About Dewz

1505 J street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Judy Aspesi and her son Scott established Dewz Restaurant in 1997. Judy, Scott and their staff strive to continuously provide Dewz customers with great food and excellent service. Scott named Dewz in honor of his only brother Dewayne who passed away in 1996 at the very young age of 26 after an arduous battle with leukemia. Along with Executive Chef Vincent, Judy and Scott are 'hands on' owners who energetically oversee the restaurant's everyday operations. Vincent purchases only the finest fresh ingredients for our patrons' dishes and is committed to the meticulous preparation of each plate to asure that you, our guests, enjoy the finest of dining experiences. Come and experience why we have been voted by readers of the Modesto Bee regional newspaper as their favorite fine dining restaurant for 2008, 2009, and 2010, plus several Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Bon Appetit

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
15th and 16th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 549-1101

Website:
http://www.dothedewz.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Alvarado

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties up to 20 people with a generous set menu.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Chilean Sea Bass - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi With Orange Buerre Blanc And Fontina Risotto - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Mocha Caramel Ice Cream Cake - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Pork Tenderloin With Red Corn Polenta Cake - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Alaskan Halibut With Tomato Risotto - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Fresh Fruit Parfait With Orange Essence Cream - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Chocolate Martini - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Tomato Red Pepper Soup - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Blackened Salmon - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Filet Mignon - Dewz, Modesto, CA
Angus New York Steak - Dewz, Modesto, CA

Dewz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always Dewz is excellent food & servi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 7 days ago

As always Dewz is excellent food & service with a wide selection of dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dewz is our local favorite! So, when we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Dewz is our local favorite! So, when we had the opportunity to go out with some good friends; it of course was our dining experience of choice. Dewz did not disappoint; we had another wonderful meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An awesone plase for good food.. The ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 29, 2016

An awesone plase for good food..

The service was excellant plusan awseome wine list!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed , Steak cooked as I exp ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was disappointed , Steak cooked as I expected, Mashed Potato with bacon, dry , didn't really have much flavor, tasted like leftover Thanksgiving potatoes with bacon added, not much for the vegs . Service was very good.

Not much creative cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful waiter and our dinner ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a wonderful waiter and our dinner was fabulous!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy Dewz! They have an amazi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We always enjoy Dewz! They have an amazing wine shop next door with a unique feature. You load some tasting money to a card and you can pour your own tastings with the push of a button! Great fun way to decide which wine you'd like to enjoy with dinner. Knowledgeable staff and amazing food! This is our favorite place in Modesto to go for a special treat or a fun night with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and staff were very good howeve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and staff were very good however our experience was some what ruined due to a very loud and rude party of people that were continually in and out of their seats, screaming and using foul language as well as sticking their phones in our faces (literally) pressuring us into doing some mannequin challenge. I wish the staff would have asked them to stop and remind them that they weren't in a club. My husband and I don't get out very often and when we go to a nice restaurant like Dewz we are paying for a certain type of environment that should be an enjoyable and relaxing evening out. Again we really did enjoy the food but the fellow patrons not so much.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent service and food. Look forward ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and food. Look forward to another experience soon. Brian was our server and was outstanding. Food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary; Dewz is our ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went for our anniversary; Dewz is our favorite upscale local restaurant. They did not disappoint! The service was stellar, food and drink was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bill was 400$ and they charged me fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The bill was 400$ and they charged me for ice in my drinks. Plus 95 cents to split a salad he suggested we share.

I don't mind paying for a nice dinner but at that price it should have been fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The service was good and our server was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was good and our server was very hospitable. He was very accommodating in bringing out our food in a timely manner so we could enjoy our food without feeling rushed. The food was rather disappointing. Our filets were overcooked and not flavorful. Our server offered to replace the filets which we were glad he did. He even gave us a gift card for a future visit and we were grateful. The servings of vegetables and potatoes were scarce. It has been 3 years since the last time we dined at Dewz and we will likely not return. The staff was friendly, but the dining is just not up to our standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

A wonderful dinner, excellent service in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A wonderful dinner, excellent service in a beautiful setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular as usual. It's an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was spectacular as usual. It's an investment to visit here, but it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best food in modesto Best fine dining re ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Best food in modesto

Best fine dining restaurant in Modesto

Best service in modesto

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reserved a table on the Internet ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had reserved a table on the Internet beforehand. When we arrived, we were told to wait at the bar until our table is fully set. A quick look at the half empty dining area proved that all vacant tables were already set. This was clearly a trick to have us get a drink at the bar. The bartender even came to us in an attempt to incite us to have a drink. The selection of wines was quite good, though.

Once seated at our table, the service was way too intrusive and wannabe refined, interrupting our conversation all the time by asking if we wanted more wine while we only had a sip of it.

I would not recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a quiet place to have dinner for two.

The food was OK but expensive.

TL;DR: more a show-off restaurant than an actual refined establishment.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Dewz, overall, is the finest dining in M ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Dewz, overall, is the finest dining in Modesto. We always choose it for a special occasion. The food never fails, the service never fails, and the decor is lovely. It can be a bit noisy, but that's a good thing. It is always well-attended, even on weeknights...thus, the noise. They are always very accommodating and will rearrange tables so that it makes it easier to converse. I really would not change a thing at Dewz. For wine lovers, they now have an adjoining wine bar...very chic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food and service was great!! Had a drink ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food and service was great!! Had a drink and appetizers before dinner. The bar tinder does a great job in finding & making the perfect drink that your in the mood for.

