About Doc Ford’s – Captiva

5400 Plantation Rd
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Welcome to Doc Ford’s – Captiva. Home of the Island Mojito and world famous Yucatan Shrimp. Located just outside the gates of tranquil South Seas Island resort Doc Ford’s – Captiva is open to the public.
Come experience tropical flavors from the Caribbean Rim

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: 11:00am - Close

Cross Street:
Just past Andy Rosse Lane, at the foot of South Seas

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 312-4275

Website:
http://www.docfords.com/

Entertainment:
Please visit docfordscaptiva.com/entertainment to see our online entertainment calendar. The schedule does change throughout the year.

Parking Details:
Please Park in Chadwick's Square

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Birthdays, Corporate Dinners, Any other occasions that need to be celebrated!

Doc Ford’s – Captiva Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (5)
fit for foodies (3)
See All
kid-friendly (3)
good for groups (2)
special occasion (2)
scenic view (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
95 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Reservations were not needed as indicated

Dined on March 16, 2016

We reserved a table at this newer location for Doc Fords in late afternoon, 3:45 pm which was supposedly the only open time that they had. This was simply not true, there was plenty of room well after that time, even after 5 pm. So, call ahead instead of using Open Table online, as the times we were provided were simply not correct regarding reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for lunch. Creative menu, tasty and ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Went for lunch. Creative menu, tasty and fresh food. Server was efficient, friendly and genuine.

food4
ambience5
service5

Doc Ford's is a great place to enjoy the ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Doc Ford's is a great place to enjoy the Sanibel/Captiva atmosphere Both restaurants have a fun vibe and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The food and drinks are reasonable and good. The Key Lime pie is the best we've had in that part of Florida.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great find - good atmosphere and great food.

Dined on January 2, 2016

Really nice relaxing atmosphere and excellent food!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Just What the Doc Ordered!!

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

What a fun - and yummy!! - lunch we had Doc Ford's on Captiva!!! The service was extraordinary - the food was delicious - and the outdoor seating was just what we wanted! Thank you for the perfect remedy for the Winter doldrums . . . we'll be revisiting Doc's again soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4

O K

Dined on September 19, 2015

The food and eservice were good. The ambiance was non existent. I would not recommend it to anyone who may b e looking for a beachy Florida like experience. The noise level was deafening.

food4
ambience4
service5

We were staying at the resort next door ...

Dined on September 8, 2015

We were staying at the resort next door and wanted something off-campus. Doc Fords was rated #1 on Captiva so we gave it a shot. Very nice atmosphere but we can see it would be energetic during high season. Ordered the Crab Cake appetizer and we split the Seafood Paella. Had the Carrot Cake for dessert and we walked away stuffed! Both the food and beverage prices were reasonable. The chef came out to greet us which was a nice touch. So go ahead and give them a try.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience3
service4

Always a happy place

vip
Dined on August 17, 2015

We've had the occasion to visit both of the Doc Ford's establishments in Captiva and Sanibel and find the food, atmosphere and service to be consistent. My husband is a huge fan of Randy White and his books (he's read them all but not the ghost writer versions yet) so our server was terrific and supplied the information he requested. The food was pleasing and the fish was fresh an tasty. We'll be back when we visit next year.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it.

Dined on August 15, 2015

Loved our dinner here so went back the next night. Fish specials were amazing. Peel n eat shrimp another favorite. Service was top notch. Loved the Rum drinks too! Not too outrageously priced. Great if you're staying at South seas.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Shrimp and Grits Ever!

Dined on August 15, 2015

This was our first time at Doc Ford's but we will be back for the Shrimp and Grits and Boneless Pork Ribeye! Both dishes were outstanding! Doc Ford's also had one of the best Conch Chowders I have had so far in Florida. Nice place!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Best place on Captiva

Dined on August 1, 2015

We have been coming to Captiva for over 30 years and this is now our favorite restaurant on the island. The shrimp are large, fresh and delicious. My spouse had the swordfish which was very tasty....only wish the piece was larger. The mashed potatoes with shrimp in them was so tasty and my tropical salad was wonderful...lots of variety in it. Next year, we hope to eat there almost every night of our visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great spot in South Seas

Dined on July 30, 2015

We called ahead for reservations. Our table was not quite ready when we got there but only had to wait a few minutes. It was strange that they said that our table was not ready but then asked us if we wanted to sit inside or outside.The food and the service was great. There was a large group next to us it was very loud. We will definitely visit the restaurant again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff

Dined on July 29, 2015

From the moment we entered we felt that staff must enjoy their job since everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We sat at the bar since our table was not ready, the bar tender greeted us immediately. He was chatty and gave us some great suggestions to order from the menu. Our server again greeted us promptly and ran through the specials and menu. We ordered an appetizer and 3 entrees, all were delivered at a pleasant rate. The food was excellent and I will add this restaurant to my list of places to return to.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

So Wonderful...

