About Donatello

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: 8138756660

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal)
  • tortellini
  • Lamb
  • Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello
  • Ossobuco
  • Linguini
  • Seabass
Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal)
tortellini
Lamb
Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello
Ossobuco
Linguini
Seabass

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Romantic
Tampa / Central Florida West
6 More
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Food
Tampa
Best Service
Tampa
Romantic
Tampa
Special Occasion
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (63)
notable wine list (40)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (20)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the moment we arrived we were pleas ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

From the moment we arrived we were pleasantly greeted. We had to wait for the table so gave us an opportunity to sit on the lounge and listen to a fun jazzy band (great hang out place for appetizer, drinks and just listen to good music ). Next went into main dining room. It was the 4th Friday of the month so Opera Tampa singers were there. A great treat!. Dor appetizer we had the baked oysters w parmegan then we had the grouper fish special for the evening. Delicious. This was a great start for our wedding anniversary evening. Grazie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We chose Donattllos to celebrate our "50 ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We chose Donattllos to celebrate our "50th" wedding anniversary. This was our first time and will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donatello is perfect in every dining cat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Donatello is perfect in every dining category Facilities, Decor, Friendly, and the food is nothing but outstanding - well worth cost

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, service outstanding. Grea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Awesome food, service outstanding. Great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy, eclectic. Special restaurant-a m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Classy, eclectic. Special restaurant-a must for those seeking unique experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought 4 friends with us - a first t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We brought 4 friends with us - a first time dining at Donatello for 5 of us...we were so looking forward to it. The prices were high and food a bit left of average. We were disappointed. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was good but way overpriced for the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good but way overpriced for the value. Wine list was very pricey. $12 for a Caesar salad that I had to request anchovies for was not up to par with the small portion. It was my birthday and they brought me a cake with a candle on it and gave me a piece. When the bill came they had charged me for the piece of cake we didn't even ask for. Will not go back for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Definitely not Roth the money - very pri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Definitely not Roth the money - very pricey. Stop complaining even the a plain grill - nothing fancy. vegetables are overdone and sauces are not well balanced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent Service and most importantly t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent Service and most importantly the food is great! They take care of you on a personal level. Highly recommended!

Les Brown

321.369.8479

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and they make a great ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was excellent and they make a great martini. We had calamari, ceasar salad , 2 different veal dishes and desert. Service was wonderful. Only problem was they sat all tables close even though it was a Tuesday night and it was not crowded . We should have asked to move as another couple did because we were next to a large loud table. Wish we lived closer , 40 minute drive for us.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, fabulous staff willing and r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, fabulous staff willing and ready to serve you. Grazie!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about it was fabulous. Celeb ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about it was fabulous. Celebrating a friends birthday with her daughter and my grand daughter and myself. Thank You for a very nice experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unquestionably Tampa Bays most outstandi ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Unquestionably Tampa Bays most outstanding Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always start out meal with bruschetta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We always start out meal with bruschetta, calamari fritti, and zucchini fritti. The marinara they serve with these dishes is delicious. The perfect flavor. The bruschetta is fresh.. Really beautiful tomatoes, garlic and basil. The pasta with lobster is a family favorite. I love that when you leave they give you a rose. It's such a beautiful tradition and I think it's such a special way for them to thank you for choosing their restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was awful. I was made to feel l ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was awful. I was made to feel like an afterthought! First time in 30 years of fine dining in Tampa. And I even ordered a 400 dollar bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Spectacular experience!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere. Gino has an excellent staff that treats you wonderfully! so glad we chose Donatello for our Anniversary. i have been wanting to go there for years. we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time for our group of 4. We were t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

First time for our group of 4. We were taking a couple there for their 60th anniversary celebration!

Everything was awesome and the couple was very pleased. It was

Worth the hour and half drive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the 2nd time I have been there a ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the 2nd time I have been there and the food is not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Overall this was OK. Despite having a re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Overall this was OK. Despite having a reservation we had to wait almost 45 minutes for a table. The maitre d tries to e very 'slick' but it is really more annoying than anything else.

