About District - Oakland

827 Washington Street
Oakland, CA 94607
View Larger Map

District is a wine & whiskey bar and restaurant located in Downtown Old Oakland. We offer an eclectic menu of small, shareable plates, house made charcuterie and pizza that pair well with our extensive list of wines and whiskeys by the glass and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Fri: 4:00pm - Close
Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 272-9110

Website:
http://www.districtoak.com/

Public Transit:
District is located at the corner of 9th and Washington and is only 3 blocks from the 12th St. Bart station.

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Live Sports (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is really good for bar food. We did ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is really good for bar food. We didn't order drinks so our waitress ignored us, never once checking on us and we were out of water far before our meal was over and they just cleared our glasses without even asking if we'd like more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Light fare and vibrant bar drinks. Way t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Light fare and vibrant bar drinks. Way too pricey for the food but cool spot. I'd go back for drinks with a friend but not for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Was great food. Unfortunately service no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Was great food. Unfortunately service not so great. We had a reservation but somehow the restaurant did not know. When told them we had a reservation the host did not believe we had made one. Finally seated us at a tiny table under the TV and then asked to see our reservation on my phone. After that it seemed like they had wished we didn't have a reservation. Again the food was great price was right. They just made it awkward.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We arrived at opening time and the crew ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We arrived at opening time and the crew seemed very confused. Rain was predicted all day yet they did not seem to have a plan to seat reservations without their patio.

Once seated at a high top, which was not really comfortable, we had great service. Mimosas were fine but the food was just okay. Most items on the buffet were not hot and nothing was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Incredible food, great service, servers ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Incredible food, great service, servers are friendly and present just enough that's its not too much.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for the first time for bottoml ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Came here for the first time for bottomless mimosas (part of brunch!) -- and was not disappointed! The food was fresh, flavorful and they had a wide variety! We sat outside - weather was great -- people were very friendly!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for a light dinner and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great place to go for a light dinner and excellent truffle fries! Be sure to get a reservation for dining as seats tend to go quickly around 8:45/9 and later. Excellent menu selection and wonderful beers on tap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific atmosphere, food happy-hour oys ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Terrific atmosphere, food happy-hour oysters and a great view of a fabulous Giants victory! Definitely will return for probably the twentieth time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second consecutive Sunday brunch at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My second consecutive Sunday brunch at District did not disappoint. The food, while not a lot to choose from was very good and fresh which is more important. The bottomless mimosas were terrific with a variety of juices to choose from....and our server Madison was very attentive and accommodating. A good solid choice for brunch.....I'll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a fun, hip place with great food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Just a fun, hip place with great food and service. Ask for Madison on Wednesday nights or Sunday brunch!

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great whiskey, service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Awesome food, great whiskey, service was slow. Could definitely hire a few more wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Hanging out with my sister and she said ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Hanging out with my sister and she said she heard The District was a great spot, I was more than happy to go since I had been there 3 times before. It did not disappoint. Great peach mimosa; great buffet with pancakes, eggs, cheesy grits, BACON and more.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good but being told three times ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overall good but being told three times about the 90 minute brunch limit made me feel rushed. I came for brunch with girlfriends that I've known 30+ years so more time would have been nice. I understand that they want to make it clear but I would say don't come here for a leisurely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for the brunch. The buffet is decen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for the brunch. The buffet is decent, especially if you like grits. The best part though is the bottomless mimosas and the staff. The staff is very attentive for a buffet brunch service and really friendly. They made brunch a really good experience and I would go back in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and we ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we had a nice time over drinks and great food. The dishes were tasty and the service was outstanding. Our server was attentive and nice. My only comment was we were cramped sitting next to another party behind us. They needed a lot more space and we were already squeezed into our tables and it was still not enough room for them. It made for a very uncomfortable evening and sadly there weren't any other four tops that evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed at the services and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were disappointed at the services and food selection. The noise level was very high and we have to shout across the table to converse. The services were never around when needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Brunch here is the worst I've had since ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch here is the worst I've had since returning to the Bay Area over a year ago! The only positive experience was the service and atmosphere/ambiance. The food...AWFUL!The eggs, pancakes, potatoes, and meats were cold, collard greens needed seasoning and to be cooked a tad longer. Worst of all the chocolate bread pudding was mushy/soggy. The mimosas were pretty good, but how can you really mess them up?!

