About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Bleu Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 'til
Bar opens at 4:30pm - 'til

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street. Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Sara Toth

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8885416554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Chateaubriand For Two
Barbecue Bourbon Shrimp Po-Boy
Blue Crab Beignets
Cheeseburger
Crawfish Cakes
Cosmopolitan
House Filet
Grilled Beef Skewers
Tempura Shrimp
Filet Mignon Sliders
Debris Po' Boy
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Turtle Soup
16 oz NY Strip
Jordan Cab 2007
Hand Cut French Fries
Pontabla Potatoes
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Grilled Redfish
12 Oz NY Strip
Wild Mushrooms
Escargot
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Creamed Spinach
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Mahi Mahi On The Half Shell
Crab & Corn Soup
Iberville Salad
Cheeseburger Sliders
Blue Cheese Napoleon
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Baked Oysters Trio
Crabmeat Purses
Shrimp Tempura
Blackened Prime Rib
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
4 Oz Filet And Fried Oysters With Bleu Cheese
Roasted Pepper, Goat Cheese And Shrimp Bisque
Barbecue Rib-eye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (165)
Romantic (97)
Good for Groups (89)
See All
Fit for Foodies (77)
Notable Wine List (66)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Hot Spot (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous experience! Will repeat as oft ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous experience! Will repeat as often as possible! A must stop in French Quarter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 6 of us ladies on a girls tri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

There were 6 of us ladies on a girls trip. This was our best meal by far! I have been there before but the others had not! Great service, great atmosphere, and wonderful, delicious food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the customer service. The staff ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

I loved the customer service. The staff take very good care of their customers. Also, this was the first time I tried turtle soup, it was amazing. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. I have ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were excellent. I have no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had to wait for a table and half the ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had to wait for a table and half the restaurant was empty. A man walked in the dining room with a hat and flip flops on. Nether of our servers were knowledgable about the menu and let us order a dessert wine because the wine list was absolutely not organized. My steak was cooked medium and I asked for medium rare. It was my boyfriends birthday and they sent out a dessert that we didn't ask for and it was on the bill. This is not and should not be considered a white tablecloth establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

This was a first time visit to this loca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was a first time visit to this local steakhouse and it did not disappoint. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and was so tender and juicy, you could cut it with your fork. In addition, the potatoes au gratin were excellent. Instead of the usual cheddar cheese, the restaurant used Grouyere cheese in a cheese sauce. The dessert of praline chocolate mousse was good, but not an outstanding choice.

I would recommend this restaurant, as the Brennan imprint of service and quality is evident.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent menu selection, adequate wine ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent menu selection, adequate wine list and pleasant dining environment. Our roomy booth was the perfect spot for a delicious meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Dickie Brenn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first visit to Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse and it was wonderful! We went for the "Coolinary" menu, but my father-in-law ordered something different. We all loved our meals and desserts! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and superb steaks help ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful service and superb steaks help Dickie Brennan's live up to its reputation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall, we had a nice dining experience ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Overall, we had a nice dining experience. We enjoyed a three course meal and our steaks were delicious. The only issue we had with this restaurant was the lack of attention/wait service from the "head sever" (which believe whose name was Troy). At the beginning of our meal, he introduced himself as our "head sever" but the team wait staff was more attentive to us than he was and he provided more attention to the other surrounding tables. We also asked him for some local jazz club recommendations and he never came back to provide any details. We also noted that there was a manager on the floor who went to several other tables to see how their service was going and she never acknowledge us. So, from a service standpoint we were dissatisfied with the lack of attention and expected more, especially since we chose this restaurant for a special birthday celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We eat at Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse of ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We eat at Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse often and have never been disappointed. The steaks are excellent and always prepared perfectly. The crab cakes are the best in the city and the coconut cake dessert is worth the trip on its own.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went specifically to have prime rib. As ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went specifically to have prime rib. Asked how it was since I quit going there after several failed attempts. The kitchen must cook the roast to rare and then I was told that the slices were put on a flat top to finish. This ruins the concept of traditional prime rib roast. I ordered medium rare and ended up with a nearly raw piece of meat. Guess I will have to continue to drive to Fleming's in Baton Rouge for true prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We will continue to go here every time w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We will continue to go here every time we are in the French quarter. The House Special is a great value with superb food as was the Coolinary special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and great ambi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great service and great ambiance! Always fun to dine there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE went there over 10 years ago and have ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

