About Dinner for Two

106 N. Guadalupe St.
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dinner for Two is a family owned restaurant that has a comfortable, intimate atmosphere for parties large or small. Our local 'regulars' call us "a great value in fine dining". Multi-award winning: including Wine Spectator and "top 10 in southwest" We are happy to host dinners for organizations, or private celebrations from 2 to 60, everything is made in-house so special diets are easily accommodated: allergies, gluten free, etc.
"Excellent Food and Service at a Reasonable Price"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Continental, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 4:00PM - 9:00PM,

Cross Street:
W San Francisco St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-2075

Website:
http://www.dinnerfortwonm.com/

Entertainment:
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings we have classical guitar. Our music accompanies dinner & conversation.

Catering:
Our catering is always a favorite. We meet your highest expectations and the price point that you require. A wide variety of choices to make all your party members happy.

Parking Details:
6 spots at the front entrance, as well as a private lot "Jefferson Place" 50 feet west on W. San Fransisco Street.

Public Transit:
Dinner for Two is four blocks from the train station; And on the walking path to the Plaza along Guadalupe and San Fransisco Streets.

Executive Chef:
Andy Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We have three rooms of varying sizes so you can have a private party for twenty or a romantic dinner for two.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Barnes: 5058202075x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, Valentine's Day, Labor Day, Memorial Day, Easter, Mother's Day

Dinner for Two Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
1 More
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (51)
Fit for Foodies (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Dinner For Two. I seldom get the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

I love Dinner For Two. I seldom get the chance to go and when I do, I feel like it's such a positive experience. They are very accommodating, especially when a vegan comes to dine! I enjoyed a stuffed squash salad and the white bean potage - all without the cheese. Both were delicious and I did eat every bite! My friend had red pepper soup and a caprese salad with crab cakes. She said that her meal was just as delicious. The wait staff were all very friendly and checked in appropriately without seeming to be hovering.

One issue has always been the parking. There is limited parking at the restaurant and it can be challenging to back out onto Guadalupe. However, they've recently come to an agreement with the parking space behind the restaurant and one can choose to park there.

I would not hesitate to recommend Dinner for Two to anyone wanting to enjoy delicious meals, a peaceful setting, and great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday dinner. We ate on a Sund ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great birthday dinner. We ate on a Sunday - the fixed price menu. After we had been served we heard a different server tell another table that salads could be substituted for the soup. We didn't know that and might have ordered differently. When it was time for dessert there was confusion about the birthday presentation. The candle was in my pie even though it could have been in my sister's ice cream as it was her birthday. It was still great, and a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Though the food was good, it was pricey ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Though the food was good, it was pricey and it took a long time. The table side preparation slowed everything down because there were not enough workers doing this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great duck breast in plum sauce with goo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great duck breast in plum sauce with good wine. A perfect birthday dinner with my wife.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants. Everything on the menu is outstanding, and their table side presentations -- Caesar, chateaubriand and banana's Foster -- are phenomenal. The mushroom truffle soup won the Santa Fe "Souper Bowl" a few years ago, and I still can't get enough of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stumbled into this restaurant while i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We stumbled into this restaurant while in Santa Fe recently...what a find. We checked the menu while walking by and were very impressed. We noted the special 3 course dinner on Sunday night for $19.95. We got a reservation and were delighted upon arriving to have such good choices for dinner. I chose the Chilean Sea Bass...it was perfectly prepared with just the right accompaniments. The wild mushroom soup we started with was very favorable and the perfect starter. The service was efficient but we never felt rushed. This will definitely be a restaurant we return to!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was fabulous! Everyone that s ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The dinner was fabulous! Everyone that served us were tip top and on there toes. My steak was not quite cooked I sent it back and chef took care of paying close attention to my request. The choices in the menu for the price excellent! The up charge very reasonable. Enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food choices. Service friendly ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food choices. Service friendly and attentive. Fantastic Ceaser salad made at your table. Great desserts. I'll go back as soon as I return to Santa Fe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place to eat. I had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was the perfect place to eat. I had chateaubriand and tableside caesar salad. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was lovely and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had Veal Marsala and it was not all th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had Veal Marsala and it was not all that great. Pretty plain or not memorable at all. My three guests all had the seafood sampler. All three said it was OK, but nothing special. We came with big expectations. I had been to the restaurant two years ago and it was excellent. Also the front desk staff at our hotel had told us that Dinner for Two was one of Santa Fe's hidden gems and the food was superb. We all found it average at best. Also the service was fair. We had to hunt our waiter down twice. Once for something someone needed and then we asked for our bill and then after about 10 minutes I went to the front to get it.

