About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (18)
Scenic View (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (3)
Waterfront (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, great staff, beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was overall decent, but for the price and quality, I could have gotten a better experience at any Olive Garden. Long wait times in between service and bringing out food when it was barely busy. Would have been more enjoyable if the prices met the quality of the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We dine at many of the best restaurants during our annual visit to Kauai. Dondero's differs from others in that it provides an elegant and relaxing dining experience. The food is excellent. Service is excellent unless your server is assigned too many tables. The wine list has many interesting choices. My notes, recorded each year, indicate wine prices have increased about 30% since our last visit in 2016. Dondero's is great for that special occasion, but be prepared to spend a bit more than other restaurants on Kauai for an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went there for Valentines Day and were not disappointed. The food was superb, osso bucco and lobster and crab linguine

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very overpriced food, verrrry outdated decor. I was very happy with our server Koko though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

From the moment we arrived everyone was wonderful, very nice and polite. Juan was our waiter and he did an excellent job. Jerry the General Manager came around and spoke with each table. When we were leaving he was assisting at the entrance, a very active manager. The food was excellent as well and nice size portions. Price was on the high side but when the service and food match; I do not mind paying. I look forward to eating there again next time I am in Kauai.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was good, not great. Atmosphere is very nice. A bit on the expensive side. Overall I liked it but wouldn't rush back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very beautiful setting in the garden. We were lucky enough to get a table on the patio among all of the gorgeous flowers. The food was excellent with a great presentation. Service was well paced. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very good, and the service was even better. We will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of your higher class restaurants in Poipu Beach. Nice atmosphere; enjoyable food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. The rib eye was very nicely seasoned. Our waiter was exceptional. A special occasion place to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have eaten at Dondero's for several years during our winter vacations at Poipu. We have always been very pleased with our dining experiences at Dondero's. The service is attentive and prompt, the ambience (especially on the patio in good weather) is tropical and reserved, and the food is consistently well prepared and very tasty. We had Caesar salads and the seafood cioppino. The salads were nicely dressed with a very good, balanced dressing. The ciopino broth nicely complimented the lobster tail, scallops, ahi and prawns, all of which were cooked perfectly. My only very minor complaint is that the white wines by the glass options are limited and expensive. Our cocktails were tropical and nicely mixed. Dondero's clientele tends to be quieter and better dressed than most of the Poipu restaurants. Dining at Dondero's is a little expensive but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Sat outside on the lower patio and the atmosphere and noise level were perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Was special but our waiter disappeared for very long time and more than once! We were almost done with meal when wine arrived. Food was not warm and obviously sat in kitchen too long.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food is great, but the decor feels very little mermaid-ish. Definitely try to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Awesome ambience if you arrive early enough to be seated at an outside table - first come first serve. Friendly staff and excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Worst mozza sticks/ balls I've ever had. Ice cream was below average. Pasta was decent. Nice servers and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was the second time my husband and I ate here on our trip. We both had the Fresh Catch, which was excellent. We sat outdoors and it was a lovey, memorable meal. The staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Fresh Catch. This time it was Mahi-Mahi and it was cooked perfectly. The flavors were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food and service was good. The restaurant is very tired and in need of a serious face lift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Solid food and great atmosphere. We went here twice on our trip and enjoyed both visits. Great pasta that both adults and children adored. Good atmosphere and nice wine list

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent swordfish. The chicken piccata was very good but salty. The portion sizes were generous and the waiter was kind enough to suggest the meal could be split. I wish we had listened to him. The calamari appetizer was delicious and also generously portioned. Wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We were treated like royalty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was excellent. We got the squid ink pasta which was homemade and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I feel like I have high standards regarding Italian food and EVERY bite was wonderful. From the bread to calamari appetizer, to entry of Pasta Bolognese, every bite was excellent and the unexpected highlight of our dinners on island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I felt like a king with his queen. Thank you for a memorable night!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The only problem was after the appetizers and salad, it was 25 minutes before dinner arrived. No message from the waiter. No water glass refill, plate clear, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dondero's is a special treat! Though menu prices are rather high, the food is well worth the cost! Always enjoy Dondero's during our visits to Kaua'i and look forward to the wonderful Italian cuisine. Starting our wonderful feast my husband and I shared a Caprese Salad. Telling the waiter we were sharing the salad, he had the kitchen split it for us...a nice touch! I had a fabulous dish featuring garlic shrimp (warning...heads still on the shrimp) and pasta. WONDERFUL! My husband had Spaghetti Bolognese that was plentiful and delicious! Dondero's is located in the Grand Hyatt Poi'pu -- an absolutely beautiful location near Shipwreck Beach. If possible, ask for a table on the terrace and you'll have a wonderful view of the ocean AND the Hyatt gardens. The restaurant INSIDE is also attractive -- a sea theme -- so even if the weather is "iffy" you will have a wonderful dining experience. One specialty is Osso Bucco...absolutely AMAZING! Not really for young children, but older children are always welcome! A good choice for a special meal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Flavors very strong, salty and lacking subtlety (to be kind).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The fresh fish entree was amazing. I live opah but their preparation and presentation was original AND excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We enjoyed the evening here. Given that there was limited outdoor seating we opted to wait for ~20-30 minutes for an outside table to open. We waited at the upstairs bar . The wait was worth the nice table we were seated at. A beautiful garden and ocean view.

