About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: 5058202075x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
2 More
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (41)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious, and the service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious, and the service was excellent. The Sunday fixed price menu was an outstanding value. Unfortunately, the restaurant was very warm inside and our table located at the corner between two rooms felt awkward. We had made reservations, so we were disappointed to be seated there. One last thing. There is parking behind the building, but the sign is covered by tree leaves, so we did not see it until we walked back from parking around the block. In spite of those few negatives, we enjoyed our evening at Dinner for Two and will go there again if we return to Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant when visiting Sa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our favorite restaurant when visiting Santa Fe! Found D42 8-9 years ago and having been coming back every time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good experience. Friendly st ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food. Good experience. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was so great !!! our friend recommende ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was so great !!! our friend recommended it and we had a pleasant experience plus the 3 course meal we had was definitely fulfilling

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We much enjoyed their Sunday Special 'pr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We much enjoyed their Sunday Special 'prix fixe' dinners ($19. for 3 courses; cheap for Santa Fe) ... and the meals were well prepared, plated & served nicely (thanks, 'Paloma'). The lovely live guitar (after 6pm) added to our enjoyment, as did our pleasant visit with 'table neighbors' celebrating an anniversary. French-style food a nice contrast to Spanish/Southwestern specialties so popular (and delicious) in 'the city different'.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Ahhhhh.....romance and food! The Caesar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Ahhhhh.....romance and food!

The Caesar table side, the eclectic and diverse menu offerings, the table side bananas foster, the wonderful wine list , the dark colors, private and intimate atmosphere. The super service.... Especially Chris and Mark....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service prompt, courteous, and personable. Dishes were seasoned perfectly, comprised of fresh and favorable ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't mind a two hour dinner service, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I don't mind a two hour dinner service, but I expect the food to be exceptional. The upside is that our party was so happy to be together that we, at first, didn't notice the poor service. We finally met our waiter after 20 minutes at our table. One of our four guest ordered a Cuva and was told over 10 minutes later that the restaurant was out of Cuva. The manger said he would check into the matter, but never returned to our table to discuss the missing Cuva. We ordered a bottle of wine and when poured we noted to the waiter that it was hot - undrinkable hot. The waiter agreed and left the table. He never addressed how to remedy the issue. The two people drinking the wine agreed that it needed to be chilled and requested such when our waiter returned 20 minutes later. Twenty minutes thereafter, we were served a nice bottle of Justin cabernet that was drinkable. Two of us ordered caesar salad table-side and this server was wonderful and attentive. The salad was delicious. After being in the restaurant for over an hour and a half we asked about our food. The waiter said he thought he saw it sitting in the window and would go check. By this time half the restaurant was empty. The waiter brought our three appetizers to the table and our one entree. One appetizer was so cold and greasy that it could not be eaten. The tenderloin that was ordered medium rare was cooked beyond recognition. We asked for the manager and he came to the table, mumbled something behind us, and left. The burnt tenderloin came with a dessert and when we mentioned it to the waiter he handed us slips of paper and walked away. The slip of paper said that the waiter would describe the desserts to us. At this point, I went to the front and asked the manager if we could get a waiter that could help us. I'm out of room here so you can read the rest of the crazy story on google review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Best meal while in New Mexico. Outstandi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best meal while in New Mexico. Outstanding corn crab chowder and veal piccata. Unbelievable Sunday 3 course for 19.95 as well as wine specials, delicious pie. It would be 5 stars if our server was better.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Excellent meal and value at Dinner for T ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent meal and value at Dinner for Two. We dined on a Sunday night & enjoyed the fixed price three course meal. They brought us warm bread made in house that was wonderful. I ordered the Trout stuffed with Crab ~ large portion, perfectly prepared & tasted great! Started with French Onion Soup (again, very good), ended with Key Lime Pie. They also feature several wines to accompany the Three Course meal for $25 - the wine we chose (Drumheller) was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

