About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Lunch
Western New York
Hot Spot
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

Good for Groups (35)
Great for Lunch (26)
Kid-friendly (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Family Style (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Parking advertised as free was fiive do ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Parking advertised as free was fiive dollars. Food not up to their reputation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Sweetheart deal is just that, an incredi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Sweetheart deal is just that, an incredible deal for 2. Daily side was unique and scrumptious. Ribs were fall off the bone tender, yet nice and moist.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service throughout our wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great customer service throughout our whole meal! Server was friendly and quick to help, food arrived on time. Wonderful experience for family and friends that came out of state to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Table was sticky and food was just so-so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Table was sticky and food was just so-so. Macaroni and cheese was too spices and noodles were under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Had a great time, food was unbelievable. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a great time, food was unbelievable. Loved everything we ate. Sampler with fried green tomatoes was awesome. Sweetheart deal was to die for. Everything was so tasty. Beer flat board samplers were a nice touch for the boys.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a true Buffalo gem. Looks like ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is a true Buffalo gem. Looks like the song capital of the world is in the BBQ business and does it with style. Fantastic restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family loved the food, the flavor and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My family loved the food, the flavor and at a reasonable price. We highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been wanting to go here for some ti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have been wanting to go here for some time. The restaurant is really nice inside and loved the use of the old building. Very well appointed. The food was just ok. I was expecting a knock your socks off BBQ. The pork was just ok. The mac n cheese way too salty. Chefs should always taste the food before serving it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We took my parents for the Geeks Who Dri ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We took my parents for the Geeks Who Drink trivia night, and we loved it! The food at Dino BBQ is awesome. The portions are massive, and everything is delicious. They had a nice selection of beer - I got the Fat Tire and loved it. The ribs are fantastic, and I really like their mac n cheese side dish. Everyone was really happy and we really enjoyed the trivia too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a tad bit salty but the flavors ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was a tad bit salty but the flavors were there. Overall good experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Easy reservations, seated immediately, s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Easy reservations, seated immediately, server was amazing, manager stopped by to check on and correct a slightly over-fried app, sent out a slice of pie for my niece's birthday, great first visit to Dinosaur BBQ!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among my very favorite restaurants. Gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Among my very favorite restaurants. Great BBQ, friendly staff, fun atmosphere. They treat everyone well but veterans even better. Have dined at several of their locations and have always been pleased.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!!! If you like barb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was great!!! If you like barbecue, this is the place!!! There are many different menu options, and everything is reasonably priced. I have been here many times, and plan to go back many times!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit. Food was fantastic! Fried g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

First visit. Food was fantastic! Fried green tomatoes were the best l've ever had. Definitely will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great BBQ, consider getting the deviled ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great BBQ, consider getting the deviled eggs you won't regret it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good location downtown-- seated promptly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good location downtown-- seated promptly and service and food both excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Bar-B-Que Many selections to c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent Bar-B-Que

Many selections to choose from, all excellent and tasty. Service is outstandingly good. We had small children with us, and they were accommodated with no problems. One member of our party is gluten free, and she was also especially accommodated. We all recommend Dinsaur Bar-B-Que and eat there whenever we are in town.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Dino BBQ is the go-to barbecue in all of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dino BBQ is the go-to barbecue in all of Western New York. I've been several times and the food is consistently fresh, authentic, and consistently high-quality. Atmosphere is terrific and prices are reasonable considering how much great food you get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

other than parking to be a problem and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

