About Doris Metropolitan

620 Chartres
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doris Metropolitan, an elegant designed dining room that combines high quality dry aged beef along with other exotic dishes, an extensive wine and fine liquors selections and a unique ambiance will make of your visit a magnificent gastronomic experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilkenson St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 267-3500

Website:
http://www.dorismetropolitan.com/

Executive Chef:
Sash Kurgan

Private Party Facilities:
At Doris we offer a stunning private room for your events and special occasions. Our professional staff has the expertise to deliver a unique event tailored to your needs.
For more info, please contact us ---------------

Private Party Contact:
Itai Ben Eli: 5042673500x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Doris Metropolitan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans / Louisiana
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (112)
fit for foodies (99)
notable wine list (76)
See All
romantic (76)
hot spot (44)
neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for lunch (10)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, amazing service and a great ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Great food, amazing service and a great venue, wish Iived closer by!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and outstanding service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding meal and outstanding service. The restaurant was packed; nevertheless, we received amazing service. The aged steaks are phenomenal. It is a pricey restaurant, but you will leave satisfied; never doubting you got your money's worth. A great place for an anniversary or special event. We got to witness the manager and staff handle a small mix up with a customer, they were courteous, professional and fast. A wonderful addition to the French Quarter and fantastic restaurant all around. Definitely raising the bar for steaks and restaurants in general in the city (New Orleans).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The steaks were, by far, some of the bes ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The steaks were, by far, some of the best we have had. Not a complaint about the meal accept we should've order the steak tartare as an appetizer, also. Next time. I'm not crazy about tables by the hostess station. We requested a 4 top by a window but were told there were no 4 tops by the window. I can't say our table location was prime but I'm pretty picky, well very picky when it comes to table location. The waitress and service made up for it but next time I will request a different table because I know we will be back. Great cocktails, too. Table of 4 and all of our steaks were cooked to our desired temperatures. I love it when you ask for medium rare and you GET medium rare! Good job Doris. We only live an hour away but will definitely make a trip back into the city just to dine with you. Our table ordered tenderloins, bone in NY strips and rib eyes!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks and appetizers... This was ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great steaks and appetizers... This was my 10th-12th visit

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've had plus a bottle of exc ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Best steak I've had plus a bottle of excellent wine. Really friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our favorite restaurant in Nola! ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

It was our favorite restaurant in Nola! Way better then R'evolution. The tomato salad is a must. I'm still dreaming about it

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Doris Metropolitan was outstanding in ev ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Doris Metropolitan was outstanding in every way! We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my favorite restaurant during o ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This was my favorite restaurant during our NOLA trip! We started with fabulous cocktails and beetroot supreme appetizer which we really enjoyed. My husband got the Japanese Wagyu steak which he extremely enjoyed. I had the artichoke flower salad which has got to be one of my favorite dishes ever. I loved the tzatziki sauce! I also had a side of roasted vegetables that were fabulous, especially the okra! Overall a great experience! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in New Orleans !!!!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Best steak in New Orleans !!!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Really nice wine service / pairings Exc ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Really nice wine service / pairings Excellent appetizers and salad Good streak and sides Nice dessert Great coffee and tea Expensive but a lovely treat

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience as always. You must ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful experience as always. You must try this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for both seafood and meat lovers

Dined on June 1, 2016

Great service, food and servings from a to z. Wine list that can be trusted, even BTG (They do use coravin for certain BTG servings, and they'll tell you how many days its been coravin'd) Recommended- well, basically all. Not sure which wine to match? ask them. They won't 'upsell' you, they'd get something that match your taste

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse in the city

Dined on May 30, 2016

This is the best place for steak. The service is excellent, the wine list is amazing, and the steak is the best steak ever!! I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic meal

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This is the "one" place my wife and I go to, every time we visit New Orleans. We have never had a bad meal there, and consider this to be the place to eat a fantastic steak. The staff was very customer oriented, and helpful with a few choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great, close parking, wonderful food & s ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great, close parking, wonderful food & service. Enjoyed butchers cut steak, classic cut,too. Beet salad wonderful🍴

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience, service and food were all top- ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Ambience, service and food were all top-notch! LOVE this place!

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It is ala cart. The best part of the mea ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

It is ala cart. The best part of the meal were the sides. I guess I'm not into aged beef which is their specialty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing everything!

Dined on May 24, 2016

My husband and I visit Doris everytime we are in New Orleans. The classified steak dinner is perhaps the best meal you'll ever enjoy. I've been to steak houses all over North America, and by far, Doris Metropolitan continues to be my favourite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Impeccable service, delicious food in stylish surroundings!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the decore, the ambiance, the service was lovely

Dined on May 22, 2016

However, the steaks as tender and juicy as they were were so over seasoned we could not finish them. Best to ask them to under season them. The breads, and sides and salads were extraordinary and made up for the overly spiced steaks!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Gem in the middle of the Quarter! Staff ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Gem in the middle of the Quarter! Staff was superb! Mixologist is great!

