Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Dexters of Thornton Park

Dexter's has been in business since 1984. A local and established casual hangout that takes food and wine very seriously. Enjoy over 30 wines by the glass or bottle, full bar, excellent service, and award winning Sunday brunch (peoples choice). Enjoy a simple build your own sandwich or a carefully prepared entree, everything is made fresh when you order it. Choose from the main menu or one of the cafe menu inserts that takes advantage of ingredients that are in season. These inserts and winelists change every other month, so there is always something new and different to enjoy ! The cuisine fuses many different culinary styles, there is something for everyone. The sidewalk cafe is popular as it is located on an old cobblestone street in an eclectic neighborhood. Wine List pricing is very fair and makes for a nicer bottle to enjoy. Check insert menus for organics and local farm raised fruit, vegetables and meats.

808 East Washington St.
Orlando, FL 32801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Summerlin

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 648-2777

Website:
http://www.dexwine.com/

Catering:
Weddings, rehearsal dinners, baby and bridal showers, corporate events. lunch deliveries. Call 407-648-2777 for details

Parking Details:
Private lot in rear, also street parking all around as this is located in a residential area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Whitener

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Dexters of Thornton Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

They maintain the rep of their other stores. Food is excellent. Friendly, attentive waitstaff. Portions are generous enough, my wife and I split salad, appetizer, entree, and dessert (their creme brulee is a treat). But we still spent almost $90 with tip, which is a little too pricey for regular visits. Recommend burger night on Tuesdays; it's a good thing in their other stores, so I assume it's the equal at this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A good place to meet and talk, share good food and enjoy quick service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It wasn't a bad vibe. Good looking people and loud atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday celebration. Good food

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great little place in a charming neighborhood. We ordered scallops/risotto and pesto pasta. Scallops dish was fantastic and the pesto was nice and fresh. Pasta was a tad overcooked but delicious nonetheless. Server was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was fresh, cooked to order and was served timely. Love the sweet potato chips! Our waiter was very nice, friendly and greeted us promptly. The prices are reasonable too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very nice menu. Good selection of finger food and drinks. Parking could be a problem, get there early and check out the side streets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Pre-show lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our service at Dexter's was five star, and the drink specials were great. The music was a little loud for conversation, the menu was vast and the food, while good, wasn't as great as it has been in the past.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We met our son here for dinner. He was in Orlando area on business while we were here for fun.
The lamb burger is WONDERFUL!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I brought "hip business clients" for lunch and they enjoyed it. Near downtown Orlando. Thumbs up

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place but had a horrible experience. Food took forever and they weren't even that busy. When we expressed our concern to the manager he was yelling in our faces. My friends plate was dirty and they just changed plates. Didn't even remake it. Half my table didn't get eat their food. I will give them another shot but they need to change management. He will run that place down if he doesn't fix the way he speaks to people.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Only shortcoming was clean up after a drink was spilled, busboy only wiped the floor but left the table untouched and it took quite a few minutes to get assistance from the waitress. Food was great, kids were happy with their pasta choice and the adults were pleased with their salad and sandwich selections. My favorite is always the build your own with the pressed French bread with a side of sweet potato fries

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is the second opportunity to eat at Dexters of Thornton Park. The food is good and presented in a tasteful manner. The ambiance is conducive for fun and a good meeting place for friends. This night it took a longer than usual to eat and the music was a bit loud to have a conversation with the person across from me. The service was attentive and quite congenial to us. For the price I would expect these not to be issues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had NEW Years Eve dinner with a large group. Waitress was excellent and patient with some of our difficult members.. food was equally amazing. Shared the nye special

