About DOC Wine Bar - Lombard

326 Yorktown Center Drive
Lombard, IL 60148
View Larger Map


Welcome to D.O.C Wine Bar - Lombard. We are elated to serve you as your neighborhood wine bar and bistro. We believe that wine is the "nectar of the gods" and should be enjoyed by all, novices and connoisseurs alike.



While we take what we do seriously, first and foremost, we believe drinking wine should be fun. It is our goal to offer a large variety of wine spanning the globe without any of the factors that may cause intimidation and hinder your enjoyment.



Established in 1963 and implemented in 1966, the Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) ("Controlled Denomination of Origin") is Italy's equivalent to France's APPELLATION D'ORIGINE CONTRÔLÉE. DOC's are defined by the geographic area of production for each wine, the varieties that can be used, the minimum alcohol content, the maximum yield, and the specifications for aging.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Daily:4:00PM - 12:00AM

Cross Street:
Highland Road & Butterfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 627-6666

Website:
http://www.docwinebarchicago.com/

Catering:
Please call and ask for Tony to discuss further details.

Executive Chef:
Steve Goellner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Cookie Sundae  - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Butchers Platter With 4 Different Bruchettas And Imported Meats And Cheeses - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Sausage Rigatoni - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Filet Mignon Sliders - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Applewood Bacon Potato Cakes - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Bacon Wrapped Dates - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Maryland Crab Cakes - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
BBQ Chicken Flatbread - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Pan Seared Salmon  - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
fish tacos - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard
Maytag Blue Cheese Potato Chips - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard

DOC Wine Bar - Lombard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
Notable Wine List
West Suburbs
Contemporary American
West Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lombard ›

Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wine D.O.C. has a great menu with plenty ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wine D.O.C. has a great menu with plenty of options and an extensive wine list. Our server, Garret was AMAZING and made our night even more fun.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded all our expectations. Great foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Exceeded all our expectations. Great food, fun environment, good prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place was great. Great food, server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This place was great. Great food, server was knowledgeable, great ambienc, . I had the half roasted chicken it was made just right not too dry potatoes seasoned correctly the baked chocolate cookies for dessert with ice cream was mere perfection!!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at D.O.C. was generally pr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My experience at D.O.C. was generally pretty good, our server was pretty attentive for the most part, the food was good and the ambiance was good as well. The flatbread pizzas were worth going back for and the bacon wrapped dates were excellent. My only knock on this place was the price of beers. The food was reasonably priced and good quality but I shouldn't be paying $9 for a bottled beer that anywhere else would be maybe $6 at the most. I think it was $8 for a lagunitas bottle and $9 for an allagash saison and was shocked when the bill came.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Monday nights are a great deal with 50% ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Monday nights are a great deal with 50% of bottles of wine. The meat and cheese plate is always delicious and the flatbreads crispy and full of flavor. The only downside is the service. It's a wine bar, so I don't want to sit nursing a glass of water for fifteen minutes while my server is behind the bar talking to another server and/or serving bar patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Love the Chef board cheese and meat plat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the Chef board cheese and meat platter as our appetizer with the wine. Our entrees were good but not as filling as most restaurants -- but we loved the ambiance and the wine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food here is amazing!! The service i ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food here is amazing!! The service is also great. It's just small enough to feel intimate but not too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is the only reason I go. The se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food is the only reason I go. The service always if underwhelming; they are always out of at least 1-2 bottles of wine we try to order and the wine is heinously over priced. Sadly it's a typical snobby wine bar when it doesn't have to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

My girlfriends and I went there for a Gi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My girlfriends and I went there for a Girls' night out and had a great time. Each of us ordered at least one wine flight and we shared a cheese and meat plate. We went on a Saturday night and spent several hours there. Our waiter was very courteous and friendly and did not rush us at all, considering how long we were there. Prices were reasonable and ambiance was fun.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for good wine and food. Alwa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place for good wine and food. Always friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant had great atmosphere. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant had great atmosphere. I was not familiar with the "Butchers Block" order form so when my food came it wasn't what I expected and didn't care for it...but that's not the fault of the restaurant...the service was great and the wine was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Server was nice and attentive. Food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Server was nice and attentive. Food and drink selection was good and everyone enjoyed their meals. The four of us shared the meat and cheese board, and then ordered a flatbread pizza, tacos, Caesar salad and veggie panini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best Wine Bar in the area. D ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is the best Wine Bar in the area. Delicious foods and a fantastic variety of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation and arrived prompt ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made a reservation and arrived promptly (on time) to our reservation, but much to our dismay we ended up waiting an additional 45 minutes because we wanted to sit outside but it wasn't an option to select outside seating on OpenTable's website. After 45 minutes of waiting, we ended up eating inside anyway because no tables opened up. The wine flights were amazing, and we enjoyed everything we ate from appetizers- dessert. The waitress was probably having an off night because she was a bit short with us, but that happens. Overall, we will probably be going back in the not so distant future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good service and food is always goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good service and food is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed. A little to quiet though. Tu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed. A little to quiet though. Turn music up a little

