About Dia de Campo

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:30am.

Friday: 3:00pm - 1:00am.

Saturday: Noon - 1:00am.

Sunday: Noon - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (31)
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (25)
See All
great for brunch (20)
hot spot (19)
vibrant bar scene (16)
special occasion (12)
great for lunch (9)
romantic (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Worth it

Dined 3 days ago

Being a resident of the east side, I was skeptical of prices for tacos and elote. But, the craftsmanship of dishes like the scallops and greens with stone fruit (peach), the black salsa, red braised lamb, and pork chili verde were worth the cost. We look forward to returning for the pork belly and octopus dishes. Our server says that we cannot go wrong with any dish and we tend to trust her instinct.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It Was Everything Advertised and More

Dined 6 days ago

We'd been wanting o go to Dia de Campo for months but there were never any available tables when we wanted to book. We finally tried a Monday evening and got a reservation on four hours' notice, although times were limited to early (6:30 or before, which we chose) or late (after 9:00). The food was creative, fresh and delicious, from the guacamole with crabmeat to the tacos (tapas size; many of the dishes were of that size and intent, but they have full entrees as well) to my favorite, the octopus. It was prepared as a sausage, but was tender and moist. The approach reminded me of my favorite squid meal on the island of Mykonos, where the squid was served as a tender steak. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We even got drinks at Happy Hour prices. All in all, a great experience. Recommend it highly and can't wait to do it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good drinks

Dined on May 6, 2016

Good food and good drinks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Love this place, much improved since it first opened . Definely going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luv this place....

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Repeat diner - love it. One of our favourites in the hood!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum!!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Second visit to Dia de Campo and it is so yummy. The bottomless Mimosas are amazing!! I love just sitting here and enjoying the delicious eats accompanied with the bubbly!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Happy Hour

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We brought a friend from out of town and booked early not realizing what a great happy hour they have. Yummy tacos & nice margaritas at great price. Food was yummy, served timely & nice atmosphere. Was getting busier & noisier by time we left ... So go on early side if going for happy hour .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Incredibly slow service and disappointing food

Dined on March 9, 2016

You are always taking a risk when you pick a restaurant for a special occasion and unfortunately I made the wrong choice. Incredibly long dinner -- 2:30 on a Tuesday night. We literally had six menu items and only ONE was great (oysters, short rib empanada, ceviche, pork belly, grilled lobster, churros). We were probably saved by the servings of tortillas and salsa! Oysters, took almost 40 minutes to arrive and were just OK and the pico de gallo and horse radish didn't complement them. Short rib empanada. Small serving, the flavor profile seemed flat, and the little bit of short ribs inside were drowned with cheese and red sauce. Have enjoyed MANY empanadas, including in Chile, but we didn't care for their version at all. Straight up ceviche arrived. We absolutely love ceviche and this is not a ceviche. If no one told you ahead of time, you wouldn't guess it was ceviche. It includes chunks of sweet potato.... Unfortunately we were hungry and had waited a long time so we ate it. Grilled lobster, pork belly, and some rice and beans arrived. Thank goodness it looked good. The grilled lobster was Mexican style and very tasty. The beans and rice were average but I was hungry and happy to have them. Eventually we tried the pork belly and it was so salty it was inedible. Can't even describe the presentation. Lastly, churros with chocolate. Very small to share and it does not look like any churros you've seen and looks distinctly unappetizing. Nonetheless we tried it and found it uncooked in the middle! The chocolate was also tepid. No patience to have them try again to deep fry a churro! After 2:30 hours, we just wanted to leave. Generally we would have sent some food back but we were hungry and knew getting anything replaced would be at least 20-30 minutes. Rarely been so incredibly disappointed with a meal and didn't feel well by the time we got home. I certainly regret choosing it for a special birthday dinner.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

Second time at Dia de Campo. Both times had great service and food was delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dia De Campo Doesn't Disappoint

