Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Dinner for Two

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. We is in Prime cuts of beef filet mignon ribeye New York strip and tableside presentations like Caesar salad and Chateaubriand local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Fish, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: (505) 820-2075

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Cozy (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Live Music (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Casual (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

I haven't been here in many years. WE came in for the 1/2 price appetizers but with 4 of us there isn't seating that is conducive for conversation for 4. There is one table for four but it was reserved. The people never showed up. So it sat empty. Too bad. I will reserve it next time and show up or call if I can't. Good food and drinks were excellent. Great rum raisin table bread. OMG, amazing. We will return soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, not up to Santa Fe standards.
Seafood was creatively prepared but bland nonetheless.
Calamari ceviche wasn't anything like ceviche.
Hostess was abrupt and never smiled. When bananas Foster was prepared tableside, the waiter spent the entire time talking to a trainee rather than addressing us. Really detracted from the experience. We had discount materials which we presented when the bill came. The waiter criticized us for not telling him about it when we ordered. Also, the discounts were not fully given. We mentioned to the waiter that the food was disappointing. Only got a superficial apology.
However---the guitar music was excellent.
Won't return. Don't recommend others come here. Too many excellent restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Such good food! Beware the AMAZING fresh hot bread! It's so outstanding we couldn't finish our meal but hurray we have leftovers!!! Service was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It has been a year or so since we had been to this restaurant which used to be a favorite. Sadly we were disappointed in multiple dishes and meals. The Caesar salad was bland. The stuffed Trout has so little stuffing it was hard to find. The veal piccata was fair and a good portion but needed more lemon. Bread was wonderful as were the desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was delicious. The setting was romantic. The staff was very friendly. They were ready for us when we arrived. Their meal price was good for what you got. However, it was more food than we needed. (However, that was our fault, because we ordered an hors d'oeuvres to go with our meal). We had to take dessert to go because we were just too full.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very good food and service; pleasan t and relaxing ambiance. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of our Santa Fe favorites, family owned. Always friendly, cared about very good service
and delicious cuisine. Gregory's himemade bread and sumptuous quality pies, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nothing much to look at from the outside but the inside was lovely and reminded us of older restaurants in NJ or PA areas. The food was outstanding with great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always good food. Much variety, good service. We go back for certain delicious items like their mushroom soup.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was very good. Beer selection very poor. Should include more popular beer choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Really good food, great prime rib and delicious desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a treat. Great Caesar made table side, and exceptional soups. Ask for Chris your server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Staff was friendly; food was delicious! The bread and pies were so fresh. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very nice decor in a medium sized restaurant. Great service by Jessica. Bread made on site. Innovative recipes. Generous portions. Beef quality was excellent. Easy to reach from the Plaza area as well as the rest of the city. We will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The most recent addition to the menu: Duck Breast, was outstanding. Hopefully this will become part of the regular menu. The veal dishes are excellent, but the chicken is sometimes tough. Fish entrees are usually very good. Atmosphere and service are very good. Employees very friendly. Gregory's bread and pies are wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As always, food was good, but the service seems to be getting slower and slower.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

