About Domenica

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Italian
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

fit for foodies (240)
good for groups (154)
hot spot (132)
See All
special occasion (116)
great for lunch (113)
notable wine list (84)
neighborhood gem (73)
romantic (63)
vibrant bar scene (44)
late-night find (34)
kid-friendly (33)
great for brunch (28)
scenic view (11)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2939 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was good, way overpriced

Dined 3 days ago

Everything we ordered was delicious but the portions were tiny & the prices way too high. Our server was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Pizza!

Dined 3 days ago

I dined here while on vacation in New Orleans and I was not disappointed. It's located inside of the iconic Roosevelt Hotel, but it has a much more laid back vibe than the hotel itself. We ordered a charcuterie board and split the calabrese pizza, which was perfectly spicy! The service was great; our waiter suggested a wine wine for me and a beer for my fiance and they were both delicious. I will definitely be going back to Domenica the next time I'm in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, wonderful atmosphere! Best pizza in the city! Great energy at this vibrant restaurant Sat by the window and watched guest arrive for a wedding across the street, as well as tourist enjoy the city!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

What a treat from the Besh family of res ...

Dined 5 days ago

What a treat from the Besh family of restaurants. Simply outstanding food, served up by an engaging waiter right out of central casting for the Sopranos (though he claimed, in what distinctly sounded like a Brooklyn accent, to be NOLA raised). A few particular raves go out to the fried kale, which my wife ordered and which I claimed I would have no part of. I ended up eating half of it. I've never had anything like it, and I can't even describe it a few days later. The black ink squid pasta was perhaps the most interesting flavored, perfectly al dente pasta I have ever eaten. Exquisite. The prosciutto pizza. Wonderful. The local beers and Italian wine. Perfect matches. The only flat spot was a pedestrian flank steak that had no discernable flavor, poor texture, served over a messy melange of overcooked vegetables. It didn't belong on this otherwise sublime menu. Highly, highly recommended, otherwise.

food5
ambience4
service4

Always a great meal and excellent servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always a great meal and excellent service. The best Happy Hour in town.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If we picked Domenica as out last dinner ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

If we picked Domenica as out last dinner in Nola ...celebrating 5 fantastic years in New Orleans , you know it's good. The buratta with mint pea pesto is divine. I have to say I can never look past the rabbit ragu pasta, fenominal ! The deserts are worth trying to sane room for if you can.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food. Exceptional cocktails. G ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food. Exceptional cocktails. Great wine list. Great service. Poor acoustics for a business conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for dinner or a late night d ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great place for dinner or a late night drink/snack!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best in New Orleans

Dined on May 17, 2016

Best in New Orleans

food3
ambience3
service3

Great place for pizza and drinks. Very l ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great place for pizza and drinks. Very loud

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 17, 2016

We weren't sure about restaurant inside hotel but this was great! We just got into Nola and wanted something casual . Roasted Brussels sprouts appetizer was huge and delicious!!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

everything was outstanding as usual. i ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

everything was outstanding as usual. i take all my friends that visit here to experience Domenica...great job as always

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Casual Dining!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Don't let the crowded, noisy setting fool you. It may not be ideal for a romantic date or special occasion, but the the food was very good. The fried tuscan kale salad was possibly one of the best salads Ive had (Im sure "fried" has something to do with that) and the thin crust pizzas were light and delicious. A friend and I shared a pizza 1/2 Asparago 1/2 Calabrese - both halves were excellent. Service was average, but it was a busy night and all the wait staff were doing their best. I highly recommend starting the evening in the nearby Sazerac Room with a classic cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Happy Hour is great, but if you miss it ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Happy Hour is great, but if you miss it and still want an inexpensive meal, the pizza is delicious.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Expected Domenica to live up to it's high standards but the service was slow - waitstaff disappeared a number of times and the food - especially the pizza - was warm not hot. Add that Tia very looking mean because of slow service and it was very disappointing. Hopefully just an off night but I can't recommend it to friends anymore.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Didn't live up to its reputation

