Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: (215) 643-0111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

This is out new favorite restaurant to go to in Ambler. We've had consistent service, drinks and quality service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Spur of the moment impromptu dinner with my wife. Everything was fantastic. Grilled octopus was as good as it gets. Eggplant ravioli was one of the specials and scrumptious. Our server Kenneth was incredibly friendly and very helpful in assisting us with our choices!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The service was amazing--- and the food was delicious! Being gluten free and somewhat fussy about other food restrictions, I was worried that it didn't look like there were options, but they were completely willing to substitute and everything we had was so delicious! The chef is very talented. And our waitress gets an A+++.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 5, 2017

As usual, dinner was great. I visit a lot, and the sauces were wonderful. Great cocktails, staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Healthy, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were slightly late for our dinner reservation, which meant we arrived after 10 o'clock, which is when the restaurant changes its menu to a more limited menu. However, because we had called to say that we would be late, they kept the kitchen open so that we were offered the full menu! This was entirely unexpected and incredibly appreciated. The manager came out several times to ensure that we were having what we wanted, and to generally check on our well-being. This restaurant was a favorite of ours before that evening, but it is now at the top of our list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

As usual, Dettera was terrific. I note that they have fewer vegetarian options than the last time that I visited. Wine list is fantastic with myriad excellent wines by the glass. I would be happy to see some low carb/no carb entrees on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

A superb meal, with excellent service. This is one of our two favorite restaurants and we highly recommend it. Not cheap (figure about $50-55 per person with a drink and dessert) but it will be a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fairly empty but they tried to put us upstairs
Out of burgers on a Saturday night at 7:00
We live local but off our list
Bad menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here. Had a side of their curried cauliflower &carrots for an appetizer which was delicious. Our entrees were equally delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Loved the outdoor atmosphere! Drinks were delicious! Went to dinner here for girls night..perfect for drinks, apps, small plates.. Will definitely be back to try the entrees for a dinner date with my husband!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

So good! So delicious! Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed our date night at Dettera. The ambiance was excellent, they have an picturesque outdoor dining area. They have an extensive wine list and the food is so delicious. The waitress and busboys were so friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Visited many times, never had anything other than exquisitely prepared food and drink, with attentive service. The best restaurant in suburban Philadelphia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent dinner, great wine list and outstanding service. Choice of dining outside patios or multi-levels. Great food specials.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were celebrating my sister's birthday. I had made a reservation on line and I was called to verify and asked if there were any food allergies or dietary needs. I let them know it was for a birthday and they served dessert with a candle for my sister. The food was great and the waiter was so helpful explaining all of our options. I live far away but I would take my partner there for a date for a special occasion again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Has been one our go to places for years. Dettera does everything well and for a regular, its as comfortable as a dining experience can get. It's our alt- dining room and a welcome relief from last night's burnt disaster in our kitchen. Even the hamburger and small plate menu is enough to revive our spirits. The food is always good, always interesting, but it is the place and people that keeps us coming back. If you're in center city, perhaps not enough reason to come out, but if you're in Ambler, there certainly is no reason for driving any further.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I must say Saturday night at Dettera was an odd experience. My wife and I walked into a half empty restaurant at approximately 7:50 for our 8pm reservation. It was a gorgeous night and we asked to sit at one of the approximately 10 empty outdoor tables. Our request was refused and instead we were offered another table upstairs. Saturday was the last night of restaurant week so we ordered off the menu and purchased the accompanying wine pairings. The first wine pairing came out approximately 10min before the appetizer which was early, but still fine considering the next course. Wine was served for course two as they were taking our appetizer plates. As I wanted to save my pairing for the meal I put the drink aside. Little did I know that we would be waiting over an hour for course two. After an hour, the manager (same one who wouldn't let us sit at the outdoor table) came to apologize for the wait - he made some excuse that the kitchen was backed up. He offered us a free glass of wine (class move) then asked the bus boy to fill up our empty water glasses. Long story short there was a lot of apologizing and they comped the wine pairing, but it seemed like the place was discombobulated from the start. Finally the entrees came and were small. We immediately ordered a side order and by luck, that came right out. I am not sure whose fault the service was and I am willing to give the restaurant another shot as the food we ate was actually very tasty, but next time I will make sure to clear my schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Ambiance terrific, food delicious, wait staff very professional. What would have normally been more courses for this meal, my friend was on a diet, hence limited options. Waiters were patient and encouraged our lingering at table. Nice, especially after a long, stressful work week. Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 7, 2017

