About Diplomat Prime – Hollywood

Diplomat Prime, is a Luxury Boutique Steakhouse that serves 48-day, in house dry aged prime beef. We also offer fresh seafood and a have a wonderful array of raw bar selections. Whether your palate desires a steak house or you are looking for a celebratory destination Diplomat Prime will certainly satisfy. Private dining rooms are also available and reservations are recommended.

3555 S. Ocean Drive
Hollywood, FL 33019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hallandale Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 602-8331

Website:
http://www.diplomatprime.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet or garage parking with validation at restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicolay Adinaguev

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Diplomat Prime offers two intimate rooms for parties ranging from 8 to 30 guests. For more information please contact Heydyn Hernandez @ Heydyn.Hernandez@diplomatresort.com or 954-658-0148.

Thank you

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Diplomat Prime has two private dining rooms. The Wine Room seats 9-16 guests and The Salon seats 17-30 guests.

Diplomat Prime – Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Business Meals (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (0)
Disabled Access (0)
Sort By:
S
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 11 hours ago

Service is AMAZING! Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Our waiter, Eric, was very nice and friendly as well as the supporting staff. We have been to Prime several times and will continue to do so.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our server was superb, was very friendly and informative. The food was expensive but delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Very expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Restaurant was almost empty but we were told our table would not be ready for another 15 minutes which was not true. Food was just OK and we expected more based on their excessive prices. Other steak restaurants offer greater value .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service and food- amazing. Truffled potatoes, the steaks, tots- everything was amazing. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Honestly I have gone before but this time the food was cold, and the service was not good. They need to be nicer with clients. At some ocations we said thank you with a cero answerd. Hope they improved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

In town for a meeting at this hotel and decided to try. Seated quickly and our waiter, David, was very attentive and knowledgeable. We had beef and were not disappointed, both adding the "Oscar option" to Waygu filet and Prime strip. David had a wonderful wine suggestion and the bread!!! Fabian and Rosendo added efficiency to the service. A little pricey but we felt the experience was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Beautiful restaurant! Excellent food ! Great wait staff! Typical price hotel restaurant bit better quality than most. Great date night. Try the key lime pie best I have ever tasted the mango puree made it very special!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It took a lot time to bring the food. The meat is too expensive. The food is good and well cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Overall, the experience was good to very good... but... I am a Certified Specialist of Wine and Prime does not allow outside bottles to be brought into the restaurant. Their wine list is VERY good but also very pricey... not so much as overprices as very little selection, in my opinion, in the middle range. I actually have several of their wines in my personal cellar. Their policy thus eliminated my ability to drink the wine of my choosing from my cellar, that I know, vs. being forced to buy theirs. Although good, I can frequent any number of excellent steak houses in the Fort Lauderdale area AND bring my own wines. I won't return as I do not support any restaurant that does not realize I am the customer and want to control my dining experience vs. the establishment. With that said, anyone who does not have my personal experience and wants a good steak restaurant will not be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We celebrated our wedding here and it was amazing!!! Great strip steak and truffle mashed potatoes. Our server Eric was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Four of us dined here. The service here is very very good, and careful attention is paid to the details and the ambiance is wonderful.. We started with oysters. Three of us had the filet mignon medium rare with bearnaise sauce and another had the skirt steak with roasted bone marrow. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. Our server advised us that the each side dish would serve about 2 people. We opted for the creamed spinach, mushrooms, and mashed potatoes. The sides were unremarkable, and the mashed potatoes were definitely too salty. For dessert, a member of our party had the key lime tart which was okay. The food is very pricey and the menu is very limited. The smallest steak portion is a 10 oz. filet. Not everyone has an appetite that large. There is a large wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Prime at the Diplomat was a true dining experience. The ambience is very Chicago or New York with high ceilings and great acoustics. The service was attentive and helpful. We had the South African lobster tail and the seasonal snapper dish. Both were excellent. We look forward to going back. And if you eat there, they will comp your parking. Whoohoo!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We are frequent diners at Diplomat Prime for several years. Dining is always a pleasant experience ....starting with the outstanding hostess, Allyson. She is courteous, friendly and professional...to all, including those guests that she cannot accommodate. Allyson is a great asset to the Diplomat and makes us , as customers want to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great place to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Steak was way over cooked and didn't have any flavor and cost $75...crazy and not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Absolutely fabulous !! Had the filet mignon...was probably the best
Steak I've ever eaten! Melted in my mouth. Service was outstanding. They couldn't do enough to make sure we were satisfied. I cannot wait to come back . Would highly recommend The Prime to everyone. 5 star *

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent service and outstanding food. Gene was an outstanding waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Sooo delish! Highly recommend! Steak was the best! Service was the best! Oysters so yum! Loved the truffle mashed!!!!

Tags: Historic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was our 5th year coming to vacation at the Diplomat & 5th time dining at Prime.
The meal was delicious. We had notified restaurant ahead that it was a special birthday dinner for mom. Unfortunately, they forgot.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wow! Great steaks and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fit for foodies.
Gene was a fabulous waiter.
We have dined here many times. Best food and service in the entire area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing team from Elliot to Daisy and the foods excellent. Like a good filet this is a must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience! Celebrated my husbands 70th birthday. Wine, food and service are fantastic?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was great! Everyone was well versed in the art of hospitality! The food was an experience of its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

So delicious - both steak (perfectly prepared, I might add) and seafood. Great wine list- no complaints !!! Bring your credit card and be prepared to shell it out, but what an experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The hostess greeted us warmly and found a nice table promptly. The roasted beet salad was flavorful, with lime complementing the arugula perfectly. Filet mignon was cooked to specification, as was my wife's salmon. Sides were delicious, especially the "tater tots", which are downright addictive. The zucchini was also very nice, but could do with toning down the acid just a bit. And seriously, "heirloom zucchini"? Why not "artisanal" while we're at it? Prime is hardly the first or only restaurant to indulge in such pretentious descriptions on the menu, but it's just not necessary; enough already.

The staff need to be a bit more careful, for example my wife's water glass had a significant chip, easily capable of cutting a lip. And just a suggestion: maybe think about adding a fresh fruit (berries, perhaps) to the otherwise tempting but decadent dessert menu.

Overall though, Prime was a nice experience and we'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food at Diplomat Prime is excellent and our server was fantastic. However, bring your wallet and be prepared to take out a mortgage to pay for your meal. This was the most expensive meal we've ever had and we've eaten in some amazing restaurants all over the world. With that in mind, I cannot recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was excellent, creative and well prepared. I´m a profesional chef and one other guest is an amateur chef but cooks like a profesional as well.
We both agreed that the meats were cooked perfectly and the side dishes were very good. Now, the "truffled whipped potatoes" were delicious, but I prefer a good baked potato with my steak and was not available. We chefs do like to eat simple, just well made.
The wine list was very good and fair also; the price of the dishes a bit steep, the side dishes are quite costly also, and not included with the main dish.
Service was friendly, well trained, somewhat slow eventhough you have enough waiters, perhaps the kitchen was the cause? The restaurant was totally full, so it is understandable.
Overall it was worth it, we enjoyed the meal and the ambiance.
We would definetly come back again and recomend it to friends .
Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was Great ! Our Server excellent Knowledgeable . It was simply Great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of the best!
5 stars.
I highly recommend Diplomat Prime and look forward to returning there myself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

There is organic beef, filet mignon.. excellent food... good service but the cocktails and wine are a little too expensive.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Gene was our server. Great guy. We have been coming here for the past 5 years and never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is a steak house that also serves fish and other fine dishes. Everything is a la carte. My wife and I had the Wagyu Filet Mignon, which they blackened with a spice. We ordered both steaks Medium, and it arrived a slightly overdone, but not much overdone. If this was Longhorn, I would give this place 5 stars for food, but since this is a steak house with $50-$100 steaks, I gave them 3 stars for food. The service here is incredible though. The staff was so nice, and the atmosphere is top-notch. I would go back, as I think we had an unusual experience and the food is usually cooked better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had a nice time but being a discerning traveler that visits several high end steak restaurants a year i have this to say. The menu steak selections were limited. The food was good except there seemed to be a lot of salt in everything including the steak. The steak was cooked with a thick crust, which I really liked. The service was all right, not good not bad. The chairs were so close that the waiter could not face me and stood directly behind me as he spoke. The seating did turn out good after all. However, we were disappointed, since the manager called me a day early to confirm my reservation and he asked me if I had any special request. i asked him if he could put us in a specific table for two in the back. He said he would. We got there ten minutes before our scheduled seating and ended up waiting almost 45 minutes. They did not put us in the requested table. The bright side though was the two couples that sat next to us were quite pleasant and provided good conversation. This was a special occasion and the restaurant did provide the type of ambiance and elegance for a special occasion. For day to day dining I think you will find better values.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We absolutely can not say enough about Prime. Gorgeous place, service was outstanding, food was amazing. If I lived in southern Florida this would be my go to place for Steak.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service
Steak was awesome !!!
Only bad was that the water glasses were not kept full all the time
This can get to be intrusive if done too much, but should not wait to an empty glass and have to ask.

Other wise it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

After a slow start, we had good service. We found a good wine at a high price. We had good bread and good steak. We had a crab meat cocktail which was disappointing. We had good sides of asparagus and mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An Absolutely amazing experience! We went to dinner for our anniversary. Beautiful setting, delicious food & the waiters were so attentive & very sweet. I would def go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.