About Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover

1131 North Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
View Larger Map

Located in the Colonnade of Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, Dave Magrogan developed these classic 1900′s Oyster Houses as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, the ocean’s little aphrodisiacs. No expense was spared to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun & merriment in a local watering hole.

It is Doc’s joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Fresh Starts Here

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:45am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Northbound side of US 13 (North DuPont Hwy)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 857-3223

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment and Trivia!

Catering:
Doc Magrogan’s can handle your gathering of up to 100 people. Enjoy Doc’s warm atmosphere, pleasant hospitality, and fresh dishes- sure to please your friends, co-workers, or family. We offer a variety of options for you and your party to enjoy. If you have specific requests, we will be happy to accommodate any of your needs! All of our menus are fully customizable.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet provided with lunch or dinner service.

Public Transit:
DART First State is the Statewide Public Bus Transportation system. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino is serviced by routes 109, 112 & 113. Visit dartfirststate.com for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
*All special events require a ticket purchase. These may be bought from the location itself or from eventbrite.com as the event date approaches. Please check our Facebook page for all event updates and further info.

More events are being planned! Like us on Facebook or check back for details.

Specials

Trivia!

Wednesdays from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Buck-A-Shuck ALL DAY!!

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

$28.99 All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Course Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Trivia!

Wednesdays from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Test your knowledge with our Trivia Night, with a prize for winning every round in addition to an overall Grand Prize. We also extend our Happy Hour Menu on Wednesdays until 9pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Trivia and Happy Hour Menu are only available in the bar and patio area. Special valid Aug 25, 2016 - Dec 25, 2016 on Wednesdays from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Book your Christmas Eve dinner with us today! (Reservations are limited. Last seating at 8pm.)

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Merry Christmas! We will be closed today so our team may enjoy this holiday with their loved ones. Wishing everyone a happy, and healthy holiday!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Bring in the New Year with us! We will feature menu additions as well as our full dinner menu! Entertainment starts at 10pm. Complimentary champagne toast at midnight!

Buck-A-Shuck ALL DAY!!

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

Join us for $1 East Coast Oysters and $2 West Coast Oysters ALL DAY!!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 2, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM.

$28.99 All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us every Tuesday for All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs from 4-10pm. Served with bottomless corn on the cob and red bliss potatoes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 2, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Course Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for 3 Courses starting at only $16.99!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 2, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Dancing (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Romantic dining we come often for the cr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Romantic dining we come often for the crab legs.Its worth the price.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent all you can crab legs. Great p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent all you can crab legs. Great price and $2. Beers. What could be better!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All you can eat snow crab legs Tuesdays ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

All you can eat snow crab legs Tuesdays - excellent deal

Decor is a little dated

Seating needs to be reupholstered

Lighting is a little too dim

Management visibly lacking in experience (performance discussions on dining room floor)

Wait staff stretched thin - good service for coverage area

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

There was nothing really remarkable abou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

There was nothing really remarkable about this restaurant. It was clean and the food was good. We had all you can eat crab leg which came with potatoes and corn. I would have preferred a steak dinner but was told the meal was not very large. Others I saw being served looked good but small. The prices seem a little high but since I had the crab, I can't comment on the rest of the menu. I would probably go back but only after I sampled other restaurants in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The whole meal was a disaster. We were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The whole meal was a disaster. We were dining with our parents and started by asking for separate checks when ordering our calamari appetizer. The waitress came back and said they were out. We then placed an order for a different appetizer which we never received. They then brought out 3 of our 4 dinners. Mine was a shrimp platter that the order was not made. Once they realized their mistake they rushed to cook the shrimp which came out burnt and bitter. I have never sent my food back before but it was inedible. The manager came over and said they would replace the 2 uneaten shrimp. She also said that dessert/coffee was on them. The waitress offered us a choice of about 10 items then had to come back and tell us they no longer had what we wanted and our choice was now a banana nut cake or German chocolate. They also must have been out of dinnerware because they served the cake in bowls and the coffee with large serving size spoons. It was so bad that the managers were not making eye contact. No surprise at the end when we received one check!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food. Calamari was bland. Waitre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food. Calamari was bland.

