About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: (504) 267-3500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (43)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Cozy (18)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (6)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
779 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great and the service was top notch. I have not had a bad meal. I always recommend to friends and they have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful steakhouse, with delicious cocktails and superb service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Wow! I have walked by this restaurant many times and finally had the pleasure of dining there. Our waiter, Troy, was attentive without being overbearing. The bartender made a very good Old Fashioned and French 75. The wine list was reasonably priced.... the menu is moderately pricey, but the food was well worth every penny. We had the cheese plate and tuna tartare for appetizers. We both had steaks for dinner... cooked to perfection and melted in our mouths. All of this in a dimly lit, romantic setting. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dantay and Atticus were superb as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, our waiter Yan was awesome,he made great suggestions! Best steak I've ever had in my life!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went to Doris Metropolitan two weeks ago and had the meat Board for dinner with my 3 guests. It is where they bring 3 cuts of meat on and the waiter carves it at your table. It was a great meal that night so 2 weeks later I tried it again. The rest of the menu looks great but I think that I will have this every time I eat here. Its a great presentation and great food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A wonderful evening. Great service. Wonderful food. Great wine. Would highly recommend this place and will absolutely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food, a bit pricey but the quality and taste is one of the best in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Doris Metropolitan has never disappointed us. Our waiter, Troy, was very attentive and offered suggestions. We had a very nice Heitz Trailside Vineyard Cab. We started with a cheese plate that also included honey. flavored with blood orange juice. For the main course we had beef tenderloins that were cooked perfectly. The truffle and cheese fries were a very good side dish. We opted to have a little liquid dessert and had a Sauterne tasting, phenomenal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My second visit. The first was better. Overall good, but the beef was disappointing, especially for the price. Portion size was a little small. I'd go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wow.....We showed up early and was seated right away. Service was great and the food even better. Great spot in the French Quarter with great food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Celebrated our 6 year anniversary here and it was amazing. The tuna tartare was our appetizer and it was very flavorful. Our waitress was very polite and made our experience there even better. Our main course we had the tomahawk steak and it was beautifully presented to us. The steak was an explosion of flavor. All you need was freshly ground pepper and their special salt. There was no leftovers! We will be back shortly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best steaks we have ever had and the service was outstanding. Definitely on our list for a return trip to New Orleans!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent meal and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was amazing and the restaurant atmosphere very nice. It was a little pricy, so it would have to be a special occasion for me to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We looked at Trip Advisor to see the list of quality restaurants in New Orleans. Doris Metropolitan was in the top 10. We agree with that ranking. The butcher cut steaks (10oz) were cooked perfectly and extremely tender. The tomato appetizer prepared four ways was outstanding. the side dish of asparagus was cooked perfectly. Yan, our waiter, was outstanding and supported by all the other wait staff. We will return to this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We booked a reservation in advance of our trip to New Orleans for a special meal. It exceeded our expectations and we actually canceled a reservation at a different restaurant to go back before our vacation ended. Food is on point! The Ribeye steak and sea bass are both amazing. I also recommend the Tuna tartar.

The service is beyond amazing. They are knowledgeable and friendly and make you feel catered to without being overbearing our intrusive! Two totally different staffs for two different nights (shifts) same excellent service.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Totally awesome.....Melissa and her staff do an incredible job

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Incredible flavors with all the right touches. Service with knowledge and poise. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Each time my husband and I eat here, we walk away saying we should come back more often. I could eat the Tuna Tartare at least once a day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I really enjoyed all the food we ordered and the service was excellent. The only complaint I had was the noise level was extremely high and I could not hear the person sitting across from me at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was awesome. Please try the meat board. Great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were sad the meal was over. We trustee reviews for ordering.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A traditional steak house in the French Quarter. Nice décor, good wine list, and a “normal” menu for a fine food steak house. Once seated, our party of two was promptly greeted by a polite waitress. She was patient while we ordered and enjoyed our wine (an excellent bottle of Brunello) and perused the menu. Per the seemingly knowledge-based recommendation of our waitress, I ordered a house special—the Classified Cut (9 ounces). My friend ordered a bone-in NY Strip. My steak was excellent. I couldn't identify the cut of meat (she told us it was “Classified”), but it tasted like aged, well-seasoned tenderloin. It was cooked to the medium rare specification I ordered and was lean and delicious. The bone-in NY Strip started out well. My buddy said it tasted great and it seemed to be cooked properly. But, after about a third of the steak was consumed, he noticed that the entire balance was fat and bone. Thus, much of the NY Strip was inedible. We had dined together many times over our 30 year friendship and this was the only time he voiced concern. Our waitress, who was attentive until the entrée arrived, came to the table about 10 minutes after the NY Strip's “issues” were discovered. My friend politely noted the problem. The waitress reacted well, acknowledged all of the fat, and said “I’m going to take care of it.” About 10 minutes later she returned and asked if we wanted dessert. We declined. She didn't mention the NY Strip. I ordered a latte and, then, she brought the check. We asked that she divide it equally and she processed the payment. No compensation. No “I’m sorry” your meal disappointed. Having dined at some of the world’s best steak houses, we were surprised. Doris Metropolitan might have compared favorably with those more renowned establishments. But, once the bad steak was noted and removed, our service went from excellent to virtually non-existent. For that reason I cannot offer a favorable recommendation. I will not return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our last night after a week in the Crescent City and this was hands down the best meal and overall experience of the trip! Tuna Tartare with soy "pearls" is a must as are the humble but outstandingly executed fries. You can't go wrong with any of the carefully sourced and aged steaks, but we split the tomahawk between two couples and all got plenty. A quick word about this Flintstonian affair: It would be difficult to overstate what an amazing cut of beef this was and how expertly it was prepared. Plus it's a noteworthy presentation. But it was all made possible and the reason I'm writing this review is the service. We went with all of Seth's recommendations and his unpretentious guidance made the difference between a really great meal in a city where food is a religion unto itself, and the kind of night the four of us will look back to with fondness for years to come.

