About DOC Wine Bar - Lombard

326 Yorktown Center Drive
Lombard, IL 60148
View Larger Map


Welcome to D.O.C Wine Bar - Lombard. We are elated to serve you as your neighborhood wine bar and bistro. We believe that wine is the "nectar of the gods" and should be enjoyed by all, novices and connoisseurs alike.



While we take what we do seriously, first and foremost, we believe drinking wine should be fun. It is our goal to offer a large variety of wine spanning the globe without any of the factors that may cause intimidation and hinder your enjoyment.



Established in 1963 and implemented in 1966, the Denominazione di Origine Controllata (DOC) ("Controlled Denomination of Origin") is Italy's equivalent to France's APPELLATION D'ORIGINE CONTRÔLÉE. DOC's are defined by the geographic area of production for each wine, the varieties that can be used, the minimum alcohol content, the maximum yield, and the specifications for aging.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Daily:4:00PM - 12:00AM

Cross Street:
Highland Road & Butterfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 627-6666

Website:
http://www.docwinebarchicago.com/

Catering:
Please call and ask for Tony to discuss further details.

Executive Chef:
Steve Goellner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Baked Cookie Sundae  - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Butchers Platter With 4 Different Bruchettas And Imported Meats And Cheeses - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Sausage Rigatoni - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Filet Mignon Sliders - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Applewood Bacon Potato Cakes - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Bacon Wrapped Dates - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Maryland Crab Cakes - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
BBQ Chicken Flatbread - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Pan Seared Salmon  - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
fish tacos - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL
Maytag Blue Cheese Potato Chips - DOC Wine Bar - Lombard, Lombard, IL

DOC Wine Bar - Lombard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
West Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lombard ›

Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place!! Way to expensive though.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great place!! Way to expensive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love this place. God food, nice decor, n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love this place. God food, nice decor, not too busy for lunch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine. Good food. The butcher blo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great wine. Good food. The butcher block is always a favorite. The deserts are lacking though. Service was inattentive at times, but otherwise good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was always available to sugge ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was always available to suggest pairings and food. I had a great time with friends and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love this place. It is definitely wort ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I love this place. It is definitely worth the drive and not what you would expect from a mall location. The brussel sprouts and cauliflower are amazing and the perfect starter. The Butcher's Plate is my favorite item on the menu. The Sainte Andre, Smoked Duck Breast, and Romesco, Leeks, Bacon bruschetta are my three musts on every visit. The wine list is long enough but I wish it was a little more diverse. I will say the service seems to have been going down on my last couple of visits. Our waiter was rude and made us feel rushed when he came to the table to order. So much so that when asking about offerings from the Butcher's Plate he quipped "So do you have a question? I'm not going to stand here all night" The tone he said it in was meant to be funny... but it wasn't. We weren't amused and he could tell. Thankfully he adjusted his attitude and provided decent service the rest of our stay. I will give them another try because I love the food, but if the service continues to decline I won't be coming back as regularly as I do.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a business lunch here and frankly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had a business lunch here and frankly I would not recommend this location for business. There was only one person working the host stand, bar, server, busing tables, answering the phone, etc. It was strange, but clearly they were not busy enough to have staff for each of these roles. There were three tables of guests while we there and we were sat right next to another group who were quite loud and it was difficult to carry on a conversation. The food was very good, so I would recommend based on the food, but not the ambiance or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Kind of like the Seinfeld Episode - evid ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Kind of like the Seinfeld Episode - evidently they can TAKE the reservation, but have a big problem HOLDING the reservation. Arrived on time for reservation, but were informed would probably have to wait 30-45 minutes. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food options from Butcher Boards ( ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food options from Butcher Boards (cheese, meats and bruschetta) to salads, comfort food, and meat. Great wine list, service was great. Definitely make reservations! Arrived at 5:45 pm on a Thursday and only two tables open!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

One of my favorite places to meet friend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

