About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: 808-742-1234x6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
  • Spaghetti Bolognese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
  • Calamari Fritti - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
  • Pomodoro Caprese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Spaghetti Bolognese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Calamari Fritti - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Pomodoro Caprese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (19)
Scenic View (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Waterfront (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome! again

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome! again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dondero's was absolutely delisious! True ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Dondero's was absolutely delisious! True fine dining with a great atmosphere. The staff was very friendly from the hostess to the wait staff to the manager. We were there for our honeymoon and they made us feel really special there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME! in every way. A must.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

AWESOME! in every way. A must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE WITH SPECIAL ATTEN ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE WITH SPECIAL ATTENTION FROM THE MANAGER JERRY.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We came late which may not have been fai ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came late which may not have been fair. Our waiter was very kind, the manager overly friendly. Unfortunately the food was ok. I ordered pizza and I will have to say, it had absolutely no flavor at all. None. Couldn't eat it. I didn't make a fuss but the waiter kindly removed it from our bill. Felt the same way about all of the restaurants at the Hyatt. Except in the Clubroom. For some reason everything in there was delicious!! Oh and at the capitals bar,the pork sliders are delicious.

I wish I could have given a better review as I love this hotel and everyone that works here is amazing. The food... not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We went to Dondero's for an anniversary ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went to Dondero's for an anniversary dinner. Poor start of the evening as the hostess was less than welcoming and shuffled us off the the waiting area like we were waiting for a medical appointment. I found it almost humorous as we were the only people waiting and the person seating us announced our name as if there were a room full of people.

We found the meal to be good not great. The entree prices were high. The server and attendants were personable but service was on the slow side. Water did not arrive until 10-15 minutes after seating and the drinks, salads, etc. could have been more timely. I found the decor to be dull and uninspired. I should say the desserts were very good . For the special occasion, I did not find the evening very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Meal started out with attentive service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Meal started out with attentive service great day inks and a great appetizer. Cheese/meat tray with the house made ricotta, fontina, and imberico ham. But from there it was downhill. We asked for the wine menu again when he dropped off our appetizer. We didn't see our waiter again for over 30 minutes, a separate person dropped off our entree during that time. And only after we were done with our entrees did he returned. We ordered dessert and coffee and proceeded to wait another 25 minutes and when the dessert arrived it was clear it was sitting around for a while as the sorbet was melted. We sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service from the kitchen was terrible. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service from the kitchen was terrible. Using a new order system that did not work. Meals ended up being comped. But no excuse for introducing a new system on a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This place is is the Grand Hyatt in Poip ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This place is is the Grand Hyatt in Poipu Bay Area of Kauai. It's the best restaurant in the resort. Terrific food and ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We greatly enjoyed our experience, so we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our experience, so we came back a second night! We came to Kauai to celebrate our HONEYMOON and came across an Italian Restaurant. Both nights we were pleased with our servers and nightly specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal. Could have used more staff l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great meal. Could have used more staff long time between courses. Waiter had to buss tables

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful. Iced tea was terrib ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was wonderful. Iced tea was terrible-restaurant uses prepackaged iced tea mix that even the staff didn't like. Manager was very friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful setting inside and out. Alejan ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful setting inside and out. Alejandro was a wonderful waiter and the food was devine

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Large, comfortable, well appointed dinin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Large, comfortable, well appointed dining room. Seems a bit fussy and very quiet. We ordered the specials, both entrees were excellent. Our waiter was a bit glum but did give us good info regarding various wines. We were pleased with our bottle. Probably won't return.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner and the service wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Get there early to get the best seat on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Get there early to get the best seat on the patio (even if you have a reservation as you're seated based on when you arrive). Pesto gnocchi was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fresh. Super warm service. Live f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always fresh. Super warm service. Live for the beef carpaccio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our food and the s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our food and the service was excellent. The restaurant overlooks the resort pools and ocean. We were all able to talk and hear one another without difficulty.

The lobster pasta was absolutely delicious with just the right amount of spice!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful evening dinner, the s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful evening dinner, the staff were really friendly and gave us great service. It was my wife's B'day and they even made up our menu with her name with a "Happy Birthday".

