About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Bleu Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 'til
Bar opens at 4:30pm - 'til

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street. Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Sara Toth

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8885416554

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Chateaubriand For Two
Barbecue Bourbon Shrimp Po-Boy
Blue Crab Beignets
Cheeseburger
Crawfish Cakes
Cosmopolitan
House Filet
Grilled Beef Skewers
Tempura Shrimp
Filet Mignon Sliders
Debris Po' Boy
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Turtle Soup
16 oz NY Strip
Jordan Cab 2007
Hand Cut French Fries
Pontabla Potatoes
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Grilled Redfish
12 Oz NY Strip
Wild Mushrooms
Escargot
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Creamed Spinach
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Mahi Mahi On The Half Shell
Crab & Corn Soup
Iberville Salad
Cheeseburger Sliders
Blue Cheese Napoleon
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Baked Oysters Trio
Crabmeat Purses
Shrimp Tempura
Blackened Prime Rib
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
4 Oz Filet And Fried Oysters With Bleu Cheese
Roasted Pepper, Goat Cheese And Shrimp Bisque
Barbecue Rib-eye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (126)
Romantic (84)
Good for Groups (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (52)
Notable Wine List (50)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Historic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food, service & atmosphere is always awe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food, service & atmosphere is always awesome at DB!! Filet and ribeye repeat cuz they are that good. Coconut cake is to die for..yummo!! This visit was less than stellar only due to obnoxious patrons. Three overtly loud & crude guys made this probably one of the worst dining experiences ever lol. Can't do much when a pretentious guy demands the room's attention but make the most of it. Hopefully not repeat customers as they need a private dining room. Exceptional service and food though so it's a must when in New Orleans! Will definitely return as one bad experience is not a deal breaker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

a nice high end steak house-nothing bad ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

a nice high end steak house-nothing bad but just not quite excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really bad experience. Indifferent wait ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Really bad experience. Indifferent waiter. Manager fixed the problem with the food by bringing me a different entree. Ordered the strip medium. Came out very rare. Sent it back. Came back tough as nails and still very rare in the middle. Table next to me had the same issue. My friend had ordered the prime rib. It looked good so I said to just bring me that. My friend completely finished his before I received mine. Manager did check in on us once but absolutely no offer to comp anything or even throw out a sincere apology. Just kind of, oh well! To top it off our bill was split 50/50. My receipt came back correct but the waiter had charged somebody else's complete bill to my friends credit card. Again, kind of an oh well attitude.

Choosing this place was a mistake I won't make again. Horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

I brought my son who was visiting me in ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I brought my son who was visiting me in New Orleans after finishing his musical tour of the South. We were so happy we could take advantage of the Restaurant Week/Coolinary Menu at Dickie Brennan's and it did not disappoint! Carlos and Alfredo were most courteous and friendly to us both. Thank you so much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic,The service was f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was fantastic,The service was fantastic,I will always eat there when in NOLA and I highly recommend it to everyone

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was perfect, was alittle loud this ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was perfect, was alittle loud this time, but definitely will go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent & price was appropria ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was excellent & price was appropriate for quality. Wait staff were professional, courteous & attentive. All recognized our anniversary & wished us well. We dine here each time we're in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food were AMAZING!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service and food were AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniv ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary at your establishment on our first visit to New Orleans, the atmosphere, food and service made our night memorable. Thanks so much for the experience.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was amazing! Jasmine, Tyler ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our service was amazing! Jasmine, Tyler and the rest of the team were very attentive and warm. This is fine dining and should be treated as such. Be prepared to be pampered and give yourself enough time to enjoy and savor the food and experience. I would recommend this to family and friends and would go back myself.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at Dickie's a couple of ti ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have eaten at Dickie's a couple of times before, IT'S ALWAYS EXCELLENT! FOOD! STAFF!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks and lobster were great; the w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The steaks and lobster were great; the wine was wonderful and respectfully priced.

Enjoyed the quietness of our table.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to eat. Excellent food. Ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place to eat. Excellent food.

Servers are attentive and knowledgeable about menu items. Wonderful atmosphere .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!!! From the manager to the bus boy t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

WOW!!! From the manager to the bus boy the service was beyond my expectations. We had a great dinner and enjoyed our experience with the staff. They were very attentive and interacted with us throughout our dinner. The company culture shows and the staff really shine. I wish every customer service experience was this great. Thanks to you Brett Barrios and your staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious, and even thoug ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was delicious, and even though they were very helpful and attentive, we felt a bit like the waitstaff was rushing us along.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classical good steaks with a hint of New ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Classical good steaks with a hint of New Orleans. The aervice was prompt, the quality good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Truly one of the best steakhouses in New ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Truly one of the best steakhouses in New Orleans. They offer great food and impeccable service. Also they have valet parking at the garage right next door, which is a huge plus in the city. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service at table, by all who served ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service at table, by all who served us, was excellent and all of the dishes were beyond our expectations. Wonderful dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite New Orleans restaur ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is our favorite New Orleans restaurant and have frequented many times but especially each year on our Wedding Anniversary. The staff is First Rate and the food is absolutely amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My New Yourk Strip was tough and served ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My New Yourk Strip was tough and served a little cold. Not worth the cost of the meal. Mr. John's, Ruth's and 33 are all a better choice

