Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Django Restaurant

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Romantic (48)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Business Meals (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Casual (26)
Authentic (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Fun (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Cozy (12)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great Beer (8)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tapas (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 hours ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great experience at D'Jango last weekend. The service was top notch. She helped us select our charcuterie platter and was berybknowledgeable about all the menu items. Everyone had a great meal as well as dessert! I had the coq au vin and while the church Coen was cooked to perfection it was really too salty! Other than that everything was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

I love Django but this time was not the best. I decided to try the special, a chicken with fingering potatoes and cabbage dish. It was coated in a heavy and tasteless"gravy". Disappointed but we will be back based on previous experiences. Stick with the Parisian gnocchi as it's the best dish ever! Service and atmosphere were excellent as usual.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great food, service good have been better. Great options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Transport to a lively bistro scene in France when you enjoy a cocktail at the bar or a meal in one of the different sections of the dining room. Enjoyed a well-blended French sidecar ($10) served in a sugar-rimmed glass garnished with lemon. The mushroom crepes with a touch of goat cheese and spinach were served with a flavorful red pepper sauce.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food and even better service!
Always look forward to coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We are new to Des Moines and this was one of the first restaurants my husband and I tried when moving here a year ago. It was really great from the food to the service to the ambiance. Our second visit was less remarkable and this time it was downright not enjoyable. I think there were only 2 or 3 servers, it took 15 minutes to get our bar drinks and then when my food came it was lukewarm (and I ordered the scallops). Our server was gracious and the only saving grace at this point; although he had a new order made (much better and hot), no manager or anyone seemed to care about our experience. We decided to order dessert, the chocolate pot de creme - awful! It was like a bowl of ganache (hard frosting) with whipped cream. We were sat right next to another table for 2 near the bar and it was hard to hear each other. Way too expensive for the experience. Three strikes and your out for us!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our lunch was excellent. We had one of the tables overlooking 10th street towards the back which was great for conversation. Service and food was excellent. This continues to be one of our favorites in downtown Des Moines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I have always had flawless service at Django and have been going there for years. Last year for my ninth wedding anniversary we had the greatest service I have ever received from a restaurant, and we went back a for Valentine's Day as a result.
However, last Thursday, for our tenth wedding anniversary, we did not receive the normal level of service we have come to expect from Django. We had a reservation and when we showed up they wanted to sit us in an area we were uncomfortable with. We requested a table in a different area and the host denied our request advising he had parties reserving both areas we tried requesting. However we made the best of it were there for several hours and the areas we had requested always had tables available. The food was flawless as always, however the service was slow, especially for drinks although the restaurant was nowhere near busy. We also saw the staff standing around doing nothing very often while we were waiting to be served.

To be honest, we tried not to dwell on it, but after going through my receipts and realizing we spent over two hundred dollars for two people and received subpar service(especially from a place which we expect the best from) I was very disappointed. Nevertheless our anniversary was wonderful the food was great and we will probably not hold it against Django because we just love going there and don't want to let one bad experience ruin it for us.

The duck was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our first time here. The atmosphere is good and the food was very good. However, our meals were considerably delayed (others who were seated after us had their meals delivered) but out waitress explained to us that our order slip was placed behind a large party. I would return again to try other entree options. We had the pork tenderloin and Coq au Vin.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great drinks, wonderful service, waitress bumped my martini and was back in a minute to top it off. My friends all thought their food was spectacular. My hanger steak that I ordered was one of the best prepared steaks of my life. This has quickly become my favorite place in Des Moines for friends gatherings. At the end of the meal my friends fork fell against his shirt she walked back with clean linens and soda water. I haven't experienced or seen this kind of service in Des Moines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful Sunday brunch menu. So many options, it's hard to choose! The tomato bisque is outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Love the Sunday brunch! Great menu selections, and generous servings. Loved the stuffed french toast, and the rest of my party loved their food as well. Relaxing atmosphere - we didn't feel rushed and were able to enjoy our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I loved this restaurant last year for restaurant week, but found this year's menu to not be very interesting and I didn't love it. My friends and husband really loved it, but they ordered off the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I wish I asked my servers name because she was the best I have ever had. The food is amazing and its such a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was ok, nothing special enough to return. The lighting was a bit too dim even for a romantic ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Hostest was not very pleasant, food was greasy—was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner. Food was excellent, as always. Service was attentive, but not intrusive. A most pleasant evening!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The server was great and food was wonderful as well! The portions are very large, so it was wonderful to have leftovers the following day which tasted just as good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We chose Django for our first 2017 DSM Restaurant Week dining experience because it was a tried-and-true place for all of us. Perhaps because it was Sunday night, the food was disappointing, particularly the entrees - just not up to Django's regular standards. Plus they were out of spoons so we had to eat our creamy dessert with a fork.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was good. Many choices. Temperature in restaurant was freezing! Service was poor considering there were not very many customers. Waiter did not appear interested or attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! The food and wine were excellent, as was the service and ambiance. Would definitely return, it was exceptional!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our party of three ate lunch during restaurant week. Two ate off the restaurant week specials, both enjoyed there meals. I had Eggs Benedict off the regular menu, the hollandaise sauce was quite good and the eggs were well poached. This was a good meal for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 18, 2017

