About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro
Hazelnut Basque Cake
Sweetbreads
Truffled Fried Egg With Green Beans, Olive And Truffle Salad
Lamb Sirloin
Chicken Breast, Chicken Leg Confit And Polenta
Seafood Chowder
Lamb Confit Sandwich
Pommes Frites
Bean Tempura Appetizer
Pork Belly

Promotions

Divino Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Divino Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Join us Monday to Friday from 3:00pm - 6:00pm for Happy Hour. Each week, our Wine Director selects 4 wines that will be available for $9 a glass. To pair with your wine, our cheese boards are half price during Happy Hour. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 21, 2016 - Jul 21, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

fit for foodies (63)
notable wine list (47)
special occasion (37)
See All
great for lunch (32)
romantic (26)
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My guests always enjoy their meal! Custo ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

My guests always enjoy their meal! Customer service is always exceptional.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an outstanding experience! Nancy ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was an outstanding experience! Nancy has bee my server for years and she is always fabulous!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was exceptional! Always have a ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was exceptional! Always have a wonderful lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on May 28, 2016

Took Japanese friends here for dinner, had never been before just went by the reviews on Open Table and have to say food was excellent as was the really great waiter. Live out of the City and don't go to the downtown area very much and this was a gem of a place. Portions are not large but quality is very good, place was packed and buzzing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Food is good. However it is expensive. T ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food is good. However it is expensive. They really should stop this policy about charging for water. Especially when the customers are drinking something else as well. It's not the amount, its the principle. I will recommend the restaurant for it's good food, but will warn people on the cost. I personally won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As per usual, everything was great. Bee ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

As per usual, everything was great. Been to Divino many times and look forward to our next visit... Thank You...

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Really , charging for still water $2.00 ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Really , charging for still water $2.00 a glass, we had 5 people total $12.00 for water not even from original bottle

food5
ambience5
service5

Divino is consistently one of my favouri ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Divino is consistently one of my favourite restaurants. They have a world class wine list and friendly knowledgeable staff.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic lunch spot

Dined on May 16, 2016

Had lunch here last week and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Service was a bit slow but I think they wanted us to hang out and enjoy. I'd highly recommend Divino to others. Try the tempura beans!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erin was the best server anyone could ask for!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We ordered the salmon which was amazing. All the staff were so lovely and Erin is the best server anyone could ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on May 8, 2016

This has been our favorite restaurant in Calgary for many years. The wine list is excellent, the food is great and the service is exceptional. The location is good and easy to get to on the C-train. My only negative is that many of the tables are quite small, not much elbow room.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went there to celebrate the end of my school year. It was the second time my husband took me there. I love their cheese and wine. The portions are small and nicely presented . Hard to overeat and I like it. A bit too noisy because of the kitchen but you still can hear each other. This is a great place in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well served

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server really looked after us. He recommended wines, appys and best deals. He was attentive and efficient--knowledgeable and believable. We were not rushed and had a really nice time in a relaxed and elegant setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Long-standing restaurant still top-notch

Dined on April 27, 2016

Divino Has been around for a long time and we haven't been there probably for the last decade. However the menu looked really good so we wandered down there after attending a function at the conference Centre. In short, the food was spectacularly good, the service was attentive, and the venue is very pleasant and easy to carry on a conversation in. I had the duck, which was excellent and better than the really nice duck I had in France last year. My wife had the lamb sirloin, an unusual cut asshe is mostly used to loin and rack, but it also was quite excellent and was done as the restaurant recommended. The Apple Tartin was top-notch for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food and great service, will keep coming back. Reminds me of a real French Brasserie. I would say this is the only one that comes close to it in Calgary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Terrible waiters - so slow

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Terrible waiters - so slow

food5
ambience5
service5

Good cheese menu options served with fig ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Good cheese menu options served with fig jam and plenty of bread - refills of both on rrqurst

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints

Dined on April 3, 2016

Firstly, shout out to our server, as it was the best dinner service i've had in some time now. Also, the cheese plate we had was a great value and delicious. The Rib steak was delicious, the Salmon was cooked to perfection. We could have had a second basket of the tempura green beans. Its a great room too. Oh! And good wine selection and not grossly overpriced. Go there....be happy

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Divino!

Dined on April 1, 2016

I enjoy your atmosphere and the consistency of your service and food and YUMMY wine! Great location for a business meeting as well as a special occasion dinner or meal sharing with friends. It can also be a quaint and cozy place for romantic dinner! Your cheese board in THE best in this city!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on March 31, 2016

This restaurant is in a great location, but to get to it, you have to walk past several other excellent restaurants, including a steak house. I received some good natured teasing as we walked to the door as everyone said that "This place better be good if we are giving up a steak house." At the end of the night, everyone agreed that it was worth it. Great food, great drinks and a really great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great choice before Theatre Calgary...th ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great choice before Theatre Calgary...they always ensure that you have a lovely unrushed meal and are out in good time for curtain call.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very Slow Service

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Not sure if because of the downturn and they cut back their staff. But our wine (& water) glasses would stay empty for 20 minutes at time, until we found our waiter. Food was good, but the food and beverage service were both dreadfully slow. I don't mind slower food service (within reason) if I'm drinking some good wine. But when my wine and water glasses are empty for most of the evening, it's not a good time (I just managed to get two glasses from them over our 3hr dinner, I certainly could have used one more!)

