About Dominic's on the Hill

5101 Wilson Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dominic and Jackie Galati purchased Dominic's on the Hill in 1971 and moved in above the restaurant. Within two years, Dominic began winning national awards and has continued to do so for the last 40 years. This is an exceptional restaurant with fine Italian cuisine, professional, friendly service, & an extensive wine list. Dominic oversees the kitchen,and the menu includes fresh seafood, veal, tenderloin, lamb, and many other choices. The restaurant has a Florentine atmosphere, with low lighting, white tablecloths, & classic oil paintings. Dominic's has been honored by DIRONA, 2001 Restaurant Hall of Fame, 1999 International Award of Excellence, The Epicurean Award & was voted one of the two best Italian Restaurants in the country by Conde Nast Traveller.

The second floor of the restaurant is available for private parties of 15-65. Please call for details. Smaller parties up to 18 people can be accommodated downstairs as well as larger parties up to 150.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Large groups of 40 or more can be accommodated in the afternoons and on Sunday with enough advanced notice.

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 771-1632

Website:
http://www.dominicsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Background music.

Catering:
Catering is available. Please call 314-771-1632 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on weekends. Street parking also available every night.

Executive Chef:
Pawel Ziarko

Private Party Facilities:
Dominic's on the Hill is ideal for business functions, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, anniversary parties, graduation parties, and small wedding dinners. The elegent and intimate Sopra Room on the private second floor is complete with separate bathrooms, full bar, and plasma TV. The main restaurant has two semi-private rooms which can seat 18 people. The whole restaurant can also be reserved for up to 150 people. Private dining menus range in price depending on your budget and wants. Wine can also be ordered exclusively for your event. A deposit is required to hold the space for your private event. Call for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Carolyn: (314) 771-1632

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Hill - Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO
  • Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO

Report a photo problem

The Hill - Dominic's on the Hill, St. Louis, MO

Dominic's on the Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

wonderful service and wonderful food. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

wonderful service and wonderful food. The veal melted in my mouth like butter. They heat the plates table side. Fun flare.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my most enjoyable dining experien ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One of my most enjoyable dining experiences. Great service and great food. My daughter-in-law, who is a Chef, was with us and was totally impressed too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Private Room, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All in all, a great New Years evening at ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

All in all, a great New Years evening at Dominic's. I think our server was a bit harried as might be expected on this night. The restaurant was very crowded but we enjoyed our meal and the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The restaurant was charming, service exc ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant was charming, service excellent, and food superb, best scallops I've ever had! All three of us had very different meals and they were all done to perfection. The tiramisu was sweet and delicate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great St Louis ham on the hill. They hav ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great St Louis ham on the hill. They have quite a few veal dishes.

Carpaccio, tartar, and smoked salmon were excellent.

Rack of lamb was the clear winner for our party's entrees.

Osso bucco was great, but could have been made with canned tomatoes /sauce. As long as each bite had meat in it, the dish was great, but sauce was a bit underwhelming.

Veal t-bone was good and tender, but might pass next time.

Bananas foster (flambe) was great but could have used less sauce so the ice cream doesn't melt as much. If they let you split it 3 ways for the price of another scoop of ice cream that would be the way to go.

Overall, great experience and meal. Service was exceptional, except the few times the servers came to the table smelling of cigarettes.

If you are looking for table-side preparations and desserts they have quite a selection.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent, service started out ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was excellent, service started out a little slow but ended up great. Will go to again. I highly recommend the Dover Sole

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was great -- the service, the food, t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was great -- the service, the food, the whole thing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary! A special place for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at Dominic's is always a wonderfu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Dining at Dominic's is always a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Will definite ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, great service! Will definitely come again the next time I am in town.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went out for a holiday dinner with frien ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went out for a holiday dinner with friends. It was wonderful food with great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! A great place i ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and service! A great place if you like a classy restaurant at a reasonable price. The service was very good and attentive, but not overpowering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience I've had in a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for a lovely dinner The f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect place for a lovely dinner

The food is good and fresh

The choice of wine is perfect

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Geno is the best!!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Geno is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening. Wonderful food and te ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent evening. Wonderful food and terrific service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's is a very special place and ve ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dominic's is a very special place and very much so for a special occasion as on my daughter's birthday.

