About Dia de Campo

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:30am.

Friday: 3:00pm - 1:00am.

Saturday: Noon - 1:00am.

Sunday: Noon - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Tapas (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Spicy (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Authentic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Fireplace (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food! Excellent service from A ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food! Excellent service from Amara. You can't beat the bottomless mimosas at this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the queso fundido , the steak faj ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had the queso fundido , the steak fajitas , chorizo and shrimp enchiladas and a house salad. Everything was really good only negative was that the beans and rice were really bland but other than that everything was great. Definitely will be back. Cocktail was good to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I visited Dia del Campo with my parents. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I visited Dia del Campo with my parents. It felt like a special occasion. Nice ambience and lighting. The food was delicious. Highly recommend the octopus and the fajitas were delicious. Do yourself a favor and get there during Happy Hour to order the pitcher of margaritas. Just be sure to call an Uber, because you will be tipsy!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Casual, Fireplace, Authentic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 6 and ordered almost e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a party of 6 and ordered almost every appetizer on the menu. LOVED all the food. Unfortunately, when it came to Entrees they did not come out together and were very spaced out. Everyone at the table was done eating when the last entree showed up. It ruined the whole happy feel of the evening. We eat out a lot and usually love Dia De Campo but will think twice before bringing a bigger party....

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

This is one of our favs to walk to in th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is one of our favs to walk to in the south bay. The whole fish is a special treat and has been consistently prepared with great flavor. The scene is local , beach casual, and it can get "energetic," but the volume is worth the meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was not my first visit to DdC. but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was not my first visit to DdC. but I always welcome a chance to go there! Every dish I've had has been delicious and inventive, comfort Mexican-style but with a modern twist. This time I got to enjoy one of their desserts - a goat cheesecake wrapped in shredded 'something' with a fantastic sauce, blackberries and nuts. (Wish I remembered the name!) It was amazing!! Have never tasted anything like it before, but would def get it again. Go there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok, hosts were rude, food was great.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ok, hosts were rude, food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Reservations at 8:30, didn't sit until 9

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Reservations at 8:30, didn't sit until 9

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We have enjoyed many meals there on the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have enjoyed many meals there on the past but something has definitely changed. This was our second visit in one month and we were disappointed with the food both times. On this visit, they were out of avocados. We were stunned to find a Mexican restaurant unable to serve guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were in town for a wedding and met ou ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We were in town for a wedding and met our friends for dinner. Their menu options were excellent and I love Mezcal so this was an easy choice. My girlfriend and i shared the whole roasted fish which had excellent flavors and was enough for 3 people. our husbands had the pork and they thought the preparation was perfect. We started with the ahi ceviche recommended by our server and she was right, delicious! We will be back again when we are in the neighborhood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a pleasant experience. Restaurant an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Not a pleasant experience. Restaurant and menu is overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

How can a Mexican restaurant boycott avo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

How can a Mexican restaurant boycott avocados?? Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Terrible hostess services. Was told to w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrible hostess services. Was told to wait as we asked for another table. Never saw hostess again. Had to go back to hostess stand and ask for a status. Was sat 25 minutes after our reservation and it took another 15 minutes for a server to approach our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I have to say this is my second time goi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have to say this is my second time going and I was very disappointed. Myself and 3 of my girlfriends met there at 8pm with reservations. The hostess was not very friendly at all we waited 15min to get seated. To make a long story short. we waited for our food 2 hours just to find out that it was never sent to the kitchen. The ticket was lost. Manager came over and took our order again, we were hesitant on weather to even stay but at that point anywhere we went we would have to wait. We got our food all 4 at different times. waited for second round of drinks for 20 min also. The entire night was a disaster. And at the end had to pay 100 dollars for drinks. Yes food was on the house but that's the least they could of done. all of us combined had over 2o years in the food service/management industry. I have to say this was the worst service and attempt at redemption I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was dismal.....the food was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The service was dismal.....the food was good. It was loud which was fine - but food to table was slow - food doesn't come out at the same time. Drinks were excellent. One stall in the bathroom wasn't working.

It was just OKAY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food and service were both great! Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food and service were both great! The tacos mashismo style are delicious!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing service, great food, and great d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Amazing service, great food, and great decor. Happy all the way around!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Sunday brunch and bottom less ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great for Sunday brunch and bottom less mimosas! Service is always very friendly and their in house hot sauce is amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every margarita I tried was amazing! Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Every margarita I tried was amazing! The Chile Verde was phenom. Great scene, a bit loud but I'm old. Service was spot on. We'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Spicy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the grilled lobster and it was ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had the grilled lobster and it was excellent! Also the drinks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of 5 - All food was ex ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Went with a group of 5 - All food was exceptional but we had 2 desserts and neither were impressive. Skip the dessert. The spicy vodka drink (passion over function) is amazing. I did have more than my share of this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is like a gem... I discovered ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This place is like a gem... I discovered the place by accident and loved it. I took my friends to the restaurant on a Friday night... TheClaremont (cocktail) is my new favorite. The food tastes and looks healthy and delicious. I cant wait to go and get my cucumber infused vodka drink....

