About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Hazelnut Basque Cake - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Sweetbreads - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Truffled Fried Egg With Green Beans, Olive And Truffle Salad - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Lamb Sirloin - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Seafood Chowder - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Chicken Breast, Chicken Leg Confit And Polenta - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Pommes Frites - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Bean Tempura Appetizer - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Lamb Confit Sandwich - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Pork Belly - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (12)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was fabulous as always. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service was fabulous as always.

Excellent wine selection.

Cheese plate had several options and was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been going to Divinos since started ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been going to Divinos since started with chef Danny Lamote in the Grain Exchange. Almost 30 years later, part of CRMR and just down the block, but has somehow managed to retain the ambiance and food that made it a go-to nearly 30 years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

phil our server was awesome , knowledgea ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

phil our server was awesome , knowledgeable, efficient , pleasant. Quality and selection of food was excellent .We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an excellent time for Nee Years E ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an excellent time for Nee Years Eve Dinner with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was amazing, I would ju ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall the food was amazing, I would just stay away from the Bone-In Alberta AAA Rib Steak.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always, great food, great s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent as always, great food, great service. Great location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, loved the Rougie ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, loved the Rougie Duck Breast. Libby our server was fantastic and the wine options were superb. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favourite downtown restaurant for be ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our favourite downtown restaurant for before theatre dining.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and a number of gluten fr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food and a number of gluten free options. We started off with a cheese plate of five different cheeses. I highly recommend this; all five cheeses were excellent. The chicken Cobb salad was a pleasure in both presentation and flavour. Main course was the salmon dish done perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was on point. We had the Duck & the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was on point. We had the Duck & the Lamb - both excellent choices! Excellent service. Our server was a great source for food & wine pairing. Definitely be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great meal. We had the best wa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was a great meal. We had the best waiter ever. Thanks for being so good at serving and knowing the menu and the food.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to restaurant for a speci ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for a special night out. The food is always excellent, as is the service. It is in the theatre district so is perfect before a concert or play and they always make sure we get out the door on time for the performance. Even in the present depressed economic climate the restaurant is still busy, which indicates to us that our view is shared by others. The only reason I did not give it completely 5 stars is the noise level, but as it is in an old building there is not much that can be done about that. A restaurant choice that does not disappoint.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took one of our biggest clients here o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I took one of our biggest clients here on a recommendation, I was overall happy with this meal and would rate my overall experience an 8/10. As a Construction professional I would change a few small things that would help with sound transfer as we found it to be a bit noisy. Easy fix with some sound dampening panels.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of my favorite restaurant in YYC! Gr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurant in YYC! Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always had a great experience durin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have always had a great experience during lunch. Went at 6pm before a show that started at 8. Took 1.5 hours for our entrees to arrive, two entrees of suckling pig were over cooked. Waiter was nowhere to be found to reorder drinks or get water refilled. Overall service was poor. Would not go to dinner if you plan on attending a show afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent wine selection and good choice ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent wine selection and good choice under $100

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Divino continues to be one of my favorit ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Divino continues to be one of my favorite downtown venues. Great wines, great food and lively atmosphere in a cozy historical building.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another lovely evening at Divino! Went ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Another lovely evening at Divino! Went there with my BFF before the theatre. Shared the mussels and a bottle of wine...yum and yum! Our dinner choices were the lamb shank and the duck breast...perfection!! Too full for a sweet treat to complete the evening but will try to leave room next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love this place. The food, the sm ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always love this place. The food, the smell of a wood burning fire, the atmosphere and the service are always spot on. One of my favorite go tos in downtown Calgary for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waiter was very helpful. The most t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our waiter was very helpful. The most traditional dish on the menu (chicken) was, as promised, delicious!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really good. It's not inexp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was really good. It's not inexpensive but overall quality is good. The server seems surprised that we wanted bread but when it did come it was good. The seafood chowder was delicious, not too heavy and the seafood was done just right.