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very romantic. Great service, manager ev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very romantic. Great service, manager even stopped by to check on us and the request of the guests. Beautifully creative dishes. Atmosphere was something where you would want to bring a jacket or a dress.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donderos is a restaurant that should be ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Donderos is a restaurant that should be on everyone's list to visit at least once. We went three years ago when there was a small problem. We gave Donderos a second chance, ended up going for our last night in preferance to Tidepools. -'A very memorable evening. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Dondero's for my husband's bi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We came to Dondero's for my husband's birthday with a party of five. We had a nice table outside. The service was quite good. Appetizers were nice but the mains were outstanding! My father-in-law could not stop saying (and eating) how great his shrimp scampi was. I would say prices were on the higher end but it's Hawaii - so was expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Juan was a fabulous . Suggested the past ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Juan was a fabulous . Suggested the pasta which was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food on the island! people ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Best Italian food on the island! people are so nice and the views are amazing off the patio. My wife and I enjoyed a nice bottle of wine and had a wonderful meal.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dondero's is just an amazing atmosphere ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dondero's is just an amazing atmosphere with amazing food! We ate their twice on our recent trip to the Grand Hyatt Kauai and both times was exceptional. Our server Juan was the absolute best and the manager always stopped by to chat and make you feel welcome. Beautiful views from the patio overlooking the resort & the beach.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent ambiance (particularly outdoor ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

excellent ambiance (particularly outdoor seating), terrific personalized service, and very good food at a "reasonable" value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is pricey, portions are acceptable. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food is pricey, portions are acceptable. Minestrone soup is not worth the money and tasteless

Ambience is outstanding is is the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delicious appetizers and desserts. Uniq ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Delicious appetizers and desserts. Unique ambiance. Friendly service. Manager Jerry greeted everyone at the table and made sure that everything was satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We ate here on our family vacation and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We ate here on our family vacation and the experience was very nice! Our waiter Alejandro was amazing! He was so kind and helpful and he really made the experience fantastic. He was so friendly to my children and I appreciated that. Not easy to keep kids entertained in a nice restaurant and he made it fun for them. I started to rain while we were on the patio and he was really great in helping an offering a dry spot. Can't say enough about him as he really made the dinner memorable . Food/ drinks were good but he was great!

Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server Koko was awesome knew the men ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The server Koko was awesome knew the menu and made great recommendations. The seafood was fresh and cooked just right not over cooked. The manager Jeff was on point visiting all tables to make sure dinners were up to standard.

Overall a great evening on a beautiful patio with great food and wonderful service.

Dondero's food is great the atmosphere is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was wonderful...appetizer to dess ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Dinner was wonderful...appetizer to dessert was delicious. Our waiter, Alejandro, was attentive without being intrusive. Restaurant manager, Jerry, stopped by to greet and welcome us to Dondero's. He later came by to see how we were doing. Great service! Ian kept us hydrated and our table clean. What a truly special birthday dinner for my husband!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on an upper level with no ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were seated on an upper level with no other diners in spite of many open tables on window level and we had a reservation for days. Food good service mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Great food and service! The pasta is fre ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food and service! The pasta is fresh and the flavors are scone to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, but waiter was les ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was really good, but waiter was less than attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I live in Chicago so I'm a foodie with p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I live in Chicago so I'm a foodie with pretty high expectations. Donderos far exceeded them.

Had the most romantic dinner on their patio with a view of a beautiful Hawaiian sunset. Request to sit outside! The food was delicious, the service on point and the ambiance was absolutely gorgeous. Spent my honeymoon in Hawaii and our dinner there was our favorite! Such a wonderful memory.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding, as well as the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was outstanding, as well as the location. It is a bit expensive but I would come back to dine. I have eaten at most of the restraunts at the Grand Hyatt and I would rate Dondero's as my favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had great food in the past here. F ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have had great food in the past here. Food wasn't bad, but nothing special and fairly pricey. I don't mind paying a lot for a meal, but it should be very good. My veal parm was somewhat tough and no flavors jumped out. Again, not bad, but not good enough to match the price. The waiter was pleasant but really didn't make any recommendations regarding food or wine that helped our selection. We'll try it again next time in hopes it was just an off night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent for the kids.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent for the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was great and it was nice that t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service was great and it was nice that the manager went around to all tables to check in his customers. The recommendations from my waiter were on point and the flood he recommended were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was incredible - Alejandro w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was incredible - Alejandro was an amazing server - incredibly personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.