Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Django Restaurant

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: (515) 288-0268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (100)
Special Occasion (75)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Romantic (52)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Business Meals (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Bar Seating (36)
Authentic (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fun (31)
Happy Hour (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Casual (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Private Room (15)
Historic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (11)
Late-night Find (11)
People Watching (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service! Always love the food and atmosphere here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

The Sunday brunch menu is great, and the service is usually very good. A couple of special requests with our meal were missed or forgotten, which was unfortunate, because I think usually the servers and kitchen staff are really good about those sort of things. I definitely recommend the beignets, but they're better when the dipping sauce isn't missing. Nothing majorly wrong, though, so the experience was still really enjoyable, and the food was still delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience as always. They did raise prices considerably since the last time we were in. My dolphanese potatoes were overcooked but the rest of our meal was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed our first visit to Django. Everyone was friendly and the food was great. We had a nice visit with Peter, the manager, and he was very helpful with our appetizer and beer selections. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I always have an awesome time at Django, and all-day happy hour on Tuesdays is an amazing deal. It's such a great value, and a good excuse to try new wines or appetizers. It's also a great brunch spot, and the croque monsieur is the best sandwich. Also, definitely get the duck frites.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A great value! I had a delicious lunch time omelette with a hefty side salad and coffee for about $15 or $16. A wonderfully attentive waiter, and there were some GF Options for me, which makes this restaurant a winner, in my book.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Last year, my fiancee and had our first date at Django. We had a great time. Naturally, when we got engaged on May 14 we chose to celebrate it by having a special dinner at Django. However, this time our experience was different. The service was poor. It took more than half hour to have our order of appetizers delivered. The restaurant did not seem quite busy to justify the long wait. Our waiter did not seem concerned to check with us to let us know what was happening. My meal (Grilled Salmon) was painfully too salty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to this location many times for special occasions or a night out with friends. The food has always been amazing! Our recent visit the food was not as tasty, more hastily made with less regard to the appearance and flavors. The presentation of the food was not as expected and the floors/seats not as clean as one would expect in this location. I will give them another try, but disappointed this past visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our meals were good. We had a slight incident with gum on the chair of a person in our party that got stuck on that persons pants. While that was unpleasant, the staff responded kindly and quickly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was perfect from the service to the food and the noise level very tolerable. The wine list had wonderful French wines reasonably priced. The server was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. I have no problem giving this experience the highest rating possible.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went here with a big group to celebrate a graduation. Great food, staff and atmosphere. Will definitely be going again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We went for the Tuesday all-night happy hour special. We ordered the meat & cheese plate and a dozen oysters. The food was amazing! Atmosphere is a little louder but comfortable. We will definitely be back! Good food for a good value.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had another wonderful and tasty meal. Server was excellent! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was extremely slow. I was dining alone and it seemed I didn't matter. The food was fair. My steak had no flavor and I had to cover it in salt and pepper. I wasn't even offered desert. My cocktail was good but was talked out of what I really wanted. I've eaten here before. It's hit and miss. This night was a miss. I won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Really really good food and even better service. Lauretta our server was great! Def. a french restaurant with no attitude 😊

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We brought nine people in to celebrate a graduation of sorts. The table was waiting for us and was beautifully set. Our hostess and receptionist were both very friendly and helpful. When the food arrived, we all agreed it was wonderful. It was obvious that much care is taken to make it tasty and beautifully presented as well. We were happy with the reasonable cost, too, since we paid for the whole group! Keep up the great work and thank you for a great dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food! Generous portion sizes. Nice place to have a great dinner and a good conversation, but isn't an intimate, quiet place. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Up to the standard we've come to expect Great American adaptations on French standbys. It would be nice to have smaller portions and lower prices on the entrees. Would have loved to order the pork loin on special, but didn't want to spring for an excessive 12 oz portion

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Within two minutes of sitting down, our server took great care in making sure we felt at home. She opened up the bottles of red wine we brought along, stuck our bottle of Chardonnay in the wine chiller and informed us about the best dishes at Django. From first course of bread and salted butter to the final bite of chocolate pot de creme..everyone felt full and happy. We walked off the wine at the nearby sculpture garden and talked about how wonderful our dinner was!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love this restaurant and return anytime we are in the area. Anything we order is well prepared. We are always surprised by something new. The french bistro theme holds menu items up to a high standard

