About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro
Hazelnut Basque Cake
Sweetbreads
Truffled Fried Egg With Green Beans, Olive And Truffle Salad
Lamb Sirloin
Seafood Chowder
Chicken Breast, Chicken Leg Confit And Polenta
Pommes Frites
Bean Tempura Appetizer
Lamb Confit Sandwich
Pork Belly

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Fit for Foodies (38)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I go to Divino every coup ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I go to Divino every couple of months because we've really enjoyed the service and quality of food. The portions aren't huge, but we realize there's a element of atmosphere and service for which we're paying. Although our food was tasty last night, the minuscule accompaniments to our mains were completely unacceptable - a fraction of what they have been in the past. Three tablespoons of squash and four potato chips?! I always look forward to the risotto with the salmon, but last night there was barely enough for four bites. It's RICE - it's not going to bankrupt the restaurant to give a person a decent-sized portion. Leaving a restaurant nearly as hungry as we were when we came in and a good chunk of change lighter is not a positive experience. No thank you, and no more Divino for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I have dined here many times and this wa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have dined here many times and this was before theatre this past weekend. Our server was very attentive and asked if we were attending theatre before she took our order. She also cautioned us about items requiring longer prep time. I had the red snapper for the first time and can't wait to go back for it again.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy an evening at Divino.... ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always enjoy an evening at Divino.... Food is good, as is the wine.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff at Divino was lovely. I e-mail ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The staff at Divino was lovely. I e-mailed them in advance and told them I had food allergies (soy, eggs and fish). They made sure there was something I could eat on their menu, and when I ordered the cheese, they provided apple slices instead of the bread, because the bread had eggs in it. Truly exceptional service and one of the best and most delicious meals of my life.

They have an excellent wine list and the mussels and bison tartare are amazing. I am definitely going again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was its usual high quality. Howeve ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was its usual high quality. However, the main course took close to an hour...which was unacceptable for the price. May have lost loyal customers. No explanation or apology by management was given but acknowledgement by servers that the food was taking an exceptionally long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Having been to Divino before I can say i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Having been to Divino before I can say it is a great restaurant, but this was not a stellar experience. Parking downtown was a nightmare (not their fault) so we were late, but that was ok as there was plenty of open tables. We were seated near the bar at a quiet table, but it appeared that we didn't have a server, as we had multiple people stop by and not no one really seemed to take ownership of our needs.

The beer was not great (draft IPA for $13) and the ceasar wasn't great either. The tempura green beans which are normally fantastic were crazy salty (more than the ceasar which is saying something). Our pastas were both was fantastic. We skipped dessert as nothing seemed to tickle our fancy.

The biggest turn off was the poor service. Not sure if the bartender was supposed to be looking after us or what happened because he clearly was not interested in serving us and it took a very long time for plates to be cleared and the check to arrive. It is likely we will go back, but if the service doesn't improve next time, that will be it. Their prices indicate you should receive better service than what we experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is good here but a bit pricey o ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is good here but a bit pricey overall, Six dollars for tap water was a bit excessive. We ordered wine and they had to be reminded after 20 minutes to bring it. Staff very friendly just slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Haven't been in year. Maybe a bad night ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Haven't been in year. Maybe a bad night but feel like things have slipped - food, energy and menu. Too bad - was a favourite for a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

SLOW. Second lunch in three weeks with i ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

SLOW. Second lunch in three weeks with incredibly slow service. Being downtown one would expect that the staff would recognize that people have a limited amount of time, yet for the second time in a row our meals arrived after 1:00 even though we arrived at 11:45 and ordered fairly promptly. On a weekend, no problem. During a weekday, problem!

The room is nice and the food decent. If it weren't so slow I'd return more often but I can't afford a two hour lunch often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We chose this restaurant based on the po ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the posted menu and were not disappointed at all. We were really surprised with the green bean tempura side. This started the meal off in a great way.

The taste and presentation of the food was awesome. What really impressed me was the fact that the food was served with time in between each course. We did not feel rushed in any way.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, with an attentive and ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent service, with an attentive and efficient server. A little slow waiting for courses to be served, but acceptable non-rushed atmosphere.

I had the stuffed chicken thighs. They were overcooked, dry and all the taste was of herbs. Expected more flavor and my fault for not complaining.

Someone else had the halibut special. Strong smoky flavor, which was not what one wants with such a delicate fish.

I had the foie gras ravioli. To die for!!

Overall, a good dining experience, although disappointed with the mains.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently good food, charged $2 per p ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Consistently good food, charged $2 per person for water both still and sparkling which is dissapointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Hood food but has breached the too expen ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Hood food but has breached the too expensive mark, even with an expense account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Divino never disappoints. Always great s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Divino never disappoints. Always great service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in the city! Food quali ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best restaurant in the city! Food quality, and service are always at the highest levels. Never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience. Excellent. Near the open kitch ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Ambience. Excellent. Near the open kitchen, and those guys are pros.

