About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: 2156430111x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Restaurant Photos

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Ambler ›

special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (39)
notable wine list (35)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
romantic (27)
vibrant bar scene (20)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (16)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A True Gem in Ambler

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was perfectly prepared and presented, from the cocktails to the deserts. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. This is a beautiful setting, with a superb staff and a skilled kitchen. Well worth the cost and an experience I'm looking forward to repeating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Deterra. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Deterra. The food was delicious and hot when served. The server was very informative about the menu and the wines. We never felt rushed, It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Dinner with my mom

Dined on May 12, 2016

I sensed something was off-kilter when the hostess said she was going to seat us upstairs--never mind the fact that there were tables downstairs and outside. We went upstairs and it was us and a pharmaceutical dinner. Seriously--a whole section upstairs and it was just us. It was odd. It was weird. I made a reservation--at no point was I ever given the impression they couldn't handle our reservation of two. Sitting by ourselves really ruined the ambiance. We could hear folks having fun downstairs, but I also learned about epidurals. I didn't want to listen to a pharma sales pitch during my dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best in Ambler

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Having dined here for New Years Eve, with a set menu, I was expecting a good meal, but it was actually great. Octopus and beef carpaccio appetizers, followed by 2 of the delicious home made pasta dishes( waiters suggestion to get half portions of 2 when couldn't decide was brilliant)....and that's before the Magret duck breast. As others have commented, yes, the price may be like Center City, but the food is some of the best in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service3

Not worth the money and seems the restau ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Not worth the money and seems the restaurant is trying too hard .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special meal

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best in Montgomery County. For us, it is a blessing to have such a great restaurant so near-by and not have to pay crazy prices for parking. On the weekends there is free valet parking. Now to the restaurant. The staff is trained very well. Friendly but not patronizing and too familiar. The ambience is lovely and the noise level reasonable. No shouting at the table. The food is amazing, with beautiful presentation. I have had a variety of dishes and have never been disappointed. My husband is a big fan of the tuna tartar as an appetizer. The fish dishes are very creative and delicious and the chicken is absolutely fabulous. Didn't know that chicken could be so good. Just sampled the lamb chops a special this past week and they were prepared exactly as ordered and likewise delicious. I usually don't have room for desert however, I can tell you the creme brûlée is superb. On certain weekdays there are special pre-fix menus which helps to keep the cost down for weekday dining. I highly recommend you go.!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

needs improvement

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

larger cups/mugs for coffee or tea or a teapot so we can numerous cups from one tea bag. no problem is an unprofessional way to say my pleasure or you are welcome we go almost every week, the outside dining is our favorite location

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food and service

Dined on April 26, 2016

We went to celebrate Admin Professional Appreciation day as a small group. Service was very good - server knew all the dishes and made good recommendations including the wine. Cheese board was very nice as usual. The only down on value was the unspoken cost of the special that night which was a New York Strip. We probably should have been informed on price - $40 seemed expensive for this compared to the rest of the menu and the diner said she would have made a different choice knowing we are on a limited per person budget for business meals.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Glad I ignored reviews

Dined on April 23, 2016

I had read some unfavorable reviews and was nervous about booking here. I'm glad I did. The drink I ordered was prepared flawlessly, the presentation of the food itself was quite artistic and the quality and taste was excellent. I very much understand that someone can get a bad server, bartender or a chef on an off-night, but this was not the case for us. I would go back in a heartbeat. The only negative I would say was on price but I think that's just because its in Ambler. If it were in Center City I wouldn't have thought twice about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delectable deterra

Dined on April 23, 2016

Celebrating a special anniversary, my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Dererra. The chef, we were told had been at le Bec Fin. The octopus was superb as was the lamb. I had a beet salad and the wild sea bass, also excellent. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food is delicious! Especially th ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

All the food is delicious! Especially the oysters and the pasta dishes. We have never had a bad meal! The service is the best and they have a great wine list, too!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun casual night out with Friends. Great Tapas

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a fun place for a casual dinner or tapas and drinks at the bar. It is a bit more romantic upstairs and can either be an appetizer and drinks night or a formal dinner. Can be lots of fun either way

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service

food5
ambience4
service5

Our server (Jolie) was excellent, as alw ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server (Jolie) was excellent, as always. We have never been disappointed. The food quality is high and consistent. Deterra is our go-to restaurant when we want to stay local.

food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Acoustics

Dined on March 20, 2016

It's just too noisy and with all the available fixes for that, they really should make an effort to tone it down. Makes for a stressful time. tx

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not a Feel Good Experience

Dined on March 17, 2016

The waiter was very nonchalent. Told us our dinner was coming out shortly and we had to wait at least 15 to 20 minutes. The presentation was nice, but the experience made me not want to return .

