Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Dinner for Two

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. We specialise in Prime cuts of beef filet mignon ribeye New York strip and tableside presentations like Caesar salad and Chateaubriand local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Fish, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy hour.

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. We do sell out in Thursday's so come early or reserve one with your reservation. Special valid Aug 4, 2017 - Dec 4, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. There are some up chrges for more expensive steaks. Special valid Aug 4, 2017 - Dec 4, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $24.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes soup fried chicken borsin biscuit bacon gravy and dessert. Special valid Aug 4, 2017 - Dec 4, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Happy hour.

Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Appetizers are half price of regular menu and draft beer and wine by the glass is $1 off. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 4, 2017 - Dec 4, 2017 on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Cozy (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Live Music (12)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal, excellent service. Very nice place to eat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We always enjoy going to Dinner for Two. The food is excellent and so is the service. The bread and desserts are all made in house.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 16, 2017

D42 is always good. We had the Chateaubriand for two and found it to be excellent, with extremely tender and tasty filets. There was a cool draft on us from the ceiling AC where we first sat, so the waiter accommodated our move to a better table. Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. Ordered all the table side preparations, Caesar Salad, Chateaubriand, and Bananas Foster. All were for two and all were superb. Our table side chef was knowledgeable and talented. None of the choices compared to anything I've had at other restaurants, anywhere in the country. The house made onion bread was a delight, and they make their croutons out of the day old onion bread. The wine selection was good also. Service was impeccable and attentive, without being obtrusive. If I ever get back to Santa Fe, I am definitely making a reservation for this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We loved the restaurant, the food, the service and the total ambience. The waiter prepared our dinner table side and explained every step that he was doing, as well as all of the ingredients which he was putting into the dishes. He was very personable, and we totally enjoyed his service. The only problem we had was how to find the place due to the horrible map we had and the fact that the street was closed due to construction work. Otherwise, it was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2017

My husband and I had dinner here during a recent visit to Santa Fe. The food and service were awesome. On Sunday nights, they have a special - three course dinner for $25 , which is a great deal! I had the fried chicken stuffed with green chili and cheese and it was wonderful. My husband had a steak, and he said it was excellent.
High recommended!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Consistently a good place for Sunday night dinner. Always good service and good food.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Family owed, food quality excellent, everything baked in house.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Sunday 3-course dinner is quite a bargain. Food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was slow and poor. Caesar salad is a must have but the steak wasn't a good cut and was way overcooked for medium rare.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The server Michael was excellent. The price was acceptable, but the steaks were undercooked (rare filet ordered medium well). The food was good after cooking further, we will go again.

The place was dark, no open windows, and a little dated ambiance. Having said that, it was spotless & the people were very friendly.

Unless you are a local, you may not spot the place as the signage is very subtle.

There is no cocktail list, just beer & wine, so be aware of this before making your reservation.

Please do not drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food is great. The service is great. The price is below the standard Santa Fe level based on the quality of the food and service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Salads and apps were excellent. Chateaubriand for two was a delight. Finished table side by a delightful server and cooked to perfection. Very good wine list - values at different price points. Don't forget the pie. Made on premises by the chef, an excellent end to an excellent meal. Live music added a wonderful ambiance. Will return next time we are in Santa Fe. If not local, ask for parking suggestions.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Squash blossoms and veal picatta best ever.
Prime rib special quality of meat not so good.
Should have their liquor license soon, but wine selection both good and reasonable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The best stuffed squash blossoms!!! Veal was very good also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had eaten here many times before as we lived in Santa Fe for many years....It was always great in the past but unfortunately it wasn't this time and we had taken my in-laws there raving about it only to be embarrassed by the service we received...maybe it was an off night but our corn & crab chowder was only luke warm which wasn't the end of the world but the service was just awful. We had a waitress who couldn't bring a smile to her face and everything took a LONG time. She left us with empty plates in front of us for way too long each time and we never received new cutlery after using our knives for the bread/butter etc when our mains were brought...just not what we had experienced in past visits. We used to really like it there. Our guess is that she had too many tables and just couldn't keep up. Needless to say it was disappointing. Won't be rushing back but will hope it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our 3rd or 4th visit to Dinner for Two. This is one of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants, and the food never disappoints. From the delicious homemade bread to the sumptuous desserts, it is always a pleasure to dine here. The menu always offers delicious selections, so it is sometimes difficult to make a choice! The staff is friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

