About District Tap House

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Located in Midtown West.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
New York / Tri-State Area
Vibrant Bar Scene
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

vibrant bar scene (17)
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service1

I would never go back and would never le ...

Dined 6 days ago

I would never go back and would never let anyone go to this place. The service was poor and the food was very mediocre. Ordered a drink and 20 minutes later the waitress came by and asked if it ever came. Wait staff had no real knowledge of the food. I can see why it was open on a Saturday night in NYC.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great casual spot with fantastic beer and drinks

Dined on May 3, 2016

The staff was friendly and attentive, the beer list extensive, nice selection of food (far beyond a typical bar menu) and good vibe (busy but not over the top loud).

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. We came here before a hockey ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Great food. We came here before a hockey game at MSG and the servers and staff were very mindful and accommodating of our schedule to get out on time.

food5
ambience5
service5

We came for small plates and drinks befo ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We came for small plates and drinks before a show. Depending on how hungry you are, I would suggest 3-5 plates for 2 people. We had the duck fat fries, brussels sprouts, shrimp and chorizo and the chocolate lava cake for dessert. We didn't leave a single bite- everything was delicious (I highly recommend the brussels sprouts) and were definitely satisfied with the amount of food we received. Our server was lovely- very helpful in suggesting food and drink, and was very attentive. We sat along the wall opposite the bar, during the NCAA tournament, so the noise level was pretty high, but it didn't bother us! A great choice for anyone looking for good food and a good time in a non-chain restaurant in the city.

food5
ambience3
service5

This was my 3rd time here and quite poss ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

This was my 3rd time here and quite possibly the best. The meatball appetizer was delicious followed by the Short Rib and Skirt Steak Entrees which both were extremely well done. My only gripe is the noise level when seated near the bar it does tend to get quite loud and you are very close to the tables next to you. Ambience is better in the booths in the back. Overall I'm looking forward to my return to try other selections on the menu

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Just Ok

Dined on February 18, 2016

Good services, food was expensive for small portions. More a bar for game day then a restaurant to eat at. Would not go back

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and locale

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect spot for burger and beer before or after MSG event. Been here twice in 2 weeks and was great both times. Recommend the burger or porkchop...fries are killer!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

SET THE TUNE FOR A RANGER GAME WIN

Dined on February 8, 2016

HAD SOME CUSTOMERS ATTENDING RANGER GAME ON A MONDAY NIGHT. THEY ASKED ABOUT A PLACE THAT WAS FUN WITH GOOD FOOD/BEER. WOW, DISTRICT TAP ROOM DELIVERED. MY GROUP OF FOUR TRIED A SLEW OF ITEMS (MODERATELY PRICED) AND LOVED THE SUGGESTIONS FROM OUR SERVER ON BEERS MY GUESTS ASKED ABOUT. AS WE WERE WALKING OVER TO THE GARDEN, IT WAS SUGGESTED -- GREAT MOVE MEETING AT DISTRICT. I WILL BE BACK AND WE WILL BE TRYING THE REST OF THE MENU - SAVE MY SOME SHORT RIBS.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Great craft beer selec ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Great atmosphere. Great craft beer selection. Food delish but portions ridiculously small for the price. Drink here. Eat somewhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant NYC surprise

Dined on December 28, 2015

Had an extremely hard time booking a restaurant which would be close to Penn Station on the Sunday after Christmas. Found DTH on open table by its location. Our reserved table was ready upon arrival and we found the food options perfect for our group of 5 - Three 20 somethings and Two 60 somethings. The younger diners especially enjoyed the beer bucket selection and the recommendations by our waiter were excellent. Small plates a wonderful idea for sharing the upscale and varied bar food and everything tasted fabulous. A short walk off of Times Square as well as Penn Station. Comfortable and casual ambiance Prices were not bad for NYC. Service excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A real find for the carft beer lover

Dined on December 27, 2015

Located in mid-town, a five minute walk from Times Square, District Tap House is a real find. They have a well curated menu of craft beers with some real winners on it. The thing I found most interesting was the food menu. It was not your usual pub fare and even had some dishes that delighted my wife who tends toward vegetarian. I had the calamari which was not your typical deep fried breaded variety and was delicious. I followed this with baby back ribs. I had the Gaffel Kolsch, a wonderful IPA - the name of which escapes me - and the Young's Double Chocolate Stout. If you are going with a child, they don't have a kids menu and if your kid is picky, this might be a problem. By the way, it is definitely a sports bar.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

District Tap House

Dined on December 26, 2015

We headed to the District Tap House for a pre-theater meal and ordered an assortment of appetizers. All were very tasty and prices were moderate. Our favorites were the mac and cheese and the pomegranate wings. I felt the menu for entrees/sandwiches was pretty limited. The décor was warm and cozy. Our waitress was ok. She was not very helpful when asked questions about the happy hour drink specials and didn't try to help steer us to make choices. She announced more than half way through our meal that she had been reassigned to a different section and another waiter would be taking our table. This was odd and awkward. The new waiter almost seemed confused as to what he was do with us. It did not affect our meal and we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived very early for our reservatio ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

