About Dia de Campo

1238 Hermosa Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
View Larger Map

A blend of old school and new school Mexican meets West Coast fish house and raw bar.

Día de Campo owners Chef Tin Vuong and Jed Sanford’s vision for a Mexican and seafood restaurant set in the South Bay of Los Angeles. Located in Hermosa Beach, just a block off the sand and strand, Día de Campo is a modern surf lodge, of sorts, catering to those who want to disconnect, leave the day behind and gather with friends and strangers over flavorful food and drinks. The menu has Chef Tin paying homage to the array of Mexican and Latino food he’s enjoyed growing up in LA, mostly coming out of cocinas east of the LA River, while also taking inspiration from the fish houses, oyster bars and surf shacks along the coasts of California, Mexico, Hawaii and wherever the Pacific meets the sand.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.

Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:30am.

Friday: 3:00pm - 1:00am.

Saturday: Noon - 1:00am.

Sunday: Noon - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
Pier Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 379-1829

Website:
http://www.diadecampohb.com/

Executive Chef:
Ken Johnson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

Dia de Campo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Los Angeles
Seafood
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Manhattan Beach / Hermosa Beach ›

fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (19)
See All
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
special occasion (15)
great for brunch (12)
great for lunch (8)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time at Dia de Campo. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time at Dia de Campo. Our meal was very good. We each ordered something different from the menu to try different things. The pancake was great. I had the Benedicts with carnitas and that was really tasty as well. The service was very good and friendly. Will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish tacos were very good but very small ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fish tacos were very good but very small. Pork tacos had no flavor. Sat at the bar and the service wasn't great. Margaritas are one of my all time favorite things and they made the worst skinny margarita I have had I didn't even finish it. The rice was amazing. Not sure I would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I LOVE THE FOOD AT DIA DE CAMPO, BUT OUR ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I LOVE THE FOOD AT DIA DE CAMPO, BUT OUR SERVICE WAS LACKING. FIRST, SOMEONE TOOK OUR RESERVATIONS PRETENDING TO BE OUR GROUP (NOT THE RESTAURANT'S FAULT AND THEY DID MANAGE TO SEAT US PRETTY QUICKLY), BUT STILL REALLY ANNOYING. THEN, THEY FORGOT ONE OF THE THINGS WE ORDERED. WHEN WE MENTIONED IT, THEY SAID THEY'D BE RIGHT ON IT, BUT INSTEAD, WE WATCHED SEVERAL OTHER TABLES GET THE ITEM WE ORDERED BEFORE WE DID. NO APOLOGIES FOR MESSING UP THE ORDER EITHER WHICH MAKES THE WHOLE THING WORSE. I'D GO BACK BECAUSE THE FOOD IS GOOD, BUT THEY REALLY NEED TO WORK ON THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Yummy food! Small plate menu on Sundays ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Yummy food! Small plate menu on Sundays. We had the burrito of the day, salmon tostada, and grilled romaine lettuce salad. Very delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. The food is FANTASTIC and the service is great! I'm a repeat customer and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed very much! I will go If I want ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I enjoyed very much! I will go If I want to eat mexican food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great deal on oysters...best grilled oct ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great deal on oysters...best grilled octopus ever...the most delicious take on "Mexican" food...and a really cool place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner with friend ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner with friends. However, I moved a dirty napkin which was on the bench seating prior to sitting down. My mistake, I didn't look further and my white pants now have salsa stains.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very cool, hip, atmosphere and ambiance. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very cool, hip, atmosphere and ambiance. The music is always great. Really comfortable place to be, with outstanding service always, and the most excellent tasting food! We love it there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, excellent food, very c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent food, very cool decor. I was shocked at how good this place was only because it was a last minute reservation on Open Table and no one had previously recommended it to me, so we were going there blind. The food was exceptional, the ambiance was great, everything was perfect. Next time we will try the Bloody Mary bar, it looked awesome. The zucchini pumpkin bread french toast was out of this world! The steak and eggs was delicious, the shrimp cocktail was unique and better than any I have ever had, not an ordinary plane Jane shrimp cocktail! the quality of the food superior.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, drinks, ambiance and service!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I am never disappointed with my visits for dinner or happy hour here! The drinks and food are amazing! The service is prompt and the atmosphere is inviting! Highly recommend!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and tasty cocktails ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, service and tasty cocktails walking distance to Hermosa Pier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Worth it

