About Dominic's on the Hill

5101 Wilson Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dominic and Jackie Galati purchased Dominic's on the Hill in 1971 and moved in above the restaurant. Within two years, Dominic began winning national awards and has continued to do so for the last 40 years. This is an exceptional restaurant with fine Italian cuisine, professional, friendly service, & an extensive wine list. Dominic oversees the kitchen,and the menu includes fresh seafood, veal, tenderloin, lamb, and many other choices. The restaurant has a Florentine atmosphere, with low lighting, white tablecloths, & classic oil paintings. Dominic's has been honored by DIRONA, 2001 Restaurant Hall of Fame, 1999 International Award of Excellence, The Epicurean Award & was voted one of the two best Italian Restaurants in the country by Conde Nast Traveller.

The second floor of the restaurant is available for private parties of 15-65. Please call for details. Smaller parties up to 18 people can be accommodated downstairs as well as larger parties up to 150.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Large groups of 40 or more can be accommodated in the afternoons and on Sunday with enough advanced notice.

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 771-1632

Website:
http://www.dominicsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Background music.

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 314-771-1632 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on weekends. Street parking also available every night.

Executive Chef:
Pawel Ziarko

Private Party Facilities:
Dominic's on the Hill is ideal for business functions, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, anniversary parties, graduation parties, and small wedding dinners. The elegent and intimate Sopra Room on the private second floor is complete with separate bathrooms, full bar, and plasma TV. The main restaurant has two semi-private rooms which can seat 18 people. The whole restaurant can also be reserved for up to 150 people. Private dining menus range in price depending on your budget and wants. Wine can also be ordered exclusively for your event. A deposit is required to hold the space for your private event. Call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Carolyn: 3147711632x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Hill - Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
The Hill - Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO

Dominic's on the Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Best Value
St. Louis
8 More
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in The Hill ›

Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service! A great place i ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and service! A great place if you like a classy restaurant at a reasonable price. The service was very good and attentive, but not overpowering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience I've had in a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for a lovely dinner The f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect place for a lovely dinner

The food is good and fresh

The choice of wine is perfect

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Geno is the best!!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Geno is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening. Wonderful food and te ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent evening. Wonderful food and terrific service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's is a very special place and ve ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dominic's is a very special place and very much so for a special occasion as on my daughter's birthday.

Whether you are in Chicago, New York, London, Paris or St. Louis he ranks with the best - always good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuffy, decor early 70's. Old and boring ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Stuffy, decor early 70's. Old and boring menu offerings. Great service, food just okay. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

The best old work Italian restaurant. i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The best old work Italian restaurant. i go out in NYC all the time-this is better than any other Italian fine dining. Mixture of northern and southern Italian, broad menu, some items you won't see anywhere else (escargot and artichokes-so delicious). It is a beautiful restaurant with murals/paintings, Dominic is a gracious host, the waiters are professional, and the food is incredible. can't wait to go back to st louis!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was impeccable - great ambianc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The place was impeccable - great ambiance, great food, pleasant and professional staff. It seemed like a perfect place for romantic dinners and large groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a well-known restaurant. Does it ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is a well-known restaurant. Does it live up to its reputation? It depends on your expectations. Neither a temple of healthy cooking nor of nouvelle cuisine, it is a traditional "posh" Italian restaurant with prices to match, but it's not unpleasantly snooty: for example, wines are available by the glass, which is convenient if a couple wants a different one for each course. The service is good without being intrusive and it's generally not too pretentious though I would as soon they skipped the extra heating of the dishes at table side: it's probably not necessary and was apt to make the food too hot. The cooking is good without necessarily being outstanding in every dish. The servings are very generous, so much so that many will not be able to eat more than two courses. I would have preferred smaller portions costing a little less. In fact the beast options would be to offer a choice of small or large portions of the dishes, as is done in some European countries. We were disappointed that the classic Italian aperitifs of Punt e Mes and Cynar were not available, as they are our favorites. We tried one of the off menu offerings of a main course and it was outstanding, and the Zuppa di Pesce was as authentic as an American public can tolerate - excellent! The bill with tip came to somewhat over $100 per person for two courses plus salads with three (generous) glasses of wine per person and coffee, so most people would hardly make dining there a weekly habit: but it's a nice place to go for a special occasion like a birthday.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Entertained clients and they were very p ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Entertained clients and they were very pleased with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always one of the best places in Sain ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

As always one of the best places in Saint Louis. Really delicious food and super professional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were perfect. We don't ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food and service were perfect. We don't go out much but we'll definitely be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's is classic Italian at its best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dominic's is classic Italian at its best, fabulous food, great service, and the most gracious host!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, professional waiters, ab ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great ambiance, professional waiters, absolutely wonderful food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's is a gourmet restaurant. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Dominic's is a gourmet restaurant. The service, food, and ambiance were incredible. If compared to Tony's (another fine restaurant in St. Louis), I prefer Dominic's. They are a little pricey, but their food is worth it. The appetizers, mains courses, and deserts were all 5 star!

