About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Hazelnut Basque Cake - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Sweetbreads - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Truffled Fried Egg With Green Beans, Olive And Truffle Salad - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Lamb Sirloin - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Seafood Chowder - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Chicken Breast, Chicken Leg Confit And Polenta - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Pommes Frites - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Bean Tempura Appetizer - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Lamb Confit Sandwich - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB
Pork Belly - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, Calgary, AB

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really good. It's not inexp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was really good. It's not inexpensive but overall quality is good. The server seems surprised that we wanted bread but when it did come it was good. The seafood chowder was delicious, not too heavy and the seafood was done just right.

The open kitchen at the end of the night was very smoky. If you don't want to smell like you cooked a meal, better get a table towards the back of the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was excellent. Relaxed dinin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was excellent. Relaxed dining not rushed to order or eat. Very good wine recommendations. The mussels were excellent, seafood chowder was rich and full, and the Pork roast was tender and juicy. Pasta dish was nice but nothing unusual. Have been there many times and will return.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to have a nice dinner with go ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good place to have a nice dinner with good battle of wine

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hadn't been in many years and we were pl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hadn't been in many years and we were pleasantly surprised at the deliciousness of every course! True French cuisine...all tasted delicious and authentic! No small plates crap! Onion soup was perfect! I had the best duck that I've had in years in a gorgeous raspberry so jus! The mussels were divine! Amazing food, staff and ambiance! Real authentic French cuisine with no odd sidebar fusion crap! We had aioli with our frites and my god...it was actual aioli!!! The kitchen sink was NOT in it! Tasted like what we've always had in France! Good, ethnic cuisine! We will be going back again and again and so on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a lovely time. Wine, cheese, oli ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have a lovely time. Wine, cheese, olives and pasta what more could you ask for

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent (both times - ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was excellent (both times - we went back later in the same night for dessert). Both servers knew the menus and made wonderful recommendations when asked. The cheese plate is fantastic, as were the desserts. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino is one of the very few restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Divino is one of the very few restaurants in Calgary where you can count on your dining experience being consistently positive. They deliver excellent food, a creative menu, good wine selection, tables that are big enough to be comfortable, servers who know their menu and an atmosphere that makes conversation possible. They have done so since the last millenium. :)

A small recommendation: flag the gluten free items on the menu, this will prevent gluten sensitive patrons from setting their heart on an item only to have to select something else...it will also save serving staff valuable time.

We had tartare, lamb shanks, snapper and salmon and we were all suitably pleased. We wanted the rabbit meetballs, unfortunately they are gluten laden as are the quails. Oh well...the tartare was a worthy replacement.

Once again, well done Divino!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite lunch or dinner spot ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

One of our favorite lunch or dinner spots - chicken salad didn't disappoint, frites were nice and crispy, lamb sandwich was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Mussels and frites were exce ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food. Mussels and frites were exceptional. Salmon was delicious. Don't forget to try the tempura green beans. Great downtown location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious! I went on a Satu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious! I went on a Saturday night for a birthday, and no one in my table complained about the taste. The second course has pretty small servings, so if you're hungry I would suggest to also get a first course. I had the Brussel Sprouts for my first course, and the Black Pepper Linguine for my second course.

The kitchen forgot about my first course, so I ended up getting it for free because I got it around 5-10 minutes after everyone else. The server I had was new, but he wasn't sure about the menu. He didn't know if birthday dessert was free or not.

The food was very good, even though it was pricey. I'd recommend this place for special occasions or anniversaries. I wish the service was better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Came in for a pre-show meal with friends ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came in for a pre-show meal with friends. Great service, food and wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is always a treat dining at Divino, c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It is always a treat dining at Divino, consistantly one of Calgary's top venues for business or pleasure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was among the most apathetic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service was among the most apathetic and slow I have seen. An expected 60-75 minute business lunch turned into a 90 minute marathon, with both of us so distracted by the fact empty food plates remained on our table for 15 minutes after we were finished that we quickly dispensed with the idea of after lunch coffee or dessert. The most frustrating thing was the restaurant was not busy. Our waitress had 3 tables to deal with -- one can only imagine the utter carnage that we would have experienced if she actually had other tables to serve.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fabulous meal and excellent, thoughtful, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fabulous meal and excellent, thoughtful, personal service. Best dinner out in a long time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An all-time favourite no more. Ridiculou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An all-time favourite no more. Ridiculously high prices, for food and especially wine. Tiny portions. Food itself less creative than I've ever seen it. Luckily, still very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Our server was excellent at suggesting w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was excellent at suggesting wine pairings, etc. He made our dinner a very enjoyable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server, but 3 of the 4 diners had ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great server, but 3 of the 4 diners had legitimate complaints about their meals. What once was my favourite restaurant in Calgary is now an establishment I will never visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent food excellent service I would ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent food excellent service

I would definitely recommend this place to anybody looking for a place that won't let you down.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were great. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food and the service were great. The server was friendly and knowledgeable. We ordered Mussels & Frites, Suckling Pig and Spaghettini. They were good. Would like to come and try their soup and cheese.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was friendly and professional. I ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was friendly and professional. I was surprised at how fast our food came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Needed to move tables. Was originally se ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Needed to move tables. Was originally seated beside very loud crude drunks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

