About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: 5042673500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans / Louisiana
Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (116)
fit for foodies (101)
romantic (74)
See All
notable wine list (73)
hot spot (44)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (26)
great for outdoor dining (19)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good and service were wonderful!! A litt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good and service were wonderful!! A little pricey but so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Steak is one of the best anywhere. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Steak is one of the best anywhere. They age it to perfection & it has a lot of flavor. If you love wine their selection is pretty extensive from all over the world. The wait staff is very knowledgeable about the wine & the menu. Our waiter was extremely consciences about making sure we were well taken care of. The décor of the place is cozy & warm. My only complaint is they really need to work on the sides that you order with your steak. It is almost an after thought unlike the rest of the menu. That was the difference between 4 & 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great overall experience. Server was ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great overall experience. Server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Nice wine list. Buck who helped with our wine selection was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meat are amazing!! Service is very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The meat are amazing!! Service is very good . Decoration and atmosphere are like NY

Very good experience for New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great business dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was very charred on the outsid ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The steak was very charred on the outside and was very fatty. For $55 more than 1/2 had too much fat to eat. Appetizers were good, waiter was very difficult to understand and was dismissive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Every meal I have had here has been bett ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Every meal I have had here has been better than the one before. Latest experience was excellent. A great addition to NOLA French Quarter dining scene with a truly distinctive taste. I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place - the food and service we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fabulous place - the food and service were First Class. No disappointments.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a long weekend in the French Qua ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We took a long weekend in the French Quarter and this was our favorite dining experience. Everything from staff to ambiance to the food was excellent. Definitely look forward to going again and would absolutely recommend to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Doris has the best steaks in town. It a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Doris has the best steaks in town. It also has the best appetizers in town. The tomato celebration is a must, and the parfait is also a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was exceptionally satisfy ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our experience was exceptionally satisfying, without a doubt we would go back and also recommend to friends and family or anyone coming from out of town.

We live here in NOLA and have access to many fine dining locations, this is one that will remain at the top of our list. One minor issue involving several gnats that we quickly saw on their way to bug heaven . It may have been from the fresh flowers. We were seated by the window on Chartre St and the looks from passerby's of WOW on their faces was priceless.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A friend recommended Doris Metro to us a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A friend recommended Doris Metro to us and we were completely impressed. We arrived 45 min early and sat at the bar which is where we ended up eating. The owners introduced themselves to us and we caught the spirit of their mission with the brand. Very impressive men and we are proud to have shared some time with the owners and staff of this extraordinary establishment! Two locals told us that Doris was their favorite restaurant before we arrived and now we know. The food was incredible, the service unmatched and the vibe was too cool! Well done Doris and Itamar!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steak! Everything from the time of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great steak! Everything from the time of arrival to the end of the meal was great. Service was prompt and not over done. Steaks were prepared exactly to order and delivered in a timely manner. We are going to bring a group next visit to try the "meat plate" that was served at the neighboring table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was beautiful! Service was pe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was beautiful! Service was perfect and food was memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What piqued my interest was the availabi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What piqued my interest was the availability of sweet breads. My dinner started with a decent Martini (cold but not glacial, and without Tanqueray) and an Abita Amber (local beer). I was served an assortment of breads, butters, and dipping olive oil, fresh tomato paste, and balsamic vinegar — breads were interesting; the butters were decent, and the dipping oil mix was very good. Next, I had the sweet breads (noix) — very tender and flavorful. The sweet breads were served on a demi-glace that was very good. This dish also had an assortment of details, like creamy, cheesy boba, but the highlights were the sweetbreads themselves, and the demi-glace. The entrée was fresh Gulf fish served with Israeli couscous. This was an interesting dish — quite a departure from the way I typically eat fish. This fish was very well prepared, with a very intense, multi-dimensional hot spiciness. I finished my meal with the Kadaif nest. It was very good, but could have benefitted from a firmer cream — Chantilly perhaps. Kudos to my table server (Paul) who was extremely efficient and unobtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My new favorite spot! Amazing food, grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My new favorite spot! Amazing food, great atmosphere

