About Domenica

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Domenica
Domenica
Domenica
Wild Mushroom Pizza
Prosciutto Pizza
Smoked Pork Pizza
Bread
Gorgonzola Pizza
Banana Zuppa Inglese: banana cake, bananas, cream cotta mousse, & peanut brittle
Lasagna Bolognese
Roasted Carrot Pizza
Squid Ink Tagliolini Blue Crab
white pizza
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Feta Goat Cheese
Squid Ink Tagliolini With Blue Crab
Fried Tuscan Kale lemon & parmigiano reggiano
Taglatelle With Rabbit And Porcini
Margherita Pizza
Rigatoni
Root Vegetable Pizza
Lemoncello, Herbcentcello, Butternut Squash Cello, Bloody Mary Cello
Fusilli Basil Pesto
Fusilli With Shrimp And Celery
Roasted Cauliflower & Half/Half Pizza
Wild Mushroom Pizza tomato, fontina, sweet onions, bacon & yard egg
Gianduja Budino
Quattro Formaggi Pizza
Fried Kale
Squid Ink Pasta With Blue Crab
Smoked Pork And Enzo Pizza
Pomegranate Belini
Tutto Carne
Bread And Spicy Olive Oil
charcuterie
Tagliatelle With Rabbit Ragu
Crispy Kale Salad
Octopus Carpaccio
Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookie
Fennel Sausage And Ricotta Pizza
Salumi And Formaggio Board
Wild Mushroom And Fig Pizza
Fig Pizza
Oxtail Arancini
Duck Pizza
Pizza Tutto Carne
Squid Ink Tagliolini W/ Blue Crab & Herbs
Wood Roasted Goat
King Cake
cheese pizza
Carry Me Away
Hedgehog Mushrooms With Marrow Butter
Lasagne Bolognese
Pepperoni Pizza
Chocolate Cookies
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Goat Feta (Not Pictured)
Roasted Eggplant With Goat Cheese
Burrata Mozzarella
Cotechino Pizza
Bread And Olive Oil
Squash Blossoms
Gorgonzola Pizze With Peaches, Speck, Pecans
roasted cauliflower
Roasted Carrot Pizze
Adami Prosecco
Bolzano Pizza
Affettati Misti
Cumin-infused Whipped Feta
Bolzano Pizze
Chocolate Espresso Cookies
Brussel Sprouts With Guanciale
Salumi & Formaggi
Squid Ink Taglionini Wirh Blue Crab And Herbs
Fruit Marmellate
Nola Brown Ale
Pizza
Pizza Calabrese
Almond Semifreddo
Tortellini With Sweet Potatoes And Hazelnut Brown Butter
Porchetta Panini
Spinach Pizza
Charcuterie plate
Lamb Raviloi With Brown Butter, Pancetta And Sage
Prosciutto Cakes
Peach Bellini
Roasted Chicken Panini
Egg Nog
wood roasted pear cobbler
Duck Paté
Salumi
Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Feta
Mint Mojito
Cookie
Spicy Lamb Meatball Pizza
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Molasses Glazed Pork Belly Salad
Anolini "Little Rings" Stuffed With Pork, Tomato And Basil
Gnocchi
Tutto Pizza
Garganelli
Hanukkah Dinner

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Italian
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (218)
good for groups (147)
special occasion (132)
See All
hot spot (127)
great for lunch (97)
notable wine list (80)
romantic (71)
neighborhood gem (66)
vibrant bar scene (44)
kid-friendly (37)
late-night find (34)
great for brunch (25)
scenic view (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We recently moved from Naples, Italy and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

We recently moved from Naples, Italy and we missing the traditional Neapolitan pizza and were very happy to have found this gem. Perfetto! the homemade limoncello was awesome too.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Awful service. Reservation was for 6:45 ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awful service. Reservation was for 6:45 and we were not greeted by our server for 20 mins (we were actually getting up to leave when she got to our table). We then realized she was drunk. Yes. Our server was drunk. She had to come back 3 times to ask what bottle of wine we wanted as she kept forgetting. Finally when she did bring our wine we poured our own. Very bizarre experience. Will not be back to spend $300 on awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Wonderful place to eat when visiting NOL ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful place to eat when visiting NOLA. Food was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food in a great location. Friendly ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food in a great location. Friendly but high end. Will return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific service and atmosphere. A bit n ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific service and atmosphere. A bit noisy, but not bad. We had the cheese and salumi plate for an app, which was excellent. The salumi is house made, as were the accoutrements that came with it - pickled veg, etc. Also got the roasted cauliflower, which was huge - a whole head. Margherita pizza was delish, the pork chop was absolutely wow! We got the spaghetti cacio e pepe, which was a bit too peppery and not creamy, so it missed the mark a bit, but still good. Overall a very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When you walk through the doors of Domen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

