About Django Restaurant

210 10th Street
Suite 300
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

ALL FRENCH – NO ATTITUDE

Django is a comfortable, brasserie-style restaurant offering everything you love about French cuisine without the attitude. The restaurant features classic French dishes such as Steak Frites and Duck Cassoulet, as well as fresh salads and juicy hamburgers made with house-ground beef. At the heart of Django is the interactive chef station. Located in the center of the restaurant, this large bar offers patrons a place to order jet-fresh seafood such as oysters, shrimp, clams, mussels, and seafood plateaus, alongside cheese plates, cured meats, artisan bread and house-made desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, French American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Walnut & Mulberry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 288-0268

Website:
http://www.djangodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available throughout the area as well as public lot parking. The Davis-Brown Tower, located on 10th St. directly across the street from the restaurant, as well as the Allied-Nationwide parking facility, located directly behind the restaurant, offer parking to the public for free on evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
George Formaro

Private Party Facilities:
Djust say Django for your next corporate or social gathering. Sit back, relax and let the experienced restaurant professionals take care of all the details! The restaurant offers a number of private and semi-private spaces perfect for every type of event. Private banquet rooms are available for groups with up to 60 seated guests. Contact a manager for more details.

Private Party Contact:
parties@djangodesmoines.com: 5152880268x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Banana Bread Sundae
Scallops St. Jacques
Spinach and goat cheese ravioli
Les Trois Petits Cochons “The Three Little Pigs”
New York Strip Au Poivre
Cassoulet
Duck Frites
Rose Water Macarons with Raspberry Filling
Mussels Frites Blue Cheese
Spice Rubbed New York Strip Steak
Seared Sea Scallops
Steak Frites
Oysters
French Toast
Filet A Rossini
Croque Madame
Parmesan Crusted Chicken
Filet À Rossini, Seared Foie Gras With Fresh Black Truffles, Dauphinoise Potatoes Annd Vegtables
Moulard Duck Confit Over Potatoes, Carrots, Braised Cabbage With A Demi Glace
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Eggs Benedict
Cheese and charcuterie plate
Lemon Mascarpone Cheesecake
Hanger Steak & Duck Frites
Wild Mushroom Crepes
Goat Tartine
Django Salad
Omlette Special, Shrimp, Onion And Corn
Beef Bourguignon
Lemon and Blood Orange Sorbet
Cheese Flight
Wine Flight
Bubblies Flight
Herbed Goat Cheese Croustades
Onion Soup & Romaine Salad Combo
Django Salad w/chicken
Parmesean Encrusted Chicken
Onion Soup Gratinee
Shrimp & Scallop Penne

Django Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
6 More
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (109)
fit for foodies (99)
good for groups (81)
See All
romantic (60)
great for lunch (46)
notable wine list (45)
great for brunch (40)
hot spot (40)
neighborhood gem (22)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, service, and overall experie ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 8 hours ago

Great food, service, and overall experience! Restaurant staff was very accommodating and made sure that we had a wonderful experience for a birthday celebration. Would highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Django many times which ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten at Django many times which is why I recommended our party of 6 (ended up being 5 due to a late cancelation) celebrate a friend's 50th birthday there. To begin with, the server was very poor as she didn't introduce herself, didn't mention any specials, acted like she would rather be somewhere else - very unfriendly. The onion rings with Curry Ketchup were good, but otherwise the food was bland. One friend ordered the Beef Bourguignon, which he has enjoyed many times before and said, "something changed and it was not good and ate 50% and left the rest"; another friend ordered the Ahi Tuna salad with dressing on the side and received not only a salad with dressing on it, but also the wrong salad - which was exchanged. I ordered the Macaroni Gratin, which I have thoroughly enjoyed before and found it lacked flavor and was runny, not thick and cheesy as in past dining experiences. The waitress did bring a complementary chocolate dessert with a candle which was tasty. Overall, I was embarrassed that I recommended Django to my friends, one of whom had never dined there before. Needless to say, I will not be going back anytime in the near future as there are many more enjoyable restaurants that will gain my dining business. Sincerely, Leslie Jurgensen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We always have a great time & a great me ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always have a great time & a great meal at Django. Unfortunately, our waitress seemed like she did not want to be there...not friendly and service was not what we have come to expect at Django.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

