About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: 5058202075x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Live Music (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Over the top awesome as always. We come ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Over the top awesome as always. We come 2 -3 times a year for special occasions and have never been disappointed. Knowledgeable and courteous staff. Owners are welcoming and out there working. The bread alone is worth the drive. Ha!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance, service and food were out ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance, service and food were out of this world. Best dinner ever. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome hospitality from the Time we arr ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Awesome hospitality from the Time we arrive till the time we left! All good can hardly wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Dinner for T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our first visit to Dinner for Two and the food and service were absolutely wonderful--we will definitely go back on our next trip to Santa Fe!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had read that the service was poor bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had read that the service was poor but were still surprised at how bad it was. We had to remind the hostess that we were waiting for our reservation as she seated several parties who arrived after us. We had made reservations two weeks in advance for Thanksgiving dinner and had to sit at a card table in the middle of the flow of traffic with diners and servers squeezing past us on both sides. Mid-meal we were moved to a different table, which was nice, but our entrees cooled off in the process. There was one female server taking up slack for what many of the other servers, including ours, neglected, such as providing clean silverware, clearing plates, etc. (Common sense/rule of thumb: when (as a server) you are walking by a table empty-handed- even if it isn't your table - and you see empty plates, clear them!! It's just good form and is definitely noticed and appreciated by the diner)

The ingredients seemed to be fresh and of good quality; however, execution was inconsistent and disappointing. In particular, if you like crab in your crab cakes, don't bother with these. If you want your steak cooked to medium, order it rare. Other diners sent their entrees back for other menu choices. And if it's an expensive prix fixe menu, don't charge $5 for a cup of tea, especially after such a disappointing dining experience.

There are so many restaurants in Santa Fe. Skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We went on Thanksgiving day. When I rev ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went on Thanksgiving day. When I reviewed the menu during the reservation process, there was no indication that only a fixed price menu would be available due to the holiday. I thought I would be able to order off the regular menu.

Service was poor. We both asked for water without ice. (Not honored). I ordered a glass of wine, but it did not come before the food, so I had to hail someone after the food appeared. We ordered a side dish which was never served but included on the bill. A roving person took it off the bill with a matter-of-fact apology. Our server pretty much did not serve us. We hardly saw her.

My medium-rare filet minon was on the medium side. My parter's marsala seemed like a gravy train. There was no "grilled brussel sprouts" on the salad as stated on the menu but instead topped with "grocery-store-deli-style broccoli or cauliflower."

Not worth $160 for two with just one glass of wine. Filling though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Clearly this restaurant was not prepared ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Clearly this restaurant was not prepared to host Thanksgiving dinner. The owner was the sole host, and after waiting 15 minutes to be greeted, along with 8 others waiting, we were sat well past our reservation. The table of four in front of us was scolded for arriving without a reservation (not starting out good here).The service was terrible, when we finally ordered another 20 minutes later. They ran out of their "recommended" wine, and then the second choice bottle arrived after the appetizers. Entrees were slow to arrive, and my turkey was literally cold. They smoked the turkeys the day before, and it was extremely dry and was over smoked and just tasted of burnt mesquite. My glass of red for dinner also arrived late, after I was half way complete. Dessert was also not great and we didn't even finish. They don't buss the tables quickly, and leave you with a mess throughout the meal. No surprise the walls were filthy with dust and cobwebs. Several other tables were complaining as well. To bad- I think it's a kiss of death for a restaurant to screw up a holiday meal.

I was really surprised based on all of the good reviews and recommendations. I will, and would if I were you, steer clear of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Used to be good but much deteriorated. O ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Used to be good but much deteriorated. Ordered a bottle of wine before dinner. Never came. Couldn't find the waiter. The busboy brought appetizers -- still no wine. We ate the appetizers. Waiter finally appeared and had forgotten the wine order. The wine was out of stock (although a featured special on the menu. We ordered glasses of wine rather than a bottle as the meal was half over. The waiter promised to comp the wine. He didn't. Food was not awful but overpriced and mediocre. Santa Fe has a score of Mexican greasy spoons that are better than this pretentious, overpriced leftover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We decided to do Thanksgiving at Dinner ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We decided to do Thanksgiving at Dinner for Two. It was an excellent choice. Our waitress was wonderful. The trout and stuffed crab was amazing! Definitely coming back when we are in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We felt that our meal was over priced. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We felt that our meal was over priced. The food was good, but not worth what it cost. Our meal for 2was $165 and the service was less than we expect for that kind of meal. We won't be back for holiday meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I love this restaurant. It was the perf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I love this restaurant. It was the perfect option for a Thanksgiving dinner outside of the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Best Thanksgiving Dinner at a restaurant ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best Thanksgiving Dinner at a restaurant in many years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Both the food and service were excellent ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Both the food and service were excellent, which we have come to expect after many visits. The atmosphere is warm and cozy, especially on a fall or winter evening.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my husbands 70th Birthday was Nov. 16. F ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 17, 2016

