About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: (215) 643-0111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Romantic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

fantastic food and service. seems they c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

fantastic food and service. seems they could use more servers upstairs on a saturday night. servers and bar tender were very knowledgeable about the menu. the octopus was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent. Nice time. Great waiter and f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent. Nice time. Great waiter and friendly bartender and host.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We picked the restaurant for dinner mont ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We picked the restaurant for dinner months ago prior to realizing the Valentines Day weekend. The service was slow from the bar and our waitress was not happy we didn't want the 4-course dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not necessarily ideal for vegetarians, b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not necessarily ideal for vegetarians, but we adapt. I really wish they would remove the televisions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A great dining spot convenient to the Am ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A great dining spot convenient to the Ambler Theater. We had to wait a bit past our reservation time. They could not have been more solicitous. They even treated us to a salad or soup for having to wait. And the food was great besides. Definitely going back..

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, as always and wonderful wine ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, as always and wonderful wine list. Wish gluten free items would have been noted somehow but our server helped out with that--she was great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Very good meal, horrendous service.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good meal, horrendous service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We dine at Dettera about once each month ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We dine at Dettera about once each month--depending upon what's playing across the street at the Ambler Theater. It is consistently good food. Service is typically very good although this trip gave us a waiter who wasn't up to their standard. When I asked for a particular wine, he initially said he had never heard of it. Suspect no one trained him about how to pronounce some of the foreign vineyards. We have also noticed a price creep on the evening specials with entrees being almost double the menu entrees (and ditto with appetizer plates.). While the food is good, the fois gras was not a great plate for the cost. We will return as we are fans of the place; we just hope they don't price themselves out of the market.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome dinner for my moms birthday. Eve ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome dinner for my moms birthday. Everything was wonderful from the service to the food to the wine. She now wants this to be her birthday dinner restaurant every year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Deterra's several times ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Deterra's several times and we always have good meals with good service.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely would recommend this restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Definitely would recommend this restaurant and we will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Cheese selection was great! Loved the sa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cheese selection was great! Loved the salad to the Brussel sprouts! Great cocktails too :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal at Dettera's. This t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Another great meal at Dettera's. This time I tried the boneless pork ribs with a side of brussel sprouts preceded by a healthy salad and accompanied with Pino Grigio and finalized with three different types of sorbet. Superb dinning. Terrific wait staff and fantastic chef. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Organic, Business Meals, Private Room, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On December 21, I took my son and his wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

On December 21, I took my son and his wife to Dettera for their belated birthday gifts, because I had been there recently with my other son and I was mightily impressed. Same thing this time. I requested Kelly to be our server again, and again she was great. My son asked what I had last time and, because it wasn't on the menu, I couldn't remember my entree. However, Kelly remembered that I had the rack of lamb even though it had been a month since my prior visit.

As we did last time, we had off menu appetizer specials, in this case, black truffle risotto and foie gras, and they were spectacular. Likewise the baby Spanish octopus, New York strip steak au poivre, and rack of lamb. Restaurant manager Kevin Yost once again chose our wine--Loupiac dessert wine with the foie gras, Martinolles Pinot Noir with the risotto, and a 2012 Chateau Pindefleurs Saint Emilion Grand Cru Bordeaux with the entrees. As on my first visit, when he proffered a new chocolate dessert which wasn't on the menu yet, Executive Chef Jeffrey Power stopped by our table, which gave me the opportunity to once again compliment him on another world class meal--right in our own little corner of the world: Ambler PA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always a fabulous meal. Great drinks ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always a fabulous meal. Great drinks. Great Staff!!!!

Most awesome Chef!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped in here before the movies and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We stopped in here before the movies and only had an hour (which we told them before we arrived). We arrived and they were ready and made us feel relaxed. The food was very good as was the service and ambiance. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good restaurant in Ambler

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good restaurant in Ambler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful presentation and flavors were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Beautiful presentation and flavors were wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was wonderful. He was very at ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful. He was very attentive to our needs. Excellent food, great presentation! Love the décor of the restaurant, especially upstairs. A real find!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real sleeper in Ambler. Menu varied bu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A real sleeper in Ambler. Menu varied but always good quality and well prepared with inspired creations and superb sauces from the Le Bec Fin alumni chef. Yes, there still are Alison type quality restaurants in the suburbs and town centric chefs should take note. We really appreciate real deal culinary skills in the burbs and will pay for it.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were amazing! Cheers!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service were amazing! Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu looked better than it tasted. Half ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Menu looked better than it tasted. Half sized pasta portions were too small. Confused where the fireplace was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent, service was better. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent, service was better. Top notch experience all the way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was abysmal. After receiving des ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was abysmal. After receiving dessert menu, we waited so long my partner wondered if they even wanted us to order. For place with $40,00 specials I was insulted that all the wait staff wore jeans

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Wish we lived closer 2nd visit was as ou ...

vip
 (Riyadh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Wish we lived closer

2nd visit was as outstanding as first

We've eaten across the menu and it has been consistently good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First time visit - Our waiter was friend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

First time visit - Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable with good descriptions and explanations. He made the offerings sound enticing and wasn't pushy. The whole team was attentive: food came out quickly, empty plates were cleared quickly. The angolotti and papparedelle appetizer portions were generous and delicious, and we both enjoyed our entrees (short ribs and duck) as well.

