Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Dexters of Thornton Park

Dexter's has been in business since 1984. A local and established casual hangout that takes food and wine very seriously. Enjoy over 30 wines by the glass or bottle, full bar, excellent service, and award winning Sunday brunch (peoples choice). Enjoy a simple build your own sandwich or a carefully prepared entree, everything is made fresh when you order it. Choose from the main menu or one of the cafe menu inserts that takes advantage of ingredients that are in season. These inserts and winelists change every other month, so there is always something new and different to enjoy ! The cuisine fuses many different culinary styles, there is something for everyone. The sidewalk cafe is popular as it is located on an old cobblestone street in an eclectic neighborhood. Wine List pricing is very fair and makes for a nicer bottle to enjoy. Check insert menus for organics and local farm raised fruit, vegetables and meats.

808 East Washington St.
Orlando, FL 32801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summerlin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 648-2777

Website:
http://www.dexwine.com/

Catering:
Weddings, rehearsal dinners, baby and bridal showers, corporate events. lunch deliveries. Call 407-648-2777 for details

Parking Details:
Private lot in rear, also street parking all around as this is located in a residential area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Whitener

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dexters of Thornton Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
See All
Bar Seating (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
207 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service...very well prepared, fresh tasting food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

great food, super large portions, have enough left over for today's lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food! Favorite hangout when I lived in Orlando. Still going strong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Everything was great except it was too loud. You need to look into controlling the this somehow.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great vibe and food. Wonderful outdoor dining in a great old Orlando location

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very accommodating of our family including our puppy. We went for brunch and sat outside on a Saturday. The atmosphere, the food and our server were fantastic :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our second visit to Thornton Park Dexter's; our favorite of all of the Dexters. Great food, excellent service and just a fun, quirky restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a great time at the bar. Bartenders were friendly, attentive and fun. Had dinner at table later on and the food was delicious and our waiter was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was above average, music was annoying. Not enough healthy option and no calorie information. Not much creativity either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Early dinner on a Saturday night. Date night. To be frank, it was just OK. Dexter's used to be the hip gastropub before there was the foodie gastropub scene. We hadn't been for awhile, so we thought we would go back to the "go to". It was fine, but I guess I would say disappointed that is no longer the "wow, really good" that we used to say when we ate at Dexter's. Nothing in particular to complain about except that the bacon wrapped meatloaf was almost/not quite not thoroughly cooked and I didn't finish it. The appetizers were very good and my wife's meal was tasty enough. Wish I could say "outstanding" but it just wasn't. It was "good enough" to be average.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dexters is Always Great! Bloody Mary's Sat/Sun Brunch...Great place to Chill talk drink.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went for a pre-show dinner, and the restaurant was not at all crowded when we arrived (two parties already seated besides our party of two). Took ten minutes for server to come by for drink orders. Both of us ordered daily specials for our meals. Once dinners were ordered, we waited more than twenty minutes for our food to arrive. Both meals arrived barely warm - mashed potatoes actually quite cold. One meal was the bacon-wrapped meatloaf ("returned by popular demand"). Bacon was so under done, red, and soggy it was not edible and had to be removed. "Chicken Gone Nuts" was tasty, but not served hot.

Overall, a very disappointing meal. Sadly, the meals at all Dexter's have gone downhill over the past few years. Will stick to drinks and skip the food at Dexter's from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

They maintain the rep of their other stores. Food is excellent. Friendly, attentive waitstaff. Portions are generous enough, my wife and I split salad, appetizer, entree, and dessert (their creme brulee is a treat). But we still spent almost $90 with tip, which is a little too pricey for regular visits. Recommend burger night on Tuesdays; it's a good thing in their other stores, so I assume it's the equal at this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A good place to meet and talk, share good food and enjoy quick service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It wasn't a bad vibe. Good looking people and loud atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday celebration. Good food

