About Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse

716 Iberville Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

“Top Steakhouses in America” Maxim Magazine and Playboy, and featured in the Wall Street Journal, Dickie Brennan’s Steakhouse serves straightforward prime steaks with a New Orleans touch. Signature dishes and sides include: The House Filet (served with masa flash-fried Louisiana oysters), Tomato Bleu Cheese Napoleon, Pontalba Potatoes, and a Roasted Sweet Potato with Creole Pecan Butter. The house favorite dessert is a toss up between the Coconut Cake with a chiffon buttercream and the Bananas Foster Bread Pudding—so go ahead and order both.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Creole

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 'til
Bar opens at 4:00pm - 'til

Cross Street:
Bourbon Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 522-2467

Website:
http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street. Discounted validated parking available at the parking garage next door.

Public Transit:
A few short blocks away from the street car stop at Canal Street.

Executive Chef:
Sara Toth

Private Party Facilities:
Private accommodations for 15 – 60 guests, with six posh private dining rooms: Alsace, Bordeaux, Champagne, Boardroom, Inner Circle and Branding. Please contact the restaurant directly for private dining space. Or visit the website at www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com.

Private Party Contact:
Mary McGee-Tilloy: 8885416554

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All Private Dining Reservations must be made through our Group Sales Department. Please contact Sales at 504-521-8310 for information.

Restaurant Photos

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse
Barbecue Bourbon Shrimp Po-Boy
Chateaubriand For Two
Blue Crab Beignets
Cheeseburger
Crawfish Cakes
Cosmopolitan
House Filet
Grilled Beef Skewers
Tempura Shrimp
Filet Mignon Sliders
Debris Po' Boy
Wild Mushroom Risotto
16 oz NY Strip
Turtle Soup
Hand Cut French Fries
Jordan Cab 2007
24oz Bone-in Ribeye
Pontabla Potatoes
Grilled Redfish
Wild Mushrooms
12 Oz NY Strip
Escargot
Portobello Mushroom Fries
Creamed Spinach
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Mahi Mahi On The Half Shell
Crab & Corn Soup
Iberville Salad
Cheeseburger Sliders
Blue Cheese Napoleon
Bananas Foster Bread Pudding
Baked Oysters Trio
Crabmeat Purses
Shrimp Tempura
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
Blackened Prime Rib
4 Oz Filet And Fried Oysters With Bleu Cheese
Roasted Pepper, Goat Cheese And Shrimp Bisque
Barbecue Rib-eye

Promotions

$5 after 5pm

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

$5 after 5pm

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Daily Specials for $5 from 5pm-7pm featuring BBQ shrimp cheesecake, Gulf fish lettuce wraps, truffle fries, and special $5 craft cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. We validate parking at next door!. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 7:00AM - 7:00AM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (188)
good for groups (111)
romantic (110)
See All
fit for foodies (92)
notable wine list (78)
neighborhood gem (51)
hot spot (38)
vibrant bar scene (32)
late-night find (15)
great for lunch (14)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!! Our waiter ...

Dined 20 hours ago

Excellent dining experience!! Our waiter Roy was phenomenal!! The food was absolutely delicious!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and services were the best we h ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and services were the best we have had in a long time. The steak just simply melted in your mouth! The team that waited on us were very informative, extremely nice and aimed to please. The atmosphere was divine! We were celebrating our 37th wedding Anniversay which made all the above that much more special! Thanks again for such a pleasurable experience and it will always be the top of our list of places we will always return to when we visit New Orleans again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! There is just nothing else t ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say. Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say. Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say. Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say. Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say. Fantastic! There is just nothing else to say.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I took a client here for din ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I took a client here for dinner during a recent conference and it was an excellent choice. A perfect mix of New Orleans flare and upscale dining. From the Shrimp & Grits appetizer, the entrees, and all the way through to the coconut cake, everything was delicious. Thanks for helping me make an impression!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing and the ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was absolutely amazing and the staff were as friendly as they come. I will definitely be dinning here again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting New Orleans with my wife a ...

Dined 5 days ago

When visiting New Orleans with my wife and teenage grandson, we were looking for a place in the French quarter that offered get beef as well as authentic Cajun cuisine since with even 3 people we had 3 ideas of what we wanted for supper! Dickie Brennan's was perfect. Not only was the food over the top great but the entire wait staff could not have been better. Rarely if ever have I had better service, better food or a better environment. Well done!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most excellent all the way around ... wi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Most excellent all the way around ... will return !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it, our steaks were perfect and ...