I'd come back for happy hour but never for brunch!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We had been to District several times an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had been to District several times and really enjoyed the experience on prior occasions; our family had considered it one of our top 5 restaurants. Tonight, however, the service was so poor that the entire meal felt like a struggle. After getting seated, we waited 15 minutes for someone to come to our table and finally flagged down the hostess to take our order. She apologized and indicated that they were experiencing a rush, although the place was only half full and no other parties had entered after us. Most of the food came very quickly, actually so fast that all of the appetizer and entree dishes arrived at once and there was no way to put them all on the table. Then it took about 20 minutes to get someone to resolve a simple issue with one of our drinks (we ordered a Sprite and instead got plain soda water), although three separate servers seemed to be working on it. Inexplicably, one of our dishes came about 40 minutes after everything else arrived. The pacing was so uncertain that we felt compelled to ask for the check as soon as we had all our main dishes, whereas in a better situation we'd have stayed for dessert. The food wasn't as good as we remembered from before, and with the service problems I really doubt we'll return. Maybe in a couple of years we'll try again if they are still there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The waiter was great, but I believe the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The waiter was great, but I believe the manager was rude and horrible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Thanks for a fantastic night out, Distri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thanks for a fantastic night out, District! We wined and dined in style. Super easy reservation and check-in process, the waitress was accommodating and gracious with our questions and requests. Good value on the wine on tap, and interesting tapas-style dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit - very satisfied. Int ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visit - very satisfied. Interesting menu and good food that really works for sharing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seating is not great for large parties b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Seating is not great for large parties but the food was great! Chicken sausage for those who don't eat pork.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Noisy and raucus, but food and drink were nice

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had picked this place to eat and meet and get up to date on our mutual interests. Expecting a typical Friday night crowd, but with the Warriors playoff game on two big screens, it was particularly packed. Our server was pleasant, though there was some difficulty understanding her. Food was very good. Will come back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Def ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Definitely going back. Sonja, our server was great. The neighborhood has really cleaned up. Nice area and choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Definitely Your Average Birthday Dinner

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We reserved a table for our friend's birthday get-together & made a note of that when making the reservation. She's a huge foodie, owns her own pastry shop + loves a well-stocked bar. There was a Warrior's game on that night so we knew it would be busy & noisy but the fact that we were ignored for a good 5 minutes standing at the door when we walked in was a bit rude. A few members of the staff were standing around just talking to patrons (not serving or taking orders - just chatting) so we awkwardly stood waiting at the entry to see which table we could sit down at that might not be reserved. In the end they put us in the furthest darkest corner, but hey at least we had a table. We wanted to order from the Happy Hour menu since we still had about 20 minutes of time to do so when we arrived. But since we were ignored for a good 5 minutes when we walked in & then for another 5 minutes once we were seated we only had 5 minutes left to order before we knew they would cut off those offerings. We flagged down a busboy to order who told us they would grab a waitress to take our order so by the time she came we could really only put in 3/5 drink orders for our party and 2 food items (which as a FYI the HH menu bites are super tiny & usually come in pairs so order more than 1 for parties of 3 or more) with her before she promptly walked away even before we were finished ordering. Also if you as an establishment don't offer a particular option it's usually courteous to suggest a few other options you do carry at the bar instead of saying "we don't have that" & just walking away from your customers. In the end I would say the food was delicious & pricey but the poor service (except for one of the female waitresses who we flagged down on our own/mostly manning the other side of the room was absolutely helpful in our ordering choices) is just not worth coming back for. My friend enjoyed the food for her birthday meal but was noticeably disappointed in the service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrible customer service from the bar to table.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I originally booked a table online for my friends and I to enjoy cocktails and bites because I've been here several times before during happy hour and trying to find a place to sit was next to impossible. I arrived early and thought I'd enjoy a cocktail and although it wasn't quite busy just yet I could only get the attention of the bus-boy to order a cocktail. When we moved to the table I was immediately told by the waiter that we would have to give up our table by 7:30 to accommodate another dining party. Say what?! I've never been to a restaurant where I've had a reservation and have been told there was a limit. What if we were still eating...? We asked to speak to the manager since this major detail had not been spelled out on the reservation confirmation; I don't think the waiter appreciated this because we spent the rest of the evening chasing him down for drinks and food. It took 45 minutes for an order of sliders to arrive after three inquiries. The waiter purposely ignored us when we asked for the check before seven trying to keep to the table time limit as if he were gonna force us to stay until 7:30 since we initially complained about it. Poor service is an understatement but I won't be going back and had considered the District for a graduation event I'm planning later this year.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