my husbands 70th Birthday was Nov. 16. Four of us had reservations for 6:30. Two of us had the Caesar Salad prepared table side. My husband had the prime rib steak, I had the frenched chicken breast, friend had the coque au van 3 course special ( mushroom soup and key lime pie) and last person had the Caesar salad as her meal.

All was delicious, EXCEPT For the Caesar salad...which was quite surprising since our server told us that it was really a house specialty! You could hardly find any anchovies ( two small pieces per person that was mashed in the wooden bowl) Hardly any Parmesan cheese, we got the tail end of a piece of cheese ...we asked for additional cheese after she took the whole tray and bowl away.... very tasteless. I would suggest adding anchovie paste so there is some flavor.... also needed more fresh lemon. Service was ok... a table of six people who arrived well after we did received all of their food a good 10 minutes before we did...... we could not figure that out!

All other food was very good.

I would recommend Dinner for 2 but tell them to skip the Caesar Salad....it is not worth $9 per person

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had an excellent experience. The food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had an excellent experience. The food was delicious and the service was at a high level. I really enjoyed their Tobacco infused Bourbon cocktail. We will be back as well as recommending to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exterior is deceiving at night. Got a l ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Exterior is deceiving at night. Got a little concerned walking up to it but once inside feeling was cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice, quiet restaurant just off the plaz ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Nice, quiet restaurant just off the plaza. They had a nice wine list and plenty of local beers as well. The Thursday prime rib special was delicious and was a great value for what was served versus the price. Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistency and quality of food and serv ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Consistency and quality of food and service make this a favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What I will always remember is the 10 mi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

What I will always remember is the 10 minute wait for the hostess to seat us for our reservation. She said just a minute please and came back three times before finally asking for our reservation. She asked us to wait again while she had our table made. Needless to say that the front of the house needs lots of improvement.

The meal was very good. A real value on Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We were recommended by our hotel ( Hilto ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were recommended by our hotel ( Hilton garden inn on plaza) We were told it was $19.95 for Sunday 3 course dinner. When we got there it was 24.95. We were ok with that. Our waiter was not attentive to us. We ask for our dessert to go. I ask for plastic ware cause we were in hotel. He said he didnt think they had. We waited for him to come back back. Never did; Im asuming the owner came back gave us bag and plastic ware. Told her food was excellent service was poor.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The only minor issue was the overly frie ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The only minor issue was the overly friendly condition (continuous touching) demonstrated by a female wait person made the experience a tad uncomfortable and the pellet stove was very noisy. Another minor issue was the lack of ample lighting could have been a tad brighter. It would be a plus if making reservations online would show table location availability. Would have liked the street window view. The food was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been wanting to try Dinner For Two ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We've been wanting to try Dinner For Two for years. We finally made it there and had a wonderful evening. The menu is nicely varied and seasonal, the service was very attentive but not smothering and our meals were delicious!

We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We dined at Dinner for Two because we we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We dined at Dinner for Two because we were in the mood for prime rib. We started with a merlot from Washington state. This is also a bakery and they brought out the most delicious homemade onion and rye bread to start. (I wish I had the recipe). Our prime ribs were tender and juicy and cooked medium rare as we had ordered. We couldn't resist ordering one Apple pie a la mode to cap off the meal. Service was good, surroundings were very nice, and we would go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my favorite restaurant to go to ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant to go to when visiting Santa Fe. Love the. bread

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed, love the romantic at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Never disappointed, love the romantic atmosphere and the food is fresh and delicious every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not great. There were onions in al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food not great. There were onions in almost everything, I'm allergic to onions. Onions could not be left off because all the food was prepared earlier in the day with onions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

The Caesar salad side service is outstan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Caesar salad side service is outstanding, as is the truffle oyster mushroom soup!

