About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Bleu Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday: 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Bar opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street. Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Sara Toth

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8885416554

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

$5 after 5pm

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

$5 after 5pm

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Daily Specials for $5 from 5pm-7pm featuring BBQ shrimp cheesecake, Gulf fish lettuce wraps, truffle fries, and special $5 craft cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. We validate parking at next door!. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (179)
romantic (106)
good for groups (101)
See All
fit for foodies (90)
notable wine list (71)
neighborhood gem (46)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still Great

Dined 3 days ago

I absolutely love Dickie Brennan's. The food is amazing, and the service is top notch. It's been about 2 years since my last visit, but it was well worth the wait. It won't take me 2 years to get back next time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Bad experience, it was bad from the star ...

Dined 5 days ago

Bad experience, it was bad from the start. When we got to our seats there were two bottles of expensive champagne on our table. The waitres said that I phoned in and asked for them to be placed on table when I arrived. When I proceeded to tell her I did not she said perhaps one of her fellow workers played a joke on her. The overall service was good but it took at least one hour to get our food. I asked a waiter if the chef walked out on them and he said it was not that bad. Looked around and no one we could see in the restaurant was eating. When I got my steak it was terrible. Tasted like pot roast and not a filet.

food3
ambience4
service5

Great service and atmosphere. Prime rib ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great service and atmosphere. Prime rib was marginal

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ribeye came with a hot sauce on I which ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Ribeye came with a hot sauce on I which was unexpected, I really wanted a plain piece of beef. The baked potato came "loaded" which should have said a little stuff instead. All in all not impressed, had better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take time to relax and enjoy yourself

Dined on May 17, 2016

Really hungry. Try the Chateaubriand for two. $85 It’s the best. I think you will love it. We did. The wait staff was just wonderful.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice, great service and good food. ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Very nice, great service and good food. Treated us very well for our anniversary. Would be glad to go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We wanted steak in New Orleans and this place really satisfied. Unequaled service, exceptional steaks and a very nice atmosphere. We we not disappointed. Would eat here again on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Steakhouse in the heart of New Orleans

Dined on May 15, 2016

Went here after reading some good reviews and wanting a good steak. We were not disappointed with the food!! The service was a bit hit and miss as we had 4 different servers and I think they got in each others way at times - such as forgetting our menus, and charging us for extra drinks as both waitresses thought we had ordered a drink with them. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience and the steak was amazing. Would recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steakhouse find in New Orleans

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse with my Daughter and had a wonderful meal. Appetizers were tasty and our steaks were cooked correctly and were seasoned well. Desserts were wonderful. Bananas Foster Bread Pudding was fantastic as well as the Coconut cake. Service was also first class.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, delicious food, great service!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were seated immediately. Staff was attentive and courteous. Food was delicious from the appetizer to the dessert. Will return for future visits.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had an dim from T ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best steak I have ever had an dim from Texas. 6oz filet with spinach sauce. WOWW!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service spectacular

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was great, service spectacular

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful 40th Anniversary dinner last Friday night at Dickie Brennan's. Our servers Rebecca & Alfredo did a fantastic job of assisting us in making our dinner selections and providing excellent service. My rib eye steak prepared Oscar style was FANTASTIC as was my wife's selection of grilled fish and vegetables. We shared a chocolate dessert with coffee. We will definitely consider dining there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated two bday's. There were on ti ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Celebrated two bday's. There were on time with food, and dessert and drinks. The service was phenomenal as always. Nice servers. Thank you Dickie Brennans. Until next time.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful, classic atmosphere with atten ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful, classic atmosphere with attentive, helpful pstaff

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Very dissappointed

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our waitress was nowhere to be seen after the appetizers were presented. A busboy came and tried to limp along the service to complete the meal. We finally took the check to the front in order to pay. (Could have walked out without paying, thats how much attention we had). Our bill was $182 for two people which was fine but would expect better service. When we complained at the front while paying the bill, the had a very "weak, Iam sorry". seemed to not care at all. Would NOT GO BACK

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Spot for a Great Dinner

Dined on May 10, 2016

Everything was perfect, the food was amazing and both my girlfriend and I left feeling more than satisfied. Thank you for an amazing dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. However I ordered ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was excellent. However I ordered the ribeye and it came out extremely undercooked and full of fat. The server removed it from our ticket. My wife ordered the house filet and it was very good and cooked perfectly. I informed the hostess that it was my anniversary and they offered to send out a dessert with "Happy Anniversary" on it.... it never showed up. All in all it was an good experience and I would be willing to try it again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service from a team of people who ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service from a team of people who were enjoying their job.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Started with roses from the hostess for Mother's Day to the women in the party. Excellent starter of oysters in McIlhenny chipotle sauce. We had the filet with creamed spinach , potatoes, fried oysters. Each steak was cooked to perfection. Excellent flavor, correct temperature, and very succulent. Sides were the truffle mac cheese and mushrooms. Each one was delicious. We have the crème Brule with vanilla ice cream. Extremely tasty/

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Here's the Beef!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful steaks! Attentive service from the moment you enter the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dickie Brennans, AWESOME as usual

