Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 2.99mi

About Dolce Pane E Vino

Dolce is a high quality, inviting atmosphere and the perfect Ranch neighborhood hideaway. Intimate and lively, Dolce offers delicious California/Italian farm-to-table cuisine, fine wine and occasions for joyful gatherings. Our signature fare features fabulous small dishes and entrees prepared in the open kitchen's custom wood-burning oven. A full bar also features an impressive wine collection with hundreds of superb domestic and international selections. Inside, Dolce blends artisan sensibilities and rustic elegance with family-style shared tables offering a convivial dining experience. Outside, warm days and evenings make the Sunset Patio the perfect setting for wine tastings, afternoon brunch and dinner parties. Our sweet and knowledgeable team strives to provide the ultimate dining and wine experience in the true spirit of old world charm and hospitality, even our wines are sold at winery, not restaurant, prices.

16081 San Dieguito Rd.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11 am - 11 pm, Friday and Saturday 11 am to Midnight. Formaggeria opens at 11 am

Cross Street:
Rancho Diegueno Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 832-1518

Website:
http://www.dolcepaneevino.com/

Catering:
We offer full service catering. You will be in the hands of our in house catering coordinator. Please call or come by to schedule a tasting.

Parking Details:
Dolce has a private lot located directly in front of our restaurant in Rancho Santa Fe.

Executive Chef:
Team of Chefs

Private Party Facilities:
Our entire restaurant is available for private parties. Please contact us with any questions that you might have concerning your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Flowers: (858) 832-1518

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dolce Pane E Vino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Love the energy, great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

No doubt an absolute favorite of mine.

The service is ALWAYS first-rate. Can't say enough good things about the Dolce Pane Vino staff in Rancho Santa Fe. They just know what they are talking about and they obviously know what they are doing.

Every single dish we ordered was fresh, delicious and phenomenally prepared. Salmon, salads, the creamy, smoky tomato soup, fettuccine, pizza, wine - absolutely wonderful.

Walk in or make a reservation and enjoy your time here. It's so low-key, casual and fun over there, but definitely first-rate in preparation and flavor. What else could you want?

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and wine selection with upscale neighborhood setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I have visited the restaurant several times. I asked for a private table (vs. a communal table) for an early reservation, and was surprised that the only option was outside or a low cocktail table. That low table was very uncomfortable for dinner. The chair/table combo didn't leave any place to put by legs and it was too far from my friend who was on the bench. OK for drinks, but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overall, this restaurant didn't meet my expectations. Thought it might be a nice, quaint place with a quiet, cozy atmosphere and quality food. Ordered the lasagna and thought it was pretty bad actually... Light on Bolagnase and heavy on cheese. The atmosphere was cozy and pleasant, but heavy noise made it difficult to have a conversation. Service at my meal was excellent and pleasant, so no problems there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always enjoy coming here. I eat the same thing, plank salmon so I can't comment overall on the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Pleasant food, very good service, a little overpriced.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I tried Dolce Pane E Vino for her burthday dinner winding-up an overnight stay in Rancho Santa Fe (visiting from L.A.) The restaurant decor and ambience is exceptionally well-balanced between upscale rustic and dress-casual, with a truly gourmet kitchen at reasonable prices. The bartenders knows how to mae your drink well, regardless of how authentically retro or trendy and of-the-moment it may be--trust them with your Sazerac or Old Fashioned, Aviation or Aperol Spritzer, you'll be glad you did. My wife is a vegetarian, and I'm a carnivore, and we were BOTH thoroughly pleased with the selection and with our orders. If we lived in the area, this would definitely be one of our tegular "nice dinner out" spots. The fact that is was just casual enough to accommodate the spontaneous local drop-by attire alongside the business-casual and genuinely dressy attire, makes it a very comfortable place to dine.

Highly recommended! I would have given it five stars, but I prefer my chicken entrees to be off the bone, but that's just a little restaurant pet peeve of mine, you're probably more mature about that than I. Great Wine and Spirits selection! Definitely go there if even just for drinks!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice place with east parking. Food was good not great. Ordered risotto small plate and it was tiny. Not enough food for a kid. Service was ok. Quiet place Italian wine flight was good. After bill arrived and waiter took my credit card and returned. Copy to sign was less than half of actual bill. Was correct bill because my name was on it. Brought it to his attention that the bull was $70 in error in their favor. Got an oh sorry about that. 10 mins later real bill comes and he laughs at new total. I found this ruined the entire evening. Either he has made mistakes before and didn't want to bring it to anyone's attention or restaurant doesn't care. Recently brought mistake in bill to the attention of waiter and manager went out of her way to make us feel like coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food good ambiance but female bartender has horrible customer service. Took forever making my drink. Was too busy chit chatting with another worker knowing I was right in front of her waiting for my drink. And cussing right in front of a family with a little girl. Completely innapropriate behavior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday. Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food and wine selection

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Miles' service was great! Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Third time and last time. The restaurant was cold not heated properly
The salad was great but the lasagna was like you got it from Vons frozen section ...You don't expect to have that bad food in Rancho Santa ...The first time I was there was few month ago it was great the second time we found a piece of broken glass in our lasagna ...I said it could happen ...This time the lasagna was so bad ( dry , under cooked in some sections and over cooked on other section like it went to a broken microwave )
I don't mind the price but I expected at least a decent meal
Good things : the server was very nice and courteous / The salad was super good
I will never go back though ...If you are looking for a gourmet food don't go there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We had another great dining experience at Dolce that just keeps us leaving happy. Our server, "Miles" of smiles, (that's what we nicknamed him because he's that cool) got the bartender to create a drink called a "Felylicious" (aka: Pomegranite Spritzer, which used to be the Acai Spritzer) and it was FANTASTIC! I was feeling good by the time our appetizers came around. Definitely ordering that again the next time we visit!

