of us split 4 appetizers. Each had unique flavors and were beautifully plated. The entrees came, 5 steaks and one fish. The tenderloins were served with a marrow bone. Oh so good! Only the bones went home for the dogs. We split 3 sides. The truffle fries were the best choice. The others were OK but not as exceptional as the appetizers or steaks. We shared 4 desserts. They were all interesting and delicious. Dinner at Doris Metropolitan was a delightful dining experience especially for special occasions. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service and ambience. Desserts were the best. Olive oil cake and decadent chocolate dessert!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Awesome dinner and service. Crazy expensive but a great special occasion place. Service and attention from wait staff excellent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Three diners, three great steaks. I continue to feel this is the best steak in New Orleans. Great cocktails. On this particular night our service was only FAIR. I saw other servers providing other tables the exceptional service I'm used to at Doris, but OUR server was not as attentive and polished as I wished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent food, incredible staff, amazing cocktails. Doris is always a five-star experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing is all I have to say. The steaks were fabulous. The service was wonderful. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Has the ribeye and short rib. The ribeye is just okay.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Doris is reliably the best steak dining experience in New Orleans, if not the entire country. Great wine selection, attentive staff. It's a hard place to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful food, extremely comfortable dining atmosphere and pleasant service! Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Decided to try due to great reviews and wanted steak. I got the filet and it was tender but had a little too much spice on it for my taste. I especially enjoyed the beet salad. It was one of the best I have ever had. My husband enjoyed his New York strip. It was very good but not the best steak I've had especially for the price. Not sure if I'd go back since there are so many restaurants to try in New Orleans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always excellent service! Dante always take care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Doris Metropolitan was awesome! The service was spot on and the selection of steaks etc. was impressive. The wine list was large, but, had many great values and a diverse selection including red wines other than just California Cabernet. Highly recommend for steak!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. If you want beef it is an excellent choice. We had the short rib & classified steak both were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Superb dining experience. Food is amazing, and the staff is perfectly attentive and extremely knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Doris Metropolitan! We were there to celebrate my fiancé' s 45th birthday. Wil be back soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.