Dined on July 25, 2015

We are 68 years old and travelled on 5 continents. This is by far one of the best meals we have ever had. Having read half of the Doc Ford novels we had to try the restaurant. Service started slow but then improved considerably, with a cordial visit from one of the female managers. The meal started with the Yucatan Shrimp made famous by Tomlinson's special sauce, not for the faint hearted. A flavor that stays with you. The entrees we chose were a banana leaf wrapped snapper with rice and black beans, absolutely fantastic. The other entree was the Mahi Mahi on a bed of stir fry rice that had cabbage bits and excellently seasoned. After enjoying this meal there was no room for dessert. We will definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5

Doc fords

Dined on July 24, 2015

Good service and ambiance but very average food . The bar area was nice and they had good outside music

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

The menu is much more expansive than oth ...

vip
Dined on July 21, 2015

The menu is much more expansive than other places on the island and everything was prepared well and priced appropriately. Would go again for sure.

food1
ambience2
service5

Horrible spend your time and money elsewhere

Dined on July 18, 2015

Horrible evening. Food sub par. Not imaginative at all. Waitstaff was friendly and embarrass by meal served. Management has no right being in the restaurant business. Never to return!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Doc Ford's!

Dined on July 18, 2015

The food was very good, we highly recommend the Sweet Chili Shrimp as an appetizer. The oysters were also really fresh as well. Our server, Josh, was great, very helpful for Sanibel knowledge as well. We would have gone multiple times if we had known the food was so good! Recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Yucutan Shrimp are a must

Dined on July 15, 2015

Tonight was very good at Doc Ford's Captiva. We had the Yucatan Shrimp (5 shrimp in spicy sauce, note you do have to peel them) which were excellent. The sauce is addictive! I had the scallop special which were 3-4 scallops on a bed of black linguine, mushrooms, and spinach. Both dishes were excellent. For Captiva this is a fairly large restaurant and the food service was very quick. I would call this a casual restaurant, lots of kids and families so a bit noisy, but several couples like us as well. They accommodated our request for a booth which was a bit more relaxed which we appreciated. Overall, it was excellent.

food3
ambience4
service1

Not good for food allergies! Horrible server...

vip
Dined on July 10, 2015

We went to Doc Ford's Captiva on the first night of our vacation. Our 16 year old daughter has severe food allergies...when we told our waiter about it he was very nonchalant about her special needs. We ordered a simple tomato and mozzarella salad without any of the "drizzle" on it and it came out with ALL the "drizzle" on it...he should have checked it before he served. He did bring another out that was correct. When we ordered our meal he still didn't care one bit about whether she was comfortable with what she was ordering...she did not eat her food. The concerns regarding her were the most important issues, however, our first drinks did not come out for 15 minutes, mind you, 4 were either pop or water and only 1 was an actual cocktail from the bar. To top it all off, when our meals did arrive, our 17 year old daughter's lobster salad sandwich, (not too difficult to prepare), did not come out for another 10 minutes. We eat out constantly as we travel quite a bit and our daughter with the severe food allergies has had her allergies since birth...It is very disappointing when we have a server who does not care about whether her food is prepared correctly or well. She is just as much a customer as everyone else in the restaurant and deserves the same service. If a server is uncomfortable with a customer's special needs he/she needs to say that and we will find another place to eat. We were extremely upset that our first meal on vacation was such a horrible experience at Doc Ford's. We will not recommend nor go to this restaurant again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service5

Great...The Resort is lucky they are there!

vip
Dined on June 23, 2015

The best dining experience at the resort. The South Seas Island Resort should take some training from Doc Fords! The food was awesome, the service was amazing.....complete opposite of the restaurants that are part of the resort.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Yucatan shrimp app was awesome. Grouper ...

Dined on June 20, 2015

Yucatan shrimp app was awesome. Grouper was excellent! Great bar and spacious outdoor seating with live music!

food3
ambience3
service3

Steak is awesome

Dined on June 14, 2015

But the fish taco was un desirable. Needs a spicy sauce to compliment the ingredients Calamere was very good. Fresh /. I would add u need a better dipping sauce

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food3
ambience3
service3

Not nearly as good as last year.

