About District - San Francisco

216 Townsend Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Located in the South Beach neighborhood of San Francisco, one block from AT&T Park, District brings together a menu of small, shareable plates, pizza and house-made charcuterie with one of the city's most extensive and diverse wine and whiskey programs. The result is a one-of-a-kind tasting experience that you can share with friends and family in a vibrant and communal setting.

We also serve weekend bottomless brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:


Happy Hour: M-Sa 4:00pm-6:00pm (5:00pm-7:00pm on Sat)
Dinner: M-Sa 4:00pm-10:00pm (5:00pm-10:00pm on Sat)
Late Night: Fri-Sa 10:00-Midnight
Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 896-2120

Website:
http://www.districtsf.com/

Public Transit:
30 Stockton, 45 Union, T and N Trains

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dining Room - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Table Settings - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Interior Design - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Atmosphere And Guest - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Couch Seating - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Lounge Seating - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Bar Seating - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
High Tables - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Place Settings - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Wine Pour - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Restaurant Sign - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Restaurant Sign - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Entry - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Doorway And Dining Room - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Heirloom Tomatoes Details - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Tempura Avocado - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Tempura Avocado - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Tempura Avocado - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Tempura Avocado - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Margherita Pizza - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Margherita Pizza - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Margherita Pizza - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Margherita Pizza - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Heirloom Tomatoes - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Heirloom Tomatoes - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Heirloom Tomatoes - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Heirloom Tomatoes - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Chefs Tasting Plate - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Chefs Tasting Plate - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Chefs Tasting Plate - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Chefs Tasting Plate - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Ahi Tuna - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Ahi Tuna - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Ahi Tuna - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Ahi Tuna - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Tempura Avocado - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Wine Collection - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Champagne - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Bartender - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Table Settings - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Wine Glasses - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Table Settings - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Menu - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Metal Work Detail - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Interior Design - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Decor - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Artwork - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Artwork - District - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Tapas / Small Plates
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Good for a Date (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tapas (3)
Fun (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, fun atmosphere all were a plu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food, fun atmosphere all were a plus. However, tables are small especially for four people. Only have high tables or lounge area no regular tables with backs. The tall tables have a center pedestal post that is a real knee killer. But atmosphere is warm and inviting.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went their for brunch, there food was al ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went their for brunch, there food was alright. Not surpring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We have eaten at District several times ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have eaten at District several times and the food has always been excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food could have been better if it not to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

food could have been better if it not too salty. Place is good for happy hour.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I live in the neighborhood and this is o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I live in the neighborhood and this is one of our favorite spots! Great wine, great service and very comfortable. I've taken 2 separate groups of visitors here in the last month and everyone loved it!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty tapas-style small plates. Good ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Tasty tapas-style small plates. Good service, good drink options. A little pricy for portions, but a fun meal & nice night out. Contrary to what opentable implies, they don't actually seem to handle reservations? We had a res and were told to self-seat when we arrived (without giving a name or anything).

Tags: Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was excellent especially sinc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our server was excellent especially since it was a buffet. Food was excellent and being a vegetarian there was plenty to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although I am not usually a buffet fan I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Although I am not usually a buffet fan I really enjoyed the selections, especially the dessert and biscuits and gravy. I usually come for the tapas and wine, but this was a nice change and the whole group enjoyed it, including the bottomless Bloody Mary's which you can mix yourself.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Perfect spot for a bite to eat before th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Perfect spot for a bite to eat before the Giants game. Happy Hour Oyster's $1.00 from 4 pm -6pm on Sat , too! Nice wine selection & can get a tasting flight of wines. If I worked in SF, I would stop by after work & meet friends for sure!

Ceviche was great as was Tuna Poke with taro chips. More like a share plates & small bites place than full dinner, but was fun to eat before the game....Short walk to AT & T

Service was fast & friendly and they brought out orders as they were ready.

