Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

About Different Pointe of View

Exclusive Brunch Menu on Easter. Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served : Sunday 5 - 9:00, Monday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday 5 - 10pm & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Close nightly

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (97)
Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (84)
See All
Good for a Date (84)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Worth the Drive (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (24)
Fireplace (19)
Business Meals (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Authentic (14)
Fun (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (6)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent restaurant !!! Great place for a date night !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here to celebrate our Anniversary and the service wasn't what we expected. We were hoping for a table near the window since it was our Anniversary. The host acknowledged our Anniversary but our server had no idea. No complimentary dessert or special treatment. The food was good and our server was wonderful just wish they had made our night more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food, incredible view. Would come here again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Perfect food and an even better view. Truly lovely service, this was worth the ride and I will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Luis and Antonio were fabulous !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Beautiful location and excellent service, however the food was a bit disappointing. The lobster/shrimp dish was over cooked, but the short ribs were very good, but nothing special. You cannot beat the view, but for the price there are MANY better options in the valley. We would go back but just drinks and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I set reservations for 2 on a Monday evening....8pm. It was our anniversary, but we didn't let anyone know that. We were greeted warmly, and informed to have a seat while they checked if are table was ready which only took a moment. Our server was prompt and informative, warm, and professional. The food was delicious. Our evening was enjoyable. I started with the way beef appetizer which was melt in your mouth delicious, our server was suggestive without being pushy. Food and wine pairings were perfect. We are both servers ourselves at the fine dining restaurant of the finest Country Club in the valley so I am very aware of the service, and it was perfect. It was expensive, but what would you expect from fine dining with an incredible view.....Almost as good as the view from our restaurant.....Which is still the best I've ever seen. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very disappointed, as it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and I had requested a seat outside with a view. I made the reservation 2 weeks in advance. When we were greeted by the hostess she wished us a happy anniversary so I know my requests were seen. Unfortunately, we were seated inside and not even by a window. Additionally, the hostess was the only member of the staff that recognized our anniversary. The food was good but the portions were so large I felt like I was dining at Applebee's and not at a fine dining establishment. Service was adequate but the main server was hard to understand and not overly pleasant. We wanted to take some pictures outside during sunset but none of the staff would offer to take a picture for us so we had to take a poor selfie and a couple of individual photos instead of a "couple picture". The restaurant has a stunning view but we found the staff to be poor and the food was nothing special. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Made a reservation for an anniversary having not been there since our anniversary a decade previous. I had asked a while back for a nice view table with this reservation on the glass wall for the sunset since it was a special occasion. Then was seated in the middle of the dining room without any mention of the request. I also mentioned about a third of the way into a very tough pork chop that it was tough. But then when I got in further it was pink and undercooked. Almost as if it wasn't fully defrosted when it was cooked since it was over cooked and tough on the outside but undercooked on the inside. Took a while to find the waiter and when I did I mentioned this and his response was "would you like me to send it back and have the chef warm it up?" His response was as if I had somehow ordered my pork chop medium rare. I was dumb-founded. We ordered dessert and besides the pre-fab anniversary chocolate wafer that arrived on top, there was barely any other mention of the special occasion and no complimentary dessert.

When we arrived we rode the elevator to the top and from the elevator window could see large visible cobwebs moving around by the air pressure from the elevator shaft. I should have taken this as a sign.

Overall, the service was ok, my wife's steak was nice but her brussel sprouts were very bland. My pork chop was a fiasco.

I could have been much more vocal about a few of these issues as they came up but didn't want to ruin the meal and peacefulness of a romantic night out.

A decade earlier we had a great experience and the experience was worth the price. We were both very disappointed by our 2017 experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Easter brunch at A Different Pointe of View at Tampatio Cliffs. Without requesting, we ended up with a wonderful window-side table with fabulous views south. It was a beautiful day and you could see forever!

Brunch was pretty much the usual upscale offerings----salads, soups, cheeses, seafood, a carving table, omelette and waffle station and a desert table. But I have to note a couple of dishes that were memorable: the chilled roasted strawberry cider bisque (I would LOVE to have that recipe, it was so good!), a really good romaine salad and the short ribs.

BUT THE VIEW! That just made it fabulous!

