About District Tap House

Located in Midtown West.

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (16)
See All
Great Beer (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Live Sports (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Did not realize this was a tapas menu. The entrées were all alacart which we only found out when we were seated. Food was very good, but not worth the price for appetizer size entrée.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wife and I came here before a concert. All the food was tremendous and the beer list very impressive. I had short ribs, mac and cheese, and duck fat fries. The fries are addictive. Loved the sauce on the ribs and the mac and cheese had so much flavor. Would go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a reservation & was seated promptly by the hostess. Ordered several Tapas to start. We fell in love withthe lamb sliders. They have just a little kick. Shrimp & chorizo skewers were good too. Had looked forward to the dumplings but they weren't on the menu any longer. The beer menu is to die for if you a beer nut. Hubby was in beer heaven. Recommend this place before a concert, theatre or games.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was great, got lucky with our waiter Paul. He was knowledgeable about the food and beers on the menu. Atmosphere is upscale pub style with many big screen TVs on the wall. Food was surprisingly good, great and inventive wings, good burger and solid tuna tartare. Would recommend for sports fans or pre-MSG event for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great spot near Penn Station to get a bite to eat and watch a game. Each booth had it's own TV which was nice. Tons of beers on tap and friendly bartenders. Surprisingly never gets too overcrowded.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I met with friends for dinner at the District Tap House before the Paul McCartney concert at Madison Square Gardens and Beatle music played throughout dinner which made our evening even more special! The food and service is excellent!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The Brussels sprouts were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Such a great surprise. Good food. Good beer. Good service. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food and drinks, enjoyed my visit quite a bit.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband and I went to District Tap before seeing War Paint on 9/9. My husband had the shortrib sandwich which he said was delicious and I had the bbq ribs with mashed potatoes that was also delicious. Both of our lunches were very flavorable and good portions. My husband's sandwich came with duck fat fries which were very good. What we also loved was the appetizer, dates wrapped in bacon with cashews. They were soooo good! We would go back just for those. District Tap is trendy and really beautifully put together. I would recommend it and am looking forward to going back next time we are in New York.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have been to district social a few times and was so enjoyed the food and ambiance
This district tap house was a total disappointment
I was taking a friend to dinner for her birthday and then a show and I raved about district social and I was very unhappy with the food
It was not hot enough and the lamb burgers where like little pucks. The tortellini was not hot enough and watery . The server was very pleasant . So she saved the evening
I will not go back to this resturant again
Fran

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

There were 5 of us and they seated us right away. Service was very good and beer/cocktail list extensive. Food menu was creative and all the food everyone ordered was delicious. Very responsibly priced for a NYC restaurant. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Small plate sharables were generous and incredibly fresh. The gnocchi was out of this world. Food so good we just kept on ordering more. Great beer selection and very reasonably priced craft cocktails. This will be my new go-to place for dinner in the neighborhood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Good food, okay casual ambiance. The restaurant was quiet at lunchtime but when I went on a Friday night, it was VERY VERY noisy. I won't do dinner there again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

District Tap House was nice for a tapas-like meal. Most of the menu is small/medium plates with good range of choices. Great beer selection.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I was looking forward to trying different things that people recommend online. The Brussels sprouts, gnocchi, bacon wrapped dates, macaroni & cheese. All were delicious. Our server, Hannah, was very attentive & helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

This is our go-to place whenever we're in the city for a concert or a play. It's a very short walk to The Garden but far enough away that is does not get mobbed by the concert or game crowd. Even when we see a play we come here as it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the theater district. The food is fantastic and they make a mean drink. Even when they are filled to capacity the excellent service does not suffer. And they honor their reservations like no restaurant I have ever seen. All of the staff is friendly and professional, especially the waitress with the Irish brogue...I think it's Irish anyway.
Love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Celebrating a birthday weekend in NYC and District Tap House was the highlight of our trip. Incredibly great food and even better service, and the best craft beer draft list in Times Square by far. It was a gem, a diamond in the rough - incredible food options, friendly and accommodating service, and comfortable booths with lots of room - private enough space that we could actually have a conversation over dinner and drinks without shouting. I'd recommend the duck and the goat cheese - a match made in heaven! Even dessert was delicious. Our server was also outstanding and made great recommendations. This and Ginger Man had the best craft beer draft lists going, and I'll take DTH for the better ambience and food. We now even follow their Instagram too. :) Definitely our new favorite spot and will be our first stop on every NYC trip in the future! Thank you DTH!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went here on a Friday evening, the ambience was great for a meeting friends. Good cocktails but they were somewhat small for the price. Spinach dip was fantastic!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This has become my goto spot, when looking for a good drink and a bite to eat, in midtown. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

good spot near msg, not a rip off. good service good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food and service. Jordan was very prompt and enthusiastic about the food. We appreciated her service and will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We all enjoyed the food here, mostly small plates/tapas style, so we all ordered a few things from the menu. Everything was good, with some people like other plates better than others and vice versa. Overall good experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Based on the reviews that I've read about this place I thought it could be better than what I found it to be in reality. Portions are very small, service is slow. At least the price is on average.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Found this amazing gem in OpenTable. Service, food and ambience was delightfully different and fun. Great food and creative dishes to please all tastes. Awesome beer selection to rival anywhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Cozy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great beer selection. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Got together with a group of old friends and had a wonderful evening. We had a cozy booth and it was quiet enough for us to talk. The food was outstanding--especially the lamb sliders, grilled calamari and duck fat fries. I'm really looking forward to going back. A restaurant this tasty with a fun ambience is a find in this location!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

grabbed a quick bite after a show. had the spinach and kale salad, along with the deviled egg app. the salad was big, tasty, and very satisfying. the deviled eggs had a nice tang. i had a happy hour house red that was good as well. price very reasonable and service on point. i'll be back with friends.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very nice spot for pre-– theater drinks and food. Friendly and nice atmosphere. Excellent value for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Decent first experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a great meal there! We'll definitely stop there again when we're in NYC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The staff helped us out with some reservation changes and continued to make it a great dining experience from there. The fantastic choices of tap beers, appetizers and entrees made the District Tap House perfect for a casual business entertainment dinner. A good time was had by all!

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was fabulous. No great atmosphere and good food options. The roasted Brussel sprouts were a standout!
Would recommend for good food with great ambience.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really delicious and great service. Plenty of selection for drinks and food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My friend liked her salmon. My ribs were dry and tough but the mashed potatoes were good. Service was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

For a pub-style restaurant far exceeded my expectations. Great quinoa salad, falafel, brussel sprouts and burger. Great location near MSG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Tasty food, good service, relaxed atmosphere, quiet enough to have a conversation without straining our voices. The waitress recommendations about the quality of the food was spot on. However, the size of the portions was more than we were expecting. but I must admit the leftovers tasted great the next day.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Met up close to Penn station with a year old baby in tow. Perfect place for lunch. The servers were almost a little bit too attentive. Great place to meet up with a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent experience at District Tap House. The food was delicious and well prepared, with a rich variety of options that were all superb. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.