Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.07mi
  4. Distance: 1.20mi

About Dominic's on the Hill

Dominic and Jackie Galati purchased Dominic's on the Hill in 1971 and moved in above the restaurant. Within two years, Dominic began winning national awards and has continued to do so for the last 40 years. This is an exceptional restaurant with fine Italian cuisine, professional, friendly service, & an extensive wine list. Dominic oversees the kitchen,and the menu includes fresh seafood, veal, tenderloin, lamb, and many other choices. The restaurant has a Florentine atmosphere, with low lighting, white tablecloths, & classic oil paintings. Dominic's has been honored by DIRONA, 2001 Restaurant Hall of Fame, 1999 International Award of Excellence, The Epicurean Award & was voted one of the two best Italian Restaurants in the country by Conde Nast Traveller.

The second floor of the restaurant is available for private parties of 15-65. Please call for details. Smaller parties up to 18 people can be accommodated downstairs as well as larger parties up to 150.

5101 Wilson Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Large groups of 40 or more can be accommodated in the afternoons and on Sunday with enough advanced notice.

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 771-1632

Website:
http://www.dominicsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Background music.

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 314-771-1632 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on weekends. Street parking also available every night.

Executive Chef:
Pawel Ziarko

Private Party Facilities:
Dominic's on the Hill is ideal for business functions, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, anniversary parties, graduation parties, and small wedding dinners. The elegent and intimate Sopra Room on the private second floor is complete with separate bathrooms, full bar, and plasma TV. The main restaurant has two semi-private rooms which can seat 18 people. The whole restaurant can also be reserved for up to 150 people. Private dining menus range in price depending on your budget and wants. Wine can also be ordered exclusively for your event. A deposit is required to hold the space for your private event. Call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Carolyn: (314) 771-1632

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dominic's on the Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was great -from soups to nuts. Everyone was kind and knowledgeable, and very friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone. Enjoyed it so much!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My daughters and I went there for our birthday celebrations. What a lovely place. The atmosphere was gorgeous, the service impeccable and the food absolutely delicious. I will make this a definite stop every time I visit St. Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Two words - very disappointing. The food was not good. Need some more spices or something.
Food was bland. The spumoni tasted old and I had to send it back. They did not offer a substitute.

Not sure I understand the reasoning behind the warming of the plates at the table. Lots of staff but not well trained. Would definitely not go back or recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lovely restaurant, fabulous wait staff, fantastic food. We were celebrating our tenth anniversary as a family, and they treated my six year old (named Dominic!) like a prince. Mr. Galati made a special appearance at our table when he heard we had our son with us. Just feel like family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Eggplant appetizer was delicious; ditto for Tiramisu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Dominic was absolutely lovely and a fixture on the St. Louis Italian food scene. Was warm and personable and made us feel very welcomed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. Nice place to have a special night out. We were a little taken-back to seeing the maitre'd eating dinner at the bar in front of guest. I would like he could of eaten before the restrarant opened at 5:00pm.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is a classic white table cloth restssurant with impeccable service and wonderful food. The perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a birthday dinner at Dominic's. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Being in their beautiful dining room made for a very special dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is truly authentic Italian cuisine. One of the top 10 Italian restaurants I have had dinner at in the country. Food and service were nothing short of 5 stars. The veal with mushroom & capers in lemon sauce (piccata style) was fantastic. Veal was tender, cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth. The mussels & beef carpaccio were a fantastic way to start the meal. We followed with the tomato, basil and mozerella salad. The anchovies were a pleasant surprise. Be sure to save room for the tiramisu and the authentic cannoli's. This restaurant will now be a must visit when in St. Louis.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food quality was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant as the food is truly authentic Italian

