Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Cozy (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had our wedding here one year ago and they were so easy to work with and very proffessional. The food was delicious and the upstairs was the perfect venue for our cocktail celebration . We came to celebrate our First anniversary and were treated like King and Queen. A very special thank you to Simone for our " gift" . Xoxo

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My favorite place in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We went there for a birthday, and noted it in the reservation. Not sure the pint of that as it was not acknowledged, not even a happy bday...lol. Food was decent, the portion that was not spilled on me. Also a little mishap with changing tables. Not terrible but probably would not return as there are much better choices out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A good experience for light dining with excellent shared plates available. a solid (but predictable) wine list. Well informed and helpful service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of my favourite destinations on Stephen Avenue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Delicious charcuterie board, great atmosphere and impressive wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was alright. Wasn't blown away. There wasn't much too it. Was nice but I probably wouldn't return

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 28, 2017

One of my favourite spots downtown. Good selection=menu options and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Not the first time at Divino, at as previous opportunities, Service and Food did not disappoint. Great job there! On the drinks side, while the wine list is very good, the cocktail offer is poor, overly expensive and drinks are dull. So you better go for wine form the start, instead of expending your monies on cocktails.The restaurant itself looks a little tired and it would require some improvements, though. Looks old.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We can't say enough about our 40th anniversary dinner visit at Divini. From the moment we walked we were welcomed and made to feel very special! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and even had the Bartender craft a special cocktail for me when I didn't really see what I wanted on the bar menu.
We took our time all evening and never felt rushed.
The charcuterie starter was amazing and our mains is duck breadt and AAA steak were over the top delicious.
We arrived at 5:30 and when we left at 8:00 it was just starting to get a little loud but in a busy, fun way.
We can't recommend Divini more highly and will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always one of our favourite places in Calgary. Great food, service and such an amazing wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Good food but seriously small servings. I left the restaurant hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Pasta was really good but small portion and I'm not a big eater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurant in Calgary and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was good but don't think it quite warrants the prices . I object to paying 2 dollars for water when we are buying an expensive meal and expensive wine .

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Been here a handful of times already and the food is always great. Cheese selections are awesome and go well with just about any wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Divino is a favorite of mine. They serve great food, have a wonderful terrace and ambiance and their servers really know how to make you feel comfortable and well-looked after. Their wine selection, which varies regularly, is also outstanding. Had amazing moules and frittes paired with an amazing Viognier that our waitress recommended and could not have been happier. She was attentive, very knowledgeable and friendly and ensured our meal was served quickly as we were limited in time. Thank you for helping make our night special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is my sisters favourite restaurant but my first visit. I can see why she loves it! Our server was so friendly and very knowledgeable. She described the food so accurately. The choose your own cheese plate was so amazing. The rest of our food was just as good. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Love sitting on their small but energetic patio on the vibrant Stephen Avenue. Great good, great service and killer Wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have enjoyed Divino pre theatre for several years. They have maintained good quality and service backed by a kitchen that cares about their products. The menu is updated often enough to feel fresh and is creative without being overly trendy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Lots of good choices and unique in choice of ingredients and compositions. Unfortunately the 'suckling pig' was well, well, well done and tough, as was the ?bacon. The other meals were pretty good, aperitifs were very creative, wine choices were wonderful.
Good atmosphere, somewhat attentive service, and sometimes one wonders, if the price goes up, wether indeed the service should be more excelling than it did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fantastic food the Servers were very friendly. Great location on 8Th AVE SW

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Ambiance great. Service ok. And wine list very pricey. A decent bottle of Chardonnay should NOT start at $100. I still don't think downtown Calgary restaurants have grasped the current economic situation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was a birthday dinner with my husband--our waitress was excellent!!Food was delicious! The tartare(bison??)was melt in your mouth and deliciously seasoned--the lamb was tender--however I felt the accompanying green vegetable was overspiced--(I would of preferred less heat ) My husband and I would definitely return!!The cheese and wine selection we're unsurpassed.The somnolier knowledgeable and gracious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food, the wine, the service were all top notch. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was fantastic. Wine list is great!! Server wasn't very friendly and it seemed as though we were an inconvenience. Perhaps because 3 of 4 of us did the Calgary Taste Menu? We will be back regardless, we love Devino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious meal and lovely wine pairings but generally overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent ambiance and service. The food was fantastic as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

As good as always. Went for the BigTasteYYC. Awesome menu, attentive service, what a treat. They never disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. The menu was a little limited, however, it did cover most bases. The staff worked with us on a gluten free option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server was very good. The Tempura green beans are amazing. The rest of the food was average at best, the risotto that came with the salmon was very under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We tried the Big Taste Menu and a nice bottle of wine. The combination of three courses were just right for us. However the service was not up to par for this class of restaurant. Not sure if our server Josh was overworked but we felt like we were ignored throughout the evening. Our main course arrived about 40 minutes after the first course plates were removed. While the presentation was good the food was cold. We believed that sending the food back would add another 45 minutes so we completed half of the meal and left. While Divino has received good reviews, we certainly did not get the same experience. Very disappointed since there are so many restaurants within a stones throw we could have chosen.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I was unpleasantly surprised by our experience at Divino as I've really enjoyed it in the past. I have food restrictions so I emailed the restaurant in advance with a list of the foods I can't have.

I received a warm reply from the Chef saying not to worry, they could definitely accommodate my restrictions and they do that for people all the time.

As requested, I noted the same restrictions when I made the reservation. I also printed my email correspondence with the Chef and gave it to our server so that whoever was in the kitchen would have a visual list of what I could not have along with the Chef's comments for how they would modify my dish.

After all of that, I was disappointed to discover that my dish came on a bed of not one but two items from my restricted foods list! It was like they had not looked at my list at all.

On top of that, my friend ordered chicken but received salmon. So it seems that neither the kitchen nor our server was paying attention.

I always like RCR restaurants and expect far better service. This has really turned me off of returning to Divino. Definitely not a safe place to dine if you have any allergies or food restrictions.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Lovely ambiance, great service and delicious mussels and frits!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The cheese and wine menu were out of this world. My friends and I had a fantastic time at Divino. We especially enjoyed the dessert. I have already recommended this restaurant to my foodie friends!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent meal and service. One of our favourite's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the better meals we have had out in a long time. We ordered a bunch of different dishes (a couple of appetizers, salad and two mains) and shared everything. It was all delicious. Our server was great. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good valentine's day date. Divino is larger inside than it's small Stephen Ave facing would suggest. The Decor is somewhat rustic, with a brick wall, copper plating on the table and dim (ish) lighting. We enjoyed the historic photos cycling through on the wall (instead of an obnoxious sports or news or whatever channel).
Very much enjoyed our meals, we shared a roasted Acorn Squash with mushrooms and pecans which was quite delicious (portions are small-ish, so we were glad for the appetizer), then I was delighted by the beef cheek bourgignon I ordered, and my wife enjoyed her swordfish. Dessert was quite delightful - pear crumble for me and chocolate torte for my wife.
Careful of the water - like many places they offer a choice of still or sparkling with their in-house filter system but at a cost. This annoys me as tap water is perfectly good in Calgary. The waiter didn't seem impressed by my declining to pay extra for water, and was generally a little low energy but efficient (which is why I gave lower marks for service). I've had better service here before. Would strongly recommend for a good night out. Prices were reasonable for the portions, (we each had a glass of wine with our meal and it came out to around 60$ per person).

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.