About Doc Magrogan's Fish Market

7011 Shoppes Boulevard
Moosic, PA 18507
View Larger Map

We developed our classic 1900's Oyster House as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, these little aphrodisiacs. We have spared no expense to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun, and merriment, in a local watering hole. It is our joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch:Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shoppes at Montage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 342-3330

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/moosic/

Catering:
We have on and off site catering to meet all your needs.

Executive Chef:
Chef Antonio Santiago

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Monday Buck-A-Shuck $1 Oysters ALL DAY •• All You Can Eat Crab legs on Wednesdays $ 28.99

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Raspberry Coffee
Key Lime Pie In A Glass
Doc's Grilled Combo
Doc's Salmon
Doc's Mudslide
Oysters
Crab Cakes
Tuna
Grilled Scallops
Pennsylvania Lager Pot
Peel And Eat Cajun Shrimp
Thai Tuna
Lobster Tail

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Fish Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Moosic ›

special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (18)
good for groups (18)
See All
great for lunch (14)
neighborhood gem (9)
romantic (9)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was Monday , happy hour for oysters , ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was Monday , happy hour for oysters , so maybe that's why the service was unacceptable . I made reservation in advance and still had to wait to be seated...in a bar area with kids , while there were plenty of other tables available . Ok maybe wrong judgement of the host . Then we had our food served but no one bother to provide forks and knives . Upon serving of oysters only one small fork was given for 4 people , and when we asked why so , waitress said that they are being washed and not available at the moment . There were no water offered from the beginning and never until the end of our dinner . No one bother to clean the table until asked either . We had to ask for everything which makes us feel really uncomfortable . And let me tell you that we ate 7 dozens of oysters , soups and appetizers , along with 4 main dishes among the 6 of us ( 4 adults and 2 kids) plus 3 bottles of wine , so we were there to eat and all that lack of simple things and service was really annoying . Toward the end of the evening some man ( probably from management ) appeared by the table to inquire about our evening . He didn't think was nessecary to introduce himself first or to have at least fake smile on his face . He was unfriendly and his behavior is totally unprofessional !!!! The only save of the evening was great company and good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The noise level at this place was so ext ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The noise level at this place was so extreme that after a half hour or so I had to put ear plugs in. I could barely understand my waitperson as the din was so pervasive. She was sweet, but the ambiance was exhausting. Not a hope anywhere in this place for a quiet corner, which I asked for on entering. Good thing I was eating alone as if I'd had company, we'd have struggled to make ourselves understood. A place I'll avoid in future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We had a problem with the food order and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a problem with the food order and service. We sat outside. Our drink order came late after we complained and then the drinks were watered down from the melted ice. They replaced the drinks. Then the food order never came. Apparently it never was put in. We had requested the fished cooked a certain way. What finally came was bland and unappetizing. Very disappointed for such a high end fish restaurant that we visit once a year when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We were not familiar with the area and w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were not familiar with the area and were looking for a good seafood place. The reviews were the reason we selected it over other options. If you are an oyster lover - this is definitely the place for you. Would most certainly select this restaurant again when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was very upset. For $24 dollars i was 2 ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Was very upset. For $24 dollars i was 2 pounds of mashed potatoes 2 scallops 2 med shrimp and a tiny filet of salmon . My girlfriend's desert was bad, it spoiled . Like old yogurt.

