About Diva at the Met

645 Howe Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 2Y9
View Larger Map

Our culinary team brings a true respect for our fresh local ingredients, with a reputation for bringing out their true flavours through both traditional and modern cooking techniques. True to those words, we utilize ingredients traceable to their origins, offering a path back to the restaurant's strong relationships with farmers, fishermen and artisans. By exploiting simplicity, our food is about letting the flavours speak for themselves; all the while ensuring the pure essence of the ingredient is the star of the dish. Our staff have both a passion for food and wine, with a talent for hospitality and service.

Innovative signature cocktails are created seasonally.

Special offerings include Diva's Chef's Table and wine cellar featuring over 150 labels. Diva also offers Prix Fixe lunch menus, fresh seasonal testing menus and decadent desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday : 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Georgia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 602-7788

Website:
http://www.metropolitan.com/diva/

Catering:
For gatherings up to 200 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Parking Details:
Enjoy Complimentry Valet parking when you dine in Diva at the Met.

Public Transit:
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, we are a short walk to the Queen Elizabeth theatre, the Vancouver Opera, the Centre for Performing Arts, BC Place, and the Rogers Arena, home of the Vancouver Canucks. The stations for the Sky Train and Canada Line are less than 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Ken Galley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Diva at the Met is happy to offer you the entire restaurant for your private personal or company event. You will have the attention of all of Diva's professionals to guarantee a successful amd memorable experience.

Restaurant Photos

Diva at the Met Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (18)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (16)
See All
great for lunch (15)
good for groups (10)
notable wine list (9)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Underwelomed with food. Cod a bit dry, b ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Underwelomed with food. Cod a bit dry, bacon on dish took over the flavor, gnocchi very bland.felt like i had a bacon burger instead of pan seared cod!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Place to Eat Food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel and ate breakfast and dinner here. Good food and good drinks! Breakfast was awesome too.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pa ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing - a perfect meal! Our server was awesome and we had a lovely time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on March 24, 2016

I fell in love with this restaurant back in 2000 during my first visit to Vancouver. I see the great standards it had then still are in place today. The service is great. The food is excellent. They have my favorite champagne -Krug! I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Stay away

Dined on March 12, 2016

No one was there when we arrived. We just sort of stood around until someone finally noticed us. We had about three different servers wait on our table and they were friendly enough but gave only average service (eg only one of us was offered freshly ground pepper). The soup had a layer of grease sitting on top, the steak was gristly, the sea bass had no flavour, and the chicken, which tasted great going down, was perfectly ghastly coming out the wrong end later that night, all night long. What they charged for the quality of food they gave us is criminal. I called to speak to the manager and waited a day before someone called me back only to find out she wasn't the manager. I told her our story and she apologized but I'm still waiting for the manager to call me four days later. We should have turned around and left when we saw the restaurant mostly empty at 7:30pm on a Friday and the big screen TV (in a "fancy" restaurant?!) showing the latest MMA bout.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious menu and friendly service

Dined on March 12, 2016

I started with the Pear, Fig and Goat cheese salad and it was absolutely delightful. For my main course I enjoyed the grilled tenderloin with a lobster tail. The Tenderloin was wonderful. I probably could have done without the lobster tail. It wasn't the best lobster tail I had. A bit dry despite it being buttered. For dessert I chose crème brulé and it was perfect. I will definitely go back but I'll skip the lobster.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Decor

Dined on March 7, 2016

The food here is great, but this place needs to have an ambiance, I made reservation because I was looking for something special, I even stated that I was celebrating a birthday , nothing happened, it was useless, I felt I was dining at any of those chain restaurants where they have the lights too bright, with screens and no music and tables set up with breakfast service .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 28, 2016

My meal was easily in my top 3 all time meals. I'm having difficulties not making it my number one dish. The crispy duck was insane.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great meal and service.

food5
ambience3
service1
value2

terrible service

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I went there for Valentine's day, and although the food was very good, the server kept complaining about how much she had to work, and talking a lot during OUR romantic valentine's night dinner. She didn't come when we needed her, didn't ask how the food was, didn't offer drinks often enough, and just every time she came kept talking about how tired she was and how much work she had. We had a hard time asking for drinks also, she would be nowhere to be found and we just sat there with empty champagne glasses. Then the manager (we think he was the manager) started talking to us on the way out, saying he was GLAD the evening was almost over FINALLY because they had been so busy. It made us feel like we were imposing. They completely ruined the valentine's day experience. It was a hefty price tag, and we didn't mind paying but we expected more than servers who belonged at Denny's. We get better service at any McDonald's. Very disappointing.

