About District Tap House

Located in Midtown West.

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (16)
Great Beer (15)
Fun (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Live Sports (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Tapas (10)
Hot Spot (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding beer list, wonderful food, terrific service all make it worth tolerating the noise and crowdedness. It reminds me of Ginger Man and Rattle N Hum - rarely quiet and spacious, but well worth it anyway. The service was outstanding; the waitress checked in with us about two dozen times. The beer list is outstanding and the beer is fresh and chilled properly. The food was quite good, though the menu was a bit adventurous for my group. I enjoyed the Tuna Tartare and the Shrimp and Chorizo Skewers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very good meal. We shared a selection of appetizers with our group of 5 and ordered entrees. Food was very tasty and the staff was friendly. The beer selection was incredible!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice bar atmosphere - Good selection of beer. Like the menu selection - good amount of diversity. Burger was excellent. Brussel sprouts - top notch.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

An excellent, affordable find in midtown! Small plates gave us an opportunity to sample a number of items (we highly recommend the lamb meatballs, salmon and duck fat fries). The service was particularly good, and included our waiter remaking a drink to a far better flavor. Finally, it was close to the theatre, which was appreciated on a rainy night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A great little spot, particularly for happy hour and before / after a Broadway show.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

EXCELLENT tapas menu, great service personnel. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great little spot with a decent menu, lots of delicious drinks and great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Came to watch the game! Great hostess and waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had dinner at 7 on a Tuesday night. The music was loud, but enjoyable. Many large screens showing Yankees and Rangers games. We had a small tv at our table that our waitress was able to show an out of town game.
The food was very good. The plates were small; i.e. two empanadas came with the appetizer. Our waitress was good when she was around. We had a few long stretches when she wasn't around. She did not advise our group of six of the sizes of the apps before we ordered, which would have been helpful.
Overall, I would go back again and recommend to others.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

On Friday nights, definitely make a reservation. Drinks are lovely. The food is quite good but the portions are small. I ordered a few extra sides after our entrees arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We made a 530 reservation but didn't really need it, place was pretty empty. We weren't too hungry so we ordered several appetizers. Brussels and spinach dip were very good. Need to serve more pita bread with the dip (they did bring us more). Huge beer menu. Prices are OK especially for NYC. Atmosphere a bit dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great menu selection for tapas and tap beer - and everything was delicious. Unique take on menu items. Fast service - especially for a Friday night! Perfect spot for pre-theatre because the food is amazing, fast, not heavy, and diverse. Highly recommend and will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Tap House has some great food, capable wait staff, and a nice atmosphere. But they do have a sports bar presence when games are on. We didn't realize we arrived during one of the Stanley Cup playoff games, and it was definitely a bit more raucous than I expected. Still, it's a nice place I will return to.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent beer selection, great service, fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Had a great meal, great server - Paul and Very Very Good Beer flights!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a really good eating experience from enjoying all portions of the meal & drinks & service. Randomly found this bar from Google Maps - explore area around you - and then found District Tap House on OpenTable & booked it asap. Topped off a great day in the city. Highly recommended bar for food and drinks.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there after seeing the auto show the taphouse was very rustic very quiet very clean had a great selection of tap beer and the food was very good
Our waiter was very meticulous make sure that our food was very well cooked and our drinks are always full I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone over in the city that want a nice delicious meal

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went here before a show at MSG. Things were done quickly which was nice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food is good and I have enjoyed lunch here. Friday night is heavy duty bar crowd and much too noisy.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great stop for lunch in mid town west side
Grilled chiecken sandwich and chicken tacos were awesome

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went to grab a beer and a snack after a Broadway matinee on Saturday. Beer selection was great. Nice tapas menu. The 2 women bartenders did an outstanding job. Very efficient and incredibly friendly and welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

While portion were small, they were tasty.
Service was poor and almost missed show due to it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was slow. It took awhile for waitress to come back after we needed a minute to decide. Then we were finished eating and waitress was slow to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was OK. I guess this place is only for drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Really good food. Excellent beer list

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Tapas, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Have been going back every month, great beer selection.

Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our waitress Lily was excellent, again! She's pleasant and efficient and helped to make the occasion special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here with girlfriends prior to a concert at MSG. It's very lively with an extensive beer menu and decent pub food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went there prior to a game at MSG. Food very good, help attentive, reasonable prices, good crowd. Could have stayed longer but had to get to MSG. Would go back.

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It's great. I try to go as much as possible. Bree is absolutely great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a great bar scene with delicious appetizers. Drinks were good. Highly recommend the goat cheese croquettes and duck fat fries! Perfect for a date night or to watch games.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome place. Food excellent and extremely reasonably-priced. Very cool place with huge draft beer selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was the perfect spot for a date. My husband & I ate here just before attending a concert at MSG and it hit all the right notes for exactly what we were looking for: interesting food choices (everything was delicious), great craft beer selection & ciders for me, excellent service (our waitress checked on us just enough), not too noisy (recommend getting there before happy hour rush- we had a 5pm reservation) and overall great experience. We will definitely return to try more of the food options. Wonderful place! Highly recommended!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sat down at 12:30 on Saturday afternoon. It took 10-15 minutes for waitress to acknowledge we were there. Ordered three lunches. Mine was delivered 15 minutes (Seriously) before my wife and son's. Manager kept apologizing. Nice of him, but it was an awful experience. Too many good options in NYC. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Desert accidentally took 40 minutes to get to our table but it's okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was fantastic. The beer offerings are wide ranging with something for every palate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went to District Tap House for happy hour Friday night and had a great time. Excellent beer selection, good food, and fun atmosphere. We will definitely be back for happy hours in the future. It is rare to find a great spot near Herald Square and this was a winner!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Okay, I was really impressed. With such a name, I was expecting more bar food. The menu was impressive and the meals themselves lived up to it. I was really and pleasantly surprised. If you want beer, this is the place to go with a list of countless choices. The servers were friendly, engaging and knowledgable. There's a tv at every booth so you can enjoy the games. Just plan on going for a good time--not for an intimate conversation. By the time I got home, I think my body was still vibrating from the loud pumping music. It's a good time, no doubt. It's not just an intimate time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We wanted a place for dinner after the the travel show at the Javitz center and I know that's not a neighborhood with too many choices. So I found good reviews of the District Tap House and it turned out to be just what we were looking for. Nice atmosphere with bar seating, high tops and booths. The service was cordial and nice paced. The food itself tasted delicious but we were thrown a bit by how small the appetizer portions were. I guess they are supposed to be more "small plates" but we didn't realize that. We ordered the crab empanadas and there were only two..which is a problem when we we were a party of 3. I wish the server had given us a heads up. But now we know for next time. Overall, a good dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We sat, ate and drank for 4 hours! A very nice afternoon - the place could not be better. However, as for us, the hot hummus is not good. Otherwise terrific place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.