About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: 808-742-1234x6346

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish
  • Spaghetti Bolognese
  • Calamari Fritti
  • Pomodoro Caprese
Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish
Spaghetti Bolognese
Calamari Fritti
Pomodoro Caprese

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kauai
Special Occasion
Kauai
Best Restaurants in Poipu ›

romantic (29)
special occasion (26)
scenic view (24)
See All
great for outdoor dining (21)
fit for foodies (15)
notable wine list (7)
kid-friendly (5)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere was great and the hostess ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere was great and the hostess was great and the wait staff was great, then the kitchen was closed my husband can't order dinner entrée (we had resrevation at 9:30pm and the kitchen closed at 10pm). Why they took reservation at 9:30pm if they close the kitchen at 10pm? Only thing my husband had was small appetizer (cheese ball) and small welted Caesar salad??? and drank several cocktails. Was very hungry when left the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing food! Great atmosphere! Best Ita ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Great atmosphere! Best Italian on Kauai

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly average meals for the venue and f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fairly average meals for the venue and for the value. Overall, the restaurants at the Grand Hyatt were much less than expected having had pretty good dining experiences at other Hyatts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Horrible service. Server was not friendl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Horrible service. Server was not friendly... did not receive drinks until after our appetizer was finished - unacceptable. For the price you pay, you expect decent service. Server never came back to see how everything was, only brought check at the end

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely setting outside with views across ...

 
 (Oxford)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lovely setting outside with views across the lawn to the ocean down below , inside is a bit dated and stuffy. The food was good, service was a little slow. Better for a relaxed dinner for two than a family meal as the kids get bored waiting.

Tags: outdoor eating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were seated promptly by Juan who was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were seated promptly by Juan who was so nice! Our waitress Vanessa came right over to see if we would like cocktails and/or pupus. We did and our calamari fritti and our mozzarella pupus were wonderful! Dinner was delicious...Chef Cory visited our table to see how we were doing. LOVELY! Manager Jerry Delgado was very gracious as were all of the restaurant employees. I would highly recommend dining there for a special and scrumptious experience!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That was the most expensive lousy meal I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

That was the most expensive lousy meal I ever had. I had their chicken piccata and it was so tough I couldn't chew it and to think it only cost me $30. I had the Prosutito and melon for $14 which consisted of 3 one inch squares of watermelon and a little Prosutito on top and three small figs disappointing to say the least for the price. My husband had the same appetizer, but had the pasta bolognese and that was better. This is the second time I have eaten here and there won't be a third.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Decor appeared "dated"; we sank into the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Decor appeared "dated"; we sank into the booth cushions because the seat cushions were broken down after years of use. Waiter was somewhat attentive. Food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Great eats

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic food, service, and view. Everything was great, and we actually went back a couple of nights later. Staff is friendly and helpful, food is delicious, and we got to eat outside with a magnificent view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L. C. Redwood City

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Outstanding place to dine. view of Pacific ocean beautiful. Outstanding food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We received poor service. We ordered a glass of wine and an old fashion. My wine was delivered and not my husbands drink. After waiting about 4-5 minutes I had to ask the server who unapologetically retrieved a few minutes later. We placed our entree order (no appetizers) at 7:05 and did not receive our entree until 8:08pm!! Slow service, not great tasting and expensive.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Calm, scenic ocean view

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Quiet restaurant with great customer service. Quality food with the ocean view. Mussels were right on point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. We sat ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food and service were great. We sat outside which was beautiful. The inside really needs some updating on the decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Service, Great Food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is the second time we ate at Donderos in the week we were at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. It is simply the best. All upscale restaurants in Hawaii are expensive but a few you feel you got value for your money. Donderos is one of those. Simply the food and service are the best. I had the Cioppino the first time and thought nothing could match that. This time I had a lobster, crab pasta which was marvelous.

