About District - Oakland

827 Washington Street
Oakland, CA 94607
View Larger Map

District is a wine & whiskey bar and restaurant located in Downtown Old Oakland. We offer an eclectic menu of small, shareable plates, house made charcuterie and pizza that pair well with our extensive list of wines and whiskeys by the glass and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Fri: 4:00pm - Close
Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 272-9110

Website:
http://www.districtoak.com/

Public Transit:
District is located at the corner of 9th and Washington and is only 3 blocks from the 12th St. Bart station.

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

vibrant bar scene (12)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (8)
See All
great for brunch (8)
fit for foodies (6)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
special occasion (2)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brunch here is the worst I've had since ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Brunch here is the worst I've had since returning to the Bay Area over a year ago! The only positive experience was the service and atmosphere/ambiance. The food...AWFUL!The eggs, pancakes, potatoes, and meats were cold, collard greens needed seasoning and to be cooked a tad longer. Worst of all the chocolate bread pudding was mushy/soggy. The mimosas were pretty good, but how can you really mess them up?!

I'd come back for happy hour but never for brunch!

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We had been to District several times an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had been to District several times and really enjoyed the experience on prior occasions; our family had considered it one of our top 5 restaurants. Tonight, however, the service was so poor that the entire meal felt like a struggle. After getting seated, we waited 15 minutes for someone to come to our table and finally flagged down the hostess to take our order. She apologized and indicated that they were experiencing a rush, although the place was only half full and no other parties had entered after us. Most of the food came very quickly, actually so fast that all of the appetizer and entree dishes arrived at once and there was no way to put them all on the table. Then it took about 20 minutes to get someone to resolve a simple issue with one of our drinks (we ordered a Sprite and instead got plain soda water), although three separate servers seemed to be working on it. Inexplicably, one of our dishes came about 40 minutes after everything else arrived. The pacing was so uncertain that we felt compelled to ask for the check as soon as we had all our main dishes, whereas in a better situation we'd have stayed for dessert. The food wasn't as good as we remembered from before, and with the service problems I really doubt we'll return. Maybe in a couple of years we'll try again if they are still there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The waiter was great, but I believe the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The waiter was great, but I believe the manager was rude and horrible.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Thanks for a fantastic night out, Distri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thanks for a fantastic night out, District! We wined and dined in style. Super easy reservation and check-in process, the waitress was accommodating and gracious with our questions and requests. Good value on the wine on tap, and interesting tapas-style dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit - very satisfied. Int ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visit - very satisfied. Interesting menu and good food that really works for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seating is not great for large parties b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Seating is not great for large parties but the food was great! Chicken sausage for those who don't eat pork.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Noisy and raucus, but food and drink were nice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had picked this place to eat and meet and get up to date on our mutual interests. Expecting a typical Friday night crowd, but with the Warriors playoff game on two big screens, it was particularly packed. Our server was pleasant, though there was some difficulty understanding her. Food was very good. Will come back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Def ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Definitely going back. Sonja, our server was great. The neighborhood has really cleaned up. Nice area and choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Definitely Your Average Birthday Dinner

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We reserved a table for our friend's birthday get-together & made a note of that when making the reservation. She's a huge foodie, owns her own pastry shop + loves a well-stocked bar. There was a Warrior's game on that night so we knew it would be busy & noisy but the fact that we were ignored for a good 5 minutes standing at the door when we walked in was a bit rude. A few members of the staff were standing around just talking to patrons (not serving or taking orders - just chatting) so we awkwardly stood waiting at the entry to see which table we could sit down at that might not be reserved. In the end they put us in the furthest darkest corner, but hey at least we had a table. We wanted to order from the Happy Hour menu since we still had about 20 minutes of time to do so when we arrived. But since we were ignored for a good 5 minutes when we walked in & then for another 5 minutes once we were seated we only had 5 minutes left to order before we knew they would cut off those offerings. We flagged down a busboy to order who told us they would grab a waitress to take our order so by the time she came we could really only put in 3/5 drink orders for our party and 2 food items (which as a FYI the HH menu bites are super tiny & usually come in pairs so order more than 1 for parties of 3 or more) with her before she promptly walked away even before we were finished ordering. Also if you as an establishment don't offer a particular option it's usually courteous to suggest a few other options you do carry at the bar instead of saying "we don't have that" & just walking away from your customers. In the end I would say the food was delicious & pricey but the poor service (except for one of the female waitresses who we flagged down on our own/mostly manning the other side of the room was absolutely helpful in our ordering choices) is just not worth coming back for. My friend enjoyed the food for her birthday meal but was noticeably disappointed in the service.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrible customer service from the bar to table.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I originally booked a table online for my friends and I to enjoy cocktails and bites because I've been here several times before during happy hour and trying to find a place to sit was next to impossible. I arrived early and thought I'd enjoy a cocktail and although it wasn't quite busy just yet I could only get the attention of the bus-boy to order a cocktail. When we moved to the table I was immediately told by the waiter that we would have to give up our table by 7:30 to accommodate another dining party. Say what?! I've never been to a restaurant where I've had a reservation and have been told there was a limit. What if we were still eating...? We asked to speak to the manager since this major detail had not been spelled out on the reservation confirmation; I don't think the waiter appreciated this because we spent the rest of the evening chasing him down for drinks and food. It took 45 minutes for an order of sliders to arrive after three inquiries. The waiter purposely ignored us when we asked for the check before seven trying to keep to the table time limit as if he were gonna force us to stay until 7:30 since we initially complained about it. Poor service is an understatement but I won't be going back and had considered the District for a graduation event I'm planning later this year.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