WE went there over 10 years ago and have always said it was our favorite restaurant. So, it was very special to us when we visited it again and were just as thrilled with our visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was outstanding. The wait sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place was outstanding. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. The meal was absolutely outstanding. The steak melted in your mouth and the sides were absolutely fabulous. Couldn't have enjoyed it more. The place was beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a rubber band in my turtle soup and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had a rubber band in my turtle soup and first steak had to be sent back to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

We absolutely loved everything about thi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We absolutely loved everything about this restaurant. We started with the gumbo and finished with the House Filet and a nice glass of red wine. We will visit again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch steakhouse in the French Quart ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Top notch steakhouse in the French Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I must say this was the worst dining exp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I must say this was the worst dining experience I've ever had at Dickie Brennan's. It is usually a 5 star experience, but this time it was not good at all.

Thankfully the salad was good, but the entree and sides were not very good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

We had a very good dining experience. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a very good dining experience. The staff was attentive and friendly. The steaks were right on. I order a medium rare Pittsburgh style, and they nailed it! This restaurant is great for entertaining business clients or for a special night out with family or good friends. It is not cheap, so if you do it right be prepared to pay to play. I will continue to keep coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Been to Dickie's once before and the mea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Been to Dickie's once before and the meal was memorable. Went this time and was not disappointed in either the food or service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I made reservations for the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My wife and I made reservations for the two of us. We were seated in an area with several large parties. I noticed other parties of two were seated away from the large parties in the booths. Our wait team changed three times. It took an extra long time for our drink order to be taken as well as our food order. We've eaten at several Brennan restaurants and have never had an experience this disappointing. As far as the food, our bread was cold and the steaks were bland. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Not 1 complaint. The food was amazing, t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Not 1 complaint. The food was amazing, the service was exceptional, and they even gave my gf and I an anniversary slice of cake. We WILL be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic meal. We were celebra ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had a fantastic meal. We were celebrating our anniversary.

The crab cake is simple - a pile of lump crabmeat barely head together then heated through on a skillet. Not much cake, mostly just crab. If you like crabmeat, it's amazing. It's real picked crabmeat, so don't be shocked by a few pieces of shell.

We split a wedge salad. It's nice that they'll split it for you. It's a rich salad with blue cheese, bacon and some other small tasty nuggets. I don't mind sharing a plate with my wife, but this way we didn't have to fight over the bacon :). A whole salad for each would've been too much food.

For entrees, I got the porterhouse with Hollandaise, my wife got the house filet which comes with spinach, oysters and potatoes in a combination. Both cuts of meat were impressive and cooked perfectly. We added a side of asparagus, which wasn't needed. They were delicious, but it was too much food. We took home half of the entrees.

Cocktails - I had an old fashioned before and after dinner. The first one was a little sweet to my taste, but certainly within range of the drink. The second was exactly to my liking, as was the third. They use Luxardo cherries (I assume-if not, I need to find out what they were) which are worlds better than standard candy-red maraschinos. My wife had a specialty cocktail that had ginger, rum and berries. Light and refreshing without being overly sweet or watery.

We had wine with the steaks - each by the glass. Mine was a red (Jacob something?) that was very rich and dry. Perfect with the big cut of meat. She had a white that I don't remember, but was very nice as well.

We skipped dessert because of how full we were. It was a great meal overall. Service is very friendly and relaxed. They were attentive without always being in our face, which was what we wanted for this occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed with the steaks....gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Never disappointed with the steaks....great service and wonderful martinis....a must restaurant when in New Orleans

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good - the service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was very good - the service was also very good -

BUT it felt like an assembly line - there was no southern charm -

it was more like let me serve you very proper and you can leave.