We will go back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time dining there and i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first time dining there and it was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent. The food was nice and hot upon delivery. The desserts were to die for. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I enjoyed a three course ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed a three course gourmet dinner with paired wine tasting. Thursday eve Nov. 3 featured Scallops.

Combinations for each setting were unique and surprising delicious...as were the paired wine servings. It was great to experience this. Looking forward to another Thursday evening feature. The waiter was terrific too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent, the rest is not. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food is excellent, the rest is not. Extremely noisy, service is unorganized. We will not return.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Always outstanding

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There are many good choices for dining i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

There are many good choices for dining in Ambler, but Deterra is one of our favorites. It has an fine dining décor yet the bar gives it a more informal ambience. The menu is varied and the food delicious. Our waiter was personable and attentive and the manager visited and made us feel at home. It’s a nice spot for happy hour also.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent, the atmosphere w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent, and our server was very friendly, informative, and energetic. The overall experience was fantastic and I'd definitely go back. All of our food was great but the fresh cut French fries were cooked and seasoned so perfectly they may be the best fries I've ever tasted. While French fries may not sound complicated or fancy you'll know what I'm talking about if you try them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only problem was the restaurant was very ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Only problem was the restaurant was very cold and I had to eat dinner wearing my coat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed our visit to Dettera immensel ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Dettera immensely. We started with the Green Circle Chicken that was different than what we expected but delicious!. We had the Agnolotti, and the Chanterelle mushroom risotto which were both heavenly. We finished the meal with the warm butter cake, and a trio of sorbets/gelato - we choose the mandarin tarragon, passion fruit sorbets and salted caramel gelato. They were all creamy, light, and refreshing. The passion fruit was just a little too tart for my taste, but my husband loved it. Our server Michael was phenomenal. He knew so much about the menu and the wines, and he was professional yet friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our wedding anniversary. Onc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary. Once seated, we did wait quite a while to be attended to but once I pointed this out, their service was impeccable. They even gave us complimentary champagne. Food was delicious!

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

In the Philadelphia area for the weekend ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

In the Philadelphia area for the weekend and had dinner at Dettera restaurant. We were seated upstairs which was nice and spacious but not as warm as the downstairs dining area and bar.

Our waitress, Kelly, great - very friendly and attentive.

We couldn't decide between the smoked salmon and the charred octopus so we had both which were excellent.

My daughter had the butternut squash & sage pasta and I had the beef & pork agnolotti which were very good. My wife had the parsnip soup which was delicious.

For dessert we split the 3 scoops of sorbet (lemon & ginger and tangerine) were very refreshing. We also had their signature butter cake. It was moist and rich.

Their wine list is extensive with a good selection of single glass servings. The beer list was good, not great with a decent number of craft beers as well as the many of the standard bar choices.

This is fine dining so portions aren't huge but all well prepared. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant is very nice upstairs Menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Restaurant is very nice upstairs Menu is quite limited however. Would have been nice to see a choice of salads, a choice of soups, and more than a half dozen entrees. Our steak was excellent...but it was a special and pricey at $40 a la carte. Server was excellent but the kitchen did not put the dressing on the side as requested. Also gelato was supposed to be 3 small scoops...not 2. This error was corrected however.

Also became noisier as the evening progressed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I don't know why it is not rated as one ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I don't know why it is not rated as one of the three best in Montgomery County. It is consistent,fine quality, local foods. The staff and management are exceptional always. Our waiter Michael is a gem. All around excellence!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxed atmosphere, great food, fantasti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Relaxed atmosphere, great food, fantastic service. Definitely recommend.

Sat at the bar for date night. Bartenders were both knowledgeable and friendly. My wife raved all night about the wine Nicole recommended.

The tuna tartare on the bar menu was phenomenal. It was out of this world - bright, fresh, and with great texture - the lemon oil and basil really set it off.

The duck was cooked a perfect medium rare with a rich and flavorful jus. My wife had the charred cauliflower, (I questioned her choice of a vegetable dish), but she said it was the best plate of vegetables she has ever had.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening with friends. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a great evening with friends. The server allowed us to take our time and enjoy several shared courses and conversation with friends without being rushed. I look forward to coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.