About Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover

1131 North Dupont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
View Larger Map

Located in the Colonnade of Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, Dave Magrogan developed these classic 1900′s Oyster Houses as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, the ocean’s little aphrodisiacs. No expense was spared to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun & merriment in a local watering hole.

It is Doc’s joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Fresh Starts Here

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:45am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Northbound side of US 13 (North DuPont Hwy)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 857-3223

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment and Trivia!

Catering:
Doc Magrogan’s can handle your gathering of up to 100 people. Enjoy Doc’s warm atmosphere, pleasant hospitality, and fresh dishes- sure to please your friends, co-workers, or family. We offer a variety of options for you and your party to enjoy. If you have specific requests, we will be happy to accommodate any of your needs! All of our menus are fully customizable.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet provided with lunch or dinner service.

Public Transit:
DART First State is the Statewide Public Bus Transportation system. Dover Downs Hotel & Casino is serviced by routes 109, 112 & 113. Visit dartfirststate.com for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
*All special events require a ticket purchase. These may be bought from the location itself or from eventbrite.com as the event date approaches. Please check our Facebook page for all event updates and further info.

More events are being planned! Like us on Facebook or check back for details.

Promotions

Three Course Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$28.99 All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Buck-A-Shuck ALL DAY!!

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Steamer Pot Additions

Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Three Course Thursdays

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us for 3 Courses starting at only $16.99!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
$28.99 All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us every Tuesday for All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs from 4-10pm. Served with bottomless corn on the cob and red bliss potatoes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Buck-A-Shuck ALL DAY!!

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details
Join us for $1 East Coast Oysters and $2 West Coast Oysters ALL DAY!!!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM.
Steamer Pot Additions

Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Join us all summer long for our special Steamer Pot Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 2, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Oyster House - Dover Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (18)
good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
romantic (8)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for brunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good restaurant with great food an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good restaurant with great food and service. High price but not as high as some. It is in a casino so it is a little noisy and parking can be a long walk on busy casino nights. Valet parking is available.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food! Always enjoy our dinners ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food! Always enjoy our dinners ther. The waitstaff is excellent too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the $

Dined on May 8, 2016

Docs is always a good place to go. The food is always very fresh and tasteful. It's fairly pricey but you get what you pay for. Always a nice experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food Great Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

The calamari appetizer was very good. The lobster mac and cheese appetizer was almost non existent of lobster meat. The fried seafood platter was very good with the crab cake almost excellent. The broiled scallops were bland and tasteless. The one thing that would bring me back to this place is the excellent service we received from a very busy but cheerful and friendly waitress.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

June

Dined on April 28, 2016

Lots of attention because not busy. Food was tasty. No concerns.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Super small portions for the price !

Dined on April 25, 2016

There were super small portions for the price and they were out of some of the $1 oysters by 6:30 and the special is supposed to last to 10pm. The tuna tacos has less tuna than a tuna pouch. Waitress was not very attentive at all. They seemed to have her all over the restaurant.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

would not recommend the food was awful.

Dined on April 2, 2016

The menu has changed and we ordered the seafood combo scallops, shrimp and crabcake. we also ordered the crab dip when it arrived it was a huge bowl of gloppy mess with stale dipping bread, we asked if we could get warm crusty bread and was told no. The crab dip was more like a large bowl of cheese fondue with no hint of crab. The entrees were on the small side with only 2 greasy scallops, 2 breaded shrimp that appeared from a box and a crabcake with mostly filler. This is not the same place with the delicious food they are known for. I'm sad to say that it was a wasted dinner for my 50th birthday celebration.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

THREE STRIKES YOUR OUT!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

...OK, when the wine I ordered was "gone", and the substitute the manager offered was far inferior, I should have known we were in for a rough evening. The waitress tried, but how many times can you say..."we're out of that tonight". I am not just talking about the wine or other limited menu items, but out of potatoes and rice? You have to be kidding me! Very disappointing...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was cooked to perfection, just as it was requested. Sever was friendly and very knowledgeable of all entries on the menu. He was very attentive to my dining needs. I would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2

Over all I was very unimpressed with our ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Over all I was very unimpressed with our meal. For being such an upscale restaurant the food was very bland tasting for the price of the meal. We were planning on getting drinks during the happy hour but we're not informed it was only for the bar area and patio section. We were also say next to a very noisy table in the dining room which was near empty and could have been sat anywhere else. Our service was mediocre. The server seemed pushy and lingered after we told him we did not want any more drinks or dessert. He seemed very unprofessional and unprepared. I would probably not return, and I'd erg others not to waste their time and money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had a great time

Dined on March 6, 2016

We thought this was the best restaurant very friendly gave suggestions I can not wait to return the food was fresh and delicious

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Not a Good 1st Experience!!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We made out reservation over the phone, got there and seated promptly. My husband ordered a 8 oz filet Mignon with Fried Shrimp on the side. We waited 20 minutes before we were told that they didnt have the filet mignon at the time but could be ready in like 20 mins or so. We were going out and didn't have time to wait so he switched the order to King Crab Legs. They finally bought the order out but without his Fried Shrimp. Manager took his portion of the bill off but needless to say we werent able to eat together because of the timeliness of the food being delivered. It was our 1st time there and that wasnt a good look for a 1st experience. The food was good though.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

horrible

Dined on February 28, 2016

Could have gotten better food and service at mcdonalds. Server was inattentive, food was over cooked, manager seemed like he didn't care or have a clue. We waited 45 minutes from the time we ordered to get our food. There poor attempt at a solution was a bad lobster salad on stale bread.

