About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Michael Ton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mac N' Cheese
Loaded Baked Potato With Beef Brisket
Cole Slaw
Baked Beans
Assorted Oysters
BBQ Chicken
Brisket Sandwich
Beef Brisket
Half Slab Baby Back Ribs
St. Louis Style BBQ Ribs
Heap N Chips
Pork Rinds
Old Fashioned
Smoked Wings
Daisy Jane
Pulled Pork Nachos
Cajun Grilled Dixie Chicken With Fries
Catfish
Braised Greens
Heap 'N' Chips
Pulled Pork
Brisket
Smokehouse Sampler
Fried Shrimp Po' Boy
Fried Green Tomatoes
Wedge Salad
Southern Crab Cakes
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Chocolate Lava Cake
Smoked Portobello & Fried Green Tomato
peel n eat shrimp
Burger with Onion Rings
Shrimp Cocktail
Club Sandwich
Fried Pork Chops
Fried Shrimp And Oyster Po'Boy
Blackend Redfish
Shrimp and Grits
Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits
Wilbur Sundae
Stagg Jr
Peel N' Eat Shrimp
St. Louis Rins With Fried Okra Mac N Cheese
Top Shelf Burger W/Wedges
Brisket Tacos
Heapn Chips
Brisket Platter With Cole Slaw And Mac & Cheese
Key Lime Pie
Shrimp Coc
Iced tea

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Central Kentucky
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Good for Groups (26)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good and the bourbon selection ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good and the bourbon selection was fantastic. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and also the bourbon selection, His recommendations were great!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ribs were pathetic. Very dry and co ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ribs were pathetic. Very dry and covered in a sauce. Waiter never asked us how our food tasted. Really disappointed and well not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The staff was incredibly accommodating. ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was incredibly accommodating. I had family traveling from Chicago for a wedding. We had a short time for lunch before we needed to get on the road in order to make it to Woodford Reserve for our tour. The staff got our food and checks ready promptly. I cannot thank them enough!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this establishment on se ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have been to this establishment on several trips and are a huge fan. The service wasn't the best this round but it was BUSY and we were in no hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding Service and Food! Our server ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding Service and Food! Our server Christin was very friendly, knowledgeable and catered to our every need. The portions are huge, and the variety of choices offered makes you want to order multiple items. We will be back soon and I will conquer The Bubba!

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BBQ was really good, service good and am ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

BBQ was really good, service good and ambiance awesome. Superb bar. Very popular place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I was actually expecting a bit more. I w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was actually expecting a bit more. I was originally going for the bourbon but heard the food was pretty good. Not really much of a "bar" as the bar area is fairly small. I really think you should look at Doc's as a restaurant first and foremost. In that regard, the food was fine but nothing special. Service was a bit slow and no real assistance on food or drink. The restaurant is configured strangely. Very thin and long with what I view as 3 different rooms front to back. I would definitely recommend the front bar area versus other rooms. Didn't hate the place but nothing to really remember about it either. Worth trying to form your own opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We flew in from Boston MA to go on Bourb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We flew in from Boston MA to go on Bourbon tours and check out distilleries. We made a reservation based on the extensive and special bourbon list they advertise online. Sad to say they didn't have atleast 10 bourbons we tried to order. Nothing special about there list, just everyday bourbons you can get in Boston. Food was decent if you like southern BBQ. Total bummer if your looking for a good bourbon list though.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It's a relaxing place to meet with a fri ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

It's a relaxing place to meet with a friend and just talk.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always enjoyed Doc Crows but duri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I have always enjoyed Doc Crows but during this last visit I was wildly underwhelmed. The service was incredibly slow and one dish at the table was sub par.

We waited an abnormally long amount of time for a bottle of wine that we ordered and my water glass was always empty.

We were also sat in a very inconvenient location. I booked for a party of 5 and they sat us in a rather small booth with a chair on the end. I was the only female and my male friends are not small. Only one of them is under 6ft. tall. It was a tight squeeze and because we were next to the window two in my party were constantly hot. When I asked to be moved, they told me they didn't have anything open and I would have to wait for something to become free. The way this was handled felt rude. Don't put a party of 5 at a tiny booth with a chair.

Food was good but the St. Louis dry rub ribs were overcooked.

My party spent a lot of money here. We ordered 2 bottles of wine and 48(!) oysters. We were there to celebrate a reunion of friends. I just wish Doc Crows would have stepped up their service to fit the occasion.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great BBQ, drinks and service! Lively a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great BBQ, drinks and service! Lively atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a large group but they handled i ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were a large group but they handled it well

