About Different Pointe of View

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Exclusive Easter Brunch Menu! Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Tuesday - Saturday

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Different Pointe of View
Different Pointe of View
Lobster Bisque
Chargrilled Oysters
Sauteed Wild Mushrooms
Osso Bucco
Midnight Espresso Cup
Arugula salad, dried blueberries, shaved beets, marcona almonds, goat cheese, Cabernet lavender vinaigrette
Pan seared diver scallops, charred organic rainbow cauliflower, roasted sunchokes, baby beets, fermented black garlic and yuzu purée, clementine tarragon olive oil emulsion
Lobster bisque, lobster stock, cream and butter
Pear Salad
Macarons
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Masa and smolina flour lemon angel cake (gluten-free), lemon ginger ice cream, salted lemon caramel curd, huckleberries
Barramundi
Chocolate Moouse
Cherry Wood Smoked Venison

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Scenic View
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
2 More
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

scenic view (171)
special occasion (148)
romantic (141)
See All
great for outdoor dining (85)
fit for foodies (67)
notable wine list (53)
good for groups (30)
neighborhood gem (22)
hot spot (21)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is perhaps the best in P ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is perhaps the best in Phoenix. The service is simply magnificent, the menu selections well suited and of course the scenic views just breathtaking. I strongly recommend you make an effort to visit for dinner sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very pushy waiter. If you don't eat fis ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very pushy waiter. If you don't eat fish or seafood, then special menu doesn't work very well. Seemed anxious to get us out of there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we've enjoyed our total exper ...

Dined 4 days ago

Once again we've enjoyed our total experience at the Different Point of View. As always the food is outstanding, service prompt, courteous, amicable and informative. The view is one of the best in Phoenix, especially at sunset. The pacing of the meal is appropriate while the portions filing. It's no wonder this restaurant has won numerous awards over the years and is able to maintain its reputation as one of the go to spots for great dining at a good price. Well worth every visit we've made and those we've yet to make.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service, food, view, and wine - ...

Dined 5 days ago

From the service, food, view, and wine - everything was outstanding. Greeted with multiple smiles, and served by at least three waiters; the experience was welcomed and left us wanting more. The sommelier's choice of wine was spectacular - an excellent choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Best place for a romantic dinner in Phoe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best place for a romantic dinner in Phoenix Love the view <3

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience! We went here to cele ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing experience! We went here to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was out of this world and the ambiance was wonderful! The staff provided great service and made it a great night. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special night out!

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Hello. Of all the restaurant my Lady [wi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Hello. Of all the restaurant my Lady [wife] had to choose from I decided this one. Moving from Vegas to Arizona we had to find the right ones. The place is very good and so is the scenic view. THE one BIG problem was what I paid for WAS not right...my Ladies was right. I ordered a fish menu and while eating it ABOUT three quarter way thru it I COULD NOT eat it anymore...the reason was the fish had two sharp bones. When I was chewing my food I had to take the bone out of my mouth twice. I called the server twice about it, he took it BUT did nothing about it. Legally this is not right. ALSO I am disable and I walk with a cane. While walking down the step in the parking lot...1. uneven steps...2. NO RAILINGS...3. woman in front of me fell and the rock ripped her pants...3. I and my wife stumbled to.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Food and service is still good. The plac ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service is still good. The place is dated and in urgent need of refurbishment

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an amazing place for dinner. G ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This was an amazing place for dinner. Great service (ask for Luis), amazing food, and to boot an amazing view. Best place in Phoenix.

food5
ambience5
service5

Such a unique and beautiful setting! Re ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Such a unique and beautiful setting! Recommend the chef's pairings. Wonderful dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far my favorite dining experience in ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

By far my favorite dining experience in AZ. I thoroughly enjoy the chefs creativity and execution. Every dish I've had in this restaurant has been excellent. From the pork belly appetizer to the lamb meat course, it was five courses of pure amazing. Add to that the beautiful wine pairings. Our party left the restaurant TOTALLY SATISFIED

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful dinner experience. Place could ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful dinner experience. Place could use a little TLC. But such a gem to see the Valley below.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food. The view is even better. M ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome food. The view is even better. My date and I totally enjoyed it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Evening in Phoenix

Dined on June 9, 2016

Celebrated our friend's birthday and an evening with our ASU Junior grandson at this fabulous restaurant. It was perfect - great views, service and food! Our grandson said it was his best meal ever - not easy to wow a 21 year old grandson! The only negative was a large noisy group seated nearby. The manager did speak to them for us and things quieted down a bit. The best he could do, and we appreciated that. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

We love the view from A Different Point of View. We watched Phoenix downtown as the sun set and the lights came on in the city. We were totally pampered by the wait staff. The food was outstanding as always. This restaurant has it all - view, service, and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always is amazing. The flavors ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is always is amazing. The flavors that are brought together through each dish are truly an artform. This is our 5th visit and it's always a treat

food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster Bisque was amazing along with th ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Lobster Bisque was amazing along with the Duck entree

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Another successful Restaurant Week

Dined on May 29, 2016

Different Pointe of View continues to provide a wonderful and memorable dining experience. A great way to celebrate a birthday with delicious food and romantic ambiance. Service was stellar and the views are amazing.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous during Spring Restaurant Week