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service bad food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our server was fantastic and helpful. At the end of the meal they realized that we barely ate out food and the manager came by. We told them that the lobster the shrimp and scallops literally had no taste. Even the lobster bisque barely had any flavor. It's a shame because it's a nice restaurant in the casino and it had the potential to be fantastic. The manager did take $20 off our bill. Again service was fantastic food was just bland

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Seafood but don't order the steak

Dined on February 26, 2016

If you're looking for great seafood, this is the place to go. Lots of choices, fresh fish, fresh oysters and good bar drinks. We have found out though not to order the steaks. The steak always comes out charred no matter if you order it medium or medium well. Besides that, we love the Maryland crab soup, calamari, lump crab cocktail and seafood entrees.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had been wanting to come here since it opened, just never made it until now. We'll worth it. The food was excellent. Our service was great and the Chocolate caramel cheesecake was to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Unfortunate expereince

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food order was not served together, which is not appropriate when a couple are out for the first time together. Not a good expereince.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

We have been to dinner at Docs several t ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We have been to dinner at Docs several times in the past. I'm not sure what has changed but it is not nearly as good as it used to be. In fact, my dinner was horrible. I usually do not leave negative reviews but the food was that bad.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood in Dover, DE

Dined on February 19, 2016

Located at the Dover Downs Casino, the ambience is unique, and probably not for every family. The oysters are spectacular and the seafood is exceptional. The wine list is below average, but serviceable. We enjoyed our dinner and would recommend me it for those visiting Dover.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

2nd Visit not as good as the first

Dined on February 16, 2016

The first time we went to this restaurant, we were very impressed. Great food, cooked perfectly. This was our 2nd visit and this time we left disappointed. The waiter did not tell us there was an all you can eat special going on. I did not notice anything as I entered, but paid real close attention as I left and did see it on a chalk board but not very noticeable. The crab dip had no lumps of crab - you could barely distinguish the crab meat. I do not recommend the Seafood Cioppino - the sauce was very watery and the scallops were not just seared - they were burnt.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Will be returni ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great service and food. Will be returning in the very near future.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Seafood restaurant out of seafood!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband & I were celebrating Valentine's Day & my birthday. We started our meal off with a crab dip appetizer. The dip didn't taste bad - a little spicy for my taste, but the main problem was that it had absolutely NO crab in it! Just a very expensive cheese dip. When we tried to order our meals, the real problems began. I ordered a steam pot & was told they were out of clams & asked if it would be o.k. to get additional mussels instead. I wasn't thrilled about the change, but I agreed. Then, when my husband ordered the broiled seafood platter, he was told they were out of scallops & he was asked if they could substitute shrimp instead. He was not agreeable to the change, so he had to choose another entrée. Not an easy task in a seafood restaurant that is out of both scallops & clams if you aren't a huge fan of fish! He finally settled on the crab cakes, which were good but very small. My steam pot arrived without the advertised potatoes & corn. When I notified our waiter, he eventually came back with an undercooked ear of corn & told me that the restaurant was out of potatoes!!! Seriously?! This was Valentine's Day - did they not anticipate they would be busy?! Finally, when we asked about dessert, our waiter assured us they were not out of any desserts - I was thankful because the couple at the table next to ours was sharing a piece of Red Velvet cake - my favorite! When our waiter told us about our selections, he only mentioned a few flavors of mousse. When I asked about the cake, he said he would check in the back. He came back & said they had a chocolate cheese cake. I again pointed out that the table next to us had Red Velvet cake, but he ignored me! We left without dessert! While the food wasn't bad, the entire experience was very disappointing. We will not be returning & would not recommend this restaurant!

food3
ambience5
service5

The old bay burger was sold out do I cho ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The old bay burger was sold out do I chose soup instead lobster bisque with crab dip... I was miserable after. Probably my choice but it did leave a bit of a sour taste. The help was great but overwhelmed. I love this place but on Valentine's not so much.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not For Holiday Dining

