About Donato's Restaurant

46 Fox Chapel Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
View Larger Map

Located in Fox Chapel, Donato’s offers the finest hand cut Piedmontese Beef, Veal and Chops, the Freshest Seafood brought in Daily, Flavorful Pasta and Sauces and House Made Desserts. We also feature a tailored regional wine list along with a variety of scotches, ports and dessert wines. From the first course to the last, you can expect the freshest ingredients and the most delicious offerings, all served with an attentiveness that will leave you delighted.

Stop by our lounge and try one of our signature drinks before heading to your table. Or just relax and enjoy your meal in one of our lounge’s cozy booths or our comfy bar stools.

Donato’s turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeport Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 781-3700

Website:
http://www.donatosrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering Available

Parking Details:
Limo and Taxi services available.

Executive Chef:
Donato Coluccio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hot Banana Peppers Stuffed W/ Groung Ahi Tuna....Awesome!!
  • Crab Stuffed Lobster
  • Shrimp And Scallops
Hot Banana Peppers Stuffed W/ Groung Ahi Tuna....Awesome!!
Crab Stuffed Lobster
Shrimp And Scallops

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Donato's turns events into memories. Our private dining room can accommodate various-sized parties with an ideal blend of space and intimacy, be it a private business gathering, a rehearsal dinner, or a fabulous dinner party.

Donato's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Fox Chapel ›

special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (25)
romantic (14)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a party for 11 people and everyth ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a party for 11 people and everything was outstanding. This was our best meal that we all had in a long time. Our waiter Andy was the absolute best. We are planning another party in Oct and I would not hesitate going back to Donato's again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was perfect. Everything was pe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was perfect. Everything was perfect. It was a little pricey but we ordered a decent amount after seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant! Food is always go ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Food is always good and the staff is personable! Great night out celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A varied and interesting lunch menu. Th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A varied and interesting lunch menu. The veal and spinach canneloni was hand-made and delicious. My guest much enjoyed the crab cakes. A tasty bread selection, including mini pizza bread was enjoyable. There was no rush to the meal. Relatively new owners/chefs make this a restaurant worth exploring. We will return for the evening meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A positive experience at Donato's this p ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A positive experience at Donato's this past weekend. From our greeting upon arrival, to Donato's accommodation of a particular table, to the excellent service by Julia, to a very good dinner/special entrée for the evening...it was all good. The price of my glass of red was very high when compared to the price of a bottle...they were almost the same. So I had one glass instead of two. We will go back and will definitely request a table with Julia if she is available.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best restaurant in Pittsburgh !! It was ...

vip
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best restaurant in Pittsburgh !!

It was a Goooote One !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only thing going for this restaurant is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Only thing going for this restaurant is its location. Only grilled meats were acceptable. Other dishes were mixed at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is a great place and it hasn't disa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is a great place and it hasn't disappointment me yet. I wish I had more time to spend at the bar, but alas....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What my family & I like about Donato's ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What my family & I like about Donato's is that the food is consistently good. The menu is constant with daily specials which at least one of us tries. The service is always good as well. the staff is friendly and pleasant. Thank you all for the team work involved in serving us when we dine with you. You always make it a pleasurable experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Donatos to celebrate our son' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Donatos to celebrate our son's graduation from Pitt. We were a party of 9.

The service was great, the appetizers delicious ( I loved their calamari in the red sauce) and the dinners were pretty good also.

My family enjoyed the filet mignon. I had the grouper which wasn't my favorite, but overall it was a good experience. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were excited about finally going to D ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We were excited about finally going to Donato' because we had heard really good things about the food, unfortunately, we were very disappointed. The service was a bit slow. It took about 15 min before our waitress finally came over to get our drink order. The food was okay. My husband ordered the crab cakes. Without the sauce they were quite bland. Definitely not the best we've had. I ordered the seafood risotto. The shrimp and risotto were good, but the lobster was way over cooked and had a funny taste to it. When we got our bill, my husband had been charged with a more expensive beer that he ordered, but they were out of. It was never fixed in the computer. The waitress made the correction for us. Overall, we were disappointed. Maybe it was the food choices we made, but I doubt we'll give Donato's a second chance with so many other great choices available in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Fantastic italian meal for my Parent's Anniversary

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I had never eaten at Donato's prior to booking my Parent's 50th Anniversary dinner. After reading some reviews, I decided to take a chance. Am I ever glad that I decided to celebrate at Donato's! There were 9 in our party, and we were seated in a side room, off of the main dining room. It offered some privacy for our family, while not separating us completely from other diners. I delivered a floral arrangement to the restaurant earlier in the day, and they ensured it was sitting on the table when we arrived. Our waiter was friendly and extremely attentive, while not being obtrusive. The food was fantastic! I would definitely book again at Donato's, and not only for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cheeseman

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The crab cakes are always excellent and the Donato salad is great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely meal and good service

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Lovely meal and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Calamari diavola was tops as always. Goo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Calamari diavola was tops as always. Good texture. Not chewy. The bottleneck clams with linguine is what I order almost every time. Hasn't disappointed me yet. A very generous portion of clams with the linguine, which was al dente. The only thing I didn't prefer, which wasn't a huge deal, was the music. For some reason they were playing soft jazz. Much more prefer the Sinatra station they played in the background the past 2 times I was there. Overall, very good again and we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good, service was great. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was very good, service was great. It was a bit over priced.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Day dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We came to Donatos for Valentine's Day on Saturday feb 13th. Service was very good but upon review of the menu, it was clear that the food was tremendously overpriced. Still, I ordered the veal chop and my wife the filet mignon. Each entree was to include soup or salad. I chose soup, lobster bisque, but realized only upon return home that we were charged $8 additional for the soup. I thought soup or salad was included but apparently only the salad was. Portion sizes were small. The food was tasty, in particular the homemade meatballs, and was prepared well. However, this is a place, for me, that presents atmosphere primarily and charges for it. I will not return because the value simply is not there. At the price point, there are better restaurants in and around Pgh IMO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

love it!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

we just love Donatos. have been coming for at least 6 years. we particularly love to sit in the cozy booths in the bar. the staff is friendly and very accommodating. cant say enough good things.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious food and great service!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Andy was great and private room was roomy