The open kitchen at the end of the night was very smoky. If you don't want to smell like you cooked a meal, better get a table towards the back of the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was excellent. Relaxed dinin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was excellent. Relaxed dining not rushed to order or eat. Very good wine recommendations. The mussels were excellent, seafood chowder was rich and full, and the Pork roast was tender and juicy. Pasta dish was nice but nothing unusual. Have been there many times and will return.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to have a nice dinner with go ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good place to have a nice dinner with good battle of wine

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hadn't been in many years and we were pl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hadn't been in many years and we were pleasantly surprised at the deliciousness of every course! True French cuisine...all tasted delicious and authentic! No small plates crap! Onion soup was perfect! I had the best duck that I've had in years in a gorgeous raspberry so jus! The mussels were divine! Amazing food, staff and ambiance! Real authentic French cuisine with no odd sidebar fusion crap! We had aioli with our frites and my god...it was actual aioli!!! The kitchen sink was NOT in it! Tasted like what we've always had in France! Good, ethnic cuisine! We will be going back again and again and so on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a lovely time. Wine, cheese, oli ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have a lovely time. Wine, cheese, olives and pasta what more could you ask for

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent (both times - ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was excellent (both times - we went back later in the same night for dessert). Both servers knew the menus and made wonderful recommendations when asked. The cheese plate is fantastic, as were the desserts. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino is one of the very few restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Divino is one of the very few restaurants in Calgary where you can count on your dining experience being consistently positive. They deliver excellent food, a creative menu, good wine selection, tables that are big enough to be comfortable, servers who know their menu and an atmosphere that makes conversation possible. They have done so since the last millenium. :)

A small recommendation: flag the gluten free items on the menu, this will prevent gluten sensitive patrons from setting their heart on an item only to have to select something else...it will also save serving staff valuable time.

We had tartare, lamb shanks, snapper and salmon and we were all suitably pleased. We wanted the rabbit meetballs, unfortunately they are gluten laden as are the quails. Oh well...the tartare was a worthy replacement.

Once again, well done Divino!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite lunch or dinner spot ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

One of our favorite lunch or dinner spots - chicken salad didn't disappoint, frites were nice and crispy, lamb sandwich was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Mussels and frites were exce ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food. Mussels and frites were exceptional. Salmon was delicious. Don't forget to try the tempura green beans. Great downtown location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious! I went on a Satu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious! I went on a Saturday night for a birthday, and no one in my table complained about the taste. The second course has pretty small servings, so if you're hungry I would suggest to also get a first course. I had the Brussel Sprouts for my first course, and the Black Pepper Linguine for my second course.

The kitchen forgot about my first course, so I ended up getting it for free because I got it around 5-10 minutes after everyone else. The server I had was new, but he wasn't sure about the menu. He didn't know if birthday dessert was free or not.

The food was very good, even though it was pricey. I'd recommend this place for special occasions or anniversaries. I wish the service was better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Came in for a pre-show meal with friends ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came in for a pre-show meal with friends. Great service, food and wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is always a treat dining at Divino, c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It is always a treat dining at Divino, consistantly one of Calgary's top venues for business or pleasure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was among the most apathetic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service was among the most apathetic and slow I have seen. An expected 60-75 minute business lunch turned into a 90 minute marathon, with both of us so distracted by the fact empty food plates remained on our table for 15 minutes after we were finished that we quickly dispensed with the idea of after lunch coffee or dessert. The most frustrating thing was the restaurant was not busy. Our waitress had 3 tables to deal with -- one can only imagine the utter carnage that we would have experienced if she actually had other tables to serve.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fabulous meal and excellent, thoughtful, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fabulous meal and excellent, thoughtful, personal service. Best dinner out in a long time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An all-time favourite no more. Ridiculou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An all-time favourite no more. Ridiculously high prices, for food and especially wine. Tiny portions. Food itself less creative than I've ever seen it. Luckily, still very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Our server was excellent at suggesting w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was excellent at suggesting wine pairings, etc. He made our dinner a very enjoyable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server, but 3 of the 4 diners had ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great server, but 3 of the 4 diners had legitimate complaints about their meals. What once was my favourite restaurant in Calgary is now an establishment I will never visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent food excellent service I would ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent food excellent service

I would definitely recommend this place to anybody looking for a place that won't let you down.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were great. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food and the service were great. The server was friendly and knowledgeable. We ordered Mussels & Frites, Suckling Pig and Spaghettini. They were good. Would like to come and try their soup and cheese.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was friendly and professional. I ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was friendly and professional. I was surprised at how fast our food came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.