food4
ambience3
service3

The menu was well written and flavours w ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The menu was well written and flavours were all there. Two things that really stood out for me was that the bisque was not hot enough it was lukewarm, but the tenderloin was cooked absolutely spot on, very tender and moist.

food1
ambience3
service4

Soup was cold when we first got them Add ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Soup was cold when we first got them Added a lobster to our main course was frozen and soggy Been to many fine dinning Not impressed with this place

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Go back to school

Dined on February 14, 2016

restaurant seems run by some lame business school type. Not somebody passionate about food and people.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal for valentine day. Servi ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent meal for valentine day. Service was attentive but not overbearing

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Classic Vancouver Overpriced

Dined on February 14, 2016

As a frequent world business traveler, I'm fortunate to eat at all sorts of restaurants in all sorts of places. I'm always disappointed by "fine" dining in my own backyard which rarely provide the same level of service or quality of dining as similar establishments even just across the border. Diva, unfortunately is another one of these. To live up to a $85CAD prix fixe, service should be better than our local chain restaurants. To live up to a $85 prix fixe, food should not only be special(it was), but actually stimulate the palate. And, to live up to a $85 prix fixe, lighting should match the mood and decor should not include me staring at a wall of glass bricks like at the public pool. Sorry Diva, you caught me after a week of $100pp dinners and you were outdone by them all.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dine Out Vancouver

Dined on January 31, 2016

All the selections we had were excellent, particularly the beet/goat cheese appie and the chicken entrée. The wine pairings were well thought out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere is good. Wish to see more foo ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Atmosphere is good. Wish to see more food on dine out menu. The appetizer soup is fantastic!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dine-out and wine pairing

Dined on January 29, 2016

I have typically enjoyed Diva at the Met but this most recent experience allowed me to enjoy the best wine pairing I've ever encountered. A friend of mine and myself took to try out the Dine Out menu as a celebration for his birthday. I began with the Beet and Goat Cheese Terrine which was delicious and perfectly paired with a Sumac Ridge sparkling wine. This was followed by Chicken Breast wrapped in Prosciutto and filled with a goat cheese concoction and paired with a Black Sage merlot. Unbelievable tasty and superbly matched to the wine. My final course was cheese cake paired with a Burrowing Owl port and the dish was really good and perfectly paired. I can not say enough about how much I enjoyed the food and wine coupled with terrific service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Convenient location

Dined on January 28, 2016

Diva at the Met never cease to amaze me! The food selection is great. Affordable food truck-inspired menu is versatile. It caters to different tastes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Dine Out vancouver

Dined on January 24, 2016

Unfortunately, due to it being Dine Out week the menu was set and my wife particularly wanted steak. Amazingly the staff booked us a table at another restaurant which was really great. Because of this we will be returning.......just not during dine out week.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mid-City gem

Dined on January 24, 2016

Perfect place for gathering of variety of occasions. The servers were friendly but professional and attentive. The food presentation to perfection very pleasing to the eyes and can almost discern texture at a glance. Definitely a journey of tasting delicate flavors . The cocktails were perfectly balance and not overpowering. Diva at The Met is definitely a perfect spot to indulge.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diva for "Dine Out Vancouver"

Dined on January 23, 2016

We went to Diva for the Dine Out Vancouver event and it was excellent. I had the beet/pomegranate/goat cheese terrine, which was excellent and the colour made it look very appetizing. The main entre was the goat cheese soufflé, which was light and airy; quite delicious. The Chocolate Charlotte with raspberries for dessert was to die for. I would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great but the warm and attentiv ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Food was great but the warm and attentive service made the experience excellent

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good portions

Dined on January 19, 2016

I stopped going back to some restaurants due to their stingy portions but Diva was quite generous. My friend said that her appetizer (beets terraine) was the best dine out app she's had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One process problem

Dined on January 18, 2016

While we loved the food and had great service it was very disconcerting to see a staff member use the washroom without hand washing after. Since there was no maitre d' that night this was brought to the attention of another staff member and I hope it has been dealt with as he assured us it would be.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Had never been to DIVA at The Met before ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Had never been to DIVA at The Met before and was disappointed in both food and service. The food was pretty bland. Not horrible but certainly didn't stand out. And the service was not what I would have expected from a downtown hotel restaurant. Several things happened that were sub-par but the most bothersome was our server removed my plate before my companion had finished eating.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dine Out at Diva

Dined on January 16, 2016

We haven't been there for a while - last time the room was a bit tired, but its been redone and the dining room is renewed. Dineout menu was imaginative and different. would recommend highly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Disappointed with the New Years Eve experience.

