About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Lunch
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

good for groups (82)
great for lunch (61)
kid-friendly (60)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
neighborhood gem (43)
hot spot (42)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (27)
special occasion (22)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for brunch (8)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious!!! Brisket and BBQ pulled chic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious!!! Brisket and BBQ pulled chicken was amazing!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was fantastic! He greeted us ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The manager was fantastic! He greeted us, as the host was elsewhere. He was extremely friendly and made sure we were seated as soon as possible because he knew my husband was very hungry. Excellent food, excellent prices, excellent service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Eric was outstanding.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Eric was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food. Excellent service. We will ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good Food. Excellent service. We will be back for sure, and would recommend it to anyone for fun and good food. Great for groups too!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the buffalo location ,was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time at the buffalo location ,was seated very fast, waiter was very attentive food fast and very good, was very easy to get to from the 190,didnt realize you had a parking lot till after i paid to park.we come in from east of lockport and will definitely be making more trips to Dinosaur

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the Dinosaur for my son's birthd ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went to the Dinosaur for my son's birthday. There were 6 of us in our party. We were quickly greeted and seated. The staff was friendly and attentive. We started with 2 orders of nachos as an appetizer. While good, I thought that the serving on each plate of nachos was a bit stingy. I had a combo platter consisting of pulled pork, shrimp and brisket. The pulled pork was not very flavorful and I was quite surprised at the amount of fat on my brisket. The shrimp was good. One of my sides was coleslaw. It too was very lacking in flavor. We are from the area and in the past would drive all the way to Rochester to dine at the Dinosaur. To be fair, my wife did enjoy her combo of ribs and chicken. It has been a few years since we visited the Rochester location, but we remember it being better. Not sure if the difference is the location or changes driven by costs.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server Kate was awesome! Food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server Kate was awesome! Food was great. Very clean. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My ribs were undercooked and fatty my si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

My ribs were undercooked and fatty my side dishes were cold, very limited dessert selection, only nice thing to say is the server was very good and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value5

I usually have something to complain abo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I usually have something to complain about and had nothing but a good experience. Family of 4, everyone had something different and it was all excellent. Service and food was Great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was okay and the food was ordina ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was okay and the food was ordinary. Beer was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent dinner experience, handled a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent dinner experience, handled a gluten free situation perfectly. Very impressive

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinosaurs are still around & healthy

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I normally do not frequent chains, as I prefer supporting local business' which generally have better food. I enjoy BBQ & decided to try this restaurant. I feel that I made a good decision. I was pleasantly surprised by the very good quality of food & by the more than generous portions. Our waitress was very energetic & friendly. It wa a pleasure to have her serve our table.I will look forward to visiting this restaurant in the future. The restaurant is located in the downtown business district & you can generally count on paying $5 to $10 for parking when dining downtown. Dinosaur BBQ offers free parking in the lot behind the restaurant. A nice perk.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

For a bbq lover, this is a perfect place to dine. The ribs were very good as were the side dishes. I thought having a fruit bowl as a side option was awesome. The in-season fruits were colorful as well as delicious. The service was fantastic.Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with suggestions as it was our first time here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic Service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My dinner companion is from downstate and heard such great things about Dinosaur that she had to go and check it out. She was NOT disappointed! We were both extremely impressed by the outstanding service we received. My friend has severe food allergies and the staff went above and beyond our expectations--even sent out the chef! WOW!!! The food was very good! Our only complaint was that sides were small! Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh, nothing special.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is mediocre, the noise terrible, and not very clean. There are better BBQ places.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Mac and Cheese is one of the best I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The Mac and Cheese is one of the best I have ever eaten. The chicken as usual is top notch. Ribs were a little tough. The first couple of times I went there the Q was ok. Not like Syracuse or Rochester, BUT Probably after some the pits got seasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Time, and Great Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We walked in, got our table right away, followed by putting our order in, and eating within 10 minutes of sitting!

