About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
New York / Tri-State Area
Barbecue
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Lunch
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

Good for Groups (59)
Great for Lunch (44)
Kid-friendly (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Hot Spot (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Late-night Find (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Easy reservations, seated immediately, s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Easy reservations, seated immediately, server was amazing, manager stopped by to check on and correct a slightly over-fried app, sent out a slice of pie for my niece's birthday, great first visit to Dinosaur BBQ!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among my very favorite restaurants. Gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Among my very favorite restaurants. Great BBQ, friendly staff, fun atmosphere. They treat everyone well but veterans even better. Have dined at several of their locations and have always been pleased.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!!! If you like barb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was great!!! If you like barbecue, this is the place!!! There are many different menu options, and everything is reasonably priced. I have been here many times, and plan to go back many times!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit. Food was fantastic! Fried g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

First visit. Food was fantastic! Fried green tomatoes were the best l've ever had. Definitely will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great BBQ, consider getting the deviled ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great BBQ, consider getting the deviled eggs you won't regret it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good location downtown-- seated promptly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good location downtown-- seated promptly and service and food both excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Bar-B-Que Many selections to c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent Bar-B-Que

Many selections to choose from, all excellent and tasty. Service is outstandingly good. We had small children with us, and they were accommodated with no problems. One member of our party is gluten free, and she was also especially accommodated. We all recommend Dinsaur Bar-B-Que and eat there whenever we are in town.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Dino BBQ is the go-to barbecue in all of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dino BBQ is the go-to barbecue in all of Western New York. I've been several times and the food is consistently fresh, authentic, and consistently high-quality. Atmosphere is terrific and prices are reasonable considering how much great food you get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

other than parking to be a problem and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

other than parking to be a problem and very loud inside. service, food and value was very good sweetheart deal perfect for two people 1 rack ribs and 4 sides and corn bread.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The ribs were burnt. The cheddar ale so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ribs were burnt. The cheddar ale soup was so salty I could not eat it. Everything on my plate, including the broccoli cheese bake tasted like the same spicy rub.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Dino BBQ had just the fun atmosphere we ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dino BBQ had just the fun atmosphere we wanted! Upbeat and helpful staff, great fried green tomatoes, brisket and rib combo cooked just right. Reasonable prices make this a good find.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!! Brisket and BBQ pulled chic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious!!! Brisket and BBQ pulled chicken was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was fantastic! He greeted us ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The manager was fantastic! He greeted us, as the host was elsewhere. He was extremely friendly and made sure we were seated as soon as possible because he knew my husband was very hungry. Excellent food, excellent prices, excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Eric was outstanding.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our server, Eric was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food. Excellent service. We will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good Food. Excellent service. We will be back for sure, and would recommend it to anyone for fun and good food. Great for groups too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the buffalo location ,was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time at the buffalo location ,was seated very fast, waiter was very attentive food fast and very good, was very easy to get to from the 190,didnt realize you had a parking lot till after i paid to park.we come in from east of lockport and will definitely be making more trips to Dinosaur

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Dinosaur for my son's birthd ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went to the Dinosaur for my son's birthday. There were 6 of us in our party. We were quickly greeted and seated. The staff was friendly and attentive. We started with 2 orders of nachos as an appetizer. While good, I thought that the serving on each plate of nachos was a bit stingy. I had a combo platter consisting of pulled pork, shrimp and brisket. The pulled pork was not very flavorful and I was quite surprised at the amount of fat on my brisket. The shrimp was good. One of my sides was coleslaw. It too was very lacking in flavor. We are from the area and in the past would drive all the way to Rochester to dine at the Dinosaur. To be fair, my wife did enjoy her combo of ribs and chicken. It has been a few years since we visited the Rochester location, but we remember it being better. Not sure if the difference is the location or changes driven by costs.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server Kate was awesome! Food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server Kate was awesome! Food was great. Very clean. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My ribs were undercooked and fatty my si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My ribs were undercooked and fatty my side dishes were cold, very limited dessert selection, only nice thing to say is the server was very good and friendly

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value5

I usually have something to complain abo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I usually have something to complain about and had nothing but a good experience. Family of 4, everyone had something different and it was all excellent. Service and food was Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was okay and the food was ordina ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was okay and the food was ordinary. Beer was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent dinner experience, handled a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent dinner experience, handled a gluten free situation perfectly. Very impressive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinosaurs are still around & healthy

