Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Don's Seafood - Lafayette

In 1934, with four hundred dollars borrowed from his uncle, Don Landry opened Don"s Beer Parlor in downtown Lafayette, a casual hangout with a dirt floor where friendly folks served cold drinks and simple dishes. Soon after, Don joined forces with his family and created what we know today as Don's Seafood. The Don's experience became a true Cajun Experience. The restaurant and staff may have changed since 1934, but one thing remains the same, Don's dedication to serving fine Cajun food. The Landry family and their partners have developed a recipe for success across the Gulf Coast with six thriving locations. Thank you for being a part of our history , and we invite you to be a part of our future.

4309 Johnston Street
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Cajun, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brentwood Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 981-1141

Website:
http://donsseafoodonline.com/

Entertainment:
Oyster Bar & Grill

Catering:
Catering menu available at donsseafoodonline.com

Public Transit:
Bus Stops in front of restaurant

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Don's Seafood - Lafayette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort by
S
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We are traveling from California to home in Florida and decided to B&B in Lafayette. We made reservations for New Years Eve dinner. We arrived early to have a drink before dinner. Plenty of parking. Being New Years Eve it was pretty crowded and loud in the bar as expected. We were able to find a seat at the bar after a few minutes. Kevin working the bar was good and efficient. Ordered a few drinks and crab claws...awesome. at our reservation tome we were seated. Daniel was our friendly and attentive server. Food fresh and hot and drinks were great. Overall being New Years Eve this place has a very experienced staff that knows how to work a large crowd like we had. Highly recommend Don's on Johnston St. Lafayette, LA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Don’s! The food was awesome and the service was exceptional!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

I had high hopes that this restaurant would be just what I was wanting, but it just seemed somewhat bland, and was kind of pricey for price/food ratio. I don't mind paying high dollar for high dollar taste. But this wasn't the case. I must say that I was disappointed 😳

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Made a Christmas Eve reservation for 5 with OpenTable, and were seated right away (guy right before us was told it would be a 1-1/2 hr wait for 6). Great service, great food! Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2017

We decided to go to Don’s on the spur of the moment. Glad we were able to get reservations because the food was great. The fried oysters were wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

Eating at Don's is always a delight. Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. We chose it for our anniversary dinner and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Overpriced, loud and slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food is always so good. We were somewhat disappointed with the quality and service. My brother in law ordered seafood gumbo and it came out warm at best. He told the server and she seemed annoyed by him sending the food back. The gumbo came back--in the same bowl--looks like they heated it up in the microwave instead of giving him a fresh bowl (we know this because he had added the rice which usually comes on the side). We were very put off by this. Onion ring appetizer was not hot. All the other food was fine. We'll give it another try, another day and are hopeful things improve!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We brought some family from out-of-state for a taste of Louisiana food and were overall pleased with Don's. The staff was very attentive, courteous, and helpful with suggestions. The food was also good, everyone was very happy to try the gator and char-broiled oysters on the appetizer menu. It was a bit pricey for the entrees but overall a good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I’m not so sure why this restaurant is usually rated highly. It was incredibly noisy and the food, at best, was mediocre. The Don’s seafood platter sounded good but everything on it was fried and it all tasted the same. There was mostly catfish with only one stuffed shrimp, four fried shrimp, two fried oysters and four hush puppies. The wait staff was friendly and wished us Happy Anniversary since we were there to celebrate.
I had really looked forward to this night out and some good food but was sorely disappointed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and amazing food. My bartender Austin was amazing and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I was in from out of town and heard that Don's had great seafood. I ordered the boiled shrimp, it was $20. They give you plenty of shrimp but it's in the shell, that's not a big problem but the shell wasn't split and the mud vein cleaned out! It was like chewing on a sandy shrimp! I think for the money, the shrimp should have the mud vein removed. If I ever go back I guess I won't be ordering the boiled shrimp!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Gumbo was really bad. Returned it twice. Ordered seafood platter instead. No French fries, no tartar sauce, soggy fried shrimp, oysters, etc. We didn't eat much of the seafood platter. Asked for our bill and left. Probably won't go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was very good and the prices were appropriate. It was a little loud however an l s u football game was being broadcast live during our meal time.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As always the food was delicious and the service impeccable! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. Drinks were very good. This was our first time to here but it will not be our last.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I am a local and dine at Don's Seafood about once a month. I enjoy seating in the bar area. The food is great. Great place for Cajun food.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Casual, Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have lived in Lafayette all my adult life and I am a true Cajun. If you in Lafayette from out of town and want to have great Cajun food, go to Don's on Johnston St not Downtown. If you want to meet and talk to locals sit at the bar and have dinner. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great place for any meal love the oyster. thanks for all

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very good food and exceptional service made for a pleasant lunch. Our waitress, Cece, was just the nicest and most accommodating person you could hope for in a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Took clients here for a afternoon meeting. It was great except for the people that couldn't control their kids sitting next to us but that's not Dons fault!! Food & Drinks were excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is acceptable but not outstanding prompting a return trip. There are a lot of good restaurants in Lafayette. What will never be acceptable to me is wilted and brown, out of date lettuce..Come on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Otters were great.Service was great enjoyed the price of food for value of price

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2016

A little disappointed in the food quality. My daughter ordered seared tuna and it was so rubbery that she could not eat it. That being said, they graciously did not charge us and apologized. Grilled oysters were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2016

On a cross country trip. My adult sons have spent time in Lafayette and New Orleans. They raved about the food. So we stay over at Lafayette and a lady at Hampton Suites recommended this Don's.
We arrived on all you can eat shrimp night. Appealing but not exactly what we were looking for.
I ordered a dozen oysters on the half shell...they were so sweet and large, I ordered a second dozen...I eat them the martin way...just pepper.
My wife had the gumbo....first time for her...loved it. Main course for her..etouffe..shrimp.
I had the soft shelled crabs. Ordered two...but one would have been enough...waiter was friendly and helpful....looked like Seth Rogen. Great place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was outstanding. The atmosphere is casual but nice. The food is always dependably good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Loved the crab fingers, service was good, and cocktails were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was ok. A lot of fried food available (not a good thing). Crawfish bisque was roux based so not creamy, but had a large lump of uncooked roux stodge in the soup. Taste was good for the most part. Service was pleasant but very slow after the appetizer. I would imagine it would be a good place for a group of people as the slow pace would be more acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2016

great place to eat low price on food great ouster and great staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Party of 6. Steaks had no flavor. 10oz Ribeye tough and no flavor. Filet Migon had no flavor. Grilled marinated chicken tough. No green salad. Seafood player was just ok not great. Very over priced. 11 dollars for a uncorking fee????
Never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2015

the server did a good job.. however it took longer than 30 min to get oysters and drinks.. don't go if you're in a rush.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2015

The OpenTable reservation worked flawlessly from the Google Maps application which made it much more convenient to dine out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2015

I travel from Chicago 1-2 times each year and never miss enjoying a meal at Don's Seafood Hut. The soft shelled crabs were out of this world! Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Our server Daniel was EXCEPTIONAL! He was prompt and great with our kids!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2015

The owner contacted us quickly to address our concerns about the rude attitude of our waitress, Melodie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2015

We had the crawfish special and it was EXCELLENT! I can't wait for next Tuesday to do it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2015

we took my Mother there for Mothers Day, it was our very first time and it was delicious! It was plenty of food and everything was very good! The service was excellent! We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2015

We had a crab dinner and a seafood platter. Every item was tasty. We sat next to a window with bamboo and seasonal bloomers within sight. It was a lovely mid-day experience for Good Friday.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.