About Domaine Hudson

1314 N Washington Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Described as “one of Delaware's premier destinations for truly appreciating and understanding the dynamics of upscale food and wine” by The News Journal food critic, Domaine Hudson was awarded 3.5 stars (of 4) and recognized as "Closer to Perfection", and has consistently been providing a place for great wine and food since November 2005. Delaware’s first true wine bar, they offer almost 40 wines to taste in 1½, 3 & 5-oz pours. The award winning wines by the bottle list features a broad array of about 450 old and new world wines & 90+ craft beers. Frequently changing menu items allow the chefs to be creative and focus on quality ingredients. Small plate options, provide a perfect opportunity for wine pairing, or guests can simply choose from full size entrees. Whether you are an experienced oenophile or just want to enjoy some great wine/beer, the servers, who all have a knowledge of what they are pouring, can guide you through a memorable dining experience in an inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Tuesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Wednesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Thursday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Friday: 5:00 11:00 pm
Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00 pm
Sunday: CLOSED - Available Private Event

Cross Street:
Between 13th & 14th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 655-9463

Website:
http://www.domainehudson.com/

Catering:
Domaine Hudson will cater intimate home dinners, weddings, parties, business dinners and fundraisers for up to 100 guests off site.

Parking Details:
Metered parking in front of the restaurant. Free off-street parking is available after 5 pm in the Christiana Care Annex private parking lot 1/2 block from restaurant. To access the lot, the entrance is at 14th & Washington, immediately before the Washington St. Bridge. From the lot, walk south on Washington Street (toward downtown) about 1/2 block; restaurant is on the left. View a map and directions on our website at http://domainehudson.com/parking.html

Public Transit:
2, 11, 12, 35

Executive Chef:
Dwain Kalup

Private Party Facilities:
Domaine Hudson is the premiere choice for private dining in Wilmington, Delaware. We work with you to custom-tailor a flawless experience for your party, anniversary, wedding celebration, wine tasting, networking event, or business meeting. Your guests will thoroughly enjoy the seasonal cuisine of our culinary team and selections from our award-winning wine list, which OpenTable named one of the top 50 in the U.S.
Our newly renovated dining rooms accommodate private parties from 7 to 70 people, and our state-of-the-art sound system ensures your guests won’t miss a word (or a beat).

Please call or send an email message (bethross@domainehudson.com) to discuss your event and book your room at the best Wilmington, Delaware restaurant.

Catering:
Alternatively, let Domaine Hudson come to you. From gallery openings, social gatherings, and galas to corporate lunches, dinners, and events, Domaine Hudson ensures an effortless, impressive affair.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Ross: 3026559463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Information on monthly wine dinners and tastings can be found at www.domainehudson.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Cheek, Parsnip Puree, Plum Crisp
Veal Cheek, Parsnip Puree, Plum Crisp

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Domaine Hudson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
Best Food
Delaware
3 More
Best Service
Delaware
Best Value
Delaware
Fit for Foodies
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated our 35 year anniversary at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We celebrated our 35 year anniversary at Domaine Hudson this past Monday. As always, booking through Open Table was fast and easy. The wine list at Domaine Hudson is extensive and we took advantage of one of the wine flights offered, which was a great way to get a taste of several well matched wines. My wife and I had the scallops as an appetizer and the Hawian Ono as our entree. Both where excellent. Light but very, very flavorful. The service was also excellent. Very attentive but never rushed. This was a great choice for a special celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place. The food is inventi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love this place. The food is inventive, delicious, and changes with the season. They have an extensive wine list and knowledgeable, attentive staff. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy restaurant with great ambience, a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Classy restaurant with great ambience, and fine, impeccable food and wine. Great for foodies and special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Delaware valley!! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best restaurant in the Delaware valley!!! Some of the artwork on the walls... Well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Domain Hudson is one of our favorite Wil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Domain Hudson is one of our favorite Wilmington restaurants. This visit was with good friends. We arrived early and ordered the artisan cheese board with drinks while we waited. the cheeses were expertly selected.