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and drinks!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for a birthday dinner. Sma ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for a birthday dinner. Smaller menu, but everything tastes great. Definitely get a butcher's plate as an appetizer (or meal). My fiancee had the crab cakes, which she says are the best she's ever had. Pretty good wine and beer list, and they have cocktails too. We sat outside and the weather was great, service excellent, and the value was solid. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Great wine Really good f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place.

Great wine

Really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place! The food was great an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love this place! The food was great and the wine/beer selection was wonderful.

My only complaint is that on the particular night we attended, they seemed to be a bit understaffed. It took a little extra time to communicate with our server.

She still did a great job.

I plan on continuing to be a repeat customer. It's consistently a great spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were greeted immediately and taken to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were greeted immediately and taken to a nice big booth. Server gave us input on the menu. Sadly a number of times we tried to grab her for refills she wasn't around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Small portion. Food over cooked. Servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Small portion. Food over cooked. Services so so. Nice patio sitting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed a beautiful evening dining outsi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful evening dining outside. The outside seating area is not as cute as another spot nearby but is pleasant. The wine list is extensive and expensive but I believe they have some special deals on Monday nights. The food was really great!

The server was a little awkward and didn't seem to gel with us but provided adequate service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Wide variety of wines by the glass, bott ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wide variety of wines by the glass, bottle, and flights. Charcuterie platter was very good with many meat and cheese choices. Only real complaint is it's a bit pricey , my glass of Cork Jumper was 21.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and appetizers! Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great wine selection and appetizers! The arrays of charcuterie and cheeses are delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Second time at DOC ...love the charcuter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Second time at DOC ...love the charcuterie choices and salads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent wines. Great place to chill.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Decent wines. Great place to chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine, horrible service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and wine, horrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Our server was great. We had the burger ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server was great. We had the burger and a butcher's plate - yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine bar with plenty of new select ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great wine bar with plenty of new selections to try. Nice range of food options we frequently go with the Butcher Block or the sliders are a great choice. We have been here plenty of times but this time the service really was off! Slow, distant and paid no attention to the flow of the meal - we would have ordered more but the server barely came around. Not sure what happened but we will pause next time we think about going back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

we arrived a little early for our 630 re ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

we arrived a little early for our 630 resv and was seating immediately. We had the choice of inside/outside and chose outside. Nice evening, surprising quiet from any road noise and nice ambient setting. Service was attentive and the food was excellent. Having opted for individual dinners, the amount of food was perfect

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outdoor dining is Dog Friendly

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We made a game-time decision to have a late night dinner here after a day at Arlington and chose it specifically because they allow dogs. We made our reservations online, went home to get the pooch, and were seated immediately when we got there. The waiters/waitresses were so sweet with our puppy (as were other diners) and brought her a bowl for water and offered a few milk bones when they passed by. We bought a bottle of wine and the butchers plate. Great late night snack and they don't let your wine glass get to empty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Very relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time visiting D.O.C. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was my second time visiting D.O.C. And my friends' first times. Everything was as great as it was the first time around. My friends even thanked me for choosing D.O.C. Wine Bar as they loved the ambience, food, and wine. The fried cauliflower and bacon wrapped dates are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fun!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Other than having to wait for our table, it was a great night! Our server Joe was awesome as was the food and wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our go-to restaurant whith out-of-town guests. It has a little something else special factor. We typically order the bacon wrapped dates and than a platter( woodblock with all diffetent things on it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food as alwa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service and delicious food as always! We brought our baby and our toddler along and the staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This wasn't our first time, and it won't ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This wasn't our first time, and it won't be our last! We mainly come for the wine, of course, but their food is delicious. I ordered my usual Brie and Apple flatbread with prosciutto while my husband had the crab cakes. Great as usual along with great service! Definitely reserve a table to avoid waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Experience Overall

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Good wine. Good food. Good ambiance. Good service. It all gave me a good feeling... one I wish to return to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great wine

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The wine list is huge, but very good. A lot to choose from and compliments the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.