Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Don's Seafood - Lafayette

In 1934, with four hundred dollars borrowed from his uncle, Don Landry opened Don"s Beer Parlor in downtown Lafayette, a casual hangout with a dirt floor where friendly folks served cold drinks and simple dishes. Soon after, Don joined forces with his family and created what we know today as Don's Seafood. The Don's experience became a true Cajun Experience. The restaurant and staff may have changed since 1934, but one thing remains the same, Don's dedication to serving fine Cajun food. The Landry family and their partners have developed a recipe for success across the Gulf Coast with six thriving locations. Thank you for being a part of our history , and we invite you to be a part of our future.

4309 Johnston Street
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Cajun, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brentwood Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-1141

Website:
http://donsseafoodonline.com/

Entertainment:
Oyster Bar & Grill

Catering:
Catering menu available at donsseafoodonline.com

Public Transit:
Bus Stops in front of restaurant

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Don's Seafood - Lafayette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

5.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
See All
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Gumbo was really bad. Returned it twice. Ordered seafood platter instead. No French fries, no tartar sauce, soggy fried shrimp, oysters, etc. We didn't eat much of the seafood platter. Asked for our bill and left. Probably won't go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was very good and the prices were appropriate. It was a little loud however an l s u football game was being broadcast live during our meal time.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As always the food was delicious and the service impeccable! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. Drinks were very good. This was our first time to here but it will not be our last.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I am a local and dine at Don's Seafood about once a month. I enjoy seating in the bar area. The food is great. Great place for Cajun food.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have lived in Lafayette all my adult life and I am a true Cajun. If you in Lafayette from out of town and want to have great Cajun food, go to Don's on Johnston St not Downtown. If you want to meet and talk to locals sit at the bar and have dinner. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great place for any meal love the oyster. thanks for all

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very good food and exceptional service made for a pleasant lunch. Our waitress, Cece, was just the nicest and most accommodating person you could hope for in a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Took clients here for a afternoon meeting. It was great except for the people that couldn't control their kids sitting next to us but that's not Dons fault!! Food & Drinks were excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is acceptable but not outstanding prompting a return trip. There are a lot of good restaurants in Lafayette. What will never be acceptable to me is wilted and brown, out of date lettuce..Come on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Otters were great.Service was great enjoyed the price of food for value of price

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2016

A little disappointed in the food quality. My daughter ordered seared tuna and it was so rubbery that she could not eat it. That being said, they graciously did not charge us and apologized. Grilled oysters were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2016

On a cross country trip. My adult sons have spent time in Lafayette and New Orleans. They raved about the food. So we stay over at Lafayette and a lady at Hampton Suites recommended this Don's.
We arrived on all you can eat shrimp night. Appealing but not exactly what we were looking for.
I ordered a dozen oysters on the half shell...they were so sweet and large, I ordered a second dozen...I eat them the martin way...just pepper.
My wife had the gumbo....first time for her...loved it. Main course for her..etouffe..shrimp.
I had the soft shelled crabs. Ordered two...but one would have been enough...waiter was friendly and helpful....looked like Seth Rogen. Great place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was outstanding. The atmosphere is casual but nice. The food is always dependably good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Loved the crab fingers, service was good, and cocktails were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was ok. A lot of fried food available (not a good thing). Crawfish bisque was roux based so not creamy, but had a large lump of uncooked roux stodge in the soup. Taste was good for the most part. Service was pleasant but very slow after the appetizer. I would imagine it would be a good place for a group of people as the slow pace would be more acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2016

great place to eat low price on food great ouster and great staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Party of 6. Steaks had no flavor. 10oz Ribeye tough and no flavor. Filet Migon had no flavor. Grilled marinated chicken tough. No green salad. Seafood player was just ok not great. Very over priced. 11 dollars for a uncorking fee????
Never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2015

the server did a good job.. however it took longer than 30 min to get oysters and drinks.. don't go if you're in a rush.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2015

