About Domaine Hudson

1314 N Washington Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Described as “one of Delaware's premier destinations for truly appreciating and understanding the dynamics of upscale food and wine” by The News Journal food critic, Domaine Hudson was awarded 3.5 stars (of 4) and recognized as "Closer to Perfection", and has consistently been providing a place for great wine and food since November 2005. Delaware’s first true wine bar, they offer almost 40 wines to taste in 1½, 3 & 5-oz pours. The award winning wines by the bottle list features a broad array of about 450 old and new world wines & 90+ craft beers. Frequently changing menu items allow the chefs to be creative and focus on quality ingredients. Small plate options, provide a perfect opportunity for wine pairing, or guests can simply choose from full size entrees. Whether you are an experienced oenophile or just want to enjoy some great wine/beer, the servers, who all have a knowledge of what they are pouring, can guide you through a memorable dining experience in an inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Tuesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Wednesday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Thursday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Friday: 5:00 11:00 pm
Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00 pm
Sunday: CLOSED - Available Private Event

Cross Street:
Between 13th & 14th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 655-9463

Website:
http://www.domainehudson.com/

Catering:
Domaine Hudson will cater intimate home dinners, weddings, parties, business dinners and fundraisers for up to 100 guests off site.

Parking Details:
Metered parking in front of the restaurant. Free off-street parking is available after 5 pm in the Christiana Care Annex private parking lot 1/2 block from restaurant. To access the lot, the entrance is at 14th & Washington, immediately before the Washington St. Bridge. From the lot, walk south on Washington Street (toward downtown) about 1/2 block; restaurant is on the left. View a map and directions on our website at http://domainehudson.com/parking.html

Public Transit:
2, 11, 12, 35

Executive Chef:
Dwain Kalup

Private Party Facilities:
Domaine Hudson is the premiere choice for private dining in Wilmington, Delaware. We work with you to custom-tailor a flawless experience for your party, anniversary, wedding celebration, wine tasting, networking event, or business meeting. Your guests will thoroughly enjoy the seasonal cuisine of our culinary team and selections from our award-winning wine list, which OpenTable named one of the top 50 in the U.S.
Our newly renovated dining rooms accommodate private parties from 7 to 70 people, and our state-of-the-art sound system ensures your guests won’t miss a word (or a beat).

Please call or send an email message (bethross@domainehudson.com) to discuss your event and book your room at the best Wilmington, Delaware restaurant.

Catering:
Alternatively, let Domaine Hudson come to you. From gallery openings, social gatherings, and galas to corporate lunches, dinners, and events, Domaine Hudson ensures an effortless, impressive affair.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Ross: 3026559463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Information on monthly wine dinners and tastings can be found at www.domainehudson.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Cheek, Parsnip Puree, Plum Crisp
Veal Cheek, Parsnip Puree, Plum Crisp

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Domaine Hudson Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Contemporary American
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
6 More
Best Food
Delaware
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Best Value
Delaware
Fit for Foodies
Delaware
Contemporary American
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (49)
notable wine list (44)
special occasion (34)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
romantic (23)
good for groups (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual. We really enjoy m ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding as usual. We really enjoy meeting friends there who have not been there before and listen to them rave about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The scallop first course was delicious! ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The scallop first course was delicious! The carrots added a bit of sweetness and I loved the seeds that gave it some crunch. The tomato salad was also great. The peach mustard added a unique flavor. The semolina gnocchi was very flavorful. The crispy lamb ham really made it extra good! We have never been disappointed in our meals and the service has always been the best. Absolutely our favorite DE restaurant!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alot more than meets the eye

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Unassuming facade and less than appealing location is misleading. This place rocks! More than just a wine bar, the food was spectacular. Well prepared, appropriately portioned, seasoned to perfection. 3 of us all had different entres and everyone loved everything. Pair the food with the wine under, the guidance of the staff and it made for a really enjoyable occasion. Next time I am in town, eating here will be a priority!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Sunday Supper

