About Dominic's on the Hill

5101 Wilson Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dominic and Jackie Galati purchased Dominic's on the Hill in 1971 and moved in above the restaurant. Within two years, Dominic began winning national awards and has continued to do so for the last 40 years. This is an exceptional restaurant with fine Italian cuisine, professional, friendly service, & an extensive wine list. Dominic oversees the kitchen,and the menu includes fresh seafood, veal, tenderloin, lamb, and many other choices. The restaurant has a Florentine atmosphere, with low lighting, white tablecloths, & classic oil paintings. Dominic's has been honored by DIRONA, 2001 Restaurant Hall of Fame, 1999 International Award of Excellence, The Epicurean Award & was voted one of the two best Italian Restaurants in the country by Conde Nast Traveller.

The second floor of the restaurant is available for private parties of 15-65. Please call for details. Smaller parties up to 18 people can be accommodated downstairs as well as larger parties up to 150.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Large groups of 40 or more can be accommodated in the afternoons and on Sunday with enough advanced notice.

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 771-1632

Website:
http://www.dominicsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Background music.

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 314-771-1632 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on weekends. Street parking also available every night.

Executive Chef:
Pawel Ziarko

Private Party Facilities:
Dominic's on the Hill is ideal for business functions, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, anniversary parties, graduation parties, and small wedding dinners. The elegent and intimate Sopra Room on the private second floor is complete with separate bathrooms, full bar, and plasma TV. The main restaurant has two semi-private rooms which can seat 18 people. The whole restaurant can also be reserved for up to 150 people. Private dining menus range in price depending on your budget and wants. Wine can also be ordered exclusively for your event. A deposit is required to hold the space for your private event. Call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Carolyn: 3147711632x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dominic's on the Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Best Value
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
9 More
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in The Hill ›

special occasion (44)
romantic (38)
notable wine list (20)
See All
neighborhood gem (18)
fit for foodies (10)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. Never have anythi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food as always. Never have anything that wasn't outstanding

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Choice

Dined 7 days ago

We were married in the Botanical Gardens and had our dinner reception here 16 years ago. A perfect choice then and now. If we are in town, we come here to celebrate the day...or if we just want a nice quiet great tasting meal with super waitstaff!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was amazing. We didnt know what ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was amazing. We didnt know what to order since it was our first time there so we did the Dominics 5 coarse meal all the food was delicious we will be goin back.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food wonderful; service spotty. A busy F ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food wonderful; service spotty. A busy Friday night, but other than having our ice refilled every minute, service was not attentive. We went a good 15 minutes between check ins from our waiter. At this price level, I expect a higher level of service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great old world dining

Dined on April 30, 2016

Dominic's is the place for a great dining experience from the time your greeted at the door until you leave. Mr. Galati will make you feel s welcome guest at his table. Our party of four were there for Restaurant Week. The food was exceptional, exceeded only by the great service. The attention to detail in service far exceeded our expectations and the food was a delight to everyone in our party. I highly recommend dining at Dominic's for any occasion. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved the feeling of being someplace special and treated as a valued guest.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinning Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

First visit to Dominic's and was very pleased with the experience. Food was excellent as was the service. We went to try the Italian Week special and were not disappointed. Would definitely recommend Dominic's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's never disappoints!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Dominic's (on the Hill) is an awesome special occasion restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious and its presentation is lovely. The service is impeccable, without being intrusive. We've been to many Italian restaurants in larger cities; Chicago, New York, & Boston to name a few. Dominic's is every bit as good as many in those cities and better than some! Others on the Hill are very good, but Dominic's is GREAT, especially if you're celebrating a family birthday or parents' anniversary. Many thanks to the Galati family!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The server helped me. I was between two ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

The server helped me. I was between two and he suggested what he thought was best. It was an awesome choice

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

With friends, we decided to participate in "Restaurant Week on The Hill," a week where restaurants offer special pricing with limited menus and proceeds going to charity. Never having been to Dominick's, we thought we would try something new....and were glad we did! It is an upscale venue, romantically lit, with the interior walls lined with art and multiple mirrors. We were greeted immediately, seated, and waited upon. And waited upon. The staff was extremely attentive, with a team of very professional staff filling water glasses, clearing plates, and bringing wine and food. Food: The house salad was good, but unremarkable. I was able to taste my husband's Caesar salad, however, and it was one of the best I've tried. Both salads were generous. As the menu was limited, three of us ordered the pasta for the main course - a penne with sausage, peppers and spinach. It was delicious, with excellent sweet Italian sausage which the staff reported came from Volpi's (we will definitely check that grocery out during our next trip to The Hill!) Another member of our party ordered the grilled pork loin with garlic mashed potatoes that she really enjoyed as well. The dessert was fabulous, with spumoni, tiramisu and 'Jackies' plates all eaten clean. Their Jackies is a layered wedding cake with chocolate cake saturated with something delicious topped with cream filling and a cream vanilla cake layer dusted with cocoa. Top notch. Did I mention that the staff was attentive? They were great, and we also witnessed a procedure I'd never seen before: food brought to the dining area was briefly set atop portable Sterno burners to recover any heat lost during the journey from the kitchen. Our entree plates were hot, and stayed hot during our leisurely course. A nice extra touch. I would definitely recommend to a friend, and will be returning there myself!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dominic's -A Hill classic

