About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Bleu Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 'til
Bar opens at 4:00pm - 'til

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street. Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Sara Toth

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8885416554

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Barbecue Bourbon Shrimp Po-Boy
Chateaubriand For Two
Blue Crab Beignets
Cheeseburger
Crawfish Cakes
Cosmopolitan
House Filet
Grilled Beef Skewers
Tempura Shrimp
Filet Mignon Sliders
Debris Po' Boy
Wild Mushroom Risotto
16 oz NY Strip
Turtle Soup
Hand Cut French Fries
Jordan Cab 2007
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Pontabla Potatoes
Grilled Redfish
Wild Mushrooms
12 Oz NY Strip
Escargot
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Creamed Spinach
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Mahi Mahi On The Half Shell
Crab & Corn Soup
Iberville Salad
Cheeseburger Sliders
Blue Cheese Napoleon
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Baked Oysters Trio
Crabmeat Purses
Shrimp Tempura
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
Blackened Prime Rib
4 Oz Filet And Fried Oysters With Bleu Cheese
Roasted Pepper, Goat Cheese And Shrimp Bisque
Barbecue Rib-eye

Promotions

$5 after 5pm

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

$5 after 5pm

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Daily Specials for $5 from 5pm-7pm featuring BBQ shrimp cheesecake, Gulf fish lettuce wraps, truffle fries, and special $5 craft cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. We validate parking at next door!. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (172)
good for groups (98)
romantic (95)
See All
fit for foodies (80)
notable wine list (73)
neighborhood gem (47)
hot spot (33)
vibrant bar scene (24)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (11)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I made reservations for the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I made reservations for the two of us. We were seated in an area with several large parties. I noticed other parties of two were seated away from the large parties in the booths. Our wait team changed three times. It took an extra long time for our drink order to be taken as well as our food order. We've eaten at several Brennan restaurants and have never had an experience this disappointing. As far as the food, our bread was cold and the steaks were bland. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Not 1 complaint. The food was amazing, t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Not 1 complaint. The food was amazing, the service was exceptional, and they even gave my gf and I an anniversary slice of cake. We WILL be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic meal. We were celebra ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fantastic meal. We were celebrating our anniversary.

The crab cake is simple - a pile of lump crabmeat barely head together then heated through on a skillet. Not much cake, mostly just crab. If you like crabmeat, it's amazing. It's real picked crabmeat, so don't be shocked by a few pieces of shell.

We split a wedge salad. It's nice that they'll split it for you. It's a rich salad with blue cheese, bacon and some other small tasty nuggets. I don't mind sharing a plate with my wife, but this way we didn't have to fight over the bacon :). A whole salad for each would've been too much food.

For entrees, I got the porterhouse with Hollandaise, my wife got the house filet which comes with spinach, oysters and potatoes in a combination. Both cuts of meat were impressive and cooked perfectly. We added a side of asparagus, which wasn't needed. They were delicious, but it was too much food. We took home half of the entrees.

Cocktails - I had an old fashioned before and after dinner. The first one was a little sweet to my taste, but certainly within range of the drink. The second was exactly to my liking, as was the third. They use Luxardo cherries (I assume-if not, I need to find out what they were) which are worlds better than standard candy-red maraschinos. My wife had a specialty cocktail that had ginger, rum and berries. Light and refreshing without being overly sweet or watery.

We had wine with the steaks - each by the glass. Mine was a red (Jacob something?) that was very rich and dry. Perfect with the big cut of meat. She had a white that I don't remember, but was very nice as well.

We skipped dessert because of how full we were. It was a great meal overall. Service is very friendly and relaxed. They were attentive without always being in our face, which was what we wanted for this occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed with the steaks....gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappointed with the steaks....great service and wonderful martinis....a must restaurant when in New Orleans

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good - the service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good - the service was also very good -

BUT it felt like an assembly line - there was no southern charm -

it was more like let me serve you very proper and you can leave.

