About Dewz

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely service. Delicious food. Just out ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely service. Delicious food. Just out of our price range for a typical night out. Great for a celebration though. For two of us (one drink each, one appetizer to share, one dessert to share, two coffees and two main courses) it was about $200 (with gratuity).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Haven't been there in 4 years. Back in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Haven't been there in 4 years. Back in the area now and went for Valentine's Day. Food has always been good, but now better--actually excellent. Great service. It is a bit pricy but if you want to dance, you've got to pay the band.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved your online reservation and foll ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

I loved your online reservation and follow-up confirmation. I had a business meeting for 7 with short notice and was given the VIP treatment. The food was excellent as always and impeccable service with a great atmosphere. Thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience last night was awesome. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience last night was awesome. The young gal who made our salad was so sweet. Our server Danielle was very welcoming and helpful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, food to a little to long bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place, food to a little to long but was well worth the wait. Service staff was friendly..and on point

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is quiet and romantic and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The atmosphere is quiet and romantic and the meals were prepared very deliciously eloquent. The service was very professional and curtiouse always insuring that our needs were met with care. The wine and shop has a very unique wine tasting display that we've never seen before. I highy recomend DEWZ if your looking for a nice quiet leazure or romantic setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at DEWZ on many occasions ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have dined at DEWZ on many occasions over the years. My first impression on this visit was how steeply the prices for virtually everything on the menus had increased.

This was the first time ever that one of us had to ask the waiter to take an entrée back to the kitchen because it was cold by the time it was served. By the time the waiter returned with the replacement dish, we were both pretty much done eating.

Higher prices and slower service are not a great combination. The food was well prepared and tasted great, but it took a long time for the food to arrive after ordering our meals, and then one of the meals had already gotten cold by the time it arrived. I would normally rate this restaurant 5 stars, but not this time. Hopefully the next time we dine there, it will be better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food I recommend filet mignon it w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food I recommend filet mignon it was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, just make sure to walk in the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent, just make sure to walk in the right door as they have two different doors

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cheese plate appetizer with wine

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great cheese plate appetizer with wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Dewz was awesome. My daugh ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food at Dewz was awesome.

My daughters enjoyed the specality drinks and I enjoyed wine from their extensive wine list, which you could get by the glass or bottle.

The appetizer menu was varied and included oysters in the half shell.

The Ceasar Salad was prepared tableside, nice touch.

The menu had choices for all including fresh fish, but we chose the steaks, filet mignon with an great sauce, and a crusted New York Steak, the food and the presentation were awesome.

I would not take small children. This is a meal that you take time to enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dewz is a Modesto gem for Premium dining ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Dewz is a Modesto gem for Premium dining. Consistently the best serving staff around, and exceptional food & drink. Always our first choice for an evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meal ay Dewz. This ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal ay Dewz. This was an after show meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dewz has never ever disappointed me. I a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Dewz has never ever disappointed me. I always feel like I get the best service and the best meal of any downtown Modesto restaurant. Service is always top notch and their knowledge of the items they are serving is very respectable. Wine list is also a plus++. I have never regretted an evening spent at this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my 96 year old Mom, along with our ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Took my 96 year old Mom, along with our sister and our nephew. Food was simply great and service was exceptional. We knew they took pics for special occasions and they didn't disappoint . More, they gave us a complimentary appetizer in addition to the ones we ordered. I had the veal entree and it was wonderful. Everyone else loved their selections. We topped it off with a shared crime brûlée carmelized at the table. The owner chatted for a nice amount of time with our Mom about her many grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great greats. Total foodie experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again Dewz was over the top. Lovel ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Once again Dewz was over the top. Lovely restaurant. Attentive wait staff. Amazing food. The perfect place to enjoy our 45th anniversary. Had the best waiter named Connor. Easy to talk to. Had some good suggestions, especially on a wine I will try to find for home. Sea bass was excellent. So was the Pork Shank. Our favorite place in town.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have only been here twice. A friend t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have only been here twice. A friend told us about it and it is awesome. I cant wait to go back. Everything was perfect from the beginning to the end. Food & Srvice was Excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for 8:15 and we wer ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We made reservations for 8:15 and we were not seated until 9:15. They did apologize and gave us a free appetizer. Very delicious food. Great cocktails.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It is definitely not the place to go for ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It is definitely not the place to go for a bargain meal, but the food and service are both excellent. Romantic birthday celebration for two with 2 meals, 2 glasses of wine each, and 2 appetizers: $240 with gratuity.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Impeccable service, awesome presentation ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Impeccable service, awesome presentation and legit wine list. They did run out of a wine on the list, so the owner came out and brought a similar wine out, but 2007. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. I loved the staff. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing experience. I loved the staff. The food is always so flavorful, fresh, and delicious. I absolutely loved our server and I loved how everything flowed and everyone worked as a team. And it is such a beautiful place to bring a date or to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and a great experien ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a great meal and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went in with a gift card for date night. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Went in with a gift card for date night. Very friendly staff and delicious food! My boyfriend got the filet mignon which is prepared differently each night. It was well seasoned and melt-in-your-mouth tender!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great place for date night the fo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It's a great place for date night the food and drinks are great

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, service, and romantic! Only ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service, and romantic! Only thing was we wished we could use a gift card on a holiday!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was great! As usual...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was great! As usual...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service. I was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. I was impressed. My husband and I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great COSMO to start the evening ..Outst ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great COSMO to start the evening ..Outstanding Filet and Blackened Mahi Mahi..

Staff very attentive....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been eating at Dewz for the past ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been eating at Dewz for the past 15 years and never have been disappointed. The servers are very professional, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu. Everything on the menu is outstanding. The presentation is over the top. The courses are well timed and you never feel rushed to finish your dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They start by giving you an appetizer an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

They start by giving you an appetizer and desert menu. They were reluctant to take it away without us ordering something. Weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent food, service and ambience. O ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. Our server, Monica, was outstanding with her personal service.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All three of us had a great meal. My sea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

All three of us had a great meal. My seabass was cooked to perfection, as was the filet of my companion. Grilled artichoke as an appetizer was also delicious. Excited to go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Dewz is world class. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything about Dewz is world class. The service, atmosphere, decor, staff and let's not forget about the food and drinks. I can't say enough great things about Dewz. By far the finest restaurant in the Central Valley.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The night was busy and despite not getti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The night was busy and despite not getting my reserved table on time, we still enjoyed everything we ordered. Everything came back very delicious, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food, wine and service were excellen ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food, wine and service were excellent. I thought the meal itself was a little pricey. We were seated next to a regular client and his wife and it turned out we had a whole bunch in common. Both wives birthdays were Dec. 7th, his wife had a knee replacement done by the same Doctor I did. His birthday is Feb.7th and mine is Jan 7th. I guess we should be known as the magnificent 7's. The owner was shocked when I told him the doggie box was actually for my German Shepherd.

All in all an interesting, fun evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

As always Dewz is excellent food & servi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always Dewz is excellent food & service with a wide selection of dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dewz is our local favorite! So, when we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Dewz is our local favorite! So, when we had the opportunity to go out with some good friends; it of course was our dining experience of choice. Dewz did not disappoint; we had another wonderful meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An awesone plase for good food.. The ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 29, 2016

An awesone plase for good food..

The service was excellant plusan awseome wine list!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed , Steak cooked as I exp ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was disappointed , Steak cooked as I expected, Mashed Potato with bacon, dry , didn't really have much flavor, tasted like leftover Thanksgiving potatoes with bacon added, not much for the vegs . Service was very good.

Not much creative cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.