About Dexters of Thornton Park

808 East Washington St.
Orlando, FL 32801
View Larger Map

Dexter's has been in business since 1984. A local and established casual hangout that takes food and wine very seriously. Enjoy over 30 wines by the glass or bottle, full bar, excellent service, and award winning Sunday brunch (peoples choice). Enjoy a simple build your own sandwich or a carefully prepared entree, everything is made fresh when you order it. Choose from the main menu or one of the cafe menu inserts that takes advantage of ingredients that are in season. These inserts and winelists change every other month, so there is always something new and different to enjoy ! The cuisine fuses many different culinary styles, there is something for everyone. The sidewalk cafe is popular as it is located on an old cobblestone street in an eclectic neighborhood. Wine List pricing is very fair and makes for a nicer bottle to enjoy. Check insert menus for organics and local farm raised fruit, vegetables and meats.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summerlin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 648-2777

Website:
http://www.dexwine.com/

Catering:
Weddings, rehearsal dinners, baby and bridal showers, corporate events. lunch deliveries. Call 407-648-2777 for details

Parking Details:
Private lot in rear, also street parking all around as this is located in a residential area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Whitener

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chicken and Waffles
Peter's Grilled Mahi Salad
Chicken Ceaser Salad
Thanksgiving Empanada
Mark West Pinot Noir
Monte Cristo Waffle Sandwich
Jambalaya
Crab Cakes
Raspberry chocolate Mousse cake
Croque Madame
Fried Eggs, Cheese Grits, And Toast
Potato Cakes, Cheese Grits, And Fruit
Cheese Grits
Corned Beef Hash
Plantation Breakfast
Oatmeal Bread With Fresh Fruit
Quiche
Spicy Shrinp Pronvencal
Mahi And Pepper Jeck Grits And Egg
Vietnamese Sandwich
Caesar Salad
Pressed Duck Sandwich
garden salad
Jalapeno Hoagie
$1 Burger
Bloody Mary
Grilled Mahi Mahi & Grits
Pancakes With Fruit
Bouillabaisse
Baked Brie With Strawberries And Almonds
Chicken and dumplings
Herbed Truffle Fries
Cha Cha Chips
Cajun Chicken Sandwich
Veggie Sandwich
Corsican Salad W/ Chicken
Duck Sandwich
Eggplant Napolean
Steak and Eggs
Malted Belgium Waffle And Potato Cakes
Poached Eggs
French Toast w/ Fresh Strawberries
Make Your Own Omelete
Mahi Mahi And Grits
Pulled Duck Sandwich
Tuna And Cream Cheese Stuffed Cucumbers
Belgian Waffle With Vermont Syrup Homemade Whipped Cream And Strawberries And Blueberries
New Orleans Hoagie
Garlic Buccatini With Fresh Pesto

Dexters of Thornton Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Casual atmosphere, fairly loud. Not cozy ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Casual atmosphere, fairly loud. Not cozy, but good for a friendly date (not romantic).

Had the grilled mahi salad and the blackened salmon tacos, and both were DELICIOUS!

Fair prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A very young dinner /bar crowd. Nice men ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very young dinner /bar crowd. Nice menu selection.

I thought there would be more reflection of the Publix history that just ONE photo.

Big deal.

The terrazzo floors were cool history. Wall art was Crazy expensive!

