Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

About Different Pointe of View

Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served : Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday& Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (75)
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for a Date (55)
Worth the Drive (42)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

I made a reservation for my 28th anniversary at 7:45PM. They told us they were running a little late. 50 minutes later we finally got a table. I could have gone anywhere but decided to go here for the first time. The food was excellent, but the overall service was lacking. Two girls checking us in did not care anything about our wait time. Too bad, view was great, food was really good, but we probably won't be back. Definitely won't be back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The view of Phoenix was beautiful. We all had the pre fix dinner (starter, entre, dessert $39.95). The choices for the pre fix were very nice. Three of us had the Halibut. Unfortunately, it was a little overcooked and a little dry. One person had the hanger steak and it was delicious. Our waiter and the service was very good. We enjoyed our meal very much and would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times over the past 10 years. The food has always been outstanding in appearance and well as taste. On this visit the presentation was beautiful, but the food lacked flavor. It was forgettable. Is there a new chef on site?

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Only one thing: for italian people air conditioned too much high 😉

Alessandro mosca

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was amazing, at unbelievable price. Ambiance was most amazing

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always a memorable evening. Staff is wonderful, food fantastic, and view amazing. We plan to return again and again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The 5 star rating must be 20 years old. Was very disappointed in the quality of the food. Would have rather gone to any number of places in Scottsdale for much much better quality food. I had lobster bisque and it tasted like a high sodium powder based broth. There was zero lobster in it. Everything about the place seemed outdated like nothing has changed in 20+ years. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This restaurant lives up to its reviews completely! The view is absolutely amazing! The service was impeccable!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I went with my boyfriend on my birthday. It was a nice, quiet and romantic atmosphere. It has an amazing view. I think it's nice for for a special ocasión. It's pricey, but I recommend it if you're looking for something like that. However, the food wasn't all that great. I would go back just for the environment, not for the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place is very elegant and classy. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

View was great, otherwise it was overpriced for decent food with ok service and a reasonable ambiance.
Could have stayed closer to home and enjoyed a steak at Flemmings for 1/2 the price and 1/4 the drive

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at A Different Point of View for our 20th Anniversary. It was perfect. We were moved from our original table to the window with a view. Our server Nash was friendly, fun and present enough to not make us feel ignored and not too present to feel interrupted. The other staff were excellent, my water glass never emptied. The food did take a while to come out, however my wife and I were having such a great conversation, enjoying the restaurant, and the attention of the staff actually didn't make it feel like we were waiting long at all. I really didn't notice until I actually looked at my watch. The manager comp'd our appetizers and desserts! And they gave us a little extra fudge at the end with a Happy Anniversary chocolate. We were absolutely taken care of. I haven't had a better dinner service time in my life. It is a great restaurant, the food is really good, and the service is top notch. They will be on my short list for special occasion restaurants from now on. Thank you A Different Point of View for a perfect Anniversary Dinner!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, awesome atmosphere, one of the beat places in phoenix for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

It was an amazing experience & everything I hoped it'd be. Beautiful and food, professional and friendly staff, & the most gorgeous view. New favorite restaurant in the valley.

P.s the hostess was incredibly kind & accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2017

It was an excellent evening but with one complaint. Please tell your wait staff to not smoke until the end of their shift. Our server reaked of a fresh smoked cigarette and it was disgusting.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Really enjoyed the restaurant. View was wonderful and the service excellent. Food was good and a great value. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This place is a hidden gem. It has an amazing view and will visit it often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2017

As always excellent food, service and ambience. Not only is your main entree delicious, but all the accompaniments are outstanding. We have been going since 1989 and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We watched a dust storm come from the south as it engulfed the downtown buildings. It was awesome to see. We sat down at 6, and watched the sun set. The view was amazing, the food was delicious and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were staying at the resort that this restaurant is in and went there on our last night as we wanted to experience the fantastic view looking down on Phoenix. We were not disappointed, our table enabled us to enjoy the view without any obstructions. The cost of the dishes were on the high side but we chose the fixed price summer menu which enabled us to have 3 courses for the price of a main course. The food was well presented and tasted lovely. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable of the dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time experience and will definitely be coming back! Our server Bob made great recommendations and was the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 27, 2017

