About Dia de Campo

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:30am.

Friday: 3:00pm - 1:00am.

Saturday: Noon - 1:00am.

Sunday: Noon - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Los Angeles
Seafood
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Manhattan Beach / Hermosa Beach ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Hot Spot (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (5)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went with a group of 5 - All food was ex ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined a day ago

Went with a group of 5 - All food was exceptional but we had 2 desserts and neither were impressive. Skip the dessert. The spicy vodka drink (passion over function) is amazing. I did have more than my share of this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is like a gem... I discovered ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

This place is like a gem... I discovered the place by accident and loved it. I took my friends to the restaurant on a Friday night... TheClaremont (cocktail) is my new favorite. The food tastes and looks healthy and delicious. I cant wait to go and get my cucumber infused vodka drink....

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my girlfriend for our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I went there with my girlfriend for our anniversary. We were seated in a booth section to begin but shortly after, were asked to get up and move to the bar area so our table went from being cozy and comfortable to being placed right behind the bar seating. We understand this happens so thought nothing of it. Our server (Brianne) came and took drink orders. We ordered two margaritas and ceviche to start. The margaritas took 30 mins to get to us. We finished our ceviche and then placed our order for tacos. We received our tacos and THEN finally got our margaritas. Our margaritas were WAYYYY too strong. I consider myself a drinker and usually like strong tequila-based beverages but these margs were literally unpleasant to drink. My girlfriend sent hers back and the bartender tried to fix it by (we assume) diluting it. She refused the new drink because we were already done with our meal at that point. We were going to try to order desert but our server rarely checked on us and at this point we just wanted to pay and leave. Our server was extremely awkward during basic interactions and never made eye contact with us even while taking our orders. We hope it was her first day because that's what it felt like. We've been here once before (we are Manhattan Beach residents) and had a wonderful experience so choosing this for our special occasion seemed appropriate. It was close to the worst dining experience we've ever had and unfortunately it turned us off to dining there again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a party of four which we all thou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a party of four which we all thought was together. The restaurant apparently thought we were four strangers sitting at one table and brought our food out one entrée at a time over the course of about 40 minutes. My wife and I got our food first but about 10 minutes apart and the other couple we were with ordered two chimichangas (which, in fairness they said were very good) but they came out separated by about 20 minutes. We delayed eating our meal waiting for the chimichangas but after about 20 minutes the other couple urged us to go ahead and eat. Of course, by that time, our food already cold. The manager said they had two trainees in the kitchen. But this still sounds like very inadequate kitchen supervision. It was, without a doubt, the worst service I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Homemade chips and guacamole were amazin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Homemade chips and guacamole were amazing. Actually all of the food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

These guys have just gotten it right

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

These guys have just gotten it right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Balance of classic and new. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food. Balance of classic and new. Good choices of drinks and menu. Not too complicated. Service is generally friendly and attentive. Our waiter in particular was hard to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is super tasty and the staff is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is super tasty and the staff is awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went at 8:30 on a Sunday night. Was out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Went at 8:30 on a Sunday night. Was out of guacamole and flour tortillas (its a mexican restaurant... go out and buy some guac at the store at least...) and they rushed us through the whole meal and turned the bright lights on (universal "get out" sign) at 9:30. Duck chocolate quesadilla tasted like it had sat under the heat lamp for an hour and could be bounced off the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was very good but it seemed lik ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good but it seemed like the kitchen needs another Chef. it took a very long time for food to come out. it wasnt just our table. I noticed almost everyone was waiting 30-45 minutes for each course (including appetizer which was guacamole)

It was during brunch, perhaps they were letting us get the most out of our bottomless Mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good even though the menu w ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good even though the menu was bit hard to understand. The service was okay. The tables are pretty close together so you feel like you are with the party sitting next to you. It was packed in 30 mins of opening. Make a reservation for brunch for 11am and get there on time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love the food. The sangria is pretty goo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love the food. The sangria is pretty good too. The grilled lobster for two - is really for two not very hungry people. It is for one. It is delicious, but we could have had one each. Chorizo stuffed dates and duck quesidillas were lovely. So was the goat cheese cheesecake.

