About Dexters of Thornton Park

808 East Washington St.
Orlando, FL 32801
View Larger Map

Dexter's has been in business since 1984. A local and established casual hangout that takes food and wine very seriously. Enjoy over 30 wines by the glass or bottle, full bar, excellent service, and award winning Sunday brunch (peoples choice). Enjoy a simple build your own sandwich or a carefully prepared entree, everything is made fresh when you order it. Choose from the main menu or one of the cafe menu inserts that takes advantage of ingredients that are in season. These inserts and winelists change every other month, so there is always something new and different to enjoy ! The cuisine fuses many different culinary styles, there is something for everyone. The sidewalk cafe is popular as it is located on an old cobblestone street in an eclectic neighborhood. Wine List pricing is very fair and makes for a nicer bottle to enjoy. Check insert menus for organics and local farm raised fruit, vegetables and meats.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summerlin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 648-2777

Website:
http://www.dexwine.com/

Catering:
Weddings, rehearsal dinners, baby and bridal showers, corporate events. lunch deliveries. Call 407-648-2777 for details

Parking Details:
Private lot in rear, also street parking all around as this is located in a residential area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Whitener

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chicken and Waffles - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Peter's Grilled Mahi Salad - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Chicken Ceaser Salad - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Thanksgiving Empanada - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Mark West Pinot Noir - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Monte Cristo Waffle Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Jambalaya - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Crab Cakes - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Raspberry chocolate Mousse cake - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Croque Madame - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Fried Eggs, Cheese Grits, And Toast - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Potato Cakes, Cheese Grits, And Fruit - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Cheese Grits - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Corned Beef Hash - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Plantation Breakfast - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Oatmeal Bread With Fresh Fruit - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Quiche - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Spicy Shrinp Pronvencal - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Mahi And Pepper Jeck Grits And Egg - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Vietnamese Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Caesar Salad - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Pressed Duck Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
garden salad - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Jalapeno Hoagie - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
$1 Burger - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Bloody Mary - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Grilled Mahi Mahi & Grits - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Pancakes With Fruit  - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Bouillabaisse - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Baked Brie With Strawberries And Almonds - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Chicken and dumplings - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Herbed Truffle Fries - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Cha Cha Chips - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Cajun Chicken Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Veggie Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Corsican Salad W/ Chicken - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Duck Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Eggplant Napolean - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Steak and Eggs - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Malted Belgium Waffle And Potato Cakes - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Poached Eggs - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
French Toast w/ Fresh Strawberries - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Make Your Own Omelete - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Mahi Mahi And Grits - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Pulled Duck Sandwich - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Tuna And Cream Cheese Stuffed Cucumbers - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Belgian Waffle With Vermont Syrup Homemade Whipped Cream And Strawberries And Blueberries - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
New Orleans Hoagie - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL
Garlic Buccatini With Fresh Pesto - Dexters of Thornton Park, Orlando, FL

Dexters of Thornton Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
See All
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I brought "hip business clients" for lun ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

I brought "hip business clients" for lunch and they enjoyed it. Near downtown Orlando. Thumbs up

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place but had a horrible exper ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place but had a horrible experience. Food took forever and they weren't even that busy. When we expressed our concern to the manager he was yelling in our faces. My friends plate was dirty and they just changed plates. Didn't even remake it. Half my table didn't get eat their food. I will give them another shot but they need to change management. He will run that place down if he doesn't fix the way he speaks to people.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Only shortcoming was clean up after a dr ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Only shortcoming was clean up after a drink was spilled, busboy only wiped the floor but left the table untouched and it took quite a few minutes to get assistance from the waitress. Food was great, kids were happy with their pasta choice and the adults were pleased with their salad and sandwich selections. My favorite is always the build your own with the pressed French bread with a side of sweet potato fries

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is the second opportunity to eat at ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