definitely not greedy on the mimosas!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

good food, good brunch, good mimosas, excellent customer service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oysters & Wine

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for the oyster happy hour ($1 on 5-7 pm on a Saturday!) and enjoyed some drinks as well. Fantastic value and waitress was super helpful in finding a wine I would like. Definitely would come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ambiance is modern and chill.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance is modern and chill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Yum!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We still dream about the baked burrata! We had such a great night out at district. Food service and ambiance were perfect. We will definitely be back and recommend to others!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible this restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2016

The service was terrible this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Bottomless Mimosas & Brunch Buffet

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2016

For a place that's primarily a bar, their brunch buffet is AMAZING!

Looking at the items listed on their menu, your initial thought may be that it's standard or generic but don't be fooled. Every single item was done to perfection and their bread pudding with bourbon caramel and chantilly whipped cream was to die for. The only thing kinda lacking was their sausage sadly enough.

Who doesn't love bottomless mimosas in the morning?? They have a good selection of different flavors as well as a solid drink list for variety. They emphasize their 90 min brunch limit which doesn't sound so great at first, but you probably won't need more than 90 min anyways and it's just so popular, I can sympathize with the 90 min turnaround.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Friday night fun

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

My cousin was visiting from out of town and I suggested we enjoy some tapas and cocktails for a fun Friday night together....District was the perfect venue to catch up. All the dishes we tried were each fantastic...but the tempura avocado! We both couldn't get enough of it.....so simple, yet it stood out! Definitely will be back.....

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I went for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My partner and I went for Sunday brunch buffet on Valentine's Day. The food was good and the bottomless mimosas were even better. We sat at the bar and had great service. We plan on going again next month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner, great ambiance

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2016

We had a great time here on a Wednesday night before the Van Morrison concert at the fox theatre. I didn't know old town Oakland is so quaint and buzzing! A great scene, and District was pleasantly packed but had our reserved table ready. I got a great wine flight and we enjoyed each of the small plates we got! It had a great, fun feel and I loved the design and ambiance. Perfect Wednesday date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice find

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2016

Very nice place/find. Food was very good - tapas style. Only complaint was that it took awhile to get waited on (short handed?) but once the order was in the drinks & food came very fast. Servers were friendly. Also very nice happy hour selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Sunday Funday

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2016

I have enjoyed the brunch at District on several previous occasions. I am grateful for making a reservation as it was very crowded. If you're looking for an intimate, quiet space, this is not time to frequent District. The football game was thankfully televised and given the bottomless mimosas on the brunch menu, the noise levels will rise. The food was replenished at the buffet making it a great value and for an easy afternoon of grazing. I look forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Good quality, poor value

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2016

I went with a larger group of 7. The quality of the food was good, but I was expecting much larger portion sizes for the price. The prices on the menu are deceptive. The dates, for instance, came with only 3 for the order. For a tapas place I was expecting more generous portions for sharing, or at least a more explicit menu to set expectations. '$30 and under' will not be enough for a complete dinner.

The service was also slow, but friendly enough. This would be a better place for light snacks, more special occasions, or a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was great. Service was friendly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was great. Service was friendly. Was a bit loud, with football on the telly and intoxicated 20-somethings using their outside voices. I absolutely hate communal tables. Would go back for the food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The shrimp was delicious! Everything was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2015

The shrimp was delicious! Everything was very good. Happy to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.