About Diplomat Prime – Hollywood

3555 S. Ocean Drive
Hollywood, FL 33019
View Larger Map

Diplomat Prime, is a Luxury Boutique Steakhouse that serves 48-day, in house dry aged prime beef. We also offer fresh seafood and a have a wonderful array of raw bar selections. Whether your palate desires a steak house or you are looking for a celebratory destination Diplomat Prime will certainly satisfy. Private dining rooms are also available and reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hallandale Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 602-8331

Website:
http://www.diplomatprime.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or garage parking with validation at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicolay Adinaguev

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Diplomat Prime offers two intimate rooms for parties ranging from 8 to 30 guests. For more information please contact Heydyn Hernandez @ Heydyn.Hernandez@diplomatresort.com or 954-658-0148.

Thank you

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Diplomat Prime has two private dining rooms. The Wine Room seats 9-16 guests and The Salon seats 17-30 guests.

Diplomat Prime – Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Business Meals (8)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a steak house that also serves f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a steak house that also serves fish and other fine dishes. Everything is a la carte. My wife and I had the Wagyu Filet Mignon, which they blackened with a spice. We ordered both steaks Medium, and it arrived a slightly overdone, but not much overdone. If this was Longhorn, I would give this place 5 stars for food, but since this is a steak house with $50-$100 steaks, I gave them 3 stars for food. The service here is incredible though. The staff was so nice, and the atmosphere is top-notch. I would go back, as I think we had an unusual experience and the food is usually cooked better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a nice time but being a discerning t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a nice time but being a discerning traveler that visits several high end steak restaurants a year i have this to say. The menu steak selections were limited. The food was good except there seemed to be a lot of salt in everything including the steak. The steak was cooked with a thick crust, which I really liked. The service was all right, not good not bad. The chairs were so close that the waiter could not face me and stood directly behind me as he spoke. The seating did turn out good after all. However, we were disappointed, since the manager called me a day early to confirm my reservation and he asked me if I had any special request. i asked him if he could put us in a specific table for two in the back. He said he would. We got there ten minutes before our scheduled seating and ended up waiting almost 45 minutes. They did not put us in the requested table. The bright side though was the two couples that sat next to us were quite pleasant and provided good conversation. This was a special occasion and the restaurant did provide the type of ambiance and elegance for a special occasion. For day to day dining I think you will find better values.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We absolutely can not say enough about P ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely can not say enough about Prime. Gorgeous place, service was outstanding, food was amazing. If I lived in southern Florida this would be my go to place for Steak.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service Steak was awesome !!! ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service

Steak was awesome !!!

Only bad was that the water glasses were not kept full all the time

This can get to be intrusive if done too much, but should not wait to an empty glass and have to ask.

Other wise it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An Absolutely amazing experience! We wen ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An Absolutely amazing experience! We went to dinner for our anniversary. Beautiful setting, delicious food & the waiters were so attentive & very sweet. I would def go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Diplomat Prime is fantastic restaurant w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Diplomat Prime is fantastic restaurant with a price tag to match. We had read about the restaurant in an article about the best steakhouses in South Florida and decided to give it a try. I was immediately impressed with the property and resort which house the restaurant, and even though we partake in fine dining often, we were almost intimidated valet parking amongst the Rolls-Roces and Bentleys. After exiting the car, I feared that I had under dressed being the only man in view who was not wearing a jacket. Upon entering the restaurant, it was about 50/50, so I was put at ease. The steaks (New York strip and filet) were probably the best we have ever had, seasoned and prepared perfectly. Salads, sides and desert were equally impressive. The service was a bit slower than I am used to, but not a problem (I would describe it as "unobtrusive"). We each had a cocktail and a glass of wine with dinner (no bottle of wine, which can cause the check to approach the stratosphere anywhere) and did not go overboard with appetizers or extras such as bottled water. After a spectacular meal, we received the spectacular bill. We dine in New York City often, so $320.00 did not shock me, but it did surprise me in Hollywood Florida! The waiter made a point of showing me that an 18% service charge was included on the bill, so the total includes the tip. The valet parking is also complimentary when you get your ticket stamped by the restaurant, so the final total was really about right. Excellent, but not an every week destination for us!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We will definitely come here again!! Eve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We will definitely come here again!! Everything was excellent and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was very good. Everything else was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Steak was very good. Everything else was not good. Been eating stone crab for 50 years and these worst I've ever had. Same with the Maine lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Although the food and service was good, ...