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Being a resident of the east side, I was skeptical of prices for tacos and elote. But, the craftsmanship of dishes like the scallops and greens with stone fruit (peach), the black salsa, red braised lamb, and pork chili verde were worth the cost. We look forward to returning for the pork belly and octopus dishes. Our server says that we cannot go wrong with any dish and we tend to trust her instinct.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It Was Everything Advertised and More

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We'd been wanting o go to Dia de Campo for months but there were never any available tables when we wanted to book. We finally tried a Monday evening and got a reservation on four hours' notice, although times were limited to early (6:30 or before, which we chose) or late (after 9:00). The food was creative, fresh and delicious, from the guacamole with crabmeat to the tacos (tapas size; many of the dishes were of that size and intent, but they have full entrees as well) to my favorite, the octopus. It was prepared as a sausage, but was tender and moist. The approach reminded me of my favorite squid meal on the island of Mykonos, where the squid was served as a tender steak. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We even got drinks at Happy Hour prices.

All in all, a great experience. Recommend it highly and can't wait to do it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and good drinks

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Good food and good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Love this place, much improved since it first opened . Definely going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luv this place....

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Repeat diner - love it. One of our favourites in the hood!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Second visit to Dia de Campo and it is so yummy. The bottomless Mimosas are amazing!! I love just sitting here and enjoying the delicious eats accompanied with the bubbly!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Happy Hour

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We brought a friend from out of town and booked early not realizing what a great happy hour they have. Yummy tacos & nice margaritas at great price. Food was yummy, served timely & nice atmosphere. Was getting busier & noisier by time we left ... So go on early side if going for happy hour .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Incredibly slow service and disappointing food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

You are always taking a risk when you pick a restaurant for a special occasion and unfortunately I made the wrong choice. Incredibly long dinner -- 2:30 on a Tuesday night. We literally had six menu items and only ONE was great (oysters, short rib empanada, ceviche, pork belly, grilled lobster, churros). We were probably saved by the servings of tortillas and salsa!

Oysters, took almost 40 minutes to arrive and were just OK and the pico de gallo and horse radish didn't complement them.

Short rib empanada. Small serving, the flavor profile seemed flat, and the little bit of short ribs inside were drowned with cheese and red sauce. Have enjoyed MANY empanadas, including in Chile, but we didn't care for their version at all.

Straight up ceviche arrived. We absolutely love ceviche and this is not a ceviche. If no one told you ahead of time, you wouldn't guess it was ceviche. It includes chunks of sweet potato.... Unfortunately we were hungry and had waited a long time so we ate it.

Grilled lobster, pork belly, and some rice and beans arrived. Thank goodness it looked good. The grilled lobster was Mexican style and very tasty. The beans and rice were average but I was hungry and happy to have them. Eventually we tried the pork belly and it was so salty it was inedible. Can't even describe the presentation.

Lastly, churros with chocolate. Very small to share and it does not look like any churros you've seen and looks distinctly unappetizing. Nonetheless we tried it and found it uncooked in the middle! The chocolate was also tepid. No patience to have them try again to deep fry a churro!

After 2:30 hours, we just wanted to leave. Generally we would have sent some food back but we were hungry and knew getting anything replaced would be at least 20-30 minutes. Rarely been so incredibly disappointed with a meal and didn't feel well by the time we got home. I certainly regret choosing it for a special birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Second time at Dia de Campo. Both times had great service and food was delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dia De Campo Doesn't Disappoint

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I love dia de campo's lunch and dinner and this time I came for a casual lunch of small plates during bandito happy hour it was equally delicious. The standout were the oysters, the mahi bowl and the cocktails. If you like mezcal try the H. Bogart if you want something lighter go with the Sophia. All in all one of my faves in hermosa beach.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and drinks!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful venue for family (adult) evening

