About Django Restaurant

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: 5152880268x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Banana Bread Sundae
Scallops St. Jacques
Spinach and goat cheese ravioli
Lemon and Blood Orange Sorbet
Cheese Flight
Wine Flight
Beef Bourguignon
Les Trois Petits Cochons “The Three Little Pigs”
New York Strip Au Poivre
Cassoulet
Duck Frites
Rose Water Macarons with Raspberry Filling
Mussels Frites Blue Cheese
Spice Rubbed New York Strip Steak
Seared Sea Scallops
Steak Frites
Oysters
French Toast
Filet A Rossini
Croque Madame
Parmesan Crusted Chicken
Filet À Rossini, Seared Foie Gras With Fresh Black Truffles, Dauphinoise Potatoes Annd Vegtables
Moulard Duck Confit Over Potatoes, Carrots, Braised Cabbage With A Demi Glace
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Eggs Benedict
Cheese and charcuterie plate
Lemon Mascarpone Cheesecake
Hanger Steak & Duck Frites
Wild Mushroom Crepes
Goat Tartine
Django Salad
Omlette Special, Shrimp, Onion And Corn
Bubblies Flight
Herbed Goat Cheese Croustades
Onion Soup & Romaine Salad Combo
Django Salad w/chicken
Parmesean Encrusted Chicken
Onion Soup Gratinee
Shrimp & Scallop Penne

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Iowa
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
3 More
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (114)
fit for foodies (103)
good for groups (89)
See All
romantic (69)
notable wine list (47)
great for brunch (47)
great for lunch (43)
hot spot (42)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (18)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated right on time, the server ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were seated right on time, the server Roy was pleasant, was knowledgeable about offerings, and worked the group well. We were able to enjoy a leisurely meal with friends and did not seem to be pushed to order or to finish (which was wonderful). Slightly noisy but seating accommodated this placement. The seafood crepe was A plus and different entrees were tried and enjoyed. A great experience which we will repeat soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious crepes with creative presentat ...

Dined 5 days ago

Delicious crepes with creative presentation

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and food was wonderful, we were ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service and food was wonderful, we were lucky enough to be seated about 30 minuets before our reservation. The only draw back was it was loud in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

drinks were really good food was good ex ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

drinks were really good food was good except for the pasta dish , (some kind of mac n cheese) a friend ordered he didn't like it I tried it and it was bland and kinda watery should not have made it's way onto the menu.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice there is no corkage fee. The servi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Nice there is no corkage fee. The service was slow, even to get an ice tea. Good thing we were not in a hurry to be anywhere. Noise level was high that it was difficult to converse.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had to make a few changes to our rese ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We had to make a few changes to our reservation and the staff was great. Food was great, as always. Will be a family go-to place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time "discovering" this gem in Des Moines. The food was superb, the service was some of the best we've had recently, and the atmosphere was relaxed and cozy. I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a quiet dinner, great food, and a place to spend in the company of a loved one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere for a Romantic dinner, t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere for a Romantic dinner, to share a special occasion or to just have fun with friends.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delightful stop

Dined on June 1, 2016

We were looking for a nice location on a road trip. The menu had a good selection and variety without being unfocused. All courses were well timed. Service was appropriate, attentive without being intrusive. Restaurant was clean and comfortable. The noise level was a bit high, but we were between two larger groups. The restrooms were clean, but needed some attention, from the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was impeccable and the food was ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. We will be back

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great night!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Another couple met up for dinner. We stayed for over two hours and had a wonderful meal with outstanding service. Perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice atmosphere, OK food

Dined on May 22, 2016

This restaurant has a nice atmosphere and that was all for us. We made a reservation and they took us to the back at an awkward middle table going past many nicer open tables so that was a bummer. Anyway, the steak medallions were overpriced and extremely salty and I'm a savory person. The scallops were perfect, but the mashed potatoes in the center - I'm not sure what this mess was even supposed to be - like they took all the leftover veggies and mixed them in mashed potatoes - gross and didn't compliment the scallops well. Hubby had 2 beers, I had 1 glass of wine, no appetizers, no dessert and our bill was $130. When the waitress asked how our meal was, I kindly indicated the salty steak/potato feedback, and she didn't really care so I'm not sure why she asked. Next time in Des Moines, we will pick a different hot spot.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From appetizer to dessert, every bite wa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

From appetizer to dessert, every bite was delicious. Many selections for cheese plate, poutaine may be best appetizer in history. Steak and scallops were cooked perfect. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 15, 2016

Django has a great diverse menu with many great offerings. The brunch menu is a perfect way to enjoy great food, large portion sizes at a reasonable price. Would definitely recommend for special occasions and date nights.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was very informative and ni ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waitress was very informative and nice. She was able to describe all the dishes we were interested in. Over heard the bartender she was witty and fun. Food was awesome. We will for sure be back.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, slow service

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was wonderful, which was lucky because the past few times we've had some really subpar servers, unfortunately...We keep going back because we DO love the food. This time we brought some newbies with us, after months of telling them they MUST visit. As I said, we loved our server, but our entrees took an exceptionally long time to arrive (as in, we watched other tables be seated after us AND served their entrees before us), and when they did arrive, one of the newbies' steak medallions were not even hot. Even calling them "warm" is being generous. She felt bad about sending her dish back...but really - room temp steak? No bueno. I hope they will give it another chance...but the whole entree situation was not a great impression for first-timers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for a late Brunch for Mothers Day. Food was good. Missed having the cheese plate, it's really good, on the menu for brunch. Overall another good dinning experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Django consistently offers fantastic foo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Django consistently offers fantastic food and friendly, professional service.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

absolute best food/wish they had more gluten free

Dined on May 8, 2016

I loved everything! I have tried many restaurants and always come back to this food as the best. You have to have the Brussels sprouts for appetizer and end with the pot o chocolate. I wish I could eat here every week! They have a small selection for gluten free. I wish they had a separate gluten free fryer to allow gluten free Brussels sprouts and some bread options. I have friends I would like to Take here but they need these great foods gluten free

