Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Dinner for Two

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: (505) 820-2075

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (42)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Live Music (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Live Sports (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Been there several times and normally enjoy our dining experience. Unfortunately last night seemed a little lack luster. Our waitress did not attend us in a timely manner and left us hanging. Seems she had too many tables to take care of. We were never offered dessert and had to wait forever to get our check. Seems the whole place was understaffed that evening. They were out of trout at 6:45 and ran out of bread by 7:30. Our food portions were small but good. When we left we grabbed our favorite meal ending snack, chocolate chip cookies and they were just OK, normally to die for. We will return, but were underwhelmed this evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

We went specifically for the prime rib which is featured every Thursday. Menu entrees are pricey but prime rib is reasonable. Good service. Beef was rare as we like it and horseradish perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our evening. Go early! It got packed!!!! Thurs nite! Salad was best ever and the waiters were very nice and on their game!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner for two is a fun throwback, with table-side preparations of Caesar salad and bananas foster. Fresh baked bread and a good wine list are also fun.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 19, 2017

There was a medical emergency while we were having our appetizers; since both my husband and I are physicians, we attended to the other customer. Well, while we were giving aid, the staff, who scattered when it all started, chose that moment to deliver our entre. Cold it was by the time all had settled down and we were able to return to our table. Not even a thank you from anyone for our stepping in to assist, that didn't bother me as much as the cold food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely meal. Our waiter was superb! We would definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have eaten there several times and find the food outstanding, especially for the price. Sunday night they offer a 3 course dinner for two at astounding reasonable prices. Good wine list with reasonable prices. The only consistent drawback is service. It is generally slow and the waiters seem to re-trace their steps unnecessarily. Despite that, Dinner for Two has our sincere recommendation.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 13, 2017

6 of us for dinner. The waiters got a few of the entries mixed up when delivering them to the table. One of us ordered a steak medium well and it arrived medium rare and had to be returned.

The biggest disappointment of the evening were the 2 "crab stuffed trout" entries. While the trout was very good, the crab stuffing was nowhere to be found!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was very disappointed. I was celebrating my birthday, and did not receive good service. The server was very unprofessional, and referred to my 80 year old mother, myself and my sister as "girls." The service was very slow. The food was not hot enough, and my filet was under-cooked. It was not worth the money! We are taking this restaurant off our list.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We found the food to be excellent!!! The staff were very professional and sociable. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Awesome food. Meal took TWO hours on an uncrowded Sunday night. Salad guy was wonderful as was Caesar salad. Our waiter had difficulty understanding our order which was quite simple. Time between salad and main course was unacceptable-- 25 mins. Time between main course and dessert was another 20 mins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Another great meal at Dinner for Two. We love their Sunday night suppers and the pre fixe menu. The beef stroganoff was outstanding this past Sunday. You can always count on yummy bread and very good homemade desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our experience at Dinner for Two was exceptional. Everything I said above was solid. It could not have gone any better. Your staff are exceptional!

To be honest - I am not a fan of kid-friendly restaurants-that goes for groups as well. I have discovered over the oohhhhhh so many years of dining out - those two entities "spoil the soup"! There was a group present when we were dining and I applaud the your staff of seating them way in the back away from the other patrons. They were loud and they would have spoiled a good many dinners if they were seated in the main dining area. This is why we keep coming back and - we live in Albuquerque!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Every meal here is a special occasion. The Cesar is made to your taste, the fish was perfectly cooked, great wine list, and a wonderful Spanish guitarist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have been eating periodically at Dinner for Two for over twenty years.

I take my guests there, and recommend it to the visitors to Santa Fe when they want a local person to give them ideas on where to eat. I choose to celebrate my birthdays there because as humanly possible, the service is consistently good along with the quality of the food its self.

I have found that being a small restaurant, one doesn't get lost in the crowd even when busy. The wait staff have been extremely well trained to look after their guests - which for me can make or break an experience.

Cheers,
Lisa Rodgers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The service was outstanding. We split a Caesar Salad for two between the four of us. It was perfect with the entrees.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This is my second time going to Dinner for Two and it was just as amazing as the first. The staff is great, the food is amazing with great flavors and the ambiance is wonderful. I would recommend Dinner for Two to anyone. Also, their Sunday Dinner special makes having a special night out with great food affordable.

Kathy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This is one of the few places in Santa Fe that we returned to twice during our month-long stay. The food was wonderful both times. We especially loved the bread (tender, crispy crust, great flavor, and served warm). The veal piccata and the lamb chops were especially good, and the key lime pie is divine! Don't be turned off by entering close to the kitchen. The dining areas are better. The second time we were seated on the porch, and it was slightly chilly. Overall, great food at a good price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I went as part of Restaurant Week in Santa Fe and it was fantastic. We had maple glazed shrimp and blue crab cake appetizers that were excellent. Our entrees, crab stuffed trout and chicken stuffed with sausage and ricotta, were both perfectly prepared. Cherries Jubilee capped off the meal. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week. Had never been before. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. A great evening. Will come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service all the way around was excellent. The menu selection was diverse and yet not overwhelming. A good selection of local foods. I thoroughly enjoyed the Sunchoke Soup - light, creamy, and full of flavor; Veal Marsala - came with brussel sprouts which were enjoyable crunchy, house mashed potatoes - really creamy, and the veal was superb; for desert the German Chocolate Cake - wow! Light, decadent with small chocolate chunks in the cake and the coconut frosting was fabulous. Delicious right to the last drop!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was very good and the ambiance was fantastic. We really enjoyed the experience and look forward to our next meal at Dinner for Two