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a party of ten and the service was excellent, and the food all came out correct and with good timing. No meal was over cooked or cold, no meal appeared to have been sitting in the window waiting for the rest of the meals to be completed. This was not our first experience at Dexters, and this occasion was just as above expectations as our previous visits, even as a large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a small group from work meet for a holiday meal. Everything was good. We had some really picky eaters, but nobody left unhappy. My calamari was delicious. I also had the fish of the day, which was awesome. Hubby had the French dip and was pleased. Drinks were plentiful and nobody ever went thirsty. I'd book again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good food and service. Perfect informal stop before the theatre due to proximity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went to this place for a wedding celebration. Was a little bit taken back by the placement of my party even with a reservation, however the Service team was trying their best to accomodate my friends and family with their busy Saturday afternoon rush and we got settled in fine. Very popular atmosphere and great food. Would have more visit soon! Make sure to plan ahead if going for a brunch meal, very popular area to dine. Very loud as well but it comes with the excitement in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was a very nice meal. The menu had a good variety and each of us was pleased. Looking forward to trying more dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service! Server was attentive and made sure we needed nothing additional. The noise level is beyond "energetic". If you enjoy dining with shouting and music then this is the place for you. I won't return because of the noise factor; I left with a splitting headache and could not carry on a conversation with my dining partner. For the food only, I'd be there weekly.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Group of 5 enjoyed Sunday evening dinner with good service. Restaurant was fairly quiet.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. The menu they give you doesn't represent what you will receive. The menu looks basic and the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Eh, food ok, nothing special. Kinda run down. Had a fish sandwich. Fish was good, very fresh but salad was wet and poorly dressed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was descent. My guy ordered the pressed duck sandwich, and I had the shrimp and grits. The grits were very good, but the shrimp was a little bland and slightly overcooked. The duck was very tasty on its own, but the sandwich could have used a sauce or something to make it really pop. The bloody Maries and mimosas were on special (not sure if this is a regular thing during brunch or not) and both were ok, but not memorable. We sat on the patio, and enjoyed the neighborhood and people watching. It was kind of slow when we went, so I'm not sure if the experience would be the same during busier hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Casual atmosphere, fairly loud. Not cozy, but good for a friendly date (not romantic).
Had the grilled mahi salad and the blackened salmon tacos, and both were DELICIOUS!
Fair prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very young dinner /bar crowd. Nice menu selection.
I thought there would be more reflection of the Publix history that just ONE photo.
Big deal.
The terrazzo floors were cool history. Wall art was Crazy expensive!
Overall good dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Normally love this place and its in our neighborhood but tonight, it was just bad... Food was bland and boring and tasted like it had been sitting for a while and was reheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always a fun meal! Energetic atmosphere at night, however lunches tend to be more relaxed. Great, welcoming staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Friendly staff, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, good happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Nice area restaurant has outside seating. Menu selection was limited but ok. Wine list good. Good happy hour if in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was spot on, the food was delicious and it was a decent price. If we live closer, my husband and I would eat there all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Danielle is an excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a swim team with 13 people, and due to weather delays at the meet, we had to change times and amount of people. They were completely accomodating and gave great service with multiple checks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a party of 20. Dexters was more than accommodating and handled everything without skipping a beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We were staying near the restaurant and need a late night dinner. What a great surprise simple menu but enough to meet everyone's needs. everything was well balanced with excellent taste. Go grab a beer and anything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2016

I greatly enjoy the different takes on brunch. The chicken and waffles were certainly excellent. And I keep trying to stop myself from buying the local art...although I know I will during one of my visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 2, 2016

I had a great time. The food was amazing and it was a great experience. For years now people have been telling me about Dexters. You have to try it for yourself

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend and a few friends. Our waitress Erika was very nice. The food however is horrible. My boyfriend ordered the ribeye and it was terribly overcooked and a bad cut of meat. I have never seen him NOT eat his steak. Also sweet potatoes were substituted and for regular mashed potatoes without being told. I ordered a scallop and shrimp pasta. The shrimp were in weird pieces, some whole... some as little chunks that had broken apart that had had freezer burn. The scallops had no flavor and the shrimp tasted like licking the inside of a freezer. Ambiance is disjointed and unappealing. The server was nice, but I would NEVER come back.... yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.