Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.67mi

About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: (215) 643-0111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Healthy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Has been one our go to places for years. Dettera does everything well and for a regular, its as comfortable as a dining experience can get. It's our alt- dining room and a welcome relief from last night's burnt disaster in our kitchen. Even the hamburger and small plate menu is enough to revive our spirits. The food is always good, always interesting, but it is the place and people that keeps us coming back. If you're in center city, perhaps not enough reason to come out, but if you're in Ambler, there certainly is no reason for driving any further.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I must say Saturday night at Dettera was an odd experience. My wife and I walked into a half empty restaurant at approximately 7:50 for our 8pm reservation. It was a gorgeous night and we asked to sit at one of the approximately 10 empty outdoor tables. Our request was refused and instead we were offered another table upstairs. Saturday was the last night of restaurant week so we ordered off the menu and purchased the accompanying wine pairings. The first wine pairing came out approximately 10min before the appetizer which was early, but still fine considering the next course. Wine was served for course two as they were taking our appetizer plates. As I wanted to save my pairing for the meal I put the drink aside. Little did I know that we would be waiting over an hour for course two. After an hour, the manager (same one who wouldn't let us sit at the outdoor table) came to apologize for the wait - he made some excuse that the kitchen was backed up. He offered us a free glass of wine (class move) then asked the bus boy to fill up our empty water glasses. Long story short there was a lot of apologizing and they comped the wine pairing, but it seemed like the place was discombobulated from the start. Finally the entrees came and were small. We immediately ordered a side order and by luck, that came right out. I am not sure whose fault the service was and I am willing to give the restaurant another shot as the food we ate was actually very tasty, but next time I will make sure to clear my schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Ambiance terrific, food delicious, wait staff very professional. What would have normally been more courses for this meal, my friend was on a diet, hence limited options. Waiters were patient and encouraged our lingering at table. Nice, especially after a long, stressful work week. Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 7, 2017

No reservations available after 6:30 till 8:00. Plenty of seating available for 7:00 time. Seating for 5 was uncomfortable. More of a family atmosphere. Menu was limited. Ordered seafood stew and came lukewarm. Entre should come with salad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We live in Ambler, are regulars and Dettera has been our local go-to for better dining for years. Probably difficult for me to be completely objective because we like the place and the people so much that we might overlook some glitch that a one-timer might find fault with. That said, we've always found the menu to be interesting and creative, the service superb, and the food preperation and presentation excellent. Very comfortable surroundings and fine place to actually enjoy a meal. And they make a pretty good drink to specification. Always a pleasant experience. We generally order things we couldn't or wouldn't do at home, trusting them to wow us and we've rarely been disapponted. Reviewers tend to be harsh and often look for and note flaws, regulars tend to look for consistent enjoyable performance over time. We're regulars for a reason. Year after year, Dettera has been in our top 5 and always an easy choice after a long week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Chef Jeffrey Power continues to be,, in my opinion the top chef in the Philadelphia area. An opportunity to be offered a chef tasting menu is a must do. Chef's daily menu is appealing enough and incredibly varied. But for a special treat, try a tasting menu and you will never be disappointed. Love, love, love this restaurant and this chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our dinners were very good and our service as well. We all felt that the accompanying vegetables were tasty but rather skimpy. Although we found the menu rather limited we would be happy to dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Delicious, creative appetizers, good entrees. Two of our party ordered 2 appetizers instead of an entree and we shared one additional appetizer for the table. Very pleased. 'especially enjoyed the octopus and the grilled peaches.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice place a little pricey but good food. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This was our first visit and we were totally surprised at how much we liked it. We started at the bar because we were early for our guests. I had the best Manhattan ever with a wonderful cheese plate. Our main course was great. Each of us had something different . Dessert was delicious. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Not my first time to Dettera's, but first time for a business dinner. Wow, it was a great evening. Despite being extremely late for the reservation, Dettera's still had our table ready. The service was impeccable and the food was great, as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Portions were always small, but enough to keep us coming back. Based on what we ate on this occasion, we think they have gotten smaller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Joely, our waitress, was absolutely fantastic!!! She knew the menu up and down and really made it a special night. The food was bonkers delicious. Eat. Here. Tomorrow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were all HAPPY with our meals! Started with the grilled peach appetizer which was a great combination. I had the duck which was perfectly cooked and I loved the barley. Hubby had agnolotti and left none for me to try. Creme brulee is my favorite dessert and there's was a good size and creamy goodness!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

