Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Authentic (32)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Live Music (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (9)
Fun (6)
Historic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything was awesome. It was dinner with clients from out of town. They said they wanted to come back the next time they were in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This is an old style New York higher end Italian restaurant. The food is always excellent and service is great.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome dining experience. Relaxed atmosphere, live background music made for an enjoyable evening. Our veal dishes were incredible tender and very tasteful. And the risotto was the best I've ever had. Service was second to none!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We tried Donatello's, I would love nothing than to agree with the 4 and 5 star reviews, but simply can not. The owner seems like a nice person but they need a plethora of changes to make this a great experience. They need Gordon Ramsey to be perfectly honest. The food was nothing shy of horrible. It lacked flavor and presentation. Especially for the price they charge. The atmosphere is dated and dirty. So with the presentation of bread...the most basic of things, it seems like stale bread because it comes as toast. They served butter with the bread...which is fine but they do not offer an alternative of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and herbs...pretty common and basic...what they brought, when asked, was a thin oil plus some sort of leaves, not Italian herbs. The calimari appetizer was ok but nothing spectacular. Then the main dishes that came out showed steaming food...the kind you get when you microwave food, not freshly prepared food from an oven or pan, and yes, there is a discernible difference. Next issue was that the dishes were incomplete of all the ingredients that were expected to be included in the dish per the menu. Decided to try dessert...The tiramisu flavor was ok but no where near perfect and the presentation was as if they had left overs in a pan and scraped it on to a plate. The service was ok, but not the best either. I felt like I was an imposition to the wait staff versus a valuable customer. It was late and that may have been part of the issue...but still, every customer at every hour that you serve, is extremely important to your business. The rose for the ladies is a nice touch but you really need to dethorn them so the ladies do not get poked by those thorns on the way home. Bottom line, the cost of the meal and service was way way too much for what was received. Will not dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

great food and the service was out standing , Bar menu outstanding , Desserts are the best around, the rose at the end of the night made it special for my wife and mother.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My Favorite Restaurant in Tampa! The food and Staff are like no other!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was Father's day, the restaurant was very busy and our meals came out wrong. Made for a very stressful and expensive Father's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and service. They will prepare whatever you want even if it not on the menu. The service is top rate, the best in Tampa. Customers are made to fell welcomed as part of a family. We love the fresh roses and the great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and service are amazing. Our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Donatello is a go-to favorite for us on special occasions, with it's Italian flair and elegant ambience. The wait staff is top-notch, the owners are always there to check in and make sure your dinner is perfect. The food is unforgettable, we've never been disappointed, wine list is top-notch. Our favorites: raw oysters, cannelloni Donatello and the filet medallion, rare.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was my 4th time at the restaurant, my date's first, and he was impressed by everything. We both had the Chilean Sea Bass and it was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. The mussels were delicious, ambiance delightful (we were really unaware anyone else was in the restaurant), dinner terrific....topped off by a beautiful yellow rose. Thank you so much for helping make his Father's Day celebration a night to remember.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing service, feels like family. Delicious authentic Italian food every visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Tampa. We celebrate every occasion here. We had our first real date here so it is very special to us.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent in every category. Top restaurant in area. Five star

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Best Italian in Tampa. Many dishes to choose from but not enough stomach room to try them all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food. Great Bar, entertainment, and atmosphere!
Building outside not fancy but the inside is beautiful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food is very overpriced and very average. The service is very good, particularly the host and the bus boys. It is fun to people watch but we won't be going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Donatello's offers a fun atmosphere combined with attentive service to their excellent food and you have a consistently great dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went here not realizing waiters would be wearing tuxedos so we were under dressed that was our fault ,that said , I don't know if it was just because the day was starting but no one working there had a smile throughout the whole dinner hardly saw any smiles we got the House salad and broccoli salad both of those were exceptional tortellini and fettuccine bologenese. They were good but not exceptional, bread on the table seemed store bought. Finished with crème brûlée which was excellent. My only problem is it felt way overpriced for the dinner. Must say also loved how they warmed the pasta dishes in the dining room that's a nice touch. Gave my wife a rose on the way out a longstem not a cheapie .Like I said though I hold them to a higher standard when you're asking prices like that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent service and food. The cannelloni was fantastic. Donatello has been in Tampa for a long time, the ambiance and service is a great setting for celebrating an event or a romantic evening - definitely not a casual restaurant. Plan ahead, the prices reflect the upscale nature of the restaurant. But it was soooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was wonderful. Authentic Italian cuisine. Authentic Italian cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Went for our anniversary. Was wonderful. The food, the service & everything in between! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I was seated immediately upon walking in. The waiters went above and beyond in working together to make sure my husband and I were well taken care of. The food was authentic and tasted rich in flavor!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I was told to try this restaurant from someone who is a restaurant owner. My husband and I have been dining at his restaurant at least 2x month for the last 17 years. It was my sister's anniversary and we decided to visit Donatellos after we picked up my husband from the TPA airport. The service was attentive, the food was good, but when we requested the check the waiter brought over a cheese torte with a candle lit. He wished my sister and brother- in -law a "Happy Anniversary". He proceeded to ask each one of our party of 5 if the would like a piece. Since he came over with the cake with the lit candle and salutations, everyone assumed it was gratis. When we got the bill $60 worth of Anniversary cheesecake was charged to us.
Each one of us assumed the same. Lesson learned.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Old school Italian restaurant. Food was delicious, but it was really the service that made our night. I didn't even need to make a decision when it came to the menu. I asked our waiter for a recommendation; he just said "I've got you" and when the food came out I was not disappointed. Good wine list with some unexpected bottles on it also. Definitely worth going to.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always special to dine there and the live music is fabulous....Thank you Gino for your attention and warm hospitality.....

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Took my 79 year old mother here and we both loved it. The service was impeccable, ambiance lovely, food was very good. Old school charm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Authentic cuisine of course, but nothing beats the service--they make you feel like family!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went to Donatello to celebrate a 95th birthday and a 90 birthday. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. From the moment we walked in the front door we were waited on and served graciously. From the bruschetta appetizer to the main meals of ossobuco, veal scalopinni, linguini w/clams and lump crabmeat , tortellini and more, the food was second to none. The wine and cocktails paired greatly with all the entrees. And then came the chocolate mousse cake. Wow, what a light delightful end to the evening.
What a great evening, couldn't have been better anywhere else. And the rose for the ladies was the finishing touch to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic food and impeccable service, as always. One of the best restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

great place for dinner and special occasions, unique atmosphere where the owners are mixing with the diners to ensure your meal is to it's usual high standard.

Been to the restaurant twice and both times everything superb my favourite restaurant, anywhere !!

Will be top of my list anytime I'm in the area !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great atmosphere, service, and food! We came here for our anniversary and were very pleased.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everyone is awesome. The food and service is the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious, not overdone Italian , just good good food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Truly fine, old school dining. Polished, refined, high quality product and preparation. Service is attentive but not overbearing. We celebrated our anniversary and it was an overall wonderful experience (and I'm a tough grader)...We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

If you were not alive or not old enough to eat out in the 60's this is the place to find out what it was like. Same menu, same ambiance and same total disdain for 2 women dining alone

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service was impeccable the food actually needed salt which is usually not the case in most restaurants that we have been to. The actor Robert Davi came in with a group of friends and was seated right next to us so that was pretty cool. I would highly recommend this place for any occasion. First class all the way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Waiter was great and took care of our group to what you would expect from a place like this. Food was on point and their winelist has great vintages at approachable prices if you know what you're looking for. Thanks to the entire team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our meal was above average, the place is old school looking. We would not run back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.