About Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo

301 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
View Larger Map

Award winning, Southern-Style Pit-Smoked BBQ featuring ribs, chicken, pork & brisket. Full bar with 20 local, regional and seasonal draft beers. Dine-In and Takeout. Open 7 days a week. Reservations taken for parties of two to 10. Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests. We also offer free parking for our restaurant in the lot directly behind the restaurant in stalls designated for the Dinosaur. Parking times are Monday thru Friday from 6 p.m. to 2 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day until 2 a.m.
Catering is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Closing early Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Half the dining room is held open for walk-in guests.

Cross Street:
W. Chippewa St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 880-1677

Website:
http://www.dinobbq.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available at 65 west Tupper (corner of Tupper and Franklin) available Monday - Friday, 6:00pm - 2:00am and Saturday and Sunday, all day until 2:00am.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Buffalo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

Casual (30)
Comfort Food (27)
Good for Groups (24)
See All
Fun (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Kid-friendly (16)
Great Beer (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Family Style (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Authentic (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Live Music (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Spicy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Live Sports (6)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambience at reasonable price. If ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 2 days ago

Great ambience at reasonable price. If you like semi-bland food, this is not the place. The food here is oozing with flavours. I ordered the pork and it is succulent and flavourful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here before but I took my bo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been here before but I took my boyfriend here for his birthday dinner since he loves BBQ. He has never been and absolutely loved it.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Live Music, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among my favorite restaurants. Always i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Among my favorite restaurants. Always incredible food and friendly service. Best BBQ I have had.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

server was very busy with large groups b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

server was very busy with large groups but still managed to serve us well, Our food came out hot and very timely since we had a show to attend near by time was important. The ribs and pulled pork were very satisfying and the creole deviled eggs as an appetizer I would recommend.

we would return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived a few minutes early for our r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early for our reservation... dinner before the Joe Bonamassa concert a Shea's Buffalo. The restaurant is very convenient for a night out at Shea's! The hostess seated us right away- party of five at a perfect table! All had a beer from the great beer list- had a couple of Jameson's too. Food came quickly and was fantastic- nobody does Q like The Dinosaur. The waitress was friendly and attentive- great experience! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs are not as meaty as they used t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The ribs are not as meaty as they used to be and tend to be dry instead of juicy

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not overly impressed. Had a early reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Not overly impressed. Had a early reservation prior to going to the theater on Saturday and they had no chicken. won't be going back anytime soon

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Barbque - reservation was on time a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Good Barbque - reservation was on time and service was fine. We ate before a convert and it worked fine for the 4 of us.

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service were test as always!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food and service were test as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Chow Chow pork sandwich with t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I had the Chow Chow pork sandwich with the mini wedge Saldana with their house dressing. It was fantastic! I wanted more even though I was stuffed! Wait staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great Dinner was perfect Howe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Server was great

Dinner was perfect

However our take out after dinner was late

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK, but cold (not just lukewarm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was OK, but cold (not just lukewarm - cold). This is the second time we've visited and been disappointed w/ food temperature. Please fix this. Being busy is no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and great service. Our food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and great service. Our food was quickly brought to our table, was perfectly cooked and perfect temperature.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent in all areas. We go there freq ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent in all areas. We go there frequently and have consistently been impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, as always, but the s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was great, as always, but the service was slow. 1.5 hours for lunch is too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Exelente comida

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Exelente comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner was great. Food was fantastic!! T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dinner was great. Food was fantastic!! The pulled pork was on point..perfect bit of char and smoked flavor. My husband had the smoked cat fish..said it was like a taste of soul food. Even took our daughter she had a burger. It was cooked to her liking and her sides were great too. Would definitely go back.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great time throughout! We arrived at 5pm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great time throughout! We arrived at 5pm on a Saturday and the venue was packed, but our reservations saved the day and our party of four was seated right away. Despite the big crowd, our server Lisa was with us promptly, very friendly and courteous, and brought drinks, appetizers and entrees as soon as they were ready. The food quality was outstanding, everything was excellent and in big quantities, so we loved it and will be back. Thanks Dino BBQ for being a big part of a very special evening for our family!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellant especially enjoye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was excellant especially enjoyed the fried green tomatoes and ribs everything was delicious

