About Doc Magrogan's Fish Market

7011 Shoppes Boulevard
Moosic, PA 18507
View Larger Map

We developed our classic 1900's Oyster House as a way to pay tribute and homage to the great tradition of enjoying oysters, these little aphrodisiacs. We have spared no expense to create an Oyster House that transforms you back to a simpler time of food, fun, and merriment, in a local watering hole. It is our joy to serve you the freshest seafood, the finest handcrafted beers, and a superior wine selection!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch:Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shoppes at Montage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 342-3330

Website:
http://www.docmagrogans.com/moosic/

Catering:
We have on and off site catering to meet all your needs.

Executive Chef:
Chef Antonio Santiago

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Monday Buck-A-Shuck $1 Oysters ALL DAY •• All You Can Eat Crab legs on Wednesdays $ 28.99

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Brunch

Saturdays and Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Buck a Shuck • $1 Oysters

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour!

Fridays from 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour!

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Brunch

Saturdays and Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details
Saturday and Sundays from 11am to 3pm We offer a full ala Cart Brunch Menu!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 8, 2016 - Jun 8, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM.
Buck a Shuck • $1 Oysters

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$1 Select Oysters every Monday from 11am -10pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 8, 2016 - Jun 8, 2016 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Happy Hour!

Fridays from 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Monday Thru Friday from 4pm to 6pm at our Bar and Bar tables we have Happy Hour, 1/2 Price Draft Beers and House Wines We also have a $6.00 Small Plate Menu!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 8, 2016 - Jun 8, 2016 on Fridays from 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Happy Hour!

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Monday Thru Friday from 4pm to 6pm at our Bar and Bar tables we have Happy Hour, 1/2 Price Draft Beers and House Wines We also have a $6.00 Small Plates Menu!. We also have Entertainment Friday nights!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 8, 2016 - Jun 8, 2016 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
All You Can Eat Snow Crab Legs

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
All you can eat crab legs every Wednesday 4-10pm. $24.99. Excludes Tax and Tip. It's Snow Crab Legs!. Special valid Feb 8, 2016 - Jun 8, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Doc Magrogan's Fish Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Moosic ›

special occasion (27)
good for groups (24)
great for lunch (16)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
romantic (9)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I LOVE Doc's. But I think I'm getting to ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I LOVE Doc's. But I think I'm getting too old for restaurants w/ so much noise. The oysters and mussels in wine sauce I ordered were, as always , delicious! The Cobb Salad was lacking in imagination and needs a much better dressing. And I'd pay extra if the bread they served was hard and crusty Italian bread to dip in the mussel wine sauce. And....I was so disappointed to learn that the sushi I was hoping for had been discontinued. It was Monday night, oyster special and maybe that's why it seemed crowded and NOISY. But, as I said...I'm old now. Our server whose name I can't recall was excellent. I'll come again, for oysters/mussels and some good COLD(please) merlot.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were not cooked the way they were ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Steaks were not cooked the way they were ordered .they didn't remember which was Wich steak for the money they all should have been done right 2 out of 3 were wrong others wise great

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service2

Fish fair. Way overpriced. Dinner for 2 ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Fish fair. Way overpriced. Dinner for 2 >$150!! Could have gone to Ruth's Chris for about same.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Average

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our was very polite and friendly, they sat us at a high top in the bar area with2 and 2 tweens. Kids first attempt at meals was burnt 2nd attempt at something different was made with non kid friendly cheeses.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

One of my favorite restaurants ! Some of ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants ! Some of the freshest seafood in the valley, and there are always different dishes that you won't find at other restaurants .

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a good time

Dined on April 24, 2016

We visit this restaurant several times a year and have not had a bad experience yet. The food is always fresh and the staff is very friendly. The restaurant can be busy so I'd recommend making reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4

Seafood Cobb Salad was great value and d ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Seafood Cobb Salad was great value and delicious. At $18, definitely big enough to share between 2 .... or as a main course.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and drinks-always!!!!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food and drinks-always!!!!

