About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Comfort Food (28)
Fun (25)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Great Beer (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Kid-friendly (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Family Style (17)
Authentic (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Live Music (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Spicy (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Live Sports (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Romantic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the first time at the restauran ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was the first time at the restaurant and we enjoyed it very much. The server was so nice and friendly along with being very helpful with the menu. She was a joy to have as our server.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Jimmy, was amazing! They gav ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server, Jimmy, was amazing! They gave us anow allergy plate and made sure that our daughter had 0 exposure to peanuts. We had an amazing meal!

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Cozy, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waiter was terrific; very friendly a ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

our waiter was terrific; very friendly and pleasant

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the ribs! Never pass on the peanut ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Love the ribs! Never pass on the peanut butter pie!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Table, ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Table, was a little sticky but other than that the food was good and so was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was outstanding the waitress wa ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

the food was outstanding the waitress was great and the manger was very freindly this was a number 1 experiance

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Dinosaur BBQ. The food i ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

We always love Dinosaur BBQ. The food is great, the atmosphere is fun and the tap beer selection is great. The service is good and the food comes to the table fast, hot and good. The servings are plentiful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

For New Year's Eve, we dined at the Dino ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Year's Eve, we dined at the Dinosaur Bar-B-Q in Columbus. It was a great place to take our two teenagers, and with a fun staff, inviting atmosphere and excellent food - we were very happy with our choice! We walked from our hotel (Embassy Suites) so the restaurant is very "within walking distance" of downtown Buffalo. Highly recommend a great value, for some excellent food.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, , Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for great food! Very frien ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

A great place for great food! Very friendly staff! The atmosphere was casual with a feel of a down home barbecue! I will be a repeat customer for sure!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Business Meals, , Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun dining experience. Friendly staff s ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun dining experience. Friendly staff snd nice overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Really relaxing and delicious BBQ. Our ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really relaxing and delicious BBQ. Our server was very personable and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great dinner. Great venue. Cool place!

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great dinner. Great venue. Cool place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I liked the quick seating, friendly and ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

I liked the quick seating, friendly and informative waitresses. The food was outstanding. You cannot beat the quick service. We ordered and were served in less than 15 minutes.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinosaur BBQ is my favorite BBQ restaura ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Dinosaur BBQ is my favorite BBQ restaurant starting in Syracuse and now trying to visit the other locations. First time here in Buffalo location and as always love it! Especially enjoy the Wango Tango Wings and Tres Ninas! Service great and food cannot be beat! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food good service always go to Dino ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

good food good service always go to Dino efore sabres games

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinosaur was referenced as a great place ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinosaur was referenced as a great place to eat by a friend. We agree with that recommendation and enjoyed the food and staff. Would have given the food a 5 star but the New England clam chowder was overly salty and the cajun brussel sprouts lacked any definitive flavour. Otherwise the ribs, corn bread and other sides were exceptional.

We will be back!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!! I would travel from Eri ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delicious food!! I would travel from Erie Pennsylvania just to eat there. A friend was able to eat and enjoy gluten-free wings for the first time in over 10 years!! A great place to eat!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The place was packed but we were seated ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The place was packed but we were seated on time for our reservations. Waitress was exceptional: helpful and friendly, stopped by several times at each of her tables even though her area was full. Food was awesome, as always and was delivered in a timely fashion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ribs were good not great. The corn-roas ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Ribs were good not great. The corn-roasted zucchini dish was interesting but overly spicy. Cheesecake was delicious and generous enough to share. Our waiter, Eric, was fun and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great ambience at reasonable price. If ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great ambience at reasonable price. If you like semi-bland food, this is not the place. The food here is oozing with flavours. I ordered the pork and it is succulent and flavourful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here before but I took my bo ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

I have been here before but I took my boyfriend here for his birthday dinner since he loves BBQ. He has never been and absolutely loved it.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, , Great Beer, Live Music, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among my favorite restaurants. Always i ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Among my favorite restaurants. Always incredible food and friendly service. Best BBQ I have had.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

server was very busy with large groups b ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

server was very busy with large groups but still managed to serve us well, Our food came out hot and very timely since we had a show to attend near by time was important. The ribs and pulled pork were very satisfying and the creole deviled eggs as an appetizer I would recommend.

we would return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived a few minutes early for our r ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early for our reservation... dinner before the Joe Bonamassa concert a Shea's Buffalo. The restaurant is very convenient for a night out at Shea's! The hostess seated us right away- party of five at a perfect table! All had a beer from the great beer list- had a couple of Jameson's too. Food came quickly and was fantastic- nobody does Q like The Dinosaur. The waitress was friendly and attentive- great experience! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, , Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs are not as meaty as they used t ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

The ribs are not as meaty as they used to be and tend to be dry instead of juicy

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not overly impressed. Had a early reser ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Not overly impressed. Had a early reservation prior to going to the theater on Saturday and they had no chicken. won't be going back anytime soon

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Barbque - reservation was on time a ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Good Barbque - reservation was on time and service was fine. We ate before a convert and it worked fine for the 4 of us.

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service were test as always!

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food and service were test as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Chow Chow pork sandwich with t ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

I had the Chow Chow pork sandwich with the mini wedge Saldana with their house dressing. It was fantastic! I wanted more even though I was stuffed! Wait staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great Dinner was perfect Howe ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Server was great

Dinner was perfect

However our take out after dinner was late

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK, but cold (not just lukewarm ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was OK, but cold (not just lukewarm - cold). This is the second time we've visited and been disappointed w/ food temperature. Please fix this. Being busy is no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and great service. Our food ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and great service. Our food was quickly brought to our table, was perfectly cooked and perfect temperature.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent in all areas. We go there freq ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent in all areas. We go there frequently and have consistently been impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, as always, but the s ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was great, as always, but the service was slow. 1.5 hours for lunch is too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Exelente comida

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Exelente comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner was great. Food was fantastic!! T ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dinner was great. Food was fantastic!! The pulled pork was on point..perfect bit of char and smoked flavor. My husband had the smoked cat fish..said it was like a taste of soul food. Even took our daughter she had a burger. It was cooked to her liking and her sides were great too. Would definitely go back.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great time throughout! We arrived at 5pm ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great time throughout! We arrived at 5pm on a Saturday and the venue was packed, but our reservations saved the day and our party of four was seated right away. Despite the big crowd, our server Lisa was with us promptly, very friendly and courteous, and brought drinks, appetizers and entrees as soon as they were ready. The food quality was outstanding, everything was excellent and in big quantities, so we loved it and will be back. Thanks Dino BBQ for being a big part of a very special evening for our family!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellant especially enjoye ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was excellant especially enjoyed the fried green tomatoes and ribs everything was delicious

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress sucked, food portiona way to sm ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Waitress sucked, food portiona way to small for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Over cooked fish and grade school qualit ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Over cooked fish and grade school quality Mac and cheese side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.