About Different Pointe of View

Hilton Tapatio Cliffs
11111 N. 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
View Larger Map

Exclusive Easter Brunch Menu! Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Tuesday - Thursday, 6 - 9:30 pm; Friday & Saturday, 6 - 10 pm; / Terrace Room Lounge: 5pm - Tuesday - Saturday

Cross Street:
7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 866-6350

Website:
http://www.differentpointeofview.com/

Catering:
Known as the premier destination wedding location in the state, Different Pointe of View's cliff-side ceremony site and stunning terraces are unmatched. Also very popular for corporate events, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, and celebrations of all kinds, you have to see this venue to believe it. Contact Traci Fox at 602-866-6397 for a site tour today!

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet and self parking available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony DeMuro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Different Pointe of View
Different Pointe of View
Lobster Bisque
Chargrilled Oysters
Sauteed Wild Mushrooms
Midnight Espresso Cup
Osso Bucco
Arugula salad, dried blueberries, shaved beets, marcona almonds, goat cheese, Cabernet lavender vinaigrette
Lobster bisque, lobster stock, cream and butter
Pan seared diver scallops, charred organic rainbow cauliflower, roasted sunchokes, baby beets, fermented black garlic and yuzu purée, clementine tarragon olive oil emulsion
Macarons
Pear Salad
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Masa and smolina flour lemon angel cake (gluten-free), lemon ginger ice cream, salted lemon caramel curd, huckleberries
Chocolate Moouse
Barramundi
Cherry Wood Smoked Venison

Private Dining

Adjacent to the restaurant, the recently remodeled Terrace Room was the sight of over 35 premier weddings in 2011. Additionally, this venue is often booked for corporate parties, charity events, retirement dinners and other occasions when the event simply cannot be compromised.

Different Pointe of View Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Scenic View
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
2 More
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Scenic View
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Scenic View (125)
Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (97)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view from the top of the Pointe is b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

The view from the top of the Pointe is beautiful. The food was excellent. Once we were seated, it did get quite loud from the larger tables. But overall, the price was good for what was delivered. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic views

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Gorgeous view with fabulous food. The po ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Gorgeous view with fabulous food. The pork belly was delicious but my favorite was the peanut butter ice cream!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and view were excellent but our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and view were excellent but our waiter Larry was horrible and almost ruined our meal. He was very cold, rude and short with us and ignored us when we would ask him a question about something on the menu or when we asked to see the dessert menu. Had to ask the gentleman refilling the drinks after asking larry twice. The waiters helping him who brought our food and drinks were very nice though. My girlfriend looked at reviews and saw that someone posted the same thing about our waiter. This place is great but stay away from this guy.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, good value especially the on ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, good value especially the one-fix menu

Amazing view and good service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just moving back to the valley after 10 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Just moving back to the valley after 10 years & not knowing where to go for that special occasion I went to my trusted go to site Trip Advisor to find that place. I stumbled upon Different Pointe of View at TapatIo Cliffs & we read through some of the reviews searched a couple of other places but we kept coming back to Different Pointe of View.

The view is way better then the pictures show was truly amazing. We were greeted with a smile & seated at a window table ( but honestly I think any table has a great view). We watched the storms roll in was breathtaking with the lights over the city. The service was amazing & friendly not stuffy & was fun but Nash, Ryan & Tunda made our special night even more special we Thank you all!

The food was amazing from a fresh Hummus to goat cheese olive oil spread to the Seafood with a melt in your mouth broth to Pork Cooked just right it is very fresh and the mix of flavors in every dish is an experience not to be missed. Desserts you have not lived until you try the Creme brûlée you need to come here it was the best we have ever had ( I enjoyed my birthday candle & sign added made my night) or the chocolate peanut butter mousse with the ice cream yum. No need to find another restaurant you need to make this your only go to for any meal, truly amazing.

Different Pointe of View is truly The Best in the Valley for Atmosphere, View, Staff & The Food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had shrimp ravioli, lobster bisque, a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had shrimp ravioli, lobster bisque, and filet mignon. Everything was delicious, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant. Location is high u ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Location is high up in the mountains of the resort. The view is spectacular, go at Sunset to see the full color and night view of Phoenix. Dinner was great. Service was amazing. We went down to the Terrace, bar area outside was amazing. Looking forward to returning.

Make reservations early as it is popular. I would do drinks on the Terrace first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a great place to pamper yourself. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It's a great place to pamper yourself. The hotel landscape and layout adds to the uniqueness of the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didnt even eat there isnt enough vari ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We didnt even eat there isnt enough variety in the menu. Not everybody who stays at the resort and wishes to dine in your establishment has creme de la creme champagne tastebuds you should bring some choices to your menu for us simple folks.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times for both business and personal reasons and it never disappoints. The view of the valley is spectacular - make sure you arrive for sunset in order to enjoy the before and after views. The wine list is extensive - something for everyone. Let them know if it is a special occasion or celebration as they go out of their way to make it memorable.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daddy/Daughter date for her 15th bday. A ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Daddy/Daughter date for her 15th bday. Almost a perfect review except for the food temps were a bit on the cold side. Delicious appetizers, entree, desserts, and drinks. Great ambiance and awesome view of the city lights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely magnificent! The food is sub ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Absolutely magnificent! The food is sublime and the view is breathtaking. Our service was professional, friendly and thoughtful. I recommend Different Point of View highly. It will go down in memory as one of my best dining experiences ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views from the hillside locati ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful views from the hillside location are the reason to visit. The menu is interesting. The entrees are "busy" with many colors and textures but lacked flavor. Service was slow although the busboy was very good with water service and cleanup.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The dessert menu needs more selections. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The dessert menu needs more selections.

