Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Diva at the Met

Our culinary team brings a true respect for our fresh local ingredients, with a reputation for bringing out their true flavours through both traditional and modern cooking techniques. True to those words, we utilize ingredients traceable to their origins, offering a path back to the restaurant's strong relationships with farmers, fishermen and artisans. By exploiting simplicity, our food is about letting the flavours speak for themselves; all the while ensuring the pure essence of the ingredient is the star of the dish. Our staff have both a passion for food and wine, with a talent for hospitality and service.

Innovative signature cocktails are created seasonally.

Special offerings include Diva's Chef's Table and wine cellar featuring over 150 labels. Diva also offers Prix Fixe lunch menus, fresh seasonal testing menus and decadent desserts.

645 Howe Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 2Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday : 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Georgia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 602-7788

Website:
http://www.metropolitan.com/diva/

Catering:
For gatherings up to 200 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Parking Details:
Enjoy Complimentry Valet parking when you dine in Diva at the Met.

Public Transit:
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, we are a short walk to the Queen Elizabeth theatre, the Vancouver Opera, the Centre for Performing Arts, BC Place, and the Rogers Arena, home of the Vancouver Canucks. The stations for the Sky Train and Canada Line are less than 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Ken Galley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Diva at the Met is happy to offer you the entire restaurant for your private personal or company event. You will have the attention of all of Diva's professionals to guarantee a successful amd memorable experience.

Specials

Girls night Out

Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $27.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Girls night Out

Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us every Wednesday in Diva's lounge for girls night out. Enjoy 3 select drinks, or substitute an appetizer for $25. Excludes Tax and Tip. Seating in lounge is first come first served. Special valid Mar 1, 2017 - Apr 26, 2017 on Wednesdays from 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $27.00

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $27.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. In a crunch for time? Our featured lunch menu comes with a 50 minute guarantee. Special valid Mar 7, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Diva at the Met Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Business Meals (7)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Ordered steak, quality of the meat was definitely great. Portion was decently big. Asked for rare steak but got blue rare which was a little bit disappointing. Bf ordered prime rib dinner which was also nice. Bacon-infused caesar got me excited as I haven't seen it elsewhere and I am a big caesar fan. I was hoping they would have goat-cheese souffle but got the dark chocolate souffle instead as that was on the menu during my visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

this place use to be great. it was dead on a saturday night are 8pm. server kept trying to top up our sparkling water with flat water, waiters and chefs kept bantering and wine tasted like the bottle was open in the fridge way too long. it is sad to see this place drop so badly. I will not go back or recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Their Black cod is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed the smoked black cos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

1st visit to Diva for dine out vancouver, food good, excellent service, nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Five of us arrived for a business lunch with a reservation. WE were seated and greeted by a server rather quickly, however, when it came time to order, our white wine wasn't chilled, and the server (who may have been the manager at the time), took a while to take our order. The server did a good job of refilling our wine, water, and other refreshments, but when the food finally arrived, everyone's meal was cold. Two of us ordered the kale caesar, and there was not even one piece of kale in the caesar. The server went on to explain that it was a mixture of romaine and kale, but that still didn't explain why there wasn't any kale in the salad at all. My steak on my caesar tasted okay, although it did lack flavour, and was overcooked. Overall, this experience was disappointing even though the server tried to rectify the cold food etc., by taking some items off the bill. The server did not pay attention to bill times or to the quality control of the food when it went out. This is a basic service at a restaurant, so of course it will be critiqued. Lastly, this was an unfortunate expereince as we have quite a few of our business lunches at this restaurant. Perhaps it's time to find something new.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went for Dine out. Excellent menu with 2 choices in each course. Delicious food and very attentive service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was great, food was just okay. Have had better entree before. I was pleasantly happy though that they have pizza for kids, which really tasted good and definitely great value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I hadn't been to Diva in a couple of years. It used to be a favorite spot when I worked downtown. Our lunch was a reunion so we all wanted to try Diva again. Glad we did, it's still an excellent choice.
Diva is a definite sleeper. Well worth checking it out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is a busy time with Dine Out, but we found that while the service was very friendly and the hot chocolate was delicious, it was a little slow on the bill pick-up end. A lovely history of visits overall, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place, great atmosphere, the food was decent, overall a good dine out experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

