About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: 5042673500x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans
Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (113)
Fit for Foodies (87)
Notable Wine List (76)
See All
Romantic (74)
Hot Spot (43)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Groups (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Lunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Atticus was great the food was excellent

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Atticus was great the food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been several times on our numero ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been several times on our numerous trips to New Orleans. In fact we always eat at Doris a couple of times each trip because we love it so much. We usually sit at the bar. The bartenders are super creative and their service is top notch. Everything that me and my husband have had has been exceptional! The crafted drinks and food are equally great! Some of our favorites besides the aged steaks are the artichoke salad, truffle polenta, beet salad and beef carpaccio...wouldn't change anything. Wish we had this restaurant in PA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was in New Orleans with a friend for the ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was in New Orleans with a friend for the weekend. Decided to dine at Doris Metropolitan for dinner on a Friday PM. Had a wonderful experience. Highly recommend the filet! The bone marrow on the side to use as a spread is a brilliant addition to the flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in New Orleans for business on my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was in New Orleans for business on my birthday and had lunch here by myself to celebrate. There isn't a huge variety on their lunch menu but what is on offer was exceptionally good. I had a tomato celebration salad (enjoyed this more that I expected to), the minute steak (this was quite thin steak) and a desert with a double decaf espresso. They had a reasonable wine selection and I had Prosecco with my starter, a red wine with my main and a port with my desert.

Some time ago I had dinner here and had been wanting to return ever since. They do a great job and I intend to bring friends here when I'm back in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great and we appreciated th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great and we appreciated them accommodating our request for a meat board with table side service. It was a bit disappointing to see the lunch menu scaled back so much compared to the original lunch menu. We missed the tuna tartare three ways!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my daughter's 50th birthda ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's 50th birthday, and Doris Metropolitan was her choice. Steaks were good, but not outstanding (check out Doe's Eat Place in Greenville, Mississippi, for a superior beef experience). Our waitress was fabulous; great smile and terrific service. She could not have been better. One in our party of four ordered a Beefeater martini; the martini was good, but it was NOT Beefeater. The bartender should have informed us that Beefeater wasn't available and allowed a second choice. Biggest complaint was that the food came out too fast. Way too fast. We had enjoyed an appetizer of excellent sweetbreads, but when that plate was removed, all the food seemed to arrive like a lightning bolt. Not pleasant. It felt like the restaurant was trying to turn over the table and move us on. While this place has garnered a lot of praise, New Orleans is full of wonderful eateries that provide a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The restaurant is beautiful and the wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the waiters were wonderful. The rest of the people in our large group really loved the appetizers and steaks. I wasn't a fan of the Classified Steak that I ordered. It was very fatty. The side vegetables were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants! Excellen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! Excellent dining experience. Food, ambiance, wine selection and service are outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. In a city that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love this restaurant. In a city that is all about seafood, this is one of my top 5 restaurants and it is all about steak. Service fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a wonderful restaurant! The food a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! The food and service were wonderful. My only complaint is the people at the table next to us were so loud, we could not hear anything else, so no conversation at our table. Shame.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous meal!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fabulous meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I noticed Doris one day while walking th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I noticed Doris one day while walking through the quarter. I made a mental note to try it out. Oh my gosh, what a pleasant surprise. Wonderful experience. Already planning to go back. Food, service and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Doris Metropolitan for a birt ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at Doris Metropolitan for a birthday dinner. Very good service and the best, they love meet. So fare I had the best steak in town. Even the price was ok. I will recommend the restaurant to my friends to test it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the 31 day aged ribeye 5 stars!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Tried the 31 day aged ribeye 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tables were way too close together.. For ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Tables were way too close together.. For the price the food was just good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

One of the best steaks I've ever had, pl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever had, plus the sides were just as awesome. They also bake their bread in-house and melts in your mouth. The cocktails weren't so shabby either with a perfectly concocted Old Fashion & French 75. We will be back sooner than later

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I originally thought the restaurant was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I originally thought the restaurant was in the Warehouse district in NOLA. Boy was I surprised when I actually saw the address. I typically avoid the French Quarter at all costs due to parking and mainly because i'm a local, i don't really need to frequent the FQ. As i suspected finding parking was a HUGE headache but, I braved it out and found a spot, after searching for 30 minutes. I'd heard the food was excellent and that's the only thing that kept me from skipping out on the reservation completely.

I'm so glad I found a spot!!! This place. The food. The drinks. Everything was absolutely phenomenal! I know going to a restaurant such as this the worst thing you can do is order fries, but i had a hankering for some fries. I ordered the truffle fries as an appetizer, they were DELICIOUS. As was everything else. I ordered the bone-in rib eye cooked medium(first time i tried medium) I was very impressed at the taste of the steak and I had the root puree for a side dish. Everything was absolutely wonderful.

If you're looking for a great steak with great ambiance and tasty drinks, this is definitely the place for you. When reading reviews about the restaurant I thought it was a bit more refined and uppity but i was pleasantly surprised about how upbeat and modern the ambiance is.