The manager treats you like friend, the wait staff and bus people are attentive but not intrusive and the restaurant and view are beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Donderos for my birthday. Reque ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went to Donderos for my birthday. Requested an outside table with a view of the grounds of the Grand Hyatt Kauai. The food is Italian with a lot of seafood dishes and is marvelous. I had Cioppino and my wife had Veal Marsala. Both were about the best we had ever had. The service is attentive but not intrusive. The manager came by to talk to us during the dinner to thank us for dining at the restaurant. All in all a perfect night. This is probably my favorite restaurant on Kauai. I love Tidepools at the Hyatt, but Donderos is special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster and crab pasta special was w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The lobster and crab pasta special was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

romantic dining experience

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We recently dined at Dondero's and it was beautiful. we had an outdoor table with a beautiful view of the gardens and the ocean which made for a very romantic setting. Service was perfect, there when you needed it to but with space for private conversation. The food was fantastic. Traditional food served in an innovative way with flavors playing off each other and complimenting each other. All staff from the moment we arrived where gracious, welcoming and genuinely interested in making this special day memorable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for special occasions. Food is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect for special occasions. Food is excellent, waitstaff is attentive but not bothersome.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our dinner here. Great food and gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved our dinner here. Great food and great service. Come after 7:30 if you don't want to be eating with squealing children...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, very accommodating to dietary needs.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Overall great, but service was a bit slow considering all of the staff that were working and we ordered drinks that never came. Otherwise the food was tasty, the ambiance lovely, and the staff very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Average at best

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Made a reservation for our 30 year anniversary while staying at the Hyatt. They asked if we were there for any special occasion and we told them why - what I don't understand is why bother asking if nothing is going to be done about it. The server was dismissive in all aspects of her service. When we sat down we wanted to sit next to each other and she was all incredulous about moving the napkin and silverware. I ended up doing it myself. We didn't see her again for 15 minutes before she asked us for drinks. On top of that one of the chefs kept coming out to ogle over a group of 20 something girls across from us. He served them wine, champagne, appetizers and bread all before we even got our drinks.

I had the Boar ribs that were good and my wife had a pasta dish that was also good. However, for $150 tab they should have been great. No body came around to ask how everything was or if we needed anything. Everything was just okay - don't expect too much from this place.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Nice dinner for two. Sat on the patio an ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice dinner for two. Sat on the patio and enjoyed the ambiance. Meals were good traditional Italian with a little twist. I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dondero's is a great place to eat, wheth ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Dondero's is a great place to eat, whether it's for a romantic evening with a loved one or out with friends. The food is consistently excellent and the service is superb. I had the shrimp & scallop scampi which was delicious! I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accomodating.2 x vegetarian s were ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very accomodating.2 x vegetarian s were made a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Meal at Dondero's

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The view, the meal, and the service was awesome. Dandero's is an Italian food restaurant located on the island of Kauai. The view from the terrace section as the sun set was very beautiful and romantic. Our server, Vanessa, was amazing and helped to make our night out extra special!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the best dining experience on ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Absolutely the best dining experience on Kauai.

When you're looking to get away from your crowded raved about favorite on the island, this is your place.

Great food, excellent service. I came here and got engaged about 8 months ago, now my wife and I continue to come back when we visit. The staff here could not have had help me set everything up better. Alejandro our server is a natural, very polite, smooth and thorough.

With the restaurant industries service on the rapid decline across the board, it's enlightening coming here and enjoying what a restaurant that delivers excellence.

Their head chef is a genius, served us a nice shot of his 5 month aged Grapefruit cello, and his homemade ice cream

Alejandro was our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special dinner night

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed lovely dinner with our 2 kids. Kids meal package for $12 included carrots or soup, main dish, ice cream and beverage. Our food and service was excellent. Highly recommend the caprese salad. It melted in our mouths it was so perfect with the soft cheese and heirloom tomatoes!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Better than ever....

