About District Tap House

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Located in Midtown West.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time to eat at Distr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our second time to eat at District Tap House. The food was amazing and the drinks were excellent and our waitress was very helpful and fun. It really hit home that we made the right choice of eating here again after our drive in from Washington DC. Reflecting back on the trip the food was better than the three Michelin star restaurant we ate at later in the trip. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible beer list, tasty food (burger ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Incredible beer list, tasty food (burger & fries and lamp chops with blueberry & balsamic (?) vinaigrette/reduction ), and friendly service (thanks Paul!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food recommendations were superb, waitre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food recommendations were superb, waitress nailed it. Brussels sprouts and lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was unique and delicious. They let ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was unique and delicious. They let us sit for hours! Got a bit noisy as people cheered on their teams and it was a bit dark but so worthwhile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice bar setup with a lot of TVs to watc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice bar setup with a lot of TVs to watch the games; food was solid as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good music, atmosphere and food!! A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good music, atmosphere and food!! A place not to miss...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere. Had tacos (excellent f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Had tacos (excellent flavor needed a fork) , max/cheese very very yum) , lava cake, apple tart both desserts are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very tasty and reasonably p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was very tasty and reasonably priced for the area. The drinks were tasty but a little light on the alcohol for the price. Our server was okay. Not super attentive or friendly but the food was good enough to mitigate that.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I'd go back. It was a friends' get toge ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I'd go back. It was a friends' get together. We arrived at 7pm on a Wednesday and the place was very loud, but the after work crowd had pretty much dissipated by 8pm and the last hour was quite comfortable noise wise. The food was very good. We'd go back.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

District Tap House was great! The bar wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 27, 2016

District Tap House was great! The bar was busy for a Tuesday night, most likely due to the amazing Happy Hour deals. Their drinks are so good! Great spot to meet friends as they have large tables/booths.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome fries! Rest of the food was oka ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome fries! Rest of the food was okay.

Was fairly busy and pretty load.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a wonderful time here. We celebrated ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a wonderful time here. We celebrated 2 anniversaries with a double date & they brought a complementary bottle of champagne to our table to start. The service was excellent & the selection of beers top notch. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were very efficient and friend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The staff were very efficient and friendly and the food and drink was very good. I would recommend to other visitors from the UK.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

We picked this place because of it being ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We picked this place because of it being open after theater with an appealing, reasonably priced menu. The small plates were great, as was the beer selection. Definitely worth a trip. When we left around 11:45, it was still hopping, with a lot of young Wall Street types blowing off steam after work.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Brie our waitress was very personable an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Brie our waitress was very personable and the food was great!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for an informal lunch! Quieted dow ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great for an informal lunch! Quieted down after the rush, and they left us alone as long as we wanted to stay. Would definitely come back! Beer menu looks awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is incredible here!!!! everythi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is incredible here!!!! everything we have tried from burger to octopus to fries and pork is sooooooooo delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was pretty poor and we waite ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service was pretty poor and we waited for 10 minutes before anyone came over to our table - despite having noted this was a business meeting on our reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very good experience. Service was timely ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very good experience. Service was timely and attentive. The food was first rate. I had the baby back bbq ribs, which were excellently cooked. Fell right from the bone. Great tasting. My wife had the District Burger. She said it was cooked perfectly to her order, and that the accompanying duck fat fries were delicious. District's beer, wine, and cider lists are HUGE. Superb variety to choose from. We had only one negative, and it's not a biggy, considering that, hello, it's a sports bar. The noise level is was very high. Would that keep us from coming back? No. Not with all the other pluses. But be warned that conversation can be difficult.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We went mid day Sunday. The restaurant w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went mid day Sunday. The restaurant was empty; food ok but the server acted annoyed that we were there. He ruined the whole meal...

Could be neat during a game but with mediocre food and bad service I would skip. No need to pay to be ignored....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great dishes, they made special requests ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great dishes, they made special requests like no onion and garlic.

Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brussels Sprouts dish!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great Brussels Sprouts dish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food but way too loud if you want t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good food but way too loud if you want to have a conversation. Mostly a bar menu selection with a few twists.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious food, extensive craft beer lis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Delicious food, extensive craft beer list, excellent service. Great for watching sports, especially if you get a booth in the back with its own tv. Have to try the duck fat fries!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great beer and small plates menu if you have time

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2016

As someone who's favorite food group is appetizers, the small plates menu is a big draw for me, plus the beer list is excellent. However, when I visited on a Sunday for a pre-theater early dinner, we were left standing in the near-empty dining room for quite a few minutes at the unattended hostess stand, then finally acknowledged by the bartender in a way that made us feel like intruders. An order of four plates plus a follow-on dessert took more than an hour and a half, including rushing through paying the check once we finally received it. And unfortunately, I never got beyond one beer on that excellent list because our server never came back to ask about another round until we were ready for dessert. While I would probably give District Tap House another try -- it was a holiday weekend so maybe they were short staffed -- I would only recommend it with a warning of slow service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I would never go back and would never le ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I would never go back and would never let anyone go to this place. The service was poor and the food was very mediocre. Ordered a drink and 20 minutes later the waitress came by and asked if it ever came. Wait staff had no real knowledge of the food. I can see why it was open on a Saturday night in NYC.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

