Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Django Restaurant

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: (515) 288-0268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (85)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Romantic (45)
Business Meals (41)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Authentic (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Cozy (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Happy Hour (22)
Fun (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Casual (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Historic (14)
Private Room (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Late-night Find (10)
People Watching (9)
Healthy (7)
Great Beer (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Family Style (3)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Django has the best sea scallops in Des Moines. I wanted to try something out of my norm so I ordered the grilled swordfish special. It was excellent! It was very busy when we got there and a bit crowded. We were place at a table in a high traffic area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Ate at Django before The Lumineers concert! Great atmosphere, even greater food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a reliable place for a reasonable price. Our server was especially notable and enhanced our experience. Charcuterie plates are top-notch--nobody does them better. I don't generally have great luck with the raw oysters here (and once again, I didn't last night), but .... a minor flaw in an otherwise great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Generally good, as usual, but the service was a little off (opened the wine but did not pour it), and my medium rare steak didn't have a bit of pink in it. Way, way over cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Initially, the attentiveness of staff and appetizer was good. Yet, we had to wait over an hour for our entrees and when our food did come to us the hot food was lukewarm and the salad was wilted. There were also bugs in our water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been to Django many times and it is nearly always excellent. We had brunch - a salmon salad, breakfast burger, a Croque Madame, and another sandwich with avacado. All were great. Some of us had a nice, inexpensive sparkling wine as well, which makes it fun.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious. All 3 of us enjoyed our breakfast very much! I would highly recommend going there for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I haven't been there for awhile, but will be sure to return soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious food as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always love going for the oysters and the French cuisine is amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food options for large group, service was excellent(Lou) & love the no corkage fee!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went to Django to celebrate a business success by my wife and we had a great time. Food was wonderful, drinks were great and the staff was friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Private Room, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very good service, prompt, great food, a lot of food!! Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been to D'Jango many times over the years it has been open. The food is always very good, but service can sometimes be lacking. Friday night a group of six friends had a reservation. We waited perhaps another fifteen minutes after the scheduled reservation for our table which was not a problem. But we felt sorry for our poor server who seemed to have far too many tables to wait on efficiently. It took a very long time to take our orders, then to get the food, and finally to get our checks. Management needs to make sure they have enough servers to take care of the customers, if they want to have said customers return.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I always, always love this place. Ambiance, food and service are consistently top-notch. Fun to bring new friends!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

3 entrees were cold, as well as one appetizer (below room temp).
Service was poor at best (this was our second attempt in a few months, just thinking the previous time was a fluke).
Waiter neglected to tell my spouse her entree came with a salad, despite her ordering an additional salad as an appetizer.
In fact, three people ordered the same exact salad, but all arrived a varying times before the entrees.
Had to ask for bread/water to be served.
Tomato bisque soup happened to also the sauce for the savory crepe entree, and the topping for the seafood entree (efficient - have to give them that).
Lot's of other great restaurants nearby now, so repeated service like this doesn't bode well for the future of Django. Try elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing! It's always amazing at Django! Our waitress Louise was very efficient and we couldn't have asked for better service! Thank you for a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent food . No cork charge . The waitress was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We held a business dinner at Django and everyone was impressed with the fantastic food, amazing service and the atmosphere of the restaurant! Using the private room was a great option for our larger group!

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Django is always a go-to fav. We've "strayed" for newer places and always regret it. Love to sit at the bar for seafood or charcuterie and the bar staff is always knowledgeable and entertaining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food, very good service, very nice restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had an incredible dining experience. Our server was so helpful in making recommendations. The food was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Other than waiting for almost ten minutes before a server came to our table.. the food was great, the server was personable and knowledgeable and we had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 27, 2017

From the time that we arrived and departed there was much attention to detail. Prompt service, appropriate timing between drinks, appetizer, and meal. Portions excellent and food amazing. Definitely worth the price. Be prepared to spend around $100. Great for date night or anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I normally enjoy the food very much. On this occasion I ordered the chicken crepes and they were subpar. The filling was ok but the crepe was more like a dried out over cooked omelette. it was thick and spongy. Not delicate like I expected. The crepe was so thick it could not be rolled but was rather folded in half like a quesadilla. The crepe itself , without the filling, was almost 1/4 thick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was excellent, we had a mixture of lunch and brunch at our table of 4. Best onion rings we have ever had!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We arrived a little early for our reservation and were seated right away. Kira was our server and engaged at just the right level. Explained the menu with confidence. We enjoyed the experience, the food and the service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service, food and atmosphere were top notch! I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service and a good variety in the menu make this a great place for social gatherings with newer friends or family with a range of appetites. The dining room, when full, is a bit noisy for easy conversation. We had a late reservation, so by the end of our meal it had signifIcantly emptied and noise level came down. Appetizers: calamari was above average, muscles a bit weak in flavor. I ordered the boullibase, which was delicious. Porkchops were excellent, with sweet potatoe mash substitute for the side. Salmon orders were well cooked, dishes were very plain but decent. If in Des Moines. I would definitely return for a meal with friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Did not like Open Table Reservations, however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We always enjoy Django and have not had a bad experience yet

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomonal.................................................

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was actually pretty typical fare for a mid-priced menu. It's touted as French but I think that was mostly in name. It was a busy night so maybe the wait staff was a little understaffed.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food good as always and service on par. We don't go as often anymore, as the menu items are priced higher than value received. Might be an anomaly but we can prepare as good a meal at home. Django still a favorite, just not a frequent flyer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was absolutely and we will definitely be going back to try different menu items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Service was good, but could have been more personable. Food was good- salmon and French toast were excellent. Escargot was good, but I felt was lacking. Scallops my bf enjoyed. Ambiance could improve. Overall good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Had out of town guests with us and they were thoroughly impressed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time have brunch and DJango! Amazing meal great service and reasonably priced! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We always eat here when we are in town. Fantastic food, great vibe and just a fun relaxing place to go.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Non-Iowans should take note, we moved here from Miami and San Francisco and have previously lived in DC and Chicago. Django is easily one of the top French restaurants in the states, both due to the inventive yet authentic seasonal menu, and the amazing attention to detail paid by the chef.

The zero corkage fee makes for especially fun evenings, and the cheese plates are to die for. This isn't just a regional gem, but a nationally competitive spot for Provençal cuisine in particular.

Right now they are doing a national tour and we came for the Champagne seasonal menu. Absolutely amazing.

Django is Des Moines' best restaurant, and beats any French hotspot even in Chicago, hands down.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.