About Dolce Pane E Vino

16081 San Dieguito Rd.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map

Dolce is a high quality, inviting atmosphere and the perfect Ranch neighborhood hideaway. Intimate and lively, Dolce offers delicious California/Italian farm-to-table cuisine, fine wine and occasions for joyful gatherings. Our signature fare features fabulous small dishes and entrees prepared in the open kitchen's custom wood-burning oven. A full bar also features an impressive wine collection with hundreds of superb domestic and international selections. Inside, Dolce blends artisan sensibilities and rustic elegance with family-style shared tables offering a convivial dining experience. Outside, warm days and evenings make the Sunset Patio the perfect setting for wine tastings, afternoon brunch and dinner parties. Our sweet and knowledgeable team strives to provide the ultimate dining and wine experience in the true spirit of old world charm and hospitality, even our wines are sold at winery, not restaurant, prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11 am - 11 pm, Friday and Saturday 11 am to Midnight. Formaggeria opens at 11 am

Cross Street:
Rancho Diegueno Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 832-1518

Website:
http://www.dolcepaneevino.com/

Catering:
We offer full service catering. You will be in the hands of our in house catering coordinator. Please call or come by to schedule a tasting.

Parking Details:
Dolce has a private lot located directly in front of our restaurant in Rancho Santa Fe.

Executive Chef:
Team of Chefs

Private Party Facilities:
Our entire restaurant is available for private parties. Please contact us with any questions that you might have concerning your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Flowers: 8588321518

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Dolce Pane E Vino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
San Diego
Californian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Rancho Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
See All
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (7)
great for lunch (6)
special occasion (6)
romantic (4)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food, wine and service was excellent! We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food, wine and service was excellent! We'll be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about Dolce Pane E Vi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I loved everything about Dolce Pane E Vino , the food , the ambiance, the staff and the service. I am vegetarian....but the server went out of his way to help me ..loved the whole experience...I will definitely go back... I am from India and I love traveling and trying new places...will recommend it to others also... Will be back next year!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the greatest experience. Ordered a c ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not the greatest experience. Ordered a couple salads and some brussels sprouts and a flatbread I would never order the flatbread again It was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food and service, not so comfy chairs

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We were seated at a high top table and both men said they kept slipping on the chairs. Those type of tables are good for short time cocktails but not for dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dolce Pane e Vino in Rancho Santa Fe is ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Dolce Pane e Vino in Rancho Santa Fe is so well-loved that they opened a second outlet in the Highlands shopping center. Both are excellent, but we prefer our old favorite. We love exploring the wine list, and our favorite menu items are invariably superb. The atmosphere is friendly, local and inviting. The staff is brilliantly trained, knowledgeable, engaging and helpful. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and friendly service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Enjoyed a light dinner and wine with the excellent service from Phil and Kit, the back waiter. Very friendly and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellente! Highly recommended!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The occasion was lunch with 2 colleagues while in the area. Our server was Jan, who was very attentive, and quite knowledgeable about both food and wine. Lovely ambience, very relaxing, and we did not feel "rushed" to eat and leave. We ended up sharing the "butterscotch budini" for dessert, which was served with fresh berries and crushed pistacchio nuts-to die for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service and delicious food. I h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Friendly service and delicious food. I had the chicken served "angry style" and it was scrumptious! Very spicy! Neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, butternut squash risotto ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was great, butternut squash risotto with pancetta was delicious. After 8 it gets a little loud over near the bar area, which made it difficult to hear the person at the other side of the dinner table. Overall though good food wine and service. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A dining pleasure with fine food and be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

A dining pleasure with fine food and beautiful wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Dolce for valentines. The menu is small, and its surprising that there are no pasta dishes eventhough Dolce is an Italian restaurant.

Service was excelent and the risotto was delicious.

The Lasagna wasn't so good... A pile of sauce and cheese with very little pasta and meat.

Dessert was just ok.

