About Dewz

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Chilean Sea Bass
Pork Tenderloin With Red Corn Polenta Cake
Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi With Orange Buerre Blanc And Fontina Risotto
Mocha Caramel Ice Cream Cake
Fresh Fruit Parfait With Orange Essence Cream
Alaskan Halibut With Tomato Risotto
Chocolate Martini
Blackened Salmon
Tomato Red Pepper Soup
Filet Mignon
Angus New York Steak

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
6 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

special occasion (47)
romantic (35)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
notable wine list (26)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (12)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dewz is a great restaurant, the best fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dewz is a great restaurant, the best fine dining in Modesto in my opinion. I hate that the two person tables are so close together though. You feel like you can hear everything the people near you are saying and vice versa. Food was a little overcooked too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here came for my birthday wit ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 6 days ago

First time here came for my birthday with some friends. Service was awesome, food was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dewz is a great place. We took friends t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dewz is a great place. We took friends there, was somewhat disappointed when the cesar salad was not prepared table side. I had told the other couple how how great Dewz salad was, oh well. It seems they are cutting back, compared to other visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our meal very much. The servi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoyed our meal very much. The service was good but we had to wait quite a long time to get menus and place our orders. After that it was excellent. Appreciate their attention to special food needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service and food are always great. Dewy ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service and food are always great. Dewy does not let you down.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited Dewz on the regular but ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have visited Dewz on the regular but this time was by far the best yet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant I make it a point to v ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant I make it a point to visit Dewz whenever I am in Modesto. The wine is divine and the food is nothing short of spectacular. The most important element for me is they are consistent in service and food quality..

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and awesome service from Deea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal and awesome service from Deeanna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, drinks and service were all top no ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food, drinks and service were all top notch. Our waiter Brian took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waiter was very ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great. Our waiter was very good. A awesome place

to have lunch or dinner...

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best upscale place to eat in Modesto! T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best upscale place to eat in Modesto! The food is great and good portions. The wait staff is always friendly and informative. We ordered some wine, and the taste that they give you is almost as much as a regular pour. I have been there multiple times for dinner, and the food is always outstanding. The menu changes based on what is seasonally available. If you order the Caesar salad, they make the dressing from scratch in front of you! Our server was very knowledgeable about what wines would be good with our meal, and he even gave us a desert liqueur at the end of dinner on the house. Thanks Dewz for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really a spectacular place. Classy yet c ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Really a spectacular place. Classy yet comfortable. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salads were fresh with the right amo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The salads were fresh with the right amount of dressing. The entrees were so delicious. This was the best meal we have had at a restaurant in Modesto on many years. Dewz is outstanding. !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We loved everything we had and our waiter was awesome. Can't wait to go back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not dissapoint!!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Was completely blown away by DEWS!!! Great food and even better service, I would recommend this place to everyone for a great night out amazing food!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary night

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We went here for our anniversary and it was great!! Good food good service and everything went smoothly! I would highly recommend this place for a date night. A little spends but worth it! Everything was good!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Dewz Review

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Miss the tablecloths! It is not the same with the bare tables. The service, food and wine continues to be excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dewz is our favorite, special-occasion d ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Dewz is our favorite, special-occasion dining location. Always look forward to the classy service and delicious foods.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but the portions ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was excellent, but the portions are too large to have a starter, salud, main course and dessert. Our waiter was very attentive and tried to make the evening extra special. The restaurant is nicely finished with an inviting atmosphere. I would suggest smaller portions and some trading on the bourbons and scotch kept on hand in the far.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service,great food,great drinks!iI ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service,great food,great drinks!iI loved everything about our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were able to have a very nice evening with friends. Great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was top-notch; we loved the tabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was top-notch; we loved the table side Caesar Salad. Can recommend without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a leisurely evening beginning wi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed a leisurely evening beginning with a cocktail in the bar. Never felt rushed, the service excellent. Food was great, too. From the table made Ceasar salad, the halibut entree, to the mocha caramel ice cream cake, loved every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was friendly eventhough we arrive ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Server was friendly eventhough we arrived just before closing time. Too few menu options for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dissapointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I paid $50.00 for a cold flavorless filet mignon and $25.00 for 3 non-alcoholic drinks. would not go back and was definitely not happy when I left. Oysters were mediocre. Pasta was tasty as was the deserts. specialty drinks were a piece of liquid heaven but not worth $8.00 for a few oz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Perfect Evening at Dewz

