About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: 5042673500x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Notable Wine List (36)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
Fun (9)
People Watching (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Private Room (5)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Atmosphere and spectacular service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Atmosphere and spectacular service. The staff was very focused on our needs. The food was awesome. We will definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate here mostly to try the tartare whi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I ate here mostly to try the tartare which I truly enjoyed. My waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu items and personable. My bone-in aged ribeye was good but certainly not the best I have ever had. Overall better-than-most experience here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting from Chicago and had no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We were visiting from Chicago and had noted the aging room when we walked past one day. Normally beef is not my go to in NOLA, but we know beauty and the aging room begged to be explored. I found none of my local friends had even heard or been to the restaurant. I brought on local friend and the rest of were from Chicago or London. all foodies and travelers. the only criticism was that the sweet breads were a little over done. They tasted great but were slightly over done. Best aged meat I've had, ever. Thank you for accommodating us even though most were in casual dress. I am moving to Nola this summer and plan to come when I can.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

May be the best steak I have every eaten ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

May be the best steak I have every eaten, definite top 5. The service was outstanding. Very unique menu and cocktails for New Orleans. Excellent decor. Well done and a real experience. Top 5 restaurant I have been to in my life. Go with 31 day aged steak and go hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and possibly the bes ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service and possibly the best meal I have ever had. I can't tell you the last time I had desert as I have absolutely no sweet tooth but on the strong recommendation of our server we tried the olive oil cake with lavender ice cream. OMG....IT WAS AWESOME.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down this was the best dinning exp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Hands down this was the best dinning experience we had in The French Quarter! Our server, Prince, was fantastic. He answered all of our questions without hesitation and made wonderful recommendations.

The food was incredible. Honestly words alone cannot describe how fantastic our meals were.

This is the one place we visited that we will be sure to go back to if we have the pleasure of returning to New Orleans in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Micah was an absolute delight! The meal ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Micah was an absolute delight! The meal was awesome and the drinks could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinning! The food was wonderf ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent dinning! The food was wonderful, and the service was great. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Must go if you like quality food, and great presentation. You get what you pay for... quality!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience was nice, limited selection of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Ambience was nice, limited selection of cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best meal I had in New Orleans!! Sides ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Best meal I had in New Orleans!! Sides are large and can be shared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best NY Strip in town. Dante and his sta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best NY Strip in town. Dante and his staff treat you like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in New Orleans for 5 nights for NY ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was in New Orleans for 5 nights for NYE and this was hands-down the best restaurant I experienced. I'm speaking on food, impeccable and impressive service and beautiful ambiance/ décor. I was greeted with beautiful smiles from the hostess and wait staff. All were pulled together, polite, knowledgeable about the menu and know their jobs very well.

I was there for lunch and had the best burger I ever ate in my life. My waiter checked in with perfect frequency, checked if my food was to my liking and kept my Pellegrino glass full.

The décor is lovely throughout including the restroom accessed via courtyard.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff. Beetroot salad was gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great wait staff. Beetroot salad was great. Was there for lunch. We will go back for dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but nothing I haven't had befo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food but nothing I haven't had before as far as the steaks go. I wouldn't not recommend but also would go out of my way to recommend either. The green salad was the best thing we had. It was something to talk about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

An absolute gem- great vibe. It was obv ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An absolute gem- great vibe. It was obvious that the staff enjoyed working in this resturant . Innovative. Hands down the best resturant I visited in New Orleans. YUM

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fabulous dinner. My favorite s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a fabulous dinner. My favorite steak house in NOLA, and the only one worth mentioning that I haven't been to is Besh's Steak House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

tenderloin,flank steak (on menu, "butche ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

tenderloin,flank steak (on menu, "butcher's choice"), and filet/rib eye mix were all very good . Service was very good, however bar service was waiting for corn to ferment- in fact wine came out before cocktails. Restaurant phone calls went unanswered many times as we tried to increase our seating by 4. Oh well, their loss- as many tables were open while we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The aged steaks are amazing. The wine l ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The aged steaks are amazing. The wine list is extensive. It's a great place to go in the French Quarter if you want an excellent steak. The wait staff was very attentive. My wife and I split a large rib eye which was perfect for us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, not great. Service uneven. At ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food, not great. Service uneven. Attentive but missed the drink mixes 3 times. Recommendations good but not quite worth the price. Better ones in town for same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our family of 5 Adults dined here on Chr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family of 5 Adults dined here on Christmas Day. Interesting menu items, but pricey. Entrees and side dishes are separately priced. Specialty is Beef (asparagus ordered as a side dish was overdone). Desserts were small and over priced ($10 for a small scoop of ice cream?) Atmosphere is pleasant and quiet. Good choice for adult gatherings, Date Night, or a Special Occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This is the best restaurant for dry aged ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is the best restaurant for dry aged steaks. The 18 oz ribeye was outstanding and perfect for sharing with a starter and a couple of great sides. Definitely will go back when we are in NOLA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great addition to the Nola dining scene. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great addition to the Nola dining scene. Food, drinks, wine list, and ambiance are top tier. Steak was cooked perfectly. Lunch menu goes from sandwiches to high end steak dishes. They could use a few lunch options in between. Tad pricey for lunch but top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food good wine great staff