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We visited Dinner for Two during Santa Fe's Restaurant Week and the special menu was outstanding! This 3-course prix-fixe special menu is not large, but offers enough choices for everyone. The sun-choke soup was amazing, the veal marsala was excellently done and not over seasoned, and for dessert, you have to try the homemade key lime pie...delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We're locals who have been going to Dinner for Two since they opened. It's one of our faves and our dinner Friday was yummy as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our first time to visit and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was good. There were adequate selections for any preference.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I made a reservation for 7:15 for 3 and wasn't seated until 8pm. We didn't receive our drinks 8:30 and the whole night was a waiting game, we finally left the restaurant a little after 10pm. There wasn't hostess because the bussers had called in and she was helping out. The service took FOREVER. There was maybe 2 servers and the restaurant was packed! There was no manager around to help or to talk to other guest and the staff was very stressed. The food was amazing, however, overlooked because I felt like I couldn't enjoy it because of how long it took to get the drinks, appetizer and entrees. By the time they ask if we wanted desert (which was at 10) we just wanted to get out. I'm a local who works at an established hotel in downtown Santa Fe... I wouldn't recommend it to my guests.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was well prepared, Our group was seated as scheduled and the service was attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent food during Restaurant Week. I've never been disappointed at Dinner for Two.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The flavors were fabulous!! Each course had a bit of a surprise and just a marvelous flavors!! We love coming here , thanks for yet another memorable evening!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We went with friends for 2 of our birthdays. Had a great meal, very congenial, staff entered easily into our extended conversations, as did the people at the next table, also celebrating. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was fantastic; and the wine was very good as well as a bargain at $25/bottle.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 20, 2017

WOW! Best ever! Everything about the restaurant was outstanding. The hostess and waiters were all so very kind greeting us as we were the most important people in the restaurant. The ambiance reflected a cozy old home with beautiful place setting and comfy chairs.
I ordered the shrimp appetizer that was delicious with the maple sauce. My entree was to die for, Trout stuffed with crab. I honestly have never had trout so moist and flaky. The crab added to the flavor. My husband ordered veal Marsala. the veal melted in his mouth and the Marsala sauce enhanced the flavor.
We had a bottle of wine from Spain that was really good for the money. To top it off we had two deserts, one was a slice of key lime pie, ( wish I could have had the whole pie), the other was a slice of apple pie ala'mode. We will absolutely be back. Best place to eat in Santa Fe for the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was hesitant to reserve a table for the four of us due to the dated specialties. Although we did enjoy the caesar salad, especially how it was customized to the two of us who didn't care for anchovies and the two who did. That was really nice. Alas, the rest of our meals were barely average. My husband had the vegetarian dish and it was pretty bad and very dry although it was described as more of a stew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We reserved at the last minute so we could have dinner before a concert. The food was very good as usual, and the service excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My partner and I have driven by this restaurant several times and have mentioned that we should visit. We took Valentines Day (actually the day after) as our chance to find out. Although the name seems to suggest something different, there were several parties of different sizes throughout the restaurant. I felt a little uncomfortable because it felt we could overhear -- and could be overheard by nearby parties. The decor is probably the worst thing about the restaurant. It seems to want to be dark, warm and cozy -- like the Santa Fe version of a Chicago steak house or something. But, it's all a bit worn and tired.

On the other hand, the service was knowledgable and friendly. The couple next to use ordered the table side Cesar Salad -- which was entertaining to eavesdrop on. The fried stuff chicken was DELICIOUS! As was the onion soup. As was the dessert. As was all the food. It's nice to have a delicious restaurant in SF that isn't entirely New Mexican cuisine.

Overall, we really enjoyed it. I would just recommend some music playing over the conversation for a greater feeling or privacy. And, maybe a fresh coat of paint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food, good wine, great service and pleasant atmosphere, couldn't have more pleased with the experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went for Valentine's Day and made reservations so we would not be waiting to get in.
It was nice, there was music and great food. The only problems I had with the place was we ordered our entry and our appetizer at the same time and we got the appetizer right away, but had to wait over an hour for our entry.Also the tables where like two feet apart so we where bumping elbows with the people behind us , who by the way got the exact same meal that we ordered in something like fifteen minutes after they came in the door.
For the amount of money we spent I expected better service from the wait staff.
It's a great place to go at least once but set lots of time aside on holidays.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Once again Dinner for Two served a great meal with a wonderful waitor!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Would like to have more space between tables. We were easily hearing the conversation of couples two tables away, which I found to be annoying after awhile. It was also difficult for the servers and guests to maneuver when carts were brought out for preparation at the tables.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.