About Django Restaurant

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: 5152880268x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Bubblies Flight
Banana Bread Sundae
Mushroom Crepes W/ Micro-Green Salad
Black And Bleu Macaroni Gratin
Scallops St. Jacques
Spinach and goat cheese ravioli
Les Trois Petits Cochons “The Three Little Pigs”
New York Strip Au Poivre
Rose Water Macarons with Raspberry Filling
Cassoulet
Duck Frites
Mussels Frites Blue Cheese
Spice Rubbed New York Strip Steak
Seared Sea Scallops
French Toast
Steak Frites
Filet A Rossini
Croque Madame
Parmesan Crusted Chicken
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Moulard Duck Confit Over Potatoes, Carrots, Braised Cabbage With A Demi Glace
Filet À Rossini, Seared Foie Gras With Fresh Black Truffles, Dauphinoise Potatoes Annd Vegtables
Eggs Benedict
Cheese and charcuterie plate
Lemon Mascarpone Cheesecake
Hanger Steak & Duck Frites
Wild Mushroom Crepes
Goat Tartine
Django Salad
Omlette Special, Shrimp, Onion And Corn
Beef Bourguignon
Cheese Flight
Lemon and Blood Orange Sorbet
Wine Flight
Herbed Goat Cheese Croustades
Shrimp & Scallop Penne
Parmesean Encrusted Chicken
Onion Soup & Romaine Salad Combo
Django Salad w/chicken
Onion Soup Gratinee

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
4 More
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (124)
Fit for Foodies (107)
Good for Groups (82)
See All
Romantic (69)
Great for Lunch (51)
Notable Wine List (45)
Great for Brunch (40)
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (3)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was a little slow coming, but v ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 9 hours ago

The food was a little slow coming, but very delicious! It was really fun trying French food for the first time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The poutine was amazing! That is the onl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 2 days ago

The poutine was amazing! That is the only reason I give 2 stars to the food section of this survey. I know escargot can be a little gritty at times but this was a mouth full of sand and dirt. I've never cooked them myself but it's my understanding that this occurs of not purged properly. Maybe it was just a one time purging issue. We had the chefs choice cheese and charcuterie board which I felt was basic Brie, manchago, and Gorgonzola. Maybe I'm a snob but when I order cheese at a restaurant I want something other than items I can pick up at the local grocery. The next dish I had was the goat cheese and spinach Mac n cheese. Really runny and needed seasoning. This too might not be fair because I'm from Louisiana and we spice everything up a bit. I love goat cheese and spinach but wasn't impressed with the dish. The service was phenomenal and the what seemed to be house made bread was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Django never fails to impress. Whether ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Django never fails to impress. Whether lunch, dinner or brunch I can always count on delicious food, gracious service and an enjoyable experience. It's the little things, like substituting all berries for fresh fruit. A perennial favorite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Restaurant Week experience!! ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good Restaurant Week experience!! Love the no corkage fee - overall - always a good time to be had. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The occasion was our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 5 days ago

The occasion was our wedding anniversary, so we always prefer our favorite, comfort restaurant and the choice was Django. My wife loves the Tuna Niçoise Salad with balsamic vinaigrette. The ahi is always rare, but often the grill was not truly hot to properly sear. There are several endearing aspects of Django and the first is their happy hour that feature $1/oyster. On this day the oysters were amazing and I was sorely tempted to have a second (and third) platter, but unfortunately Happy Hour ends at 6PM. So instead I settled on dinner of Roasted Beet Salad and a new item, Parisian Gnocchi. Even the small beet salad was an ample fill of greens and roasted beets, a definite change from a salad at home. The Parisian Gnocchi was wonderfully prepared with just a hint of hot & spicy with flakes of red pepper. Another endearing feature of Django is no corkage fee, so we always like to bring our favorite wine from our cellar, which keeps from an astronomical bill to ruin the evening. The service at Django can have a full range, typically depending on how many other patrons are demanding of the waiter. But there are a few, who manage their station so smoothly and this evening we had an excellent waiter, which made the dining experience a delight, just like our marriage.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant and great food, but ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful restaurant and great food, but the decor lends itself to creat a very noisy environment and very hard to have a conversation at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Des Moines is lucky to have a quality re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Des Moines is lucky to have a quality restaurant like Django.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never fails to impress. It is always a ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Never fails to impress. It is always a pleasure to be here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food as always!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went there for anniversary and was perfe ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went there for anniversary and was perfect! Great peppercorn new york strip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. Can be a little loud ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always great food. Can be a little loud, bit the food make up for it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have always been impressed with Djang ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have always been impressed with Django, its food service and ambiance. The noise level was acceptable this time which is the only complaint we have had in the past. A great dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Django to celebrate my wife's ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to Django to celebrate my wife's birthday. As always, the food, service and atmosphere were wonderful. The Brussels Sprouts appetizer was fantastic. I had the Coq Au Vin, which was perfectly prepared. Everyone was very pleased with the food and service. We go to Django several times each year, and it's always a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fantastic. Rea ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. Really tough to beat anywhere in Des Moines. It was pricey, but definitely worth it the few times a year we go. There were less expensive options, but for a special occasion we went for the best.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really nice restaurant and we would reco ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really nice restaurant and we would recommend it to anyone! Had the seafood crepes and they were wonderful. Great service and really like the no corkage fee ever. We will definitely return when we are in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

They were very accommodating to my reque ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

They were very accommodating to my request to sit in the bar area. The service and management were excellent. We had a great time and can't wait to come back again. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as always was top notch! Can't go w ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food as always was top notch! Can't go wrong! They had their amazing cucumber spicy martini on their season special. Had the filet and it was cooked to perfection. The diner had the burger with egg on top-amazing. Our all time favorite thing is the chef's choice cheese platter and the poutine? I would just eat the poutine as the meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Good first experience. Great food. Servi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good first experience. Great food. Service was a little slow

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always great! It's the reason I return o ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always great! It's the reason I return often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding is an Understatement, If I ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding is an Understatement, If I could give 50 Stars I would

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. My first time there and was n ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good. My first time there and was not disappointed. Thank You

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The food is always delicious at Django.