Couples have to sit across from one another. That means you are closer to and can better hear the person at the next table than your dining companion. For us, we were shouting across the table to be heard. It is loud. Good for people who can project or for larger groups where the person you are sitting next to is someone you'd like to talk to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great ambiance!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service wasn't the best, not kid friendl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service wasn't the best, not kid friendly - they do not have changing tables in the rest rooms, they do not have a private parking lot, the lot next door charges 15 to park during a certain time frame then it goes up to 20. Food is great - portions are small.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice unique spin on Mexican/seafood smal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice unique spin on Mexican/seafood small plates. The lamb nachos were super tasty. Moderately pricey but a cool vibe. Good place to go in Hermosa overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waitress was great. Food was good, I h.a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Waitress was great. Food was good, I h.ave had better. Lovely atmosphere. Young hip crowd

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Decided to try out this place because of ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Decided to try out this place because of DineLa. Tostadas greasy. Ahi tuna and oysters good. Whole fish with rice and beans pretty good, light on salt. Churros ok, greasy as well. Service friendly and helpful. But realized at the end of our meal that the DineLA was totally not a deal and going a la carte would have been cheaper and would have received larger portions, lame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Amazing food. One of our favorites when ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Amazing food. One of our favorites when we visit here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

took some family in from Spain to brunch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

took some family in from Spain to brunch Saturday and it was amazing. They had a great time and our server (sorry can't remember her name), was great. Would like and plan to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Dia de Campo. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first time at Dia de Campo. Our meal was very good. We each ordered something different from the menu to try different things. The pancake was great. I had the Benedicts with carnitas and that was really tasty as well. The service was very good and friendly. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish tacos were very good but very small ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fish tacos were very good but very small. Pork tacos had no flavor. Sat at the bar and the service wasn't great. Margaritas are one of my all time favorite things and they made the worst skinny margarita I have had I didn't even finish it. The rice was amazing. Not sure I would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I LOVE THE FOOD AT DIA DE CAMPO, BUT OUR ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I LOVE THE FOOD AT DIA DE CAMPO, BUT OUR SERVICE WAS LACKING. FIRST, SOMEONE TOOK OUR RESERVATIONS PRETENDING TO BE OUR GROUP (NOT THE RESTAURANT'S FAULT AND THEY DID MANAGE TO SEAT US PRETTY QUICKLY), BUT STILL REALLY ANNOYING. THEN, THEY FORGOT ONE OF THE THINGS WE ORDERED. WHEN WE MENTIONED IT, THEY SAID THEY'D BE RIGHT ON IT, BUT INSTEAD, WE WATCHED SEVERAL OTHER TABLES GET THE ITEM WE ORDERED BEFORE WE DID. NO APOLOGIES FOR MESSING UP THE ORDER EITHER WHICH MAKES THE WHOLE THING WORSE. I'D GO BACK BECAUSE THE FOOD IS GOOD, BUT THEY REALLY NEED TO WORK ON THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Yummy food! Small plate menu on Sundays ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Yummy food! Small plate menu on Sundays. We had the burrito of the day, salmon tostada, and grilled romaine lettuce salad. Very delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. The food is FANTASTIC and the service is great! I'm a repeat customer and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed very much! I will go If I want ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I enjoyed very much! I will go If I want to eat mexican food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great deal on oysters...best grilled oct ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great deal on oysters...best grilled octopus ever...the most delicious take on "Mexican" food...and a really cool place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner with friend ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner with friends. However, I moved a dirty napkin which was on the bench seating prior to sitting down. My mistake, I didn't look further and my white pants now have salsa stains.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very cool, hip, atmosphere and ambiance. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very cool, hip, atmosphere and ambiance. The music is always great. Really comfortable place to be, with outstanding service always, and the most excellent tasting food! We love it there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, excellent food, very c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent food, very cool decor. I was shocked at how good this place was only because it was a last minute reservation on Open Table and no one had previously recommended it to me, so we were going there blind. The food was exceptional, the ambiance was great, everything was perfect. Next time we will try the Bloody Mary bar, it looked awesome. The zucchini pumpkin bread french toast was out of this world! The steak and eggs was delicious, the shrimp cocktail was unique and better than any I have ever had, not an ordinary plane Jane shrimp cocktail! the quality of the food superior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, drinks, ambiance and service!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I am never disappointed with my visits for dinner or happy hour here! The drinks and food are amazing! The service is prompt and the atmosphere is inviting! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and tasty cocktails ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, service and tasty cocktails walking distance to Hermosa Pier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Worth it

