About Divino Italian Restaurant

1830 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Divino is a family owned restaurant and wine bar specializing in honest regional Italian food. Since 2000, neighborhood foodies and Italophiles have flocked to the casual/chic Montrose hideaway for handmade pastas, exquisite local seafood and innovative dishes like Crispy Pork Shoulder with Green Apple Risotto and Pickled Celery Root. The eclectic wine list features 30 wines by the glass with very low mark-ups. The list is predominantly Italian and celebrates not only the classic regions of Tuscany and Piemonte but also the more obscure wines of Alto Adige all the way to Sicily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhead

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 807-1123

Website:
http://www.divinohouston.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in two private lots in front of and adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for up to 30 in the elegant, wood-accented wine cellar. Special menus are available. Audio visual facilities provided for business presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick McCray: 7138071123

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Divino Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in River Oaks ›

neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (21)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
romantic (13)
special occasion (10)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to get back to dine at Divino ever ...

Dined 3 days ago

I try to get back to dine at Divino every time I visit Houston. It was my favorite restaurant while I lived in Houston. Best lasagne and insalata Caprese that I have had in the United States. The wine list, mostly Italian, is both reasonably priced and outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Average at every level

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was average at best as was the service. Would not return as there are so many better places in Houston.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent wine tasting

Dined on April 13, 2016

Came here on Wednesday to sample some wines and then stayed for dinner. Love that twice a month they have Wednesday "try before you buy" wine tastings. Their wines are very interesting and very reasonably priced. Their food is awesome as always.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Good Italian food and nice wine list.

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Solid, non-innovative Italian food. Nice, mostly Italian wine list. Can get extremely noisy if it is crowded.

food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best Italian food we have ev ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Some of the best Italian food we have ever had! This place is a find and we will absolutely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is excellent, especially the pasta ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Food is excellent, especially the pasta dishes. One of our favorite spots in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistent

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Food is consistently great. The service also was excellent. I believe our server was Jeremiah. Very decent wine list. Never had anything bad here.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Simply an OK place to eat. My wife was not wowed.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was bland. Wife had the red snapper special and said it was so-so. I had the lasagna. The red sauce on the lasagna was too sweet and didn't complement the lasagna. The wine list is reasonable. We had an excellent, reasonably priced Amarone.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious dining

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Salad special - fried oysters atop arugula & shaved fennel - was delicious. At last half dozen juicy perfectly fried oysters on the simply seasoned & prepared but delicious salad. Mushroom ravioli in brodo - also delicious. Delicate filled ravioli in a wonderful earthy broth. And a delicious Syrah from Cortona Italy. Don't know why it's taken me so long to return to Divino. Excellent meal. Don't you make the same mistake of delaying your return. Get there now!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite local eatery with outstanding ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

A favorite local eatery with outstanding service, wonderful food and a great wine list!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! Outstanding food and service.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Love that we could bring our own wine for a corkage fee. But they have a great wine list as well!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Divino's was a nice romantic place for o ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Divino's was a nice romantic place for our valentines dinner. Food service and wine were impeccable.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Remarkable meal

Dined on February 4, 2016

We are regulars a Divino. Went there and had a perfect Osso Buco with Risotto alla Milanesa.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good wine, good food, good service

Dined on January 23, 2016

Went here with a business associate and our server knew it was a business meeting based on my notes in open table. She knew exactly when to leave us alone and when to come by for service. I loved that! Good wine And good food too! Will definitely be back.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. Will go back again and know ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Always good. Will go back again and know it's going to be a good evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish for the money in town!

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Pasta is the absolute best in town anywhere! Wine list is well priced and very well thought out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect Dinner

Dined on December 12, 2015

We always enjoy ourselves at Divino and our last visit was no exception. The dinner, wine, and service were excellent. It's a consistently great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice quiet place

Dined on November 22, 2015

Very good food. Grear service, more like European. Great wines. It is small and the parking is a little tight. It is a good cozy place for a quiet date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Solid Italian restaurant.

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

We eat at Divino once every week or two. It's pretty casual with no tablecloths and not much ambiance. Food is almost always good. Service is fine. Fairly extensive mostly Italian wine list, reasonable priced. Can get quite noisy if there are any loud fellow diners.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

This is one of our favorite places

food5
ambience5
service5

one of my favorites...

Dined on November 13, 2015

I've been a patron at Divino's for at least 10 years. The food and service are outstanding. Very special restaurant owned and operated by the same family for years. Many of the staff have been there since it opened as well. I feel like I'm part of the family when I go there. LOVE IT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Deli ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Delicious food and a good value.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect, as always.