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner on the Sunday over Memorial Day holiday, and it was nice that Domaine Hudson was open. We've eaten here a number of times, and really enjoy the cooking of their Chef Dwyane (sp?). Although he was not cooking this past Sunday, we had a fine meal-1st course for me of very meaty and flavorful NJ Scallops, wonderfully cooked, followed by an nice Wagyu beef and sausage main course. Beef was very tasty (although a bit more gristle than I would expect with such pricy beef) as was the sausage and the accompanying rhone wine was a great choice to go with the meat. My wife's walnut apple and lettuce salad was very generous, with lots of walnuts and great flavor. Her Ono was meaty and had nice flavors, although a bit dry. The restaurant could use a couple more sparklers by the glass, as the current selections are a bit limited and not that interesting. Nonetheless as always, a very pleasant experience, and good food and decent wines (my wife's champagne, while not flawed, was not up to the price point in terms of overall quality).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just right

Dined on May 29, 2016

A good friend recommended Domaine Hudson to me and it was a special night out with my Lady. I have high standards for our time out and this experience fulfilled all of my expectations. Very careful attention to our needs. Perfect atmosphere. We will go again! Satisfied!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It is not your average menu so you need ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It is not your average menu so you need to be willing to step outside your comfort zone. Definitely worth giving it a try!! We will be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been to Domaine Hudso ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife and I have been to Domaine Hudson many times and they have never disappointed us. The food has always been as expected and the service has been attentive. Their wine list is so extensive that they have it on dedicated iPads.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Best in Town

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I have lived in Delaware for over 40 years and have been to many of its better restaurants. Our meal at Domaine Hudson was one of the best I have ever had in Delaware. All three of us were very pleased with our dinners, as well as the service. This restaurant has been pretty good for years. Now it is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Mother's Day. It was perfect. F ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day. It was perfect. Fantastic price fixe menu.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love the food and it's presentation!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My only recommendation is to update the decor! It's too dark and frumpy! And rid of the horse pictures!! Other than that - it's excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Interesting Food - quality location

Dined on April 29, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit. Food indeed new american, with emphasis on sauces. Portions were, to our tastes, too small even for European tastes. We're foodies and prefer small portions, but one scallop doesn't make for enough to taste hardly. So, either the prices are outrageous or the portions are small... you choose. Noise level was moderate. Attentive but not pushy service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I want to share with the world my best discovery in Wilmington, and this is this little gem. To say it was great does not do it a justice. The experience was just PERFECT. Not even one small flow through the whole time of dining. THE FOOD: delicious, creative, memorable, with interesting combinations of flavors and ingredients, wonderful presentations and perfect portion sizes. We had small Charcuterie Board, Celery and Pear salad, HUMBOLDT FOG AGNOLOTTI, SEMOLINA GNOCCHI and CHOCOLATE GINGER GANACHE for dessert. THE SERVICE: One of the best we've ever had. Nice, knowledgeable and professional. THE AMBIANCE: Classy, cozy, modern and very comfortable. THE VALUE: beyond great for the experience of perfection. No question we are going to come back to Wilmington time and again to enjoy not only the beautiful Gardens but this little gem too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trust the server

Dined on April 8, 2016

That's it. Our server paired the BEST red wine with our pasta and seafood dishes. Yes RED wine. I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining with teenagers

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great evening with family introducing my teenage grandsons to a fine dining experience. They are getting old enough now to be willing to try new foods and will acquire the tastes for them with exposure. Restaurant week was a perfect time to start the process especially with unique menu served at Domaine Hudson. Thank you for the delicious food and fine service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The food and service were top notch but ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

The food and service were top notch but it was literally so loud that we were completely turned off. My fiancé and I are 28 and 32 so we're not ones to mind a bit a noise but we were shocked at the volume for a Thursday night. If we ever go back it will probably be a Sunday or Monday.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service this evening was poor which is u ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Service this evening was poor which is unusual, Could have been the server or the fact the fact the restaurant was busy that Wednesday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dependable

Dined on April 4, 2016

Never had a bad meal there, great and interesting menu for discriminating diners.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

The service was good, but my swordfish ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

The service was good, but my swordfish was over-cooked.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My family enjoyed the meal. Duck breast ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

My family enjoyed the meal. Duck breast was delicious and juicy. Steak and sausage dish was also very good and cooked just as we ordered. The only complaint is that prices are somewhat high. This is not a place to take your entire family out but rather a special occasion/date place. Also, the 20% tip was already added to our bill for 6 people. Not sure if we looked like we did not know how to count??