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

My friend and I split the 18 oz ribeye a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My friend and I split the 18 oz ribeye and it was quite chewy and not especially flavorful. The asparagus au gratin, truffle fries and grilled vegetables were all pretty average. The one delicious thing we had was the sweetbreads. Service was excellent though and the restaurant itself is very attractive.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

appetizers

Dined on May 17, 2016

Waitress would not allow us to order appetizers and enjoy our drinks prior to ordering entrees I asked twice and was told it is the managers policy. I will not return and have brought customer there the past 2 years for at least 15-20 dinners

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner in all respects! The sh ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent dinner in all respects! The short ribs were outstanding and the lamb chops were incredible. Highly recommend Doris!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great Setting & Food

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I have wanted to go to Doris Metropolitan for a while. Finally got the opportunity to go and the food, service, and setting were outstanding. Our server, Bonnie, did a great job of taking care of us. The food was expertly prepared and presented beautifully. The setting was just right for a romantic dinner. My only caveat is the prices. Apps are in the $15-$20 range and the average entree is $35-$45. While the food was very good, its tough to reconcile a 9oz steak with it's $46 menu price. My wife's fish was great quality and nicely prepared, but it could be found in a half dozen other restaurants at half the price. Dinner for two with two cocktails, two apps, two entrees, and a shared dessert was $250 with tip. We brought our own wine (we'd been saving for a special occasion) and paid an exorbitant $35 corkage. Will we return? Maybe. Got to start saving up for the next one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Doris is simply the best!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Doris is simply the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal at Doris Metropolitan! They have a great wine list but it is pricey. The bread and butter is great to start (three different types of butter) - Plus oil and vinegar. My wife and I shared the bruschetta appetizer which was delicious. We then split the porter house for our entree. It was cooked perfectly and tasted great. Between the bread, appetizer, and entree (plus wine) we were too full for dessert. Our server was friendly and very attentive. We had a seat next to the window which made dinner very entertaining as we could watch people on the street. This restaurant is expensive but worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Here for a visit

Dined on May 13, 2016

I found this restaurant on trip advisor, and being a steak lover I am glad i did. The Ribeye was probably the best I've ever had…plus we met Doris!!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Even if you don't like beets (like me) y ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Even if you don't like beets (like me) you have order the beet! The bone-in tenderloin is outstanding. It was more than enough for four.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed the meal had a meat board ,st ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed the meal had a meat board ,staff was excellent ambience was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in New Orleans by far.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Best steak in New Orleans by far.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I have ever had

Dined on May 10, 2016

Best steak I have ever had

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we had a very enjoyable dining experienc ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

we had a very enjoyable dining experience. The food, service and atmosphere was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good piece of meat

Dined on May 10, 2016

The scene is definitely upscale and elegant with a lovely courtyard dining area. I had to minus one star because they could not transfer the bar tab to the table. If a restaurant is going to host business dinners, they should be able to transfer bar tabs to the table for the ease and convenience of the customer. Mot top notch restaurants do that. As far as the service, it was friendly and good, but not in the top category as I would have expected for a restaurant with this reputation. Example, "what should I have here that I can't get anywhere else"?, Answer, "You can get a steak anywhere". That was not the answer of a person who knows their menu, or knows how to explain the nuances of their product over their competitors. Now to the meal. The portions were excellent and the quality of the meat was very good. The short rib was the star of the meal. The 21 day NY strip was beautifully cooked, and had decent flavor. The sides were small and non descript especially the truffle fries with parmesan which had little or no truffle nor parmesan. The prices were extremely high for what you get. In summary, this is a solid 3 star restaurant in a market of 5 star restaurants. I'm glad I tried it, but I'm not sure I'd return or recommend.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was tucked away in a ver ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This restaurant was tucked away in a very cool part of NOLA. The food was outstanding and service excellent. Don't miss out on the tuna carpaccio.. a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars all around.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service, decor, menu selections. Attentive wait staff without over doing it, food fit for a magazine cover.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Professional and Warm

Dined on May 8, 2016

I sat at the bar during a business trip, and could not have had better service than CJ and the rest of the bar staff. Food - steak made in a sous-vide, a first for me. Juicy with great color, very good and highly recommended. The smallest steak on the menu and delish. The bartender paired the steak with a crisp Rose. Dessert was a chocolate dish, not too sweet but sweet enough. Nice crowd, friendly people.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The steaks were excellent and the best I ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The steaks were excellent and the best I have tasted in New Orleans. Serving crew could have been a bit more attentive . The ambience was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was fantastic. There were multiple different breads and butters to start followed by amazing meat appetizers. We both ordered the filet and it was cooked perfectly and the presentation made everything better. Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing. Definitely would go back for a good steak if I was in town again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.