About Donatello

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: 8138756660

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Tampa / Central Florida West
9 More
Best Ambiance
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Food
Tampa
Best Service
Tampa
Best Ambiance
Tampa
Notable Wine List
Tampa
Romantic
Tampa
Special Occasion
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (88)
romantic (74)
notable wine list (47)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
good for groups (29)
neighborhood gem (23)
vibrant bar scene (21)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my two favorite places to ...

Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my two favorite places to go for dinner, especially for a special occasion or romantic dinner. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is perfect. I have never been disappointed. The rose is always a nice touch, too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The dining experience was top notch. Eve ...

Dined 5 days ago

The dining experience was top notch. Everyone there made the night feel very special. The food was fantastic, from the salads to the dessert. The cost was high, for being pasta dishes, but I would go back again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a date or special occasion

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We came for our anniversary and it was clear why all our Tampa friends had suggested it. It's very romantic and authentically Italian. The food was incredible! I had the tortellini and I loved it. Everything is fresh and made to order so the flavor is exquisite. The owner or GM came to the table to welcome us and thank us for coming in and at the end presented me with a beautiful rose. The service and attention to detail is just something I haven't experienced anywhere else in Tampa. I highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Donatello's for all occasions - especially special occasions!! The food is excellent and the service is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, passable food

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is ok. Calamari was ok, pasta was ok, bread is terrible. Salads are nice, Service is nice and servers were friendly. Wine is extremely overpriced.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our visit to Donatellos was expertacular. Great food, outstanding service, and amazing environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my girl out for one last night of vacation. The staff was on point, very romantic. I got the veal and ricotta rolled pasta and I've already told everyone in my family they should try it. Great food, very romantic, loved it, and I'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

lovely italian gem

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

great food, lovely people - perfect for the special occasion we went for

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First class dining experience! Food was ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

First class dining experience! Food was excellent. Highly recommend the homemade fettuccini.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is great! Very impressiv ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

This restaurant is great! Very impressive from the moment we walked in until we finished our dining experience. The service was outstanding! The food was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic evening

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

If you're looking for that little special some place to go, this is the place. The ambiance is old school Italian. The wait staff is impeccable. And the food is to die for. We started with the fried zucchini w/marinara sauce before moving on to dinner. I had the Carmelo special, linguine and clams with lump crab. And believe me when I tell you, there were huge lumps of crabs. My wife had a veal dish that you cut with a fork and it melted in your mouth. And lets not forget Kim and Ashley, our favorite bartenders who are always serving up the best cocktails and wine. Love to all and thanks for a great evening. Dennis and Steph

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience! S ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience! Service fantastic and food very good. A very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Simple food done outstandingly well with ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Simple food done outstandingly well with authenticity. Love the true Italian service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Dining

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

For a wonderful, quiet, and classic dinner go to Donatello. This is the way restaurants used to be years ago and this one is still like that. For a place to discuss business or just have a great meal this is the place to go. Our veal was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I have ever had at Donatello' ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything I have ever had at Donatello's has always been delicious!

food5
ambience5
service3
value2

It was the usual expensive but very tast ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

It was the usual expensive but very tasty dinner. If you're looking for a "buy" for dinner, this is not the place. But the food IS very good!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

This place never disappoints, except that they no longer serve lunch. I've been coming here for almost 30 years, it is still my favorite! Ask for the three pasta appetizer!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Excellent as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my wife here for her birthday ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

I brought my wife here for her birthday and the whole evening was amazing from start to finish. From Gino's greeting at the door, to the attentiveness in the lounge, to the exceptional service all through dinner. My wife and I both had veal dishes which were exceptional. I highly recommend Donatello's... be sure not to miss the live music after dinner! The band, Dwight Champagne Experience, on Sat night was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything we had was wonderful. We look forward to coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sexy

Dined on March 30, 2016

We used to eat here 26 years ago and it is just as good today as it was then. They greet you at the door and give the ladies a long stem rose when they leave. Excellent wine list. The poached salmon is still excellent and the Chilean sea bass was excellent & scrupous dessert. There is also a nice bar with piano & accompanment music that was not there. Excellent service. Our server has been there 27 years. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Been wanting to go here for years. Wish I would have went sooner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic Italian dining! Will return ag ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Authentic Italian dining! Will return again next time we are visiting the Tampa area!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Authentic old school italian food and ambiance!

