Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
10:00 PM

Dominic's on the Hill

4.9
554 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Dominic and Jackie Galati purchased Dominic's on the Hill in 1971 and moved in above the restaurant. Within two years, Dominic began winning national awards and has continued to do so for the last 40 years. This is an exceptional restaurant with fine Italian cuisine, professional, friendly service, & an extensive wine list. Dominic oversees the kitchen,and the menu includes fresh seafood, veal, tenderloin, lamb, and many other choices. The restaurant has a Florentine atmosphere, with low lighting, white tablecloths, & classic oil paintings. Dominic's has been honored by DIRONA, 2001 Restaurant Hall of Fame, 1999 International Award of Excellence, The Epicurean Award & was voted one of the two best Italian Restaurants in the country by Conde Nast Traveller.

The second floor of the restaurant is available for private parties of 15-65. Please call for details. Smaller parties up to 18 people can be accommodated downstairs as well as larger parties up to 150.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Large groups of 40 or more can be accommodated in the afternoons and on Sunday with enough advanced notice.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 771-1632
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pawel Ziarko
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Dominic's on the Hill is ideal for business functions, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, anniversary parties, graduation parties, and small wedding dinners. The elegent and intimate Sopra Room on the private second floor is complete with separate bathrooms, full bar, and plasma TV. The main restaurant has two semi-private rooms which can seat 18 people. The whole restaurant can also be reserved for up to 150 people. Private dining menus range in price depending on your budget and wants. Wine can also be ordered exclusively for your event. A deposit is required to hold the space for your private event. Call for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jessica Carolyn: (314) 771-1632
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering is available. Please call 314-771-1632 for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hereford
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking on weekends. Street parking also available every night.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Background music.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 554 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.9based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.9
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner, however, there was no wow factor regarding the food. The food was good not necessarily memorable. There are other upscale restaurants where you can get memorable food for approximately the same price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Perfect meal. Great attention with waitstaff and owner Dominic. Food done so well. Fresh seafood special was perfect. Always dependable

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

A great, classic tradition on the Hill. Iconic Italian dining for a memorable evening. Food and service were superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Me and my girlfriend went on a date here and we loved it! Raved about the food and experience afterwards! (My bank account did not however) Great food but not a place I would go more than twice a year at most.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great ambiance. Had a group of six. Could carry on conversations around the table without having to shout. Staff was wonderful and attentive to our needs. Food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We spent the weekend in St. Louis and chose Dominic’s for Saturday evening. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was excellent. The staff was welcoming. It was a great choice...start to finish. In fact, I will be in St. Louis later in the summer, and I have already made another reservation for Dominic’s! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great carbonara! Veal piccata was also very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Spectacular place to dine! Elegant and beautiful! Our meal was full of rich flavors and served on a hot plate! The wait staff was classy, on top of what service we needed and very attentive! Wonderful place to dine! Do recommend Dominic’s as the fine dining place to go!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Fantastic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My only comment against the restaurant was that the food portions were small for the price but the food and service were top notch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Just one more amazing special evening at Dominic's. Excellent food, wine and service. As always, Dominic stopped by to thank us for coming again. Always so genuine and heartfelt. This is the best restaurant on The Hill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

While my husband and i were on our honeymoon in St. Louis we visited Dominics. From the appetizer to our main course the food was superb. We will definitely be back to sample some other foods on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Delightful restaurant. Wonderful food. Attentive service. Great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Calamari and the veal picatta were outstanding, service was excellent, atmosphere was grand. My wife and I were very pleased.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2017

A landmark in the Hill neighborhood. Paying for the prestige. While the food is good, $22 for pasta is a bit steep. We went for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

I used to go to Dominic's back in the 1970s when I would visit St. Louis on business. At that time It was my favorite restaurant in all of St. Louis. I wanted to take my wife there as we were visiting the area. I was not disappointed both my wife and I enjoyed it immensely. Thanks Dominic for a fantastic dining experience. We will be back.
PS. I don't know how to evaluate the "Noise Leval". The noise level was perfect for quite conversation and noisy enough so you didn't feel all alone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2017

I loved the meal we had together as it was a reunion of friends, unseen for many years. An anniversary to celebrated. The service was excellent, we were asked many times if there was something we needed (almost to excess). Our meal was on a weeknight, and we had the attention of too many waiters. Probably four or five waiterss would come to our table, which limited our conversation. The food was excellent, all of us were very pleased with our choices. One had the salmon, another the Romano Chicken, another the Veal Fontina. All had the salad and in all dishes the ingedients were fresh and plated beautifully. Very excited to have tableside heating of soup and other sides. Loved the special dessert made tableside by Dominic. Great evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2017