Overall good dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Normally love this place and its in our ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Normally love this place and its in our neighborhood but tonight, it was just bad... Food was bland and boring and tasted like it had been sitting for a while and was reheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Always a fun meal! Energetic atmosphere ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always a fun meal! Energetic atmosphere at night, however lunches tend to be more relaxed. Great, welcoming staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Friendly staff, great food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Friendly staff, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great service, good happy hour

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, good happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice area restaurant has outside seating ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Nice area restaurant has outside seating. Menu selection was limited but ok. Wine list good. Good happy hour if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Nice Neighborhood Joint

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was spot on, the food was delicious and it was a decent price. If we live closer, my husband and I would eat there all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant for breakf ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Danielle is an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a swim team with 13 people, and due to weather delays at the meet, we had to change times and amount of people. They were completely accomodating and gave great service with multiple checks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a party of 20. Dexters was more t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a party of 20. Dexters was more than accommodating and handled everything without skipping a beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy we found this restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We were staying near the restaurant and need a late night dinner. What a great surprise simple menu but enough to meet everyone's needs. everything was well balanced with excellent taste. Go grab a beer and anything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I greatly enjoy the different takes on b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I greatly enjoy the different takes on brunch. The chicken and waffles were certainly excellent. And I keep trying to stop myself from buying the local art...although I know I will during one of my visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great bday spot

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

I had a great time. The food was amazing and it was a great experience. For years now people have been telling me about Dexters. You have to try it for yourself

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice Waitress, Terrible Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend and a few friends. Our waitress Erika was very nice. The food however is horrible. My boyfriend ordered the ribeye and it was terribly overcooked and a bad cut of meat. I have never seen him NOT eat his steak. Also sweet potatoes were substituted and for regular mashed potatoes without being told. I ordered a scallop and shrimp pasta. The shrimp were in weird pieces, some whole... some as little chunks that had broken apart that had had freezer burn. The scallops had no flavor and the shrimp tasted like licking the inside of a freezer. Ambiance is disjointed and unappealing. The server was nice, but I would NEVER come back.... yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Delicious

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was delicious, we had the Beer Cheese & Artichoke Dip - Delicious

Husband had the Pan Seared Ribeye with Fries and Broccoli - Delicious

I had the Bacon Crusted Grouper w mashed potatoes and asparagus - Delicious

We also had the Rum Runners - Delicious

Cheesecake with Strawberries - Delicious

My only complaint would be the service was a bit lacking - waitress was not very attentive to our needs.

But, we will go back!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprising location

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Good food (we had dinner) - steak and groupler - and very good service. Some noise, and a few outside tables in an area with homes and small retail businesses. Interesting menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

LOTS of noise!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The restaurant was celebrating their anniversary and had a street band that was SO loud. Couldn't talk even inside, Sports on TV (UofM won!). Food good, not great. Not a memorable night,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great place for a casual dining experience

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We always enjoy Dexter's Thornton Park. Staff is always friendly and attentive. Food is always timely and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Great food great fun great service. The atmosphere was great the server was awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blah

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

it's ok, not a big deal. The food is very average....................................................................................................................................................

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We are visiting Orlando and read reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

We are visiting Orlando and read reviews on OpenTable that raved about the restaurant. Being from New Orleans, where our standards for food and service are pretty high, we thought that despite the reviews we might be disappointed. We were pleasantly surprised, and delighted, to say that we were wrong. The Thornton Park area of Orlando has an unmistakable appeal and charm that set the stage for a similar dining experience. We went fpr breakfast. Our waitress was friendly and accomodating, the food was fresh, well-prepared and delicious and the ambiance was invitingly cozy. We did not experience some of the noise level issues referenced in some of the other reviews; possibly because we were there for breakfast. My fiancé had the Belgian waffle topped with fresh fruit and I had the Plantation breakfast. She continually made noises while enjoying her waffle that I found to be a bit explicit for earshot of the general public and my meal was superb with more good than any one person should be able to consume without the benefit of a long nap in order to recover. Our only regret is that we will not be in town to make the $1 Burger night held on Tuesdays. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Favorite Brunch!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We frequent Dexter's Thornton Park every Sunday for brunch! We've been regulars for 15+ years and love being treated like family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thursday Evening Meal

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

The meal was excellent and the service very attentive. Noise level is rather high which makes conversation a little difficult, but the food and bar service were quite good. A nice neighborhood find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food - SLOW service

