About Domenica

123 Baronne Street
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Canal Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 648-6020

Website:
http://www.domenicarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alon Shaya

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Wild Mushroom Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Smoked Pork Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Prosciutto Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Bread - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Banana Zuppa Inglese: banana cake, bananas, cream cotta mousse, & peanut brittle - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Squid Ink Tagliolini Blue Crab - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Gorgonzola Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Feta Goat Cheese - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fried Tuscan Kale lemon & parmigiano reggiano - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Squid Ink Tagliolini With Blue Crab - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Lasagna Bolognese - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Carrot Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Rigatoni - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
white pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
lasagna bolonese - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Arancini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Affogato - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Vanilla bean panna cotta - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Porchetta - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Bucatini alla Amatriciana - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Shishito - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Taglatelle With Rabbit And Porcini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Lemoncello, Herbcentcello, Butternut Squash Cello, Bloody Mary Cello - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fusilli With Shrimp And Celery - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Margherita Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Root Vegetable Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fusilli Basil Pesto - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Cauliflower & Half/Half Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Wild Mushroom Pizza tomato, fontina, sweet onions, bacon & yard egg - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Gianduja Budino - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Quattro Formaggi Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fried Kale - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Pomegranate Belini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Squid Ink Pasta With Blue Crab - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Tutto Carne - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Bread And Spicy Olive Oil - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fig Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Oxtail Arancini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Duck Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Pizza Tutto Carne - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Squid Ink Tagliolini W/ Blue Crab & Herbs - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Wood Roasted Goat - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
King Cake - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
cheese pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Carry Me Away - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Hedgehog Mushrooms With Marrow Butter - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Lasagne Bolognese - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Pepperoni Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Chocolate Cookies - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Cauliflower With Whipped Goat Feta (Not Pictured) - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Eggplant With Goat Cheese - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Burrata Mozzarella - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookie - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Cotechino Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fennel Sausage And Ricotta Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Bread And Olive Oil - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Squash Blossoms - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Gorgonzola Pizze With Peaches, Speck, Pecans - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
roasted cauliflower - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Carrot Pizze - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Adami Prosecco - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Bolzano Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Affettati Misti - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Cumin-infused Whipped Feta - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Bolzano Pizze - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Chocolate Espresso Cookies - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Brussel Sprouts With Guanciale - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Salumi & Formaggi - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Squid Ink Taglionini Wirh Blue Crab And Herbs - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Fruit Marmellate - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Nola Brown Ale - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Pizza Calabrese - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Almond Semifreddo - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Tortellini With Sweet Potatoes And Hazelnut Brown Butter - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Porchetta Panini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Spinach Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Charcuterie plate - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Lamb Raviloi With Brown Butter, Pancetta And Sage - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Prosciutto Cakes - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Peach Bellini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Chicken Panini - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Egg Nog - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
wood roasted pear cobbler - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Duck Paté - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Salumi - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Feta - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Cookie - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Mint Mojito - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Spicy Lamb Meatball Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Octopus Carpaccio - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Smoked Pork And Enzo Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Eggplant Pizza - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Crispy Kale Salad - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Tagliatelle With Rabbit Ragu - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Molasses Glazed Pork Belly Salad - Domenica, New Orleans, LA
Anolini "Little Rings" Stuffed With Pork, Tomato And Basil - Domenica, New Orleans, LA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer a Private Room for up to 30 people, please contact us for details.

Domenica Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Italian
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for a Date (63)
Creative Cuisine (57)
See All
Special Occasion (48)
Fun (40)
Casual (39)
Modern Decor (37)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Business Meals (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Lunch (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Hot Spot (31)
Happy Hour (29)
Authentic (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Romantic (23)
People Watching (22)
Wood Oven (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Cozy (10)
Tapas (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Historic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
3232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience. Our waiter was fantast ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience. Our waiter was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Late reso for a large party of 8. We wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Late reso for a large party of 8. We were their last table of the night, but were not rushed at all. Food and service both solid as is expected with a Beth Group restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lasagna and pizza were both good . Seafo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Lasagna and pizza were both good . Seafood dish was disappointing . Service was above average . Appetizers were lukewarm. The Roosevelt Christmas decorations were fantastic .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant was recommend to us whil ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant was recommend to us while we were here for vacation and I'm very glad that we took them up on their recommendation.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere as always. Our ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and atmosphere as always. Our waiter was a bit slow at times, but overall great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place for lunch. Staff is friendl ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place for lunch. Staff is friendly, food is great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had poor service and had to bus our o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

We had poor service and had to bus our own table. The food was wonderful, don't miss the kale salad, pizzas and the cauliflower app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Happy Hour pizza was amazing

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Happy Hour pizza was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I used to love the luscious variety of p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

I used to love the luscious variety of pizzas at Dominica, so I was disappointed to see so many of the ones I love no longer on the menu! Most of the current ones are sparse and not nearly as wonderful. Please bring back the great variety of hearty pizzas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The pizzas were not very good. We are de ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The pizzas were not very good. We are desapointed by the presentation. They were very thin.

The staff didn't smile and enjoyed.

