About Donato's Restaurant

46 Fox Chapel Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
View Larger Map

Located in Fox Chapel, Donato’s offers the finest hand cut Piedmontese Beef, Veal and Chops, the Freshest Seafood brought in Daily, Flavorful Pasta and Sauces and House Made Desserts. We also feature a tailored regional wine list along with a variety of scotches, ports and dessert wines. From the first course to the last, you can expect the freshest ingredients and the most delicious offerings, all served with an attentiveness that will leave you delighted.

Stop by our lounge and try one of our signature drinks before heading to your table. Or just relax and enjoy your meal in one of our lounge’s cozy booths or our comfy bar stools.

Donato’s turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeport Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 781-3700

Website:
http://www.donatosrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering Available

Parking Details:
Limo and Taxi services available.

Executive Chef:
Donato Coluccio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pesto Shrimp Pasta - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Hot Banana Peppers Stuffed W/ Groung Ahi Tuna....Awesome!! - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Crab Stuffed Lobster - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Shrimp And Scallops - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
Pesto Shrimp Pasta - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
Hot Banana Peppers Stuffed W/ Groung Ahi Tuna....Awesome!! - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
Crab Stuffed Lobster - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA
Shrimp And Scallops - Donato's Restaurant, Pittsburgh, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Donato's turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Donato's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fresh, flavorful. The serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fresh, flavorful. The service was attentive but not too intrusive. Great location to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had friend in from out of town for the h ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had friend in from out of town for the holiday weekend and enjoyed the new menu for the winter season. Service and presentation was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary recently a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary recently and enjoyed a delicious dinner. Our server, Mike, is excellent. He is very attentive and personable. The menu prices have gone up a bit, but the value is still there. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. We always make a poin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience. We always make a point to go to Donato's when we come to town. It is one of our favorite restaurant's and the food is and has always been amazing. The service and staff are first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great choice for food and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a great choice for food and service! We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately, Donato's is quite incons ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Unfortunately, Donato's is quite inconsistent regarding food and service. This time the service was extraordinarily slow -- cocktails in particular -- and the place wasn't even busy. My husband and I had guests we were very embarrassed. There was no "sense of urgency" with the server. She took her time and with no apologies. When he and I ate there two or three weeks ago, the service was very attentive and the food excellent. Prior to that time the service was great, and prior to that, we experienced poor service and just okay food. We won't be returning for a long while if at all. We dine out often, and choose to patronize an eatery where we can expect quality service and food every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Strip steak was undercooked and very tou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Strip steak was undercooked and very tough. Had trouble even cutting it.

Only ate a third of it.

Wifes meal and appetizers were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food - Great service- went early on ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good food - Great service- went early on a Saturday evening for a business dinner. Was not very busy at 5 pm, so it was easy to talk and interact with each other Waitress was attentive. Food served hot. Can not complain about anything.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Entertained business clients in from Sou ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Entertained business clients in from South American and they had an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, excellent service - but not a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Good food, excellent service - but not as "special" as I had hoped. Ambience is not commensurate with the level of pricing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

very nice atmosphere for a casual busine ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

very nice atmosphere for a casual business dinner. able to have good conversation and good meal. the server Leah was impeccable, anticipating our every need.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Donato's is a wonderful restaurant with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Donato's is a wonderful restaurant with amazing food. You should all try it as I am sure you will love it. The wait staff is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined here on business many times. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I've dined here on business many times. In town for the Steelers game so I brought my wife, Daughter and her family. They loved this place as much as I do. Daughter has severe food allergies and they worked around them to please her. Will always make it a stop when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was alright. Waiting times we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 28, 2016

everything was alright. Waiting times were long for: taking/receiving order, dessert menu, getting bill. WHole dinner took 3 hours because of all the waiting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service great food no wait comfort ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great service great food no wait comfortable booth everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the opportunity to dine twice in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had the opportunity to dine twice in the same week at Donato's. The service is slower than necessary, and the consistency of the food preparation is uneven. Several dishes were ordered, with the mussels overcooked, the risotto too undercooked, the house salads hastily prepared and served. The filet mignon's however were perfectly prepared, and the wine selections were properly served. All in all, both occasion's were satisfactory, but needed improvement for this restaurant to regain its former status of consistency which matches the prices paid by the customer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We've been going to Donato's to celebrat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We've been going to Donato's to celebrate our anniversary for the last4 years.

The food is consistently good, and the wait staff very friendly.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

anniversary dinner was fantastic....my h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 12, 2016

anniversary dinner was fantastic....my husband and I were very pleased....from cocktails to dessert.....service impeccable...

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent friendly service. Was pleased ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent friendly service. Was pleased that I could order a reduced number of clams since I was the only one eating them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb Filet Mignon and outstanding shri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Superb Filet Mignon and outstanding shrimp wrapped in prosciutto appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, and outstanding food as a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great service, and outstanding food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We(5) arrived at 12:20 pm for lunch. Sea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We(5) arrived at 12:20 pm for lunch. Seated immediately . Table decorated for birthday. Lovely.

