About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: 808-742-1234x6346

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for an early Father's Day on Saturday at Dondero's

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Quiet

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kauai
Special Occasion
Kauai
Best Restaurants in Poipu ›

special occasion (28)
romantic (28)
great for outdoor dining (22)
See All
scenic view (21)
fit for foodies (16)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were great. We sat ...

vip
Dined a day ago

The food and service were great. We sat outside which was beautiful. The inside really needs some updating on the decor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Great Food

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

This is the second time we ate at Donderos in the week we were at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. It is simply the best. All upscale restaurants in Hawaii are expensive but a few you feel you got value for your money. Donderos is one of those. Simply the food and service are the best. I had the Cioppino the first time and thought nothing could match that. This time I had a lobster, crab pasta which was marvelous. The manager treats you like friend, the wait staff and bus people are attentive but not intrusive and the restaurant and view are beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Donderos for my birthday. Reque ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Went to Donderos for my birthday. Requested an outside table with a view of the grounds of the Grand Hyatt Kauai. The food is Italian with a lot of seafood dishes and is marvelous. I had Cioppino and my wife had Veal Marsala. Both were about the best we had ever had. The service is attentive but not intrusive. The manager came by to talk to us during the dinner to thank us for dining at the restaurant. All in all a perfect night. This is probably my favorite restaurant on Kauai. I love Tidepools at the Hyatt, but Donderos is special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster and crab pasta special was w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The lobster and crab pasta special was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

romantic dining experience

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We recently dined at Dondero's and it was beautiful. we had an outdoor table with a beautiful view of the gardens and the ocean which made for a very romantic setting. Service was perfect, there when you needed it to but with space for private conversation. The food was fantastic. Traditional food served in an innovative way with flavors playing off each other and complimenting each other. All staff from the moment we arrived where gracious, welcoming and genuinely interested in making this special day memorable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for special occasions. Food is ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect for special occasions. Food is excellent, waitstaff is attentive but not bothersome.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our dinner here. Great food and gr ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved our dinner here. Great food and great service. Come after 7:30 if you don't want to be eating with squealing children...

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great meal, very accommodating to dietary needs.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Overall great, but service was a bit slow considering all of the staff that were working and we ordered drinks that never came. Otherwise the food was tasty, the ambiance lovely, and the staff very nice.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Average at best

Dined on April 27, 2016

Made a reservation for our 30 year anniversary while staying at the Hyatt. They asked if we were there for any special occasion and we told them why - what I don't understand is why bother asking if nothing is going to be done about it. The server was dismissive in all aspects of her service. When we sat down we wanted to sit next to each other and she was all incredulous about moving the napkin and silverware. I ended up doing it myself. We didn't see her again for 15 minutes before she asked us for drinks. On top of that one of the chefs kept coming out to ogle over a group of 20 something girls across from us. He served them wine, champagne, appetizers and bread all before we even got our drinks. I had the Boar ribs that were good and my wife had a pasta dish that was also good. However, for $150 tab they should have been great. No body came around to ask how everything was or if we needed anything. Everything was just okay - don't expect too much from this place.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice dinner for two. Sat on the patio an ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice dinner for two. Sat on the patio and enjoyed the ambiance. Meals were good traditional Italian with a little twist. I would recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dondero's is a great place to eat, wheth ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Dondero's is a great place to eat, whether it's for a romantic evening with a loved one or out with friends. The food is consistently excellent and the service is superb. I had the shrimp & scallop scampi which was delicious! I would recommend it to anyone!

food4
ambience4
service4

Very accomodating.2 x vegetarian s were ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very accomodating.2 x vegetarian s were made a special meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Meal at Dondero's

Dined on April 17, 2016

The view, the meal, and the service was awesome. Dandero's is an Italian food restaurant located on the island of Kauai. The view from the terrace section as the sun set was very beautiful and romantic. Our server, Vanessa, was amazing and helped to make our night out extra special!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best dining experience on ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Absolutely the best dining experience on Kauai. When you're looking to get away from your crowded raved about favorite on the island, this is your place. Great food, excellent service. I came here and got engaged about 8 months ago, now my wife and I continue to come back when we visit. The staff here could not have had help me set everything up better. Alejandro our server is a natural, very polite, smooth and thorough. With the restaurant industries service on the rapid decline across the board, it's enlightening coming here and enjoying what a restaurant that delivers excellence. Their head chef is a genius, served us a nice shot of his 5 month aged Grapefruit cello, and his homemade ice cream Alejandro was our server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special dinner night

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed lovely dinner with our 2 kids. Kids meal package for $12 included carrots or soup, main dish, ice cream and beverage. Our food and service was excellent. Highly recommend the caprese salad. It melted in our mouths it was so perfect with the soft cheese and heirloom tomatoes!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Better than ever....

