Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today

Donatello

4.6
968 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 875-6660
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Guido and Gino Tiozzo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
J.F. Kennedy Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 968 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We had heard many good things. We arrived for our reservation and were seated near the server prep area. Our primary server was inattentive after the initial greeting. The space between seats was limited and waitstaff repeatedly bumped into my wife or her chair. We had to seek staff to refill drinks. Desert was never offered. We were underwhelmed and will not return. There are other Italian places we can go where we can count on good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Food was absolutely the best Italian I have had in Tampa. Sauces were amazing and service was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We love everything about Donatello. From the valet guys to the bartenders to the host to the wait staff. Everyone is so friendly and the food is second to none.
We just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there and received many 'well wishes' from everyone. The grouper special was very tasty, wish it was on the menu all the time. And the veal cannelloni was ohhhh so good.
Thanks to everyone for making our anniversary even more special.
Dennis and Steph

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

As always, the food and service were phenomenal. Thank you, Gino!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Over-priced, mediocre Italian food. The inside looks old (not in a classic Burns way, but in an old cruise ship way). While we were very excited to try it based upon the reviews from others and we didn't face any problems while we were there, nothing seemed all that impressive to garner $30 for a pasta dish with no meat or $20 for basic calamari appetizer. The only very good delicious part of the meal was the marinara. Otherwise, we were simply disappointed on our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Gino welcomed us and everything after that was excellent as usual. Great authentic food and service. Food is like real home cooking that my family and I are used to. Dishes taste like grandma made it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Best Caesar salad ever!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Without Guido just not the same. Went 2 nights, 1st night sat in bar for 20 minutes right next to the waitress station, finally I asked for a drink from the bartender who gave us one but no one ever cleared the space in front of us from the prior customers nuts and empty drink glasses (20 minutes!) second night restaurant was pretty empty waited up front to be seated no one was there had to start walking into dining room, seated ordered a drink, that’s the last we saw of our waiter for 20 minutes, I put empty glass on all 4 corners of the table and finally hailed down waiter for another drink. They switched waiters on us obviously they noticed I was annoyed. PS COLD/STALE Bread looked like it was salvaged from the birds there actually looked like a bite had been taken out and we never offered oil & cheese. Food is great as always but I sure miss the personal attention Guido demanded from the staff

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had an reservation but was made to wait for 40 mins after that time. The table were cramped ne the food portions were very small and overpriced . Waiters did not care about asking us if they need anything .we will not come back here . The standards have fallen considerably . Personally feel they cannot care about the service if you are not a regular

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I have been going to this Restaurant since it opened in 1984. It is by far my favorite Restaurant in the Tampa Bay area. Gino, Guido and the entire staff make sure you are having the best dining experience and the best Italian food you can possibly have in the Country.
I look forward tp every visit to this Restaurant. In my opinion the best in the Country.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Best restaurant in tampa

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We celebrated My wife's birthday last Saturday. The place was packed with many families get together. Waiters flying by. Carpaccio really good, Veal, too much salt. I would recommend eating there on a Week night. All the ladies got a rose but not my wife.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Just a wonderful evening of food, friends, and opera. Donatello's did a great job of blending their normally excellent service with entertainment that added to the evening. We always enjoy our evenings here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Authentic Italian cuisine. Try Opera night for an entertaining evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Still the best northern Italian cuisine I have found outside NY or Italy. The dish you liked 20 years ago is still there and still tastes as good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Fantastic. Had great food and service. Even made me something that was not technically on the menu and it was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We do dinner each time we visit Tampa. Excellent food, drink and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

When you pull up to the front, your valet meets you and is very kind and humble. Once you walk in, it feels like you are their top priority, unlike many restaurants these days. We did wait a while after being seated to get our drinks and food, but only because it was an extremely busy night. It did not go unnoticed though and Gino & the guys definitely took care of us.
I took my wife, kids and mother in law there for her birthday and we ended up having an amazing time. Definitely a place to recommend and we will be seeing them again soon.

Ciao,
Nick

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food, personalized service with a very eclectic crowd. Donatello's is the perfect spot for a romantic dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

All around great Italian dining experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Nice old school Italian restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food gave me and wife cramps! For that much money I should’ve went to a steak house

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Best Italian around here. Old tradition at its best. Super delicious foid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Donatello’s has the best service in Tampa. The food is consistently outstanding and such a beautiful ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Excellent food with fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

What a great spot to celebrate our anniversary! The service was great, the food was excellent and the wine choices were top notch. We had an excellent time, we’ll worth the time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Best Italian food in Florida of I lived in Tampa I would be there everyday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It was really a great experience. In a day and age of crappy service and mediocre restaurant food, this place was the exact opposite. Will definitely be going back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Took my boyfriend for his 30th birthday. Everything was nice and clean. My only concern was while walking back from the restroom a server carrying dirty dishes almost ran into me. It is a bit of a tight squeeze with all of the tables on the floor.

Other than that the food was delicious and the wine list was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Don't go without reservations! Fabulous food. Impeccable service. We were greeted at the door by Gino, who shook our hands and wished my sun Happy Birthday then led us to our table. Our sommelier, George was from the town next door to my hometown and had a great sense of humor. We weren't rushed at all. The whole meal took over 2.5 hours. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The best Italian restaurant in Tampa. A class act!
The quality and experience has been maintained consistently for 34 years.
This is where to go for an Italian, over the top, romantic fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Without a doubt, the premier Italian dining establishment in the Tampa. The service is second to none. Don't see something you like? Ask the staff....they are beyond helpful. Truly outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

My husband amd I celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary at the restaurant. They found out it was our anniversary and went out of their way to make it extra special with cake and a rose. The meal was delicious from start to finish. Staff was wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better time and we drove 75 miles to have dinner there. Would do it again and highly recommend them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Best restaurant me and my wife have ever been to. The service was awesome, and waiters were on point. Food was very good as well. We are definitely going back. We even saw Derek Jeter there, the owner of the Florida Marlins and we were treated the same as him. The atmosphere was very lively as well. Free valet parking also. Kind of pricey, but well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Always the best no matter the occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We were in Tampa for a long weekend and had a wonderful evening at Donatello! Delicious food, great wine, attentive and caring staff. It was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

They can flat out cook. My favorite restaurant in Tampa.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food but service was really slow...have been there many times and this was the first time that this has occurred...I guess everyone has a bad night!
Easy access in Tampa and valet was prompt

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Overall, dining at Donatello was a great experience. The service was very impressive as water glasses and bread were refilled without any prompting. The course changes were swift and the wait staff extremely courteous. The food surpassed my expectation and everyone one of our party agreed that it was fantastic. My only complaint was that we were served a bottle of Champaign that was warm. This was remedied as quickly as possible but still, that should not happen in a restaurant of this caliber.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Outstanding food and superior service. The real deal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25