Please do not misunderstand - no one was rude, but that joie de vivre was not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It was fabulous!! My first visit on a r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was fabulous!! My first visit on a recommendation from my son. Best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I ate dinner here on 7/24/16, i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wife and I ate dinner here on 7/24/16, it was our 5th anniversary. EVERYTHING about our experience was outstanding! My prime rib and her filet were both excellent, cooked to perfection. We had three sides - pontalba potatoes, onion rings, and truffle mac and cheese - all to die for. And we had three (!!!) desserts. The banana foster bread pudding was an "A", and the chocolate cake and coconut cake were both A+. I don't like coconut and I couldn't get enough of that cake!

We eat out quite a bit, plenty of times at steakhouses like Ruth's Chris, Morton's, Sullivan's, and Shula's. Dickie Brennan's was as good as the *best* experiences we've had at those places. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I've ever had. T ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever had. The service was wonderful, and did I say that the steak was incredible?

I ordered the 16oz USDA Prime Strip, medium. It came out the most perfect definition of medium that one could hope for, and the creole spices put it over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse has always b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse has always been one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is elegant. The service is impeccable. We keep going back after years of trying different places. You can not go wrong with any of Brennan's restaurants!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly knowledgeabl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The staff was very friendly knowledgeable about the food selection.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasn't very good. The service w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food wasn't very good. The service was good. It was very overpriced

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We were extremely impressed with the sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were extremely impressed with the staff at Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse. They were all very personable, attentive and knowledgeable. The steak and potatoes were wonderful and the dessert to die for. The ambiance of the restaurant is awesome. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming to Dickie Brennan's ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been coming to Dickie Brennan's now for about 16 years---it is our "go to" steakhouse. the service is top notch and the food is not only delicious but consistent. Their steaks are superior and the staff is knowledgeable and helpful. They are never hovering but are always making sure that your water glass is never empty that there are never "too many crumbs" on the table and seem to "appear" at just the right moment when you need something! We took a couple to the restaurant on our last visit who had never been there before. We feel confident that they were also impressed with the Restaurant and would return on their own accord! Dickies is annually our anniversary celebration spot and we look forward to many more years to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The round booths are nice and better for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The round booths are nice and better for conversation. The noise level can get loud but overall the atmosphere is very nice. The men who come table to table and sing are delightful!! The food is very good and the wine list is extraordinary! We went for my birthday with friends and had a wonderful evening. We spent the entire evening there starting with cocktails through dessert. It is a great place for a summer night in NOLA. We live in NOLA so it takes a lot to impress.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat here often. This was the third ti ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We eat here often. This was the third time we ordered the chateaubriand, which is indeed a good value for the money. The first time it was perfect, the second time a little less so, but this time the meat was overdone, but not enough to send it back.

The Steakhouse has become very uneven in its food quality and preparation. Feels like no one is in charge of these or exercising quality control. In a steakhouse, the meat should always be perfectly cooked every time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard from several friends that D ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had heard from several friends that Dickie Brennan's was not as good as it used to be. We totally disregarded the comments because we have always loved everything about this restaurant! Saturday night was a disappointment. My straight up Martina was warm. It seemed as though it was not shaken with ice and the glass was not even cold. When my turtle soup was brought, no one offered sherry. My rib eye was fatty but what I did eat was good. Three out of three baked potatoes at the table were cold (the butter wouldn't even melt). When asked about dessert, the waiter told us what he liked and didn't like. When we asked if cheese cake was available the waiter then provided us with the dessert menu. I am really sad! On a good note, our drink waiter was so personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I absolutely loved Dickie Brennan's. Th ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I absolutely loved Dickie Brennan's. The atmosphere is fun and happening. The food is outstanding. This place will not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak dinner we've had in years! A ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best steak dinner we've had in years! A Local's favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.