About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: 808-742-1234x6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish
  • Spaghetti Bolognese
  • Calamari Fritti
  • Pomodoro Caprese
Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish
Spaghetti Bolognese
Calamari Fritti
Pomodoro Caprese

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kauai
Special Occasion
Kauai
Best Restaurants in Poipu ›

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (31)
Scenic View (29)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Waterfront (2)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The server Koko was awesome knew the men ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The server Koko was awesome knew the menu and made great recommendations. The seafood was fresh and cooked just right not over cooked. The manager Jeff was on point visiting all tables to make sure dinners were up to standard.

Overall a great evening on a beautiful patio with great food and wonderful service.

Dondero's food is great the atmosphere is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was wonderful...appetizer to dess ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was wonderful...appetizer to dessert was delicious. Our waiter, Alejandro, was attentive without being intrusive. Restaurant manager, Jerry, stopped by to greet and welcome us to Dondero's. He later came by to see how we were doing. Great service! Ian kept us hydrated and our table clean. What a truly special birthday dinner for my husband!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! The pasta is fre ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food and service! The pasta is fresh and the flavors are scone to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, but waiter was les ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was really good, but waiter was less than attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I live in Chicago so I'm a foodie with p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I live in Chicago so I'm a foodie with pretty high expectations. Donderos far exceeded them.

Had the most romantic dinner on their patio with a view of a beautiful Hawaiian sunset. Request to sit outside! The food was delicious, the service on point and the ambiance was absolutely gorgeous. Spent my honeymoon in Hawaii and our dinner there was our favorite! Such a wonderful memory.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding, as well as the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was outstanding, as well as the location. It is a bit expensive but I would come back to dine. I have eaten at most of the restraunts at the Grand Hyatt and I would rate Dondero's as my favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had great food in the past here. F ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have had great food in the past here. Food wasn't bad, but nothing special and fairly pricey. I don't mind paying a lot for a meal, but it should be very good. My veal parm was somewhat tough and no flavors jumped out. Again, not bad, but not good enough to match the price. The waiter was pleasant but really didn't make any recommendations regarding food or wine that helped our selection. We'll try it again next time in hopes it was just an off night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent for the kids.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent for the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was great and it was nice that t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service was great and it was nice that the manager went around to all tables to check in his customers. The recommendations from my waiter were on point and the flood he recommended were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was incredible - Alejandro w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was incredible - Alejandro was an amazing server - incredibly personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting for this restaurant was amaz ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The setting for this restaurant was amazing! And the gnocchi was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed the meal as well a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the meal as well as the background music. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Experienced waiters and waitresses, beau ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Experienced waiters and waitresses, beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A true gem! Outstanding service, food a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A true gem! Outstanding service, food and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining on the patio around sunset was re ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dining on the patio around sunset was really beautiful. Food was excellent and interesting. Squid ink pasta with real truffles was lightly lemony and spicy, really delicious. The crab and lobster pasta had two kinds of homemade pasta and a whole lobster tail for $40. Quite reasonable for so much seafood. It was also very delicious, the sauce was light and went well with the crab and lobster. The mussel appetizer was tender and flavorful. The best surprise was the carpaccio. I liked that the best

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although Dondero's might look like an up ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Although Dondero's might look like an upscale, romantic restaurant, it is becoming more of a family-oriented, noisy place where children are allowed (and encouraged) to act as if they were at a pizza parlor.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Our first visit was exceptional in all a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our first visit was exceptional in all aspects. Jeremy took great care of us throughout the evening, starting with the Brunello! Our salads were very fresh (Ceasar & Caprese) and our entrees were excellent (Lobster & Crab pasta and Veal Marsala). Chef Cary stopped by to visit and explain some of his methods and ingredients, which was awesome! Having dined at other Poipu Beach restaurants for the past 12 years, this was clearly the best meal we have had on the island of Kauai.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent here, and this is ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food is excellent here, and this is from a person who isn't typically a fan of Italian cuisine.

My entire family enjoyed the meal ver much - great food/service/ambience. Simply superb!!!

Frankly, am surprised why it doesn't have a much higher rating. Believe me, we are a selective bunch and we fell in love with Dondero's.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken piccata needs less breading

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The chicken piccata needs less breading

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was great and the hostess ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the hostess was great and the wait staff was great, then the kitchen was closed my husband can't order dinner entrée (we had resrevation at 9:30pm and the kitchen closed at 10pm). Why they took reservation at 9:30pm if they close the kitchen at 10pm? Only thing my husband had was small appetizer (cheese ball) and small welted Caesar salad??? and drank several cocktails. Was very hungry when left the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing food! Great atmosphere! Best Ita ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing food! Great atmosphere! Best Italian on Kauai

