Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (52)
Romantic (50)
See All
Authentic (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Historic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Live Music (12)
Fun (12)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Dancing (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always special to dine there and the live music is fabulous....Thank you Gino for your attention and warm hospitality.....

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Authentic cuisine of course, but nothing beats the service--they make you feel like family!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Took my 79 year old mother here and we both loved it. The service was impeccable, ambiance lovely, food was very good. Old school charm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went to Donatello to celebrate a 95th birthday and a 90 birthday. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. From the moment we walked in the front door we were waited on and served graciously. From the bruschetta appetizer to the main meals of ossobuco, veal scalopinni, linguini w/clams and lump crabmeat , tortellini and more, the food was second to none. The wine and cocktails paired greatly with all the entrees. And then came the chocolate mousse cake. Wow, what a light delightful end to the evening.
What a great evening, couldn't have been better anywhere else. And the rose for the ladies was the finishing touch to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic food and impeccable service, as always. One of the best restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

great place for dinner and special occasions, unique atmosphere where the owners are mixing with the diners to ensure your meal is to it's usual high standard.

Been to the restaurant twice and both times everything superb my favourite restaurant, anywhere !!

Will be top of my list anytime I'm in the area !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, service, and food! We came here for our anniversary and were very pleased.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everyone is awesome. The food and service is the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious, not overdone Italian , just good good food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Truly fine, old school dining. Polished, refined, high quality product and preparation. Service is attentive but not overbearing. We celebrated our anniversary and it was an overall wonderful experience (and I'm a tough grader)...We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

If you were not alive or not old enough to eat out in the 60's this is the place to find out what it was like. Same menu, same ambiance and same total disdain for 2 women dining alone

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service was impeccable the food actually needed salt which is usually not the case in most restaurants that we have been to. The actor Robert Davi came in with a group of friends and was seated right next to us so that was pretty cool. I would highly recommend this place for any occasion. First class all the way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Waiter was great and took care of our group to what you would expect from a place like this. Food was on point and their winelist has great vintages at approachable prices if you know what you're looking for. Thanks to the entire team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our meal was above average, the place is old school looking. We would not run back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This the quintessential old world fine dining italian restaurant. I'm originally from northern NJ where this type of place is the benchmark of eating out well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food, service and restaurant were great. The only issue we had was the salads were about $12 each which seemed expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fun opera night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with great food and a very friendly staff.

HOWEVER:

You should be warned they overbook tables and your reservation may not be honored! We made a 7:30 reservation through open table and arrived at 7:20 for dinner.

The maître d admitted they overbooked and there may be a slight delay in seating us. We were finally seated at 8:30! An hour after our reservation.

They did try to make it up to us with some complimentary drinks and dessert. However, an hour delay on a reservation makes you wonder why you should bother making a reservation.

So while the food and service were great, once we were seated, the entire experience left a sour taste in my mouth.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine. Osso Buco is outstanding! Service is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Donatello's is our favorite fine dining restaurant!
We believe it is second to none in it's quality of food, ambiance and service! It is a first class dining experience by far and the wife and I feel privileged and fortunate to experience this Tampa restaurant!
The best grouper in the world!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Historic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dined here with friends Saturday night. Had a nice table in a quiet alcove, attentive waiters, good wine selections and great food. Lived in the area 12 years and this was our first time. High end prices, but you get what you pay for! Enjoyed the evening and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent in every way. Probably 70% of the diners were regulars, repeats, business, or special event diners. 30 years+ in existence, this is proof of a very special place. The pours for cocktails are quite honest, and the wine list is extensive although a bit on the expensive side. There is no question that I would return many times. Our food was authentic and prepared to perfection, and the staff was attentive and informative. I have no problem with 5 stars....or 6!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great as always. Old school fine Italian dining. Been a customer for 20 years and I still look forward to going to Donelello. Leave room for the ricotta cheesecake......

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Husbands birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Small portions, average food, overpriced. The only good thing I can say about this restaurant is that they give the ladies a long-stemmed rose at the end of the meal. Probably because they feel bad that they just ripped you off.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Not sure I would consider this a regular dining venue as it is a bit on the pricey side for the overall experience, but for a special occasion it is a gem as it will be memorable. You are immediately greeted by Gino, your host, and then introduced to your waiter. The food is carefully prepared and the best ingredients are evident. It is to Italian what Capital Grill is to steak would be how to describe it. Desert is fantastic and go with the Napoleon cake, if that's your thing. Lastly, Gino presents every lady with a rose upon your departure. Would repeat for that special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Took a while to get greeted despite reservations. Decor is classic and old but those are minor issues compared to the amazing food. I will now be a regular here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food at Donatello was excellent - very authentic Italian. Fun atmosphere. We were there late on a Friday night, following the Florida Orchestra. The attached bar was lively with music and the patrons in the restaurant all were cordial with each other and were conversing amongst the tables between courses - us too. Fun, fancy, yet casual. Complete with waiters in tuxes and a real Maitre'D. Ladies were given a single long stem rose upon departure. Nice touch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fantastic everything! I could marry Gino... but I am married! :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was my first visit and I will definitely be returning. There was a party of four we all had something different and it was all fabulous. Great waitstaff. Very attentive. Fantastic food.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great plac e,Great food ,Great staff. Will absolutely be going back. Finally great Italian food in Tampa. Can't believe I was missing this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was a special meal topped with a rose and a kiss for the ladies. The food was good and the service was terrific.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Ordered pasta appetizer to share for 4 people they brought individual plates charged 27 dl for each so... 100 dl for small amount of pasta... what a rip off..... never again ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

High end attention by the staff. Best 3" thick filet steak served medium rare of my 62 years--twice in a row. Highly recommend. Bring your wallet though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

From the moment you walk in the service is impeccable. When you think of an old school Italian restaurant this place is what should come to mind. The wine list is vast and can be overwhelming if you are uncertain as to what you want. However all of the selections are great, so there is nothing to fear when making your selection. The prices are definitely a bit higher, but you get is definitely worth it. The food is cooked on food stations scattered around the dining room, which makes for great visual stimulation as you watch yours and other diners food getting prepared. The food was outstanding, and it's definitely worth saving a little room for dessert. The lemoncello ice cream we ate for dessert was incredibly delicious. We are already making plans to go back to try some of the other delicious items on the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Many people call. Donatello old school. I'm happy they enjoyed it! We found the dinner to simply be old. Neither the menu or decor have been updated since the 80s. Some appreciate that experience, but we were less than excited to pay 70 per person (excluding wine) for okay dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Delicious but pricey - appetizers, salads, pastas and entrees

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was incredible as was the service. It's a little pricey but the quality of the meal was worth the cost. Good menu to choose from a variety Italian favorites. Definitely need to go back and try a few more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We travel 40 miles to dine here. Have never been disappointed with anything. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.