Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Divino Italian Restaurant

Divino is a family owned restaurant and wine bar specializing in honest regional Italian food. Since 2000, neighborhood foodies and Italophiles have flocked to the casual/chic Montrose hideaway for handmade pastas, exquisite local seafood and innovative dishes like Crispy Pork Shoulder with Green Apple Risotto and Pickled Celery Root. The eclectic wine list features 30 wines by the glass with very low mark-ups. The list is predominantly Italian and celebrates not only the classic regions of Tuscany and Piemonte but also the more obscure wines of Alto Adige all the way to Sicily.

1830 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhead

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 807-1123

Website:
http://www.divinohouston.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in two private lots in front of and adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for up to 30 in the elegant, wood-accented wine cellar. Special menus are available. Audio visual facilities provided for business presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick McCray: (713) 807-1123

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Divino Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (7)
Private Room (7)
Romantic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoyable .... best lasagne in town

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We have not been there for a while and are very pleased with the evening- great food and service with a nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I'm Italian, and this place serves delicious, authentic cuisine. They also have excellent service with helping you understand how the dish is made and they're so attentive they made each of my guests feel special. My goodness...it's on my personal favorite list for entertaining special guests as well as casual get together s with people I love.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is a diamond in our neighborhood that has lots of options. Wish we would have tried it sooner. It will become a favorite. The food and service was excellent. The owner personnally stopped by our table.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful service, wonderful food, and highly recommend for a special evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time there. Outstanding meals: lamb, scallops, filet, veal. All worth reordering in the future. Excellent wine suggestions. Will return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Divino is a favorite of ours. We've been coming here since the first week they opened and never tire of it. The good quality and wine list has been just getting better and better. It's a neighborhood gem. I've never had a bad meal here.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Divino is a phenomenal local establishment with divine food, incredible ambiance, and a truly extensive wine list! This place is my favorite restaurant in Houston and has been for 10 years! There is not a bad thing on the menu!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great once again. Squid ink risotto with frutti di mare.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful as always. Pork tenderloin with beans a classical Tuscan dish. Wonderful mushroom ravioli in truffle broth as appetizer. A special Chardonnay from Lazio, Italy

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great Italian food with fresh ingredients and a very good wine list. Wines are priced at a small markup to retail, unlike many restaurants that more than double retail pricing. Service was attentive and personable. The Osso Bucco (which somtimes needs special order in advance) was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great Italian wine selections. Food was good, could have more vegetarian options. Overall it was a nice setting for a casual meal together.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The lasagna was very good. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the food preparation and attentative. The bread was good, but would have been better served warm. Overall, a good dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Divino's is our go-to place for a great meal in a quiet setting. The service is excellent and the food very consistent. And they have a great wine menu, too!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

2nd visit. Food well below 1st visit. Wish I'd ordered soup. Unbelievable large portion of "greens" served with entree. Fluff or a masking device? Probably won't go back

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The menu choices were varied and our meals were excellent. I loved the quiet atmosphere, we could actually visit with our friends. Highly recommend for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fabulous food; great atmosphere! Waiter not too attentive, but everything else was great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Lovely food. Impeccable service. Fabulous Cava by the glass. Only fault, and not really the restaurant's fault, was an obnoxious patron behind us talking on a cellphone in an otherwise quiet, calm environment.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The Italian restaurant we contacted first was entirely booked for a private party, so friends from the area suggested Divino. I'm so glad they did. What a find! A comfortable gem - with terrific food, attentive and unobtrusive service, and an atmosphere conducive to carrying on a conversation - made the evening a delight. I've already told friends about what a great dinner we had -- my pappardelle with oxtail ragu was delicious. We'll be making the drive into town again for the wonderful Italian dishes and quiet ambience. Our compliments to the chef!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the dinner. The selection was wonderful for us, something different and delicious for each of the four friends. The special appetizer of fried oysters with slivered fennel and celery on greens was a surprising taste combination and we all were able to share and enjoy. Lovely wine selection. Comfortable atmosphere. Appropriately attentive and friendly wait staff. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nothing bad at Divino's......just nothing special. Convenient on site parking and a nice quiet place to talk. I had the snapper special over risotto and my husband had the lamb shank. All in all the food was good and the service good. Again, nothing special. Probably won't return, too many other restaurants in Houston to try.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Enjoyed lovely opportunity to relax and talk with delicious Italian food and wine

