About Different Pointe of View

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Exclusive Easter Brunch Menu! Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Tuesday - Saturday

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Different Pointe of View
Different Pointe of View
Lobster Bisque - Different Pointe of View
Chargrilled Oysters - Different Pointe of View
Sauteed Wild Mushrooms - Different Pointe of View
Midnight Espresso Cup - Different Pointe of View
Osso Bucco - Different Pointe of View
Arugula salad, dried blueberries, shaved beets, marcona almonds, goat cheese, Cabernet lavender vinaigrette - Different Pointe of View
Lobster bisque, lobster stock, cream and butter - Different Pointe of View
Pan seared diver scallops, charred organic rainbow cauliflower, roasted sunchokes, baby beets, fermented black garlic and yuzu purée, clementine tarragon olive oil emulsion - Different Pointe of View
Macarons - Different Pointe of View
Pear Salad - Different Pointe of View
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops - Different Pointe of View
Masa and smolina flour lemon angel cake (gluten-free), lemon ginger ice cream, salted lemon caramel curd, huckleberries - Different Pointe of View
Chocolate Moouse - Different Pointe of View
Barramundi - Different Pointe of View
Cherry Wood Smoked Venison - Different Pointe of View

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix
Romantic
Phoenix
3 More
Special Occasion
Phoenix
Contemporary American
Phoenix
Most Booked
Phoenix
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Scenic View (101)
Romantic (82)
Special Occasion (80)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a great place with great view.. Foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 13 hours ago

It's a great place with great view.. Food presentation was good but I ordered the stone seared fish which very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

A notable end to our week eating out dur ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

A notable end to our week eating out during restaurant week. We will definitely be back here. The view of Phoenix was stunning, and the food was very innovative. We started with an appetizer - my husband had hummus, which was quite different but delicious. I had a salad, again, very tasty and beautifully presented. We both had fish - I had an Ahi tuna that was wonderful, served with vegetables and "forbidden rice" - a black rice that was earthy and very good. Dessert was fabulous, too. Our server was friendly and polished. A very enjoyable evening. This is the place to celebrate a special anniversary or even pop the question...very special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The views are the best in Phoenix/Scotts ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

The views are the best in Phoenix/Scottsdale. Service was fabulous. Staff were wonderful and Billy is running a great ship here. Only coaching Pointe would be to improve their wine list. The wine we had was very good and well priced, but they lacked many of the more premium wines that are well priced. Otherwise, a wonderful time and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 5 anniversary here. I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our 5 anniversary here. I must say it was the best view while dining we have had. Service was excellent and the overall experience was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in the R ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant in the Restaurant Week Selection. We have been coming here for the past several years and have never been disappointed. The food is always so flavorful, & the view is always outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knew we were in for a great evening when ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Knew we were in for a great evening when we walked in and a couple of waitresses were dancing in the bar. Obviously, the staff is happy. Can't beat the city view, but the true stars of the show were the kitchen staff.

We started with the shrimp ravioli and the lobster bisque. Rarely have we been treated to such different styles, yet equally fabulous results. The ravioli was a symphony of flavors and freshness that harmonized into one perfect bite after another. The bisque, was nothing less than the definitive, luxurious flavor of lobster - a single note of flavor my wife and I could have ordered and eaten all night.

Alas, we did order entrees. Have to mention that the Stone fish was an absolute phenomenon. Yes, the fish was perfectly prepared, nice sear outside, moist and tender inside. It was served with a flavorful medley of rice and wild mushrooms and the most unbelievable mushroom reduction sauce you will ever have. Seriously, I would have been happy with a bowl of the reduction and loaf of Italian bread. As part of the entrée, complete satisfaction.

I'm embarrassed to say that after I allowed my wife to taste the stone fish, I forbade her from having any more. Sometimes, outstanding food can bring out the base, cruel animal instinct - at least for me.

The winner of the dessert menu was a refreshing strawberry - rhubarb compote, pound cake, and the most devious strawberry cheesecake ice cream, which hijacked the plate as well as your palate.