A fun and enjoyable experience with tapas and good friends before an Act II presentation.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our third visit to Dettera did not disappoint. Fresh and delicious dishes with superb service!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing. Great food. Great staff. Our first time and will be going back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great vibe outside. Loved the small plate menu. Only available on Tuesdays. The burger is by far the best around. Love the tuna tartar. Excellent wine and beer selection. Great for sitting at the bar or date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It was Small Plates Tuesday and they were yummy. And at $5 each, not a bad price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch was generally very good, with a nice variety of options, including raw bar, roast beef, pasta, salads and cheeses. The only problem was that the restaurant didn't have bread, even crackers to go with the assortment of cheeses, prosciutto, salami, etc. Very weird, and, frankly, unforgivable .

Would be an easy fix for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow!
This was the first time both my husband and I tried here for dinner. It was such a great experience! The food, the wine selection, our server and the prices all left us wanting to plan our next visit.

If you are going soon, you must try the Spring Bounty crispy thin crust pizza. It was delicious and super creative.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been to Dettera several times. The food is always good but the noise levels made it difficult to hear my date and for her to hear me.
This time they seated us in an upsatirs booth for two and it was the answer.
I'll always asks for thos seates next time I make a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding! We would definitely come back here! Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Been here on three occasions and each time we have been very pleased. The menu is unique, the food superb, and the sevice is first rate. The place is pricey for a suburb restaurant but we do not come away disappointed. The cost does keep us from being regular customers though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chef Jeff is amazing! Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is just the second time we have been here and the service and ambiance is wonderful. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went with relatives for Easter brunch. Lovely selection of items were offered at buffet, and all delicious. Three observations: price/person should be less than $40; perhaps frittata could have been something other than shrimp, as there was cold shrimp already on the buffet table; we did not have time to look at the menu online prior to seating -- which wouldn't have been useful anyway -- and no one explained the buffet -- we didn't know there was an omelet station nor, I guess, did anyone else, because it was at least a half hour before the 1st person stopped at the station! For $45/person, I would expect more attention and information from waitstaff. That being said, our waitress was very nice and very pleasant. We sat at street end of long room on second floor -- it was much warmer at that end -- air conditioning was uneven. At least shade the large windows. We'll be back, but probably not for a holiday meal, and we'll definitely sit downstairs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always reliably good food and service with an upbeat atmosphere

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was a very enjoyable dining experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Clean and modern restaurant. A great introduction to Ambler. Easy walk from parking. Pouring decanted wine into glass at table a little pretentious. Good food but expensive. $40 for the steak special? In Ambler?! C'mon. Waiter did get us out in time for the theater. Shave a little off the prices and you've got a winner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dettera never disappoints. The food is always delicious, and the wait staff is wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a phenomenal meal here. I got the tile fish and my husband, who never orders chicken, got the stuffed chicken and both of our meals were outstanding. We also ordered an extra vegetable of roasted cauliflower and carrots with curry. The vegetables were so good, I would highly recommend trying them. We had a lemon and raspberry dessert that went perfectly with both of our meals. The flavors of the sauces and sides were very sophisticated and made our meal very memorable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Location is great for Ambler movies

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Atmosphere-too loud, informal. Staff- too casual. Menu-very limited. Portions-scandalously inadequate for both price and as dinner entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always superior Customer Service. The meal is a surprise, a delight and delicious! If you are hesitant about eating cauliflower, order - and Enjoy - the Charred Cauliflower dish. I did scrape off the outer charred edges and the remaining inside was excellent. Lots of different tastes in that dish. The octopus is a very good appetizer. My husband enjoys the Wednesday " Buck-A-Shuck oysters. Overall, a very enjoyable evening. Get in before 6:00pm and Happy Hour is waiting for you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They no longer have valet which makes finding parking difficult. The waiter told us the special and 3 of us ordered from that selection. A few minutes later we were told they ran out of those two dishes. It was 7:30. There were a lot of empty tables for a Saturday night. Food arrived hot and was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food here was delicious. Excellent, creative dishes with tons of flavor. It is clearly an upscale restaurant. The food makes it worth the price but know you're going to spend a bit more than the average restaurant to leave here full.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I love the "Oysters with Kaffir Lime Granita" and would go just for them.
I usually end up being drawn to one of the specials as well.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We met friends at this location since it was half way between our home and theirs. We all agreed so worth the 30 minute drive and we will meet there again! Nothing more we could ask for-great drinks, great food, nice service, cozy and vibrant atmosphere. First time I gave anywhere 5 stars for all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.