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I normally do not frequent chains, as I prefer supporting local business' which generally have better food. I enjoy BBQ & decided to try this restaurant. I feel that I made a good decision. I was pleasantly surprised by the very good quality of food & by the more than generous portions. Our waitress was very energetic & friendly. It wa a pleasure to have her serve our table.I will look forward to visiting this restaurant in the future. The restaurant is located in the downtown business district & you can generally count on paying $5 to $10 for parking when dining downtown. Dinosaur BBQ offers free parking in the lot behind the restaurant. A nice perk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

For a bbq lover, this is a perfect place to dine. The ribs were very good as were the side dishes. I thought having a fruit bowl as a side option was awesome. The in-season fruits were colorful as well as delicious. The service was fantastic.Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with suggestions as it was our first time here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My dinner companion is from downstate and heard such great things about Dinosaur that she had to go and check it out. She was NOT disappointed! We were both extremely impressed by the outstanding service we received. My friend has severe food allergies and the staff went above and beyond our expectations--even sent out the chef! WOW!!! The food was very good! Our only complaint was that sides were small! Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh, nothing special.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is mediocre, the noise terrible, and not very clean. There are better BBQ places.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Mac and Cheese is one of the best I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The Mac and Cheese is one of the best I have ever eaten. The chicken as usual is top notch. Ribs were a little tough. The first couple of times I went there the Q was ok. Not like Syracuse or Rochester, BUT Probably after some the pits got seasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Time, and Great Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We walked in, got our table right away, followed by putting our order in, and eating within 10 minutes of sitting!

Fried Green Tomatoes are to die for!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great BBQ!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The ribs are awesome and the side dishes are super yummy. I love the cumcumber salad!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time eating at the Dinosaur and wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

First time eating at the Dinosaur and was very impressed! Great food,excellent service and loved the ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. We will be back the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was very good. We will be back the next time we are in Buffalo for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food wasn't bad, especially for the pricing. But I do have to mention that the service was not the best. Our server was okay until she heard that we wanted separate checks (this was right before she took our food order), then she didn't seem to happy. Then we were given only 3 knives when there was 10 of us. When we asked her for more as well as another pop, she gave us a confused look and rudely asked how many more. Service definitely needs to improve and since we are in a new age, splitting a check shouldn't be that difficult on the restaurant software as I used to work in a restaurant and had no issues w splitting a check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

My recent visit to DINOSAUR Bar-B-Que wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My recent visit to DINOSAUR Bar-B-Que was a little disappointing. My barbeque pork sandwich was dry and was just okay. I found the cheddar cheese soup to be more tasty. Server did not place the barbeque sauce bottles on our table until we were almost done with our meal. One of the other guests ordered ribs and commented that they were tough and not very meaty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were very happily surprised with suc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were very happily surprised with such service, quality and fun! We took our grandson and we all really enjoyed it. I'm not a meat eater so all the sides were really good....zucchini and spice corn..yum. The fries were fabulous!!!! The ribs got super raves reviews. We would highly recommend and go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid BBQ, not as good as Rochester locale

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We've always been huge fans of the Dino-BBQ, been to Syracuse, Rochester (fav), and Harlem and was excited when they finally came to Buffalo. We've been here a few times now and we do certainly enjoy it. But it has more of a corporate chain feel compared to the others. The food is good solid BBQ, especially the pork plate, the atmosphere is great, but I can't help get the feeling that they are in the business of churning tables more so than serving a great BBQ experience.

Still though, definitely a fan and highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was delicious everything is out qui ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was delicious everything is out quick and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Server friendly,helpful and accommodatin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Server friendly,helpful and accommodating

All enjoyed food . I liked the Cuban and side of coleslaw.

Would return again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dinosaur Bar-B-Que was a true treat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Dinosaur Bar-B-Que was a true treat for my husband's birthday celebration. Our server was outstanding and made our experience special. She made sure we did not go without anything. Our drinks were filled and the food brought to us in a timely and friendly manner. I can truly say we enjoyed everything we ordered. If you are looking for great Bar-B-Que this is the spot to go!!

Don't forget to try the fried green tomatoes they rock!

Thanks for making our experience one to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter forgot to bring out drinks and ot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waiter forgot to bring out drinks and other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Perfect for family fun

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location/experience for our family of 6. Amazing food. Fried green tomatoes and deviled eggs are to die for and the meat was out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.