Dined on May 15, 2016

In brief, our expectations were not met. We'd heard the food was top notch and discovered that some of it is, but much of it isn't. The first night we went we tried the lasagna, which we'd read was among the best italian dishes in the country, and also had the squid ink pasta/seafood entree. The lasagna turned out to be swimming in grease and was not to our liking. The squid ink pasta was laughably small for $24, greasy, unseasoned, and largely tasteless. However, we'd also seen some pizzas delivered our first night and decided to give Domenica's another shot a couple of nights later -- for the pizza this time. We had the clam and the margherita pizzas and both turned out to be wonderful. So, a mixed bag in our opinion. We spent a week in New Orleans and had several meals and experiences that were far superior. Notably, we'll not soon forget our first meal at Emeril's -- best-in-class service and incredible food throughout.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious and came out in an ap ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious and came out in an appropriate time range. Only issue was that our early dinner was a little loud!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Never felt rushed ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Never felt rushed. We were able to relax and really enjoy ourselves. We arrived early for our reservations and were seated immediately. Our drinks and Margerhita pizza appetizer came out quickly. Our dinners came out soon after. We had the Lasagne Bolognese and the Garganelli. The Lasagne was excellent but a bit greasy. Despite that I ate almost the entire very generous portion. The Garganelli was out of this world. Although the menu describes it as creamy, I thought it was subtly creamy and sophisticated. The pizza tasted delicious. They definitely use the finest mozzarella and the sauce was very good. My only complaint is that it was not crispy. Our server recommend and selected an excellent wine based on what I told her I liked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Unique food

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Pizza is really unique and consistently good. If you like the vegetable, the cauliflower I think is one of the best veggie dishes in town. Casual atmosphere.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Nice evening but Too Noisy!

Dined on May 11, 2016

The customers didn't look like they were there for the music/bar scene and yet the thumping bass and loud music helped to overshadow what is a nice restaurant. Great service! Good dishes but be careful as the chef is heavy on the salt. My oxtail ragu and chicken liver dish was so salty that it lingered in the back of my throat right through dessert! Best part of the meal was the cheese and cappo apps.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

I came here with a group of girls for a ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I came here with a group of girls for a special occasion. We were from out of town and I recommended we dine here. Everything tasted amazing, all the ingredients were very fresh and carefully crafted. However, the service was not the best. Our server wasn't the most pleasant and despite the amazing food, I probably won't be returning here next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great happy hour specials on pizza and d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great happy hour specials on pizza and drinks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Absolutely outstanding find! The menu was really fun and exotic, but not scary. Everything was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best lasagna we've ever had!

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Many visits

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have been to Domenica many times, usually as our "first night" back in the City. We usually get pizza or something light, so we are not the best to give a review of their overall menu, but the pizzas are very tasty and several desserts are great. If I could change one thing it would be to have some U.S. wines that are less expensive than many on their list. Their wine selection is, overall, very pricey, and does not offer the variety of pricing that their entrees do.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic! Fried Tuscan Kale r ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was fantastic! Fried Tuscan Kale recommended by our server Todd was absolutely delicious. My husband had the pork shoulder and I had the lasagna, both wonderful

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Hope it was just a fluke...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Went there with some co-workers for my birthday lunch, and the waitress was kind of rude and snippy. The appetizer (roasted cauliflower) was delicious as it always is, but it was brought out mere minutes before our pizzas (which were also delicious), leaving us no time to enjoy the appetizer. When the "assistant" waiter was clearing the table, we assumed that he was taking the food to box it for us, but we later found out that he just threw it away, without even offering for us to take it home. Because it was my birthday, the girls wanted to split the check, and the waitress was very rude about it, and gave the impression that they/ we were just wasting her time. At no point was dessert offered to us, or were we offered second/ additional drinks. The service was very disappointing, but thankfully the food was amazing, as it always is. I can say this was my first bad experience there, but the girls I was with told me that their service is always lousy there.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Customer

Dined on May 3, 2016

When my husband told me he was headed to NOLA for a conference, I knew two things: 1) I was definitely going with him; and 2) I would eat at as many John Besh restaurants as I could while I was in New Orleans. Domenica was one of my favorite dining experiences. I would have never tried the fried kale on my own but it was really tasty. The garganelli was absolutely delicious and the lasagne might be the best I've had outside of Italy. We didn't have room for dessert but I wish we had!!! Domenica is on my list of "must eats" the next time I find myself in New Orleans!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was OK

