About Dominic's on the Hill

5101 Wilson Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dominic and Jackie Galati purchased Dominic's on the Hill in 1971 and moved in above the restaurant. Within two years, Dominic began winning national awards and has continued to do so for the last 40 years. This is an exceptional restaurant with fine Italian cuisine, professional, friendly service, & an extensive wine list. Dominic oversees the kitchen,and the menu includes fresh seafood, veal, tenderloin, lamb, and many other choices. The restaurant has a Florentine atmosphere, with low lighting, white tablecloths, & classic oil paintings. Dominic's has been honored by DIRONA, 2001 Restaurant Hall of Fame, 1999 International Award of Excellence, The Epicurean Award & was voted one of the two best Italian Restaurants in the country by Conde Nast Traveller.

The second floor of the restaurant is available for private parties of 15-65. Please call for details. Smaller parties up to 18 people can be accommodated downstairs as well as larger parties up to 150.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Large groups of 40 or more can be accommodated in the afternoons and on Sunday with enough advanced notice.

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 771-1632

Website:
http://www.dominicsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Background music.

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 314-771-1632 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on weekends. Street parking also available every night.

Executive Chef:
Pawel Ziarko

Private Party Facilities:
Dominic's on the Hill is ideal for business functions, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, anniversary parties, graduation parties, and small wedding dinners. The elegent and intimate Sopra Room on the private second floor is complete with separate bathrooms, full bar, and plasma TV. The main restaurant has two semi-private rooms which can seat 18 people. The whole restaurant can also be reserved for up to 150 people. Private dining menus range in price depending on your budget and wants. Wine can also be ordered exclusively for your event. A deposit is required to hold the space for your private event. Call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Carolyn: 3147711632x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dominic's on the Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Best Food
St. Louis
Best Service
St. Louis
13 More
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Best Value
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in The Hill ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had wonderful service! The chicken Ma ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had wonderful service! The chicken

Marsala was really flavorful and I loved the fresh steamed veggies. Definitely would go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lobster Alla Gusta, great service and Do ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lobster Alla Gusta, great service and Dominic always leads to a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and fantastic food! Very ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great service and fantastic food! Very romantic and loved the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine was excellent but the service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The wine was excellent but the service was very slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Best food on the Hill! Would definitely ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best food on the Hill! Would definitely suggest going here for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places when we are i ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of our favorite places when we are in town! Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Once again, we chose Dominic's On the Hi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Once again, we chose Dominic's On the Hill for a special occasion. And, as usual, we were not let down. As happened the last time, we were greated by Dominic himself when we walked in the door and the whole experience after he greated us was exactly what we have come to expect - great atmosphere, great service, and incredible food and wine. All in all a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant, classy, a great restaurant ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very elegant, classy, a great restaurant. Service was outstanding. Food was way beyond expectations. Parking was a challenge and some customers were not appropriately dressed. Difficult to fault the restaurant about the dress as it seems to be pervasive in all restaurants these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gino and the gang that took care of our ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Gino and the gang that took care of our table were awesome. Very, very attentive. Fantastic service. Food was great, good old-fashioned Italian style. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was b/c the scallops were overdone and the guy who heated them up at the table to serve them saw that they were overcooked but served them anyway. He DID bring out 2 freshly cooked ones that were perfect but in my opinion, he #1 shouldn't have served the overcooked ones and #2 should have served a whole order of perfectly cooked ones, not 2...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dominic's on the Hill really has excelle ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dominic's on the Hill really has excellent service with very attentive waiters! The decor is nice, creating a pleasant atmosphere. As to my salmon dinner-- without the sauce, it tasted quite fishy. The sauce masked the fishy taste, but I also wanted to enjoy it plain, too. I commented about the fishy taste to the waiter, but my comment was ignored. The other meal was a very good pasta, which, of course, is their specialty. The wine was great. The prices are not inexpensive, so I would have appreciated a better salmon with less fishy flavor on my plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive , but the food was excell ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very expensive , but the food was excellent . Not very busy for a Friday night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Year after year Dominic's is always good ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Year after year Dominic's is always good. Lobster risotto was divine. Entrees of scallops and veal were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great dinner at Dominic's. Ser ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great dinner at Dominic's. Service was great and the food was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Traditional Italian Restaurant. G ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Traditional Italian Restaurant. Great Atmosphere. Great Service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant offers a dining experien ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant offers a dining experience not just a meal. Everything is perfect from the minute you walk in you know you are going to enjoy the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time eating here and w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was my first time eating here and was an experience that will have me and my fiance coming back. It was our dinner prior to my popping the question! The staff was very tentative to our needs and the food came out exactly as we ordered and quick. Once the food comes out they set the plates on these rings of fire to warm them up some more something I noticed the kids next to us really enjoyed. The resturant has a very romantic feel to it as soon as you walk in to dining area but i think it would be great for any occasion...oh and the food tasted aaaaaaamazing and they were huge portions! Great job Dominic's