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Took a while to get served (15 mins) but ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Took a while to get served (15 mins) but went well after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Drinks came fairly quickly. The crabcake ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Drinks came fairly quickly. The crabcake appetizer was pretty good while the turtle soup was nothing special. We split a Porterhouse which was ordered medium-medium rare (pink), a baked potato and creamed spinach. Once the food was served, waitress Trina never once returned to ask if the food was satisfactory or if drinks needed refreshing. The steak was RARE (normally okay with me but not my wife) and entirely tasteless. I spit one bite out as it could not be chewed. The potato was barely warm and not baked/fluffy but rather dense and wet. I suspect it spent some hours in some sort of warming drawer or steamer. The creamed spinach tasted like frozen Stouffer's. We left two thirds of the food on the table and will never be back. This place is now a tired tourist mill hanging on to the Brennan name

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We were seated back by the kitchen and w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were seated back by the kitchen and we were the only guests. Someone dropped something and their response was "Negga you get to take that home". Our waitress showed up in a white dirty dinner jacket. I ordered a porter house steak medium. Which was delivered extra rear and full grizzle. I was extremely disappointed. Also no one came back to check on our table till time to go. I explained my disbelief and got nothing but I'm sorry.......I'm..so disappointed w.our check was $130 plus tip and no one cared. I'm tired of spending my money for something I did not receive. I promise I won't return sorry that doesn't bother you. By th way I will be back next month with ten people. We not be visiting your restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I had a date night here. Ver ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I had a date night here. Very pleasant and great service. We both had the small filets with sweet potato side that was plenty to split between the two of us. Great bottle of wine from Alpha Omega 2010. Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The best steak you will ever eat. Perfec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The best steak you will ever eat. Perfectly cooked. Melts in your mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just plain good as always, the service, ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Just plain good as always, the service, food could not be better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was best steak ever had, it literal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was best steak ever had, it literally melted in my mouth!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to be while vi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of my favorite places to be while visiting in New Orleans. The ambience, the food, the staff, and location make this one of the must places to visit. Thanks to the staff for making our visit a memorable one.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip to New Orleans an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was my first trip to New Orleans and this restaurant was highly recommended to us to celebrate a birthday. It did not disappoint! The food was terrific (get the shrimp and grits appetizer) and the service was impeccable. Friendly and warm wait staff.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! I've been twice and both ti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding! I've been twice and both times the food and service were phenomenal! We initially tried it after it landed on a list of the best steakhouses in each state, and it did not disappoint. It's not hip or trendy and doesn't need to be -- it's old school classy and a must if you enjoy delicious steak and an overall high quality experience

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience! Will repeat as oft ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fabulous experience! Will repeat as often as possible! A must stop in French Quarter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 6 of us ladies on a girls tri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

There were 6 of us ladies on a girls trip. This was our best meal by far! I have been there before but the others had not! Great service, great atmosphere, and wonderful, delicious food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the customer service. The staff ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I loved the customer service. The staff take very good care of their customers. Also, this was the first time I tried turtle soup, it was amazing. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. I have ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food and service were excellent. I have no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had to wait for a table and half the ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had to wait for a table and half the restaurant was empty. A man walked in the dining room with a hat and flip flops on. Nether of our servers were knowledgable about the menu and let us order a dessert wine because the wine list was absolutely not organized. My steak was cooked medium and I asked for medium rare. It was my boyfriends birthday and they sent out a dessert that we didn't ask for and it was on the bill. This is not and should not be considered a white tablecloth establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

This was a first time visit to this loca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was a first time visit to this local steakhouse and it did not disappoint. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and was so tender and juicy, you could cut it with your fork. In addition, the potatoes au gratin were excellent. Instead of the usual cheddar cheese, the restaurant used Grouyere cheese in a cheese sauce. The dessert of praline chocolate mousse was good, but not an outstanding choice.

I would recommend this restaurant, as the Brennan imprint of service and quality is evident.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent menu selection, adequate wine ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent menu selection, adequate wine list and pleasant dining environment. Our roomy booth was the perfect spot for a delicious meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly, the first time I went the expe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Honestly, the first time I went the experience was kind of marred by a table of like 20 people with terrible demon children. BUT COME FOR THE CAKE. Steak is super, but the CHOCOLATE CAKE and also the coconut is pretty slammin too. For my boyfriend's birthday we actually ate somewhere else and came here later specifically for the cake cake cake cake cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Dickie Brenn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first visit to Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse and it was wonderful! We went for the "Coolinary" menu, but my father-in-law ordered something different. We all loved our meals and desserts! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and superb steaks help ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful service and superb steaks help Dickie Brennan's live up to its reputation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.