About District Tap House

Located in Midtown West.

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (15)
See All
Fun (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great Beer (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tapas (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Live Sports (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Found this amazing gem in OpenTable. Service, food and ambience was delightfully different and fun. Great food and creative dishes to please all tastes. Awesome beer selection to rival anywhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Cozy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great beer selection. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Got together with a group of old friends and had a wonderful evening. We had a cozy booth and it was quiet enough for us to talk. The food was outstanding--especially the lamb sliders, grilled calamari and duck fat fries. I'm really looking forward to going back. A restaurant this tasty with a fun ambience is a find in this location!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

grabbed a quick bite after a show. had the spinach and kale salad, along with the deviled egg app. the salad was big, tasty, and very satisfying. the deviled eggs had a nice tang. i had a happy hour house red that was good as well. price very reasonable and service on point. i'll be back with friends.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Decent first experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a great meal there! We'll definitely stop there again when we're in NYC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The staff helped us out with some reservation changes and continued to make it a great dining experience from there. The fantastic choices of tap beers, appetizers and entrees made the District Tap House perfect for a casual business entertainment dinner. A good time was had by all!

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was fabulous. No great atmosphere and good food options. The roasted Brussel sprouts were a standout!
Would recommend for good food with great ambience.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really delicious and great service. Plenty of selection for drinks and food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My friend liked her salmon. My ribs were dry and tough but the mashed potatoes were good. Service was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

For a pub-style restaurant far exceeded my expectations. Great quinoa salad, falafel, brussel sprouts and burger. Great location near MSG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Tasty food, good service, relaxed atmosphere, quiet enough to have a conversation without straining our voices. The waitress recommendations about the quality of the food was spot on. However, the size of the portions was more than we were expecting. but I must admit the leftovers tasted great the next day.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Met up close to Penn station with a year old baby in tow. Perfect place for lunch. The servers were almost a little bit too attentive. Great place to meet up with a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent experience at District Tap House. The food was delicious and well prepared, with a rich variety of options that were all superb. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Outstanding beer list, wonderful food, terrific service all make it worth tolerating the noise and crowdedness. It reminds me of Ginger Man and Rattle N Hum - rarely quiet and spacious, but well worth it anyway. The service was outstanding; the waitress checked in with us about two dozen times. The beer list is outstanding and the beer is fresh and chilled properly. The food was quite good, though the menu was a bit adventurous for my group. I enjoyed the Tuna Tartare and the Shrimp and Chorizo Skewers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very good meal. We shared a selection of appetizers with our group of 5 and ordered entrees. Food was very tasty and the staff was friendly. The beer selection was incredible!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice bar atmosphere - Good selection of beer. Like the menu selection - good amount of diversity. Burger was excellent. Brussel sprouts - top notch.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

An excellent, affordable find in midtown! Small plates gave us an opportunity to sample a number of items (we highly recommend the lamb meatballs, salmon and duck fat fries). The service was particularly good, and included our waiter remaking a drink to a far better flavor. Finally, it was close to the theatre, which was appreciated on a rainy night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great little spot, particularly for happy hour and before / after a Broadway show.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

EXCELLENT tapas menu, great service personnel. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great little spot with a decent menu, lots of delicious drinks and great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Came to watch the game! Great hostess and waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had dinner at 7 on a Tuesday night. The music was loud, but enjoyable. Many large screens showing Yankees and Rangers games. We had a small tv at our table that our waitress was able to show an out of town game.
The food was very good. The plates were small; i.e. two empanadas came with the appetizer. Our waitress was good when she was around. We had a few long stretches when she wasn't around. She did not advise our group of six of the sizes of the apps before we ordered, which would have been helpful.
Overall, I would go back again and recommend to others.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

On Friday nights, definitely make a reservation. Drinks are lovely. The food is quite good but the portions are small. I ordered a few extra sides after our entrees arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We made a 530 reservation but didn't really need it, place was pretty empty. We weren't too hungry so we ordered several appetizers. Brussels and spinach dip were very good. Need to serve more pita bread with the dip (they did bring us more). Huge beer menu. Prices are OK especially for NYC. Atmosphere a bit dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great menu selection for tapas and tap beer - and everything was delicious. Unique take on menu items. Fast service - especially for a Friday night! Perfect spot for pre-theatre because the food is amazing, fast, not heavy, and diverse. Highly recommend and will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tap House has some great food, capable wait staff, and a nice atmosphere. But they do have a sports bar presence when games are on. We didn't realize we arrived during one of the Stanley Cup playoff games, and it was definitely a bit more raucous than I expected. Still, it's a nice place I will return to.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent beer selection, great service, fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a great meal, great server - Paul and Very Very Good Beer flights!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a really good eating experience from enjoying all portions of the meal & drinks & service. Randomly found this bar from Google Maps - explore area around you - and then found District Tap House on OpenTable & booked it asap. Topped off a great day in the city. Highly recommended bar for food and drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there after seeing the auto show the taphouse was very rustic very quiet very clean had a great selection of tap beer and the food was very good
Our waiter was very meticulous make sure that our food was very well cooked and our drinks are always full I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone over in the city that want a nice delicious meal

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went here before a show at MSG. Things were done quickly which was nice.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food is good and I have enjoyed lunch here. Friday night is heavy duty bar crowd and much too noisy.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great stop for lunch in mid town west side
Grilled chiecken sandwich and chicken tacos were awesome

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went to grab a beer and a snack after a Broadway matinee on Saturday. Beer selection was great. Nice tapas menu. The 2 women bartenders did an outstanding job. Very efficient and incredibly friendly and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

While portion were small, they were tasty.
Service was poor and almost missed show due to it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was slow. It took awhile for waitress to come back after we needed a minute to decide. Then we were finished eating and waitress was slow to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was OK. I guess this place is only for drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Really good food. Excellent beer list

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Tapas, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Have been going back every month, great beer selection.

Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.