Each of us enjoyed our meal. I had the Branzino which was expertly prepared and properly filleted. It was a Friday night and we were all too tired after drinks and 2 bottles of wine carefully selected by Richard, the sommelier, to even think about dessert, though their desserts are wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, simpleton menu, slow service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overpriced, simpleton menu, slow service, overcooked and mislabeled duck option, dry AND undercooked fish. You can do much better in Wilmington. However, wonderful bar service and extraordinary specialized cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We went late on a Tuesday night and were ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We went late on a Tuesday night and were treated like new best friends! The restaurant has a nice ambiance and a layout that can handle a large group without spoiling it for a couple. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The wine selection is quite varied but also very reasonable and the sommelier was knowledgeable. The menu offerings are creative and well presented and were served at the correct temperature. We will definitely be returning

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very good but the kitchen ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The waiter was very good but the kitchen was very sloooow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The food here is exceptional. Layers of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food here is exceptional. Layers of flavor continually unfold in all dishes. Every meal is a special occasion . Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, interesting food and drinks ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place, interesting food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a vegetarian, I typically dine with m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As a vegetarian, I typically dine with my meat-eating family, and generally speaking, do not have issues either finding something on the menu or asking the server/chef if they could prepare a vegetarian plate. Again, most of the time, chef's are more than happy to accommodate and at times, even delight in coming up with an 'off the cuff' creation. Domaine Hudson's own website says that they can accommodate any and all types of particular diets, such as vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, etc. I had previously been to Domaine Hudson over a year or so ago and they did just that, the chef created a vegetable platter that was delicious and appreciated with no questions asked. However, this most recent visit was a different story. Our server seemed confused by the request and all but said that what was on the menu was all that there was and "if you don't like it...." Then after several back and forths with the server, the chef and the manager, they were still resistant to our accommodation request and said we would just have to choose from the menu if we wanted anything at all. After mixing and matching some vegetables on the menu (which the chef could have done on his/her own), we began the over 45 minute wait for our meals. As the restaurant was not crowded in the least, it felt like we were being punished for being 'difficult.' I have never felt so ostracized in a restaurant before and would certainly not patronize this place again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a friend in Wilmington, so we went t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a friend in Wilmington, so we went to dinner. Wonderful food, great service. A little too noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a special little spot in Wilmington ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

What a special little spot in Wilmington. Food was absolutely fantastic. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the menu items. It was difficult ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved the menu items. It was difficult for my wife and I to make a selection. Food was hot on arrival; beautiful presentation. Did not care for music selection. We did not think it fit the ambiance. Jazz or even world music would be a better background. Interesting wine list with a good variety of by-the-glass choices. It is also smart to offer glasses of different size pours. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Domaine Hudson is my go to restaurant fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Domaine Hudson is my go to restaurant for special occasions. The staff is professional and knowledgeable . Wine selection is above average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual. We really enjoy m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding as usual. We really enjoy meeting friends there who have not been there before and listen to them rave about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallop first course was delicious! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The scallop first course was delicious! The carrots added a bit of sweetness and I loved the seeds that gave it some crunch. The tomato salad was also great. The peach mustard added a unique flavor. The semolina gnocchi was very flavorful. The crispy lamb ham really made it extra good! We have never been disappointed in our meals and the service has always been the best. Absolutely our favorite DE restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our second visit and everything was the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our second visit and everything was the same perfect as the first time. The food is out of this world. Don't miss it if you are in Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alot more than meets the eye

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unassuming facade and less than appealing location is misleading. This place rocks! More than just a wine bar, the food was spectacular. Well prepared, appropriately portioned, seasoned to perfection. 3 of us all had different entres and everyone loved everything. Pair the food with the wine under, the guidance of the staff and it made for a really enjoyable occasion. Next time I am in town, eating here will be a priority!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Sunday Supper

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner on the Sunday over Memorial Day holiday, and it was nice that Domaine Hudson was open. We've eaten here a number of times, and really enjoy the cooking of their Chef Dwyane (sp?). Although he was not cooking this past Sunday, we had a fine meal-1st course for me of very meaty and flavorful NJ Scallops, wonderfully cooked, followed by an nice Wagyu beef and sausage main course. Beef was very tasty (although a bit more gristle than I would expect with such pricy beef) as was the sausage and the accompanying rhone wine was a great choice to go with the meat. My wife's walnut apple and lettuce salad was very generous, with lots of walnuts and great flavor. Her Ono was meaty and had nice flavors, although a bit dry. The restaurant could use a couple more sparklers by the glass, as the current selections are a bit limited and not that interesting. Nonetheless as always, a very pleasant experience, and good food and decent wines (my wife's champagne, while not flawed, was not up to the price point in terms of overall quality).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just right

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A good friend recommended Domaine Hudson to me and it was a special night out with my Lady. I have high standards for our time out and this experience fulfilled all of my expectations. Very careful attention to our needs. Perfect atmosphere. We will go again!

