About District - San Francisco

216 Townsend Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

District is a wine bar and restaurant located South of Market in the South Beach neighborhood. We offer an eclectic menu of small, shareable plates, house made charcuterie and pizza that pair well with our extensive list of wines by the glass and craft beers. We also serve weekend bottomless brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Happy Hour: M-Sa 4:00pm-6:00pm (5:00pm-7:00pm on Sat)
Dinner: M-Sa 4:00pm-10:30pm (5:00pm-10:30pm on Sat)
Late Night: Thur-Sa 10:30-Midnight
Brunch: Sat-Sun 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 896-2120

Website:
http://www.districtsf.com/

Public Transit:
30 Stockton, 45 Union, T and N Trains

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco
District - San Francisco

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for brunch (10)
See All
vibrant bar scene (10)
notable wine list (9)
fit for foodies (8)
hot spot (4)
special occasion (4)
romantic (3)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5

Great service. Only the meatballs were r ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service. Only the meatballs were remarkable. Otherwise average. Or expected.

food3
ambience4
service4

Nice location close to ATT Park, not ov ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice location close to ATT Park, not overly crowded, nice vibe.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

No hard liquor, only beer and wine. Howe ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

No hard liquor, only beer and wine. However, they do have wine cocktails which are pretty delicious. Pizzas are also great. Happy hour on weekdays has $1 oysters!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Local date spot

Dined on May 14, 2016

This used to be one of our favorite date spots, we were disappointed on this last visit. It appears the prices have gone up and the food was mixed. The tuna tartare, meatballs and fries were ok, but the burrata and asparagus weren't very good. In addition, the asparagus was overpriced for the dish. The ambiance and service were great, but total cost didn't seem in line with the food quality and taste.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Due to train schedule delays, we were 20 minutes late for our reservation which got us there close to closing time. We were stressed when we arrived, but were quickly calmed with the welcoming, no worries attitude of the staff. Brunch was delicious overall (the only fail were the potatoes - no big deal). Mimosas and bloody mary's were perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good times!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Something for everyone

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

District is our go-to to take our out-of-towners because it showcases a lot of what SF cuisine has to offer at an affordable price. It's not difficult to get reservations, which helps. The building itself, with its rustic interior and exposed ceilings, highlights the tone of the district/neighborhood the restaurant is situated in. The menu boasts local beers, extensive wine list and flights for the curious winos, and their pizzas are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad the BEST brunch team is still around

Dined on April 3, 2016

Big thanks to District for allowing the best brunch team from Ironside. Awesome lounge area, nice spacing and decor. For the obvious, best food for brunch and mimosas from the pancakes seasoning, freash salad, biscuits and gravy having a great mix between soft and crunchy, to different options of flavors for their mimosas orange, mango, and guava . Be sure and show them some love on Sunday

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

endless mimosas and food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great time here at District. I've been coming here for years but more recently when they took over for Ironside's brunch. It really is a great deal and the staff here are so fun and attentive! It is def my go-to bottomless mimosa brunch spot!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time! Great wine! Great service!

Dined on March 2, 2016

Great time! Great wine! Great service!

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good bar vibe

Dined on March 2, 2016

I really liked the ambiance of the wine bar. We ordered food which was ok - not great. The space is great for large parties. I also liked the exposed brick walls with really fun art work to look at. I saddled up to the bar and never left it although I did have a table reservation. The service was ok but there was a party and the bartenders were busy. I didn't mind as I had great company and was distracted by good conversation. We did wave down the bartender when we needed something. My wine was yummy- good thing because it was pricey. Overall, a nice find for a casual drink.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor value, rude service

Dined on February 27, 2016

District is your typical tapas/pizza place with a pricey drink menu. Energetic ambiance, but the service was curt and rude and the food not up to snuff (and certainly the prices).

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

If you order any kind of steak meal, the ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

If you order any kind of steak meal, they do not have steak knives for some reason

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Birthday Brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

I come here for dinner every so often so I figured I'd give it a try for a group on my birthday since it's one of the few places that gives you a reservation for brunch. The buffet was great, there was something for everyone! They also allow you to go bottomless on bloody marys and mimosas but we opted out of that because of the night before... Definitely coming back! Only somewhat negative was the service was a little slow, food was a buffet so that's easy enough but the drinks and the check took a bit we eventually just flagged someone down.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time dining at Distri ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

This was our first time dining at District. Loved the atmosphere. The food was delicious and service was great.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The venue is very inviting, the staff ve ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

The venue is very inviting, the staff very friendly and proficient, the portions were more generous than expected. At the end of the meal we had challenges with payment through the Open Table app / Apple Pay ( we were half way homework we got a call saying the table was still open. I provided a phone screen shot of Open Table app. To the staffs credit she went away and sorted it all out. One small piece of feedback...it is nice to be able to have a coffee at the end of a nice meal after a couple of glasses of nice wine. You really should consider offering coffee. A Nespresso machine doesn't cost s lot and are simple,

food4
ambience5
service5

Bottomless brunch is always a good idea

Dined on November 14, 2015

Can't beat a bottomless brunch. It was pretty quiet when we went in at 10AM (opening) and stayed fairly quiet for the remainder of our meal (~1-1.5hrs). Good quality food with good taste. Very pleasant and attentive staff. Chill ambiance. We were eating in the lounge area of the bar and were able to have a good conversation and enjoy meal without ever feeling rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2

Meh. Nothing special. Probably will not ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Meh. Nothing special. Probably will not go back. There are better places to get brunch.

food2
ambience4
service3

Just Blah...

