About Domenica

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Domenica
Domenica
Domenica
Wild Mushroom Pizza
Prosciutto Pizza
Smoked Pork Pizza
Bread
Banana Zuppa Inglese: banana cake, bananas, cream cotta mousse, & peanut brittle
Gorgonzola Pizza
Lasagna Bolognese
Squid Ink Tagliolini Blue Crab
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Feta Goat Cheese
white pizza
Roasted Carrot Pizza
Fried Tuscan Kale lemon & parmigiano reggiano
Squid Ink Tagliolini With Blue Crab
Margherita Pizza
Taglatelle With Rabbit And Porcini
Rigatoni
Shishito
Root Vegetable Pizza
Lemoncello, Herbcentcello, Butternut Squash Cello, Bloody Mary Cello
Fusilli With Shrimp And Celery
Fusilli Basil Pesto
Roasted Cauliflower & Half/Half Pizza
Wild Mushroom Pizza tomato, fontina, sweet onions, bacon & yard egg
Gianduja Budino
Quattro Formaggi Pizza
Fried Kale
Pomegranate Belini
Squid Ink Pasta With Blue Crab
Tutto Carne
Bread And Spicy Olive Oil
Smoked Pork And Enzo Pizza
Tagliatelle With Rabbit Ragu
charcuterie
Crispy Kale Salad
Fig Pizza
Oxtail Arancini
Duck Pizza
Pizza Tutto Carne
Squid Ink Tagliolini W/ Blue Crab & Herbs
Wood Roasted Goat
King Cake
cheese pizza
Carry Me Away
Hedgehog Mushrooms With Marrow Butter
Lasagne Bolognese
Pepperoni Pizza
Chocolate Cookies
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Goat Feta (Not Pictured)
Roasted Eggplant With Goat Cheese
Burrata Mozzarella
Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookie
Cotechino Pizza
Fennel Sausage And Ricotta Pizza
Bread And Olive Oil
Squash Blossoms
Gorgonzola Pizze With Peaches, Speck, Pecans
roasted cauliflower
Roasted Carrot Pizze
Adami Prosecco
Bolzano Pizza
Affettati Misti
Cumin-infused Whipped Feta
Bolzano Pizze
Chocolate Espresso Cookies
Brussel Sprouts With Guanciale
Salumi & Formaggi
Squid Ink Taglionini Wirh Blue Crab And Herbs
Fruit Marmellate
Nola Brown Ale
Pizza
Pizza Calabrese
Almond Semifreddo
Tortellini With Sweet Potatoes And Hazelnut Brown Butter
Porchetta Panini
Spinach Pizza
Charcuterie plate
Lamb Raviloi With Brown Butter, Pancetta And Sage
Prosciutto Cakes
Peach Bellini
Roasted Chicken Panini
Egg Nog
wood roasted pear cobbler
Duck Paté
Salumi
Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Feta
Cookie
Mint Mojito
Spicy Lamb Meatball Pizza
Octopus Carpaccio
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Molasses Glazed Pork Belly Salad
Anolini "Little Rings" Stuffed With Pork, Tomato And Basil
Gnocchi
Tutto Pizza
Garganelli
Hanukkah Dinner
Fried Parmesan Reggiano Cream and a Arugla Pesto Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Italian
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Fit for Foodies (178)
Good for Groups (123)
Special Occasion (119)
See All
Hot Spot (103)
Great for Lunch (91)
Romantic (70)
Notable Wine List (63)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Kid-friendly (36)
Late-night Find (29)
Great for Brunch (26)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly over rated, service fair at best ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Highly over rated, service fair at best nothing to brag about or come back to. Pasta was wayyyy undercooked ( being a Food and Beverage Dir in a high end hotel company I know a little bit). The server was dry, at times forgetting the menu details and just not sharp and crisp, will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

After a few days of traditional New Orle ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

After a few days of traditional New Orleans fare, my stomach needed a break. Domenica's was the break I was looking for. Delicious bread, amazing side salad, and yummy pizza was just what my pregnant belly needed! The service was excellent- staff is very attentive and kind. The restaurant is clean and sleek. All around great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Best pizza in town!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing! Best pizza in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful pizza and very tasting pasta. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful pizza and very tasting pasta. Staff helpful.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While staying at the Roosevelt Hotel we ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

While staying at the Roosevelt Hotel we decided not to leave one night and stay on site. Good decision it was. Dinner and service was impeccable !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic! The Cauliflower was incredibl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic!

The Cauliflower was incredible as was the Pizza.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level was high. But overall it ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The noise level was high. But overall it was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was good, but we expected more. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was good, but we expected more. Service was less than desired. Server was in the weeds most of our visit and had to be flagged down on several occasions to request service.

On this visit, it just did not meet our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

It was our first time to Domenica. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was our first time to Domenica. The atmosphere, service and food were excellent. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very good, prices reasonable. would r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

very good, prices reasonable. would recommend it highly

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Atmosphere

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great atmosphere, reasonable wine prices ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, reasonable wine prices, amazing service and food. Recommended for any date night or just because. Located close enough for a night cap at carousel bar.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great, as usual at ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service were great, as usual at Domenica. Noise level is always a detraction from an otherwise great place. We go there frequently, so obviously he good things outweigh the bad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our favorite happy hour! but it is an a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our favorite happy hour! but it is an awkward time, from 2-5. we were celebrating our anniversary so we were off of work. the pizza's are delicious and they are half price during happy hour. its' a little noisy so a table for 2 or 4 would be OK. too many and it's too much noise.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everyone told us to make a reservation a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everyone told us to make a reservation and how hard it was for them to get a table; but upon arriving we were the only ones there! When we joked about this to the waiter he laughed and noted that this was there very slow season. So for those of you tired of waiting for a table go during August!

Our waiter was wonderful and the food came out extremely quickly. The squid ink pasta was to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed this John Besh restaurant! Ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We enjoyed this John Besh restaurant! Our server was excellent and the food was very good. We had the tagliatelle and the acqua pazza. Both were superb but we agreed that the tagliatelle was the better choice. We were a little nervous because this was during a thunderstorm where a tornado was spotted. All ended well and we would return in better weather.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

For an Italian restaurant, the are very ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

For an Italian restaurant, the are very small. I ordered the shrimp fussili, which had diced shrimp in it and not a lot. There were maybe 4 average size shrimp diced into the dish. It's a $17 shrimp dish in NOLA ( the gulf), where shrimp are plentiful and cheap. It's a hotel restaurant inside the Waldorf-Astoria, so that dictates the premium. I would opt for another place to eat it was my only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food at Domenica is always delicious ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food at Domenica is always delicious and this trip was no exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here at least 4-5 times, am ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been here at least 4-5 times, amazing and consistent every time. Pizzas are very good. The best part is the appetizers,... specifically the FRIED KALE. WoW! and the dessert the Affogato is amazing! I keep coming back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent, Perfect!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent, Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Is not what I expected as per other peop ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Is not what I expected as per other people reviews

Food is good but not great

Service very good and management first quality

The place is essentially an sea food upscale pizzeria in a greatest frame of ambient service and management

My advice expand the menu and elaborate the dishes presentation a bit to be mire fair with prices

New Orleans has a wide offer of better restaurants

In this case not even live music is offered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the kale, lasagna, spinach gnocch ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had the kale, lasagna, spinach gnocchi and pork chop. All of the dishes were great! The fried kale with the tomatoes and sauce was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been a long time fan of Domenica an ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been a long time fan of Domenica and make it a point to check them out when I am in New Orleans. I've also been a fan of Alon Shaya's since stumbling onto Domenica 6+ years ago. However, there seems to bit a slight decline in quality of food. The service was excellent but the food fell a bit flat which was unexpected. We each dined on different types of pasta and both felt they were overly salted and pre-made as our food arrived a short 3 minutes later. The dessert made up for much of the subpar quality in the pasta. We shared a banana zuppa inglese. It was perfect. I am just a little bummed that our entries fell flat. I'll stick to my usual pizza next time. Perhaps more attention is being focused on the new restaurant, Shaya, which I will check out next time when I remember to make reservations a few weeks out!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent John Besh experience. Good win ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent John Besh experience. Good wine list. Roasted cauliflower is excellent. Pizzas are spectacular. High-end dining but the atmosphere and menu are very accessible- not at all stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious pizza, fantastic wine selectio ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious pizza, fantastic wine selection. Great value happy hour. A local favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been several times to Domenica, and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Have been several times to Domenica, and it has gone downhill over the past 12-18 months. Still solid, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Overall excellent food and experience! T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall excellent food and experience! The noise level was a little loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charcuterie plate is out of this world

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Charcuterie plate is out of this world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

GET THE KALE. I'm usually hate food like ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

GET THE KALE. I'm usually hate food like that; however, these kale chips were amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a sure bet for a nice meal whethe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a sure bet for a nice meal whether I sit at the bar by myself or am with business associates at a table. Love the pizza for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was abominable. The waiter ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was abominable. The waiter did occasionally come back to our table to apologize because "they had a couple of large tables come in". That was no excuse for his lack of attention to our table - even if he was not bringing food or even offering drinks - he could have showed us some attention!! This was a week night - the restaurant was not full and I had made reservations for 7. I have been to Domenica's many times - I am local and recommend it frequently. I won't for a while now. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had reservations so no wait. All of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had reservations so no wait. All of us had pizza and it was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We recently moved from Naples, Italy and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We recently moved from Naples, Italy and we missing the traditional Neapolitan pizza and were very happy to have found this gem. Perfetto! the homemade limoncello was awesome too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Awful service. Reservation was for 6:45 ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awful service. Reservation was for 6:45 and we were not greeted by our server for 20 mins (we were actually getting up to leave when she got to our table). We then realized she was drunk. Yes. Our server was drunk. She had to come back 3 times to ask what bottle of wine we wanted as she kept forgetting. Finally when she did bring our wine we poured our own. Very bizarre experience. Will not be back to spend $300 on awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Wonderful place to eat when visiting NOL ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful place to eat when visiting NOLA. Food was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food in a great location. Friendly ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good food in a great location. Friendly but high end. Will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific service and atmosphere. A bit n ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Terrific service and atmosphere. A bit noisy, but not bad. We had the cheese and salumi plate for an app, which was excellent. The salumi is house made, as were the accoutrements that came with it - pickled veg, etc. Also got the roasted cauliflower, which was huge - a whole head. Margherita pizza was delish, the pork chop was absolutely wow! We got the spaghetti cacio e pepe, which was a bit too peppery and not creamy, so it missed the mark a bit, but still good. Overall a very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When you walk through the doors of Domen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

When you walk through the doors of Domenica the smell is amazing and you know you are in for a treat. Our waitress and her assist staff were all great and very friendly and offered good advice throughout our meal. Even if you don't plan to have pizza as your meal, definitely have it as an appetizer. The Margerita pizza was awesome! I had the tagliatelle with rabbit and porcini mushroom ragu and my wife ordered the snapper dish. Both were excellent!

It was not our first time coming here and will definitely not be our last. I recommend this place to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Cheers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been many times & never disappointe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I've been many times & never disappointed; great staff as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.