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Being a resident of the east side, I was skeptical of prices for tacos and elote. But, the craftsmanship of dishes like the scallops and greens with stone fruit (peach), the black salsa, red braised lamb, and pork chili verde were worth the cost. We look forward to returning for the pork belly and octopus dishes. Our server says that we cannot go wrong with any dish and we tend to trust her instinct.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It Was Everything Advertised and More

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We'd been wanting o go to Dia de Campo for months but there were never any available tables when we wanted to book. We finally tried a Monday evening and got a reservation on four hours' notice, although times were limited to early (6:30 or before, which we chose) or late (after 9:00). The food was creative, fresh and delicious, from the guacamole with crabmeat to the tacos (tapas size; many of the dishes were of that size and intent, but they have full entrees as well) to my favorite, the octopus. It was prepared as a sausage, but was tender and moist. The approach reminded me of my favorite squid meal on the island of Mykonos, where the squid was served as a tender steak. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We even got drinks at Happy Hour prices.

All in all, a great experience. Recommend it highly and can't wait to do it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and good drinks

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Good food and good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Love this place, much improved since it first opened . Definely going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luv this place....

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Repeat diner - love it. One of our favourites in the hood!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Second visit to Dia de Campo and it is so yummy. The bottomless Mimosas are amazing!! I love just sitting here and enjoying the delicious eats accompanied with the bubbly!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Happy Hour

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We brought a friend from out of town and booked early not realizing what a great happy hour they have. Yummy tacos & nice margaritas at great price. Food was yummy, served timely & nice atmosphere. Was getting busier & noisier by time we left ... So go on early side if going for happy hour .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Incredibly slow service and disappointing food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

You are always taking a risk when you pick a restaurant for a special occasion and unfortunately I made the wrong choice. Incredibly long dinner -- 2:30 on a Tuesday night. We literally had six menu items and only ONE was great (oysters, short rib empanada, ceviche, pork belly, grilled lobster, churros). We were probably saved by the servings of tortillas and salsa!

Oysters, took almost 40 minutes to arrive and were just OK and the pico de gallo and horse radish didn't complement them.

Short rib empanada. Small serving, the flavor profile seemed flat, and the little bit of short ribs inside were drowned with cheese and red sauce. Have enjoyed MANY empanadas, including in Chile, but we didn't care for their version at all.

Straight up ceviche arrived. We absolutely love ceviche and this is not a ceviche. If no one told you ahead of time, you wouldn't guess it was ceviche. It includes chunks of sweet potato.... Unfortunately we were hungry and had waited a long time so we ate it.

Grilled lobster, pork belly, and some rice and beans arrived. Thank goodness it looked good. The grilled lobster was Mexican style and very tasty. The beans and rice were average but I was hungry and happy to have them. Eventually we tried the pork belly and it was so salty it was inedible. Can't even describe the presentation.

Lastly, churros with chocolate. Very small to share and it does not look like any churros you've seen and looks distinctly unappetizing. Nonetheless we tried it and found it uncooked in the middle! The chocolate was also tepid. No patience to have them try again to deep fry a churro!

After 2:30 hours, we just wanted to leave. Generally we would have sent some food back but we were hungry and knew getting anything replaced would be at least 20-30 minutes. Rarely been so incredibly disappointed with a meal and didn't feel well by the time we got home. I certainly regret choosing it for a special birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Second time at Dia de Campo. Both times had great service and food was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.