Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Divino Italian Restaurant

Divino is a family owned restaurant and wine bar specializing in honest regional Italian food. Since 2000, neighborhood foodies and Italophiles have flocked to the casual/chic Montrose hideaway for handmade pastas, exquisite local seafood and innovative dishes like Crispy Pork Shoulder with Green Apple Risotto and Pickled Celery Root. The eclectic wine list features 30 wines by the glass with very low mark-ups. The list is predominantly Italian and celebrates not only the classic regions of Tuscany and Piemonte but also the more obscure wines of Alto Adige all the way to Sicily.

1830 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhead

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 807-1123

Website:
http://www.divinohouston.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in two private lots in front of and adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for up to 30 in the elegant, wood-accented wine cellar. Special menus are available. Audio visual facilities provided for business presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick McCray: (713) 807-1123

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Divino Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (8)
Private Room (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely food. Impeccable service. Fabulous Cava by the glass. Only fault, and not really the restaurant's fault, was an obnoxious patron behind us talking on a cellphone in an otherwise quiet, calm environment.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The Italian restaurant we contacted first was entirely booked for a private party, so friends from the area suggested Divino. I'm so glad they did. What a find! A comfortable gem - with terrific food, attentive and unobtrusive service, and an atmosphere conducive to carrying on a conversation - made the evening a delight. I've already told friends about what a great dinner we had -- my pappardelle with oxtail ragu was delicious. We'll be making the drive into town again for the wonderful Italian dishes and quiet ambience. Our compliments to the chef!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Really enjoyed the dinner. The selection was wonderful for us, something different and delicious for each of the four friends. The special appetizer of fried oysters with slivered fennel and celery on greens was a surprising taste combination and we all were able to share and enjoy. Lovely wine selection. Comfortable atmosphere. Appropriately attentive and friendly wait staff. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Nothing bad at Divino's......just nothing special. Convenient on site parking and a nice quiet place to talk. I had the snapper special over risotto and my husband had the lamb shank. All in all the food was good and the service good. Again, nothing special. Probably won't return, too many other restaurants in Houston to try.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Enjoyed lovely opportunity to relax and talk with delicious Italian food and wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

enjoyed the evening and food will return very soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic dinner one again. Pappardelle with veal bolognese outstanding. Salmon always wonderfully prepared. Had a great bottle of Nino Neri Sforzato della Valtellina. Wine list is exceptional.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Sommelier/Owner had an excellent wine recommendation that didn't break the bank. We will definitely be headed back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice spot but, service was shaky, and food was mediocre. The location and private parking lot is very good. Our waiter seemed to be the only waiter for our side of the restraunt and took about 15 mins to ask if we would like bread. He did not know the menu very well and was hesitant to answer questions about the plates. I had the 12oz ribeye with pasta sauce and veggies,which was a special of the night and my wife had the shrimp and scallop fettuccini. I ordered my steak medium and it was brought out closer to well than medium. My wife's plate tasted like homemade eggshell pasta with nothing exciting about it. All in all the food wasn't bad just not as expected from the reviews I had read before. I think I would give it one more Vance since he restraunt was very nice inside and the location is in a nice area, but I would just sit at the bar and avoid their service.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful Valentines Day celebration, truly enjoyed all aspects of our meal

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Divino is one of my favorite Italian restaurants in Houston. We typically reserve it for special occasions. Their menu offers a great variety but we usually end up trying one of their specials because they are so intriguing. Great wine and great food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal as usual. The Service (Jeremiah) was also excellent. There were three of us. We all had different fish dishes. All were excellent. The risotto and vegetables paired with the dishes were also very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been to Divino on numerous occasions and am never disappointed with the food. The service was good as well. This time I invited friends to join my husband and me and it was on the Friday of Super Bowl so we were able to reserve a table at 6:00. We knew it would be more crowded later. Our friends arrived a few minutes before we did and one of the managers told them "you have until 8:00 because we are quite full tonight. " We certainly did not plan to stay any longer than that and think that was a rather unnecessary comment. When we departed at 7:45 (after leisurely visiting for a bit even after we got the check paid), there were still two empty booths and one empty table. Frankly, the food and service by Pedro were worth being there. The comment by the manager or whoever said that we needed to be out by 8:00 was totally uncalled for. Just saying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We've been here a few times in last couple months and continue to be impressed. Every dish is very well put together, no sloppiness, careful attention to details. Salmon had a nicely crispy top side but perfectly medium inside, Italian broccoli had a bit of crunch to it. The owner suggested a $48 wine -- which was a great match with our food -- rather than an $80 one. We felt really well, and personally, taken care of.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my second time to enjoy Divino's. The first was with a group of friends and it was an excellent experience and the second was for a "date" and it was also an excellent experience. The waitstaff are very friendly, attentive (but not intrusive) and very accommodating (we lost track of time and needed to grab the check and dash out to another engagement, and the waiter handled the situation perfectly!) I highly recommend any of the raviolis (mushroom is spectacular!) and the lasagna. Will definitely be going back to explore the rest of the menu!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Great food and great waiter!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We think of this as our neighborhood place, but the food is just incredible. Terrific staff and excellent every time we are there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Just OK this time. Normally, outstanding. Ambience was not great.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As usual, was not disappointed. Took some "newbies" to the neighborhood and they will now be regulars as well. Just got back for 5 weeks overseas and my first visit back. I missed my Divino Family!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As always good food and good service every time! On my list of favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Houston!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Divino's food is consistent, well-prepared, and good. As name indicates, they have a great wine list and are usually happy to provide wine sample before ordering. The icing on the cake is the noise level is low and allows actual conversation to take place. Wait staff is attentive and experienced. You don't build such a regular clientele without maintaining quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great homemade raviolis, fresh salads, price-friendly wine list, very nice waitstaff. Feels like a local neighborhood place. Have also had perfectly cooked fish and filet mignon in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Lovely experience. Service by Trey was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always superb. Most frequented restaurant by family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not impressed. Food is just ok and prices are high for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Warm and gracious service
Excellent wine list and menu selections though pasta dish not as good as before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great, service very good parking terrible