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner her. The surprises were two: First of all, the menu was lovely. I had seen the menu three years ago, and in my opinion, not really reflective of northern Italian cuisine. But this time, it was wonderful. Secondly, the portions were generous. We had leftovers for another meal... and they were delicious. Overall, a wonderful dinner. Of course, the restaurants at the hotel are pricey, but for a special occasion, it was worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great value, great service

Dined on April 5, 2016

Good food paired with value and outstanding service. Highly recommend

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

An experience that left us disappointed.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Everything about Dondero's was nice, except for the food. Great service. Great atmosphere. The adults both had the fresh catch, which was very disappointing. One child had chicken strips which were the same as the ones served by the pool. Other child had the kids pizza which tasted not so good. The desserts were good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable meal

Dined on March 20, 2016

Throughout the week in Kauai we had had several meals with bad/ indifferent service , even at the Hyatt so we were concerned this trend was going to continue. We were pleasantly surprised with our server at Donderos. Rosemary was very attentive and friendly. The food was very good and a bit different from traditional Italian. We had a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5

The caprese salad, pesto gnocchi and mus ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The caprese salad, pesto gnocchi and mushroom pizza were fantastic. Skip the fried mozzarella - it's amateur compared to their other options. The interior desperately needs an upgrade and doesn't compliment the quality of food they're putting out. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful evening

Dined on March 1, 2016

We were dining on a beautiful evening in the outdoor section of the .restuarant. Best evening dining experience the four of us have ever had on Kauai. The evening, atmosphere and ambience were very special. To compliment that atmosphere, was great food and service, three of us had the veal Marsala...excellent. The other dish was the shrimp risotto. All the dishes exceeded our expectations. Great evening

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Dondero's

Dined on February 28, 2016

Dondero's restaurant was recommended by my sister, Chef May Valenciano, and it was the best recommendation ever. Our waiter, Juan, was fabulous and very attentive to our needs. We were so happy and surprised that the Manager, Jerry, and Chef Tyson came out to greet us and to check on us making sure we were taken cared of. So nice of them!! The food was extraordinary. My prime rib was cooked to perfection, pink in the inside (no blood, thank God!) and meat was very moist and tasty. My husband had the fish, which he loved and kept saying "Oh My God, Oh My God!!"...or was that for the dessert? LOL!! My hubby and I truly enjoyed our dinner, and we will go back to try the other dishes. Much Mahalo Chef May, Juan, Jerry, and Chef Tyson for everything! We love you :) Dondero's is a 5 star restaurant in our eyes!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice experience. Put it on a list for a ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Nice experience. Put it on a list for a nice view with good food when you're in Kauai!!

food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Food great and ambiance good. Service s ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Food great and ambiance good. Service started strong, but then degraded towards the end of the meal. We ordered coffee and dessert - the coffee arrived quickly, but the dessert was delayed. No offer to re-fill our cups. Also, the bill was incorrect - someone else's drinks were on our tab. There are better choices nearby.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Not impressed

Dined on February 19, 2016

Thought an Italian restaurant would be a great change at Hyatt resort. Ordered veal Marsala had to send it back twice due to very salty meat. Chose to pass on meal altogether after second try. Would not recommend return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, too busy

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for dinner at Donderos for a Valentines special date. Our food was long in coming, so much so that the chef sent an appetizer to our table. We had the seafood scampi which was excellent and the veal Marsala also very good. Our appetizer was a artichoke bruschetta which was fair. Our waiter Juan was attentive and nice. The biggest complaint we had was all of the wait staff and busboys who were constantly bustling around. Instead of service being more upscale and non-intrusive, we found it to be off-putting creating an almost rushed atmosphere. The food was good, however, we will probably not go back or recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Valentines Day

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

my husband and I went to Dondero's for our Valentines Meal. Everything was absolutely perfect. from the friendly greeting of the hostesses, to the food specials that transported us to a plane of bliss, the heavenly dessert and the thoughful gesture of a rose with our check!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A romantic Valentine's Day dinner by the ocean

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is definitely a high-end restaurant, although the dress code is specified as "resort casual." Part of the Grand Hyatt Resort on Kauai, the restaurant boasts an outdoor terrace with ocean view. Although there was no room on the terrace for us, we were seated by a huge open window which was just as nice. Very friendly and professional service, as well as outstanding gastronomic food complement the romantic setting... All in all, a memorable Valentine dinner, including a rose from the restaurant to my charming companion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely setting.