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Dominic's. It was a Monday evening so the restaurant wasn't very busy which was nice as the noise level was very low and the staff were very attentive. We had the Dominic's Choice five course dinner for two which started with the Tenderloin Carpaccio followed by pasta combination of Tortellini Alla Fiorentina and Rigatoni Amatriciana. The third course was the Dominic's salad followed by a combination of Scampi Alla Griglia and Tenderloin Rossini. A large tiramisu for two completed the meal. Everything was excellent and the serving sizes were larger than we have typically experienced with multiple course selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dominics maintains the level of excellen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dominics maintains the level of excellence that it has for decades. Service is impeccable. Food is excellent and prepared to your liking. Can't wait to go back for out anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only strange thing was we checked in for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Only strange thing was we checked in for our reservation and they sat us at one table. Waiter came by and said welcomeMr and Mrs (last name) and said that's not us and moved us to another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great dinner at a lovely restaurant. Goo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great dinner at a lovely restaurant. Good sized portions of fresh pasta served hot- it's warmed up at table side. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful restaurant to fine in. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant to fine in. Been going to Dominic's for many years. First time with husband and son. We will be back soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I have gone to Dominic's many times over the past 35+ years and have never had a bad experience. The only complaint was that neither of the Galati's were present that night so I could personally tell them how good the entire experience was.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The welcoming, quiet ambiance. The helpful, solicitous waiters. A true delightful experience for anyone that wants to have good conversation and fantastic food without yelling over music, the next tables conversation, or being rushed through your meal. This is how delicious food is to truly be enjoyed and meals are to be an integral part of life. The staff was so gracious and friendly. The food beyond compare. Truly a must place to eat for all St Louisians.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best resturant in St Louis

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First time here 35 years ago, came several times for 15 years then moved away. Always eat here when in town for a day. No place like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing dinner at Dominic's.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It was our 10th anniversary and we were treated like family. As always, Christian and the staff were over the top with their recommendations and service. Dominic personally stopped by to congratulate us on our special occasion. Such a true gentleman. Thank you once again for a very memorable anniversary dinner. Here's to many more!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. Never have anythi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food as always. Never have anything that wasn't outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Choice

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We were married in the Botanical Gardens and had our dinner reception here 16 years ago. A perfect choice then and now. If we are in town, we come here to celebrate the day...or if we just want a nice quiet great tasting meal with super waitstaff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing. We didnt know what ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was amazing. We didnt know what to order since it was our first time there so we did the Dominics 5 coarse meal all the food was delicious we will be goin back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food wonderful; service spotty. A busy F ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food wonderful; service spotty. A busy Friday night, but other than having our ice refilled every minute, service was not attentive. We went a good 15 minutes between check ins from our waiter. At this price level, I expect a higher level of service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great old world dining

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Dominic's is the place for a great dining experience from the time your greeted at the door until you leave. Mr. Galati will make you feel s welcome guest at his table.

Our party of four were there for Restaurant Week. The food was exceptional, exceeded only by the great service. The attention to detail in service far exceeded our expectations and the food was a delight to everyone in our party.