The food tasted ok but worth the price. Very disappointing

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I used to look forward to evening's out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I used to look forward to evening's out at Doc Magrogan's. No more. Food was average at best and service so bad I will never return to this restaurant. It was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Overall, it was a great experience. We o ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall, it was a great experience. We ordered muscles and oysters to start, followed by grill plates for our mains. There was a huge selection of fresh oysters, including a couple options from Prince Edward Island. As for the grill plates - the shrimp, scallops, and salmon were all perfectly cooked. The side of fresh green beans, instead of frozen bag veggies, was also a highlight. The price was beyond reasonable. The server was fantastic. She was on top of everything. I have only one complaint - there was a lot of wait staff standing around socializing. It looks bad and gives the impression that they aren't tending to the needs of customers. Surely there was something they could be doing in the restaurant to stay busy. Otherwise, cut the number of servers down. No need to have anyone standing around idle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy eating at this restaurant ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always enjoy eating at this restaurant . I ordered the crab cakes they were great. My significant other ordered chicken with Rissoto . It was not fully Cooked . The rice was hard. Other than that the food and service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, fresh seafood. The Northern ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent, fresh seafood. The Northern Steampot was great. Doc's went out of their war to cater to my wife's gluten and dairy food allergies.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice evening with quality food. Eas ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very nice evening with quality food. Easy and fun time, wide variety of food options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Docs many times, but we wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been to Docs many times, but we were disappointed this visit. I made our reservations several days ahead of time, but upon our arrival they sat us in the side part of the restaurant at the high tables, which was very uncomfortable . The food was so so, and we were disappointed with our meals. Because I've had many good experiences, we will go back again for another try. Hoping it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

This is my fifth or sixth time at this r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is my fifth or sixth time at this restaurant. Maybe more, I've lost count! I love the fresh seafood and the options to choose how you want it prepared. The fish and shell fish are the utmost fresh and very enjoyable. The price is high! Its a not-too-often place to visit for that reason but when we do go there the food is memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the chilled Lobster appetizer whic ...

vip
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had the chilled Lobster appetizer which is usually terrific, but they ran out of the white dipping sauce and gave me cocktail sauce. Didn't work for me. Oysters are always good here!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very over priced food, waitress did not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very over priced food, waitress did not know the difference between apparatus and green beans, very small portion's and do ot order french fries with clam chowder over them. Clam chowder not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Having moved to NEPA recently I was resi ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Having moved to NEPA recently I was resigned to forego my favorite fresh seafood; the region just couldn’t measure up, I reasoned. My first visit to Doc’s has proved me wrong. Dinner was completely enjoyable, relaxed, stress-free and first class.

My waitress was friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive. As for the raw stuff, well, I have not had better, and considering oysters, this is July after all.

I purposely selected the Maryland Fried Combo to test the fry line and was pleasantly impressed. Don’t know what it's like when it gets crazy busy in the place (as I am sure it does) but I will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband had the fish and chips, the f ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband had the fish and chips, the fish had an absolutely overpowering smell of amonia!

The atmosphere was nice, the service was excellent, drinks were good. We had a shrimp appetizer which was ok, very much like something from a Thank God its Ruby Chili Tuesday. I had a lobster roll which was a really sad couple of tbsps of lobster paste and celery. The roll, side salad and cole slaw were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

My husband and I Love the All you Can Ea ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My husband and I Love the All you Can Eat Crab Legs !

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Oyster selection within 100 miles. ...

vip
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Best Oyster selection within 100 miles. The chilled lobster cocktail is a great dish with a great presentation!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a lot of fun at doc's to celebrat ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a lot of fun at doc's to celebrate my graduation. Our waiter was awesome and very attentive. The food was really good. I especially enjoyed the orange shrimp appetizer and the doc's sampler. The only thing that I didn't like about my meal was the that my steak was very tough. The desserts were very good I had the tiramisu it was really good! Thanks for an awesome meal and celebration!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and Chris provided excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food and Chris provided excellent service as always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE Doc's. But I think I'm getting to ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

I LOVE Doc's. But I think I'm getting too old for restaurants w/ so much noise. The oysters and mussels in wine sauce I ordered were, as always , delicious! The Cobb Salad was lacking in imagination and needs a much better dressing. And I'd pay extra if the bread they served was hard and crusty Italian bread to dip in the mussel wine sauce. And....I was so disappointed to learn that the sushi I was hoping for had been discontinued. It was Monday night, oyster special and maybe that's why it seemed crowded and NOISY. But, as I said...I'm old now. Our server whose name I can't recall was excellent. I'll come again, for oysters/mussels and some good COLD(please) merlot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Steaks were not cooked the way they were ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Steaks were not cooked the way they were ordered .they didn't remember which was Wich steak for the money they all should have been done right 2 out of 3 were wrong others wise great