We arrived very early for our reservation and were seated immediately, the service was great for a large group (11) and the smalls plates menu worked great for sampling all the different items. Like most European restaurants, we felt that we could sit and talk all night

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

My family and I had dinner here whilst h ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

My family and I had dinner here whilst holidaying from Australia. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The drinks were a little expensive, it was cheaper to drink cocktails than wine, but they were fabulous too....although my fathers beer was flat. The atmosphere with the beautiful Christmas lights everywhere and eclectic decorations are magical. I'd definitely recommend the place!

food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Horrible service

Dined on December 22, 2015

Went here with a group of 5 people, service was horrendous! The waitress was probably distracted because the bar was over crowded. The noise level was so high, it was hard to hear the person next to me. Food was WAYYYY overcooked and took over an hour, so I couldn't send it back because I was starving. Would never go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great small plates restaurant! Will defi ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Great small plates restaurant! Will definitely be back

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing menu and great place. Highly rec ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Amazing menu and great place. Highly recommend. Food and drinks were delicious and a true gem.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Energy!

Dined on December 10, 2015

Had fun night at District Tap, bustling vibe, large beer selection. Brussels sprouts were amazing! Would definitely return and recommend.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable experience with great foo ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Very enjoyable experience with great food, service, and ambiance. Casual bar setting with a solid menu that's a step above what you'd expect from a sports bar.

food5
ambience3
service5

Female bartender embarrasment to establishment

Dined on December 6, 2015

Wait staff, hostess and manager were all amazing! Female bartender was not kind. Our initial encounter with her almost had us walk out. We were asked to wait while they got our table ready for our reservation, we were on time. We went to get a drink from the bar while we waited. Female baretender gave us a snooty look & asked us to "Remove our 6 year old from the bar stool as under 21 not allowed to "saddle" up to the bar". Did she think the 6 year old was planning on ordering a drink? There was no where else for us to turn to as it was a busy time and our table wasn't ready. Her attitude was rude and embarrasing, and we almost walked out had it not been for the Hostess on staff who noticed and quickly came to recitify the situation. She found us a spot to wait and then making sure we got a good seat for dinner. We got out to dinner quite often with our child and have never ONCE been asked to move them from a stool when we were wating for our table (which was due to the restaurant, not our lack of reservation). Luckly, the wait staff made up for it with incredible service all around. From the extremely friendly and patient waitress, servers and even the manager stopping by the table. Bartender is an embarrassment to your establishment, especially when for well paying customers who tip well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely decor, great small snack plates, ...

Dined on November 30, 2015

Lovely decor, great small snack plates, huge list of beers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Took a friends family to dine there befo ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Took a friends family to dine there before a theatre show. This place was tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and had a nice hole in the wall pub ambience. The dishes are small plates more to share but they were excellent. Our server Ben was great and gave us great recommendations. The pork chop is excellent and the spiked ice tea cocktail is also great. Must try.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Harrison and his kitche ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

Excellent food. Harrison and his kitchen staff put out consistly delicious plates. Very impressive!

food2
ambience5
service5

Some food items need some help, Barron w ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Some food items need some help, Barron wrapped dates and mac n chews was great. Wasn't too fond of eggs, dumplings, wings. Service was Great though, we will be back. Loved all the tvs but still have nice dinner experience.

food5
ambience3
service4

Too loud, but the food was magnificent

Dined on November 13, 2015

The restaurant was too noisy for easy conversation, but I would gladly go again because the tapas were absolutely amazing. So delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1

6 People-Mandatory Tip Calculated Including Tax

Dined on November 13, 2015

I've taken several customers to lunch or drinks at District Tap House and most meals have been just over good pub fare. They have a very good scotch menu. However, this last visit I took 5 other people, total 6. Service was inattentive and the restaurant was empty. When the check came, the restaurant took it upon themselves to add a 20% tip INCLUDING THE TAX mount for an effective 25% tip. The restaurant is just that good that they should be doing that. I won't be back, they lost my business. This is a pub and to force a 20% tip on a lunch for 6 is absurd. Then to also force the tip on the tax amount too? Fuggetaboutit!!!

food4
ambience3
service3

upscale sports bar with good food, great drinks

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

My request for a quieter table was honored (thank you!), otherwise the noise and crowding would have been insufferable. Our round booth was a super-comfy isle of calm. All wait staff were friendly but seemed overwhelmed; we were served by 3-4 different people in the course of 1.5 hours. Some things came quickly, others took a long time, and flagging down a server wasn't easy. Terrific draft beer list with lots of unusual offerings, plus they use correct glassware. Hummus platter was generous, with lots of veggies, but hummus was a bit bland. The brussels sprouts, however, were extraordinary. Duck fat fries and burger were excellent too. The jalapeno margarita, a draft cocktail, was surprisingly subtle and complex. My bf's dessert was mediocre, but my chocolate mousse was very good. Solid choice if you're headed to the Garden.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Cigar City Brew!

