About Donatello

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: 8138756660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal) - Donatello
  • tortellini - Donatello
  • Lamb - Donatello
  • Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello - Donatello
  • Ossobuco - Donatello
  • Linguini - Donatello
  • Seabass - Donatello
Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal) - Donatello
tortellini - Donatello
Lamb - Donatello
Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello - Donatello
Ossobuco - Donatello
Linguini - Donatello
Seabass - Donatello

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Romantic
Tampa / Central Florida West
6 More
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Food
Tampa
Best Service
Tampa
Romantic
Tampa
Special Occasion
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Romantic (61)
Special Occasion (59)
Notable Wine List (32)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Live Music (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
Newest
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved everything about it.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

We loved everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from the moment you wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service from the moment you walk in the doors, through exiting. The food was great. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply FABULOUS.....as always! This was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Simply FABULOUS.....as always! This was a special celebration for my wife's birthday, and the food, service, and attentiveness of the staff helped to make it an exceptional occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went here for opera n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for opera night. The ambiance and food were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly overpriced for what you get

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Incredibly overpriced for what you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Omg don't know where to begin, great wel ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Omg don't know where to begin, great welcome, the ambiance was quiet and relaxing, food was excellent and also was the service. It was my birthday and cake was delicious. Special touch a rose for each woman. Overall a wonderful fine dining experience. We will come again. Please thank the staff for a job well done.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They ran out of clams, so I had to chang ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

They ran out of clams, so I had to change my entree, the first drink I had was served in a cracked glass food was average and probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

well drop dead gorgeous restaurant.. lig ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

well drop dead gorgeous restaurant.. lighting subdued romantic roses on all tables.. our server was spot on in every way....gino the owner/greeter check in on you to make sure all is well... you don't go to donatello to save money... but if you want to dress up a bit and have incredible meal in a romantic old style restaurant and you will find you wife or lover feel that you have indeed been taken to a special place... rafa

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an over the top evening. Servi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was an over the top evening. Service was impeccable, food beyond excellent....there was one. Lip at the end of the evening, when, although one of their claims to fame is that all ladies receive a rose, the ladies in our party received none....just saying if you say you do it, you should deliver every time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Food delicious....service outstanding... ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food delicious....service outstanding...ambience great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers - Excellent!🍈 Main course - ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Appetizers - Excellent!🍈

Main course - Delicious!🍝🍖

Wine - Perfect!🍷

Dessert and coffee - Amazing! ☕️

Wait staff - ALWAYS there at the right time and superb. 🕴

Worth every penny! 🤑

Noise level - finally a quiet restaurant in Tampa where you can hear each other.

We hadn't been in awhile, and we will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great band at the bar. V ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food, great band at the bar. Very over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Donatello's has a great menu and their f ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Donatello's has a great menu and their food backs it up. The service is 2nd to NONE!

We try to go back as often as possible just for the food but the staff from bartenders to servers to the owners make this restaurant a must visit. You are treated by everyone as you are family.

Food is always fresh and hot. Do not hesitate to ask for recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For special occasions we immensely enjoy ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

For special occasions we immensely enjoy the food, the wait staff, the ambiance and

appreciate that the women receive a rose when leaving the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for the first time for an anniversa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for the first time for an anniversary. This is fantastic classic Italian food at its finest. Classic waiters in tux's, Italian accents and great service at a relaxed pace. The pasta is homemade, the sauces mouthwatering. We had the carpaccio appetizer and it was the best I've ever had. Gino the GM and owners son is the true jewel at this restaurant. He makes you feel like your coming to his home. This place is not cheap but you will get the value in the food you eat and the service provided.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Donatello's on many occa ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Donatello's on many occasions. It is our go to place to celebrate and enjoy great food. My six year old granddaughter has been going there since she was three. When asked it is her favorite restaurant. Service is impeccable. Always attentive. Atmosphere makes the entire event memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food, ambiance. What else ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great service, food, ambiance. What else could you ask for. :-)

