Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Scenic View (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (4)
Waterfront (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

A pleasant terrace setting was the highlight : sadly the only highlight. Whilst the quality of the cooking was sound it hardly justified the price or some generous reviews. Perhaps this was a cultural reflection. As Europeans we are used to chefs being able to make the perfect pasta : in our experience too many American chefs lack basic techniques in preparing and cooking Italian dishes, as is the case at this restaurant. The experience wasn't enhanced by our waitress who was inattentive and lacking in knowledge both as to the dishes and correct cutlery! Finally, rather than the quiet romantic evening we were looking forward to, we could hardly hear one another above the barrage of noise from the too loud background music in the dining and not one but two outdoor concerts/entertainments at the hotel. Why do Americans seem to enjoy so much loud music while they dine!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We asked for patio seating and got it. Our waiter Juan was friendly and helpful. The cocktails from the bar were well mixed/balanced. The mussel appetizer was incredibly fresh and flavorful. Nice use of chili peppers. Good technique with the bolognese. And the lemon ricotta doughnuts were just right. This is our third visit to Donderos in 2 years, and they have never disappointed. Worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was incredible and our waiter was wonderful - very knowledgeable and not afraid to give his honest opinion on menu items. My wife has a life-threatening pork allergy. The waiter, manager, and kitchen went out of their way to take steps to protect her and assure us of the food safety. Very much appreciated!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Thank you for the amazing dinner! Everything was PERFECT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The scallop and I know pasta was excellent, very different than any I've had with its citrus and chili pepper flavors. The ribeye was delicious also. Nice ambiance. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Took a group of (8) and had an outstanding dining experience. Superb in every way!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and service! The pastas were really tasty

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant has amazing food, And the people that work there are absolutely wonderful. We went here twice on our vacation to Kauai. The food is to die for, they have an excellent gluten-free menu , and the wait staff is extremely friendly.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Waiter served my wife wrong drink. My steamers came with a huge fork which I had replaced with a small cocktail fork.
Food ok but nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Over-sauced and overpriced. Extremely oily veal and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We may have had a newbie server. Very pleasant but a bit tentative. Did not know where the mussels came from. Also did not elaborate on the food choices as we overheard other servers do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The view of the ocean was amazing. Our server was very nice and very knowledgeable. The local catch (Ahi) was the best prepared tuna I have ever had. My wife had the veal, which was also delicious. It was expensive as you might assume, but it was a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Everything about Donderos was great! Making the reservation was a breeze and the wait time to get to our table was minimal. The greeters were friendly and authentic. Our waiter Juan was super helpful for everything from understanding the menu to ordering appropriate drinks to compliment the meal. He definitely helped us feel welcomed and more knowledgeable since we had never eaten authentic Italian food before. The Manager Jerry even came out to greet us and we noticed him working hard though out the night. Jerry and his team at Donderos made my mothers birthday so special she has already made plans to come back again next year! Thank you Jerry and crew for everything you do!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food and service were good. Decor was really dated. Overall a pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fabulous way to end our vacation in Poipu. Dinner was awesome and sitting outside at night was magical.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food, great staff, beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was overall decent, but for the price and quality, I could have gotten a better experience at any Olive Garden. Long wait times in between service and bringing out food when it was barely busy. Would have been more enjoyable if the prices met the quality of the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We dine at many of the best restaurants during our annual visit to Kauai. Dondero's differs from others in that it provides an elegant and relaxing dining experience. The food is excellent. Service is excellent unless your server is assigned too many tables. The wine list has many interesting choices. My notes, recorded each year, indicate wine prices have increased about 30% since our last visit in 2016. Dondero's is great for that special occasion, but be prepared to spend a bit more than other restaurants on Kauai for an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went there for Valentines Day and were not disappointed. The food was superb, osso bucco and lobster and crab linguine

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very overpriced food, verrrry outdated decor. I was very happy with our server Koko though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

From the moment we arrived everyone was wonderful, very nice and polite. Juan was our waiter and he did an excellent job. Jerry the General Manager came around and spoke with each table. When we were leaving he was assisting at the entrance, a very active manager. The food was excellent as well and nice size portions. Price was on the high side but when the service and food match; I do not mind paying. I look forward to eating there again next time I am in Kauai.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was good, not great. Atmosphere is very nice. A bit on the expensive side. Overall I liked it but wouldn't rush back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very beautiful setting in the garden. We were lucky enough to get a table on the patio among all of the gorgeous flowers. The food was excellent with a great presentation. Service was well paced. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very good, and the service was even better. We will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of your higher class restaurants in Poipu Beach. Nice atmosphere; enjoyable food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. The rib eye was very nicely seasoned. Our waiter was exceptional. A special occasion place to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have eaten at Dondero's for several years during our winter vacations at Poipu. We have always been very pleased with our dining experiences at Dondero's. The service is attentive and prompt, the ambience (especially on the patio in good weather) is tropical and reserved, and the food is consistently well prepared and very tasty. We had Caesar salads and the seafood cioppino. The salads were nicely dressed with a very good, balanced dressing. The ciopino broth nicely complimented the lobster tail, scallops, ahi and prawns, all of which were cooked perfectly. My only very minor complaint is that the white wines by the glass options are limited and expensive. Our cocktails were tropical and nicely mixed. Dondero's clientele tends to be quieter and better dressed than most of the Poipu restaurants. Dining at Dondero's is a little expensive but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Sat outside on the lower patio and the atmosphere and noise level were perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Was special but our waiter disappeared for very long time and more than once! We were almost done with meal when wine arrived. Food was not warm and obviously sat in kitchen too long.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food is great, but the decor feels very little mermaid-ish. Definitely try to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Awesome ambience if you arrive early enough to be seated at an outside table - first come first serve. Friendly staff and excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Worst mozza sticks/ balls I've ever had. Ice cream was below average. Pasta was decent. Nice servers and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was the second time my husband and I ate here on our trip. We both had the Fresh Catch, which was excellent. We sat outdoors and it was a lovey, memorable meal. The staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Fresh Catch. This time it was Mahi-Mahi and it was cooked perfectly. The flavors were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food and service was good. The restaurant is very tired and in need of a serious face lift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Solid food and great atmosphere. We went here twice on our trip and enjoyed both visits. Great pasta that both adults and children adored. Good atmosphere and nice wine list

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent swordfish. The chicken piccata was very good but salty. The portion sizes were generous and the waiter was kind enough to suggest the meal could be split. I wish we had listened to him. The calamari appetizer was delicious and also generously portioned. Wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We were treated like royalty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was excellent. We got the squid ink pasta which was homemade and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I feel like I have high standards regarding Italian food and EVERY bite was wonderful. From the bread to calamari appetizer, to entry of Pasta Bolognese, every bite was excellent and the unexpected highlight of our dinners on island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I felt like a king with his queen. Thank you for a memorable night!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The only problem was after the appetizers and salad, it was 25 minutes before dinner arrived. No message from the waiter. No water glass refill, plate clear, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.