Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai

The setting of a grand Tuscan villa sets the tone for an amazing evening at Dondero's. Chef Cary crafts Old World favorites using the freshest of ingredients to create New World sensations! The menu features many classic dishes and Neapolitan style pizzas. Our delicious house made gelato makes the perfect dessert.

1571 Poipu Rd.
Poipu, HI 96756
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Ainako

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 240-6456

Website:
http://www.grandhyattkauai.com/

Parking Details:
Free valet parking at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for diners. Plentiful self-parking also available with easy access to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cary Roy

Private Party Facilities:
Dine in your own private room, away from the main dining area, where our attentive staff will see to your group's every need.

Private Party Contact:
Dondero's Manager: (808) 742-1234 ext. 6346

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dondero's - Grand Hyatt Kauai Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Scenic View (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Local Ingredients (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Waterfront (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The salad was good, the entrees were expensive and the flavors were not good.
Not a wonderful fresh fish flavor but heavy sauces that were not appealing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Had a quiet, romantic dinner outdoors on the patio. Pasta was great and the service was excellent! Recommend if you're around the Hayatt!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food beautifully presented. Service unnecessarily rushed. Getting us in, getting our order and getting us out felt like our server's main concerns. That said, see the first sentence again. The chef and kitchen are getting it right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Best seafood for my two weeks in Kauai. Beautiful, quiet atmosphere and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Outstanding outdoor tables with ocean view. Excellent service, food and very good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Dondero's is a gem! The veal meatball, the veal parm and the tiramisu were all stellar.
Request an outdoor table; the view is both breathtaking and serene.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our last night on Kauai we had dinner at Donderos to celebrate our vacation. A beautiful setting, wonderful ambiance and lovely dinner followed. The restaurant overlooks the beach outside the Grand Hyatt with gorgeous views. The dinner was outstanding...along with the service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Nice staying outdoors. Inside reminds me of the Catskills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A nice place to go, good food and nice atmosphere. Italian food with a local Island twist

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Cioppino was amazing! An abundance of seafood in an outstanding sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dinner. Sat on the outside porch overlooking the ocean. Fabulous.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Good good. Beautiful patio for couples dining. Great service. Wife loves the scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The evening was so special! It was our 25th anniversary; our server was excellent and every staff member that dealt with us was wonderful! The chef stopped by; all in all it was an incredible evening! Thank you so much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

A table put on the patio was very romantic. Everything we had was delicious!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always so ono! I really enjoy the beef carpaccio. My husband thinks that Dondero's caprese salad is the best he's ever had. The service is always so friendly and attentive. One of my favorite restaurants on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really a nice evening, except for the crying baby, which was out of place for this upscale, fine dining restaurant. The food was delicious, except both our main courses were over salted - to the point that I could not eat all of mine. Very nice Italian restaurant with very good service. And the Olive Oil gelato was amazing - really!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This restaurant is our favorite in Kauai - it is very romantic, panoramic view of ocean, excellent food and outstanding service. We went for our 25th wedding anniversary (site of honeymoon too) and they pulled out all the stops. They even printed a "Happy 25th Anniversary" on our own personalized menu! What a memorable evening - thanks Dondero's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Really enjoyed the excellent customer service by all staff. Koko was our waiter & was phenomenal. It was my wife & I, 5-year anniversary... we brought our 4- & 8-year old with us. All of were treated with upmost respect. Very fancy, yet casual dining. The view is amazing as well. Food was not bad either. Highly recommend Donderos!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very Nice Elegant Italian Restaurant located in the Grand Hyatt Resort Kauai. Would Definitely Recommend for Elegant Romantic Dining

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Multiple great options at Grand Hyatt. This is one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A pleasant terrace setting was the highlight : sadly the only highlight. Whilst the quality of the cooking was sound it hardly justified the price or some generous reviews. Perhaps this was a cultural reflection. As Europeans we are used to chefs being able to make the perfect pasta : in our experience too many American chefs lack basic techniques in preparing and cooking Italian dishes, as is the case at this restaurant. The experience wasn't enhanced by our waitress who was inattentive and lacking in knowledge both as to the dishes and correct cutlery! Finally, rather than the quiet romantic evening we were looking forward to, we could hardly hear one another above the barrage of noise from the too loud background music in the dining and not one but two outdoor concerts/entertainments at the hotel. Why do Americans seem to enjoy so much loud music while they dine!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We asked for patio seating and got it. Our waiter Juan was friendly and helpful. The cocktails from the bar were well mixed/balanced. The mussel appetizer was incredibly fresh and flavorful. Nice use of chili peppers. Good technique with the bolognese. And the lemon ricotta doughnuts were just right. This is our third visit to Donderos in 2 years, and they have never disappointed. Worth the money.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was incredible and our waiter was wonderful - very knowledgeable and not afraid to give his honest opinion on menu items. My wife has a life-threatening pork allergy. The waiter, manager, and kitchen went out of their way to take steps to protect her and assure us of the food safety. Very much appreciated!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Thank you for the amazing dinner! Everything was PERFECT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The scallop and I know pasta was excellent, very different than any I've had with its citrus and chili pepper flavors. The ribeye was delicious also. Nice ambiance. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Took a group of (8) and had an outstanding dining experience. Superb in every way!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and service! The pastas were really tasty

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant has amazing food, And the people that work there are absolutely wonderful. We went here twice on our vacation to Kauai. The food is to die for, they have an excellent gluten-free menu , and the wait staff is extremely friendly.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Waiter served my wife wrong drink. My steamers came with a huge fork which I had replaced with a small cocktail fork.
Food ok but nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Over-sauced and overpriced. Extremely oily veal and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We may have had a newbie server. Very pleasant but a bit tentative. Did not know where the mussels came from. Also did not elaborate on the food choices as we overheard other servers do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The view of the ocean was amazing. Our server was very nice and very knowledgeable. The local catch (Ahi) was the best prepared tuna I have ever had. My wife had the veal, which was also delicious. It was expensive as you might assume, but it was a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Everything about Donderos was great! Making the reservation was a breeze and the wait time to get to our table was minimal. The greeters were friendly and authentic. Our waiter Juan was super helpful for everything from understanding the menu to ordering appropriate drinks to compliment the meal. He definitely helped us feel welcomed and more knowledgeable since we had never eaten authentic Italian food before. The Manager Jerry even came out to greet us and we noticed him working hard though out the night. Jerry and his team at Donderos made my mothers birthday so special she has already made plans to come back again next year! Thank you Jerry and crew for everything you do!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food and service were good. Decor was really dated. Overall a pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fabulous way to end our vacation in Poipu. Dinner was awesome and sitting outside at night was magical.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food, great staff, beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was overall decent, but for the price and quality, I could have gotten a better experience at any Olive Garden. Long wait times in between service and bringing out food when it was barely busy. Would have been more enjoyable if the prices met the quality of the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We dine at many of the best restaurants during our annual visit to Kauai. Dondero's differs from others in that it provides an elegant and relaxing dining experience. The food is excellent. Service is excellent unless your server is assigned too many tables. The wine list has many interesting choices. My notes, recorded each year, indicate wine prices have increased about 30% since our last visit in 2016. Dondero's is great for that special occasion, but be prepared to spend a bit more than other restaurants on Kauai for an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went there for Valentines Day and were not disappointed. The food was superb, osso bucco and lobster and crab linguine

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.