About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: 5058202075x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Cozy (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Live Music (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent as always. We had dinner ther ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always. We had dinner there New Year's Eve with out of town family, and there prix fixe dinner was outstanding. The desserts were truly exceptional, and I had at least a taste of every one they offered!

Tags: , Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so well received and treated at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were so well received and treated at "Dinner for Two." There is no question why this restaurant wins awards. Chef Andy has the knack! Just across the road from the Santa Fe Hilton in an "interesting looking" building, the inside is warm, friendly, well appointed and beautifully served. Food and wines are outstanding. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday Prime Rib special. The best!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thursday Prime Rib special. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy rico, ambiente frances. Muy caro.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Muy rico, ambiente frances. Muy caro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice way to celebrate Christmas dinner. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nice way to celebrate Christmas dinner. Food was very good. Service was attentive until dessert was served. Then server disappeared for a lengthy period. Entrance area seemed like a diner, but dining room was warm & inviting. Overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our recent traditions has been ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

One of our recent traditions has been having a delicious dinner on Christmas Day. This year did not disappoint. This is one of our favorite places in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for Christmas Day fix Prix ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were there for Christmas Day fix Prix. Everything was wonderful but our table that was off to the side was a little less wonderful. We would love to enjoy the restaurant again and would specify the main dining room seating as our preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Christmas dinner at 5:00. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner at 5:00. The restaurant is dark and intimate and has an authentic Pueblo interior. The servers were very polite and polished and efficient. The food was superb and reasonable for the price considering it was a holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We panicked when we realized our origina ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We panicked when we realized our original pick for Christmas dinner put up a holiday prix fix menu that had nothing we shellfish allergics could eat. Promptly found a spot at Dinner for 2 and we were thrilled. There is a mysterious element of how it looks from the outside and its location..almost like a speakeasy...but inside things couldn't be warmer or friendlier. There's a distinct French flavor to the menu, an impressive wine list and scrumptious desserts. The food was delicious and the menu satisfies all tastes and food lifestyles (there were three veal dishes, should you go there, and that was on Christmas Day). As one local we met at breakfast said, "It has a silly name, but the food is great." Concur.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had their prix fixe Christmas dinner. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had their prix fixe Christmas dinner. They had a variety to pick from each course which was great. The trout with crab stuffing and lamb as the main entrees were outstanding!

From the moment the hostess welcomed us to the moment they bid us farewell- their service was exceptional.

We will definitely be returning to Table for Two on a future trip,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

meal for the most part superb.... with e ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

meal for the most part superb.... with exception of lamb, ordered medium but served bloody raw. Should have sent it back, but didn't...our fault. A little pricy, even for Xmas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We live in Sedona, and spent Christmas i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We live in Sedona, and spent Christmas in Santa Fe. We ate at many wonderful restaurants, but Table for Two was a perfect way to have dinner on Christmas day. We appreciated them being open on Christmas, as well! Our server was genuine and knowledgeable. The food was fabulous. Took two loaves of Christmas bread home with us...one is already gone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prefix Christmas dinner very good and se ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Prefix Christmas dinner very good and service was excellent! We don't eat desert so price was a little expensive but it was Christmas so didn't care.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. The veal piccata ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant. The veal piccata was perfect. We were celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary and could not have been happier with the setting, the food, and the service. Be certain to have the apple pie with hard sauce for dessert.

The restaurant is in one of the old, nondescript buildings common throughout Santa Fe. You wouldn't give it a second glance anywhere other than when in Santa Fe. Inside, it is quite elegant with top-grade linens and tableware. The layout is something like a rabbit warren, again due to the nature of the building, which makes it all the more fun.

Our only complaint is that at the time of our visit it was a prix fixe menu and not a la carte. This was acceptable as it was Christmas Eve. However, I would have liked to have known this at the time of making the reservation.