Order not taken for 45 min. Never served until approximately 1:45. Food very good. Long time for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Four women came to Donatos to celebrate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Four women came to Donatos to celebrate a friend's birthday. We had a noon reservation. There were three other occupied tables in the restaurant and at 1:00 we still were not served our salads.

I asked the hostess if there was a problem and voila, our salads appeared. Mine had bacon and had to be sent back to the kitchen. My plate reappeared when my friends were nearly finished eating!

I live nearby and was most disappointed in the service. This is not an inexpensive restaurant and we will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

One of the best meals I've had. Can't wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best meals I've had. Can't wait to go back. We were seated in the bar area and enjoyed the atmosphere there. I had one of the spaghetti dishes and really enjoyed it. My wife had a chicken dish and it was remarkable also. A gem of a restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit here, and absolutely loved i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

First visit here, and absolutely loved it. We came thinking it would be a simple Italian restaurant, but found out it's an excellent steakhouse also! The NY Strip was fantastic and perfectly prepared. Very nicely decorated and very nice waitstaff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary, and once again D ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was our anniversary, and once again Donato's din not disappoint. The food was great, as was the service. My wife and I had a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a delicious meal when I di ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I always have a delicious meal when I dine at Donatos.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party for 11 people and everyth ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a party for 11 people and everything was outstanding. This was our best meal that we all had in a long time. Our waiter Andy was the absolute best. We are planning another party in Oct and I would not hesitate going back to Donato's again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was perfect. Everything was pe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was perfect. Everything was perfect. It was a little pricey but we ordered a decent amount after seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant! Food is always go ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Food is always good and the staff is personable! Great night out celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A varied and interesting lunch menu. Th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 14, 2016

A varied and interesting lunch menu. The veal and spinach canneloni was hand-made and delicious. My guest much enjoyed the crab cakes. A tasty bread selection, including mini pizza bread was enjoyable. There was no rush to the meal. Relatively new owners/chefs make this a restaurant worth exploring. We will return for the evening meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our favorite anniversary spot! The servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our favorite anniversary spot! The service is excellent, the food continues to surprise. Well worth the trip every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A positive experience at Donato's this p ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

A positive experience at Donato's this past weekend. From our greeting upon arrival, to Donato's accommodation of a particular table, to the excellent service by Julia, to a very good dinner/special entrée for the evening...it was all good. The price of my glass of red was very high when compared to the price of a bottle...they were almost the same. So I had one glass instead of two. We will go back and will definitely request a table with Julia if she is available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best restaurant in Pittsburgh !! It was ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best restaurant in Pittsburgh !!

It was a Goooote One !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only thing going for this restaurant is ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Only thing going for this restaurant is its location. Only grilled meats were acceptable. Other dishes were mixed at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is a great place and it hasn't disa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is a great place and it hasn't disappointment me yet. I wish I had more time to spend at the bar, but alas....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What my family & I like about Donato's ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

What my family & I like about Donato's is that the food is consistently good. The menu is constant with daily specials which at least one of us tries. The service is always good as well. the staff is friendly and pleasant. Thank you all for the team work involved in serving us when we dine with you. You always make it a pleasurable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Donatos to celebrate our son' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Donatos to celebrate our son's graduation from Pitt. We were a party of 9.

The service was great, the appetizers delicious ( I loved their calamari in the red sauce) and the dinners were pretty good also.

My family enjoyed the filet mignon. I had the grouper which wasn't my favorite, but overall it was a good experience. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were excited about finally going to D ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2016

We were excited about finally going to Donato' because we had heard really good things about the food, unfortunately, we were very disappointed. The service was a bit slow. It took about 15 min before our waitress finally came over to get our drink order. The food was okay. My husband ordered the crab cakes. Without the sauce they were quite bland. Definitely not the best we've had. I ordered the seafood risotto. The shrimp and risotto were good, but the lobster was way over cooked and had a funny taste to it. When we got our bill, my husband had been charged with a more expensive beer that he ordered, but they were out of. It was never fixed in the computer. The waitress made the correction for us. Overall, we were disappointed. Maybe it was the food choices we made, but I doubt we'll give Donato's a second chance with so many other great choices available in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Fantastic italian meal for my Parent's Anniversary

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2016

I had never eaten at Donato's prior to booking my Parent's 50th Anniversary dinner. After reading some reviews, I decided to take a chance. Am I ever glad that I decided to celebrate at Donato's! There were 9 in our party, and we were seated in a side room, off of the main dining room. It offered some privacy for our family, while not separating us completely from other diners. I delivered a floral arrangement to the restaurant earlier in the day, and they ensured it was sitting on the table when we arrived. Our waiter was friendly and extremely attentive, while not being obtrusive. The food was fantastic! I would definitely book again at Donato's, and not only for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.