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Thanks to Scott, Nathan, and the Dewz staff for another wonderful evening. We brought some special friends with us this evening and had really talked the place up. You certainly didn't disappoint. The food was great as always - finely got around to trying the chicken - outstanding. As with any meal, great service carries great food over the top, and we couldn't ask for better than Nathan. Truly a perfect evening at Dewz.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff was very accommodating since we we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Staff was very accommodating since we were going to event at Gallo Center. The food and presentation were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, excellent!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Once again, excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We arrived early on a Tuesday and invited friends from Stockton who had never experienced Dewz'. We don't come into Modesto often, but when we do Dewz is the place to go. Top notch food, very appropriate pricing, attentive and professional service, and a very pleasant ambience. Our friends told our wait person how much they enjoyed the dinner and what a pleasant atmosphere to have a conversation. What a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graet Spot in Modesto

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Scott and his team are wounderfull. If you are not in a hurry and really want to enjoy your meal Dewz is the spot in Modesto. They have a wonderful wine list and the menu is full from meats to fish dishes. The wait staff are knowledgeable and friendly. They do all the little things that make a dinning experience great. I have visited Dews several times and the quality and consistency is there for a first class dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday March 12th

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I made a reservation on-line. The on-line service I used indicated there was only 1 reservation left, at the time I selected, but the restaurant was only half-full when I arrived. I was shown to my table promptly. The waiter was very knowlegable (sp) about the menu and took great emphasis on describing in detail all the various flavors of the many sauces that accompanied some selections. This place is a bit too pretentious for me but the bill turned out to be a little less than I expected despite my date having 2 glasses of wine and I had 2 bottles of beer. I could easily spent the same amount or less at Verona's Cucina or even Red Lobster (if you order the lobster specials)!!!! I asked to be out of the restaurant in 1 hour and 20 minutes but we ran 10 minutes late forcing my date to rush dessert so that we would not miss a show we were going to see. Overall, I would go to Dewz again. I recommend it as a good place to take a date, or for a special occasion, but not for a business dinner. Red Rum

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had eaten at Dewz before, we had good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had eaten at Dewz before, we had good service, food was excellent, this time wasn't so good, loud, waited over 30 minutes for our salads, my husband ordered Jack Daniels, but was served another brand instead. I think next time we will try another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Great Meal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always have a great meal at Dewz. Was a little disappointed they had no Gallo Winery Chardonnay (Bridlewood, William Hill). Each brand I ordered, they were out of. Doesn't make for an impressive wine list if you don't have wine from one of the cities largest employers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

out of towner was impressed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We thought Dewz was a real find in Modesto. would recommend if your in Modesto or near and looking for a metro city feel. Great bartender, makes a killer martini. Desserts were definitely a super treat and one of the best parts of the menu.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent service and food.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is fabulous!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Filte was prepared wonderfully! Only bad thing is parking-had my car broken into and everything stolen and window and frame broken:-(!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time to Dewz. Service was imp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Our first time to Dewz. Service was impeccable! Ambiance was also great for my husband and I to have a quite dinner. Portion sizes a bit small, but appetizer and entrees were very good. While the table side Caesar salad was intended to be fun to watch, I didn't think the actual taste of the salad was all that great, we would get a different salad next time.

Good location (walking distance) to Gallo Center for the Arts and would certainly go back to Dewz for another event in the Modesto area.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was perfect for a birthday dinner, food, wine, and service! Totally enjoyed the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

EXCELLENT SERVICE, GREAT FOOD AND PRESENTATION AS ALWAYS.

LIKE EATING IN A SAN FRANCISCO RESTAURANT BUT IN MODESTO

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.