HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Doc Ford’s – Captiva

4.1
110 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Kid-friendly
  • Good for Groups
Welcome to Doc Ford’s – Captiva. Home of the Island Mojito and world famous Yucatan Shrimp. Located just outside the gates of tranquil South Seas Island resort Doc Ford’s – Captiva is open to the public.
Come experience tropical flavors from the Caribbean Rim
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Caribbean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily Hours: 11:00am - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(239) 312-4275
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Just past Andy Rosse Lane, at the foot of South Seas
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Please Park in Chadwick's Square
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Please visit docfordscaptiva.com/entertainment to see our online entertainment calendar. The schedule does change throughout the year.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Birthdays, Corporate Dinners, Any other occasions that need to be celebrated!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access
What 110 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
3.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
momlovesfood (Detroit)
4.0  Dined 3 days ago

Everything we ordered was good.calamari app was great.
A few of us had grouper sandwich; it was very fresh. Best dessert was banana bread pudding: was surprisingly good. Big enough to share.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

Loved the shrimp and loved the stone crab; even the house salad exceeded expectations.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent food and service!

Report
Helpful
vipCallaway (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on March 21, 2017

We had an outside table where there was live entertainment. The service was quick and the food was excellent. We were very pleased with this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
vipPark (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on March 8, 2017

Waited 15 minutes at the table and couldn't get a server.

Report
Helpful
vipSueB (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2017

Doc Ford's is synonymous with tasty food and a wide array of fun beverages. This particular location does not have quite the frozen drink selection as the Fort Myers Beach location, but still many wonderful choices.
I highly recommend the Yucatan seasoning if you love shrimp.
Gluten free options abound.

Report
Helpful
fan4plans (New England)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was great! Real knowledge of how to treat patrons.fun drink menus and if you like Mojitos try one- yum! Everyone happy with meals: shrimps grits delicious, fish tacos very good maybe some guacamole or avacado would be a nice addition quinoa salad a nice healthy option- atmosphere lacked any kind of charm; I know it's a newer location but I felt like I was eating in a cafeteria; I like a it of ambiance or vacation flair when I venture out

Report
Helpful
vipFussyDiner (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

Best fish sandwich -- basal!
Service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Naples)
3.0  Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant and we expected it to be a little more formal but we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. We were impressed by the food. Service was OK but the reservation staff led us to believe that tables were scarce and we would loose our reservation if we were late. When we arrived, the place was half empty and remained so until we left. The hostess didn't even ask if we had a reservation and immediately seated us at one of the many empty tables. Not good form.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (London)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2016

This year we came for lunch on Christmas Day. The staff were friendly and fun and the mood was relaxed. There were couples and families and someone had brought their dog. People were dressed up and others were in running gear. The food was delicious. We had the perfect Christmas Day lunch!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
5.0  Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food. Fresh and plentiful.

Report
Helpful
viplolstar (Naples)
4.0  Dined on May 1, 2016

Many choices on this extensive menu. We have been here a number of times and we have been satisfied with everything we have ordered.

Report
Helpful
Fhohio (Columbus)
4.0  Dined on March 16, 2016

We reserved a table at this newer location for Doc Fords in late afternoon, 3:45 pm which was supposedly the only open time that they had. This was simply not true, there was plenty of room well after that time, even after 5 pm. So, call ahead instead of using Open Table online, as the times we were provided were simply not correct regarding reservations.

Report
Helpful
Schutz64 (Atlantic City)
5.0  Dined on February 5, 2016

Went for lunch. Creative menu, tasty and fresh food. Server was efficient, friendly and genuine.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2016

Doc Ford's is a great place to enjoy the Sanibel/Captiva atmosphere Both restaurants have a fun vibe and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The food and drinks are reasonable and good. The Key Lime pie is the best we've had in that part of Florida.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Pittsburgh)
4.0  Dined on January 2, 2016

Really nice relaxing atmosphere and excellent food!

Report
Helpful
vipMarylandTable (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on November 18, 2015

What a fun - and yummy!! - lunch we had Doc Ford's on Captiva!!! The service was extraordinary - the food was delicious - and the outdoor seating was just what we wanted! Thank you for the perfect remedy for the Winter doldrums . . . we'll be revisiting Doc's again soon!!

Report
Helpful
trush (Tampa)
3.0  Dined on September 19, 2015

The food and eservice were good. The ambiance was non existent. I would not recommend it to anyone who may b e looking for a beachy Florida like experience. The noise level was deafening.

Report
Helpful
vipNonVegans (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined on September 8, 2015

We were staying at the resort next door and wanted something off-campus. Doc Fords was rated #1 on Captiva so we gave it a shot. Very nice atmosphere but we can see it would be energetic during high season. Ordered the Crab Cake appetizer and we split the Seafood Paella. Had the Carrot Cake for dessert and we walked away stuffed! Both the food and beverage prices were reasonable. The chef came out to greet us which was a nice touch.
So go ahead and give them a try.

Report
Helpful
vipHappyDiner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on August 17, 2015

We've had the occasion to visit both of the Doc Ford's establishments in Captiva and Sanibel and find the food, atmosphere and service to be consistent. My husband is a huge fan of Randy White and his books (he's read them all but not the ghost writer versions yet) so our server was terrific and supplied the information he requested. The food was pleasing and the fish was fresh an tasty. We'll be back when we visit next year.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6