Dinner for Two

4.1
1483 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. We specialise in Prime cuts of beef filet mignon ribeye New York strip and tableside presentations like Caesar salad and Chateaubriand local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Fish, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 820-2075
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andy Barnes
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
W San Francisco St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1483 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Once again, amazing....
We have eaten here several times. The restaurant closed for a while to do some renovations. We are so glad it re-opened and with the same , consistent, exceptional cuisine and service. We love this restaurant. We have brought people here to celebrate their retirement, our birthdays, and just a romantic date for a couple who has been married over 40 years. We love the food, the service, the energy that goes into making it a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Have been going to DFT for many years and was happy when it recently reopened with a bit more room and new flooring and a 'full bar'. Reserved seating was a bit slow but water arrived quickly, white wine was brought warm and remained in a table top cooler with ice and water to chill - but was good although only lightly chilled after sitting there for 10 minutes. Our veal order was placed for 'picatta' but arrived as 'marsala' - we had been wanting to try the 'marsala' so didn't return it and found it very good. Starter was coconut shrimp - very good. All in all an 'o.k.' dinner but with many new wait staff we believe it will even out in time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service. We had a wonderful time for our anniversary dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Revamped room much more open and inviting. Menu the same great quality as before. I hope Andy can add some new items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Love this place!awesome! Great steak awesome cocktails! Beautiful interior!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant recently reopened after a remodel to the interior. The restaurant is now more open and inviting. The truffle oyster mushroom soup is rich and delicious. The filet mignon was cooked to order and tasted wonderful. The Sunday dinner option offers many entrees choices for a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

It was great as usual! Love the renovations!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Dinner for Two has long been one of our favorites. With their recent remodel it feels more open and updated. The food remains top notch and Chef Andy Barnes has some new additions to his menu. Our server, Miriam, was excellent! She was attentive and professional and saw to our every need.
We’re so glad Dinner for Two is back and better than ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We have been going to Dinner for Two since reading a favorable newspaper review several years ago. The food is excellent. (They make one of the best mushroom soups you will ever have.) Good wine list, friendly staff, sinful desserts. This is our top choice for birthday celebrations and special events but we often go on Sundays for their specially priced menu. We recommend Dinner for Two to people all the time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. Their Sunday Dinner special, a 3 course meal for $24.95, is an incredible deal. The food is outstanding. I've never been disappointed. Lost count of the number of times I've dined there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food, service, and ambiance please don’t tell anyone else!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was great. Service was non existent. We had to ask for bread, our water and drink glasses sat empty and I had to find someone to bring the check-twice. It was a 2 hour and 45 minute ordeal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We went because they were having their annual soft shelled crab special. The waiter was great and was able to set aside two orders as soon as we sat down. Service was excellent. Soft shelled crab dinner was very tasty with some sort of fritters on the side that were amazing. I like this place - we have been here consistently over the years and will keep going back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The menu for this restaurant has been modernized, but the new dishes are not as good as the original. The restaurant was crowded on a Saturday night but it took an hour to get our salad. Still had my salad plate on the table 1/2 hour later when the dinners arrived. I had trout stuffed with crabmeat which was not so good and my husband's chile stuffed chicken was intense. My friend's steak looked like a better choice. Hopefully other choices were also better than ours. Definitely disappointed!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Usually love Dinner for Two. Cesar salad was tasteless, service was terrible, food had to be sent back, overall, very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Saturday night and they were very busy. Service was poor. Waiter unfriendly. Meat over cooked. Soft shell were over whelmed by spicy sides.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was excellent. however, service was schizoid: staff who were initially attentive disappeared, forgot items ordered, didn't come back to check whether there were other things we needed, etc. The table next to us waited for nearly half an hour for a flambe dish (a house specialty) because, supposedly, there were only two pans for that showy dish, and a larger party was getting both of them. Our waiter, asked if we'd like a dessert menu, in the normal way, but then threw it down on our table and left. Perhaps something was going on backstage or in personal lives, but at the price, I doubt we'll go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We have been there several times.Food is always great,unfortunately service has been better.water and wine glass sat empty and was never offered a refill.We were heading up front before our bill came..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Birthday. First time on a Wednesday. Good food as usual but maybe not quite as good as usual. Service was a little off. Might have been because I only saw two covering it all. Waitress Didn’t seem real happy but was steady.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

