About Don Chido

527 5th Ave.
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Don Chido, an authentic, stylish Mexican eatery in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter. Our restaurant features a live action tortilleria, Santa Maria grill and over 100 tequilas!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11am - 4pm
Happy Hour: Monday Through Friday 4pm - 7pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - Close
Taco Tuesday: Tuesdays from 4pm - Close

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-8226

Website:
http://www.donchido.com/

Entertainment:
Everything from DJs spinning upbeat latin music to contemporary instrumental sets.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking on the street and less than a block from several large parking options!

Public Transit:
Near all major bus stops

Executive Chef:
Andre Alto

Private Party Facilities:
We have the capacity to host many different types of events! Please give us a call or send an email for more information. info@donchido.com

Private Party Contact:
Katie Bosworth: 6192328226x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We frequently host special events, please inquire within! 619-232-8226

Restaurant Photos

Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido
Don Chido

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Don Chido Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
See All
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated and then forgotten. Parti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

We were seated and then forgotten. Parties who arrived after us were seated and served and we had not even had someone stop by the table. I had to stand up and flag down a waiter. He apologized, and promised everything else would make up for it. Since we had plenty of time to look at the meanie, we knew what we wanted, but we wanted to enjoy our drinks and chips first. He said that was no problem..he would take the order and hold it until we were ready. So our dinner arrived 5 minutes after we got the chips and our drinks. Food was OK. He did take 50% off the first round..,of course this was during happy hour. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Go to place for Mexican food when I'm in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

Go to place for Mexican food when I'm in San Diego. Authentic variety of Mexican food in gas lamp. Service is great as is food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter David was curtious, attentive ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our waiter David was curtious, attentive and informative. He made it enjoyable . Will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great service and great foo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place, great service and great food. we enjoyed the meal very much and the service was outstanding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love this place. I was a little bumm ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I love this place. I was a little bummed out that it took us so long to get our drinks ordered. Then once we did get started, everything felt rushed. Maybe it was a just fluke. The food is always amazing, wasn't able to have the churros... :(

Overall, I will keep going here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

We live downtown and found the food to b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We live downtown and found the food to be almost in edible. What a poor excuse for Mexican food. Salsa tasted like Ketchup and chips tasted like cardboard, the fajitas we ordered consisted mainly of bell peppers and onions with very little Carne Asada. The Cadillac margaritas were a joke. We dine out often and have never given any other downtown restaurants such a scathing review. I guess they are catering only to the tourists who don't know any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Bland food very touristy

vip
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Bland food very touristy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I love this place! You have to try the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this place! You have to try the carnitas tacos and the churros! The churros literally melt... it's amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Mexican flavors but with a modern f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good Mexican flavors but with a modern feel. We tried specialty margaritas made with cucumber and peach, which were excellent. Our server was attentive and polite. No fuss, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices, lively, but not excessively loud. I would visit Don Chido again and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Appetisers were very good although dinne ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Appetisers were very good although dinner was kind of disappointing. Would return for happy hour or appetisers, but probably not for dinner. Service was adequate but not attentive. The place is in gas lamp but was only 60% full on a Friday night during a Padre game....guess others have had the same experience as we did.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is decent....definitely not the pla ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is decent....definitely not the place to go if you want real Mexican food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Mecican food. Great Margaritas. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great Mecican food. Great Margaritas. Very good service. Excellent location and vibe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and great service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mexican food at a good price point. Kid ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Mexican food at a good price point. Kids weren't too impressed with the chicken strips and fries (they didn't want Mexican). My Carnitas plate was good, and the drinks were good as well. But nothing leaps out as better than good. Tourist crowd mostly, and also a good watering hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was just ok. Not great. Drinks were ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was just ok. Not great. Drinks were very good. Waiter was attentive and friendly. He was a bit overloaded. Would go there again just order something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

While visiting San Diego on vacation we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

While visiting San Diego on vacation we tried Don Chido for the first time and absolutely loved it. Being a native So Cal girl living on the East Coast, I miss good Mexican food and this place hit the spot! I went with my husband and 11 year old son. Everyone loved what they ordered and the salsa sampler was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here after hearin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first time here after hearing so many great things from my friends. I had a large margarita and the street tacos. We sat in a cute booth and were served by a really bubbly and friendly waitress. There was live music...they were good! Overall I enjoyed my date night and would love to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Another excellent meal at Don Chido. Th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Another excellent meal at Don Chido. The chicken tostada salad is the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. We had fish tac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Good food, good service. We had fish tacos (mahi mahi) and chicken enchiladas. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food has greatly improved