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very gracious and friendly manager. Quaint and personal neighborhood type eatery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It's a great restaurant! Wonderful food, good wine great atmosphere and excellent staff! As always it was a pleasure returning to Divino's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was a celebration for a 40th birthday with a good friend. Reservations were made prior to reading the rave reviews "or so I thought" . Upon arrival we were greeted by the what I presume would be the hostess who we made mention of the birthday and he went on and on how "we will take good care of you no worries". Here is where it went south, we were seated at first at a round table for five then he asked would you like it better at a 4 top so we agreed seeing as a two top would be too much to ask for.. just odd. Water took what seemed like forever not to mention a waiter once he did arrive we placed our drink order. After we received our drinks we decided to order everything else while we still had him at our table now mind you the food here is not exactly cheap so although we were going to split a dish we decided to order our own dish. The ambiance is blah no music in the background nothing. After our food finally arrived I ordered the lasagna my friend ordered what looked like penne pasta and ragu which she described as uncooked pasta and ragu dumped on top and honestly that's exactly how it looked so she wasn't pleased. My lasagna being italian i know tasted as if they really love their nutmeg because that is a secret to lasagna but this was almost more a dessert than it was a lasagna. After we got our bill 90 dollars later (2 drinks ,salad , entree) we paid our bill there was no sort of celebration no cookie cake whatever decent places do for special occasion none of that. As we got up to leave the same "hostess older man" who greeted us so kindly stared at us at his podium as we walked up to him since we have to in order to leave as he watched us leave he did not say one word not good bye not how was the food nothing i have never seen such disrespect from an establishment than this place. I will not be returning to this joke you want Italian hire some good ole fashion Italians who know respect but hey i'll let you be the judge yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great local neighborhood gem. Excellent food and wine, low noise level, superb staff

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very disappointing, poor service, very loud environment and average food. The reviews were so promising. I will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

WE ARRIVED AND ADVISED WE HAD A RESERVATION VIA OPEN TABLE. THE HOST WAS VERY NICE BUT SAID THEY WERE FULLY BOOKED AND DID NOT HAVE A RESERVATION FOR US!! WE DID GET A SEAT AT THE BAR SO THE EVENING WAS A SUCCESS BUT YOU NEED TO CHECK YOUR AUTHENTICATION SYSTEM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The vegetarian and meat/options are excellent. The one vegan option , the lemon rapini risotto is pretty good. Would be perfect if there are three or more options for vegans (no dairy, no eggs, no meat, no fish).

Tags: People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for awhile and finally did on a Wednesday night. My husband and I took our two adult sons for a dinner there and I think at least one of them enjoyed his meal. We thought the (daily fish special) red snapper was really delicious and added the mista salad with the white beans that tasted good in the red sauce from the fish. My husband got the scallops with the ink risotto and definitely liked it. My son who is hardly ever happy with his decision on what to choose to eat thought his veal on the greens was okay. I think both of them loved their dessert which I can't recall what it was called but it was similar to flan or custard.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As always, the food was delicious and the evening full of quiet conversation!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

As usual, a wonderful experience with excellent food , great wine and terrific friends including my Divino family! Will be out of the country for year and will miss them much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

As usual, Divino's provided an extremely pleasant experience, with great food and attentive service. The combination appetizer plate (cheeses, cured meats, polenta, olives) always gets the evening started on a perfect note. Arrive hungry!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We love Divino's. Small and quiet, excellent food, excellent wine list, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.