Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (12)
Casual (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Been here a handful of times already and the food is always great. Cheese selections are awesome and go well with just about any wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Divino is a favorite of mine. They serve great food, have a wonderful terrace and ambiance and their servers really know how to make you feel comfortable and well-looked after. Their wine selection, which varies regularly, is also outstanding. Had amazing moules and frittes paired with an amazing Viognier that our waitress recommended and could not have been happier. She was attentive, very knowledgeable and friendly and ensured our meal was served quickly as we were limited in time. Thank you for helping make our night special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is my sisters favourite restaurant but my first visit. I can see why she loves it! Our server was so friendly and very knowledgeable. She described the food so accurately. The choose your own cheese plate was so amazing. The rest of our food was just as good. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Love sitting on their small but energetic patio on the vibrant Stephen Avenue. Great good, great service and killer Wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have enjoyed Divino pre theatre for several years. They have maintained good quality and service backed by a kitchen that cares about their products. The menu is updated often enough to feel fresh and is creative without being overly trendy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Lots of good choices and unique in choice of ingredients and compositions. Unfortunately the 'suckling pig' was well, well, well done and tough, as was the ?bacon. The other meals were pretty good, aperitifs were very creative, wine choices were wonderful.
Good atmosphere, somewhat attentive service, and sometimes one wonders, if the price goes up, wether indeed the service should be more excelling than it did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fantastic food the Servers were very friendly. Great location on 8Th AVE SW

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Ambiance great. Service ok. And wine list very pricey. A decent bottle of Chardonnay should NOT start at $100. I still don't think downtown Calgary restaurants have grasped the current economic situation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a birthday dinner with my husband--our waitress was excellent!!Food was delicious! The tartare(bison??)was melt in your mouth and deliciously seasoned--the lamb was tender--however I felt the accompanying green vegetable was overspiced--(I would of preferred less heat ) My husband and I would definitely return!!The cheese and wine selection we're unsurpassed.The somnolier knowledgeable and gracious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food, the wine, the service were all top notch. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was fantastic. Wine list is great!! Server wasn't very friendly and it seemed as though we were an inconvenience. Perhaps because 3 of 4 of us did the Calgary Taste Menu? We will be back regardless, we love Devino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious meal and lovely wine pairings but generally overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent ambiance and service. The food was fantastic as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As good as always. Went for the BigTasteYYC. Awesome menu, attentive service, what a treat. They never disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. The menu was a little limited, however, it did cover most bases. The staff worked with us on a gluten free option.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server was very good. The Tempura green beans are amazing. The rest of the food was average at best, the risotto that came with the salmon was very under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We tried the Big Taste Menu and a nice bottle of wine. The combination of three courses were just right for us. However the service was not up to par for this class of restaurant. Not sure if our server Josh was overworked but we felt like we were ignored throughout the evening. Our main course arrived about 40 minutes after the first course plates were removed. While the presentation was good the food was cold. We believed that sending the food back would add another 45 minutes so we completed half of the meal and left. While Divino has received good reviews, we certainly did not get the same experience. Very disappointed since there are so many restaurants within a stones throw we could have chosen.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I was unpleasantly surprised by our experience at Divino as I've really enjoyed it in the past. I have food restrictions so I emailed the restaurant in advance with a list of the foods I can't have.

I received a warm reply from the Chef saying not to worry, they could definitely accommodate my restrictions and they do that for people all the time.

As requested, I noted the same restrictions when I made the reservation. I also printed my email correspondence with the Chef and gave it to our server so that whoever was in the kitchen would have a visual list of what I could not have along with the Chef's comments for how they would modify my dish.

After all of that, I was disappointed to discover that my dish came on a bed of not one but two items from my restricted foods list! It was like they had not looked at my list at all.

On top of that, my friend ordered chicken but received salmon. So it seems that neither the kitchen nor our server was paying attention.