Dined on April 10, 2016

Dominic's delivered a good meal. Love the old world Italian decor. Went expecting it to be quiet and romantic. Instead found service staff a little disorganized, big noisy groups, cooking tables in the way...sadly not the romantic, quiet Italian dinner we were expecting. Had the osso bucco on risotto (rice). Very good. Started with the grilled peppers, mozzarella and anchovies. Delicious. Bread in basket was stale...butter hard as a rock. Finished our meal and wine, and left without dessert or coffee. Would return again in hopes of a better experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food, wonderful quiet atmosphere and superb service. Mr. Dominic's himself was always on top of it, what a great restaurantor. Grazie Signor Domenico di. Hai fatto il nostro ritorno a St. Louis un'esperienza memorabile.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Unexpected Disappointment

Dined on February 28, 2016

I visited St Louis this past weekend. I was excited to go to eat on The Hill. I have had many many wonderful experiences there and was looking forward to taking my family. I received a great time from open table and sat down promptly. Ambiance was great and everything seemed to be set up for a special evening. I was wrong. My dinner took 3 hours!! The food was average at best other than the bananas flambé, which was out of this world. My server took an initial drink order and a second drink order 2 hours later. The host had to take the other drink orders as well as appetizer, entrée, and desert. We had long amounts of time with no one looking after us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience as usual. Highest quality

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was perfect down to the napkins. Very friendly and courteous staff. Great wine selection. Salads were top notch. Entrees cannot be outdone. Desserts are delectable and the cappuccino was of the highest quality. Not your everyday dinner destination but definitely worth every penny spent. This was the third time dining here for myself and the first for my girlfriend. She was more than impressed with everything about the experience. We will definitely be dining at Dominic's on The Hill in the near future.. I highly recommend anyone going for a very unique and classic dinner experience. Ps. Dont just order and entree. Order salads appetizers wine dessert and coffe to get the full experience of this establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Dominic's

Dined on February 14, 2016

2/14/16 First visit to Dominic's on the Hill was disappointing. Service was adequate. Waiters had no recommendations other than veal was their specialty on the menu. My husband and I ordered veal. Chopped veal was chewy and flavor was very average. Red pasta was very average. I had Veal Picata and the veal was cut extremely thin and sauce was not impressive. Mixed vegetable were flavorful and tender. Banana flambe was a disaster. Bananas were hard and tasteless. Took 25 minutes to get our check. Not worth $150.

food5
ambience5
service5

The salmon was amazing and the service w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The salmon was amazing and the service was beyond expectations. Truly a great place to eat and entertain a date.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best Italian food

Dined on February 13, 2016

Dominic's food and ambiance is unsurpassed in the St. Louis area. Enjoy a romantic, special occasion here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's - The Place on The Hill

Dined on February 13, 2016

I feel like a broken record. If there is one place on The Hill for fine Italian dining, it's Dominic's. This is a regular destination for us. Food is always amazing, wine list offers variety and great years to choose from. Service is top notch. Staff acknowledges you right away and as always, Dominic stops by to extend his greetings and well wishes. A true gentleman. Something many restaurant owners could learn from. If you are looking for a romantic dining destination with amazing food, then this is it. Special occasion? Let them know in advance and surprise your spouse, partner or guest. You won't be disappointed. Thank you Dominic and staff for another wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great italian

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very nice old school Italian restaurant. Service impeccable. Great table side service. ESpecially the desert that was made tablside

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining as it should be...

Dined on January 23, 2016

My wife and I love trying the new, cutting edge restaurants in St. Louis and in my instances the hype is justified. Young chefs pushing the boundaries of culinary exploration and vibrant dining experiences can be a lot of fun. A Dominic's, there is no reason to fix something that isn't broken. The ambience is old world, service impeccable and the food was perfect. There is something about tradition that passes the test of time that can satisfy just as much or more than the new, hip, exciting joints in town. We started with the carpaccio of tenderloin which was my wife's choice as she likes to compare to other establishments. It was excellent. We split the Dominic's salad and my enjoyed the penne carbonara and I enjoyed the Veal osso bucco. I never did try my wife's dish, because I was enjoying mine way too much. The osso bucco was amazing. We ordered a desert to go and enjoyed it the next evening and it too was very good, but likely better enjoyed just after dinner, but no room. Christian was our waiter for the night, he and Gino took great care of us and the 5 star service was greatly appreciated. We will continue to keep Dominic's in our regular rotation, despite what new and hot restaurant happens to come along next.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As a party of 4 celebrating an anniversa ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

As a party of 4 celebrating an anniversary we had a wonderful, leisure dinner with outstanding food and service. We WILL return soon

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old World Charm - Exceptional Attention to Detail

Dined on January 8, 2016

Great/attentive service. Excellent food from the soup to the dessert. Beautiful art work on the walls and even the china was beautiful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The history is true.