My boyfriend took me here for our three year anniversary and the waiter was amazing. When they brought out desert they gave us three happy anniversary chocolates one for each year. He decided to take me back there 6 months later for a birthday dinner and the manager helped him surprise me with a diamond ring in my desert and asked me to marry him. The manager and waiter all helped in making my fiances proposal go off without a hitch! After he asked me the waiter brought over sparkling apple cider on the house to celebrate, as well as comping the desert. The view is just as amazing as the food and the service. I don't think any other restaurant would be able to do as well for us as different pointe of view did for our special engagement! Thank you management and team for being our go to spot for celebrations anniversarys and birthdays!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As alway the Different Pointe of View did not disappoint. We held our Wedding Reception dinner here in 1993 and have been back many times for date night, birthdays and anniversaries.
The menu changes for different seasons and the appetizers, cocktails, dinners and desserts are incredible! Difficult to decide which one to enjoy. The Lobster Bisque was delicious but they had run out of mussels by 8:15. Scallops melted in your mouth and the lobster and filet were perfect
Reservations are easy to make on OpenTable and we have always been seated on time or before. Sad that you could not contact the restaurant directly to request a window table, especially since it was our 24th Anniversary. OpenTable will let you make requests but notes that they can't always guarantee them. However, our table was fine and had a breathtaking view. Our waiter was very attentive and even set up a table on the patio complete with tablecloth and candle for us to enjoy our champagne and dessert. (Note that this was later in the evening and it wasn't crowded) The evening view of The Valley is second to none. We will be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Acapulco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent service start to finish, fantastic view and amazing food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We celebrated my Mom's 97th birthday here, and it was the perfect location. Everyone and everything was absolutely perfect. The menu was comprehensive and innovative. The food was fabulous. Our wait staff took such great care of us, in a very non-stuffy but professional manner. We felt pampered and cared for and will definitely be back for another special occasion. Oh! The view! Amazing! Ask for a table by the window!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best views in the valleys. Hostess gave us a window table as asked for in our reservation. It was 30 minutes early she said if you don't take the table now you would loose it. So we asked for a window table over a month ago and if we weren't there even 30 minutes early we probably would not get one. We took the chef table tastings and wine parings. Our server did not introduce himself or be friendly, he was super super busy and just about had time to rattle off what was in each dish. Had to say the bus person was very friendly. The server put the wine bottle on the table and said take a picture of it, I will be right back, we don't write them down. Should not have put the bottle on the table, just poured for a wine pairing. Most fine dining places give a card with the wine and food courses written as a nice remembrance. Ceviche starter was great,pork belly also great, just a little dry but full of flavor,swordfish very light cooked perfectly,duck breast perfect, cheesecake a bit generic and strawberry foam added to maybe make it look pretty. Overall meal was great, just the rush in service. You need a sommelier maybe just on Saturday nights. The server had to run around to all tables opening wine, pouring, explaining food and wine. Did not leave enough time to be more hospitable to make it a very special dining experience. We never once saw a manager or matre d. Maybe having someone like that to help pour and open would be a huge help. Would have rated very good. All dishes were great, and the best views, but it was the overall lack of staff and management being there to make sure things were working well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

exceeds all dining experiences we have had in the past with a great view

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Really appreciate the best table in the house for celebrating my 50th birthday with my wife - corner table with all glass in front so excellent views of the city! The foods was excellent. We had the Pre-fixe menu which is very good value for money and the menu items we selected, superb! Also excellent service with just the right amount of attention.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The most beautiful atmosphere and great tasting food. It is exactly like the pictures

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service and awesome views! It is a wonderful restraunt for a relaxing and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Simply amazing environment.
Great service by Luis!
Food was delicious and the view was breathtaking . One of my favorite spots in the city!!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My husband and I loved coming here 30 years ago when we lived in the area. I had the opportunity to take my 3 adult children here and was not disappointed! The delicious meal and scenic views were appreciated by all of us!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good place for a special occasion. The view more so than the food. Food was good, just not great like I would have expected. But that's just my opinion. Views are outstanding...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This place was awesome, my wife and I stayed over night after we were married Saturday night.

Rooms were very nice.

Frederick Sinclair

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tapas, Fun, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Organic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with fantastic view of city. Was tad pricey but worth it

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Foodie Fulfillment
We chose Different Point of View primarily for the view. We wanted to enjoy the 4th of July Fireworks in air conditioned comfort while enjoying a fine wine. That goal was met and surpassed. Their summer pre-fix meal offers great choices for an excellent value. We decided to order one dinner from the pre-fix and the other al-la-cart and share everything. We started with a wonderful selection from the ample wine list. The wine was served at the proper temperature and with a selection of house made breads. The breads were accompanied with a duet of dipping sauces and a sweet tarragon butter. One sauce was an unbelievably creamy goat cheese and olive oil emulsion and the other a pleasantly balanced arugula pesto. For appetizers, we shared the fresh watermelon salad and the pork belly with was served over chorizo infused steal cut oats. For the main, we ordered the pork tenderloin with arrived pink and juicy with a parmesan crusted polenta. Our other entrée was duck two ways: a juicy roasted thigh and ground and stuffed into a delicate ravioli in a brown butter sauce. The attention to detail is appreciated as the flavors we perfectly balanced. The dessert offerings are prepared by the in-house pastry chef and change frequently. Our night’s choices were an ice cream sandwich with devil’s food cake and coffee ice cream and the heirloom carrot cake. Everything was fantastic. On our next visit, we may order the tasting menu which is a chef prepared five course meal with paired wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at Different Pointe of View. The view was absolutely beautiful and the food was delicious! Our waiter was very understanding of our dietary restrictions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Took my wife here to celebrate her birthday. Food and service was top notch. The atmospheric scenery was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we've ever had. View was amazing, service was outstanding and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner celebrating my husband's birthday and our 40th anniversary. Food and service were exceptional...and the view was breathtaking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.