Dined on March 19, 2016

I felt like I was back in time when restaurant owners knew their guests and were happy to see them. They were welcoming and genuine. Oh and the food was great too!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was AMAZING!!! From service to the fo ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was AMAZING!!! From service to the food...its been along time since I've had such a wonderful experience ...if I lived closer I would be there several times a week !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

Dined on March 13, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Great for special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing host, true gentlemen! A ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The most amazing host, true gentlemen! A warm and intimate dining experience. Outstanding food!! Thank you Gino :-) and all wait staff

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Wanting to close

Dined on March 7, 2016

THEY should not except reservations for 9:30 when they want to close!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second to none

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

What an exciting place to dine. As you enter, you are greeted by numerous pictures of many big name people who had previously dined at Donatello. While you're perusing the pictures you are then greeted by Gino, owner of this great restaurant. He cheerfully leads you to your table unless you have plans of spending a few minutes with the personable bartenders Kim and Ashley. They are sure to make you the best drinks of the day. After a drink or two we headed to the dining room. Our normal waiter was not in that evening so we had the great pleasure of having David take care of us. And that he did. Drinks were ordered, appetizers were ordered and finally dinner. The food was tastefully prepared. Everything from the grouper to the sea bass was excellent. Who'd of thought, fish at an Italian restaurant. Try it, you'll see how great it was. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for a step above fine dining. We regularly send people here over Burns....hands done. Keep up the great work Gino and staff. Dennis and Steph

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Experience Ever

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and i celebrated our anniversary this past weekend. May I say we were pleasantly surprised. From the entrance till your departure from this gem you will be pampered with impecable service, endulged in mouth watering food and build relationships with the waiters and staff. It was definitely worth every penny. What I was disappointed in was the way some people come dressed to such a fancy restaurant. If at the door you see tuxedo dressed waiters and greeters.. it is your sign to turn around and come back well dressed. Experience it as it is... a hidden treasure!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic Old World Italian

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

From warm welcome to the professional, efficient, attentive service, you can't help but be impressed. Decor and ambiance are classic old world Italian. Antipastos of calimare amalfitano and insalata caprese were tender, nicely seasoned and delicious. Mains of pasta vongole in white wine and garlic sauce were loaded with small, tender clams in the shell (no canned, diced clams here); veal piccata was perfectly seasoned, tender, moist , lightly breaded and delectable.Wine list is extensive with something for everyone's taste and wallet. Donatello's is expensive but you get very special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great food and great service. This one is one you want to book for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

Dined on February 28, 2016

I never review places but this place was awesome! This place has an old school gangster feel. The maître d was the best I've ever experienced. The band was charming and really good at what they do. Highly recommend this place for adult dining and/or drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic Old School Italian

Dined on February 28, 2016

we have a group of four golfers who discovered Donatello several years ago, and every time we return for a golf trip to Tampa this is our go to place for a special night out for dinner. we drove 40 minutes from a suburban resort to dine and Donatello never disappoints. the food was amazing and the servers and staff are equally impressive. we travel to a lot of Florida golf destinations and this has been by far one of our favorite places to dine in the past 14 years of golf trips.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone loved dinner at Donatello's

Dined on February 25, 2016

I entertained a group of clients and spouses at Donatello's and everyone came away impressed with the impeccable service and the great food and wine. We started with wine, cocktails and appetizers and finished with coffee, espressos and after-dinner drinks. Everyone remarked on the quality and portions of the entrees. At Donatello's the food and wine selections were better and the price for our group of 9 was far more reasonable than a subsequent dinner at one of the high end chains in the International Plaza.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Night in Venice

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

We celebrated a friend's birthday here and were pleasantly surprised to be a part of their Venetian carnaval celebration - it was a wonderful surprise which made her birthday even more memorable. Of course, she was thrilled with the always-stellar service, the incredible food and ambiance/personality of Gino and Guido. My wife and I have been dining here since 1985 and this place has not lost a step! It is truly Tampa's finest Northern Italian ristorante. Our guest loved the appetizers (carpaccio, fried zucchini, roasted oysters in cream sauce), the entrees (agnolotti, veal chop and crab pasta), and dessert (a proper birthday tiramisu). We had a wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great Place. Needs Updating

Dined on February 21, 2016

Very pricey restaurant, but you won't be disappointed. The food was excellent. The service was impeccable. This place is incredible but the only exception is that the decor needs to be updated a little bit. The popcorn ceilings, the peeling paint on the walls, the outdated carpet and the yellowing pictures of former celebrities that have visited the restaurant all need a little love. (Nothing major). Some of those imperfections aren't all bad. In fact, they help to make it feel like an authentic, old school Italian joint on Arthur Ave in NY. Overlook those minor blemishes and prepare to treat your taste buds to something delicious. The food is second to none. I had the Piccata AL Limone. (Veal Piccata) The veal was so tender, it melted in my mouth. The lemon butter sauce was just the right balance of the two flavors and balanced out with a touch of capers on top. My wife had the Tortellini Aurora which was cooked to a perfect al dente. The sausage filing was so flavorful. It was like a burst flavorful goodness in each and every bite. We finished off our meal with the Ricotta Cake. DO NOT SKIP THE RICOTTA CAKE! If you're lucky enough for them to still have any there, get a piece. (When they sell out of it, it's gone for the day...)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best meal and dining experience ever ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The best meal and dining experience ever. Very cozy and romantic. Can't wait to go back again.

food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Pasta dish Amazing nice salad which came ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Pasta dish Amazing nice salad which came with meal and my main course really good. Really good Nepolian dessert. Had to ask for bread . Wine not impressed but not bad. Price point expensive. Coming from Manhattan I shouldn't ever pay NYC prices so it surprised me. But really good Italian food

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Donatello

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Good food and service. Plenty of food but not exquisite

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.