About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Michael Ton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mac N' Cheese
Loaded Baked Potato With Beef Brisket
Cole Slaw
Baked Beans
Assorted Oysters
Half Slab Baby Back Ribs
Brisket Sandwich
BBQ Chicken
St. Louis Style BBQ Ribs
Heap N Chips
Beef Brisket
Daisy Jane
Pork Rinds
Smoked Wings
Old Fashioned
Cajun Grilled Dixie Chicken With Fries
Pulled Pork Nachos
Pulled Pork
Smokehouse Sampler
Catfish
Braised Greens
Brisket
Heap 'N' Chips
Fried Shrimp Po' Boy
Fried Green Tomatoes
Southern Crab Cakes
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Wedge Salad
Chocolate Lava Cake
Smoked Portobello & Fried Green Tomato
Burger with Onion Rings
peel n eat shrimp
Shrimp Cocktail
Club Sandwich
Fried Pork Chops
Fried Shrimp And Oyster Po'Boy
Blackend Redfish
Shrimp and Grits
Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits
Wilbur Sundae
Stagg Jr
Peel N' Eat Shrimp
St. Louis Rins With Fried Okra Mac N Cheese
Top Shelf Burger W/Wedges
Heapn Chips
Brisket Tacos
Key Lime Pie
Iced tea
Shrimp Coc
Brisket Platter With Cole Slaw And Mac & Cheese

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (37)
fit for foodies (37)
great for lunch (26)
See All
hot spot (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
special occasion (15)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
romantic (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was awesome!l Our service was g ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was awesome!l Our service was good and we tried several different dishes. I would highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food, I had the dry rub ribs a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved the food, I had the dry rub ribs and they were fantastic. My other guests loved their food as well. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good menu, food well prepared and s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very good menu, food well prepared and service was very good. An excellent experience for a group from diverse countries to try American cuisine. An enjoyable evening for all.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I thought the food was overpriced for bb ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I thought the food was overpriced for bbq. Really nothing special. Our server had zero personality. The drinks were delicious but garnished sloppy. I guess my expectation was a little too high. Definitely a fun hangout place but a little pricy for the offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Absolutely phenomenal. Amazing BBQ with ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal. Amazing BBQ with an exceptional bourbon list. I recommend the heapin chips! Be sure to make reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my entire group's first time at ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my entire group's first time at the restaurant. Although the food was good with the exception of the mild wings, which were EXTREMELY HOT that NO ONE could eat them. The salmon was very small compared to other Restaurants and the price. The service was not so great. The server was very very slow and presented a non caring, unprofessional deameanor..We were never given her name, had to ask for water, napkins more than once. She was very unconcerned when advised about the wings..Made no attempt to resolve the issue. If I refer anyone it will be for the food (omitting the salmon and mild wings not the service. I was really shocked because I heard nothing but good things from three different individuals .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great local place Lots of bourbons Great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great local place

Lots of bourbons

Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food at a Great Price

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Their was a variety of foods to choose from and everything everyone ordered looked great. My Portabello and Fried green tomato burger was awesome. The chips are fresh and have a wonderful seasoning. Great place to eat for lunch. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow start but good recovery

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were seated a few minutes late for our reservation in the "walkway" between the two dining rooms that contained the kitchen. Normally when making a reservation I would hope for a better location- ideally in one of the two main dining space... Our server was not able to assist us for at least 10 minutes as he tended to some other tables as well, though he did note this to us from the outset. Needless to say, my high hopes for the evening were in question.

Fortunately, things recovered thanks to very good food and drinks. The only morsels that were left at the table were due to being full- not from lack of enjoyment. Hopefully, next time the initial service will be better to make it a truly high-quality evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Warning ! Hush puppies have peppers pos ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Warning ! Hush puppies have peppers possibly Jalapeños in them . Maybe being from the North I'm not used to it. Shrimp & grits were tremendous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great food, great service, great drinks, so fun! Oysters were excellent! Have The Old Fashioned - their signature drink!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The foo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was fantastic and the waiter was great. Only downside was that as the place got busier it got a bit loud and harder to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service could have been bett ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food. Service could have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

First night of dinning in Louisville. Ex ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

First night of dinning in Louisville. Excellent location on whiskey row. We had a great experience at Doc Crows with a wonderful waiter and really good food. I definitely recommend the loaded chips!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the dry rub ribs. You won't be disa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Get the dry rub ribs. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food. We shared the sampler and it ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food. We shared the sampler and it was enough for 2 people with additional sides. Waitress was overwhelmed and it took probably

Over 25 minutes even after we walked to the bar to see if our drinks were ready. Staff not very friendly, presumably stressed for a large restaurant? However we did come during derby weekend. Make a reservation for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We were visiting Louisville for the Derb ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for the Derby and had lunch here. It has a fun rustic feel. The tables were quite sticky which was odd. The food was quite good though and especially the BBQ and the roasted half chicken. We'd recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had an excellent meal, late lunch. I ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had an excellent meal, late lunch. It was our second time dining here and we went for the wings on the starters menu - one of the best in the city. The rest of meal was great. Burger awesome, but fish poboy did not remind me of a po boy (maybe needed more sauce) although the fish was fixed to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Director treated for Admin Pro week. Eve ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Director treated for Admin Pro week. Everyone please with choices and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took my daughters volleyball team and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We took my daughters volleyball team and coaches, 15 people. They accommodated us nicely, service was served timely and was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best on Whisky Row