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Not worth it

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my second time eating here and will be the last. Ordered oysters for appetizer and 35 minutes later, still no oysters. When they did arrive they were good but entrees were not good. I ordered a filet mignon with blue cheese crust/bacon. It was cool in temperature and tasteless. And I'm not sure why they call it blue cheese crust? A friend ordered lobster blt tacos. I think there was a salsa on it, when u picked them up liquid just drained out of them. I expect tacos to be messy...but to have the plate be a pool of liquid...not good. And did I mention the one minute piece a lobster in each taco. Service was slow and unimpressive and as far as food...I would rather eat fast food than return for food there.

food2
ambience2
service2

Not very crowded but service was slow. O ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Not very crowded but service was slow. Ordered peel & eat shrimp as an app. I always thought that meant I would be peeling the shrimp. They arrived already peeled floating in a very bland broth. Also had the seafood Cobb salad. It arrived with no dressing. The waitress was nowhere to be found so I started eating the dry salad. By the time she stopped, half the salad was gone. Cold outside and Very cold in the restaurant. My wife ate with her coat on. Have been here many times. Very disappointed this time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and atmosphere were all ou ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were all outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

No oysters at the oyster bar!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server let us sit for 45 minutes without drinks then sent the manager over to tell us that they had run out of all of there oysters and if we did not mind waiting an hour and a half someone was going to try to pick more up. "No grantees thoug!" We asked for our sever and the check for the drinks and soup. 20 min later our server finally came to the table with out the drinks we ordered an hour ago and ask " how are we doing and did my manager have a chance to stop by?" Do I really need to answer that! Well the place was freezing. Most of the people by our section had their jackets on and the service was HORRIBLE ! No oysters at a oyster house??? Visit at your own risk.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. A little pricey. Th ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Food was very good. A little pricey. The Lobster Mac & Cheese was wonderful. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Only thing good left on new menu is oysters

Dined on February 22, 2016

The food and menu used to be good. Now they changed it and it is horrible. There is NOTHING to chose from.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a Sunday night find!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We love Doc's... usually. But on this Sunday night nearly everything we ordered, they were out of. It was really embarrassing because we took our son's intended bride and her parents there to celebrate their engagement. Out of calamari, edemame, certain oysters, and on and on. Management was kind enough to adjust our bill and give us a few comp items for future use, but we were disappointed. They did say that they get their items fresh and so they do, at times, run short by Sunday night. I would suggest you get a hold of the menu and call before you go to make sure you meal will be available! Otherwise, I have to say, we have never had a disappointing experience until this one. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. Food, service

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Always good. Food, service

food2
ambience2
service3
value4

Not to great.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We use to love Doc's. It seems that things have changed. The server wasn't efficient. My soup came out fast and cold. The food wasn't as good as it use to be. It was overall a very disappointing experience for us. We said we will not go back.

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

For the money not worth it especially while celebrating a special occasion

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not for Special Occasions

Dined on February 14, 2016

Have had some great experiences dining here. Valentine's Day was not one of them.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Seating

Dined on February 14, 2016

After we made a reservation in advance we were seated at a table next to the door. The location was cold and noisy not to mention people standing right next to where we were seated. Very poor overall experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good seafood inland

Dined on February 13, 2016

Even though they are very far inland, all of our seafood was very fresh. Overall, my wife and I had a great meal, and a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is always fresh made and comes ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is always fresh made and comes hot. The waitress was very attentive even though she was busy, she checked back with us periodically always asking how is everything and do you need anything. Oysters at Docs are the best anywhere, great variety and quickly shucked by able shuckers!

