About Dewz

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Blackened Chilean Sea Bass - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi With Orange Buerre Blanc And Fontina Risotto - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Mocha Caramel Ice Cream Cake - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Pork Tenderloin With Red Corn Polenta Cake - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Alaskan Halibut With Tomato Risotto - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Fresh Fruit Parfait With Orange Essence Cream - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Chocolate Martini - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Tomato Red Pepper Soup - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Blackened Salmon - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Filet Mignon - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Angus New York Steak - Dewz, Modesto, CA

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience. I loved the staff. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing experience. I loved the staff. The food is always so flavorful, fresh, and delicious. I absolutely loved our server and I loved how everything flowed and everyone worked as a team. And it is such a beautiful place to bring a date or to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and a great experien ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal and a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went in with a gift card for date night. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

Went in with a gift card for date night. Very friendly staff and delicious food! My boyfriend got the filet mignon which is prepared differently each night. It was well seasoned and melt-in-your-mouth tender!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great place for date night the fo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It's a great place for date night the food and drinks are great

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, service, and romantic! Only ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service, and romantic! Only thing was we wished we could use a gift card on a holiday!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was great! As usual...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was great! As usual...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service. I was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. I was impressed. My husband and I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great COSMO to start the evening ..Outst ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great COSMO to start the evening ..Outstanding Filet and Blackened Mahi Mahi..

Staff very attentive....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been eating at Dewz for the past ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been eating at Dewz for the past 15 years and never have been disappointed. The servers are very professional, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu. Everything on the menu is outstanding. The presentation is over the top. The courses are well timed and you never feel rushed to finish your dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They start by giving you an appetizer an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

They start by giving you an appetizer and desert menu. They were reluctant to take it away without us ordering something. Weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent food, service and ambience. O ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. Our server, Monica, was outstanding with her personal service.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All three of us had a great meal. My sea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

All three of us had a great meal. My seabass was cooked to perfection, as was the filet of my companion. Grilled artichoke as an appetizer was also delicious. Excited to go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Dewz is world class. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything about Dewz is world class. The service, atmosphere, decor, staff and let's not forget about the food and drinks. I can't say enough great things about Dewz. By far the finest restaurant in the Central Valley.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The night was busy and despite not getti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The night was busy and despite not getting my reserved table on time, we still enjoyed everything we ordered. Everything came back very delicious, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food, wine and service were excellen ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food, wine and service were excellent. I thought the meal itself was a little pricey. We were seated next to a regular client and his wife and it turned out we had a whole bunch in common. Both wives birthdays were Dec. 7th, his wife had a knee replacement done by the same Doctor I did. His birthday is Feb.7th and mine is Jan 7th. I guess we should be known as the magnificent 7's. The owner was shocked when I told him the doggie box was actually for my German Shepherd.

All in all an interesting, fun evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

As always Dewz is excellent food & servi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always Dewz is excellent food & service with a wide selection of dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dewz is our local favorite! So, when we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Dewz is our local favorite! So, when we had the opportunity to go out with some good friends; it of course was our dining experience of choice. Dewz did not disappoint; we had another wonderful meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An awesone plase for good food.. The ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 29, 2016

An awesone plase for good food..

The service was excellant plusan awseome wine list!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed , Steak cooked as I exp ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was disappointed , Steak cooked as I expected, Mashed Potato with bacon, dry , didn't really have much flavor, tasted like leftover Thanksgiving potatoes with bacon added, not much for the vegs . Service was very good.

Not much creative cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful waiter and our dinner ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a wonderful waiter and our dinner was fabulous!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy Dewz! They have an amazi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We always enjoy Dewz! They have an amazing wine shop next door with a unique feature. You load some tasting money to a card and you can pour your own tastings with the push of a button! Great fun way to decide which wine you'd like to enjoy with dinner. Knowledgeable staff and amazing food! This is our favorite place in Modesto to go for a special treat or a fun night with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and staff were very good howeve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and staff were very good however our experience was some what ruined due to a very loud and rude party of people that were continually in and out of their seats, screaming and using foul language as well as sticking their phones in our faces (literally) pressuring us into doing some mannequin challenge. I wish the staff would have asked them to stop and remind them that they weren't in a club. My husband and I don't get out very often and when we go to a nice restaurant like Dewz we are paying for a certain type of environment that should be an enjoyable and relaxing evening out. Again we really did enjoy the food but the fellow patrons not so much.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent service and food. Look forward ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and food. Look forward to another experience soon. Brian was our server and was outstanding. Food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary; Dewz is our ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went for our anniversary; Dewz is our favorite upscale local restaurant. They did not disappoint! The service was stellar, food and drink was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bill was 400$ and they charged me fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The bill was 400$ and they charged me for ice in my drinks. Plus 95 cents to split a salad he suggested we share.