It was not bad or awful, in an all around sense, but not great or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

From appetizer to dessert we were overwh ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

From appetizer to dessert we were overwhelmingly pleased. I would not hesitate to recommend...actually I already have.

Live music added to our dining experience. The music was soft so not to interfere with conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service, friendly armos ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food, great service, friendly armosphere and overall a good dinner. The appetizer we had (squash blossoms) was a little heavy- they would have been better with a quick sauté with garlic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for the Sunday night special and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went for the Sunday night special and ordered a bottle of wine. The wine was somewhat carbonated making us think that the wine was bad. Sadly we didn't say anything to our waiter and just drank the bottle. The service was very slow. Probably would not go back for these reasons.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great meal and value. Their Sunday night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great meal and value. Their Sunday night three course meal is $19.95. We almost did not go because we thought no way for a first class meal at that price...we were incorrect...homemade bread, great oyster/mushroom soup and culinary entrees...desserts were spectacular. This place is noted for its wine list and even had a good selection of 1/2 bottles which is hard to find. Highly recommend this one.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

You must try the scrumptious seasonal pi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

You must try the scrumptious seasonal pies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great place with wonderful food! Our so ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great place with wonderful food! Our son was in town for a quick visit and he was thoroughly impressed. He has dined in places like Atlanta, Nashville and California and Dinner for Two was a pleasant surprise for him. Andres our wait person was outstanding, very solicitous of us

We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table for two serves high end food at a ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Table for two serves high end food at a great price compared to other restaurants downtown in Santa fe. The Ceasar salad is one of the best we have had and a great value and fun to watch the chef make at the table side. Wines are reasonable. Great deserts. Fresh seafood. Nice ambience. What is not to like?

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

a wonderful experience that merits the 2 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

a wonderful experience that merits the 2.5 hour drive to get to it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining overall. We were visiti ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent dining overall. We were visiting Texans and it was a great way to end our last night in Santa Fe. Some people we met at lunch tole us about it and they were frequent visitors to Santa Fe. They nailed it. We were very glad we took their advice and tried it.

Can't say enough good things about Dinner for 2.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for dinner with another couple. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We came for dinner with another couple. The wait staff was very friendly but it took forever for our friends to get their Caesar salad, whichis made at the table. The waiter said it would take a while because there was one couple ahead of us for the salad, and finally about 45 minutes later the salad chef arrived at our table. He did a good job, but it doesn't take 45 minutes to make a salad, so we were there more than an hour before the main dishes came. My truffle oyster mushroom bisque was exquisite. The veal piccata was very good and a huge portion, so I had great leftovers the next day. The stuffed fried chicken my husband chose was a disappointment and overpriced at $23. The limited wine list was ok, but there were no wines less than $37. It would be nice to offer a wine special for $28-$30. We were too full to try desserts, so can't comment on that. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner. Given the limited entree menu, I will wait awhile to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The Sunday, three-course meal was delici ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Sunday, three-course meal was delicious and a great deal at $19.95. We had terrific choices for each of the three courses (appetizer, entree and dessert). Service was good, despite the crush of early-evening diners. The owners were attentive and justifiably proud of the output of the kitchen, overseen by their son. The modest exterior belies the lovely -even romantic - interior. The classical guitarist was a nice addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Dinne ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our second time dining at Dinner For Two and we enjoyed it as much as before. The Frenched Chicken that I had and the lamb that I had were outstanding. As was the tuna that my daughter had, but the scallops that came with it were the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This restaurant was one of our favorites ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This restaurant was one of our favorites for a number of years. On this visit, we were disappointed. The lamb two of us ordered medium rare came more than well done and the meat was so tough as to be unchewable. The fish I had was dry and overcooked.

Perhaps the kitchen was overwhelmed by the large number of multiple diners this evening, or the restaurant has a new Chef?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

If you're looking for quiet, I suggest g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

If you're looking for quiet, I suggest going either early or late hours of service. The noise level at the height of popular eating time makes hearing almost impossible.

The food is tasty and well prepared, however, I think I would get better value from a couple of plates of tapas rather than one entree.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Knowledgeable wait staff. Excellent meal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Knowledgeable wait staff. Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most tender veal..but lacked Marsala fla ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Most tender veal..but lacked Marsala flavor. SMoked Prime Rib..not a flavor I looked.