I always like RCR restaurants and expect far better service. This has really turned me off of returning to Divino. Definitely not a safe place to dine if you have any allergies or food restrictions.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Lovely ambiance, great service and delicious mussels and frits!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The cheese and wine menu were out of this world. My friends and I had a fantastic time at Divino. We especially enjoyed the dessert. I have already recommended this restaurant to my foodie friends!

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent meal and service. One of our favourite's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of the better meals we have had out in a long time. We ordered a bunch of different dishes (a couple of appetizers, salad and two mains) and shared everything. It was all delicious. Our server was great. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good valentine's day date. Divino is larger inside than it's small Stephen Ave facing would suggest. The Decor is somewhat rustic, with a brick wall, copper plating on the table and dim (ish) lighting. We enjoyed the historic photos cycling through on the wall (instead of an obnoxious sports or news or whatever channel).
Very much enjoyed our meals, we shared a roasted Acorn Squash with mushrooms and pecans which was quite delicious (portions are small-ish, so we were glad for the appetizer), then I was delighted by the beef cheek bourgignon I ordered, and my wife enjoyed her swordfish. Dessert was quite delightful - pear crumble for me and chocolate torte for my wife.
Careful of the water - like many places they offer a choice of still or sparkling with their in-house filter system but at a cost. This annoys me as tap water is perfectly good in Calgary. The waiter didn't seem impressed by my declining to pay extra for water, and was generally a little low energy but efficient (which is why I gave lower marks for service). I've had better service here before. Would strongly recommend for a good night out. Prices were reasonable for the portions, (we each had a glass of wine with our meal and it came out to around 60$ per person).

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Enjoyed some wine and cheese with a few appies the other night with my wife here. We have been a number of times over the years and always liked it for wine and cheese as well as small plates. Service this time was top grade and very professional. Wine list is extensive but I would recommend ordering off the by the glass list if there is anything that catches your eye, some of the bottles (even local wines) are marked up about 3 times. This is a bit disappointing considering the economic times in this province and the fact that their sister restaurants have more reasonable pricing for the same wines.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A real gem. Excellent server, well paced service and a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! Had dinner before going to the theatre; great food and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I don't know why but I love this restaurant... the service is sooo slow. This is the second time I have allowed 2 hours before the CPO and had to rush before deserts were even offer. We have had 6 people both times, maybe that was the problem. The food is amazing! Wine menu isn't as extensive as I thought but, fine. I am a foody and will definitely go back, maybe with fewer people. One more try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I drive from Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta often just to dine. A relaxing, welcoming and yet intimate surrounding in the heart of the City I used to call home. Found the establishment by accident and it is now an establishment I can escape and relax. Service is outstanding and very accommodating.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A favourite restaurant of mine for all occasions, lunch and dinner. Back for lunch this time and shared the tempura green beens - excellent. Great munchie before my main course, which was the Lyonnaise Salad. Fairly forgettable. Could have used some truffle oil to give it some kick; otherwise it was mostly just a green salad with lardons (bacon), plain vinaigrette and a poached egg. My rating reflects just the last visit and not others, which have generally been better food-wise.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great night out downtown. It doesn't happen too often but I am glad we chose Divino. Lots of great menu choices!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great service, great wine and cheese selection. The Bison Tartare was amazing and our server did an excellent job pairing the wine. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wine was amazing. Food was delicious and portions were abundant. Service was stellar - our server even worked with the bartender to create a cocktail we love that was not on their list, and it was great! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful service , knowledgable server and amazing food

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was great but they were short staffed and we went over 20 minutes between our plates being cleared and seeing our server again. Not acceptable on a $300 bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service was fabulous as always.
Excellent wine selection.
Cheese plate had several options and was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Have been going to Divinos since started with chef Danny Lamote in the Grain Exchange. Almost 30 years later, part of CRMR and just down the block, but has somehow managed to retain the ambiance and food that made it a go-to nearly 30 years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

phil our server was awesome , knowledgeable, efficient , pleasant. Quality and selection of food was excellent .We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an excellent time for Nee Years Eve Dinner with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.