Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: (215) 643-0111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1099 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch was generally very good, with a nice variety of options, including raw bar, roast beef, pasta, salads and cheeses. The only problem was that the restaurant didn't have bread, even crackers to go with the assortment of cheeses, prosciutto, salami, etc. Very weird, and, frankly, unforgivable .

Would be an easy fix for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow!
This was the first time both my husband and I tried here for dinner. It was such a great experience! The food, the wine selection, our server and the prices all left us wanting to plan our next visit.

If you are going soon, you must try the Spring Bounty crispy thin crust pizza. It was delicious and super creative.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been to Dettera several times. The food is always good but the noise levels made it difficult to hear my date and for her to hear me.
This time they seated us in an upsatirs booth for two and it was the answer.
I'll always asks for thos seates next time I make a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding! We would definitely come back here! Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Been here on three occasions and each time we have been very pleased. The menu is unique, the food superb, and the sevice is first rate. The place is pricey for a suburb restaurant but we do not come away disappointed. The cost does keep us from being regular customers though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chef Jeff is amazing! Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is just the second time we have been here and the service and ambiance is wonderful. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went with relatives for Easter brunch. Lovely selection of items were offered at buffet, and all delicious. Three observations: price/person should be less than $40; perhaps frittata could have been something other than shrimp, as there was cold shrimp already on the buffet table; we did not have time to look at the menu online prior to seating -- which wouldn't have been useful anyway -- and no one explained the buffet -- we didn't know there was an omelet station nor, I guess, did anyone else, because it was at least a half hour before the 1st person stopped at the station! For $45/person, I would expect more attention and information from waitstaff. That being said, our waitress was very nice and very pleasant. We sat at street end of long room on second floor -- it was much warmer at that end -- air conditioning was uneven. At least shade the large windows. We'll be back, but probably not for a holiday meal, and we'll definitely sit downstairs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always reliably good food and service with an upbeat atmosphere

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was a very enjoyable dining experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Clean and modern restaurant. A great introduction to Ambler. Easy walk from parking. Pouring decanted wine into glass at table a little pretentious. Good food but expensive. $40 for the steak special? In Ambler?! C'mon. Waiter did get us out in time for the theater. Shave a little off the prices and you've got a winner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dettera never disappoints. The food is always delicious, and the wait staff is wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a phenomenal meal here. I got the tile fish and my husband, who never orders chicken, got the stuffed chicken and both of our meals were outstanding. We also ordered an extra vegetable of roasted cauliflower and carrots with curry. The vegetables were so good, I would highly recommend trying them. We had a lemon and raspberry dessert that went perfectly with both of our meals. The flavors of the sauces and sides were very sophisticated and made our meal very memorable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Location is great for Ambler movies

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Atmosphere-too loud, informal. Staff- too casual. Menu-very limited. Portions-scandalously inadequate for both price and as dinner entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always superior Customer Service. The meal is a surprise, a delight and delicious! If you are hesitant about eating cauliflower, order - and Enjoy - the Charred Cauliflower dish. I did scrape off the outer charred edges and the remaining inside was excellent. Lots of different tastes in that dish. The octopus is a very good appetizer. My husband enjoys the Wednesday " Buck-A-Shuck oysters. Overall, a very enjoyable evening. Get in before 6:00pm and Happy Hour is waiting for you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They no longer have valet which makes finding parking difficult. The waiter told us the special and 3 of us ordered from that selection. A few minutes later we were told they ran out of those two dishes. It was 7:30. There were a lot of empty tables for a Saturday night. Food arrived hot and was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food here was delicious. Excellent, creative dishes with tons of flavor. It is clearly an upscale restaurant. The food makes it worth the price but know you're going to spend a bit more than the average restaurant to leave here full.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I love the "Oysters with Kaffir Lime Granita" and would go just for them.
I usually end up being drawn to one of the specials as well.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We met friends at this location since it was half way between our home and theirs. We all agreed so worth the 30 minute drive and we will meet there again! Nothing more we could ask for-great drinks, great food, nice service, cozy and vibrant atmosphere. First time I gave anywhere 5 stars for all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best short rib I ever had. Expensive but I had a good dinner. Service was just ok.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My homemade cavatelli was excellent, as was my husband's lamb. The portions were on the small side, so no leftovers. The dessert was tiny and not worth the money. My sidecar was delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar. Cocktails, small plates and entrees were excellent. All pastas can be made in half portions, which was plenty after sharing 2 appetizers.
Lamb ragu pasta was exceptional. We each ordered a glass of wine to enjoy with the pasta, but it never arrived. Only disappointment to an otherwise perfect meal.

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Entrees were delicious, different and extremely unique spin on ordinary foods. Because of the size of the party {6}, a gratuity was added on to the bill. My group didn't appreciate this because the server was not as attentive as he should/would have been had the gratuity not been included in the bill. However, that being stated, all of us agreed that we would return based on the menu itself. Cocktails were tasty and eclectic per the 2 in the party that got cocktails, wine options are endless and the one person who ordered a Malbec enjoyed it immensely, a few ordered beer, myself included, and would suggest a bit more choices and varieties where the beer is concerned. Noisy upstairs and our table was close to the restrooms and upstairs kitchen but didn't prevent us from hearing one another.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As always, good food and drinks. Our server, Kelly, really made our evening. Her knowledge of the food and drinks was extensive, as expected at Dettera. However, her personality and desire to make our evening special really put that experience over the top.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Nice ambiance, excellent service and a very delicious meal. Fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I always pleased the food. We love to go there. Great cocktails, great wine. But the best is the food. Plates are very creative and executed to perfection. It is easy to plan a lovely evening there.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always excellent. We usually go on Wednesday evening because my husband likes the buck-a-shuck oysters. Small plates, appetizers and flat breads are very good. Always a fine evening. And, Kelly, our server - knowledgeable and very personable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

fantastic food and service. seems they could use more servers upstairs on a saturday night. servers and bar tender were very knowledgeable about the menu. the octopus was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent. Nice time. Great waiter and friendly bartender and host.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We picked the restaurant for dinner months ago prior to realizing the Valentines Day weekend. The service was slow from the bar and our waitress was not happy we didn't want the 4-course dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not necessarily ideal for vegetarians, but we adapt. I really wish they would remove the televisions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A great dining spot convenient to the Ambler Theater. We had to wait a bit past our reservation time. They could not have been more solicitous. They even treated us to a salad or soup for having to wait. And the food was great besides. Definitely going back..

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, as always and wonderful wine list. Wish gluten free items would have been noted somehow but our server helped out with that--she was great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good meal, horrendous service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We dine at Dettera about once each month--depending upon what's playing across the street at the Ambler Theater. It is consistently good food. Service is typically very good although this trip gave us a waiter who wasn't up to their standard. When I asked for a particular wine, he initially said he had never heard of it. Suspect no one trained him about how to pronounce some of the foreign vineyards. We have also noticed a price creep on the evening specials with entrees being almost double the menu entrees (and ditto with appetizer plates.). While the food is good, the fois gras was not a great plate for the cost. We will return as we are fans of the place; we just hope they don't price themselves out of the market.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome dinner for my moms birthday. Everything was wonderful from the service to the food to the wine. She now wants this to be her birthday dinner restaurant every year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Deterra's several times and we always have good meals with good service.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Definitely would recommend this restaurant and we will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cheese selection was great! Loved the salad to the Brussel sprouts! Great cocktails too :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.