Nice ambiance with high ceilings & brick. Tables a bit small for 4 when plates start coming out, but staff clears quickly :)

Closed on Sunday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and super nice staff! ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great atmosphere and super nice staff! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great service. Only the meatballs were r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great service. Only the meatballs were remarkable. Otherwise average. Or expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Nice location close to ATT Park, not ov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice location close to ATT Park, not overly crowded, nice vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

No hard liquor, only beer and wine. Howe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2016

No hard liquor, only beer and wine. However, they do have wine cocktails which are pretty delicious. Pizzas are also great. Happy hour on weekdays has $1 oysters!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Local date spot

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

This used to be one of our favorite date spots, we were disappointed on this last visit. It appears the prices have gone up and the food was mixed. The tuna tartare, meatballs and fries were ok, but the burrata and asparagus weren't very good. In addition, the asparagus was overpriced for the dish. The ambiance and service were great, but total cost didn't seem in line with the food quality and taste.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great time!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Due to train schedule delays, we were 20 minutes late for our reservation which got us there close to closing time. We were stressed when we arrived, but were quickly calmed with the welcoming, no worries attitude of the staff. Brunch was delicious overall (the only fail were the potatoes - no big deal). Mimosas and bloody mary's were perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good times!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Something for everyone

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2016

District is our go-to to take our out-of-towners because it showcases a lot of what SF cuisine has to offer at an affordable price. It's not difficult to get reservations, which helps. The building itself, with its rustic interior and exposed ceilings, highlights the tone of the district/neighborhood the restaurant is situated in. The menu boasts local beers, extensive wine list and flights for the curious winos, and their pizzas are great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Glad the BEST brunch team is still around

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Big thanks to District for allowing the best brunch team from Ironside. Awesome lounge area, nice spacing and decor. For the obvious, best food for brunch and mimosas from the pancakes seasoning, freash salad, biscuits and gravy having a great mix between soft and crunchy, to different options of flavors for their mimosas orange, mango, and guava . Be sure and show them some love on Sunday

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

endless mimosas and food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great time here at District. I've been coming here for years but more recently when they took over for Ironside's brunch. It really is a great deal and the staff here are so fun and attentive! It is def my go-to bottomless mimosa brunch spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time! Great wine! Great service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Great time! Great wine! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good bar vibe

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2016

I really liked the ambiance of the wine bar. We ordered food which was ok - not great. The space is great for large parties. I also liked the exposed brick walls with really fun art work to look at. I saddled up to the bar and never left it although I did have a table reservation.

The service was ok but there was a party and the bartenders were busy. I didn't mind as I had great company and was distracted by good conversation. We did wave down the bartender when we needed something. My wine was yummy- good thing because it was pricey. Overall, a nice find for a casual drink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Poor value, rude service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

District is your typical tapas/pizza place with a pricey drink menu. Energetic ambiance, but the service was curt and rude and the food not up to snuff (and certainly the prices).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

If you order any kind of steak meal, the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

If you order any kind of steak meal, they do not have steak knives for some reason

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Birthday Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2016

I come here for dinner every so often so I figured I'd give it a try for a group on my birthday since it's one of the few places that gives you a reservation for brunch. The buffet was great, there was something for everyone! They also allow you to go bottomless on bloody marys and mimosas but we opted out of that because of the night before... Definitely coming back! Only somewhat negative was the service was a little slow, food was a buffet so that's easy enough but the drinks and the check took a bit we eventually just flagged someone down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was our first time dining at Distri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2016

This was our first time dining at District. Loved the atmosphere. The food was delicious and service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The venue is very inviting, the staff ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2015

The venue is very inviting, the staff very friendly and proficient, the portions were more generous than expected.

At the end of the meal we had challenges with payment through the Open Table app / Apple Pay ( we were half way homework we got a call saying the table was still open. I provided a phone screen shot of Open Table app. To the staffs credit she went away and sorted it all out.