As you may guess, I could go on and on, but as a great entertainer once said, "Always leave 'em wanting more". I recommend you give them a try yourself!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was particularly impressed with the am ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was particularly impressed with the ambiance and more specifically the views from our table. Obviously, the restaurant was built with the breathtaking views in mind. But the settings, both inside as well as the outdoor patio, were spectacular. When you combine the views with the food and service it made for a special evening. Comparing this restaurant with say Orange Sky at Talking Stick Resort there is no comparison although it was obvious the casino had night views in mind when they developed the property.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view did not disappoint! And the fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The view did not disappoint! And the food was not only delicious, but it had some unique flavors and combinations coupled with beautiful presentations.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I thought the food was pretty decent for ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

I thought the food was pretty decent for the price. We came for restaurant week and I had really no complaints about the food. The cocktails were just so so. I liked the view, but was surprised at how outdated the restaurant felt. Service was great. The parking lot/valet was weird to navigate. I would probably come back again, but I wasn't completely blown away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Come for the spectacular view, but LOVE ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Come for the spectacular view, but LOVE the food, too---- service is impeccable as well. Yes, yes, yes!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is not the easiest to find (but once ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

It is not the easiest to find (but once you arrive, the pleasure begins. We were greeted warmly, and escorted to our table which had an unbelievable view of downtown. As night fell, the view was all the more spectacular. The service and food were first rate, excellent presentation and taste. I will add to my favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing better than the view and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The only thing better than the view and food was the service. Impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was delicious. The view ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Overall the food was delicious. The view is amazing. Our waiter no comment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I have always wanted to go to a Differen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I have always wanted to go to a Different Pointe of View! It was Restaurant Week and having recently gone through a breakup, I decided to treat myself. The staff was so friendly and attentive. I drank a lot of water but my glass never went dry! My server suggested an excellent Cabernet that accompanied my meal well. I was treated like every other guest with respect - sometimes when you done alone people forget about you or write you off. Not A Different Pointe of View. Hope to go back someday!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location/view. Staff was very ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Beautiful location/view. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Food was great. Will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, excellent service and food wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

As always, excellent service and food with a view that is one of the best in Phoenix. Arrange to dine around sunset for the best ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect night, perfect service and perfe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Perfect night, perfect service and perfect dining experience. Simply perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Views were phenomenal....if you have the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Views were phenomenal....if you have the right seat. Food was very good but pretentious. Price was over the top for the restaurant overall. Wouldn't go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful!! The food was perfectfull do ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful!! The food was perfectfull done. The breathtaking scenery was to die for.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely evening with a great group of f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A lovely evening with a great group of friends. Recently remodeled and it is more beautiful and environment than before. Excellent service all around and every bite was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing location, staff and food! A spec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing location, staff and food! A special experience meeting the chef we will remember for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended for Sunsets and Cit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was recommended for Sunsets and City view. It is stunning. The service was professional, food excellent and the drinks tasty. I would highly recommend to a couple for a special occasion.....check the calendar for Sunset!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my husband's birthday dinner and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was my husband's birthday dinner and we were very happy with the service. We were offered a table with the best view and they also gave us complimentary dessert for the birthday!

