Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 1.25mi
  3. Distance: 1.27mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

About Different Pointe of View

Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served : Sunday 5 - 9:00, Monday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday 5 - 10pm & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Close nightly

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (92)
Romantic (79)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Good for a Date (71)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Worth the Drive (49)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fireplace (7)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

AMAZING:) So romantic and the food and view was absolutely incredible

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and the view is fantastic. Get the for sunset and see the sun set over the city of Phoenix. Good pre fix menu for $39.95 that includes appetizer, entree and dessert.
My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Anniversary. It was a wonderful meal with the prix fixe menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great restaurant with very beautiful views! Definitely try the pork belly appetizer....it was amazing! Would definitely go back again. The only complain was that my wife's duck confit was a little dry and our server was not as attentive as we would've liked. Overall, a great place to dine for a very special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Everything was fabulous . Our server Richard was even better. Food is really good. Get the lobster you will not be disappointed. (If you like seafood).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The service was below the expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a memorable anniversary dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with dinner at Different Point of View. Although we have lived in the valley for years, this was our first outing there. We were amazed with the walls of glass revealing a magnificent view of the entire valley. Our server, and the entire serving cast were attentive, friendly and made every effort to accommodate our needs. The food was excellent and served simply but elegantly. Our main server and serving staff wished us a happy anniversary and provided a special anniversary dessert. The main server insisted on taking a number of photos of the two of us and was just a terrific ambassador for the Different Point of View. We will definitely return, especially for special occasions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent experience, it was especially fun because I hike 1-2 times a week in the North Mountains and had never been to the restaurant. It was a very special night for my children and wife, we were celebrating her 50th birthday and I can't think of a better place than Different Point of View for the occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Different Pointe of View is one of my favorite restaurants. My boyfriend and I had our first date there, so decided to go back for sentimental purposes. When I made the reservation I told them it was a special occasion and asked for a window seat. Upon arrival I did not get a window seat and was given no explanation as to why, and was instead seated far from the window. We decided to do the Restaurant Week menu, but now I wish I would have stuck with our usual choices. The lobster bisque was way too salty. The short rib had no flavor. And the creme brulee was just okay. As for my boyfriend, they gave him a massive plate with very little salad on it that was almost comical for a presentation. He asked to sub out something in his entree, and rather than do what he requested the server had the chef just make an extra side of the vegetable and then charged us for it. My wine was also served far too warm, and I was actually sick all night after our dinner which I'm fairly certain had something to do with the wine as it tasted a bit off. Overall disappointed, which I hate to say because I love this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Once again the tasting menu at DPOV was FANTASTIC. The dishes that they create and the way they are plated is true artistry. Everything on the plate was paired perfectly and the wines complimented each dish. From the initial course of Duck Ravioli with Duck Confit to the meat course of Green Chili braised Osso Buco, it was all so delicious. This continues to be a must visit restaurant in Phoenix. Thank you to all of the Chef's and Staff at DPOV, your cuisine and service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our dinner was wonderful. My parents have dined in some of the finest restaurants in the world and were impressed. Big shoutout to our server Brian.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Outstanding overall. View was unbelievable, food was amazing and waiter was knowledgeable, the right amount of attentive and ensured our stay was perfect. 5 stars.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This place is amazing. The food is great. They are so accommodating. We had to change our reservations and they were so wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food left a lot to be.
Drinks were good but we had halibut and that was not so good. Desert was not that great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

sERVICE WAS EXCELLECT. Halibut was very good ...cooked perfectly. Both the beef cheeks and the short ribs kind of seems like they had the "pre" cooked , not fresh....left us feeling like overcooked. Pork Chop was awesome

Beautiful dining, breath taking view, nice and quiet, easy to have great conversation with our friends.

Did I say, Service was EXCELLENT

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The wagyu beef cheeks and the lobster bisque were excellent, as well as the short ribs, pork chop and duck. The side dishes could use some work and the desserts were less than spectacular. In comparison to the rest of the meal, I would rather go to Baskin-Robbins or Sunrise Donuts than to order the dessert here.
The view is amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had a wonderful 40th anniversary dinner overlooking the valley. The food and service was great. The one disappointment was to learn after we ate dinner that the bar level actually had much better views and a more desirable ambiance. We would have rather enjoyed sliders and drinks on the bar patio than the higher priced dinners inside the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had great expectations for dinner last week. The view is stunning and the staff is really top notch. The food - the Lobster Bisque was exceptional and very rich. It, however, caused both of us to feel unwell later that evening and it was the only thing that we ate the same all day. My main dinner - the meat was cooked perfectly but the mashed potatoes were room temperature at best. The other potatoes on the plate were undercooked and not very warm either. My wife's dish also was not very warm when it was served. The overall experience was a bit rushed as well. I'd recommend Lon's over here if you have a really special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was a very nice experience! We don't do restaurants like this often because of cost, but found the 3 course special a good deal to hit our pallets with enough flavors to make us want to come back sometime. Thanks

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great view but food was just slightly above average

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our first date and there isn't a better more romantic spot in the entire Valley for a first date. Although it was stunningly beautiful I never thought it was over the top or over done at all. I look forward to going there again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

make sure to get a reservation just before sunset so that you can take in the view and watch the city lights come on while you eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

If there is a better restaurant in the Valley, we've yet to find it. The cuisine is deliciously creative and unlike anything offered elsewhere. Combine that with the spectacular setting, attentive but never obtrusive service and you have a recipe for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good for Mother's Day and the staff was pretty attentive. But the price of the buffet was way too high for what was offered. Plus I didn't appreciate the automatic 20 percent gratuity ... for a buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch buffet. Excellent food. Great table. Seated is early. Waiter was friendly and stopped by often. Very fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food, spectacular setting and the best service I have received in a LONG time. Hats off to Luis who has mastered the lost art of true customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place is very nice with great food and great views. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. We were seated at the window with great views of the valley. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and Service is great. Got a good view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Perfect evening, food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Different Pointe of View never disappoints! The service and the food was excellent. The lamb is superb. The views were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fantastic location for a family celebration! Great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent experience, great view, and outstanding food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The view is fantastic. It was the best part of our experience. The food had a weird herb flavor that wasn't appealing at all. The dishes weren't salted very well either. The flavor profile used must be a favorite of the chefs, everything seemed to taste similar. I couldn't put my finger on it , but it was extremely off putting.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A massive disappointment except for the view. The food wasn't hot enough was oversalted and has left us both feeling ill. How this can be described as fine dining is beyond me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Made reservations the day before online for an anniversary. Requested a table with a nice view. Our waiter was fantastic. Very informative about the menu and didn't hound over us while we made our decisions. Food was excellent. Would come back to the restaurant 10/10

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Small portions, high prices. Great ambiance and fantastic view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Wife and I go for the good food and the wonderful views of the valley during our anniversaries.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Incredible view with a meal that was impeccable.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

What an amazing place, my husband and I felt welcomed and special. The staff were very kind and informative about the food and history of the restaurant. We didn't feel rushed to eat and leave. The food tasted amazing! Thank you for the great wedding anniversary experience!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.