Perhaps add Salmon to the dinner menu.

The bread was too hard.

On a positive note, the view was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The view from the restaurant is one of t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The view from the restaurant is one of the best in Phoenix, the atmosphere wonderful, the service is excellent but was disappointed by the preparation of the main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The staff was extremely friendly and att ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The staff was extremely friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding place for a special occasion ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding place for a special occasion or wanting a great and consistent dining experience. Wonderful wait staff. Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The views are great, the food was good b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The views are great, the food was good but not for the outstanding prices. The service was okay, nothing great. I think I expected it to be like the Capital Grill or better so I left disappointed. There wasn't even any music! That would've made better ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The service is amazing the server was so ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The service is amazing the server was so much fun took the pictures we wanted to had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my birthday dinner, and definit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was my birthday dinner, and definitely the highlight of my.day. The food, the service and the view were all outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Venerable, classic, dependable, timeless ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Venerable, classic, dependable, timeless. Wish Scottsdale would have old favorites like this and Durants in Phoenix. The closest we come is Remington's for nostalgia now that the Pink Pony has closed again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, Great Service, Great View, a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great Food, Great Service, Great View, all made fro a great date night with my wife. We enjoyed the chef's tasting which was a unique 5 course meal created for our table. we also added the wine pairing for each course (which I suggest everyone adds). I really can not say which course we enjoyed the best, each course out did the previous course.

They also have a nice cigar selection I enjoyed a Montecristo cigar while we enjoyed the view from the patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our Anniversary and enjoyed ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went for our Anniversary and enjoyed our meal. It is summer so the restaurant seemed more "casual" then maybe when the resort is busier.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After making a reservation our table was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

After making a reservation our table was late 30 mins,server wasn't attentive,my fish had a fish bone,server didn't care never called manager,so I will never go back there again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This is a beautiful restaurant at the to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant at the top of Tapitio Cliffs (within Pointe Hilton property). The view of the Phoenix valley is amazing. Excellent ambiance inside and outside. The heat kept us inside except for some photographs. We enjoyed the prix fixe menu. Standouts were Lobster Bisque and Stone Fish. Desserts to die for. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great customer service!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and view. Excellent food, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great location and view. Excellent food, large portions and good value prix fixe. If you live in Phoenix you should go here at least once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was mostly fabulous. The devil' ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was mostly fabulous. The devil's food cake dessert was a bit dry. Service was excellent. Every seat had a nice view. Great experience would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was exceptional. Server/somme ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was exceptional. Server/sommelier excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For many years we’ve dined here on speci ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

For many years we’ve dined here on special occasions and these have been some of the very best dining experiences we’ve ever had anywhere. For this visit and the prior visit, though, the restaurant did not live up to our expectations and its past outstanding history mostly because the food is just no longer worthy of the price. We were placed at a very nice table by the window and the scenic view was indeed beautiful. Our servers were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive but, because of the food we will most likely not be returning. The restaurant was not at all crowded but we felt a bit rushed with our dinner orders coming as I was just finishing my appetizer. My cocktail from the bar downstairs prior to our dinner reservation was not particularly good so we decided to go elsewhere for an after dinner drink.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This was my second time coming here. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my second time coming here. The views are amazing. The food was good and the service was top notch, can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING! Took my girlfriend here for ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

OUTSTANDING! Took my girlfriend here for a birthday dinner and we were blown away by the food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and the place is amazing but se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The view and the place is amazing but service was really bad, the waiter was never around, my meat was cooked medium instead of medium well as I ordered, by the time I got my meal back I wasn't hungry anymore as I had to wait a lot. My friend ordered an Americano Coffee, he insisted in bringing her a different one and she agreed just as a courtesy to him but she ended up not drinking any because it was too strong.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Awsome staff! Delicious entries, wonder ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Awsome staff! Delicious entries, wonderfull view, and what I thought was a fair price

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food, ambience and wait st ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

As always the food, ambience and wait staff is excellent. They make you feel very special from the time you walk in to when you leave. They are very knowledgeable of wine and the menu. We were celebrating two birthdays with another couple and gave all of us a free dessert. Can't beat that kind of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was ordinary. Greeting staff is ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Dinner was ordinary. Greeting staff is a bit lost. The service, led by Luis, was excellent and deserving of 5 stars. It is sad to see a formerly good restaurant decline, but this is the situation. The food was extremely salty and somehow was meant to compensate for good flavors. Way, way too salty. I conclude that this is a restaurant that has sat on its view too long as the food is just not up to standard. If you want a great view, with great service and ordinary food, this is the place.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our anniversary dinner was perfect! Luis ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was perfect! Luis, our waiter, was incredible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 of the 4 of us ordered the short ribs ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

3 of the 4 of us ordered the short ribs special and loved it. I ordered the diver scallops and they were incredibly salty. I would never order them again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic experience. Incredi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Absolutely fantastic experience. Incredible service and delicious food. Very high end establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.