Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 45 times today

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

4.4
621 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 240-6456
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Cary Roy
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ainako
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 621 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Great staff and food. We both ordered the special risotto which I am gluten free and my husband is allergic to shellfish. They completely accommodated our meals to make sure they were okay for our allergies. Timely and amazing food/service! We would return and recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Donderos is in our hotel. We have loved all the other restaurants so we wanted to love it. The service was amazing. The food was ok. Calamari not crispy, bowl of gnocchi tiny, fish dry, little issues with every dish. Restaurant was mostly empty while the hotel is almost full so seem word has gotten around. My guess is they switch this one out soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The service was good but the seafood was not very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Dondero's at the Hyatt is always a treat! My only issue was the reservation. We decided to change the time to our Open Table reservation. Went on line and tried to make a modification. Could not. No later time slots available on Open Table. When I call the Concierge at Hyatt, they said they could not help because the reservation was made on Open Table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

On vacation at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. Dondero’s is one of the restaurants on premises. They srat d us out on the patio overlooking the grounds. It was very nice. I had the veal parmigiana, it was very good. My wife had the shrimp scampi and loved it. I had the filled donut holes for desert witch was tasty. Good food and ambiance, but inside was noisey. Pricey, but you are at the Hyatt in Kauai.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

loved it! great food and great service! would recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Food and service were good. Lots of families with small kids as this is the only other dinner restaurant at the Hyatt besides the super nice Tidepools. Overall good but not great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Very noisy, disappointed we were seated at the entrance when we had made reservations days in advance, food was good, can't describe this restaurant as romantic with kids running back and forth

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food. Really fabulous service from Juan Rimerez. Enjoyed the pasta with crab and lobster. Really pleasant evening with good friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We really enjoyed celebrating our 47th Anniversary at this beautiful restaurant. The food and service were amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Nicely prepared dishes by expert in house chef. Everything was excellent, including the service by Juan and the assistant waiter Aaron. The veal and scallops were nicely prepared. The presentation for the minestrone soup was unusual in a good way. Caesar salad needed a transfusion (more dressing), and livelier lettuce, but other wise everything else was perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The setting was beautiful outside watching the full moon come up. I thought the food was exceptional. The outside tables were very romantic. I did not want to sit inside, though as the lighting was too bright in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was awesome as well as the service. The mango martini is highly recommended and the Atlantic lobster and linguini is amazing! Overall a wonderful place for a lovely special occasion dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Anniversary meal under the stars! Amazing table, amazing food, amazing experience! They even made us personalized menus. Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great food. Super, attentive, friendly service by Juan. Nice outdoor dining with magnificent garden and ocean view Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Bland and unimpressive
Zios quality
Skip this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai and Dondero’s was the first restaurant my 6 year old daughter requested to return. We ate there for dinner twice and all of our meals were fantastic with beautiful presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Lovely, lovely dining with attentive/unobtrusive service. My only disappointment was the large smashed potato that my fish of the day sat on. It was way too large a portion when
Compared to the size of the mahi-mahi. Otherwise it was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

A favorite of ours when in Kauai
Had pasta with squid ink for the first time, found it surprisingly delicious. It was the side to the whole fried snapper that we shared.
Passion fruit Bellini was sweet but good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We were celebrating our last night of vacation on Kauai and we were lucky to have Alejandro as our waiter. He was excellent! Food was great, too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Excellent experience all around!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had appetizers, 4 main courses, and 2 desserts which were not very good. Nice ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our favorite restaurant in Kauai! Outside dining is wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Food was great! Excellent place for a couple wanting some privacy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

The food was delicious! I had a caprese salad and it was the best caprese salad I have ever had! The mozzarella cheese melted in your mouth and the tomatoes were just ripe enough! The Alfredo sauce was creamy and light. My husband has pesto gnocchi and be said it was delicious. The view is great and the atmosphere is lovely! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Lackluster and seemingly overrated. The food wasn’t awful, but there wasn’t anything special about it. One of my least favorite meals during a two week trip to the islands. The decor is dated and service was spotty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We heard it was supposed to be the best Italian on the island and were disappointed by the food, the waitstaff, and the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

We enjoyed our meals very much! The seafood here is exquisite. Service was first rate. Highly recommend the donuts for dessert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great food and cocktails. Loved the ambience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Fabulous! Great service and tasty food! Carpaccio is a must!!! Lobster pasta and ciopinno were both delicious and well portioned! Don’t miss housemade gelato!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Disappointing. Over-rated. Liked the Veal Meatball. They tried too hard on a Caesar salad, and didn’t make it. My wife liked her fish special entree. For some reason, they couldn’t cook the lobster correctly in the cioppino, despite 2 tries. It was too tendon bound and couldn’t separate satisfactorily from its shell. The sauce was fair at best. We were so unhappy, we didn’t order desert, usually a given for us. Too expensive for the food and experience, and we are not ones to complain.

Maybe we didn’t order the correct entrees, but these were recommended by the waiter. Frankly, we couldn’t wait to leave the restaurant. That’s never a good thing. We will have to wait till our memories fade before going back. We give it 3 Stars maximum for fine dining.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food was amazing but this was the first place I received poor service on the island. Our waiter was very unhelpful and short with me when I had questions about the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Amazing view and delicious food! Our favorite in Kauai that we tried. Scallops and squid ink pasta were delicious. We stopped by tidepools after for Hawaiian doughnuts and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The food and service were impeccable! We enjoyed it so much that we ate here twice!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Our server, Alejandro, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and friendly.
We have been coming to Dondero’s for many years, every visit to Kauai, and always look forward to the Osso bucco.
Alejandro told us that the preparation had changed, but we tried it anyway. It was disappointing compared to previous experiences. Rather dry, no sauce or juice with it. In my opinion, not worth the $50 price tag. I would not order it again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very nice in all respects. The atmosphere, service and food were all above and beyond !!! Will look forward to our next special occasion. Just a wonderful evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Leave all your cares at the door. They will take care of you with kindness and great food. Love this place.
Menu highlights:
Beef carpaccio!!!’
Caprese!!
Risotto
Fresh catch.
Pizzas are delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

The fish special was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Great food. Very good gluten-free options for an Italian restaurant. Pricey, as is everything in Hawaii.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Food was very good. Service was excellent. The setting at the Grand Hyatt is beautiful. A bit pricy but typical for on property resort restaurants. My wife is vegetarian and selections were limited but very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16