About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: 8138756660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal) - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • tortellini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Lamb - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Ossobuco - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Linguini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Seabass - Donatello, Tampa, FL

Report a photo problem

Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal) - Donatello, Tampa, FL
tortellini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Lamb - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Ossobuco - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Linguini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Seabass - Donatello, Tampa, FL

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Authentic (25)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Live Music (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated my birthday at Donatello Rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated my birthday at Donatello Restaurant on a Friday evening. Tom was our head waiter and he is attentive, kind, and always friendly. The food is exceptional. I started with the calamari and zucchini, followed by the best caesar salad, and finishing with a Pasta appetizer as my entree to try 3 separate pasta dishes! What a decadent meal. The portions are large which is great because it makes it worth the price. As a special touch, the restaurant owner gives each girl in your party a beautiful rose. Each time I've been the roses are different colors but always fully bloomed and lovely. It's such a nice touch to leave and have a reminder of your memorable evening. Enjoy.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fair but overpriced for the tas ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fair but overpriced for the taste. Service was poor. Water glasses never filled up. Ordered coffee never received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We received a warm welcome from GIno who ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We received a warm welcome from GIno who stopped by our table during the meal and then met us at the door to wish us well and give me a beautiful rose as we left. This level of personal attention is not something we have experienced very often at other similar restaurants.

Wait staff is friendly, efficient and responsive. Food selection was diverse and quality of meals very high. Good value for the money charged.

We recommend this restaurant and will be returning when we find ourselves in Tampa again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Bar scene was fun and exciting with the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bar scene was fun and exciting with the live music. Kim and Ashley make you feel welcome and part of the Donatello family. Vibrant place for a New Years Eve dinner. Tastefully decorated for the event. Service was impeccable and the food left nothing to be desired. The risotto was creamy smooth and delicious. My veal was fork tender and oh so good. Pricing is what we expected. Looking for an elegant classy place to go, this is it (but you'll pay for it).

We'll be back soon...........

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had New Years dinner at Donatello. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had New Years dinner at Donatello. The ambiance is wonderful the service and presentation top notch. Only complaints we had from our table of 6 were the cost of soup and appetizers, $15.95 for soup - Dinners were reasonable and portions were adequate. 0verall experience was great and will definitely return.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

outstanding REAl authentic Italian food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

outstanding REAl authentic Italian food in an old school atmosphere with supurb service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was amazing. Service, food, a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Experience was amazing. Service, food, and surroundings were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably the best and most authentic pla ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Probably the best and most authentic place for Italian food in Tampa. Excellent service from the time you valet until you walk back out. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was among the best Italian I ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was among the best Italian I have ever had. Each member of my party raved about the veal, pasta or seafood. I would highly recommend Donatello. It is pricy, but if you are looking for a terrific meal, it is worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Do ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Donatello. We choose this because of the reviews proclaiming the romantic atmosphere. It has romantic but did not make our "Must Return" list.

Upon arrival, we were immediately seated in a side table, off the noise. David, our waiter quickly appears with menus and took our drink order. My Grey Goose martini was just right, my wife enjoyed her Pinot Grigio. We shared a Caesar salad and the Cannelloni Donatello. Both were excellent. Food was served in a timely manner, although we didn't see David until we were almost finished eating. Food served by someone else.

We enjoyed an Amaretto de Saronna with cups of coffee.

David appeared with a chocolate mousse cake with a candle and Christmas bow wishing us a Happy Anniversary. He asked us if we'd like a slice. Being polite we said we'd split a slice- neither of us are chocolate people and we're discussing another dessert option. On our exit, We saw the same cake being presented to another table. We were very surprised to see a 11.95 dessert charge on our check. Very tacky way to sell un-wanted desserts.

Overall the meal was tasty. Yet, as many reviews stated, the entrees are pricey and the menu somewhat limited. We enjoyed our meal but probably won't return. There are better valued Italian options in the Tampa area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Donatello's remains one of the best Ital ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Donatello's remains one of the best Italian restaurants in Tampa. Their service and attention to detail is unsurpassed. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a special occasion and we have ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was a special occasion and we have been there in the past. But we found the food to be not as good as in the past. They either changed some of the recipies or they have changed the chef.

