About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: (505) 820-2075

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Cozy (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Live Music (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went with friends for 2 of our birthd ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

We went with friends for 2 of our birthdays. Had a great meal, very congenial, staff entered easily into our extended conversations, as did the people at the next table, also celebrating. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic; and the wine was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was fantastic; and the wine was very good as well as a bargain at $25/bottle.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

WOW! Best ever! Everything about the r ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

WOW! Best ever! Everything about the restaurant was outstanding. The hostess and waiters were all so very kind greeting us as we were the most important people in the restaurant. The ambiance reflected a cozy old home with beautiful place setting and comfy chairs.

I ordered the shrimp appetizer that was delicious with the maple sauce. My entree was to die for, Trout stuffed with crab. I honestly have never had trout so moist and flaky. The crab added to the flavor. My husband ordered veal Marsala. the veal melted in his mouth and the Marsala sauce enhanced the flavor.

We had a bottle of wine from Spain that was really good for the money. To top it off we had two deserts, one was a slice of key lime pie, ( wish I could have had the whole pie), the other was a slice of apple pie ala'mode. We will absolutely be back. Best place to eat in Santa Fe for the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved at the last minute so we cou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

We reserved at the last minute so we could have dinner before a concert. The food was very good as usual, and the service excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My partner and I have driven by this res ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

My partner and I have driven by this restaurant several times and have mentioned that we should visit. We took Valentines Day (actually the day after) as our chance to find out. Although the name seems to suggest something different, there were several parties of different sizes throughout the restaurant. I felt a little uncomfortable because it felt we could overhear -- and could be overheard by nearby parties. The decor is probably the worst thing about the restaurant. It seems to want to be dark, warm and cozy -- like the Santa Fe version of a Chicago steak house or something. But, it's all a bit worn and tired.

On the other hand, the service was knowledgable and friendly. The couple next to use ordered the table side Cesar Salad -- which was entertaining to eavesdrop on. The fried stuff chicken was DELICIOUS! As was the onion soup. As was the dessert. As was all the food. It's nice to have a delicious restaurant in SF that isn't entirely New Mexican cuisine.

Overall, we really enjoyed it. I would just recommend some music playing over the conversation for a greater feeling or privacy. And, maybe a fresh coat of paint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food, good wine, great service and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, good wine, great service and pleasant atmosphere, couldn't have more pleased with the experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for Valentine's Day a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I went for Valentine's Day and made reservations so we would not be waiting to get in.

It was nice, there was music and great food. The only problems I had with the place was we ordered our entry and our appetizer at the same time and we got the appetizer right away, but had to wait over an hour for our entry.Also the tables where like two feet apart so we where bumping elbows with the people behind us , who by the way got the exact same meal that we ordered in something like fifteen minutes after they came in the door.

For the amount of money we spent I expected better service from the wait staff.

It's a great place to go at least once but set lots of time aside on holidays.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Once again Dinner for Two served a great ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Once again Dinner for Two served a great meal with a wonderful waitor!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Would l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Would like to have more space between tables. We were easily hearing the conversation of couples two tables away, which I found to be annoying after awhile. It was also difficult for the servers and guests to maneuver when carts were brought out for preparation at the tables.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at Dinner for T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our second time at Dinner for Two and it didn't disappoint. The food was superb, the wine excellent and paired nicely with our entree. The live music played softly in the background. There was a group of 25 but we did not feel neglected at all. We will make this a must stop whenever we visit Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for prime rib night. Meat was tough ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for prime rib night. Meat was tough and over cooked.

Service was great. Would not go back for the prime rib.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Gets better every time we go. One of our ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Gets better every time we go. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the staff are fabulous as is the food a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

the staff are fabulous as is the food and facility

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great dining experience. Its ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was a great dining experience. Its apparent they put a lot of attention to detail both in the environment as well as the food. Lovely restaurant, causal but elegant, soothing colors, wood, and nice art. We had the Sunday special which was a very good value. The food was great. I think all the entrees there are good. Next time I hope to try the table side Caesar salad - it looked yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome, as always. We always love Vern ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Awesome, as always. We always love Vernon's classical Spanish guitar playing. The food is delicious and plentiful. We had to most attentive and professional waiter and was delighted to find out he is from Mozambique. We will be back !

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, People Watching, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate dinner. Food and service was a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Intimate dinner. Food and service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local guitarist softly strummed mesmeriz ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Local guitarist softly strummed mesmerizing chords in the background (Friday and Saturday night) , friendly upbeat staff attending to our every need, good food start to finish. A bit pricey $140 for a shared Caesar salad, two entrees (7 ounce filet for her, excellently cooked, and a fish sampler for him just fine) a half bottle of a not too expensive wine (her favorite) and a shared key lime pie. But hey it's 2017. The ambiance is remarkable: dark wood panels, flat greys with interesting art on the walls. Perfect for a couple, as the name suggests, but a fairly well behaved group of 7-8 enjoyed one of the side room tables just fine. Not a perfect fit for a rowdy group or hyperactive children but nobody will mind. Casual like everything in Santa Fe. The long and narrow design lends itself to intimate conversation. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I took our visiting son o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I took our visiting son out for a special dinner. From the moment we entered the restaurant we felt were in the perfect setting-unpretentious, warm, quiet, and customer-friendly. The food was wonderful, beautifully prepared, and the pie was outstanding! An evening we will remember and treasure, thanks to the dedicated staff at Dinner for Two.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 4th visit to Dinner For Two ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our 4th visit to Dinner For Two and we plan on coming back in April with guests from out of state. The table side Caesar was perfect, my boyfriend's fish was excellent and my filet was so tender and flavorful, just an amazing dinner. Every time we have visited the restaurant our service has been outstanding. I can hardly wait until April!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for Two was excellent, as always! ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dinner for Two was excellent, as always! We recommend it anyone who asks "what is your favorite restaurant".