Well played, Doris Metropolitan. Well played.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Local Restaurant. Appetizers are outstanding, we ordered 5 and all were delicious. Ordered the 4 oz Wagu Beef, cooked correctly and was darn good!

I was in the food industry for 20+yrs and I am a huge foodie. I would highly recommend this place.

Only downside, our waiter was rather new and all over the place. I realize he was trying hard, but if you need help ask for it. I don't like when I order a drink ahead of my food, so when my food arrives I am able to pair them together , by the time I was done with my dish my beverage was just arriving.

Great Place for Business or Pleasure otherwise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Stumbled across this gem of a restaurant on a business trip. Great food, wine list and desserts. Must try if in NOLA! Bourbon lovers you won't be disappointed with the selection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great steakhouse in the heart of the French Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our meal was absolutely amazing. First time getting the wagyu steak and it was delicious. I wasn't impressed with the dessert though. Everything else was fantastic. Especially the tuna tartare- best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

First night in New Orleans and birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was impeccable. The atmosphere was great. The food was above expectations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Return to the city one year after our first visit to Dori's and immediately headed to Dori's great memories and even better the second time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderful service and great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Perfect meal! From the service to the food, we couldn't have been happier! We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The tuna tartar appetizer was best I have ever had. My fiancé and I both had the 31 day aged ribeye and we more than satisfied. Even the left overs the next day were delicious! To end the evening we wanted something light for dessert. I forgot the name of it but it was vanilla ice cream and espresso- it was the perfect ending to the meal! Very light and fluffy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great Atmosphere and spectacular service. The staff was very focused on our needs. The food was awesome. We will definitely return for another meal.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I ate here mostly to try the tartare which I truly enjoyed. My waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu items and personable. My bone-in aged ribeye was good but certainly not the best I have ever had. Overall better-than-most experience here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were visiting from Chicago and had noted the aging room when we walked past one day. Normally beef is not my go to in NOLA, but we know beauty and the aging room begged to be explored. I found none of my local friends had even heard or been to the restaurant. I brought on local friend and the rest of were from Chicago or London. all foodies and travelers. the only criticism was that the sweet breads were a little over done. They tasted great but were slightly over done. Best aged meat I've had, ever. Thank you for accommodating us even though most were in casual dress. I am moving to Nola this summer and plan to come when I can.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

May be the best steak I have every eaten, definite top 5. The service was outstanding. Very unique menu and cocktails for New Orleans. Excellent decor. Well done and a real experience. Top 5 restaurant I have been to in my life. Go with 31 day aged steak and go hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Outstanding service and possibly the best meal I have ever had. I can't tell you the last time I had desert as I have absolutely no sweet tooth but on the strong recommendation of our server we tried the olive oil cake with lavender ice cream. OMG....IT WAS AWESOME.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Hands down this was the best dinning experience we had in The French Quarter! Our server, Prince, was fantastic. He answered all of our questions without hesitation and made wonderful recommendations.

The food was incredible. Honestly words alone cannot describe how fantastic our meals were.

This is the one place we visited that we will be sure to go back to if we have the pleasure of returning to New Orleans in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Micah was an absolute delight! The meal was awesome and the drinks could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent dinning! The food was wonderful, and the service was great. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Must go if you like quality food, and great presentation. You get what you pay for... quality!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Ambience was nice, limited selection of cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Best meal I had in New Orleans!! Sides are large and can be shared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best NY Strip in town. Dante and his staff treat you like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was in New Orleans for 5 nights for NYE and this was hands-down the best restaurant I experienced. I'm speaking on food, impeccable and impressive service and beautiful ambiance/ décor. I was greeted with beautiful smiles from the hostess and wait staff. All were pulled together, polite, knowledgeable about the menu and know their jobs very well.

I was there for lunch and had the best burger I ever ate in my life. My waiter checked in with perfect frequency, checked if my food was to my liking and kept my Pellegrino glass full.

The décor is lovely throughout including the restroom accessed via courtyard.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great wait staff. Beetroot salad was great. Was there for lunch. We will go back for dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food but nothing I haven't had before as far as the steaks go. I wouldn't not recommend but also would go out of my way to recommend either. The green salad was the best thing we had. It was something to talk about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.