About Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar

129 East Butler Avenue
Ambler, PA 19002
View Larger Map

DETTERA restaurant and wine bar brings sophisticated dining to downtown Ambler. Merging progressive American cuisine with wine bar chic in a beautifully restored, historic building offering upscale casual dining on an outside deck with a brick fireplace, a first floor dining level open to a curving black granite bar with over-sized round banquettes. The second floor dining room offers a relaxed atmosphere with pillow filled banquettes, a romantic fireplace, and a beautiful view of the Ambler theater. Wine selection offers over 50 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle. The menu puts a heavy focus on seasonality, sustainability, and the sourcing of locally farmed produce. DETTERA also maintains their own herb and spice garden daily. A great find for that special dining occasion or even light fare and a glass of wine after the theater.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Light Menu: Tuesday -Saturday 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Friday and Saturday 10:00pm -11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 643-0111

Website:
http://www.dettera.com/

Catering:
ANNOUNCING CATERING BY DETTERA!

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar now prouldy provides catering! Enjoy all of the dishes you love catered anywhere you need. Have an upcoming special event? Leave all the work to us. We are featuring menus for any occasion including: Weddings, Birthday Parites, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Baby/Wedding Showers, Cocktail/Dinner Parties, Outdoor Events, Holiday Parties, Business Meetings, Brunch, and More!

Check out a sample menu @http://www.dettera.com/announcement.php?id=86

Parking Details:
Close to municipal lot and on street metered parking (FREE daily 12pm-2pm, after 6:00pm daily, and all day Sunday).

Public Transit:
Ambler train station less than five blocks.

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Power

Private Party Facilities:
Beautiful second floor available with service bar, lounge, and fire place.

Private Party Contact:
Kevin Yost: 2156430111x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
HAPPY HOUR!
Tuesday - Friday 5pm-7pm, offering 1/2 Price Specialty Cocktails, $3 Draft Beers, $8 Ketel One Martinis, and $5 Glasses of Wine! Buck a Shuck Oysters on Wednesdays 5pm til we sell out!

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Tartar, Poached Egg, Summer Truffle
Lamb Belly
Fig And Arugula Pizza
Cape May Salt Oyster, Kaffir Lime Granita
Short Rib Tacos
Charred Cauliflower, Little Carrots, Curry
Celery Root Soup, Sour Apple, Black Garlic, Crisp Celery Root
Magret Duck, Rutabaga, Sour Cherry, Hen Of The Woods Mushrooms
Panna Cotta, White Chocolate, Brown Butter, Sea Salt
Butternut squash ravioli
Pork Belly Tacos
Scottish Salmon, Brussels Sprouts, Sweet Potato, Poulet Jus
Meyer Lemon Sorbet
Braised Short Rib, Fennel Marmalade, Roasted Shallot, Red Wine
Asparagus And Parmesan Soup
Belgian Endive, Roasted Sugar Pumpkin, Pickled Mustard Seed
Dorade Royal, Quinoa, Charred Romaine, Heirloom Beets, Blood Orange
Vegetable "Stew", Beets, Bok Choy, Cauliflower, Red Wine
Baby Arugula Salad
Veal flank steak
Prociutto Di Parma Pizza
Serlion
Death Star
Escargo
Chocolate Pate

Dettera Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
American
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Ambler ›

fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (35)
notable wine list (35)
See All
neighborhood gem (34)
vibrant bar scene (26)
good for groups (21)
romantic (19)
great for outdoor dining (19)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was simply terrific. The best p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was simply terrific. The best part of our dinner was our server, a Russian-born, very fluent American whose name is Artem. He was beyond knowledgeable, friendly, courteous, and helpful. We enjoyed entres of chicken, steak, and fish, with each prepared properly and quite savory. The appetizer of oysters was prepared with italian ice which made it quite interesting, and the steak au poivre, with a dash of cognac, was perfect. Salads and vegetables were all fresh and well prepared. Our friend enjoyed the Amish chicken as quite tasty; my wife's fish was as she prefers, light and dry. Desert was a lemon pastry. Delightful. Cocktails were an interesting variety, with taste sensations of bourbon and exotic French liquers. This restaurant is to be enjoyed over and over again. We only wish Ambler were closer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy special evenings at Dett ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We always enjoy special evenings at Dettera, mostly shuck-a-buck night. We also enjoyed the special menu for restaurant week. Great service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had another fantastic meal at Dettera la ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had another fantastic meal at Dettera last evening! We had talked this restaurant up to a couple of our friends who had never been. Murphy's Law is that usually when you do that you wind up going on an "off-night." But not Dettera! Food was delicious, service was great (as usual), and all four of us left the restaurant having had a wonderful experience! And, our friends are now converts recognizing that this IS the best restaurant in Ambler!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deterra's is one of the best dining expe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Deterra's is one of the best dining experiences I've had. I've dined several times and each time feels like the first. The service is always exceptional and the food exquisite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful except for the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything was wonderful except for the service. We waited over 20 minutes to have a server come over to take a drink order and then close to an hour after arriving we still hadn't placed our food order and our drinks were empty. When my friend said something to the management, thing started to move quicker and several staff members helped out to check in on us. Having all worked in the service industry, neither my friends nor I really wanted to complain, but it was really unacceptable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Had a wonderful meal, but a bit pricing ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a wonderful meal, but a bit pricing for only four people - big gap between prices listed on the menu and what is offered as a special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great and the drinks and ba ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was great and the drinks and bar tender were the best. The disappointment was being lectured by the executive chef. We mentioned to the staff that the music was not on par with the overall atmosphere of the otherwise terrific restaurant. We were then confronted by the executive chef and manager telling us that the music was liked by most. The chef's tastes should stick to food. We will never be back after being treated so unprofessionally. It is a shame because the food and drinks were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

