About Doc Magrogan's Fish Market

7011 Shoppes Boulevard
Moosic, PA 18507
View Larger Map

We developed our classic 1900's Oyster House as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, these little aphrodisiacs. We have spared no expense to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun, and merriment, in a local watering hole. It is our joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch:Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shoppes at Montage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 342-3330

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/moosic/

Catering:
We have on and off site catering to meet all your needs.

Executive Chef:
Chef Antonio Santiago

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Monday Buck-A-Shuck $1 Oysters ALL DAY •• All You Can Eat Crab legs on Wednesdays $ 28.99

Restaurant Photos

Doc's Grilled Combo - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Key Lime Pie In A Glass - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Chocolate Raspberry Coffee - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Doc's Salmon - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Doc's Mudslide - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Oysters - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Crab Cakes - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Tuna - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Grilled Scallops - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Pennsylvania Lager Pot - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Peel And Eat Cajun Shrimp - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Thai Tuna - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA
Lobster Tail - Doc Magrogan's Fish Market, Moosic, PA

Specials

All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Happy Hour!

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Happy Hour!

Fridays from 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All you can eat crab legs every Wednesday 4-10pm. $28.99. Excludes Tax and Tip. It's Snow Crab Legs!. Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Book your Christmas Eve dinner with us today! (Reservations are limited. Last seating at 8pm.)

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Merry Christmas! We will be closed today so our team may enjoy this holiday with their loved ones. Wishing everyone a happy, and healthy holiday!

Happy Hour!

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Monday Thru Friday from 4pm to 6pm at our Bar and Bar tables we have Happy Hour, 1/2 Price Draft Beers and $4.00 House Wines We also have a $6.00 Small Plates Menu!. One Select Oyster Chosen Daily for $1.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Happy Hour!

Fridays from 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Friday Nights 9pm to 11pm at our Bar and Bar tables we have Happy Hour, 1/2 Price Draft Beers and $4.00 House Wines We also have a $6.00 Small Plate Menu!. One select Oyster chosen daily for $1.00!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Fridays from 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Fish Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Moosic ›

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Casual (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Fun (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good time. Good was average

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Good time. Good was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Your PEI oysters are absolutely superb a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Your PEI oysters are absolutely superb and are second to none.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and not too expen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was excellent and not too expensive. Good beer selection and yummy house drinks.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster Bisque was tasty and enjoyed it. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Lobster Bisque was tasty and enjoyed it. Mac and cheese with lobster was good too but pricey.

Our waiter was very accommodating and nice. The entrees were small portioned. ( more pasta and potatoes compared with the fish). One of the entrees ordered was all pasta and very little fish and we sent it back. The potatoes were very dry. The waiter brought another portion but they were no different. More milk and butter needed to be added.

The price of the cheapest bottle of wine is outrageous ($34).

