Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Dinner for Two

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. We is in Prime cuts of beef filet mignon ribeye New York strip and tableside presentations like Caesar salad and Chateaubriand local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Fish, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: (505) 820-2075

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Quiet Conversation (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Local Ingredients (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (10)
Live Music (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We did not have a good experience. The menu was prix fixe, consisting of soup, entree and dessert, with salads and appetizers available at an additional charge. But, if you wanted to order a la carte the prices of the entrees were not shown on the menu. One of us did order the prix fixe menu and the food wasn't good (they even managed to make grilled salmon taste bad). The bread looked good but we weren't offered any - maybe it's an additional charge, but they could still have asked if we wanted any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

i was disappointed in the service; we were two females and had to ask for service a number of times; the Cesar salad prepared at the table was less than spectacular ( had it several months ago and it was very good); large table next to us - seemed to get better service
Overall disappointed with this visit; previous visit quite good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Dinner for Two is one of my favorite restaurants in NM. I don't go as often as I'd like since I live in Albuquerque, but I rely on it for my top pick for special occasion dining!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

After reading such great reviews on this restaurant, I was a little skeptical about whether or not it would live up to such praise. Well I can honestly say it did!! From our waitress to the ambiance, to the food and wine which were exceptional, this place is special. I was also pleased with their prices, I don't feel for fine dining they were outrageous at all, given they are very close to the plaza.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fabulous service and food. wonderful classical guitarist. the best bread on earth.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a wonderful table side dinner at Dinner for Two. It was our first visit but certainly wouldn't be our last. We had the Tableside châteaubriand For two. Which the chef prepared perfectly. Two tables away had the table side Caesar salad. It looked WONDERFUL and we heard positive comments from the table. We will have that on our next visit.

When you go you MUST, save room for the home made PIES. A true delicacy that is slipping away. From the culanary scene.
The chef and his wife and I assume the whole kitchen works hard on these home delights. Also they had a nice wine list including half bottles of wine which I appreciate because my wife like white and I like red.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have dined here several times, and have always been very well pleased with our meals. No lamb option was a big disappointment for one of us. Service was not up to your standard. The live music was very nice! The Caesar salad and veal piccata were excellent. The rib eye wasn't. Bread delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food here was so good, we ate at Dinner for Two twice in our visit to Santa Fe. The food was exceptional, however the service was not fantastic on either night. Would certainly recommend, as the service did not detract immensely from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This restaurant is and has always been a hidden treasure. Never to disappoint! The food is fresh and expertly cooked. Perfection on all levels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our visit started in a hot bar area and a warm glass of white wine. Fortunately, we persevered and made it to the meal. The food was delicious and the flambe options for salad and dessert were delicious and fun! Sunday nights are the best deal...you get an appetizer, meal and dessert for $25. Be warned, a lot of the entrees and options are an upcharge, but still a great deal. The ambience was okay...a little warm and crowded, but the service was awesome, considering the restaurant was packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. Went back second night for happy hour.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Had out-of-this world filet mignon as part of their Sun. evening dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We dine often at Dinner For 2. It is fine place for a meal and usually quiet and not hurried. We especially enjoyed butterscotch pie that is not always available, not that other choices are bad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service was atrocious -- slow, absent, brought incorrect dishes. Good varied widely from excellent to vile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place to go and I would recommend it to those in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We took some visiting friends to Dinner for Two and they loved it. We try to go there whenever we are in Santa Fe. The food and the service are all exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

D42 Sunday dinner can't be beat. A nice menu for $25 which includes a delicious soup, entree and dessert. Ask for the daily pie choices - the butterscotch pie was great. Nice wine list, some can be pricey and there are some gems on the list for a great value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had the fixed price Sunday dinner, and were pleased with the choices and the meal. I had the veal picatta my husband the seafood combo. Dessert was chery pie ala mode and homemade sorbet. The service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

always a nice place to go do; however I wish they would use less salt on the food.
sauce for the friend chickem, while tasty, so salty as to be inedible.

in the past, while getting other dishes, I asked that no salt be added; however if you are getting food with a sauce there is no guarantee, and you will be thirsty that night. :-(