Main course came too fast..still eating appetizer .not a Wine spectator lost..weak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My advice is to avoid going on Sundays, ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My advice is to avoid going on Sundays, at least other than very early. Dinner for Two has a 3 course menu (soup, entree, dessert) for $20. This attracts people who don't come on other days. We came after a 6 p.m. chamber music concert. Our reservation was for 8--available on Open Table. We had to wait 20 minutes before being seated. Then we had to wait for our waiter to show up at our table for another 15. And then various items were not available. We were seated at the back and near a table of 8. They were older folk and not especially noisy but it did not make for a good environment. The restaurant was understaffed, part of the reason for the delay in getting seated, getting served, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

Restaurant is of great value. Food is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Restaurant is of great value. Food is always very good. We had a new waiter. He was friendly but needs more seasoning. But overall, very good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We did not stay to eat. When researching ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We did not stay to eat. When researching the restaurant on line it had a good menu, including two fresh fish choices nightly. There was no mention that on Sundays it was a Prix Fix menu with little flexibility in the choices. My wife who has several food sensitivities was unable to get food prepared other than as specified in the Prix Fix menu. When we asked the waiter for the reason he shared that being that they are closed Monday and Tuesday they have the Prix Fix on Sunday to clear out the items from the week. That was enough to get us to get up and walk out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent food and superb service. Highl ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and superb service. Highly recommend and Sunday is the best deal in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was a little slow this time, although this is not usually a problem. There was also some miscues on the service. Seems like our waiter kept apologizing for something. This will not discourage us however, as we love this place and food and desserts are really delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed celebrating our annivers ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have enjoyed celebrating our anniversary here several times, and this visit was no exception. The food and service are outstanding; our filet and lamb chops were prepared to

perfection, and the Caesar salad prepared tableside was, as always, a special experience.

The refreshing cherry apricot ginger cold soup, offered as an appetizer, would have been equally lovely as a light dessert! The wine list is extensive, with a fine selection of wines by the glass - I was offered a taste of the recommended Malbec before ordering. We especially appreciate the quiet ambience of this restaurant, and the personal service which is never overbearing. One of our favorite 'special occasion' restaurants in Santa Fe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-located, very close to but out of t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Well-located, very close to but out of the crush of the busy tourist center of town, this family-owned restaurant places a high premium on good food and good service. Their tableside preparation of Ceasar Salad and Bananas Foster is unique to them and very popular It was a satisfying special occasion dinner and there is no doubt, as residents of Santa Fe, we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting menu with mostly okay food. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Interesting menu with mostly okay food. Tauted Cesar Salad was pretty tasteless and disappointing. The preparer did his best and the table side show was interesting. Fried Squash blossoms were all batter, little blossom. Our principal waiter seemed indifferent. When I requested my salmon rare, I noticed that he didn't write it down so I repeated it. Of course, the fish came well-done and I had to send it back. The kitchen sent a message explaining that my request had not been transmitted to them. Maybe an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We were there during a power blackout. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were there during a power blackout. The staff were fantastic. It was very romantic. Candlelit dinner. Just about desert, the lights came back on and several patrons said "Turn em off!"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time here and Sunday ni ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was our 1st time here and Sunday night does not seem to be a good time to go unless you want the dinner special, service was very harried, although polite . Unfortunately, while eating our 1st course the lights went out in the building. This meant that they weren't able to make many things that we were interested trying. We were also surprised that their wine list made it onto Wine Spectators list as it was rather limited and overpriced for what it was. Having said all of this, we agreed to give it another try off season.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It was a perfect storm for our visit her ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was a perfect storm for our visit here. It was a Sunday and they were running a special which made the place packed when we arrived. Our reservation was at 6:30 and we were not seated until 6:45. The kitchen was clearly overwhelmed. The couple across from us waited over 90 minutes for their food. We were not in a hurry but it took about 45 minutes. The waiter was trying his best and was friendly but was overwhelmed. The electricity went out towards the end of our meal. They had no contingency for those who wanted to pay by credit card. The couple across from us were so frustrated they left without paying. In spite of the service snafus, the food was excellent. The drink list was spotty with several listed beers and wines not available. While the food made up for a very disappointing visit I am sure any other night I would be writing a glowing review. Take home message, if they are running a 3 course special...skip that day and pay extra.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Even though we had a reservation a week ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Even though we had a reservation a week in advance they tried to seat us in the kitchen/bar area next to a coat rack and extra chairs....not acceptable.

The moment we were seated and haven't even looked at the menu two bowls of soup arrived by a waiter who was literally running though the restaurant.

The main course was excellent but can't say the same for the peach pie...it was all thick crust and two slices of peaches.

The guitar music was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Restaurant was at capacity for Sunday ev ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Restaurant was at capacity for Sunday evening Specials. Waiter was very poor - extremely long wait between courses, forgetting items ordered, and failed to respond to multiple requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Service was terrible waited over an hour ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service was terrible waited over an hour & half for our dinner. They had no sense of service from the hostess to the waiter. Then the food was OK. We're locals & we'll never go back nor recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.