The OpenTable reservation worked flawlessly from the Google Maps application which made it much more convenient to dine out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2015

I travel from Chicago 1-2 times each year and never miss enjoying a meal at Don's Seafood Hut. The soft shelled crabs were out of this world! Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Our server Daniel was EXCEPTIONAL! He was prompt and great with our kids!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2015

The owner contacted us quickly to address our concerns about the rude attitude of our waitress, Melodie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2015

We had the crawfish special and it was EXCELLENT! I can't wait for next Tuesday to do it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2015

we took my Mother there for Mothers Day, it was our very first time and it was delicious! It was plenty of food and everything was very good! The service was excellent! We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2015

We had a crab dinner and a seafood platter. Every item was tasty. We sat next to a window with bamboo and seasonal bloomers within sight. It was a lovely mid-day experience for Good Friday.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2015

There was no reason to make a reservation when multiple tables were open. It was awful food. Everything seemed to be deepfried with no flavoring. Ordered the shrimp dinner and it was nothing but grease and breading and dry tasting. Very misleading on the menu. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2015

The seafood platter is an excellent variety of fried seafood, and on Tuesday it is on special at a discounted price. I always enjoy my meal at Don's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 30, 2014

Waiter was prompt, courteous, and kept orders straight. Food arrived hot, and in required order. Glasses were kept refilled. Food was as described on menu, presented nicely. Seafood is wonderful in Lafayette, and Don's Seafood Hut knows how to prepare it well. Between us, we had shrimp, raw oysters, crab au gratin, and blackened redfish, and all were quite delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2014

It was a nice place for a good meal and a nice conversation, with a small group of friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2014

This is our "go-to" place for seafood, and just good food in general. The food is great, the prices are reasonable, the service is great. If you have special needs or requests, they take care of them. It is never to loud and the atmosphere is pleasant. The place is clean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 20, 2014

Awesome food and great atmosphere. We had a group of 10 and the waitress never missed a beat. She was on time with everything. We never had to ask for drink refills or anything else.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 10, 2014

Took Mom out for Mother's Day the night before and enjoyed everything about the Hut. I'd made reservations and was seated promptly. Our waiter, John, saw about us quickly and efficiently and was friendly and outgoing. BOGO margaritas were well enjoyed. We both ordered the Cajun Fried Rice and it was better than I remember. Food did take a very long time to arrive, but it was a busy night.

I Worked at the Hut as a server from 1989-1996 and was impressed by the overall look of the place. Excellent décor. The oyster grill is a thing of beauty.
Overall, a very enjoyable experience and will be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 27, 2014

We have eaten and Don's Seafood Hut on Johnston St. many times and have come to expect excellent food, service and moderate prices. So we recommended to another couple that we meet there for lunch we expected the same and were a little disappointed. The crab finger appetizers tasted off flavor, the crawfish bisque (usually among the best I have had) was strong flavored indicating old or frozen crawfish when the fresh supply is abundant now. Pepper Jack shrimp were excellent. One guest wanted Red Snapper and was told they were out of it. So overall a disappointment considering expectations.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 9, 2014

We had a nice lunch. I had the catfish and my husband had shrimp. The food was good but a bit spicy for me.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 1, 2014

The food and staff is worth it to have a nice time out

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2014

Aside from the huge list of beverages, the oysters were a hit!
We enjoyed several dozen raw oysters on the half shell as well as the Jacked Up Oysters.
The atmosphere was great for visiting with freinds, the staff was very accomidating, and the food was delecious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 22, 2014

The food was awsome and service was very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2014

I thought the menu was limited and very predictable for this type of restaurant. Grilled oysters were good. Stuffed catifsh lacked seasoning. Seafood platter was just ok. None of the side dishes offered were very creative. My wife's cocktail was not good. I realize it was not the restaurant's fault, but there happened to be a large table with fans of that night's ULL game, and they were so LOUD you could hear them from any point inside the restaurant! This was our first visit and perhaps it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.