About Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover

1131 North Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
View Larger Map

Located in the Colonnade of Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, Dave Magrogan developed these classic 1900′s Oyster Houses as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, the ocean’s little aphrodisiacs. No expense was spared to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun & merriment in a local watering hole.

It is Doc’s joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Fresh Starts Here

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:45am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Northbound side of US 13 (North DuPont Hwy)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 857-3223

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment and Trivia!

Catering:
Doc Magrogan’s can handle your gathering of up to 100 people. Enjoy Doc’s warm atmosphere, pleasant hospitality, and fresh dishes- sure to please your friends, co-workers, or family. We offer a variety of options for you and your party to enjoy. If you have specific requests, we will be happy to accommodate any of your needs! All of our menus are fully customizable.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet provided with lunch or dinner service.

Public Transit:
DART First State is the Statewide Public Bus Transportation system. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino is serviced by routes 109, 112 & 113. Visit dartfirststate.com for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
*All special events require a ticket purchase. These may be bought from the location itself or from eventbrite.com as the event date approaches. Please check our Facebook page for all event updates and further info.

More events are being planned! Like us on Facebook or check back for details.

Specials

Buck-A-Shuck ALL DAY!!

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

$28.99 All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Course Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Buck-A-Shuck ALL DAY!!

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

Join us for $1 East Coast Oysters and $2 West Coast Oysters ALL DAY!!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 2, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM.

$28.99 All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us every Tuesday for All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs from 4-10pm. Served with bottomless corn on the cob and red bliss potatoes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Course Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for 3 Courses starting at only $16.99!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 2, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
People Watching (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Dancing (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (0)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The server was attentive but the food wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The server was attentive but the food was not worth going back. Overcooked shrimp and undercooked vegetables. The dessert was advertised on a placard on the table. It looked delicious on the picture, but when we ordered it, we were very disappointed. Noise level was a little loud and difficult to hear conversations at the table. If you are looking for a great place for seafood, this is not it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The staff is always great! It's the reas ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff is always great! It's the reason we go to Dover!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the dinner there with m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I really enjoyed the dinner there with my mate. I have alway enjoyed the kinds of foods serviced there for I am a seafoods person. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was awful, reservations were not ho ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was awful, reservations were not honored, service was bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible food. No taste. Forgot side it ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible food. No taste. Forgot side items. Gave us a dirty table to sit at. Had to move. Can't see going back there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Oysters always good. Smallest crab cake ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Oysters always good. Smallest crab cake I'd ever eaten. Ate it in one bite. Bring your kitchen people over to my house and since I was born on the Chesapeake bay, I'll show them the size and taste of real crab cakes. The servers were very up beat, smiling, and friendly. I live in Dover and have been over to Docs a few times since it opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It was New Year's Eve ,maybe that was th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve ,maybe that was the reason we were seated over 30min after our reservation time. The food was ok . I had the stuffed shrimp. The shrimp were just a tiny bit larger than salad shrimp, I still think I was served an appetizer instead of an entree. This was our second time here but the first was for lunch. I doubt that we will go back for dinner again but maybe for lunch since the portions are so small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We dined with docs for the New Years. Ev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined with docs for the New Years.

Everything was just wonderful. The wait staff was very kind and professional.

Thank you for a wonderful memory

Shaun

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The service was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was very good. The service was slow but to the restaurants credit it was New Year's eve and they were extremely busy. Our waitress was very nice and accommodating and gave us the best service she could given the circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

service was very slow, salad never came ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

service was very slow, salad never came before main course even thou i asked for it, appetizer was also long time coming, order steak it was very, very chewy, talk to manager, not sure he really cared. Was there tonight, service again was very slow with a slow crowd but food was good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We have eaten here several times, but I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have eaten here several times, but I was a little disappointed this time. My lobster tail was undercook (but not raw), and the meal was very bland tasting. We always have the same meal so I know how it usually taste. So we were disappointed that for new years eve our food was not up to the excellence it usually is. Our waitress however was excellent, very attentive and checked on us often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The first thing was someone there cancel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The first thing was someone there cancelled our Open Table reservation instead of confirming the fact that we had arrived. Fortunately, I received an email that my reservation had been cancelled be fore we were able to order food. They had me make a reservation for later that night and they confirmed that and I received my 100 points.

The fish in my wife's fish and chips was overcooked and like mush.

My carrots and string beans were under cooked and hard as rocks.

My salmon was fine (at least someone in the kitchen knew how to cook).

It was a Friday evening and the dining room was almost empty.

There were many loud people in the bar.

I will never go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Maryland crab soup is fantastic! Crab d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Maryland crab soup is fantastic! Crab dip and homemade crackers are yummy. Shrimp is always good. Cioppiano was great!!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Okay but not great

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Okay but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was my 2nd visit with my family wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was my 2nd visit with my family within the past 30 days. The food was excellent and so was the service that we received by the staff. I would recommend to all my fiends or anybody that ask while I'm at Dover.

Thanks,

Robert

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to docs for Christmas Eve dinner. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went to docs for Christmas Eve dinner. Instead of ordering a heavy meal we opted for soup salads appetizers and a sandwich. Waiter was wonderful. Very nice and very attentive. Also had a few drinks. Atmosphere was cozy and quiet that evening. Enjoyed our dining time and food very much

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, People Watching, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

I have dined here at least 6 times. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have dined here at least 6 times. The food this time was horrible. Something has truly happened in the kitchen.

