Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

4.2
1247 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 410-5555
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Donovan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Centre Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1247 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Best Restaurant and staff in town. So Sad to see it close.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2017

Had to get one more last lunch at Divino before they close their doors. Sad to see them go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Apparently they're closing this Saturday. Very sad news

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Last meal at my favourite restaurant. You will be missed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent wine list. Ordered cheese sampler with wine - very, very good. The only negative was them having no patio room, but that is really not their fault. I did not care much for the interior hence 4-4.5 stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Divino's is one of my favourite restaurants in Calgary. Sorry to hear that they are closing down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

We had our wedding here one year ago and they were so easy to work with and very proffessional. The food was delicious and the upstairs was the perfect venue for our cocktail celebration . We came to celebrate our First anniversary and were treated like King and Queen. A very special thank you to Simone for our " gift" . Xoxo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2017

My favorite place in Calgary.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 10, 2017

We went there for a birthday, and noted it in the reservation. Not sure the pint of that as it was not acknowledged, not even a happy bday...lol. Food was decent, the portion that was not spilled on me. Also a little mishap with changing tables. Not terrible but probably would not return as there are much better choices out there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

A good experience for light dining with excellent shared plates available. a solid (but predictable) wine list. Well informed and helpful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

One of my favourite destinations on Stephen Avenue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Delicious charcuterie board, great atmosphere and impressive wine selection.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 30, 2017

It was alright. Wasn't blown away. There wasn't much too it. Was nice but I probably wouldn't return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 28, 2017

One of my favourite spots downtown. Good selection=menu options and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 22, 2017

Not the first time at Divino, at as previous opportunities, Service and Food did not disappoint. Great job there! On the drinks side, while the wine list is very good, the cocktail offer is poor, overly expensive and drinks are dull. So you better go for wine form the start, instead of expending your monies on cocktails.The restaurant itself looks a little tired and it would require some improvements, though. Looks old.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2017

We can't say enough about our 40th anniversary dinner visit at Divini. From the moment we walked we were welcomed and made to feel very special! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and even had the Bartender craft a special cocktail for me when I didn't really see what I wanted on the bar menu.
We took our time all evening and never felt rushed.
The charcuterie starter was amazing and our mains is duck breadt and AAA steak were over the top delicious.
We arrived at 5:30 and when we left at 8:00 it was just starting to get a little loud but in a busy, fun way.
We can't recommend Divini more highly and will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2017

We will truly miss you ! One if the best restaurants and gem in our city .

All the best to your staff in finding new homes and hope you start up again !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2017

Always one of our favourite places in Calgary. Great food, service and such an amazing wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2017

Good food but seriously small servings. I left the restaurant hungry

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2017

Pasta was really good but small portion and I'm not a big eater.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurant in Calgary and I am never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was good but don't think it quite warrants the prices . I object to paying 2 dollars for water when we are buying an expensive meal and expensive wine .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Been here a handful of times already and the food is always great. Cheese selections are awesome and go well with just about any wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2017

Divino is a favorite of mine. They serve great food, have a wonderful terrace and ambiance and their servers really know how to make you feel comfortable and well-looked after. Their wine selection, which varies regularly, is also outstanding. Had amazing moules and frittes paired with an amazing Viognier that our waitress recommended and could not have been happier. She was attentive, very knowledgeable and friendly and ensured our meal was served quickly as we were limited in time. Thank you for helping make our night special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

This is my sisters favourite restaurant but my first visit. I can see why she loves it! Our server was so friendly and very knowledgeable. She described the food so accurately. The choose your own cheese plate was so amazing. The rest of our food was just as good. I highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2017

Love sitting on their small but energetic patio on the vibrant Stephen Avenue. Great good, great service and killer Wine selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

We have enjoyed Divino pre theatre for several years. They have maintained good quality and service backed by a kitchen that cares about their products. The menu is updated often enough to feel fresh and is creative without being overly trendy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2017

Lots of good choices and unique in choice of ingredients and compositions. Unfortunately the 'suckling pig' was well, well, well done and tough, as was the ?bacon. The other meals were pretty good, aperitifs were very creative, wine choices were wonderful.
Good atmosphere, somewhat attentive service, and sometimes one wonders, if the price goes up, wether indeed the service should be more excelling than it did.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2017

Fantastic food the Servers were very friendly. Great location on 8Th AVE SW

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Ambiance great. Service ok. And wine list very pricey. A decent bottle of Chardonnay should NOT start at $100. I still don't think downtown Calgary restaurants have grasped the current economic situation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2017

This was a birthday dinner with my husband--our waitress was excellent!!Food was delicious! The tartare(bison??)was melt in your mouth and deliciously seasoned--the lamb was tender--however I felt the accompanying green vegetable was overspiced--(I would of preferred less heat ) My husband and I would definitely return!!The cheese and wine selection we're unsurpassed.The somnolier knowledgeable and gracious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2017

The food, the wine, the service were all top notch. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was fantastic. Wine list is great!! Server wasn't very friendly and it seemed as though we were an inconvenience. Perhaps because 3 of 4 of us did the Calgary Taste Menu? We will be back regardless, we love Devino.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious meal and lovely wine pairings but generally overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent ambiance and service. The food was fantastic as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2017

As good as always. Went for the BigTasteYYC. Awesome menu, attentive service, what a treat. They never disappoint.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely come back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. The menu was a little limited, however, it did cover most bases. The staff worked with us on a gluten free option.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server was very good. The Tempura green beans are amazing. The rest of the food was average at best, the risotto that came with the salmon was very under cooked.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by Permanently Closed - Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro