About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Michael Ton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mac N' Cheese - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
BBQ Chicken - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Loaded Baked Potato With Beef Brisket - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Cole Slaw - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Baked Beans - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Assorted Oysters - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Beef Brisket - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Half Slab Baby Back Ribs - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Brisket Sandwich - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Pork Rinds - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Old Fashioned - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Smoked Wings - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Daisy Jane - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
St. Louis Style BBQ Ribs - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Heap N Chips - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Pulled Pork Nachos - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Cajun Grilled Dixie Chicken With Fries - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Braised Greens - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Heap 'N' Chips - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Pulled Pork - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Brisket - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Smokehouse Sampler - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Fried Shrimp Po' Boy - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Fried Green Tomatoes - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Wedge Salad - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Southern Crab Cakes - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Pulled Pork Sandwich - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Chocolate Lava Cake - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Smoked Portobello & Fried Green Tomato - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
peel n eat shrimp - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Burger with Onion Rings - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Shrimp Cocktail - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Club Sandwich - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Fried Pork Chops - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Fried Shrimp And Oyster Po'Boy - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Blackend Redfish - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Shrimp and Grits - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Bread Pudding - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Wilbur Sundae - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Stagg Jr - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Peel N' Eat Shrimp - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
St. Louis Rins With Fried Okra Mac N Cheese - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Top Shelf Burger W/Wedges - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Brisket Tacos - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Heapn Chips - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Brisket Platter With Cole Slaw And Mac & Cheese - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Key Lime Pie - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Shrimp Coc - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Catfish - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY
Iced tea - Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar, Louisville, KY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Groups (17)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (11)
Fun (10)
Great Beer (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time visit with family and friends ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

First time visit with family and friends. Great service and ambiance. Excellent bbq offerings. Will try raw bar next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each of us thought our meals were great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Each of us thought our meals were great and we all agreed that the bread pudding is to "die for"!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little disappointing. Although it wasn' ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Little disappointing. Although it wasn't very busy when we arrived, the service was extraordinarily slow to start, but it did improve somewhat as the evening went on. The pulled pork was really fatty. In both the heapin' chips and my entree. The bill was reasonable, $158 for 6 people that included 2 glasses of wine and 2 cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Love the place.Have been know to eat the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love the place.Have been know to eat there twice in one day

Awesome for pre or post Ul games

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was horrible, service was lackluste ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was horrible, service was lackluster! Will not return back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great brisket, and I'm from Texas! Good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great brisket, and I'm from Texas! Good sides and lots of brown liquor. Give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The restaurant atmosphere and service wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant atmosphere and service was great. The food not so much. Brisket was fair. Cole slaw was terrible ( no taste). Baked beans mediocre at best. Bread on po boy was good. Sweet potato fries were decent.

Side note. I'm not a picky eater. I had really looked forward to going. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My visit left alot to desire. The ribs, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My visit left alot to desire. The ribs, pulled pork and brisket were all disappointing. On a lighter note, the service was excellent. I would not give this establishment my business ever again. I have eaten smoked meats plenty of times in my life, and there are plenty of better options in Louisville.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food and service is ALWAYS on point! ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food and service is ALWAYS on point! Doc Crow's NEVER disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was super ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was delicious and service was superb. Definitely will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience, service mediocre! We ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great Experience, service mediocre! We will come back to try it again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic experience, food, and server!! ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic experience, food, and server!!! We had a party of 6; we all enjoyed the entire experience!! Thank you!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful first time dining experience, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wonderful first time dining experience, it was excellent all the way through

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a business dinner. Not ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great place for a business dinner. Not too loud, great service, good food. Not to mention a great location. Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was alright. But the actual din ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was alright. But the actual dining area smelled like a urinal and the room was very hot.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We were down in the theater area for a c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were down in the theater area for a concert and wanted something close. Definitely a fun nightspot. The appetizers and drinks were great, but the brisket was really fatty and disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dining experience for a Holida ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for a Holiday get together! Service and food was great! Will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my work team here while at a con ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Brought my work team here while at a conference downtown. Quick service, friendly and we were able to have conversations without shouting. Food was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place -- it can be a little lo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love this place -- it can be a little loud, but the food and service are excellent, and the overall experience is fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit and was very pl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first visit and was very pleased with service and quality of food. We'll certainly return.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Serving staff did a great job taking car ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Serving staff did a great job taking care of our party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was way to loud , server not friendly ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

it was way to loud , server not friendly, told me I had 0.00 on my gift cards (although I knew better) I told her to get the manager to check it finally came back out and said both had money on them, food was just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