One of Des Moines finest restaurants. P ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of Des Moines finest restaurants. Prices are appropriate for the quality and quantity of food and the service is first class. Oysters and Poutine in Iowa...tres Bon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cheese plates. Wonderful flavors. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great cheese plates. Wonderful flavors. Just visiting town so I can't compare to others. We're from Illinois so I'm basing my rating on value of downtown Chicago restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I got the filet and asked for medium rar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I got the filet and asked for medium rare, which came out overcooked. Broccolini reeked of garlic and was nearly inedible. Caesar salad was bland and nearly undressed. Very good cocktails at the bar. Ambiance was nice, if not a little dated, until I noticed the bare concrete in spots on the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

In the past, we had eaten at Django quit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

In the past, we had eaten at Django quite a few times and really liked the food. About 3 years ago, we decided to try the brunch and were quite disappointed. We decided recently to give it another try for brunch. We have to travel two hours to eat in Des Moines and were really looking forward to this. We were first disappointed by our beverages, Django used to make a wonderful Ginger Mojito. They no longer have it on the menu but instead of telling us that, they tried to improvise and the result was terrible -- we sent them back and were later told by the manager, that they couldn't get the right syrup. When our food arrived, it was certainly less than stellar. It was lukewarm at best and not very tasty. My husband's biscuits and gravy had one very small piece of meat in it. The manager did come over to speak with us and offered to get us a dessert or something in place of what we had. He was quick to note that we had an unhappy experience in the past so I'm sure we are now branded "complainers." That is not the case -- we give generous credit where credit is due, but with a plethora of delicious restaurants in Des Moines, we will not be returning to Django for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

No corkage fee! Bring your favorite win ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

No corkage fee! Bring your favorite wine and pay no corkage fee! Nice menu selections. Good macaroni and lobster dish. Very noisy even though we asked and did sit away from the bar, was just a busy night for them.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing meal,made up entirely from the H ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing meal,made up entirely from the Happy Hour menu (except our drinks). Delicious and great price! Our server was quick, friendly, and spot on with everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service and excellent food, as ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fabulous service and excellent food, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The fresh seafood platter was amazing. H ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The fresh seafood platter was amazing. However, the service was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Django was a great place to meet out of ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Django was a great place to meet out of town friends for a Sunday Brunch. Service was great and the food delicious. It can be really loud though.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The mushroom omelette and crepes were pe ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The mushroom omelette and crepes were perfect for brunch. Bloody Mary was great and our server was excellent. One of Des Moines's best places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was able to answer all of o ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waitress was able to answer all of our questions perfectly, was timely and friendly. Food portions were more than I expected and everything was absolutely delicious. One of the best parts: you can bring in your own bottle of wine and they'll open it and pour it for you. For an upscale restaurant you really can't beat the value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all of the turnover and expansion i ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

With all of the turnover and expansion in Central Iowa's dining scene, it can be regretfully easy to overlook the anchor restaurants like Django. Don't. For anyone who dines out regularly, Django must be on your permanent cycle. The variety will make each visit a new adventure, while the attention for details - ambiance, service, the "in another world" factor - make it worthy of regular visitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

one complaint - the table had not be wel ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

one complaint - the table had not be well cleaned before we sat down - the table top and edge of able were sticky and got all all over my arms - Im glad I had my own handy wipes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, good service, wonderful downt ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food, good service, wonderful downtown dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good and so was the food. N ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was good and so was the food. Nice quaint little place with a frendly staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice ambiance. I thought the food was go ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice ambiance. I thought the food was good. Poutine and bread were yummy. Coq au Vin was just ok. Person in my party had Tuna salad, which was good, however she found a piece of plastic wrapper (such as from meat wrapping) in her salad greens. We put it aside thinking it was not a big deal and did not mention it to the staff. For dessert she had chocolate ganache cake. Being a French restaurant, the expectation for superior pasteries and "ganache" was high. This dessert was not what I expected, and tasted like a microwave cooked mug cake made from a Pinterest recipe - blah flavor and microwave cake texture, certainly not smooth not ganache. But here's the bigger problem: the same guest who found the plastic in her salad choked I a piece of hard, sharp plastic that came from the ganache cake, which looked like a piece of broken Tupperware (she was being treated to the dinner out for her birthday :( ). This time we did point it out to the staff and treated with minimal concern and recourse (20% discount). While the first foreign object found in the salad was not that big of a deal to us, having a second piece of sharp plastic in the cake was very disconcerting. The odds of this sort of issue while dining out are so rare, but having it happen twice in the same meal in very different dishes, makes me doubt the cleanliness of their kitchen and makes me second guess if I want to return there to dine again...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The service was very slow. We had a gro ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The service was very slow. We had a group of 4 and an adjacent table of 4 arrived 15 minutes after we did and they got their food first. The manager brought only three of the 4 meals out and we had to wait for the 4th. Two salads, a bowl of soup and a burger took over an hour to deliver.