Dined on February 14, 2016

We've enjoyed dining at Doc Magrogan's in Dover, Delaware numerous times before so this rating might have been a "three" but I elected a "four" out of past experiences. We had 7 pm reservations and arrived at 6:15 and were immediately seated. There were many empty table and it seemed that they must have added extra tables anticipating the holiday flow. The tables were much too close and the folks next to us were rather loud. Nevertheless, my wife's wine was returned because the glass had an aroma of some sort of cleaning fluid. My 23 ounce draft was fine. The replacement wine was adequate. We both ordered off the fresh catch menu and both the salmon and the swordfish were soft, wet and mushy on one end and too crisp on the other. It was evident that someone in the kitchen wasn't paying attention. The garlic mash and vegetable medley were mixed together and over cooked. Overall, not a memorable Valentine's Day meal. We know they can do better and will undoubtedly return on other than holidays.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

food was substandard, menu item ordered ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

food was substandard, menu item ordered was not available unless part of it was substituted won't go back again red lobster is berrer.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

My funny valentine

Dined on February 14, 2016

I wouldn't recommend going here on a busy night. Your food may come out cold, your entrees, while the same, may come out looking like two totally different dishes (not to mention tiny) and your service may be subpar.

food2
ambience2
service4

Not the type of food or atmosphere I hav ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Not the type of food or atmosphere I have come to expect from an Open Table restaurant. I had the lobster blt tacos - there was very little lobster, the bacon was slightly under cooked and the tortillas were unpalatable. The Old Bay seasoned fries were presented unceremoniously in a bowl and were more diner quality. The servers were perfectly lovely and attentive, since they were continuously walking by my seat on their way from the rest of the restaurant to the kitchen. I was bumped into repeatedly. Everyone was very apologetic, no one was rude, but I certainly wasn't able to relax into my meal. The restaurant is inside the DoverDowns casino, which was fine. Ambiance was lacking as well, since I was sitting next to the huge open wall to the kitchen were I listened to the folks hollering about food prep and orders. I paid $45 (with tip) for my meal that I could have paid $25 for at a dinner. I did have 1 glass of wine; I did not bother to have dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great night

Dined on February 12, 2016

Went there for my birthday with a friend. The server was great. Loved the food. Would have loved to see fried oysters on the menu, but had a great time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great First Visit

Dined on February 6, 2016

After hearing great things from friends about this place, my wife and I decided to try it out for a long overdue date night. Dining area was comfortable and inviting. Service was excellent. The crab cakes were fantastic, as well as the selection of fresh oysters from the raw bar. Can't wait to dine here again, or maybe just stop in for a few more orange crushes from the bar. Top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dessert was so good, Girl Scout Samoa sh ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Dessert was so good, Girl Scout Samoa shot. Had lobster roll - lobster was great, roll not so much

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on January 29, 2016

Our table was ready upon our arrival. The restaurant was quite crowded so we were glad we had reservations.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Docs was closing early due to weather

Dined on January 22, 2016

But we were served and treated very Well. Mike served us as if we were family!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

The more I dine at doc magrogans the sma ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

The more I dine at doc magrogans the smaller the serving get - they even took the hush puppies and oysters off the fried combo. Thinking about looking for another seafood restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Where's my dinner?

Dined on January 16, 2016

Overall very disappointed in the service or lack there of. We were a party of four -- three of whom received their dinner order after an acceptable wait. The fourth dinner was not brought out with the others and the waitress was told that it was missing. Received a number of assuring comments that the dinner would be brought out as soon as possible but that now other orders were in front of it -- what!? Dinner was finally brought to the table after all of the others had finished eating. Totally unacceptable! Though the apologies were many, there was not one single offer to "make it right." Again very disappointing! Lastly, where was restaurant management during this event...missing.

food4
ambience4
service4

Items on menu are great. Need to update ...

Dined on January 8, 2016

Items on menu are great. Need to update menu with new and different items.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Food and Service

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

Great experience. Will return soon. Service was friendly and efficient. Impressed with the dish! Delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time, and will come back!

Dined on January 2, 2016

My co worker got me a gift card to here and I was skeptical at first because I'm pregnant and was concerned I may not have many options! But they had a meat section and I got the 6 oz steak and it was AMAZING! I loved the bread, and we were in a quaint area and felt like it was just me and my husband. I loved it!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

service

Dined on January 1, 2016

Not impressed with service.For starters, table setting only had placemats. Had to ask for utensils and napkin from someone else. Food was great, but service was not. Felt like we were being rushed to pay the bill. Asked for a refill of tea from another server because ours was no where to be found. She asked who our server was and failed to follow though. Had to leave in disappoint.Can't submit names because no one gave us a welcome or introduction.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Cold overpriced food

Dined on December 31, 2015

I have never been to Docs before and I will never go back. I ordered the filet and lobster tail. When my plate was brought out the steak was cold and very tuff. The lobster was chewie and the fingerling potatoes were hard as a rock. The food was way over priced.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

OK

Dined on December 31, 2015

Acceptable food - good service - very tired, beat-up place

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.