About Domku Bar & Cafe

821 Upshur St NW
Washington, DC 20011
View Larger Map

Open since 2005, Domku is Washington, DC's first Slavic and Scandinavian restaurant. We serve classic, hearty comfort food such as pierogis, borscht, kielbasa, goulash, gravlax, Swedish meatballs, and pickled herring. We offer a Saturday & Sunday brunch menu, half-price on bottles of wine on Sunday evenings, and a once-a-month Pierogi Night extravaganza during the winter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Scandinavian, Polish, Eastern European

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Friday 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday - Sunday 10:00am-11:00pm. Please note that the kitchen opens at 6pm on weekdays and will close between 5pm and 6pm on Saturday and Sunday.

Cross Street:
Georgia Ave NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 722-7475

Website:
http://domkucafe.com/

Catering:
We do not offer off-site catering.

Parking Details:
Metered parking until 6:30pm. Unlimited street parking after that time.

Public Transit:
Petworth/Georgia Avenue/New Hampshire Avenue (Green Line)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Pierogi Night begins in October! Join us the second Wednesday of each winter month for a variety of pierogi beginning at 7pm.

Restaurant Photos

Domku Bar & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (23)
fit for foodies (15)
great for brunch (10)
See All
good for groups (6)
kid-friendly (5)
special occasion (4)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service2

Twice they brought us the wrong order. ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Twice they brought us the wrong order. Food was room temperature. Service attitude was condescending and nonchalant. One of the worst dining experiences I've had in my 10 years of Washington residency.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

good food

Dined on April 30, 2016

good quality food, but the deserts weren't very tasty

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Worst waitress ever, terrible service overall

Dined on April 28, 2016

All drinks were really bad - we ordered 5 various cocktails/sips and sent 2 of them back, while we were charged for every single one of those. It was my husband's birthday and we were charged for the only desert we ordered too. We had 2 little kids in the company, but the service was soooo slow, they got pretty tired , but still we were the last ones to get a check of the 5 tables that were occupied - the WORST waitress ever (we waited 15 minutes for the first drinks, then 45 minutes for the table to be cleared and for the 1 simple desert to arrive). Terrible experience and I would never go back to this restaurant or recommend it to anyone, especially with kids since you'll be stuck there for 2-3 hours at least even on Thursday night, apparently, even on your birthday. The total check was very overpriced and not worth value of a half of it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Something different

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Very cute little restaurant in Petworth, lots of great brunch options and reasonable prices. Friendly service and the food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite spot

Dined on April 2, 2016

I'd been meaning to try this restaurant for a few months, and now I wish I'd gone sooner. This is such a cute restaurant and the food was so delicious. We had a group of friends and ended up sharing a bunch of entrées. Everything was amazing and surprisingly affordable (including several bottles of cava and other drinks). I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful experience during our first trip to Domku. The food was amazing and the service was exceptional. Very kid-friendly, from the friendly staff to the many paintings and butterflies on the walls. The french toast was incredible and the grapefruit mimosa was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My friend and I went here to reminisce about our trip to Budapest last summer- the food did not disappoint! Greatly enjoyed appetizers and the goulash. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food!! Will definitely look to g ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing food!! Will definitely look to go back to again for breakfast in DC!!

food4
ambience5
service5

Well lit, very friendly and attentive se ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Well lit, very friendly and attentive server, and food that genuinely reminded me of what I ate in both Poland and Sweden.

food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed with Food

Dined on February 17, 2016

I've been to Domku a few times and have always been super happy with the food. This visit the service was great but the food was lack luster. I wouldn't go back for dinner but probably brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great special menu for Valentine's day. We dine here a lot .. and Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful as always! Food is exceptiona ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful as always! Food is exceptional. The ambiance is quiet, calm, and pretty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A really fun place to eat with a fantast ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

A really fun place to eat with a fantastic, unusual menu.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Solid brunch option, but not if you're in a rush

Dined on January 9, 2016

Domku has an interesting Scandinavian/Slavic brunch menu that sets it apart from the run of the mill brunches elsewhere in DC. The prices are reasonable and the retautant itself is decorated in a cool, clean Scando vibe. Unfortunately our food took a long time to come out (especially given That they weren't that crowded); some of us got food that felt liked it'd been sitting for a bit while others had warmer, fresher meals. That was disappointing but I'd still come back to try lunch or dinner here. It's refreshingly off the (ok my) beaten path and I was really intrigued by the menu! Didn't knock my socks off but I would go back for sure.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delectable

Dined on December 20, 2015

Domku always delights! Our friends always comment on the creative, fun and tasty menu. we love the atmosphere and diligent and friendly staff. Domku is reliably special treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

grest vegetarian options

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

I don't think of Eastern European or Scandinavian cuisine as vegetarian friendly--but Domku makes it clear that is not so! Delicious veggie stuffed cabbage and borscht. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1