LOVED the grilled octopus and parents lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

LOVED the grilled octopus and parents loved the buratta. Homemade pasta was the best main along with rack of lamb. Duck breast was close second. Nice wait staff and prices were as expected but no bargain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A chose Dettera on not much more than a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A chose Dettera on not much more than a whim because we were in the area. What a pleasant surprise. The atmosphere, complete with clean and modern décor, was perfect for a "date" with my wife. The service and all personnel were more than friendly; they were helpful and kind and a joyous delight. From Cocktails to Dessert ; everything was delicious.

Food was great. We both had the Sockeye Salmon which was super.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server seemed to forget we wanted to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The server seemed to forget we wanted to eat, Took him a while, and after serving people who came in way after us their food, we finally got to order ours......

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Deterra has been a favorite for a while ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Deterra has been a favorite for a while but my last two visits have been disappointing. While the food remains excellent, the service has been poor and detracts from the overall experience. On our most recent visit we were seated upstairs which had about 1/3 of the seating filled. When we asked if we could have one of the booths the host informed us they were all reserved and went on to tell me in detail how I would need to call in a reservation and specifically request a booth if I wanted one. The booths all remained empty for the entire time we were there and, in fact, no one else was seated upstairs while we were there. The service was slow and inattentive. Our waiter would assure us something would be right out and we'd wait another 15 min. I saw others in the restaurant looking around as though they'd been waiting a bit for their food as well. The food itself is quite good but at $150-$200 for a couple I expect better service and less snide attitude from the host. This was once a favorite but I think we won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The food was good but I'm not sure if I' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was good but I'm not sure if I'd rush back. There were two appetizers with poached eggs out of the 8 or so on the menu which seemed odd. The daily special was significantly higher priced than the other menu items and the waiter didn't mention the costs when reviewing them.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A True Gem in Ambler

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was perfectly prepared and presented, from the cocktails to the deserts. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. This is a beautiful setting, with a superb staff and a skilled kitchen. Well worth the cost and an experience I'm looking forward to repeating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Deterra. ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful evening at Deterra. The food was delicious and hot when served.

The server was very informative about the menu and the wines.

We never felt rushed, It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner with my mom

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I sensed something was off-kilter when the hostess said she was going to seat us upstairs--never mind the fact that there were tables downstairs and outside.

We went upstairs and it was us and a pharmaceutical dinner. Seriously--a whole section upstairs and it was just us. It was odd. It was weird. I made a reservation--at no point was I ever given the impression they couldn't handle our reservation of two.

Sitting by ourselves really ruined the ambiance. We could hear folks having fun downstairs, but I also learned about epidurals. I didn't want to listen to a pharma sales pitch during my dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

The best in Ambler

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Having dined here for New Years Eve, with a set menu, I was expecting a good meal, but it was actually great. Octopus and beef carpaccio appetizers, followed by 2 of the delicious home made pasta dishes( waiters suggestion to get half portions of 2 when couldn't decide was brilliant)....and that's before the Magret duck breast. As others have commented, yes, the price may be like Center City, but the food is some of the best in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not worth the money and seems the restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Not worth the money and seems the restaurant is trying too hard .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Always a special meal

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best in Montgomery County. For us, it is a blessing to have such a great restaurant so near-by and not have to pay crazy prices for parking. On the weekends there is free valet parking. Now to the restaurant. The staff is trained very well. Friendly but not patronizing and too familiar. The ambience is lovely and the noise level reasonable. No shouting at the table. The food is amazing, with beautiful presentation. I have had a variety of dishes and have never been disappointed. My husband is a big fan of the tuna tartar as an appetizer. The fish dishes are very creative and delicious and the chicken is absolutely fabulous. Didn't know that chicken could be so good. Just sampled the lamb chops a special this past week and they were prepared exactly as ordered and likewise delicious. I usually don't have room for desert however, I can tell you the creme brûlée is superb. On certain weekdays there are special pre-fix menus which helps to keep the cost down for weekday dining. I highly recommend you go.!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

needs improvement

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

larger cups/mugs for coffee or tea or a teapot so we can numerous cups from one tea bag.

no problem is an unprofessional way to say my pleasure or you are welcome

we go almost every week, the outside dining is our favorite location

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We went to celebrate Admin Professional Appreciation day as a small group. Service was very good - server knew all the dishes and made good recommendations including the wine. Cheese board was very nice as usual.