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is always delicious at Django.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We always like Django. Start with the ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We always like Django. Start with the calamari. Steaks are very good. They took off the cassoulet off the menu unfortunately. I liked it a lot. Service is professional and the bar knows a dry martini.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was awesome and patient with ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our waiter was awesome and patient with us since it was our first time there we took a little longer looking over the menu but he didn't mind at all.

We both had baked style dinners which were piping hot and very delicious. The atmosphere is very intimate and that makes it nice for having a romantic dinner. The lights are dim and although it can get a bit noisy with so many people talking, the tables are far enough away from each other that you don't feel like you need to yell to be heard. For dessert we had the crème brulee, probably the best I've ever had.

The portions were pretty big so we took ours home.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service, and overall experie ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food, service, and overall experience! Restaurant staff was very accommodating and made sure that we had a wonderful experience for a birthday celebration. Would highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Django many times which ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have eaten at Django many times which is why I recommended our party of 6 (ended up being 5 due to a late cancelation) celebrate a friend's 50th birthday there. To begin with, the server was very poor as she didn't introduce herself, didn't mention any specials, acted like she would rather be somewhere else - very unfriendly. The onion rings with Curry Ketchup were good, but otherwise the food was bland. One friend ordered the Beef Bourguignon, which he has enjoyed many times before and said, "something changed and it was not good and ate 50% and left the rest"; another friend ordered the Ahi Tuna salad with dressing on the side and received not only a salad with dressing on it, but also the wrong salad - which was exchanged. I ordered the Macaroni Gratin, which I have thoroughly enjoyed before and found it lacked flavor and was runny, not thick and cheesy as in past dining experiences. The waitress did bring a complementary chocolate dessert with a candle which was tasty. Overall, I was embarrassed that I recommended Django to my friends, one of whom had never dined there before. Needless to say, I will not be going back anytime in the near future as there are many more enjoyable restaurants that will gain my dining business. Sincerely, Leslie Jurgensen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We always have a great time & a great me ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We always have a great time & a great meal at Django. Unfortunately, our waitress seemed like she did not want to be there...not friendly and service was not what we have come to expect at Django.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

One of Des Moines finest restaurants. P ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of Des Moines finest restaurants. Prices are appropriate for the quality and quantity of food and the service is first class. Oysters and Poutine in Iowa...tres Bon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cheese plates. Wonderful flavors. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great cheese plates. Wonderful flavors. Just visiting town so I can't compare to others. We're from Illinois so I'm basing my rating on value of downtown Chicago restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I got the filet and asked for medium rar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I got the filet and asked for medium rare, which came out overcooked. Broccolini reeked of garlic and was nearly inedible. Caesar salad was bland and nearly undressed. Very good cocktails at the bar. Ambiance was nice, if not a little dated, until I noticed the bare concrete in spots on the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

In the past, we had eaten at Django quit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

In the past, we had eaten at Django quite a few times and really liked the food. About 3 years ago, we decided to try the brunch and were quite disappointed. We decided recently to give it another try for brunch. We have to travel two hours to eat in Des Moines and were really looking forward to this. We were first disappointed by our beverages, Django used to make a wonderful Ginger Mojito. They no longer have it on the menu but instead of telling us that, they tried to improvise and the result was terrible -- we sent them back and were later told by the manager, that they couldn't get the right syrup. When our food arrived, it was certainly less than stellar. It was lukewarm at best and not very tasty. My husband's biscuits and gravy had one very small piece of meat in it. The manager did come over to speak with us and offered to get us a dessert or something in place of what we had. He was quick to note that we had an unhappy experience in the past so I'm sure we are now branded "complainers." That is not the case -- we give generous credit where credit is due, but with a plethora of delicious restaurants in Des Moines, we will not be returning to Django for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

No corkage fee! Bring your favorite win ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

No corkage fee! Bring your favorite wine and pay no corkage fee! Nice menu selections. Good macaroni and lobster dish. Very noisy even though we asked and did sit away from the bar, was just a busy night for them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing meal,made up entirely from the H ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing meal,made up entirely from the Happy Hour menu (except our drinks). Delicious and great price! Our server was quick, friendly, and spot on with everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service and excellent food, as ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fabulous service and excellent food, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The fresh seafood platter was amazing. H ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The fresh seafood platter was amazing. However, the service was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Django was a great place to meet out of ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Django was a great place to meet out of town friends for a Sunday Brunch. Service was great and the food delicious. It can be really loud though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The mushroom omelette and crepes were pe ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The mushroom omelette and crepes were perfect for brunch. Bloody Mary was great and our server was excellent. One of Des Moines's best places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was able to answer all of o ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waitress was able to answer all of our questions perfectly, was timely and friendly. Food portions were more than I expected and everything was absolutely delicious. One of the best parts: you can bring in your own bottle of wine and they'll open it and pour it for you. For an upscale restaurant you really can't beat the value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all of the turnover and expansion i ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

With all of the turnover and expansion in Central Iowa's dining scene, it can be regretfully easy to overlook the anchor restaurants like Django. Don't. For anyone who dines out regularly, Django must be on your permanent cycle. The variety will make each visit a new adventure, while the attention for details - ambiance, service, the "in another world" factor - make it worthy of regular visitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

one complaint - the table had not be wel ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

one complaint - the table had not be well cleaned before we sat down - the table top and edge of able were sticky and got all all over my arms - Im glad I had my own handy wipes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.