Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Scenic View (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Waterfront (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The service and food were excellent - highly recommend for a lovely dinner with family and loved ones

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Server started out a little bothered to be there, but became more friendly throughout the meal. Food was wonderful & presentation was awesome. Both ordered the fresh fish of the day and were not disappointed. A bit pricey, but what decent meal in an expensive hotel isn't. Would recommend for a nice dinner out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was fantastic as always. I had my usual osso bucco and my guests had the cioppino. The service was great and atmosphere superb. The only negative was their absurdly high wine prices. To charge $48 for a Beringer white zin, the cheapest I recall on their list, is totally ridiculous. We ended up having chardonnays by the glass; mine was $25 for a medium-range Californian. Way too much, but you can't have dinner without wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

... Best Bolognese ever. The summer dessert specials are especially lovely.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Terrific, drink & service. Celebrated anniversary in very beautiful atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This restaurant was in the hotel where we were staying and was very convenient for us. We sat on the patio outside and it was beautiful! The food was delicious too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Absolutely great service and the food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It may seem odd to come to Kauai and get Italian food but this place is worth it. My wife and I came here on vacation we enjoy both this style of dining as well as your holes in the wall such as Hamura in Lihue. Dondero's food is wonderful and you can tell the chef puts a lot of care into the food. The manager was also there when we went and was doing a great job of making the rounds and making every customer feel welcome. Be sure to get a table on the Lanai if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Extraordinary veal piccata! Exceptional dining experience! Lovely setting! Couldn't ask for anything more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Awesome food, service and atmosphere. Reasonably priced for the expensive island and great change from the usual entrees here. Best kept secret.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We dined here on our last night on Kauai. The setting is amazing. The best ambience we experienced on the island. The food was very good, but spotty. The special lamb and risotto was only so-so. Overcooked. The pizza was only average. The lobster and crab pasta and the shrimp scampi were very good. Calamari and mozzarella balls appetizers were also very good. The service was excellent. Dinner was quite pricey. I would eat here again when visiting Kauai.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Terrible service that was consistently indifferent. Food quality and preparation was above average, and was the only highlight. Everything is WAY over-priced - especially considering the dated and bland atmosphere. Incredibly expensive and over-priced wine list. The entire experience was a massive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Absolutely incredible! Chef Cary is creative and every dish is more than amazing! Donderos is my new favorite restaurant on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Pasta was great but overpriced (bc of veal?!?)! Caesar salad of 5 romaine leaves (the size of a normal, small side dinner salad) was absurd and way overpriced. We also ordered a minestrone soup which is usually a bowl. This minestrone soup should have been explained that it would come half fall in a small tea cup. So... for $27, my wife left hungry from five romaine leaves and a few bites of minestrone soup. The staff was very nice and we enjoyed the atmosphere; however, we were disappointed with the amount of food vs the cost. We eat out at a lot of nice restaurants and Dondero's needs to step it up a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Alejandro was/is an excellent waiter. He was very attentive to us as patrons of Dondero's and made great menu suggestions for us. It was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Brought the wrong meal out. Would have taken an additional 20 minutes to get what I wanted. Settled for a meal that I didn't really want to speed things along as my wife already had her food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My wife and I went here as part of our stay at the Grand Hyatt. We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere very much. The staff were all very polite and we're very hospitable. The prices were a bit too high for the portions in my opinion but that didn't take away from our experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Ate on the veranda overlooking the Pacific. Food was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The service was excellent. The manager was very interactive making sure everything was to our satisfaction. He thanked us for coming and made our visit amazing. The wait staff was attentive fulfilling all our needs. Would definitely recommend it and return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Would love to see more menu options geared toward Italian foods. Ambiance was nice, location was beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Impeccable and attentive service, innovative and imaginative culinary creations. Ample portions, complex flavor profiles, unlike your typical expectation of Italian cuisine. Highly recommend for special occasion and what occasion isn't special when you're in Kauai? Complete with views of the ocean and ocean breezes. You had better like Sinatra and artists of that genre and generation, which we do, as that will be your background music.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The salad was good, the entrees were expensive and the flavors were not good.
Not a wonderful fresh fish flavor but heavy sauces that were not appealing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had a quiet, romantic dinner outdoors on the patio. Pasta was great and the service was excellent! Recommend if you're around the Hayatt!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was an Anniversary dinner and the staff was advised. The food was satisfactory, nothing exceptional. The detractor for the evening was that the server was not very good. He disappeared for long periods of time and I finally had to find the manager to get the bill. Very disappointing for the price paid.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A special place at the Grand Hyatt. Lovely surroundings. Good food and service. Not open Sunday and Monday.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food beautifully presented. Service unnecessarily rushed. Getting us in, getting our order and getting us out felt like our server's main concerns. That said, see the first sentence again. The chef and kitchen are getting it right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best seafood for my two weeks in Kauai. Beautiful, quiet atmosphere and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Outstanding outdoor tables with ocean view. Excellent service, food and very good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Dondero's is a gem! The veal meatball, the veal parm and the tiramisu were all stellar.
Request an outdoor table; the view is both breathtaking and serene.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our last night on Kauai we had dinner at Donderos to celebrate our vacation. A beautiful setting, wonderful ambiance and lovely dinner followed. The restaurant overlooks the beach outside the Grand Hyatt with gorgeous views. The dinner was outstanding...along with the service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Nice staying outdoors. Inside reminds me of the Catskills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Cioppino was amazing! An abundance of seafood in an outstanding sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great dinner. Sat on the outside porch overlooking the ocean. Fabulous.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A nice place to go, good food and nice atmosphere. Italian food with a local Island twist

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good good. Beautiful patio for couples dining. Great service. Wife loves the scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The evening was so special! It was our 25th anniversary; our server was excellent and every staff member that dealt with us was wonderful! The chef stopped by; all in all it was an incredible evening! Thank you so much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

A table put on the patio was very romantic. Everything we had was delicious!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always so ono! I really enjoy the beef carpaccio. My husband thinks that Dondero's caprese salad is the best he's ever had. The service is always so friendly and attentive. One of my favorite restaurants on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Really a nice evening, except for the crying baby, which was out of place for this upscale, fine dining restaurant. The food was delicious, except both our main courses were over salted - to the point that I could not eat all of mine. Very nice Italian restaurant with very good service. And the Olive Oil gelato was amazing - really!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.