Won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Romantic dining we come often for the cr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Romantic dining we come often for the crab legs.Its worth the price.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent all you can crab legs. Great p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Excellent all you can crab legs. Great price and $2. Beers. What could be better!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All you can eat snow crab legs Tuesdays ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2016

All you can eat snow crab legs Tuesdays - excellent deal

Decor is a little dated

Seating needs to be reupholstered

Lighting is a little too dim

Management visibly lacking in experience (performance discussions on dining room floor)

Wait staff stretched thin - good service for coverage area

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

There was nothing really remarkable abou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

There was nothing really remarkable about this restaurant. It was clean and the food was good. We had all you can eat crab leg which came with potatoes and corn. I would have preferred a steak dinner but was told the meal was not very large. Others I saw being served looked good but small. The prices seem a little high but since I had the crab, I can't comment on the rest of the menu. I would probably go back but only after I sampled other restaurants in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The whole meal was a disaster. We were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The whole meal was a disaster. We were dining with our parents and started by asking for separate checks when ordering our calamari appetizer. The waitress came back and said they were out. We then placed an order for a different appetizer which we never received. They then brought out 3 of our 4 dinners. Mine was a shrimp platter that the order was not made. Once they realized their mistake they rushed to cook the shrimp which came out burnt and bitter. I have never sent my food back before but it was inedible. The manager came over and said they would replace the 2 uneaten shrimp. She also said that dessert/coffee was on them. The waitress offered us a choice of about 10 items then had to come back and tell us they no longer had what we wanted and our choice was now a banana nut cake or German chocolate. They also must have been out of dinnerware because they served the cake in bowls and the coffee with large serving size spoons. It was so bad that the managers were not making eye contact. No surprise at the end when we received one check!

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food. Calamari was bland. Waitre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food. Calamari was bland.

Waitress was pleasant, but not fully engaged. We had to ask for coffee and for dessert. Neither were offered. We didn't feel "welcome."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing! Great food and great service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Amazing! Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. The food and drinks were v ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Good service. The food and drinks were very good as well. A bit pricey but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except for my lobst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was great except for my lobster roll, seemed like lobster salad with no chunks of lobster. Have had it before and was much better. Overall we had a great time there

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

When I arrived and checked for my reserv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

When I arrived and checked for my reservation, there was no reservation for me. I received an online confirmation. Are you aware of a problem?

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobsters were done to a T. Perfect for ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lobsters were done to a T. Perfect for a great dinner. great sides, thanks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out meals were very well done, the lobst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Out meals were very well done, the lobster was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing. Food is below average an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Disappointing. Food is below average and portion size is very small. A poor value. Eat before arriving at Dover Downs...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is average. Service is average. N ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food is average. Service is average. Noisy, but a nice place to go. I would be going if it were not convenient for business dinners.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for Sunday brunch. I order the blue ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. I order the blueberry pancakes and they were over cooked to where 1 of the 3 was actually burnt. I am a type 1 diabetic and they had no sugar free syrup. All other of the meals was okay. We were the only ones there for the first half hour and it took us 30 minutes to get the meals.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We met some friends of ours for dinner a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We met some friends of ours for dinner at Doc's . We each ordered something different as our entree.......Crab Cakes, Salmon with Lobster Hash, Mahi Mahi, and a combo-seafood dinner. All were great and I really appreciated the quality of the side dishes. Too often they are overlooked.

Our server was Joe and he was both attentive & friendly. He was unhappy about the lo-o-o-ng wait we had for our entrees (as were we), so he offered complimentary desserts to make up for the delay in our dinner. Kudos to him for turning around what could have been a bad experience.

Don't let the fact that this restaurant is located in a casino turn you off. Doc Magrogan's is definitely worth a visit!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My boyfriend and I attended a show at th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I attended a show at the Casino, so we thought we'd enjoy dinner close by. The place was quiet when we first arrived as there were very few diners at that time. Business did pick by the time we finished our meal and the place was a little more lively. We ordered a peach tea and a watermelon crush, neither of which tasted like the fruit supposed to be in the drink. As an appetizer we ordered the Tai lettuce wraps, which came out quickly, but weren't very flavorful. Our entrees were a fried seafood platter, which was delicious, and broiled stuffed shrimp with mashed potatoes and green beans. The potatoes were piping hot and the green beans were excellent...crunchy and flavorful! For dessert we had the banana nut cake and the apple crisp parfait. Both were fine, nothing spectacular. Our server was attentive and the food came out quickly, but overall the meal wasn't worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nothing about eating there was good in o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nothing about eating there was good in our experience. They messed one of the orders up and brought the wrong thing, the blackened Mai was almost like shoe leather, with garlic mashed potatoes must've come from the bottom of the pan because they were dry as well and it took us 2 1/2 hours total service time. The only thing good was the clams from the raw bar they were excellent., although it took nearly an hour to get them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

First we ordered the "crab" dip and it t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

First we ordered the "crab" dip and it turned out to be a cheese spread, no crab at all. Next, our salad came to our table and had a fowl smell. The manager on duty, short blonde female, said she couldn't smell what me, my wife and the waiter smelled. Then our meals came and the portions were really small for the price. Not a very good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had an enjoyable dinner and our serve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner and our server was great, friendly, responsive and fun.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Crabs were bad. Service was excellent.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Crabs were bad. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Great place for seafood, however they se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great place for seafood, however they sell other items such as chicken and steak. Service was good. Great selection of oysters. Drinks are priced a little high. I would not take children since it is at a casino.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here at Docs and the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time here at Docs and the food was good. The lobster roll was nice and hearty however bigger chunks of lobster meat would be better instead of chopped up finely but still good to eat. The lobster mac and cheese was great and highly recommend it. They also have a great bar selection of beer and the cocktails were nice as well. Service was also very timely and efficient just as I would expect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.