We sat in a booth, th booth and chairs are comfortable, but the small tables have a very wide base that makes it hard to get comfortable, specially for tall people.

Overall the food and service where very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply One of the Best

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We can always count on Dolce Pane E Vino to make us happy. Whenever we can't decide on what to eat or where to go, Dolce will pop into our minds and we're zooming over there to have a dinner that we know will be memorable. The staff is always so kind and welcoming and they ALWAYS make us feel like family. We especially love the kitchen staff and their delicious creations that never fail to make us swoon. I do have one request: BRING BACK THE ACAI SPRITZER!!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful decor. Food very good and serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Wonderful decor. Food very good and service was OK. Great local gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Ask before ordering any specials!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Been here a few times as it's very close by, and we really like this restaurant. Food is always excellent. But a word of caution: be sure to ask the price before ordering anything not on the menu! Having just come back from Spain, we were delighted to hear about the special Jamon (Iberian Ham) appetizer. We ordered it along with the regular cheese board appetizer. The cheese board is already pricey at $18 (but delicious), and when both appetizers came out, they seemed comparable in size, although I was disappointed there were only 2 slices of Jamon. Anyway, we enjoyed them both, as well as the meal. When the check came, I was stunned to find out that the Jamon *appetizer* was $30! That was more than either of our entrees.

I just wanted to pass on this word of caution - our waiter never mentioned the price of the special, and I would never have imagined that it would be nearly twice the price of the cheese board. So please be sure to ask the price, if it's not on the menu. Oh, and they also charged us the 9oz price for a glass of wine, even though we ordered the 6oz glass, but that was just a minor oversight in my mind - they may have poured the 9oz as far as I know, and the meal was otherwise excellent. Just be sure to examine the check.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was "lick the plate" good. Riso ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 8, 2015

The food was "lick the plate" good. Risotto was hearty and perfectly cooked and the pork was juicy with just the right amount of crispy edges. Wine pairings were spot on and the service was friendly but not overbearing. Great relaxing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at Dolce! We had very ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Another great meal at Dolce! We had very good service, the food was excellent as always, and the entire experience was very enjoyable! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a fun night out with a current menu with many different tastes to satisfy even the most demanding palate!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always so fresh and deliciou ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The food is always so fresh and delicious! The salads were mouthwatering and the flatbread pizzas were great! Dolce never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not helpful with seating options. Food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Not helpful with seating options. Food was rather bland.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

6 people, large table, had a hard time h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

6 people, large table, had a hard time hearing each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Another great dining experience!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

From the romantic booth where they seated us, to the great service from our server (Olivia), to the delicious dishes we ordered ( apple arugula salad, eggplant parmigiano, and seared albacore tuna), we were not disappointed when we choose Dolce Pane Vino to celebrate our wedding anniversary. If you haven't been you owe it to yourself to give it a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service was even better!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

We had a great dinner in this vibrant restaurant. The food was good! I would have liked more garlic & salt in the mussels and a bit more flavor with the salmon!

Service was ON IT! Wish I would I remembered his name!

I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

great service and yummy food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

We loved our visit here very much. The restaurant is beaitful, the food delicious and intersting and Olivia was an outstanding server. What we didn't care for was the loudness coming from the bar area. It did calm down the longer we were there, but it took away from what could have been a perfect experience. However, we will be back because it is a great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 20, 2015

We are never disappointed, it's a sure bet to bring friends from out of town. We had the burrito, risotto and pizza, all delicious. We'll go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the dining on the patio.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Good food and extensive wine list. Try sharing a few of the smaller plates and request to sit outside if you would like a more intimate dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Seating Arrangements not comfortable

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

A small party will get a small table. We were seated at a low table at knee cap level with no ability to place feet underneath with couches fit for two and then one or two chairs. The seating in this section is on a hallway where you have the sightline to watch people clean cutlery. The oddness of the table set-ups in this area makes it very uncomfortable. I suppose it was set-up that way to show the "wall of wines" but by doing so, there are 3-4 isolated tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Loved it!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Friendly, and very well trained servers, Excellent food, VERY comfortable and happy place!! Really felt like they were very glad we were there and wanted to make us happy!! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dolce pane Never disappoints!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 7, 2015