When you walk through the doors of Domenica the smell is amazing and you know you are in for a treat. Our waitress and her assist staff were all great and very friendly and offered good advice throughout our meal. Even if you don't plan to have pizza as your meal, definitely have it as an appetizer. The Margerita pizza was awesome! I had the tagliatelle with rabbit and porcini mushroom ragu and my wife ordered the snapper dish. Both were excellent!

It was not our first time coming here and will definitely not be our last. I recommend this place to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried kale is to die for. I'm not a heal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fried kale is to die for. I'm not a healthy eater and was reluctant to try but sure glad I did. I will definitely get it again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend Domenica. I too ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

I would highly recommend Domenica. I took my husband out for his birthday and neither of us had been before. From the moment we arrived, we were very impressed with the ambiance, the service, the food... everything. I chose Domenica because it was more attractive for a "date night". The decor is dark and sultry compared to most restaurants. We got the cauliflower for an app and it was DELICIOUS! As a matter of fact, everything we ordered was delicious. Would highly recommend the lasagna (even for a picky eater like me, it was perfect) as well as the pork chop (which was served with peaches this season).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service was a little slow, b ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food. Service was a little slow, but everyone was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Me and my girlfriends visited NOLA recen ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Me and my girlfriends visited NOLA recently for a girls trip. We heard about Domenica and their delicious pizza so we decided to give it a try. This place is a gem! Great food, great location and the ambiance is really cool. We ordered their famous roasted cauliflower and whipped feta cheese appetizer for the table. It was FAB! Their pizzas and pastas are delicious as well. I will definitely go back to Domenica when I visit NOLA in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loud fun place! Steak wasn't very good. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loud fun place! Steak wasn't very good. Roasted cauliflower was great. Caesar salad was great. Pork chop was delicious but full of fat. I dined here twice. One waiter was ok but the other was slow. Drinks and wine were good. I think it's a good place but maybe a little too busy and quality is suffering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The pasta dish tasted like none I've eve ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The pasta dish tasted like none I've ever experienced. It was amazing, as was the pizza.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edible, but not nearly as good as the la ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Edible, but not nearly as good as the last time we dined here. Our server was surly, once she finally arrived to take our order. The menu didn't offer many fresh-vegetable options (which might have been the case the last time, but we forgot that). Our pizza was cooled, therefore pretty tough, by the time our server finally delivered it to our table. One advantage: if you're staying in the Roosevelt Hotel, it IS convenient to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dined Juky 17th, just a short walk acros ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Dined Juky 17th, just a short walk across from the French Quarter. Very hip atmosphere, food was excellent, service A+. Charcuterie board was excellent. One of top picks in NOLA.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Exceptional service and outstanding food ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Exceptional service and outstanding food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed. Normally so good, but the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointed. Normally so good, but the chicken was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great happy hour.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was lively! As soon as we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The atmosphere was lively! As soon as we walked in, we noticed everyone enjoying themselves. The menu was simple, yet included a wide variety of options. We ordered a meat/cheese plate, salad, pizza and lasagna. Every bite was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The roasted cauliflower, stracci, and t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The roasted cauliflower, stracci, and the pizza with the yard egg were awesome! Our waitress Alexis was the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt a little rushed by our server. O ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We felt a little rushed by our server. Once we ordered a bottle of wine, our service slowed a bit. Very enjoyable. Would most definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meh...found was not very flavorful. Half ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Meh...found was not very flavorful. Half price pizzas during happy hour. The roasted cauliflower was tasty but not worth $30.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and excellent service. I'm n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food and excellent service. I'm not a kale lover, but I highly recommend the kale appetizer. John Besh is a magician with food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best pizza and pasta you'll e ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Simply the best pizza and pasta you'll eat. Variety of delicious appetizers. Drinks are overpriced, but that's to be expected in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Domenica was my Italian Grandmother's na ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Domenica was my Italian Grandmother's name, so I just had to try this restaurant! Delighted! When I told the staff this, they brought me a menu to take home to my 91 year old Italian Mother so she could see the featured culinary offerings. Open table made it so easy to book a table for two. The staff is friendly, informative and while being very busy, still take pride in their work. After working in NOLA for 5 days, it was a welcomed location offering a variety of options which didn't include cornmeal, powdered sugar, fried bread, and lots of Cajun hot sauce. The wine list is extensive, and the coffee drinks wonderful. It is, however, somewhat noisy with a lot of activity. Ciao Bella!

