About Dewz

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Chilean Sea Bass
Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi With Orange Buerre Blanc And Fontina Risotto
Mocha Caramel Ice Cream Cake
Pork Tenderloin With Red Corn Polenta Cake
Alaskan Halibut With Tomato Risotto
Fresh Fruit Parfait With Orange Essence Cream
Chocolate Martini
Tomato Red Pepper Soup
Blackened Salmon
Filet Mignon
Angus New York Steak

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
7 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Romantic
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Among the best restaurants in the centra ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Among the best restaurants in the central valley. The food, wines, beers and service are all world class.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible service.. great food, that is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible service.. great food, that is why you go to Dewz, the whole dining experience is tremendous

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Fabulous as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is outstanding, the attentio ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The service is outstanding, the attention to detail is impressive and food and wine are always amazing! Call out to Will for your exceptional 5 star service you always provide! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dewz is our favorite date night restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Dewz is our favorite date night restaurant in the area!! It has a romantic atmosphere and wonderful food and the service is top notch!! This is also our go to restaurant before going to the Gallo Theatre. Truly a Wonderful experience every time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Dewz for 15 years ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been going to Dewz for 15 years and love it everytime! We live 50 miles away and it is worth the drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for sending this rating...My e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Thank you for sending this rating...My experience last Tuesday was not what I had at Dewz before. It was for 11:30 with my daughter in law as a gift. I was so disappointed with the food. The lettuce was so wilted and no dressing. The chili was no beans and just hamburger with grease on top and tasted awful. I know Dewz in better than that. Even the cobbler was all nuts with crust no apples except 2-3 thin silced apples. That is 2-3 slices. It was way over prized. I blame the chef who was on duty.

Thank you, Vince and Sandy Chase

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Enjoyed celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary at Dewz. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere and ambiance were nice, with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Atmosphere and ambiance were nice, with the feel of a larger city. Seating was not crowded, and nicely appointed. The wine list (by the glass) was adequate, just OK. I've heard the bar is good, so maybe I should have had a mixed drink. For Starters we had the grilled brie, which was very good. Next course we shared a Caesar salad. The dressing was good and garlicky, but the romaine heart was a tired, not crisp (I would expect very fresh produce from Rato Bros or other local source). Next, my spouse enjoyed the salmon gingered-miso-honey glaze, which was excellent. I had the the Filet mignon. It was cooked as ordered (medium rare), but seemed to lack flavor or distinction. Maybe the seasoning? Or lack of aging? I have better from Costco, and on my BBQ.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but we were seated near the kitchen, which meant constant traffic by our table. I mean constant. The wait between courses was exceptionally long. If we were going to the theatre or other venue after the meal, it would have been a problem.

Overall, it was a mildly good experience. It was a bit pricy, but I don't mind paying for it if it's top notch. It was a bit less than that. We've had a lot(s) better meals in SF/Bay Area for the same money. Its hard to have a equivalent experience in Modesto (I keep hoping).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We come here now again since we live out ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We come here now again since we live out-of-town. The food is awesome as well as the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First of all, let me say that I spent ov ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First of all, let me say that I spent over 20 years working in high end restaurants, so I wouldn't want to deter anyone from trying this place out. Clearly I am biased. On that note, my biggest complaint is that the food was definitely not up to par, especially for the price. I ordered the filet mignon, for $45. While the meat was quite good it was so overpowered by it's accompaniments that it was barely detectable. My husband ordered the veal, again pricey for the preparation, which had been pounded severely in an attempt to tenderize it (which did not work). It was sinewy and was also overpowered by the preparation. A good cut of meat is worth the price...it shouldn't need to be buried under a mountain of ingredients that diminish the flavor.

