About Divino Italian Restaurant

1830 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Divino is a family owned restaurant and wine bar specializing in honest regional Italian food. Since 2000, neighborhood foodies and Italophiles have flocked to the casual/chic Montrose hideaway for handmade pastas, exquisite local seafood and innovative dishes like Crispy Pork Shoulder with Green Apple Risotto and Pickled Celery Root. The eclectic wine list features 30 wines by the glass with very low mark-ups. The list is predominantly Italian and celebrates not only the classic regions of Tuscany and Piemonte but also the more obscure wines of Alto Adige all the way to Sicily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhead

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 807-1123

Website:
http://www.divinohouston.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in two private lots in front of and adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for up to 30 in the elegant, wood-accented wine cellar. Special menus are available. Audio visual facilities provided for business presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick McCray: 7138071123

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Divino Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (7)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely experience. Service by Trey was g ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely experience. Service by Trey was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always superb. Most frequented restaura ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always superb. Most frequented restaurant by family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not impressed. Food is just ok and price ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not impressed. Food is just ok and prices are high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Warm and gracious service Excellent wine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Warm and gracious service

Excellent wine list and menu selections though pasta dish not as good as before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, service very good parkin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, service very good parking terrible

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very gracious and friendly manager. Qua ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very gracious and friendly manager. Quaint and personal neighborhood type eatery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

It's a great restaurant! Wonderful food, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It's a great restaurant! Wonderful food, good wine great atmosphere and excellent staff! As always it was a pleasure returning to Divino's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebration for a 40th birthd ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was a celebration for a 40th birthday with a good friend. Reservations were made prior to reading the rave reviews "or so I thought" . Upon arrival we were greeted by the what I presume would be the hostess who we made mention of the birthday and he went on and on how "we will take good care of you no worries". Here is where it went south, we were seated at first at a round table for five then he asked would you like it better at a 4 top so we agreed seeing as a two top would be too much to ask for.. just odd. Water took what seemed like forever not to mention a waiter once he did arrive we placed our drink order. After we received our drinks we decided to order everything else while we still had him at our table now mind you the food here is not exactly cheap so although we were going to split a dish we decided to order our own dish. The ambiance is blah no music in the background nothing. After our food finally arrived I ordered the lasagna my friend ordered what looked like penne pasta and ragu which she described as uncooked pasta and ragu dumped on top and honestly that's exactly how it looked so she wasn't pleased. My lasagna being italian i know tasted as if they really love their nutmeg because that is a secret to lasagna but this was almost more a dessert than it was a lasagna. After we got our bill 90 dollars later (2 drinks ,salad , entree) we paid our bill there was no sort of celebration no cookie cake whatever decent places do for special occasion none of that. As we got up to leave the same "hostess older man" who greeted us so kindly stared at us at his podium as we walked up to him since we have to in order to leave as he watched us leave he did not say one word not good bye not how was the food nothing i have never seen such disrespect from an establishment than this place. I will not be returning to this joke you want Italian hire some good ole fashion Italians who know respect but hey i'll let you be the judge yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great local neighborhood gem. Excellent ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great local neighborhood gem. Excellent food and wine, low noise level, superb staff

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing, poor service, very l ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very disappointing, poor service, very loud environment and average food. The reviews were so promising. I will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

WE ARRIVED AND ADVISED WE HAD A RESERVAT ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

WE ARRIVED AND ADVISED WE HAD A RESERVATION VIA OPEN TABLE. THE HOST WAS VERY NICE BUT SAID THEY WERE FULLY BOOKED AND DID NOT HAVE A RESERVATION FOR US!! WE DID GET A SEAT AT THE BAR SO THE EVENING WAS A SUCCESS BUT YOU NEED TO CHECK YOUR AUTHENTICATION SYSTEM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The vegetarian and meat/options are exce ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The vegetarian and meat/options are excellent. The one vegan option , the lemon rapini risotto is pretty good. Would be perfect if there are three or more options for vegans (no dairy, no eggs, no meat, no fish).

