About District - Oakland

827 Washington Street
Oakland, CA 94607
View Larger Map

District is a wine & whiskey bar and restaurant located in Downtown Old Oakland. We offer an eclectic menu of small, shareable plates, house made charcuterie and pizza that pair well with our extensive list of wines and whiskeys by the glass and craft beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Fri: 4:00pm - Close
Saturday: 5:00pm - Close
Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
9th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 272-9110

Website:
http://www.districtoak.com/

Public Transit:
District is located at the corner of 9th and Washington and is only 3 blocks from the 12th St. Bart station.

Executive Chef:
Bob Cina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

District can accommodate semi-private and private buyout events for groups ranging from 8 to 200 guests. Every aspect of your event can be customized, from food service to specific wine pairings.

District - Oakland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
San Francisco Bay Area
Vibrant Bar Scene
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

vibrant bar scene (14)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (9)
See All
great for brunch (9)
fit for foodies (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
special occasion (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
86 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The waiter was great, but I believe the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The waiter was great, but I believe the manager was rude and horrible.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thanks for a fantastic night out, Distri ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Thanks for a fantastic night out, District! We wined and dined in style. Super easy reservation and check-in process, the waitress was accommodating and gracious with our questions and requests. Good value on the wine on tap, and interesting tapas-style dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit - very satisfied. Int ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visit - very satisfied. Interesting menu and good food that really works for sharing.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Seating is not great for large parties b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Seating is not great for large parties but the food was great! Chicken sausage for those who don't eat pork.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Noisy and raucus, but food and drink were nice

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had picked this place to eat and meet and get up to date on our mutual interests. Expecting a typical Friday night crowd, but with the Warriors playoff game on two big screens, it was particularly packed. Our server was pleasant, though there was some difficulty understanding her. Food was very good. Will come back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Def ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and cocktails were outstanding. Definitely going back. Sonja, our server was great. The neighborhood has really cleaned up. Nice area and choices.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Definitely Your Average Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

We reserved a table for our friend's birthday get-together & made a note of that when making the reservation. She's a huge foodie, owns her own pastry shop + loves a well-stocked bar. There was a Warrior's game on that night so we knew it would be busy & noisy but the fact that we were ignored for a good 5 minutes standing at the door when we walked in was a bit rude. A few members of the staff were standing around just talking to patrons (not serving or taking orders - just chatting) so we awkwardly stood waiting at the entry to see which table we could sit down at that might not be reserved. In the end they put us in the furthest darkest corner, but hey at least we had a table. We wanted to order from the Happy Hour menu since we still had about 20 minutes of time to do so when we arrived. But since we were ignored for a good 5 minutes when we walked in & then for another 5 minutes once we were seated we only had 5 minutes left to order before we knew they would cut off those offerings. We flagged down a busboy to order who told us they would grab a waitress to take our order so by the time she came we could really only put in 3/5 drink orders for our party and 2 food items (which as a FYI the HH menu bites are super tiny & usually come in pairs so order more than 1 for parties of 3 or more) with her before she promptly walked away even before we were finished ordering. Also if you as an establishment don't offer a particular option it's usually courteous to suggest a few other options you do carry at the bar instead of saying "we don't have that" & just walking away from your customers. In the end I would say the food was delicious & pricey but the poor service (except for one of the female waitresses who we flagged down on our own/mostly manning the other side of the room was absolutely helpful in our ordering choices) is just not worth coming back for. My friend enjoyed the food for her birthday meal but was noticeably disappointed in the service.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible customer service from the bar to table.

Dined on May 21, 2016

I originally booked a table online for my friends and I to enjoy cocktails and bites because I've been here several times before during happy hour and trying to find a place to sit was next to impossible. I arrived early and thought I'd enjoy a cocktail and although it wasn't quite busy just yet I could only get the attention of the bus-boy to order a cocktail. When we moved to the table I was immediately told by the waiter that we would have to give up our table by 7:30 to accommodate another dining party. Say what?! I've never been to a restaurant where I've had a reservation and have been told there was a limit. What if we were still eating...? We asked to speak to the manager since this major detail had not been spelled out on the reservation confirmation; I don't think the waiter appreciated this because we spent the rest of the evening chasing him down for drinks and food. It took 45 minutes for an order of sliders to arrive after three inquiries. The waiter purposely ignored us when we asked for the check before seven trying to keep to the table time limit as if he were gonna force us to stay until 7:30 since we initially complained about it. Poor service is an understatement but I won't be going back and had considered the District for a graduation event I'm planning later this year.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

definitely not greedy on the mimosas!