I don't mind paying for a nice dinner but at that price it should have been fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The service was good and our server was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was good and our server was very hospitable. He was very accommodating in bringing out our food in a timely manner so we could enjoy our food without feeling rushed. The food was rather disappointing. Our filets were overcooked and not flavorful. Our server offered to replace the filets which we were glad he did. He even gave us a gift card for a future visit and we were grateful. The servings of vegetables and potatoes were scarce. It has been 3 years since the last time we dined at Dewz and we will likely not return. The staff was friendly, but the dining is just not up to our standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

A wonderful dinner, excellent service in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A wonderful dinner, excellent service in a beautiful setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular as usual. It's an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was spectacular as usual. It's an investment to visit here, but it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best food in modesto Best fine dining re ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Best food in modesto

Best fine dining restaurant in Modesto

Best service in modesto

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reserved a table on the Internet ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had reserved a table on the Internet beforehand. When we arrived, we were told to wait at the bar until our table is fully set. A quick look at the half empty dining area proved that all vacant tables were already set. This was clearly a trick to have us get a drink at the bar. The bartender even came to us in an attempt to incite us to have a drink. The selection of wines was quite good, though.

Once seated at our table, the service was way too intrusive and wannabe refined, interrupting our conversation all the time by asking if we wanted more wine while we only had a sip of it.

I would not recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a quiet place to have dinner for two.

The food was OK but expensive.

TL;DR: more a show-off restaurant than an actual refined establishment.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The birthday dinner was lovely and every ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The birthday dinner was lovely and everyone was very attentive. The food was always as delicious as it always is and the service was the usual perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dewz, overall, is the finest dining in M ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Dewz, overall, is the finest dining in Modesto. We always choose it for a special occasion. The food never fails, the service never fails, and the decor is lovely. It can be a bit noisy, but that's a good thing. It is always well-attended, even on weeknights...thus, the noise. They are always very accommodating and will rearrange tables so that it makes it easier to converse. I really would not change a thing at Dewz. For wine lovers, they now have an adjoining wine bar...very chic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food and service was great!! Had a drink ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food and service was great!! Had a drink and appetizers before dinner. The bar tinder does a great job in finding & making the perfect drink that your in the mood for.

I wold recommend this place for your next celebration or a great dinner with your significant other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In celebration of boyfriends birthday. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

In celebration of boyfriends birthday. It was a nice relaxing dinning experience. Great service ....felt special :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time I haven't been really pleased ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

First time I haven't been really pleased with my meal. Thought the salad wasn't anything special for $9.00 and the steak for $34.00 was ok. Didn't really care for the coating/my fault for not noticing it was encrusted with cheese. My friend had the Lobster Bisque and likened it to Campbell's soup, didn't eat but a few bites. When they saw the bowl almost untouched, didn't even ask why. Next time I'll try their new side with wine and a smaller menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was fantastic as usual. We did ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual. We did get a fairly new server who was nice but he checked in with us a lot regarding food and service. We couldn't seem to have a long conversation without interruption. Other than that the food is the best around and wine selection is superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chicken salad was very poorly prepared, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Chicken salad was very poorly prepared, grilled chicken was cold and utterly tasteless.

Friends Caesar was also not a Caesar dressing; too expensive for the quality of food.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My 2nd time here,tthis was a very specia ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My 2nd time here,tthis was a very special occasion. My fiancé and I were celebrating our engagement just the two of us.

We been here before for a date and everything was great.

This time the place seemed to be understaffed and our reservation was pushed 30 min.

We're given a an appetizers on the house but once we sat,we felt rushed.

The food compensated the situation but my fiancé didn't want to stay for dessert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Among the best restaurants in the centra ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Among the best restaurants in the central valley. The food, wines, beers and service are all world class.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.