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

A great bourbon and cocktail menu. A fun place to be. Raw oysters and the shrimp were good. The shrimp and grits were very good. The baby back ribs and pulled pork were not as good as I make.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service. Just a bit lo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, great service. Just a bit loud for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service,good bourbon=great time

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

This was our only visit to this restaurant on our trip and we would definitely like to return to try some other items on the menu. We wanted to try some southern barbecue so we ordered the beef brisket which was very good. It had a nice smokey flavor and was very tender. The portion size seemed a little bit on the skimpy size ...( so we had no leftovers) but we did not leave hungry! Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu,but after a few mint juleps I can't remember his name now. Overall it was a great experience and look forward to returning someday.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a fun and lively place to have dinner.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Love sitting in or at the bar. Oysters are delicious. Service is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Overall a good experience. We were seated right in front of the kitchen which did make it a little difficult for conversation with a group of people. The baby back were delicious. Think the dinners should come with at least one side and not have to pay extra for a side item. Had an enjoyable meal and evening.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my fourth visit to Doc Crow's. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Doc Crow's. Everything I've tried was delicious. They NEVER disappoint!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saw all the great reviews for Doc Crows...Meh

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The reviews I've read highlighted the BBQ and bourbon. The Bourbon list was better than the Q. Service was good, ambiance was light and fun. The BBQ? Meh. Somewhat disappointed, and didn't feel the value was there.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I love Doc Crow's! The sa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband and I love Doc Crow's! The salmon, chicken and pork chops are our favorites and the cornbread dressing is AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Doc Crows is a must!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

If you're visiting Louisville from anywhere north, Doc Crows is a must to find a good down-home southern meal. We tried the fried green tomatoes, the pork rinds, the shrimp and cheddar grits, and the fried okra - every one of those dishes was amazing. The drink selection isn't bad either. The atmosphere is lively and casual, totally laid back. We saw groups of friends as well as groups of colleagues - seems like a good place for all kinds.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, limited healthy chioces

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Good Experience, very loud so difficult to carry on conversations. Food was good, but very limited healty options. Cost was moderate to expensive.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great; service was sluggish.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was great; service was sluggish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Yum. Great salad great string beans

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The salad was amazing. Also, the string beans were something I could have kept eating all night. The chicken, while moist, wasn't particularly notable. My dessert was pecan pie. It is normally served with whipped cream and I asked for vanilla ice cream. The waiter handled my request without hesitation. The pie, which was more than a slice, was delicious. However, the scoop of ice cream was about half what I needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair Barbecue

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

I didn't think the mac and cheese all that good, but the drinks and the service is tops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Our table was ready when we arrived. Th ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived. The barbecue (pulled pork dinner) was really good. Sauce on the table not to spicy. Draft beer was good and cold.

Always enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

1st time but definitely not our last!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

This was our 1st visit to Doc Crow's. I have heard of it from conversation but had never considered it before. I had planned a weekend celebration for my 27th anniversary. My husband was completely in the dark about where we were eating or what I had planned. I ordered the pork chops and he ordered catfish. Both were delicious. However, my husband said he would order the pork chops on our next visit since they looked so good. Quick service also and the server was very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the dining experience was excellent . th ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

the dining experience was excellent . the rub on the ribs was more spicy than I care for. I recommend making reservations as we did and were seated within 5 minutes of ours. it seemed people just walking in waited a little long . service was nothing left to be desired. perfect.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food & Service !

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Although my ribs had a slight kick, they were tender and delicious... Amazing Chicken and Pecan pie !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty Good

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Loved the ambience, my food was really good but a few things went wrong. 1) It took forever for my drink to come after my fellow diners got theirs about 20 minutes earlier. 2) When my co-worker asked if the ribs were spicy he was told they weren't and then had to send them back because they were too spicy (it was rectified with 1/2 off the item which was really nice and 3) I specifically asked in the beginning to have a candle put in the dessert item for a 50th birthday and that was missed (so I embarrassingly had to ask for something else with a candle in front of the birthday patron) So overall food great- service subpar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Best BBQ, Oysters and Bourbon in Louisville

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Doc Crow's offers a true southern experience.The blacken chicken, fried catfish, friend and raw oysters, salmon, burger and po boys are all great. My favorite continues to be any of the smoked meats... pulled pork sandwich and brisket tacos. They have the best bar in the city with innovative and classic cocktails. Extensive bourbon list! You could make a veggie plate from their sides... lima beans, mac and cheese, fried okra and braised greens all remind me of being in the south. Make a reservation if you don't want a long wait. Always fun to dine at the bar. One of the owners is a Master Sommelier so expect a very thoughtful wine list that pairs very well with the menu. Great local beers available as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food tasted great but my food was co ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The food tasted great but my food was cold like it had been sitting out for awhile. My husbands food was great! I was slightly disappointed but would give it another shot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.