Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

About Different Pointe of View

Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served : Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm / Friday& Saturday, 6 - 10 pm / Sunday 5-8:30 pm / Terrace Room Lounge: Tuesday - Sunday 5pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Scenic View (69)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Good for a Date (63)
Romantic (56)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Authentic (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My waiter made our 1st time visit great! Cant remember his name..but mentioned he has worked there for 30 something yrs!! Funny, attentive.. the restaurant was beautiful w/amazing views! Romantic!!! Love love love

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was VERY good! As most high end restaurants, the portions are small. Would advice eating the bread and dipping sauces. If you go, expect to have a big check, but feeling very fancy. Our waiter was very friendly, and explained what we had in our plates.

Delicious!! Perfect for dates, and romance. Or if you want to have a high end party, and feel like Jordan from Wolf of Wall Street.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious meal as always. The staff is friendly and the view makes it perfect!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Thanks for making my girlfriends weekend memorable!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Good food
Great ambiance
Spectacular view
Would recommend to others on special ocassion

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I've eaten here twice and all of the food I've tried has been excellent and prepared exactly as ordered. Love the sauces that arrive with the bread; hard to resist seconds. Service is friendly, prompt and helpful without being intrusive. Great place to take special guests from out of town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

It was awesome! We had a lot of fun and an awesome waiter.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Spectacular every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

An absolute must try! Food, views and service were all top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Outstanding meal and service. Fantastic ambiance. Very intimate setting with a spectacular view. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Just a great place. Indoor or outdoor. Food and service was as good as it gets.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Made a reservation but was told when I arrived there was only outside seating available

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My wife and I sat on a table outside and enjoyed the sunset together for our meal. The Chef's tasting menu was outstanding. They asked for any allergens before taking the order to the Chef, and even brought out a couple complimentary dishes that we 'Must Try' before and during the main courses. The Lobster Bisque was amazing. Warm, Buttery, Heavy, Creamy, delightful soup. Every dish they served (chicken, seafood, beef, and dessert) was divine. My wife and I will definitely come again. Worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The view and the chefs special with the chicken over a bed of Truffle risotto, OMFG THEE BEST!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Food was beautifully presented and prepared as advertised. As usual today, however, the chef was a little heavy handed with the salt. The service was prompt and efficient and the server very knowledgeable and helpful. The view is fantastic especially on the patio where the graciously seated us for our first visit. The property is unique but here and there it shows its age and could benefit from a redo. Otherwise a gem and well worth the scary drive up the hill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 4, 2017

One Time Restaurant Kind of Place. Will Not Be Going Back.

The only value is in the views which are spectacular. This place has been on my list for a while now, and was quite bummed when it didn't meet my expectations. Honestly, the poor critique is mainly because our service all around was super sub par. Our waiter didn't seem to be the most knowledgeable and i when i asked about recommendations, he just read the menu out loud to me and had a lot of ticks i would say. I might expect this from a causal chain restaurant, but this place is pretty high end. Our waiters main helper (not sure what else to call him because he wasn't a food runner) was also super odd. Every time i said thank you, or asked for something, he said "not a challenge", and it left you feeling like you might be actually a challenge. So overall, i would say the experience was muddled because our service was just so strange. Also, the plating of the food was very beautiful, but I would say the taste was average, and nothing to write home about. Their "famous" Lobster Bisque didn't even have any lobster meat in it. It was 100% broth. This place could use a good overhaul.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Best restaurant view I have ever dined at overlooking Phoenix. Staff very knowledgeable and friendly and the food was top notch from a professional kitchen.

Wine pairings were on the money and completed the meal well. Generous portions it just all added up to a great anniversary dinner for my wife and I could not have picked a better venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Food was awesome and the waiter and helper were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2017

It would be very helpful if the menu included basic staples, like a Caesar salad, and meat dishes with mashed/baked potatoes. Exotic items are fine and look good, but please remember us "meat and potatoes' guys!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great dinner and wonderful views. I would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were seated a few minutes prior to our scheduled reservation for our special dinner celebration. The food was tastefully prepared and the plate presentation was excellent. To top it off ..the view was spectacular!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 10 year wedding anniversary and it was outstanding. The service and food were great and the view is amazing. We really enjoyed the experience overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

You can't go wrong eating here. The food and the views were spectacular and the waiter and staff were top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

The service I had was great. The view was pretty astounding. And the food was to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Once again we just can not get over the amazing dining experience at the Different Point of View!! Unique and delicious courses in one of the most amazing venues in Arizona.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

A night to remember. Great panoramic view and great food. Richard treated us very well, attentive but uninntrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fantastic service.
Food was great
Great pour on cocktails.
VIEW??? STELLAR!!!!
Well worth the Uber from downtown!
Great spot for dinner in PHX!
DO IT!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was my first time here and it was amazing. The waiter was great and very attentive. The scenery was amazing and food was tasty. I will definitely return

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A huge disappointment....lobster bisque was bland, ahi had an odor, etc. We live near by and would go once a week if the food was reliably good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Dined here on Friday. Views were of course amazing. Had the restaurant week menu. Pork and steak were delicious amd seasoned perfectly. Good wine list. Staff was great and encourage you to go to the terrace for an even better view. Great date night for us! Will be going back for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a great dinner on Saturday. The view is amazing and the food was wonderful. The pork dish and cucumber lime dessert were both outstanding and creatively presented. All of the staff were great, especially the wine manager. If you have only one dinner in Phoenix, make it the Different Point of View and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great view but the food didn't live up to our expectations. Also the cost of the food doesn't live up to the service we received. The waiter had a bland personality, forgot our side and something we asked for. He knew his menu but didn't know what needed or wanted. Not impressed Tarbells or roaring fork blows away this places food. I don't know what people are thinking with all the good reviews it's got to be about the view nothing else. Amazing view!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We dined there because it was Restaurant Week. It was wonderful. We live in Gilbert but will definitely be back. Thanks for such a wonderful experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The food and presentation was excellent. The portions were reasonable, although the desserts were smaller than those of some comparable establishments.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

A real disappointment this time for restaurant week. Very noisy, cold, and for the first time no table cloths just wood tables. The biggest problem was NO wine list offered. My wife asked for a house merlot and when I got the bill they had charged us $22.50 for that glass of wine. No desire to return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Unbelievable views that cannot be matched! Even a fun drive up to the restaurant . Excellent service and great food. I hope to go back!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Outstanding view. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing food and service. From the time we were greet at the hostess stand till we left. High five to Chef Anthony Demuro and his team.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good. Restaurant Week which had a great selection and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A interesting restaurant on the mountain. Went for a date and the noise level was so high could not hear each other well. The view was nice. The salad was great and the main courses were so-so. The chicken breast was way over cooked hard to cut with a knife, the fish was mushy not firm like fresh salmon. The flavors were good but a little heavy with salt. The dessert was very good salted caramel ice cream. Service was very good.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.