Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Diva at the Met

Our culinary team brings a true respect for our fresh local ingredients, with a reputation for bringing out their true flavours through both traditional and modern cooking techniques. True to those words, we utilize ingredients traceable to their origins, offering a path back to the restaurant's strong relationships with farmers, fishermen and artisans. By exploiting simplicity, our food is about letting the flavours speak for themselves; all the while ensuring the pure essence of the ingredient is the star of the dish. Our staff have both a passion for food and wine, with a talent for hospitality and service.

Innovative signature cocktails are created seasonally.

Special offerings include Diva's Chef's Table and wine cellar featuring over 150 labels. Diva also offers Prix Fixe lunch menus, fresh seasonal testing menus and decadent desserts.

645 Howe Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 2Y9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday : 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Georgia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 602-7788

Website:
http://www.metropolitan.com/diva/

Catering:
For gatherings up to 200 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Parking Details:
Enjoy Complimentry Valet parking when you dine in Diva at the Met.

Public Transit:
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, we are a short walk to the Queen Elizabeth theatre, the Vancouver Opera, the Centre for Performing Arts, BC Place, and the Rogers Arena, home of the Vancouver Canucks. The stations for the Sky Train and Canada Line are less than 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Ken Galley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Diva at the Met is happy to offer you the entire restaurant for your private personal or company event. You will have the attention of all of Diva's professionals to guarantee a successful amd memorable experience.

Specials

Business Lunch

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Business Lunch

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

3 course business lunch menu, $27/person Join us for a special 3 course menu for lunch in Diva, comes with a 50 minute time guarantee. Mention to host/server that you are pressed for time, if we miss the time* mark lunch is on us*. Excludes Tax and Tip. *from time of order, time constraint must be mentioned to qualify*. Special valid Jul 11, 2017 - Sep 30, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Diva at the Met Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

69% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
See All
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Greeted warmly; servers helpful and cheerful; wine spilled, but replaced; ambiance friendly and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Would have loved to try it. Why take 9:45 reservations if the kitchen closes at 10? Waitress basically kicked us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very good location of the restaurant, close to shopping and entertainment. Food was very good and big portion too, good value for the price. Service was fantastic! I would recommend this restaurant to everyone, for everyday dining, friends gathering or any special day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very well trained staff. Lobster gnocchi was a bit too salty for me. I thought the music was too club scene, particularly for an older crowd. I'd definately go again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service, and perfectly prepared food. An evening at Diva felt effortless, and was the perfect way to start a special night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We found this place to have a very limited menu. We chose it because it was listed as having a great patio but in fact there were only two tables and they wouldn't let us eat out there. One thing they do have, though is Stilton cheese cake to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great Kobe beef burger - not too big, not too small.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

No longer the restaurant it was. The service was very good, but the meal was average. We both had the 5 course tasting menu and nothing about it stood out positively. In a city full of great restaurants, this is not one I'll be returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I used to love coming here due to the low noise and the good food.
My latest business meal showed that the food has declined in quality and quantity.
Although we had a good business lunch, with low noise and good separation of tables, the food was distracting in its lack of appeal by all in our party.

Will have to find another location that makes business lunches both functional and enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fabulous tasters menu and attentive and friendly service.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was an average experience at a premium price. Service was fantastic and we were able to bring our own wine at a corkage fee of only $25. This was very reasonable and appreciated as the wine list was less than adequate for the quality of food that was suggested by the menu prices. Food quality was poor at the price point. A hotel restaurant experience adequate for guests of a 3.5* hotel. If you're visiting the city there are at least 5 places within a 3 block radius I would suggest before Diva. If you're staying at the Met and are too tired to leave the hotel then it will do. We asked the "concierge" on the way out if he could call us a taxi, he said we should walk around the corner and hail one. If you were to walk around the corner, there are a number of far better restaurants there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have enjoyed many memorable meals at Diva but this time did not live up to previous expectations unfortunately. The meals were good but not spectacular. The smoked black cod was a delicious piece of fish but seemed overwhelmed by the generous serving of mashed potatoes. One diner commented that the ribeye was only okay. Two of the group had the wine poached pear, fig and goat cheese salad and both were disappointed in the flavour of the pears.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Diva never disappoints. I love this restaurant - everything from the location, food, service, ambiance, décor. I don't have enough compliments. Always a good experience and will always consider Diva for business meals and to entertain my out of town guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and ambiance! Super homey feel for a hotel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Ordered steak, quality of the meat was definitely great. Portion was decently big. Asked for rare steak but got blue rare which was a little bit disappointing. Bf ordered prime rib dinner which was also nice. Bacon-infused caesar got me excited as I haven't seen it elsewhere and I am a big caesar fan. I was hoping they would have goat-cheese souffle but got the dark chocolate souffle instead as that was on the menu during my visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