Food. Excellent. No matter what we choose, always excellent.

Service. Spot on. Not only our server, but everyone. Always paying attention.

One of our favourite spots, always looking forward to returning the minute we leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was above av ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was very good, service was above average, prices were high but not overly so. Why am I not more upbeat? Feel a bit cheated with the $2 glass of water. Sort of like a bitter aftertaste after a very good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Please consider lowering your price, $60 ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Please consider lowering your price, $60 lunch is unreasonable in the current conditions.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

My guests always enjoy their meal! Custo ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My guests always enjoy their meal! Customer service is always exceptional.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an outstanding experience! Nancy ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was an outstanding experience! Nancy has bee my server for years and she is always fabulous!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than just a wine and cheese bar. Gr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

More than just a wine and cheese bar. Great selection of small plates as well as entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was exceptional! Always have a ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was exceptional! Always have a wonderful lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Took Japanese friends here for dinner, had never been before just went by the reviews on Open Table and have to say food was excellent as was the really great waiter. Live out of the City and

don't go to the downtown area very much and this was a gem of a place. Portions are not large

but quality is very good, place was packed and buzzing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good. However it is expensive. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food is good. However it is expensive. They really should stop this policy about charging for water. Especially when the customers are drinking something else as well. It's not the amount, its the principle. I will recommend the restaurant for it's good food, but will warn people on the cost. I personally won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

As per usual, everything was great. Bee ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

As per usual, everything was great. Been to Divino many times and look forward to our next visit... Thank You...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really , charging for still water $2.00 ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Really , charging for still water $2.00 a glass, we had 5 people total $12.00 for water not even from original bottle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Divino is consistently one of my favouri ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Divino is consistently one of my favourite restaurants. They have a world class wine list and friendly knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic lunch spot

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Had lunch here last week and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Service was a bit slow but I think they wanted us to hang out and enjoy. I'd highly recommend Divino to others. Try the tempura beans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Erin was the best server anyone could ask for!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We ordered the salmon which was amazing. All the staff were so lovely and Erin is the best server anyone could ask for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This has been our favorite restaurant in Calgary for many years. The wine list is excellent, the food is great and the service is exceptional. The location is good and easy to get to on the C-train. My only negative is that many of the tables are quite small, not much elbow room.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went there to celebrate the end of my school year. It was the second time my husband took me there. I love their cheese and wine. The portions are small and nicely presented . Hard to overeat and I like it. A bit too noisy because of the kitchen but you still can hear each other. This is a great place in my opinion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well served

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server really looked after us. He recommended wines, appys and best deals. He was attentive and efficient--knowledgeable and believable. We were not rushed and had a really nice time in a relaxed and elegant setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-standing restaurant still top-notch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Divino Has been around for a long time and we haven't been there probably for the last decade. However the menu looked really good so we wandered down there after attending a function at the conference Centre. In short, the food was spectacularly good, the service was attentive, and the venue is very pleasant and easy to carry on a conversation in. I had the duck, which was excellent and better than the really nice duck I had in France last year. My wife had the lamb sirloin, an unusual cut asshe is mostly used to loin and rack, but it also was quite excellent and was done as the restaurant recommended. The Apple Tartin was top-notch for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday celebration

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food and great service, will keep coming back. Reminds me of a real French Brasserie. I would say this is the only one that comes close to it in Calgary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible waiters - so slow

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Terrible waiters - so slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Good cheese menu options served with fig ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Good cheese menu options served with fig jam and plenty of bread - refills of both on rrqurst

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant never disappoints

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Firstly, shout out to our server, as it was the best dinner service i've had in some time now.

Also, the cheese plate we had was a great value and delicious.

The Rib steak was delicious, the Salmon was cooked to perfection. We could have had a second basket of the tempura green beans.

Its a great room too.

Oh! And good wine selection and not grossly overpriced.

Go there....be happy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Divino!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I enjoy your atmosphere and the consistency of your service and food and YUMMY wine!

Great location for a business meeting as well as a special occasion dinner or meal sharing with friends. It can also be a quaint and cozy place for romantic dinner!

Your cheese board in THE best in this city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

 
 (Saskatchewan)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

This restaurant is in a great location, but to get to it, you have to walk past several other excellent restaurants, including a steak house. I received some good natured teasing as we walked to the door as everyone said that "This place better be good if we are giving up a steak house." At the end of the night, everyone agreed that it was worth it. Great food, great drinks and a really great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice before Theatre Calgary...th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great choice before Theatre Calgary...they always ensure that you have a lovely unrushed meal and are out in good time for curtain call.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.