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Each course was excellent. The flavors a ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Each course was excellent. The flavors and plating were well thought of and executed beautifully. We will be going again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cheeze Please

Dined on March 17, 2016

We had an appetizer of a cheese plate and a glass of wine that was an excellent way to start the meal. The main course was also very good. Knowledgeable server made for a great experience recommending unique cheeses to go with our wine

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, great service

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

I usually have a tough time finding something I want to order at Divino. That's my problem, not yours. I'm a picky eater. That being said, I had a great meal at Divino the other night. We ordered the frites as an appetizer and then I had pasta for dinner; my wife had the rib-eye. Both were very good. The service was perfect. The wine list is a book so there's lots to choose from at the higher end. Recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service

Dined on March 16, 2016

I went for dinner with my mom here and as usual Divino did not disappoint. We shared a couple of the appetizers and a great cheese plate. Overall everything was delicious especially the mussels and eggplant chips. The service and wine were also wonderful. The only thing I would change is although the cheeses were delicious they came with a bread that had too much flavour of its own which overpowered and changed the cheese flavour. I will for sure be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Divino was Divine - once again

Dined on March 13, 2016

I have been to this restaurant a number of times over the years, and have never been disappointed. The service is always on point- the servers have great wine and menu suggestions and more than willing to accommodate guest needs. The only thing I wasn't a fan of this time was our table- we were against the wall across from the bar. I had brought my husband here for the first time and wanted him to be able to see the full restaurant and feel the vibe- but that wasn't really possible from where we were seated. Overall, you can't go wrong with this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Snobby servers

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We went for a friends birthday during big taste. The menu was great the wine was expensive and the service was pompous and underwhelming. He couldn't even throw a candle on her desert?? I will go back because the food was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Divino has been on my list of restaurant ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Divino has been on my list of restaurants to try for a few years and it did not disappoint! We went for the Big Taste menu - the braised bison was phenomenal. You also need to try the tempura green beans.

food3
ambience3
service3

Big Taste food portion was very small; i ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Big Taste food portion was very small; it's like I was eating tapas

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing

Dined on March 5, 2016

Wine and cheese that waiter recommend and choose for us, was great! We got big taste menu, it was great price and amazing foods. I highly recommend friends this place. And I will go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big Taste Menu at Divino's was a 'BIG taste'!

Dined on March 5, 2016

As we are season ticket holders for the CPO, Divino's is our preferred restaurant for pre-concert dinners because of the excellent food quality and proximity to the Arts Common. Their tempura green beans are a favourite. This last visit was during the Big Taste event. We arrived just before 6pm and were able to take advantage of their 'happy hour' cheese plate and wine offerings which were excellent value. We then enjoyed their $35 dinner offering of grilled tuna salad, beef shortrib and caramel creme dessert topped with sponge toffee. All menu items were excellent, however, the beef shortrib was definitely the best we have ever had! A light crispy coating on the exterior of the melt-in-your-mouth tender braised beef short rib, was a delightful surprise and really set it apart from all others! The service was exemplary. The male waiter was well versed in all the cheeses, the Big Taste menu items and wines as well. All in all, a simply fabulous experience. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Something different

Dined on March 5, 2016

Managing expectations can have a huge impact on customer experience. If you are looking for somewhere with cheap prices and a wide variety, keep looking. That said however, this restaurant does a great job at being exactly what it's supposed to be, a French bistro. The wine and cheese selections are fabulous and the food and service were second to none. A great place if you want to try something different from the ubiquitous steakhouses.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on February 28, 2016

Divino's has a great menu, wine list and delivered superb service. A new "go to" place in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is always good, this time we fo ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is always good, this time we found the foie gras ravioli to be far too salty, but everything else was as good as we have come to expect.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Too much salt

Dined on February 19, 2016

My wife and I had mussels and frites. I have raved about this dish for a long time - trying to get my wife out to try it. I had had the dish at lunchtime and thoroughly enjoyed it. On Thursday night we ate the mussels and found them extremely salty. The waiter took our concern to the kitchen. The chef said there was no extra salt. I cooked mussels on Friday and after a rinse did not find them nearly as salty as Divino's. Anyway after a long wait it was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks, as always a great experience. W ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Thanks, as always a great experience. We go to Duvino's once a month for an after work get together and it never fails to deliver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, but I have to say to pay $2/p ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Very good, but I have to say to pay $2/person for water is a bit much. They serve it in lovely (reusable) bottle and I am certain they carbonate it themselves. I think when you drop $90 for lunch for 2, you should not have to pay and additional $4 for water. Sorry folks, there's lots of good restaurants on the mall that don't charge for water. Won't be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Memorable evening...

Dined on February 15, 2016

As always Divino does not disappoint. Everything about Divino's is remarkable, Great food, service & ambience...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service - great food and atmos ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service - great food and atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.