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

We had a meeting here and it was fantastic. Everyone in our group of 7 liked the food and Andy the waiter was friendly and helpful. I had fish special, and others tried the eggplant and lasagna. The room was quiet and great for our meeting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always 5 Stars

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Once again I had a delicious dinner and the service was Superb.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Decline

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I have been eating dinner at Donato's for approximately 6 years for special occasions and always on New Years Eve. I believe the service and food have declined over the past several years and will look for another restaurant for my New Year's Eve dinner next year. Unfortunately, I can no longer recommend Donato's to others. Specific issues regarding 12/31/15 lad dinner experience:

(1) Confusion at the front desk upon entering (unprofessional).

(2) No salad fork (which I expect when I spend almost $200 (for dinner for two).

(3) My date order a $45 New York Strip (his first choice was the Prime Rib but it was already sold out at 8:45 p.m.). I would have expected a "side" at this price. Some asparagus or mashed potatoes or ANYTHING. The presentation of only a steak on a dinner plate is, again, pretty poor when one is spending $200 at what I used to consider a pretty high end restaurant.

(4) No offer to check our coats (as was the case in past years) or a place to hang the coat (that I could find). My coat was long and was hanging on the back of my chair (bottom folded on the floor).

(5) In prior year's, a complimentary meatball (or after dinner cordial) was offered as a appetizer. Nice touch but no longer exists.

(6) The good --- crème brulee was delicious.

I'm sorry to say that both my date and I feel that we need to start a new tradition at a different restaurant in the years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Perfect NYE Date Spot

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and our 2 best friends went to Donatos for New Years Eve dinner and we could ALL not say anything short of amazing about our experience. The food was unbelievable. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond. I called the restaurant a few times leading up to our reservation and was always greeted with a sweet hello from Ro. They Even let us bring our own wine in the enjoy with dinner, which made us so thrilled. We will surely be going back to Donatos and recommend this place to anybody who wants a delicious, comfortable and out of this world dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Huge disappointment

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We are frequent diners at Donatos. A recent birthday lunch was excellent. For dinner, my soup was room temp, the pork loin dry with little sauce, the potatoes average at best. my wife's eggplant parm was mostly cheese (compared to the wonderful eggplant parm I had at our latest lunch). my wife's oysters and salad were excellent, and the desserts also, although my creme brulee was rather small. We felt the service was spotty, and the restaurant was not crowded. All in all, very disappointing, the worst experience I have ever had there. The eggplant really was awful.

Paul Beisler

412-782-6941

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great Restaurant!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

One of my favorite Italian restaurants in Pittsburgh! Food is wonderful and has the best Calamari Appetizer in the region! Strongly recommend

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of towners treated like family

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

My kids and I were in town for the weekend and decided to try Donato's. Everyone was friendly including the other guests. Food was delicious. I had the del Monico. Tender, juicy, wish I had another one right now! Prosciutto wrapped shrimp is an outstanding appetizer. Risotto was just a tick underdone causing it to be a little starchy but had great flavors. Get an order of meatballs for the table! Would certainly return!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't forget the signature meatball appetizer

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

It was a first class dinner with a California cabernet that put a fabulous finish to our chocolate cake dessert. Our server was very attentive in the full room but it never felt crowded. We'll return with friends

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Nice Anniversary dinner

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

My hubby and I celebrated our 5th Anniv. at Donato's. We enjoyed the zucchini app, our meals and the wine. My steak was done to perfection! Would recommend a visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Dinner out

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We wanted a nice dinner out with friends. Very good food, service was great. Took forever to get a salad.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

My husband and I always enjoy ourselves when we dine at donatos! Mike took care of us and we always say how wonderful the wait staff is! He was awesome and took great care of us! Food was excellent as well (as always).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first dining experience in a few yea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Our first dining experience in a few years with Donato's. Still as good as before. Great food and service,as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Your pasta wasn't quite as al dente as i ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Your pasta wasn't quite as al dente as it usually is. I will give it another try.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I've always liked Donato's for their exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

I've always liked Donato's for their excellent food and service. But tonight my steak was not up to par. The cut was a bone in Delmonico and it was not cut properly and a little tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Pete and Pat's 30th Anniversary

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Donato's was an excellent choice for the celebration of our 30th Anniversary. Rob was an excellent waiter and the food was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

picky

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

this restaurant is generally very good, the best in the area.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Superb crab cakes

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Not only were the crab cakes superb, but the entire dining experience was flawless.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

We had a faboulas meal. It was an excellent place to go. I would recommend Donato's to everyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Anniversary Dinner!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

This is the second time we have been to Donato's, and we couldn't love it more! Our meal was fabulous, the service was superb, and it was an all-around wonderful anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Champions Dinner

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

We scheduled a chef's tasting menu for our family champions dinner and it was amazing. I couldn't recommend more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Covered all the bases! Great food & Wine for all..

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 24, 2015

Dining after a day of golf with our group of twenty in our own private room! Wine apps and great entrees. The service was personal and attentive. Donatos is a place for gathering!

Great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.