About Dewz

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
7 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Romantic
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

special occasion (49)
romantic (40)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
notable wine list (28)
neighborhood gem (17)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Good experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service,great food,great drinks!iI ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service,great food,great drinks!iI loved everything about our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Nice

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were able to have a very nice evening with friends. Great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was top-notch; we loved the tabl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was top-notch; we loved the table side Caesar Salad. Can recommend without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a leisurely evening beginning wi ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed a leisurely evening beginning with a cocktail in the bar. Never felt rushed, the service excellent. Food was great, too. From the table made Ceasar salad, the halibut entree, to the mocha caramel ice cream cake, loved every bite!

food4
ambience3
service5

Server was friendly eventhough we arrive ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Server was friendly eventhough we arrived just before closing time. Too few menu options for kids.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Dissapointed

Dined on April 10, 2016

I paid $50.00 for a cold flavorless filet mignon and $25.00 for 3 non-alcoholic drinks. would not go back and was definitely not happy when I left. Oysters were mediocre. Pasta was tasty as was the deserts. specialty drinks were a piece of liquid heaven but not worth $8.00 for a few oz.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Evening at Dewz

Dined on April 9, 2016

Thanks to Scott, Nathan, and the Dewz staff for another wonderful evening. We brought some special friends with us this evening and had really talked the place up. You certainly didn't disappoint. The food was great as always - finely got around to trying the chicken - outstanding. As with any meal, great service carries great food over the top, and we couldn't ask for better than Nathan. Truly a perfect evening at Dewz.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very accommodating since we we ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Staff was very accommodating since we were going to event at Gallo Center. The food and presentation were awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, excellent!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Once again, excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on March 23, 2016

We arrived early on a Tuesday and invited friends from Stockton who had never experienced Dewz'. We don't come into Modesto often, but when we do Dewz is the place to go. Top notch food, very appropriate pricing, attentive and professional service, and a very pleasant ambience. Our friends told our wait person how much they enjoyed the dinner and what a pleasant atmosphere to have a conversation. What a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graet Spot in Modesto

Dined on March 13, 2016

Scott and his team are wounderfull. If you are not in a hurry and really want to enjoy your meal Dewz is the spot in Modesto. They have a wonderful wine list and the menu is full from meats to fish dishes. The wait staff are knowledgeable and friendly. They do all the little things that make a dinning experience great. I have visited Dews several times and the quality and consistency is there for a first class dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Saturday March 12th

Dined on March 13, 2016

I made a reservation on-line. The on-line service I used indicated there was only 1 reservation left, at the time I selected, but the restaurant was only half-full when I arrived. I was shown to my table promptly. The waiter was very knowlegable (sp) about the menu and took great emphasis on describing in detail all the various flavors of the many sauces that accompanied some selections. This place is a bit too pretentious for me but the bill turned out to be a little less than I expected despite my date having 2 glasses of wine and I had 2 bottles of beer. I could easily spent the same amount or less at Verona's Cucina or even Red Lobster (if you order the lobster specials)!!!! I asked to be out of the restaurant in 1 hour and 20 minutes but we ran 10 minutes late forcing my date to rush dessert so that we would not miss a show we were going to see. Overall, I would go to Dewz again. I recommend it as a good place to take a date, or for a special occasion, but not for a business dinner. Red Rum

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service2

We had eaten at Dewz before, we had good ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had eaten at Dewz before, we had good service, food was excellent, this time wasn't so good, loud, waited over 30 minutes for our salads, my husband ordered Jack Daniels, but was served another brand instead. I think next time we will try another restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Meal

Dined on March 12, 2016

Always have a great meal at Dewz. Was a little disappointed they had no Gallo Winery Chardonnay (Bridlewood, William Hill). Each brand I ordered, they were out of. Doesn't make for an impressive wine list if you don't have wine from one of the cities largest employers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

out of towner was impressed

Dined on February 28, 2016

We thought Dewz was a real find in Modesto. would recommend if your in Modesto or near and looking for a metro city feel. Great bartender, makes a killer martini. Desserts were definitely a super treat and one of the best parts of the menu.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is fabulous!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Filte was prepared wonderfully! Only bad thing is parking-had my car broken into and everything stolen and window and frame broken:-(!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first time to Dewz. Service was imp ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Our first time to Dewz. Service was impeccable! Ambiance was also great for my husband and I to have a quite dinner. Portion sizes a bit small, but appetizer and entrees were very good. While the table side Caesar salad was intended to be fun to watch, I didn't think the actual taste of the salad was all that great, we would get a different salad next time. Good location (walking distance) to Gallo Center for the Arts and would certainly go back to Dewz for another event in the Modesto area.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was perfect for a birthday dinner, food, wine, and service! Totally enjoyed the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT

Dined on February 16, 2016

EXCELLENT SERVICE, GREAT FOOD AND PRESENTATION AS ALWAYS. LIKE EATING IN A SAN FRANCISCO RESTAURANT BUT IN MODESTO

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely exceptional!

