Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Don's Seafood - Lafayette

4.3
81 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
  • Kid-friendly
In 1934, with four hundred dollars borrowed from his uncle, Don Landry opened Don"s Beer Parlor in downtown Lafayette, a casual hangout with a dirt floor where friendly folks served cold drinks and simple dishes. Soon after, Don joined forces with his family and created what we know today as Don's Seafood. The Don's experience became a true Cajun Experience. The restaurant and staff may have changed since 1934, but one thing remains the same, Don's dedication to serving fine Cajun food. The Landry family and their partners have developed a recipe for success across the Gulf Coast with six thriving locations. Thank you for being a part of our history , and we invite you to be a part of our future.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Cajun, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(337) 981-1141
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering menu available at donsseafoodonline.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Brentwood Blvd.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus Stops in front of restaurant
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Oyster Bar & Grill
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 81 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.7
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 3 days ago

Father’s Day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Food was good not great
Service very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Enjoyed late Mother’s Day lunch. Every enjoyed their lunch. Food was great and service was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We made reservations for our 28th anniversary online. Not a huge deal but no one mentioned it at all. Portions were moderate in size and taste was good overall. One thing that really needs to be addressed is the poboys. For an authentic Cajun kitchen I was very disappointed when my daughter ordered the shrimp poboy and it came out on a very dry bun with no dressing no toasted butter buns or anything other than lettuce, tomatoes and shrimp. That was it. I expected a little more than that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was good. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. I will be back to enjoy the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Huge tasty oysters! The fried crab fingers, fried shrimp & shrimp etouffee were delicious. The pecan cobbler was one of a kind awesome! We loved all the historical family memorabilia. Don't miss eating at DON'S!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great Cajun food! This is a place that locals love!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Oysters were served cold. Replacement did not come until I reminded manager and after everyone else had finished their meals, leaving me to eat alone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great food and service. Excellent oysters

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 15, 2018

My gf and I went on a date. She order the shrimp dinner platter with all of the shrimp entries. Majority of the shrimp included in the meal was half cooked. The gumbo was bland and just tasted like gravy and rice. We constantly had to call the waiter back to have her remake some dishes in the order. We eventually sent the whole order back. Although I must add that the seafood spinach dip was great and the waiter was great as well and she was training someone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Good food and awesome service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Absolutely fantastic service. Olivia took care of us as well as a table of 15 and never missed a beat. Will not pass by another opportunity to go back. Great local food options perfectly prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Our waitress was AMAZING!!!! Very attentive and super sweet. Food was good. We went on a Friday night during lent so it was very busy and very loud. But we will be going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

I dined here for Valentine’s Day with my husband. Our food was DELICIOUS and our server was attentive and friendly. We’ll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We enjoyed our evening at Don's. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent food and very relaxing atmosphere. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

I couldn't pick a better place to enjoy a fabulous meal when I come home to visit. I have never had a disappointing meal and I doubt I ever will. Enjoyed a family get together with my 86 and 90 year old Aunties. Just the best! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Food was excellent as always our waitress was awesome

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

The best chargrilled oysters and gumbo ever!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was fair at best. The ribeye was overdone, tough, while the filet was undercooked. However, my daughter loved her gumbo. Even though I had indicated on Open Table that we were celebrating a birthday, this was not acknowledged by staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We are traveling from California to home in Florida and decided to B&B in Lafayette. We made reservations for New Years Eve dinner. We arrived early to have a drink before dinner. Plenty of parking. Being New Years Eve it was pretty crowded and loud in the bar as expected. We were able to find a seat at the bar after a few minutes. Kevin working the bar was good and efficient. Ordered a few drinks and crab claws...awesome. at our reservation tome we were seated. Daniel was our friendly and attentive server. Food fresh and hot and drinks were great. Overall being New Years Eve this place has a very experienced staff that knows how to work a large crowd like we had. Highly recommend Don's on Johnston St. Lafayette, LA

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Don’s! The food was awesome and the service was exceptional!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2017

I had high hopes that this restaurant would be just what I was wanting, but it just seemed somewhat bland, and was kind of pricey for price/food ratio. I don't mind paying high dollar for high dollar taste. But this wasn't the case. I must say that I was disappointed 😳

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Delicious as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Made a Christmas Eve reservation for 5 with OpenTable, and were seated right away (guy right before us was told it would be a 1-1/2 hr wait for 6). Great service, great food! Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

We decided to go to Don’s on the spur of the moment. Glad we were able to get reservations because the food was great. The fried oysters were wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Eating at Don's is always a delight. Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. We chose it for our anniversary dinner and enjoyed it very much.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Overpriced, loud and slow service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Food is always so good. We were somewhat disappointed with the quality and service. My brother in law ordered seafood gumbo and it came out warm at best. He told the server and she seemed annoyed by him sending the food back. The gumbo came back--in the same bowl--looks like they heated it up in the microwave instead of giving him a fresh bowl (we know this because he had added the rice which usually comes on the side). We were very put off by this. Onion ring appetizer was not hot. All the other food was fine. We'll give it another try, another day and are hopeful things improve!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

We brought some family from out-of-state for a taste of Louisiana food and were overall pleased with Don's. The staff was very attentive, courteous, and helpful with suggestions. The food was also good, everyone was very happy to try the gator and char-broiled oysters on the appetizer menu. It was a bit pricey for the entrees but overall a good experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 28, 2017

I’m not so sure why this restaurant is usually rated highly. It was incredibly noisy and the food, at best, was mediocre. The Don’s seafood platter sounded good but everything on it was fried and it all tasted the same. There was mostly catfish with only one stuffed shrimp, four fried shrimp, two fried oysters and four hush puppies. The wait staff was friendly and wished us Happy Anniversary since we were there to celebrate.
I had really looked forward to this night out and some good food but was sorely disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and amazing food. My bartender Austin was amazing and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 12, 2017

I was in from out of town and heard that Don's had great seafood. I ordered the boiled shrimp, it was $20. They give you plenty of shrimp but it's in the shell, that's not a big problem but the shell wasn't split and the mud vein cleaned out! It was like chewing on a sandy shrimp! I think for the money, the shrimp should have the mud vein removed. If I ever go back I guess I won't be ordering the boiled shrimp!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Still one of the best. You need to try their gumbo.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 17, 2017

Gumbo was really bad. Returned it twice. Ordered seafood platter instead. No French fries, no tartar sauce, soggy fried shrimp, oysters, etc. We didn't eat much of the seafood platter. Asked for our bill and left. Probably won't go back there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was very good and the prices were appropriate. It was a little loud however an l s u football game was being broadcast live during our meal time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

As always the food was delicious and the service impeccable! Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. Drinks were very good. This was our first time to here but it will not be our last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2017

I am a local and dine at Don's Seafood about once a month. I enjoy seating in the bar area. The food is great. Great place for Cajun food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2017

I have lived in Lafayette all my adult life and I am a true Cajun. If you in Lafayette from out of town and want to have great Cajun food, go to Don's on Johnston St not Downtown. If you want to meet and talk to locals sit at the bar and have dinner. Love this place.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Don's Seafood - Lafayette