About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Authentic (41)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Romantic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Live Music (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (15)
Historic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Dancing (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best local dining experiences ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best local dining experiences in town. Excellent food, attentive service and great wine selection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous fantastic amazing! Went to Tamp ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous fantastic amazing! Went to Tampa to see Bon Jovi which was totally a magnificent experience! Decided to stay in Tampa and have upscale Italian the next night! Wow! Our first but certainly not our last visit at Donatello! From the first greeting by Geno to our great waiter Louis, the evening was the best !!!! The food was so amazing and fresh! And dessert OMG! A definite do over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and service was excellent, but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

The meal and service was excellent, but I had to complain several times about my chair being hit by a server as they passed being me. This was very annoying.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dr. Bright and I love it. Its our favori ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Dr. Bright and I love it. Its our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to the restauran ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first trip to the restaurant and it was for Valentines Day. We were put in the back (overflow) room which took a lot of the romance out of the event. There were tables available in the main dining room and we had reservations which we arrived early for, but were seated in the back. I didn't complain as I didn't want to end up with a server with an attitude. All in all it was an OK evening otherwise. The food was good, our waiter was attentive but not intrusive and I recommend and will try on a non holiday when the other room is not open.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food selctions overall very good.Appetiz ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food selctions overall very good.Appetizers (Pate', croustinos, etc) oustanding.Lamb and spinach ravioli excellent. Lobster rubbery but sauce and pasta very good. Sides , beans cold.Service a bit rushed. Dessert menu lacking variety. Ordered tiramisu, neoplitaion and 2 creme brulee. brulee arrived at the table well after other deserts had been consumed. Waiter said kitchen was busy and brulees missed. The brulee seemed under cooked and pasty.

Overall good, but value ???? $400 dollar tab with 1 bottle of wine @ $60.00 I expect consistant top food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We sat in the overflow room off the main ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We sat in the overflow room off the main dining room which was quite disappointing. The room was outdated and needed a much needed makeover that ties in with the main dining area. We felt that this took away the ambiance of the special occasion that we were celebrating.

The noise level; however, was not a problem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great hospitality and food and atmospher ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great hospitality and food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down some of the best Italian food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Hands down some of the best Italian food around. A highlight of our trip whenever we are in Tampa.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continuously outstanding, excellent serv ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Continuously outstanding, excellent service, superior presentation and always satiating !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent for business meeting dinner, e ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent for business meeting dinner, even when it was full. Tables spaced well so not over crowded. Waiters in tuxedos which is exceptionally rare these days. Extensive wine list and impeccable service. Food was top tier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice place. Our waiter was amazing ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very nice place. Our waiter was amazing. Food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent from the host t ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was excellent from the host to the servers to the food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Tampa, hands down. Fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best restaurant in Tampa, hands down. Food is absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Donatello many times in t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been to Donatello many times in the past, but this was my wife's first time. I was so excited to take her there and bragged about how great it was. Well we were both very disappointed. The service was very slow. It was a Wednesday night and the restaurant was not very busy. Our waiter walked by our table 4 or 5 times and didn't even acknowledge us or ask if we needed anything. The food was average. Definitely not the quality I was expecting. I recommended Donatello's to a friend a couple months ago and they had the same complaint. Poor service and average food. I thought it must have been a fluke and didn't give it much thought until we had the same experience. This is not the same restaurant I remembered.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was outstanding and Gino, the owner ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was outstanding and Gino, the owner, showed us the kitchen and joined us for a glass of wine at the table. Perfect place for a business lunch/dinner and the service was impeccable. Can't recommend Donatello enough!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Historic, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say, if you have not EXPERIENCED ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I must say, if you have not EXPERIENCED Donatello's you are missing a great treat. From the moment you enter the front door with a greeting from the owners until you leave with a personal thank you from the same, you will be treated with "old-world" FAMILY care and will feast on some of the best Italian food available (even if the eggplant isn't on the menu). Mangiare!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Good Servers were very attentive ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really Good Servers were very attentive and food was excellent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Excellent variety o ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding service. Excellent variety of home made food. Very original.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious italian food and excellent ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Delicious italian food and excellent service! We love going to Donatello's.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donatello's was wonderful as usual. My ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Donatello's was wonderful as usual. My husband is a seafood lover, and is very particular. He complains about freshness and portion size wherever we go, except for Bern's and Donatello's. I am always happy with the exceptionally fresh greens (best salads in Tampa Bay!), and appreciate the high level of professionalism shown by the wait staff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The whole experience was very good. From ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The whole experience was very good. From the moment you walk into Donatello with the lively bar area to the left and the elegant tables to the right, I felt transported to another place like NYC or Roma. The food was exquisite and the flavors were spot on! The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive and Gino Tiozzo, the Assistant Manager, made sure to follow up with me before I left the Restaurant to ensure I was satisfied with my experience. I can hardly wait for my next visit!