First & foremost, every bite of the food was delicious. My husband ordered the prime rib, which was smoked for 4 hours, and crusted with garlic. Delicious! I had a Frenched chicken breast, stuffed with cheese & sun dried tomatoes, which was perfectly prepared. However, our waitress seemed to keep forgetting about us. She was professional but not at all engaged, and we waited for several moments without even seeing her, to give our order, ask for more drinks, order dessert, and actually had to go in search of her when we had been sitting for quite some time after finishing dessert. I think we would go back for the food, but if the service didn't improve, we likely wouldn't return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We've been here several times and we've never been disappointed. We love their Thursday night prime rib special. Every time we're in Santa Fe we make it a point to eat here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were disappointed with Dinner for 2. The internet said the price was $19. When we got there they said it was $24.95. I read that the Caesar Salad tableside was $11 for 2. When we saw the bill (at our hotel) it was $44 for 4. What's up with that? (BTW, the salad was excellent.) Then we accidentally got 2 of the dinners that were meant for our neighbors. One of our steaks had to be sent back for more cooking - it was so rare! The other was not the steak he had ordered. $192 for 4 - it was not worth it. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I'd say this is a solid B+ restaurant. Nothing on the menu that a foodie home chef could not pull off with relative ease. It's the attention to detail that was missing. Stuffed fried chicken was not moist. Mashed potatoes were under salted and dry. Some of the sugar snaps were charred. One of the peaches on the salad was truly burnt. That said, the food was really fine and I would go back with friends who are not looking to be too adventurous in their dining. The live music and ambience made up for food that was "just okay". The desserts were very tasty and the wine menu was adequate. I'll go again, but it will be for the quaint, quiet dining experience and food that I could have made just as good at home, but without the dishes to wash.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Dinner for Two had a very warm and nice ambiance. However, I found the experience very underwhelming and the service terrible. The man who made our Ceasar salad was excellent. Attentive and engaging with good service. However, the person who brought us our dinner spilled the moisture from my steak into my wife's purse. He never apologized or asked how she was at any point. Mistakes happen. Servers are human. It happens. However, the failure to even acknowledge it except for getting a hot towel as I asked him to do just made it a negative experience. Our waiter also seemed to always be running and in a rush even though the place was nearly empty.
It takes a lot for me to write a negative experience and I rarely do. This was just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. Family owned and operated. Excellent service. Wonderful menu options. Food is consistently excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

This was our first time to visit Dinner for two. There were 3 other tables when we arrived, so not busy. We were greeted by hostess and passing the kitchen staff, they greeted us too. Friendly and inviting. Decor is very nice and I like linen table service. Hot, homemade bread was brought immediately. Our waitress arrived at our table and asked for our order. We told her this was our visit and asked for input on the menu. I felt like we were imposing on her. She stated the daily special and we both ordered it. Fried chicken stuffed with cheese and green chili. Delish! Other than the waitress having a bad day or feeling unfriendly, this was an exceptional meal. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Had the Sunday dinner special. The Corn/Crab soup was delicious. But yes, it could have been served a little warmer. We had the Ribeye Steak for a slightly higher price. The steak was generous and very tender and cooked to perfection. I enjoyed the snap peas and potato. The key lime pie was nice and my husband had the peach pie. Both were included with the meal price. Definitely well worth money spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We felt like family. The food was fresh and fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

All areas were excellent! Food and service great! Surroundings great! A little pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

An extraordinary dining experience. This is our favorite Santa Fe restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Party of five, three had never been here. Everyone left satisfied and happy, with purchases (to go) from the in-house bakery in hand. Five out of five loved the entrees and desserts. our waiter Mike, was excellent - knowledgeable about the menu, friendly, and attentive. Overall, a great experience, and we will go back next visit to SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience during Indian Market. Everything we ate was so tasty. The peaches with burrata cheese was to die for. Sangria was some of the best I've every had. The service was excellent with a very helpful waiter. We left full, but not too full and happy. A definite thumbs-up place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Aug. 17, 2017

Prime rib was great!
We have always loved the Cesar salad but this time romaine was very wilted/soggy and ingredients were off
As it just didn't taste as great as usual so we were disappointed.

Linda Wilson

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Disappointing. My first visit to Dinner for 2 was 3 years ago and it was a great experience. This time we were 1 of 4 tables occupied. The best part of the meal was the bread and wine. The corn and crab chowder was tepid and the crab almost non-existent. The ruby trout was stuffed with a scant tablespoon of canned crab. Worst of all was the verbal assault from a lone drunken woman at the bar as we left--the only remaining customer. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Service poor and spotty. Food ok. Ambiance not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We chose the special Sunday evening prix fixe three course meal. Started well with delicious bread (reminded me of hot cross buns). Food tasty and well presented but chowder could have been hotter. House pinot noir was great value.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 13, 2017

What a pleasure to at Dinner for Two. The Sunday evening prie fixe meal had excellent choices and everything was delicious from the soup to the dessert. Quiet enough for easy conversation. Excellent but not over attentive service. We enjoyed our experience there and look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was our 1st time at D42, however it won't be our last! Great food, great service, and great atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We once again celebrated our anniversary here, and the hostess provided us with a quiet and spacious corner table where we enjoyed friendly and efficient service from the experienced wait staff. We splurged on the Caesar salad and chateaubriand for two, both prepared tableside. The food, ambience, and service were over the top! We've enjoyed dining at Dinner for Two in the past, and appreciate the quiet atmosphere, friendly but unobtrusive service, and always beautifully prepared dishes. Thank you, Dinner for Two, for making this occasion
extra special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Once again the staff and kitchen delivered. The crab stuffed rainbow trout was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great experience here and would highly recommend it. The staff was very good and the food was organic, well prepared & presented. We had the seafood plate for the main meal and 2 appetizers, the brie-stuffed zucchini flower and baked peaches. Everything was delicious. The menu is based on what's is season so it changes regularly.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious food. We went before the opera and I am glad that our guests suggested Dinner for Two. We have been meaning to go back. Everything that I have ever had there was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.