Lackadaisical service

Dined on November 29, 2015

Unfortunately, the reviews on this site are correct: the service ranges somewhere between lackadaisical and totally disinterested. We were seated promptly, given menus and water immediately, and then our server disappeared. We'd been there nearly half an hour by the time our drinks arrived. And this was on a slow night, with only three or four tables occupied. The food was good, not spectacular. Domku is a reasonable place if you're in the neighborhood, but not worth a trip across town.

food4
ambience4
service4

DOMKU IS AWESOME!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Domku has been a favorite of mine for years now. The food is always very good and eclectic, the service great and they have a nice little drink list to boot. If you're looking for something different from burgers and fries and a mod atmosphere, Domku is the place to go. The Swedish Meatballs with Ligonberries is to die for and their breakfast is SO good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

Menu Options

Dined on November 7, 2015

We went for your brunch/breakfast menu that started at 10:00. We arrived at 10:45 and found out that you were out of three main breakfast options. How can you run out of options in 45 minutes? Also, being unable to order a mimosa at 10:55 b/c you cannot serve alcohol until 11:00 seems a bit trivial. That was not a very good start to our dining experience at your restaurant. I will say that the food that did come was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1

They were out of the majority of their b ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

They were out of the majority of their brunch menu and the place was half empty. Slow service. Disappointed.

food1
ambience2
service1

Food Never Came - so Hangry

Dined on November 1, 2015

Four friends and I met at Domku for a noon brunch reservation. We were met by a brusque owner/manager, who made us stand in a corner even after the entire party was present. Please keep in mind that there were several empty tables. The restaurant was bustling but not packed. We were finally seated at a large table in the middle of the main room. We had to ask several times for coffee, and even to order. After ordering, we waited for over 30 minutes, and asked about our food. The waiter came back 15 minutes later and told us he had forgotten to give our order to the kitchen. He offered us a 'free appetizer under $10". We also finally got coffee refills - the first ones. During all of this, the owner/manager passed by our table numerous times and never acknowledged us. At about 1:30, we lost all patience and told the waiter we were leaving. He said 'OK' and walked away. We never were served our food. He did offer to one of my friends' to box up the food as we were walking out the door, but she declined. The manager/owner Kira called me later to apologize, but I didn't answer as I was eating at another restaurant. She stated on her message that she didn't know what was happening, which I find hard to believe. How can you not notice that the largest table in the middle of your small restaurant never got served their food? She was also unfriendly from the beginning. Two of us then went to Chez Billy, and were warmly welcomed, seated and fed within 15 minutes.

food2
ambience3
service3

Surprised they're still in business

Dined on October 25, 2015

I have been meaning to try Domku for a while, since I've spent time in eastern Europe and know the cuisine. My date and I were surprised to find we were the *only* people eating there the night we visited. Even though their menu is pretty limited to begin with, they didn't have a number of things listed on the menu, including several listed entrees, wines and desserts. The food we did order was disappointing. I ordered the kielbasa, which was so-so - not flavorful at all, and dripping with fat. Meanwhile, my date's chicken goulash was really bad. It was super bland, with overcooked chicken, presented in a pretty unappetizing format. The space itself is nice and I suppose it met our goal of finding a 'quiet place to talk', but it was a bit odd to be the *only* people dining there. The service was okay, but our waitress seemed to struggle to find the right balance of how much to interact with us as the only table. She kept coming by to take our order shortly after we arrived when we were clearly just sitting there chatting and not looking at our menus yet, but then completely disappeared after the food came and made it a bit hard for us to actually get our bill.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always love this spot. More like a 4.5 r ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Always love this spot. More like a 4.5 review. All apps great, especially the Whitefish Pot. Try that for sure. .5 point drop because of an over cooked schnitzel, and where is that awesome buttermilk and beet soup??? Sunday nights half price bottles of wine. Try a Georgian red!

food4
ambience4
service4

A Wonderful Taste of Scandinavia

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Finding a restaurant in DC with Norwegian offerings was truly special! I went to Domku with two friends for a Saturday brunch. We enjoyed the food very much and liked the charming ambiance. I had the best Traditional Norwegian Pancake with lavender syrup ever. We shared yummy Danish donut balls for dessert. This cafe is located in Petworth, an area of DC that is becoming more and more popular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Excellent local place

Dined on August 28, 2015

Good food, good drinks, nice scene; Could train the waiter a bit. Will be back

food3
ambience4
service3

Nice, but a few disappointments.