We would come back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Oyster were okay. Waitress seemed to not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Oyster were okay. Waitress seemed to not want to be there. Entrees were delicious, but bad waitress was disappointing for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Server was friendly and efficient. Food ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Server was friendly and efficient. Food was good. We had agreed time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the second time I dined here. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was the second time I dined here. The first time, my wife and I were seated up front and everything was good. This time, I was in a party of 4 and we were seated in the very back of the restaurant. The noise level of this renovated warehouse made it difficult to carry on a conversation. The food was very good, but our waitress tended to get lost for long periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Never disappoints! Smoked tomatoes and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Never disappoints! Smoked tomatoes and tomato vinaigrette rocked with the house salad and salmon pairing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Awesome food and atmosphere. Portion siz ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Awesome food and atmosphere. Portion size is large and my kids enjoyed the view from our table! Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was EXTREMELY hot and it ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant was EXTREMELY hot and it made our dining experience not a pleasant one. A group of men seated next to us also complained. The servers were awesome, but the food was only so-so, maybe because we were so uncomfortable due to the restaurant bring so hot. IF we go again, it will be in cold weather. This dining experience was TERRIBLE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Awesome experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Chicken, Ribs and Ribeye that we ha ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best Chicken, Ribs and Ribeye that we have had. Highly recommend Doc Crow's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great. I particularly like ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was great. I particularly like the gumbo. We did not leave hungry. Price was about right.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went to dinner with my husband and wante ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Went to dinner with my husband and wanted to try something new. Had heard people talking about Doc Crows so we decided to try it. Had the platter and sweet potato fries. Barbecue was good, but I've had better. The sweet potato fries were great though!

If I go back I will try the catfish. Definitely make a reservation because there always seems to be people waiting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was great. Food, not so much. Th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was great. Food, not so much. The ribs were overcooked, dry and hard to eat. You could not cut or chew the brisket. The mac and cheese was dry. The key lime pie saved the day, it was very good. They give you a whole small pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, but loud. Even though they ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food, but loud. Even though they have a Kids menu, it's expensive ($6-$8 for the meal, juice costs extra), and they didn't have kid-friendly cups or many kid friendly beverage options (milk, apple juice weren't options). I had three little ones that were served their juices in glasses from the bar, and I had to hold my breath that they wouldn't launch the glasses at some point during the meal. Servers worked well as a team, so we were never without what we needed. Lots of hard surfaces, so the noise level was pretty steep. Highly recommend reserving a table in advance, or you'll wait forever, even on a Monday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awesome!l Our service was g ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was awesome!l Our service was good and we tried several different dishes. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food, I had the dry rub ribs a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved the food, I had the dry rub ribs and they were fantastic. My other guests loved their food as well. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good menu, food well prepared and s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very good menu, food well prepared and service was very good. An excellent experience for a group from diverse countries to try American cuisine. An enjoyable evening for all.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I thought the food was overpriced for bb ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I thought the food was overpriced for bbq. Really nothing special. Our server had zero personality. The drinks were delicious but garnished sloppy. I guess my expectation was a little too high. Definitely a fun hangout place but a little pricy for the offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Absolutely phenomenal. Amazing BBQ with ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal. Amazing BBQ with an exceptional bourbon list. I recommend the heapin chips! Be sure to make reservations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my entire group's first time at ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my entire group's first time at the restaurant. Although the food was good with the exception of the mild wings, which were EXTREMELY HOT that NO ONE could eat them. The salmon was very small compared to other Restaurants and the price. The service was not so great. The server was very very slow and presented a non caring, unprofessional deameanor..We were never given her name, had to ask for water, napkins more than once. She was very unconcerned when advised about the wings..Made no attempt to resolve the issue. If I refer anyone it will be for the food (omitting the salmon and mild wings not the service. I was really shocked because I heard nothing but good things from three different individuals .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great local place Lots of bourbons Great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great local place

Lots of bourbons

Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food at a Great Price

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Their was a variety of foods to choose from and everything everyone ordered looked great. My Portabello and Fried green tomato burger was awesome. The chips are fresh and have a wonderful seasoning. Great place to eat for lunch. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow start but good recovery

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated a few minutes late for our reservation in the "walkway" between the two dining rooms that contained the kitchen. Normally when making a reservation I would hope for a better location- ideally in one of the two main dining space... Our server was not able to assist us for at least 10 minutes as he tended to some other tables as well, though he did note this to us from the outset. Needless to say, my high hopes for the evening were in question.

Fortunately, things recovered thanks to very good food and drinks. The only morsels that were left at the table were due to being full- not from lack of enjoyment. Hopefully, next time the initial service will be better to make it a truly high-quality evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Warning ! Hush puppies have peppers pos ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Warning ! Hush puppies have peppers possibly Jalapeños in them . Maybe being from the North I'm not used to it. Shrimp & grits were tremendous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food, great service, great drinks, so fun! Oysters were excellent! Have The Old Fashioned - their signature drink!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The foo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was fantastic and the waiter was great. Only downside was that as the place got busier it got a bit loud and harder to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service could have been bett ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food. Service could have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

First night of dinning in Louisville. Ex ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

First night of dinning in Louisville. Excellent location on whiskey row. We had a great experience at Doc Crows with a wonderful waiter and really good food. I definitely recommend the loaded chips!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the dry rub ribs. You won't be disa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Get the dry rub ribs. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food. We shared the sampler and it ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food. We shared the sampler and it was enough for 2 people with additional sides. Waitress was overwhelmed and it took probably

Over 25 minutes even after we walked to the bar to see if our drinks were ready. Staff not very friendly, presumably stressed for a large restaurant? However we did come during derby weekend. Make a reservation for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.