We will be certain to recommend this restaurant to our friends and to return when again in Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was prepared very well. Grass ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was prepared very well. Grass fed tenderloin was very tender. From the outside the building looks like a dive but the interior is attractive and cozy. We were a bit disappointed that we had to order from the special holiday menu rather than the regular menu. Holiday menu was a bit overpriced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were celebrating a Christmas Eve birt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were celebrating a Christmas Eve birthday. Only a special set menu was offered that evening. The food was very good, a little expensive. No cocktails were available, and coffee was limited to a regular and decaf house brew. No espresso to finish off a nice meal.

Service and ambience were good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Simply superb on all levels. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food! Simply superb on all levels. Service was appropriate as well and very welcoming.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great Food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff and cuisine, and presentation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The staff and cuisine, and presentation were exceptionally good. The ambience of the dining room was pleasant and inviting. We are planning to return asap and look forward to entertaining friends and family at Dinner for Two. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. The food is gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I love this restaurant. The food is great and the service professional, right down to the little scraper to clear the crumbs off the table. I am never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for a romantic spot or ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic spot or a fun group experience, Dinner for Two is the place! The food is locally sourced, mostly organic, and prepared exquisitely by Chef Andy. The wine list is brilliantly curated and the desserts are delectable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Excellent food, great service and wonderful Servers. I love this place. It rates high from a Native New Yorker!!! My husband and I have been dining at this place for many years. He thinks it is terrific too and he is a Native from Denver. This is the only place I can enjoy and eat a Caesar Salad, and I am Lactose Intolerant. Best food in town

Andrea

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have loved this place for at least the ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I have loved this place for at least the last 2 years but the price increase and the slow service reduced my enthusiasm.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I have eaten here on several occasions a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I have eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The service is first rate, always congenial, attentive, and knowledgeable. Sunday evenings are a fantastic deal with a $24.95 three course fixe price menu. They also send you a coupon for a gift certificate on your birthday.

The food is always superbly presented and so delicious. The wine list has a wide variety of top notch options. Fresh homemade warm bread for starters then a choice of soups (I love the French onion) On my last visit my entree was tuna two ways with grilled Brussels sprouts and a wonderful seaweed side that complemented the delicate tuna perfectly. Desserts take center stage at Dinner For Two. Their pies are each heavenly concoctions along with a variety of cakes, etc. I had German Chocolate cake to die for last visit.

I highly recommend Dinner For Two for any occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is extrordinary. From the cranb ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food is extrordinary. From the cranberry sausage appetizer, to the prime rib with fantastic brussel sprouts, to the Flaming Banana Fosters dessert. It was wonderful, the ambiance was just right for a romantic dinner, and our server was wonderful. Great experience and we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Authentic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food-great service-good wine-a qui ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food-great service-good wine-a quiet comfortable place to dine

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great restaurant. We've dined ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is a great restaurant. We've dined here several times when we've been in Santa Fe on vacation. Food is consistently good. Very nice wait staff and owners.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find, we loved this restaur ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

What a great find, we loved this restaurant. The staff was great and accommodated our request for a quiet area since my wife and I were celebrating our Birthdays and wanted a romantic setting. A must go.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over the top awesome as always. We come ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Over the top awesome as always. We come 2 -3 times a year for special occasions and have never been disappointed. Knowledgeable and courteous staff. Owners are welcoming and out there working. The bread alone is worth the drive. Ha!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance, service and food were out ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance, service and food were out of this world. Best dinner ever. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome hospitality from the Time we arr ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Awesome hospitality from the Time we arrive till the time we left! All good can hardly wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Dinner for T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our first visit to Dinner for Two and the food and service were absolutely wonderful--we will definitely go back on our next trip to Santa Fe!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had read that the service was poor bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had read that the service was poor but were still surprised at how bad it was. We had to remind the hostess that we were waiting for our reservation as she seated several parties who arrived after us. We had made reservations two weeks in advance for Thanksgiving dinner and had to sit at a card table in the middle of the flow of traffic with diners and servers squeezing past us on both sides. Mid-meal we were moved to a different table, which was nice, but our entrees cooled off in the process. There was one female server taking up slack for what many of the other servers, including ours, neglected, such as providing clean silverware, clearing plates, etc. (Common sense/rule of thumb: when (as a server) you are walking by a table empty-handed- even if it isn't your table - and you see empty plates, clear them!! It's just good form and is definitely noticed and appreciated by the diner)

