About Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro, part of Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts family of restaurants (crmr.com) remains an icon for downtown diners. Now in its 15th year, Divino continues to entertain patrons in the historic Calgary Wine and Spirits building on the Stephen Avenue Walk (8th Avenue S.W.).


As a modern bistro, Divino offers a comforting, pure cuisine in an upscale and energetic environment. Inspired by the traditional bistros that have thrived for decades throughout New York City, Divino has merged modern décor with a comforting bistro atmosphere and cuisine. Featuring the same wood-burning grill found at Gramercy Tavern in New York City and an award-winning international cheese and wine program, Divino has successfully integrated the distinctive American bistro style into Western Canada.


113 8 Ave Southwest
Calgary, AB T2P 1B4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 10:00pm,
Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Centre Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 410-5555

Website:
http://www.divinobistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in front after 6:00pm. Public parking lots within 2 blocks.

Public Transit:
LRT Station is 1 block away - behind the Hyatt Hotel on 7th Avenue S.W.

Executive Chef:
John Donovan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Divino offers a spacious and versatile facility that can accommodate a function of any size on any of our three levels. The STONE CELLAR in our lower level, SPIRITS ROOM on our second level and the main floor, BISTRO.

Divino Wine & Cheese Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A real gem. Excellent server, well pace ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

A real gem. Excellent server, well paced service and a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Had dinner before goin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! Had dinner before going to the theatre; great food and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I don't know why but I love this restaur ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I don't know why but I love this restaurant... the service is sooo slow. This is the second time I have allowed 2 hours before the CPO and had to rush before deserts were even offer. We have had 6 people both times, maybe that was the problem. The food is amazing! Wine menu isn't as extensive as I thought but, fine. I am a foody and will definitely go back, maybe with fewer people. One more try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

I drive from Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I drive from Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta often just to dine. A relaxing, welcoming and yet intimate surrounding in the heart of the City I used to call home. Found the establishment by accident and it is now an establishment I can escape and relax. Service is outstanding and very accommodating.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favourite restaurant of mine for all o ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A favourite restaurant of mine for all occasions, lunch and dinner. Back for lunch this time and shared the tempura green beens - excellent. Great munchie before my main course, which was the Lyonnaise Salad. Fairly forgettable. Could have used some truffle oil to give it some kick; otherwise it was mostly just a green salad with lardons (bacon), plain vinaigrette and a poached egg. My rating reflects just the last visit and not others, which have generally been better food-wise.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night out downtown. It doesn't hap ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great night out downtown. It doesn't happen too often but I am glad we chose Divino. Lots of great menu choices!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great wine and cheese sel ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great service, great wine and cheese selection. The Bison Tartare was amazing and our server did an excellent job pairing the wine. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine was amazing. Food was delicious and ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wine was amazing. Food was delicious and portions were abundant. Service was stellar - our server even worked with the bartender to create a cocktail we love that was not on their list, and it was great! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service , knowledgable server ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful service , knowledgable server and amazing food

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but they were short staff ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was great but they were short staffed and we went over 20 minutes between our plates being cleared and seeing our server again. Not acceptable on a $300 bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food and service was fabulous as always. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service was fabulous as always.

Excellent wine selection.

Cheese plate had several options and was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been going to Divinos since started ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Have been going to Divinos since started with chef Danny Lamote in the Grain Exchange. Almost 30 years later, part of CRMR and just down the block, but has somehow managed to retain the ambiance and food that made it a go-to nearly 30 years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

phil our server was awesome , knowledgea ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

phil our server was awesome , knowledgeable, efficient , pleasant. Quality and selection of food was excellent .We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an excellent time for Nee Years E ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an excellent time for Nee Years Eve Dinner with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was amazing, I would ju ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall the food was amazing, I would just stay away from the Bone-In Alberta AAA Rib Steak.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always, great food, great s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent as always, great food, great service. Great location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, loved the Rougie ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, loved the Rougie Duck Breast. Libby our server was fantastic and the wine options were superb. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favourite downtown restaurant for be ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our favourite downtown restaurant for before theatre dining.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and a number of gluten fr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food and a number of gluten free options. We started off with a cheese plate of five different cheeses. I highly recommend this; all five cheeses were excellent. The chicken Cobb salad was a pleasure in both presentation and flavour. Main course was the salmon dish done perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was on point. We had the Duck & the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was on point. We had the Duck & the Lamb - both excellent choices! Excellent service. Our server was a great source for food & wine pairing. Definitely be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great meal. We had the best wa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was a great meal. We had the best waiter ever. Thanks for being so good at serving and knowing the menu and the food.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to restaurant for a speci ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant for a special night out. The food is always excellent, as is the service. It is in the theatre district so is perfect before a concert or play and they always make sure we get out the door on time for the performance. Even in the present depressed economic climate the restaurant is still busy, which indicates to us that our view is shared by others. The only reason I did not give it completely 5 stars is the noise level, but as it is in an old building there is not much that can be done about that. A restaurant choice that does not disappoint.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took one of our biggest clients here o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I took one of our biggest clients here on a recommendation, I was overall happy with this meal and would rate my overall experience an 8/10. As a Construction professional I would change a few small things that would help with sound transfer as we found it to be a bit noisy. Easy fix with some sound dampening panels.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of my favorite restaurant in YYC! Gr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 8, 2016