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Domenica was a recommendation from a co- ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Domenica was a recommendation from a co-worker of mine. First night we ate there, we were thoroughly impressed. So much so, we ate there all four days of our visit to New Orleans. Fantastic flavors ooze from their food. We will be back when in New Orleans again. We were VERY PLEASED!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great change of pace near French Quarter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great change of pace near French Quarter. Not a traditional New Orleans restaurant. Interesting Italian restaurant - but not typical. I love the charcuterie platter. Definitely reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Note the portions are smaller - but great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was great until we had a long ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Everything was great until we had a long hair in our dessert! They took it off the bill but certainly put a damper on what had been a fabulous dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love almost everything about this rest ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I love almost everything about this restaurant - except for being rushed):

My husband and I love to begin with their great vino and take our time talking and unwinding....next - some appetizers - then 2 or more entrees to share (one always includes their GREAT pizza - the real thing!:). Then to coffee and desert!! Everything excellent!

I'd just like a little uninterrupted time during vino time----I feel I'm holding everyone up!!

Everything - and I mean EVERYTHING is EXCELLENT!!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

As always my place to go for a snack, lu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always my place to go for a snack, lunch or dinner the best wood fired pizza in the state. I have eaten here probably 60-70 times. I have had the luck to have tried Wood Fired allover the States and Europe, this stacks up with the best. For you out of state visitors who want to get away from Cajun and try local ingredients you snooze you lose not giving Dominica's a chance.

It is also in a architecturally beautiful Hotel and building .

My family and I enjoy every time Sunday was great for Fathers Day and don't miss happy hour!

Buon Appetito.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service and food were amazing, would def ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food were amazing, would definitely go there again!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roasted cauliflower is ridiculously good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Roasted cauliflower is ridiculously good. I mean, seriously. As is the Burrata Mozzarella. And all of the pizzas. Delicious spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i could eat a gallon of the squid ink pa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

i could eat a gallon of the squid ink pasta with crab meat - delicious! i would eat pretty much anything alon shaya tries to feed me, and there's a lot to choose from on the menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorites!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good as was the service. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food was really good as was the service. Tutti Carne pizza was great. Endive salad was really good and desserts were good also. We had vanilla bean gelato and cake with brown sugar topping. The location is very near the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans, making dinner and theatre combo work out well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This beautiful, elegant restaurant in th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This beautiful, elegant restaurant in the Roosevelt Hotel is perfect location for our dinner before a play at the Saenger. We've been here before and enjoyed it. This time wasn't their best, with service a little slow even after telling our waitress we were going to a play and had limited time. We shared two appetizers and the pasta with rabbit. The beer was served slightly chilled rather than ice cold, perhaps in a European method, so I had to add ice. Overall, I'll be back, but I'm in no hurry with all the great restaurants competing for my money.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was delicious as always. You can be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious as always. You can beat their happy hour or 50% off pizza and beer! Service this visit was pretty bad though. At least the food came out great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great ambiance and service. Love the piz ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great ambiance and service. Love the pizzas and cocktails!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lively atmosphere. Had Tutto Carne ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great lively atmosphere. Had Tutto Carne (pizza with meats) which was delicious. The crust was perfection. Great beer/wine selection. Make reservations - they are always packed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

just great experience, very good value. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

just great experience, very good value. I did have to search menu for something i really wanted to eat

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was outstanding. ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything we ordered was outstanding. I had the rigatoni and my friend had the lasagna Bolognese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.