About Domenica

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Domenica
Domenica
Domenica
Wild Mushroom Pizza
Prosciutto Pizza
Smoked Pork Pizza
Bread
Gorgonzola Pizza
Banana Zuppa Inglese: banana cake, bananas, cream cotta mousse, & peanut brittle
Lasagna Bolognese
Squid Ink Tagliolini Blue Crab
Roasted Carrot Pizza
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Feta Goat Cheese
white pizza
Fried Tuscan Kale lemon & parmigiano reggiano
Squid Ink Tagliolini With Blue Crab
Margherita Pizza
Taglatelle With Rabbit And Porcini
Rigatoni
Root Vegetable Pizza
Lemoncello, Herbcentcello, Butternut Squash Cello, Bloody Mary Cello
Fusilli With Shrimp And Celery
Fusilli Basil Pesto
Roasted Cauliflower & Half/Half Pizza
Wild Mushroom Pizza tomato, fontina, sweet onions, bacon & yard egg
Gianduja Budino
Quattro Formaggi Pizza
Fried Kale
Squid Ink Pasta With Blue Crab
Pomegranate Belini
Smoked Pork And Enzo Pizza
Tutto Carne
Bread And Spicy Olive Oil
Tagliatelle With Rabbit Ragu
charcuterie
Crispy Kale Salad
Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookie
Fennel Sausage And Ricotta Pizza
Octopus Carpaccio
Salumi And Formaggio Board
Wild Mushroom And Fig Pizza
Fig Pizza
Oxtail Arancini
Duck Pizza
Pizza Tutto Carne
Squid Ink Tagliolini W/ Blue Crab & Herbs
Wood Roasted Goat
King Cake
cheese pizza
Carry Me Away
Hedgehog Mushrooms With Marrow Butter
Lasagne Bolognese
Pepperoni Pizza
Chocolate Cookies
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Goat Feta (Not Pictured)
Roasted Eggplant With Goat Cheese
Burrata Mozzarella
Cotechino Pizza
Bread And Olive Oil
Squash Blossoms
Gorgonzola Pizze With Peaches, Speck, Pecans
roasted cauliflower
Roasted Carrot Pizze
Adami Prosecco
Bolzano Pizza
Affettati Misti
Cumin-infused Whipped Feta
Bolzano Pizze
Chocolate Espresso Cookies
Brussel Sprouts With Guanciale
Salumi & Formaggi
Squid Ink Taglionini Wirh Blue Crab And Herbs
Fruit Marmellate
Nola Brown Ale
Pizza
Pizza Calabrese
Almond Semifreddo
Tortellini With Sweet Potatoes And Hazelnut Brown Butter
Porchetta Panini
Spinach Pizza
Charcuterie plate
Lamb Raviloi With Brown Butter, Pancetta And Sage
Prosciutto Cakes
Peach Bellini
Roasted Chicken Panini
Egg Nog
wood roasted pear cobbler
Duck Paté
Salumi
Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Feta
Mint Mojito
Cookie
Spicy Lamb Meatball Pizza
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Molasses Glazed Pork Belly Salad
Anolini "Little Rings" Stuffed With Pork, Tomato And Basil
Gnocchi
Tutto Pizza
Garganelli
Hanukkah Dinner

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Italian
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (252)
good for groups (168)
hot spot (140)
See All
special occasion (136)
great for lunch (118)
notable wine list (88)
neighborhood gem (74)
romantic (72)
vibrant bar scene (51)
late-night find (43)
kid-friendly (39)
great for brunch (29)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The roasted cauliflower, stracci, and t ...

Dined 4 days ago

The roasted cauliflower, stracci, and the pizza with the yard egg were awesome! Our waitress Alexis was the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We felt a little rushed by our server. O ...

Dined 4 days ago

We felt a little rushed by our server. Once we ordered a bottle of wine, our service slowed a bit. Very enjoyable. Would most definitely dine there again.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Meh...found was not very flavorful. Half ...

