About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: 5058202075x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (50)
romantic (47)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
notable wine list (26)
good for groups (10)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Recommended by a friend

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were visiting Sante Fe and Dinner for 2 was recommended by a friend who had been there. The good was very good The waiter was knowledgeable about the menu. I had crab cake caprese. I usually am not a fan of crab cakes, but I really enjoyed them. For dessert, we had the warm cherry pie with ice cream. Heavenly! Would definatly go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't be fooled by the simple and lacklu ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Don't be fooled by the simple and lackluster exterior of this excellent restaurant just behind the Hilton and El Dorado hotels in Santa Fe. Mom bakes the tasty deserts, Dad bakes the wonderful bread and their son, a graduate of the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park NY prepares wonderful entrees. Mixed drinks are not available but wines and beers can be had. The staff is attentive and efficient and on weekend evenings a soft, live guitarist lends a bit of class to the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of Santa Fe's little gems, which nev ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

One of Santa Fe's little gems, which never disappoints.

food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I have written many stellar reviews on t ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I have written many stellar reviews on this restaurant. I invited my friends and I am so embarrassed. The service was barely there. The table next to us was out of water, spoons, etc and we had to ask twice for them to get service. Waiter was not friendly. My friend asked for extra veggies since she is on a diet and got a few slim green beans, not even a normal portion. I don't know what they are doing but the food and the service has taken a nosedive. We will not be back any time soon.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We loved it. The Sunday night prix fixe is an amazing deal. Unlike most prix fixe menus, you choose from 8 or 9 entrees. The soups were the most delicious soups we had ever had. The Caesar salad made table side was a real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

Food was nice, but service is slow and n ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was nice, but service is slow and not very friendly. We have been several times, but probably won't return. Parking is terrible and staff is not friendly and ignores you.

food5
ambience5
service5

Owner and wait staff were attentive and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Owner and wait staff were attentive and friendly. The Ceasar Salad was outstanding. We had a great time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Veal dishes were great. So was the Caesa ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Veal dishes were great. So was the Caesar salad. Service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday dinner is always a nice treat

Dined on May 2, 2016

We joined friends for Sunday dinner at the restaurant. They have a Sunday dinner special with lots of good options. The wine suggested by the server was excellent. We decided to also have a Caesar salad to start. It is made table side and unfortunately it was not as good as the last time my husband and I dined. We most likely will not choose that again. The cherry pie for dessert was fabulous. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Carefully Prepared Food; Lovely Presentation

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was carefully prepared and one could tell the staff took pride in their creations. It was delicious - I ordered the sampler. The problem is that if you have any food allergies like I do to onions, for example, there is no way to get a dish that doesn't have them except for a side of peas and so I tried the sampler, found it delicious but paid the consequences later. Even the bread had onions! There was no dish that didn't have them either in a sauce or in the substance of the recipe. No simple chicken breast or fish dish for those of us who have sensitive digestion. The waiter was completely indifferent and did not offer to ask the chef if he/she could prepare something without them or offer me any kind of substitute. It would have been helpful if their online menu listed the ingredients so customers would know if they could enjoy a meal there since this was a special meal and pricey. I won't be going back unfortunately.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall a good experience.

Dined on April 29, 2016

The lamb chops (2) were on the small side and not sufficiently satisfying for the price.

food4
ambience3
service1
value4

service subpar

Dined on April 29, 2016

the food was outstanding, however waiting almost an hour for our salad, was not acceptable and they give you too much lettuce for the amount of dressing, not able to eat all the lettuce they put on plate, cut the lettuce down and the salad would be over the top. would not mind waiting a few minutes for the table side preparation of the salad but close to an hour, I felt forgotten and was ready to leave with out eating. they need to schedule the service better as there was a 20 minute break between the 2 tables before us and then they went on to do a dessert before bringing the salad to our table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday prix fixe 3 course special

Dined on April 25, 2016

After a Cooking School Tadting tour we returned for this delicious dinner, nicely cooked to perfection, plated well, and timely, kindly delivery.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very disappointed

