About Different Pointe of View

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Exclusive Easter Brunch Menu! Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Tuesday - Saturday

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Scenic View
Phoenix / Arizona
3 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

scenic view (179)
romantic (156)
special occasion (156)
See All
great for outdoor dining (92)
notable wine list (64)
fit for foodies (60)
good for groups (36)
hot spot (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for lunch (5)
 (4)
 (4)
kid-friendly (4)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster Bisque was amazing along with th ...

Dined a day ago

Lobster Bisque was amazing along with the Duck entree

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view that's amazing as well as ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful view that's amazing as well as great service and food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional view and food

Dined 4 days ago

Set atop a steep driveway, this gem looks out over the Phoenix valley. Floor to ceiling glass. makes all inside tables view friendly and the multi tiered outside stone balcony offers jaw dropping vistas. Arrive an hour before sunset to enjoy both day and night images. The food is equally spectacular with quiet efficient and immediate service. Everything we tried was excellent and the dessert options were wonderful. Smaller but full of rich vibrant flavors blended tog.ether in unique ways After dinner walk down a level to the lounge and sit by the fires and waterfalls on the patio. Watch the cars in traffic below and enjoy being above it all. Don't drink too much because the drive down seems even steeper. TIP - walk around the right side of the entrance to reach the elevator (located in the below ground wine cellar) other wise it is a four story climb to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with a great view

Dined 5 days ago

Took some friends for a nice dinner. This is one of the better fine restaurants in the metro area from our experience. Food is great, service great, cant top the views, especially sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice to take special out of town gu ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very nice to take special out of town guests to -- the view of the valley is amazing. It was incredibly loud though, so my husband could hear little of the table talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined 6 days ago

Different Point of View has such tasty food and great service. The view is amazing from any seat in the restaurant. They have great specials all year. We always go to DPOV whenever we get the chance. Great wine selection as well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Love this restaurants view and service b ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Love this restaurants view and service but have been disappointed by the food lately

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a terrific experience. Great service. Excellent food. Wonderful view. And a desert with a candle on it for a birthday. Can't ask for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the food and view were amazing. Gr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Both the food and view were amazing. Great for indoor and outdoor dining

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We booked the restaurant for an annivers ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We booked the restaurant for an anniversary dinner. I booked it about a week in advance and yet, they could not promise a window table. That is reserved for the 6pm diners I was told. (We had a reservation at 6:30pm) Our service was rushed. I was asked three times if they could take my plate. And unfortunately I pretty much can let things go if the food is outstanding, but it wasn't. We have so many really good, and I mean good, restaurants in Scottsdale/ Phoenix area, that if the food is not outstanding, I will not go back. They have a lovely view, but the overall experience was not good, and the food did not help the matter. We will not return.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic view into downtown Phoenix. Th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic view into downtown Phoenix. The lobster bisque appetizer was fantastic. The rest of the meal (entrees and desserts) were good but not outstanding. It is a fun date location but not necessarily a place I'm eager to dine in again anytime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great view and food.

Dined on May 21, 2016

A Different Pointe of View was at a Devoured event that we attended 3 years ago, and we decided to eat at the restaurant for restaurant week. It was delicious! The lobster bisque, berry salad, halibut, short ribs, and dessert were divine! Service was excellent and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views, delicious food and great ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Amazing views, delicious food and great service

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent as usual. Great table by the window. Won't waste time talking about the view. Everyone knows it's unsurpassed in the Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

So far I have never had a dinner that I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

So far I have never had a dinner that I didn't like. The presentation is excellent and the taste awesome. I recommend an advance reservation before sunset and ask for Ian to be your server. You can't go wrong.

food1
ambience3
service5

Tired restaurant in need of a makeover. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Tired restaurant in need of a makeover. Bar drinks are from another era. Not in a positive way!! Food was over garnished with conflicting flavours View was great.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food was outstanding. The views wer ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was outstanding. The views were great. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. The only negative aspect was the server seemed like he had too many tables and it took a while for him to return to us. We waited over 10 minutes or our check. We would definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

We went early and sat outside the bar ha ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went early and sat outside the bar having an appetizer and a drink while taking in the view of the city. Food was outstanding and I'll be on sweat is just what we wanted for our anniversary night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals of my entire life, ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

One of the best meals of my entire life, that's not hyperbole. Probably helped that my date is my dream girl.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From Sunrise to Sunset view birthday party