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Amazing service. Sat outsi ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food. Amazing service. Sat outside in grotto area with fireplace. Perfect evening and great first experience at Dettera. It is our new favorite and we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best dining experience I've ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

This was the best dining experience I've had in a very long time. The food was delicious and the staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. I will definitely be back often.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an outstanding evening at Dettera ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had an outstanding evening at Dettera. Our reservation was honored immediately & we were seated away from the bar which was very quiet. We all tried different pasta dishes (1/2 orders) plus two side veggies. Everything was delicious - well prepared & just enough. Gelato finished the evening & we all agreed, it was something special.

food4
ambience5
service5

The server we had was great! He was very ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The server we had was great! He was very personable, warm and helpful with menu items. He the knew the menu really well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great choice

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food, Service and View (2nd floor seating) are great. Our party of 4 loved everything!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited Deterra for Valentines day dinner.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The 4 course prix fixe menu was amazing. Everything was presented in amazing artistic fashion. Really the most enjoyable eating out experience I've had in a long time. Well worth the cost, and it was not cheap.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Refused to move our seats

Dined on February 14, 2016

When we requested to move our seats away from the kitchen and the restrooms, we were told "No" and even after we insisted and almost left, they would not move us to another part of the restaurant even though there were many open tables they could have moved us to. The food was very enjoyable, but very pricey. We went on Valentine's Day and it is too bad that the occasion was ruined by the refusal to move us away from the kitchen and the restrooms.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Think of this as the best restaraunt in ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Think of this as the best restaraunt in Philadelphia. Trust me, even though in Ambler, Pa. it is an amazing place for great food and great wine. Jay Milnes Devon, Pa.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Couldn't have asked for a nicer evening - delicious food, great wine, nice, helpful staff. A perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent. Wine selection was g ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Wine selection was great as it should be for a wine bar and the Merlot we selected was perfect. Great for a date! Our food was well portioned and tasted great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambler Dining

Dined on February 7, 2016

went to Dettera after seeing a movie at the Ambler Theater. It was quite good! the service was excellent, and the food was truly outstanding. A little noisy, but we will defintiely be going back. I had the spareribs and my wife had a veal ragout dish. we both enjoyed our meal, down to the very last bite!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Risotto was delicious, everything was ca ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Risotto was delicious, everything was carefully prepared, and the butter cake was off the charts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Disappointing

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had an adequate, but far from friendly waiter. He took no pleasure in describing their food or in serving us. But the food, service was not slow. Food combos are complex w/ rich ingredients, but somehow most of the dishes did not hang together. The hanger steak was the exception well executed--medium rare. White fish I had was indistinguishable from other fish and solely relied on butter to make it good. Further, the fire alarm went off late in our meal. They did not get is shut off in the last 8-10 minutes that we were there. It was uncomfortably loud. I’ve heard others rave about this place, but I cannot recommend it, especially given the price point. Their bar is elegant and does look like a good place to enjoy a drink.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and Amazing Service!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Dettera is a great restaurant with a vibe out of this world. The food was amazing and I cleaned my plate. The service is impeccable and I can't stop dreaming about my amazing meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to Dettera for restaurant week and everyone at our table chose from the restaurant week menu. The restaurant was busy but Brian, our waiter was attentive and friendly. The food was delicious. Very interesting combinations with lovely presentation and the desserts were really good too! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night out

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We brought our friends here for their first time and they loved it. Very impressed with the food, the service and the atmosphere. Prices are high but the quality of the food is great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant!

Dined on January 2, 2016

We were happy to find a restaurant in this area where the food was noteworthy. The wine and beer selections were great, appetizers were unique, and entrees were incredibly tasty.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fantastic! Food delicious. Joel ...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

It was fantastic! Food delicious. Joely as the server fabulous. We recommend that since the Truffles are $35 onto the entre that they be shaved at the tableside so that you can see them go onto the pasta instead of them probably melting and not seeing them for that price. Another surprise was that the three hostesses just stand there at the Podium since such a small place and very few tables. So the one server for the place is running all over and doing a fantastic and poised job but they just stand there and talk to each other. We actually had to ask the manager if he would take our check so we could make the movie after 20 minutes. Too many hostesses and managers and need and need more servers as great as the one we had. Overall: Excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for the rare night my wife and I ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Perfect for the rare night my wife and I get to go out without our kids!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place for NYE! Pre fixe menu was ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Lovely place for NYE! Pre fixe menu was great... Service was superb and very relaxed which was good waiting until midnight would have been tough otherwise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve Dinner

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful New Year's Eve priced fixed four course dinner! The food was awesome with many choices for each course. Our waitress was bubbly and very attentive which made our whole evening even more enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Terrific dining in Ambler

Dined on December 26, 2015

Very relaxed and quiet on the second floor. My husband, who is not a foodie, said the duck breast was terrific. I had a pasta dish with butternut squash that was great. We have been here several times and we are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on December 23, 2015

We were extremely pleased with the service, apps, drinks, and entrees. The amish chicken was something so juicy that, my wife and I called it a work of art.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is consistently good. Clever prepar ...

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Food is consistently good. Clever preparations and season ingredients.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.