Leonardo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding! Food was extrao ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was extraordinary!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 in our party and everyone r ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There were 4 in our party and everyone raved about there food.

Have eaten multiple times and the food and service have always been outstanding.

prices a little high for everyday meal but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love love love this place! It's the perf ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love love love this place! It's the perfect restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Italian restaurant. Doesn't ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our favorite Italian restaurant. Doesn't get any better than this !

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding and consistent

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding and consistent

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday at Donatello Rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Celebrated my birthday at Donatello Restaurant on a Friday evening. Tom was our head waiter and he is attentive, kind, and always friendly. The food is exceptional. I started with the calamari and zucchini, followed by the best caesar salad, and finishing with a Pasta appetizer as my entree to try 3 separate pasta dishes! What a decadent meal. The portions are large which is great because it makes it worth the price. As a special touch, the restaurant owner gives each girl in your party a beautiful rose. Each time I've been the roses are different colors but always fully bloomed and lovely. It's such a nice touch to leave and have a reminder of your memorable evening. Enjoy.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fair but overpriced for the tas ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was fair but overpriced for the taste. Service was poor. Water glasses never filled up. Ordered coffee never received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We received a warm welcome from GIno who ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We received a warm welcome from GIno who stopped by our table during the meal and then met us at the door to wish us well and give me a beautiful rose as we left. This level of personal attention is not something we have experienced very often at other similar restaurants.

Wait staff is friendly, efficient and responsive. Food selection was diverse and quality of meals very high. Good value for the money charged.

We recommend this restaurant and will be returning when we find ourselves in Tampa again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bar scene was fun and exciting with the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bar scene was fun and exciting with the live music. Kim and Ashley make you feel welcome and part of the Donatello family. Vibrant place for a New Years Eve dinner. Tastefully decorated for the event. Service was impeccable and the food left nothing to be desired. The risotto was creamy smooth and delicious. My veal was fork tender and oh so good. Pricing is what we expected. Looking for an elegant classy place to go, this is it (but you'll pay for it).

We'll be back soon...........

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had New Years dinner at Donatello. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had New Years dinner at Donatello. The ambiance is wonderful the service and presentation top notch. Only complaints we had from our table of 6 were the cost of soup and appetizers, $15.95 for soup - Dinners were reasonable and portions were adequate. 0verall experience was great and will definitely return.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

outstanding REAl authentic Italian food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

outstanding REAl authentic Italian food in an old school atmosphere with supurb service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was amazing. Service, food, a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Experience was amazing. Service, food, and surroundings were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably the best and most authentic pla ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Probably the best and most authentic place for Italian food in Tampa. Excellent service from the time you valet until you walk back out. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was among the best Italian I ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was among the best Italian I have ever had. Each member of my party raved about the veal, pasta or seafood. I would highly recommend Donatello. It is pricy, but if you are looking for a terrific meal, it is worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Do ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Donatello. We choose this because of the reviews proclaiming the romantic atmosphere. It has romantic but did not make our "Must Return" list.

Upon arrival, we were immediately seated in a side table, off the noise. David, our waiter quickly appears with menus and took our drink order. My Grey Goose martini was just right, my wife enjoyed her Pinot Grigio. We shared a Caesar salad and the Cannelloni Donatello. Both were excellent. Food was served in a timely manner, although we didn't see David until we were almost finished eating. Food served by someone else.

We enjoyed an Amaretto de Saronna with cups of coffee.

David appeared with a chocolate mousse cake with a candle and Christmas bow wishing us a Happy Anniversary. He asked us if we'd like a slice. Being polite we said we'd split a slice- neither of us are chocolate people and we're discussing another dessert option. On our exit, We saw the same cake being presented to another table. We were very surprised to see a 11.95 dessert charge on our check. Very tacky way to sell un-wanted desserts.

Overall the meal was tasty. Yet, as many reviews stated, the entrees are pricey and the menu somewhat limited. We enjoyed our meal but probably won't return. There are better valued Italian options in the Tampa area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Donatello's remains one of the best Ital ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Donatello's remains one of the best Italian restaurants in Tampa. Their service and attention to detail is unsurpassed. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a special occasion and we have ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a special occasion and we have been there in the past. But we found the food to be not as good as in the past. They either changed some of the recipies or they have changed the chef.

Considering the price the food did not meet up with the quality of delivery.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.