Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Delmonico Grill

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: (605) 791-1664

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Was having a couples night out. Our server Jamie was helpful, pleasant and attentive. We have been here several times and will be many more. The food is always fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I love their lunch specials. Never had the same sandwich. The shaved prime rib sandwich was great except i wish the bread had been toasted well on both sides as tomato made bread soggy so took it off and ate the meat etc. with fork. Of all the times I've eaten here, this is the first suggestion for the chef next time. Great place to get together w friends because you can actually visit without talkng loud. Brooke was a super server. I'm prejudice because she's my granddaughter. All their servers are very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Delicious as always! Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful 50th Anniversary dinner with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very tasty. Hubby had the double pork chop and I had the Special of the Day - yellowtail fish. Both were so awesome. The double pork chop takes awhile to cook (its not two pork chops, it's one big hunk of meat) but it's worth it, the apple reduction sauce is to die for. The yellowtail was delicious, the skin was nice and crispy and the feta hushpuppies were divine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing food and even better service! I will go back every time I'm in Rapid City!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent flavor & food. Excellent service. Best food in this town.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We loved our meal at Delmonicos! Started with the tuna and oysters and had the ribeye for a main course. We should of split the steak as we over ordered.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Delmonico grill was really good. Great food, fantastic amd knowledgeable servers. Would have rated it 5 stars across the board except for a couple of things. While the steaks were very tasty, the price for the taste I feel was not quite as good as it could have been. Dont get me wrong still tasty, but for that kind of money I wamted a knock your socks off steak. The highlight of the food were the sides. Best french onion soup I have ever had, plus the sweet potatoes amd creamed spinach were perfect. Dessert of butterscotch pot of crem was amazing too! Only other negative was the seating. My wife amd I were celebrating our 7th anniversary and we got put at a very small table on a shared bench style booth. No privacy, and there was little to no light at our table to read the menu. Overall great experience though, would definetly visit again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My Wife and I celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. The staff and the kitchen made this one of our best, all around, dining experiences in our 16 years of being together. Hard off to Delmonico.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Was as wonderful as usual. My place to go for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here, and could not have been happier with the food, service, and overall atmosphere! Steaks are the thing here, although they also have other good choices. The bourbon sweet potato side was excellent, the butterscotch pot de creme a perfect conclusion, and Jessica our waitress was outstanding! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our food was fabulous like always and my favorite server was so attentive, Brooke Dilley, even though we are family. I love their creativity with the sandwich special. I am a forever lunchtimer.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a classy place with excellent service. The wine list is good and they do beef like no one else in the area. Desserts are also excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Ribeye was overlooked
Mentioned to server & they did nothing about it
My wife's filet was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everyone loved there appetizers and meals. We Only had 1 of 4 steaks slightly overcooked but otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our meals and would recommend this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I shared the Delmonico steak. It was the best steak I've ever had. And the best meal I've ever had. I hope they continue to serve such wonderfully prepared food. We will be going back and getting the exact same thing. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Average restaurant Food was above average
But cost not in line with food. Service was good. Have eaten at restaurants where food
was better and cost less!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food, wonderful ambience, relaxing with live piano music every night. Best prime rib and chili in the Black Hills, unique meal combos, massive wine list. Service is always friendly, suggest reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Limited menu but if you want a really good steak this is the place to go.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and an amazing meal. A bonus was our server, Jessica. She was charming and attentive and made us feel welcome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent prime steaks. Excellent service. Good overall menu with a reasonable choice of entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was our anniversary and I added it to our Open Table, not one person even mention it, so not even an offer of a dessert.
Our waitress was outstanding and most likely wasn't informed.
We were a little disappointed, but her service over came it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. We had the scallops, foie gras, and bison burger. Everything perfectly prepared. Superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent food and Daniel provided attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We were in town on vacation and celebrating our anniversary. Our waiter was very attentive and the food was well prepared. The restaurant was also in a great location for a stroll after dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love going to Delmonico for lunch and I always have their sandwich special because I've never had the same sandwich twice they are so creative and everything is so good great ambiance and wonderful service super friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food and great service! It was one of the best steaks I've had in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Visiting Keystone and decided against the local fast food. This was a terrific find with great food, excellent service and a relaxing environment. We even had two children with us and they were beyond accommodating even though they ate off the adult menu. The Main Street is wonderful to stroll on and I highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Very classy restaurant; I'd say the nicest in the Rapid City area. This isn't a place to wear t-shirts and flip-flops, although some people still do. Make a reservation if you plan on going and expect a nice, classy place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good food and service, but would have liked a little background music.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Better than the first experience. The foods was better and the service much improved. In face I would say the waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Probably the best choice in Rapid City. Disappointed with the service, as the waiter did not seem to care - I guess everyone is a tourist to him? Charged for a order of mushrooms when the 2 of us did not have the soup/salad started and only had 1 standard side. I guess he had no discretion to waive the $3 for the mushrooms. Speaks to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I love this place for lunch. I always order the daily half sandwich special. Very creative sandwiches made by the chef. The staff makes you feel so welcome and the servers are so pleasant and attentive. My granddaughter, Brooke, works there and that's how I found out about this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the food. My husband's tuna was exceptional. The roe infused with wasabi was a perfect accompaniment adding a delightful texture and taste element. My tenderloin was flavorful and the carrot purée and seasonal grilled veggies were a perfect and out-of-the-ordinary partner to a steak.

We appreciate a thoughtful and skilled chef. Delmonico's delivered on both.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Quiet ambiance, upscale restaurant with appropriate decor for such a steakhouse. Menu offered an excellent items, with a wide selection of choices. There were two of us, and both our steaks were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very good steaks. They do not serve liquor if you are looking for a cocktail. The wine list was fine though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Great place for a steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was impeccable Jessica was awesome as a server. Food was prepared as we ordered

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were visiting from out of town. Service was exquisite. Wish the steak was served on a hot rather than cold plate. Creamed spinach wasn't the best. My husband loved his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.