Please do not misunderstand - no one was rude, but that joie de vivre was not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It was fabulous!! My first visit on a r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was fabulous!! My first visit on a recommendation from my son. Best steak I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I ate dinner here on 7/24/16, i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wife and I ate dinner here on 7/24/16, it was our 5th anniversary. EVERYTHING about our experience was outstanding! My prime rib and her filet were both excellent, cooked to perfection. We had three sides - pontalba potatoes, onion rings, and truffle mac and cheese - all to die for. And we had three (!!!) desserts. The banana foster bread pudding was an "A", and the chocolate cake and coconut cake were both A+. I don't like coconut and I couldn't get enough of that cake!

We eat out quite a bit, plenty of times at steakhouses like Ruth's Chris, Morton's, Sullivan's, and Shula's. Dickie Brennan's was as good as the *best* experiences we've had at those places. Highly recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I've ever had. T ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever had. The service was wonderful, and did I say that the steak was incredible?

I ordered the 16oz USDA Prime Strip, medium. It came out the most perfect definition of medium that one could hope for, and the creole spices put it over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse has always b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse has always been one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is elegant. The service is impeccable. We keep going back after years of trying different places. You can not go wrong with any of Brennan's restaurants!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly knowledgeabl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The staff was very friendly knowledgeable about the food selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasn't very good. The service w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food wasn't very good. The service was good. It was very overpriced

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We were extremely impressed with the sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were extremely impressed with the staff at Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse. They were all very personable, attentive and knowledgeable. The steak and potatoes were wonderful and the dessert to die for. The ambiance of the restaurant is awesome. We will definitely come back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming to Dickie Brennan's ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been coming to Dickie Brennan's now for about 16 years---it is our "go to" steakhouse. the service is top notch and the food is not only delicious but consistent. Their steaks are superior and the staff is knowledgeable and helpful. They are never hovering but are always making sure that your water glass is never empty that there are never "too many crumbs" on the table and seem to "appear" at just the right moment when you need something! We took a couple to the restaurant on our last visit who had never been there before. We feel confident that they were also impressed with the Restaurant and would return on their own accord! Dickies is annually our anniversary celebration spot and we look forward to many more years to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The round booths are nice and better for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The round booths are nice and better for conversation. The noise level can get loud but overall the atmosphere is very nice. The men who come table to table and sing are delightful!! The food is very good and the wine list is extraordinary! We went for my birthday with friends and had a wonderful evening. We spent the entire evening there starting with cocktails through dessert. It is a great place for a summer night in NOLA. We live in NOLA so it takes a lot to impress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat here often. This was the third ti ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We eat here often. This was the third time we ordered the chateaubriand, which is indeed a good value for the money. The first time it was perfect, the second time a little less so, but this time the meat was overdone, but not enough to send it back.

The Steakhouse has become very uneven in its food quality and preparation. Feels like no one is in charge of these or exercising quality control. In a steakhouse, the meat should always be perfectly cooked every time.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard from several friends that D ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had heard from several friends that Dickie Brennan's was not as good as it used to be. We totally disregarded the comments because we have always loved everything about this restaurant! Saturday night was a disappointment. My straight up Martina was warm. It seemed as though it was not shaken with ice and the glass was not even cold. When my turtle soup was brought, no one offered sherry. My rib eye was fatty but what I did eat was good. Three out of three baked potatoes at the table were cold (the butter wouldn't even melt). When asked about dessert, the waiter told us what he liked and didn't like. When we asked if cheese cake was available the waiter then provided us with the dessert menu. I am really sad! On a good note, our drink waiter was so personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I absolutely loved Dickie Brennan's. Th ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I absolutely loved Dickie Brennan's. The atmosphere is fun and happening. The food is outstanding. This place will not disappoint!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak dinner we've had in years! A ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best steak dinner we've had in years! A Local's favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT the service was very good and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