We eat out a great deal, especially when on holiday. Mostly eating out is a trying experience because of noise, crowding, and a meal that often delivers less, sometimes far less, than the food described. Dinner for Two is an amazing exception. There was nothing, other than the sort of loud conversation among fellow diners, that I would have changed. And the loudish conversation was simply people enjoying their meals, not intrusive music, not quarelling children, not banging plates. In short, the experience was wonderful. We will definitely return. The food and service were spotless; portions were generous; response from wait staff was immediate; the ambiance was pleasant (especially with the classical guitar music); and the restaurant was clean from top to bottom. The only impediment was parking, but this is endemic to Santa Fe and not really anything to do with the restaurant. In short, we loved it. We heard they are undergoing renovations soon. Please, please don't change anything except the decor! And do that tastefully, please.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

They have a prix fixe menu for Sunday dinner. Mushroom soup and trout dish were amazing. Homemade pies to choose from for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The Sunday special menu was awesome! They have a preset menu on Sundays, that includes soup, entree, and dessert. The veal Marsala was great. They bake their own bread which is delicious. The restaurant is quiet and our server was delightful. We also enjoyed the live music, nice dinner atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The Caesar salad is a must. Level 3 if you like anchovy and garlic taste! Also, the bananas foster is to die for!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our meal was wonderful, ambience was great, food was a tad pricey but the filet mignon was worth it. Service was just average --- our server was not super attentive. Very nice place though overall. We would come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

This is a regular spot for us for many reasons. That being said, their table side Caesar salad is great, just be sure to ask for Chris if you are ordering it - he makes it better than anyone.
Service is good, just not great. We had 2 bottles of wine - 1 sparkling and 1 still and after the initial pour, ended up pouring our own. Not that we mind in a casual restaurant, but D42 doesn't really feel casual. This is a local, family owned and operated restaurant and the Sunday dinner deal is the best in town. Definitely check them out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Outstanding dinner -- food and wine were excellent -- service was very good! Value is outstanding - will be going back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We went for restaurant week and they were only serving the restaurant week menu so you would think the service and food would be great. The veal piñata was still raw and the steak was under cooked, we sent it back and they were both still not cooked properly. Will not return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We went for Restaurant Week and enjoyed our experience. We've been here many times and will continue to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Had a great time. Parking not the greatest. Will be back though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The appetizers and dessert were great. Servers were kind and the food was fast. The food itself wasn't what we expected it would be. The chicken was bland and the green Chile looked like frozen Chile. The gravy was tasty. All in all we gave it a 5 to 6 out of 10.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Food delicious, room temperature cold. Did express with no regard. We ended up wearing jacket

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Everything was great until we found a hair in our bread. As in the hair was baked into the loaf of bread we were eating. The server didn’t so much as apologize for this unsanitary episode. We understand things happen but, it should at least be acknowledged.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food was good had the fried chicken but the biscuit was baked differently from what I was used too. But still quite good, exceptional service and staff wonderful. Went during New Mexico Restaraunt week. Good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We went for Restaurant Week and thoroughly enjoyed our meals—there were six of us and we all enjoyed our meals. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We are locals and find this among our favorites in town. Not only is their Caesar salad amazing, but it is also prepared table side. So is their Chateaubriand and Banana Foster. They are all superb. I really love their mushroom soup too and order it every time it’s featured. The people there treat you well and we always leave having had a good experience. Oh and check out the homemade pies that the owner makes himself. You won’t be disappointed. Our last visit was during Restaurant Week. It was such a good value with great choices for a fixed price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We had a great dinner with friends during Santa Fe Restaurant week. Our table was a little delayed being set up so we had a wait - but they served us a glass of free champagne while waiting! Yea! Our meal was excellent even though the place was packed due to the amount of people for restaurant week. The staff was a little frazzled, but pulled off a great evening. Very friendly owners. We will go back! One of favs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

A lovely menu with variety of texture, color and flavors.A lovely dining experience with attentive wait-staff and talented support staff. A nice dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Our dinner was lovely. The fried Chicken was to die for. The Fennel Orange bread was homemade and incredible as well as the boursin biscuit served with the chicken. As we spoke to other diners we learned that is owned by a mother/father and son. Everyone we spoke to had been coming there for years. They have a loyal following which makes me think that the quality does not change.
It was an all round great evening. We may start becoming regulars ourselves. I highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

The setting and lighting is very well done and the service was good, I like the team service it reminds me of how good service used to be in nice places. The food was well presented and nice and warm, however the dish I had was very bland, no flavor hardly at all, the Marsala sauce was very thin and barley an taste, the veal was think and not browned at all. Not a real veal Marsala by any means, the mashed potatoes were brown and the vegetables overcooked for my liking, my day would of enjoyed then that soft. My partners meal was better, the trout was cooked well and tasted good but they could pull the skin and add a sauce to make it really good. The wine list was good and the pours were very good, I would try it again because much of the experience was enjoyable and we had a great table, and the bananas fosters looked wonderful even though we did not have any.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Perfect pre-theatre meal with exceptional service. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38