Dined on June 2, 2015

Fish not cooked to perfection. Special was overcooked. Rice was mislabeled risotto. Service was OK but not as responsive as it should have been. Very disappointing as compared to last year.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good service

Dined on May 30, 2015

Mary took care of us and made great suggestions. Food was great and so was service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is no mystery.

vip
Dined on May 19, 2015

This restaurant which is featured in the Doc Ford mystery series is excellent. We went because my sister reads author Randy Wayne White"s mysteries. The restaurant is very good and not just a hyped up tourist trap. Our food was excellent as was our service. Also, there are many old Florida pictures and artifacts worth wandering the restaurant to see. There 3 of these restaurants partially owned by White. They have really good concept and product here. I recommend Doc Ford's for a very good meal and a touch of old Florida nostalgia.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Love it!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2015

We have loved Doc Fords in Sanibel, we are so glad they are now here in Captiva. We were so excited when they brought Doc Fords to Captiva, and what makes it even better is that there was not a drop in the quality in delicious food or excellent service!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service at reasonable prices

vip
Dined on April 28, 2015

For an island restaurant Doc Ford's is reasonably priced and the food is excellent. We started with salads - house and wedge and both were delicious. Then, two of us had the Yucatan Shrimp and the sauce is amazing! The ribs were excellent as well. The special for the night, a snapper was delicious but we did have to deal with a few bones. The children's menu has good variety and the food is good and plentiful. There was a party of about 10 people that came in after us and were very noisy but generally I think the noise level is manageable. We would definitely go back and encourage others to try it as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, fun atmosphere

vip
Dined on March 18, 2015

As we expected from reading other reviews, our dinner was very good. It took a while for our server to get around to our table, since he was clearly busy with other groups as well. Once we placed our order, the appetizer and salads came very quickly. Fortunately the entrees took a little longer to give us time to finish the first courses. Overall we were pleased with our experience. The Key Lime Pie was especially good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

always great

vip
Dined on February 22, 2015

We go to Doc Fords regularly; the food is always delicious, there is a good variety and the service is great. Even in the midst of a very busy season, they are accommodating and attentive. We have been in the outdoor area, the inside restaurant seating sections and for the football season, or late evening; we eat in the bar area. Never been disappointed - and the key lime pie (and I have tried them all, believe me) is the best!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything great .... but very, very lou ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2015

Everything great .... but very, very loud. Couple of big parties ... made it feel like dinner at a party ... Rather than dinner at a first class restaurant. They are working on it. Great place. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, great service!

Dined on February 19, 2015

Perchance decided to try this corner restaurant. Our server, Nick, was a lot of fun and very attentive. Wings and peel and eat shrimp were a big hit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service4

Extremely Poor Acoustics

Dined on February 14, 2015

We've enjoyed the Sanibel Doc Ford's for many years, so we don't mind a lively atmosphere; however the Captiva restaurant is over the top loud. We sat next to a large table of very rowdy adults. Due to the extremely poor acoustics of the space, it was an unpleasant meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service5

Off Night

Dined on February 6, 2015

It was not the kitchens best night. Food was being served luke warm to our table and the table next to ours. My husbands fish tacos were hot but my dinner was luke warm. The presentation was even lacking. It's too bad because our dinner earlier in the week was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Lots of food, fast

vip
Dined on February 6, 2015

Ate at Doc Ford - Captiva on a Thursday eve. The large deck outside was full and having a great time with live music. We were seated indoors which was much more quiet. Our server was informative if rushed and very efficient. We had Conch Chowder (excellent), Yellow Snapper (very good) and the fish sandwich, a specialty and tasty. The sa ndwich came with a large plate of beans and rice as well. We shared a chocolate dessert that was not particularly memorable. What was amazing though was how fast the dishes were served. I could not keep up with the kitchen and felt rushed with 4 courses in less than 1 hour. We took a meal home with us to enjoy later.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Go to favorite

Dined on February 5, 2015

We visit Doc Fords several times each time e come to Sanibel. I have a hard time ordering anything but the yucatan shrimp, but have enjoyed the ceviche and fish tacos also. My husband likes the scallops and the beach bread. Service has always been great. We enjoyed the outdoor dining. The menu has something for all tastes.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

Dined on February 4, 2015

The service here is amazing. We ate here 2 nights In row as it was close to our hotel. Sonya waited on us the first night and had great suggestions and was just plain fun. The baby back ribs are fantastic. My husband had them and is picky about ribs and we both thought they were so good. I wish I could have a bottle of the sauce. The Wednesday scallop special was unexpected with a sweet chile sauce combined with linguine and corn and mushrooms. Finish it off with key lime pie and live guitar music. That is a good night out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Fun spot. Good foid

vip
Dined on February 4, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner here more than any place else on the island. Nice wait staff too. Guess I was disappointed that I had told them it was our 42nd wedding anniversary and nothing. Guess those days are long gone .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Tasty! Seated in quiet booth- so nice!

Dined on February 1, 2015

Josh our server was great. Very attentive, good suggestions. Everything was very good but their chocolate banana bread pudding was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food, Great Experience

Dined on January 30, 2015

Went for dinner and used Open Table for reservations. It was a good choice to reserve. A couple came in ahead of us and were told it was a 30 to 40 minute wait. Our waiter was full of personality. I ordered a bowl of Clam Chowder. It was very good. Also ordered the fish fingers for my entree (an appetizer) on the menu. Plate had 5 very large pieces of fish. It was great fish, but after the bowl of Clam Chowder, I could only eat three. I will definitely continue to go there to eat at least one night every time I visit the island.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.