The location was very near of all and the roof was very high

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The pizza was amazing, better than some ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pizza was amazing, better than some pizza in Italy

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well appointed space with ample table sp ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Well appointed space with ample table space not on top of others. Pleasant intro from service and then we dug in. Ordered a Negroni and Colvina, Allegrini red wine. Both delicious. For dinner, Gem salad which with pine nuts and Gorgonzola perfectly dressed with creamy dressing was a great start. Went to pasta of Tagatelli with duck.... very tasty. Then a pizza with assorted Italian specialty meats which was very flavorful, however a bit under cooked(required a little more crispness ). Delicious none the less ! Mentioned to server after all eaten, who summoned GM to discuss and was told that it would be comped. John Besh and Alon Shaya have a well oiled machine run by professionals who understand the owners philosophy of quality ingredients prepared expertly utilizing staff and management whose only purpose is to provide excellent customer service. A must stop for foodies !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exceptional restaurant, we are so please ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Exceptional restaurant, we are so pleased we were able to get a reservation here while visiting New Orleans from the West Coast. We knew the restaurant had won Chef Shaya the James Beard award in 2015, and we thought that the menu looked delicious and very reasonable. Craft cocktails were very nice (Winter is Coming), if not anything more serious than at the top places in my city. But the other dishes were really outstanding, unusual and memorable. The cauliflower dish was EXCEPTIONAL, and it's quite understandable why people rave about it. And every other dish was very interesting and special. Loved the spaghetti with bottarga (fish paste), almond paste, and calabrian chiles. The children were welcomed and treated kindly, and they enjoyed their pizzas and meatballs. The salad with quail eggs was also lovely, as were the chicken and short rib dishes. Service was terrific - friendly, efficient, warm and professional. We hope to go to New Orleans again and plan far in advance to try Shaya - but we will very happily return here for the Cauliflower and other dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love Domenica! It's become a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love, love, love Domenica! It's become a Christmas tradition with our family. Kids are grown but we still make a point to have dinner at Domenica when everyone is in town!

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Before 5 o'clock they have two for one p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Before 5 o'clock they have two for one pizza and two for one wine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I took our mother for the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My sister and I took our mother for the Happy Hour! It treated us fabulously. The Happy Hour value is something that cannot be matched! The roasted cauliflower alone is worth a trip to this place - absolutely delicious. Our waiter was very attentive and provided suggestions that increased the overall experience! It was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Dominica every time we are in N ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We go to Dominica every time we are in NOLA which is often for past 6years. It is very consistently great food. I love octopus carpaccio, Arincini, Pasta with nero de sepia and of course pizza. i always take this choices :-)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious!! Great atmosphere! Adults lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious!! Great atmosphere! Adults loved and kids enjoyed too. Food and service was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday. I'm gluten free, & t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was my birthday. I'm gluten free, & the pasta was described as noodles or penne. The sauce was to be Arabiatta. I get better sauce at Williams Sonoma or Rao's.

The noodles were overlooked. The cauliflower was great. The best thing was the pizza, which I couldn't taste, but everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu was a somewhat limited, for tho ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The menu was a somewhat limited, for those with a smaller palate, but the food was superb. The atmosphere was alive but calm and the service was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wine was great. Cheese and salami platte ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wine was great. Cheese and salami platter selection was okay- I expect a better selection on a platter. Salad was great with blue cheese and quail eggs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I did not know that we needed to have a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I did not know that we needed to have a expensive thanksgiving menu

I went from Pittsburgh to have fried kale and pasta with blue crab and really I was disappointed with this expensive meal unable to choose my menu

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We had been to Dominica before and had ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had been to Dominica before and had a great time so we booked Thanksgiving dinner there. We got a call the day before Thanksgiving to confirm our reservation and the reservation mentioned at the end of the call that there would only be a prix fixe menu available and that it was $60 per person. This was not mentioned at all when the reservation was made originally and I think it was wrong to spring this on us at the last minute when there weren't many reservations left in the city. The dinner ended up being ok, nothing special. I would have preferred to order off of their regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We went on Thanksgiving was not told the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went on Thanksgiving was not told there was a special menu and we were not able to order off the regular menu, very disappointing.

The food was very good but overpriced for what you got.

The highlight of the experience was our waiter he couldn't have been nicer and made it pleasant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Nice place for a special occasion. Very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nice place for a special occasion. Very consistent and enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Domenica! Normally we go for the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We love Domenica! Normally we go for their fantastic happy hour, but wander in at other times as well when we're craving the kale salad and prosciutto pizza. We took my parents when they came to visit. My dad is the king of picky eaters and rarely have I heard him say anything was more than "ok," but Domenica was, according to him, "really good." That's review really says it all! :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was absolute perfection!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was absolute perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service!!!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal! By far my favorite meal fr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing meal! By far my favorite meal from our trip to New Orleans - I hear they also have a great happy hour, will definitely try that next time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE Domenica... Definitley a must whene ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

LOVE Domenica... Definitley a must whenever in New Orleans! Thank you Todd for the awesome service :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Domenica when we were in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have been to Domenica when we were in NoLa before. We were meeting friends whom we had not seen for many years. The roasted cauliflower appetizer is always wonderful. All of us enjoyed our entrees.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Under cooked pizza, overcooked pasta, sa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Under cooked pizza, overcooked pasta, salty food. Expected more from j. Besh.

Roasted cauliflower was a treat. Better food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Get the fried kale and try a pizza. We l ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Get the fried kale and try a pizza. We loved everything our group of 6 tried. This is a great value too. If I lived in NOLA I'd be here all the time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Italian food. I'm Italian and I ca ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great Italian food. I'm Italian and I can definetely say that this is very good. Torta fritta served with prosciutto was simply amazing. Just like in Italy. Pizza and pasta great as well! Definetely a must go place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow lunch service; very small pasta por ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Slow lunch service; very small pasta portions. Average restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Quick bite after the symphony! Loved it! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Quick bite after the symphony! Loved it! Great service, great Pizza. We had a relaxing fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious as always. The c ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious as always. The cocktails were very tasty.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Arancini was delicious.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Arancini was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Kale salad was amazing!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Kale salad was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.