About District Tap House

Located in Midtown West.

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (20)
Tapas (20)
Casual (19)
See All
Happy Hour (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Live Sports (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food!! Great prices!! Music was not our taste but would definitely go back if we return to NYC.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent place for a beer and great food. The Brussel sprouts were delicious! I would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome place to get out with friends for any occasion, great food, nice selection of alcohols and beer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Good cuisine, great cocktails, relaxed atmosphere. Back private room looks like a nice option for a small semi private gathering.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

perfect for pre-Madison Square Garden meal - food is very good, service is very attentive (and pays attention to your game or event deadlines) and ambience is energetic to get you ready for the game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Ambience was dark, certain areas still had dust on them, food: protein was well cooked but lacked seasoning
Beer selection was good

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Stopped here for dinner and drinks before a show. The food was delicious, they had an excellent craft beer selection, and we were able to keep an eye on every college football game going on! Win-win for both me and my boyfriend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great place. Ending up going twice! Great beer selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was delicious and Happy hours specials were great. Service was excellent.
The only issue is the piping that runs along the foot of the bar table seating along the wall. As I got up my feet were tripped by this poorly designed piping and I landed like a hunted animal. Very embarrassing. Aside from that, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2017

This was my first time there, and I would definitely go back. Yes, it's noisy but once you take that out of the equation, they have a wonderful selection of share foods. Everything I had was very tasty. What impressed me the most was the friendliness of the staff, from the gentleman opening the door, to reception, to my waitress and servers. No complaints here!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We needed a dinner spot near Madison Square Garden and picked District Tap House based on Open Table reviews. We were really happy with our choice. The food, tapas style, was excellent and it was great having a taste of many things. Our server attentive and very nice. And because we were there during happy hour, we left feeling full and satisfied without breaking the bank. We will definitely return to District Tap House.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Food is good and a bit on the creative side. They didn’t really pay attention to special requests. We specifically asked for salad instead of fries and no tomatoes. So we got fries and tomatoes which they happily exchanged but it would have been nice if they got it right the first go round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Although the service and food were very good, the portions are very small. We had to order of each dish. Good Cocktail - great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Portions are ridiculously small. Tried to share appetizers with 3 people and we’re all still starving after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2017

The beer list is outstanding and the small plates are delicious and attractively presented. The only complaint -- and it's kind of a big one -- is that the place is really loud. On a busy night you have to shout to be heard. Surely they can do something about this? Then everything would be perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We went there before a concert and said so in our reservation note, as well as mentioning it was our 25th anniversary. They treated us so well! They even comped us a glass of Prosecco to commemorate the occasion. [Coincidentally, and there is NO way they could have known this, the song we danced to at our wedding was one of the songs that played over their speakers while we were eating! So Cool!] The food came promptly, the drink I had was good (a signature Margarita drink), and the server never let us forget she was aware of our time constraints - not because she said so, but because she was attentive, friendly, and checked on us in spite of it being a really crowded Friday happy hour crowd. The food was creative and tasty tapas. The lamb sliders were our favorites. Don't know when we'll be back, but we definitely recommend this as a pre-theater/concert option!

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great beer selection. Close to Madison square garden. Delicious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Fun, young crowd, great drinks menu, good food, quite loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Food was pathetic...Server was not available and overall bad scene...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