Dined on February 14, 2016

I love dia de campo's lunch and dinner and this time I came for a casual lunch of small plates during bandito happy hour it was equally delicious. The standout were the oysters, the mahi bowl and the cocktails. If you like mezcal try the H. Bogart if you want something lighter go with the Sophia. All in all one of my faves in hermosa beach.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and drinks!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food and drinks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful venue for family (adult) evening

Dined on January 29, 2016

Delicious Dine LA 4 course meals and margharitas. Everything we had was wonderful. The service was very friendly and helpful. I especially enjoyed a scallop dish and and chocolate duck quesadilla.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Good

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

Good but pricy. Fusion, interesting menu. Many items were oily, still good but oily.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drink! Excellent service

Dined on December 31, 2015

Carnitas blew me away they were awesome. The duck quesadilla and fish tacos also must haves. Not as big a fan of the octopus. Margaritas are great and service is top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is patient but attentive. Vegeta ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Service is patient but attentive. Vegetable fajitas aren't something I would usually order but these were insanely good. I saved the leftovers and then actually ate them the next day.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at upmarket Dia de Campo

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

Well-designed menu provided us with a wide variety in choices. We opted to start with the guacamole and crab. This was excellent, and we would definitely order this again. We also had the squash blossom quesadilla, however, we found the amount of cheese too overpowering to even taste the squash blossom. Although the house hot sauce was provided, we would have enjoyed a bit of salsa to balance out the flavors. On the other hand, the hamachi ceviche was a hit, as well as the chimichanga. The portions are quite large here, so no chance to try the desserts. Service was attentive and friendly. Would recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on December 9, 2015

Went to Dia De Campo for a meeting with my boss from NYC. The menu is eclectic for sure, not your average items for sure. Started with the guacamole and Dungeness crab appetizer, best guacamole ever! I had the hanger steak fajitas (excellent but some salsa would have been nice), the boss had the grilled romaine but asked if she could substitute grilled octopus for the shrimp - not a problem! Should have asked for salsa - my bad. The ambience is wonderful, kind of a chic casual. I think I was the only older person there, but it is Hermosa after all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Mexican Food

Dined on December 4, 2015

The skinny margaritas are excellent and we loved the variety of dishes on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious!!!

Dined on November 22, 2015

The street tacos were incredibly flavorful. The Guacamole and the quesadilla were also tasty. Music was a little bit loud, making it feel more like a bar that a dinner spot. But, I'd definitely go back.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Modern up-scale Mexican

Dined on November 12, 2015

Really enjoyed my birthday dinner with my girlfriends. Everyone was friendly from the minute we walked in, through service and leaving the restaurant. No sense of snootiness at all which can occur in these hipper- type restaurants. They allowed us to use the Happy Hour menu although we were not sitting in the lounge/bar area. My vegetarian friend really liked her food although I forgot what she ordered. I loved the sauces they used on my battered fish and chicken tacos. It makes we want to become a saucier. Lived to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Dia de Campo was absolutely amazing! Del ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

Dia de Campo was absolutely amazing! Delicious food, great service, and amazing atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Bash at its best

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

This place has one of the best happy hour deals in the area. And they have great food/drinks. Service is always amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Bottomless Mimosa!!

Dined on October 10, 2015

The bottomless mimosas were at a great deal. The food was very average but the mimosas were worth it.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service3

great for the younger crowd food cumin-laden

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

thought I would enjoy this as I love Mexican food especially seafood. reservation was for 830 pm and then told that had been overbooked. seated by 9 pm. out of lobster and fresh fish by then which is what we came for. food was fresh and attractive but everything was heavy spiced and full of cumin. if I wanted cumin I would have gone to an Indian restaurant HOWEVER, place was full of young Beach Cities folks who seemed to be smiling and happy so maybe it was just us expecting something this place didn't have for us

food4
ambience4
service4

Great New Place

Dined on September 26, 2015

We went for a bottomless brunch the 4 of us. it was great. food, service and ambiance. will definitely go back again. Staff was friendly and accomodating