Dined on November 1, 2015

Good food, even better beer selection. We asked our waiter for his IPA recommendation and he brought Jai Alai (pronounced hi-lie), from Tampa's Cigar City Brewery...this stuff is pure gold!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

Too noisy!!

Dined on October 23, 2015

The place is nice but I didn't enjoy it. It was too loud, too cold, and too crowded. Appetizers are really small, but taste ok. I got the table for 2 three tables away from the entrance, so it was very uncomfortable because people were passing by kicking my chair. Probably sitting in the back of the local is better, but I didn't have a chance to experience it.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4

Tons of fun

Dined on October 18, 2015

Went here as a group of 6 to watch the ballgame on Saturday night. All the tables have personal tv's, in addition to all the large screens all over the bar. Lots of small plates on the menu, great for sharing. Some really interesting options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Waited over 45 min for a burger and it w ...

vip
Dined on October 13, 2015

Waited over 45 min for a burger and it wasn't worth the wait

food5
ambience3
service4

Fun night with excellent food

Dined on October 10, 2015

I selected District Tap House for a catch up with friends, one of whom has several dietary restrictions (no gluten, nothing overly processed). This place was perfect - we ordered a couple of plates at a time as we went along, and everything was delicious! Duck Fat Fries - amazing. Bacon wrapped dates - nearly impossible to mess up (we did find a stray date pit, though.) Grilled octopus - bonkers. The beer and wine list is incredibly extensive, and our waitress, Bree, brought over a local cider for me to try when she knew I was having trouble picking something off the menu. She was right - it was really good. Service was super friendly and attentive, although a couple of drinks got lost in the shuffle and had to be chased down. The kitchen were even kind enough to whip up an affogato for dessert after our friends commented that that was their go-to dessert during their travels. The place was packed what with ComicCon and a Rangers game on the same night, so the volume was up there, but we could still chat easily - I'd requested a "quiet spot" and the restaurant was able to secure us a booth at the back of the restaurant, furthest from the bar noise. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5

Go for the booze, not the food

Dined on October 10, 2015

Go for the booze, not the food

food4
ambience4
service4

Great appetizers and burger!

Dined on October 3, 2015

The appetizers were very good. The party I went with shared the bacon-wrapped dates, brussel sprouts, and a few others that were all really good! My margarita was good and came in a cute mason jar. The burger is definitely what they're known for because it was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Close to theaters and Times Square

Dined on October 3, 2015

Because we were making a one day trip to NYC for a show, we wanted to eat at a good restaurant within easy walking distance to the theater. The website listed a LONG beer list and the food sounded good. It was really a terrific place. Very accommodating. Amazing beer list. The food was great. My girlfriend's daughter was celebrating her birthday and they put a candle on the plate with a complimentary lava cake for us. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

When going to a Concert of Sporting Event

Dined on September 18, 2015

Before a trip to the Hammerstein Ballroom or Madison Square Garden this is the place to go. Beer and cocktails are very good and the food was a real pleasant surprise. If you want a table to eat make a reservation beforehand as things get crowded before and event. One thing to be aware of-the noise level is defeaning with people actual screaming at each other in order to be heard-that did take away a lot from what could have been a great experience. Please take into account that I was there at 6 PM on a Friday evening. Dave A

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was good the service was spotty to ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Food was good the service was spotty to say the least. A crowded Friday lunch crowd we waited a long time for our appy lunch...not even cooked food!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Great happy hour and good food. And grea ...

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

Great happy hour and good food. And great location!

food4
ambience4
service3

Unique Menu Items and Plenty of Beer Options

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

This was my wife's first trip to New York. We were looking for a local place to get some beer and have a bite to eat and would not have found this place without OpenTable. We were given a table in the back area of the bar where these is actually a room to another bar for private events and one was going on that afternoon. It was a very cool atmosphere with patrons all seeming to enjoy both their food and theirs beers. Service was good, not exceptional, but this is a bar and it was a busy bar at that so our expectations were not for high end service. The ribs I ordered were delicious but I would have loved a larger portion. The sauce used on it had a unique sweet and spicy flavor that I absolutely loved. My wife had the steak medallions and loved them. I tried hers and they almost made me regret ordering the ribs...Almost! We had a local beer that I can't remember the name of, but it was a porter and we both had a second glass. We would definitely eat here again when we make it back to NYC.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was wonderful. We were seate ...

Dined on August 21, 2015

The service was wonderful. We were seated immediately and our server was readily available to take our orders. The food was delicious and the beer selection is great!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.