About Donatello

232 N Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Every night Guido and Gino Tiozzo welcome you to Donatello, a fine dining restaurant serving authentic Italian cuisine since 1984.

Their constant presence and attention to details guarantee that, whether you are dining alone or hosting a large party, you'll be pleased and satisfied by your experience.

Every lady will leave Donatello with a rose on her hand as thanks for being there.

You'll see for yourself that hospitality has ancient roots at Donatello.

The menu is based on century-old Italian recipes and displays Italian specialties; the staff is friendly and professional and the desserts are delicious!

If the night is still young, come and relax at the piano lounge where blues, jazz and every love songs are played at the baby grand. Listen to the music while sipping a drink or dancing with your loved one.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
J.F. Kennedy Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 875-6660

Website:
http://www.donatellotampa.com/

Entertainment:
Bar Lounge open Monday through Saturday at 5:00pm, and our entertainment begins around 7:00/7.30pm. Mrs. Kitty at the white baby grand, Majid Shabazz on the drums. Mrs. Kitty played on the same ticket with James Brown and Fats Domino and the pre-show for Dizzy Gillespie. Majid was on the same stage with Mahalia Jackson, Count Basie, Aretha Franklin. They play Tuesday – Friday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Bus 36 stops in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Guido and Gino Tiozzo

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups from 15 to 100. We do not require a rental fee. We provide a personalized menu. Technical equipment is available. Other areas in the dining room are private enough for business conversation.

Private Party Contact:
Gino Tiozzo: 8138756660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal) - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • tortellini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Lamb - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Ossobuco - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Linguini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
  • Seabass - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Scalopinni Di Vitello Pulcinella (Veal) - Donatello, Tampa, FL
tortellini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Lamb - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Petto Di Pollo Al Donatello - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Ossobuco - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Linguini - Donatello, Tampa, FL
Seabass - Donatello, Tampa, FL

Donatello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Tampa / Central Florida West
7 More
Romantic
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Tampa
Best Food
Tampa
Best Service
Tampa
Best Ambiance
Tampa
Best Value
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Romantic (37)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Live Music (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
Historic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dancing (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Donatello is a great place to have dinne ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Donatello is a great place to have dinner and going for the first time only made me look forward to coming back. This place has an authentic Italian feel with warm greeting host and service. Drinks were great, food was really tasty and love the open dessert table. Can't wait to go back for dinner or just for drinks and an appetizer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible dishes and impeccable service ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Incredible dishes and impeccable service. Some of the best Italian food we have ever had. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about the evening was superb. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything about the evening was superb. The quality of the meal and the tempo of the service far exceeded our expectations.. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Louis was an amazing waiter. We let him ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Louis was an amazing waiter. We let him recommend dishes, and went with his suggestions. Caesar salad. Veal piccata. Pasta fettuccine with garlic and mushrooms. Among one of the best Italian meals ever!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. This was our first visit to Donatello's. When we looked at the website, it looked like we would be listening to live music. This is the main reason we selected the restaurant. It turned out that to listen to the live music, one needs to be in the lounge, not in the dining room. This was disappointing. I would give high marks to the restaurant in all other areas - service, cocktails, food, ambiance and the valet service! I had whispered to the server that we were celebrating our anniversary and there it was - a special dessert for us with a candle. That was very thoughtful. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We've never been disappointed! The ambie ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We've never been disappointed! The ambience and the service are exceptional!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our special go to place. Always excelle ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our special go to place. Always excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you desire old world service and food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