Fried Green Tomatoes are to die for!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great BBQ!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The ribs are awesome and the side dishes are super yummy. I love the cumcumber salad!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time eating at the Dinosaur and wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

First time eating at the Dinosaur and was very impressed! Great food,excellent service and loved the ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. We will be back the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was very good. We will be back the next time we are in Buffalo for sure!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food wasn't bad, especially for the pricing. But I do have to mention that the service was not the best. Our server was okay until she heard that we wanted separate checks (this was right before she took our food order), then she didn't seem to happy. Then we were given only 3 knives when there was 10 of us. When we asked her for more as well as another pop, she gave us a confused look and rudely asked how many more. Service definitely needs to improve and since we are in a new age, splitting a check shouldn't be that difficult on the restaurant software as I used to work in a restaurant and had no issues w splitting a check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

My recent visit to DINOSAUR Bar-B-Que wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My recent visit to DINOSAUR Bar-B-Que was a little disappointing. My barbeque pork sandwich was dry and was just okay. I found the cheddar cheese soup to be more tasty. Server did not place the barbeque sauce bottles on our table until we were almost done with our meal. One of the other guests ordered ribs and commented that they were tough and not very meaty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were very happily surprised with suc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were very happily surprised with such service, quality and fun! We took our grandson and we all really enjoyed it. I'm not a meat eater so all the sides were really good....zucchini and spice corn..yum. The fries were fabulous!!!! The ribs got super raves reviews. We would highly recommend and go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid BBQ, not as good as Rochester locale

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We've always been huge fans of the Dino-BBQ, been to Syracuse, Rochester (fav), and Harlem and was excited when they finally came to Buffalo. We've been here a few times now and we do certainly enjoy it. But it has more of a corporate chain feel compared to the others. The food is good solid BBQ, especially the pork plate, the atmosphere is great, but I can't help get the feeling that they are in the business of churning tables more so than serving a great BBQ experience.

Still though, definitely a fan and highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was delicious everything is out qui ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was delicious everything is out quick and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Server friendly,helpful and accommodatin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Server friendly,helpful and accommodating

All enjoyed food . I liked the Cuban and side of coleslaw.

Would return again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dinosaur Bar-B-Que was a true treat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Dinosaur Bar-B-Que was a true treat for my husband's birthday celebration. Our server was outstanding and made our experience special. She made sure we did not go without anything. Our drinks were filled and the food brought to us in a timely and friendly manner. I can truly say we enjoyed everything we ordered. If you are looking for great Bar-B-Que this is the spot to go!!

Don't forget to try the fried green tomatoes they rock!

Thanks for making our experience one to remember!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter forgot to bring out drinks and ot ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waiter forgot to bring out drinks and other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Perfect for family fun

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location/experience for our family of 6. Amazing food. Fried green tomatoes and deviled eggs are to die for and the meat was out of this world.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was outstanding. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. These things will keep me and my family coming back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BAR-B-QUE AT ITS' BEST

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was of high quality and prepared as ordered.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at the Dinosaur

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We have always enjoyed this restaurant in Rochester. We were thrilled it came to Buffalo. However so is everyone else. Too small for the number of people it attracts. Too loud also. Even with reservations we had to wait 25 minutes. That being said, love the food and the service was quick and efficient. We were on our way to a play at Sheas and had no problem being on time. Just a short walk away. Perfect location for events in the theater district.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Barbeque

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Quick service. Food was tasty. Waiter was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

fun dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

As always, never disappointed at the Dinosaur BBQ. The food is delicious. Our server was great- knowing we had Sheas tickets he made sure our food came out quickly. I would recommend Dinosaur BBQ to anyone who wants a casual fun setting with great food and a relaxing evening out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT MEAL

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We had reservation and we split the chili appetizer.Amanda, our waitress, was very pleasant and efficient.We had time before going to a play. We had a early dinner and were informed we could park on the street because meters were off at 5:00 pm.We did not feel rushed AND i would return there again..We saved money on ramp parking and shared it with Amanda..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken was delicious Fried green tomato ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Chicken was delicious

Fried green tomatoes are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, enjoyed the food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Server and manager were very attentive. There was an issue with our appetizer. After we ordered the sampler, the server came back over and let us know they were out of shrimp. They gave us a substitute of chicken. We were not overly concerned and enjoyed the appetizer and our meals. After we ate the manager came over and apologized and told us the appetizer was on the house. That is the kind of service that makes you want to make a second trip. Well done Dinosaur BBQ!

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food as always was great as always!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food as always was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Tight squeeze

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Dinner with four adults and two kids so they pulled tables together. Wasn't roomy enough between tables so I wouldn't recommend going with too large of a group. Great food and live music. They accommodate kids, but with noise level I would leave them at home next time....and have more fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Best deviled eggs and fried green tomato ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Best deviled eggs and fried green tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.