Dined on January 1, 2016

For New Years Eve I wanted a nice place that would help to showcase the magic of the historical nature of St. Louis. The crew at Dominic's went out of their way to ensure that everyone was taken care of. I was also astonished at the very eclectic community of patrons assembled. Everyone seemed comfortable and welcome. The service was on point considering every table was full and the bar was also full with people waiting on tables. I was a little worried about using a website to make this reservation but it worked without fail. The menu assembled for the night worked very well and the food was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

matts

Dined on January 1, 2016

Exceptional food, fantastic service, love the artwork on the walls. Quick valet service got the night off to the right start.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Not what it used to be

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Food is great as always, but service - ugh. Long waits for the finished courses and empty drinks to be cleared, meal was dragged out and not well paced. First New Year's Eve we've been there and left disappointed. Decore is also very 1980s and looks past its prime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was great. Server seemed too busy t ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was great. Server seemed too busy to be able to give proper attention to all his tables. We were frequent waiting for him to come to order more drinks, to have our water refilled and we waited almost 25 minutes after we finished dessert to get out check. Though the food was good I don't know that we'd return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined on December 12, 2015

Staff gave wonderful service and attention with a sense of humor. Dominic himself even stopped by several times to see how we were doing. Nice, elegant atmosphere. Would certainly go again and recommend to others

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good, but a tad pricey

Dined on November 26, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner at Dominic's. While not a big fan of "Gourmet Italian" (that is often a contradiction of terms) we really enjoyed the dinner. My osso bucco was fine, no more or less than could be had at a more reasonable price, but my wife's lobster and past dish was outstanding. Good place to go for a special occasion, but a bit pricey for everyday.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service amazing food.

Dined on November 25, 2015

I had the veal milanese. This was quite possibly the most satisfying meal I've ever has at an Italian restaurant. The veal was cooked and seasoned to perfection. I also ordered a manhattan again perfectly made, and full to the brim complete with a side-cat that filed a third of the glass again. I finished with creme brule for dessert, again they hit the mark. For my companion and I each with an entree cocktail and dessert we only spent $130 and that is with a little bit over a 20% tip included. For the quality of this dining experience this is a steal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gem on the Hill

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

We absolutely loved our experience at Dominic's. My wife got the veal Osso Buco & I had the grilled scallops that were on special that evening- both were absolutely amazing! On top of the excellent food, the service was impeccable. Special shout-outs to Christain and Heath who helped make our 17th anniversary especially memorable. Some reviewers complain about the dress code however they obviously didn't take any time to read the restaurant's description. If you want to wear sweatpants to dinner, got to Chili's. If you want an excellent dining experience while celebrating a special occasion or romantic dinner, throw on a collared shirt and go to Dominic's- you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

Dined on November 15, 2015

We have been going to Dominic's for about 30 years. Unfortunately the food is no longer top rate. The tomato/mozzarella salad was very average, the beef entrée was lukewarm, the side pasta was lukewarm and even the spumoni tasted like it was defrosted and refrozen a few times before served........icy and tasteless, not creamy and yummy. The wine was very good, but the selection not the best. The service was ok, but not much follow-up to see if the dinner was to our liking.

food4
ambience5
service4

ramantic setting

Dined on November 14, 2015

The service was great especially our captain Tim. Our server was a little slow getting our check to us but otherwise fantastic. The charbroiling on the steak over powered the sauce which was disappointing because the sauce was so amamzing. Otherwise a fantastic experience. Definitely save room for jackies desert!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience3
service4

11/6/15

Dined on November 4, 2015

Food and service was excellent. A little too quiet for my taste.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nicely done

Dined on October 31, 2015

After an aveage meal a month before, my brother went again with me and a group of 8 to celebrate 3 birthdays. He came away saying it was one of the best meals he's ever had! Lobster pasta w/big tasty chunks of lobster! 2 of us dined on Osso Bucco, and it could not have been any more tender or flavorful! molto bene' - or whatever it is they say.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Cheryl A

Dined on October 30, 2015

Lovely dining experience, wonderful dishes, beautiful space. We will be back! And excellent service. We had a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Service was awful and food terrible.

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

This restaurant was awful. The service was terrible and the food awful. There were seven of us celebrating a special birthday and we all had terrible meals. We arrived at 7:30 and didn't leave until after 10 because the service was so slow. Nobody came by to ask how our food was and the food. I didn't eat my meal and nobody noticed they just cleared my plate! Too many other good places in town. Don't waste your time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always Outstanding Service and Food

Dined on October 16, 2015

Whenever I am in St. Louis I always make time for diner at Dominick's on the Hill. Wonderful attentive service that is not stifling. The most incredible food! A must visit location!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Delicious!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Not the type of establishment we make it to more than once a year. Pricey. The service was very good - stopped by often but not too often. Server was very knowledgeable of the dishes which was great (the menu isn't very descriptive). The Lobster Picante was FANTASTIC. Loaded with flavor. My wife's Beef Tenderloin was also delicious and she commented that it was the best rice she has ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian on "The Hill"

Dined on October 3, 2015

I thought the food was very good. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Janis

Dined on October 3, 2015

Loved the ambiance, great wait service and delicious food. Definitely will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.