Dined on May 29, 2016

Easy booking on Open Table. Requested a table next to the window and got it, however, the tables are on different levels making the view incredible from every table. 4 girls out enjoying Restaurant Week pricing. From walking in, we were greeted enthusiastically by every wait person we passed. We all ordered the price fix, and the lobster bisque was very elegant, highly recommend! We all chose to order the Chef Special fish which was an incredible large filet of fresh grilled halibut served with grilled baby artichokes, several chunks of lobster claw meat, served over a brown rice, topped with a lobster reduction. None of us could finish it all...we had had a lengthy cocktail hour, and we talked the next day about how great tasting our leftovers were! Creme Brûlée with fresh berries was awesome! At 1800' elevation, the view across the valley and of downtown was magical at 5:30, sunset at 7:30 incredible with the city lights, and after dinner we went to the outside terrace for after dinner drinks surrounded by torch lights and a beautiful veranda. The restaurant was elegant and quiet enough but with the great weather this week, will consider eating outside next visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

must see and dine

Dined on May 29, 2016

Waiter was Richard - he set the tone for the evening - he as funny, informative, engaging when necessary and made for a great evening. Food is amzing - what ever you get you will enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view that's amazing as well as ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful view that's amazing as well as great service and food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional view and food

Dined on May 27, 2016

Set atop a steep driveway, this gem looks out over the Phoenix valley. Floor to ceiling glass. makes all inside tables view friendly and the multi tiered outside stone balcony offers jaw dropping vistas. Arrive an hour before sunset to enjoy both day and night images. The food is equally spectacular with quiet efficient and immediate service. Everything we tried was excellent and the dessert options were wonderful. Smaller but full of rich vibrant flavors blended tog.ether in unique ways After dinner walk down a level to the lounge and sit by the fires and waterfalls on the patio. Watch the cars in traffic below and enjoy being above it all. Don't drink too much because the drive down seems even steeper. TIP - walk around the right side of the entrance to reach the elevator (located in the below ground wine cellar) other wise it is a four story climb to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with a great view

Dined on May 26, 2016

Took some friends for a nice dinner. This is one of the better fine restaurants in the metro area from our experience. Food is great, service great, cant top the views, especially sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice to take special out of town gu ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Very nice to take special out of town guests to -- the view of the valley is amazing. It was incredibly loud though, so my husband could hear little of the table talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on May 25, 2016

Different Point of View has such tasty food and great service. The view is amazing from any seat in the restaurant. They have great specials all year. We always go to DPOV whenever we get the chance. Great wine selection as well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Love this restaurants view and service b ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Love this restaurants view and service but have been disappointed by the food lately

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a terrific experience. Great service. Excellent food. Wonderful view. And a desert with a candle on it for a birthday. Can't ask for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the food and view were amazing. Gr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Both the food and view were amazing. Great for indoor and outdoor dining

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We booked the restaurant for an annivers ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We booked the restaurant for an anniversary dinner. I booked it about a week in advance and yet, they could not promise a window table. That is reserved for the 6pm diners I was told. (We had a reservation at 6:30pm) Our service was rushed. I was asked three times if they could take my plate. And unfortunately I pretty much can let things go if the food is outstanding, but it wasn't. We have so many really good, and I mean good, restaurants in Scottsdale/ Phoenix area, that if the food is not outstanding, I will not go back. They have a lovely view, but the overall experience was not good, and the food did not help the matter. We will not return.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic view into downtown Phoenix. Th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic view into downtown Phoenix. The lobster bisque appetizer was fantastic. The rest of the meal (entrees and desserts) were good but not outstanding. It is a fun date location but not necessarily a place I'm eager to dine in again anytime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great view and food.

Dined on May 21, 2016

A Different Pointe of View was at a Devoured event that we attended 3 years ago, and we decided to eat at the restaurant for restaurant week. It was delicious! The lobster bisque, berry salad, halibut, short ribs, and dessert were divine! Service was excellent and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views, delicious food and great ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Amazing views, delicious food and great service

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent as usual. Great table by the window. Won't waste time talking about the view. Everyone knows it's unsurpassed in the Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

So far I have never had a dinner that I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

So far I have never had a dinner that I didn't like. The presentation is excellent and the taste awesome. I recommend an advance reservation before sunset and ask for Ian to be your server. You can't go wrong.

food1
ambience3
service5

Tired restaurant in need of a makeover. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Tired restaurant in need of a makeover. Bar drinks are from another era. Not in a positive way!! Food was over garnished with conflicting flavours View was great.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food was outstanding. The views wer ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was outstanding. The views were great. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly. The only negative aspect was the server seemed like he had too many tables and it took a while for him to return to us. We waited over 10 minutes or our check. We would definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

We went early and sat outside the bar ha ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went early and sat outside the bar having an appetizer and a drink while taking in the view of the city. Food was outstanding and I'll be on sweat is just what we wanted for our anniversary night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals of my entire life, ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

One of the best meals of my entire life, that's not hyperbole. Probably helped that my date is my dream girl.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From Sunrise to Sunset view birthday party

Dined on May 11, 2016

May 10-2016 was my wife birthday. After we enjoyed a fantastic sunrise view flying over the sonora desert in a hot air balloon i decide to take her out for diner at yhe different point of view. We both loved this restaurant. It was a place where we got all our expectatives. I was making sure that she feels as she was my real queen seated down on her troon next to her prince enjoying a awesome sunset and city light views but combine with a fantastic and delicious diner in restaurant. Thank you Larry for your excellent servive and congatulations to chef for his or her delicious food. We can't wait tocome back for our wedding anniversary in August.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food did not excite me. Too expensiv ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food did not excite me. Too expensive for such a let down. The dining room was nice but the bar looked more enjoyable. The scenery was spectacular and difinetly worth it after dark to view the city lights.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.