About Donatello

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: 8138756660

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal)
  • tortellini
  • Lamb
  • Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello
  • Ossobuco
  • Linguini
  • Seabass
Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal)
tortellini
Lamb
Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello
Ossobuco
Linguini
Seabass

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Romantic
Tampa / Central Florida West
8 More
Special Occasion
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Food
Tampa
Best Service
Tampa
Best Ambiance
Tampa
Romantic
Tampa
Special Occasion
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (68)
notable wine list (43)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
vibrant bar scene (17)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about it was fabulous. Celeb ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about it was fabulous. Celebrating a friends birthday with her daughter and my grand daughter and myself. Thank You for a very nice experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Unquestionably Tampa Bays most outstandi ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Unquestionably Tampa Bays most outstanding Italian food.

food5
ambience5
service5

We always start out meal with bruschetta ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We always start out meal with bruschetta, calamari fritti, and zucchini fritti. The marinara they serve with these dishes is delicious. The perfect flavor. The bruschetta is fresh.. Really beautiful tomatoes, garlic and basil. The pasta with lobster is a family favorite. I love that when you leave they give you a rose. It's such a beautiful tradition and I think it's such a special way for them to thank you for choosing their restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service1

Service was awful. I was made to feel l ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was awful. I was made to feel like an afterthought! First time in 30 years of fine dining in Tampa. And I even ordered a 400 dollar bottle of wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular experience!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere. Gino has an excellent staff that treats you wonderfully! so glad we chose Donatello for our Anniversary. i have been wanting to go there for years. we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for our group of 4. We were t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

First time for our group of 4. We were taking a couple there for their 60th anniversary celebration! Everything was awesome and the couple was very pleased. It was Worth the hour and half drive!

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

This is the 2nd time I have been there a ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the 2nd time I have been there and the food is not hot.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall this was OK. Despite having a re ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Overall this was OK. Despite having a reservation we had to wait almost 45 minutes for a table. The maitre d tries to e very 'slick' but it is really more annoying than anything else. This was for a special occasion (my birthday) and they did acknowledge this. However when it came time for dessert they offered a chocolate mousse cake with candle and then produced four slices (four of us at the table) and then charged 4 x $11 for the cake!! There was no choice and at $11 would not have necessarily been my choice for dessert and they charged for mine (usually the person celebrating is offered free dessert). The food was good to very good but not special enough to go racing back and will not be featuring in our top choice of restaurants going forward.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is amazing!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

From food to service to quality wine selection, this is the perfect place rather its a special occasion or just a night out on the town. This is a must try for Tampa

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our visit to Donatello was everything we could have asked for: pleasant and quiet ambiance, flawless service, superb food and a host that made us feel quite welcome. You can't be Donatello for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

I went with a friend for her birthday. The food, atmosphere and extra special attention made the evening a wonderful night to remember. The live music in the bar for drinks after dinner was fabulous and ended the evening on a special note.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, great service.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Awesome food, great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to celebrate our anniversary!

Dined on June 2, 2016

This was our second visit and it was still the most enjoyable evening! Donatello's really knows how to make you feel welcomed. Low lighting for romance, fresh flowers, beautiful table settings. Then you get to the food. We shared oysters with crab, amazing! Homemade pasta with mushrooms, the most tender noodles ever! Main courses - special of the day snapper and one of the veal dishes all made to perfection. Don't skip dessert - cream brûlée and chocolate cake, worth every calorie! The wine list is very good, we went with a house recommended red. This restaurant is a dinning experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome experience!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We've been to Donatello a few times over the years. We live in Spring Hill so it's not easy to be a frequent diner. Every time we are there we absolutely love it! The food and service are outstanding and the special touches from the owner's visits to your table and the red rose for the ladies really put Donatello in a league of their own. We would absolutely recommend this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food, but not good service

Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant is very lovely and the wine list is impressive. The food was great, but the service was spotty. The meal was served in a very unattractive manner on the plate with a "scoop" of green beans placed on the plate swimming in the topping which was ladled on the fish. The busboy attempted to take plates away before the table was finish and neither the busboy or the waiter attempted to sweep the crumbs off before dessert was served. We finally swept the crumbs off when the onto the floor when the bill came to make a point to the waiter, but he didn't notice. Not at all fine dining except for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Faboulos live music

