About District Tap House

246 W 38th St
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Located in Midtown West.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Mon, Tue & Wed: 11.30am-2am
Thu & Fri: 11.30am-4am
Sat: 12pm-4am
Sun: 12pm-1am

Cross Street:
Between 7th & 8th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 221-1822

Website:
http://www.districttaphouse.com/

Public Transit:
Subway Lines:
A,C,E 1,2,3 N,Q,R M 7
Short Walk from Penn Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal

Executive Chef:
Harrison Mosher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

District Tap House is one of New York City's premier private event spaces. From your small gatherings with friends to larger corporate events, our event coordinators will tailor your next party to fit your specific needs!

District Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
See All
Quick Bite (8)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tapas (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sat down at 12:30 on Saturday afternoon. It took 10-15 minutes for waitress to acknowledge we were there. Ordered three lunches. Mine was delivered 15 minutes (Seriously) before my wife and son's. Manager kept apologizing. Nice of him, but it was an awful experience. Too many good options in NYC. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Desert accidentally took 40 minutes to get to our table but it's okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was fantastic. The beer offerings are wide ranging with something for every palate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We went to District Tap House for happy hour Friday night and had a great time. Excellent beer selection, good food, and fun atmosphere. We will definitely be back for happy hours in the future. It is rare to find a great spot near Herald Square and this was a winner!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Okay, I was really impressed. With such a name, I was expecting more bar food. The menu was impressive and the meals themselves lived up to it. I was really and pleasantly surprised. If you want beer, this is the place to go with a list of countless choices. The servers were friendly, engaging and knowledgable. There's a tv at every booth so you can enjoy the games. Just plan on going for a good time--not for an intimate conversation. By the time I got home, I think my body was still vibrating from the loud pumping music. It's a good time, no doubt. It's not just an intimate time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We wanted a place for dinner after the the travel show at the Javitz center and I know that's not a neighborhood with too many choices. So I found good reviews of the District Tap House and it turned out to be just what we were looking for. Nice atmosphere with bar seating, high tops and booths. The service was cordial and nice paced. The food itself tasted delicious but we were thrown a bit by how small the appetizer portions were. I guess they are supposed to be more "small plates" but we didn't realize that. We ordered the crab empanadas and there were only two..which is a problem when we we were a party of 3. I wish the server had given us a heads up. But now we know for next time. Overall, a good dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We sat, ate and drank for 4 hours! A very nice afternoon - the place could not be better. However, as for us, the hot hummus is not good. Otherwise terrific place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The glasses were not washed well and given to us anyway. I later saw our server diligently wiping other glasses with a cloth napkin for other guests so it is clear this is an ongoing issue or at least one the staff is aware of. The short rib needed more sauce. Once our waitress checked in after the food arrived we did not see her again for a while. I left my empty glass on the edge so she could see it but she was not checking for something like refills. I then asked a busboy passing by to let her know- I watched as he walked over to her, pointed at my table, she looked right at me and never came over or brought the soda. I had to ask for the check twice. The place was only half full so I have to believe it was just her. Hope they train better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great place for happy hour and light fare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place for after work drinks or a pre-theater dinner date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I picked District because it was close to the office. Was pleasantly surprised by the offerings—especially since neither I nor my companion eat meat. A lot of variety, just the right amount. My Brussels sprouts dish was delicious. We weren't drinking, but the cocktails and beer selection look great. And you can actually carry on a conversation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The service was quite terrible. The waitress came by for our drinks and food order and only came by again after we had been sitting at a cleared table for quite some time even when someone said they needed a minute on a beer selection she never came back. In addition we were missing several sets of silverware and when asking the bus boys for silverware plus a few items they would dart away from the table before we even had a chance to finish asking for ketchup etc. Because they kept walking away before we could finish our request they had to make several trips. We asked for ketchup and got 1 tiny side when 5 of us had fries on our plate. I think common sense would be to bring a few more.

The food was good and they were able to seat a larger party (6 people) but even that was uncomfortable when we asked to sit at a high top they said they reserve those for large groups - well we were a larger group and 10 minutes into our meal they sat a party of 2 at the high top meant for 8 people. Not a great experience.

Gave 3 stars only because it's a decent option in the area and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Hannah was a great server! The food was good and our happy hour drinks were reasonably priced. We did reserve a table for an early dinner from open table and we weren't sat at the best table. It did leave us wishing we had just sat at the bar, as it may have been more comfortable. Other than that, the experience was a good one and I would recommend going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This place was fantastic. We visited here on New Year's Eve. The staff accommodated our every need. They gave us a booth exactly as I requested and let us leisurely eat our meal. Even though they had a special New Years Eve party later in the evening, we never felt pressure to request the bill. The food was delicious and the beer list extensive. When we returned later in the evening, they remembered us and welcomed us back to continue our revelry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Way too noisy if you are going for dinner. It's a bar.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Hostess called to confirm the reservation, and was super nice. We had a problem getting into the city and had to change the time we'd be there. The hostess was super nice about it. When we arrived there was a very friendly doorman who greeted us and we sat immediately. The beer menu is extensive for those IPO fans. With tons of sections on tap. The food, which is slightly larger than small plates, was sharable and completely delicious! The server was always attentive and super friendly as well! Great experience!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was cold. All the food had an unpleasant sweetness to it. Menu items trying to sound fancy but don't live up to that taste wise.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always a go-to when I'm looking for a happy hour / good food to meet up with friends in a central location. Honestly, the food is really good here and a well-kept secret!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious creative food. Decent service. HUGE beer list, yummy cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very good food (we ate district burger and trinity beer), but during the dinner a man stole my bag....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Pre-matinee meal of roasted salmon over beans. Tasty and right-sized luncheon portion. Efficient and timely service despite crowd. Would definitely return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was very good to outstanding. Know before you go portions are a bit smaller, but really right size for what we should eat.

