About Don Chido

527 5th Ave.
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Don Chido, an authentic, stylish Mexican eatery in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter. Our restaurant features a live action tortilleria, Santa Maria grill and over 100 tequilas!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11am - 4pm
Happy Hour: Monday Through Friday 4pm - 7pm
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - Close
Taco Tuesday: Tuesdays from 4pm - Close

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-8226

Website:
http://www.donchido.com/

Entertainment:
Everything from DJs spinning upbeat latin music to contemporary instrumental sets.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking on the street and less than a block from several large parking options!

Public Transit:
Near all major bus stops

Executive Chef:
Andre Alto

Private Party Facilities:
We have the capacity to host many different types of events! Please give us a call or send an email for more information. info@donchido.com

Private Party Contact:
Katie Bosworth: 6192328226x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We frequently host special events, please inquire within! 619-232-8226

Restaurant Photos

  • Don Chido
Don Chido

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Don Chido Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Diego
Mexican
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

neighborhood gem (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
good for groups (8)
See All
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
fit for foodies (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
romantic (2)
special occasion (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mexican food at a good price point. Kid ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Mexican food at a good price point. Kids weren't too impressed with the chicken strips and fries (they didn't want Mexican). My Carnitas plate was good, and the drinks were good as well. But nothing leaps out as better than good. Tourist crowd mostly, and also a good watering hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was just ok. Not great. Drinks were ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was just ok. Not great. Drinks were very good. Waiter was attentive and friendly. He was a bit overloaded. Would go there again just order something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

While visiting San Diego on vacation we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

While visiting San Diego on vacation we tried Don Chido for the first time and absolutely loved it. Being a native So Cal girl living on the East Coast, I miss good Mexican food and this place hit the spot! I went with my husband and 11 year old son. Everyone loved what they ordered and the salsa sampler was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here after hearin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first time here after hearing so many great things from my friends. I had a large margarita and the street tacos. We sat in a cute booth and were served by a really bubbly and friendly waitress. There was live music...they were good! Overall I enjoyed my date night and would love to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Another excellent meal at Don Chido. Th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Another excellent meal at Don Chido. The chicken tostada salad is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. We had fish tac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Good food, good service. We had fish tacos (mahi mahi) and chicken enchiladas. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food has greatly improved

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Wow - great new additions to the menu!! This place is just awesome

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We visited because a colleague recommended it. The food did not disappoint. We were here during a convention/ trade show and the service was a tad slow for that occasion. Margaritas were good. Mole is significantly great. My rec is chicken enchilada with mole and a marg. Just be a bit patient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Tacos were too spicy, but the food was p ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Tacos were too spicy, but the food was pretty good. The tortas are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Better than Coyote

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I went to Coyote the day before visiting Don Chido and, although Coyote had the bigger menu and choice, the quality and taste of the food was noticeably better in Don Chido (and it was quieter too). I would return without hesitation.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tacos and tequilas.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great tacos and tequilas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don Chido

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Fun sitting outside on a nice evening. Food was great. Hint: Ordering 2 starters and then the 3 tacos was a lot of food! Suggest ordering only 1 starter. Liked that you could choose 3 different tacos on the Taco Menu. Wish they had Happy Hour on Sunday.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beware - not as advertised

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We were there in a weeknight, they had a small crowd but paid little attention to us. The atmosphere did not match the theme, they made mistakes on the order, and brought food to the table that did pass cross contamination protocols despite having used Open Table to let them know plus telling three staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

We were passed off to 3 different waiter ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 21, 2015

We were passed off to 3 different waiters. Thought it was going to be a so-so dining experience. Food made up for the lack of service. Carnitas platter is the way to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The queso fondido was amazing! I was not ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

The queso fondido was amazing! I was not impressed with the salad whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Don Chido rocks

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

I haven't been to Don Chidos before but was at the former establishment Fred's 6 years ago. From the margaritas,(excellent) to the appetizer-queso fundido,(awesome) to my entree-seafood chili relleno(outstanding) everyone who tasted my dish loved loved it!

I totally recommend Don Chido for lunch or dinner and will definitely return to it next time I'm in San Diego. Great night!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not fancy, but excellent food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Great food, not impressive on the inside, but fun with an excellent wait staff. Affordable too. Next time I'm in SD I'd go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Elizabeth was fantastic, very helpful of ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

Elizabeth was fantastic, very helpful offering food and drink recommendations, thank you again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good but lacking

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

Presentation and quality of food was excellent. It just needed something other than the salt ans pepper provided to us. I would recommend a dipping sauce or a variety of sauces for the dishes were bland. However, the meats, rice and vegetables were cooked to perfection. For someone not liking spice this would be ideal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dissapointing

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

The margaritas were good. The food quality was poor despite claims they made a lot of the ingredients in house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Food good but service....??

