About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: 2156430111x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Tartar, Poached Egg, Summer Truffle - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Lamb Belly - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Fig And Arugula Pizza - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Cape May Salt Oyster, Kaffir Lime Granita - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Dorade Royal, Quinoa, Charred Romaine, Heirloom Beets, Blood Orange - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Braised Short Rib, Fennel Marmalade, Roasted Shallot, Red Wine - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Magret Duck, Rutabaga, Sour Cherry, Hen Of The Woods Mushrooms - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Meyer Lemon Sorbet - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Belgian Endive, Roasted Sugar Pumpkin, Pickled Mustard Seed - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Asparagus And Parmesan Soup - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Panna Cotta, White Chocolate, Brown Butter, Sea Salt - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Celery Root Soup, Sour Apple, Black Garlic, Crisp Celery Root - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Butternut squash ravioli - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Charred Cauliflower, Little Carrots, Curry - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Short Rib Tacos - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Vegetable "Stew", Beets, Bok Choy, Cauliflower, Red Wine - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Scottish Salmon, Brussels Sprouts, Sweet Potato, Poulet Jus - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Pork Belly Tacos - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Veal flank steak - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Baby Arugula Salad - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Prociutto Di Parma Pizza - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Serlion - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Death Star - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Escargo - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA
Chocolate Pate - Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar, Ambler, PA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We're offering a $75 Four Course Prix Fixe Menu with an optional Wine Pairing for $30. (Regular menu will not be available).

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Ambler ›

Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was wonderful. He was very at ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was wonderful. He was very attentive to our needs. Excellent food, great presentation! Love the décor of the restaurant, especially upstairs. A real find!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real sleeper in Ambler. Menu varied bu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A real sleeper in Ambler. Menu varied but always good quality and well prepared with inspired creations and superb sauces from the Le Bec Fin alumni chef. Yes, there still are Alison type quality restaurants in the suburbs and town centric chefs should take note. We really appreciate real deal culinary skills in the burbs and will pay for it.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were amazing! Cheers!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service were amazing! Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu looked better than it tasted. Half ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Menu looked better than it tasted. Half sized pasta portions were too small. Confused where the fireplace was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent, service was better. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent, service was better. Top notch experience all the way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was abysmal. After receiving des ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was abysmal. After receiving dessert menu, we waited so long my partner wondered if they even wanted us to order. For place with $40,00 specials I was insulted that all the wait staff wore jeans

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Wish we lived closer 2nd visit was as ou ...

vip
 (Riyadh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wish we lived closer

2nd visit was as outstanding as first

We've eaten across the menu and it has been consistently good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First time visit - Our waiter was friend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

First time visit - Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable with good descriptions and explanations. He made the offerings sound enticing and wasn't pushy. The whole team was attentive: food came out quickly, empty plates were cleared quickly. The angolotti and papparedelle appetizer portions were generous and delicious, and we both enjoyed our entrees (short ribs and duck) as well.

We will go back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time dining there and i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first time dining there and it was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent. The food was nice and hot upon delivery. The desserts were to die for. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I enjoyed a three course ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed a three course gourmet dinner with paired wine tasting. Thursday eve Nov. 3 featured Scallops.

Combinations for each setting were unique and surprising delicious...as were the paired wine servings. It was great to experience this. Looking forward to another Thursday evening feature. The waiter was terrific too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent, the rest is not. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food is excellent, the rest is not. Extremely noisy, service is unorganized. We will not return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Always outstanding

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent, the atmosphere w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent, and our server was very friendly, informative, and energetic. The overall experience was fantastic and I'd definitely go back. All of our food was great but the fresh cut French fries were cooked and seasoned so perfectly they may be the best fries I've ever tasted. While French fries may not sound complicated or fancy you'll know what I'm talking about if you try them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only problem was the restaurant was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Only problem was the restaurant was very cold and I had to eat dinner wearing my coat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed our visit to Dettera immensel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Dettera immensely. We started with the Green Circle Chicken that was different than what we expected but delicious!. We had the Agnolotti, and the Chanterelle mushroom risotto which were both heavenly. We finished the meal with the warm butter cake, and a trio of sorbets/gelato - we choose the mandarin tarragon, passion fruit sorbets and salted caramel gelato. They were all creamy, light, and refreshing. The passion fruit was just a little too tart for my taste, but my husband loved it. Our server Michael was phenomenal. He knew so much about the menu and the wines, and he was professional yet friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our wedding anniversary. Onc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary. Once seated, we did wait quite a while to be attended to but once I pointed this out, their service was impeccable. They even gave us complimentary champagne. Food was delicious!