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Old World Italian at it's best! Classic table-side service without being stuffy. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excelled all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The attention to service was outstanding. As soon as you drank your water, even when it was 3/4 of the way full, he was there to refill it. You can't leave the bartender out. The drinks were filled to the top of the up glasses, just as they should be. I don't mind spending $13 or more for my Maker's Mark Manhattan when the drink is a good one and the glass is filled to the rim. Just don't charge me a ridiculous price and not fill it up. I wanted a drink and they gave me one. Great Job!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely a special evening. Very courteous and greeting staff. Allowed plenty of time to make our selections and offered wonderful specials. The food was spectacularly good and offered foods that take time to cook right and taste authentic. Menu had plenty of variety.
Readily recommend for any special event like a birthday or anniversary. A cozy ambiance.
This was a second visit and it easily lived up to every expectation. Cannot wait to go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is always exceptional! Definitely worth the drive and the cost!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

From the moment we arrived, this evening was very disappointing. After being seated by a surly host we waited 10 minutes before anyone from the wait staff acknowledged our presence. The "captain" never smiled and almost rolled his eyes when we inquired about the wine selection. It was nearly a half hour before our first course came to the table. Although the food was fine, we waited way longer than necessary between courses. In the middle of the meal, the air conditioning came on and it got so cold that my wife needed to put on her coat. All in all a very disappointing evening at a premium price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and fantastic service!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A very pretty room, we were promptly seated but for having so many employees running around it took too long to get drink order placed, from there out service was very good.
Salads were excellent, entrees not so much. (Veal picatta could have used a few more mushrooms and pasta was rather bland)
Overall I would say you are a little too expensive, for the quality of food. ($8.50 for a Schafly? that is Bush stadium territory.)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very efficient yet did not feel rushed. Simply devine. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dominic made this evening very special by singing a special song for my wife. I will never forget this exceptional evening with my wife of 37 years and our family and friends.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great time taking my girlfriend on a date. Very high class and very attentive waiters without being overbearing. Waiters were very knowledgeable about their entire menu and were a huge part in my date and myself's fantastic night out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great time at Dominic's. Love the staff and always wonderful to see Dominic when he comes around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great place for great food, drinks, and conversation. Staff was very attentive and was an overall great evening at Dominic's!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

wonderful service and wonderful food. The veal melted in my mouth like butter. They heat the plates table side. Fun flare.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One of my most enjoyable dining experiences. Great service and great food. My daughter-in-law, who is a Chef, was with us and was totally impressed too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Private Room, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All in all, a great New Years evening at Dominic's. I think our server was a bit harried as might be expected on this night. The restaurant was very crowded but we enjoyed our meal and the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant was charming, service excellent, and food superb, best scallops I've ever had! All three of us had very different meals and they were all done to perfection. The tiramisu was sweet and delicate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great St Louis ham on the hill. They have quite a few veal dishes.
Carpaccio, tartar, and smoked salmon were excellent.
Rack of lamb was the clear winner for our party's entrees.
Osso bucco was great, but could have been made with canned tomatoes /sauce. As long as each bite had meat in it, the dish was great, but sauce was a bit underwhelming.
Veal t-bone was good and tender, but might pass next time.
Bananas foster (flambe) was great but could have used less sauce so the ice cream doesn't melt as much. If they let you split it 3 ways for the price of another scoop of ice cream that would be the way to go.
Overall, great experience and meal. Service was exceptional, except the few times the servers came to the table smelling of cigarettes.
If you are looking for table-side preparations and desserts they have quite a selection.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was excellent, service started out a little slow but ended up great. Will go to again. I highly recommend the Dover Sole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was great -- the service, the food, the whole thing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary! A special place for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Dining at Dominic's is always a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, great service! Will definitely come again the next time I am in town.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went out for a holiday dinner with friends. It was wonderful food with great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and service! A great place if you like a classy restaurant at a reasonable price. The service was very good and attentive, but not overpowering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect place for a lovely dinner
The food is good and fresh
The choice of wine is perfect

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Geno is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent evening. Wonderful food and terrific service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.