other than parking to be a problem and very loud inside. service, food and value was very good sweetheart deal perfect for two people 1 rack ribs and 4 sides and corn bread.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The ribs were burnt. The cheddar ale so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ribs were burnt. The cheddar ale soup was so salty I could not eat it. Everything on my plate, including the broccoli cheese bake tasted like the same spicy rub.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Dino BBQ had just the fun atmosphere we ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dino BBQ had just the fun atmosphere we wanted! Upbeat and helpful staff, great fried green tomatoes, brisket and rib combo cooked just right. Reasonable prices make this a good find.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!! Brisket and BBQ pulled chic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious!!! Brisket and BBQ pulled chicken was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was fantastic! He greeted us ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The manager was fantastic! He greeted us, as the host was elsewhere. He was extremely friendly and made sure we were seated as soon as possible because he knew my husband was very hungry. Excellent food, excellent prices, excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Eric was outstanding.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server, Eric was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food. Excellent service. We will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good Food. Excellent service. We will be back for sure, and would recommend it to anyone for fun and good food. Great for groups too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the buffalo location ,was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time at the buffalo location ,was seated very fast, waiter was very attentive food fast and very good, was very easy to get to from the 190,didnt realize you had a parking lot till after i paid to park.we come in from east of lockport and will definitely be making more trips to Dinosaur

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Dinosaur for my son's birthd ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went to the Dinosaur for my son's birthday. There were 6 of us in our party. We were quickly greeted and seated. The staff was friendly and attentive. We started with 2 orders of nachos as an appetizer. While good, I thought that the serving on each plate of nachos was a bit stingy. I had a combo platter consisting of pulled pork, shrimp and brisket. The pulled pork was not very flavorful and I was quite surprised at the amount of fat on my brisket. The shrimp was good. One of my sides was coleslaw. It too was very lacking in flavor. We are from the area and in the past would drive all the way to Rochester to dine at the Dinosaur. To be fair, my wife did enjoy her combo of ribs and chicken. It has been a few years since we visited the Rochester location, but we remember it being better. Not sure if the difference is the location or changes driven by costs.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server Kate was awesome! Food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server Kate was awesome! Food was great. Very clean. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My ribs were undercooked and fatty my si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My ribs were undercooked and fatty my side dishes were cold, very limited dessert selection, only nice thing to say is the server was very good and friendly

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value5

I usually have something to complain abo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I usually have something to complain about and had nothing but a good experience. Family of 4, everyone had something different and it was all excellent. Service and food was Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was okay and the food was ordina ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was okay and the food was ordinary. Beer was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent dinner experience, handled a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent dinner experience, handled a gluten free situation perfectly. Very impressive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinosaurs are still around & healthy

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I normally do not frequent chains, as I prefer supporting local business' which generally have better food. I enjoy BBQ & decided to try this restaurant. I feel that I made a good decision. I was pleasantly surprised by the very good quality of food & by the more than generous portions. Our waitress was very energetic & friendly. It wa a pleasure to have her serve our table.I will look forward to visiting this restaurant in the future. The restaurant is located in the downtown business district & you can generally count on paying $5 to $10 for parking when dining downtown. Dinosaur BBQ offers free parking in the lot behind the restaurant. A nice perk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

For a bbq lover, this is a perfect place to dine. The ribs were very good as were the side dishes. I thought having a fruit bowl as a side option was awesome. The in-season fruits were colorful as well as delicious. The service was fantastic.Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with suggestions as it was our first time here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My dinner companion is from downstate and heard such great things about Dinosaur that she had to go and check it out. She was NOT disappointed! We were both extremely impressed by the outstanding service we received. My friend has severe food allergies and the staff went above and beyond our expectations--even sent out the chef! WOW!!! The food was very good! Our only complaint was that sides were small! Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh, nothing special.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is mediocre, the noise terrible, and not very clean. There are better BBQ places.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Mac and Cheese is one of the best I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The Mac and Cheese is one of the best I have ever eaten. The chicken as usual is top notch. Ribs were a little tough. The first couple of times I went there the Q was ok. Not like Syracuse or Rochester, BUT Probably after some the pits got seasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Time, and Great Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We walked in, got our table right away, followed by putting our order in, and eating within 10 minutes of sitting!

Fried Green Tomatoes are to die for!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great BBQ!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The ribs are awesome and the side dishes are super yummy. I love the cumcumber salad!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time eating at the Dinosaur and wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

First time eating at the Dinosaur and was very impressed! Great food,excellent service and loved the ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.