When we arrived, there was a lot of confusion regarding the menu. The special Sunday menu had not been given to us, which caused a lot of confusion between staff and ourselves. Once we figured out the blunder, service improved.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great dinner during our stay in Santa Fe. Unusual menu, everything was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We love the ambiance. It is very romantic. and the service is great. The food seems to be consistently on the salty side though. The caesar salad is fabulous, best in town.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our second visit. The food was good, but the service was poor. They appeared to be grossly understaffed. A Caesar made at the table was out of the question given the pace at which that team moved. Waiter had me test a substitute wine out of the mini serving carafe... and he was forgetful. He had too many tables to cover...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Mushroom truffle soup and onion bread was exceptional. Prime rib eye very thin and I would suggest BBQ dressing on side as it is strong flavor. Trout just above average and couldn't taste crab filling. Accompanying snap peas and mashed potatoes outstanding. Server was very nice but slow on refilling beverages and we had to seek him out for more butter. Overall better than average. Place is deceiving from exterior. Beautiful interior and nice live acoustical guitar music throughout dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Dinner for Two is by far our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Every dish is beautifully presented, perfectly prepared and an absolute treat! The caesar salad made table-side is an absolute must and their home made bread is always perfectly baked. Their award winning wine list will surely have something for everyone. The live guitar music on Saturday night is a nice accompaniment to our dining experience. Bravo, Dinner for Two! Another perfect evening.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food with wonderful attentive service. The truffle oyster mushroom soup was just outstanding. We can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For a late afternoon/early evening Easter meal with two friends from out-of-town, Dfor2 proved to be an excellent choice! Each of us ordered off the Prix Fixe menu offered that day. The mushroom soup was considered excellent by all four of us. The entrees came in a reasonable time, prepared as requested, well presented and well served. The desserts were even better; two pieces of pie which were quite good, I am told, a chocolate cake, strawberry, whipped cream plate, which my wife wouldn't let me sample, and definitely the best choice, a gourmet take on an ice cream sandwich. Oh My!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Reservation was made based on prior Easter Sunday dinners which we have had there. I failed to check what was being offered at 2 p.m. It turned out to be brunch, when our party of 6 was expecting dinner. The brunch menu seemed a bit limited in choices. The duck confit in the chilaquiles was much too salty to be enjoyable. The rest of the dish was quite tasty, though. The Monte Cristo style croque-monsieur was nicely done, though somewhat too crusty around the edges, and was garnished nicely with sliced kiwi and strawberries. The hot cross buns served prior to the meal were delicious. The pris fixe dinners that we've had there in the past have been very good and of good value, too. Note to self: Next time check to see when dinner service begins!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food.Very nice place!I would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Dinner for two has always been a dependable place for us to dine or for happy hour. Service is great and the food is very tasty. A stones throw from hotels, theatre, art galleries, museums and shopping.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Organic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This was out second time at Dinner for Two and it did not disappoint. We were there on a Sunday evening and the 3 course special for less than $25 was a great bargain. Wine is reasonably priced, service was attentive, and live classical guitar in the background. Couldn't have asked for a better dinner out in Santa Fe.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinners, the wonderful
Caesar salads ( billed for two; large enough for three), an incredibly
wonderful bottle of wine and great service. We are local to Santa Fe
so we choose Dinner for Two and have had consistent good experiences
at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fresh delicious food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing service and presentation .
We had a reservation for their last seating and didn't feel rushed at all.
Chateaubriand was incredible .
Great wine list .
A must "get " is their homemade Apple pie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Family owned, Dad, Mom and Chef son and they're long time Santa Feans to boot.
They are wonderful, sincere, friendly, fun. Make you feel at hime, caring staff,
Trained very well, know their wines and the food is superb including table side
Ceasar Salad, Bananas Foster. Not to miss and Gregory's homemade bread.
Delish.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

What a great find! Excellent food and even a selection of half bottles on the wine list. Even though we were too full for dessert, a couple of delicious cookies came with the bill (which was quite reasonable).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Lovely setting
Very nice and attentive staff
Good food and delicious warm fresh bread

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Been there several times and normally enjoy our dining experience. Unfortunately last night seemed a little lack luster. Our waitress did not attend us in a timely manner and left us hanging. Seems she had too many tables to take care of. We were never offered dessert and had to wait forever to get our check. Seems the whole place was understaffed that evening. They were out of trout at 6:45 and ran out of bread by 7:30. Our food portions were small but good. When we left we grabbed our favorite meal ending snack, chocolate chip cookies and they were just OK, normally to die for. We will return, but were underwhelmed this evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We went specifically for the prime rib which is featured every Thursday. Menu entrees are pricey but prime rib is reasonable. Good service. Beef was rare as we like it and horseradish perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We enjoyed our evening. Go early! It got packed!!!! Thurs nite! Salad was best ever and the waiters were very nice and on their game!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Dinner for two is a fun throwback, with table-side preparations of Caesar salad and bananas foster. Fresh baked bread and a good wine list are also fun.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 19, 2017

There was a medical emergency while we were having our appetizers; since both my husband and I are physicians, we attended to the other customer. Well, while we were giving aid, the staff, who scattered when it all started, chose that moment to deliver our entre. Cold it was by the time all had settled down and we were able to return to our table. Not even a thank you from anyone for our stepping in to assist, that didn't bother me as much as the cold food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.