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We are not from Santa Fe but did some research on a nice restaurant in Santa Fe. Other reviews said that this was a special place for locals. Perhaps IF we had gone there on a different night it might have been different. However, on a Sunday, the day we went they had a fixed price menu. We didn't know this when I booked the reservations. By 7:00 Pm they were already out of the dish that I wanted. They were not that busy by that time. Their wine specials were all really dry wine which my husband doesn't care for. Therefore we bought very expensive glasses of wine. I had a Pino Noir which was very good but my husband's Resiling was strange. Ordered the veal dish and my husband ordered the seafood sampler. Soup came with the meal. They brought us the loaf of onion bread fairly quickly. It was very good. We also decided to split a spinach salad. The server was friendly when he came to the table but he was very slow. Perhaps there was a problem with the kitchen but we had to wait forever for the soup to arrive and then the salad and finally our main course. It was close to 8:30 when our main course arrived. By then I had eaten so much onion bread that I wasn't all that hungry and dessert was included in the price. My husband's fish was mediocre. Quite dried out as it looked like it had been sitting under warming lights. My veal was good. The spinach salad was like a caesar spinach salad. Way too mush dressing and soggy leaves. The desserts , key lime pie and strawberry shortcake were good. Other than wishing us a happy anniversary nothing special was done for us. As I said, perhaps on another night it might have been different but it truly was NOT a special dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We truly enjoyed our dinner. Everthing from our waiter, the tableside Caesar and our main course was perfect. As a special treat, it was 'prom night' and it was delightful watching the young folks enjoying a very special evening out. Kudos to this family owned business. Worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good Food / Bad Parking

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was worth the wait; however, the parking situation was not very good. They only have 5 parking spaces out front.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always love this place. it's our go-to!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Never disappointed. The good is great, the atmosphere romantic, and the prices are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite Santa Fe restaurant. Server w ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

A favorite Santa Fe restaurant. Server was very helpful. Food was good ... appetizer, entree and dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent value

Dined on April 11, 2016

We went for the Sunday special for $20 per person which includes soup, entree and dessert. Choices in each category. Plus specially priced bottles of wine that night as well. Service and food was excellent and we will definitely return on our next trip out here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure

Dined on April 10, 2016

We return at least once every year when we visit Santa Fe. As the menu changes, we are always delighted to find new offerings. The course, choices, and pacing are just right. Every part of the meal is delicious in its own right, but the overall experience enhances everything. This time, we especially enjoyed the salmon and chips appetizer and the petite filet mignon (NM gown, grass-fed beef).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

price

Dined on April 7, 2016

I thought the price was way to high for the amount of food. The appetizers were ridiculous in portion. We ordered the coconut shrimp and for $9.00 we only got 3 of them. The chef needs to seriously work on his appetizer portions. We also ordered the ceasar salad for two and the dressing was so overpowering with garlic and we only asked for one clove of garlic. This restaurant is not Geronimos so therefore it should not have Geronimo prices for such skimpy portions.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

No Improvement

Dined on April 4, 2016

Food not as good as before. Sloooow service as always.

food3
ambience3
service4

Yum. Traditional tables use Ceasar and b ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Yum. Traditional tables use Ceasar and bananas foster.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner at D42

Dined on March 24, 2016

After four meals at D42, all of which were outstanding, I am willing to posit that D42 may be the best restaurant in Santa Fe

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Sunday Dinner

Dined on March 21, 2016

Sunday dinner was an unexpected treat! DF2 serves a set menu with 3 courses on Sundays. The soups offered as starters were fabulous. Followed by outstanding entrees and luscious desserts. There were lots of choices on the menu. The only downside was that websites almost 45 minutes to have our entree dishes removed and another 10 minutes to be presented with a dessert menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great service every time we go there

Dined on March 20, 2016

Sunday night Specials are a real value. Same great food and service at a great price. We go for special events and just when we want a good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite Santa Fe restaurant ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