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Had a nice lunch - a little pricey and service was a little slow, but overall, would be back and do recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The gem of Thornton Park

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

This neighborhood gem is a must. Everything from brunch to dinner and late night drinks. I make this my normal go-to when looking for a place to grab dinner and drinks with friends. They have daily specials to add variety on the menu, along with nights such as $1 Burger night every Tuesday. I've also had some of the best service here. If you go ask for Lacey! She kept our drinks full and made some great recommendations from the menu. A couple of my friends had special adjustments to items on the menu and she made sure everything came out according to our requests. Great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food & beautiful scenery

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

Amazing food & beautiful scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for Delicious Dinners

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

We had been to Dexters before as a party of 2, and went back with a party of 5. We were greeted prompty and in a friendly manner. Our server was very interactive and informative. His knowledege of the menu and specials was in depth. The dinners were delicious from Egg Plant Napoleon, to Lobster/Salmon Mac & cheese, and a BBQ Chicken thigh special that was well constructed and amazing (for such a simple dish). Wine list was good without being too extensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

Innovative food, friendly service, overall, terrific dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to the Thornton ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

This was our first visit to the Thornton Park location. We loved everything about it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not all dexters are the same

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

This dexters crammed a large group in a small spot with tables that werent even the right height. Our food was over cooked or burnt. My wife and I ordered chicken and waffles both our breaded chicken crusts were hard as a rock and our egg yolk was cooked because they were sitting under heat lamps. We had to ask for syrup which was in the description for this entrée. They brought us out the smallest Togo cup and left before we could ask for more. We really enjoyed the dexters winter park but the Thornton park dexters we will never go back to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food, great place

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 17, 2014

Excellent location and fabulous food - definitely will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WONDERFUL PRE MATINEE BRUNCH LOCATION

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

We booked this location blind because it was so close to the new Dr. Phillips Performing Arts Center and we wanted to have brunch before our matinee and we weren't disappointed. They have at least 5 or 6 mimosa flavors and the apple pie French toast was dessert for breakfast. The service was impeccable! We had 8 in our party ages 82 to 20 and each one of us had a great time. This restaurant is a must visit!! I would strongly suggest reservations as there was a line waiting to get in starting 15 minutes before the doors opened.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A casual staple with great food!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 8, 2014

Dexters will always please. Menu has something everyone will enjoy! Tucked away in a quaint area in Thorton Park, the atmosphere is eclectic but will please the "foodie!" Brunch is always busy so make sure you get there early especially since Dexters has great Bloody Mary's and mimosas. The Winter Park and Lake Mary locations are great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

whenever we get to Orlando, we always ge ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

whenever we get to Orlando, we always gets dinner in at Dexter's Had the RibEye and cooked to perfection after the Chicken spring rolls which are delicious. Always good and service was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 30, 2014

This is my go to in the Thorton Park area. Parking is limited but we had one of the Dexter employees actually direct us to a spot as they noticed us pulling up. The service was amazing, extremely attentive and friendly staff. The Salmon salad was amazing as well - 3 out of the 4 of us ordered it and wished we could have had a second helping :). Cant say enough positives about Dexters as a lunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sunday Brunch spot - great location

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

Just 2 blocks from Lake Eola, has a very nice brunch/lunch menu with food served quickly and hot. Waiters and waitresses were friendly and quick to serve.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

it was okay

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

beer was a little to pricey . food was okay. over all its a nice location for something new

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

good neighborhood restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

the food was great. I had the watermelon salad with sesame yellowfin tuna. The portion was just right. It was quiet when I got there at 5:30pm but picked up around 7. They offer specials everyday of the week. Tuesdays are $1 burger night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was average. The price point i ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

The food was average. The price point is good. Usually service is adequate, but on the last visit, the waitress did not check in after either the cocktails or appetizers were served. We had a problem with the order and only were able to have it addressed when the entrees were brought. I probably won't go back. There are too many other restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.