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Staff, food, wine. It is the most dependable place in Houston for great food. daily specials are "special". Just go!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on November 8, 2015

The warm Kale & Shrimp is outsranding, this is my new favorite dish. I also enjoyed the Pappardelle was great. My wife liked the Spinch & Pear salad and the Tagliatelle there version of Fig Newrons was interesting and tasty. We have always enjoyed this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second meal at Divino and both amazing

Dined on October 29, 2015

FANTASTIC meal, great service... very attentive but not intrusive - just perfect The lamb was AMAZING... and I don't often say that having grown up on the farm where I was privy to the freshest and best lamb chops available. My father said his meal was the best he has had at a restaurant in a long time (he prefers his own cooking so that is a huge compliment)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

REAL Italian cuisine prepared with care. ...

Dined on October 29, 2015

REAL Italian cuisine prepared with care. From the scrumptious salads to the authentic homemade pastas and the luscious desserts, everything was excellent. The wine list is deep and intriguing. This is a special place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat, hand made past was t ...

Dined on October 22, 2015

Great place to eat, hand made past was the best. Definitely will return for dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Calamari and grouper, both expertly prepared. The risotto was very good. Excellent Italian wine list. The Terlaner white blend paired well with dinner. Would recommend getting reservations. Parking is not an issue.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A 5 Star Evening

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

From start to finish, just a perfect evening. I enjoyed the tenderloin filet. It was as good as any top steakhouse. The seafood was just as good and the quail also a good choice. Our waiter met us at the door with a friendly smile and perfect service for the entire meal. The restaurant is quiet and you can actually hold a conversation with the person across the table. The dessert menu looked good, but we all agreed we'd return and enjoy a coffee and dessert which our waiter encouraged us to do. You can't go wrong at Divino for a truly special evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food.....great atmosphere..... ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Wonderful food.....great atmosphere.....excellent service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice surprise

Dined on September 19, 2015

My husband and I decided to try Divino's for the first time. The restaurant had a very pleasant atmosphere, small and intimate. We had a wonderful waitress who was a most enthusiastic supporter of the food there. We split the heirloom tomato salad with red onion, olive bits, and parmesan shavings - very tasty. We both had one of the handmade pasta dishes, for which they are known. The lasagna was light, believe it or not, with spinach pasta, and no meat, but very good. I had the goat cheese ravioli which was yummy but in butter rather than a sauce which I may have preferred. There were several other things on the menu we would like to try, so we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

One of our favorite dinner spots in town. Don't miss trying their Fall salad (off menu). Had lasagna for first time. Super thin homemade spinach noodles in many layers will make this dish a regular for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time but not the last

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

Made a call between Divino and another Italian. We made the right choice. Our customer also loved the restaurant and wine. Our waiter, Jermiah, was fantastic, always there and very helpful. We've already talked about doing the wine tasting and bringing back more customers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good meal. Like small cozy atmo ...

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Always a good meal. Like small cozy atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Neighborhood Treasure

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

Excellent as always. This is our current favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect Neighborhood Bistro

Dined on August 29, 2015

Divino is exactly what you want in a neighborhood bistro. Excellent and consistent food, tremendous service and fantastic wine list. We've been coming here for over a decade and are never disappointed. It's our go-to spot for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Pasta Lover

Dined on August 28, 2015

I had a pasta dish and my friend had the risotto and both were very yummy. We split an appetizer and enjoyed the warm bread. They have a wonderful choice of wines from all over Italy. Very good service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Surprised

vip
Dined on August 14, 2015

We had relatively low expectations for Divino, imagining a tired, old-style Italian restaurant with traditional dishes and heavy red sauce. Much to our pleasant surprise we found an intriguing menu with four extremely tempting off menu specials. We only regretted not being able to try all the items which looked good. And décor and ambience were more fresh than anticipated. The only flaw in the evening was the slow delivery of the check. Otherwise service was prompt, knowledgeable and unobtrusive. We look forward to returning to sample more dishes.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent casual dining

Dined on August 14, 2015

I have always considered Divino's food very good, but from recent experience find it even better. It is a quiet, low-key place that provides an excellent dining experience. The wine list is exceptional for Italian wines, fairly priced and Thomas's suggestions are well worth considering. It is so nice to get knowledgeable wine advice for the food ordered and not just direction toward some pricey bottle! Divino is one my wife and my favorite dinner spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

The perfect setting for an authentic Italian meal. Service is genuine and prompt. Prices very fair and always excellent.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.