About DOC Wine Bar - Lombard

326 Yorktown Center Drive
Lombard, IL 60148
View Larger Map


Welcome to D.O.C Wine Bar - Lombard. We are elated to serve you as your neighborhood wine bar and bistro. We believe that wine is the "nectar of the gods" and should be enjoyed by all, novices and connoisseurs alike.



While we take what we do seriously, first and foremost, we believe drinking wine should be fun. It is our goal to offer a large variety of wine spanning the globe without any of the factors that may cause intimidation and hinder your enjoyment.



Established in 1963 and implemented in 1966, the Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) ("Controlled Denomination of Origin") is Italy's equivalent to France's APPELLATION D'ORIGINE CONTRÔLÉE. DOC's are defined by the geographic area of production for each wine, the varieties that can be used, the minimum alcohol content, the maximum yield, and the specifications for aging.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Daily:4:00PM - 12:00AM

Cross Street:
Highland Road & Butterfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 627-6666

Website:
http://www.docwinebarchicago.com/

Catering:
Please call and ask for Tony to discuss further details.

Executive Chef:
Steve Goellner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Baked Cookie Sundae
Sausage Rigatoni
Butchers Platter With 4 Different Bruchettas And Imported Meats And Cheeses
Filet Mignon Sliders
Applewood Bacon Potato Cakes
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Maryland Crab Cakes
BBQ Chicken Flatbread
Pan Seared Salmon
fish tacos
Maytag Blue Cheese Potato Chips

DOC Wine Bar - Lombard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
West Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lombard ›

notable wine list (37)
fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (24)
See All
great for lunch (18)
good for groups (18)
great for outdoor dining (18)
romantic (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good service and food is always goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good service and food is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed. A little to quiet though. Tu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed. A little to quiet though. Turn music up a little

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food and drinks!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for a birthday dinner. Sma ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for a birthday dinner. Smaller menu, but everything tastes great. Definitely get a butcher's plate as an appetizer (or meal). My fiancee had the crab cakes, which she says are the best she's ever had. Pretty good wine and beer list, and they have cocktails too. We sat outside and the weather was great, service excellent, and the value was solid. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Great wine Really good f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place.

Great wine

Really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place! The food was great an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love this place! The food was great and the wine/beer selection was wonderful.

My only complaint is that on the particular night we attended, they seemed to be a bit understaffed. It took a little extra time to communicate with our server.

She still did a great job.

I plan on continuing to be a repeat customer. It's consistently a great spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were greeted immediately and taken to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were greeted immediately and taken to a nice big booth. Server gave us input on the menu. Sadly a number of times we tried to grab her for refills she wasn't around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Small portion. Food over cooked. Servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Small portion. Food over cooked. Services so so. Nice patio sitting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed a beautiful evening dining outsi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful evening dining outside. The outside seating area is not as cute as another spot nearby but is pleasant. The wine list is extensive and expensive but I believe they have some special deals on Monday nights. The food was really great!

The server was a little awkward and didn't seem to gel with us but provided adequate service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Wide variety of wines by the glass, bott ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wide variety of wines by the glass, bottle, and flights. Charcuterie platter was very good with many meat and cheese choices. Only real complaint is it's a bit pricey , my glass of Cork Jumper was 21.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and appetizers! Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great wine selection and appetizers! The arrays of charcuterie and cheeses are delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Second time at DOC ...love the charcuter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Second time at DOC ...love the charcuterie choices and salads.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent wines. Great place to chill.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Decent wines. Great place to chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine, horrible service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and wine, horrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Our server was great. We had the burger ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server was great. We had the burger and a butcher's plate - yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine bar with plenty of new select ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great wine bar with plenty of new selections to try. Nice range of food options we frequently go with the Butcher Block or the sliders are a great choice. We have been here plenty of times but this time the service really was off! Slow, distant and paid no attention to the flow of the meal - we would have ordered more but the server barely came around. Not sure what happened but we will pause next time we think about going back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

we arrived a little early for our 630 re ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

we arrived a little early for our 630 resv and was seating immediately. We had the choice of inside/outside and chose outside. Nice evening, surprising quiet from any road noise and nice ambient setting. Service was attentive and the food was excellent. Having opted for individual dinners, the amount of food was perfect

