About Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar

127 W Main St
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Doc Crow's showcases the culinary heritage of the South with a menu of traditional favorites and fresh seafood. The world-class beverage program focuses on America's native spirit, bourbon, and features excellent wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 587-1626

Website:
http://www.doccrows.com/

Parking Details:
There are numerous garages and parking lots in the immediate area that require payment to park. There are also meters on the street which are available as well.

Executive Chef:
Michael Ton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
You know what Dad really wants this Father's Day? Bourbon and BBQ! Doc Crow's will be open at 11 am so you can treat Dad to lunch or dinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have 2 Semi-Private dining rooms available for large parties located in the back portion of our restaurant. While most of the restaurant is laid out "shotgun" style, these two rooms open up to a spacious area with a contemporary yet rustic feel.

Doc Crow's Southern Smokehouse & Raw Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (44)
fit for foodies (42)
great for lunch (30)
See All
hot spot (29)
vibrant bar scene (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
special occasion (13)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (8)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First night of dinning in Louisville. Ex ...

Dined 5 days ago

First night of dinning in Louisville. Excellent location on whiskey row. We had a great experience at Doc Crows with a wonderful waiter and really good food. I definitely recommend the loaded chips!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Get the dry rub ribs. You won't be disa ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Get the dry rub ribs. You won't be disappointed!

food4
ambience4
service2

Great food. We shared the sampler and it ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food. We shared the sampler and it was enough for 2 people with additional sides. Waitress was overwhelmed and it took probably Over 25 minutes even after we walked to the bar to see if our drinks were ready. Staff not very friendly, presumably stressed for a large restaurant? However we did come during derby weekend. Make a reservation for sure!

food4
ambience4
service4

We were visiting Louisville for the Derb ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for the Derby and had lunch here. It has a fun rustic feel. The tables were quite sticky which was odd. The food was quite good though and especially the BBQ and the roasted half chicken. We'd recommend it!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an excellent meal, late lunch. I ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had an excellent meal, late lunch. It was our second time dining here and we went for the wings on the starters menu - one of the best in the city. The rest of meal was great. Burger awesome, but fish poboy did not remind me of a po boy (maybe needed more sauce) although the fish was fixed to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Director treated for Admin Pro week. Eve ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Director treated for Admin Pro week. Everyone please with choices and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my daughters volleyball team and ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

We took my daughters volleyball team and coaches, 15 people. They accommodated us nicely, service was served timely and was very good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best on Whisky Row

Dined on April 6, 2016

A great bourbon and cocktail menu. A fun place to be. Raw oysters and the shrimp were good. The shrimp and grits were very good. The baby back ribs and pulled pork were not as good as I make.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. Just a bit lo ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, great service. Just a bit loud for me.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good service,good bourbon=great time

Dined on March 23, 2016

This was our only visit to this restaurant on our trip and we would definitely like to return to try some other items on the menu. We wanted to try some southern barbecue so we ordered the beef brisket which was very good. It had a nice smokey flavor and was very tender. The portion size seemed a little bit on the skimpy size ...( so we had no leftovers) but we did not leave hungry! Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu,but after a few mint juleps I can't remember his name now. Overall it was a great experience and look forward to returning someday.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a fun and lively place to have dinner.

Dined on March 22, 2016

Love sitting in or at the bar. Oysters are delicious. Service is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good Experience

Dined on March 21, 2016

Overall a good experience. We were seated right in front of the kitchen which did make it a little difficult for conversation with a group of people. The baby back were delicious. Think the dinners should come with at least one side and not have to pay extra for a side item. Had an enjoyable meal and evening.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fourth visit to Doc Crow's. ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Doc Crow's. Everything I've tried was delicious. They NEVER disappoint!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Saw all the great reviews for Doc Crows...Meh

Dined on March 16, 2016

The reviews I've read highlighted the BBQ and bourbon. The Bourbon list was better than the Q. Service was good, ambiance was light and fun. The BBQ? Meh. Somewhat disappointed, and didn't feel the value was there.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love Doc Crow's! The sa ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband and I love Doc Crow's! The salmon, chicken and pork chops are our favorites and the cornbread dressing is AMAZING!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Doc Crows is a must!

Dined on March 8, 2016

If you're visiting Louisville from anywhere north, Doc Crows is a must to find a good down-home southern meal. We tried the fried green tomatoes, the pork rinds, the shrimp and cheddar grits, and the fried okra - every one of those dishes was amazing. The drink selection isn't bad either. The atmosphere is lively and casual, totally laid back. We saw groups of friends as well as groups of colleagues - seems like a good place for all kinds.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, limited healthy chioces

Dined on February 23, 2016

Good Experience, very loud so difficult to carry on conversations. Food was good, but very limited healty options. Cost was moderate to expensive.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was great; service was sluggish.

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was great; service was sluggish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum. Great salad great string beans

Dined on February 19, 2016

The salad was amazing. Also, the string beans were something I could have kept eating all night. The chicken, while moist, wasn't particularly notable. My dessert was pecan pie. It is normally served with whipped cream and I asked for vanilla ice cream. The waiter handled my request without hesitation. The pie, which was more than a slice, was delicious. However, the scoop of ice cream was about half what I needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Fair Barbecue

Dined on February 16, 2016

I didn't think the mac and cheese all that good, but the drinks and the service is tops.

food4
ambience3
service3

Our table was ready when we arrived. Th ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived. The barbecue (pulled pork dinner) was really good. Sauce on the table not to spicy. Draft beer was good and cold. Always enjoyable!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

1st time but definitely not our last!

