About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
  • Spaghetti Bolognese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
  • Calamari Fritti - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
  • Pomodoro Caprese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI

Report a photo problem

Hawaiian Opah With Baby Artichokes, Brussel Sprouts, Tomato, Pancetta, Peas, And Radish - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Spaghetti Bolognese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Calamari Fritti - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI
Pomodoro Caprese - Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu, HI

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Scenic View (17)
Romantic (17)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Waterfront (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent swordfish. The chicken piccata ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent swordfish. The chicken piccata was very good but salty. The portion sizes were generous and the waiter was kind enough to suggest the meal could be split. I wish we had listened to him. The calamari appetizer was delicious and also generously portioned. Wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We were treated like royalty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We got the squid ink ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was excellent. We got the squid ink pasta which was homemade and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I feel like I have high standards regard ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I feel like I have high standards regarding Italian food and EVERY bite was wonderful. From the bread to calamari appetizer, to entry of Pasta Bolognese, every bite was excellent and the unexpected highlight of our dinners on island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I felt like a king with his queen. Thank ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I felt like a king with his queen. Thank you for a memorable night!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only problem was after the appetizer ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The only problem was after the appetizers and salad, it was 25 minutes before dinner arrived. No message from the waiter. No water glass refill, plate clear, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Dondero's is a special treat! Though me ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dondero's is a special treat! Though menu prices are rather high, the food is well worth the cost! Always enjoy Dondero's during our visits to Kaua'i and look forward to the wonderful Italian cuisine. Starting our wonderful feast my husband and I shared a Caprese Salad. Telling the waiter we were sharing the salad, he had the kitchen split it for us...a nice touch! I had a fabulous dish featuring garlic shrimp (warning...heads still on the shrimp) and pasta. WONDERFUL! My husband had Spaghetti Bolognese that was plentiful and delicious! Dondero's is located in the Grand Hyatt Poi'pu -- an absolutely beautiful location near Shipwreck Beach. If possible, ask for a table on the terrace and you'll have a wonderful view of the ocean AND the Hyatt gardens. The restaurant INSIDE is also attractive -- a sea theme -- so even if the weather is "iffy" you will have a wonderful dining experience. One specialty is Osso Bucco...absolutely AMAZING! Not really for young children, but older children are always welcome! A good choice for a special meal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Flavors very strong, salty and lacking s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Flavors very strong, salty and lacking subtlety (to be kind).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

The fresh fish entree was amazing. I li ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The fresh fish entree was amazing. I live opah but their preparation and presentation was original AND excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the evening here. Given that ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We enjoyed the evening here. Given that there was limited outdoor seating we opted to wait for ~20-30 minutes for an outside table to open. We waited at the upstairs bar . The wait was worth the nice table we were seated at. A beautiful garden and ocean view.

The manager Jerry stopped by as he appeared to be greeting and chatting with each table - nice" and we enjoyed his attentiveness. and our waiter was attentive after our initial long wait for wine. Our meal was absolutely delicious - Skull Island Shrimp Scampi and the Fresh catch were our choices, preceded by fresh, restaurant grown salad... Very delicate. We then enjoyed their signature gelato - so unique- the mint tasted like a fresh mint leaf - wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional food! I had the mussels and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Exceptional food! I had the mussels and they were delicious. My husband had the ciopino and it was very good too. I ordered the mango line martini and it was delicious! We really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and nice to our 2 kids :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food Stupendous!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food

Stupendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This was one of the nicer restaurants we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was one of the nicer restaurants we found around our resort, though our options seemed to be fairly limited. The food was good and the patio looked like a nice place to sit. The atmosphere and decor are certainly a little dated, but we had a nice meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good restaurant with a beautiful vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good restaurant with a beautiful view! We are outside looking at the setting of torches and ocean

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Both service and food was wonderful! We ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Both service and food was wonderful! We asked for a good view and were given the perfect table just outside the restaurant with a gorgeous view. Generous portions, too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service, delicious food!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome service, delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! again

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome! again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dondero's was absolutely delisious! True ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Dondero's was absolutely delisious! True fine dining with a great atmosphere. The staff was very friendly from the hostess to the wait staff to the manager. We were there for our honeymoon and they made us feel really special there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME! in every way. A must.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

AWESOME! in every way. A must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE WITH SPECIAL ATTEN ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE WITH SPECIAL ATTENTION FROM THE MANAGER JERRY.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We came late which may not have been fai ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came late which may not have been fair. Our waiter was very kind, the manager overly friendly. Unfortunately the food was ok. I ordered pizza and I will have to say, it had absolutely no flavor at all. None. Couldn't eat it. I didn't make a fuss but the waiter kindly removed it from our bill. Felt the same way about all of the restaurants at the Hyatt. Except in the Clubroom. For some reason everything in there was delicious!! Oh and at the capitals bar,the pork sliders are delicious.