Considering the price the food did not meet up with the quality of delivery.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I have been going there for over 20 year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have been going there for over 20 years when in Tampa and NEVER disappoints. Still GREAT !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance were fantastic. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service and ambiance were fantastic. Very low noise level for a perfect romantic dinner. The food and value were very good, 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion. I would definitely recommend it to anyone that loves authentic Italian fare.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely our favorite place in all of ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely our favorite place in all of Tampa Bay!

Enjoy

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were top notch. I h ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were top notch. I had heard nothing but good reviews and I'm so glad we finally tried it. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal and the service w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had an amazing meal and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food was very good, the restau ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

While the food was very good, the restaurant was very noisy, there was not much room in between tables and the server kept bumping into me as he was trying to take care of the table next to us. We waited awhile to order appetizers. I think we just chose the wrong time of year (holiday parties) to try out this Tampa establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to celebrate a birthday. It is t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday. It is the most romantic place in town and also has the best food ever!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my sister and her husband, who w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We took my sister and her husband, who were visiting from out of town and we all enjoyed the whole experiences immensely! My brother in law is a vegan and the manager and the chef worked together to create something special for him. He was more than satisfied!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always the best! The ambiance and food a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

always the best! The ambiance and food are excellent! Gino is a gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donatello is a great place to have dinne ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Donatello is a great place to have dinner and going for the first time only made me look forward to coming back. This place has an authentic Italian feel with warm greeting host and service. Drinks were great, food was really tasty and love the open dessert table. Can't wait to go back for dinner or just for drinks and an appetizer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible dishes and impeccable service ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Incredible dishes and impeccable service. Some of the best Italian food we have ever had. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about the evening was superb. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything about the evening was superb. The quality of the meal and the tempo of the service far exceeded our expectations.. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Louis was an amazing waiter. We let him ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Louis was an amazing waiter. We let him recommend dishes, and went with his suggestions. Caesar salad. Veal piccata. Pasta fettuccine with garlic and mushrooms. Among one of the best Italian meals ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. This was our first visit to Donatello's. When we looked at the website, it looked like we would be listening to live music. This is the main reason we selected the restaurant. It turned out that to listen to the live music, one needs to be in the lounge, not in the dining room. This was disappointing. I would give high marks to the restaurant in all other areas - service, cocktails, food, ambiance and the valet service! I had whispered to the server that we were celebrating our anniversary and there it was - a special dessert for us with a candle. That was very thoughtful. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We've never been disappointed! The ambie ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've never been disappointed! The ambience and the service are exceptional!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our special go to place. Always excelle ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our special go to place. Always excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you desire old world service and food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

If you desire old world service and food, this is the place. If you are a critic about the right column, you should go elsewhere. We thought it was a superlative experience, but one that I would visit sparingly.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have always had a wonderful experience ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have always had a wonderful experience dining at Donatello.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing time. The food and wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing time. The food and wait staff was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I HAVE SEEN A CHANGE TO A YOUNGER CLIENT ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I HAVE SEEN A CHANGE TO A YOUNGER CLIENTELE IN THE PAST FEW YEARS AND THE RESTAURANT HAS LIKEWISE CHANGED TO ACCOMMODATE THE YOUNGER TASTES. THE FOOD AND SERVICE CONTINUES TO BE TOPNOTCH.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have been better. The service ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Couldn't have been better. The service was perfectly matched to the excellent food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place to spend a special oc ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Such a great place to spend a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent dining experience, flawless ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent dining experience, flawless service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The attention received by the owner and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The attention received by the owner and staff was reminiscent of the way dining out used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is definitely a special occasion pl ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is definitely a special occasion place. The food and service are outstanding, but you are paying (fairly) for excellence. We enjoy Donatello's but it is not a place we frequent too often. But it is a wonderful place to treat yourself to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Gino and staff provide amazing service e ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Gino and staff provide amazing service every single time! The food is all consistently delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening from start to finish,w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful evening from start to finish,we will be back

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.