Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Doris Metropolitan

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan where, an elegantly designed dining room, high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine, a fine spirits selection, and a unique ambiance all combine to make your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Eric Sibley

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Rogers: (504) 267-3500

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for a Date (50)
See All
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (44)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Business Meals (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Authentic (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
People Watching (9)
Historic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

The steaks were the highlight but did not steal the show, cocktails and appetizers were equally superb if not better. Service was excellent, an overall great experience that we wouldn't hesitate to repeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous meats - I must go for serious carnivores that appreciate well-aged steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

I was told about Doris Metropolitan by a concierge for my girlfriends bday and it was perfect. I will highly recommend Doris Metropolitan to all of the guests in my hotel. I loved it

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

So loud - I had to yell at my husband across the table from me to be heard. I could not even hear the waiter. He had to keep repeating himself and leaning down to be heard. Mostly tired to finish dinner quickly to we could leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This is hands down the best restaurant in the New Orleans area. There is a glassed in meat room where they age their meats. It's beautiful.

We always order at least two appetizers-- calamari and tuna tartar are our favorites. Next would be the sweet breads. I love their filet and fries. Doris has authentic waygu beef at a hearty price of course.
Nick makes the best hand craft cocktails. Dessert is a must and so is an dessert cocktail.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our first time dining here and it was by far one of our favorite restaurants! Food was top notch, lively, happening atmosphere and service was excellent. Perfect date night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of the best in the city, if you can get a reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The bread was fabulous too. Our server was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our waiter, Troy, was awesome and very attentive. The calamari salad and cured fish bruschetta were both amazing!! Most of our entrees were good but not fantastic. The sea bass was way too salty. One person ordered the butchers cut and loved It! The drinks and wine selection were top notch. Overall it was a good experience. Next time we will probably stick with just appetizers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

They need to sharpen their steak knives. They were so dull I could barely cut my meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Loved it. Anniversary was perfect

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A fantastic restaurant with excellent service, I ordered the short ribs but the manager sent me home with two bones suitable for my dogs. This place went above a beyond what I would expect highly recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went on a Sunday night to end our trip and was great!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

5 cut chef's choice steak board an unparalleled experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter it was great here!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The porterhouse was very fatty and veiny. It was not cooked medium as ordered. For ambience, the cheap plywood topped table could have easily been dressed up with a table cloth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We originally heard of this restaurant over a year ago and were anxious to finally get to NOLA to try it out. We were not disappointed. We had a gentleman next to us who was celebrating his 70th birthday, he was a local, who said he would not celebrate anywhere else. We understand now. We had the rib-eyes and the flavor, juiciness, and the tenderness were unbelievable! We're from the West Coast, and will be on the hunt for something similar, but I have little hope of finding it. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

For the first time since going here, I was disappointed in the wait staff. Perhaps she was having an off day-but it was not the outgoing and friendly service I have become accustomed to.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Outstanding service and food. Excellent wine list, unpretentious being on the pricey side. The experience was worth every penny.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent as always. Not cheap but an amazing steak

