Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Please join us for Chef Cary Roy's Three Course Pre-Fixe Thanksgiving Dinner or Ala Carte options. Antipasto Misto, Diestal Farms Turkey, and Hawaiian Salted Caramel Apple.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Please join us for Chef Cary Roy's Special Christmas Eve and Christmas Day Dinner. Grand Hyatt Kauai Garden Greens, Pumpkin Risotto, Roasted Leg of Lamb, Filet Mignon and Chestnut Bouche De Noel Pre-Fixe and Ala Carte menu options available

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Please join us for Chef Cary Roy's Christmas Dinner of Grand Hyatt Kauai Garden Greens, Pumpkin Risotto, Roasted Leg of Lamb, Filet Mignon and Chestnut Bouche De Noel.

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Scenic View (18)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Waterfront (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Just Meh .... nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Amazing food, superlative service, wonderful ambience. In a word: sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Fabulous service and a menu to match. Very nice wine selection. I would recommend Wonder is for special occasion and everyday dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Soup was frozen/cold. Don't think it was made by Dondero's .
I t was deducted from bill and so was our dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

First off they have a dress code. No tanks or sleeveless shirts.

Food is awful. We wanted to change up our dining experience by not having fish every night so we came out for Italian. What a mistake!

Osso bucci was bland and whatever kind of rice or risotto they put underneath was burned. My wife got one of the pastas and she didn’t finish it. The service was good and attentive. However if you want Italian go somewhere else. This place is not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

The ambiance and the service were first rate. Unfortunately the food was mediocre at best.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We loved Dondero's! We sat on the patio and the ambiance was incredible! A light breeze, the gorgeous full moon and the sound of the waves on the beach all combined to make it a heavenly evening. The food and service were near perfection! We will definitely dine with them again!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday, was awesome as usual. Had the scallops and squid ink pasta, which was a first for me. Enjoyed it very much. Our server was well times and very personable and peasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Great food. Beautiful setting. Delicious. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Food and service were great, Indoor seating was not special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Just a very pleasant evening with wonderful food and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Amazing food and our waiter, Alejandro, was the cutest and friendliest server we've had so far while visiting Kauai. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt during our honeymoon and made dinner reservations for Dondero's. We sat outside and had a lovely scenic view of the grounds on the resort. We ordered a charcuterie board for our appetizer and enjoyed that with a glass of champagne. For our entrees we ordered the spicy sausage pasta and their version of a bouillabaisse seafood dish. The meals were very filling, so no worries about going home hungry. Everything was cooked and prepared very well, but the best bites that we had were the scallops in the bouillabaisse dish. They have scallops in a few of their dishes so I would definitely recommend going with one of those if you like seafood. Overall a great meal experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Completely overpriced for just mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I was disappointed in the food here. Our appetizer was calamari and the breading was soggy and lacking salt. The caprese salad was the best thing we ate, fresh heirloom tomatoes and buratta. We had the NY strip (undercooked and we ordered med rare) and scallops with squid ink pasta. The pasta was boring with no flavor. The polenta that came with the the steak was good. We would not come back here again. Very expensive and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Alejandro served us. Very friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The mussels was the best. Great views and really nice for early dinner. Only thing is was my bday but no complimentary dessert or cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Italian food on Hawaii. Depending on where you’re from depends on how you’ll like the food. Being from the Tri state area NY/NJ where Italian food is awesome...really good service and nice outdoor seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The staff was great. The chef didn't like how one of our dishes turned out so he remade it which made our wait for dinner longer. They provided us dessert for the inconvenience Great customer service. would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The best gnocchi in all of existence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had eaten at Dondero's for our anniversary about a week before and absolutely loved it. We came back and were not disappointed this time either. The food and service are top notch, In my opinion, the best restaurant on Kauai. My wife had the lobster crab pasta and I had the veal parmesan. Both were fantastic.

A hint, the portions are very large and unless you are super hungry, do not order an appetizer or salad before your entrée. You will never finish it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food , great service , great atmosphere! A must try if you're in Kauai. Had the veal , the special risotto and the chicken ...all excellent. You have to try the doughnuts for dessert , fantastic !

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food and service! This was our second time eating here and it did not disappoint. Entree portions are large enough to share, especially if you order appetizers or soup/salad.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice and setting was pretty but the food left a lot to be desired. The risotto was very bland and osso bucco was very tender but used strange spices which I did not like
Overall it was our worst meal on Kauai

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Did dinner here while on honeymoon. Conveniently located inside the Grand Hyatt if you're a guest of the hotel. Jeremy was our server and he was very good. Food came out in a timely manner - garden salad was solid, shared fried mozzarella which was super fresh as well as a margherita pizza. Great meal altogether.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I can't praise Dondero's enough. We were staying at the Grand Hyatt Kauai where they are located. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we requested an outside table which they gave us. It was sunset, romantic, the menu had our names on it wishing us happy anniversary. The server was great and the Manager came over and congratulated our milestone.

We had a caprese salad, my wife had the veal parmesan and I had the Cioppino with a great Pinot Noir. The food was absolutely wonderful. If anything, the portions too big. The service was attentive without being intrusive.

The evening ended with us returning to our room to find a bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries courtesy of the manager of Dondero's. Talk about class. We couldn't have had a better ending to a wonderful night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We selected Donderos for our last night in Hawaii, it did not disappoint. Atmosphere, food and service was top rate. We will return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Coco was an amazing server. The best ever. He is the best on the Island. The most attentive, friendly, and careing ever. Great find. Thank you for a great experience and a fantastic menu. A great romantic dinner that we will always remember.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was okay. A little over rated. The food was average , and too expensive. The service was alright. I wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place was perfect! We're on vacation and we had the most lovely evening. Special thanks to Jerry the manager and his remarkable staff. Coco, our server, was so very gracious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We celebrated our honeymoon here. The dinner was great and service was excellent. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

food was ok but not great. i had crab and lobster pasta. pasta was nice but the lobster tail so tough i could not cut it. sat outside and the view is nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Restaurant needs a lot of updates being expensive and pretty outdated. Food was ok nothing spectacular what was advertised . Service was amazing , that was one thing that was outstanding . For this type of restaurant you would expect hand made pasta as well that was not on their menu .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was ok, maybe a little overpriced for Italian, the real issue was the slowness of the service especially the length of meals between each. It took forever to get our entree after our salads. To the point we final had to go ask for them.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good Italian food, especially finding real burrito in the caprese salad. Great service, terrific view.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Very good meal. The veal parm was excellent.
Would recommended sitting outside if possible and enjoying a few drinks prior to the meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was incredible service was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I give this place an A+. From the made to perfection martini to the incredibly fluffy donuts with ricotta cheese and Caramel , we had a perfect evening . In between we had the Donderos salad and the pasta bologonesa . The salad was lite and flavorful but the pasta was the game changer . I always order this pasta as a test and Donderos passed with flying colors . The key in their pasta sauce was the pancetta , providing the perfect amount of salt . Plus the service was exceptional. The mgr also came by to say hello. Well done !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Service is great and the lobster/lumb crab with saffron/black pepper pasta is delicious. Their Koloa Mule is the perfect combo of pineapple vodka and ginger beer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.