Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Authentic (44)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Business Meals (22)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Historic (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Live Music (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordered pasta appetizer to share for 4 people they brought individual plates charged 27 dl for each so... 100 dl for small amount of pasta... what a rip off..... never again ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

High end attention by the staff. Best 3" thick filet steak served medium rare of my 62 years--twice in a row. Highly recommend. Bring your wallet though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

From the moment you walk in the service is impeccable. When you think of an old school Italian restaurant this place is what should come to mind. The wine list is vast and can be overwhelming if you are uncertain as to what you want. However all of the selections are great, so there is nothing to fear when making your selection. The prices are definitely a bit higher, but you get is definitely worth it. The food is cooked on food stations scattered around the dining room, which makes for great visual stimulation as you watch yours and other diners food getting prepared. The food was outstanding, and it's definitely worth saving a little room for dessert. The lemoncello ice cream we ate for dessert was incredibly delicious. We are already making plans to go back to try some of the other delicious items on the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Many people call. Donatello old school. I'm happy they enjoyed it! We found the dinner to simply be old. Neither the menu or decor have been updated since the 80s. Some appreciate that experience, but we were less than excited to pay 70 per person (excluding wine) for okay dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Delicious but pricey - appetizers, salads, pastas and entrees

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was incredible as was the service. It's a little pricey but the quality of the meal was worth the cost. Good menu to choose from a variety Italian favorites. Definitely need to go back and try a few more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We travel 40 miles to dine here. Have never been disappointed with anything. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The evening was great as it always is at Donatello.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Donatello's is simply one of the best Italian restaurants...anywhere. Fantastic food that ensures you'll over indulge (just surrender yourself, there's no point fighting...), a wine list that makes Uber a very smart move, and service that is outstanding: always there but invisible.

You cannot go wrong at Donatello's. Not a cheap date but worth every dime.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is amazing, authentic and beautifully presented. The wait staff is wonderful, knowledgeable and professional! Our waiter was from Rome and had great food and wine suggestions!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Overall, a very enjoyable date night destination if you want to try something new. Dressing up for dinner is a pleasant change, as well as the comitted Italian theme throughout all aspects of the night. However, this would be a "once in a while" meal, as the food was very expensive for the portions you receive (which was expected). Don't be surprised if your waiters greet you in Italian, which was unique in a good way. Though, if you know nothing of the language, it can be awkward at first.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Donatello's always hits a homerun. From the time you walk in the door until the moment your companion is treated with a rose on the way out, Donatello's provides the ambience and taste of Italy right in our backyard. I always leave by saying: This place is expensive, but worth every penny". Gino is great. Nice to see a family business pass down through the generations without missing a step.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. Service and food was delightful. Wine list was off the charts high and wine by the glass was ridiculous. Glad we went but we won't be returning. There are many other quality Italian restaurants in the area that won't cause you to abstain from having wine with dinner because of the prices. Also, it was my brother-in-laws birthday. The waiters brought over a cake with candle and sang happy birthday. He then blew out the candle. The waiters removed the cake and put it back on the dessert table! They then asked us if we wanted a piece. So this cake, that my brother-in-law blew on, was to be served to others. Found that odd and sort of gross.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was not my first visit to Donatello's, but it was my first visit that was not on a Friday or Saturday. The weekend atmosphere is much more vibrant and the whole experience is enhanced. I always recommend the restaurant, but for your first visit, go on the weekend. Food is great, wine selection is very good, and you can feel the history of the restaurant when you are there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food and service is excellent. It was recommend to me last year and loved it so much we had to go back when in Tampa this time. I would highly recommend this restaurant when in the area. Music in the bar is great, bartender is right on it, she is always listening and has the drink ready almost before you ask. Great place

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My husband and I were impressed. We were 30 minutes late; reservation originally for 6:15. We still made it to the theatre before our 8 pm show. Food and service were great. We split a salad and ordered our own entrees. We didn't feel rushed. It was our first visit. We r definitely going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Pasta was fresh and delicious. Veal was well prepared and tasty. Only shortcoming was bread, which seemed to be 'day old.' Otherwise, a very good dinner. We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Best Italian restaurant in Florida outstanding Italian cuisine go to place for my awesome asa Boca Melanie'shats off to the Carnaval it was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Live Music, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Gino and the team always makes us feel special. Food is authentic Italian with the best ingredients. Super wine list. David was our waiter and as always he was very hospitable and accommodating plus he always has great recommendations. Chuck & Susan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 27, 2017

a little on the pricy side, but worth it... love the place...

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent , enjoyable experience, first time there

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Donatello is by far the best restaurant in the tampa area. Always on top of their game , from service ,food and atmosphere. You do not know what you are missing.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food. Seriously very good. However this was a special occasion and I asked for something as private as possible in the reservation. It seemed like everything was very open which is okay but it got pretty loud and that was disappointing. Again the food was great just not the setting I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing service with delicious food and great ambiance. Very nice for a romantic dinner date or a get together with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food, great hospitality, wonderful evening, thank you Donatello!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was incredibly overpriced for the quality. Once the meal was finished it took the equal amount of time to get the check as the entire dining time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We went by the past reputation for this restaurant. Very over rated, and expensive for food served. Restaurants for half the price are much better. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Love the warm welcome the owner always gives along with the beautiful roses. The server was very busy and we had to wait for water & coffee refills. Food was mediocre which surprised me as it's been excellent in the past. Love the beauty of this place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. Cozy atmosphere without feeling the next table is on top of you. Good acoustics...not too loud, even though it was very busy. Love Donatello.
And they always have roses for the ladies.
Nice personal touch.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Walking through the door you are greeted like family. The restaurant offers and authentic historic Italian ambiance. The wine list is exquisite, the food is rich in flavor and the pasta is expertly crafted. I highly recommend the ravioli. However, don't waste your time on the calamari. It's chewy and lacks flavor. The staff also seemed uncomfortable with a same sex couple. Nothing offensive, so it may have been misinterpreted. Overall, fantastic establishment!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Just not my cup of tea, a bastion of male chauvinism and very expensive. Portions were way too big.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our first visit here. We were being adventurous, and this was worth the adventure. We will be making good a second visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Donatello's is a fabulous restaurant. I've been dining there for special occasions for 20 years. The food is outstanding as as the service and decor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of the best local dining experiences in town. Excellent food, attentive service and great wine selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous fantastic amazing! Went to Tampa to see Bon Jovi which was totally a magnificent experience! Decided to stay in Tampa and have upscale Italian the next night! Wow! Our first but certainly not our last visit at Donatello! From the first greeting by Geno to our great waiter Louis, the evening was the best !!!! The food was so amazing and fresh! And dessert OMG! A definite do over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meal and service was excellent, but I had to complain several times about my chair being hit by a server as they passed being me. This was very annoying.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dr. Bright and I love it. Its our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was very nice. Amazing service at the beginning but after we were seated it took them a while to get us our food. This was probably because it was Valentine's Day but even with them being packed they did a great job. The food was delicious and I loved the experience, I will definitely be going again in the future. I recommend this for special occasions like Valentine's Day or an anniversary and maybe a Birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first trip to the restaurant and it was for Valentines Day. We were put in the back (overflow) room which took a lot of the romance out of the event. There were tables available in the main dining room and we had reservations which we arrived early for, but were seated in the back. I didn't complain as I didn't want to end up with a server with an attitude. All in all it was an OK evening otherwise. The food was good, our waiter was attentive but not intrusive and I recommend and will try on a non holiday when the other room is not open.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.