About Diplomat Prime – Hollywood

Diplomat Prime, is a Luxury Boutique Steakhouse that serves 48-day, in house dry aged prime beef. We also offer fresh seafood and a have a wonderful array of raw bar selections. Whether your palate desires a steak house or you are looking for a celebratory destination Diplomat Prime will certainly satisfy. Private dining rooms are also available and reservations are recommended.

3555 S. Ocean Drive
Hollywood, FL 33019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hallandale Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 602-8331

Website:
http://www.diplomatprime.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or garage parking with validation at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicolay Adinaguev

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Diplomat Prime offers two intimate rooms for parties ranging from 8 to 30 guests. For more information please contact Heydyn Hernandez @ Heydyn.Hernandez@diplomatresort.com or 954-658-0148.

Thank you

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Diplomat Prime has two private dining rooms. The Wine Room seats 9-16 guests and The Salon seats 17-30 guests.

Diplomat Prime – Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Business Meals (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (0)
Private Room (0)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and outstanding food. Gene was an outstanding waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Sooo delish! Highly recommend! Steak was the best! Service was the best! Oysters so yum! Loved the truffle mashed!!!!

Tags: Historic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our 5th year coming to vacation at the Diplomat & 5th time dining at Prime.
The meal was delicious. We had notified restaurant ahead that it was a special birthday dinner for mom. Unfortunately, they forgot.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Wow! Great steaks and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Fit for foodies.
Gene was a fabulous waiter.
We have dined here many times. Best food and service in the entire area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing team from Elliot to Daisy and the foods excellent. Like a good filet this is a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience! Celebrated my husbands 70th birthday. Wine, food and service are fantastic?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was great! Everyone was well versed in the art of hospitality! The food was an experience of its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

So delicious - both steak (perfectly prepared, I might add) and seafood. Great wine list- no complaints !!! Bring your credit card and be prepared to shell it out, but what an experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The hostess greeted us warmly and found a nice table promptly. The roasted beet salad was flavorful, with lime complementing the arugula perfectly. Filet mignon was cooked to specification, as was my wife's salmon. Sides were delicious, especially the "tater tots", which are downright addictive. The zucchini was also very nice, but could do with toning down the acid just a bit. And seriously, "heirloom zucchini"? Why not "artisanal" while we're at it? Prime is hardly the first or only restaurant to indulge in such pretentious descriptions on the menu, but it's just not necessary; enough already.

The staff need to be a bit more careful, for example my wife's water glass had a significant chip, easily capable of cutting a lip. And just a suggestion: maybe think about adding a fresh fruit (berries, perhaps) to the otherwise tempting but decadent dessert menu.

Overall though, Prime was a nice experience and we'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food at Diplomat Prime is excellent and our server was fantastic. However, bring your wallet and be prepared to take out a mortgage to pay for your meal. This was the most expensive meal we've ever had and we've eaten in some amazing restaurants all over the world. With that in mind, I cannot recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was excellent, creative and well prepared. I´m a profesional chef and one other guest is an amateur chef but cooks like a profesional as well.
We both agreed that the meats were cooked perfectly and the side dishes were very good. Now, the "truffled whipped potatoes" were delicious, but I prefer a good baked potato with my steak and was not available. We chefs do like to eat simple, just well made.
The wine list was very good and fair also; the price of the dishes a bit steep, the side dishes are quite costly also, and not included with the main dish.
Service was friendly, well trained, somewhat slow eventhough you have enough waiters, perhaps the kitchen was the cause? The restaurant was totally full, so it is understandable.
Overall it was worth it, we enjoyed the meal and the ambiance.
We would definetly come back again and recomend it to friends .
Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was Great ! Our Server excellent Knowledgeable . It was simply Great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of the best!
5 stars.
I highly recommend Diplomat Prime and look forward to returning there myself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

There is organic beef, filet mignon.. excellent food... good service but the cocktails and wine are a little too expensive.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Gene was our server. Great guy. We have been coming here for the past 5 years and never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is a steak house that also serves fish and other fine dishes. Everything is a la carte. My wife and I had the Wagyu Filet Mignon, which they blackened with a spice. We ordered both steaks Medium, and it arrived a slightly overdone, but not much overdone. If this was Longhorn, I would give this place 5 stars for food, but since this is a steak house with $50-$100 steaks, I gave them 3 stars for food. The service here is incredible though. The staff was so nice, and the atmosphere is top-notch. I would go back, as I think we had an unusual experience and the food is usually cooked better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had a nice time but being a discerning traveler that visits several high end steak restaurants a year i have this to say. The menu steak selections were limited. The food was good except there seemed to be a lot of salt in everything including the steak. The steak was cooked with a thick crust, which I really liked. The service was all right, not good not bad. The chairs were so close that the waiter could not face me and stood directly behind me as he spoke. The seating did turn out good after all. However, we were disappointed, since the manager called me a day early to confirm my reservation and he asked me if I had any special request. i asked him if he could put us in a specific table for two in the back. He said he would. We got there ten minutes before our scheduled seating and ended up waiting almost 45 minutes. They did not put us in the requested table. The bright side though was the two couples that sat next to us were quite pleasant and provided good conversation. This was a special occasion and the restaurant did provide the type of ambiance and elegance for a special occasion. For day to day dining I think you will find better values.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We absolutely can not say enough about Prime. Gorgeous place, service was outstanding, food was amazing. If I lived in southern Florida this would be my go to place for Steak.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service
Steak was awesome !!!
Only bad was that the water glasses were not kept full all the time
This can get to be intrusive if done too much, but should not wait to an empty glass and have to ask.

