Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Authentic (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Business Meals (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Live Music (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was absolutely spectacular. The Veal was tender and tasty. Refined and polite staff, properly dressed. All in all, a most satisfying experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic! We have been going for years. Now our son & his girlfriend go. I love this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent place for any occasion. The service is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Quiet pricey - dinner for 7 cost almost $700 which included two children who did not drink alcohol. But everything else was wonderful - atmosphere, service, noise level, service, food. A great restaurant for very special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had an excessive wait for our food. My meal was just warm at best , but we love this place must be the Tuesday chef

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was awesome! From the time we walked thru the door and were greeted to the time we left. Food, service... we definitely will be back and more than once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

What a wonderful evening out at a top notch restaurant. The food was second to none and the service like none I've ever witnessed. I was in the mood for seafood with a side of pasta. 'Why not have both' came from our waiter Carmello. Out came a bowl of pasta with little neck clams and lumps and I mean lumps of crabmeat. It's not on the menu but it's a Carmello special as I learned later. My wife's veal dish, Vitello Dolce Vita, was the most tender tasteful veal dish she ever had. The table full of delicious looking desserts which included Tiramisu, Napolean, Ricotta cheesecake and a few other items had to wait until our next visit. We had already consumed a fresh order of bruschetta as an appetizer and we were too full for dessert. From the bartenders Kim and Camile to our server Carmello, we couldn't have asked for a better staff.
Thanks for a wonderful evening.
Dennis and Steph

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Confusion at the door when we came in, we were told that we were the first 2 of the 5 guests, we asked to be seated.
After 20 minutes and our remaining guests not arriving we called them and they told us they were at the bar.
Food was excellent, service good dessert not to par, very sad looking. We would go back but not on weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent experience! We are from Philadelphia and we love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food. Excellent choices. The service is impeccable. They have good wine choices but are 4x the price of tgosevwines at retail. Be prepared to pay $100 per person.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. Best restaurant in Tampa. Each time you go there the experience is always excellent

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent service and food. Never disappoints and food is always amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Perth / WA)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Authentic Italian from the food to the atmosphere. I would highly recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were lucky to experience Opera Night at Donatello's. It was fabulous!
The food was fantastic and the servers were attentive without being obtrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fabulous food. Warm reception - like you're coming home. They make everyone feel like they're part of their large extended family. Prices a little higher than other Italian restaurants but the extras make it all worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I took my wife here for our 1st. wedding anniversary. Neither of us have been here before. From the moment we called to verify the reservation, to waiting for the valet to bring our car after eating, we were never disappointed. The food was beyond amazing. The staff, from Gino to our maître d' (I apologize for not remembering your name) were top notch. My only disappointment was my wife wanted the Lobster Thermidor and they were out for the evening. I was pleasantly pleased when I was given the check. For what we had ordered, I was expecting a much larger bill. Even if it was, it would've been well worth the price. I highly recommend Donatello's as I will also be returning hopefully sooner than later.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent classic old style fine Italian dining!!!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Nice place for dinnner. I had advised them it was our 25 yr dating anniversary but it was not acknowledged. I guess I should have checked discreetly when I got there. Good service and prices are reasonable

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for celebrating our anniversary! The food and service impeccable: second to none! There are other Italian restaurants, then there is Donatello's, in a class of it's own!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was excellent. However, we were celebrating our 35th anniversary and thought we would go here for a quiet romantic dinner. It was extremely noisy. You would think at these prices ($$$$) they would have a dress code but half the patrons were wearing jeans an tshirts. Very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was absolutely remarkable this is a restaurant with tone of local history and no doubt we will go back WELL DONE DONATELLOS !