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This place is EXCEPTIONAL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Best meal in Nola! Tuna Tartare is delicious. Beet salad was unique and very tasty. The filet was the best in Nola. Great atmosphere and service!! Love Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Doris Metropolitan is a fine dining establishment that I've been eyeballing for my last several visits to NOLA (I'm a frequent visitor). If what you're looking for is a place for properly aged, super high quality beef, then this is the place for you. Every course was divine, the service impeccable, the wine outstanding. It was definitely a splurge, but a glorious one. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and even more amazing food, Will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Steaks are melt in your mouth and mine came with bone marrow which you don't find very often. Appetizers were delicious and dessert, wonderful. Perfect evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The best of the best ! Great city with many options. This is truly a special place, a hidden gem. The team really caters to the needs of the guest. Unique dishes and great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Doris has a great atmosphere in a great building in the French Quarter. The service was good, not excellent - I didn't find the waiter to be that knowledgeable about the wine list. The food was good, but not great - which I would expect for a steakhouse that charges more than most for its steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was our fourth time at Doris Metropolitan. It used to be one of our absolute favorite restaurants with some of the best steak ever. The food has really dropped in quality. The cheese plate was three fairly uninteresting one ounce cheese squares for $20. The 31 day aged NY strip was tough, tasteless and overcooked. I ate less than half of the replacement steak as it was again overcooked, tasteless and tough. The filet was bland. It wasn't just us. The table next to us also sent back their steak and gave up on the second try. The service was fantastic, but overall we were disappointed and won't be back. There are too many other good restaurants in NOLA.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's hard to figure whether to write about the service or the food first. We three dominated a prime table for HOURS, arriving early, separately, and staying late. YET, there was never a hint of impatience from anyone on the staff or in the room. The food was amazing. I find most restaurant food way too salty, but Doris serves a nice variety of sweet, neutral and savory so each person can balance their needs and wishes. From appetizers to bread basket, from aperitif to magnificent Amarone, the food made us stay and stay. Lovely family get together was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I just love a low-key restaurant that know what it's doing. It was unpretentious in setting, welcoming in service and the food was very good too. I had the scallops (special) and they were very good. My husband had the ribeye and really enjoyed it too. We will be returning!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Great that fish was on the menu as I don't eat meat. However, my best friend loved the filet mignon and commented that it was the best that she's ever had. I will definitely dine there again on my next get-away to NoLa.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Beautiful addition to French Quarter restaurants. Dry aged steaks some of best I've had. Very different appetizer style threw us at first , but with waitress help ending up being outstanding. Very nice evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We just loved everything about our meal here! Fabulous tenderloin and fish! Attention to detail was great! Our waiter cared about my husband's nut allergy and took great care of us! We'll dine there again! Minnie and Ed Skinner

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 3, 2017

So many wonderful places to visit in NOLA and this was once a fav. No so much anymore.
Dont get me wrong the food was great but comparied to so many other great places now in NOLA this one is now fallen down the list. Wine list is great...other than no Merlot by the glass...
The major issue we had was service.. We had a female and she was just not interested in serving us. (2 females)The other tables in the room never had to locate their server... Honestly we left early due to this... Think i will skip this spot on my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were excited to come to this venue. However, from first entrance into the restaurant, there were multiple individuals who were quite rude and gave the persona that we weren't quite good enough to be in their establishment. Never judge a book by its cover. Your ladies at the front area were quite cordial but the management was very specific about who they visited with. I would never return. Food was far from good...mediocre at best and service was subpar. We spent far less than we normally would have on extras such as drinks etc had we really enjoyed the atmosphere. No thanks...many other places to spend our money that we actually enjoy visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best steak ever! I had the 31 day Dry aged prime rib eye. Absolutely delicious. Service was very good although we were irritated about the pushy server when it came to ordering wine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Pretty disappointing. Went here after reading it had a great steak and lovely atmosphere. Recieved a subpar low flavor steak, a forgotten bottle of wine from the server, and an atmosphere as far from a steak house as you can get.

Maybe it was just the night we went but if we are coming to spend some money away from bourbon street it would of been nice to be able to even hear my date. Ended up cutting our whole meal short and grabbing dessert and drinks around the corner for a much better price and infinitely better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

food and service were exceptional with a good patio along the trollie route

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 29, 2017

It may be ignorance on my part but I have never had "aged" beef before. After looking at the prices, the two of us opted for a 32 oz porterhouse steak for us to split. It seemed to shave off about $20 . Half of the cut was like a filet and half like a New York strip. I have never had such a dry piece of beef in my life and have never been so disappointed. For the two of us with appetizers , main course and asparagus side with 2 glasses of wine, no dissert, the bill including tip was $207. Not memorable and will not go back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful evening with friends!! We absolutely adored the food and the romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.