Dined 5 days ago

Meh...found was not very flavorful. Half price pizzas during happy hour. The roasted cauliflower was tasty but not worth $30.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. I'm n ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food and excellent service. I'm not a kale lover, but I highly recommend the kale appetizer. John Besh is a magician with food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply the best pizza and pasta you'll e ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Simply the best pizza and pasta you'll eat. Variety of delicious appetizers. Drinks are overpriced, but that's to be expected in NOLA.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Domenica was my Italian Grandmother's na ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Domenica was my Italian Grandmother's name, so I just had to try this restaurant! Delighted! When I told the staff this, they brought me a menu to take home to my 91 year old Italian Mother so she could see the featured culinary offerings. Open table made it so easy to book a table for two. The staff is friendly, informative and while being very busy, still take pride in their work. After working in NOLA for 5 days, it was a welcomed location offering a variety of options which didn't include cornmeal, powdered sugar, fried bread, and lots of Cajun hot sauce. The wine list is extensive, and the coffee drinks wonderful. It is, however, somewhat noisy with a lot of activity. Ciao Bella!

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great until we had a long ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Everything was great until we had a long hair in our dessert! They took it off the bill but certainly put a damper on what had been a fabulous dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I love almost everything about this rest ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I love almost everything about this restaurant - except for being rushed): My husband and I love to begin with their great vino and take our time talking and unwinding....next - some appetizers - then 2 or more entrees to share (one always includes their GREAT pizza - the real thing!:). Then to coffee and desert!! Everything excellent! I'd just like a little uninterrupted time during vino time----I feel I'm holding everyone up!! Everything - and I mean EVERYTHING is EXCELLENT!!

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always my place to go for a snack, lu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always my place to go for a snack, lunch or dinner the best wood fired pizza in the state. I have eaten here probably 60-70 times. I have had the luck to have tried Wood Fired allover the States and Europe, this stacks up with the best. For you out of state visitors who want to get away from Cajun and try local ingredients you snooze you lose not giving Dominica's a chance. It is also in a architecturally beautiful Hotel and building . My family and I enjoy every time Sunday was great for Fathers Day and don't miss happy hour! Buon Appetito.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food were amazing, would def ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food were amazing, would definitely go there again!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Roasted cauliflower is ridiculously good ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Roasted cauliflower is ridiculously good. I mean, seriously. As is the Burrata Mozzarella. And all of the pizzas. Delicious spot!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

i could eat a gallon of the squid ink pa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

i could eat a gallon of the squid ink pasta with crab meat - delicious! i would eat pretty much anything alon shaya tries to feed me, and there's a lot to choose from on the menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites!

Dined on June 15, 2016

One of our favorites!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was really good as was the service. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food was really good as was the service. Tutti Carne pizza was great. Endive salad was really good and desserts were good also. We had vanilla bean gelato and cake with brown sugar topping. The location is very near the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans, making dinner and theatre combo work out well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This beautiful, elegant restaurant in th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This beautiful, elegant restaurant in the Roosevelt Hotel is perfect location for our dinner before a play at the Saenger. We've been here before and enjoyed it. This time wasn't their best, with service a little slow even after telling our waitress we were going to a play and had limited time. We shared two appetizers and the pasta with rabbit. The beer was served slightly chilled rather than ice cold, perhaps in a European method, so I had to add ice. Overall, I'll be back, but I'm in no hurry with all the great restaurants competing for my money.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Food was delicious as always. You can be ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious as always. You can beat their happy hour or 50% off pizza and beer! Service this visit was pretty bad though. At least the food came out great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and service. Love the piz ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great ambiance and service. Love the pizzas and cocktails!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great lively atmosphere. Had Tutto Carne ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great lively atmosphere. Had Tutto Carne (pizza with meats) which was delicious. The crust was perfection. Great beer/wine selection. Make reservations - they are always packed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

just great experience, very good value. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

just great experience, very good value. I did have to search menu for something i really wanted to eat

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was outstanding. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything we ordered was outstanding. I had the rigatoni and my friend had the lasagna Bolognese.

food2
ambience1
service5
value3

I did not think the food was great. The ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I did not think the food was great. The menu was hard to interpret. The noise level was too, too loud.

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We had great service but for that high o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had great service but for that high of a price, none of us thought the food was that wonderful. It was very loud and hard to hear each other.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. I recommend the ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was excellent. I recommend the Roasted cauliflower w/ whipped feta cheese dip as an app. It was amazing. I had the Lasagna and it was hot and delicious. Service was great, great modern type decor. Will do again on new trip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 3rd time we have eaten at Do ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the 3rd time we have eaten at Domenica's and as always we are never disappointed. It is an awesome restaurant with awesome food!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restis in NOLA. The s ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

One of my favorite restis in NOLA. The staff, ambiance, and of course, the food, are all outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection. We started with t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great wine selection. We started with the octopus appetizer it was nice and light and the mozzarella appetizer. Our table of six ordered: snapper, chicken, bistecca, pizza, pasta, and the Aqua Pazza! All dishes were fantastic!!! Service was great!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good authentic ITALIAN fare