One of my favorite places to meet friends in the area. I love the wine choices, butcher block items and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I LOVE DOC Winebar, one of my favorite p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I LOVE DOC Winebar, one of my favorite places to eat. The butcher plate (small) is enough food for a whole meal, might add the Brussels sprout salad to share. It had good wine, great service, and the butcher plate is the BEST!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Spicy, Fun, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only bad thing was our waiter seemed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The only bad thing was our waiter seemed put out by us. Always hurrying off and not at all friendly. Other than that , loved the place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food. Half off bottles of wine ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent food. Half off bottles of wine. Great wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places to eat. I liv ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat. I live in Southern Indiana so we make the trip 3-4 times a year and it's always on our list of places to eat. Wish it was closer!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great girls' night out. Waiter was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had a great girls' night out. Waiter was low key in letting us catch up but checking in enough to attend to our needs. Great place for hanging. We ordered the large butcher block and a flatbread. All were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine D.O.C. has a great menu with plenty ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wine D.O.C. has a great menu with plenty of options and an extensive wine list. Our server, Garret was AMAZING and made our night even more fun.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded all our expectations. Great foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Exceeded all our expectations. Great food, fun environment, good prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place was great. Great food, server ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This place was great. Great food, server was knowledgeable, great ambienc, . I had the half roasted chicken it was made just right not too dry potatoes seasoned correctly the baked chocolate cookies for dessert with ice cream was mere perfection!!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at D.O.C. was generally pr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My experience at D.O.C. was generally pretty good, our server was pretty attentive for the most part, the food was good and the ambiance was good as well. The flatbread pizzas were worth going back for and the bacon wrapped dates were excellent. My only knock on this place was the price of beers. The food was reasonably priced and good quality but I shouldn't be paying $9 for a bottled beer that anywhere else would be maybe $6 at the most. I think it was $8 for a lagunitas bottle and $9 for an allagash saison and was shocked when the bill came.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Monday nights are a great deal with 50% ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Monday nights are a great deal with 50% of bottles of wine. The meat and cheese plate is always delicious and the flatbreads crispy and full of flavor. The only downside is the service. It's a wine bar, so I don't want to sit nursing a glass of water for fifteen minutes while my server is behind the bar talking to another server and/or serving bar patrons.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Love the Chef board cheese and meat plat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Love the Chef board cheese and meat platter as our appetizer with the wine. Our entrees were good but not as filling as most restaurants -- but we loved the ambiance and the wine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food here is amazing!! The service i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food here is amazing!! The service is also great. It's just small enough to feel intimate but not too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is the only reason I go. The se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food is the only reason I go. The service always if underwhelming; they are always out of at least 1-2 bottles of wine we try to order and the wine is heinously over priced. Sadly it's a typical snobby wine bar when it doesn't have to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

My girlfriends and I went there for a Gi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My girlfriends and I went there for a Girls' night out and had a great time. Each of us ordered at least one wine flight and we shared a cheese and meat plate. We went on a Saturday night and spent several hours there. Our waiter was very courteous and friendly and did not rush us at all, considering how long we were there. Prices were reasonable and ambiance was fun.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for good wine and food. Alwa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place for good wine and food. Always friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant had great atmosphere. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant had great atmosphere. I was not familiar with the "Butchers Block" order form so when my food came it wasn't what I expected and didn't care for it...but that's not the fault of the restaurant...the service was great and the wine was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Server was nice and attentive. Food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Server was nice and attentive. Food and drink selection was good and everyone enjoyed their meals. The four of us shared the meat and cheese board, and then ordered a flatbread pizza, tacos, Caesar salad and veggie panini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best Wine Bar in the area. D ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is the best Wine Bar in the area. Delicious foods and a fantastic variety of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation and arrived prompt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made a reservation and arrived promptly (on time) to our reservation, but much to our dismay we ended up waiting an additional 45 minutes because we wanted to sit outside but it wasn't an option to select outside seating on OpenTable's website. After 45 minutes of waiting, we ended up eating inside anyway because no tables opened up. The wine flights were amazing, and we enjoyed everything we ate from appetizers- dessert. The waitress was probably having an off night because she was a bit short with us, but that happens. Overall, we will probably be going back in the not so distant future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good service and food is always goo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good service and food is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed. A little to quiet though. Tu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We enjoyed. A little to quiet though. Turn music up a little

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and drinks!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for a birthday dinner. Sma ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for a birthday dinner. Smaller menu, but everything tastes great. Definitely get a butcher's plate as an appetizer (or meal). My fiancee had the crab cakes, which she says are the best she's ever had. Pretty good wine and beer list, and they have cocktails too. We sat outside and the weather was great, service excellent, and the value was solid. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Great wine Really good f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place.

Great wine

Really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place! The food was great an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love this place! The food was great and the wine/beer selection was wonderful.

My only complaint is that on the particular night we attended, they seemed to be a bit understaffed. It took a little extra time to communicate with our server.

She still did a great job.

I plan on continuing to be a repeat customer. It's consistently a great spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were greeted immediately and taken to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were greeted immediately and taken to a nice big booth. Server gave us input on the menu. Sadly a number of times we tried to grab her for refills she wasn't around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Small portion. Food over cooked. Servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Small portion. Food over cooked. Services so so. Nice patio sitting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed a beautiful evening dining outsi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful evening dining outside. The outside seating area is not as cute as another spot nearby but is pleasant. The wine list is extensive and expensive but I believe they have some special deals on Monday nights. The food was really great!

The server was a little awkward and didn't seem to gel with us but provided adequate service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Wide variety of wines by the glass, bott ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wide variety of wines by the glass, bottle, and flights. Charcuterie platter was very good with many meat and cheese choices. Only real complaint is it's a bit pricey , my glass of Cork Jumper was 21.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and appetizers! Th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great wine selection and appetizers! The arrays of charcuterie and cheeses are delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.