If you desire old world service and food, this is the place. If you are a critic about the right column, you should go elsewhere. We thought it was a superlative experience, but one that I would visit sparingly.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have always had a wonderful experience ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have always had a wonderful experience dining at Donatello.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing time. The food and wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing time. The food and wait staff was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I HAVE SEEN A CHANGE TO A YOUNGER CLIENT ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I HAVE SEEN A CHANGE TO A YOUNGER CLIENTELE IN THE PAST FEW YEARS AND THE RESTAURANT HAS LIKEWISE CHANGED TO ACCOMMODATE THE YOUNGER TASTES. THE FOOD AND SERVICE CONTINUES TO BE TOPNOTCH.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have been better. The service ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Couldn't have been better. The service was perfectly matched to the excellent food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place to spend a special oc ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Such a great place to spend a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The attention received by the owner and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The attention received by the owner and staff was reminiscent of the way dining out used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

An excellent dining experience, flawless ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent dining experience, flawless service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is definitely a special occasion pl ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is definitely a special occasion place. The food and service are outstanding, but you are paying (fairly) for excellence. We enjoy Donatello's but it is not a place we frequent too often. But it is a wonderful place to treat yourself to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Gino and staff provide amazing service e ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Gino and staff provide amazing service every single time! The food is all consistently delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening from start to finish,w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful evening from start to finish,we will be back

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt like I stepped into a movie and w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I felt like I stepped into a movie and was in old Italy. Everyone should go here at least once for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous time. The Opera Tampa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a fabulous time. The Opera Tampa performed, dinner was wonderful and the service was excellent...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go every time we are in the Tampa are ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We go every time we are in the Tampa area and have never been disappointed. This year the Tampa Opera company was there and sang happy birthday to my husband. I was thrilled that they were so kind to do this and the waiter arranged it.💖

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Undoubtedly the best Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Undoubtedly the best Italian restaurant in Tampa Bay.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening of fine dining. Salad, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent evening of fine dining. Salad,pasta and carpaccio was excellent. Followed by Rack of lamb and topped off with expresso and chocolate mousse cake. Excellent wine choice.Service was impeccable. We will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the food was p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service was great and the food was phenomenal. My wife's birthday was made great by our experience at Donatello's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Nice experience all around. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great meal. Nice experience all around. Met at door and given a special table for two since it was our anniversary. Most entrees are given final touches tableside, even our smoked salmon appetizer. Ladies are presented with a long stem rose upon leaving.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Old & dirty, moldy odor, waiter fix a la ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Old & dirty, moldy odor,

waiter fix a lamp over our table, stepped on the chair and changed the bulb over our place setting

Donatello's has been going down hill fast the last 3-years

Tags: Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

This is the best Italian restaurant I ha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is the best Italian restaurant I have ever been to, bar none. The service is impeccable and the food outstanding

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service! Everything ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great food and great service! Everything we ordered was very delicious! The waiters were very kind and friendly. Each woman leaves with a rose which is amazing! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service staff is very polite and ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The service staff is very polite and service in general was pretty good. However the quality of the food does not match the very high prices for both food and wine. I am a Tampa local and had been at the restaurant many years ago but could not remember why I had not returned. Now I do. Tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Had a fabulous time!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Had a fabulous time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful evening. The food ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening. The food was outstanding. Thank you to everyone that treated us so well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with calamari which was like ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We started with calamari which was like small rubber tires also the breading was not crisp. They do not have salad on the menu which is hard to believe. The veal was tasteless and thickly breaded so it was hard to tell what it was. My wife's fish was reportedly good. For an up- scale restaurant the food should have been much better. The best part of our visit was a very professional waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Always excellent. An "authentic" old sc ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always excellent. An "authentic" old school Italian destination with excellent pastas, veals and other Italian specialties. Service is alltentive and prices "reasonable," considering the quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service special food. A ter ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Exceptional service special food. A terrific evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The black-tie service is outstanding

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The black-tie service is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about it.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We loved everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from the moment you wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent service from the moment you walk in the doors, through exiting. The food was great. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply FABULOUS.....as always! This was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Simply FABULOUS.....as always! This was a special celebration for my wife's birthday, and the food, service, and attentiveness of the staff helped to make it an exceptional occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went here for opera n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for opera night. The ambiance and food were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly overpriced for what you get

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Incredibly overpriced for what you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.