Dined on February 12, 2016

This was our 1st visit to Doc Crow's. I have heard of it from conversation but had never considered it before. I had planned a weekend celebration for my 27th anniversary. My husband was completely in the dark about where we were eating or what I had planned. I ordered the pork chops and he ordered catfish. Both were delicious. However, my husband said he would order the pork chops on our next visit since they looked so good. Quick service also and the server was very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the dining experience was excellent . th ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

the dining experience was excellent . the rub on the ribs was more spicy than I care for. I recommend making reservations as we did and were seated within 5 minutes of ours. it seemed people just walking in waited a little long . service was nothing left to be desired. perfect.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food & Service !

Dined on February 9, 2016

Although my ribs had a slight kick, they were tender and delicious... Amazing Chicken and Pecan pie !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Pretty Good

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

Loved the ambience, my food was really good but a few things went wrong. 1) It took forever for my drink to come after my fellow diners got theirs about 20 minutes earlier. 2) When my co-worker asked if the ribs were spicy he was told they weren't and then had to send them back because they were too spicy (it was rectified with 1/2 off the item which was really nice and 3) I specifically asked in the beginning to have a candle put in the dessert item for a 50th birthday and that was missed (so I embarrassingly had to ask for something else with a candle in front of the birthday patron) So overall food great- service subpar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best BBQ, Oysters and Bourbon in Louisville

Dined on January 28, 2016

Doc Crow's offers a true southern experience.The blacken chicken, fried catfish, friend and raw oysters, salmon, burger and po boys are all great. My favorite continues to be any of the smoked meats... pulled pork sandwich and brisket tacos. They have the best bar in the city with innovative and classic cocktails. Extensive bourbon list! You could make a veggie plate from their sides... lima beans, mac and cheese, fried okra and braised greens all remind me of being in the south. Make a reservation if you don't want a long wait. Always fun to dine at the bar. One of the owners is a Master Sommelier so expect a very thoughtful wine list that pairs very well with the menu. Great local beers available as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The food tasted great but my food was co ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

The food tasted great but my food was cold like it had been sitting out for awhile. My husbands food was great! I was slightly disappointed but would give it another shot!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing.

Dined on January 17, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday and I could not have been happier with the my choice. It is now a favorite and can't wait for the next trip!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot to host a small group!

Dined on January 6, 2016

We had a table of 10 in the back and wandered through the big menu of smoked pork and oysters. Would return.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brad

Dined on December 31, 2015

Went with a group of 6. Everyone enjoyed the different favors and foods. Oysters were best we've had anywhere! Fresh. Great waiters and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Doc's delivers

Dined on December 31, 2015

No, not home delivery. Good food, good atmosphere and an excellent location. Several of the menu items are extraordinary, and the variety will provide something of interest for almost everyone that enjoys Southern cuisine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Just ok

Dined on December 29, 2015

Nothing spectacular here. Food was lukewarm and just average. Highlight of the night was the waitress. She was friendly and attentive to our needs without being bothersome. As far as I'm concerned, there's nothing here to make a special trip downtown worth the trouble.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place!

Dined on December 23, 2015

If you are an oyster lover Doc Crows is a MUST! Great bar & drinks! I haven't had anything I didn't love! Doc Crow's chicken, fried okra, Lima beans - yummy! My fav restaurant in Louisville!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall satisfied but had better

Dined on December 20, 2015

We had a party of ten and (8) had never eaten there before so they were excited to try it since I had been bragging about it. We were seated in front of the kitchen so it was loud and busy. In addition our waitress had a whole tray of our drinks spilled all over her right at our table when a bus boy was not paying attention and bumped into her but she recovered well. Overall the food was good but best to stick with the barbeque. I will be back again.

food3
ambience2
service5

Had a bad table near the kitchen. It wa ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Had a bad table near the kitchen. It was extremely loud with dishes clanging. I think this must be the worst table in the restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Variety of choices

Dined on December 8, 2015

Great food. There was a variety of choices and our waiter went through the list with his recommendations. He explained how the food was cooked, so that was great too. Food was fantastic with plenty left over for lunch the next day. Great desserts too. Nice set up, highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Before a game or show

Dined on November 25, 2015

Match a good menu with a great bourbon list and you have the perfect stop before a game or a show.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4

Ok bbq

Dined on November 25, 2015

I got the storehouse sampler, doc crows signature dish and was very unimpressed. The service was good but you can get better ban for half the price at Marks feed store.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was acceptional!

Dined on November 22, 2015

My mom and I loved this place for dinner! We tried a variety of items and were not disappointed. Our waiter, Bradley, was wonderful and the food was outstanding. We started with appetizers of mussels and oysters and had the brisket and shrimp and cheese grits for our main courses. We both finished with the apple pie and each thing was hot, fresh and delicious. I am an especially tough sell on brisket, but this was well cooked, juicy and had a good smoky flavor without being too overpowering. We both absolutely loved this place and cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service, good food

Dined on November 19, 2015

Our Thursday night dinner was well handled on a busy night. The reservation was ready, the server fantastic recommending beer choices and a good appetizer of fried oysters. The St. Louis ribs were meaty, and delicious. Good reviews on the cheese grits and the pulled pork sandwiches. Restaurant was filled with young adults enjoying the near end of the work week. Though restaurant was crowded, we were not rushed. Great first dinner in Louisville for a conference.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.