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go for the tableside Caesar salad and th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Go for the tableside Caesar salad and the veal entrees. Stay for the desserts. Quiet, intimate rooms with nobody rushing you to finish and leave.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great selection of finely crafted, well- ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great selection of finely crafted, well-imagined food. A soft guitar set a relaxing mood. Attentive but not intrusive service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, vibe, quiet, romamtic ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, vibe, quiet, romamtic and excellent food menu.

The chef and staff are great, happy and welcoming people. My wife and I had the best dinner night ever.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our recent experience at Dinner for Two ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our recent experience at Dinner for Two was most enjoyable. Our sever was subtly attentive and helpful. The food was creative and delicious. We each had a fall salad, and one of us had the mahi special while the other had the frenched chicken entree. Both were just right. The chocolate fudge cake with espresso ice cream was the perfect ending to a memorable meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, , Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. We had dinner ther ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always. We had dinner there New Year's Eve with out of town family, and there prix fixe dinner was outstanding. The desserts were truly exceptional, and I had at least a taste of every one they offered!

Tags: , Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so well received and treated at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were so well received and treated at "Dinner for Two." There is no question why this restaurant wins awards. Chef Andy has the knack! Just across the road from the Santa Fe Hilton in an "interesting looking" building, the inside is warm, friendly, well appointed and beautifully served. Food and wines are outstanding. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday Prime Rib special. The best!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thursday Prime Rib special. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy rico, ambiente frances. Muy caro.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Muy rico, ambiente frances. Muy caro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice way to celebrate Christmas dinner. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nice way to celebrate Christmas dinner. Food was very good. Service was attentive until dessert was served. Then server disappeared for a lengthy period. Entrance area seemed like a diner, but dining room was warm & inviting. Overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our recent traditions has been ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

One of our recent traditions has been having a delicious dinner on Christmas Day. This year did not disappoint. This is one of our favorite places in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for Christmas Day fix Prix ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were there for Christmas Day fix Prix. Everything was wonderful but our table that was off to the side was a little less wonderful. We would love to enjoy the restaurant again and would specify the main dining room seating as our preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Christmas dinner at 5:00. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner at 5:00. The restaurant is dark and intimate and has an authentic Pueblo interior. The servers were very polite and polished and efficient. The food was superb and reasonable for the price considering it was a holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We panicked when we realized our origina ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We panicked when we realized our original pick for Christmas dinner put up a holiday prix fix menu that had nothing we shellfish allergics could eat. Promptly found a spot at Dinner for 2 and we were thrilled. There is a mysterious element of how it looks from the outside and its location..almost like a speakeasy...but inside things couldn't be warmer or friendlier. There's a distinct French flavor to the menu, an impressive wine list and scrumptious desserts. The food was delicious and the menu satisfies all tastes and food lifestyles (there were three veal dishes, should you go there, and that was on Christmas Day). As one local we met at breakfast said, "It has a silly name, but the food is great." Concur.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had their prix fixe Christmas dinner. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had their prix fixe Christmas dinner. They had a variety to pick from each course which was great. The trout with crab stuffing and lamb as the main entrees were outstanding!

From the moment the hostess welcomed us to the moment they bid us farewell- their service was exceptional.

We will definitely be returning to Table for Two on a future trip,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

meal for the most part superb.... with e ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

meal for the most part superb.... with exception of lamb, ordered medium but served bloody raw. Should have sent it back, but didn't...our fault. A little pricy, even for Xmas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We live in Sedona, and spent Christmas i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We live in Sedona, and spent Christmas in Santa Fe. We ate at many wonderful restaurants, but Table for Two was a perfect way to have dinner on Christmas day. We appreciated them being open on Christmas, as well! Our server was genuine and knowledgeable. The food was fabulous. Took two loaves of Christmas bread home with us...one is already gone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prefix Christmas dinner very good and se ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Prefix Christmas dinner very good and service was excellent! We don't eat desert so price was a little expensive but it was Christmas so didn't care.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant. The veal piccata ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant. The veal piccata was perfect. We were celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary and could not have been happier with the setting, the food, and the service. Be certain to have the apple pie with hard sauce for dessert.

The restaurant is in one of the old, nondescript buildings common throughout Santa Fe. You wouldn't give it a second glance anywhere other than when in Santa Fe. Inside, it is quite elegant with top-grade linens and tableware. The layout is something like a rabbit warren, again due to the nature of the building, which makes it all the more fun.

Our only complaint is that at the time of our visit it was a prix fixe menu and not a la carte. This was acceptable as it was Christmas Eve. However, I would have liked to have known this at the time of making the reservation.

We will be certain to recommend this restaurant to our friends and to return when again in Santa Fe.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was prepared very well. Grass ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was prepared very well. Grass fed tenderloin was very tender. From the outside the building looks like a dive but the interior is attractive and cozy. We were a bit disappointed that we had to order from the special holiday menu rather than the regular menu. Holiday menu was a bit overpriced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were celebrating a Christmas Eve birt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were celebrating a Christmas Eve birthday. Only a special set menu was offered that evening. The food was very good, a little expensive. No cocktails were available, and coffee was limited to a regular and decaf house brew. No espresso to finish off a nice meal.

Service and ambience were good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.