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great little place in a charming neighborhood. We ordered scallops/risotto and pesto pasta. Scallops dish was fantastic and the pesto was nice and fresh. Pasta was a tad overcooked but delicious nonetheless. Server was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fresh, cooked to order and was served timely. Love the sweet potato chips! Our waiter was very nice, friendly and greeted us promptly. The prices are reasonable too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice menu. Good selection of finger food and drinks. Parking could be a problem, get there early and check out the side streets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I've been going to Dexter's for years but I've never written a review. Without a doubt it's one of the best places to sneak away to for a great meal and a good drink.Tino the manager never fails to stop by to say hello and check on your service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Pre-show lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our service at Dexter's was five star, and the drink specials were great. The music was a little loud for conversation, the menu was vast and the food, while good, wasn't as great as it has been in the past.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We met our son here for dinner. He was in Orlando area on business while we were here for fun.
The lamb burger is WONDERFUL!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I brought "hip business clients" for lunch and they enjoyed it. Near downtown Orlando. Thumbs up

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place but had a horrible experience. Food took forever and they weren't even that busy. When we expressed our concern to the manager he was yelling in our faces. My friends plate was dirty and they just changed plates. Didn't even remake it. Half my table didn't get eat their food. I will give them another shot but they need to change management. He will run that place down if he doesn't fix the way he speaks to people.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Only shortcoming was clean up after a drink was spilled, busboy only wiped the floor but left the table untouched and it took quite a few minutes to get assistance from the waitress. Food was great, kids were happy with their pasta choice and the adults were pleased with their salad and sandwich selections. My favorite is always the build your own with the pressed French bread with a side of sweet potato fries

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is the second opportunity to eat at Dexters of Thornton Park. The food is good and presented in a tasteful manner. The ambiance is conducive for fun and a good meeting place for friends. This night it took a longer than usual to eat and the music was a bit loud to have a conversation with the person across from me. The service was attentive and quite congenial to us. For the price I would expect these not to be issues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had NEW Years Eve dinner with a large group. Waitress was excellent and patient with some of our difficult members.. food was equally amazing. Shared the nye special

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a party of ten and the service was excellent, and the food all came out correct and with good timing. No meal was over cooked or cold, no meal appeared to have been sitting in the window waiting for the rest of the meals to be completed. This was not our first experience at Dexters, and this occasion was just as above expectations as our previous visits, even as a large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a small group from work meet for a holiday meal. Everything was good. We had some really picky eaters, but nobody left unhappy. My calamari was delicious. I also had the fish of the day, which was awesome. Hubby had the French dip and was pleased. Drinks were plentiful and nobody ever went thirsty. I'd book again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good food and service. Perfect informal stop before the theatre due to proximity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went to this place for a wedding celebration. Was a little bit taken back by the placement of my party even with a reservation, however the Service team was trying their best to accomodate my friends and family with their busy Saturday afternoon rush and we got settled in fine. Very popular atmosphere and great food. Would have more visit soon! Make sure to plan ahead if going for a brunch meal, very popular area to dine. Very loud as well but it comes with the excitement in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was a very nice meal. The menu had a good variety and each of us was pleased. Looking forward to trying more dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service! Server was attentive and made sure we needed nothing additional. The noise level is beyond "energetic". If you enjoy dining with shouting and music then this is the place for you. I won't return because of the noise factor; I left with a splitting headache and could not carry on a conversation with my dining partner. For the food only, I'd be there weekly.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Group of 5 enjoyed Sunday evening dinner with good service. Restaurant was fairly quiet.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. The menu they give you doesn't represent what you will receive. The menu looks basic and the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Eh, food ok, nothing special. Kinda run down. Had a fish sandwich. Fish was good, very fresh but salad was wet and poorly dressed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was descent. My guy ordered the pressed duck sandwich, and I had the shrimp and grits. The grits were very good, but the shrimp was a little bland and slightly overcooked. The duck was very tasty on its own, but the sandwich could have used a sauce or something to make it really pop. The bloody Maries and mimosas were on special (not sure if this is a regular thing during brunch or not) and both were ok, but not memorable. We sat on the patio, and enjoyed the neighborhood and people watching. It was kind of slow when we went, so I'm not sure if the experience would be the same during busier hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Casual atmosphere, fairly loud. Not cozy, but good for a friendly date (not romantic).
Had the grilled mahi salad and the blackened salmon tacos, and both were DELICIOUS!
Fair prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very young dinner /bar crowd. Nice menu selection.
I thought there would be more reflection of the Publix history that just ONE photo.
Big deal.
The terrazzo floors were cool history. Wall art was Crazy expensive!
Overall good dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.