Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Doma Restaurant

4.3
127 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Sonja Perencevic owner Dan Tana’s and 4th generation chef Dustin J Trani bring a touch of “home” to Beverly Hills at DOMA Restaurant featuring modern Italian & seafood specialties.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:30pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:30pm - 11:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 277-7346
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dustin J Trani
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Brighton Way
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
DOMA offers curbside valet parking. The local area offers several self-parking options as well, including multiple 2hr free parking structures provided by the city of Beverly Hills, metered parking and privately operated pay lots.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
DOMA is centrally located in Beverly Hills walking distance from several bus lines serviced by Los Angeles County MTA, Santa Monica Big Blue Bus and Culver City
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Every Friday and Saturday Randy Coleman performs live and acoustic.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 127 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on September 6, 2017

It is kind of heartbreaking to go to this 'nice' restaurant but have it be completely empty at lunch time. Then I understood why, the menu is very limited, not well balanced and then some of the things on the menu were not even available.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 5, 2017

It is closed for "renovations". They are still accepting reservations on here, so we made reservations and drove all the way there to see it shuttered. Poor management, if any still exist.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 29, 2017

I had high hopes for the restaurant since it was recommended to us by a local, but I ended up being very disappointed. The service wasn't great. The server didn't seem at all familiarr with the menu, and she kept referring to us as "guys ". We ordered an unimpressive calamari appetizer and a plate of assorted tuna sashimi. The tuna was frozen in the center! We also had tempura seafood that was very disappointing. Maybe I'm spoiled coming from San Francisco where there are tons of really good restaurants, But we wanted to give this place a chance. I wouldn't return though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2017

I walked in at 8pm and literally was the only person dining in the restaurant. My friends showed up a few minutes later and it felt like we rented out the place to ourselves. I ordered the Linguine w clams and it was one of the worst dishes I've ever had and that's typically one of my favorite pasta dishes. It literally tasted like noodles a sea water. It was nasty. They were nice enough to take the dish back and I ordered the bolognese instead which was a lot better, but not great. The location and decor was quite nice and there was a pianist playing jazz songs the whole night which was lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2017

This is absolutely perfect Italian restaurant. With food option you rarely get elsewhere like rabbit, boar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2017

New menu which is extraordinary. All of our dishes were delicious! Eggplant appetizer was superb. I had the pasta special (veal pappalarde), and my wife had the butternut squash ravioli which was one of the best dishes I have ever tasted. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

I was very impressed with the quality of the food which was reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2017

Pulled up to the valet and waited close to ten minutes and left to park myself. Once inside there was no one there. No one. I realize it was Monday night, but at 7:00 pm it was striking. Took a while before getting a server. Service remained a bit slow. Food was decent but unremarkable in a town wit a lot of great Italian food. Atmosphere is great, though. Beautiful hard wood floors. Lovely piano in the middle of the room. Showed promise for cocktails at night if they ever attract a crowd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food! Had Caesar salad, burratta and bacon pizza, mushroom ravioli and pork chop! All excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2017

I enjoyed a lunch at Doma last Thursday with two business associates. It was exactly what the doctor ordered. The food was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the pizza....any of them. Then we each had a different salad. I had a caesar salad with chicken and one of my friend's had the caesar with shrimp. My salad was dressed just the right amount, and the chicken was tender. Everyone remarked on how good the food was, so I felt great about having made a good pick. The service was friendly, efficient and totally non-invasive, which is how it should be for business. Looking forward to going back and trying some of the other items.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2017

The good: the food was decent. Not really creative but not a terrible meal either.

Bad: our waiter could've cared less that we were even there. There was no real effort to welcome us. Or even show us that we were guests. The restaurant itself desperately needs updating as they were sweat stains on my seat. That was the overall vibe. I guess I expected better from Beverly Hills.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a great time. You can have a conversation, food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

This was our second visit to Doma in two months. The first was for our anniversary, and the recent visit was for my birthday. Once again they did not disappoint us. The food is amazing and served in a beautiful atmosphere. As well, they are very friendly and make you feel right at home. We definitely plan on going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Very handsome room, superb food and service. The excellent pianist playing American songbook standards was a delightful surprise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service, great ambiance, good food! My girlfriend and I enjoyed our six course prix fixe new year's' eve dinner. The gentle man who was tending us was very friendly, helpful, and has great demeanor. Please extend our kindest appreciation for the excellent service he had provided. The background music (piano) was good, but the singer was a bit much at times (can do without, no offense to your talent). Wine pairing was good. Price of $55 per person excellent!! We will definitely come back and recommend this place! Thank you for such a lovely evening! - E. & R.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food & service in a low key but quietly elegant setting. You can actually hear each other talk while enjoying your meal. Fish is especially good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent! The food and service here is always great!
My coworkers and I love it here.
DOMA never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2016