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my girlfriend for our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I went there with my girlfriend for our anniversary. We were seated in a booth section to begin but shortly after, were asked to get up and move to the bar area so our table went from being cozy and comfortable to being placed right behind the bar seating. We understand this happens so thought nothing of it. Our server (Brianne) came and took drink orders. We ordered two margaritas and ceviche to start. The margaritas took 30 mins to get to us. We finished our ceviche and then placed our order for tacos. We received our tacos and THEN finally got our margaritas. Our margaritas were WAYYYY too strong. I consider myself a drinker and usually like strong tequila-based beverages but these margs were literally unpleasant to drink. My girlfriend sent hers back and the bartender tried to fix it by (we assume) diluting it. She refused the new drink because we were already done with our meal at that point. We were going to try to order desert but our server rarely checked on us and at this point we just wanted to pay and leave. Our server was extremely awkward during basic interactions and never made eye contact with us even while taking our orders. We hope it was her first day because that's what it felt like. We've been here once before (we are Manhattan Beach residents) and had a wonderful experience so choosing this for our special occasion seemed appropriate. It was close to the worst dining experience we've ever had and unfortunately it turned us off to dining there again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a party of four which we all thou ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a party of four which we all thought was together. The restaurant apparently thought we were four strangers sitting at one table and brought our food out one entrée at a time over the course of about 40 minutes. My wife and I got our food first but about 10 minutes apart and the other couple we were with ordered two chimichangas (which, in fairness they said were very good) but they came out separated by about 20 minutes. We delayed eating our meal waiting for the chimichangas but after about 20 minutes the other couple urged us to go ahead and eat. Of course, by that time, our food already cold. The manager said they had two trainees in the kitchen. But this still sounds like very inadequate kitchen supervision. It was, without a doubt, the worst service I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Homemade chips and guacamole were amazin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Homemade chips and guacamole were amazing. Actually all of the food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

These guys have just gotten it right

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

These guys have just gotten it right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Balance of classic and new. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food. Balance of classic and new. Good choices of drinks and menu. Not too complicated. Service is generally friendly and attentive. Our waiter in particular was hard to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is super tasty and the staff is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is super tasty and the staff is awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went at 8:30 on a Sunday night. Was out ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Went at 8:30 on a Sunday night. Was out of guacamole and flour tortillas (its a mexican restaurant... go out and buy some guac at the store at least...) and they rushed us through the whole meal and turned the bright lights on (universal "get out" sign) at 9:30. Duck chocolate quesadilla tasted like it had sat under the heat lamp for an hour and could be bounced off the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was very good but it seemed lik ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good but it seemed like the kitchen needs another Chef. it took a very long time for food to come out. it wasnt just our table. I noticed almost everyone was waiting 30-45 minutes for each course (including appetizer which was guacamole)

It was during brunch, perhaps they were letting us get the most out of our bottomless Mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good even though the menu w ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good even though the menu was bit hard to understand. The service was okay. The tables are pretty close together so you feel like you are with the party sitting next to you. It was packed in 30 mins of opening. Make a reservation for brunch for 11am and get there on time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love the food. The sangria is pretty goo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love the food. The sangria is pretty good too. The grilled lobster for two - is really for two not very hungry people. It is for one. It is delicious, but we could have had one each. Chorizo stuffed dates and duck quesidillas were lovely. So was the goat cheese cheesecake.

Couples have to sit across from one another. That means you are closer to and can better hear the person at the next table than your dining companion. For us, we were shouting across the table to be heard. It is loud. Good for people who can project or for larger groups where the person you are sitting next to is someone you'd like to talk to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great ambiance!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service wasn't the best, not kid friendl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service wasn't the best, not kid friendly - they do not have changing tables in the rest rooms, they do not have a private parking lot, the lot next door charges 15 to park during a certain time frame then it goes up to 20. Food is great - portions are small.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice unique spin on Mexican/seafood smal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice unique spin on Mexican/seafood small plates. The lamb nachos were super tasty. Moderately pricey but a cool vibe. Good place to go in Hermosa overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waitress was great. Food was good, I h.a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Waitress was great. Food was good, I h.ave had better. Lovely atmosphere. Young hip crowd

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Decided to try out this place because of ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Decided to try out this place because of DineLa. Tostadas greasy. Ahi tuna and oysters good. Whole fish with rice and beans pretty good, light on salt. Churros ok, greasy as well. Service friendly and helpful. But realized at the end of our meal that the DineLA was totally not a deal and going a la carte would have been cheaper and would have received larger portions, lame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Amazing food. One of our favorites when ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Amazing food. One of our favorites when we visit here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

took some family in from Spain to brunch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

took some family in from Spain to brunch Saturday and it was amazing. They had a great time and our server (sorry can't remember her name), was great. Would like and plan to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Dia de Campo. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first time at Dia de Campo. Our meal was very good. We each ordered something different from the menu to try different things. The pancake was great. I had the Benedicts with carnitas and that was really tasty as well. The service was very good and friendly. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.