What a delightful dining experience. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a delightful dining experience. This restaurant is not very big, so reservations are recommended! The waiter was very nice and informative and we really enjoyed the food. We had their Cesar Salad for 2 and it was enough for 4 people! We ordered steak, which was cooked to perfection and chicken, which was juicy and NOT overcooked, like most restaurants. The wine we selected was a Pinot Noir and was pared well with our meal. We were too full for dessert, but would have ordered the Bananas Foster. They do bring you homemade cookies, along with the tab and ours were chocolate chips. They were great! I would recommend this restaurant, but also tell you NOT to take your children.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for Two never disappoints . Food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dinner for Two never disappoints . Food is consistently good and the home made breads and pies are a real treat !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Throughout the years I have had dinner a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Throughout the years I have had dinner at Dinner for Two on many occasions and it never fails to meet my expectations! Delicious food, friendly staff and always a joy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal with good wine choices. S ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent meal with good wine choices. Sunday evening special with 3 course meal for $19.99 plus extra for steak etc.

Really nice meal with quiet adult ding. We were in Santa Fe for 3 nights vacation and eat here twice as very convenient for Eldorado hotel and enjoyed it very much. Filet Mignon wax extra I. Sunday but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants we have visi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants we have visited in Santa Fe. Food and service were great. We visited this Sunday and had the Sunday specials. The hot-from-oven bread was perfect in taste and texture. Soups were fantastic (gazpacho and mushroom soup). My wife devoured her trout (stuffed with crab) and I loved the fried chicken (spiced up a bit with chiles). Desserts were perhaps not 5-star, but were very close. If we lived in Santa Fe, we would be here a lot. With a dessert wine, and an upgrade on the $20 price for the trout, we still had a fine dining experience for the two of us for less than $70.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality if the food was wonderful. W ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The quality if the food was wonderful. We liked that most of the food was grown and raised locally. The of the steak was top notch. The temperatures came out perfect, this place knows how to grill a steak. Very pleased, we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There was a large party in the other roo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

There was a large party in the other room, so the noise level was a little high, but the service was great and the food was exceptional. Very Pleased.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A little daunted at first because there ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A little daunted at first because there was a group of over 50 people using the restaurant at the same time. Once we finally found a relatively private table and the wait staff found their way to us, the dinner was delightful. Food was terrific. Would like to try it again when there wasn't an overwhelming group competing for attention and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We chose this restaurant while visiting ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We chose this restaurant while visiting Santa Fe because it had good reviews. We were disappointed in both the food and the service. Their website indicated they always had two fish specials every night which was important to me as I only eat meat occasionally. Ends up there were two fish offerings, one was oysters and the other was a fish sampler. I ordered gazpacho as my first course and it was delicious. My fish sampler was OK but nothing special. My husband had the lamp chop which was tasty but a small portion and fatty. The biggest negative for us was the service. Our waiter was pleasant but we rarely saw him. We ordered soon after we sat down: one soup, 2 entrees and a glass of wine. It took us 2 hours to eat because the service was so slow. We passed on ordering dessert because we didn't want to wait another half hour to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had yet another great dining experien ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had yet another great dining experience at D42. The staff is so genuinely nice and they make their guests feel so welcome. The food is always outstanding and the prices are reasonable. The tenderloin is melt-in-your-mouth and they make the BEST Key Lime Pie! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent. Eco-conscious. Staff ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is excellent. Eco-conscious. Staff is on top of everything. Owners are kind and conscientious. Portions are perfect for average person, not enough for big eaters. There are not enough vegetarian options, but the ones available are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great family owned & operated restaurant ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great family owned & operated restaurant. Table side preparation of the Caesar salad was the highlight. Unassuming exterior opens up to well appointed, cozy and comfortable interior. Service was friendly and professional. The bar overlooks the open kitchen where you can chat with the chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We're locals and Dinner for 2 is one of ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We're locals and Dinner for 2 is one of our favorites. Everything is fresh and their baked goods are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The owner- chef prepares excellent dinne ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The owner- chef prepares excellent dinners at a reasonable price. He varies the menu through the year, but I think he does meat best. The restaurant has a very relaxed feel to it with attentive wait staff. Some things to look for: Gregorys out-of-the-oven fresh bread, table side Caesar salad, Beef Wellington, table side cherries Jubilee. The wine list is short, but more than adequate for pairing .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The Sunday special menu is the best deal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Sunday special menu is the best deal in Santa Fe. The food is terrific and the service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went on a Sunday , so had the Pre Fix ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went on a Sunday , so had the Pre Fixx three course meal , it was fabulous , great selections & we were looked after very well. The Restaurant doesn't look anything special on the outside but don't let that put you off . We ll definitely return !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic set me ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic set menu dinner, which they offer on Sunday evenings. We had chicken breast and veal as our entrees. Both were excellent. I had planned on ordering a side dish of vegetables because most restaurants don't give enough for my tastes, but the waiter convinced me that there would be enough with the entree. Bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love love this place.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Good Evening at Dinner For Two