Dined 6 days ago

We loved it, our steaks were perfect and the crabmeat appetizer was wonderful. The service was great. The sweet old fashion was perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience.

Dined 7 days ago

Awesome dining experience.

food4
ambience3
service5

Steak was overcooked but still had an ex ...

Dined 7 days ago

Steak was overcooked but still had an excellent flavor. Baked potato was huge and tasty. The best part of the meal was the dessert which was fantastic. Overall a good experience but I prefer other steak houses in this price range.

food4
ambience4
service3

Greg (team Tyler) was a lovely young man ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Greg (team Tyler) was a lovely young man, friendly, outgoing, and "johnny-on-the-spot" making sure our glasses were always filled and we had everything we needed. Heather (team Tyler) was friendly and outgoing and offered to take our picture with the singers. Tyler was friendly but seemed a bit distracted at times, so his service was probably not as efficient as usual. The ladies at the front desk were friendly, courteous and efficient. The bar staff were friendly and caring.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences I hav ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Food, service, ambiance, atmosphere. No negatives the entire evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best steak I ever had. I had ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is the best steak I ever had. I had the petit filet; my husband had the large filet. We requested 2 different doneness levels, and the steaks were brought out still hot and doneness levels perfect. He had the au gratin potatoes,which he raved about. I had the truffle mac and cheese,which I raved about. The side dishes are enough for two people to share, which the waitress did tell us. This was for a special occasion, and as I had told them about it when I made the reservation, everyone from the hostess to the servers told my husband happy birthday. They also wrote it on his desert plate. Everything was first class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chateaubriand is great. The service ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Chateaubriand is great. The service is great. I would like to thank Rebecca the manager and Trina, Deremy and Aja our servers for a great job.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Time has eroded the quality of product a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Time has eroded the quality of product and service. The server spent unnecessary trying to sell a larger steak.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for making my 1st year anniversar ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Thanks for making my 1st year anniversary dinner very special. It was filled with great service, excellent food, and great singing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

overall, the food was very good. The ve ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

overall, the food was very good. The veggies were excellent. The bread was good, but a little hard. The steak was good, but not the best I've ever had. Price was about right. I would go back. Large portions

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

thank you. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

thank you. 123456789101112131415

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for our 10 year anniversar ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were there for our 10 year anniversary. The rice in the gumbo was not cooked and was hard. We informed the waitress. The solution presented to us was to have the gumbo without rice. That is not what I consider to be gumbo. It is broth. We didn't eat either bowl due to the fact that there was no rice and by that point the appetite for gumbo was gone. We were still charged for the subpar gumbo. My wife asked that I just pay for it so we could continue the night. The steaks were great. For the price we paid I expected better gumbo with rice. I feel like they should have waived it but oh well. I was just irritated. Ten year anniversary and you have to send food back. Then given gumbo with no rice because it would have taken to long to make make more rice. Everything else was good. It is easier to voice my bad experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was phenomenal. Definitely a tr ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was phenomenal. Definitely a true foodie experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and the service was excellent. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and the service was excellent. This is why I don't mind paying a little extra. It was well worth it!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My hubby and I had dinner here before se ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My hubby and I had dinner here before seeing Wicked at the Saenger. We were celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary and this restaurant did not disappoint! The food was excellent. We had the foie gras and turtle soup for apps and the ribeye and prime rib for entrees. Everything was very tasty. The manager stopped at our table to chat and learned it was our anniversary and sent out a dessert for us. We really enjoyed this meal and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent example of an American Steak House

Dined on June 9, 2016

Good wine list, very cold Hendrick's martinis, wonderful prime aged steaks with all of the accompaniments you want or need. Ask for Isaiah to be your server. You will be happy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Orleans Favorite

Dined on June 9, 2016

This is our favorite special dinner spot in New Orleans. Great Steak, Seafood, and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy anniversary!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Fantastic steaks and oysters. Don't skip dessert. The pecan crunch is a perfect ending to a wonderful meal. The service was impeccable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesime Experience

Dined on June 9, 2016

We had a great time - the wait staff were awesome and the food was wonderful! I will be coming back next time I'm in NOLA!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on June 8, 2016

Had the house filet and turtle soup. Great on both accounts. Service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