Whether you are in Chicago, New York, London, Paris or St. Louis he ranks with the best - always good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuffy, decor early 70's. Old and boring ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Stuffy, decor early 70's. Old and boring menu offerings. Great service, food just okay. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

The best old work Italian restaurant. i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The best old work Italian restaurant. i go out in NYC all the time-this is better than any other Italian fine dining. Mixture of northern and southern Italian, broad menu, some items you won't see anywhere else (escargot and artichokes-so delicious). It is a beautiful restaurant with murals/paintings, Dominic is a gracious host, the waiters are professional, and the food is incredible. can't wait to go back to st louis!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was impeccable - great ambianc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The place was impeccable - great ambiance, great food, pleasant and professional staff. It seemed like a perfect place for romantic dinners and large groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a well-known restaurant. Does it ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is a well-known restaurant. Does it live up to its reputation? It depends on your expectations. Neither a temple of healthy cooking nor of nouvelle cuisine, it is a traditional "posh" Italian restaurant with prices to match, but it's not unpleasantly snooty: for example, wines are available by the glass, which is convenient if a couple wants a different one for each course. The service is good without being intrusive and it's generally not too pretentious though I would as soon they skipped the extra heating of the dishes at table side: it's probably not necessary and was apt to make the food too hot. The cooking is good without necessarily being outstanding in every dish. The servings are very generous, so much so that many will not be able to eat more than two courses. I would have preferred smaller portions costing a little less. In fact the beast options would be to offer a choice of small or large portions of the dishes, as is done in some European countries. We were disappointed that the classic Italian aperitifs of Punt e Mes and Cynar were not available, as they are our favorites. We tried one of the off menu offerings of a main course and it was outstanding, and the Zuppa di Pesce was as authentic as an American public can tolerate - excellent! The bill with tip came to somewhat over $100 per person for two courses plus salads with three (generous) glasses of wine per person and coffee, so most people would hardly make dining there a weekly habit: but it's a nice place to go for a special occasion like a birthday.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Entertained clients and they were very p ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Entertained clients and they were very pleased with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always one of the best places in Sain ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

As always one of the best places in Saint Louis. Really delicious food and super professional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were perfect. We don't ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food and service were perfect. We don't go out much but we'll definitely be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's is classic Italian at its best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dominic's is classic Italian at its best, fabulous food, great service, and the most gracious host!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, professional waiters, ab ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great ambiance, professional waiters, absolutely wonderful food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dominic's is a gourmet restaurant. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Dominic's is a gourmet restaurant. The service, food, and ambiance were incredible. If compared to Tony's (another fine restaurant in St. Louis), I prefer Dominic's. They are a little pricey, but their food is worth it. The appetizers, mains courses, and deserts were all 5 star!

Finally, I strongly recommend the Osso Bucco (cross-cut veal shanks braised with vegetables, white wine and broth). It is what they are known for and it is the best thing on the menu!

Wonderful time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening starting with valet, no wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great evening starting with valet, no wait for reservation, great service and an outstanding meal. Tried both specials offered and found both to be excellent. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had wonderful service! The chicken Ma ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had wonderful service! The chicken

Marsala was really flavorful and I loved the fresh steamed veggies. Definitely would go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lobster Alla Gusta, great service and Do ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lobster Alla Gusta, great service and Dominic always leads to a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and fantastic food! Very ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great service and fantastic food! Very romantic and loved the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine was excellent but the service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The wine was excellent but the service was very slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Best food on the Hill! Would definitely ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best food on the Hill! Would definitely suggest going here for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places when we are i ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of our favorite places when we are in town! Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Once again, we chose Dominic's On the Hi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Once again, we chose Dominic's On the Hill for a special occasion. And, as usual, we were not let down. As happened the last time, we were greated by Dominic himself when we walked in the door and the whole experience after he greated us was exactly what we have come to expect - great atmosphere, great service, and incredible food and wine. All in all a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant, classy, a great restaurant ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very elegant, classy, a great restaurant. Service was outstanding. Food was way beyond expectations. Parking was a challenge and some customers were not appropriately dressed. Difficult to fault the restaurant about the dress as it seems to be pervasive in all restaurants these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gino and the gang that took care of our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Gino and the gang that took care of our table were awesome. Very, very attentive. Fantastic service. Food was great, good old-fashioned Italian style. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was b/c the scallops were overdone and the guy who heated them up at the table to serve them saw that they were overcooked but served them anyway. He DID bring out 2 freshly cooked ones that were perfect but in my opinion, he #1 shouldn't have served the overcooked ones and #2 should have served a whole order of perfectly cooked ones, not 2...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dominic's on the Hill really has excelle ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dominic's on the Hill really has excellent service with very attentive waiters! The decor is nice, creating a pleasant atmosphere. As to my salmon dinner-- without the sauce, it tasted quite fishy. The sauce masked the fishy taste, but I also wanted to enjoy it plain, too. I commented about the fishy taste to the waiter, but my comment was ignored. The other meal was a very good pasta, which, of course, is their specialty. The wine was great. The prices are not inexpensive, so I would have appreciated a better salmon with less fishy flavor on my plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive , but the food was excell ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very expensive , but the food was excellent . Not very busy for a Friday night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.