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were surprised to see Donatello's ope ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were surprised to see Donatello's open on Sunday night but what a rare treat for the place to be a little quieter than usual. The food as always was superb and the service is quietly but openly consistent. Wait staff is well trained to be service oriented but not overly on top of you. The traditional Italian dishes are done to perfection and they will prepare meals that are not on the menu in some instances. If you want to impress your date, wife, or client, going to Donatello's is a sure fire way to success. I highly recommend the veal dishes and do not miss a side of angel hair pasta. their sauce is so light it must not have a single calorie. The terra missou cake is lights out! Great Place!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best pasta in town - all the food is de ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best pasta in town - all the food is delicious and even though it is pricey it is worth the wonderful service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

From the food to the waiter, the owner, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

From the food to the waiter, the owner, the wine, the service, it is my new favorite restaurant! Made reservations for a group of 20 in the coming months. This place is awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience is second to none ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The dining experience is second to none like no other! The seafood is exemplary and simply the best! The service is excellent with servers dressed in their formal wear and makes the dining experience be elevated to another level!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very noisy!! For that reason I wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It is very noisy!! For that reason I will not recommend for a romantic occasion.

The dinner was okay, but not 5star and very expensive too. The service was OK. but could be better.

I do not want to go again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Always a winner with us! We love the foo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a winner with us! We love the food. The jazz music in the bar was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner at Donatell ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Donatello's. This was our first time and we will surely be back. The food was good and service was on a level you would expect for a restaurant in a higher price range. Very pleasant experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food was excellent. The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service and food was excellent. The owner was extremely courteous and welcoming. The noise level increased as the evening progressed detracting from the romantic atmosphere that we experienced when we first arrived. However, we will visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The service was excel ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good. The service was excellent. The rose at the end is nice.Having been to Italy multiple times, I can't justify the price for the food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband went to there to experience o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband went to there to experience opera night. Even though it was crowded the singers mingled around the restaurant so you enjoy their singing.

We both had a Veal dish and it was excellent.We love this restaurant for their quality of good tasty food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From the moment we arrived we were pleas ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

From the moment we arrived we were pleasantly greeted. We had to wait for the table so gave us an opportunity to sit on the lounge and listen to a fun jazzy band (great hang out place for appetizer, drinks and just listen to good music ). Next went into main dining room. It was the 4th Friday of the month so Opera Tampa singers were there. A great treat!. Dor appetizer we had the baked oysters w parmegan then we had the grouper fish special for the evening. Delicious. This was a great start for our wedding anniversary evening. Grazie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We chose Donattllos to celebrate our "50 ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We chose Donattllos to celebrate our "50th" wedding anniversary. This was our first time and will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donatello is perfect in every dining cat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Donatello is perfect in every dining category Facilities, Decor, Friendly, and the food is nothing but outstanding - well worth cost

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, service outstanding. Grea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Awesome food, service outstanding. Great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy, eclectic. Special restaurant-a m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Classy, eclectic. Special restaurant-a must for those seeking unique experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought 4 friends with us - a first t ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We brought 4 friends with us - a first time dining at Donatello for 5 of us...we were so looking forward to it. The prices were high and food a bit left of average. We were disappointed. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was good but way overpriced for the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good but way overpriced for the value. Wine list was very pricey. $12 for a Caesar salad that I had to request anchovies for was not up to par with the small portion. It was my birthday and they brought me a cake with a candle on it and gave me a piece. When the bill came they had charged me for the piece of cake we didn't even ask for. Will not go back for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Definitely not Roth the money - very pri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Definitely not Roth the money - very pricey. Stop complaining even the a plain grill - nothing fancy. vegetables are overdone and sauces are not well balanced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Always a treat exceptional service!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a treat exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service and most importantly t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent Service and most importantly the food is great! They take care of you on a personal level. Highly recommended!

Les Brown

321.369.8479

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and they make a great ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was excellent and they make a great martini. We had calamari, ceasar salad , 2 different veal dishes and desert. Service was wonderful. Only problem was they sat all tables close even though it was a Tuesday night and it was not crowded . We should have asked to move as another couple did because we were next to a large loud table. Wish we lived closer , 40 minute drive for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, fabulous staff willing and r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, fabulous staff willing and ready to serve you. Grazie!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.