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Delicious Dine LA 4 course meals and margharitas. Everything we had was wonderful. The service was very friendly and helpful. I especially enjoyed a scallop dish and and chocolate duck quesadilla.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Good but pricy. Fusion, interesting menu. Many items were oily, still good but oily.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and drink! Excellent service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Carnitas blew me away they were awesome. The duck quesadilla and fish tacos also must haves. Not as big a fan of the octopus. Margaritas are great and service is top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is patient but attentive. Vegeta ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Service is patient but attentive. Vegetable fajitas aren't something I would usually order but these were insanely good. I saved the leftovers and then actually ate them the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at upmarket Dia de Campo

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Well-designed menu provided us with a wide variety in choices. We opted to start with the guacamole and crab. This was excellent, and we would definitely order this again. We also had the squash blossom quesadilla, however, we found the amount of cheese too overpowering to even taste the squash blossom. Although the house hot sauce was provided, we would have enjoyed a bit of salsa to balance out the flavors. On the other hand, the hamachi ceviche was a hit, as well as the chimichanga. The portions are quite large here, so no chance to try the desserts. Service was attentive and friendly. Would recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Went to Dia De Campo for a meeting with my boss from NYC. The menu is eclectic for sure, not your average items for sure. Started with the guacamole and Dungeness crab appetizer, best guacamole ever! I had the hanger steak fajitas (excellent but some salsa would have been nice), the boss had the grilled romaine but asked if she could substitute grilled octopus for the shrimp - not a problem! Should have asked for salsa - my bad. The ambience is wonderful, kind of a chic casual. I think I was the only older person there, but it is Hermosa after all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mexican Food

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

The skinny margaritas are excellent and we loved the variety of dishes on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

The street tacos were incredibly flavorful. The Guacamole and the quesadilla were also tasty. Music was a little bit loud, making it feel more like a bar that a dinner spot. But, I'd definitely go back.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Modern up-scale Mexican

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Really enjoyed my birthday dinner with my girlfriends. Everyone was friendly from the minute we walked in, through service and leaving the restaurant. No sense of snootiness at all which can occur in these hipper- type restaurants. They allowed us to use the Happy Hour menu although we were not sitting in the lounge/bar area. My vegetarian friend really liked her food although I forgot what she ordered. I loved the sauces they used on my battered fish and chicken tacos. It makes we want to become a saucier. Lived to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dia de Campo was absolutely amazing! Del ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Dia de Campo was absolutely amazing! Delicious food, great service, and amazing atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Bash at its best

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

This place has one of the best happy hour deals in the area. And they have great food/drinks. Service is always amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bottomless Mimosa!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The bottomless mimosas were at a great deal. The food was very average but the mimosas were worth it.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

great for the younger crowd food cumin-laden

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

thought I would enjoy this as I love Mexican food especially seafood. reservation was for 830 pm and then told that had been overbooked. seated by 9 pm. out of lobster and fresh fish by then which is what we came for. food was fresh and attractive but everything was heavy spiced and full of cumin. if I wanted cumin I would have gone to an Indian restaurant HOWEVER, place was full of young Beach Cities folks who seemed to be smiling and happy so maybe it was just us expecting something this place didn't have for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great New Place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

We went for a bottomless brunch the 4 of us. it was great. food, service and ambiance. will definitely go back again. Staff was friendly and accomodating

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The server was great! Greater us quickly ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

The server was great! Greater us quickly and brought out drinks and food at a timely manner. The music in the background added to the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sunday Brunch experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

We've been to Dia de Campo for dinner in the past but never for brunch before today. As always, the menu is eclectic. Ask questions if you have certain allergies or dislikes. The food is very good. Fresh ingredients, great seasoning, fantastic presentation. Bottomless mimosas are served as a bottle of sparkling wine and a caraffe of orange juice. Mix it yourself to taste. Live music started around noon but was also great. Energetic and somewhat noisy but just about right. Service is outstanding even on a crowded day. Reservations are usually needed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

good but could have been GREAT!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

A few minor tweaks in service could make this place incredible. I've been here over a dozen times and the food is always on par but service lacks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.