The dessert was good but could have been presented with a smaller plate because the chocolate cake looked so small on the large plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Doc Magrogans is always a treat for seaf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Doc Magrogans is always a treat for seafood lovers. My husband, a VietNam vet was treated to a special dinner for Veteran's Day and I had great piece of Mahi Mahi. Our server, Justin, was great. He took very good care of us including his thanks for Pat's military service. Food is always good. Service was excellent. Only complaint is consistently cold in there. A lot of drafts and not enough heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The oysters and clams were so fresh. I t ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The oysters and clams were so fresh. I tasted the ocean. Delicious and yummy. I can't stop thinking about them. Going back for more. Lobster Mac n cheese... Ridiculously lucious and cheesy and hot. Food came out hot and timely. Costly but worth it.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, good service, but very c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very good food, good service, but very crowded and very, very noisy. Difficult to carry on a conversation. Prices a little high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service! Had a real ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Outstanding food and service! Had a really relaxing time. My girlfriend and I are seafood lovers and we haven't had a bad meal yet! She is also a wine drinker and enjoyed the wine she had. From entering your restaurant to leaving the restaurant we were greeted with a smile and kind hello and good night ! We recommended your place to numerous friends and family.. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding specials. Att ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and outstanding specials. Attentive service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great service, great time! ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food, great service, great time! I highly recommend it for any casual occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The delicious dishes and the way they lo ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The delicious dishes and the way they look, everything about them look great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great for Oysters, great for oysters, gr ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great for Oysters, great for oysters, great for oysters!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The whole lobster was delicious. My husb ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The whole lobster was delicious. My husband got a cocktail at the bar before dinner and settled tab. During dinner he ordered the exact same cocktail. When the bill came it was quite surprising to see the cocktail was priced $2 higher than at the bar. Kind of sneaky. Also he ordered a special three course dinner which I had gotten emails advertising however it was nowhere to be found on the dinner menu. When I inqired to the waitress about this special she said it was by request only and then gave us a smaller menu with this on it. I have never heard of having to request a special and would feel bad for other diners who did not know this was available, as it is quite an expensive restaraunt. Again, sneaky. Not so sure if I will go back.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great seafood. Had great ousters and cra ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great seafood. Had great ousters and crab cakes. Definitely would go again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food,service and had a very go ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very good food,service and had a very good time there. If you like seafood, especially oysters, "DOC'S" is the place to go.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very salty couldn't even eat it ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was very salty couldn't even eat it. Management gave a % off our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Great seafood restaurant. Must try the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great seafood restaurant. Must try the oyster shooter. Either as an appetizer or a way to end the dinner. After all it is known for it's oysters.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found this restaurant while traveling ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We found this restaurant while traveling last year and loved it. When back in the area we were eager to come again. But what a different experience. Indifferent service, unable to order two things on the menu because they were out of them at 6:45 in the evening. Last time we asked for a quieter table and they were quick to seat is in a room with little noise. This time they didn't care much. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Went for anniversary dinner and wanted t ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went for anniversary dinner and wanted to try Oysters for our first time. Server wasn't very knowledgable about the different types they had. Husband's tuna steak was raw and not rare. It was a decent meal but next time I'll try a small business restaurant for our Seafood meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best seafood in the Scranton/ Wilkes Bar ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best seafood in the Scranton/ Wilkes Barre area. I drive nearly an hour for their oysters.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyed a very good meal at Doc's... ser ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 3, 2016

enjoyed a very good meal at Doc's... service was top notch..

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been here before and have generall ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've been here before and have generally been quite pleased. This was our 6th month wedding anniversary and we chose this because we've been to Doc's for many of our dates before we got married. Not sure what happened this day but everything was ...... bland. We had the lobster mac & cheese, chowda fries, thai lettuce wraps, and the grilled chicken salad. We also had a selection of oysters, which were good but the other dishes lacked ..... flavor. Hopefully it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was hit and miss, the steamer pot w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was hit and miss, the steamer pot was over cooked. The appetizers were good. The server was very busy and very nice but overwhelmed. We stop here every few months and each time is the same its a roll of the dice on wether or not it's good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best Oyster selection within 100 miles. ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best Oyster selection within 100 miles. Always have more luck with the raw bar than I do with their entrees

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been to Doc's several times befo ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been to Doc's several times before. Our service didn't seem to be up to the same standard as other times. We didn't receive a bread basket, for example. I believe in the past our meals would have included a salad, but these did not, although we ordered full meals. For the overall value of spending near $100 it wasn't one of our better experiences. The food was good, though and there was a nice atmosphere. We will be back, as my husband enjoys the fresh oysters.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

4th time at Doc's. 3rd dinner and 1 lun ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 19, 2016

4th time at Doc's. 3rd dinner and 1 lunch. We have never been disappointed. Had family from out of town this weekend and they all enjoyed the experience. Had two stops by managers at our table to check on us, as well as a great waitress. Food delivery was timed well, and served hot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was exceptional. The food was ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our server was exceptional.

