Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Django Restaurant

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: (515) 288-0268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Special Occasion (74)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
See All
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Business Meals (41)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Notable Wine List (32)
Casual (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Authentic (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Happy Hour (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Fun (22)
Cozy (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Local Ingredients (15)
People Watching (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tapas (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Great Beer (5)
Historic (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1854 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Tuesday nite for our first Django Experience. Drinks and appetizers were all good. Only issue was a small june bug decided to crawl on my wifes leg but once we disposed of him we really enjoyed our food. Onion rings, brussel spouts, New York Strip and Beef Bourganise (sp?) - all very good. Enjoyed our experience overall and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Never disappointed with Django's selections. Tried the one of the three mussel appetizers and it was delishish!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food was excellent as was the service. Django is one of our favorites because of the menu, and their no corkage fee policy is icing on the cake - or whatever dessert we choose!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall I rate Django a 4. The poutine was phenomenal and husband thoroughly enjoyed his pork chop dish. The coq a vin was pretty good but I have had better.

My main complaint is the ambiance. The booth seating was awkwardly close to the diners on either side of us. The noise level resembled a sports bar rather than fine dining. Husband and I were hoping to enjoy a quite date night but it was difficult to hear each other speak without shouting. Our waiter was quick and professional but not especially engaging or friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was very knowledgeable for a younger couple that doesn't know much about wine she recommended the perfect wine for us. Food was AMAZING. Was expensive but we knew that going in. Was a little on the loud side, but we could still converse without a problem. Was our first official date and I am already ready to go back. Fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious!! However, it was so loud and hot inside, our party of 4 could barely hear each other and we were fanning ourselves throughout the wait. It took over an hour to get our main course, which was disappointing. We had to remind our server several times to get items previously requested.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time. We had the roasted chicken and beef bourguignon. Both were excellent and they were large portions.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

This place is fabulous! My husband and I always want to go here when we get a night to ourselves!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I've eaten at Django three times and have loved it every time! The service is always outstanding, and their menu has a wide variety of choices. If you want something more affordable, there are salads and burgers. If you're looking for a more memorable meal, the medallions are amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent service. Our server was very attentive. Food is creative, and delicious. They need some attention to the overall appearance of the restaurant. The floor had a number of areas where tiles were missing and it looked very tacky, especially for the higher end ambiance they are trying to create. Overall we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Django never disappoints. We came for quick dinner before the Opera and our waitress made sure we left on time. Service and food were terrific.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The place looks inviting and trendy as I expected for an upscale French restaurant (at least upscale for the Des Moines area). We were seated immediately. Menu selection is great.

As an appetizer we shared the Mussels Diablo. The size of the mussels was disappointing and they were overcooked. As a main we had seared scallops with a lobster puree and a bouillabaisse. We had to return the scallops as they were too salty. The lobster puree was great. The bouillabaisse was blend and did not have a lot of flavor. Again it was all overcooked especially the shrimp and the mussels this time were not fresh. Not sure how old the mussels were they served us but I did not finish them as I was afraid of getting sick from them. As a dessert we ordered a creme brulee and this time they added too much sugar on top of it which created a very thick layer of burnt sugar. I was still chewing on pieces of sugar that got stuck between my teeth 10 minutes after we left the restaurant. The sugar should normally melt in your mouth.

Bottom line is that for the prices they charge at this restaurant I was very disappointed with the quality of the food and how it was prepared. This restaurant has so much potential but they missed the mark. I don't think I will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Cocktails -fun. Poutine -Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Having it possible to make a reservation on line was very convenient. Eating at your establishment is a wonderful experience every time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 12, 2017

A little too loud for conversation. But enjoy our experience every time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Outstanding service from all that were involved with our table and our food.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It was our anniversary and first night out since having our first child and had a baby sitter. Had reservations at 6:30 and were seated. We ordered oysters and a cheese platter that didn't come out until 7:45. Our waitress kept apologizing and a manager didn't even come by. After that our entree didn't come out until about 8:30 and we were done by 9:15. We love the place, but our anniversary ended up costing us more in the long run with having to call the baby sitter to stay longer. Wish a manger would of came by at least to let us know why or to make things right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The menu was exceptional, with a diversity of items across several genres, in several price ranges, with plenty of creativity and uniqueness. The food was fresh, tasty, and quality. My biggest complaint, however, was that the dining atmosphere was loud and crowded. It rendered conversation difficult, and my date and I left early to find somewhere more suitable to spend the evening. The food made it worth trying out; the atmosphere will prevent me from returning.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It took a while for our server to get to us, but once she got there she was amazing. The food here is always delicious. My only complaint ever coming here is the noise level. Generally very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great experience per usual. I hope the Templeton SangRYEa becomes a permanent thing. Only complaint was it was really loud. I couldn't hear our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our food. It was our first trip here and was better than either of us expected.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Django Restaurant is an annual trek for this out-of-towner! I have never been disappointed with the great selections, and the Coq au vin this time hit the spot! Attentive & courteous service as always. A true gem, in DSM!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The service for dinner was excellent; attentive and just the right amount of check back for our special occasion (34th anniversary). We had a split entree and it was presented very nicely. We have rarely had any qualms with your dinner service, the servers are all very good and our requests for a window table are always accommodated. Thank you.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was great along with the food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The one and only problem was that service was very slow, though the restaurant was not full, and a couple of mistakes were made. It's possible they just need to hire more wait staff. Other than that, the meal was absolutey exceptional. Though the prices were on the higher end for some entrees, the portions were proportional, unlike other fine dining places in town. The brussels sprouts appetizer was outstanding, as was the ahi tuna sandwich and the mushroom crepe. The bread was handmade, fresh and hot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server was amazing very knowledgeable about the food and very polite!! She was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very nice and great food. Server was delightful with great wine recommendations. A bit too loud in the restaurant to make it really romantic but food good, especially the steak au poive

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great ambience, food is prepared from scratch and the service was impeccable. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fantastic brunch for the entire family! The service is absolutely terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food and a friendly staff. The only negative point would be the noise level in the restaurant, that is a bit high, making it little difficult to allow for a relaxed setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was our second time at Django
Waiter was superb, food fabulous.wine choice excellent, loved loved the cheese. Please open in kansas city!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food is always great! Our waiter was somewhat inattentive. Love the no corking fee for wine if you bring your own bottle. Noise level needs to be improved.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Django has been solid for years. The food is prepared well and with care. The bread and butter could be a meal in itself. The poutine is a must but don't get the full order unless you're really really hungry or have a big group. The entrées range from salads all the way up to large steaks and seafood with prices from $12-$40. A good money saving tips is bring a bottle of wine. They never have a corking fee. Enjoy.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Was a great evening before a show at Hoyt Sherman Place, great food and service.
Highly recommend it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everyone there was extraordinarily nice, the food was good, but my steak was over cooked. I had asked for medium rare and it came out medium well. That was really the only disappointment. The ambience is nice and the menu has some great gems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is our favorite place to dine in Des Moines. The bar is great to watch mixing of drinks and shucking if oysters. The food is wonderful! Love the charcuterie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were very happy with Django. The menu is varied but focuses on French American cuisine. Our dinners were excellent, the service was courteous but not hovering. An excellent experience overall and we will be back without a doubt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was great but we had to ask for our server multiple times. We would see her walking around but would mostly just walk right by us staring straight ahead. Would still go for the awesome food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

A bit disappointed with the Charcutterie tray. Brussels sprouts were awesome.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fabulous dining! Always a great experience when we come to Django's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.