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hi, Four of us went to D42 for dinner th ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Hi, Four of us went to D42 for dinner this past Sunday evening. We ordered a table side caesar salad. The romaine was wilted, the anchovies were really fishy smelling and the garlic cloves they used were out of a jar and stale as they had no taste.

We ordered a bottle of wine and it was very good, we tried to order a second bottle and waited for more than 30 minutes and finally I flagged down the waiter and he said they had no more of that wine in stock. He recommended a different label for about twice the price and would not give us the lower price!

One of the 4 entrees was sold out. However we waited another 30 minutes or so before the waiter told us that. So we ordered a different entree - and waited another 30 minutes for them to arrive. Two of the entrees were horrible.

The water glasses were not refilled. Again I had to wave down the waiter to get some water.

We then ordered desserts. They were very good except one of the desserts had a broken piece of glass in it which wasn't detected until placed in the mouth. My friend had small cuts on her lip and tongue. I then tracked down the owner and told her what happened. She must get a lot of diners complaining about broken glass in their food as she wasn't shocked or surprised and said she was sorry.

The owner delivered the check and said that all we had to pay for was the second bottle of wine. Guess what I said.

To be fair, we've been to the restaurant several times in the past and were pleased. But this time we had terrible service, lousy food, bait and switch menu items and almost had to make a trip to the emergency room.

Never again D42!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Dinner for Two always has great food, an ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Dinner for Two always has great food, and the Sunday evening meal is exceptional with an value. The full meal for a set price is the best deal in Santa Fe. Plus they have a birthday program that sends a certificate to you for your birthday, that gives you a $20 credit on your check when you dine within your birthday month. Oh, and the wine list is great and you really can't go wrong with any wine by the glass! We ear at Dinner for Two EVERY time we visit Santa Fe!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall dinner was good. Pumpkin pie wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Overall dinner was good. Pumpkin pie was great. Atmosphere was cozy and romantic.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Live Music, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was well prepared and delicious; se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was well prepared and delicious; service was friendly, attentive and efficient. A very pleasant experience...baked goods were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is always wonderful. Also enjoy ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food is always wonderful. Also enjoyed the Happy Hour specials before dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our young waiter was overly energetic, a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our young waiter was overly energetic, and talked too loud. The music was inappropriate for fine dining, too loud and fast...not conducive for a relaxing dinner and conversation. I had to ask them to change it. Their tableside Caesar salad was all right, except the lettuce was slightly wilted, and not cut carefully. Not a good value for $9.00 a person. I expected more from their hype. Mushrooms in phyllo was very good . Hushpuppy appetizer was soggy in the center. Overall...an average meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We took two friends from Denver, at 5pm ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We took two friends from Denver, at 5pm when DF2 is less crowded. They loved it. We started with a smooth Spanish wine. Then we enjoyed delicious Caesar salads made at our tableside. Next, one of us had the ribeye, one the veal, one the seafood sampler and one a chicken dish. Everything was served graciously and tasted wonderful. We ended with apple pie as good as Mom makes...the crust was perfect and flaky. We are eager to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! It topped our expectations. I ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Fabulous! It topped our expectations. I wish it was closer. To Omaha, NE.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our visit to Dinner for Two. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Dinner for Two. The menu was varied and interesting . The Sunday offerings were delicious! We will visit again soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place,great food and service!we'll ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great place,great food and service!we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Dinner for T ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our second trip to Dinner for Two. We had enjoyed the Sunday prix fixe dinner on a previous visit to Santa Fe. Our latest dinner was a great experience as well. It is not quite the value of Sunday night, but compares favorably in food and price with fine dining restaurants in Santa Fe. From the wonderful heirloom tomato caprese salad which we split ,to the excellent grouper special, the food was fabulous. Since this was our last evening in Santa Fe we splurged with the Bananas Foster. Dinner for Two is a great find in the Santa Fe dining scene. The restaurant was quite close to our accommodations, so we were able to walk; helpful as parking is limited.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was really very good and very r ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was really very good and very reasonably priced. We can be extremely critical of restaurants, food and service, and will definitely return when we are in town. The server that we had could use some training and be more attentive. Otherwise terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

excellent place to have dinner. my wife ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

excellent place to have dinner. my wife has a guide dog and they were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.