Dined on May 27, 2016

Especially the live Music Washington eminent. Dwight Champagne gave us an outstanding Night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my two favorite places to ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is one of my two favorite places to go for dinner, especially for a special occasion or romantic dinner. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is perfect. I have never been disappointed. The rose is always a nice touch, too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The dining experience was top notch. Eve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The dining experience was top notch. Everyone there made the night feel very special. The food was fantastic, from the salads to the dessert. The cost was high, for being pasta dishes, but I would go back again for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a date or special occasion

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We came for our anniversary and it was clear why all our Tampa friends had suggested it. It's very romantic and authentically Italian. The food was incredible! I had the tortellini and I loved it. Everything is fresh and made to order so the flavor is exquisite. The owner or GM came to the table to welcome us and thank us for coming in and at the end presented me with a beautiful rose. The service and attention to detail is just something I haven't experienced anywhere else in Tampa. I highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Donatello's for all occasions - especially special occasions!! The food is excellent and the service is outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, passable food

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is ok. Calamari was ok, pasta was ok, bread is terrible. Salads are nice, Service is nice and servers were friendly. Wine is extremely overpriced.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our visit to Donatellos was expertacular. Great food, outstanding service, and amazing environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my girl out for one last night of vacation. The staff was on point, very romantic. I got the veal and ricotta rolled pasta and I've already told everyone in my family they should try it. Great food, very romantic, loved it, and I'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

lovely italian gem

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

great food, lovely people - perfect for the special occasion we went for

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First class dining experience! Food was ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

First class dining experience! Food was excellent. Highly recommend the homemade fettuccini.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

There were 5 of us, one very fussy eater ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

There were 5 of us, one very fussy eater. He had a pasta dish with sausage and loved it. All the food was great. The only downfall to me and my husband was the Cesar salad at the table. Since this is one of the very few restaurants that claim to make it table side, we expected just that. Not a bowl on a cart with romaine in it and the server pours the dressing over it and then serves it. They might as well just bring it out from the kitchen that way. And don't charge an outrageous price for this skimpy so- so salad. We would go back but minus the Cesar salad.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is great! Very impressiv ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

This restaurant is great! Very impressive from the moment we walked in until we finished our dining experience. The service was outstanding! The food was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic evening

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

If you're looking for that little special some place to go, this is the place. The ambiance is old school Italian. The wait staff is impeccable. And the food is to die for. We started with the fried zucchini w/marinara sauce before moving on to dinner. I had the Carmelo special, linguine and clams with lump crab. And believe me when I tell you, there were huge lumps of crabs. My wife had a veal dish that you cut with a fork and it melted in your mouth. And lets not forget Kim and Ashley, our favorite bartenders who are always serving up the best cocktails and wine. Love to all and thanks for a great evening. Dennis and Steph

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience! S ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience! Service fantastic and food very good. A very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Simple food done outstandingly well with ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Simple food done outstandingly well with authenticity. Love the true Italian service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Dining

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

For a wonderful, quiet, and classic dinner go to Donatello. This is the way restaurants used to be years ago and this one is still like that. For a place to discuss business or just have a great meal this is the place to go. Our veal was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I have ever had at Donatello' ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything I have ever had at Donatello's has always been delicious!

food5
ambience5
service3
value2

It was the usual expensive but very tast ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

It was the usual expensive but very tasty dinner. If you're looking for a "buy" for dinner, this is not the place. But the food IS very good!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

This place never disappoints, except that they no longer serve lunch. I've been coming here for almost 30 years, it is still my favorite! Ask for the three pasta appetizer!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Excellent as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my wife here for her birthday ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

I brought my wife here for her birthday and the whole evening was amazing from start to finish. From Gino's greeting at the door, to the attentiveness in the lounge, to the exceptional service all through dinner. My wife and I both had veal dishes which were exceptional. I highly recommend Donatello's... be sure not to miss the live music after dinner! The band, Dwight Champagne Experience, on Sat night was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything we had was wonderful. We look forward to coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sexy

Dined on March 30, 2016

We used to eat here 26 years ago and it is just as good today as it was then. They greet you at the door and give the ladies a long stem rose when they leave. Excellent wine list. The poached salmon is still excellent and the Chilean sea bass was excellent & scrupous dessert. There is also a nice bar with piano & accompanment music that was not there. Excellent service. Our server has been there 27 years. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Been wanting to go here for years. Wish I would have went sooner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic Italian dining! Will return ag ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Authentic Italian dining! Will return again next time we are visiting the Tampa area!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.