GREAT the service was very good and the entire staff was well trained

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place to eat and especially to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fabulous place to eat and especially to celebrate my birthday!! Thanks for everything!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it Brett and EJ were wonderful. Fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Loved it Brett and EJ were wonderful. Food amazing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The staff was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my second time dining there in th ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was my second time dining there in the last few months. The steaks were so good. Perfectly cooked! The staff is awesome, always attending to your every need. I thoroughly enjoyed my entire experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steakhouse with a twist. Onion rings we ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Steakhouse with a twist. Onion rings were delicious and unusual-I think they were coated in Italian breadcrumbs. The sautéed mushrooms were a blend of several types, also outstanding. We split the porterhouse; cooked to perfection (med rare) and juicy. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance and the attentiveness of your s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ambiance and the attentiveness of your staff was OUTSTANDING. Food was "sufficient" but could've been better for the price. Biggest complaint was the Tree-like Asparagus! not sure if that was a one time bad batch or the norm. Some items were cold (Baked Sweet Potato) but in all fairness I didn't express my complaint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wow. I was truly amazed by the exception ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wow. I was truly amazed by the exceptional service here and the quality of the food. Lagniappe was truly evident here. It is quite expensive however well worth it for the dining experience. Appetizers i had oysters and the soft shell crab. The cowboy rib eye and gulf shrimp were fantastic along with shanterelle mushrooms and home fries. One of the best meals ive ever had the pleasure to experience. Truly one of the best restaurants New Orleans has to offer, and a quintessential fine dining experience that you can only get in the United States. I love this place and will be back if im in town again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding. We arrived e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our server was outstanding. We arrived early and was able to be seated immediately. The service was outstanding from our waiters to the young man who kept our water glasses full.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!! Our waiter ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent dining experience!! Our waiter Roy was phenomenal!! The food was absolutely delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I got a rib eye and my wife got a fillet ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I got a rib eye and my wife got a fillet. The other couple we were with got the same that we did.

We have eaten there many times in the past and have never been disappointed, but my rib eye this time had a lot of gristle and my baked potato was a bit cold and dry. I feel like I was picked on (lol) because everyone else's meal was superb. While a bit disappointed I will chalk this up as an exception and definitely go back again, and again...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was amazing! One of the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service and food was amazing! One of the most amazing steaks I have had in a long while. A true classic New Orleans restaurant at its best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and services were the best we h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food and services were the best we have had in a long time. The steak just simply melted in your mouth! The team that waited on us were very informative, extremely nice and aimed to please. The atmosphere was divine! We were celebrating our 37th wedding Anniversay which made all the above that much more special!

Thanks again for such a pleasurable experience and it will always be the top of our list of places we will always return to when we visit New Orleans again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! There is just nothing else t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I took a client here for din ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I took a client here for dinner during a recent conference and it was an excellent choice. A perfect mix of New Orleans flare and upscale dining.

From the Shrimp & Grits appetizer, the entrees, and all the way through to the coconut cake, everything was delicious.

Thanks for helping me make an impression!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, the $48 steak i had was g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Unfortunately, the $48 steak i had was grocery story quality--very tough and gristly. This is not what i expected from a Brennan named restaurant. The service level started out OK but seemed to drop off as the meal progressed. Not a memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The food was absolutely amazing and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing and the staff were as friendly as they come. I will definitely be dinning here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting New Orleans with my wife a ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

When visiting New Orleans with my wife and teenage grandson, we were looking for a place in the French quarter that offered get beef as well as authentic Cajun cuisine since with even 3 people we had 3 ideas of what we wanted for supper! Dickie Brennan's was perfect. Not only was the food over the top great but the entire wait staff could not have been better. Rarely if ever have I had better service, better food or a better environment. Well done!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most excellent all the way around ... wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Most excellent all the way around ... will return !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it, our steaks were perfect and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We loved it, our steaks were perfect and the crabmeat appetizer was wonderful.

The service was great. The sweet old fashion was perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dining experience.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Awesome dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was overcooked but still had an ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Steak was overcooked but still had an excellent flavor. Baked potato was huge and tasty. The best part of the meal was the dessert which was fantastic. Overall a good experience but I prefer other steak houses in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.