About Different Pointe of View

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Exclusive Easter Brunch Menu! Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Tuesday - Saturday

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Different Pointe of View
Different Pointe of View
Lobster Bisque
Chargrilled Oysters
Sauteed Wild Mushrooms
Osso Bucco
Midnight Espresso Cup
Arugula salad, dried blueberries, shaved beets, marcona almonds, goat cheese, Cabernet lavender vinaigrette
Pan seared diver scallops, charred organic rainbow cauliflower, roasted sunchokes, baby beets, fermented black garlic and yuzu purée, clementine tarragon olive oil emulsion
Lobster bisque, lobster stock, cream and butter
Pear Salad
Macarons
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Masa and smolina flour lemon angel cake (gluten-free), lemon ginger ice cream, salted lemon caramel curd, huckleberries
Barramundi
Chocolate Moouse
Cherry Wood Smoked Venison

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Scenic View
Phoenix / Arizona
3 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

scenic view (146)
special occasion (124)
romantic (116)
See All
great for outdoor dining (62)
fit for foodies (48)
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service is amazing the server was so ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service is amazing the server was so much fun took the pictures we wanted to had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my birthday dinner, and definit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my birthday dinner, and definitely the highlight of my.day. The food, the service and the view were all outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Venerable, classic, dependable, timeless ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Venerable, classic, dependable, timeless. Wish Scottsdale would have old favorites like this and Durants in Phoenix. The closest we come is Remington's for nostalgia now that the Pink Pony has closed again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, Great Service, Great View, a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great Food, Great Service, Great View, all made fro a great date night with my wife. We enjoyed the chef's tasting which was a unique 5 course meal created for our table. we also added the wine pairing for each course (which I suggest everyone adds). I really can not say which course we enjoyed the best, each course out did the previous course.

They also have a nice cigar selection I enjoyed a Montecristo cigar while we enjoyed the view from the patio.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our Anniversary and enjoyed ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for our Anniversary and enjoyed our meal. It is summer so the restaurant seemed more "casual" then maybe when the resort is busier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After making a reservation our table was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

After making a reservation our table was late 30 mins,server wasn't attentive,my fish had a fish bone,server didn't care never called manager,so I will never go back there again.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This is a beautiful restaurant at the to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant at the top of Tapitio Cliffs (within Pointe Hilton property). The view of the Phoenix valley is amazing. Excellent ambiance inside and outside. The heat kept us inside except for some photographs. We enjoyed the prix fixe menu. Standouts were Lobster Bisque and Stone Fish. Desserts to die for. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great customer service!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and view. Excellent food, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great location and view. Excellent food, large portions and good value prix fixe. If you live in Phoenix you should go here at least once.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was mostly fabulous. The devil' ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was mostly fabulous. The devil's food cake dessert was a bit dry. Service was excellent. Every seat had a nice view. Great experience would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was exceptional. Server/somme ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was exceptional. Server/sommelier excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For many years we’ve dined here on speci ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

For many years we’ve dined here on special occasions and these have been some of the very best dining experiences we’ve ever had anywhere. For this visit and the prior visit, though, the restaurant did not live up to our expectations and its past outstanding history mostly because the food is just no longer worthy of the price. We were placed at a very nice table by the window and the scenic view was indeed beautiful. Our servers were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive but, because of the food we will most likely not be returning. The restaurant was not at all crowded but we felt a bit rushed with our dinner orders coming as I was just finishing my appetizer. My cocktail from the bar downstairs prior to our dinner reservation was not particularly good so we decided to go elsewhere for an after dinner drink.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This was my second time coming here. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my second time coming here. The views are amazing. The food was good and the service was top notch, can't wait to come back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING! Took my girlfriend here for ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

OUTSTANDING! Took my girlfriend here for a birthday dinner and we were blown away by the food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and the place is amazing but se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The view and the place is amazing but service was really bad, the waiter was never around, my meat was cooked medium instead of medium well as I ordered, by the time I got my meal back I wasn't hungry anymore as I had to wait a lot. My friend ordered an Americano Coffee, he insisted in bringing her a different one and she agreed just as a courtesy to him but she ended up not drinking any because it was too strong.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Awsome staff! Delicious entries, wonder ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Awsome staff! Delicious entries, wonderfull view, and what I thought was a fair price

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food, ambience and wait st ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

As always the food, ambience and wait staff is excellent. They make you feel very special from the time you walk in to when you leave. They are very knowledgeable of wine and the menu. We were celebrating two birthdays with another couple and gave all of us a free dessert. Can't beat that kind of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was ordinary. Greeting staff is ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Dinner was ordinary. Greeting staff is a bit lost. The service, led by Luis, was excellent and deserving of 5 stars. It is sad to see a formerly good restaurant decline, but this is the situation. The food was extremely salty and somehow was meant to compensate for good flavors. Way, way too salty. I conclude that this is a restaurant that has sat on its view too long as the food is just not up to standard. If you want a great view, with great service and ordinary food, this is the place.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our anniversary dinner was perfect! Luis ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was perfect! Luis, our waiter, was incredible.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 of the 4 of us ordered the short ribs ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