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish fair. Way overpriced. Dinner for 2 ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fish fair. Way overpriced. Dinner for 2 >$150!! Could have gone to Ruth's Chris for about same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Average

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our was very polite and friendly, they sat us at a high top in the bar area with2 and 2 tweens. Kids first attempt at meals was burnt 2nd attempt at something different was made with non kid friendly cheeses.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

One of my favorite restaurants ! Some of ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants ! Some of the freshest seafood in the valley, and there are always different dishes that you won't find at other restaurants .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always a good time

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We visit this restaurant several times a year and have not had a bad experience yet. The food is always fresh and the staff is very friendly. The restaurant can be busy so I'd recommend making reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Seafood Cobb Salad was great value and d ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Seafood Cobb Salad was great value and delicious. At $18, definitely big enough to share between 2 .... or as a main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food and drinks-always!!!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food and drinks-always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Not worth it

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my second time eating here and will be the last. Ordered oysters for appetizer and 35 minutes later, still no oysters. When they did arrive they were good but entrees were not good. I ordered a filet mignon with blue cheese crust/bacon. It was cool in temperature and tasteless. And I'm not sure why they call it blue cheese crust? A friend ordered lobster blt tacos. I think there was a salsa on it, when u picked them up liquid just drained out of them. I expect tacos to be messy...but to have the plate be a pool of liquid...not good. And did I mention the one minute piece a lobster in each taco. Service was slow and unimpressive and as far as food...I would rather eat fast food than return for food there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Not very crowded but service was slow. O ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Not very crowded but service was slow. Ordered peel & eat shrimp as an app. I always thought that meant I would be peeling the shrimp. They arrived already peeled floating in a very bland broth. Also had the seafood Cobb salad. It arrived with no dressing. The waitress was nowhere to be found so I started eating the dry salad. By the time she stopped, half the salad was gone.

Cold outside and Very cold in the restaurant. My wife ate with her coat on.

Have been here many times. Very disappointed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food, service and atmosphere were all ou ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were all outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No oysters at the oyster bar!

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server let us sit for 45 minutes without drinks then sent the manager over to tell us that they had run out of all of there oysters and if we did not mind waiting an hour and a half someone was going to try to pick more up. "No grantees thoug!" We asked for our sever and the check for the drinks and soup. 20 min later our server finally came to the table with out the drinks we ordered an hour ago and ask " how are we doing and did my manager have a chance to stop by?" Do I really need to answer that! Well the place was freezing. Most of the people by our section had their jackets on and the service was HORRIBLE ! No oysters at a oyster house??? Visit at your own risk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was very good. A little pricey. Th ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Food was very good. A little pricey. The Lobster Mac & Cheese was wonderful. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Only thing good left on new menu is oysters

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

The food and menu used to be good. Now they changed it and it is horrible. There is NOTHING to chose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Not a Sunday night find!

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We love Doc's... usually. But on this Sunday night nearly everything we ordered, they were out of. It was really embarrassing because we took our son's intended bride and her parents there to celebrate their engagement. Out of calamari, edemame, certain oysters, and on and on. Management was kind enough to adjust our bill and give us a few comp items for future use, but we were disappointed. They did say that they get their items fresh and so they do, at times, run short by Sunday night. I would suggest you get a hold of the menu and call before you go to make sure you meal will be available! Otherwise, I have to say, we have never had a disappointing experience until this one. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good. Food, service

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Always good. Food, service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not to great.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We use to love Doc's. It seems that things have changed. The server wasn't efficient. My soup came out fast and cold. The food wasn't as good as it use to be. It was overall a very disappointing experience for us. We said we will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

Very disappointed

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

For the money not worth it especially while celebrating a special occasion

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Not for Special Occasions

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Have had some great experiences dining here. Valentine's Day was not one of them.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Seating

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

After we made a reservation in advance we were seated at a table next to the door. The location was cold and noisy not to mention people standing right next to where we were seated. Very poor overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.