I had to get up from our table and go talk to the gentleman at the front desk so he could go find our food. The manager did not offer any discounts or apology. Have lots of choices for lunch downtown, will probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Our server was very attentive to our nee ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was very attentive to our needs. We wanted quick service so that we would be on time for our following event. Food was well presented and very tasty. Great place for dining out.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food was excellent, the se ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always the food was excellent, the service was good. The menu has something for everyone. Great gem for DSM, IA.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server was great. He struck the righ ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server was great. He struck the right balance of being attentive but not being overly so. The food was excellent. There were seven of us and we had a variety of salads, sandwich and entrees, all excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated right on time, the server ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated right on time, the server Roy was pleasant, was knowledgeable about offerings, and worked the group well. We were able to enjoy a leisurely meal with friends and did not seem to be pushed to order or to finish (which was wonderful). Slightly noisy but seating accommodated this placement. The seafood crepe was A plus and different entrees were tried and enjoyed. A great experience which we will repeat soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious crepes with creative presentat ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious crepes with creative presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service and food was wonderful, we were ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service and food was wonderful, we were lucky enough to be seated about 30 minuets before our reservation. The only draw back was it was loud in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

drinks were really good food was good ex ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

drinks were really good

food was good except for the pasta dish , (some kind of mac n cheese) a friend ordered he didn't like it I tried it and it was bland and kinda watery should not have made it's way onto the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice there is no corkage fee. The servi ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Nice there is no corkage fee. The service was slow, even to get an ice tea. Good thing we were not in a hurry to be anywhere. Noise level was high that it was difficult to converse.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had to make a few changes to our rese ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We had to make a few changes to our reservation and the staff was great. Food was great, as always. Will be a family go-to place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time "discovering" this gem in Des Moines. The food was superb, the service was some of the best we've had recently, and the atmosphere was relaxed and cozy. I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a quiet dinner, great food, and a place to spend in the company of a loved one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere for a Romantic dinner, t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere for a Romantic dinner, to share a special occasion or to just have fun with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful stop

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were looking for a nice location on a road trip. The menu had a good selection and variety without being unfocused. All courses were well timed. Service was appropriate, attentive without being intrusive.

Restaurant was clean and comfortable. The noise level was a bit high, but we were between two larger groups. The restrooms were clean, but needed some attention, from the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was impeccable and the food was ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. We will be back

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great night!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Another couple met up for dinner. We stayed for over two hours and had a wonderful meal with outstanding service. Perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, OK food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This restaurant has a nice atmosphere and that was all for us. We made a reservation and they took us to the back at an awkward middle table going past many nicer open tables so that was a bummer. Anyway, the steak medallions were overpriced and extremely salty and I'm a savory person. The scallops were perfect, but the mashed potatoes in the center - I'm not sure what this mess was even supposed to be - like they took all the leftover veggies and mixed them in mashed potatoes - gross and didn't compliment the scallops well. Hubby had 2 beers, I had 1 glass of wine, no appetizers, no dessert and our bill was $130. When the waitress asked how our meal was, I kindly indicated the salty steak/potato feedback, and she didn't really care so I'm not sure why she asked. Next time in Des Moines, we will pick a different hot spot.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

From appetizer to dessert, every bite wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

From appetizer to dessert, every bite was delicious. Many selections for cheese plate, poutaine may be best appetizer in history. Steak and scallops were cooked perfect. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Django has a great diverse menu with many great offerings. The brunch menu is a perfect way to enjoy great food, large portion sizes at a reasonable price. Would definitely recommend for special occasions and date nights.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was very informative and ni ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waitress was very informative and nice. She was able to describe all the dishes we were interested in. Over heard the bartender she was witty and fun. Food was awesome. We will for sure be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, slow service

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was wonderful, which was lucky because the past few times we've had some really subpar servers, unfortunately...We keep going back because we DO love the food. This time we brought some newbies with us, after months of telling them they MUST visit. As I said, we loved our server, but our entrees took an exceptionally long time to arrive (as in, we watched other tables be seated after us AND served their entrees before us), and when they did arrive, one of the newbies' steak medallions were not even hot. Even calling them "warm" is being generous. She felt bad about sending her dish back...but really - room temp steak? No bueno. I hope they will give it another chance...but the whole entree situation was not a great impression for first-timers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for a late Brunch for Mothers Day. Food was good. Missed having the cheese plate, it's really good, on the menu for brunch. Overall another good dinning experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.