The ingredients seemed to be fresh and of good quality; however, execution was inconsistent and disappointing. In particular, if you like crab in your crab cakes, don't bother with these. If you want your steak cooked to medium, order it rare. Other diners sent their entrees back for other menu choices. And if it's an expensive prix fixe menu, don't charge $5 for a cup of tea, especially after such a disappointing dining experience.

There are so many restaurants in Santa Fe. Skip this one.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We went on Thanksgiving day. When I rev ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went on Thanksgiving day. When I reviewed the menu during the reservation process, there was no indication that only a fixed price menu would be available due to the holiday. I thought I would be able to order off the regular menu.

Service was poor. We both asked for water without ice. (Not honored). I ordered a glass of wine, but it did not come before the food, so I had to hail someone after the food appeared. We ordered a side dish which was never served but included on the bill. A roving person took it off the bill with a matter-of-fact apology. Our server pretty much did not serve us. We hardly saw her.

My medium-rare filet minon was on the medium side. My parter's marsala seemed like a gravy train. There was no "grilled brussel sprouts" on the salad as stated on the menu but instead topped with "grocery-store-deli-style broccoli or cauliflower."

Not worth $160 for two with just one glass of wine. Filling though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Clearly this restaurant was not prepared ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Clearly this restaurant was not prepared to host Thanksgiving dinner. The owner was the sole host, and after waiting 15 minutes to be greeted, along with 8 others waiting, we were sat well past our reservation. The table of four in front of us was scolded for arriving without a reservation (not starting out good here).The service was terrible, when we finally ordered another 20 minutes later. They ran out of their "recommended" wine, and then the second choice bottle arrived after the appetizers. Entrees were slow to arrive, and my turkey was literally cold. They smoked the turkeys the day before, and it was extremely dry and was over smoked and just tasted of burnt mesquite. My glass of red for dinner also arrived late, after I was half way complete. Dessert was also not great and we didn't even finish. They don't buss the tables quickly, and leave you with a mess throughout the meal. No surprise the walls were filthy with dust and cobwebs. Several other tables were complaining as well. To bad- I think it's a kiss of death for a restaurant to screw up a holiday meal.

I was really surprised based on all of the good reviews and recommendations. I will, and would if I were you, steer clear of this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Used to be good but much deteriorated. O ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Used to be good but much deteriorated. Ordered a bottle of wine before dinner. Never came. Couldn't find the waiter. The busboy brought appetizers -- still no wine. We ate the appetizers. Waiter finally appeared and had forgotten the wine order. The wine was out of stock (although a featured special on the menu. We ordered glasses of wine rather than a bottle as the meal was half over. The waiter promised to comp the wine. He didn't. Food was not awful but overpriced and mediocre. Santa Fe has a score of Mexican greasy spoons that are better than this pretentious, overpriced leftover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We decided to do Thanksgiving at Dinner ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We decided to do Thanksgiving at Dinner for Two. It was an excellent choice. Our waitress was wonderful. The trout and stuffed crab was amazing! Definitely coming back when we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We felt that our meal was over priced. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We felt that our meal was over priced. The food was good, but not worth what it cost. Our meal for 2was $165 and the service was less than we expect for that kind of meal. We won't be back for holiday meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I love this restaurant. It was the perf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I love this restaurant. It was the perfect option for a Thanksgiving dinner outside of the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Best Thanksgiving Dinner at a restaurant ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best Thanksgiving Dinner at a restaurant in many years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.