Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Donatello

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: (813) 875-6660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Romantic (42)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Authentic (35)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Live Music (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined 5 days ago

Service is always great & the food is absolutely delicious!! Thanks so much for the gluten-free pasta options! We always enjoy our dinner at Donatello's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The food was mediocre... the hallway to the restrooms and the restrooms themselves smelled like backed up sewage. It was extremely loud... not at all what we were expecting
Completely over rated ... maybe it’s best days are behind it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Service is excellent , food is excellent - great band in the bar on weekends

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Fantastic in every way. Lived in Italy four years and love to find great Italian manja.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 12, 2018

You will always be greeted with a smile. The food is amazing and you will never be disappointed
with the service the great staff at Donatello offers. Kim and Ashley are fun to hang with at the bar which offers a jazzy atmosphere with life music.
And a lady will always leave with a pretty rose . What fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Always exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Amazing and Cozy place, this restaurant really deserve 5 ⭐️ reviews, very impressive!!!! Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

This restaurant is hands down my favorite restaurant. It’s an absolutely must go to everytime I’m in Tampa. I love everything about this place and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Best restaurant in Tampa, would love to have one here in Dallas.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Made booking for 7.30pm, however we were in an extremely crowded bar for 1 hour before being seated. Did not receive main course until close to 10pm. Will not go there again, as the food is not that good to wait that long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Wonderful experience. Everyone is so attentive.
Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2018

In a recent review I stated that this is my favorite restaurant in the Tampa Bay area. The latest visit with friends was the same experience. These folks know the (restaurant) business and are a pleasure to deal with. The excellent food is always there. A true gem in this part of the world...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Every time I have ever had a reservation, I am asked to go to the bar while my table is almost ready. Every time.....its there way of forcing you into that bar and hopefully you buy a drink....7:30 means 8 or 8:15 ...they never honor their reservation times. I refuse to believe after many years of going to Donatello that this is a conincidence.....my friends all say the same thing. The food is usually very very good....that is the only reason I return

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We have eaten here twice. The food is PHENOMENAL!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

I want to thank everyone for the great evening. It was our anniversary and you made it very special. Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Service was impeccably orchestrated by the staff. All of our dishes were delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

It is always pleasure and we highly recommend it to everyone we know is visiting Tampa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Donatello’s never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

The Sea Bass with a lobster topping was very fishy, my wife couldn't even eat it. Dessert was terrible, the cheesecake tasted like it was in the fridge for 2 weeks. We were very disappointed with the food. The service was fine though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food was over the top as usual, service was outstanding Gino makes you feel like family. My wife always like the rose she receives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The food, the service, everything was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Best Italian in Tampa Bay! Fabulous! Whether for a birthday or just a nice night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Amazing as usual. Made for a special Christmas Eve dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We've been spending our Christmas Eve's at Donatello's for several years now and always enjoy the warm welcome when you arrive, the customer service is outstanding and food is always delicious! What a great place to not only enjoy for a holiday but anytime!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Wonderful Christmas Eve dinner and music with my beautiful wife. Delicious oysters, veal and chicken and a little jazz to top it off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Best italtian in tampa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2017

The ambiance was very nice. Food was authentic northern Italian cuisine. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The best Northern Italian food in the area, if not the state. Donatello's has had consistently "great" food and wine for the 20+ years I have been dining there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Tampa. Food and Service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2017

It was our 44th anniversary. This was the perfect place, we had the perfect corner. Low ceilings made it feel intimate, though the staff hustle. Food was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Excellent ambiance, food as expected. Donatello’s never disappoints me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 12, 2017

One of Tampa's gems, you expect Donatello's to be wonderful and it is. It was a bit noisier than I remember but maybe it's just me.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The restaurant was virtually empty. The food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great restaurant that I look forward to visiting anytime that I am in Tampa. Food, service and ambience are excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Best Italian restaurant I’ve ever been to, food, music and the welcoming owner.
Everything on the menu is authentic worth the travel from Orlando to Tampa to visit Donatello!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Donatello's is quite simply the best in the finest Authentic Italian Cuisine you will find anywhere, including Italy. The Bar/Lounge is a wonderful spot to start the evening, usually with live music, then dinner is simply superb. The have a magnificent wine list in almost all price ranges, and a service staff that take after the proprietors, Guido and Gino.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Food was amazing!! The ambiance was wonderful. I would recommend your restaurant to anyone. Thank you for a lovely evening!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Quite good experience, the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Exceptional service - everyone was friendly and attentive, and they did a great job with my allergy needs. The filet that they served me was outstanding!! We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.