There was wine paring for dine out Vancouver menu. I wish they had a set wine paring option instead each course had recommendations.
Half of the glass for each course is ideal.
Main courses, beef and rock fish was very tasty.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Good service and nice restaurant. Steak and praline/chocolate bar were good but rest of the dishes were so so.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for Dine Out Vancouver, and it was fantastic! Everything tasted amazing and the plating was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Found a "Rock" in the Salad! So we told our waitress ... Manger showed up and offered us his business card!!! No Apology & No Concession just his business Card!?!? I am still puzzled with his approach. Obliviously he needs to learn more about Customer Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went with Dine Out 2017 wit some friends. Very good food, nice ambience. Lobster bisque, steak and dessert were all very good: 4/5. The service was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was just ok. Steak was very well done even though we requested medium so we had to send our entrees back. Seems like the quality of the food and restaurant has gone downhill. I do t think we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food is spectacular. I had the steak, and it's cooked to perfection. But the service is not up to the standard. My father in law went to the washroom after we placed our order and on his way back to our table, the waitress who took our orders grabbed his hand and asked him "you are...?" as if he just randomly walked in to her dining area. It's small, but not professional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The value of the New Year's Eve fixed plate was not there. Lobster bisque was ok, pears on the salad had already darkened, scallops and duck were very good, gnocchi in the lobster main plate was rubbery, ribeye was average, pheasant was dry, however two cheese pasta was very tasteful. Desserts were ok. Was it worth $125...no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A wonderful Christmas Eve experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Small odd shaped restaurant but food was cooked beautifully. Christmas Eve 4 course menu was good & not a bad price. Service was good & attentive. Liked that it's not overly fancy so dress code more smart casual but still get a fine dining meal experience. Would fine here again if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We hadn't been to Divas for sometime but I'm sure we will be back again soon. The wait staff were great and the food was delicious. The noise level is so low that it makes it easy to have a conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service, good food in a quiet location close to town. Plenty of options for lunch (excellent kobe steak burger) and overall good value for money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Dined here for the first time in many years. Service was attentive and friendly and the food was outstanding. We shared the poached pear and goat cheese (substituted blue cheese) salad, then ThisLittlePiggy had the Lobster Gnocchi - Mmmmmmm!! Hubby had the smoked cod. Each meal was sensational!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food here is amazing. Very quiet on a Friday evening. Exceptional staff as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was excellent as usual. One of our group had a dairy allergy and the chef came to our table to consult with her about the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The service was good and the overall experience - food, ambience, convenience, etc - was a very good value

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food and selection is outstanding! I've been here before and it was equally top notch. This visit however is where I encountered poor service, lack of attentiveness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food is to-die-for and the service is friendly and upbeat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Over 20$ for 5 tortellini in a bland sauce. Service was good and dessert was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It has been more than 5 years since the last visit, but Diva is still there for great food. It is a good, quiet and comfortable place for good conversation. I like the pre-fix lunch menu too, which is $29, really good value. I will definitely go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was very slow and we were the only group in the restaurant. The waitress was slow with the drinks that our party had to go up to the bar and grab their own drinks. One person had a piece of paper towel in their food. Someone ordered a rare steak it came out well done and when they told the waitress she said she was pretty sure he ordered a well done. I think the person eating the steak would know whether he wants a rare or well done steak.... Overall the food was ok.... If you're in a small party maybe I'd recommend this restaurant. However, for bigger parties expect a wait for your food and drinks... On a good note they did take a couple of desserts off the bill...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The servers seemed distracted and rushing around and it was not a relaxing experience. The eggs were over cooked as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This use to be my favourite place to go for fine dining but after our last dinner there no longer going back. Mind you the prime rib was good. Caesar Salad was very watery and over dressed.
One server was okay but the other server was very uninformed, did not know what was served or come with the prime rib.
This was suppose to be a fine dining restaurant, would you believe they had us in and out of
there within and hour, now who does that.
Sorry Diva, you lost me, loved it back in the 80's, 90's and the early 2000's when it was vibrant and you had great chefs, now it is just ho hum and lousy service. You need to improve in your service, and servers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I recently took my boss for a lunch to Diva at the Met as she will be going on maternity leave very soon. Service was great and Chef Sam was outstanding - treated us amazing, ensured we got our food in a timely manner and that the quality was top notch! The Salmon was UNBELIEVABLE! so good! and the desserts were so so good! I would definitely recommend Diva at the Met.
Thank for to our server and most importantly, SAM, for the outstanding service and quality food. Cannot wait to come back.
Kind Regards, Tereza H

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The waitress was slow and not very smart or knowledgeable about the food menu or drinks. The martini was watery and not cold. We came to hear the guitar player Michael Gillette who added everything to the place and made the ambiance amazing. Won't come back until he's playing at dinner. Otherwise it would not be a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was excellent and food was great. The restaurant also has a free valet parking for the guests to the restaurant. It was very convenient, because it was not easy to find a parking nearby. The wine election for the tasting dinner was very good and all of the members of our group enjoyed very much. The server was very friendly and polite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The tenderloin and grilled striploin were amazing! Medium rare was done perfectly! I would definitely recommend my friends to have dinner at Diva at the Met when they visit Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Underwelomed with food. Cod a bit dry, bacon on dish took over the flavor, gnocchi very bland.felt like i had a bacon burger instead of pan seared cod!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel and ate breakfast and dinner here. Good food and good drinks! Breakfast was awesome too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.