Dined on May 15, 2016

good food, good brunch, good mimosas, excellent customer service.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oysters & Wine

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for the oyster happy hour ($1 on 5-7 pm on a Saturday!) and enjoyed some drinks as well. Fantastic value and waitress was super helpful in finding a wine I would like. Definitely would come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is modern and chill.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance is modern and chill.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We still dream about the baked burrata! We had such a great night out at district. Food service and ambiance were perfect. We will definitely be back and recommend to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

The service was terrible this restaurant

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The service was terrible this restaurant

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Bottomless Mimosas & Brunch Buffet

Dined on April 10, 2016

For a place that's primarily a bar, their brunch buffet is AMAZING! Looking at the items listed on their menu, your initial thought may be that it's standard or generic but don't be fooled. Every single item was done to perfection and their bread pudding with bourbon caramel and chantilly whipped cream was to die for. The only thing kinda lacking was their sausage sadly enough. Who doesn't love bottomless mimosas in the morning?? They have a good selection of different flavors as well as a solid drink list for variety. They emphasize their 90 min brunch limit which doesn't sound so great at first, but you probably won't need more than 90 min anyways and it's just so popular, I can sympathize with the 90 min turnaround.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night fun

Dined on February 20, 2016

My cousin was visiting from out of town and I suggested we enjoy some tapas and cocktails for a fun Friday night together....District was the perfect venue to catch up. All the dishes we tried were each fantastic...but the tempura avocado! We both couldn't get enough of it.....so simple, yet it stood out! Definitely will be back.....

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

My partner and I went for Sunday brunch ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My partner and I went for Sunday brunch buffet on Valentine's Day. The food was good and the bottomless mimosas were even better. We sat at the bar and had great service. We plan on going again next month.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner, great ambiance

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

We had a great time here on a Wednesday night before the Van Morrison concert at the fox theatre. I didn't know old town Oakland is so quaint and buzzing! A great scene, and District was pleasantly packed but had our reserved table ready. I got a great wine flight and we enjoyed each of the small plates we got! It had a great, fun feel and I loved the design and ambiance. Perfect Wednesday date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice find

Dined on January 19, 2016

Very nice place/find. Food was very good - tapas style. Only complaint was that it took awhile to get waited on (short handed?) but once the order was in the drinks & food came very fast. Servers were friendly. Also very nice happy hour selection.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Sunday Funday

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

I have enjoyed the brunch at District on several previous occasions. I am grateful for making a reservation as it was very crowded. If you're looking for an intimate, quiet space, this is not time to frequent District. The football game was thankfully televised and given the bottomless mimosas on the brunch menu, the noise levels will rise. The food was replenished at the buffet making it a great value and for an easy afternoon of grazing. I look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Good quality, poor value

Dined on January 15, 2016

I went with a larger group of 7. The quality of the food was good, but I was expecting much larger portion sizes for the price. The prices on the menu are deceptive. The dates, for instance, came with only 3 for the order. For a tapas place I was expecting more generous portions for sharing, or at least a more explicit menu to set expectations. '$30 and under' will not be enough for a complete dinner. The service was also slow, but friendly enough. This would be a better place for light snacks, more special occasions, or a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was great. Service was friendly ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was great. Service was friendly. Was a bit loud, with football on the telly and intoxicated 20-somethings using their outside voices. I absolutely hate communal tables. Would go back for the food though.

food5
ambience4
service5

The shrimp was delicious! Everything was ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

The shrimp was delicious! Everything was very good. Happy to return.

food3
ambience5
service5

Fun!

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

Good food, good drinks, decent food. The marguerita pizza was absolutely delicious - still dreaming about it. Not sure what made it that tasty, but it was great! Also ordered an avocado appetizer and burrata - wouldn't recommend either as they were not worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was really tasty

Dined on October 25, 2015

We really enjoyed the place as it being our first time. It was a bit chilly sitting at the high tops underneath the fan. There were no other seats available. Our server Sonia was very pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2

Beautiful space, great food, service eh

Dined on October 21, 2015

Was visiting from out of town and heard good things about this place. Came through on a Tuesday night. Made reservations just in case but got there and It was fairly empty. Nobody really came to the front to greet so I went over to bar area, was told to just sit wherever. Got a bunch of food and drinks. Everything was solid, but service was probably one of the worst I've ever had on the West Coast. Sad. Ah well. Kudos to the space being nice, and the food being solid.

food4
ambience3
service3

Nice evening with tapas

Dined on October 16, 2015

Tapas galore! Lots of good tapas (they might be few dollars overpriced but oh well). They have a very good beverage list! Lots of great wines, beers, and cocktails. Definitely recommend doing a flight of wines, good bang for your buck. Only negative thing about the place was the service was erratic. They would come every few minutes and ask us if we were ready to order more (without enough time between visits to make up our minds) and when we would place an order she frequently came back forgetting what we ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Spot

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

Pleasantly surprised with District. Good food, good drink list, (really) full bar. Would be a great place to meet for drinks after work. Enjoyed a tasty dinner of small plates with a girlfriend and a great wine flight (love me a wine flight). Service was excellent. Definitely recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Cool space good food and service

Dined on September 2, 2015

The space is cool with huge windows , exposed brick and high ceilings. Our food was tasty and we shared lots of plates in our group of 5. We all tried different cocktails and the consensus was positive on each. French fries not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food/amazing staff