Tags: People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I had been wanting to try this restauran ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for awhile and finally did on a Wednesday night. My husband and I took our two adult sons for a dinner there and I think at least one of them enjoyed his meal. We thought the (daily fish special) red snapper was really delicious and added the mista salad with the white beans that tasted good in the red sauce from the fish. My husband got the scallops with the ink risotto and definitely liked it. My son who is hardly ever happy with his decision on what to choose to eat thought his veal on the greens was okay. I think both of them loved their dessert which I can't recall what it was called but it was similar to flan or custard.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As always, the food was delicious and th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As always, the food was delicious and the evening full of quiet conversation!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, a wonderful experience with ex ...

vip
 (Perth / WA)·Dined on October 5, 2016

As usual, a wonderful experience with excellent food , great wine and terrific friends including my Divino family! Will be out of the country for year and will miss them much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Divino's provided an extremely ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

As usual, Divino's provided an extremely pleasant experience, with great food and attentive service. The combination appetizer plate (cheeses, cured meats, polenta, olives) always gets the evening started on a perfect note. Arrive hungry!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Divino's. Small and quiet, exce ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We love Divino's. Small and quiet, excellent food, excellent wine list, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy Divino, the Warm Kale Sa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We always enjoy Divino, the Warm Kale Salad is outstanding, good Ceaser Salad. The Pappardelle is wonderfull. Busy night, and service was uneven, took a long time to pay & get credit carsdback.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Love Divino and have been there many tim ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love Divino and have been there many times. Food is consistently great! On our last visit we didn't have the best service but that isn't usually the case. Highly recommend the restaurant and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Exceptional, great food,wine, service a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Exceptional, great food,wine, service and ambience. A neighborhood gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite neighborhood restaurant consist ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Favorite neighborhood restaurant consistently enjoyable no matter the occasion. Good place to catch up with friends or celebrate a special time. Impeccable service, especially Roberto, adds to a pleasant outing. And of course the food is fresh seasonal and good !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been looking at this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been looking at this restaurant across the street from The Chocolate Bar for over a year and finally decided to try it and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, a superb dinner at Divino. We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, a superb dinner at Divino. We recommend it highly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While we are mid-way through Houston res ...

vip
 (Perth / WA)·Dined on August 11, 2016

While we are mid-way through Houston restaurant weeks, Divino has opted out and instead taking this time to recreate some of their best dishes over the last 16 years. As a frequent diner , I think of myself as part of the family but have only lived in Houston 8 years so I have a lot of specials to catch up with. Experienced "Seared Duck Breast with Morello Cherries,

Pecorino Risotto & Green Beans" and it was beyond WONDERFUL! Can't wait to experience their other weekly specials coming up soon. To all at Divino, a big THANK YOU!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. It was quiet eno ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was great. It was quiet enough for conversation. And the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino is our favourite Italian restaura ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Divino is our favourite Italian restaurant in town. Their pastas are incredible and their wine selection is out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food, service and qu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We always enjoy the food, service and quiet environment - we can talk without screaming. You cannot get it in most restaurants these days. We like this place a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent! Always leave looking forward ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent! Always leave looking forward to returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Divino has been a great favorite for man ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Divino has been a great favorite for many years--I know I will always be made to feel special by the welcoming staff.

The menu balances Italian food with some American classics, and their pasta is some of the best in this city. Also an outstanding selection of wines within a decent price range, with special wine tastings scheduled on a regular basis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Divino is one of our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Divino is one of our favorite restaurants in Houston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Divinos several times a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have eaten at Divinos several times and have always had great food, great service, and an enjoyable time. We have been there for events, special occasions, and dates. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here several times. Fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been here several times. Fantastic wine list and great selection of menu items to choose from. Thought the food is usually good, on this occasion all appetizers and main courses consistently needed salt/seasoning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We always love dining at Divino and appr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always love dining at Divino and appreciate being able to take our own wines when we go there. They have good wines in stock but we tend to like to bring things from our own cellar. The food is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff is very knowledgable and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The wait staff is very knowledgable and courteous. The food and service is always impeccable. Their specials are outstanding and regular menu never disappoints. By far one of our favorite restaurants. Always look forward to dining at Divino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the ravioli flat & greasy & my d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I found the ravioli flat & greasy & my date ate only half of her scallops.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is excellent and so is the serv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food is excellent and so is the service. Great restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a large place. Food was great. Ser ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not a large place. Food was great. Service was OK, but in defense of the waiter, he had several tables to serve. Varied menu and excellent wine list. Will go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were not impressed. The Caesar salad ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were not impressed. The Caesar salad was ok with a mini panini in leu of croutons. Our waiter asked my husband if he would prefer vegetables with his veal rather than the arugula it came with. He was disappointed when it came without the artichokes and cherry tomatoes described on the menu. He thought the veal was too heavily breaded as well.My snapper was fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I try to get back to dine at Divino ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I try to get back to dine at Divino every time I visit Houston. It was my favorite restaurant while I lived in Houston. Best lasagne and insalata Caprese that I have had in the United States. The wine list, mostly Italian, is both reasonably priced and outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average at every level

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was average at best as was the service. Would not return as there are so many better places in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.