About Django Restaurant

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: (515) 288-0268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Oysters - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Bubblies Flight - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Mushroom Crepes W/ Micro-Green Salad - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Black And Bleu Macaroni Gratin - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Banana Bread Sundae - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Scallops St. Jacques - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Les Trois Petits Cochons “The Three Little Pigs” - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
New York Strip Au Poivre - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Rose Water Macarons with Raspberry Filling - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Cassoulet - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Duck Frites - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Mussels Frites Blue Cheese - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Spice Rubbed New York Strip Steak - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Seared Sea Scallops - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
French Toast - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Steak Frites - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Filet A Rossini - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Croque Madame - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Parmesan Crusted Chicken - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Chocolate Pot de Creme - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Moulard Duck Confit Over Potatoes, Carrots, Braised Cabbage With A Demi Glace - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Filet À Rossini, Seared Foie Gras With Fresh Black Truffles, Dauphinoise Potatoes Annd Vegtables - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Eggs Benedict - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Cheese and charcuterie plate - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Lemon Mascarpone Cheesecake - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Hanger Steak & Duck Frites - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Wild Mushroom Crepes - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Goat Tartine - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Django Salad - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Omlette Special, Shrimp, Onion And Corn - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Beef Bourguignon - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Cheese Flight - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Lemon and Blood Orange Sorbet - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Wine Flight - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Herbed Goat Cheese Croustades - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Shrimp & Scallop Penne  - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Parmesean Encrusted Chicken - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Spinach and goat cheese ravioli - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Onion Soup & Romaine Salad Combo - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Django Salad w/chicken - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA
Onion Soup Gratinee - Django Restaurant, Des Moines, IA

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
See All
Romantic (46)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Business Meals (35)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Authentic (25)
Cozy (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Casual (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fun (17)
Private Room (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Historic (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the Trio, slider special. The hamb ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

I had the Trio, slider special. The hamburger was tasteless and dry.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Well done as usual, appreciate your staf ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Well done as usual, appreciate your staff and their strong professionalism.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Historic, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a wide ranging menu! ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food with a wide ranging menu! Sufficiently quiet for conversation. Will be back, for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner Thursda ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner Thursday night at Django's restaurant celebrating a special 90th birthday. Our table in the front by the windows was lovely and quiet. We enjoyed great conversation over delicious menu items and the wine which we brought. Our server was attentive, without being too much, and paced the meal perfectly for our relaxing evening. It was one of the best experiences we've had at Django's and anywhere in Des Moines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

D'jango never disappoints. The food was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

D'jango never disappoints. The food was fabulous. Service is normally very good. Tonight we had a server that was a bit arrogant and not particularly friendly. That being said, it's still one of my favorite restaurants in Des Moines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

the only thing that i wished that was be ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the only thing that i wished that was better was to have the 2 tables connected. Felt bad for the other table because they were missing out on conversations. Overall the food and atmosphere was good. definitely go again for brunch and bringing more champagne next time :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great place for a date night. Lots of it ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place for a date night. Lots of items on the menu we wanted to try. Will definitely back to try the rest. The Parisian Gnocchi and the Scallops St. Jacques were tasty, as was the Ratatouille.

Tags: Romantic, Vegan, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is worth the stop. It gives ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This place is worth the stop. It gives great value for the great food that is delivered. Appreciate the online reservation and the options on the menu. My favorites would be the crepes, burgers, and sandwiches.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, , Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as always. Should offer couple opti ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Good as always. Should offer couple options for burger buns. Not crazy about the bun they use. It was denser than I prefer. Everyone enjoyed their selections. Tuesday all night happy hour is good value.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Django is our favorite restaurant in Des ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Django is our favorite restaurant in Des Moines! We just moved here from the Bay Area and I have to say, Django tops the best places in San Francisco, and at a reasonable price. The food at Django is truly authentic with a slight bias on the menu for provinçal and Rhône Valley cuisines. The staff is always incredible, the food always amazing, and the ambience always divine!

Nous aimons Django!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

4 of us went out for New Years Eve dinne ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

4 of us went out for New Years Eve dinner & we all thought our food was delicious. The service was excellent as well. Our only complaint was it was quite noisy for a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

New Years eve

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Really love dining at Django. Great foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really love dining at Django. Great food. Generous portions mean delicious leftovers. Love being able to bring my own wine in as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was above and beyond the no ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waitress was above and beyond the normal friendly and the food was sooo good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience as we celebrated ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful experience as we celebrated our anniversary. Everything was top notch from the greeting at the door, prompt service, attentive wait staff, and the food was everything we expected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice meal, excellent servi ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a very nice meal, excellent service, very relaxed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good for Groups, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Great!! We enjoy Django and alwa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always Great!! We enjoy Django and always have a great meal there. The food is very consistently great, service is top-notch and ambience is very European. It continues to be one of our favorites.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Please don't interpret my four-star rati ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Please don't interpret my four-star rating as negative in any way. I figure a five-star rating should be pretty rare.