My skirt steak with twice baked potato and our salads were spot on. The pizzas are the best in town because those chefs in the kitchen know their craft. Tasty dough, baked to please the palette.

Missed Steven, the manager, this time - but always a good time every time we dine at Dolce.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We are on vacation in San Diego. Unfortunately, this was the worst meal of the trip. Waiter was quite nice but food was so so. Appears to be more of a drinking establishment than a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

great - warning they have dining tables that are awkward. they are slabs of tree trunk so are beautiful but the shape is such that its hard to talk and some spots you have your back to the person next to you. sit in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good flavors, some great, some okay but overall good. Good service that was pleasant with spacious seating for a Sunday lunch. It was a nice time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Nice table outside by the fire- terrific wine and flatbread- very authentic! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tables you sit at are not the best. either real low or the high bar tables. Waitress was not very informed on specials or ingredients. over priced for allot of the items. We spit a Arugula Salad for starter and was good and they split on two plates.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Friendly staff, great outdoor dining environment, food was okay, mixed drinks were pricey and a hefty $25 corking fee. I'll give it another try. Definitely a local clientele hangout.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love Steve the Manager as he is always welcoming and accommodating... Pizza is always delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lovely Italian food served professionally

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great food and ambiance. I love this place and visit each time I'm in San diego! I will also be back...

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very atmospheric - an upscale neighborhood hangout. I would say, however, that the prices for SALADS is a bit over-the-top. Come on...no matter what one does to it, it's still a SALAD. (Just felt somewhat gouged on that item. Otherwise very nice.)

Will return...and I won't order a salad.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was poor. We had to ask for bread. The booth seating is very uncomfortable. Staff was nice. They did comp our desert for our anniversary, such was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Inside is very noisy but outside it is quite pleasant. The bar tender made my first drink totally wrong so got a second, different cocktail and saw him having to look it up on the internet (well, at least he was trying to get it right). They were out of the first two menu items (not specials mind you but their main menu) my wife ordered and it was only 7:30. Meals arrived with a significant gap between my wife's service and mine, luckily it was hers that came first. Only bright point was the service, our server was really nice....I think she was a bit embarrassed by the performance of the bartender and the kitchen. Food was ok but definitely not worth the trouble to get it. Not recommended.

of note - they did recognize that they weren't on point that night and comp'd the meals but still...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very accommodating for a group of 9 people. The outside seating was perfect for our group, although we would have liked a bit more lighting. Server was very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I would not recommend a $17 mediocre "stone fruit" salad that had two slices of plum on it (with blue cheese instead of the described goat cheese) and $7 for a grey pan cooked piece of chicken breast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food, wine and service was excellent! We'll be going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2016

I loved everything about Dolce Pane E Vino , the food , the ambiance, the staff and the service. I am vegetarian....but the server went out of his way to help me ..loved the whole experience...I will definitely go back... I am from India and I love traveling and trying new places...will recommend it to others also... Will be back next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Not the greatest experience. Ordered a couple salads and some brussels sprouts and a flatbread I would never order the flatbread again It was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated at a high top table and both men said they kept slipping on the chairs. Those type of tables are good for short time cocktails but not for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Dolce Pane e Vino in Rancho Santa Fe is so well-loved that they opened a second outlet in the Highlands shopping center. Both are excellent, but we prefer our old favorite. We love exploring the wine list, and our favorite menu items are invariably superb. The atmosphere is friendly, local and inviting. The staff is brilliantly trained, knowledgeable, engaging and helpful. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a light dinner and wine with the excellent service from Phil and Kit, the back waiter. Very friendly and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2016

The occasion was lunch with 2 colleagues while in the area. Our server was Jan, who was very attentive, and quite knowledgeable about both food and wine. Lovely ambience, very relaxing, and we did not feel "rushed" to eat and leave. We ended up sharing the "butterscotch budini" for dessert, which was served with fresh berries and crushed pistacchio nuts-to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Friendly service and delicious food. I had the chicken served "angry style" and it was scrumptious! Very spicy! Neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was great, butternut squash risotto with pancetta was delicious. After 8 it gets a little loud over near the bar area, which made it difficult to hear the person at the other side of the dinner table. Overall though good food wine and service. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2016

A dining pleasure with fine food and beautiful wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went to Dolce for valentines. The menu is small, and its surprising that there are no pasta dishes eventhough Dolce is an Italian restaurant.
Service was excelent and the risotto was delicious.
The Lasagna wasn't so good... A pile of sauce and cheese with very little pasta and meat.
Dessert was just ok.
We sat in a booth, th booth and chairs are comfortable, but the small tables have a very wide base that makes it hard to get comfortable, specially for tall people.
Overall the food and service where very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.