Have now had one dinner and two lunches at Doma. The food and service have been consistent, which is to say, very good. The waiters are friendly without being annoying. The food is very good - Doma makes its own pasta. Nice wine selection. The outdoor dining area provides a people watching opportunity in the heart of Beverly Hills.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2016

Now that Stefano has taken the reins in running DOMA, it has gotten so much better. It is now a FIRST CLASS restaurant. Great food, menu and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was delicious and it was a nice restaurant. Only suggestion is I find it tacky when a restaurant can't comp a $5 dessert for someone's B day on a $250 check.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2016

I had a business lunch here the other day. The restaurant is very nice inside, very spacious. Once we were seated, we noticed our bread plates seemed very dusty. We were sitting next to tall glass doors. Perhaps it's from the doors being open at some point and the plates and tablecloth got dusty.

The food was presented nicely. I ordered the Tortellini with breadcrumbs. The dish was like comfort food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 22, 2016

Salads serving size was quite large with nice ingredients but were over dressed and became soggy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2016

Great restaurant – outstanding food everything we ordered was delicious and perfectly cooked. And the restaurant is beautiful.. Our waiter was very helpful and right on about all of his suggestions

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Though it was friday, the restaurant was almost empty. Food was not bad, ambiance was good. A very clean place to eat. But not a special one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

Great location and food. The service staff took good care of us and we truly enjoyed our lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2016

Doma is our Favorite italian restaurant in BH! Awesome meal!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2016

Stopped by for lunch since it was within walking distance from where we were shopping. The inside of the restaurant looks really nice and the customer service was great. I got the short rib rigatoni which was delicious, and my mom got the seafood linguini. The seafood linguini is spicy and has a lot of salmon so just be aware. Chicken caesar salad was good as well. A little on the pricier side but it is Beverly Hills.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Very bad service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2016

Chef Dustin Trani is one of the rising stars all over the world. We get him at Tranis in San Pedro and Doma in Beverly Hills! A must experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 29, 2016

The food and service is generally excellent, with good menu variety. BUT, Doma has one problems which stops it from being perfect. That is, the bread served with the meal is an atrocious white flour bread that is tasteless and untested. This wouldn't stop me from eating at this otherwise superb restaurant, but it is a detraction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Great! Food is unreal. Chef is the best

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

I've eaten at Trani's in San Pedro for many years -- most recently in March 2015. It was there that I learned that Dustin had opened a restaurant of his own. The family tradition of good, honest food, but with a modern twist, has been upheld beautifully. They even serve Grandpa's Navy Bean Soup! That'll stick to your ribs! This wasn't our first trip to Doma, and we'll keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2016

This restaurant is a find. I love the food here and am a returning customer. The pizza is fantastic with perfect crust and subtle flavor, reminds me of the best pizza I had in Rome. I love the fish dishes and the salads, too many things on the menu that I enjoy to list here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

There are a plethora of good Italian restaurants in BH, but this offers a somewhat unique and varied menu, and it has some live piano and song on some evenings. Every pizza is different, and better, than standard fair. The pasta is superb, an easy equal to Il Pastaio. Meat and fish dishes are few but excellent. Salads are quite large and excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2016

Pizza amazing, very like this place. All food is very very good. Not a lot people very good for business meetings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2015

Justin Trani's newest restaurant, Doma, is a real gem of a restaurant. We loved how the tables were spaced for quiet, private conversations. The guitarist is a nice touch for a romantic ambiance.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 19, 2015

Food was OK, good pasta, passable salads, bad pizza. Service was terrible even with an empty restaurant with only three tables. Poor barman had to take over our service and did his best, but couldn't do it all by himself. We at least got comped part of the check for the bad service but would not return or recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2015

The food at this restaurant was good but not great. We went there because my husband loved Dan Tana's and he was hoping for that experience. This wasn't that.
Our experience was probably clouded by the large party that was really noisy at the bar. It was in a word pretty unpleasant. I wish they had seated us in the back where we wouldn't have be subjected to the noise but they assured us that it would be only about 15 minutes and that turned into most of our meal.
The pizza my husband ordered was very good. He loved the sausage on it. He also had their navy bean soup which was pretty tasty but the beans were too mushy.
I had their ceasar salad which was wonderful. The salmon was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2015

Yummy lunch. Great spot for girls lunch or business lunch.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4