The service however, was impeccable. The staff was attentive and courteous. If they can clean up the menu we may give it another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fabulous. The food, the service, the win ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fabulous. The food, the service, the wine, everything was perfect. All of the seafood entrees were excellent. Very fresh. This is one of the best in Modesto,CA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grest food, the best service by our wait ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Grest food, the best service by our waiter Will, the best restaurant in Modesto

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised to find suc ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a gem in Modesto. Everything was excellent. The service was unbelievable good. We especially enjoyed the Caesar Salad prepared at our table. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, great wine li ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was excellent, great wine list, but food was disappointing except the lobster bisque t was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dewz is always a great choice great food ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dewz is always a great choice great food great service great owner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we've been to Dewz for 3 Anniversary din ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

we've been to Dewz for 3 Anniversary dinners before, but this year we were disappointed. We arrived at 6:15 & got our food at 8:00; my filet was dry & overcooked. Our server was very busy & never came back so we could order dessert. Had to flag him down several times to get the bill. Disappointing pricey anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A good time as always but our table was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A good time as always but our table was available 30 minutes late and when they finally sat us, a third of the tables were empty. Why did it take so long to get us a table? Food was tasty but took a long time and when the plates finally arrived they were super hot (a long time under the heat lamp) and my medium-rare steak was closer to medium-well. We have had better service in the past so we will give Dewz another shot -- hopefully it was just an off night for them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very nice place. Great for a special occ ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very nice place. Great for a special occasion. Waiter was very nice and helpful. Not so busy you get lost in the shuffle.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dewz is a great restaurant, the best fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dewz is a great restaurant, the best fine dining in Modesto in my opinion. I hate that the two person tables are so close together though. You feel like you can hear everything the people near you are saying and vice versa. Food was a little overcooked too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here came for my birthday wit ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

First time here came for my birthday with some friends. Service was awesome, food was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dewz is a great place. We took friends t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dewz is a great place. We took friends there, was somewhat disappointed when the cesar salad was not prepared table side. I had told the other couple how how great Dewz salad was, oh well. It seems they are cutting back, compared to other visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've celebrated special occasions befor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've celebrated special occasions before at Dewz and it is perfect for doing so. Upon early arrival, I sat in a very comfortable corner of the bar and enjoyed a glass of wine delivered with friendly service. After my husband arrived, we were seated at our table on time and had a great dinner including an appetizer, main course (filet mignon!!) and a dessert recommended by our server. It's overall a great place to go for a really good (and nice) meal).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We enjoyed our meal very much. The servi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoyed our meal very much. The service was good but we had to wait quite a long time to get menus and place our orders. After that it was excellent. Appreciate their attention to special food needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service and food are always great. Dewy ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service and food are always great. Dewy does not let you down.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited Dewz on the regular but ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have visited Dewz on the regular but this time was by far the best yet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant I make it a point to v ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant I make it a point to visit Dewz whenever I am in Modesto. The wine is divine and the food is nothing short of spectacular. The most important element for me is they are consistent in service and food quality..

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and awesome service from Deea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal and awesome service from Deeanna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food, drinks and service were all top no ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food, drinks and service were all top notch. Our waiter Brian took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waiter was very ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great. Our waiter was very good. A awesome place

to have lunch or dinner...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best upscale place to eat in Modesto! T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best upscale place to eat in Modesto! The food is great and good portions. The wait staff is always friendly and informative. We ordered some wine, and the taste that they give you is almost as much as a regular pour. I have been there multiple times for dinner, and the food is always outstanding. The menu changes based on what is seasonally available. If you order the Caesar salad, they make the dressing from scratch in front of you! Our server was very knowledgeable about what wines would be good with our meal, and he even gave us a desert liqueur at the end of dinner on the house. Thanks Dewz for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really a spectacular place. Classy yet c ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Really a spectacular place. Classy yet comfortable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salads were fresh with the right amo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The salads were fresh with the right amount of dressing. The entrees were so delicious. This was the best meal we have had at a restaurant in Modesto on many years. Dewz is outstanding. !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We loved everything we had and our waiter was awesome. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not dissapoint!!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Was completely blown away by DEWS!!! Great food and even better service, I would recommend this place to everyone for a great night out amazing food!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary night

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We went here for our anniversary and it was great!! Good food good service and everything went smoothly! I would highly recommend this place for a date night. A little spends but worth it! Everything was good!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Dewz Review

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Miss the tablecloths! It is not the same with the bare tables. The service, food and wine continues to be excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dewz is our favorite, special-occasion d ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Dewz is our favorite, special-occasion dining location. Always look forward to the classy service and delicious foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but the portions ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was excellent, but the portions are too large to have a starter, salud, main course and dessert. Our waiter was very attentive and tried to make the evening extra special. The restaurant is nicely finished with an inviting atmosphere. I would suggest smaller portions and some trading on the bourbons and scotch kept on hand in the far.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.