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

The server was great! Greater us quickly ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

The server was great! Greater us quickly and brought out drinks and food at a timely manner. The music in the background added to the ambience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Sunday Brunch experience

Dined on September 13, 2015

We've been to Dia de Campo for dinner in the past but never for brunch before today. As always, the menu is eclectic. Ask questions if you have certain allergies or dislikes. The food is very good. Fresh ingredients, great seasoning, fantastic presentation. Bottomless mimosas are served as a bottle of sparkling wine and a caraffe of orange juice. Mix it yourself to taste. Live music started around noon but was also great. Energetic and somewhat noisy but just about right. Service is outstanding even on a crowded day. Reservations are usually needed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

good but could have been GREAT!

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

A few minor tweaks in service could make this place incredible. I've been here over a dozen times and the food is always on par but service lacks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Get ambiance!!!!!

Dined on September 5, 2015

We love everything about about día de campo!!!! bery origubal Mexican food. Try Chips and guac, pork belly, the spice corn, and the quesadillas !!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food but it takes a while

Dined on August 26, 2015

The food was good but it took a long time. Not first time the food took a while. It wasn't busy. The kids were starving. Might be better for younger crowd. Server was really nice. Overall we probably won't come back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service4

cute and extensive tequila list

Dined on August 24, 2015

You should live in the neighborhood first of all, since parking is terrible. Valet parking is $20 and that's if it is available in the tiny lot. No street parking either. Made the reservation and we were placed at a tiny table, felt like a school desk in the bar! Drinks were very good. Minimal menu, more tapas and tacos. Food was very good, ordered chips and guacamole..but didn't get salsa.... guacamole was generous, but needed a little more punch. Tacos were excellent. Server was very nice.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great little brunch spot!

Dined on August 23, 2015

I got a deal through Travelzoo, so my friends and I trekked down there for brunch, and it was fantastic. Portions are good, but not oversized. Quality of the food was VERY good; really tasty and fresh. Homemade guac and crispy tortillas for dipping were also yummy. Also can't complain about bottomless mimosas. I think I would definitely go back even without the coupon for brunch or maybe even dinner. The ambiance was really nice - laid back/casual, but just trendy enough to be fun.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and drink menu!

Dined on August 16, 2015

Went to celebrate 2 birthdays with friends and requested a quieter table toward the back so we could talk. Great ambience and nice bar area. DDC lends itself well to foodies who enjoy sharing tapas-style dishes paired with great margaritas. Food is southern Mexican fusion; long list of tequilas. We tried several plates with the empanada, scallops and salmon tostada being memorable dishes I will order again. Skinny margaritas with coriander salt on the side were perfect companions to the great guacamole appetizer, too! Nisha provided great services with excellent suggestions for first-timers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2

Two words - Bone-in carnitas

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

Their bone-in carnitas is delicious. We had the whole fish which pleased the crowd as well. When they say whole they mean eyeballs and all. Be aware!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great happy hour everyday until 7pm. $1 ...

vip
Dined on August 11, 2015

Great happy hour everyday until 7pm. $1 oyster specials even on a Monday! Eclectic decor.

food4
ambience5
service5

Brunch was great but.....

Dined on August 9, 2015

everything was great, but they ran out of Carne Verde and Lamb by 1230p on a brunch sunday. Two of four of us ordered those and had to choose something else. Waitress was great and plenty of memosas made it memorable ( or unmemorable)! Thanks, had a great time

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!!!! So fresh!!! Really hi ...

vip
Dined on July 30, 2015

Excellent food!!!! So fresh!!! Really highly recommend it!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely staff and delicious food

Dined on July 30, 2015

Lovely staff and delicious food

food4
ambience4
service4

day of friends was a success!

Dined on July 24, 2015

Great food, margaritas and service. We ended up with more food than we needed. The lamb taco was the best lamb I have ever had, well seasoned and delicious. Am going back to try more dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

I never write any reviews. This place is awesome. Just go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.