About Divino Italian Restaurant

1830 West Alabama
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Divino is a family owned restaurant and wine bar specializing in honest regional Italian food. Since 2000, neighborhood foodies and Italophiles have flocked to the casual/chic Montrose hideaway for handmade pastas, exquisite local seafood and innovative dishes like Crispy Pork Shoulder with Green Apple Risotto and Pickled Celery Root. The eclectic wine list features 30 wines by the glass with very low mark-ups. The list is predominantly Italian and celebrates not only the classic regions of Tuscany and Piemonte but also the more obscure wines of Alto Adige all the way to Sicily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhead

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 807-1123

Website:
http://www.divinohouston.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking available in two private lots in front of and adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Patrick McCray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining for up to 30 in the elegant, wood-accented wine cellar. Special menus are available. Audio visual facilities provided for business presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick McCray: 7138071123

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Divino Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (14)
fit for foodies (11)
See All
special occasion (8)
romantic (6)
good for groups (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Divino has been a great favorite for man ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Divino has been a great favorite for many years--I know I will always be made to feel special by the welcoming staff.

The menu balances Italian food with some American classics, and their pasta is some of the best in this city. Also an outstanding selection of wines within a decent price range, with special wine tastings scheduled on a regular basis.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Divino is one of our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Divino is one of our favorite restaurants in Houston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Divinos several times a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have eaten at Divinos several times and have always had great food, great service, and an enjoyable time. We have been there for events, special occasions, and dates. Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here several times. Fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been here several times. Fantastic wine list and great selection of menu items to choose from. Thought the food is usually good, on this occasion all appetizers and main courses consistently needed salt/seasoning.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We always love dining at Divino and appr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We always love dining at Divino and appreciate being able to take our own wines when we go there. They have good wines in stock but we tend to like to bring things from our own cellar. The food is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff is very knowledgable and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The wait staff is very knowledgable and courteous. The food and service is always impeccable. Their specials are outstanding and regular menu never disappoints. By far one of our favorite restaurants. Always look forward to dining at Divino.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the ravioli flat & greasy & my d ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I found the ravioli flat & greasy & my date ate only half of her scallops.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is excellent and so is the serv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food is excellent and so is the service. Great restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a large place. Food was great. Ser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not a large place. Food was great. Service was OK, but in defense of the waiter, he had several tables to serve. Varied menu and excellent wine list. Will go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were not impressed. The Caesar salad ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were not impressed. The Caesar salad was ok with a mini panini in leu of croutons. Our waiter asked my husband if he would prefer vegetables with his veal rather than the arugula it came with. He was disappointed when it came without the artichokes and cherry tomatoes described on the menu. He thought the veal was too heavily breaded as well.My snapper was fine.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I try to get back to dine at Divino ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I try to get back to dine at Divino every time I visit Houston. It was my favorite restaurant while I lived in Houston. Best lasagne and insalata Caprese that I have had in the United States. The wine list, mostly Italian, is both reasonably priced and outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average at every level

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was average at best as was the service. Would not return as there are so many better places in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent wine tasting

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Came here on Wednesday to sample some wines and then stayed for dinner. Love that twice a month they have Wednesday "try before you buy" wine tastings. Their wines are very interesting and very reasonably priced. Their food is awesome as always.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Italian food and nice wine list.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Solid, non-innovative Italian food. Nice, mostly Italian wine list. Can get extremely noisy if it is crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Some of the best Italian food we have ev ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Some of the best Italian food we have ever had! This place is a find and we will absolutely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent, especially the pasta ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food is excellent, especially the pasta dishes. One of our favorite spots in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistent

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Food is consistently great. The service also was excellent. I believe our server was Jeremiah.