This is the second opportunity to eat at Dexters of Thornton Park. The food is good and presented in a tasteful manner. The ambiance is conducive for fun and a good meeting place for friends. This night it took a longer than usual to eat and the music was a bit loud to have a conversation with the person across from me. The service was attentive and quite congenial to us. For the price I would expect these not to be issues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had NEW Years Eve dinner with a large gr ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had NEW Years Eve dinner with a large group. Waitress was excellent and patient with some of our difficult members.. food was equally amazing. Shared the nye special

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a party of ten and the service wa ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a party of ten and the service was excellent, and the food all came out correct and with good timing. No meal was over cooked or cold, no meal appeared to have been sitting in the window waiting for the rest of the meals to be completed. This was not our first experience at Dexters, and this occasion was just as above expectations as our previous visits, even as a large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a small group from work meet for a h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a small group from work meet for a holiday meal. Everything was good. We had some really picky eaters, but nobody left unhappy. My calamari was delicious. I also had the fish of the day, which was awesome. Hubby had the French dip and was pleased. Drinks were plentiful and nobody ever went thirsty. I'd book again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service. Perfect informal ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good food and service. Perfect informal stop before the theatre due to proximity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Went to this place for a wedding celebra ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went to this place for a wedding celebration. Was a little bit taken back by the placement of my party even with a reservation, however the Service team was trying their best to accomodate my friends and family with their busy Saturday afternoon rush and we got settled in fine. Very popular atmosphere and great food. Would have more visit soon! Make sure to plan ahead if going for a brunch meal, very popular area to dine. Very loud as well but it comes with the excitement in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a very nice meal. The menu had a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was a very nice meal. The menu had a good variety and each of us was pleased. Looking forward to trying more dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service! Server was atte ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service! Server was attentive and made sure we needed nothing additional. The noise level is beyond "energetic". If you enjoy dining with shouting and music then this is the place for you. I won't return because of the noise factor; I left with a splitting headache and could not carry on a conversation with my dining partner. For the food only, I'd be there weekly.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Group of 5 enjoyed Sunday evening dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Group of 5 enjoyed Sunday evening dinner with good service. Restaurant was fairly quiet.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. The menu th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. The menu they give you doesn't represent what you will receive. The menu looks basic and the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eh, food ok, nothing special. Kinda run ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Eh, food ok, nothing special. Kinda run down. Had a fish sandwich. Fish was good, very fresh but salad was wet and poorly dressed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was descent. My guy ordered the pre ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was descent. My guy ordered the pressed duck sandwich, and I had the shrimp and grits. The grits were very good, but the shrimp was a little bland and slightly overcooked. The duck was very tasty on its own, but the sandwich could have used a sauce or something to make it really pop. The bloody Maries and mimosas were on special (not sure if this is a regular thing during brunch or not) and both were ok, but not memorable. We sat on the patio, and enjoyed the neighborhood and people watching. It was kind of slow when we went, so I'm not sure if the experience would be the same during busier hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Casual atmosphere, fairly loud. Not cozy ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Casual atmosphere, fairly loud. Not cozy, but good for a friendly date (not romantic).

Had the grilled mahi salad and the blackened salmon tacos, and both were DELICIOUS!

Fair prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A very young dinner /bar crowd. Nice men ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very young dinner /bar crowd. Nice menu selection.

I thought there would be more reflection of the Publix history that just ONE photo.

Big deal.

The terrazzo floors were cool history. Wall art was Crazy expensive!

Overall good dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Normally love this place and its in our ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Normally love this place and its in our neighborhood but tonight, it was just bad... Food was bland and boring and tasted like it had been sitting for a while and was reheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Always a fun meal! Energetic atmosphere ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always a fun meal! Energetic atmosphere at night, however lunches tend to be more relaxed. Great, welcoming staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Friendly staff, great food!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Friendly staff, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great service, good happy hour

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, good happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice area restaurant has outside seating ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Nice area restaurant has outside seating. Menu selection was limited but ok. Wine list good. Good happy hour if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Nice Neighborhood Joint