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

In the Philadelphia area for the weekend ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

In the Philadelphia area for the weekend and had dinner at Dettera restaurant. We were seated upstairs which was nice and spacious but not as warm as the downstairs dining area and bar.

Our waitress, Kelly, great - very friendly and attentive.

We couldn't decide between the smoked salmon and the charred octopus so we had both which were excellent.

My daughter had the butternut squash & sage pasta and I had the beef & pork agnolotti which were very good. My wife had the parsnip soup which was delicious.

For dessert we split the 3 scoops of sorbet (lemon & ginger and tangerine) were very refreshing. We also had their signature butter cake. It was moist and rich.

Their wine list is extensive with a good selection of single glass servings. The beer list was good, not great with a decent number of craft beers as well as the many of the standard bar choices.

This is fine dining so portions aren't huge but all well prepared. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I don't know why it is not rated as one ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I don't know why it is not rated as one of the three best in Montgomery County. It is consistent,fine quality, local foods. The staff and management are exceptional always. Our waiter Michael is a gem. All around excellence!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is very nice upstairs Menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Restaurant is very nice upstairs Menu is quite limited however. Would have been nice to see a choice of salads, a choice of soups, and more than a half dozen entrees. Our steak was excellent...but it was a special and pricey at $40 a la carte. Server was excellent but the kitchen did not put the dressing on the side as requested. Also gelato was supposed to be 3 small scoops...not 2. This error was corrected however.

Also became noisier as the evening progressed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Relaxed atmosphere, great food, fantasti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Relaxed atmosphere, great food, fantastic service. Definitely recommend.

Sat at the bar for date night. Bartenders were both knowledgeable and friendly. My wife raved all night about the wine Nicole recommended.

The tuna tartare on the bar menu was phenomenal. It was out of this world - bright, fresh, and with great texture - the lemon oil and basil really set it off.

The duck was cooked a perfect medium rare with a rich and flavorful jus. My wife had the charred cauliflower, (I questioned her choice of a vegetable dish), but she said it was the best plate of vegetables she has ever had.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening with friends. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a great evening with friends. The server allowed us to take our time and enjoy several shared courses and conversation with friends without being rushed. I look forward to coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My sister and I decided to go to Dettera ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My sister and I decided to go to Dettera for dinner on a week night. The environment was welcoming and cozy, yet high expectations of food and service are not unreasonable. We were seated at a 2-person booth and the booth size was perfect. The table was wide, so if you are looking to dine closely with someone, the booth may not be the best spot.

We ordered the brussel sprouts for the appetizer (although they are listed as a side) and they were delicious. Perfectly charred and balanced with the thick pieces of bacon. The portion was large enough for 2-3 people, depending on how much you like brussel sprouts.

For dinner, I ordered the pappardelle and although I typically don't like the texture of mushrooms, I like the taste. I really enjoyed this dish.

My sister ordered the butternut squash tortellini. WOW. I believe the meat is braised brisket, however it was so tender and not crispy so I am not sure if that is how it was cooked. There were noticeable notes of anise which was a really nice surprise as the whole dish really pulled together nicely.

Service was great, atmosphere was cozy yet upscale and the food was delish! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS a fabulous dining experience! A ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

ALWAYS a fabulous dining experience! A special Thank you to Chef Jeffrey Power and to the front of the house staff!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you seek a devine meal this is the pl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

If you seek a devine meal this is the place. Our appetizers were fantastic and we questioned how dinner could possibly be better. Our entrè exceeded that expectation. We completed our meal with don't miss desserts and coffee.