A bit disappointed. My wife and I went there at 7:00 pm on Friday night and was one of four couples there. The food and service was good, but the lack of customers made us somewhat suspect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2017

From entry to exit, Everything was better than expected! From the ambience of food, service, room decor and sincere friendliness, I felt at home, I felt I'd met a friend in each person there! More than LOVED it! thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I have been going to Dominic's on the hill for special occasions when we are in St Louis for 20 years. The food is phenomenal. We ordered the Chef Dominic's 5 course special this time and WOW! We raved about our meal so much to our friends that they changed their reservations from another Italian restaurant to Dominic's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Amazing dinner. The owner sang to his guest and service was 1st class. Can't wait to get back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Our food was great -from soups to nuts. Everyone was kind and knowledgeable, and very friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone. Enjoyed it so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

My daughters and I went there for our birthday celebrations. What a lovely place. The atmosphere was gorgeous, the service impeccable and the food absolutely delicious. I will make this a definite stop every time I visit St. Louis.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2017

A little rude during reservation process considering they only had a few tables filled while we were there. No toasted raviolis on tbe menu - really!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Two words - very disappointing. The food was not good. Need some more spices or something.
Food was bland. The spumoni tasted old and I had to send it back. They did not offer a substitute.

Not sure I understand the reasoning behind the warming of the plates at the table. Lots of staff but not well trained. Would definitely not go back or recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Lovely restaurant, fabulous wait staff, fantastic food. We were celebrating our tenth anniversary as a family, and they treated my six year old (named Dominic!) like a prince. Mr. Galati made a special appearance at our table when he heard we had our son with us. Just feel like family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Eggplant appetizer was delicious; ditto for Tiramisu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Dominic was absolutely lovely and a fixture on the St. Louis Italian food scene. Was warm and personable and made us feel very welcomed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. Nice place to have a special night out. We were a little taken-back to seeing the maitre'd eating dinner at the bar in front of guest. I would like he could of eaten before the restrarant opened at 5:00pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

This is a classic white table cloth restssurant with impeccable service and wonderful food. The perfect place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a birthday dinner at Dominic's. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Being in their beautiful dining room made for a very special dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2017

This is truly authentic Italian cuisine. One of the top 10 Italian restaurants I have had dinner at in the country. Food and service were nothing short of 5 stars. The veal with mushroom & capers in lemon sauce (piccata style) was fantastic. Veal was tender, cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth. The mussels & beef carpaccio were a fantastic way to start the meal. We followed with the tomato, basil and mozerella salad. The anchovies were a pleasant surprise. Be sure to save room for the tiramisu and the authentic cannoli's. This restaurant will now be a must visit when in St. Louis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2017

The food quality was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant as the food is truly authentic Italian

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2017

Old World Italian at it's best! Classic table-side service without being stuffy. Perfect for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Excelled all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

The attention to service was outstanding. As soon as you drank your water, even when it was 3/4 of the way full, he was there to refill it. You can't leave the bartender out. The drinks were filled to the top of the up glasses, just as they should be. I don't mind spending $13 or more for my Maker's Mark Manhattan when the drink is a good one and the glass is filled to the rim. Just don't charge me a ridiculous price and not fill it up. I wanted a drink and they gave me one. Great Job!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely a special evening. Very courteous and greeting staff. Allowed plenty of time to make our selections and offered wonderful specials. The food was spectacularly good and offered foods that take time to cook right and taste authentic. Menu had plenty of variety.
Readily recommend for any special event like a birthday or anniversary. A cozy ambiance.
This was a second visit and it easily lived up to every expectation. Cannot wait to go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is always exceptional! Definitely worth the drive and the cost!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2017

From the moment we arrived, this evening was very disappointing. After being seated by a surly host we waited 10 minutes before anyone from the wait staff acknowledged our presence. The "captain" never smiled and almost rolled his eyes when we inquired about the wine selection. It was nearly a half hour before our first course came to the table. Although the food was fine, we waited way longer than necessary between courses. In the middle of the meal, the air conditioning came on and it got so cold that my wife needed to put on her coat. All in all a very disappointing evening at a premium price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and fantastic service!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14