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outdoor dining is Dog Friendly

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We made a game-time decision to have a late night dinner here after a day at Arlington and chose it specifically because they allow dogs. We made our reservations online, went home to get the pooch, and were seated immediately when we got there. The waiters/waitresses were so sweet with our puppy (as were other diners) and brought her a bowl for water and offered a few milk bones when they passed by. We bought a bottle of wine and the butchers plate. Great late night snack and they don't let your wine glass get to empty.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Very relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time visiting D.O.C. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was my second time visiting D.O.C. And my friends' first times. Everything was as great as it was the first time around. My friends even thanked me for choosing D.O.C. Wine Bar as they loved the ambience, food, and wine. The fried cauliflower and bacon wrapped dates are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fun!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Other than having to wait for our table, it was a great night! Our server Joe was awesome as was the food and wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our go-to restaurant whith out-of-town guests. It has a little something else special factor. We typically order the bacon wrapped dates and than a platter( woodblock with all diffetent things on it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food as alwa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service and delicious food as always! We brought our baby and our toddler along and the staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This wasn't our first time, and it won't ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This wasn't our first time, and it won't be our last! We mainly come for the wine, of course, but their food is delicious. I ordered my usual Brie and Apple flatbread with prosciutto while my husband had the crab cakes. Great as usual along with great service! Definitely reserve a table to avoid waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Experience Overall

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Good wine. Good food. Good ambiance. Good service. It all gave me a good feeling... one I wish to return to.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great wine

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The wine list is huge, but very good. A lot to choose from and compliments the food!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic all across the board!... Great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Fantastic all across the board!... Great service and quality food! Wine flights are a must- greatly paired together by blends. Chocolate chip cookie dessert was just exceptional! I'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have had multiple flat breads here, the cheese and sausage boards you can build are incredible! the salmon my husband had was great and I had the pasta, also amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great night out

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I don't eat out a lot, but when we do, DOC is one of the places we like to visit. Their menu is fun, and we especially love the different board selections they offer. We also enjoy the wine flights and always discover something interesting and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner all around

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Wonderful bottle of merlot, delicious salmon...perfect place for a nice dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

This place was highly anticipated and my wife and I were looking forward to it. The appetizers weren't the best, the glasses of wine were very expensive for just being average tasting, the flights of wine were absurdly priced, and the dessert was fantastic but such a small portion for the price. There really isn't any sort of value in coming here. With that being said, our entrees were good as well, however not nearly worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

One of our regular dinner spots. Consis ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

One of our regular dinner spots. Consistently good service, quality food and good menu options.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening! Our waitress wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We enjoyed our evening! Our waitress was great - very patient with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always excellent service!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Always excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pistachio and ricotta was amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Pistachio and ricotta was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We frequent DOC for the food and the wine.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great staff--they were able to accommodate a group of 12. Fun night of eating and drinking. Love the salads and the pizza with brussel sprouts and goat cheese is super yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, but must eat quickly

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Our food was delicious but service was poor quality. We were rushed to finish our dinner and drinks, and then rushed out of the restaurant. I am not sure if I would go back because of the price of the food and drinks, and the poor quality of service that received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

New Years Eve

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Food, wine and staff were great! The food specials were delicious to match the wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great experience overall

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was great--I loved the create your own meat/cheese/bruschetta board! Our meals and wine flights were great as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service, overpriced

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We waited 30 minutes for a sever to come to pour table....even after asking for one to be sent over. Pricey for poor service. Got seated in a bad part of restaurant with many other tables open. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.