I highly recommend dining at Dominic's for any occasion. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved the feeling of being someplace special and treated as a valued guest.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinning Experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

First visit to Dominic's and was very pleased with the experience. Food was excellent as was the service. We went to try the Italian Week special and were not disappointed. Would definitely recommend Dominic's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's never disappoints!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Dominic's (on the Hill) is an awesome special occasion restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious and its presentation is lovely. The service is impeccable, without being intrusive. We've been to many Italian restaurants in larger cities; Chicago, New York, & Boston to name a few. Dominic's is every bit as good as many in those cities and better than some! Others on the Hill are very good, but Dominic's is GREAT, especially if you're celebrating a family birthday or parents' anniversary. Many thanks to the Galati family!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server helped me. I was between two ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

The server helped me. I was between two and he suggested what he thought was best. It was an awesome choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent overall experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

With friends, we decided to participate in "Restaurant Week on The Hill," a week where restaurants offer special pricing with limited menus and proceeds going to charity. Never having been to Dominick's, we thought we would try something new....and were glad we did!

It is an upscale venue, romantically lit, with the interior walls lined with art and multiple mirrors. We were greeted immediately, seated, and waited upon. And waited upon. The staff was extremely attentive, with a team of very professional staff filling water glasses, clearing plates, and bringing wine and food.

Food: The house salad was good, but unremarkable. I was able to taste my husband's Caesar salad, however, and it was one of the best I've tried. Both salads were generous. As the menu was limited, three of us ordered the pasta for the main course - a penne with sausage, peppers and spinach. It was delicious, with excellent sweet Italian sausage which the staff reported came from Volpi's (we will definitely check that grocery out during our next trip to The Hill!) Another member of our party ordered the grilled pork loin with garlic mashed potatoes that she really enjoyed as well. The dessert was fabulous, with spumoni, tiramisu and 'Jackies' plates all eaten clean. Their Jackies is a layered wedding cake with chocolate cake saturated with something delicious topped with cream filling and a cream vanilla cake layer dusted with cocoa. Top notch.

Did I mention that the staff was attentive? They were great, and we also witnessed a procedure I'd never seen before: food brought to the dining area was briefly set atop portable Sterno burners to recover any heat lost during the journey from the kitchen. Our entree plates were hot, and stayed hot during our leisurely course. A nice extra touch.

I would definitely recommend to a friend, and will be returning there myself!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's -A Hill classic

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Dominic's delivered a good meal. Love the old world Italian decor. Went expecting it to be quiet and romantic. Instead found service staff a little disorganized, big noisy groups, cooking tables in the way...sadly not the romantic, quiet Italian dinner we were expecting. Had the osso bucco on risotto (rice). Very good. Started with the grilled peppers, mozzarella and anchovies. Delicious. Bread in basket was stale...butter hard as a rock. Finished our meal and wine, and left without dessert or coffee. Would return again in hopes of a better experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always the best

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food, wonderful quiet atmosphere and superb service. Mr. Dominic's himself was always on top of it, what a great restaurantor.

Grazie Signor Domenico di. Hai fatto il nostro ritorno a St. Louis un'esperienza memorabile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected Disappointment

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I visited St Louis this past weekend. I was excited to go to eat on The Hill. I have had many many wonderful experiences there and was looking forward to taking my family. I received a great time from open table and sat down promptly. Ambiance was great and everything seemed to be set up for a special evening. I was wrong. My dinner took 3 hours!! The food was average at best other than the bananas flambé, which was out of this world. My server took an initial drink order and a second drink order 2 hours later. The host had to take the other drink orders as well as appetizer, entrée, and desert. We had long amounts of time with no one looking after us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent experience as usual. Highest quality

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was perfect down to the napkins. Very friendly and courteous staff. Great wine selection. Salads were top notch. Entrees cannot be outdone. Desserts are delectable and the cappuccino was of the highest quality. Not your everyday dinner destination but definitely worth every penny spent. This was the third time dining here for myself and the first for my girlfriend. She was more than impressed with everything about the experience. We will definitely be dining at Dominic's on The Hill in the near future.. I highly recommend anyone going for a very unique and classic dinner experience. Ps. Dont just order and entree. Order salads appetizers wine dessert and coffe to get the full experience of this establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

2/14/16 First visit to Dominic's on the Hill was disappointing. Service was adequate. Waiters had no recommendations other than veal was their specialty on the menu. My husband and I ordered veal. Chopped veal was chewy and flavor was very average. Red pasta was very average. I had Veal Picata and the veal was cut extremely thin and sauce was not impressive. Mixed vegetable were flavorful and tender. Banana flambe was a disaster. Bananas were hard and tasteless. Took 25 minutes to get our check. Not worth $150.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.