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

enjoyed the evening and food will return very soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic dinner one again. Pappardelle with veal bolognese outstanding. Salmon always wonderfully prepared. Had a great bottle of Nino Neri Sforzato della Valtellina. Wine list is exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Sommelier/Owner had an excellent wine recommendation that didn't break the bank. We will definitely be headed back soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice spot but, service was shaky, and food was mediocre. The location and private parking lot is very good. Our waiter seemed to be the only waiter for our side of the restraunt and took about 15 mins to ask if we would like bread. He did not know the menu very well and was hesitant to answer questions about the plates. I had the 12oz ribeye with pasta sauce and veggies,which was a special of the night and my wife had the shrimp and scallop fettuccini. I ordered my steak medium and it was brought out closer to well than medium. My wife's plate tasted like homemade eggshell pasta with nothing exciting about it. All in all the food wasn't bad just not as expected from the reviews I had read before. I think I would give it one more Vance since he restraunt was very nice inside and the location is in a nice area, but I would just sit at the bar and avoid their service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful Valentines Day celebration, truly enjoyed all aspects of our meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Divino is one of my favorite Italian restaurants in Houston. We typically reserve it for special occasions. Their menu offers a great variety but we usually end up trying one of their specials because they are so intriguing. Great wine and great food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal as usual. The Service (Jeremiah) was also excellent. There were three of us. We all had different fish dishes. All were excellent. The risotto and vegetables paired with the dishes were also very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been to Divino on numerous occasions and am never disappointed with the food. The service was good as well. This time I invited friends to join my husband and me and it was on the Friday of Super Bowl so we were able to reserve a table at 6:00. We knew it would be more crowded later. Our friends arrived a few minutes before we did and one of the managers told them "you have until 8:00 because we are quite full tonight. " We certainly did not plan to stay any longer than that and think that was a rather unnecessary comment. When we departed at 7:45 (after leisurely visiting for a bit even after we got the check paid), there were still two empty booths and one empty table. Frankly, the food and service by Pedro were worth being there. The comment by the manager or whoever said that we needed to be out by 8:00 was totally uncalled for. Just saying.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We've been here a few times in last couple months and continue to be impressed. Every dish is very well put together, no sloppiness, careful attention to details. Salmon had a nicely crispy top side but perfectly medium inside, Italian broccoli had a bit of crunch to it. The owner suggested a $48 wine -- which was a great match with our food -- rather than an $80 one. We felt really well, and personally, taken care of.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my second time to enjoy Divino's. The first was with a group of friends and it was an excellent experience and the second was for a "date" and it was also an excellent experience. The waitstaff are very friendly, attentive (but not intrusive) and very accommodating (we lost track of time and needed to grab the check and dash out to another engagement, and the waiter handled the situation perfectly!) I highly recommend any of the raviolis (mushroom is spectacular!) and the lasagna. Will definitely be going back to explore the rest of the menu!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Great food and great waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We think of this as our neighborhood place, but the food is just incredible. Terrific staff and excellent every time we are there.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Just OK this time. Normally, outstanding. Ambience was not great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As usual, was not disappointed. Took some "newbies" to the neighborhood and they will now be regulars as well. Just got back for 5 weeks overseas and my first visit back. I missed my Divino Family!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As always good food and good service every time! On my list of favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Houston!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Divino's food is consistent, well-prepared, and good. As name indicates, they have a great wine list and are usually happy to provide wine sample before ordering. The icing on the cake is the noise level is low and allows actual conversation to take place. Wait staff is attentive and experienced. You don't build such a regular clientele without maintaining quality.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great homemade raviolis, fresh salads, price-friendly wine list, very nice waitstaff. Feels like a local neighborhood place. Have also had perfectly cooked fish and filet mignon in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.