This was for a special occasion (my birthday) and they did acknowledge this. However when it came time for dessert they offered a chocolate mousse cake with candle and then produced four slices (four of us at the table) and then charged 4 x $11 for the cake!! There was no choice and at $11 would not have necessarily been my choice for dessert and they charged for mine (usually the person celebrating is offered free dessert). The food was good to very good but not special enough to go racing back and will not be featuring in our top choice of restaurants going forward.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Place is amazing!!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

From food to service to quality wine selection, this is the perfect place rather its a special occasion or just a night out on the town. This is a must try for Tampa

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our visit to Donatello was everything we could have asked for: pleasant and quiet ambiance, flawless service, superb food and a host that made us feel quite welcome. You can't be Donatello for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I went with a friend for her birthday. The food, atmosphere and extra special attention made the evening a wonderful night to remember. The live music in the bar for drinks after dinner was fabulous and ended the evening on a special note.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great way to celebrate our anniversary!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This was our second visit and it was still the most enjoyable evening! Donatello's really knows how to make you feel welcomed. Low lighting for romance, fresh flowers, beautiful table settings. Then you get to the food. We shared oysters with crab, amazing! Homemade pasta with mushrooms, the most tender noodles ever! Main courses - special of the day snapper and one of the veal dishes all made to perfection. Don't skip dessert - cream brûlée and chocolate cake, worth every calorie! The wine list is very good, we went with a house recommended red. This restaurant is a dinning experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome experience!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We've been to Donatello a few times over the years. We live in Spring Hill so it's not easy to be a frequent diner. Every time we are there we absolutely love it! The food and service are outstanding and the special touches from the owner's visits to your table and the red rose for the ladies really put Donatello in a league of their own.

We would absolutely recommend this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but not good service

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant is very lovely and the wine list is impressive. The food was great, but the service was spotty. The meal was served in a very unattractive manner on the plate with a "scoop" of green beans placed on the plate swimming in the topping which was ladled on the fish. The busboy attempted to take plates away before the table was finish and neither the busboy or the waiter attempted to sweep the crumbs off before dessert was served. We finally swept the crumbs off when the onto the floor when the bill came to make a point to the waiter, but he didn't notice. Not at all fine dining except for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Faboulos live music

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Especially the live Music Washington eminent. Dwight Champagne gave us an outstanding Night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my two favorite places to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is one of my two favorite places to go for dinner, especially for a special occasion or romantic dinner. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is perfect. I have never been disappointed. The rose is always a nice touch, too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was top notch. Eve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The dining experience was top notch. Everyone there made the night feel very special. The food was fantastic, from the salads to the dessert. The cost was high, for being pasta dishes, but I would go back again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great place to enjoy a date or special occasion

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We came for our anniversary and it was clear why all our Tampa friends had suggested it. It's very romantic and authentically Italian. The food was incredible! I had the tortellini and I loved it. Everything is fresh and made to order so the flavor is exquisite. The owner or GM came to the table to welcome us and thank us for coming in and at the end presented me with a beautiful rose. The service and attention to detail is just something I haven't experienced anywhere else in Tampa. I highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Donatello's for all occasions - especially special occasions!! The food is excellent and the service is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, passable food

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is ok. Calamari was ok, pasta was ok, bread is terrible. Salads are nice,

Service is nice and servers were friendly. Wine is extremely overpriced.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our visit to Donatellos was expertacular. Great food, outstanding service, and amazing environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing night

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my girl out for one last night of vacation. The staff was on point, very romantic. I got the veal and ricotta rolled pasta and I've already told everyone in my family they should try it. Great food, very romantic, loved it, and I'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely italian gem

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

great food, lovely people - perfect for the special occasion we went for

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First class dining experience! Food was ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

First class dining experience! Food was excellent. Highly recommend the homemade fettuccini.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were 5 of us, one very fussy eater ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

There were 5 of us, one very fussy eater. He had a pasta dish with sausage and loved it. All the food was great. The only downfall to me and my husband was the Cesar salad at the table. Since this is one of the very few restaurants that claim to make it table side, we expected just that. Not a bowl on a cart with romaine in it and the server pours the dressing over it and then serves it. They might as well just bring it out from the kitchen that way. And don't charge an outrageous price for this skimpy so- so salad. We would go back but minus the Cesar salad.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is great! Very impressiv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

This restaurant is great! Very impressive from the moment we walked in until we finished our dining experience. The service was outstanding! The food was outstanding!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic evening

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

If you're looking for that little special some place to go, this is the place. The ambiance is old school Italian. The wait staff is impeccable. And the food is to die for. We started with the fried zucchini w/marinara sauce before moving on to dinner. I had the Carmelo special, linguine and clams with lump crab. And believe me when I tell you, there were huge lumps of crabs. My wife had a veal dish that you cut with a fork and it melted in your mouth. And lets not forget Kim and Ashley, our favorite bartenders who are always serving up the best cocktails and wine.

Love to all and thanks for a great evening.

Dennis and Steph

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience! S ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience! Service fantastic and food very good. A very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.