3 of the 4 of us ordered the short ribs special and loved it. I ordered the diver scallops and they were incredibly salty. I would never order them again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic experience. Incredi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Absolutely fantastic experience. Incredible service and delicious food. Very high end establishment.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is perhaps the best in P ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This restaurant is perhaps the best in Phoenix. The service is simply magnificent, the menu selections well suited and of course the scenic views just breathtaking. I strongly recommend you make an effort to visit for dinner sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pushy waiter. If you don't eat fis ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very pushy waiter. If you don't eat fish or seafood, then special menu doesn't work very well. Seemed anxious to get us out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Once again we've enjoyed our total exper ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Once again we've enjoyed our total experience at the Different Point of View. As always the food is outstanding, service prompt, courteous, amicable and informative. The view is one of the best in Phoenix, especially at sunset. The pacing of the meal is appropriate while the portions filing. It's no wonder this restaurant has won numerous awards over the years and is able to maintain its reputation as one of the go to spots for great dining at a good price. Well worth every visit we've made and those we've yet to make.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service, food, view, and wine - ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

From the service, food, view, and wine - everything was outstanding. Greeted with multiple smiles, and served by at least three waiters; the experience was welcomed and left us wanting more. The sommelier's choice of wine was spectacular - an excellent choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for a romantic dinner in Phoe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best place for a romantic dinner in Phoenix

Love the view <3

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing experience! We went here to cele ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing experience! We went here to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was out of this world and the ambiance was wonderful! The staff provided great service and made it a great night. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hello. Of all the restaurant my Lady [wi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Hello. Of all the restaurant my Lady [wife] had to choose from I decided this one. Moving from Vegas to Arizona we had to find the right ones. The place is very good and so is the scenic view. THE one BIG problem was what I paid for WAS not right...my Ladies was right. I ordered a fish menu and while eating it ABOUT three quarter way thru it I COULD NOT eat it anymore...the reason was the fish had two sharp bones. When I was chewing my food I had to take the bone out of my mouth twice. I called the server twice about it, he took it BUT did nothing about it. Legally this is not right. ALSO I am disable and I walk with a cane. While walking down the step in the parking lot...1. uneven steps...2. NO RAILINGS...3. woman in front of me fell and the rock ripped her pants...3. I and my wife stumbled to.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service is still good. The plac ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service is still good. The place is dated and in urgent need of refurbishment

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

This was an amazing place for dinner. G ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This was an amazing place for dinner. Great service (ask for Luis), amazing food, and to boot an amazing view. Best place in Phoenix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a unique and beautiful setting! Re ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Such a unique and beautiful setting! Recommend the chef's pairings. Wonderful dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By far my favorite dining experience in ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

By far my favorite dining experience in AZ. I thoroughly enjoy the chefs creativity and execution. Every dish I've had in this restaurant has been excellent. From the pork belly appetizer to the lamb meat course, it was five courses of pure amazing. Add to that the beautiful wine pairings. Our party left the restaurant TOTALLY SATISFIED

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner experience. Place could ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful dinner experience. Place could use a little TLC. But such a gem to see the Valley below.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awesome food. The view is even better. M ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome food. The view is even better. My date and I totally enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An Evening in Phoenix

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Celebrated our friend's birthday and an evening with our ASU Junior grandson at this fabulous restaurant. It was perfect - great views, service and food! Our grandson said it was his best meal ever - not easy to wow a 21 year old grandson! The only negative was a large noisy group seated nearby. The manager did speak to them for us and things quieted down a bit. The best he could do, and we appreciated that. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We love the view from A Different Point of View. We watched Phoenix downtown as the sun set and the lights came on in the city. We were totally pampered by the wait staff. The food was outstanding as always. This restaurant has it all - view, service, and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always is amazing. The flavors ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is always is amazing. The flavors that are brought together through each dish are truly an artform. This is our 5th visit and it's always a treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster Bisque was amazing along with th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Lobster Bisque was amazing along with the Duck entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another successful Restaurant Week

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Different Pointe of View continues to provide a wonderful and memorable dining experience. A great way to celebrate a birthday with delicious food and romantic ambiance. Service was stellar and the views are amazing.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous during Spring Restaurant Week

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Easy booking on Open Table. Requested a table next to the window and got it, however, the tables are on different levels making the view incredible from every table. 4 girls out enjoying Restaurant Week pricing. From walking in, we were greeted enthusiastically by every wait person we passed. We all ordered the price fix, and the lobster bisque was very elegant, highly recommend! We all chose to order the Chef Special fish which was an incredible large filet of fresh grilled halibut served with grilled baby artichokes, several chunks of lobster claw meat, served over a brown rice, topped with a lobster reduction. None of us could finish it all...we had had a lengthy cocktail hour, and we talked the next day about how great tasting our leftovers were! Creme Brûlée with fresh berries was awesome! At 1800' elevation, the view across the valley and of downtown was magical at 5:30, sunset at 7:30 incredible with the city lights, and after dinner we went to the outside terrace for after dinner drinks surrounded by torch lights and a beautiful veranda. The restaurant was elegant and quiet enough but with the great weather this week, will consider eating outside next visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.