Very decent wine list. Never had anything bad here.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply an OK place to eat. My wife was not wowed.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was bland. Wife had the red snapper special and said it was so-so. I had the lasagna. The red sauce on the lasagna was too sweet and didn't complement the lasagna. The wine list is reasonable. We had an excellent, reasonably priced Amarone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious dining

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Salad special - fried oysters atop arugula & shaved fennel - was delicious. At last half dozen juicy perfectly fried oysters on the simply seasoned & prepared but delicious salad. Mushroom ravioli in brodo - also delicious. Delicate filled ravioli in a wonderful earthy broth. And a delicious Syrah from Cortona Italy. Don't know why it's taken me so long to return to Divino. Excellent meal. Don't you make the same mistake of delaying your return. Get there now!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A favorite local eatery with outstanding ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A favorite local eatery with outstanding service, wonderful food and a great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place! Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Love that we could bring our own wine for a corkage fee. But they have a great wine list as well!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divino's was a nice romantic place for o ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Divino's was a nice romantic place for our valentines dinner. Food service and wine were impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Remarkable meal

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We are regulars a Divino. Went there and had a perfect Osso Buco with Risotto alla Milanesa.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good wine, good food, good service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Went here with a business associate and our server knew it was a business meeting based on my notes in open table. She knew exactly when to leave us alone and when to come by for service. I loved that! Good wine And good food too! Will definitely be back.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Will go back again and know ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Always good. Will go back again and know it's going to be a good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish for the money in town!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Pasta is the absolute best in town anywhere! Wine list is well priced and very well thought out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We always enjoy ourselves at Divino and our last visit was no exception. The dinner, wine, and service were excellent. It's a consistently great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice quiet place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Very good food. Grear service, more like European. Great wines. It is small and the parking is a little tight. It is a good cozy place for a quiet date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid Italian restaurant.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

We eat at Divino once every week or two. It's pretty casual with no tablecloths and not much ambiance. Food is almost always good. Service is fine. Fairly extensive mostly Italian wine list, reasonable priced. Can get quite noisy if there are any loud fellow diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This is one of our favorite places

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

This is one of our favorite places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one of my favorites...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

I've been a patron at Divino's for at least 10 years. The food and service are outstanding. Very special restaurant owned and operated by the same family for years. Many of the staff have been there since it opened as well. I feel like I'm part of the family when I go there. LOVE IT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Deli ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Delicious food and a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect, as always.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Staff, food, wine. It is the most dependable place in Houston for great food. daily specials are "special". Just go!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The warm Kale & Shrimp is outsranding, this is my new favorite dish. I also enjoyed the Pappardelle was great. My wife liked the Spinch & Pear salad and the Tagliatelle there version of Fig Newrons was interesting and tasty. We have always enjoyed this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was my second meal at Divino and both amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

FANTASTIC meal, great service... very attentive but not intrusive - just perfect

The lamb was AMAZING... and I don't often say that having grown up on the farm where I was privy to the freshest and best lamb chops available.

My father said his meal was the best he has had at a restaurant in a long time (he prefers his own cooking so that is a huge compliment)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

REAL Italian cuisine prepared with care. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

REAL Italian cuisine prepared with care. From the scrumptious salads to the authentic homemade pastas and the luscious desserts, everything was excellent. The wine list is deep and intriguing.

This is a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat, hand made past was t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Great place to eat, hand made past was the best. Definitely will return for dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Calamari and grouper, both expertly prepared. The risotto was very good.

Excellent Italian wine list. The Terlaner white blend paired well with dinner.

Would recommend getting reservations. Parking is not an issue.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A 5 Star Evening

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

From start to finish, just a perfect evening. I enjoyed the tenderloin filet. It was as good as any top steakhouse. The seafood was just as good and the quail also a good choice.

Our waiter met us at the door with a friendly smile and perfect service for the entire meal. The restaurant is quiet and you can actually hold a conversation with the person across the table. The dessert menu looked good, but we all agreed we'd return and enjoy a coffee and dessert which our waiter encouraged us to do.

You can't go wrong at Divino for a truly special evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food.....great atmosphere..... ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Wonderful food.....great atmosphere.....excellent service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.