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Continues to be one of the best restaurants in Santa Fe. The French Crisped Chicken is always an excellent favorite. The wine selection is good and reasonably priced. We also particularly enjoy the live guitar music. Keep up the excellent results.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My daughter and I were in Santa Fe for o ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My daughter and I were in Santa Fe for one evening and by chance picked Dinner for Two for our evening meal. What a great find! The mushroom soup was to die for as was the prime rib and warm cherry pie! The crab cake caprese stack was unique and flavorful.

Our server, Chris, was informative and engaging, walking us through both the dinner menu and drinks menu. He suggested wine pairings and his favorites which were spot on!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

What a fun and delicious meal we had! T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

What a fun and delicious meal we had! The restaurant was just across the street from our hotel near the center of Santa Fe so we could walk to it. The wine was great and we started our meal with the Ceaser Salad prepared table side by Melissia. She talked us through her work and the crowning ingredient was the house made, sill warm crotons made from their delicious bread. The special on Thursday is prime rib which we had. It was the best ever because the chef had smoked it. It was local beef and did not have all the fat that some prime rib has. We were served very well by Alexander who let us set the pace of our meal. We hope to come back for another wonderful meal soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had received great ratings but we found ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Had received great ratings but we found the food to be very bland and over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Recommended by a friend

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were visiting Sante Fe and Dinner for 2 was recommended by a friend who had been there. The good was very good The waiter was knowledgeable about the menu. I had crab cake caprese. I usually am not a fan of crab cakes, but I really enjoyed them. For dessert, we had the warm cherry pie with ice cream. Heavenly! Would definatly go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Don't be fooled by the simple and lacklu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Don't be fooled by the simple and lackluster exterior of this excellent restaurant just behind the Hilton and El Dorado hotels in Santa Fe. Mom bakes the tasty deserts, Dad bakes the wonderful bread and their son, a graduate of the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park NY prepares wonderful entrees. Mixed drinks are not available but wines and beers can be had. The staff is attentive and efficient and on weekend evenings a soft, live guitarist lends a bit of class to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Santa Fe's little gems, which nev ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

One of Santa Fe's little gems, which never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have written many stellar reviews on t ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have written many stellar reviews on this restaurant. I invited my friends and I am so embarrassed. The service was barely there. The table next to us was out of water, spoons, etc and we had to ask twice for them to get service. Waiter was not friendly. My friend asked for extra veggies since she is on a diet and got a few slim green beans, not even a normal portion.

I don't know what they are doing but the food and the service has taken a nosedive. We will not be back any time soon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Fabulous!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We loved it. The Sunday night prix fixe is an amazing deal. Unlike most prix fixe menus, you choose from 8 or 9 entrees. The soups were the most delicious soups we had ever had. The Caesar salad made table side was a real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was nice, but service is slow and n ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was nice, but service is slow and not very friendly. We have been several times, but probably won't return. Parking is terrible and staff is not friendly and ignores you.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Owner and wait staff were attentive and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Owner and wait staff were attentive and friendly. The Ceasar Salad was outstanding. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veal dishes were great. So was the Caesa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Veal dishes were great. So was the Caesar salad. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.