Dined on August 26, 2015

We've been here a handful of times over the years and have always liked it. This time it was a bit hit or miss. The fried pickled herring was quite good, as was the beet and buttermilk soup. (Where else can you get either of these..?!) But the main courses were a bit lacking. Especially the pork schnitzel, which seemed overcooked and was dry. The swedish style potato that came with it was also fairly dry. The plate could have used some sort of sauce to perk it up I guess. Also, the pear cake for dessert was, wait for it, fairly dry... The waitress was very friendly, but she was just one person handling many customers, both indoors and out, so it was very slow. they needed another wait person.

food3
ambience4
service2

Fun place, good food, service needs work

Dined on August 23, 2015

A group of us came to Sunday brunch, one couple with a baby in tow. The place is very kid friendly and accommodated us without a problem on short notice. The coffee was great. The aebleskivers were delicious!! I enjoyed by brunch but despite the interesting food names and combinations, it was not out of this world. I wanted to try the chicken liver dish but they were out. The hash with beef was good, the pached egg on top nice and runny. My friend who ordered the salmon hash received a hard boiled poached egg and had to wait for it to be re-made. Our waters were not refilled and we had to search for our waiter several times and ask for coffee refills.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food run out of options fast

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

Great food run out of options fast

food2
ambience4
service5

Disappointing the second time around

Dined on August 11, 2015

We enjoyed the food the first time we visited in June, but were very disappointed in the beet gnocchi this second time--gummy, dry and sort of tasteless. Did they change the recipe? The vegetarian meatballs are delicious, but maybe better for a cold winter day. The Open Table listing for Domku says they have "a vegetarian only Meatless Tuesday menu every week" but the server had no idea what we were talking about. There are numerous vegetarian options, though. Service was great, the restaurant was not crowded.

food4
ambience3
service4

Fantastic meal!

Dined on August 6, 2015

Our party of three each ordered different entrees and they were all good. Everyone was happy! I had the vegetarian Swedish meatballs and they were almost as fantastic as the potatoes they were served with :) Salad/apps were also delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1

Terrible service

Dined on August 6, 2015

We walked out after being seated for ten minutes and not even having a waiter look our way. Worst part is there were only two tables seated in the whole place.

food3
ambience3
service3

for something a little different

Dined on August 2, 2015

Our table had different opinions about this restaurant, but we all agreed that one must have the pierogies; they were out of the potato bacon ones, but the ones we had made up for it. We agreed that that the chef went too heavy on the side dishes, like mountains of mashed potatoes, which is a pity because the main course was very good; a few vegetables would have been nice. We liked the chicken wrapped with mushrooms and spinach as well as the Swedish meatballs. However, I felt the chicken dish was overpriced compared to the others. The soups were good and generous in quantity but a bit bland; the carrot soup needed some spice. The dessert was terrific: apple crumble cake with whipped cream. Worth a second visit to try some of the other interesting offerings, and hopefully to try the other kind kind of pierogies.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great find! Everyone has to try this pla ...

vip
Dined on August 2, 2015

Great find! Everyone has to try this place; from the cocktails to the weird cold buttermilk soup to the meatballs. Just magic. Have been back several times.

food5
ambience5
service5

Repeat Diners

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

We eat at Domku on a fairly regular basis. It's in our neighborhood and a small, intimate restaurant with consistently good food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food

Dined on July 18, 2015

Our server, Seth, was extremely helpful with our orders and displayed a great knowledge of the menu. The food was great but; the menu could be expanded just a little to include other ethnic item such as stuffed cabbages, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites

Dined on May 23, 2015

Domku is one of favorite restaurants in DC. The food is great, and I always look forward to the next menu change to see what new dishes I can try. The service is excellent. I've brought several friends to Domku over the years, and without exception they have been impressed with everything about the place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1

Horrible service, decent food.

Dined on May 23, 2015

I've been here a number of times over the years, even back when it first opened. The last two times I've been here I've had horrible service, where literally I felt like walking back to the kitchen and helping myself. The service was so poor this last time, that we considered just walking out before we ordered food. The entire brunch was spent with empty water glasses and searching around the restaurant trying to waive down anyone that resembled a server. I saw three of the servers just chatting at the bar together in length too. Three servers in such a small place shouldn't be struggling to serve their tables. As someone who used to work in the service industry, there are just WAY too many other GREAT places to go in DC for brunch. Don't waste your time or money here on average food with subpar service.

food5
ambience5
service5

little house indeed

Dined on April 12, 2015

I consider myself a domku regular - I've eaten there quite a bit and it's my go-to place if no one has a preference (it is my preference). For my latest brunch outing - I had the Norwegian pancakes goes Dutch with kielbasa, Carmelized onions and Gouda - delicious. My take mates recommend the bloody domku, if you're into spicy drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Second Visit

vip
Dined on April 11, 2015

This was our second visit to Domku. It's close to our home in NW Washington. One of us is Polish and the food at Domku is authentic. And it's good. I recommend the desserts.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Want a delicious change?

vip
Dined on April 11, 2015

Then try this innovative, Scandanavian-inspired place. Especially for brunch/lunch on the weekends. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.