great casual spot with fantastic beer and drinks

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2016

The staff was friendly and attentive, the beer list extensive, nice selection of food (far beyond a typical bar menu) and good vibe (busy but not over the top loud).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. We came here before a hockey ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great food. We came here before a hockey game at MSG and the servers and staff were very mindful and accommodating of our schedule to get out on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We came for small plates and drinks befo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We came for small plates and drinks before a show. Depending on how hungry you are, I would suggest 3-5 plates for 2 people. We had the duck fat fries, brussels sprouts, shrimp and chorizo and the chocolate lava cake for dessert. We didn't leave a single bite- everything was delicious (I highly recommend the brussels sprouts) and were definitely satisfied with the amount of food we received. Our server was lovely- very helpful in suggesting food and drink, and was very attentive. We sat along the wall opposite the bar, during the NCAA tournament, so the noise level was pretty high, but it didn't bother us! A great choice for anyone looking for good food and a good time in a non-chain restaurant in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 3rd time here and quite poss ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2016

This was my 3rd time here and quite possibly the best. The meatball appetizer was delicious followed by the Short Rib and Skirt Steak Entrees which both were extremely well done. My only gripe is the noise level when seated near the bar it does tend to get quite loud and you are very close to the tables next to you. Ambience is better in the booths in the back. Overall I'm looking forward to my return to try other selections on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Just Ok

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Good services, food was expensive for small portions. More a bar for game day then a restaurant to eat at.

Would not go back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food and locale

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect spot for burger and beer before or after MSG event. Been here twice in 2 weeks and was great both times. Recommend the burger or porkchop...fries are killer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SET THE TUNE FOR A RANGER GAME WIN

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2016

HAD SOME CUSTOMERS ATTENDING RANGER GAME ON A MONDAY NIGHT. THEY ASKED ABOUT A PLACE THAT WAS FUN WITH GOOD FOOD/BEER. WOW, DISTRICT TAP ROOM DELIVERED. MY GROUP OF FOUR TRIED A SLEW OF ITEMS (MODERATELY PRICED) AND LOVED THE SUGGESTIONS FROM OUR SERVER ON BEERS MY GUESTS ASKED ABOUT. AS WE WERE WALKING OVER TO THE GARDEN, IT WAS SUGGESTED -- GREAT MOVE MEETING AT DISTRICT.

I WILL BE BACK AND WE WILL BE TRYING THE REST OF THE MENU - SAVE MY SOME SHORT RIBS.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Great craft beer selec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Great atmosphere. Great craft beer selection. Food delish but portions ridiculously small for the price. Drink here. Eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Pleasant NYC surprise

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Had an extremely hard time booking a restaurant which would be close to Penn Station on the Sunday after Christmas. Found DTH on open table by its location. Our reserved table was ready upon arrival and we found the food options perfect for our group of 5 - Three 20 somethings and Two 60 somethings. The younger diners especially enjoyed the beer bucket selection and the recommendations by our waiter were excellent. Small plates a wonderful idea for sharing the upscale and varied bar food and everything tasted fabulous. A short walk off of Times Square as well as Penn Station. Comfortable and casual ambiance Prices were not bad for NYC. Service excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real find for the carft beer lover

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Located in mid-town, a five minute walk from Times Square, District Tap House is a real find. They have a well curated menu of craft beers with some real winners on it. The thing I found most interesting was the food menu. It was not your usual pub fare and even had some dishes that delighted my wife who tends toward vegetarian. I had the calamari which was not your typical deep fried breaded variety and was delicious. I followed this with baby back ribs. I had the Gaffel Kolsch, a wonderful IPA - the name of which escapes me - and the Young's Double Chocolate Stout. If you are going with a child, they don't have a kids menu and if your kid is picky, this might be a problem. By the way, it is definitely a sports bar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

District Tap House

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We headed to the District Tap House for a pre-theater meal and ordered an assortment of appetizers. All were very tasty and prices were moderate. Our favorites were the mac and cheese and the pomegranate wings. I felt the menu for entrees/sandwiches was pretty limited. The décor was warm and cozy. Our waitress was ok. She was not very helpful when asked questions about the happy hour drink specials and didn't try to help steer us to make choices. She announced more than half way through our meal that she had been reassigned to a different section and another waiter would be taking our table. This was odd and awkward. The new waiter almost seemed confused as to what he was do with us. It did not affect our meal and we will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We arrived very early for our reservatio ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We arrived very early for our reservation and were seated immediately, the service was great for a large group (11) and the smalls plates menu worked great for sampling all the different items. Like most European restaurants, we felt that we could sit and talk all night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had dinner here whilst h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2015

My family and I had dinner here whilst holidaying from Australia. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The drinks were a little expensive, it was cheaper to drink cocktails than wine, but they were fabulous too....although my fathers beer was flat. The atmosphere with the beautiful Christmas lights everywhere and eclectic decorations are magical. I'd definitely recommend the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Horrible service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2015

Went here with a group of 5 people, service was horrendous! The waitress was probably distracted because the bar was over crowded. The noise level was so high, it was hard to hear the person next to me. Food was WAYYYY overcooked and took over an hour, so I couldn't send it back because I was starving. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.