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were very disappointed with the food on New Years Eve. While the menu sounded delicious the execution was terrible - basically Food Service level. So disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall a very good experience

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were welcomed warmly upon arrival, and we were immediately seated. We were happy with the whole evening and have no complaints. Food, service and atmosphere were all very nice. We will be most certainly be returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy New Year

Dined on January 1, 2016

We wanted an early evening without the noise and clatter of many venues. Diva was the perfect solution. The seating allows for some privacy, the waiters were knowledgeable and personable and the wait time for perfectly presented food was minimal. The food was well above most comparable restaurants, particularly the Arctic Char with shellfish and delicious seasoned potatoes. We haven't been to Diva for some time and will certainly return in the new year.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

lovely

Dined on December 31, 2015

amazing food and service. cant wait to go back. was surprised it wasnt super busy. very underrated restaurant.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience.

Dined on December 31, 2015

We decided to visit Diva for dinner before going to a concert in Richmond. The reviews for the most part are usually accurate so it seemed like a good choice.....and it was a very good choice! Starting with the Pear, Fig and Goat Cheese salad and my husband had the Heirloom Tomato salad. Both were delicious and very tasty! My main was the Spahetti with Kobe Meatballs....excellent choice. The spaghetti was tosses with truffle oil and the meatballs were spicy, perhaps a bit too much, but great all the same. My husband had the Prawn Fettucine, not a creamy say puce but more an oil based one. Prawns done to perfection! No room for dessert, unfortunately. Our server was amazing! Just the right amount of presence, polite and friendly....always with a smile. Would definitely go back and recommend it highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value1

Not for special occasion

Dined on December 28, 2015

I took my wife to Diva for our 25th wedding anniversary. The food was great but overpriced. They did nothing to make our special occasion special!!! The bartender James served triple duty also serving as seating host and busser. He was great and deserves a huge raise.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food & lovely service

Dined on December 26, 2015

The food here is always excellent, inventive, without being the "weird" to the less adventurous. Service is excellent, attentive without making you feel they are hovering or bothering you every moment. They cheerfully rolled with a substitution for a food allergy without a problem even on a crowded holiday with a fixed menu even though guest was willing to omit a course. Good suggestions for wines. A great place for a group as well as a small intimate dinner. Previously we have dines with a group with pre-teens who enjoyed the dinner and had their minor food issues accommodated without fuss or drama. Staff and chefs are friendly and excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Christmas Eve Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

My family and I had dinner here on Christmas Eve. The restaurant was serving a four course dinner for $85 per person. We shared a bottle of white wine. Our server was friendly and nice even though the restaurant was clearly understaffed that night. The servers were running around and the food came out very slowly (over 45 min), which was unreasonably long for a set dinner. The only decent course was the lobster bisque. The duck was very gamey and the seafood risotto had undercooked risotto and overcooked seafood. The lobster tasted like it was microwaved. Overall, very disappointing for Christmas Eve. I have had business lunches at this restaurant and they were much better.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Very Spicy Steak/Hambergers !

Dined on December 23, 2015

The Steak / Burger was very spicy ..... (for someone who doesn't enjoy spicy foods) .... yet there was no indication that the burger was spicy on the menu!

food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes were well-presented, balanced and ...

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Dishes were well-presented, balanced and full of flavours. Service were amazing, informative, well groomed, good timing. It is not so much of casual dining by price but atmosphere was very comforting for any occasion. Highly recommend to others and will re-visit definitely.

food4
ambience3
service2

The jury's still out

Dined on December 12, 2015

My friend and I had enjoyed Diva a few times several years ago but didn't return after our last disappointing and unimpressive experience there. After a few years, we decided to give it another try. Décor is still the same - simple but elegant. We waited 20 minutes for our cocktails when the restaurant was not busy at all.. (the reason was the machine had run out of paper..?). After my friend commented on the wait, the service was overly attentive, almost cloying. Both of us very much enjoyed our food each having different appys, entres and desserts. And the Manhattans there are great. We will probably return again, but it has not yet regained it's place on our list of most favoured restaurants as the service is much too questionable.

food3
ambience4
service4

The prix fixe lunch was very good with t ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

The prix fixe lunch was very good with the exception of the dessert which was advertised as a pear and currant crisp which turned out to be a "deconstructed" version. I expected the usual baked and bubbly crisp and was disappointed. Chunks of granola bar thrown on top of cold diced fruit. I barely touched it and also told the server but was not offered a substitution or reduction on the bill. Reconstruct this dish or don't serve it. Otherwise, the experience was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic. Never disappointed.

Dined on November 25, 2015

Always fantastic. Never disappointed.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.