This is our favorite Santa Fe restaurant. Food is always good, service is good. Love this place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Santa Fe and convenient...I live down the street.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

Dined on March 11, 2016

Always a pleasure to enjoy a meal at D-4-2. Food is excellent, the wine list is great, and the service is impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a recommendation to eat here from ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

We had a recommendation to eat here from my co-worker who had a great experience here. We decided to try it out - and were not disappointed. Parking is a bit tough - but it is Santa Fe so it's to be expected. We arrived early at D42 but the host simply asked for a moment to make sure a table is ready and we were seated almost immediately. We were given a full overview of the menu (Sunday they have a discounted 3 course special which I took full advantage of and it was delicious). Our waitress came back a few times since we were very indecisive, 2 x 3 course choices, but she was amazingly polite and attentive checking in for more questions or to see if we were ready to order. They have a very entertaining Caesar salad for 2 made table side and dessert had a cherries jubilee flambé table side as well. I had the French onion soup - pretty classic but done well, the ribeye in bbq sauce for my entree and was pleasantly surprised - very nicely cooked and seasoned and with the bbq sauce I would never have tried otherwise. My girlfriend has the crab cakes which came with an aioli cream sauces and seaweed salad - again an interesting pairing but it worked well. The crab cakes were a bit dry but with more sauce and the salad it was still good (and not fishy which is a big plus for my girl). She had the fried chicken and bacon gravy which was very crispy and very moist which is difficult to do well. The atmosphere was very nice - they had a gentlemen playing light strings on a guitar and because it is a smaller place we ended up having people ask what others were eating and sharing ideas for dessert which we don't mind at all. The dessert she had was something I won't try to butcher spelling but was a cross between a chocolate creme brûlée and custard with vanilla cream on the side. I think what made the meal was our waitress. She was so pleasant the entire time - not just with us but with everyone. We will definitely be back. Thank you for an awesome experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food for both carnivores and herbivores!

Dined on February 29, 2016

The food is really wonderful here as is the service and atmosphere. The tableside service with the cherries jubilee and the Cesar salad and the ingredient quality sets them apart from the typical Santa Fe restaurant especially for those special occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had an amazing anniversary dinner. The food and service were wonderful even while they were very busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken was excellent. Everyth ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The fried chicken was excellent. Everything I have had here is fantastic.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my first time I've eaten here - i ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

It was my first time I've eaten here - it won't be my last.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Extremely noisy and cramped

Dined on February 26, 2016

We were put into a small back room next to a table of 15. Instead of a nice "dinner for two" we couldn't even have a conversation. I can't blame the table for having a good time but the restaurant shouldn't have tried to squeeze such a large party into a room with other diners. Either give them the room to themselves or don't take such a large reservation. Even though the food was good the evening was ruined because of the noise and cramped table. The waitress and wait staff could barely fit around the tables to serve.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way

Dined on February 26, 2016

This evening truly felt personal, from the warm greeting to the quiet table where my friend and I were able to catch up with one another. We were not rushed at all, even though it was a busy evening there. We both felt very welcome throughout the night. And the food--so fresh and flavorful! These are dishes to be savored, not merely consumed. The steaks were tender and beautifully grilled, with the accompanying vegetables lightly seasoned to enhance their flavor. Desserts were light and not at all sugary; we tried the tangy lillikoi sorbet and the creamy profiteroles. I can heartily recommend Dinner for Two, and look forward to going back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous dinner. The staff wa ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Absolutely fabulous dinner. The staff was very accommodating to our needs and the food was above and beyond spectacular. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Amazing!

Dined on February 19, 2016

First tableside Caesar we have had in years...simply amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bread is homemade and it is hard not ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The bread is homemade and it is hard not to eat the full loaf and save room for the delicious dinner. The desserts are also homemade. The atmosphere is homey and all of the staff works hard to pamper you. The wine list is good, so we go back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our Santa Fe favorites

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great Ceasar salad and that's just the start. One of the few restaurants that serve a great chateau briand.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.