Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Galletto RistoranteGalletto Ristorante
(694)
$$$$
Italian | Modesto, Modesto
Greens on TenthGreens on Tenth
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Contemporary American | Modesto, Modesto
Camp 4 Wine CafeCamp 4 Wine Cafe
(43)
$$$$
Wine Bar | Modesto, Modesto
Booked 3 times today
Verona Cucina ItalianaVerona Cucina Italiana
(167)
$$$$
Italian | Modesto, Modesto
Dust Bowl Brewing Company - Brewery TaproomDust Bowl Brewing Company - Brewery Taproom
(213)
$$$$
Beer Garden | Turlock, Turlock
Booked 48 times today
Patogh RestaurantPatogh Restaurant
(1)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Turlock, Turlock
Center Street GrillCenter Street Grill
(1)
$$$$
American | Turlock, Turlock
Bistro 234Bistro 234
(534)
$$$$
Continental | Turlock, Turlock
10 East Kitchen & Tap House10 East Kitchen & Tap House
(157)
$$$$
International | Turlock, Turlock
Booked 3 times today
Ernie's Food & SpiritsErnie's Food & Spirits
(205)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Manteca, Stockton
Booked 1 time today
BellaVistaBellaVista
(55)
$$$$
Italian | Stockton, Stockton
Booked 1 time today
Market TavernMarket Tavern
(396)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Stockton, Stockton
Booked 10 times today
Midgley's Public HouseMidgley's Public House
(299)
$$$$
American | Stockton, Stockton
Booked 7 times today
Prime TablePrime Table
(102)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Stockton, Stockton
Booked 9 times today
Shirasoni Japanese Restaurant - StocktonShirasoni Japanese Restaurant - Stockton
(13)
$$$$
Japanese | Stockton, Stockton

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Dewz

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great Beer (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Every aspect of our evening and meal was and always is delightful and delicious. The service is the finest in Modesto, and the menu is creative.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The waiter was super attentive and polite. Amazing service.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have dined there several times prior and even rated is very high on Yelp. Tonight my wife's fish was over done, we didn't get wine ordered. In all, not at the same level of service was as we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday recently at Dewz. The service is always exceptional, and the food is amazing. I had our two kids show up at the end for desert to surprise my wife. They quickly had a table for four set up for us in the wine shop. We all enjoyed our dessert and had some quality family time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food ambiance was amazing great place to celebrate a birthday . It's not just eating it's a dinning experience . Love it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always Scott and his staff did an amazing job with everything. The food is by far the best in the area. If you are in Modesto and you don't try Dewz you are missing out on a great dinning experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Really good as always...the wife and I were eliminating carbs and sugars and they adjusted without a heartbeat! Always great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We are from NH took customers for dinner. Not only once but twice. Absolutely amazing cuisine, best service with attentive waiters and Scott the wine expert is more than knowledgeable and caring. We have already left the area but cannot wait for our next trip. Thank you for being who you are and what you represent. You are the Best!!! Brent and Reine

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

When ever I am in the Modesto area, I make sure to dine at Dewz at least once on the visit and return if possible.
Wonderful food and staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Music was great and the food was very good!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I treated my secretaries for Admin Assistants Day. The meal was great, setting was perfect, timing was awesome for a work lunch, and we enjoyed our time together. Our Waitress was so talented, professional, and caring!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our annual wedding anniversary dinner at Dewz. They never disappoint .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Dewz has changed quite a bit since I was last there eyes that is not really a good thing. Dewz was once a somewhat edgy place with a unique kind of fusion and European blend. They had good amounts of high quality food. Now I feel like I was dumped in a cooking show. The waiter droned on about this sauce and that thing and you ended up with a little pretty food in a big plate. The food was pretty good but the service was slow and the waiter mumbled. It was not very lactose intolerant friendly everything had dairy. It was very noisy. We left with the comment that it was OK but not worth the price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. Our waiter did need to use his flashlight to show us points of interest on our plates. It was also unclear why in the world another party would bring a noisy child to such a nice restaurant but Dewz is not to blame for the inconsideration of their diners. Great wine and delicious food. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great dinner. They easily accommodated all of my (many) dietary restrictions. We will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very pleased, great food, great service, not too noisy, highly recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food. Good service. Nice place. Spent a fortune.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was our second dining experience and it was fantastic both times! We had a great waitress and the food was delicious! I love watching the table side salad. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There is no such thing as an unacceptable substitution. My wife and I mix and match our protein with whichever starch and/or veggie that suits our taste and the staff always happily accommodates our request. Will is the best server EVER!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Dewz is always excellent. You go in expecting a great experience and Scott and team absolutely deliver. The evening was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Service and food were very good. Cocktails were made properly. Dessert was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

He had a very nice dinner. The "at your table" Caesar Salad was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The best restaurant in Modesto hands down! The service is excellent as well as the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I loved the relaxing environment, the queen Victoria drink was great, both dishes of steak & chicken were amazing. The service was excellent! We will be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, the best signature cocktail!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday so we choose Dewz. A very good place to celebrate. We wanted to have a drink at the bar before going to the dining room. Since we were celebrating, I ordered a split of champagne and my husband ordered a glass of Pinot Gris, They didnt have either, The bartender was not good, helpful or friendly at all. He finally pulled out a opened bottle of champagne which had no bubble and tasted awful, he opened a bottle of Chardonay, which was warm for my husband. That ended our before dinner drink. We were seated with our favorite server Hector who is one the Modesto's best servers. He greets us and is very kind and always does a fantastic job. The rest of the evening was perfect. Great dinner. We will go back because of Hector but the bar staff and menu needs serious help. No top shelf Vodka either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dewz isn't a cheap night out but is an example of getting what you pay for. The service is impeccable. The staff is highly trained and work hard to ensure their guests have everything they need without bothering you- they sweep in stealthily​to refill water glasses and clear dishes. The food is excellent - period. Regarding their prices, they are on the high end but not outrageous. Plates ran from$27- $35 which I felt was no more expensive than Tahoe Joe's. It was a wonderful night out.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Wonderful service. One of my favorite my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great sea bass! Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very friendly. Food was great. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place with a different menu. If you are sick of eating the same thing every time you go out to eat, then give this place a try. It's upscale taste with reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Scotty is a great person to talk to for dinner and wine suggestions. All four plates were picture perfect? It was a first time to eat there for our friends and they were impressed. Thanks for the great night Scotty!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The meal (Braised pork shank balsamic barbecue jus jalapeño) was excellent. The service very good but almost too much and too slow. We noted when we arrived we needed to be out in an hour 15 minutes to make our theatre time and were assured we would be; but it took about that long to be served our main entrees. We had to run to the theatre and just made the door closing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent service and food was fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our meal was excellent! Our server was very informative and right on!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food. Portions could be bigger but everything was delicious. Excellent service. And very accommodating. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Dewz has delicious food in good sized portions, though pretty pricey ($150+ dinner for 2 before tip). Large dessert menu and they're all so good! Very romantic ambiance. I highly recommend Dewz for special occasion dinners, and not just because it's one of the only fine dining restaurants in Modesto.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was good, the server was prompt and pleasant. We will definitely be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I always enjoy Dewz. Although now that I'm a vegan, I wish I would have known that you need to request a vegan menu 24 hours in advance. Oh well, now I know for next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always an excellent experience ... from the yummy cocktails, to the fabulously prepared dinners (at our table of four), topping things off with scrumptious desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.