Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Django Restaurant

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: (515) 288-0268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (99)
Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Romantic (50)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Business Meals (42)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Authentic (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Cozy (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Happy Hour (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fun (24)
Casual (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Private Room (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Outstanding Value (14)
Historic (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vegan (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was wonderful. Service was spot on. (which is a major improvement on past experiences) The only downfall was that there were children continuously running around our table and screaming. A woman at the bar even looked at me and asked if they were our children. It would have made for a much more pleasant experience if someone would have told their parents to please keep them at their table. All in all, still one of my favorite places in Des Moines.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Usually Djangos gets the highest mark from me. First evening ever that it was substandard. Wine had to be sent back. Salad was more salad dressing. Coq au vin was burnt. Waited for over 10 minutes for coffee. No bread plates. Bread under baked. First disappointment at djangos ever. Took someone there telling her she would be in love with this place. Will return of course but hope this doesn't ever happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Attended Django for Easter Brunch. Our waitress said brunch ended at 2 PM but since our reservation was for 2 PM, she would take our order and ask the cook if we could still get brunch.
Evidently the cook agreed to our order but my toast was burnt and everyone that ordered sausage received terrible sausage patties. The sausage was awful tasting, very tough and hard to cut, even with the knife! I think asking for brunch backfired and the preparation of our meals was done with haste. They probably nuked our sausage patties until they were the texture of shoe leather in retaliation for ordering brunch after 2?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sarah was a friendly and attentive waitress. We enjoyed the poutine appetizer, eggs Benedict, and he champignon omelet! It was a little pricey for brunch in terms of value but it was delicious nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went for Easter brunch and, for a starter, I ordered the crabcake. We each had a piece and finished the crabcakes quickly. For my entree, I ordered the mushroom crepes which was accompanied by green salad. I thought the crepes were delicious, the portions generous and the salad was great! My husband, a finicky eater, ordered the biscuits and gravy and said it was okay. I asked him to try the green salad and he ate most of it! My son had one of the breakfast sandwiches and he only commented that it was good. Overall, it was a good value for me. I was impressed with the prompt and friendly service. We had a good experience, definitely no French attitude.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Spectacular service and food recommendations as well as an amazing environment for an anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Third time to the restaurant and it never disappoints. Always the wonderful classic French dishes and some more inventive ones, as well. We were fortunate enough to have Kira as our fabulous server -- so personable and knowledgeable about the menu while being extremely down to earth. She made sure our water and wine were always topped off at every turn without intruding on any conversation. The epitome of good service. The food was excellently prepared as always. The restaurant really lives up to its motto of "All French, no attitude". Will always go back here when I'm in Des Moines.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious food. NY strip and Niman Ranch pork chops were fabulous. Some of the best onion rings I've ever had. Top notch food and a great atmosphere for a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love this restaurant. Every time the food is incredible. The beef bourgeoisie is so good it will blow your mind. This night, we were placed on a bench that we shared with people next to us. It was a busy Saturday, so I understand the seating but it would have been my last choice. The intimacy of the restaurant was lost with others so close to the conversation. It also was awkward when the server was passing plates to either sets of diners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Django was good as always on a friday night. Best thing about this place is that it is always consistently good. Server was knowledgeable about the menu and had good suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was my first visit to this restaurant. Is been hearing about it for years but had never been. It will be at the forefront of my considerations for an affordable and delicious meal from now on. These guys are doing it right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great spot for French Bistro fare. Excellent oyster and shrimp cocktail value at happy hour. The mussels diablo in a slightly spicy tomato based broth was delicious and a nice twist to the typical steamed preparation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Group going to the Civic Center. Restaurant was loud, unable to talk/hear each other. Service was horrible, food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Django was a very fun and elegant. The staff was very helpful in food selection and knowledgable. We had a great date night there and we are looking forward to returning. P.S., the french toast is so delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have never had a bad experience at Django. Service was great from beginning to end, as was the food. Love the no corking fee, EVER!! I work as a wine specialist and it is nice to be able to bring in whatever wine I happen to be in the mood for that day. Always tip extra for this freedom. Highly recommend Django to everyone for every reason under the sun!!!