The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We always go to Doc's when we are in Scr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We always go to Doc's when we are in Scranton. We try to make it for the buck-a-shuck oyster night, but we often go on other nights as well because the regular menu is also very good. The service is always friendly and thoughtful. We were there this time with my son and his family including 2 young children. Everything was done to accommodate their needs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

As usual, we enjoyed our dinner at Doc's ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

As usual, we enjoyed our dinner at Doc's. Seafood was fresh and wonderfully prepared. Service couldn't have been better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The oysters and wings were good, remaini ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The oysters and wings were good, remaining dishes were just ok. The service was really poor -- several times our waiter went missing. I went to pick up my wine at the bar after watching it sit at the waiters section for 10 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Monday night is dollar oyster night so t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Monday night is dollar oyster night so that's the reason we went. The oysters were fresh and delicious. I decided to forgo a hot entree and just had another dozen oysters for my dinner, yes they're that good!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was Monday , happy hour for oysters , ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

It was Monday , happy hour for oysters , so maybe that's why the service was unacceptable . I made reservation in advance and still had to wait to be seated...in a bar area with kids , while there were plenty of other tables available . Ok maybe wrong judgement of the host . Then we had our food served but no one bother to provide forks and knives . Upon serving of oysters only one small fork was given for 4 people , and when we asked why so , waitress said that they are being washed and not available at the moment . There were no water offered from the beginning and never until the end of our dinner . No one bother to clean the table until asked either . We had to ask for everything which makes us feel really uncomfortable . And let me tell you that we ate 7 dozens of oysters , soups and appetizers , along with 4 main dishes among the 6 of us ( 4 adults and 2 kids) plus 3 bottles of wine , so we were there to eat and all that lack of simple things and service was really annoying . Toward the end of the evening some man ( probably from management ) appeared by the table to inquire about our evening . He didn't think was nessecary to introduce himself first or to have at least fake smile on his face . He was unfriendly and his behavior is totally unprofessional !!!! The only save of the evening was great company and good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The noise level at this place was so ext ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The noise level at this place was so extreme that after a half hour or so I had to put ear plugs in. I could barely understand my waitperson as the din was so pervasive. She was sweet, but the ambiance was exhausting. Not a hope anywhere in this place for a quiet corner, which I asked for on entering. Good thing I was eating alone as if I'd had company, we'd have struggled to make ourselves understood. A place I'll avoid in future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We had a problem with the food order and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a problem with the food order and service. We sat outside. Our drink order came late after we complained and then the drinks were watered down from the melted ice. They replaced the drinks. Then the food order never came. Apparently it never was put in. We had requested the fished cooked a certain way. What finally came was bland and unappetizing. Very disappointed for such a high end fish restaurant that we visit once a year when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We were not familiar with the area and w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were not familiar with the area and were looking for a good seafood place. The reviews were the reason we selected it over other options. If you are an oyster lover - this is definitely the place for you. Would most certainly select this restaurant again when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was very upset. For $24 dollars i was 2 ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Was very upset. For $24 dollars i was 2 pounds of mashed potatoes 2 scallops 2 med shrimp and a tiny filet of salmon . My girlfriend's desert was bad, it spoiled . Like old yogurt.

The food tasted ok but worth the price. Very disappointing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I used to look forward to evening's out ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I used to look forward to evening's out at Doc Magrogan's. No more. Food was average at best and service so bad I will never return to this restaurant. It was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Overall, it was a great experience. We o ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall, it was a great experience. We ordered muscles and oysters to start, followed by grill plates for our mains. There was a huge selection of fresh oysters, including a couple options from Prince Edward Island. As for the grill plates - the shrimp, scallops, and salmon were all perfectly cooked. The side of fresh green beans, instead of frozen bag veggies, was also a highlight. The price was beyond reasonable. The server was fantastic. She was on top of everything. I have only one complaint - there was a lot of wait staff standing around socializing. It looks bad and gives the impression that they aren't tending to the needs of customers. Surely there was something they could be doing in the restaurant to stay busy. Otherwise, cut the number of servers down. No need to have anyone standing around idle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy eating at this restaurant ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always enjoy eating at this restaurant . I ordered the crab cakes they were great. My significant other ordered chicken with Rissoto . It was not fully Cooked . The rice was hard. Other than that the food and service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, fresh seafood. The Northern ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent, fresh seafood. The Northern Steampot was great. Doc's went out of their war to cater to my wife's gluten and dairy food allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.