Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Django Restaurant

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: (515) 288-0268

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (83)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Romantic (51)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Groups (35)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fun (31)
Happy Hour (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Casual (28)
Authentic (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Historic (11)
Private Room (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Django has been solid for years. The food is prepared well and with care. The bread and butter could be a meal in itself. The poutine is a must but don't get the full order unless you're really really hungry or have a big group. The entrées range from salads all the way up to large steaks and seafood with prices from $12-$40. A good money saving tips is bring a bottle of wine. They never have a corking fee. Enjoy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Was a great evening before a show at Hoyt Sherman Place, great food and service.
Highly recommend it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite place to dine in Des Moines. The bar is great to watch mixing of drinks and shucking if oysters. The food is wonderful! Love the charcuterie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

We were very happy with Django. The menu is varied but focuses on French American cuisine. Our dinners were excellent, the service was courteous but not hovering. An excellent experience overall and we will be back without a doubt.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great but we had to ask for our server multiple times. We would see her walking around but would mostly just walk right by us staring straight ahead. Would still go for the awesome food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

A bit disappointed with the Charcutterie tray. Brussels sprouts were awesome.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous dining! Always a great experience when we come to Django's!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Steak was truly amazing. I had a fantastic experience here. The only complaint I would say I had was the service was merely sufficient. It wasn't exceptional. Our server was prompt and took care of us but not personable in any way. This did not detract from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We arrived at the restaurant at 5:00 p.m. and there was hardly anyone in the restaurant. Regardless, it took the waitress a very long time to bring out the drinks from the bar. For appetizers, we ordered the largest cheese and charcuterie plate and the poutine. The cheese plate was tiny and barely enough for two people. However, the poutine was HUGE. It definitely was enough for our table of six to have a fairly large portion. Two people at our table ordered the Boef Bourgnion. The waitress should have warned us that it is HUGE and enough for two people to share. The other meals that were ordered were fairly large, but mediocre in quality and taste. We ordered three desserts and the waitress forgot to bring out one. When we told her, she did bring the third dessert and removed it and the cost of the coffees from the bill. BOTTOM LINE: slow service and mediocre food. Would not recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Brunch was fantastic. Best eggs Benedict in the metro!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent! We always enjoy our food at Django, our service has never been anything but fantastic! We had the opportunity to have appetizers at the bar and sat for dinner in the dining area. Both servers were superb! Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is a MUST place to dine when we are in DesMoines. The food and service is Always Fantastic!
No corking fee, ever, which is nice since we cellar a lot of our own wine. Can't go wrong here.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Django remains my favorite in Des Moines. The food offers great variety, from appetizers to main courses and creative desserts. It's great if you're looking for choices, and there's something for every diet and preference. I especially like the wait staff, who are very friendly, professional, efficient, and make the occasion memorable each time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

First time at Django. Celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary. Had the Seared Scallops entrèe. It was outstanding. I can hardly wait to get back to Des Moines and have another meal at Django. I can highly recommend Django for good food and service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food. Awesome service. Will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service! Always love the food and atmosphere here

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A nice restaurant with a French accent. Good food but a bit noisy for us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Sunday brunch menu is great, and the service is usually very good. A couple of special requests with our meal were missed or forgotten, which was unfortunate, because I think usually the servers and kitchen staff are really good about those sort of things. I definitely recommend the beignets, but they're better when the dipping sauce isn't missing. Nothing majorly wrong, though, so the experience was still really enjoyable, and the food was still delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent experience as always. They did raise prices considerably since the last time we were in. My dolphanese potatoes were overcooked but the rest of our meal was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Really enjoyed our first visit to Django. Everyone was friendly and the food was great. We had a nice visit with Peter, the manager, and he was very helpful with our appetizer and beer selections. We will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I always have an awesome time at Django, and all-day happy hour on Tuesdays is an amazing deal. It's such a great value, and a good excuse to try new wines or appetizers. It's also a great brunch spot, and the croque monsieur is the best sandwich. Also, definitely get the duck frites.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A great value! I had a delicious lunch time omelette with a hefty side salad and coffee for about $15 or $16. A wonderfully attentive waiter, and there were some GF Options for me, which makes this restaurant a winner, in my book.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Last year, my fiancee and had our first date at Django. We had a great time. Naturally, when we got engaged on May 14 we chose to celebrate it by having a special dinner at Django. However, this time our experience was different. The service was poor. It took more than half hour to have our order of appetizers delivered. The restaurant did not seem quite busy to justify the long wait. Our waiter did not seem concerned to check with us to let us know what was happening. My meal (Grilled Salmon) was painfully too salty.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to this location many times for special occasions or a night out with friends. The food has always been amazing! Our recent visit the food was not as tasty, more hastily made with less regard to the appearance and flavors. The presentation of the food was not as expected and the floors/seats not as clean as one would expect in this location. I will give them another try, but disappointed this past visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Daughters graduation from drake

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our meals were good. We had a slight incident with gum on the chair of a person in our party that got stuck on that persons pants. While that was unpleasant, the staff responded kindly and quickly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was perfect from the service to the food and the noise level very tolerable. The wine list had wonderful French wines reasonably priced. The server was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. I have no problem giving this experience the highest rating possible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went here with a big group to celebrate a graduation. Great food, staff and atmosphere. Will definitely be going again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We went for the Tuesday all-night happy hour special. We ordered the meat & cheese plate and a dozen oysters. The food was amazing! Atmosphere is a little louder but comfortable. We will definitely be back! Good food for a good value.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had another wonderful and tasty meal. Server was excellent! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was extremely slow. I was dining alone and it seemed I didn't matter. The food was fair. My steak had no flavor and I had to cover it in salt and pepper. I wasn't even offered desert. My cocktail was good but was talked out of what I really wanted. I've eaten here before. It's hit and miss. This night was a miss. I won't be going back

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Really really good food and even better service. Lauretta our server was great! Def. a french restaurant with no attitude 😊

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We brought nine people in to celebrate a graduation of sorts. The table was waiting for us and was beautifully set. Our hostess and receptionist were both very friendly and helpful. When the food arrived, we all agreed it was wonderful. It was obvious that much care is taken to make it tasty and beautifully presented as well. We were happy with the reasonable cost, too, since we paid for the whole group! Keep up the great work and thank you for a great dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food! Generous portion sizes. Nice place to have a great dinner and a good conversation, but isn't an intimate, quiet place. We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Up to the standard we've come to expect Great American adaptations on French standbys. It would be nice to have smaller portions and lower prices on the entrees. Would have loved to order the pork loin on special, but didn't want to spring for an excessive 12 oz portion

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Within two minutes of sitting down, our server took great care in making sure we felt at home. She opened up the bottles of red wine we brought along, stuck our bottle of Chardonnay in the wine chiller and informed us about the best dishes at Django. From first course of bread and salted butter to the final bite of chocolate pot de creme..everyone felt full and happy. We walked off the wine at the nearby sculpture garden and talked about how wonderful our dinner was!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love this restaurant and return anytime we are in the area. Anything we order is well prepared. We are always surprised by something new. The french bistro theme holds menu items up to a high standard

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a group of five at a retirement dinner on a Wednesday evening. Restaurant management worked with us to find a sufficiently quiet place, where we could converse while dining. Service was very conscientious from the start. The meals were well prepared. I had the pork chops, which I thought were excellent. Everything was brought to the table timely. Good experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Good time. Our waitress wasn't very friendly or helpful, but we still enjoyed our dinner. My husband's seafood crepes were a bit overcooked, but my pasta was delicious! I really liked the wine I had. Enjoyed the fresh seafood!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Wife's Birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.