No reservations available after 6:30 till 8:00. Plenty of seating available for 7:00 time. Seating for 5 was uncomfortable. More of a family atmosphere. Menu was limited. Ordered seafood stew and came lukewarm. Entre should come with salad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We live in Ambler, are regulars and Dettera has been our local go-to for better dining for years. Probably difficult for me to be completely objective because we like the place and the people so much that we might overlook some glitch that a one-timer might find fault with. That said, we've always found the menu to be interesting and creative, the service superb, and the food preperation and presentation excellent. Very comfortable surroundings and fine place to actually enjoy a meal. And they make a pretty good drink to specification. Always a pleasant experience. We generally order things we couldn't or wouldn't do at home, trusting them to wow us and we've rarely been disapponted. Reviewers tend to be harsh and often look for and note flaws, regulars tend to look for consistent enjoyable performance over time. We're regulars for a reason. Year after year, Dettera has been in our top 5 and always an easy choice after a long week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Chef Jeffrey Power continues to be,, in my opinion the top chef in the Philadelphia area. An opportunity to be offered a chef tasting menu is a must do. Chef's daily menu is appealing enough and incredibly varied. But for a special treat, try a tasting menu and you will never be disappointed. Love, love, love this restaurant and this chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our dinners were very good and our service as well. We all felt that the accompanying vegetables were tasty but rather skimpy. Although we found the menu rather limited we would be happy to dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Delicious, creative appetizers, good entrees. Two of our party ordered 2 appetizers instead of an entree and we shared one additional appetizer for the table. Very pleased. 'especially enjoyed the octopus and the grilled peaches.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice place a little pricey but good food. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This was our first visit and we were totally surprised at how much we liked it. We started at the bar because we were early for our guests. I had the best Manhattan ever with a wonderful cheese plate. Our main course was great. Each of us had something different . Dessert was delicious. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Not my first time to Dettera's, but first time for a business dinner. Wow, it was a great evening. Despite being extremely late for the reservation, Dettera's still had our table ready. The service was impeccable and the food was great, as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Portions were always small, but enough to keep us coming back. Based on what we ate on this occasion, we think they have gotten smaller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Joely, our waitress, was absolutely fantastic!!! She knew the menu up and down and really made it a special night. The food was bonkers delicious. Eat. Here. Tomorrow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were all HAPPY with our meals! Started with the grilled peach appetizer which was a great combination. I had the duck which was perfectly cooked and I loved the barley. Hubby had agnolotti and left none for me to try. Creme brulee is my favorite dessert and there's was a good size and creamy goodness!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

A fun and enjoyable experience with tapas and good friends before an Act II presentation.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our third visit to Dettera did not disappoint. Fresh and delicious dishes with superb service!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing. Great food. Great staff. Our first time and will be going back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great vibe outside. Loved the small plate menu. Only available on Tuesdays. The burger is by far the best around. Love the tuna tartar. Excellent wine and beer selection. Great for sitting at the bar or date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It was Small Plates Tuesday and they were yummy. And at $5 each, not a bad price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch was generally very good, with a nice variety of options, including raw bar, roast beef, pasta, salads and cheeses. The only problem was that the restaurant didn't have bread, even crackers to go with the assortment of cheeses, prosciutto, salami, etc. Very weird, and, frankly, unforgivable .

Would be an easy fix for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been to Dettera several times. The food is always good but the noise levels made it difficult to hear my date and for her to hear me.
This time they seated us in an upsatirs booth for two and it was the answer.
I'll always asks for thos seates next time I make a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow!
This was the first time both my husband and I tried here for dinner. It was such a great experience! The food, the wine selection, our server and the prices all left us wanting to plan our next visit.

If you are going soon, you must try the Spring Bounty crispy thin crust pizza. It was delicious and super creative.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding! We would definitely come back here! Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Been here on three occasions and each time we have been very pleased. The menu is unique, the food superb, and the sevice is first rate. The place is pricey for a suburb restaurant but we do not come away disappointed. The cost does keep us from being regular customers though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.