We were warned - We should have listened.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Let me break our experience into some enumerated points: 1. Our waiter disappeared for 45 minutes. Literally disappeared with no explanation when he reappeared outside of, “Things happen." 2. The remainder of our waitstaff (3 people total) was no help. We had to ask other waiters for water and cocktails. 3. They brought turtle soup with no spoon or sherry. 4. I had to walk around the restaurant in an attempt to get our check. 5. Once we received our check (from someone other than our 3-person wait staff), it took another 30 minutes to get it paid. 6. We ordered dessert and it never came. We had to ask the kid who took drink orders to cancel it after a half hour. 7. If you’re doing the math, we were at this dinner close to 3 hours with roughly 1 hour of drinking/eating. The rest of the time was spent WAITING. Waiting for things like our waiter, Roy, or our check, or our silverware or our dessert - you get the picture. 8. We found the manager on the way out and conveyed the problematic issues with our dining experience. I’m not looking for apologies or free food, I am looking for a reasonable dining experience with decent service. This place failed. Hard F+. Spend your $150 on dinner at literally any other place. It’s not the money, that is a reasonable date night. I just found that we would have had more fun and probably would have spent more elsewhere.

food4
ambience4
service2

Not happy with the hostess. We live on t ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Not happy with the hostess. We live on the Northshore of New Orleans and frequently go to New Orleans for the weekend. Dickie Brennan's is one of our usual spots. We always dress appropriately....we feel that Saturday nights in the quarter require jackets for men, dresses for women. The hostess seats us at the worst table in the restaurant....the one right next to the kitchen with doors banging open. My wife requests a booth...which they have plenty open. Amazing that they seat people dressed in shorts and backwards-wearing ball caps for Saturday dinner. Not impressed at all by a Brennan family restaurant. This once frequented spot is now off of our list....not because of th food, only by he way we were treated. Unfortunate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dickie Brennan's is our absolute favorite in NOLA

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We Frequent Dickie Brennan's and always have an excellent dining experience. My wife and I absolutely love the wine (really nice Malbec) and bourbon selections specifically. We almost always get some variation of the "House Style" steak. It's hard to beat all the trimmings you get with this selection. My wife and I enjoyed the House Fillet and the Dickie Brennan Sr.'s NY Strip "House Style" respectively. They were both cooked perfectly and everything had an amazing taste. Brett was our waiter and he was fabulous. Javanda was not one our servers, but she always stops by to say hello and check on us. The floor manager and Ms. Rebecca also stopped by to say hello and check on us. We know that even with us being frequent guests with 5 or 6 visits a year, we make up a very small portion of Dickie Brennan's business. The attention to detail and personal service really makes us feel welcome and makes our experience such a pleasure every time. We finished our meal off with the Triple Chocolate Cake and it was divine. Thanks again everyone (Javanda)!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is great

Dined on June 4, 2016

Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse does have the best steaks around. This is the place that we always go when in the New Orleans area and want a steak. It is fairly expensive, but is worth the cost with the quality of meat that you get. The service was good but not great as it usually is. The food was hot on its arrival, but just the little things, like drink refills were a little slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinning experience. The whole staf ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Great dinning experience. The whole staff was amazing and our waiter Brett took extra great care of us. From cocktails to desert our time and money was well spent. My husband and myself had the Chateau for two and it was excellent. Don't for get the chocolate mousse for desert!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Classic American Steakhouse - Kudos!!!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Classic American Steakhouse - Kudos!!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great steakhouse!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We just decided to take a break from all the wonderful seafood in the area, and we were totally happy with our choice of Brennan's Steakhouse. We got the Chateaubriand for two, and it was perfect! Even though we were stuffed, we still had to try the Banana Foster for desert, and we were happy we did! Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

I was very disappointed. My "prime" cowb ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

I was very disappointed. My "prime" cowboy ribeye was full of gristle. Sides were average. Deserts were below average. My bottle of wine was excellent (if pricey). I will not be back. Most disappointing restaurant visit in the last 25 years of eating in New Orleans.

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Good food great wine

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful Good food great wine

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Solid

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wait staff was pleasant and attentive. Food was well prepared and delivered hot. The only negative was that we were seated by the main lobby and across from the lounge. It was a nice room, but somewhat noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Banana foster is fabulous. Food and service is excellent and consistent

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant was very good! However, ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The restaurant was very good! However, it is a bit overpriced as is every restaurant in NOLA... And the stench from the street wafts down into the dining room... but we enjoyed our dinner and the friendly staff!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still Great

Dined on May 23, 2016

I absolutely love Dickie Brennan's. The food is amazing, and the service is top notch. It's been about 2 years since my last visit, but it was well worth the wait. It won't take me 2 years to get back next time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.