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was amazing! And, the staff was so helpful; and definitely we will be back!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great lunch! Will be back soon. Was not too noisy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Absolutely love Django. It's our favorite restaurant in Des Moines, and one of the most authentic French spots in the US. Better than any place we went to when we lived in California. I'd put it in our top 5 for the US. No corkage fee makes it easy to enjoy a good wine pairing, and their season menus that tour French cuisine are incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is a great restaurant. I have been coming her for years. It's one of my favorites in Des Moines.
It's a must try restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It's always nice to go to Django. Our server this time, Kira, was exceptional.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Django has the best sea scallops in Des Moines. I wanted to try something out of my norm so I ordered the grilled swordfish special. It was excellent! It was very busy when we got there and a bit crowded. We were place at a table in a high traffic area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Ate at Django before The Lumineers concert! Great atmosphere, even greater food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Always a reliable place for a reasonable price. Our server was especially notable and enhanced our experience. Charcuterie plates are top-notch--nobody does them better. I don't generally have great luck with the raw oysters here (and once again, I didn't last night), but .... a minor flaw in an otherwise great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Generally good, as usual, but the service was a little off (opened the wine but did not pour it), and my medium rare steak didn't have a bit of pink in it. Way, way over cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Initially, the attentiveness of staff and appetizer was good. Yet, we had to wait over an hour for our entrees and when our food did come to us the hot food was lukewarm and the salad was wilted. There were also bugs in our water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been to Django many times and it is nearly always excellent. We had brunch - a salmon salad, breakfast burger, a Croque Madame, and another sandwich with avacado. All were great. Some of us had a nice, inexpensive sparkling wine as well, which makes it fun.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious. All 3 of us enjoyed our breakfast very much! I would highly recommend going there for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I haven't been there for awhile, but will be sure to return soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious food as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always love going for the oysters and the French cuisine is amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food options for large group, service was excellent(Lou) & love the no corkage fee!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went to Django to celebrate a business success by my wife and we had a great time. Food was wonderful, drinks were great and the staff was friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Private Room, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good service, prompt, great food, a lot of food!! Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been to D'Jango many times over the years it has been open. The food is always very good, but service can sometimes be lacking. Friday night a group of six friends had a reservation. We waited perhaps another fifteen minutes after the scheduled reservation for our table which was not a problem. But we felt sorry for our poor server who seemed to have far too many tables to wait on efficiently. It took a very long time to take our orders, then to get the food, and finally to get our checks. Management needs to make sure they have enough servers to take care of the customers, if they want to have said customers return.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I always, always love this place. Ambiance, food and service are consistently top-notch. Fun to bring new friends!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

3 entrees were cold, as well as one appetizer (below room temp).
Service was poor at best (this was our second attempt in a few months, just thinking the previous time was a fluke).
Waiter neglected to tell my spouse her entree came with a salad, despite her ordering an additional salad as an appetizer.
In fact, three people ordered the same exact salad, but all arrived a varying times before the entrees.
Had to ask for bread/water to be served.
Tomato bisque soup happened to also the sauce for the savory crepe entree, and the topping for the seafood entree (efficient - have to give them that).
Lot's of other great restaurants nearby now, so repeated service like this doesn't bode well for the future of Django. Try elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing! It's always amazing at Django! Our waitress Louise was very efficient and we couldn't have asked for better service! Thank you for a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent food . No cork charge . The waitress was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We held a business dinner at Django and everyone was impressed with the fantastic food, amazing service and the atmosphere of the restaurant! Using the private room was a great option for our larger group!

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Django is always a go-to fav. We've "strayed" for newer places and always regret it. Love to sit at the bar for seafood or charcuterie and the bar staff is always knowledgeable and entertaining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, very good service, very nice restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.