Other wise it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

After a slow start, we had good service. We found a good wine at a high price. We had good bread and good steak. We had a crab meat cocktail which was disappointing. We had good sides of asparagus and mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An Absolutely amazing experience! We went to dinner for our anniversary. Beautiful setting, delicious food & the waiters were so attentive & very sweet. I would def go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Diplomat Prime is fantastic restaurant with a price tag to match. We had read about the restaurant in an article about the best steakhouses in South Florida and decided to give it a try. I was immediately impressed with the property and resort which house the restaurant, and even though we partake in fine dining often, we were almost intimidated valet parking amongst the Rolls-Roces and Bentleys. After exiting the car, I feared that I had under dressed being the only man in view who was not wearing a jacket. Upon entering the restaurant, it was about 50/50, so I was put at ease. The steaks (New York strip and filet) were probably the best we have ever had, seasoned and prepared perfectly. Salads, sides and desert were equally impressive. The service was a bit slower than I am used to, but not a problem (I would describe it as "unobtrusive"). We each had a cocktail and a glass of wine with dinner (no bottle of wine, which can cause the check to approach the stratosphere anywhere) and did not go overboard with appetizers or extras such as bottled water. After a spectacular meal, we received the spectacular bill. We dine in New York City often, so $320.00 did not shock me, but it did surprise me in Hollywood Florida! The waiter made a point of showing me that an 18% service charge was included on the bill, so the total includes the tip. The valet parking is also complimentary when you get your ticket stamped by the restaurant, so the final total was really about right. Excellent, but not an every week destination for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We will definitely come here again!! Everything was excellent and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Steak was very good. Everything else was not good. Been eating stone crab for 50 years and these worst I've ever had. Same with the Maine lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Although the food and service was good, our table was not ready for us when we came in. The worst aspect and the reason I will never go back there is that we brought two fine bottles of wine and they refused to let us open them and would not allow us to pay a corkage fee, something that is unheard of in Miami. We had to buy two bottles of wine off their menu that were very expensive. On top of that they charged 18% gratuity including on the bottles of wine. Not a very consumer-friendly experience. Not a place to go for wine lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Steak was top quality and prepared to perfection. Wait staff team did everything right and, on top of that was engaging, didn't mind laughing and joking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

DIPLOMAT PRIME is a very very good steakhouse.From the moment you arrive until you hand the valet your Free parking claim check, you will simle and think. " I WILL BE BACK"

The menu offers something for ALL tastes and no matter what you order it will arrive at your table perfectly prepared.

The ribeye was delicious and with the truffle mash potatoes and the cauliflower side, it made for a perfect meal.

Go and enjoy. And you too will be smiling to come back......

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best steak in Broward county but also the priciest. Plus they removed prime rib from their selection used to be the best ...

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent meal, wonderful location, and one of the best steakhouses I have been to. All of the essential steak house elements were there with a touch of South Florida. Will go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We were visiting Hollywood, and it was great to have a nice meal and cap our business trip. Melania was a wonderful waitress, and the female bartender was terrific too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I will remember this meal a long time. Perfection. If you are spending money on prime aged steaks and want the real thing, look no further. Best most comfortable chairs, staff has genuine warmth. My guests (dear friends who don't hold back on criticism) said they are new loyal fans and will be back. Service was the right level between attentive and unobtrusive. Good looking dining room in scale and spacing of tables. They actually know how to make a true martini as well. The side dishes absolutely delicious. Even desserts (which I normally skip).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very good steak although a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent bartender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such great food, and service, that we can't wait to return. The GM Michael checked on us often and really took a great experience and made it off the charts! If this team was located on South Beach it would own the Steakhouse market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A very nice atmosphere and solidly good food. Not the best steak you'll ever eat in, and a bit over-priced for "solidly good" but considering it is a resort steak house, I wasn't too upset that it wasn't better than solidly good. I do give proper kudos to the restaurant for automatically bringing over another cocktail, on the house, when they were unable to seat us until almost 30 minutes past our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I love the restaurant because of the wonderful service [Gene our waiter was exceptional and Michael the Maitre d couldn't do enough for us] the menu, the quiet intimate environment and the fabulous steaks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing steaks and exceptional service.
Diego and David were outstanding!

The bartender that evening made perfect slightly dirty grey goose martinis too.
A must have before your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We loved every bite!, thank you our Christmas was perfect

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.