About Divino Italian Restaurant

1830 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Divino is a family owned restaurant and wine bar specializing in honest regional Italian food. Since 2000, neighborhood foodies and Italophiles have flocked to the casual/chic Montrose hideaway for handmade pastas, exquisite local seafood and innovative dishes like Crispy Pork Shoulder with Green Apple Risotto and Pickled Celery Root. The eclectic wine list features 30 wines by the glass with very low mark-ups. The list is predominantly Italian and celebrates not only the classic regions of Tuscany and Piemonte but also the more obscure wines of Alto Adige all the way to Sicily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhead

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 807-1123

Website:
http://www.divinohouston.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in two private lots in front of and adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for up to 30 in the elegant, wood-accented wine cellar. Special menus are available. Audio visual facilities provided for business presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick McCray: 7138071123

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Divino Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Houston
Neighborhood Gem
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
5 More
Italian
Houston
Best Value
Houston
Neighborhood Gem
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in River Oaks ›

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love Divino and have been there many tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love Divino and have been there many times. Food is consistently great! On our last visit we didn't have the best service but that isn't usually the case. Highly recommend the restaurant and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Exceptional, great food,wine, service a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Exceptional, great food,wine, service and ambience. A neighborhood gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite neighborhood restaurant consist ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Favorite neighborhood restaurant consistently enjoyable no matter the occasion. Good place to catch up with friends or celebrate a special time. Impeccable service, especially Roberto, adds to a pleasant outing. And of course the food is fresh seasonal and good !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been looking at this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been looking at this restaurant across the street from The Chocolate Bar for over a year and finally decided to try it and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, a superb dinner at Divino. We ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, a superb dinner at Divino. We recommend it highly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While we are mid-way through Houston res ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

While we are mid-way through Houston restaurant weeks, Divino has opted out and instead taking this time to recreate some of their best dishes over the last 16 years. As a frequent diner , I think of myself as part of the family but have only lived in Houston 8 years so I have a lot of specials to catch up with. Experienced "Seared Duck Breast with Morello Cherries,

Pecorino Risotto & Green Beans" and it was beyond WONDERFUL! Can't wait to experience their other weekly specials coming up soon. To all at Divino, a big THANK YOU!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. It was quiet eno ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was great. It was quiet enough for conversation. And the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino is our favourite Italian restaura ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Divino is our favourite Italian restaurant in town. Their pastas are incredible and their wine selection is out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food, service and qu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We always enjoy the food, service and quiet environment - we can talk without screaming. You cannot get it in most restaurants these days. We like this place a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent! Always leave looking forward ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent! Always leave looking forward to returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Divino has been a great favorite for man ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Divino has been a great favorite for many years--I know I will always be made to feel special by the welcoming staff.

The menu balances Italian food with some American classics, and their pasta is some of the best in this city. Also an outstanding selection of wines within a decent price range, with special wine tastings scheduled on a regular basis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Divino is one of our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Divino is one of our favorite restaurants in Houston!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Divinos several times a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have eaten at Divinos several times and have always had great food, great service, and an enjoyable time. We have been there for events, special occasions, and dates. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here several times. Fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been here several times. Fantastic wine list and great selection of menu items to choose from. Thought the food is usually good, on this occasion all appetizers and main courses consistently needed salt/seasoning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We always love dining at Divino and appr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always love dining at Divino and appreciate being able to take our own wines when we go there. They have good wines in stock but we tend to like to bring things from our own cellar. The food is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff is very knowledgable and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The wait staff is very knowledgable and courteous. The food and service is always impeccable. Their specials are outstanding and regular menu never disappoints. By far one of our favorite restaurants. Always look forward to dining at Divino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the ravioli flat & greasy & my d ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I found the ravioli flat & greasy & my date ate only half of her scallops.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is excellent and so is the serv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food is excellent and so is the service. Great restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a large place. Food was great. Ser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not a large place. Food was great. Service was OK, but in defense of the waiter, he had several tables to serve. Varied menu and excellent wine list. Will go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were not impressed. The Caesar salad ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were not impressed. The Caesar salad was ok with a mini panini in leu of croutons. Our waiter asked my husband if he would prefer vegetables with his veal rather than the arugula it came with. He was disappointed when it came without the artichokes and cherry tomatoes described on the menu. He thought the veal was too heavily breaded as well.My snapper was fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I try to get back to dine at Divino ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I try to get back to dine at Divino every time I visit Houston. It was my favorite restaurant while I lived in Houston. Best lasagne and insalata Caprese that I have had in the United States. The wine list, mostly Italian, is both reasonably priced and outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average at every level

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was average at best as was the service. Would not return as there are so many better places in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent wine tasting

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Came here on Wednesday to sample some wines and then stayed for dinner. Love that twice a month they have Wednesday "try before you buy" wine tastings. Their wines are very interesting and very reasonably priced. Their food is awesome as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Italian food and nice wine list.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Solid, non-innovative Italian food. Nice, mostly Italian wine list. Can get extremely noisy if it is crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Some of the best Italian food we have ev ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Some of the best Italian food we have ever had! This place is a find and we will absolutely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent, especially the pasta ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food is excellent, especially the pasta dishes. One of our favorite spots in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistent

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Food is consistently great. The service also was excellent. I believe our server was Jeremiah.

Very decent wine list. Never had anything bad here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply an OK place to eat. My wife was not wowed.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was bland. Wife had the red snapper special and said it was so-so. I had the lasagna. The red sauce on the lasagna was too sweet and didn't complement the lasagna. The wine list is reasonable. We had an excellent, reasonably priced Amarone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious dining

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Salad special - fried oysters atop arugula & shaved fennel - was delicious. At last half dozen juicy perfectly fried oysters on the simply seasoned & prepared but delicious salad. Mushroom ravioli in brodo - also delicious. Delicate filled ravioli in a wonderful earthy broth. And a delicious Syrah from Cortona Italy. Don't know why it's taken me so long to return to Divino. Excellent meal. Don't you make the same mistake of delaying your return. Get there now!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A favorite local eatery with outstanding ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A favorite local eatery with outstanding service, wonderful food and a great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place! Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Love that we could bring our own wine for a corkage fee. But they have a great wine list as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino's was a nice romantic place for o ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Divino's was a nice romantic place for our valentines dinner. Food service and wine were impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Remarkable meal

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We are regulars a Divino. Went there and had a perfect Osso Buco with Risotto alla Milanesa.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good wine, good food, good service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Went here with a business associate and our server knew it was a business meeting based on my notes in open table. She knew exactly when to leave us alone and when to come by for service. I loved that! Good wine And good food too! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Will go back again and know ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Always good. Will go back again and know it's going to be a good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish for the money in town!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Pasta is the absolute best in town anywhere! Wine list is well priced and very well thought out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We always enjoy ourselves at Divino and our last visit was no exception. The dinner, wine, and service were excellent. It's a consistently great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice quiet place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Very good food. Grear service, more like European. Great wines. It is small and the parking is a little tight. It is a good cozy place for a quiet date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid Italian restaurant.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

We eat at Divino once every week or two. It's pretty casual with no tablecloths and not much ambiance. Food is almost always good. Service is fine. Fairly extensive mostly Italian wine list, reasonable priced. Can get quite noisy if there are any loud fellow diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This is one of our favorite places

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

This is one of our favorite places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.