About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: 5058202075x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
1 More
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Romantic (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (14)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Sunday, three-course meal was delici ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Sunday, three-course meal was delicious and a great deal at $19.95. We had terrific choices for each of the three courses (appetizer, entree and dessert). Service was good, despite the crush of early-evening diners. The owners were attentive and justifiably proud of the output of the kitchen, overseen by their son. The modest exterior belies the lovely -even romantic - interior. The classical guitarist was a nice addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Dinne ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our second time dining at Dinner For Two and we enjoyed it as much as before. The Frenched Chicken that I had and the lamb that I had were outstanding. As was the tuna that my daughter had, but the scallops that came with it were the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This restaurant was one of our favorites ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This restaurant was one of our favorites for a number of years. On this visit, we were disappointed. The lamb two of us ordered medium rare came more than well done and the meat was so tough as to be unchewable. The fish I had was dry and overcooked.

Perhaps the kitchen was overwhelmed by the large number of multiple diners this evening, or the restaurant has a new Chef?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

If you're looking for quiet, I suggest g ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

If you're looking for quiet, I suggest going either early or late hours of service. The noise level at the height of popular eating time makes hearing almost impossible.

The food is tasty and well prepared, however, I think I would get better value from a couple of plates of tapas rather than one entree.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Knowledgeable wait staff. Excellent meal ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Knowledgeable wait staff. Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most tender veal..but lacked Marsala fla ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Most tender veal..but lacked Marsala flavor. SMoked Prime Rib..not a flavor I looked.

Main course came too fast..still eating appetizer .not a Wine spectator lost..weak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My advice is to avoid going on Sundays, ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My advice is to avoid going on Sundays, at least other than very early. Dinner for Two has a 3 course menu (soup, entree, dessert) for $20. This attracts people who don't come on other days. We came after a 6 p.m. chamber music concert. Our reservation was for 8--available on Open Table. We had to wait 20 minutes before being seated. Then we had to wait for our waiter to show up at our table for another 15. And then various items were not available. We were seated at the back and near a table of 8. They were older folk and not especially noisy but it did not make for a good environment. The restaurant was understaffed, part of the reason for the delay in getting seated, getting served, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

Restaurant is of great value. Food is a ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Restaurant is of great value. Food is always very good. We had a new waiter. He was friendly but needs more seasoning. But overall, very good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We did not stay to eat. When researching ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We did not stay to eat. When researching the restaurant on line it had a good menu, including two fresh fish choices nightly. There was no mention that on Sundays it was a Prix Fix menu with little flexibility in the choices. My wife who has several food sensitivities was unable to get food prepared other than as specified in the Prix Fix menu. When we asked the waiter for the reason he shared that being that they are closed Monday and Tuesday they have the Prix Fix on Sunday to clear out the items from the week. That was enough to get us to get up and walk out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food and superb service. Highl ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. Highly recommend and Sunday is the best deal in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was a little slow this time, although this is not usually a problem. There was also some miscues on the service. Seems like our waiter kept apologizing for something. This will not discourage us however, as we love this place and food and desserts are really delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed celebrating our annivers ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have enjoyed celebrating our anniversary here several times, and this visit was no exception. The food and service are outstanding; our filet and lamb chops were prepared to

perfection, and the Caesar salad prepared tableside was, as always, a special experience.

The refreshing cherry apricot ginger cold soup, offered as an appetizer, would have been equally lovely as a light dessert! The wine list is extensive, with a fine selection of wines by the glass - I was offered a taste of the recommended Malbec before ordering. We especially appreciate the quiet ambience of this restaurant, and the personal service which is never overbearing. One of our favorite 'special occasion' restaurants in Santa Fe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-located, very close to but out of t ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Well-located, very close to but out of the crush of the busy tourist center of town, this family-owned restaurant places a high premium on good food and good service. Their tableside preparation of Ceasar Salad and Bananas Foster is unique to them and very popular It was a satisfying special occasion dinner and there is no doubt, as residents of Santa Fe, we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting menu with mostly okay food. ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Interesting menu with mostly okay food. Tauted Cesar Salad was pretty tasteless and disappointing. The preparer did his best and the table side show was interesting. Fried Squash blossoms were all batter, little blossom. Our principal waiter seemed indifferent. When I requested my salmon rare, I noticed that he didn't write it down so I repeated it. Of course, the fish came well-done and I had to send it back. The kitchen sent a message explaining that my request had not been transmitted to them. Maybe an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We were there during a power blackout. ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were there during a power blackout. The staff were fantastic. It was very romantic. Candlelit dinner. Just about desert, the lights came back on and several patrons said "Turn em off!"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time here and Sunday ni ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our 1st time here and Sunday night does not seem to be a good time to go unless you want the dinner special, service was very harried, although polite . Unfortunately, while eating our 1st course the lights went out in the building. This meant that they weren't able to make many things that we were interested trying. We were also surprised that their wine list made it onto Wine Spectators list as it was rather limited and overpriced for what it was. Having said all of this, we agreed to give it another try off season.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It was a perfect storm for our visit her ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was a perfect storm for our visit here. It was a Sunday and they were running a special which made the place packed when we arrived. Our reservation was at 6:30 and we were not seated until 6:45. The kitchen was clearly overwhelmed. The couple across from us waited over 90 minutes for their food. We were not in a hurry but it took about 45 minutes. The waiter was trying his best and was friendly but was overwhelmed. The electricity went out towards the end of our meal. They had no contingency for those who wanted to pay by credit card. The couple across from us were so frustrated they left without paying. In spite of the service snafus, the food was excellent. The drink list was spotty with several listed beers and wines not available. While the food made up for a very disappointing visit I am sure any other night I would be writing a glowing review. Take home message, if they are running a 3 course special...skip that day and pay extra.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Even though we had a reservation a week ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Even though we had a reservation a week in advance they tried to seat us in the kitchen/bar area next to a coat rack and extra chairs....not acceptable.