Dined on October 11, 2015

Food was average at best. I was quite disappointed after paying $20 per plate for brunch. The only decent thing is the decor/atmosphere. Wouldn't recommend the place to anyone (at least for brunch).

food4
ambience5
service5

relaxing, inviting, wonderful!

Dined on October 4, 2015

We chose District for out daughters 21 birthday brunch. She had requested bottomless mimosas, and District had some great reviews! they lived up to all! we were a large group, so the seated us in lounge are with some bar seating and lots of low chairs and couches....wonderful way to sit around comfortably while sipping mimosas, or even better yet, bottomless build your own bloody marys!!! The food was buffet style, and everything I tasted was wonderful! when we go back to city, my husband and I are definitely going to reserve a couch for dinner, how romantic!!! Thanks for making our event a success!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun time

Dined on October 3, 2015

Great time for brunch. Try the bottomless mimosas. The staff was wonderful. Food is a bit different but we left full and happy

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Mimosa around the world!

Dined on September 20, 2015

Great service, good food!!! The various flavor of mimosa was fun!! Tried them all ;).

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Tapas galore

Dined on September 13, 2015

Great selection of Tapas and most are reasonably priced except for the cheese and charcuterie chef plate was severely overpriced 45$ for food worth 20$. Would recommend avoiding those selections and doing the other tapas. The hangar steak and arancini were a big hit. Good selection of wine and beer. Corkage fee was $20.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1

Great Food but Total Chaos

Dined on July 26, 2015

Overall I found the whole experience frustrating. When my friend and I showed up for our reservation it was absolute chaos. There is no host to sit you down let alone take reservations which makes one think why even have them? After waiting 15 minutes past our reservation time we finally sat down at the bar since seats opened up. It took forever to get out drinks initially and had to make an active effort to get refills, which we were there for the bottomless brunch so refills were a must! The food was absolutely delicious but I wasn't fond of the serving yourself situation however it was worth it for the food. The staff overall was very nice and attentive once the place cleared out but it was very obvious that they need at least one more person working during busy times. Also the staff, although very lovely was scattered and we would have to ask multiple people to bring us out drinks because they would ask and forget. Although delicious, I probably would not ever go back unfortunately.

food5
ambience4
service4

Father's Day Brunch

Dined on June 21, 2015

Really enjoyed the food on the brunch buffet. There was a nice assortment and everything was really delicious. The standouts were the braised greens (not overcooked, but perfect amount of crunch left in them without being undercooked), the grits and the ceviche! The staff was great. Only negative is that the table was a bit tight for 4 of us. Aside from that...overall very good experience. Want to come back some evening and try the tapas and wine flights. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

great for brunch before a game!

Dined on June 14, 2015

hard to beat bottomless mimosas, bloodys, and a breakfast buffet.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious brunch before the Giants game.

Dined on June 13, 2015

Close to AT&T ballpark and CalTrain, but off the beaten path. Very nice decor and ambiance and a delicious brunch buffet. Good service and a good beer and wine selection. Comfortable and not crowded, definitely coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4

So much fun!

Dined on May 9, 2015

So much fun!

food3
ambience3
service4

Ironside's great brunch moves to District

Dined on May 3, 2015

Our first time here for the mimosa brunch that was moved over from Ironside. Still a great deal ($$) and solid food choices. I highly recommend the guava mimosa's, the cheese grits, collard greens and the biscuits. The rum/banana syrup for the pancakes is also dynamite. I gave a little bit lower rating this time as the gravy was runny, though still flavorful, and the potatoes were pretty mushy. Overall still a nice breakfast and we will return. Service is always friendly, great staff!!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Dollar oyster happy hour! Great ambiance ...

Dined on September 7, 2014

Dollar oyster happy hour! Great ambiance and good group seating options.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine. Nice before basebal ...

Dined on June 29, 2014

Great food and wine. Nice before baseball games. Vanessa did a great job with service

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

District SF

vip
Dined on April 18, 2014

Food is always delicious. Kat was an excellent hostess and server. The restaurant was busy and she kept up at a great pace and friendly attitude.

food5
ambience3
service5

First Time Here

Dined on February 15, 2014

This place is pretty cool. Tables are way too close together and are a bit uncomfortable if you over 5' tall which is almost everyone including myself. Food was great, service was great. Tables are so close you might as well share a straw with the person at the neighboring table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service3

Delicious food, sassy service...

Dined on February 9, 2014

My sister and 2 others went with the beer pairing menu during SF beer week. They got their beers first, then a hour later received their food which were three tiny bits on a large plate. The food was delicious, and the others plates were perfect portions, but the beer pairing was kind of a joke. The beer was warm by the time the food came. Mid meal they had explained that their style was more casual and they bring the food out as it is ready, versus all at once which is understandable with the kitchen size. It would have been nice if it was explained prior to service. Server didn't greet us, just started asking drinks orders. Asked for water, and he snapped at me saying water would come later. He warmed up a little later, but was sassy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

District

vip
Dined on November 17, 2013

Very fun bar scene got more crowded as the night went on. Very good "small plates" menu for a casual fun dinner. Many wines by the glass to choose from. More of a destination bar than a restaurant , very good though!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.