About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: 5042673500x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans / Louisiana
Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (39)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Fun (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

amazing but pricey.. definitely a bit ov ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

amazing but pricey.. definitely a bit overpriced so I'd only go back if someone else was paying, but it was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food can't wait to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service, great food can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've ever had. Amazing servic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best steak I've ever had. Amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All dishes are fantastic - the tenderloi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

All dishes are fantastic - the tenderloin, the "fall-of-the-bone" pork rib and sea bass! It's like the paradise of the meats!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough wonderful things about ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Can't say enough wonderful things about Doris Metropolitan. The menu was inspired and everything I tasted knocked my socks off. The beetroot supreme was amazing. The carpaccio had beautiful wine pearls floating about. The steak was, in a word, perfect. It was full of flavor, delicious, and tender. I can't wait to go back here. It was well worth the money.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice meal a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice meal at Doris. We had walked by in the past and looked in and found the meat drying and décor to be intriguing. On this visit we researched the restaurant, reviews, etc... and booked. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience from arrival, being seated, our waiter, the ambiance, the food, etc.... We were wanting to try the aged beef so we shared the bone in rib eye, which was 30 days aged. It was cooked perfectly and was very juicy, tender and tasty. We had the tuna tartar appetizer, excellent, and for sides we had the root puree. Our waiter was efficient and not annoying, explained well what was being offered and how it was prepared. Most certainly will return to try some of the many other options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. The Steak boards we'r ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great restaurant. The Steak boards we're marvelous and attentive service. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The prime rib was amazing. Service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The prime rib was amazing.

Service was good.

We definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere was great as were the win ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The atmosphere was great as were the wine and appetizers. The steak was very disappointing. We had the Porterhouse and it was not a good cut of meat. It also was very bland. The overall experience was nice but it was very pricey for an at best average steak.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Exceptional - a perfect culinary experie ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Exceptional - a perfect culinary experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were way to salty. My husband ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The steaks were way to salty. My husband refused to eat his. They did remove it from our bill. The tuna was good. Really disappointed they would cover up the flavor of the beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Doris was our best meal in New Orleans. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Doris was our best meal in New Orleans. We had probably the best steak we've ever had, and wonderful sides and wine to accompany it.

Ambiance and device was superb. The only downside was that the meal was paced way too quickly for a fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks and accompanying dishes. Th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great steaks and accompanying dishes. The olive oil cake was a very pleasant surprise but the chocolate dessert was the best we have had for many outings. Solid wine list options. Dante made sure our experience was superb. A must revisit next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience and the meal was outstandin ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The ambience and the meal was outstanding. Wonderful steaks, sides, desserts. Totally miss it already

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!!!! Best steak I've ever ha ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

OUTSTANDING!!!! Best steak I've ever had!!! The staff was incredible and made our special occasion top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as noisy as most big NOLA restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not as noisy as most big NOLA restaurants; slightly more intimate. Artichoke flower appetizer small (and only one piece of black garlic), but incredible--don't miss it (order two if you are hungry). Bread assortment and flavored butters and sauces fantastic. Pricey Wagyu tenderloin; I requested it butterflied so it could be medium well without too much heat; came out med rare, had to send it back twice. But it was AMAZING. Friendly server...shook our hands when we left. I will definitely come back next visit to NOLA and order same items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just ok. Nothing special. Cool ambiance ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Just ok. Nothing special. Cool ambiance with indistinct food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

For a steakhouse, it has some interestin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

For a steakhouse, it has some interesting vegetarian small plates.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were very disappointed in this restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were very disappointed in this restaurant. After all the great reviews that we had read we were expecting a wonderful meal. The meat was small and tough and without much taste. It was very expensive and we've had better steak at chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We had a special night there! Great food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We had a special night there! Great food- one of the best steaks we have ever had. Considering we have eaten at a lot of steakhouses, that is saying something. The bread was amazing. I could have made a meal out of just that. Service was great too! I would highly recommend Doris Metropolitan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was superb and meals and dessert ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was superb and meals and desserts were scrumptious! The three in our party thoroughly enjoyed ur dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic experience. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having lived in France for over 10 years ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Having lived in France for over 10 years in the past, I expected quite some more from this restaurant which is supposed to offer some French cuisine trends.