The manager Jerry stopped by as he appeared to be greeting and chatting with each table - nice" and we enjoyed his attentiveness. and our waiter was attentive after our initial long wait for wine. Our meal was absolutely delicious - Skull Island Shrimp Scampi and the Fresh catch were our choices, preceded by fresh, restaurant grown salad... Very delicate. We then enjoyed their signature gelato - so unique- the mint tasted like a fresh mint leaf - wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Exceptional food! I had the mussels and they were delicious. My husband had the ciopino and it was very good too. I ordered the mango line martini and it was delicious! We really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and nice to our 2 kids :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food

Stupendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was one of the nicer restaurants we found around our resort, though our options seemed to be fairly limited. The food was good and the patio looked like a nice place to sit. The atmosphere and decor are certainly a little dated, but we had a nice meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good restaurant with a beautiful view! We are outside looking at the setting of torches and ocean

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Both service and food was wonderful! We asked for a good view and were given the perfect table just outside the restaurant with a gorgeous view. Generous portions, too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome service, delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome! again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Dondero's was absolutely delisious! True fine dining with a great atmosphere. The staff was very friendly from the hostess to the wait staff to the manager. We were there for our honeymoon and they made us feel really special there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

AWESOME! in every way. A must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE WITH SPECIAL ATTENTION FROM THE MANAGER JERRY.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came late which may not have been fair. Our waiter was very kind, the manager overly friendly. Unfortunately the food was ok. I ordered pizza and I will have to say, it had absolutely no flavor at all. None. Couldn't eat it. I didn't make a fuss but the waiter kindly removed it from our bill. Felt the same way about all of the restaurants at the Hyatt. Except in the Clubroom. For some reason everything in there was delicious!! Oh and at the capitals bar,the pork sliders are delicious.

I wish I could have given a better review as I love this hotel and everyone that works here is amazing. The food... not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went to Dondero's for an anniversary dinner. Poor start of the evening as the hostess was less than welcoming and shuffled us off the the waiting area like we were waiting for a medical appointment. I found it almost humorous as we were the only people waiting and the person seating us announced our name as if there were a room full of people.

We found the meal to be good not great. The entree prices were high. The server and attendants were personable but service was on the slow side. Water did not arrive until 10-15 minutes after seating and the drinks, salads, etc. could have been more timely. I found the decor to be dull and uninspired. I should say the desserts were very good . For the special occasion, I did not find the evening very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Meal started out with attentive service great day inks and a great appetizer. Cheese/meat tray with the house made ricotta, fontina, and imberico ham. But from there it was downhill. We asked for the wine menu again when he dropped off our appetizer. We didn't see our waiter again for over 30 minutes, a separate person dropped off our entree during that time. And only after we were done with our entrees did he returned. We ordered dessert and coffee and proceeded to wait another 25 minutes and when the dessert arrived it was clear it was sitting around for a while as the sorbet was melted. We sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service from the kitchen was terrible. Using a new order system that did not work. Meals ended up being comped. But no excuse for introducing a new system on a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This place is is the Grand Hyatt in Poipu Bay Area of Kauai. It's the best restaurant in the resort. Terrific food and ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our experience, so we came back a second night! We came to Kauai to celebrate our HONEYMOON and came across an Italian Restaurant. Both nights we were pleased with our servers and nightly specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great meal. Could have used more staff long time between courses. Waiter had to buss tables

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was wonderful. Iced tea was terrible-restaurant uses prepackaged iced tea mix that even the staff didn't like. Manager was very friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful setting inside and out. Alejandro was a wonderful waiter and the food was devine

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Large, comfortable, well appointed dining room. Seems a bit fussy and very quiet. We ordered the specials, both entrees were excellent. Our waiter was a bit glum but did give us good info regarding various wines. We were pleased with our bottle. Probably won't return.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.