We haven't lived in the Des Moines area for very long so we're still checking out the restaurant scene. So far, I rank Django as a favorite. We had a table of four and chose four different entrees (Seared Sea Scallops, Pork Tenderloin Roulade, Hanger Steak and Coc au Vin) . Everyone was thrilled with their selection. Service was wonderful and it was relatively easy to carry on a conversation without shouting.

We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great French bistro cuisine. No corkage ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great French bistro cuisine. No corkage fee is awesome. Good fresh seafood, oysters on the half shell and shrimp cocktail. Fresh baked French bread is first rate. I had the mussels Diablo which was a spectacular preparation. I am a repeat customer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Django a couple of times fo ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I've been to Django a couple of times for business lunches. Food is ok, nothing special. Expensive, but on par with other restaurants in the area for the same level. Service is usually good, but in this instance we had what seemed like a new waiter. I just don't think the value for the money is all that good. Too expensive for what you get. Would not be my first choice for either work or personal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Django is one of our favorite spots but ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Django is one of our favorite spots but unfortunately it seems like it isn't quite what it used to be. Food had gone down hill and service has been just ok out last couple visits. We will go again but we can't count on it like we used to be able to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I've been here several times and this wa ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I've been here several times and this wasn't one of my favorites. Clams were weak, main dish average, desert lacking along with service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Mussels Bleu Frites were amazing as well ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Mussels Bleu Frites were amazing as well as the brussel sprouts, cheese plate and everyone in our party loved their food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite date night restaurant.

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our favorite date night restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The squash ravioli was out of this world ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The squash ravioli was out of this world!!! Hope it is available next time we eat there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is always excellent with good c ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is always excellent with good choices. The service is outstanding. They have no corkage fee which makes dinner a good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is sophisticated but not ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The restaurant is sophisticated but not stuffy. The menu is creative. The food was delicious, with quality ingredients. The wait staff was professional and took great care to please us. It was a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fried Brussels sprouts and beignets ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The fried Brussels sprouts and beignets as well a s the crepes are wonderful. The eggs Benedict had a bit too much ham, not enough sauce and the eggs were a little too hard.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch on a Sunday with a group ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went for brunch on a Sunday with a group of friends before a show at the Civic Center. Service and food was OUTSTANDING! My new, favorite brunch location in Des Moines and I can't wait to try it for dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved it! Food,Atmosphere, Bar tender ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We loved it! Food,Atmosphere, Bar tender, Waiter, Hostess!

Overall a great experience!!!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was really really bad, in the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server was really really bad, in the bar. She forgot to serve us, bring our appetizer and dropped the entree of our friends visiting from Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great waitress

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the place, always have, and even ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love the place, always have, and even though I have now moved out of the area, I still return on a regular basis and Django and it's roasted chicken are always on my "to do" list! The staff, cuisine, and atmosphere are great. What else do you need? Give Django all the business it can handle!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting a reservation is simple to do on ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Getting a reservation is simple to do online. We really enjoyed the fancy atmosphere and there are fair prices for many different options. 2 people was under $40 at this fine establishment. Very pleased.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit, we found the f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was our first visit, we found the food delicious and the service outstanding. Our table was ready for us when we arrived for our 5:30 reservation. We were promptly seated and our waitress was very helpful in reviewing the menu and offering suggestions. We had tickets for a 7:30 play at the Civic Center and after a relaxed and enjoyable dinner we were able to leave the restaurant at 6:45.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd been to this restaurant before, and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I'd been to this restaurant before, and I found it to be good at the time. So I brought a colleague. This time, the food was bland and uninspired. The chopped salad didn't seem chopped at all, and my filet had little to no taste. You go to this restaurant for the food, because the ambiance is poor. Cold fluorescent lights offer in a dim, drab look to lovely woodwork and carpentry that's all seated on a floor pocked with chips and missing floor tiles seemingly filled in with cement. In the bathroom, a roll of toilet paper sat next to the sink where you might expect a basket of towels in a restaurant of this calibre, and the faucet hung loose and wobbled by just touching it. This will be my last visit until and unless this place gets an overhaul. FWIW, the service by our waiter was efficient and friendly, but that alone can't make up for the restaurant's other failings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was very good and so was our wa ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was very good and so was our waiter. We enjoyed being seated in a quiet corner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

French "without the attitude" could not ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

French "without the attitude" could not be anymore false. The hostess seemed irritated and our waitress was terrible. She did not listen and took the wrong order, and she removed the wine list immediately and never brought it back. The food was average, nothing special. Great ambiance and decor but I will not be coming back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a great experience dining at Djan ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a great experience dining at Django. Our waiter was incredible. He made great recommendations on both food and wine, checked on us just the right amount of times not too many. The food was all delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was over the top amazing, a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our service was over the top amazing, and the food was pricey but worth it. Great ambiance, great food, not a good fit if you're looking for a quick meal... but was perfect for our occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.