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my parents who came to visit from C ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Took my parents who came to visit from California. We absolutely loved the food along with the experience. We will be coming back for sure. It was a pricy meal but worth it. Thanks again for the great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Food and Unbelievable Service. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great Food and Unbelievable Service. Truly a "Must-Do" when you're in the French Quarter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nothing to say. Great Place.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Nothing to say. Great Place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service. The appetizers wer ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding service. The appetizers were exceptional but the steaks, while good, were nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Spectacular!!! Not only met my expectati ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Spectacular!!! Not only met my expectations, but exceeded them! Absolutely the BEST steak restaurant in NOLA!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Doris Metropolitan at lea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been to Doris Metropolitan at least 5 times, however my last visit I did not experience the personal service from my waitress. I had hope to impress my date with the usual presentation of the food menu and the varieties of steaks etc. Overall I love this restaurant, we had a great time, and I can't get a better steak in New Orleans!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My overall experience was great! Knowled ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My overall experience was great! Knowledgeable staff, great decor and ambiance. I ordered the lamb chops which were okay. The chops were a little overcooked and were served lukewarm in a bowl which wasn't ideal having to cut inside of the bowl. But the flavor of the lamb was delicious. My guest that had the butcher's cut, which I tried and it was delicious. We will be back to try Doris Metropolitan! Great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place with excellent quality meat. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place with excellent quality meat. My husband and I loved it. We will eat there again when we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, amazing service and a great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food, amazing service and a great venue, wish Iived closer by!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and outstanding service ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding meal and outstanding service. The restaurant was packed; nevertheless, we received amazing service. The aged steaks are phenomenal. It is a pricey restaurant, but you will leave satisfied; never doubting you got your money's worth. A great place for an anniversary or special event. We got to witness the manager and staff handle a small mix up with a customer, they were courteous, professional and fast. A wonderful addition to the French Quarter and fantastic restaurant all around. Definitely raising the bar for steaks and restaurants in general in the city (New Orleans).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were, by far, some of the bes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The steaks were, by far, some of the best we have had.

Not a complaint about the meal accept we should've order the steak tartare as an appetizer, also. Next time. I'm not crazy about tables by the hostess station. We requested a 4 top by a window but were told there were no 4 tops by the window. I can't say our table location was prime but I'm pretty picky, well very picky when it comes to table location. The waitress and service made up for it but next time I will request a different table because I know we will be back. Great cocktails, too. Table of 4 and all of our steaks were cooked to our desired temperatures. I love it when you ask for medium rare and you GET medium rare! Good job Doris. We only live an hour away but will definitely make a trip back into the city just to dine with you. Our table ordered tenderloins, bone in NY strips and rib eyes!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steaks and appetizers... This was ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great steaks and appetizers... This was my 10th-12th visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've had plus a bottle of exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best steak I've had plus a bottle of excellent wine. Really friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our favorite restaurant in Nola! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was our favorite restaurant in Nola! Way better then R'evolution. The tomato salad is a must. I'm still dreaming about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Doris Metropolitan was outstanding in ev ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Doris Metropolitan was outstanding in every way! We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my favorite restaurant during o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was my favorite restaurant during our NOLA trip! We started with fabulous cocktails and beetroot supreme appetizer which we really enjoyed. My husband got the Japanese Wagyu steak which he extremely enjoyed. I had the artichoke flower salad which has got to be one of my favorite dishes ever. I loved the tzatziki sauce! I also had a side of roasted vegetables that were fabulous, especially the okra! Overall a great experience! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in New Orleans !!!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best steak in New Orleans !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice wine service / pairings Exc ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Really nice wine service / pairings

Excellent appetizers and salad

Good streak and sides

Nice dessert

Great coffee and tea

Expensive but a lovely treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful experience as always. You must ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful experience as always. You must try this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for both seafood and meat lovers

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great service, food and servings from a to z. Wine list that can be trusted, even BTG (They do use coravin for certain BTG servings, and they'll tell you how many days its been coravin'd)

Recommended- well, basically all.

Not sure which wine to match? ask them. They won't 'upsell' you, they'd get something that match your taste

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse in the city

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This is the best place for steak. The service is excellent, the wine list is amazing, and the steak is the best steak ever!! I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic meal

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is the "one" place my wife and I go to, every time we visit New Orleans. We have never had a bad meal there, and consider this to be the place to eat a fantastic steak. The staff was very customer oriented, and helpful with a few choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, close parking, wonderful food & s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great, close parking, wonderful food & service. Enjoyed butchers cut steak, classic cut,too. Beet salad wonderful🍴

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful!

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.