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner her. The surprises were two: First of all, the menu was lovely. I had seen the menu three years ago, and in my opinion, not really reflective of northern Italian cuisine. But this time, it was wonderful. Secondly, the portions were generous. We had leftovers for another meal... and they were delicious. Overall, a wonderful dinner. Of course, the restaurants at the hotel are pricey, but for a special occasion, it was worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great value, great service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Good food paired with value and outstanding service. Highly recommend

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An experience that left us disappointed.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Everything about Dondero's was nice, except for the food. Great service. Great atmosphere. The adults both had the fresh catch, which was very disappointing. One child had chicken strips which were the same as the ones served by the pool. Other child had the kids pizza which tasted not so good. The desserts were good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very enjoyable meal

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Throughout the week in Kauai we had had several meals with bad/ indifferent service , even at the Hyatt so we were concerned this trend was going to continue. We were pleasantly surprised with our server at Donderos. Rosemary was very attentive and friendly. The food was very good and a bit different from traditional Italian. We had a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The caprese salad, pesto gnocchi and mus ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The caprese salad, pesto gnocchi and mushroom pizza were fantastic. Skip the fried mozzarella - it's amateur compared to their other options. The interior desperately needs an upgrade and doesn't compliment the quality of food they're putting out. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Delightful evening

 
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We were dining on a beautiful evening in the outdoor section of the .restuarant. Best evening dining experience the four of us have ever had on Kauai. The evening, atmosphere and ambience were very special. To compliment that atmosphere, was great food and service, three of us had the veal Marsala...excellent. The other dish was the shrimp risotto. All the dishes exceeded our expectations. Great evening

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Dondero's

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Dondero's restaurant was recommended by my sister, Chef May Valenciano, and it was the best recommendation ever. Our waiter, Juan, was fabulous and very attentive to our needs. We were so happy and surprised that the Manager, Jerry, and Chef Tyson came out to greet us and to check on us making sure we were taken cared of. So nice of them!! The food was extraordinary. My prime rib was cooked to perfection, pink in the inside (no blood, thank God!) and meat was very moist and tasty. My husband had the fish, which he loved and kept saying "Oh My God, Oh My God!!"...or was that for the dessert? LOL!! My hubby and I truly enjoyed our dinner, and we will go back to try the other dishes. Much Mahalo Chef May, Juan, Jerry, and Chef Tyson for everything! We love you :) Dondero's is a 5 star restaurant in our eyes!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice experience. Put it on a list for a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Nice experience. Put it on a list for a nice view with good food when you're in Kauai!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food great and ambiance good. Service s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Food great and ambiance good. Service started strong, but then degraded towards the end of the meal. We ordered coffee and dessert - the coffee arrived quickly, but the dessert was delayed. No offer to re-fill our cups. Also, the bill was incorrect - someone else's drinks were on our tab. There are better choices nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Not impressed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Thought an Italian restaurant would be a great change at Hyatt resort. Ordered veal Marsala had to send it back twice due to very salty meat. Chose to pass on meal altogether after second try. Would not recommend return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Good food, too busy

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for dinner at Donderos for a Valentines special date. Our food was long in coming, so much so that the chef sent an appetizer to our table. We had the seafood scampi which was excellent and the veal Marsala also very good. Our appetizer was a artichoke bruschetta which was fair. Our waiter Juan was attentive and nice. The biggest complaint we had was all of the wait staff and busboys who were constantly bustling around. Instead of service being more upscale and non-intrusive, we found it to be off-putting creating an almost rushed atmosphere. The food was good, however, we will probably not go back or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Valentines Day

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

my husband and I went to Dondero's for our Valentines Meal. Everything was absolutely perfect. from the friendly greeting of the hostesses, to the food specials that transported us to a plane of bliss, the heavenly dessert and the thoughful gesture of a rose with our check!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A romantic Valentine's Day dinner by the ocean

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This is definitely a high-end restaurant, although the dress code is specified as "resort casual." Part of the Grand Hyatt Resort on Kauai, the restaurant boasts an outdoor terrace with ocean view. Although there was no room on the terrace for us, we were seated by a huge open window which was just as nice. Very friendly and professional service, as well as outstanding gastronomic food complement the romantic setting... All in all, a memorable Valentine dinner, including a rose from the restaurant to my charming companion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.