Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Delmonico Grill

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: (605) 791-1664

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Business Meals (15)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 6 days ago

I love going to Delmonico for lunch and I always have their sandwich special because I've never had the same sandwich twice they are so creative and everything is so good great ambiance and wonderful service super friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food and great service! It was one of the best steaks I've had in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Visiting Keystone and decided against the local fast food. This was a terrific find with great food, excellent service and a relaxing environment. We even had two children with us and they were beyond accommodating even though they ate off the adult menu. The Main Street is wonderful to stroll on and I highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Very classy restaurant; I'd say the nicest in the Rapid City area. This isn't a place to wear t-shirts and flip-flops, although some people still do. Make a reservation if you plan on going and expect a nice, classy place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good food and service, but would have liked a little background music.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Better than the first experience. The foods was better and the service much improved. In face I would say the waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Probably the best choice in Rapid City. Disappointed with the service, as the waiter did not seem to care - I guess everyone is a tourist to him? Charged for a order of mushrooms when the 2 of us did not have the soup/salad started and only had 1 standard side. I guess he had no discretion to waive the $3 for the mushrooms. Speaks to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I love this place for lunch. I always order the daily half sandwich special. Very creative sandwiches made by the chef. The staff makes you feel so welcome and the servers are so pleasant and attentive. My granddaughter, Brooke, works there and that's how I found out about this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the food. My husband's tuna was exceptional. The roe infused with wasabi was a perfect accompaniment adding a delightful texture and taste element. My tenderloin was flavorful and the carrot purée and seasonal grilled veggies were a perfect and out-of-the-ordinary partner to a steak.

We appreciate a thoughtful and skilled chef. Delmonico's delivered on both.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Quiet ambiance, upscale restaurant with appropriate decor for such a steakhouse. Menu offered an excellent items, with a wide selection of choices. There were two of us, and both our steaks were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very good steaks. They do not serve liquor if you are looking for a cocktail. The wine list was fine though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Great place for a steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was impeccable Jessica was awesome as a server. Food was prepared as we ordered

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were visiting from out of town. Service was exquisite. Wish the steak was served on a hot rather than cold plate. Creamed spinach wasn't the best. My husband loved his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Service was exceptionally slow given it was a Wednesday evening. We went there to celebrate a special occasion and knew it would be more expensive compared to other alternatives which was fine with us. We were disappointed with the food which was OK at best, I except much more from a restaurant, especially one that caters to RC's "high end" clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Pricy but worth it for a special occasion. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was very good and very enjoyable the waitress was above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best restaurant experiences I have had. Ribeye was perfect and the lamb was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always Consistent - We love Delmonico's. The food and service is outstanding. Jme (pronounced the same as Jamie) our server is a real pro, personally and very professional. The maître de was very friendly too and spent time chatting with us. Not much more to say other than it's the place to go for lunch or dinner in Rapid City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Casual Fine Dining. Good place to visit over lunch without having to raise voice. Great food!!!!!
Very friendly!!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Pretentious for sure, ugh, but a great filet, perfectly prepared

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Searched for the "best" steakhouse in Rapid City, SD and was looking forward to a nice, dry-aged rib eye. While I did not expect Peter Luger's or Wolfgang Steakhouse (my favorite) quality, certainly the service was very similar to those steakhouses (wink, wink). Seemed like some few folks are still being trained (e.g., dripping water all over the floor while filling a water glass, random placement of utensil). After the soup / salad, waited over an hour for the main and notified that there is a party of 20 being served (somewhat understandable but this restaurant is not small and should be able to accommodate or at least notify us when we walked in). My son's fillet was good, and my foie gras side was good; however, my rib eye was at least 30% fat (took a picture) and my wife's scallop / risotto was too salty. I think this place is trying to be "good / fancy" but needs to address some basics. Just because the dishes look "modern" and decor is "modern" does not mean a restaurant is good / fancy. Good food with good services would be bare minimum for any restaurant - although great steakhouses really get away with just good food with lousy services :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent beef. A bit pricey, but worth it for the most part.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Visiting from out of state. Great find! Staff friendly and welcoming. Nice menu with lots of options. Beautiful piano played while we dined on Saturday. Returned two nights later for our final dinner in Rapid City. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Many interesting choices on the menu. Food is dependably delicious. Wait staff friendly and helpful. On this occasion, our food was very slow but that's not the norm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great service, delicious food, wonderful background music with live pianist. Good wine list. Thoroughly enjoyable evening. Ask for Taylor, she is knowledgeable, friendly, service oriented waitress.
Hope to get back there sometime.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Once again Delmonico's provided a lovely backdrop for an excellent dinner. The food and service were wonderful for our son's birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Reviewing 2 successive nights: Draft beers were good, buffalo tartar was pleasing, salads standard, both petite and large tenderloins were excellent and correctly cooked. Good creme brulee. Good and friendly service 1st night.
1st dinner on a Wed night was so good we came back Thurs. Bad idea! Thurs night service started reasonably well but deteriorated--slow, refilled tea pot (with teabag in it!) with coffee and took forever doing it! Buffalo tartar and chili were good. Petite tenderloin was good. Unfortunately strip steak, while well seasoned, was tough. Sent it back for a small tenderloin. Server was not friendly about it, almost surly. Didn't seem particularly concerned about the quality, but did exchange it for tenderloin. Charged for the strip steak but deducted price of the 2 beers.
Overall, interesting menu, esp. starters. Erratic service and meat quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My friend and I had prime rib (served only Fri and Sat); it was tough and lacked flavor. Jazz piano background music was fairly loud and distracting; will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A fine, fun evening. I was puzzled by unusually lengthy wait for entrees to be served. By the time I was uncomfortable enough to ask our server about it, the food was served. I'd never experienced as long a delay in many prior visits. Food was delicious when arrived though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Steak was pretty good but that was all. Way too pricy for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very nice dining experience. I know and love the staff, however it was the first time meeting our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Very pleased with the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food with a cozy atmosphere without being formal. Service was very good. I had the beef tips and they were excellent. They had an Asian flair that was really tasty. Good wine selection. Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

NCO of the year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good service. Food was good but sent steak back twice and still came back rare. I asked for medium well. They comped us a dessert for the trouble. Considering this is an expensive steak house the steak should be perfect.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great and it is such a beautiful place. Unfortunately my main meal was not hot so I didn't enjoy my meal for the price I payed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was very nice for a night away for me and hubby! Very classy feel and our steak was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Left a note suggesting that my date had some allergies- the server had recommendations ready to explain to my date without having to ask, making her feel important and allergies less of an embarrassment or hassle. Good service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.