this place use to be great. it was dead on a saturday night are 8pm. server kept trying to top up our sparkling water with flat water, waiters and chefs kept bantering and wine tasted like the bottle was open in the fridge way too long. it is sad to see this place drop so badly. I will not go back or recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The two of us enjoyed a really good meal, with friendly & quick service, in early March at this restaurant in the Metropolitan Hotel. Dinner was a very pleasant late sitting. I ordered the sea scallops for starter (one of the best i have tried) and tortellini for main while my husband enjoyed the pumpkin soup and 10oz ribeye, which was cooked medium as requested and very tender. Prices for food and drinks were quite reasonable and the ambience was cheerful, with lots of people coming and going, as you would expect in a good hotel restaurant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Their Black cod is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed the smoked black cos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

1st visit to Diva for dine out vancouver, food good, excellent service, nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Five of us arrived for a business lunch with a reservation. WE were seated and greeted by a server rather quickly, however, when it came time to order, our white wine wasn't chilled, and the server (who may have been the manager at the time), took a while to take our order. The server did a good job of refilling our wine, water, and other refreshments, but when the food finally arrived, everyone's meal was cold. Two of us ordered the kale caesar, and there was not even one piece of kale in the caesar. The server went on to explain that it was a mixture of romaine and kale, but that still didn't explain why there wasn't any kale in the salad at all. My steak on my caesar tasted okay, although it did lack flavour, and was overcooked. Overall, this experience was disappointing even though the server tried to rectify the cold food etc., by taking some items off the bill. The server did not pay attention to bill times or to the quality control of the food when it went out. This is a basic service at a restaurant, so of course it will be critiqued. Lastly, this was an unfortunate expereince as we have quite a few of our business lunches at this restaurant. Perhaps it's time to find something new.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went for Dine out. Excellent menu with 2 choices in each course. Delicious food and very attentive service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was great, food was just okay. Have had better entree before. I was pleasantly happy though that they have pizza for kids, which really tasted good and definitely great value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I hadn't been to Diva in a couple of years. It used to be a favorite spot when I worked downtown. Our lunch was a reunion so we all wanted to try Diva again. Glad we did, it's still an excellent choice.
Diva is a definite sleeper. Well worth checking it out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is a busy time with Dine Out, but we found that while the service was very friendly and the hot chocolate was delicious, it was a little slow on the bill pick-up end. A lovely history of visits overall, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great place, great atmosphere, the food was decent, overall a good dine out experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

There was wine paring for dine out Vancouver menu. I wish they had a set wine paring option instead each course had recommendations.
Half of the glass for each course is ideal.
Main courses, beef and rock fish was very tasty.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Good service and nice restaurant. Steak and praline/chocolate bar were good but rest of the dishes were so so.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for Dine Out Vancouver, and it was fantastic! Everything tasted amazing and the plating was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Found a "Rock" in the Salad! So we told our waitress ... Manger showed up and offered us his business card!!! No Apology & No Concession just his business Card!?!? I am still puzzled with his approach. Obliviously he needs to learn more about Customer Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went with Dine Out 2017 wit some friends. Very good food, nice ambience. Lobster bisque, steak and dessert were all very good: 4/5. The service was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was just ok. Steak was very well done even though we requested medium so we had to send our entrees back. Seems like the quality of the food and restaurant has gone downhill. I do t think we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food is spectacular. I had the steak, and it's cooked to perfection. But the service is not up to the standard. My father in law went to the washroom after we placed our order and on his way back to our table, the waitress who took our orders grabbed his hand and asked him "you are...?" as if he just randomly walked in to her dining area. It's small, but not professional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The value of the New Year's Eve fixed plate was not there. Lobster bisque was ok, pears on the salad had already darkened, scallops and duck were very good, gnocchi in the lobster main plate was rubbery, ribeye was average, pheasant was dry, however two cheese pasta was very tasteful. Desserts were ok. Was it worth $125...no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A wonderful Christmas Eve experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Small odd shaped restaurant but food was cooked beautifully. Christmas Eve 4 course menu was good & not a bad price. Service was good & attentive. Liked that it's not overly fancy so dress code more smart casual but still get a fine dining meal experience. Would fine here again if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We hadn't been to Divas for sometime but I'm sure we will be back again soon. The wait staff were great and the food was delicious. The noise level is so low that it makes it easy to have a conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service, good food in a quiet location close to town. Plenty of options for lunch (excellent kobe steak burger) and overall good value for money.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Dined here for the first time in many years. Service was attentive and friendly and the food was outstanding. We shared the poached pear and goat cheese (substituted blue cheese) salad, then ThisLittlePiggy had the Lobster Gnocchi - Mmmmmmm!! Hubby had the smoked cod. Each meal was sensational!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food here is amazing. Very quiet on a Friday evening. Exceptional staff as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.