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food and service excellent. Restaurant a bit crowded so the noise level was elevated.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was impeccable! Very attentive and everyone was very friendly! Valet and parking options are not to be desired. Very small entry off of Dale Mabry. Parking in the back is very little and I did not like leaving my car parked there. Décor is stuck in the 80's. They really need to update the décor. Loved the fact that staff were dressed nicely! Food is very good, but super pricey. Pasta at $25 is a little pretentious. Dessert table was nice, would have been better if the waiters could bring by various desserts by your table on a dessert cart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is not intended to be a negative review because the food and service were good. However, it is very apparent that they value certain clientele over others. This can be seen by the number of pictures of famous people on the walls and then by the people who pulled up in their Ferrari's and Mercedes', walked right past us and got seated even though we were a party of 2 with a 7:30 reservation and it was 7:40 with, at least, 6 small tables available to accommodate us. We are patient people, so no scene necessary. When we got seated, they walked us all the way to the back of the restaurant (past all 6 of those open tables) and sat us in the furthest back corner of the restaurant. Still no scene necessary. The two of us just wanted to enjoy a nice meal together, so none of that really mattered to us. The problem I have with this restaurant is that the only way to truly enjoy it is to plan on spending $200 or more for two people. If you don't order a $100 bottle of wine, a $20 appetizer, $40 entrees, $12 salads and $15 desserts, you won't have a very good experience. For $75, we got 1 Caesar salad and two small pasta dishes. So, my recommendation would be to save this place for special occasions, if you're not comfortable spending a ridiculous amount of money to take your wife out to eat a nice dinner. That being said, our meals and the service were very good, but you could tell there is a lot of judgement passed in this restaurant. So, take no offense and accept it for what it is. If you're comfortable spending that kind of money, enjoy. Just don't "try it out" on a whim because your $90 (after tip) doesn't get much at all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

From the greeting at the door, to the table service it was concierge style service. It was as if all of the staff was at our disposal.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was my wife's birthdays

What a great night!!!
Great Food
Fantastic Service
Special night Opera Night strolling singers from the local opera
All in all a great evening
Gino and Guido are great hosts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Outstanding quality. Very authentic. Service was impeccable. Go for the authenticity and food quality. It is expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion. I will return and I recommend you try it if you haven't.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Every time we dine at another restaurant we invariably say, " we should have eaten at Donatellos, the food and service would have been better."

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Had a wonderful evening celebrating our parents 55th wedding anniversary! The food, service and attention to detail was so appreciated. It was also opera night which added to the celebration for sure. Each lady receives a rose, nice touch. Not too loud just right!!! Thanks for the memories!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Superb service and food. My wife's birthday, so I managed to build up a few points until I use them up in the near future. Guido was charming and the service staff very attentive. Great wine selection. A must visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything was awesome. It was dinner with clients from out of town. They said they wanted to come back the next time they were in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This is an old style New York higher end Italian restaurant. The food is always excellent and service is great.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 6, 2017

While we do not live in Tampa, a visit to Donatello's has been a priority over the past thirty years when in the Tampa area for business or pleasure. One dish in particular is a magnet to my husband's palate--lump crabmeat in a light oil sauce over pasta. It's amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome dining experience. Relaxed atmosphere, live background music made for an enjoyable evening. Our veal dishes were incredible tender and very tasteful. And the risotto was the best I've ever had. Service was second to none!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We tried Donatello's, I would love nothing than to agree with the 4 and 5 star reviews, but simply can not. The owner seems like a nice person but they need a plethora of changes to make this a great experience. They need Gordon Ramsey to be perfectly honest. The food was nothing shy of horrible. It lacked flavor and presentation. Especially for the price they charge. The atmosphere is dated and dirty. So with the presentation of bread...the most basic of things, it seems like stale bread because it comes as toast. They served butter with the bread...which is fine but they do not offer an alternative of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and herbs...pretty common and basic...what they brought, when asked, was a thin oil plus some sort of leaves, not Italian herbs. The calimari appetizer was ok but nothing spectacular. Then the main dishes that came out showed steaming food...the kind you get when you microwave food, not freshly prepared food from an oven or pan, and yes, there is a discernible difference. Next issue was that the dishes were incomplete of all the ingredients that were expected to be included in the dish per the menu. Decided to try dessert...The tiramisu flavor was ok but no where near perfect and the presentation was as if they had left overs in a pan and scraped it on to a plate. The service was ok, but not the best either. I felt like I was an imposition to the wait staff versus a valuable customer. It was late and that may have been part of the issue...but still, every customer at every hour that you serve, is extremely important to your business. The rose for the ladies is a nice touch but you really need to dethorn them so the ladies do not get poked by those thorns on the way home. Bottom line, the cost of the meal and service was way way too much for what was received. Will not dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

great food and the service was out standing , Bar menu outstanding , Desserts are the best around, the rose at the end of the night made it special for my wife and mother.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always a good choice. Food is consistently well prepared.
A good place to relax and really enjoy your meal. Waiter had a problem with understanding what gluten allergic meant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My Favorite Restaurant in Tampa! The food and Staff are like no other!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was Father's day, the restaurant was very busy and our meals came out wrong. Made for a very stressful and expensive Father's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.