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always. Excellent new men ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding as always. Excellent new menu additions. Impeccable service with Javier.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

friend of some DH friends

Dined on March 16, 2016

We recently and sadly had to resign from a wonderful local private dining club due to their escalating dues and fees.........however, it meant leaving wonderful friends and food experiences and an intimate atmosphere for celebrating ALL our special occasions, holidays and everything else in between for the past 3 years ...........so instead of having no place to celebrate a current birthday, and because we know two of Domain Hudson's SUPERB staff, John and Javier, we decided to try DH. We were immediately welcomed by all and treated both as old friends and VIPs. The food is unequaled, as in Le Bec Fin quality in it's heyday, the service is impeccable and the ambiance is cozy yet, sleek. Plus, that night they had also had a ruckus party of 40 and another party of 17 and yet the the whole night was PERFECT, as if we were their only customers! Soooooooooo, I can not WAIT to go back there! No special occasion needed for this one......:)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place with only two complaints; th ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great place with only two complaints; the cheese board share board was too small in portion and it would be nice to see some red wines offered in the $25-$35 range.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food ! Great service .

Dined on March 5, 2016

Food has been outstanding every time we have eaten here . Wine selection is extensive and priced very reasonable . Owners and staff are very friendly and professional .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here and absolutely loved it! We did the 4 course tasting menu, and enjoyed every plate. Our server did an amazing job of pairing the perfect wine with each plate, and he was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Domaine Hudson is such a hidden gem. Wi ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Domaine Hudson is such a hidden gem. Wills Elliman

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our visit to Domaine exceeded our expectations. We chose the price fix menu and had our server suggest wine pairings. I worried it would be too much food but it was perfect. If you're up for innovative food and wine experiences I highly recommend! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DM++++

Dined on February 26, 2016

Outstanding and courteous staff, beautiful presentation and excellent menu choices along with food preparation among the best in the greater PHL/WIL area. Absolute gem of restaurant! Special recognition to Richard Hover and his oversight of the entire dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect, again.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Delicious food, great service, lovely atmosphere, and so close! It's always an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finest dining in Wilmington

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is definitely one of Delaware's best restaurants, with a menu and wine list that can stand up to anything in Philadelphia and New York City. Elegant dishes created with respect for fine ingredients and refined flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food but very cramped seating.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food but very cramped seating.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was outstanding. The service was great and the food was fantastic. I will definitely go back when I am in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy the food and service. ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy the food and service. Outstanding!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappoints always excellent with ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Never disappoints always excellent with a great wine list, and local specials.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

1st night of a holiday weekend

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We were seated promptly. With team service we had several servers all of whom were covering different multiple tables so it didn't flow as smoothly as it might have . One of the entrees came out just luke warm. Overall a nice dinner-we'll try them again during the week in a non-holiday period.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Memorable

Dined on February 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I dined on a Monday night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We are vegetarians, and we ordered a flight of Spanish wine and four delightful courses. Every item impressed me with its lovely presentation and creative, delectable flavors. It was not cheap: we split our entrée and the check was still $120. But as a special occasion I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything we had was great.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Everything we had was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have dined at Domain Hudson many times, each time better than the last. This time we dined with another couple. The food was delicious, the drinks well prepared and the wine was just perfect. The wine steward helped us select just the right wine (it was a wine from a wine dinner we had attended a few months back at Domain Hudson).

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have dined at Domaine Hudson several times and enjoy taking friends who haven't been there yet. You'll now have two new frequent diners. Our friends loved it as much as we do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten here too many times to keep c ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

I've eaten here too many times to keep count. Each time is better than the last, the charred octopus is to die for. Will be back soon!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful neighborhood spot

Dined on January 17, 2016

We really enjoyed finding this place, and liked everything about it. We had a drink at the bar and the special cocktails were delicious. Good chat with the bartender as well; he clearly likes his job and we talked about the place, as well as the local scene. Javier was our waiter, and was very attentive. Apps and shared plates were great; everything was timed perfectly, and we never felt rushed - or bored. Looks like a good place to bring a small group as well; they pair tables and also have a back room that seats about 12-20 people at one main table. We'll be coming back again, for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.