I wold recommend this place for your next celebration or a great dinner with your significant other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In celebration of boyfriends birthday. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

In celebration of boyfriends birthday. It was a nice relaxing dinning experience. Great service ....felt special :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time I haven't been really pleased ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

First time I haven't been really pleased with my meal. Thought the salad wasn't anything special for $9.00 and the steak for $34.00 was ok. Didn't really care for the coating/my fault for not noticing it was encrusted with cheese. My friend had the Lobster Bisque and likened it to Campbell's soup, didn't eat but a few bites. When they saw the bowl almost untouched, didn't even ask why. Next time I'll try their new side with wine and a smaller menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was fantastic as usual. We did ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual. We did get a fairly new server who was nice but he checked in with us a lot regarding food and service. We couldn't seem to have a long conversation without interruption. Other than that the food is the best around and wine selection is superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chicken salad was very poorly prepared, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Chicken salad was very poorly prepared, grilled chicken was cold and utterly tasteless.

Friends Caesar was also not a Caesar dressing; too expensive for the quality of food.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My 2nd time here,tthis was a very specia ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My 2nd time here,tthis was a very special occasion. My fiancé and I were celebrating our engagement just the two of us.

We been here before for a date and everything was great.

This time the place seemed to be understaffed and our reservation was pushed 30 min.

We're given a an appetizers on the house but once we sat,we felt rushed.

The food compensated the situation but my fiancé didn't want to stay for dessert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Among the best restaurants in the centra ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Among the best restaurants in the central valley. The food, wines, beers and service are all world class.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual everything was delicious

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As usual everything was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible service.. great food, that is ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Incredible service.. great food, that is why you go to Dewz, the whole dining experience is tremendous

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Fabulous as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is outstanding, the attentio ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The service is outstanding, the attention to detail is impressive and food and wine are always amazing! Call out to Will for your exceptional 5 star service you always provide! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dewz is our favorite date night restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Dewz is our favorite date night restaurant in the area!! It has a romantic atmosphere and wonderful food and the service is top notch!! This is also our go to restaurant before going to the Gallo Theatre. Truly a Wonderful experience every time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Dewz for 15 years ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been going to Dewz for 15 years and love it everytime! We live 50 miles away and it is worth the drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for sending this rating...My e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Thank you for sending this rating...My experience last Tuesday was not what I had at Dewz before. It was for 11:30 with my daughter in law as a gift. I was so disappointed with the food. The lettuce was so wilted and no dressing. The chili was no beans and just hamburger with grease on top and tasted awful. I know Dewz in better than that. Even the cobbler was all nuts with crust no apples except 2-3 thin silced apples. That is 2-3 slices. It was way over prized. I blame the chef who was on duty.

Thank you, Vince and Sandy Chase

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Enjoyed celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary at Dewz. The food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere and ambiance were nice, with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Atmosphere and ambiance were nice, with the feel of a larger city. Seating was not crowded, and nicely appointed. The wine list (by the glass) was adequate, just OK. I've heard the bar is good, so maybe I should have had a mixed drink. For Starters we had the grilled brie, which was very good. Next course we shared a Caesar salad. The dressing was good and garlicky, but the romaine heart was a tired, not crisp (I would expect very fresh produce from Rato Bros or other local source). Next, my spouse enjoyed the salmon gingered-miso-honey glaze, which was excellent. I had the the Filet mignon. It was cooked as ordered (medium rare), but seemed to lack flavor or distinction. Maybe the seasoning? Or lack of aging? I have better from Costco, and on my BBQ.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but we were seated near the kitchen, which meant constant traffic by our table. I mean constant. The wait between courses was exceptionally long. If we were going to the theatre or other venue after the meal, it would have been a problem.

Overall, it was a mildly good experience. It was a bit pricy, but I don't mind paying for it if it's top notch. It was a bit less than that. We've had a lot(s) better meals in SF/Bay Area for the same money. Its hard to have a equivalent experience in Modesto (I keep hoping).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We come here now again since we live out ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We come here now again since we live out-of-town. The food is awesome as well as the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First of all, let me say that I spent ov ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

First of all, let me say that I spent over 20 years working in high end restaurants, so I wouldn't want to deter anyone from trying this place out. Clearly I am biased. On that note, my biggest complaint is that the food was definitely not up to par, especially for the price. I ordered the filet mignon, for $45. While the meat was quite good it was so overpowered by it's accompaniments that it was barely detectable. My husband ordered the veal, again pricey for the preparation, which had been pounded severely in an attempt to tenderize it (which did not work). It was sinewy and was also overpowered by the preparation. A good cut of meat is worth the price...it shouldn't need to be buried under a mountain of ingredients that diminish the flavor.

The service however, was impeccable. The staff was attentive and courteous. If they can clean up the menu we may give it another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fabulous. The food, the service, the win ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fabulous. The food, the service, the wine, everything was perfect. All of the seafood entrees were excellent. Very fresh. This is one of the best in Modesto,CA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grest food, the best service by our wait ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Grest food, the best service by our waiter Will, the best restaurant in Modesto

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised to find suc ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a gem in Modesto. Everything was excellent. The service was unbelievable good. We especially enjoyed the Caesar Salad prepared at our table. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, great wine li ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was excellent, great wine list, but food was disappointing except the lobster bisque t was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dewz is always a great choice great food ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dewz is always a great choice great food great service great owner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we've been to Dewz for 3 Anniversary din ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

we've been to Dewz for 3 Anniversary dinners before, but this year we were disappointed. We arrived at 6:15 & got our food at 8:00; my filet was dry & overcooked. Our server was very busy & never came back so we could order dessert. Had to flag him down several times to get the bill. Disappointing pricey anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.