Waitress was pleasant, but not fully engaged. We had to ask for coffee and for dessert. Neither were offered. We didn't feel "welcome."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing! Great food and great service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Amazing! Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. The food and drinks were v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Good service. The food and drinks were very good as well. A bit pricey but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except for my lobst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was great except for my lobster roll, seemed like lobster salad with no chunks of lobster. Have had it before and was much better. Overall we had a great time there

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

When I arrived and checked for my reserv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

When I arrived and checked for my reservation, there was no reservation for me. I received an online confirmation. Are you aware of a problem?

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobsters were done to a T. Perfect for ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lobsters were done to a T. Perfect for a great dinner. great sides, thanks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out meals were very well done, the lobst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Out meals were very well done, the lobster was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing. Food is below average an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Disappointing. Food is below average and portion size is very small. A poor value. Eat before arriving at Dover Downs...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is average. Service is average. N ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food is average. Service is average. Noisy, but a nice place to go. I would be going if it were not convenient for business dinners.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for Sunday brunch. I order the blue ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. I order the blueberry pancakes and they were over cooked to where 1 of the 3 was actually burnt. I am a type 1 diabetic and they had no sugar free syrup. All other of the meals was okay. We were the only ones there for the first half hour and it took us 30 minutes to get the meals.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We met some friends of ours for dinner a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We met some friends of ours for dinner at Doc's . We each ordered something different as our entree.......Crab Cakes, Salmon with Lobster Hash, Mahi Mahi, and a combo-seafood dinner. All were great and I really appreciated the quality of the side dishes. Too often they are overlooked.

Our server was Joe and he was both attentive & friendly. He was unhappy about the lo-o-o-ng wait we had for our entrees (as were we), so he offered complimentary desserts to make up for the delay in our dinner. Kudos to him for turning around what could have been a bad experience.

Don't let the fact that this restaurant is located in a casino turn you off. Doc Magrogan's is definitely worth a visit!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My boyfriend and I attended a show at th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I attended a show at the Casino, so we thought we'd enjoy dinner close by. The place was quiet when we first arrived as there were very few diners at that time. Business did pick by the time we finished our meal and the place was a little more lively. We ordered a peach tea and a watermelon crush, neither of which tasted like the fruit supposed to be in the drink. As an appetizer we ordered the Tai lettuce wraps, which came out quickly, but weren't very flavorful. Our entrees were a fried seafood platter, which was delicious, and broiled stuffed shrimp with mashed potatoes and green beans. The potatoes were piping hot and the green beans were excellent...crunchy and flavorful! For dessert we had the banana nut cake and the apple crisp parfait. Both were fine, nothing spectacular. Our server was attentive and the food came out quickly, but overall the meal wasn't worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nothing about eating there was good in o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nothing about eating there was good in our experience. They messed one of the orders up and brought the wrong thing, the blackened Mai was almost like shoe leather, with garlic mashed potatoes must've come from the bottom of the pan because they were dry as well and it took us 2 1/2 hours total service time. The only thing good was the clams from the raw bar they were excellent., although it took nearly an hour to get them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

First we ordered the "crab" dip and it t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

First we ordered the "crab" dip and it turned out to be a cheese spread, no crab at all. Next, our salad came to our table and had a fowl smell. The manager on duty, short blonde female, said she couldn't smell what me, my wife and the waiter smelled. Then our meals came and the portions were really small for the price. Not a very good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had an enjoyable dinner and our serve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner and our server was great, friendly, responsive and fun.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Crabs were bad. Service was excellent.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Crabs were bad. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Great place for seafood, however they se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great place for seafood, however they sell other items such as chicken and steak. Service was good. Great selection of oysters. Drinks are priced a little high. I would not take children since it is at a casino.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here at Docs and the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time here at Docs and the food was good. The lobster roll was nice and hearty however bigger chunks of lobster meat would be better instead of chopped up finely but still good to eat. The lobster mac and cheese was great and highly recommend it. They also have a great bar selection of beer and the cocktails were nice as well. Service was also very timely and efficient just as I would expect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was probably the worst meal I have ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was probably the worst meal I have ever had in my life. The appetizer oysters were small, even though they claimed them to be large. Our calamari was lumped together in one big ball and served to us just like that. I had the Mahi tacos for the entree and the burnt wood flavor on the Mahi was off putting and inedible.....I will never go back again. I do not recommend this place for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Doc Magrogans' was a very nice restauran ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Doc Magrogans' was a very nice restaurant. The food was excellent and service was exceptional. Located inside the Dover Downs Casino it was quite "lively" and pricey but we enjoyed our meal. We were there for a special occasion with friends and used an Open Table reward which almost covered our tab for beverages.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed with the food. Expected bet ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Disappointed with the food. Expected better. Celebrating my sister's birthday. When I made the reservation I was told they don't have cakes to purchase but since they have individual desserts they will put a candle on one. Only had those shooter desserts. No cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wandered in here after setting up for th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wandered in here after setting up for the Best of Delaware party and was very pleased with service & value. Joseph, our server, was outstanding! He recommended a lot of tasty dishes and was very attentive without being overbearing. Will definitely come back for their $6 apps during Wed. Happy Hour again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for 'Oysters'. My Son-in-L ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went there for 'Oysters'. My Son-in-Law wanted freshly shucked Oysters & did get a wonderful platter. We absolutely did not question the price on them. / I wanted a fried Oyster platter; it was not offered on their menu. Shouldn't an Oyster House offer a variety of Oysters dishes? I chose a Po'boy sandwich, which I did not really want for a dinner. The Oysters had double the bread coating that they should have, much to much with the roll. It had a large hard lettuce leaf & 3 tiny hints of tomato on it. I took the Oysters off the roll & ate them but it was still to much breading. The vegetable I chose was corn on the cob. It was about 4" in size, I could have eaten a full ear. The dinners that my Son-in-Law & Daughter received were both very good but scanty. They each received about 1/2 cup mashed potatoes & vegetable. The price was approximately $23. @. ; much too high for the Lunch size portion.//