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

I will be back ASAP to District in Oakland (SF has a location too). The food was delicious (we went for brunch) but the dinner menu looks even better! The staff is very friendly, professional and accommodating (I'm picky from being in the business myself), so when I say they were awesome, you better believe me! Fun atmosphere (excellent taste in music-very upbeat) and an overall beautiful restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautifying Oakland

Dined on August 20, 2015

I made a reservation at District Oakland with some hesitation - the area is labeled as "Old Oakland" and although I'm from the Bay Area, that doesn't mean much. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the area was clean and bright with an eclectic vibe. There were quite a few upscale cars and eateries in the area and District Oakland was definitely the highlight of the street. They have a huge wine selection, fresh oysters and great appetizers. The bartenders are friendly and the place got packed pretty quickly. I highly recommend the Tempura Avocado and the Lamb Meatballs; we had a couple other things but those we're definitely the best choices. Our drinks came quick and the Grapefruit Hefeweizen was definitely ON POINT - loved it! I wouldn't recommend this place for families with children since the menu is focused on adult-tastes and the main focus is the bar. There's a few high tables with high-back seating in the surrounding dining area but the rest of the seating is actually AT the bar. Overall, great location, good service, yummy drinks, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Bar With Great Food

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

Very good food at this restaurant which is actually more of a bar. At 7:30PM, they are checking ID's at the door. The bar is the center of attention and is quite nice. The wines are displayed on one wall and is very striking. Some restaurant tables are to each side of the circular bar where ii is very dark. Martinis were good and priced about average. The wine list was very expensive except for the four tap wines listed. The same can be said for the food - very expensive with small portions. For example, the Grilled Seafood Bomba, a paella like dish had a little bit of rice, 2 small shrimp, 2 mussels, 2 tiny pieces of fish, and a piece of octopus. The price for this dish was $19. The sliders were excellent but they served only two for $12. The charcuterie plate was a whopping $18 for some pate and cheese. The noise level is extremely high making talking very difficult. Definitely not a date night place. However, there is that thought that the food may be worth it. Actually, the high quality of the food does not fit with the bar atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot spot in old Oakland

Dined on July 12, 2015

Trendy setting, lively bar scene, great background music. Interesting, and delicious small plates, our group of 6 enjoyed every dish. The sliders were a huge hit, as was the tuna tartare, but truly, every dish was delicious. Excellent, timely (but not pushy) service all around, great cocktails, and comfy seating (party of 6, got the big table/booth, could have added 4 people easily). We'll be back :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent location for Saturday/Sunday B ...

Dined on July 5, 2015

Excellent location for Saturday/Sunday Brunch. Bottomless mimosa in various flavors a plus! friendly and accommodating staff and great ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

good food, slow service

Dined on July 2, 2015

the food was good and drinks were amazing. But the service was painstakingly slow. We waited and waited and finally got to place an order. Took forever to get the check.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

A good place for drinks/appetizers, not dinner.

Dined on June 19, 2015

Was a little disappointed as we were looking for a nice dining place. This place is okay if you're meeting with friends for drinks after work and want to have a few appetizers, not what I would recommend for dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and lots of fun!

Dined on May 31, 2015

Great menu, great service. The house-made charcuterie is the bomb for meat eaters, but there are also some great choices for vegetarians. And so many different bourbons! High-energy (not quiet).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and a great night out.

vip
Dined on May 24, 2015

Great food and a great night out.

food4
ambience3
service4

Hip Crowd and Friendly Staff

Dined on April 19, 2015

Looking for somewhere different with an available reservation on a Saturday night - we were happy with our experience at District. This place is more bar then restaurant but the food was very good, nice selection, reasonably priced (check out the menu, more diverse than we expected). We brought our own wine but one of our party had a cocktail - also very good. The crowd was younger than our group (parents with teenagers) but we enjoyed the space and food. The wait staff was helpful and attentive but not overbearing. All around a well above average dining experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Fun for brunch if drinks are top priority

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

A fun, convivial scene, and the food is good, but only as food from a buffet can be. Generous with the bottomless mimosas and friendly service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service1

My husband and I anticipated our Sunday ...

Dined on March 1, 2015

My husband and I anticipated our Sunday brunch at the District and were totally disappointed. We invited two of our best friends to join us and were humiliated. The service was poor (except for the hostess, who seated us immediately to our reserved table). When we needed during our meal, it was difficult to locate a server. The restaurant was short staffed. Overall, the food was average, Though my husband and I did enjoy the ceviche and the friend plaintains, our guests were unable to try the ceviche. At 1:30 p.m., the buffet attendant informed me and my guests that the restaurant ran out of ceviche and the kitchen was not able to provide this dish today. This was definitely false advisement when the restaurant claims "bottomless buffet". In addition, the sausage served was excessively dry as if the sausage had been in the container for since 8:00 a.m. The music was too loud and irritating. I

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.