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I took our three daughters to Dondero's for dinner. The staff was welcoming and friendly. We were seated outside which was absolutely lovely. Our waiter was very sweet, but the overall service was not as I expected for such an expensive restaurant. My sparkling water was not poured for me. The bottle was just plonked down in front of me. Also, different people brought out the food and they were unsure who got what dish. Not a big deal, but these little touches matter when you are paying a lot of money for dinner. The food was good. Overall we had a lovely evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, the outdoor sett ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was very good, the outdoor setting incomparable. A spectacular night out.

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

No More Passes for Dondero's

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

The only reason we went to Dondero's again, is that it's at the Grand Hyatt, where we stayed. It's just too easy to walk from the room through the beautifully landscaped hotel property to the restaurant for dinner. We've given this restaurant a chance twice, and it never quite provides what is expected of a Grand Hyatt upscale restaurant. Honestly, I don't really want Italian food in Hawaii, but the restaurant must be doing well, in spite of my opinion, because it's been there for 25 years. But this third chance was the last. There are just too many restaurants in the Poipu area now that are fabulous. Service wasn't great - he just wasn't attentive, and never brought back more focaccia for us. We were lucky enough to sit outside, which is the only place I'd sit. Inside it looks like a fancy diner. My gnocchi with pesto were sort of gloppy, not creamy. And the pesto tasted off. I do with there was a better wine list for wines by the glass, but this reflects the whole hotel property venues in general, and not just Dondero's. Sorry.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Delightful

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Once again, I enjoyed a lovey dinner at Dondero's. They service is always prompt, courteous and paced to suit your dining requirements. The food was delicious! Our server was gracious. I will definitely continue to visit Dondero's on my Kauai visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It was just OK

Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was ok, but nothing special. It was quite expensive . The manager of the restaurant was very pleasant, he walked around the tables and asked customers if they were enjoying themselves. Our server was not as pleasant, more of a one with indifferent, robotic attitude. I would recommend this restaurant only for sitting outside on the patio with a beautiful view. Inside ambiance seemed dark and uninviting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2

Food was less than expected. Award winn ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Food was less than expected. Award winning service was absent. Go to Tide Pools if you stay here for better food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dining experience

Dined on January 21, 2016

We have eaten at Donderos several times over the years we have vacationed on Kauai. The food and service are outstanding. However, the restaurant is much more casual than it was last year. Many diners now show up in what appears to be summer yard work clothing. Nevertheless, we believe that the food, service and ambiance are the best on the island, better than Tidepools which can be a bit pretentious. A little expensive, but worth the cost.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Drowning Sound from poolside offkey Coverband

Dined on January 20, 2016

Good food, good waitstaff!-- questionable wine list nonexistant bar, greatback ground music until the Dematologist Conventions CoverBand below at the pool-ocean venue drowned out the music and conversation. Outrageous to schedule event on an open night at Donderos.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Dondero's = Dud

Dined on January 17, 2016

First of all, the Golden Girl's décor needs updating. It's not in bad shape or rundown, but it's very dated and kind of gaudy. The outside patio area is much prettier, but we got stuck inside. The food was bland and boring. Meat in the prosciutto & melon salad was tough and overly chewy - not good quality. The shrimp in my Scampi still had the blood line in it - yuck. Server did not seem interested in taking care of us or engaging at all. Sadly, bread was the best part of the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfully elegant restaurant with firs ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

Wonderfully elegant restaurant with first rate service, just the right ambiance for a romantic fine dining experience and Oso Buco to die for! We'll be looking forward to returning to Dondero's each year when we're visiting beautiful Kauai.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on January 7, 2016

The food was great! We had the caprese salad, minestrone soup, gnocchi and chocolate-hazelnut candy bar. Rosemary provided excellent service and thoughtful food and wine recommendations. We were seated outside after dark, providing a quiet, intimate setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food and Service only fair.

Dined on December 25, 2015

Restaurant is not genuinely concerned with customer comfort and food quality. Server was surprisingly impolite...she said "do you want this or not?". You get the distinct feeling they are striving to squeeze out max income at minimum cost - that they are first and foremost running a business to make money - not really interested in the customer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.