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not What I Hoped For

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my second time dining here and unfortunately this time left me disappointed. While the service was great, the food was, to put it kindly, forgettable. The first time I ate here, I was pleasantly surprised by the variety of choices and more than satisfied with both the presentation and taste of the food. They must have changed their menu, going for a more straightforward and simple approach. I feel that was a mistake. My wife and I both had surf & turf (I substituted a crab cake for the lobster). The crab cake was the only item with any taste, and I would certainly recommend them to crab lovers, but both the filet and the lobster were average at best.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

food took too long and was cold when served

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress was polite and attentive, but our food took forever to come out. There were people seated behind us who came in after us, ordered food and were served before our food arrived. When our food did arrive, it was cold, like it had been sitting way too long. We needed to finish up and get going, so could not wait for it to be heated up. Usually good place, given that they were not very busy it is disappointing that our food was cold. Valentine's lunch not so hot.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fresh, with a little extra

Dined on January 18, 2016

Lovely seafood and good selection of oysters. Good staff, makes you feel welcome and can help you out with the menu. Very good value for money, it doesnt get much better in the mountains.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lobster Bisque

Dined on January 16, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here once before, and the service is excellent. As our meal time was finishing, a manager came by to ask us how everything was, and if we needed anything. The food is great. We both enjoyed the Lobster Bisque. I had a burger that was as good as any I've had anywhere. My wife had lobster tacos, which she enjoyed and would order again. Highly recommended!

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was excellent, portions small and pricey

Dined on January 2, 2016

Food was very good, service too. However, portions are pretty small and libations are very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pan Seared Scallops

Dined on January 2, 2016

My second visit to Doc's, but I must say I was disappointed. The panned seared scallops portion was very small and not served hot. I will probably give them another try at some point, but I am not going to go out of my way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great service and drinks. The food on th ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great service and drinks. The food on the other hand, disappointing. 18.00 for grilled grilled tilapla and a few green beans is so overpriced, especially for such a cheap fish. Add a potato and drop the price to 14.00 and maybe I would go back.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Portion sizes

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was very good but the portion sizes were very small. For the prize of the food I was disappointed to be leaving still hungry. It would of been nicer if they meals came with soup or salad too.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

small portions, lobster tails are only 6 ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

small portions, lobster tails are only 6 oz. Very expensive for the amount of food you receive. I received a very small, thin , perfectly round cut of meat that was passed off as a fillet mignon. this was definately not a fillet. At $7.00 for a glass of wine would be average except you only receive a verry small amount of wine.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Doc's many times and alw ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

We have been to Doc's many times and always enjoy the service and the food. Always a good idea to make a reservation through open table. This way no waiting . The only place in the Scranton area for GREAT sea food!!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Doc's is one of our favorite places to e ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Doc's is one of our favorite places to eat however the menu recently changed and we were very disappointed. There was nothing to entice you upon looking at the menu, even the salads were boring offering cucumbers and radishes. Where is the feta cheese, walnuts or cranberries? When you get the opportunity to dine out you want to look at a menu and say that sounds delicious, not on this new menu. Service was great, wait staff and manager were eager to please! This Restaurant is in a great location across from the movies and has a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Please put back some of your fan favorite menu items!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was very fresh. I had the Mahi tacos and they were delicious. My friend had the lobster and she said it was very sweet. We were waited on promptly and waitress was very nice. I only wish we had not been seated by the door.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

The service and food was great. We enjoyed it. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service, will return

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

The oyster selection was great, 7 options in NE Pennsylvania is unheard of! The shrimp appetizer was huge and tasty. The broiled seafood entree was good, small but prepared well. The lobster ravioli dish was huge , rich and delicious. The tables are a bit small and there isn't a lot of room between tables, so it feels like you are a little cramped. It was a good experience and well priced for quality seafood.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing in everyway!!

Dined on December 5, 2015

This is my second time there and will definitely be back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Doc's is one of our favorite places. The ...

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

Doc's is one of our favorite places. The food is always great and the service is always great too. They make you feel like you are one of the family.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1

Will not go back

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

the service was extremely slow and the food was only okay. We requested a quiet part of the restaurant and we got put inbetween a door to the kitchen and a door between rooms. Will not go back

food3
ambience2
service2

The soup was the best part of the meal! ...

vip
Dined on November 23, 2015

The soup was the best part of the meal! Fish was OK (a little over cooked) but the sides were cold. Couldn't figure out why as the restaurant was not crowded at all.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.