Dined on February 14, 2016

This place is exceptional from the service to the food. Never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service was excel ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on February 12, 2016

The service was excellent as was the food. Very nice and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation with open table bu ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

We made a reservation with open table but when we arrived, they had no table in dining room for us. We sat at s table in bar area and it was probably better than being in the dining room! Great service. Great food.

food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was excellent. The food surpa ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Everything was excellent. The food surpassed all my expectations. The staff was extremely friendly and vet attentive. Only one negative thing and that was that I had a reservation for 7:30 and wasn't seated until 8:04 but they did seem to be quite busy and they immediately apologized about the wait. So all in all an amazing dinning experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was exceptional as always! To ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Everything was exceptional as always! Took my special request of previous menu item without question. Service is top notch from bar tender, hostess, server and back servers... they perfectly compliment each other. Unfortunately, one patron was intoxicated and quite rude. He was left there by his party and felt it was his duty to include the remainder of the dining room in his folies. In all of our years this has been the only time anything like this has ever happened. If not for him this would have been yet another perfect experience. Thank you to the staff of Dewz! See you soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yet, another Wonderful experience at Dewz!

Dined on February 4, 2016

Overall, great experience! My two sons and I treated my fiancé for his birthday. They made it kid-friendly as the server brought out a delicious cheese pizza for the boys. My fiancé told the server to surprise him when ordering our meals. The server brought over an "off the menu" dish and mann, it was delicious! (Sea bass dish) Dewz made a special night even more special! Special thank you to our server, Hector! Thank you for making our night extra special for our birthday man!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat

Dined on February 4, 2016

We always enjoy going to Dewz. We went early on a Wednesday night and the place was very quiet. We started with the calamari appetizer, but it was a little greasy, but we still managed to eat all of it. We then shared a caesar salad which was prepared perfectly. My husband had the prawn and pasta entree and thoroughly enjoyed it. I ordered the veal dish prepared with Marsala wine. It was very sweet, so I was disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Dewz - very good

Dined on January 30, 2016

As usual, we had a very nice dining experience. The food was excellent. Service was a little bit slow which was unusual for Dewz.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Used to feel more upscale

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Not quite sure what it is but this place feels less upscale and more ordinary than what it used to. It could be due to the fact that they don't use tablecloths anymore. The laminate table tops look common and it is just doesn't have the same feel as an elegant restaurant with white tablecloths. The tabletops just don't feel as clean and without a cloth and I felt hesitant setting my utensils directly on the table. Hoping that they consider bringing back the tablecloths.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3

This was our first time at Dews. The res ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

This was our first time at Dews. The restaurant was exactly what we expected, however, the food was not great. Both of our steaks were so overdone we had to ask for sauce to dip the steak in. Otherwise, decent service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth the price

Dined on January 17, 2016

We really enjoyed Dewz! It's so nice to have a fine dining experience in Modesto! I would highly recommend it. It's on the expensive end but I feel like we got what we paid for and the service was great. Our dinners were very good, but for me the highlights were the lobster bisque and the desserts! I had the cinnamon bread pudding and my husband had the cream brûlée - they were both delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very comfortable yet at the same time eligant!

Dined on January 17, 2016

The wait staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Professional yet not pushy, I'll BE BACK FOR SURE! Thanks much for the great meal, service, and overall evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was amazing and the staff go out of their way to make your dining experience an unforgettable one!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Succulent & Devine *treat*

Dined on January 12, 2016

We had a Great dinning experience & it more than exceeded our expectations,.from the Professional friendly staff to the excellent wine list,succulent dishes & the delicious desert menu not to mention the tasteful decor and purfect music selection ,.. We can't wait to return & just want to say what a wonderful job they are doing & wish you continued success, ..We definitely will be returning,..love that the owner named the restaurant after his brother had passed, . Made the evening even more special, .& He would definitely be proud of the amazing job he's done,.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on January 3, 2016

Although it can get pricey Dewz always comes through with an amazing dinner! Great for a special night out. My husband says their blue cheese new York is the best steak he has ever had. Service is always outstanding too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Holiday Lunch

Dined on December 30, 2015

We took my 88 year old aunt out for a holiday lunch recently. We were seated in the corner which we love, and were immediately greeted by our server. Our service was exceptional, the food delicious, and our time enjoyed by all. The only disappointment was I had looked on line at the lunch menu and was looking forward to the ravioli and our waiter apologized that the web page was out of date. Please update your menus, Dewz. We will be back, of course.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Scott and his staff did an ama ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

As always Scott and his staff did an amazing job and the food was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant In Modesto!!

Dined on December 24, 2015

We go to DEWZ at least twice a year and always on our anniversary. The service is always great, the ambiance is relaxing and the food is always amazing!! The mixed drinks are always delicious and they also have a great wine bar next door. We would recommend DEWZ to anyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.