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food good wine great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was exquisite. ....Lamb chops and Tuna T ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Was exquisite. ....Lamb chops and Tuna Tartare brilliantly presented and we'll seasoned. Staff was attentive. ..good wine portfolio.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The calamari salad and the tuna appetize ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The calamari salad and the tuna appetizers are SO good! We went for my parents anniversary and it was a perfect place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our experience was fabu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Everything about our experience was fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE Doris!!! We go every time we ar ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We LOVE Doris!!! We go every time we are in town. We can't ever decide what we want, so we typically try 4-5 appetizers and none disappoint. The bread plate is always fantastic as well. Great service and excellent cocktails. It's an all round fabulous meal!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my vegetarian wife here for her b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I took my vegetarian wife here for her birthday. It is the only fancy restaurant in the French Quarter with ANY vegetable options. The ambience is outstanding. She LOVED her beet root salad. I ordered one of their famous 31 month marinated rib eye steaks. It was certainly good, though a little fatty (In my opinion, Ruth's Chris' are better.) The wine list is extraordinary, and we found an excellent 2005 St. Emilion (her favorite region) at a relatively reasonable price. I'd certainly return again for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always our go to when we really want a g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always our go to when we really want a good steak/meal. Love the beats and filet.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An insect fell in my glass of wine and t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

An insect fell in my glass of wine and the waitress won't replace the wine unless I pay for it. The food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The staff are ALWAYS attentive, providin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The staff are ALWAYS attentive, providing wonderful service. The food is eclectic, genuine and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding dining experience. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had an outstanding dining experience. Our server, SHAWN was excellent, very knowledgeable and really exceeded our expectations! We were celebrating the Christmas holidays so it was very special and my first trip to the Big Easy! Definitely will be back! Judy Phelps

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has a good history and I woul ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This place has a good history and I would classify it as exotic to most only because we're not used to this in our area. They have aged beef that is in view as you walk in which sets this apart from most. The wines lining the walls are also somewhat different. There is a huge wine offering which was great.

The presentation of the servings was top notch. I would highly recommend trying this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really good dinner-- a very helpful an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

A really good dinner-- a very helpful and knowledgeable waiter, sleek restaurant, and lots of treats to n the menu. The tuna tartare appetizer was actually the best I have ever had in presentation and taste!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had. The inhouse ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Best steak I have ever had. The inhouse dry aging makes all the difference. Go early and hope there is a tomahawk cut available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food rating is a combination of a ve ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food rating is a combination of a very good rating for the regular tenderloin, the tartare appetizer and the truffle French fries. However, we were disappointed in the Wagyu tenderloins. While tasty, it wasn't $100 more delicious than the regular tenderloin. In fact, we really couldn't tell the difference between the two. In addition, our waiter said that he had never tasted the Wagyu steak before which I find interesting.

So, a beautifully-appointed restaurant with some wonderful, thought overpriced, dishes. Avoid the Wagyu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

This restaurant is my favorite in New Or ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This restaurant is my favorite in New Orleans.

The porterhouse was so perfectly tender you could cut it with your fork!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Doris Metropolitan was spectacular. Go ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Doris Metropolitan was spectacular. Go to New Orleans just to eat at this restaurant. There were 6 of us so we got to try almost every appetizer and then had 3 different kinds of meat and the red snapper fish dinner. My husband said if he had a last wish, it would be for DM fish. I am a steak lover so this would be my last request!! Our trip was great but it Doris Metropolitan made our trip!

The service was perfect and Dontay is the jewel in the crown~!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was hands down one of the best meal ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was hands down one of the best meals of my life. I ordered the A5 rated Wagyu tenderloin and it was an indescribable dining experience. The appetizers, drinks, bread, and desert were all top notch and the service was impeccable. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. I can't recommend Doris Metropolitan highly enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The steaks while very expensive are exce ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The steaks while very expensive are excellent. Right up there with Peer Luger's in NYC. Had the beet appetizer which was most unusual and excellent too. If you are not in the mood for steaks/ beef there is little else on the menu. Very good service but not a NOLA repeater in my view but other restaurants are a better value

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.