Satisfied!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is not your average menu so you need ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It is not your average menu so you need to be willing to step outside your comfort zone. Definitely worth giving it a try!! We will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been to Domaine Hudso ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife and I have been to Domaine Hudson many times and they have never disappointed us. The food has always been as expected and the service has been attentive. Their wine list is so extensive that they have it on dedicated iPads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Town

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I have lived in Delaware for over 40 years and have been to many of its better restaurants. Our meal at Domaine Hudson was one of the best I have ever had in Delaware. All three of us were very pleased with our dinners, as well as the service. This restaurant has been pretty good for years. Now it is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Went for Mother's Day. It was perfect. F ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. It was perfect. Fantastic price fixe menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food and it's presentation!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My only recommendation is to update the decor! It's too dark and frumpy! And rid of the horse pictures!! Other than that - it's excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Interesting Food - quality location

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit. Food indeed new american, with emphasis on sauces. Portions were, to our tastes, too small even for European tastes. We're foodies and prefer small portions, but one scallop doesn't make for enough to taste hardly. So, either the prices are outrageous or the portions are small... you choose. Noise level was moderate. Attentive but not pushy service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Absolutely perfect

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I want to share with the world my best discovery in Wilmington, and this is this little gem.

To say it was great does not do it a justice. The experience was just PERFECT. Not even one small flow through the whole time of dining.

THE FOOD: delicious, creative, memorable, with interesting combinations of flavors and ingredients, wonderful presentations and perfect portion sizes. We had small Charcuterie Board, Celery and Pear salad, HUMBOLDT FOG AGNOLOTTI, SEMOLINA GNOCCHI and CHOCOLATE GINGER GANACHE for dessert. THE SERVICE: One of the best we've ever had. Nice, knowledgeable and professional. THE AMBIANCE: Classy, cozy, modern and very comfortable.

THE VALUE: beyond great for the experience of perfection.

No question we are going to come back to Wilmington time and again to enjoy not only the beautiful Gardens but this little gem too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trust the server

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

That's it. Our server paired the BEST red wine with our pasta and seafood dishes. Yes RED wine.

I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining with teenagers

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great evening with family introducing my teenage grandsons to a fine dining experience. They are getting old enough now to be willing to try new foods and will acquire the tastes for them with exposure. Restaurant week was a perfect time to start the process especially with unique menu served at Domaine Hudson. Thank you for the delicious food and fine service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were top notch but ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food and service were top notch but it was literally so loud that we were completely turned off. My fiancé and I are 28 and 32 so we're not ones to mind a bit a noise but we were shocked at the volume for a Thursday night. If we ever go back it will probably be a Sunday or Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service this evening was poor which is u ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Service this evening was poor which is unusual, Could have been the server or the fact the fact the restaurant was busy that Wednesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Dependable

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Never had a bad meal there, great and interesting menu for discriminating diners.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was good, but my swordfish ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The service was good, but my swordfish was over-cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

My family enjoyed the meal. Duck breast ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My family enjoyed the meal. Duck breast was delicious and juicy. Steak and sausage dish was also very good and cooked just as we ordered. The only complaint is that prices are somewhat high. This is not a place to take your entire family out but rather a special occasion/date place. Also, the 20% tip was already added to our bill for 6 people. Not sure if we looked like we did not know how to count??

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding as always. Excellent new men ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding as always. Excellent new menu additions. Impeccable service with Javier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

friend of some DH friends

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We recently and sadly had to resign from a wonderful local private dining club due to their escalating dues and fees.........however, it meant leaving wonderful friends and food experiences and an intimate atmosphere for celebrating ALL our special occasions, holidays and everything else in between for the past 3 years ...........so instead of having no place to celebrate a current birthday, and because we know two of Domain Hudson's SUPERB staff, John and Javier, we decided to try DH. We were immediately welcomed by all and treated both as old friends and VIPs. The food is unequaled, as in Le Bec Fin quality in it's heyday, the service is impeccable and the ambiance is cozy yet, sleek.

Plus, that night they had also had a ruckus party of 40 and another party of 17 and yet the the whole night was PERFECT, as if we were their only customers! Soooooooooo, I can not WAIT to go back there! No special occasion needed for this one......:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with only two complaints; th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great place with only two complaints; the cheese board share board was too small in portion and it would be nice to see some red wines offered in the $25-$35 range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food ! Great service .

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Food has been outstanding every time we have eaten here . Wine selection is extensive and priced very reasonable . Owners and staff are very friendly and professional .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here and absolutely loved it! We did the 4 course tasting menu, and enjoyed every plate. Our server did an amazing job of pairing the perfect wine with each plate, and he was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.