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was great, as was the beer selection. Service was on point until later on in the meal. Seemed to zone out a bit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our second time to eat at District Tap House. The food was amazing and the drinks were excellent and our waitress was very helpful and fun. It really hit home that we made the right choice of eating here again after our drive in from Washington DC. Reflecting back on the trip the food was better than the three Michelin star restaurant we ate at later in the trip. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Incredible beer list, tasty food (burger & fries and lamp chops with blueberry & balsamic (?) vinaigrette/reduction ), and friendly service (thanks Paul!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food recommendations were superb, waitress nailed it. Brussels sprouts and lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was unique and delicious. They let us sit for hours! Got a bit noisy as people cheered on their teams and it was a bit dark but so worthwhile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice bar setup with a lot of TVs to watch the games; food was solid as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good music, atmosphere and food!! A place not to miss...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Had tacos (excellent flavor needed a fork) , max/cheese very very yum) , lava cake, apple tart both desserts are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great find - great food - great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was very tasty and reasonably priced for the area. The drinks were tasty but a little light on the alcohol for the price. Our server was okay. Not super attentive or friendly but the food was good enough to mitigate that.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I'd go back. It was a friends' get together. We arrived at 7pm on a Wednesday and the place was very loud, but the after work crowd had pretty much dissipated by 8pm and the last hour was quite comfortable noise wise. The food was very good. We'd go back.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 27, 2016

District Tap House was great! The bar was busy for a Tuesday night, most likely due to the amazing Happy Hour deals. Their drinks are so good! Great spot to meet friends as they have large tables/booths.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome fries! Rest of the food was okay.

Was fairly busy and pretty load.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a wonderful time here. We celebrated 2 anniversaries with a double date & they brought a complementary bottle of champagne to our table to start. The service was excellent & the selection of beers top notch. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The staff were very efficient and friendly and the food and drink was very good. I would recommend to other visitors from the UK.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We picked this place because of it being open after theater with an appealing, reasonably priced menu. The small plates were great, as was the beer selection. Definitely worth a trip. When we left around 11:45, it was still hopping, with a lot of young Wall Street types blowing off steam after work.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Brie our waitress was very personable and the food was great!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great for an informal lunch! Quieted down after the rush, and they left us alone as long as we wanted to stay. Would definitely come back! Beer menu looks awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food is incredible here!!!! everything we have tried from burger to octopus to fries and pork is sooooooooo delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service was pretty poor and we waited for 10 minutes before anyone came over to our table - despite having noted this was a business meeting on our reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very good experience. Service was timely and attentive. The food was first rate. I had the baby back bbq ribs, which were excellently cooked. Fell right from the bone. Great tasting. My wife had the District Burger. She said it was cooked perfectly to her order, and that the accompanying duck fat fries were delicious. District's beer, wine, and cider lists are HUGE. Superb variety to choose from. We had only one negative, and it's not a biggy, considering that, hello, it's a sports bar. The noise level is was very high. Would that keep us from coming back? No. Not with all the other pluses. But be warned that conversation can be difficult.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went mid day Sunday. The restaurant was empty; food ok but the server acted annoyed that we were there. He ruined the whole meal...

Could be neat during a game but with mediocre food and bad service I would skip. No need to pay to be ignored....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great dishes, they made special requests like no onion and garlic.

Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great Brussels Sprouts dish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good food but way too loud if you want to have a conversation. Mostly a bar menu selection with a few twists.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Delicious food, extensive craft beer list, excellent service. Great for watching sports, especially if you get a booth in the back with its own tv. Have to try the duck fat fries!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2016

As someone who's favorite food group is appetizers, the small plates menu is a big draw for me, plus the beer list is excellent. However, when I visited on a Sunday for a pre-theater early dinner, we were left standing in the near-empty dining room for quite a few minutes at the unattended hostess stand, then finally acknowledged by the bartender in a way that made us feel like intruders. An order of four plates plus a follow-on dessert took more than an hour and a half, including rushing through paying the check once we finally received it. And unfortunately, I never got beyond one beer on that excellent list because our server never came back to ask about another round until we were ready for dessert. While I would probably give District Tap House another try -- it was a holiday weekend so maybe they were short staffed -- I would only recommend it with a warning of slow service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.