About District Tap House

Located in Midtown West.

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
See All
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (8)
Tapas (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Live Sports (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Have been going back every month, great beer selection.

Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waitress Lily was excellent, again! She's pleasant and efficient and helped to make the occasion special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here with girlfriends prior to a concert at MSG. It's very lively with an extensive beer menu and decent pub food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went there prior to a game at MSG. Food very good, help attentive, reasonable prices, good crowd. Could have stayed longer but had to get to MSG. Would go back.

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It's great. I try to go as much as possible. Bree is absolutely great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a great bar scene with delicious appetizers. Drinks were good. Highly recommend the goat cheese croquettes and duck fat fries! Perfect for a date night or to watch games.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome place. Food excellent and extremely reasonably-priced. Very cool place with huge draft beer selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was the perfect spot for a date. My husband & I ate here just before attending a concert at MSG and it hit all the right notes for exactly what we were looking for: interesting food choices (everything was delicious), great craft beer selection & ciders for me, excellent service (our waitress checked on us just enough), not too noisy (recommend getting there before happy hour rush- we had a 5pm reservation) and overall great experience. We will definitely return to try more of the food options. Wonderful place! Highly recommended!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sat down at 12:30 on Saturday afternoon. It took 10-15 minutes for waitress to acknowledge we were there. Ordered three lunches. Mine was delivered 15 minutes (Seriously) before my wife and son's. Manager kept apologizing. Nice of him, but it was an awful experience. Too many good options in NYC. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Desert accidentally took 40 minutes to get to our table but it's okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was fantastic. The beer offerings are wide ranging with something for every palate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went to District Tap House for happy hour Friday night and had a great time. Excellent beer selection, good food, and fun atmosphere. We will definitely be back for happy hours in the future. It is rare to find a great spot near Herald Square and this was a winner!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Okay, I was really impressed. With such a name, I was expecting more bar food. The menu was impressive and the meals themselves lived up to it. I was really and pleasantly surprised. If you want beer, this is the place to go with a list of countless choices. The servers were friendly, engaging and knowledgable. There's a tv at every booth so you can enjoy the games. Just plan on going for a good time--not for an intimate conversation. By the time I got home, I think my body was still vibrating from the loud pumping music. It's a good time, no doubt. It's not just an intimate time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We wanted a place for dinner after the the travel show at the Javitz center and I know that's not a neighborhood with too many choices. So I found good reviews of the District Tap House and it turned out to be just what we were looking for. Nice atmosphere with bar seating, high tops and booths. The service was cordial and nice paced. The food itself tasted delicious but we were thrown a bit by how small the appetizer portions were. I guess they are supposed to be more "small plates" but we didn't realize that. We ordered the crab empanadas and there were only two..which is a problem when we we were a party of 3. I wish the server had given us a heads up. But now we know for next time. Overall, a good dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We sat, ate and drank for 4 hours! A very nice afternoon - the place could not be better. However, as for us, the hot hummus is not good. Otherwise terrific place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The glasses were not washed well and given to us anyway. I later saw our server diligently wiping other glasses with a cloth napkin for other guests so it is clear this is an ongoing issue or at least one the staff is aware of. The short rib needed more sauce. Once our waitress checked in after the food arrived we did not see her again for a while. I left my empty glass on the edge so she could see it but she was not checking for something like refills. I then asked a busboy passing by to let her know- I watched as he walked over to her, pointed at my table, she looked right at me and never came over or brought the soda. I had to ask for the check twice. The place was only half full so I have to believe it was just her. Hope they train better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great place for happy hour and light fare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place for after work drinks or a pre-theater dinner date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I picked District because it was close to the office. Was pleasantly surprised by the offerings—especially since neither I nor my companion eat meat. A lot of variety, just the right amount. My Brussels sprouts dish was delicious. We weren't drinking, but the cocktails and beer selection look great. And you can actually carry on a conversation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was quite terrible. The waitress came by for our drinks and food order and only came by again after we had been sitting at a cleared table for quite some time even when someone said they needed a minute on a beer selection she never came back. In addition we were missing several sets of silverware and when asking the bus boys for silverware plus a few items they would dart away from the table before we even had a chance to finish asking for ketchup etc. Because they kept walking away before we could finish our request they had to make several trips. We asked for ketchup and got 1 tiny side when 5 of us had fries on our plate. I think common sense would be to bring a few more.
The food was good and they were able to seat a larger party (6 people) but even that was uncomfortable when we asked to sit at a high top they said they reserve those for large groups - well we were a larger group and 10 minutes into our meal they sat a party of 2 at the high top meant for 8 people. Not a great experience.
Gave 3 stars only because it's a decent option in the area and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Hannah was a great server! The food was good and our happy hour drinks were reasonably priced. We did reserve a table for an early dinner from open table and we weren't sat at the best table. It did leave us wishing we had just sat at the bar, as it may have been more comfortable. Other than that, the experience was a good one and I would recommend going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place was fantastic. We visited here on New Year's Eve. The staff accommodated our every need. They gave us a booth exactly as I requested and let us leisurely eat our meal. Even though they had a special New Years Eve party later in the evening, we never felt pressure to request the bill. The food was delicious and the beer list extensive. When we returned later in the evening, they remembered us and welcomed us back to continue our revelry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Way too noisy if you are going for dinner. It's a bar.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Hostess called to confirm the reservation, and was super nice. We had a problem getting into the city and had to change the time we'd be there. The hostess was super nice about it. When we arrived there was a very friendly doorman who greeted us and we sat immediately. The beer menu is extensive for those IPO fans. With tons of sections on tap. The food, which is slightly larger than small plates, was sharable and completely delicious! The server was always attentive and super friendly as well! Great experience!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was cold. All the food had an unpleasant sweetness to it. Menu items trying to sound fancy but don't live up to that taste wise.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always a go-to when I'm looking for a happy hour / good food to meet up with friends in a central location. Honestly, the food is really good here and a well-kept secret!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious creative food. Decent service. HUGE beer list, yummy cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very good food (we ate district burger and trinity beer), but during the dinner a man stole my bag....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Pre-matinee meal of roasted salmon over beans. Tasty and right-sized luncheon portion. Efficient and timely service despite crowd. Would definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was very good to outstanding. Know before you go portions are a bit smaller, but really right size for what we should eat.

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was great, as was the beer selection. Service was on point until later on in the meal. Seemed to zone out a bit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our second time to eat at District Tap House. The food was amazing and the drinks were excellent and our waitress was very helpful and fun. It really hit home that we made the right choice of eating here again after our drive in from Washington DC. Reflecting back on the trip the food was better than the three Michelin star restaurant we ate at later in the trip. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Incredible beer list, tasty food (burger & fries and lamp chops with blueberry & balsamic (?) vinaigrette/reduction ), and friendly service (thanks Paul!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food recommendations were superb, waitress nailed it. Brussels sprouts and lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was unique and delicious. They let us sit for hours! Got a bit noisy as people cheered on their teams and it was a bit dark but so worthwhile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice bar setup with a lot of TVs to watch the games; food was solid as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good music, atmosphere and food!! A place not to miss...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Had tacos (excellent flavor needed a fork) , max/cheese very very yum) , lava cake, apple tart both desserts are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great find - great food - great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was very tasty and reasonably priced for the area. The drinks were tasty but a little light on the alcohol for the price. Our server was okay. Not super attentive or friendly but the food was good enough to mitigate that.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.