As our tradition we had our anniversary dinner at Django and our customary favorite dishes. We always go early enough to enjoy Happy Hour for the oysters and shrimps. Unfortunately their prices have risen to $1.50 apiece, but still beats regular pricing. I did have to ask for raw horseradish and search out an oyster fork. My wife always order the seared Ahi Salad and as usual served with a generous piece of ahi. Unfortunately she forgot to specify very rare. The menu description is rare, but more like medium. She also replaces the dressing with the regular balsamic vinegarette dressing. I enjoyed a small steak salad, which also had a generous piece of medium done hangar steak. I too forgot to specify rare. It's good to be still distracted by love!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was very tasty but service was a bit slow. The server was very attentive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great eats in Des Moines. Visiting for Solheim and had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I've enjoyed many lovely meals here over the years, but this week with my daughter visiting from far away, we realized the reports we had from Lusaka, that quality was way down, were true. We chose to ignore the warnings based on our many good meals here. The onion soup itself was gloppy. The beef on my daughter's salad was dry and gray, must have been cooked hours if not days before. My steak frites, a cheap and nasty piece of beef that looked more slow cooked than done as any French style steak should be. The sauces that used to be fine, and authentic, were worse than any made with, say, a powdered package such as Knorrs. Not even a speech of tarragon in the Bernaise. The Bordelaise, gloppy too and no discernible flavor nor aroma of a red wine reduction. The fries, soggy. The salad grossly over dressed.
. The server a nice woman and she'll verify i tipped her 20%.
. I know a bartender there personally, very sharp woman. And the man preparing a charcuterie plate i think is same experienced man. But, oof, the dinners were TERRIBLE food!!!
.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was good, however not as good as in the past. Food was OK, better in the past. The Bearnaise sauce was very bland and almost like a watered down queso sauce. Sauce has been better in the past. Homemade biscuits and gravy were good, however the biscuits this time were dry and chewy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The cheese board was superb! The service prompt and helpful. The meals delicious and customized as we wanted. Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was excellent. Our server knew the food and wine menu well and able to answer our questions.

The food was excellent. We had very authentic French dishes.

The atmosphere was cozy, private and quite. The restaurant was packed.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We shared the dinner beet salad, which was excellent. We came for the Seafood platter that we enjoy each time we visit. The latte and coffee was better than expected. The chocolate pots de creme were large and of a high quality chocolate. We had excellent, attentive, friendly service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Enjoyed the time there. Appetizers were good. Food temp of one of the two entree's was unacceptably cool. Sent back but it was really too cool to effectively reheat. Could have done much better. Should have remade the scallop dinner to insure quality. That did not happen, so disappointing from that standpoint. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a girl's night for one of the girl's birthday. We'd been to Django before, so we knew we couldn't go wrong. We will definitely choose Django again for our next celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outstanding meal with great service, enjoyed by all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service was fantastic, food was delicious. Drinks were good. Took my 13 and 11yo out for dinner and they really enjoyed trying new things. Duck Frites were good, but the sauces they were served with were amazing. Steak Mediallons with lobster butter was melt-in-your-mouth delicous. Mashed potatoes were luke warm, but still good. Highly recommend brunch and dinner here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Server was not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Django always delivers. The duck two ways is absolutely amazing, but to be honest, I haven't had anything that hasn't been amazing. Django is the place I take all my guests from more established cities to show them that Iowa does have quality food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Terrible service. I'll never go back. It took 20 minutes before a waitress poured water in glasses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This was my first visit to Django Restaurant. Several family members and friends recommended this place for the outstanding food. I was not disappointed. My wife and
I celebrated our anniversary here. We both ordered the Beef Boujoulais, and it was fantastic.
The hot bread served before the entree was also outstanding!! We were seated immediately upon arrival (had a reservation) and the service was great. Our waitress was prompt, knowledgeable and friendly. The whole evening was very nice. There is ample street parking and a parking ramp near the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Django, and may well visit here again sometime soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Tuesday nite for our first Django Experience. Drinks and appetizers were all good. Only issue was a small june bug decided to crawl on my wifes leg but once we disposed of him we really enjoyed our food. Onion rings, brussel spouts, New York Strip and Beef Bourganise (sp?) - all very good. Enjoyed our experience overall and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.