Dined on May 11, 2016

May 10-2016 was my wife birthday. After we enjoyed a fantastic sunrise view flying over the sonora desert in a hot air balloon i decide to take her out for diner at yhe different point of view. We both loved this restaurant. It was a place where we got all our expectatives. I was making sure that she feels as she was my real queen seated down on her troon next to her prince enjoying a awesome sunset and city light views but combine with a fantastic and delicious diner in restaurant. Thank you Larry for your excellent servive and congatulations to chef for his or her delicious food. We can't wait tocome back for our wedding anniversary in August.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food did not excite me. Too expensiv ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food did not excite me. Too expensive for such a let down. The dining room was nice but the bar looked more enjoyable. The scenery was spectacular and difinetly worth it after dark to view the city lights.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Weather was perfect and view of Phoenix ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Weather was perfect and view of Phoenix was just overwhelming. Difficult to focus specifically on food but flavors were outstanding and everything was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebration Dinner

Dined on May 11, 2016

My family and I came to Arizona to celebrate my graduation from ASU. A co-worker recommended this restaurant and she was spot on! The food was amazing, the service was spectacular and the view was one of the best we have ever experienced.I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody visiting the Phoenix area as it is one of a kind!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had Mother's Day brunch. Selection was great but absolutely everything that should be hot food was luke warm to cold. Bacon, sausage, sea bass, soup, prime rib... All cold. When my son asked to have a hot waffle made for him, the cook argued with him, so he ate a cold one. We were all very disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Thought the Mothers' Day Brunch was rath ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Thought the Mothers' Day Brunch was rather overpriced. Believe, Champagne/mimosas should have been included as well as the gratuity in the promoted price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch was amazing! We love ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was amazing! We loved the assortment of delicious food and the service was top notch. I love this restaurant for dinner but my family and I were very impressed with brunch, we have found a new Mother's Day tradition!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Mother's Day Brunch in Phoenix

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and family to the Different Point of View for Mother's Day brunch. We had an excellent view of the entire Valley, it was excellent. The food was excellent and the family ambiance was perfect. The service is outstanding and we felt that it was a very good value if you are looking for a place to take your family on a special occasion. We plan on returning for Father's Day Brunch this year : )

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional views, service, food, and wi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Exceptional views, service, food, and wine selection! Perfect place for our early Mother's Day celebration or any special occasion!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice. Perfect.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fine dining. Majestic views. Not cheap but worth it. Noise level was surprisingly low though it wasn't very crowded. Nice place to bring someone if you want to impress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Beautiful view. Lo ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic experience. Beautiful view. Loved my meal. My service was great!!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Heads up for First Timers

Dined on May 3, 2016

The view is absolutely gorgeous and the restaurant is clean and sophisticated. We chose to sit on the patio with a group of friends but felt slightly awkward when we realized that the restaurant does not play music outside. The silence was rather uncomfortable and hindered our group from chatting too much because we felt we had to whisper in order to not bother other diners with our banter. The sound of forks and knives clanking together was about all you could hear while dining on the patio. Also, we were there to celebrate a birthday and had brought a cake with us to share after dinner. Sadly, after our arrival, we learned that the restaurant does NOT allow any outside food to be served in the restaurant and thus we were not allowed to enjoy the cake we had purchased for the occasion. Our server was very kind and attentive and the food was tasty. Overall the restaurant is nice but not sure I would go again for a special occasion. Great for a romantic date night or simply to enjoy the view in silence.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My 1 year anniversary

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had an amazing time. We really enjoyed our first anniversary.great place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificant View

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful! Can not wait to go when it is light and also see the view.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous view of the city great plate pr ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Gorgeous view of the city great plate presentation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Night

Dined on April 25, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with an amazing view of Phoenix. We ate there for a special family birthday, the food was well presented, tasty and though not loads of choice what we had was good. Service excellent and lovely ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

Didn't really enjoy it all that much. Fo ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Didn't really enjoy it all that much. Food was average. Service was not very attentive or timely.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server was excellent don' remember his name

Dined on April 25, 2016

The restaurant is not easy to find but worth the effort. It has an amazing view, great food and not overpriced. I would go back for any special occasion. I wish we would have had drinks at the Terrace bar below before dinner. Won't go there again without having a drink in the bar first.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, view beyond amazing!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent service, view beyond amazing!

food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful view, especially at night over ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful view, especially at night overlooking the city and great food. A little pricey, but worth it, especially for a romantic night.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Hopes were dashed

Dined on April 24, 2016

I was so looking forward to trying Different Point of View. The exciting drive up the steep hill, the amazing panoramic view and the wonderful lighting all led me to believe were in for a top-notch dining experience. Unfortunately the rest of the experience didn’t live up to our expectations. We tried the lobster bisque to start and it tasted over-seasoned and the color was a very unappealing brown. I had the lobster entrée and it was a tiny piece of chewy, not very flavorful meat with a few baby vegetables. My husband had the filet and it was mushy and bland. We were so disappointed. The service was also haphazard and not very timely. Sadly I can’t say I’d return any time soon.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.