The food and the service was amazing.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and the service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 4 of us were highly disappointed as ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The 4 of us were highly disappointed as we had theatre tickets and needed to be out of the restaurant by a certain time. I read the reviews that said if you tell the server/host that you have theatre tickets they will provide efficient service and get you out on time which I did. We arrived on time for our reservation (75 minutes before we had to leave), had to grab the server after waiting 10 minutes, ordered all our drinks, appetizers and meals at once to avoid any concern. After receiving our drinks and appetizers, we waited an additional 30+ minutes to get our entree, and had to go to the bar to order a 2nd drink. the server never once came to our table after the initial order to check in on us (he did fill our water glasses). We had to gulp down our entree which was too bad as the food was delicious and expensive to rush through. The manage said our food was delayed because we ordered an entree that takes longer but that doesn't add up (I believe the server forgot to input our entree and even if the entree takes a long time, they knew we were on a time constraint and should have advised us of that) Even though the manager comped our appetizers, we would have much preferred to pay for our entire meal and had better service that was on time, as it impacted our entire evening. To their credit, the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was exquisite – the duck was fl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was exquisite – the duck was flavorful and perhaps the best I have ever had, while my wife loved the salmon. Great wine selection and desserts

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were attending a theatre presentation ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We were attending a theatre presentation and decided to have dinner here first. Was an excellent choice as we were within distance of the theatre. Menu was very good, service excellent and prompt. All around very good experience. Will definitely return another time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic meal as always. I have been h ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fantastic meal as always. I have been here at least 50 times and the food and service are consistently EXCELLENT.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service, Nice Atmosph ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent Food and Service, Nice Atmosphere, Good Restaurant Establishment with history in Calgary since it was on 1st Street SW a long time ago, Give it a try.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were strolling along Stephen Avenue l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were strolling along Stephen Avenue looking for the perfect dining experience for our one and only evening in Calgary following a fabulous week in Banff before our return to Connecticut. We spied Divino's menu and that was that! From appetizer, entree to dessert, each was not only beautifully presented but reflected a master chef's touch. Our server was attentive, knowledgeable and paired our wines perfectly. The ambiance was cozy, relaxing and welcoming. We couldn't have envisioned a better evening. Oh Canada!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Divino is always a good place to go down ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Divino is always a good place to go downtown. It has consistently had very good food, friendly service and a wine list that will not break the bank. If you want to step up, the wine list is there to allow you to do so. We like to go before the theatre. The staff, if informed upon arrival, will work to get you off to the theatre on time. The Pepper soup, Seafood Linguini and Salmon were hits amongst our group. The caramel sponge cup hit the mark and all of would highly recommend it.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Did not appreciate being charged for Sti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Did not appreciate being charged for Still Water. Sparkling I get but they should not be charging for still and was the downer on the dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a friend visiting from Vancouver a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I had a friend visiting from Vancouver and recommended Divino - everything from the service, to the appetizers, main meal and drinks right through to dessert was great and she loved it! thanks for making me look good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Organic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good as always, however th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food was very good as always, however the service was rather dishevelled. Our group of 4 ordered appetizers, but 2 of us got ours long before the others did (~10+ mins). When the appetizers finally came, one of our servers (3 in total!) took all the menus and utensils away. When she came back to order our main courses, we needed to remind her that we had no menus to order from. I'd best describe the experience as "clumsy".

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server was very pleasant. Knew the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our server was very pleasant. Knew the menu and wine list very well and was able to give recommendations.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent food and wine. love the ambia ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 30, 2016

excellent food and wine. love the ambiance in this open kitchen restaurant as it feels more upscale than many. food was very good and the atmosphere was great for a group of women to get together.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of our go to restaurants. Excellent ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

One of our go to restaurants. Excellent service, food, atmosphere. Top notch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I go to Divino every coup ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I go to Divino every couple of months because we've really enjoyed the service and quality of food. The portions aren't huge, but we realize there's a element of atmosphere and service for which we're paying. Although our food was tasty last night, the minuscule accompaniments to our mains were completely unacceptable - a fraction of what they have been in the past. Three tablespoons of squash and four potato chips?! I always look forward to the risotto with the salmon, but last night there was barely enough for four bites. It's RICE - it's not going to bankrupt the restaurant to give a person a decent-sized portion. Leaving a restaurant nearly as hungry as we were when we came in and a good chunk of change lighter is not a positive experience. No thank you, and no more Divino for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I have dined here many times and this wa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have dined here many times and this was before theatre this past weekend. Our server was very attentive and asked if we were attending theatre before she took our order. She also cautioned us about items requiring longer prep time. I had the red snapper for the first time and can't wait to go back for it again.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy an evening at Divino.... ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always enjoy an evening at Divino.... Food is good, as is the wine.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Divino's is always a 5-star performance. ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Divino's is always a 5-star performance. Amazing that they have been so consistently good for so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff at Divino was lovely. I e-mail ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The staff at Divino was lovely. I e-mailed them in advance and told them I had food allergies (soy, eggs and fish). They made sure there was something I could eat on their menu, and when I ordered the cheese, they provided apple slices instead of the bread, because the bread had eggs in it. Truly exceptional service and one of the best and most delicious meals of my life.

They have an excellent wine list and the mussels and bison tartare are amazing. I am definitely going again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.