Also, I want to mention, I asked for Sangria. The Server stated that since we asked to be seated in the Dining Room, & did not sit on the Patio, I was not eligible for the Happy Hour Special of $5. I said OK. I had it anyway & paid $9./ Going in, I knew if I chose the AYCE Snow Crab Legs, they could only be served on the Patio. We all needed a little quietness for our dining so I decided not this time. Coming out of the Dinig Room, what do I see but 2 Ladies each with bowls of the crab legs in front of them. Could I scream???? Rules for some People. I have no incentive to return.

Next time, my Son-in-Law will have his Oysters alone. Many years ago, I gave him a $200. Gift Certificate & told him it was just for his precious Oysters. He was very happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed the dinner, but the coffee wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed the dinner, but the coffee was too bitter and not hot enough. This needs improvement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Heather was our server and she did an aw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Heather was our server and she did an awesome job - attentive and friendly.

I had the tuna which was very good, though my wife's mahi was dry.

Raw oysters were great.

Very nice restaurant - unfortunately attached to a casino, though it was not smoky.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Almost everything was good. Two issues ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Almost everything was good. Two issues on the service: 1) Both my wife and I ordered appetizers, but our server only brought out mine (oysters). For some reason, she thought my wife wanted hers with dinner (?). 2) An expediter brought out both our salads and entrees at the same time. We've had this issue before. I really want my salad as a separate serving - and this is pretty much the standard at any other restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very pleasant. Great happy hour. Tremend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very pleasant. Great happy hour. Tremendous oysters!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for my daughter's birthday ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were there for my daughter's birthday. Honestly the whole experience was very dissappointing. From the looks of the dinning are and the food to the staff's apparience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It took over 45 minutes to get our food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2016

It took over 45 minutes to get our food and when it arrived several of the items were cold or overcooked. There was only 4 of us and we didn't order anything special. The service seemed to be avoiding our table when I was looking for her to ask were our food was. The manager never came out to ask how things were or apologize for the long wait. I would not recommend or ever eat at this restaurant again. If you are at Dover Casino, eat at the Italian place next door. It is more reasonably priced and the food is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very good restaurant with great food an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good restaurant with great food and service. High price but not as high as some. It is in a casino so it is a little noisy and parking can be a long walk on busy casino nights. Valet parking is available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! Always enjoy our dinners ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food! Always enjoy our dinners ther. The waitstaff is excellent too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very salty

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Worth the $

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Docs is always a good place to go. The food is always very fresh and tasteful. It's fairly pricey but you get what you pay for. Always a nice experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food Great Service

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The calamari appetizer was very good. The lobster mac and cheese appetizer was almost non existent of lobster meat. The fried seafood platter was very good with the crab cake almost excellent. The broiled scallops were bland and tasteless. The one thing that would bring me back to this place is the excellent service we received from a very busy but cheerful and friendly waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

June

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Lots of attention because not busy. Food was tasty. No concerns.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.