Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Dewz

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Modern Decor (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The best restaurant in Modesto hands down! The service is excellent as well as the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, wonderful service, the best signature cocktail!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating my birthday so we choose Dewz. A very good place to celebrate. We wanted to have a drink at the bar before going to the dining room. Since we were celebrating, I ordered a split of champagne and my husband ordered a glass of Pinot Gris, They didnt have either, The bartender was not good, helpful or friendly at all. He finally pulled out a opened bottle of champagne which had no bubble and tasted awful, he opened a bottle of Chardonay, which was warm for my husband. That ended our before dinner drink. We were seated with our favorite server Hector who is one the Modesto's best servers. He greets us and is very kind and always does a fantastic job. The rest of the evening was perfect. Great dinner. We will go back because of Hector but the bar staff and menu needs serious help. No top shelf Vodka either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dewz isn't a cheap night out but is an example of getting what you pay for. The service is impeccable. The staff is highly trained and work hard to ensure their guests have everything they need without bothering you- they sweep in stealthily​to refill water glasses and clear dishes. The food is excellent - period. Regarding their prices, they are on the high end but not outrageous. Plates ran from$27- $35 which I felt was no more expensive than Tahoe Joe's. It was a wonderful night out.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service. One of my favorite my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great sea bass! Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very friendly. Food was great. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place with a different menu. If you are sick of eating the same thing every time you go out to eat, then give this place a try. It's upscale taste with reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Scotty is a great person to talk to for dinner and wine suggestions. All four plates were picture perfect? It was a first time to eat there for our friends and they were impressed. Thanks for the great night Scotty!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal (Braised pork shank balsamic barbecue jus jalapeño) was excellent. The service very good but almost too much and too slow. We noted when we arrived we needed to be out in an hour 15 minutes to make our theatre time and were assured we would be; but it took about that long to be served our main entrees. We had to run to the theatre and just made the door closing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our meal was excellent! Our server was very informative and right on!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food. Portions could be bigger but everything was delicious. Excellent service. And very accommodating. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Dewz has delicious food in good sized portions, though pretty pricey ($150+ dinner for 2 before tip). Large dessert menu and they're all so good! Very romantic ambiance. I highly recommend Dewz for special occasion dinners, and not just because it's one of the only fine dining restaurants in Modesto.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was good, the server was prompt and pleasant. We will definitely be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I always enjoy Dewz. Although now that I'm a vegan, I wish I would have known that you need to request a vegan menu 24 hours in advance. Oh well, now I know for next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always an excellent experience ... from the yummy cocktails, to the fabulously prepared dinners (at our table of four), topping things off with scrumptious desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were in Modesto to attend a show at the Gallo. We had eaten at Dewz years ago and decided to give it another try. Our reservation was for 5:15PM but we arrived a few minutes early as did several other diners. Rather than seat us in the dining room we were all asked to wait in the bar which felt odd since the dining room was empty. I am sure there is a reason they do this but being told "your table isn't ready" was legit and not being offered a cocktail was strange.
The good news it that the service, wine and food were all 5 star and we would definitely dine there again next time we are in Modesto.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food! Great ambience! Great service! My wife and I celebrated Valentines Day there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We loved it thank you the food was amazing always happy to go to dewz

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always a treat! Love the experience of creative flavors and outstanding food presentations. It was a special way to celebrate a special person's 60th birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely service. Delicious food. Just out of our price range for a typical night out. Great for a celebration though. For two of us (one drink each, one appetizer to share, one dessert to share, two coffees and two main courses) it was about $200 (with gratuity).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sees has been one of my go to restaurants for 5 years now. I brought my now wife here on our first date when we were 20 and at 25, it's still our favorite. The Servers are always 10/10. The food is always wonderful and we love it. The menu doesn't change often but it always has seasonal fish and steaks made unique every day. Very good place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Haven't been there in 4 years. Back in the area now and went for Valentine's Day. Food has always been good, but now better--actually excellent. Great service. It is a bit pricy but if you want to dance, you've got to pay the band.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I loved your online reservation and follow-up confirmation. I had a business meeting for 7 with short notice and was given the VIP treatment. The food was excellent as always and impeccable service with a great atmosphere. Thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience last night was awesome. The young gal who made our salad was so sweet. Our server Danielle was very welcoming and helpful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place, food to a little to long but was well worth the wait. Service staff was friendly..and on point

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The atmosphere is quiet and romantic and the meals were prepared very deliciously eloquent. The service was very professional and curtiouse always insuring that our needs were met with care. The wine and shop has a very unique wine tasting display that we've never seen before. I highy recomend DEWZ if your looking for a nice quiet leazure or romantic setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have dined at DEWZ on many occasions over the years. My first impression on this visit was how steeply the prices for virtually everything on the menus had increased.

This was the first time ever that one of us had to ask the waiter to take an entrée back to the kitchen because it was cold by the time it was served. By the time the waiter returned with the replacement dish, we were both pretty much done eating.

Higher prices and slower service are not a great combination. The food was well prepared and tasted great, but it took a long time for the food to arrive after ordering our meals, and then one of the meals had already gotten cold by the time it arrived. I would normally rate this restaurant 5 stars, but not this time. Hopefully the next time we dine there, it will be better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food I recommend filet mignon it was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent, just make sure to walk in the right door as they have two different doors

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great cheese plate appetizer with wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food at Dewz was awesome.
My daughters enjoyed the specality drinks and I enjoyed wine from their extensive wine list, which you could get by the glass or bottle.
The appetizer menu was varied and included oysters in the half shell.
The Ceasar Salad was prepared tableside, nice touch.
The menu had choices for all including fresh fish, but we chose the steaks, filet mignon with an great sauce, and a crusted New York Steak, the food and the presentation were awesome.
I would not take small children. This is a meal that you take time to enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dewz is a Modesto gem for Premium dining. Consistently the best serving staff around, and exceptional food & drink. Always our first choice for an evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal ay Dewz. This was an after show meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dewz has never ever disappointed me. I always feel like I get the best service and the best meal of any downtown Modesto restaurant. Service is always top notch and their knowledge of the items they are serving is very respectable. Wine list is also a plus++. I have never regretted an evening spent at this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Took my 96 year old Mom, along with our sister and our nephew. Food was simply great and service was exceptional. We knew they took pics for special occasions and they didn't disappoint . More, they gave us a complimentary appetizer in addition to the ones we ordered. I had the veal entree and it was wonderful. Everyone else loved their selections. We topped it off with a shared crime brûlée carmelized at the table. The owner chatted for a nice amount of time with our Mom about her many grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great greats. Total foodie experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Once again Dewz was over the top. Lovely restaurant. Attentive wait staff. Amazing food. The perfect place to enjoy our 45th anniversary. Had the best waiter named Connor. Easy to talk to. Had some good suggestions, especially on a wine I will try to find for home. Sea bass was excellent. So was the Pork Shank. Our favorite place in town.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have only been here twice. A friend told us about it and it is awesome. I cant wait to go back. Everything was perfect from the beginning to the end. Food & Srvice was Excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We made reservations for 8:15 and we were not seated until 9:15. They did apologize and gave us a free appetizer. Very delicious food. Great cocktails.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It is definitely not the place to go for a bargain meal, but the food and service are both excellent. Romantic birthday celebration for two with 2 meals, 2 glasses of wine each, and 2 appetizers: $240 with gratuity.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.