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Had dinner at Don Chidos the other night with friends. While we come here often since its in the neighborhood and the tortas are very good, the service is pretty bad. Our server was overwhelmed with two big tables and getting a second drink was almost impossible! No ketchup for our fries until they were cold! Really need more help at this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Great Mexican food good service Love it

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Great Mexican food good service

Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

Don Chido did not live up to the hype, very average food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Does NOT dissapoint!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

The food was fantastic and the service was great! We will definitely go back!!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall good time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Good food and drink! service was a little slow/inattentive, our waiter seemed distracted by the basketball game. But, he was a nice guy, and the food was tasty. Great location and good prices.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Awful

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Heavy, uncreative food. And they make you pay for your chips and salsa. Too loud inside to hear yourself talk. Tiny patio. Mediocre service. So many good places in the area to choose, don't waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Chido's scores!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2015

Don Chido was unknown to any of us in the group of 6, though a friend had recommended another Don Chido elsewhere. The restaurant was nearly empty at 1pm on a weekday; we easily got drinks at the bar; bartender was very friendly. There were quite a few diners eating outside at the street/cafe tables. Our server was friendly and helpful when he was there, but he often wasn't. The menu was interesting and offered lots of delicious possibilities. The Guacamole was very good, but not enough was brought for such a large group; had to reorder, and added a Queso Fundido, which was excellent. Oh - the chips were still warm ad very good; I imagine they were made from the the handmade tortillas offered there. We could see the tortilla-maker hard at work! Drinks were all good, but unfortunately no blended margaritas available - only on the rocks. Our entrees were all great - no room for dessert! Refried beans were blah, however. A great meal was enjoyed by all, and we'll no doubt be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

OpenTable was easy and convenient to use ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

OpenTable was easy and convenient to use. The reservation was ready when we arrived and the food was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, great food, great pricin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

Great service, great food, great pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Had a blast at Don Chido. Great food, service, and ambiance. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful birthday celebration!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 14, 2015

Loved the Cadillac margaritas, guacamole was best in town and carnitas were amazing!-34

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved it

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Fun place with colorful vibe and great food. Shrimp Diablo. Mole Enchiladas, churros were great! Waitress Carlee was wonderful and super attentive. Decor was vibrant, creative and stylish without feeling uptight. The appearance of a wild 10 foot Birthday Skeleton was very cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth all the hype

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

The restaurant ambiance was nice, and the drinks weren't too bad. But the food was not that great. I have had better food from a fast food place than here. Definitely not worth the price.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Deceptive

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

Ambiance great margaritas bad shots small food medicore will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Don Chido a great addition to Downtown Dining

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

The seafood relleno is absolutely amazing. The chef is on the ball. My kids loved their food and watching the team make fresh tortillas in the middle of the restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent; food was good but ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 16, 2015

Service was excellent; food was good but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Really good but not amazing. very friendly staff.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

Why does the Gallery misled you on the actual servings? The appetizers were the hit of the nights as the queso fundidio with added shrimp and the Polsole soup were fabulous. We should have stopped right there and called it a night and given Don Chido's a 5 star. Unfortunately the signature dishes were a let down. Very flavorful and enjoyable, but severley lacking in presentation and size. The 3 taco platter was good but the fillings in each taco were so small that it was hard to get two bites out of that small little taco with enough filling for each. That's pretty hard to do as the tacos are "really small" The signature Seafood Rellano look so mazing on their online menu but was a real let down when served. Tasty yes, loaded with seafood siplling out of the rellano, not quite. It was more of the texture of runny queso with little chunks of seafood. We travel in each week on business and love to try new places, we'l be back but will stick to the appetizers and forego the main courses for another place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

increíble y delicioso

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

I love that we found this on Yelp! What an improvement from the former establishment in this space. Really nice what they've done with the place! We L O V E D our dining experience. The service was very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable of drinks and food items. We were very appreciative of our waitresses recommendations for food items and her 'can-do' attitude when it came to meeting our special requests for drinks. We had the guacamole = yummy, Wood-Fired Chicken Enchiladas & Seafood Chile Rellano = both delicious. We also had the house margarita (and asked to add jalapeno) and the Chido Caddy, which were both good, but they used way too much ice and were a little shy on the tequila.

We'll be back to sample the other items that looked inviting. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks, food, ambiance

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

While I visited here with my Grandmother, we both had a great time over wine, margaritas, and delicious entrees. I think the scene is a bit more appropriate for the 20s/30s friends crowd but it was still suitable for us to have a conversation and not have to yell across the table at one another. And, the food was outstanding. Grams had the mole enchiladas - the best mole sauce I've tasted since a visit to San Antonio nearly 15 years ago. And, I loved the taco trio - got to choose three different flavors and make the whole dish "Paleo style": salad instead of rice, vegetarian beans instead of lard-filled refried beans, and lettuce wraps instead of standard corn shells. Love this place and will surely be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.