Our only caveat: the added in 20% gratuity----although, after consideration, I probably would have tipped closely to this. Although our server did not serve our food, he was on top of things with our drinks and was quick to carry away soiled plates and cutlery and replace with clean. I just don't like having a gratuity added without being told (we were a party of four!) and that with the tax added almost a $100 to the bill. On the other hand: The View!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were 4 for Easter Brunch. We had a great table at the window for it's renowned view of Phoenix. Plenty of food and variety for the buffet brunch. Service was exceptional. Food was of very good quality. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to A Different Pointe of View for Easter Brunch. I have driven by it so many times, and always wanted to experience it. The location is Spectacular! High up on the mountain top looking out over the entire Phoenix Valley. Very classy building and gardens. The Easter buffet was a winding spread of multiple courses; salads, appetizers, breads, seafoods, at least 5 main course choices that included prime rib of beef and lamb. Cooked to perfection! Waffles and omelets made to order. So many dessert offerings it was hard to choose. It was quiet and leisurely, as we were part of the first round to be served. There were many families with children, well behaved and dressed in Easter finery. Everyone was enjoying a special day in a special place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good. Definitely pay for the view. Great service as well. Patio on the lower level is relaxing with a large fire pit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall one of the best dining experiences ever.... Tasting menu with Wine pairing was exquisite. Chef Anthony, manager Bill and our waiter, Cory executed a perfect dinner... the epitome of fine dining service. Thank you for a wonderful evening and memory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food with a breathtaking view!!!
I celebrated my last night of vacation here and the view alone was worth the drive. The staff was very courteous and attentive. The food was outstanding and I was never rushed or

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great meal, nice views, good service. Well be back. A little expensive but very nice presentation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Delicious and beautiful view. Perfect for date night and special occasions. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Excellent service "wined and dined"

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Austin and Ian were attentive, knowledgeable and personable. Best service in a very long time.
Looking forward to my next dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Well where do we start? I'm so happy we are out the 475 we spent instead of the thousands we where planning to spend here on our sons graduation next year. First they could not accommodate us for outside seating which I saw they could. Than our appetizers where okay yet they could not afford to give us seven Roasted Crystal Point Oysters instead of six even though there where seven of us at the table, the Genuine Wagyu Beef Cheek appetizer was good yet lacking worth, our guest Thyme Garlic Scented Duck Confit was anorexic, he needed reading glasses to find it on his plate. His wife and me had the Roasted Fulton Farms Basil Scented Chicken and found it to have no flavor at all. The rest found there food edible and had no real complaints at least to our faces! We were forced to give a 20% tip for this inhospitable service. Our anniversary experience here was great, they must only be good for parties s of two, where they have to work to get there tip....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing atmosphere. Just nothing like it. And the beauty of the scenic mountains as the sun sets is to die for. You won't forget the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome food, service, and view. It is a little pricey, but not extreme. Proposed to my gf on the outside terrace, the view was about as romantic as you can find in Phoenix. I suspect we will be returning for anniversaries and special occasions. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful view of the Phoenix area. Dark and very romantic. Professional staff, very informed about the menu. I would definitely recommend Different Point of View.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great view overlooking Phoenix and sunset views. Creative menu with seasonal items. Everything was delicious from salad to dessert

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Anniversary Dinner atop Phoenix: ordered the Chef's tasting menu and the beef short ribs for dinner. All prepared to perfection even for a foodie. Presentation and taste were exquisite and came through with every bite. Bartender made exceptional cocktails, strong and well balanced where even the novice can appreciate. MUST visit for a finer dining experience with wonderful view of the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My wife and I took our son and his girlfriend. It was the first time for all of us. The view was wonderful from the outdoor patio (weather dependent obviously). The service was exceptionally friendly. Everyone thought the meal they ordered was excellent. The prices were on the high side but reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Nice experience but the view was a little less scenic than Expected

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very nice and affordable buffet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing staff very friendly and professional it's nice to be able to go to a restaurant where the dress code is enforced. Very high class restaurant would absolutely reccomend. Go see Luis he was an excellent server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We always enjoy our dinner at Different Pointe of View. The great food, wine and service are only part of the experience. The view is marvelous and there isn't a bad seat in the house.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great views
Food was very good
Service was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We made reservations here based on a recommendation from a friend about the view. We didn't look at the menu and brought out 3 young kids with us. The waiter was very kind and mentioned their kids menu, although its not listed. The kids did well trying new foods, the view was amazing, and our entrees were some of the best food we've ever had. I definitely want to return but next time I'll leave the kids at home to really enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the view.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The sunset was fabulous. What a beautiful place to have dinner. Food and service were great as well

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This was our first visit to DPOV and it was a truly excellent experience. Best food we have encountered in a long time - a very close second to Cafe Monarch (and much more affordable). This will be our new dining spot to bring out of town guests and for special occasions like Mothers day and birthdays. The only issue was some confusion with the check; my credit card was gone a very long time and a different server finally returned the bill with apologies for the delay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Dinner was not fantastic but the view was terrific. Next time drinks at sunset and dinner someplace else

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great views. Oysters were good, other dishes were acceptable. Reservations a must.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fantastic meal as always and the view is breathtaking

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The View is good and the food wasn't too shabby. Could tell the host was a little annoyed with life or who knows what. Service was great. Music in dining was broken so it was pretty much dead silent besides table chatter. Patio was closed. Doubt we will come again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We love this place. We come every year for our anniversary as we got married here. They always treat their customers well and with the utmost respect. The View and the food are top notch! I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a special spot for a date or anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We loved this experience! Great good!!! Little slow on the service but the view and food made up for that!! Cannot wait to be back when I vacation in AZ next year

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.