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress sucked, food portiona way to sm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Waitress sucked, food portiona way to small for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Over cooked fish and grade school qualit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Over cooked fish and grade school quality Mac and cheese side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We went to dinner before seeing a show a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went to dinner before seeing a show at Shea's. My husband wanted to watch the baseball game so it was a perfect location for us. The service was outstanding. The food was excellent. Would go back there again!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good BBQ menu, excellent drink selection ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good BBQ menu, excellent drink selections. Great, friendly service. A very good, consistent place for drinks and BBQ. Especially like their spicy recipe for black eyed peas as a side dish. Have gone there several times, and will stop back again. Very noisy atmosphere on Friday dinnertime.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun, energetic atmosphere! We dined here ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fun, energetic atmosphere! We dined here before attending an event at Shea's. Food was good, service was prompt and friendly. Very convenient location.

Tags: Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner before going to Sheas fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went for dinner before going to Sheas for a musical. Very friendly staff, good food, great prices and right across the street from Sheas! Will definitely go back again soon

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Casual, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been to a Dinosaur BBQ before, bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had been to a Dinosaur BBQ before, but this was our first visit to the Buffalo location. We were very pleased with the experience. We were seated promptly and our server, Michelle, was friendly and attentive, but not hovering. She was able to answer all our questions about the menu choices and got our order in as soon as we were ready. The food was excellent and we were able to finish and pay our bill in plenty of time to make the theater performance we were going to that evening. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wrong food came out, found long human ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Wrong food came out, found long human hair in food, all that was done was new fries were brought out. Meat was very fatty. Left hungry. Server was very friendly and offered free dessert. Overall not impressed, won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

First time to a Dino BBQ. Food was good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

First time to a Dino BBQ. Food was good quality and price (ribs were fantastic). Liked the live music. Booth location in bar area restricts the view of stage, should consider lowering or removing it. Music (not band, but regular) was way too loud. The music selection was not the best, which made it worse. Already a loud environment with the crowd, lights, signage, etc., music level in addition had me debating leaving (and I was there to see a band..lol). Overall a good experience and will recommend...especially if going to game/event/show/dancing or drinking in downtown afterwards.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Family Style, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Quick Bite, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

A great BBQ place with a great location ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A great BBQ place with a great location downtown with inexpensive parking nearby. My 1/2 chicken was flavorful, juicy, and tender. The baked beans, cornbread, and gumbo were nice sides. The cole slaw was good but I prefer a different style. The staff was very attentive and pleasant. I was there with 5 other friends. Everyone enjoyed the meal and experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Service was outstanding. Our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great food. Service was outstanding. Our server recommended the pablano soup. It was exactly how she described and it was amazing.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place although had to wait 1/2 wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great place although had to wait 1/2 with a reservation

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food . Ribs and Chicken very good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food . Ribs and Chicken very good. Great for groups.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I used to go all the way to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I used to go all the way to Rochester for this food. Only going 2 to 3 times a year. NOW, having this one in Buffalo makes it easy to go more often. Love the menu and the prices. Food is outstanding. I have yet to find another barbeque as good?

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Parking advertised as free was fiive do ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Parking advertised as free was fiive dollars. Food not up to their reputation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Sweetheart deal is just that, an incredi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Sweetheart deal is just that, an incredible deal for 2. Daily side was unique and scrumptious. Ribs were fall off the bone tender, yet nice and moist.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service throughout our wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great customer service throughout our whole meal! Server was friendly and quick to help, food arrived on time. Wonderful experience for family and friends that came out of state to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Table was sticky and food was just so-so ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Table was sticky and food was just so-so. Macaroni and cheese was too spices and noodles were under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Had a great time, food was unbelievable. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had a great time, food was unbelievable. Loved everything we ate. Sampler with fried green tomatoes was awesome. Sweetheart deal was to die for. Everything was so tasty. Beer flat board samplers were a nice touch for the boys.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a true Buffalo gem. Looks like ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is a true Buffalo gem. Looks like the song capital of the world is in the BBQ business and does it with style. Fantastic restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family loved the food, the flavor and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My family loved the food, the flavor and at a reasonable price. We highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.