We were rushed into our meal to leave asap, service was very average and amateur, the choice a la carte was limited in meats (rib eye was quite small cut and no bone in options at all with any kind of cuts...), no real choice of sauces and fries were frozen fries...I expected more from a 350$ meal for a family of 4, that includes a quite good bottle of wine, which was probably the only good thing as it was imported...

We went there during lunch hours (as evening hours were fully booked) but it was Saturday, so we expected that it could be (almost) just like dinner service.

We left very disappointed, will not come back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Exceptional starters and sides to accomp ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Exceptional starters and sides to accompany main meal.

Knowledgeable waitstaff. Very friendly greeting upon entry.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak around. Whenever we are in to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Best steak around. Whenever we are in town we have dinner here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Didn't like the service or he food. Won ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Didn't like the service or he food. Won't be going back. I don't like a steaming b

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I wasn't fully familiar with Doris Metro ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I wasn't fully familiar with Doris Metropolitan when I was planning dinner arrangements. After reading reviews, I booked the last reservation of the night. The food was incredible, our server Atticus was engaging and knowledgable throughout the evening. Wine and Port recommendations were spot on, I cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went in with high expectations and we ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We went in with high expectations and weren't disappointed!! Apps were delicious- we had the artichoke salad and the tuna tartare. We ordered the porterhouse, (per the waiter's suggestion when we ordered a filet and a strip,) but next time we will order our steaks separately, as we prefer the filet more rare than our strip. We will definitely go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous anniversary dinner. We could no ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fabulous anniversary dinner. We could not have been treated better in this lovely French Quarter gem. Food fabulous, staff professional and attentive, impressive wine list. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the mood for a great steak an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We were in the mood for a great steak and found Doris. The restaurant ambiance is very nice and we were impressed by the display of meat aging as you walk in the door. The waiter explained the menu and two of us ordered the bone-in ribeye and I was talked into the 30 day age NY strip. I was told the taste from the additional 10 days was well worth it. Now, don't get me wrong, the steak was good but out of all the steaks I eat at other high end steak restaurants, this steak was just ok. I was really hoping to be blown away but unfortunately this steak missed the mark. The steaks also took a godly amount time to get them that I joked that they must be adding a few more days to the aging. All in all, Doris was good but not worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I WAS TRULY DISAPPOINTED. MY LAMBCHOPS W ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I WAS TRULY DISAPPOINTED. MY LAMBCHOPS WERE ALMOST RAW, AND I HAD TO SEND THEM BACK AND YET THEY WERE STILL INEDIBLE WHEN I GOT THEM THE SECOND TIME. THE APPETIZER WAS TERRIBLE AS WELL. SERVICE IS PHENOMINAL AND DRINKS ARE GOOD. FOOD IS TERRIBLE.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Always great steak

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Steak. Nice atmosphere. Service wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great Steak. Nice atmosphere. Service was good. Vegetables and potatoes were so so but If I were looking for something other than meat I would have went elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and atmosphere!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks! Prepared properly and exc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great steaks! Prepared properly and excellent service. Very large bar area but not noisy . Great wine selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The beef is exceptional and the desserts ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The beef is exceptional and the desserts were very good but the wine list is limited and so we're the sides. We were told the truffled polenta was like spicy Italian grits, they had no taste. Probably the worst polenta I've ever had. There were five of us and everyone said they wouldn't go back. Very expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The meal, the service and the atmosphere ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The meal, the service and the atmosphere were all exquisite! A thoroughly delicious experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This the best steak I have ever had and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This the best steak I have ever had and so ais the dessert

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife called before we arrived to say ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My wife called before we arrived to say that the diner occasion was my birthday. I was treated like a King from the moment we arrived. The staff was great. I especially like when there is no pressure to order right away. We had a before dinner cocktail, ordered wine, had appetizers, enjoyed entrees and complimentary desert, all at a leisurely pace. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Thank you for a wonderful Birthday dinner.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.