The moment we were seated and haven't even looked at the menu two bowls of soup arrived by a waiter who was literally running though the restaurant.

The main course was excellent but can't say the same for the peach pie...it was all thick crust and two slices of peaches.

The guitar music was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Restaurant was at capacity for Sunday ev ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Restaurant was at capacity for Sunday evening Specials. Waiter was very poor - extremely long wait between courses, forgetting items ordered, and failed to respond to multiple requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Service was terrible waited over an hour ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was terrible waited over an hour & half for our dinner. They had no sense of service from the hostess to the waiter. Then the food was OK. We're locals & we'll never go back nor recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We are locals here in Santa Fe. Worst se ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are locals here in Santa Fe. Worst service we have ever had. The waiter was rude, adviserial and incompentent. Took 3 hours to get a salad and entree! Food was terrible! We will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Stayed at Hilton immediately across the ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Stayed at Hilton immediately across the street so we were able to elk in just a few minutes. Very nondescript from the exterior. Charming inside. Clientele appeared to be a mix of local and tourist. Andrew was our wIter and he was excellent. Best prime rib I have ever had. Great value but more importantly a fab restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place tp start a tasty Happy Hour ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place tp start a tasty Happy Hour and end with a scrumptious dinner.

Every single person was eager to assist and make you comfortable throughout the evening without rushing-despite- the fact that it was a crowded busy evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. We were visiting from out o ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place. We were visiting from out of town and this place was recommended by our hotel.

Service was great. The table side Cesear salad was fantastic, the bread was very good! Will go again our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We found this by chance on a previous vi ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We found this by chance on a previous visit to Santa Fe. Quite unusual menu items featuring local seasonal ingredients.Very memorable food. Fresh burrito with hot fresh peaches and basil. Rolled summer squash round fresh spinach with capers and a spectacular dressing, an amazing peach pie... Friendly knowledgeable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good selection on menu for dinner. It m ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good selection on menu for dinner. It must be a very good place, because by 8PM there was not an empty seat in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely evening at a table for 2 ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a lovely evening at a table for 2. Despite the evening being very busy we were well taken care of and served a memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place for dinner. Service was ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice place for dinner. Service was attentive but slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A great place to eat. One of our favori ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A great place to eat. One of our favorite destinations. Andy is a great chef😍

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Santa Fe! Alwa ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Santa Fe! Always such a treat to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table side chateaubriand and bananas fos ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Table side chateaubriand and bananas foster were wonderful and the staff attentive. The waiter automatically decanted the wine, a pleasant surprise. Great food, good value, and a relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food and service! We especia ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food and service! We especially enjoyed the Caesar salad that was prepared right at our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

'D42' was highly recommended as a new pl ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

'D42' was highly recommended as a new place to check out in Santa Fe. We were happy to get a reservation for two at the time we selected through OpenTable. Everything started out great... a good table and knowledgeable waiter, the appetizers, wine, and a little background music played by a guitar soloist. It was a start to a perfect dinner. Then the RUSH... a party of what appeared to be 40-50 people transcended on the little restaurant and into an open room right next to our table. The room got loud, and thus did the guitar player.

Seeing that the group had a fixed menu, it was a matter of time before food started rolling out to the party. We quickly placed our entree selection in hopes of beating the crowd... to no avail. Not only did it take forever to get our meal, the wait staff were all hands on deck in serving the party and literally forgot about us.

I was looking forward to the table-side Bananas Foster, as I heard it is a big hit. Too bad we'll have to wait until our next trip to check it out... or not. :(

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food keeps getting better and better ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food keeps getting better and better, and the specials are excellent. The hostess/owner remembers your names. It is one of our favorites here in SF.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the tableside Caesar salad & ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We ordered the tableside Caesar salad & tableside Chateaubriand. Both were very tasty. The staff was wonderful, very engaging, yet not intrusive. We had planned on Bananas Foster, but were too full!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Last time to go to Dinner for Two. Again ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Last time to go to Dinner for Two. Again, service was not good. Food was just not very tasty and not presented very well on the plate. Had to leave the table and find the waiter to request our ticket. This has happened several times before, so I do not plan to go again or recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We had been referred to this restaurant ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had been referred to this restaurant by our concierge and were very disappointed. The building is old and very uninviting from the outside. Inside is marginally better but the restaurant is only partially air conditioned and it was very hot outside. The red wine we ordered was too warm because they keep it in the area without a/c. My wife's filet was good but my ribeye was too tough and fatty - more than normal. Wait staff was attentive but the food is just mediocre in an uninspiring setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food. Warm and genuine greeti ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food. Warm and genuine greeting and conversation with the manager. It was a pleasant and quiet and warm place to enjoy a meal and night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, and the service ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was delicious, and the service was excellent. The Sunday fixed price menu was an outstanding value. Unfortunately, the restaurant was very warm inside and our table located at the corner between two rooms felt awkward. We had made reservations, so we were disappointed to be seated there. One last thing. There is parking behind the building, but the sign is covered by tree leaves, so we did not see it until we walked back from parking around the block. In spite of those few negatives, we enjoyed our evening at Dinner for Two and will go there again if we return to Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant when visiting Sa ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our favorite restaurant when visiting Santa Fe! Found D42 8-9 years ago and having been coming back every time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.