definitely not greedy on the mimosas!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

good food, good brunch, good mimosas, excellent customer service.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oysters & Wine

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for the oyster happy hour ($1 on 5-7 pm on a Saturday!) and enjoyed some drinks as well. Fantastic value and waitress was super helpful in finding a wine I would like. Definitely would come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ambiance is modern and chill.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance is modern and chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Yum!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We still dream about the baked burrata! We had such a great night out at district. Food service and ambiance were perfect. We will definitely be back and recommend to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible this restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The service was terrible this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Bottomless Mimosas & Brunch Buffet

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

For a place that's primarily a bar, their brunch buffet is AMAZING!

Looking at the items listed on their menu, your initial thought may be that it's standard or generic but don't be fooled. Every single item was done to perfection and their bread pudding with bourbon caramel and chantilly whipped cream was to die for. The only thing kinda lacking was their sausage sadly enough.

Who doesn't love bottomless mimosas in the morning?? They have a good selection of different flavors as well as a solid drink list for variety. They emphasize their 90 min brunch limit which doesn't sound so great at first, but you probably won't need more than 90 min anyways and it's just so popular, I can sympathize with the 90 min turnaround.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Friday night fun

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My cousin was visiting from out of town and I suggested we enjoy some tapas and cocktails for a fun Friday night together....District was the perfect venue to catch up. All the dishes we tried were each fantastic...but the tempura avocado! We both couldn't get enough of it.....so simple, yet it stood out! Definitely will be back.....

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I went for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My partner and I went for Sunday brunch buffet on Valentine's Day. The food was good and the bottomless mimosas were even better. We sat at the bar and had great service. We plan on going again next month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner, great ambiance

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We had a great time here on a Wednesday night before the Van Morrison concert at the fox theatre. I didn't know old town Oakland is so quaint and buzzing! A great scene, and District was pleasantly packed but had our reserved table ready. I got a great wine flight and we enjoyed each of the small plates we got! It had a great, fun feel and I loved the design and ambiance. Perfect Wednesday date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Very nice place/find. Food was very good - tapas style. Only complaint was that it took awhile to get waited on (short handed?) but once the order was in the drinks & food came very fast. Servers were friendly. Also very nice happy hour selection.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Sunday Funday

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I have enjoyed the brunch at District on several previous occasions. I am grateful for making a reservation as it was very crowded. If you're looking for an intimate, quiet space, this is not time to frequent District. The football game was thankfully televised and given the bottomless mimosas on the brunch menu, the noise levels will rise. The food was replenished at the buffet making it a great value and for an easy afternoon of grazing. I look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Good quality, poor value

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

I went with a larger group of 7. The quality of the food was good, but I was expecting much larger portion sizes for the price. The prices on the menu are deceptive. The dates, for instance, came with only 3 for the order. For a tapas place I was expecting more generous portions for sharing, or at least a more explicit menu to set expectations. '$30 and under' will not be enough for a complete dinner.

The service was also slow, but friendly enough. This would be a better place for light snacks, more special occasions, or a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was great. Service was friendly ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was great. Service was friendly. Was a bit loud, with football on the telly and intoxicated 20-somethings using their outside voices. I absolutely hate communal tables. Would go back for the food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The shrimp was delicious! Everything was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The shrimp was delicious! Everything was very good. Happy to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

Good food, good drinks, decent food.

The marguerita pizza was absolutely delicious - still dreaming about it. Not sure what made it that tasty, but it was great!