Dined on May 2, 2016

Two of us came to Domenica with a last minute reservation. We went in about 15 minutes early and were seated right away. We really wanted the whole cauliflower, but since there were only 2 of us, we didn't get it. Wish they had a half order option. We split the arugula salad and a pizza. Interesting pricing. A head of cauliflower is $20.00 (pricy!) and the pizza (which was quite large) was only $15.00. Anyway...the waitress seemed to have a bit of an attitude from the beginning. The salad and wine came out fine. We waited and waited for the pizza and noticed a table that came in after us got theirs. We asked the waitress and she said "I'm sure it will be out shortly" - no, let me check or anything like that. We waited some more. We asked again. She said again - I'm sure it will be out shortly. We asked her to check. She came back and said "Chef wasn't happy with the way your pizza came out so he discarded it and is making another". Um....or you forgot to put in our order? Or it got lost somehow? Anyway...within 5 minutes the manager came out with our pizza. We noticed it looked kind of pale with no char like the ones we'd seen served to others. It was kind of soggy in the middle. The manager stopped by to see how everything was and we said the pizza was good but seemed undercooked. He said since we'd waited so long, he would take it off our bill. We thought that was really nice of him since we hadn't asked. So..all in all, we were disappointed with the food, but would go back again, maybe with a bigger group so we can try the cauliflower and some other things on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a terrific meal

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We go to Domenica every year when we visit New Orleans for Jazz Fest. We are NEVER disappointed. The food is amazing and the service is always attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Italian Restaurant

Dined on May 2, 2016

All my favorites like Burrata, Tiramisu, many pastas all tasty.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're undecided on a place to go and ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

If you're undecided on a place to go and happened upon Domenica, hurry up and book! Everything about this place is amazing! As if we expected anything less from John Besh!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Two Visits to Domenica

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I had two dining experiences at Domenica: late lunch during happy hour; and evening dinner. Food was excellent at both (try the fried kale- delicious!). Our food, not just drinks, were half- price during happy hour, and not the usual fried fare- everything on the menu was included, so we had a pizza- again, delicious! We especially appreciated the ambience and the clean surroundings (often missing in New Orleans). Noise level was not bad either meal. Service was consistently excellent. Wine and beer lists were more than adequate. Menu is not pages and pages long, and there were plenty of entrees we were happy to choose from.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

High Energy and Unique Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is really a happening place with lots of energy, good food and plenty of "artsy" decor and unique "rustic Italian" cuisine. Not a place for a quiet romantic dinner but if you are looking for a unique dining experience in the Big Easy that is nestled in the historic Roosevelt Hotel a mere two blocks from the Veaux Carrie, then give this place a try! By the way, Open Table is amazing. There was a 90 minute wait if you just showed up but Open Table got us a reservation right away with no waiting!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid dining experience, but ....

Dined on April 30, 2016

I think I was expecting too much. Or maybe it's because I live in a town with an abundance of Italian dining choices, from traditional "red sauce" places to more edgy and creative takes on Italian food, but I found Domenica solid and unexciting. The room is finished nicely and has a lot of energy, the service was casual but perfectly acceptable, and the food a solid 8 I guess. But its hard to get excited when the star of the menu is a roasted head of cauliflower with a (very tasty) feta dipping sauce. Sure it was good, and I saw it on at least 1/3 of the tables, but it's, well, it's a head of cauliflower. I had read that the lasagna was fantastic, so ordered that. And it was good. But not memorable, baked pasta in an individual serve dish. My date's pasta with squid ink was very good, and more interesting than the lasagna. I'd go there if I lived in NOLA after work for pizza, or for a casual dinner because it does everything well. I think that NOLA visitors who don't have good Italian at home will be happy, otherwise there are more interesting choices in this great food city.

food5
ambience4
service5

The Kale appetizer was the best food I h ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The Kale appetizer was the best food I had all week! Our server was top notch. He gave us a chamomile grappe during desert and it really capped off our evening!

food5
ambience4
service5

Loved this spot! Great food and wine lis ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Loved this spot! Great food and wine list (every wine is from a different region in Italy). I had the lasagna which was to die for and a started side salad- also very good. Our waitress was sweet and very helpful. Also convenient location as we went right to the sazerac bar after dinner.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Neighborhood find

Dined on April 29, 2016

Know for good pizza, however we saw an episode on the food network about this being the #1 Italian restaurant in America. ( My choice would be one in Astoria, NYC). However the lasagna was their famous dish, which my husband ordered. It was delicious and a large portion, served in an individual pan. Loaded with ground meat and the lasagna pasta is infused with parsley. Very good choice and highly recommended. However this was our third time at this restaurant over the years we have been to New Orleans and I feel the acoustics are horrible, very noisy, hard to have a conversation if your with a group.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I set up a lunch for 6. Our waitress, Al ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I set up a lunch for 6. Our waitress, Allison, was fabulous, and the food was pefect for a show-off lunch promoting New Orleans and its food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Just ok...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Overall dining experience was just OK. For my first time to this restaurant it wasn't what i expected. The service wasn't good at all. Our waiter wasn't pleasant and didn't seem like the wanted to wait on our table. The food wasn't hot or taste to hot. Just didn't live up to what everyone says.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.