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Just good

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have had dinner at Django before, first time for brunch. Server was good and attentive, allowed us to split a crepe order for our daughters. Biscuit and gravy was ok, wife's egg Benedict had one egg way over poached. Again, not terrible but just ok. Bloody Mary was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a repeat for brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent as usual. All of our food had excellent flavor. The pork sausage had good flavor, but was way to spicy for my tastes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made a reservation for 10 (8 adults 2 kids) for Mother's Day. We ended up getting a little side room which was perfect for us! The food was great and our waitress was incredibly nice. I ordered cheesecake for Mom to take home for dessert and they ended up giving it to her for free. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is always very good, as is the ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food is always very good, as is the service. I often bring my own wine, and there is no corkage fee. Good value. One of our favorite restaurants. We have brought several couples in who have not been before.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prompt seating, and excellent wait staff ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Prompt seating, and excellent wait staff, attentive and not intrusive. Outstanding flavor and quality. Exquisite presentation. Whether special occasion or a night out on the spur of the moment, it's always a 5 star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

My friend and I celebrated her birthday at Django with brunch. Our server was extremely attentive, our food was prepared to order, and she even received a birthday dessert to go! Even though we have gone to Django for dinner often and enjoyed every minute, we were equally happy with the brunch experience. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambient, food, and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

The place is very nice, they set up a table for s right away. The server had good idea of the wine selection which was extensive. It was very hard to choose from a few great main entrees. Overall, food was great just a little salty for my taste. But, I have to say that the presentation, proportion size, and meat cook term were as requested. I would definetely recommend this place. We were passing by the state and took a chance. The experience was worth the price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends Dinner before Concert

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is now going to be one of my favorite restaurants! Our server was awesome, she made sure we had everything we needed and that everyone was taken care of. It was a party of 8 so I know that can be a challenge. We had a couple appetizers, the calamari was some of the best I have ever had. My husband ordered the New York Strip which was very good. I had the Seared Scallops, and they were absolutely amazing...I was ready to go back the next day for more. All and all it was a great dining experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Date Night in the City

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had tickets for a Temple performance and had not been to D'Jango for awhile. It was close and we had recalled it pretty great food. No surprises!! GREATGREAT food, NONONO corkage fee!!!, our server was most pleasant (Angel), noise level a bit much ... but not a problem, just a grand dining experience. Did I say how MUCH we LOVED the food???? (Scallops, Medallions)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and really great service!

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was amazing but super impressed by the service. Our waiter was over the top nice, gave great suggestions for food & drinks and they even took care of calling us a cab so we could get to our next destination at Wells Fargo Arena and had the cabs ready for us as soon as we paid our checks! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef specials are creative and local ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The chef specials are creative and locally sourced.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

too noisy

Dined on April 26, 2016

Although the menu featured some lovely dishes-they were incredibly over priced. Stick with the salad. It was so noisy-I could not have a conversation with my dinner guests. My server was only adequate. Drinks were late.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was great and the restaurant was great, but what really made the night was when our server, named Zach, without being asked or prompted, brought out our dessert with candles and "congrats" written in whip cream for our Anniversary. He didn't even have to comp the dessert and we would have been impressed. We will return to this restaurant in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent; service was only adequate.

Dined on April 23, 2016

For whatever reason, we waited a very long time to receive our food. Most other patrons who came in after us were served before we were.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Mouth open, eyes closed

Dined on April 21, 2016

Someone needs to think of an interesting theme for the decor. It lacked personality. Flat. As much thought that went into the food, that much effort could go into the atmosphere. Surroundings are important. Give it a personality I can drink in.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very Noisy, Good Food

Dined on April 21, 2016

The first impression is Noisy!! There is a lot of wood and stone, the place just echos. The service is very attentive and the food is excellent. The wine list is great. I ordered a half salad with salmon. Very well done. The full salads must be huge. The half salad was plenty. My husband had the macaroni and cheese with chicken and bacon. He said it was excellent. Again, the serving was too big for one person to eat in one sitting.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Django is the perfect place in DSM for a ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Django is the perfect place in DSM for a casual meal with friends or a quiet intimate dinner out with your significant other. Although they have a great wine list you may also bring your own with no corkage fee! One of the few places in Des Moines for seared authentic foie gras!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT place to meet friends!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our waiter was AMAZING!!! He helped make our time together really fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

Dined on April 16, 2016

I loved the option of making a reservation online and appreciated the call I received a day before confirming my reservation. All of the servers were very nice and the food was delicious! The restaurant was never too loud and overall it was a great dining experience. I will definitely be coming back next time I am downtown with friends!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, it's delicious!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food, it's delicious!

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Django menu needs an update. The veggie ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Django menu needs an update. The veggie burger was dried out and flavorless. The standard too-big bun, onions, lettuce and tomato - really?? There are so many great non-meat options that don't require melted cheese. We love this place, but are finding it harder and harder to go back.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.