I wish I could have given a better review as I love this hotel and everyone that works here is amazing. The food... not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We went to Dondero's for an anniversary ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went to Dondero's for an anniversary dinner. Poor start of the evening as the hostess was less than welcoming and shuffled us off the the waiting area like we were waiting for a medical appointment. I found it almost humorous as we were the only people waiting and the person seating us announced our name as if there were a room full of people.

We found the meal to be good not great. The entree prices were high. The server and attendants were personable but service was on the slow side. Water did not arrive until 10-15 minutes after seating and the drinks, salads, etc. could have been more timely. I found the decor to be dull and uninspired. I should say the desserts were very good . For the special occasion, I did not find the evening very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Meal started out with attentive service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Meal started out with attentive service great day inks and a great appetizer. Cheese/meat tray with the house made ricotta, fontina, and imberico ham. But from there it was downhill. We asked for the wine menu again when he dropped off our appetizer. We didn't see our waiter again for over 30 minutes, a separate person dropped off our entree during that time. And only after we were done with our entrees did he returned. We ordered dessert and coffee and proceeded to wait another 25 minutes and when the dessert arrived it was clear it was sitting around for a while as the sorbet was melted. We sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service from the kitchen was terrible. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service from the kitchen was terrible. Using a new order system that did not work. Meals ended up being comped. But no excuse for introducing a new system on a weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This place is is the Grand Hyatt in Poip ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This place is is the Grand Hyatt in Poipu Bay Area of Kauai. It's the best restaurant in the resort. Terrific food and ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We greatly enjoyed our experience, so we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our experience, so we came back a second night! We came to Kauai to celebrate our HONEYMOON and came across an Italian Restaurant. Both nights we were pleased with our servers and nightly specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal. Could have used more staff l ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great meal. Could have used more staff long time between courses. Waiter had to buss tables

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful. Iced tea was terrib ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was wonderful. Iced tea was terrible-restaurant uses prepackaged iced tea mix that even the staff didn't like. Manager was very friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful setting inside and out. Alejan ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful setting inside and out. Alejandro was a wonderful waiter and the food was devine

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Large, comfortable, well appointed dinin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Large, comfortable, well appointed dining room. Seems a bit fussy and very quiet. We ordered the specials, both entrees were excellent. Our waiter was a bit glum but did give us good info regarding various wines. We were pleased with our bottle. Probably won't return.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner and the service wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Get there early to get the best seat on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Get there early to get the best seat on the patio (even if you have a reservation as you're seated based on when you arrive). Pesto gnocchi was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fresh. Super warm service. Live f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always fresh. Super warm service. Live for the beef carpaccio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our food and the s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our food and the service was excellent. The restaurant overlooks the resort pools and ocean. We were all able to talk and hear one another without difficulty.

The lobster pasta was absolutely delicious with just the right amount of spice!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful evening dinner, the s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful evening dinner, the staff were really friendly and gave us great service. It was my wife's B'day and they even made up our menu with her name with a "Happy Birthday".

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very romantic. Great service, manager ev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very romantic. Great service, manager even stopped by to check on us and the request of the guests. Beautifully creative dishes. Atmosphere was something where you would want to bring a jacket or a dress.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donderos is a restaurant that should be ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Donderos is a restaurant that should be on everyone's list to visit at least once. We went three years ago when there was a small problem. We gave Donderos a second chance, ended up going for our last night in preferance to Tidepools. -'A very memorable evening. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Dondero's for my husband's bi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We came to Dondero's for my husband's birthday with a party of five. We had a nice table outside. The service was quite good. Appetizers were nice but the mains were outstanding! My father-in-law could not stop saying (and eating) how great his shrimp scampi was. I would say prices were on the higher end but it's Hawaii - so was expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Juan was a fabulous . Suggested the past ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Juan was a fabulous . Suggested the pasta which was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food on the island! people ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Best Italian food on the island! people are so nice and the views are amazing off the patio. My wife and I enjoyed a nice bottle of wine and had a wonderful meal.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dondero's is just an amazing atmosphere ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Dondero's is just an amazing atmosphere with amazing food! We ate their twice on our recent trip to the Grand Hyatt Kauai and both times was exceptional. Our server Juan was the absolute best and the manager always stopped by to chat and make you feel welcome. Beautiful views from the patio overlooking the resort & the beach.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.