The staff was wonderful...friendly, very accommodating and food service was quick.

I would recommend everyone to Doris Metropolitan in a heartbeat!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good and service were wonderful!! A litt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good and service were wonderful!! A little pricey but so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Steak is one of the best anywhere. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Steak is one of the best anywhere. They age it to perfection & it has a lot of flavor. If you love wine their selection is pretty extensive from all over the world. The wait staff is very knowledgeable about the wine & the menu. Our waiter was extremely consciences about making sure we were well taken care of. The décor of the place is cozy & warm. My only complaint is they really need to work on the sides that you order with your steak. It is almost an after thought unlike the rest of the menu. That was the difference between 4 & 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great overall experience. Server was ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great overall experience. Server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Nice wine list. Buck who helped with our wine selection was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meat are amazing!! Service is very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The meat are amazing!! Service is very good . Decoration and atmosphere are like NY

Very good experience for New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great business dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful establishment, a great variety ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful establishment, a great variety of wines and the food is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The steak was very charred on the outsid ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The steak was very charred on the outside and was very fatty. For $55 more than 1/2 had too much fat to eat. Appetizers were good, waiter was very difficult to understand and was dismissive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Every meal I have had here has been bett ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Every meal I have had here has been better than the one before. Latest experience was excellent. A great addition to NOLA French Quarter dining scene with a truly distinctive taste. I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place - the food and service we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fabulous place - the food and service were First Class. No disappointments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a long weekend in the French Qua ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We took a long weekend in the French Quarter and this was our favorite dining experience. Everything from staff to ambiance to the food was excellent. Definitely look forward to going again and would absolutely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Doris has the best steaks in town. It a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Doris has the best steaks in town. It also has the best appetizers in town. The tomato celebration is a must, and the parfait is also a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was exceptionally satisfy ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our experience was exceptionally satisfying, without a doubt we would go back and also recommend to friends and family or anyone coming from out of town.

We live here in NOLA and have access to many fine dining locations, this is one that will remain at the top of our list. One minor issue involving several gnats that we quickly saw on their way to bug heaven . It may have been from the fresh flowers. We were seated by the window on Chartre St and the looks from passerby's of WOW on their faces was priceless.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A friend recommended Doris Metro to us a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A friend recommended Doris Metro to us and we were completely impressed. We arrived 45 min early and sat at the bar which is where we ended up eating. The owners introduced themselves to us and we caught the spirit of their mission with the brand. Very impressive men and we are proud to have shared some time with the owners and staff of this extraordinary establishment! Two locals told us that Doris was their favorite restaurant before we arrived and now we know. The food was incredible, the service unmatched and the vibe was too cool! Well done Doris and Itamar!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steak! Everything from the time of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great steak! Everything from the time of arrival to the end of the meal was great. Service was prompt and not over done. Steaks were prepared exactly to order and delivered in a timely manner. We are going to bring a group next visit to try the "meat plate" that was served at the neighboring table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was beautiful! Service was pe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was beautiful! Service was perfect and food was memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What piqued my interest was the availabi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What piqued my interest was the availability of sweet breads. My dinner started with a decent Martini (cold but not glacial, and without Tanqueray) and an Abita Amber (local beer). I was served an assortment of breads, butters, and dipping olive oil, fresh tomato paste, and balsamic vinegar — breads were interesting; the butters were decent, and the dipping oil mix was very good. Next, I had the sweet breads (noix) — very tender and flavorful. The sweet breads were served on a demi-glace that was very good. This dish also had an assortment of details, like creamy, cheesy boba, but the highlights were the sweetbreads themselves, and the demi-glace. The entrée was fresh Gulf fish served with Israeli couscous. This was an interesting dish — quite a departure from the way I typically eat fish. This fish was very well prepared, with a very intense, multi-dimensional hot spiciness. I finished my meal with the Kadaif nest. It was very good, but could have benefitted from a firmer cream — Chantilly perhaps. Kudos to my table server (Paul) who was extremely efficient and unobtrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My new favorite spot! Amazing food, grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My new favorite spot! Amazing food, great atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my parents who came to visit from C ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Took my parents who came to visit from California. We absolutely loved the food along with the experience. We will be coming back for sure. It was a pricy meal but worth it. Thanks again for the great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Food and Unbelievable Service. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great Food and Unbelievable Service. Truly a "Must-Do" when you're in the French Quarter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nothing to say. Great Place.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Nothing to say. Great Place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service. The appetizers wer ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding service. The appetizers were exceptional but the steaks, while good, were nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Spectacular!!! Not only met my expectati ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Spectacular!!! Not only met my expectations, but exceeded them! Absolutely the BEST steak restaurant in NOLA!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Doris Metropolitan at lea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been to Doris Metropolitan at least 5 times, however my last visit I did not experience the personal service from my waitress. I had hope to impress my date with the usual presentation of the food menu and the varieties of steaks etc. Overall I love this restaurant, we had a great time, and I can't get a better steak in New Orleans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.