Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Scenic View (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Waterfront (10)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

We had eaten at Dondero's for our anniversary about a week before and absolutely loved it. We came back and were not disappointed this time either. The food and service are top notch, In my opinion, the best restaurant on Kauai. My wife had the lobster crab pasta and I had the veal parmesan. Both were fantastic.

A hint, the portions are very large and unless you are super hungry, do not order an appetizer or salad before your entrée. You will never finish it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food , great service , great atmosphere! A must try if you're in Kauai. Had the veal , the special risotto and the chicken ...all excellent. You have to try the doughnuts for dessert , fantastic !

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service! This was our second time eating here and it did not disappoint. Entree portions are large enough to share, especially if you order appetizers or soup/salad.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was very nice and setting was pretty but the food left a lot to be desired. The risotto was very bland and osso bucco was very tender but used strange spices which I did not like
Overall it was our worst meal on Kauai

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Did dinner here while on honeymoon. Conveniently located inside the Grand Hyatt if you're a guest of the hotel. Jeremy was our server and he was very good. Food came out in a timely manner - garden salad was solid, shared fried mozzarella which was super fresh as well as a margherita pizza. Great meal altogether.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

I can't praise Dondero's enough. We were staying at the Grand Hyatt Kauai where they are located. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we requested an outside table which they gave us. It was sunset, romantic, the menu had our names on it wishing us happy anniversary. The server was great and the Manager came over and congratulated our milestone.

We had a caprese salad, my wife had the veal parmesan and I had the Cioppino with a great Pinot Noir. The food was absolutely wonderful. If anything, the portions too big. The service was attentive without being intrusive.

The evening ended with us returning to our room to find a bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries courtesy of the manager of Dondero's. Talk about class. We couldn't have had a better ending to a wonderful night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We selected Donderos for our last night in Hawaii, it did not disappoint. Atmosphere, food and service was top rate. We will return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Coco was an amazing server. The best ever. He is the best on the Island. The most attentive, friendly, and careing ever. Great find. Thank you for a great experience and a fantastic menu. A great romantic dinner that we will always remember.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was okay. A little over rated. The food was average , and too expensive. The service was alright. I wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place was perfect! We're on vacation and we had the most lovely evening. Special thanks to Jerry the manager and his remarkable staff. Coco, our server, was so very gracious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We celebrated our honeymoon here. The dinner was great and service was excellent. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

food was ok but not great. i had crab and lobster pasta. pasta was nice but the lobster tail so tough i could not cut it. sat outside and the view is nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Restaurant needs a lot of updates being expensive and pretty outdated. Food was ok nothing spectacular what was advertised . Service was amazing , that was one thing that was outstanding . For this type of restaurant you would expect hand made pasta as well that was not on their menu .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was ok, maybe a little overpriced for Italian, the real issue was the slowness of the service especially the length of meals between each. It took forever to get our entree after our salads. To the point we final had to go ask for them.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good Italian food, especially finding real burrito in the caprese salad. Great service, terrific view.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Very good meal. The veal parm was excellent.
Would recommended sitting outside if possible and enjoying a few drinks prior to the meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was incredible service was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I give this place an A+. From the made to perfection martini to the incredibly fluffy donuts with ricotta cheese and Caramel , we had a perfect evening . In between we had the Donderos salad and the pasta bologonesa . The salad was lite and flavorful but the pasta was the game changer . I always order this pasta as a test and Donderos passed with flying colors . The key in their pasta sauce was the pancetta , providing the perfect amount of salt . Plus the service was exceptional. The mgr also came by to say hello. Well done !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Service is great and the lobster/lumb crab with saffron/black pepper pasta is delicious. Their Koloa Mule is the perfect combo of pineapple vodka and ginger beer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a better meal! My husband has the lobster and crab dish, which he absolutely loved. I had the scallops with black linguine, which was probably the best dish I have had in a very long time. We got the beef appetizer and the fried mozzarella and they were amazing as well. Definitely recommend eating at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic food and service! It was one of our favorites

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Kind and Courteous service. Eat outside. Feels
Like dining in a picture postcard setting

Server was wonderful. Recommended her favorites and I agreed with every choice. Hydroponic lettuce salad was amazing and the seafood pasta excellent. Happy to accommodate the vegetarian at our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service and ambiance was great. The food not so much. We started off with the Mozzarella balls with marinera sauce, which were bland and flavorless. Next came the Caesar salad. I appreciated the whole anchovies but the salad was also bland. My wife had the pasta with alfredo and added chicken. Her meal was ok but nothing to rave about. I had the Mahi Mahi which was excellent. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was the best restaurant at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. Service was slow but it is Kauai and we were staying at the hotel so we enjoyed the slow pace and the amazing view. Food was good not great. The lobster and crab pasta was the stand out. I had a lobster and shrimp risotto special and it was a small portion with hardly any seafood food. The homemade Italian donuts for dessert were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very pleased with the service, food and overall experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The beef appetizer as recommended by the server, and it was excellent. We shared the eggplant entree and it was plenty for us, so the portions are generous! Excellent service and atmosphere as well. We sat out on the terrace with a nice view of the ocean and it was very nice. Highly recommend for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Risotto cake.... crispy edges, was incredible. It came with a fantastic Osso Bucco.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Mushroom risotto was perfect, especially the large seared scallops. Not under or over cooked, hard to find perfectly cooked large scallops. Chef Cary has that very rare special touch and runs a spotlessly clean kitchen. Impressive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great time with family. Excellent food, service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We spent our anniversary dinner here because we know this place and come often. The manager Jerry Delgado is surely the most genuine, gracious and friendly person the restaurant has. He picked our table #42 for us and the rest was history! Beautiful evening with delicious foods.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Dramatic beautiful setting delicious food and great service! We had a wonderful night! Loved it! Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Absolutely over rated and unimaginative. The pizza is nothing more than a flat bread and pretty tasteless. This is my last visit to any restaurant at the Hyatt, we had a similar experience at Tides.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Beautiful - classic Italian food and decor in a Tropical setting ! The ambiance is a charming blend of Renaissance and Island vibe. The food was excellent- we had the Ossobuco and Sword fish - both excellent . The portions are quite generous so it is wise to share unless your really hungry. They took really good care of us !

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The service and food were excellent - highly recommend for a lovely dinner with family and loved ones

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Server started out a little bothered to be there, but became more friendly throughout the meal. Food was wonderful & presentation was awesome. Both ordered the fresh fish of the day and were not disappointed. A bit pricey, but what decent meal in an expensive hotel isn't. Would recommend for a nice dinner out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was fantastic as always. I had my usual osso bucco and my guests had the cioppino. The service was great and atmosphere superb. The only negative was their absurdly high wine prices. To charge $48 for a Beringer white zin, the cheapest I recall on their list, is totally ridiculous. We ended up having chardonnays by the glass; mine was $25 for a medium-range Californian. Way too much, but you can't have dinner without wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

... Best Bolognese ever. The summer dessert specials are especially lovely.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Although a hotel restaurant within the vast complex of the Hyatt, Dondero did mange to create its own ambience with an Italian feel. The food was very good and plentiful with nice flavours. Service was friendly and efficient but we did feel a little rushed - not an uncommon experience on Kauai for some reason. Not sure I'd rush back but overall ok.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Terrific, drink & service. Celebrated anniversary in very beautiful atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This restaurant was in the hotel where we were staying and was very convenient for us. We sat on the patio outside and it was beautiful! The food was delicious too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.