One small piece of feedback...it is nice to be able to have a coffee at the end of a nice meal after a couple of glasses of nice wine. You really should consider offering coffee. A Nespresso machine doesn't cost s lot and are simple,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bottomless brunch is always a good idea

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Can't beat a bottomless brunch. It was pretty quiet when we went in at 10AM (opening) and stayed fairly quiet for the remainder of our meal (~1-1.5hrs). Good quality food with good taste. Very pleasant and attentive staff. Chill ambiance. We were eating in the lounge area of the bar and were able to have a good conversation and enjoy meal without ever feeling rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Meh. Nothing special. Probably will not ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Meh. Nothing special. Probably will not go back. There are better places to get brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Just Blah...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Food was average at best. I was quite disappointed after paying $20 per plate for brunch. The only decent thing is the decor/atmosphere. Wouldn't recommend the place to anyone (at least for brunch).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

relaxing, inviting, wonderful!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2015

We chose District for out daughters 21 birthday brunch. She had requested bottomless mimosas, and District had some great reviews! they lived up to all! we were a large group, so the seated us in lounge are with some bar seating and lots of low chairs and couches....wonderful way to sit around comfortably while sipping mimosas, or even better yet, bottomless build your own bloody marys!!! The food was buffet style, and everything I tasted was wonderful! when we go back to city, my husband and I are definitely going to reserve a couch for dinner, how romantic!!! Thanks for making our event a success!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun time

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Great time for brunch. Try the bottomless mimosas. The staff was wonderful. Food is a bit different but we left full and happy

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Mimosa around the world!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Great service, good food!!! The various flavor of mimosa was fun!! Tried them all ;).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Tapas galore

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Great selection of Tapas and most are reasonably priced except for the cheese and charcuterie chef plate was severely overpriced 45$ for food worth 20$. Would recommend avoiding those selections and doing the other tapas. The hangar steak and arancini were a big hit. Good selection of wine and beer. Corkage fee was $20.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great Food but Total Chaos

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Overall I found the whole experience frustrating. When my friend and I showed up for our reservation it was absolute chaos. There is no host to sit you down let alone take reservations which makes one think why even have them? After waiting 15 minutes past our reservation time we finally sat down at the bar since seats opened up. It took forever to get out drinks initially and had to make an active effort to get refills, which we were there for the bottomless brunch so refills were a must! The food was absolutely delicious but I wasn't fond of the serving yourself situation however it was worth it for the food. The staff overall was very nice and attentive once the place cleared out but it was very obvious that they need at least one more person working during busy times. Also the staff, although very lovely was scattered and we would have to ask multiple people to bring us out drinks because they would ask and forget. Although delicious, I probably would not ever go back unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Father's Day Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Really enjoyed the food on the brunch buffet. There was a nice assortment and everything was really delicious. The standouts were the braised greens (not overcooked, but perfect amount of crunch left in them without being undercooked), the grits and the ceviche!

The staff was great. Only negative is that the table was a bit tight for 4 of us. Aside from that...overall very good experience. Want to come back some evening and try the tapas and wine flights. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

great for brunch before a game!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2015

hard to beat bottomless mimosas, bloodys, and a breakfast buffet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious brunch before the Giants game.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2015

Close to AT&T ballpark and CalTrain, but off the beaten path. Very nice decor and ambiance and a delicious brunch buffet. Good service and a good beer and wine selection. Comfortable and not crowded, definitely coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

So much fun!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2015

So much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Ironside's great brunch moves to District

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2015

Our first time here for the mimosa brunch that was moved over from Ironside. Still a great deal ($$) and solid food choices.

I highly recommend the guava mimosa's, the cheese grits, collard greens and the biscuits. The rum/banana syrup for the pancakes is also dynamite. I gave a little bit lower rating this time as the gravy was runny, though still flavorful, and the potatoes were pretty mushy. Overall still a nice breakfast and we will return.

Service is always friendly, great staff!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Dollar oyster happy hour! Great ambiance ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2014

Dollar oyster happy hour! Great ambiance and good group seating options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.