The only down on value was the unspoken cost of the special that night which was a New York Strip. We probably should have been informed on price - $40 seemed expensive for this compared to the rest of the menu and the diner said she would have made a different choice knowing we are on a limited per person budget for business meals.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Glad I ignored reviews

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I had read some unfavorable reviews and was nervous about booking here. I'm glad I did. The drink I ordered was prepared flawlessly, the presentation of the food itself was quite artistic and the quality and taste was excellent. I very much understand that someone can get a bad server, bartender or a chef on an off-night, but this was not the case for us. I would go back in a heartbeat. The only negative I would say was on price but I think that's just because its in Ambler. If it were in Center City I wouldn't have thought twice about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delectable deterra

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Celebrating a special anniversary, my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at Dererra. The chef, we were told had been at le Bec Fin. The octopus was superb as was the lamb. I had a beet salad and the wild sea bass, also excellent. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food is delicious! Especially th ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

All the food is delicious! Especially the oysters and the pasta dishes. We have never had a bad meal! The service is the best and they have a great wine list, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun casual night out with Friends. Great Tapas

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This is a fun place for a casual dinner or tapas and drinks at the bar. It is a bit more romantic upstairs and can either be an appetizer and drinks night or a formal dinner. Can be lots of fun either way

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server (Jolie) was excellent, as alw ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server (Jolie) was excellent, as always. We have never been disappointed. The food quality is high and consistent. Deterra is our go-to restaurant when we want to stay local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good on all accounts. We dined at t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Very good on all accounts. We dined at the bar and the bartender was great. Will return and recommend to others. Who knew Ambler had a cool dining scene?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Acoustics

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

It's just too noisy and with all the available fixes for that, they really should make an effort to tone it down. Makes for a stressful time.

tx

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Not a Feel Good Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The waiter was very nonchalent. Told us our dinner was coming out shortly and we had to wait at least 15 to 20 minutes. The presentation was nice, but the experience made me not want to return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing food. Amazing service. Sat outsi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Amazing food. Amazing service. Sat outside in grotto area with fireplace. Perfect evening and great first experience at Dettera. It is our new favorite and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best dining experience I've ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This was the best dining experience I've had in a very long time. The food was delicious and the staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. I will definitely be back often.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding evening at Dettera ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We had an outstanding evening at Dettera. Our reservation was honored immediately & we were seated away from the bar which was very quiet. We all tried different pasta dishes (1/2 orders) plus two side veggies. Everything was delicious - well prepared & just enough. Gelato finished the evening & we all agreed, it was something special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server we had was great! He was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The server we had was great! He was very personable, warm and helpful with menu items. He the knew the menu really well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great choice

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Food, Service and View (2nd floor seating) are great. Our party of 4 loved everything!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visited Deterra for Valentines day dinner.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The 4 course prix fixe menu was amazing. Everything was presented in amazing artistic fashion. Really the most enjoyable eating out experience I've had in a long time. Well worth the cost, and it was not cheap.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Refused to move our seats

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

When we requested to move our seats away from the kitchen and the restrooms, we were told "No" and even after we insisted and almost left, they would not move us to another part of the restaurant even though there were many open tables they could have moved us to. The food was very enjoyable, but very pricey. We went on Valentine's Day and it is too bad that the occasion was ruined by the refusal to move us away from the kitchen and the restrooms.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Think of this as the best restaraunt in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Think of this as the best restaraunt in Philadelphia. Trust me, even though in Ambler, Pa. it is an amazing place for great food and great wine.

Jay Milnes

Devon, Pa.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very Nice Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Couldn't have asked for a nicer evening - delicious food, great wine, nice, helpful staff. A perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Wine selection was g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Wine selection was great as it should be for a wine bar and the Merlot we selected was perfect. Great for a date! Our food was well portioned and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ambler Dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

went to Dettera after seeing a movie at the Ambler Theater. It was quite good! the service was excellent, and the food was truly outstanding. A little noisy, but we will defintiely be going back. I had the spareribs and my wife had a veal ragout dish. we both enjoyed our meal, down to the very last bite!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.