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our FAVORITE place. The wife LOVES the house filet which is on a bed of cream spinach with fried oysters. Always a special treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steak. Medium was a little over cooked.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great overall experience. I wished i would have gotten my filet medium rare. Medium was barely even pink. Still very good steak overall.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was mediocre. Server did not kno ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was mediocre. Server did not know how to correctly carafe the wine and spilt on the table. Steaks were of mediocre quality compared to other well known steak houses across the country. All in all, a small disappointment. Would not return.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great steak in NOLA!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great, but the service, at times, fell short. We ordered a bottle of wine and the runner delivered the wine and filled our glasses---no offer to "test" the wine. We ordered the chateaubriand for two and it was served on a large platter, and we had to request utensils to get the food from the platter to our plates. We were given tongs, which work great for the steak and grilled veggies, but not so great for au gratin potatoes. A serving spoon would have been a nice touch. Otherwise a great dinner and we look forward to going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time in New Orleans!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic meal at Dickie Brennan's! We shared the Chateaubriand and enjoyed that with a vegetable medley, and Lobster tail. Cooked to perfection. Staff was fantastic, and the ambience was very amenable to a good time. Wholeheartedly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! All perfect except m ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was excellent! All perfect except my husbands prime rib was a bit over cooked ( they offered to replace , we said no it was fine) only food item not good was au gratin potatoes, they had no taste. Had to add lots of salt and pepper. My filet was excellent as well as the wedge salad and the salad with greens strawberries and honey vinaigrette. Dessert, sweet potato cake was heavenly!!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very Good, not necessarily Excellent

Dined on May 4, 2016

Had dinner , my wife and I split the Chateaubriand for two. Steak was perfectly cooked as ordered, the sides along with the sauces etc were great. I can't say this is the best steak I ever had, but certainly very good. Service was also 'very good', not quite 'excellent'caliber as I have experienced in other higher end steakhouses in Chicago, San Francisco, Las Vegas. For dessert, we shared the Pecan Pie, now that was excellent!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always good

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been several times and have never been disappointed. The crab cake appetizer, the coconut cake and creole cream cheese cake are favorites. We had Chateaubriand this time which was outstanding and pretty decent price wise since it comes with sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fine steak and eats

Dined on May 1, 2016

Well i was a first timer here. We had our minds made up before we got there. well after hearing hearing her choices, we chose the NY strip top with craw fish tails with potato and vegetable. And crab claws to start. I will say two days later, me and my wife still talked about that steak. Will add them to my list of restaurants to eat at when we are down for a get away. On another note, we made reservations and couples that walk in where told at least 25-30minute wait. The bar next door was full but you could still get drinks as we did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse became our f ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse became our favorite about 10 years ago and has never failed us. Dinner there is a yearly Jazzfest tradition. Food is outstanding and service excellent - what fine dining should be. The wait staff could school several new "hip"restaurants in Chicago.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Steak were good, service just ok

Dined on May 1, 2016

We wanted to try this famous steakhouse just off Bourbon street. The restaurant itself was very elegant. The steaks were good but not the best I've ever had. We were supposed to be waited on by a team of 3 people but were lucky to see one of them every 20 minutes. When we got our martinis, my husband's was half full and mine was about 3/4. Everyone with drinks around us got a full one. The waiter mumbled about not having a full drink and when my husband asked for the rest, the waiter brought another, but charged us for another. The head waiter took it off when we explained the situation. It just wasn't the experience we expected, but I would give it another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a relaxing dinner in the bar desp ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a relaxing dinner in the bar despite having made a reservation on Open Table (it is basketball playoff season after all...) The entire staff was remarkably responsive. The food took longer than I would have liked, but everyone was very attentive and acknowledged the delay . The dinner was exceptionally prepared and delicious and overall great experience during our Jazz Fest visit. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great New Orleans Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

When in New Orleans there are so many restaurants to go to. After checking out the steakhouses I am happy to say that we picked a good one. Atmosphere is lovely and the service is spot on. Waiters are very helpful with helping you order and the food was very good. A would return to restaurant for certain.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best steak in New Orleans!

Dined on April 26, 2016

We were visiting New Orleans and wanted a top end steak as a change from the usual tourist fare. Dickie Brennans was close to our hotel and had good reviews, so we booked. We were seated immediately, and the waiting staff explained the menu options. the food was excellent - one of the best fillet steaks I've had anywhere in the world. The staff were attentive and happy to give recommendations. They took their time with us and were interested in what we'd been doing as we were visiting from the UK. If we're ever in NO again, we'll definitely be visiting!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never fails to please.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We never fail to go to Dickie Brennan's whenever we visit New Orleans. The food is excellent, and the service is even better. You feel like their most valued customer every time you go. This visit, we were there over my birthday weekend, and I insisted that this where we go for dinner the night of my birthday. Excellent as always!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal

Dined on April 24, 2016

Dined here this past Saturday night on a Jazz Fest Weekend. Tables hard to find but I was able to get a last minute table at Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse through Open Table. Honestly, availability was my main motivation but initially but I'm really glad they had that table. Service was very attentive from the time we walked in the door. Though I booked at the last minute the the restaurant appeared to be at capacity - our table was ready right away. Service was very attentive and friendly without being pushy. The food was outstanding. We ordered cocktails when we sat down and they were served promptly and were perfectly done. I had gumbo to start and it was excellent (I would expect nothing less in a NOLA restaurant). I had the dry aged New York Strip and it was truly outstanding. The strip had a perfect crust and was cooked perfectly medium rare. The quality was every bit of what I expect from a steak offered at a higher price point. It was absolutely worth it. We were all too full for dessert so I can't comment about the dessert offerings. Constructive criticism : I think the food pricing is really quite reasonable given the ambience and quality - especially compared to some of the other area steakhouses. I did feel like the wine list, thought reasonably extensive, was priced a little higher than it should for many of the bottles I often purchase. Bottom Line: Highly recommend if you are looking for a great steak restaurant in the quarter. I will definitely be back next time I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent steaks very well prepared. The cheesecake is awesome and can shared by 2-3 people. Staff is attentive, friendly and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not up to par

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have eaten here before but this time the service was extremely slow

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the Best!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Just the best. We eat at steakhouses all over the country and Dickie Brennans is our favorite.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.