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This restaurant was very disappointing. We choose it because it was listed as romantic and because of the many gluten free choices we thought it would be easy to accommodate our allergies which I included in the reservation. We were disappointed on both accounts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Never fails to deliver top notch food and service.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Ambience very nice. Our table was very close to another table of 4, so it was fairly noise. Service was not great, perhaps the wait staff was overloaded. We had the Caesar salad for 2, prepared at the table. Huge portions, but just fair quality. The food here was just not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

although the outside presents a bit scary appearance .. the inside is rather nice. Beer & Wine only.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Local establishment which leads to noisy and warm eating areas; because of the crowds, service is not capable of being top notch despite efforts: ex. Wine not brought to table until after first course already half eaten;
excellent food however waiter informs us of numerous items being gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Both the trout and beef filet were dry and tasteless. Overcooked, I think.
Banana cream pie was not as good as we remember. An off night...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always good and a very pleasant dinner. Excellent soup and dessert

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service could not have been better, the grass fed organic ribeye steak was so tender and perfectly seasoned, served with "frizzled onions", mashed potatoes and sweet snap peas, along with a dash of their homemade barbecue sauce; amazing! They serve warm from the oven bread that is crispy on the outside, but not "cut the roof of your mouth" crispy, and delightful soft and tasty in the center; they also sell their tasty bread by the loaf for $3.00! They have freshly baked pies, they change every couple of days, but today (let's see how good my memory is), there was key lime, lemon meringue, blueberry, cherry, almond joy, and butterscotch! Feel like I may have forgotten one, but we resisted the pies and instead shared bananas foster for two, prepare at our table. Oh my; sinfully delicious! I think every one dining tonight decided to enjoy this delectable dessert once they saw it prepared for on group of diners.

Dinner for Two, is a small cozy restaurant with an amazing chef preparing tastebud frenzy meals! I wish we had found it earlier in our visit to Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Absolutely terrific food - the quality was comparable to some outstanding dining I have experienced in Charleston, SC and New Orleans (I am absolutely serious, obviously not the same type of low country or gulf fare), but the quality and preparation were superb. The pies warranted a second trip back the next night for dessert. On Guadalupe, very convenient to the Hilton and El Dorado hotels although not listed on "the map". The next time we are in Santa Fe, we will return, guaranteed - highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Lots of great choices on the menu, always at least 3 or 4 items I really can't decide between! Love the food and the service and the fact that the kitchen is open and the chef always asks you how your meal was on your way out the door! You know he cares!

If this isn't enough, the homemade pies are to die for. I want to Go just for our and coffee sometime soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I haven't been here in many years. WE came in for the 1/2 price appetizers but with 4 of us there isn't seating that is conducive for conversation for 4. There is one table for four but it was reserved. The people never showed up. So it sat empty. Too bad. I will reserve it next time and show up or call if I can't. Good food and drinks were excellent. Great rum raisin table bread. OMG, amazing. We will return soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall, not up to Santa Fe standards.
Seafood was creatively prepared but bland nonetheless.
Calamari ceviche wasn't anything like ceviche.
Hostess was abrupt and never smiled. When bananas Foster was prepared tableside, the waiter spent the entire time talking to a trainee rather than addressing us. Really detracted from the experience. We had discount materials which we presented when the bill came. The waiter criticized us for not telling him about it when we ordered. Also, the discounts were not fully given. We mentioned to the waiter that the food was disappointing. Only got a superficial apology.
However---the guitar music was excellent.
Won't return. Don't recommend others come here. Too many excellent restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Such good food! Beware the AMAZING fresh hot bread! It's so outstanding we couldn't finish our meal but hurray we have leftovers!!! Service was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It has been a year or so since we had been to this restaurant which used to be a favorite. Sadly we were disappointed in multiple dishes and meals. The Caesar salad was bland. The stuffed Trout has so little stuffing it was hard to find. The veal piccata was fair and a good portion but needed more lemon. Bread was wonderful as were the desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was delicious. The setting was romantic. The staff was very friendly. They were ready for us when we arrived. Their meal price was good for what you got. However, it was more food than we needed. (However, that was our fault, because we ordered an hors d'oeuvres to go with our meal). We had to take dessert to go because we were just too full.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good food and service; pleasan t and relaxing ambiance. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of our Santa Fe favorites, family owned. Always friendly, cared about very good service
and delicious cuisine. Gregory's himemade bread and sumptuous quality pies, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nothing much to look at from the outside but the inside was lovely and reminded us of older restaurants in NJ or PA areas. The food was outstanding with great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always good food. Much variety, good service. We go back for certain delicious items like their mushroom soup.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was very good. Beer selection very poor. Should include more popular beer choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Really good food, great prime rib and delicious desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.