One of my favorite restaurant in YYC! Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always had a great experience durin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have always had a great experience during lunch. Went at 6pm before a show that started at 8. Took 1.5 hours for our entrees to arrive, two entrees of suckling pig were over cooked. Waiter was nowhere to be found to reorder drinks or get water refilled. Overall service was poor. Would not go to dinner if you plan on attending a show afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent wine selection and good choice ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent wine selection and good choice under $100

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Divino continues to be one of my favorit ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Divino continues to be one of my favorite downtown venues. Great wines, great food and lively atmosphere in a cozy historical building.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Another lovely evening at Divino! Went ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Another lovely evening at Divino! Went there with my BFF before the theatre. Shared the mussels and a bottle of wine...yum and yum! Our dinner choices were the lamb shank and the duck breast...perfection!! Too full for a sweet treat to complete the evening but will try to leave room next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love this place. The food, the sm ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always love this place. The food, the smell of a wood burning fire, the atmosphere and the service are always spot on. One of my favorite go tos in downtown Calgary for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waiter was very helpful. The most t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our waiter was very helpful. The most traditional dish on the menu (chicken) was, as promised, delicious!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was really good. It's not inexp ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was really good. It's not inexpensive but overall quality is good. The server seems surprised that we wanted bread but when it did come it was good. The seafood chowder was delicious, not too heavy and the seafood was done just right.

The open kitchen at the end of the night was very smoky. If you don't want to smell like you cooked a meal, better get a table towards the back of the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was excellent. Relaxed dinin ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was excellent. Relaxed dining not rushed to order or eat. Very good wine recommendations. The mussels were excellent, seafood chowder was rich and full, and the Pork roast was tender and juicy. Pasta dish was nice but nothing unusual. Have been there many times and will return.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to have a nice dinner with go ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good place to have a nice dinner with good battle of wine

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hadn't been in many years and we were pl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hadn't been in many years and we were pleasantly surprised at the deliciousness of every course! True French cuisine...all tasted delicious and authentic! No small plates crap! Onion soup was perfect! I had the best duck that I've had in years in a gorgeous raspberry so jus! The mussels were divine! Amazing food, staff and ambiance! Real authentic French cuisine with no odd sidebar fusion crap! We had aioli with our frites and my god...it was actual aioli!!! The kitchen sink was NOT in it! Tasted like what we've always had in France! Good, ethnic cuisine! We will be going back again and again and so on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a lovely time. Wine, cheese, oli ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have a lovely time. Wine, cheese, olives and pasta what more could you ask for

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent (both times - ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was excellent (both times - we went back later in the same night for dessert). Both servers knew the menus and made wonderful recommendations when asked. The cheese plate is fantastic, as were the desserts. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino is one of the very few restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Divino is one of the very few restaurants in Calgary where you can count on your dining experience being consistently positive. They deliver excellent food, a creative menu, good wine selection, tables that are big enough to be comfortable, servers who know their menu and an atmosphere that makes conversation possible. They have done so since the last millenium. :)

A small recommendation: flag the gluten free items on the menu, this will prevent gluten sensitive patrons from setting their heart on an item only to have to select something else...it will also save serving staff valuable time.

We had tartare, lamb shanks, snapper and salmon and we were all suitably pleased. We wanted the rabbit meetballs, unfortunately they are gluten laden as are the quails. Oh well...the tartare was a worthy replacement.

Once again, well done Divino!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite lunch or dinner spot ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

One of our favorite lunch or dinner spots - chicken salad didn't disappoint, frites were nice and crispy, lamb sandwich was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Mussels and frites were exce ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food. Mussels and frites were exceptional. Salmon was delicious. Don't forget to try the tempura green beans. Great downtown location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious! I went on a Satu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious! I went on a Saturday night for a birthday, and no one in my table complained about the taste. The second course has pretty small servings, so if you're hungry I would suggest to also get a first course. I had the Brussel Sprouts for my first course, and the Black Pepper Linguine for my second course.

The kitchen forgot about my first course, so I ended up getting it for free because I got it around 5-10 minutes after everyone else. The server I had was new, but he wasn't sure about the menu. He didn't know if birthday dessert was free or not.

The food was very good, even though it was pricey. I'd recommend this place for special occasions or anniversaries. I wish the service was better.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.