Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Doris Metropolitan

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: (504) 267-3500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for a Date (53)
Romantic (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Business Meals (35)
Hot Spot (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Cozy (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (15)
People Watching (13)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Scenic View (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service and ambience. Desserts were the best. Olive oil cake and decadent chocolate dessert!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Three diners, three great steaks. I continue to feel this is the best steak in New Orleans. Great cocktails. On this particular night our service was only FAIR. I saw other servers providing other tables the exceptional service I'm used to at Doris, but OUR server was not as attentive and polished as I wished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, incredible staff, amazing cocktails. Doris is always a five-star experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing is all I have to say. The steaks were fabulous. The service was wonderful. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Doris is reliably the best steak dining experience in New Orleans, if not the entire country. Great wine selection, attentive staff. It's a hard place to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Decided to try due to great reviews and wanted steak. I got the filet and it was tender but had a little too much spice on it for my taste. I especially enjoyed the beet salad. It was one of the best I have ever had. My husband enjoyed his New York strip. It was very good but not the best steak I've had especially for the price. Not sure if I'd go back since there are so many restaurants to try in New Orleans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always excellent service! Dante always take care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Doris Metropolitan was awesome! The service was spot on and the selection of steaks etc. was impressive. The wine list was large, but, had many great values and a diverse selection including red wines other than just California Cabernet. Highly recommend for steak!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. If you want beef it is an excellent choice. We had the short rib & classified steak both were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Superb dining experience. Food is amazing, and the staff is perfectly attentive and extremely knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Doris Metropolitan! We were there to celebrate my fiancé' s 45th birthday. Wil be back soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Has two lovely and well cooked steaks with nice sides. Also the bourbon lemonade punch was fantastic. The service was prompt and friendly. Would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Absolutely outstanding food! Some of the best steaks I've ever had and I've eaten at steakhouses all over the US. Well done! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent place to celebrate with family including our 20 month old granddaughter! Delicious cocktails & superb wine choices & of course magnificent meat choices! Very special memories for all of us!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The cheese plate was delicious with walnuts and fruits.
The confidential steak ( ribeyes tastiest portion ) was melt in your mouth and full of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 31, 2017

What's interesting is when making the reservation I made special note it was my anniversary and I wanted to make certain everything went well and that we had a nice private area to communicate. Well that didn't happen at all! The watress was overwhelmed with several tables, person service was horrible. My wife dinner was not correct, we waited at less 15 min before someone would come and check on our table to assure the dinner was perfect but it wasn't... Dont ask for a drink.... the time it took was even worse! To top it off... the tables are so close another group set right next to us as if we were all together... this is not a romantic spot for dinner and the food was not impressive at all! Sorry this place doesn't get my vote.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

What a gem! My daughter and I visited this week and had one of the best steaks we have had in a long time. Presentation, flavor, marrow--all oustanding. And we are Chicagoans so are particular about steak. Beautiful restaurant--loved the decor and feel. Clarence was an attentive server and meal was well paced. Olive oil cake was a hit. As was the great window seat we had. Lovely experience and can't wait to come back when we visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This meal was phenomenal! Troy was a phenomenal waiter! My boyfriend and I loved every minute. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Awesome !! wanted to try something new and had bone in Filet ..Unreal !!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great, unique menu! Quality steaks and appetizers. Highly recommend the classified cut and the butcher's cut, as well as the beetroot appetizer.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! The food was excellent! The service was great!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I have dined at DM with everyone getting their own steaks and the meal was good. Pricey in my opinion for the steaks. But we did a mix of meats cooked to different temperatures and served on a cutting board and sliced tableside. That was the game changer! Amazing meats and cooked and served perfectly. It was on par with the meat I ate in Argentina which is saying a lot. They have the best steak on the planet down there. I'll go back to DM soon since flying 15 hours for good meat is not cost effective. Steak aficionados can dine here and be pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a great experience the pat two times that I went. I was not impressed this time. The food wasn't as good as it usually is. The asparagus ends had not been cut and the part that is hardly chewable was still there. Don't know if I'll be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The whole dining experience was great! The service was great. The food was fantastic. We will be back. It's our new favorite for steaks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The best steak hands down! Great service! We had the tenderloin and classified cut.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The quality of meat at Doris never fails to be amazing.
The bone in strip and bone in ribeye were delectable.
Sweet breads app and truffle fries were a delicious complement to our prime steaks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Best steak I have ever had. it was the Butcher's Choice. next time I am in New Orleans I'll be back to dine as my first choice.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Man. This restaurant is awesome. First time here. Talk about steak that melts in your mouth. This steak actually melts in your mouth. I thought i was eating steak soup it was so soft. Like steak smoothie except it was warm and tasty. Maaaaaaaannnnnn!!!!! This was better than outback steakhouse for sure! Its also pricey. Same price as Ruth Chris and other high end steak houses. Which is why im living out of a cardboard box right now next to my new neighbor, Julio. Hey, Julio! If you reading this and your not homeless anymore, go get you some Doris steak, man. And quit stealing my socks. I know its you man.

Joking aside. Eat here. That is all.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Tapas, People Watching, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, staff, and ambiance! Nice window table for two on Chartres St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I come here as much as possible! It is always delicious. I also appreciate that my servers always super relatable. Not to mention the souse vide sweetbreads, tuna tartare, and oh the amazing secret cut topped with foie gras... Amazing everytime!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding and great food! 👍🏿

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a great experience. Server was very professional and helpful. Food was very good

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Outstanding service and good quality!!! Congrats!! I will go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Business meal. TUESDSY 8 PM. IM A SALES MANAGER.
Spent $543 for 3 people
1 food excellent.
2. Waiter died on us after steaks delivered.
3 A server asked manager who helped initially w our 130.00 wine to help get us another bottle.
- too busy to come over nor did he send someone over.
4 Steaks got cold while waiting for new bottle.
5 WAITER HAD PERSONALITY OF A COMPUTER IT GUY
NO OFFENSE TO THOSE TALENTED MAGICAL GUYS.

THEY HAD NO CLUE, TOLD MANAGER MY FEELINGS AND HE WAS SEMI ARROGANT.
MET US AT DOOR OFFERING HIS CARD TO FIX IT NEXT TIME. I DECLINED AND ASKED WHY NOT FIX IT NOW. NO HELP.

LOUD, NO BACKUP FOR OVERWHELMED SERVER, PEOPLE WERE STANDING AROUND DOING NOTHING
TOUGH TO GET WATER REFILL.
HIGH END RESTAURANT GREAT STEAK RUINED BY LACK OF ATTENTION TO DETAIL.
TOO MANY PLACES BETTER THAN THIS.
SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lots of open tables were available but, we were seated next to a private room, those patrons were very loud. Ordered the Classic Cut, it was supposed to be 9oz. Sure seemed like it was 7oz. Nothing appealed to us from the appetizers to the dessert. We enjoyed a good bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Really enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

the atmosphere the service was very good the food was out standing
every dish we choose was delicious the meat was extremely special great quality and we recommend DORIS with all heart

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wonderfully flavored steak. I would recommend a few more side choices and dessert choices but the meal was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed every aspect of this restaurant. The food was excellent, the service was impeccable, the atmosphere was relaxing, the location is great and the wine list is superb. Will definitely recommend to friends and family and we will be back soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.