Another Fabulous dinner and fun girls night out! The spinach salad is allways delicious, the eggplant dish was both beautiful and delicious and the short rib with fontina, etc. flatbread was Fantastic! I'd order all 3 again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Panne

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

We each had fish for our entree and it was fresh and cooked perfectly. Server was very friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff are SO friendly and attentive!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Service was fab. Food delish. We ordered salads, mussels, flatbread (crust a bit too thick), and a fish dish. Our friend has a bit of a hearing issue so we sat outside--inside is quite loud. We sat at a wonderful table where the noise level was considerably lower. Until…..they kept leaving the door to the bar open. Since we were sitting a few feet away, had a bit of a hard time. Overall, the evening was delightful and we look forward to going back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place to stop for a glass of wine.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Ambiance great, great wine list. Would not come for dinner again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

After Party

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

As ever cannot say anything negative which is why we like to go to Dolce it is always en pointe with its service, food, wines and ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JustatasteGreat

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Dolce Pane e Vino gave us a chance to celebrate the New Year safely. We chose to celebrate close to home, have a drink in the light of day, and get on the road safely afterwards. Our server made our "Sidecar" drink, per our request, perfectly. The service and lunch menu food was good, especially the smoked tomatoe soup. We like their seating for unobtrusive traffic and low noise level. The 3 available booths are away from noise in the rest of restaurant and bar, with subtle lighting and pillows for lounging comfort.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Neat little spot

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

Nestled in a strip mall near Rancho Santa Fe, Dolce was a real surprise in our hunt for a restaurant NOT in our hotel. Amy was incredibly helpful with a description of or options and all were "spot on"!

The braised short rib was superb as was the lobster risotto!. Desert (big enough to share) was a butterscotch delight, beautifully presented. Definitely a place to revisit!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved Bruschetta; Hate the huge tables

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

Brushetta with the cherry compote was the best ever! Food was good, but would be better if served hot. Maybe, if the plates were warmed. Nice decor. Large tables for large groups are great, but the only two tiny tables fill up fast, so the deal is that most couples are seated at corners of these huge squares tables. Awkward.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Best

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 25, 2014

My wife and I (and family and freinds) really appreciate Dolce. Great staff, really delicious food, wonderful wine . . . . . the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Farm to Table Wine Bar

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 24, 2014

While visiting Rancho Santa Fe the owner of the local coffee place, Cafe Poistano, Tim, suggested this spot for dinner. What a find! Tucked away in a local shopping center this lovely, hip and modern wine bar surprised us with its great food. Farm fresh, organic, locally sourced and cooked by a gifted chef: the tomato soup, beet salad, brick chicken and swordfish were all excellent and extraordinarily flavorful. Our server Olovia was charming and knowledgeable. Oh, I almost forgot the Butterscotch Bandino, gone in a minute.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great variety

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I went for my birthday and really enjoyed it. Everything was very tasty and portions were reasonable. I am vegetarian and there were many options for me, along with a fantastic wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite that continues to excel.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Dolce Pane e Vino always demonstrates its ability to maintain excellent food and service, and it even manages to get better and better. It's the kind of a restaurant that you use in your mind as a benchmark - and ask yourself if others measure up. The menu uses fresh local ingredients such as Chino Farms vegetables, and the imaginative and creative culinary staff are always offering new variations, while also letting their guests stick with the proven favorites if they wish. We love the "chicken under brick" - and there are now variations of this terrific dish available, such as a slightly more highly spiced version. The wine list is distinctive, fun and affordable. The bar is lively. It's all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy going to Dolce

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2014

No competition in the area -- good choices, good ambiance -- just very pricey for what it is.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Consistently excellent. Great service. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

Consistently excellent. Great service. Fun atmosphere.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.