Dined on June 10, 2016

Having just spent time in Italy, we decided to celebrate our anniversary at Domenica. Food is very authentic, a tad salty, but very good and a good value. Wine was lovely, service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

The roasted cauliflower is overhyped, t ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The roasted cauliflower is overhyped, try the fried kale instead. The restaurant is extremely noisy.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The cauliflower is always my favorite, b ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The cauliflower is always my favorite, but this time it was way undercooked. We sent it back and even the second one was undercooked and sub-par. I hope they aren't trying to rush things to mass produce this dish, and lowering quality as a result! Go to Pizza Domenica instead.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent spot

Dined on June 6, 2016

Lively with great atmosphere an attentive service. Definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the tasting menu along with wines. E ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Had the tasting menu along with wines. Everything was excellent. One of the wines for the tasting was out of stock so they choose another alternative. They also comped some dishes for that reason. Lovely!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding. The best pizza! ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is outstanding. The best pizza! Really the best. And service is just amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful pre theater dinner with outsta ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Wonderful pre theater dinner with outstanding service from Todd who was spot on with his recommendations especially since we had our 11 and 13 year old with us who were unsure what to order. We had the Lasagna ,pizza and kale salad and all three dishes were outstanding. We will definitely be back especially for the Lasagna

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect from Start to Finish!!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our party of 5 included 2 adults and 3 little girls. We were headed to see Wicked and made reservations here for an early dinner. We had not tried Domenica before, though we had heard wonderful reviews and knew it was an Alon Shaya/Besh offering. It did not disappoint! Our server was Annie and she was a gem! She made sure we knew about 1/2 price specials, took great care of the adults and children and could not have been sweeter. And the food...omg the food. The prosciutto and arugula pizza, cauliflower, and squid ink pasta are ahhhhhhmazing. We cannot wait to go back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried kale and fried cauliflower wer ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The fried kale and fried cauliflower were some of the best appetizers I have ever eaten. Our server was incredibly attentive and knew we were on a tight timeframe and got us out in time for our next meeting

food3
ambience4
service4

I have enjoyed Domenica over the years, ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I have enjoyed Domenica over the years, but the steady increase in prices means I won't be returning. My favorite appetizer, the roasted cauliflower, is now $20! The food is solid but not amazing. My entree pasta was around $25 and this round came out lukewarm and the proportion is small. The service is typical Besh Group - lackluster at best. (The one exception in the city is August.) I have enjoyed the consistent food, ambiance, and price point, but now, it's just not worth it. Too many wonderful restaurants in this city to settle for expensively average.

food2
ambience4
service4

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times and had a decent experience each time. I guess every restaurant has an off day. Why do chefs have a love affair with salt?

food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Overpriced and Overated

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

This was my first and last visit . I had reversed a table for 1 and still had to wait 18 mins the restaurant was busy so I ordered a salad with Quail eggs and was told sorry we are fresh out of quail eggs , no alternatives offered or an adjustment in proce as a key ingredient and most expensive item was missing ..however after 22mins the the salad arrived With quail eggs! The salad was very nice then another extended wait for my Pasta dish the quality was excellent but the portion was minuscule ...it was designed to make a really low food cost of sales based on the $30 for Pasta and two minuscule springs of broccoli ! I am a senior hotel professional experienced in all aspects of hotel and restaurant operations this restaurant needs to focus on the fundamentals - great food, reasonable portion size and exceptional service A celebrity chef name might get a customer to visit once ..but if it does not live up to the name or reputation they will not return (!) I was asked by a couple of friends who recommended this restaurant how was my experience now they will think twice before reccomending this restaurant again - one is The General Manager of a large hotel in New Orleans !

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor Service ruins even the best food!

Dined on May 30, 2016

READ THE REVIEWS, I DIDN'T! Very loud, Hostess desk staffed with too cool to move ladies. Poor Service-15 minutes to be recognized at table/wife got drink and 8 minutes later I received my iced tea without a spoon or sugar/5 minutes more spoon no sugar/ it just goes on and on. Food was good. Dessert terrible. Compared to other John B Restaurants this is a train wreck

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Italian

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I had the best lasagna i'd ever ordered and my husband couldn't stop raving over his dish! the space is rather large and oddly lit, but we had a great late night bite and would go back in a heartbeat! highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.