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly average meals for the venue and f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fairly average meals for the venue and for the value. Overall, the restaurants at the Grand Hyatt were much less than expected having had pretty good dining experiences at other Hyatts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Horrible service. Server was not friendl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Horrible service. Server was not friendly... did not receive drinks until after our appetizer was finished - unacceptable. For the price you pay, you expect decent service. Server never came back to see how everything was, only brought check at the end

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely setting outside with views across ...

vip
 (Oxford)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lovely setting outside with views across the lawn to the ocean down below , inside is a bit dated and stuffy. The food was good, service was a little slow. Better for a relaxed dinner for two than a family meal as the kids get bored waiting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were seated promptly by Juan who was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were seated promptly by Juan who was so nice! Our waitress Vanessa came right over to see if we would like cocktails and/or pupus. We did and our calamari fritti and our mozzarella pupus were wonderful! Dinner was delicious...Chef Cory visited our table to see how we were doing. LOVELY! Manager Jerry Delgado was very gracious as were all of the restaurant employees. I would highly recommend dining there for a special and scrumptious experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That was the most expensive lousy meal I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

That was the most expensive lousy meal I ever had. I had their chicken piccata and it was so tough I couldn't chew it and to think it only cost me $30. I had the Prosutito and melon for $14 which consisted of 3 one inch squares of watermelon and a little Prosutito on top and three small figs disappointing to say the least for the price. My husband had the same appetizer, but had the pasta bolognese and that was better. This is the second time I have eaten here and there won't be a third.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Decor appeared "dated"; we sank into the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Decor appeared "dated"; we sank into the booth cushions because the seat cushions were broken down after years of use. Waiter was somewhat attentive. Food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Great eats

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic food, service, and view. Everything was great, and we actually went back a couple of nights later. Staff is friendly and helpful, food is delicious, and we got to eat outside with a magnificent view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L. C. Redwood City

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Outstanding place to dine. view of Pacific ocean beautiful. Outstanding food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We received poor service. We ordered a glass of wine and an old fashion. My wine was delivered and not my husbands drink. After waiting about 4-5 minutes I had to ask the server who unapologetically retrieved a few minutes later. We placed our entree order (no appetizers) at 7:05 and did not receive our entree until 8:08pm!! Slow service, not great tasting and expensive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Calm, scenic ocean view

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Quiet restaurant with great customer service. Quality food with the ocean view. Mussels were right on point.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. We sat ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food and service were great. We sat outside which was beautiful. The inside really needs some updating on the decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Service, Great Food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is the second time we ate at Donderos in the week we were at the Grand Hyatt Kauai. It is simply the best. All upscale restaurants in Hawaii are expensive but a few you feel you got value for your money. Donderos is one of those. Simply the food and service are the best. I had the Cioppino the first time and thought nothing could match that. This time I had a lobster, crab pasta which was marvelous.

The manager treats you like friend, the wait staff and bus people are attentive but not intrusive and the restaurant and view are beautiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Donderos for my birthday. Reque ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went to Donderos for my birthday. Requested an outside table with a view of the grounds of the Grand Hyatt Kauai. The food is Italian with a lot of seafood dishes and is marvelous. I had Cioppino and my wife had Veal Marsala. Both were about the best we had ever had. The service is attentive but not intrusive. The manager came by to talk to us during the dinner to thank us for dining at the restaurant. All in all a perfect night. This is probably my favorite restaurant on Kauai. I love Tidepools at the Hyatt, but Donderos is special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster and crab pasta special was w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The lobster and crab pasta special was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

romantic dining experience

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We recently dined at Dondero's and it was beautiful. we had an outdoor table with a beautiful view of the gardens and the ocean which made for a very romantic setting. Service was perfect, there when you needed it to but with space for private conversation. The food was fantastic. Traditional food served in an innovative way with flavors playing off each other and complimenting each other. All staff from the moment we arrived where gracious, welcoming and genuinely interested in making this special day memorable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for special occasions. Food is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect for special occasions. Food is excellent, waitstaff is attentive but not bothersome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our dinner here. Great food and gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved our dinner here. Great food and great service. Come after 7:30 if you don't want to be eating with squealing children...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, very accommodating to dietary needs.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Overall great, but service was a bit slow considering all of the staff that were working and we ordered drinks that never came. Otherwise the food was tasty, the ambiance lovely, and the staff very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Average at best

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Made a reservation for our 30 year anniversary while staying at the Hyatt. They asked if we were there for any special occasion and we told them why - what I don't understand is why bother asking if nothing is going to be done about it. The server was dismissive in all aspects of her service. When we sat down we wanted to sit next to each other and she was all incredulous about moving the napkin and silverware. I ended up doing it myself. We didn't see her again for 15 minutes before she asked us for drinks. On top of that one of the chefs kept coming out to ogle over a group of 20 something girls across from us. He served them wine, champagne, appetizers and bread all before we even got our drinks.

I had the Boar ribs that were good and my wife had a pasta dish that was also good. However, for $150 tab they should have been great. No body came around to ask how everything was or if we needed anything. Everything was just okay - don't expect too much from this place.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.