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Although the food and service was good, our table was not ready for us when we came in. The worst aspect and the reason I will never go back there is that we brought two fine bottles of wine and they refused to let us open them and would not allow us to pay a corkage fee, something that is unheard of in Miami. We had to buy two bottles of wine off their menu that were very expensive. On top of that they charged 18% gratuity including on the bottles of wine. Not a very consumer-friendly experience. Not a place to go for wine lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Steak was top quality and prepared to pe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Steak was top quality and prepared to perfection. Wait staff team did everything right and, on top of that was engaging, didn't mind laughing and joking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak in Broward county but also th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best steak in Broward county but also the priciest. Plus they removed prime rib from their selection used to be the best ...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent meal, wonderful location, and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent meal, wonderful location, and one of the best steakhouses I have been to. All of the essential steak house elements were there with a touch of South Florida. Will go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were visiting Hollywood, and it was g ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We were visiting Hollywood, and it was great to have a nice meal and cap our business trip. Melania was a wonderful waitress, and the female bartender was terrific too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I will remember this meal a long time. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I will remember this meal a long time. Perfection. If you are spending money on prime aged steaks and want the real thing, look no further. Best most comfortable chairs, staff has genuine warmth. My guests (dear friends who don't hold back on criticism) said they are new loyal fans and will be back. Service was the right level between attentive and unobtrusive. Good looking dining room in scale and spacing of tables. They actually know how to make a true martini as well. The side dishes absolutely delicious. Even desserts (which I normally skip).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good steak although a bit expensive ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very good steak although a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bartender!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent bartender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such great food, and service, that we ca ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such great food, and service, that we can't wait to return. The GM Michael checked on us often and really took a great experience and made it off the charts! If this team was located on South Beach it would own the Steakhouse market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very nice atmosphere and solidly good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A very nice atmosphere and solidly good food. Not the best steak you'll ever eat in, and a bit over-priced for "solidly good" but considering it is a resort steak house, I wasn't too upset that it wasn't better than solidly good. I do give proper kudos to the restaurant for automatically bringing over another cocktail, on the house, when they were unable to seat us until almost 30 minutes past our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I love the restaurant because of the won ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I love the restaurant because of the wonderful service [Gene our waiter was exceptional and Michael the Maitre d couldn't do enough for us] the menu, the quiet intimate environment and the fabulous steaks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks and exceptional service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing steaks and exceptional service.

Diego and David were outstanding!

The bartender that evening made perfect slightly dirty grey goose martinis too.

A must have before your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved every bite!, thank you our Chri ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We loved every bite!, thank you our Christmas was perfect

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat at quite a few steakhouses across ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I eat at quite a few steakhouses across the country and I can say, along with my guests, that this was one of the best steaks I have had in a long time. 48 day dry aged. KC strip, NY strip or Filet. All fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too expensive.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Way too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I've had many good dinners at steakhouse ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I've had many good dinners at steakhouses around the country but this has to rate as one of the best. The filet mignon (ordered with blue cheese) was ordered rare and done exactly right. Plus, it was extremely tender and tasty. The staff is as classy as the food. If you are looking for a great steakhouse in the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood area, you don't need to look any farther than the Prime Steakhouse at the Diplomat Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filled with red necks

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Filled with red necks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Nice selection of steaks & cuts. Sides ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Nice selection of steaks & cuts. Sides were delicious & save room for dessert. Was second time there & will definitely return on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very high scale steakhouse and seafood r ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very high scale steakhouse and seafood restaurant. Obviously popular. Be prepared to spend $100+ for dinner, but quality and service are excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant ... great staff and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful restaurant ... great staff and great steak and stone crab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lessson learned. Don't order fish at a s ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Lessson learned. Don't order fish at a steak house. I thought the local grouper would be really great, but found it just ok.

Everyone was wonderful. Next time I visit I will not stray from what they are known for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The hostess was slow to seat us. Overall ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The hostess was slow to seat us. Overall everything was overpriced relative to the quality of the food. I don't mind paying $50-$60 for a steak but I expect it to taste delicious. The sides were mediocre and the service was subpar.

I will not be dining here again. If you are staying at this hotel due yourself a favor and take a taxi or an uber and go to another steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food and service were great, but no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and service were great, but no one at my table had anything to eat that was truly memorable. Everything had good flavor and the filets were well cooked, but the food just seemed to lack the star power that other comparable steakhouses seem to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was too expensive. Great servic ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was too expensive. Great service! The music was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Very upscale. Great for a date or romant ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very upscale. Great for a date or romantic evening. Food was very good but a little pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Husbands steak excellent. My crab legs o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Husbands steak excellent. My crab legs okay, they were mushy, I don't think real fresh. Service lacking, need more training for a upscale restaurant. Brought me the wrong cocktail, corrected. Ordered a bottle of wine, wrong bottle brought, corrected. This shouldn't happen in this type of establishment. Juan who served water, bread, etc., was very good and personable. Ambience very nice, had just been renovated. Overall we had a pleasant evening. Was pricey, steak worth it, BUT NOT the crab legs. If in area, would try again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our meal was phenomenal and the service ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our meal was phenomenal and the service was exceptional. We were made aware that Diplomat Prime had recently reopened after renovations and the ambiance of the boutique prime steak house was impressive. My wife and I plan to visit again on our next trip to south Florida.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service and food was great... We thr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our service and food was great... We throughly enjoyed our dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, service and the staff from t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great meal, service and the staff from the hostess to the guy bring the water was first class!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a horrible experience here. Ordered ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a horrible experience here. Ordered a steak that was $45 came out not to my liking. The server with attitude proceeded to tell me that it's how I wanted it and if he brings it in it will come out the same. My husband ordered a medium and I had a rare I took a piece and compared it and it looked the same. Showed it to the server and he had nothing to say. Told him I'm not going to waste my time then. Manager came and took it off the bill but by then I already lost my appetite.

Poor service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of my favorite restaurant. Food is a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2016

One of my favorite restaurant. Food is always great. Service was OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.