Finally, I strongly recommend the Osso Bucco (cross-cut veal shanks braised with vegetables, white wine and broth). It is what they are known for and it is the best thing on the menu!

Wonderful time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening starting with valet, no wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great evening starting with valet, no wait for reservation, great service and an outstanding meal. Tried both specials offered and found both to be excellent. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful service! The chicken Ma ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had wonderful service! The chicken

Marsala was really flavorful and I loved the fresh steamed veggies. Definitely would go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lobster Alla Gusta, great service and Do ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lobster Alla Gusta, great service and Dominic always leads to a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and fantastic food! Very ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great service and fantastic food! Very romantic and loved the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine was excellent but the service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The wine was excellent but the service was very slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Best food on the Hill! Would definitely ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best food on the Hill! Would definitely suggest going here for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places when we are i ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of our favorite places when we are in town! Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Once again, we chose Dominic's On the Hi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Once again, we chose Dominic's On the Hill for a special occasion. And, as usual, we were not let down. As happened the last time, we were greated by Dominic himself when we walked in the door and the whole experience after he greated us was exactly what we have come to expect - great atmosphere, great service, and incredible food and wine. All in all a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant, classy, a great restaurant ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very elegant, classy, a great restaurant. Service was outstanding. Food was way beyond expectations. Parking was a challenge and some customers were not appropriately dressed. Difficult to fault the restaurant about the dress as it seems to be pervasive in all restaurants these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gino and the gang that took care of our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Gino and the gang that took care of our table were awesome. Very, very attentive. Fantastic service. Food was great, good old-fashioned Italian style. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was b/c the scallops were overdone and the guy who heated them up at the table to serve them saw that they were overcooked but served them anyway. He DID bring out 2 freshly cooked ones that were perfect but in my opinion, he #1 shouldn't have served the overcooked ones and #2 should have served a whole order of perfectly cooked ones, not 2...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dominic's on the Hill really has excelle ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dominic's on the Hill really has excellent service with very attentive waiters! The decor is nice, creating a pleasant atmosphere. As to my salmon dinner-- without the sauce, it tasted quite fishy. The sauce masked the fishy taste, but I also wanted to enjoy it plain, too. I commented about the fishy taste to the waiter, but my comment was ignored. The other meal was a very good pasta, which, of course, is their specialty. The wine was great. The prices are not inexpensive, so I would have appreciated a better salmon with less fishy flavor on my plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive , but the food was excell ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very expensive , but the food was excellent . Not very busy for a Friday night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Year after year Dominic's is always good ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Year after year Dominic's is always good. Lobster risotto was divine. Entrees of scallops and veal were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great dinner at Dominic's. Ser ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great dinner at Dominic's. Service was great and the food was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Traditional Italian Restaurant. G ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Traditional Italian Restaurant. Great Atmosphere. Great Service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant offers a dining experien ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant offers a dining experience not just a meal. Everything is perfect from the minute you walk in you know you are going to enjoy the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time eating here and w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was my first time eating here and was an experience that will have me and my fiance coming back. It was our dinner prior to my popping the question! The staff was very tentative to our needs and the food came out exactly as we ordered and quick. Once the food comes out they set the plates on these rings of fire to warm them up some more something I noticed the kids next to us really enjoyed. The resturant has a very romantic feel to it as soon as you walk in to dining area but i think it would be great for any occasion...oh and the food tasted aaaaaaamazing and they were huge portions! Great job Dominic's

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Dominic's. It was a Monday evening so the restaurant wasn't very busy which was nice as the noise level was very low and the staff were very attentive. We had the Dominic's Choice five course dinner for two which started with the Tenderloin Carpaccio followed by pasta combination of Tortellini Alla Fiorentina and Rigatoni Amatriciana. The third course was the Dominic's salad followed by a combination of Scampi Alla Griglia and Tenderloin Rossini. A large tiramisu for two completed the meal. Everything was excellent and the serving sizes were larger than we have typically experienced with multiple course selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dominics maintains the level of excellen ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dominics maintains the level of excellence that it has for decades. Service is impeccable. Food is excellent and prepared to your liking. Can't wait to go back for out anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only strange thing was we checked in for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Only strange thing was we checked in for our reservation and they sat us at one table. Waiter came by and said welcomeMr and Mrs (last name) and said that's not us and moved us to another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great dinner at a lovely restaurant. Goo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great dinner at a lovely restaurant. Good sized portions of fresh pasta served hot- it's warmed up at table side. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant to fine in. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant to fine in. Been going to Dominic's for many years. First time with husband and son. We will be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 8, 2016

I have gone to Dominic's many times over the past 35+ years and have never had a bad experience. The only complaint was that neither of the Galati's were present that night so I could personally tell them how good the entire experience was.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.