I would definitely recommend the restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went there for our anni ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I went there for our anniversary. This place is super romantic spot for romantic dinner with Breathtaking view of the valley . Service and food is super good. Definitely will come back again .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't beat the ambience. The views at ni ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Can't beat the ambience. The views at night are just beautiful. Very romantic restaurant. Food was amazing. A little pricey but for a special occasion this was a wonderful evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely great location and tasty foo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Definitely great location and tasty food. It was a great experience for my wife and our 1 year anniversary. The view at night was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere .. I ordered the seared ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice atmosphere .. I ordered the seared scallops which weren't on the menu, but the waiter asked the chef who prepared a different dish using scallops. Nice to have the chef be accommodating, but It was definitely over salted so a little disappointing as I had them in the past. The rest of the food was prepared very well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time dinning and we wou ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was our first time dinning and we would definitely return! We appreciated the special attention we received and how the staff took notice that it was our anniversary and our dessert had a cute message on it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This dinner was subpar from prior visits ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This dinner was subpar from prior visits. Always like Diff Pointe of View for nice dinner out on special occasions as view and food are normally extremely good. Very, very slow getting dinner cooked (i.e. we waited for nearly an hour to get our main course, and no explanation for the delay) and it wasn't very good. Lobster was tough, not tasty and overall just not a good dinner. Wife's filet mignon was ok but not very tasty. Hate to say it but I've had better seafood at Red Lobster for 1/2 the price and better filet mignon at The Keg. View is always wonderful but the food was definitely not what we've experienced in the past. Will probably return again to give it one more chance but definitely cannot recommend it based on this trip. Hope it was a blip as this has been a favorite for years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We've dined at Different Point of View a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We've dined at Different Point of View a number of times and have introduced at least six couples to this restaurant. The menu choices and food are among the best. The service is top notch yet we didn't feel rushed. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience was superb. The re ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our dining experience was superb. The remodeling is exceptional. I do miss the Live Music. The Pointe has the best view in the Valley. More lighting is needed as you move around both patios. I almost tripped as i was descending one of the steps. There was no lighting near the stairway. Also children should not be running. There needs to be a sign for your protection on the 3rd floor terrace.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful sunset view of midtown and dow ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Beautiful sunset view of midtown and downtown Phoenix. Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Chef's selection was salmon and prawns over lemon risotto, yum! Devil's Delight for desert was sinful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Different Point of View restaurant was o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Different Point of View restaurant was outstanding, and a wonderful surprise. We read an article about romantic restaurants in Arizona, and made a reservation here. The view of the city lights from the patio as the sun set was amazing, as was the cheese plate we enjoyed. We moved inside to get a table with a view (note: these tables fill quick, so be there by 6:00pm) and had a wonderful meal prepared by an outstanding kitchen. If I could adopt the Chef, I would! This restaurant is highly recommended, as is the sister restaurant "A Point in Tyme ".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our 21st wed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary dinner there. It was a truly lovely evening! Our expectations were exceeded!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu and great view. The food is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great menu and great view. The food is excellent. Coffee & desert were pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, a wonderful way to celebrate ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

As always, a wonderful way to celebrate our Anniversary. They never disappoint with their attentive service and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the top of the Pointe is b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The view from the top of the Pointe is beautiful. The food was excellent. Once we were seated, it did get quite loud from the larger tables. But overall, the price was good for what was delivered. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The presentation and taste of most of th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The presentation and taste of most of the food were acceptable. The goat cheese/olive oil dip served with the sourdough bread was delicious. The hummus and Non had an unusual "burnt" flavor but was palatable. The Pork Tenderloin was good but unremarkable. The menu indicated couscous as the side but the size of the grain was very large and the flavor and texture overwhelmed the main dish rather than complimenting it. The side of artichoke hearts was generous and prepared well. There is more food I could review, however, the ambiance and overall dining experience were the main reasons for dining here on this date and it failed terribly! When making the reservations, the 6 PM time slot was unavailable so I reserved the next opening at 6:45 PM. I requested the reservation with a window view for our 30-year anniversary celebration. Upon arrival, I was told there would be no window seats available for another hour even though that is why I requested this reservation in this restaurant. I explained this to the server and host, however, there was nothing that could be done so instead we were seated in the middle of the room! The room was at least quiet and conducive to a relaxing meal until a very large crowd was seated directly next to us! The din in the room became so loud it was impossible to have a conversation much less a pleasant digestive experience. We were also treated to an unrestrained child that kept running around our table with little supervision. No one seemed to take notice or reign him in. I realize many of these things can be expected when dining out at McDonald's or Wendy's. But if I am paying for food, wine, and ambiance for $150 - $200 for a special occasion, I do not expect what I could get for $9.95 at Chuck-E- Cheese. I am very disappointed in what was to be a landmark celebration for us by dining here. Based on my experience I cannot recommend Different Pointe of View.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

The Chef's tasting menu with the wine pa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Chef's tasting menu with the wine pairings was an amazing choice and one my wife and I will remember for quite some time. Everything was cooked to perfection and was only made better by the quality service and spectacular view.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic views

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fantastic views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.