Definitely a 5-star evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Dettera often. It's the best r ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We eat at Dettera often. It's the best restaurant in the borough of Ambler, both for food and ambience. However, the past few times we've been, they just don't seem to be on their game. When we were there this Friday night, we had a particularly irritating server, who we've had previously. Next time we go, we'll ask to not be seated in his area. He's hyper, always in a hurry, and acts as though he's doing us a favor by taking our order. "Are you ready to order drinks? I'm going downstairs now." This time, the bus guy cleared our main courses by stacking all the plates on the table in front of us. It's this kind of lack of polish that makes me worry about who's running the front of house. I ordered the pork chop, which was to come with chargrilled okra and eggplant. I was surprised to see a very literal interpretation of that - a pork chop (delicious) with a pile of said vegetables on top. No sauce, no apparent seasoning. The baby eggplant was charred and inedible. I think it was a poorly conceived dish and I'm surprised it was not a special but on the regular menu. My wife's steak, on the other hand, is a long-standing special, and is always delicious. Even when I pushed all the uneaten vegetables to the side, our server didn't ask how our meal was. Finally, the floor manager did a check in and I did explain to him about the dish. Much to my wife's relief, I didn't manage the server or the sloppy busing. The manager responded appropriately and gave us a $10 gift card as we were leaving. This is the second or third time we have had a less-than-successful evening at Dettera, sadly.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is very good. Extensive wine li ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food is very good. Extensive wine list by the glass reasonably priced. Noisy if crowded. Service was not up to snuff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Top-notch service, creative selections, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Top-notch service, creative selections, and the food is delicious! First floor is a little noisy, but second floor is quiet and comfortable. Love the window seating. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere was nice and being able to sit outside but off the road was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Chef is also mo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and service. Chef is also more than willing to adapt the menu to suite customer tastes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great waiter, bartender, and food. I've ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great waiter, bartender, and food. I've been here about 6 times and food is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere were amazing and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food and atmosphere were amazing and our waiter was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always...food, service, atmo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fabulous as always...food, service, atmosphere. Love this place each and every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Jeffrey Power is one of the super s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Chef Jeffrey Power is one of the super stars of the culinary industry and we are fortunate to have him in the Philadelphia area! The menu at Deterra is wonderful and varied. But for a truly extraordinary experience, try the Chefs Table. Unbelievable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Joely, was exceptional! She ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Joely, was exceptional! She was pleasant, sweet and very professional, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service, delicious food especia ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Friendly service, delicious food especially the chocolate dessert. Wait staff is knowledgeable about gluten-and dairy-free items. Portions are small for the price Trendy setting in Ambler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating a birthday and the r ...

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and the restaurant staff made it a very special evening. I called before we arrived to see if we could get a quiet table and to explain we needed an elevator if we were seated on the 2d floor. Our requests were honored plus so much more.

The food and staff are/were exceptional. All of our questions were answered and our server pointed us in the right direction with his suggestions. We all (5 of us) had something different. Every dish was a treat. If you don't want a big plate of house made pasta they offer a smaller size. ( this works for those of us that have no self control)

At the end of the evening the general manager came over to chat. It was like visiting with a good friend.

I highly recommend Dettera if you live in the area or have an opportunity to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten here many times and enjoyed i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Have eaten here many times and enjoyed it quite a bit. Unfortunately, this was not one of those times. Rain eliminated our outdoor seating preference (fine), but why when you have a reservation are you shoved into bench seating between 2 other couples. Furthermore, it was also the first time the food was sub-par. The steak was burnt and vegetables cold. We will return, but for $170 for 2, it needs to be better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

My husband and I ate here on a recommend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband and I ate here on a recommendation of a friend. Food was good, wine was good, waiter very friendly, drinks at bar , so-so. Hubby's drink a bit weak and my martini wasn't the best. Stick to beer or wine. Price for meal expensive and we don't mind paying this as we dine out a lot, but, at these prices, we expect close to perfect. Food was good but portions on husband's meal weren't as hearty as mine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went for the $5 small plate special o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went for the $5 small plate special on Tuesday. It was well worth it. The food was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dettera is our favorite restaurant in th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Dettera is our favorite restaurant in the burbs. We have been here many times and the food never disappoints. Excellent food, drinks and service is their by word.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.