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Wow - great new additions to the menu!! This place is just awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We visited because a colleague recommended it. The food did not disappoint. We were here during a convention/ trade show and the service was a tad slow for that occasion. Margaritas were good. Mole is significantly great. My rec is chicken enchilada with mole and a marg. Just be a bit patient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Tacos were too spicy, but the food was p ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Tacos were too spicy, but the food was pretty good. The tortas are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Better than Coyote

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I went to Coyote the day before visiting Don Chido and, although Coyote had the bigger menu and choice, the quality and taste of the food was noticeably better in Don Chido (and it was quieter too). I would return without hesitation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tacos and tequilas.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great tacos and tequilas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don Chido

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Fun sitting outside on a nice evening. Food was great. Hint: Ordering 2 starters and then the 3 tacos was a lot of food! Suggest ordering only 1 starter. Liked that you could choose 3 different tacos on the Taco Menu. Wish they had Happy Hour on Sunday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beware - not as advertised

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We were there in a weeknight, they had a small crowd but paid little attention to us. The atmosphere did not match the theme, they made mistakes on the order, and brought food to the table that did pass cross contamination protocols despite having used Open Table to let them know plus telling three staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

We were passed off to 3 different waiter ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 21, 2015

We were passed off to 3 different waiters. Thought it was going to be a so-so dining experience. Food made up for the lack of service. Carnitas platter is the way to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The queso fondido was amazing! I was not ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

The queso fondido was amazing! I was not impressed with the salad whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Don Chido rocks

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

I haven't been to Don Chidos before but was at the former establishment Fred's 6 years ago. From the margaritas,(excellent) to the appetizer-queso fundido,(awesome) to my entree-seafood chili relleno(outstanding) everyone who tasted my dish loved loved it!

I totally recommend Don Chido for lunch or dinner and will definitely return to it next time I'm in San Diego. Great night!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not fancy, but excellent food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Great food, not impressive on the inside, but fun with an excellent wait staff. Affordable too. Next time I'm in SD I'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Elizabeth was fantastic, very helpful of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

Elizabeth was fantastic, very helpful offering food and drink recommendations, thank you again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good but lacking

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

Presentation and quality of food was excellent. It just needed something other than the salt ans pepper provided to us. I would recommend a dipping sauce or a variety of sauces for the dishes were bland. However, the meats, rice and vegetables were cooked to perfection. For someone not liking spice this would be ideal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dissapointing

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

The margaritas were good. The food quality was poor despite claims they made a lot of the ingredients in house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Food good but service....??

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Had dinner at Don Chidos the other night with friends. While we come here often since its in the neighborhood and the tortas are very good, the service is pretty bad. Our server was overwhelmed with two big tables and getting a second drink was almost impossible! No ketchup for our fries until they were cold! Really need more help at this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Great Mexican food good service Love it

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Great Mexican food good service

Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

Don Chido did not live up to the hype, very average food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Does NOT dissapoint!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

The food was fantastic and the service was great! We will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall good time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Good food and drink! service was a little slow/inattentive, our waiter seemed distracted by the basketball game. But, he was a nice guy, and the food was tasty. Great location and good prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Awful

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Heavy, uncreative food. And they make you pay for your chips and salsa. Too loud inside to hear yourself talk. Tiny patio. Mediocre service. So many good places in the area to choose, don't waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Chido's scores!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2015

Don Chido was unknown to any of us in the group of 6, though a friend had recommended another Don Chido elsewhere. The restaurant was nearly empty at 1pm on a weekday; we easily got drinks at the bar; bartender was very friendly. There were quite a few diners eating outside at the street/cafe tables. Our server was friendly and helpful when he was there, but he often wasn't. The menu was interesting and offered lots of delicious possibilities. The Guacamole was very good, but not enough was brought for such a large group; had to reorder, and added a Queso Fundido, which was excellent. Oh - the chips were still warm ad very good; I imagine they were made from the the handmade tortillas offered there. We could see the tortilla-maker hard at work! Drinks were all good, but unfortunately no blended margaritas available - only on the rocks. Our entrees were all great - no room for dessert! Refried beans were blah, however. A great meal was enjoyed by all, and we'll no doubt be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.