Also ordered an avocado appetizer and burrata - wouldn't recommend either as they were not worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was really tasty

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

We really enjoyed the place as it being our first time. It was a bit chilly sitting at the high tops underneath the fan. There were no other seats available. Our server Sonia was very pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful space, great food, service eh

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

Was visiting from out of town and heard good things about this place. Came through on a Tuesday night. Made reservations just in case but got there and It was fairly empty. Nobody really came to the front to greet so I went over to bar area, was told to just sit wherever. Got a bunch of food and drinks. Everything was solid, but service was probably one of the worst I've ever had on the West Coast. Sad. Ah well. Kudos to the space being nice, and the food being solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice evening with tapas

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Tapas galore! Lots of good tapas (they might be few dollars overpriced but oh well). They have a very good beverage list! Lots of great wines, beers, and cocktails. Definitely recommend doing a flight of wines, good bang for your buck. Only negative thing about the place was the service was erratic. They would come every few minutes and ask us if we were ready to order more (without enough time between visits to make up our minds) and when we would place an order she frequently came back forgetting what we ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good Spot

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

Pleasantly surprised with District. Good food, good drink list, (really) full bar. Would be a great place to meet for drinks after work. Enjoyed a tasty dinner of small plates with a girlfriend and a great wine flight (love me a wine flight).

Service was excellent.

Definitely recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cool space good food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

The space is cool with huge windows , exposed brick and high ceilings. Our food was tasty and we shared lots of plates in our group of 5. We all tried different cocktails and the consensus was positive on each. French fries not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious food/amazing staff

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

I will be back ASAP to District in Oakland (SF has a location too). The food was delicious (we went for brunch) but the dinner menu looks even better! The staff is very friendly, professional and accommodating (I'm picky from being in the business myself), so when I say they were awesome, you better believe me! Fun atmosphere (excellent taste in music-very upbeat) and an overall beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifying Oakland

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

I made a reservation at District Oakland with some hesitation - the area is labeled as "Old Oakland" and although I'm from the Bay Area, that doesn't mean much.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the area was clean and bright with an eclectic vibe. There were quite a few upscale cars and eateries in the area and District Oakland was definitely the highlight of the street. They have a huge wine selection, fresh oysters and great appetizers. The bartenders are friendly and the place got packed pretty quickly. I highly recommend the Tempura Avocado and the Lamb Meatballs; we had a couple other things but those we're definitely the best choices. Our drinks came quick and the Grapefruit Hefeweizen was definitely ON POINT - loved it!

I wouldn't recommend this place for families with children since the menu is focused on adult-tastes and the main focus is the bar. There's a few high tables with high-back seating in the surrounding dining area but the rest of the seating is actually AT the bar.

Overall, great location, good service, yummy drinks, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bar With Great Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Very good food at this restaurant which is actually more of a bar. At 7:30PM, they are checking ID's at the door. The bar is the center of attention and is quite nice. The wines are displayed on

one wall and is very striking. Some restaurant tables are to each side of the circular bar where ii is very dark.

Martinis were good and priced about average. The wine list was very expensive except for the four tap wines listed. The same can be said for the food - very expensive with small portions. For example, the Grilled Seafood Bomba, a paella like dish had a little bit of rice, 2 small shrimp, 2 mussels, 2 tiny pieces of fish, and a piece of octopus. The price for this dish was $19. The sliders were excellent but they served only two for $12. The charcuterie plate was a whopping $18 for some pate and cheese.

The noise level is extremely high making talking very difficult. Definitely not a date night place. However, there is that thought that the food may be worth it. Actually, the high quality of the food does not fit with the bar atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Hot spot in old Oakland

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Trendy setting, lively bar scene, great background music. Interesting, and delicious small plates, our group of 6 enjoyed every dish. The sliders were a huge hit, as was the tuna tartare, but truly, every dish was delicious. Excellent, timely (but not pushy) service all around, great cocktails, and comfy seating (party of 6, got the big table/booth, could have added 4 people easily). We'll be back :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent location for Saturday/Sunday B ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

Excellent location for Saturday/Sunday Brunch. Bottomless mimosa in various flavors a plus!

friendly and accommodating staff and great ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

good food, slow service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

the food was good and drinks were amazing. But the service was painstakingly slow. We waited and waited and finally got to place an order. Took forever to get the check.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

A good place for drinks/appetizers, not dinner.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

Was a little disappointed as we were looking for a nice dining place. This place is okay if you're meeting with friends for drinks after work and want to have a few appetizers, not what I would recommend for dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food and lots of fun!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Great menu, great service. The house-made charcuterie is the bomb for meat eaters, but there are also some great choices for vegetarians. And so many different bourbons! High-energy (not quiet).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a great night out.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Great food and a great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hip Crowd and Friendly Staff

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Looking for somewhere different with an available reservation on a Saturday night - we were happy with our experience at District. This place is more bar then restaurant but the food was very good, nice selection, reasonably priced (check out the menu, more diverse than we expected). We brought our own wine but one of our party had a cocktail - also very good. The crowd was younger than our group (parents with teenagers) but we enjoyed the space and food. The wait staff was helpful and attentive but not overbearing. All around a well above average dining experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.