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a group of five at a retirement dinner on a Wednesday evening. Restaurant management worked with us to find a sufficiently quiet place, where we could converse while dining. Service was very conscientious from the start. The meals were well prepared. I had the pork chops, which I thought were excellent. Everything was brought to the table timely. Good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Good time. Our waitress wasn't very friendly or helpful, but we still enjoyed our dinner. My husband's seafood crepes were a bit overcooked, but my pasta was delicious! I really liked the wine I had. Enjoyed the fresh seafood!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were visiting from out of town, and chose this restaurant due to good reviews. The food and service were great. I had the sea scallops which were cooked perfectly. Everyone in our group loved their meal. The menu offers something for everyone. If you go on a weekend, I recommend making a reservation. . I did not care for the wine selections. We tried a handful of different wine, and they tasted like the bottle had been opened for a few days. I will bring my own wine next time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Really enjoyed food and service. Oysters were so delicious, mashed posties to die for- perfectly seasoned

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing meal for adults and kids for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Staff at Django was great to work with from helping with our reservation, accommodating 20 including small children, serving champagne and wine we brought with no corking fee, very friendly server to great food, it made our graduation dinner very special, I will be back to sample more from the menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Everything was great except the sound level. Probably the noisiest and loudest place I've ever eaten. Could not hear my wife across the table it was so loud. Need some "quiet" table areas. The noise level will prevent us from returning. It was almost painful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Django is known for good food and always delivers! We went on a Tuesday night because it happy hour all night. Cheaper appetizers and cocktails/beer. Otherwise it is kind of a pricey place. Although definitely worth every penny. Only complaint is the loudness which can't really be controlled when it's always super busy! 5 star food!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Late-night Find, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I requested a table by the window and I received it. I couldn't be happier with our location and our service. The place was busy and all tables were occupied. Thank goodness for our reservations. The food was delicious and brought out very promptly. The bar was a little behind as expected, but we didn't mind since we had stuff to munch on. Thank you for making our special occasion memorable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great location and good food! Really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was amazing!!! My date or myself have never eaten anything even half as good as this!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was wonderful. Service was spot on. (which is a major improvement on past experiences) The only downfall was that there were children continuously running around our table and screaming. A woman at the bar even looked at me and asked if they were our children. It would have made for a much more pleasant experience if someone would have told their parents to please keep them at their table. All in all, still one of my favorite places in Des Moines.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Usually Djangos gets the highest mark from me. First evening ever that it was substandard. Wine had to be sent back. Salad was more salad dressing. Coq au vin was burnt. Waited for over 10 minutes for coffee. No bread plates. Bread under baked. First disappointment at djangos ever. Took someone there telling her she would be in love with this place. Will return of course but hope this doesn't ever happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Attended Django for Easter Brunch. Our waitress said brunch ended at 2 PM but since our reservation was for 2 PM, she would take our order and ask the cook if we could still get brunch.
Evidently the cook agreed to our order but my toast was burnt and everyone that ordered sausage received terrible sausage patties. The sausage was awful tasting, very tough and hard to cut, even with the knife! I think asking for brunch backfired and the preparation of our meals was done with haste. They probably nuked our sausage patties until they were the texture of shoe leather in retaliation for ordering brunch after 2?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sarah was a friendly and attentive waitress. We enjoyed the poutine appetizer, eggs Benedict, and he champignon omelet! It was a little pricey for brunch in terms of value but it was delicious nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went for Easter brunch and, for a starter, I ordered the crabcake. We each had a piece and finished the crabcakes quickly. For my entree, I ordered the mushroom crepes which was accompanied by green salad. I thought the crepes were delicious, the portions generous and the salad was great! My husband, a finicky eater, ordered the biscuits and gravy and said it was okay. I asked him to try the green salad and he ate most of it! My son had one of the breakfast sandwiches and he only commented that it was good. Overall, it was a good value for me. I was impressed with the prompt and friendly service. We had a good experience, definitely no French attitude.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Spectacular service and food recommendations as well as an amazing environment for an anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Third time to the restaurant and it never disappoints. Always the wonderful classic French dishes and some more inventive ones, as well. We were fortunate enough to have Kira as our fabulous server -- so personable and knowledgeable about the menu while being extremely down to earth. She made sure our water and wine were always topped off at every turn without intruding on any conversation. The epitome of good service. The food was excellently prepared as always. The restaurant really lives up to its motto of "All French, no attitude". Will always go back here when I'm in Des Moines.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious food. NY strip and Niman Ranch pork chops were fabulous. Some of the best onion rings I've ever had. Top notch food and a great atmosphere for a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.