They have a great beer menu that includes local breweries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Did not realize this was a tapas menu. The entrées were all alacart which we only found out when we were seated. Food was very good, but not worth the price for appetizer size entrée.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wife and I came here before a concert. All the food was tremendous and the beer list very impressive. I had short ribs, mac and cheese, and duck fat fries. The fries are addictive. Loved the sauce on the ribs and the mac and cheese had so much flavor. Would go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a reservation & was seated promptly by the hostess. Ordered several Tapas to start. We fell in love withthe lamb sliders. They have just a little kick. Shrimp & chorizo skewers were good too. Had looked forward to the dumplings but they weren't on the menu any longer. The beer menu is to die for if you a beer nut. Hubby was in beer heaven. Recommend this place before a concert, theatre or games.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was great, got lucky with our waiter Paul. He was knowledgeable about the food and beers on the menu. Atmosphere is upscale pub style with many big screen TVs on the wall. Food was surprisingly good, great and inventive wings, good burger and solid tuna tartare. Would recommend for sports fans or pre-MSG event for sure.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great spot near Penn Station to get a bite to eat and watch a game. Each booth had it's own TV which was nice. Tons of beers on tap and friendly bartenders. Surprisingly never gets too overcrowded.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Groups, Live Sports
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I met with friends for dinner at the District Tap House before the Paul McCartney concert at Madison Square Gardens and Beatle music played throughout dinner which made our evening even more special! The food and service is excellent!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The Brussels sprouts were amazing!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Such a great surprise. Good food. Good beer. Good service. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food and drinks, enjoyed my visit quite a bit.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband and I went to District Tap before seeing War Paint on 9/9. My husband had the shortrib sandwich which he said was delicious and I had the bbq ribs with mashed potatoes that was also delicious. Both of our lunches were very flavorable and good portions. My husband's sandwich came with duck fat fries which were very good. What we also loved was the appetizer, dates wrapped in bacon with cashews. They were soooo good! We would go back just for those. District Tap is trendy and really beautifully put together. I would recommend it and am looking forward to going back next time we are in New York.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have been to district social a few times and was so enjoyed the food and ambiance
This district tap house was a total disappointment
I was taking a friend to dinner for her birthday and then a show and I raved about district social and I was very unhappy with the food
It was not hot enough and the lamb burgers where like little pucks. The tortellini was not hot enough and watery . The server was very pleasant . So she saved the evening
I will not go back to this resturant again
Fran

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

There were 5 of us and they seated us right away. Service was very good and beer/cocktail list extensive. Food menu was creative and all the food everyone ordered was delicious. Very responsibly priced for a NYC restaurant. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Small plate sharables were generous and incredibly fresh. The gnocchi was out of this world. Food so good we just kept on ordering more. Great beer selection and very reasonably priced craft cocktails. This will be my new go-to place for dinner in the neighborhood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Good food, okay casual ambiance. The restaurant was quiet at lunchtime but when I went on a Friday night, it was VERY VERY noisy. I won't do dinner there again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

District Tap House was nice for a tapas-like meal. Most of the menu is small/medium plates with good range of choices. Great beer selection.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I was looking forward to trying different things that people recommend online. The Brussels sprouts, gnocchi, bacon wrapped dates, macaroni & cheese. All were delicious. Our server, Hannah, was very attentive & helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

This is our go-to place whenever we're in the city for a concert or a play. It's a very short walk to The Garden but far enough away that is does not get mobbed by the concert or game crowd. Even when we see a play we come here as it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the theater district. The food is fantastic and they make a mean drink. Even when they are filled to capacity the excellent service does not suffer. And they honor their reservations like no restaurant I have ever seen. All of the staff is friendly and professional, especially the waitress with the Irish brogue...I think it's Irish anyway.
Love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Celebrating a birthday weekend in NYC and District Tap House was the highlight of our trip. Incredibly great food and even better service, and the best craft beer draft list in Times Square by far. It was a gem, a diamond in the rough - incredible food options, friendly and accommodating service, and comfortable booths with lots of room - private enough space that we could actually have a conversation over dinner and drinks without shouting. I'd recommend the duck and the goat cheese - a match made in heaven! Even dessert was delicious. Our server was also outstanding and made great recommendations. This and Ginger Man had the best craft beer draft lists going, and I'll take DTH for the better ambience and food. We now even follow their Instagram too. :) Definitely our new favorite spot and will be our first stop on every NYC trip in the future! Thank you DTH!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went here on a Friday evening, the ambience was great for a meeting friends. Good cocktails but they were somewhat small for the price. Spinach dip was fantastic!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

This has become my goto spot, when looking for a good drink and a bite to eat, in midtown. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.