When we walked into the restaurant, the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

When we walked into the restaurant, the hostess was not very friendly or welcoming. Our server; however was great. Oysters were delicious. Sampler dinner was good, ribs just so so.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is actually pretty good. Our serv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is actually pretty good. Our server was fair. Ambience is poor. There is a front dining room with the bar, and a back dining room. Connecting these two rooms is basically a very wide hall with open viewing access to the kitchen. There are about 7 tables in this area. Two or three of these tables are directly across from the open kitchen. Despite making reservations ahead of time, we were seated at one of these tables. The noise level of clanging dishes and cooking utensils is loud and constant. It was pretty miserable. I could not wait to leave. I would not eat here again, despite food that was decent and at a fair price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I am a repeat customer of The smokehouse ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I am a repeat customer of The smokehouse and this visit had exceptional service. After arriving an hour earlier than the reservation, we were seated promptly with no question. The food was as expected and excellent. The service was great though the server was busy with some large tables.

I describe the restaurant as having excellent smoked meats, great cocktails, but to me, the stars of the show are the side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at Doctor Crows several time ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We've dined at Doctor Crows several times, the food is always good. The pulled pork and beef brisket are some of the best in the city. Our complaint is with the service. We feel invisible when we go. The server takes our order and we don't see them again until we ask for the check. This has happened on each of our visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

This is the second time eating at Doc Cr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is the second time eating at Doc Crows. I would have liked the seating to be more comfortable. The booths really need to be fixed and that took away from a more positive experience. Service was ok. The food came a bit rushed with apps and main course running into each other. I would have liked our wait person to have noticed that without us telling her we were not ready for our main course. Still, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the food good without pretense. That makes me happy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I arrived early for my reservation and t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I arrived early for my reservation and took a stool at the Bar. The bartender was very knowledgeable of their vast Bourbon collection. He served me 3 taste and all 3 were hits.

The Oysters Rockefeller were good but a bit small only 4. I ordered the pork chops with greens, the chops were crispy and juicy. The mashed potatoes were not seasons and the greens had a tad bit too much vinegar for my liking. overall a good dinner and service was good.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quick service, good food

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Quick service, good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic local place by the YUM center ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Fantastic local place by the YUM center and downtown activities. Oysters, beers and a wide selection of bourbons and wines. The food is comfort but with interesting twists of flavor. Appetizers to share or whole dinners and super salads. Always a place to stop in whenever in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, , Historic, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately our drinks came out 20 min ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Unfortunately our drinks came out 20 minutes after our food had arrived. The food was cold as if it was sitting out waiting for us to be ready for our next course. One of our party had a dairy allergy and received butter on their bread another one of our group members had to receive their soup three times in order to get it right. We spoke to the manager regarding the situation. She listened but was not very accommodating. The only perk was our server who was outstanding, personable, and tried to help with all of the issues.

The restaurant wasn't even busy and it is obvoius why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and excellent food. Had a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Had a business meal with out of town associates, were interested in tasting local bourbons. The bourbon flights were great. Food was great... something for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an excellent and huge wedge salad ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I had an excellent and huge wedge salad with brisket on the side. My companions were also happy with their food. The gumbo got two thumbs up. Sit in the back where it is quieter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointing bbq. Good cocktails and be ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Disappointing bbq. Good cocktails and beer list. Extremely noisy.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great place for a group birthday get tog ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great place for a group birthday get together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We stopped for lunch while travelling th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We stopped for lunch while travelling through and it was an outstanding experience. I had the spinach salad with added smoked pork, and my husband had the pulled porm tacos . Both were outstanding . We are planning to stop again on our return trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was hopping at dinner time. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This place was hopping at dinner time. We were so glad we had made reservations. We were seated promptly in a nice booth. Service was quick and friendly. They had a few good local beer selections. The BBQ was fantastic and we both recommend the brisket. Mac and cheese side was very good as well. Unbelievable hot apple pie with locally made vanilla ice cream. YUM!

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good and the bourbon selection ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was good and the bourbon selection was fantastic. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and also the bourbon selection, His recommendations were great!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ribs were pathetic. Very dry and co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The ribs were pathetic. Very dry and covered in a sauce. Waiter never asked us how our food tasted. Really disappointed and well not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The staff was incredibly accommodating. ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The staff was incredibly accommodating. I had family traveling from Chicago for a wedding. We had a short time for lunch before we needed to get on the road in order to make it to Woodford Reserve for our tour. The staff got our food and checks ready promptly. I cannot thank them enough!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.