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was spot on, the food was delicious and it was a decent price. If we live closer, my husband and I would eat there all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant for breakf ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Danielle is an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a swim team with 13 people, and due to weather delays at the meet, we had to change times and amount of people. They were completely accomodating and gave great service with multiple checks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a party of 20. Dexters was more t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a party of 20. Dexters was more than accommodating and handled everything without skipping a beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy we found this restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We were staying near the restaurant and need a late night dinner. What a great surprise simple menu but enough to meet everyone's needs. everything was well balanced with excellent taste. Go grab a beer and anything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I greatly enjoy the different takes on b ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2016

I greatly enjoy the different takes on brunch. The chicken and waffles were certainly excellent. And I keep trying to stop myself from buying the local art...although I know I will during one of my visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great bday spot

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 2, 2016

I had a great time. The food was amazing and it was a great experience. For years now people have been telling me about Dexters. You have to try it for yourself

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice Waitress, Terrible Food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend and a few friends. Our waitress Erika was very nice. The food however is horrible. My boyfriend ordered the ribeye and it was terribly overcooked and a bad cut of meat. I have never seen him NOT eat his steak. Also sweet potatoes were substituted and for regular mashed potatoes without being told. I ordered a scallop and shrimp pasta. The shrimp were in weird pieces, some whole... some as little chunks that had broken apart that had had freezer burn. The scallops had no flavor and the shrimp tasted like licking the inside of a freezer. Ambiance is disjointed and unappealing. The server was nice, but I would NEVER come back.... yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Delicious

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was delicious, we had the Beer Cheese & Artichoke Dip - Delicious

Husband had the Pan Seared Ribeye with Fries and Broccoli - Delicious

I had the Bacon Crusted Grouper w mashed potatoes and asparagus - Delicious

We also had the Rum Runners - Delicious

Cheesecake with Strawberries - Delicious

My only complaint would be the service was a bit lacking - waitress was not very attentive to our needs.

But, we will go back!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprising location

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Good food (we had dinner) - steak and groupler - and very good service. Some noise, and a few outside tables in an area with homes and small retail businesses. Interesting menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

LOTS of noise!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2015

The restaurant was celebrating their anniversary and had a street band that was SO loud. Couldn't talk even inside, Sports on TV (UofM won!). Food good, not great. Not a memorable night,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great place for a casual dining experience

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 8, 2015

We always enjoy Dexter's Thornton Park. Staff is always friendly and attentive. Food is always timely and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Great food great fun great service. The atmosphere was great the server was awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blah

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 11, 2015

it's ok, not a big deal. The food is very average....................................................................................................................................................

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We are visiting Orlando and read reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2015

We are visiting Orlando and read reviews on OpenTable that raved about the restaurant. Being from New Orleans, where our standards for food and service are pretty high, we thought that despite the reviews we might be disappointed. We were pleasantly surprised, and delighted, to say that we were wrong. The Thornton Park area of Orlando has an unmistakable appeal and charm that set the stage for a similar dining experience. We went fpr breakfast. Our waitress was friendly and accomodating, the food was fresh, well-prepared and delicious and the ambiance was invitingly cozy. We did not experience some of the noise level issues referenced in some of the other reviews; possibly because we were there for breakfast. My fiancé had the Belgian waffle topped with fresh fruit and I had the Plantation breakfast. She continually made noises while enjoying her waffle that I found to be a bit explicit for earshot of the general public and my meal was superb with more good than any one person should be able to consume without the benefit of a long nap in order to recover. Our only regret is that we will not be in town to make the $1 Burger night held on Tuesdays. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Favorite Brunch!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 30, 2015

We frequent Dexter's Thornton Park every Sunday for brunch! We've been regulars for 15+ years and love being treated like family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thursday Evening Meal

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 28, 2015

The meal was excellent and the service very attentive. Noise level is rather high which makes conversation a little difficult, but the food and bar service were quite good. A nice neighborhood find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food - SLOW service

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2015

Had a nice lunch - a little pricey and service was a little slow, but overall, would be back and do recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.