Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Dewz

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Romantic (49)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great Beer (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Dewz has changed quite a bit since I was last there eyes that is not really a good thing. Dewz was once a somewhat edgy place with a unique kind of fusion and European blend. They had good amounts of high quality food. Now I feel like I was dumped in a cooking show. The waiter droned on about this sauce and that thing and you ended up with a little pretty food in a big plate. The food was pretty good but the service was slow and the waiter mumbled. It was not very lactose intolerant friendly everything had dairy. It was very noisy. We left with the comment that it was OK but not worth the price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. Our waiter did need to use his flashlight to show us points of interest on our plates. It was also unclear why in the world another party would bring a noisy child to such a nice restaurant but Dewz is not to blame for the inconsideration of their diners. Great wine and delicious food. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great dinner. They easily accommodated all of my (many) dietary restrictions. We will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very pleased, great food, great service, not too noisy, highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food. Good service. Nice place. Spent a fortune.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was our second dining experience and it was fantastic both times! We had a great waitress and the food was delicious! I love watching the table side salad. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There is no such thing as an unacceptable substitution. My wife and I mix and match our protein with whichever starch and/or veggie that suits our taste and the staff always happily accommodates our request. Will is the best server EVER!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Dewz is always excellent. You go in expecting a great experience and Scott and team absolutely deliver. The evening was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Service and food were very good. Cocktails were made properly. Dessert was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

He had a very nice dinner. The "at your table" Caesar Salad was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The best restaurant in Modesto hands down! The service is excellent as well as the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I loved the relaxing environment, the queen Victoria drink was great, both dishes of steak & chicken were amazing. The service was excellent! We will be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, the best signature cocktail!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday so we choose Dewz. A very good place to celebrate. We wanted to have a drink at the bar before going to the dining room. Since we were celebrating, I ordered a split of champagne and my husband ordered a glass of Pinot Gris, They didnt have either, The bartender was not good, helpful or friendly at all. He finally pulled out a opened bottle of champagne which had no bubble and tasted awful, he opened a bottle of Chardonay, which was warm for my husband. That ended our before dinner drink. We were seated with our favorite server Hector who is one the Modesto's best servers. He greets us and is very kind and always does a fantastic job. The rest of the evening was perfect. Great dinner. We will go back because of Hector but the bar staff and menu needs serious help. No top shelf Vodka either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dewz isn't a cheap night out but is an example of getting what you pay for. The service is impeccable. The staff is highly trained and work hard to ensure their guests have everything they need without bothering you- they sweep in stealthily​to refill water glasses and clear dishes. The food is excellent - period. Regarding their prices, they are on the high end but not outrageous. Plates ran from$27- $35 which I felt was no more expensive than Tahoe Joe's. It was a wonderful night out.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service. One of my favorite my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great sea bass! Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very friendly. Food was great. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place with a different menu. If you are sick of eating the same thing every time you go out to eat, then give this place a try. It's upscale taste with reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Scotty is a great person to talk to for dinner and wine suggestions. All four plates were picture perfect? It was a first time to eat there for our friends and they were impressed. Thanks for the great night Scotty!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal (Braised pork shank balsamic barbecue jus jalapeño) was excellent. The service very good but almost too much and too slow. We noted when we arrived we needed to be out in an hour 15 minutes to make our theatre time and were assured we would be; but it took about that long to be served our main entrees. We had to run to the theatre and just made the door closing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent service and food was fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our meal was excellent! Our server was very informative and right on!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food. Portions could be bigger but everything was delicious. Excellent service. And very accommodating. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Dewz has delicious food in good sized portions, though pretty pricey ($150+ dinner for 2 before tip). Large dessert menu and they're all so good! Very romantic ambiance. I highly recommend Dewz for special occasion dinners, and not just because it's one of the only fine dining restaurants in Modesto.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was good, the server was prompt and pleasant. We will definitely be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I always enjoy Dewz. Although now that I'm a vegan, I wish I would have known that you need to request a vegan menu 24 hours in advance. Oh well, now I know for next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always an excellent experience ... from the yummy cocktails, to the fabulously prepared dinners (at our table of four), topping things off with scrumptious desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were in Modesto to attend a show at the Gallo. We had eaten at Dewz years ago and decided to give it another try. Our reservation was for 5:15PM but we arrived a few minutes early as did several other diners. Rather than seat us in the dining room we were all asked to wait in the bar which felt odd since the dining room was empty. I am sure there is a reason they do this but being told "your table isn't ready" was legit and not being offered a cocktail was strange.
The good news it that the service, wine and food were all 5 star and we would definitely dine there again next time we are in Modesto.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food! Great ambience! Great service! My wife and I celebrated Valentines Day there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We loved it thank you the food was amazing always happy to go to dewz

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always a treat! Love the experience of creative flavors and outstanding food presentations. It was a special way to celebrate a special person's 60th birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely service. Delicious food. Just out of our price range for a typical night out. Great for a celebration though. For two of us (one drink each, one appetizer to share, one dessert to share, two coffees and two main courses) it was about $200 (with gratuity).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sees has been one of my go to restaurants for 5 years now. I brought my now wife here on our first date when we were 20 and at 25, it's still our favorite. The Servers are always 10/10. The food is always wonderful and we love it. The menu doesn't change often but it always has seasonal fish and steaks made unique every day. Very good place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Haven't been there in 4 years. Back in the area now and went for Valentine's Day. Food has always been good, but now better--actually excellent. Great service. It is a bit pricy but if you want to dance, you've got to pay the band.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I loved your online reservation and follow-up confirmation. I had a business meeting for 7 with short notice and was given the VIP treatment. The food was excellent as always and impeccable service with a great atmosphere. Thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience last night was awesome. The young gal who made our salad was so sweet. Our server Danielle was very welcoming and helpful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place, food to a little to long but was well worth the wait. Service staff was friendly..and on point

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The atmosphere is quiet and romantic and the meals were prepared very deliciously eloquent. The service was very professional and curtiouse always insuring that our needs were met with care. The wine and shop has a very unique wine tasting display that we've never seen before. I highy recomend DEWZ if your looking for a nice quiet leazure or romantic setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have dined at DEWZ on many occasions over the years. My first impression on this visit was how steeply the prices for virtually everything on the menus had increased.

This was the first time ever that one of us had to ask the waiter to take an entrée back to the kitchen because it was cold by the time it was served. By the time the waiter returned with the replacement dish, we were both pretty much done eating.

Higher prices and slower service are not a great combination. The food was well prepared and tasted great, but it took a long time for the food to arrive after ordering our meals, and then one of the meals had already gotten cold by the time it arrived. I would normally rate this restaurant 5 stars, but not this time. Hopefully the next time we dine there, it will be better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.