About Delmonico Grill

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: 6057911664x

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Brie
Baked Brie

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
4 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

special occasion (45)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (16)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (10)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a delicious meal and a delightful ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a delicious meal and a delightful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was luke warm. Beer was luke w ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our food was luke warm. Beer was luke warm. Waited a while for them to bring us a cold beer. Taste was great though. Waitress was very nice. It was our first time there and I expected more for $40 a plate. Great flavor though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was WONDERFUL! Our server was great a ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was WONDERFUL! Our server was great and the food was delicious! I will definitely recommend it to my friends

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu. I wanted prime rib, didn' ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Limited menu. I wanted prime rib, didn't know it wasn't available on Tuesday's. Wife wanted walleye, it wasn't on the menu at all. I had a rib eye, it was good, but nothing special. For the price, I have had just as good if not better for less. We are in no hurry to go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine dinning and overall the best we fou ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fine dinning and overall the best we found in Rapid City. Rates with the best bug city restaurants. Extremely friendly Midwestern people and great service from all. Menu has good variety and some interesting items. Honey Bourbon steak tips and Kona Crusted ribeye were both very good. In the very active Main Street area which is great for walking and shopping.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We raise Angus cattle and are very parti ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We raise Angus cattle and are very particular about our beef. The rib eye steaks were excellent along with superb service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a very good time and meal. It was ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a very good time and meal. It was our 40th anniversary . Thank you

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A very pleasant experience. This is a qu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A very pleasant experience. This is a quality steakhouse that would be competitive in any major metropolitan city.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We both had beef (strip steak and prime ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We both had beef (strip steak and prime rib) and they were cooked perfectly. The sides were typical, no complaints. You go for the steak. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, personable service. Excellent ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Friendly, personable service. Excellent food. Only complaint was scallop appetizer: it looked like they took 1 scallop and sliced it into thirds (pretty lame move for the price). Otherwise, the steaks, sweet mash potatoes, and grilled veggies were outstanding. Desserts were delicious (my daughter couldn't get enough of the chocolate torte). They accommodated my wife's celiac without issue. We will return.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill sever ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill several times each year and have enjoyed the great service, nice wines and superb food. They maintain consistently high standards. This visit was no exception. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great we went there three nights in a ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

So great we went there three nights in a row! I've got food sensitivities and they took great care in making sure I could eat safely. Also, the coffee is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico Grill is Rapid City's finest restaurant!

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Delmonico Grill is hands down the BEST fine dining Rapid City has to offer. It's menu is extraordinary with fine selections. The wine list is amazing and offers some of the BEST wines that you can find in this region.

The price is right for the amazing food! And, the wait staff are impeccable. If you are looking for dining that is "above" the ordinary and want excellent food and service, Delmonico Grill is your ticket!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service ever!

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I proposed to my beautiful girlfriend on her birthday here. Best steaks we have ever enjoyed and my server and the Manger ensured it was the perfect experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was nothing less than outstanding. Our server, Jessica, was exceptionally good; very personable, easy to talk with, and kept close tabs on us and our needs without hovering over us or butting in on conversation. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars across the board is that dinner in a fine dining establishment such as this shouldn't have the ambiance broken by the cries of infants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and w ...

 
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and western South Dakota.

Lunch prices are very competitive. You can have lunch for less than $10 (daily lunch special starts at $8!!) but the food is of much better quality and imagination than at the other fast-food style restaurants in town. Seafood at this place is excellent and I am saying this as a someone who was borne and raised at sea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great (unexpected) dinner in Rapid City!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We live downtown Chicago and love to go out dine in nice places. Honestly, we had low expectation regarding dinner downtown Rapid City, but this restaurant proved us wrong with excellent quality, decor, service and delicious steaks (better than most in Chicago). Great surprise!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Dakota newbi

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Relaxing and nice atmosphere. In town. Excellent service and food. We split a ribeye steak that melt in your mouth. Appetizers and salad selection notable. A la carte sides complimented entres well. Save room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal is always amazing, fresh and fl ...

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our meal is always amazing, fresh and flavorful. You will pay a little more but absolutely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food great. Beef prepared as ordered. Garlic mashed potatoes were great as side.

Tags: notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Between the quality of the food and our wonderful server Jenna, it was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a very long time. This was a business dinner with the CEO of the home party direct sales company that I work for and it was the perfect atmosphere. We left feeling cared for and filled with amazing food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and dining experience I have e ...

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Best food and dining experience I have ever had in 20 years!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Our server was very knowledgable and pleasant. Seemed to really know how to wait tables in a good testaurant. She took my salad plate away as soon as I was done, and then trid to take my husbands whle he was still eating-fork in hand! This is a constant problem in restaurants, in my opinion. But I was surprised it happened in a quality place with an apparently professional server.

The (?) Goldschmidt cab was lovely. Our steaks were good, bourbon mashed sweet potatoes also good. Decaf coffee was amazing! I wish I could make a cup of any coffee that good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our favorite date nite place

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Delmonico is our favorite date nite place in rapid city. Amazing food, Ambiance and the love the live piano playing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic. Wait staff was att ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Wait staff was attentive and professional, the food was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find In Rapid City

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We were in town for a meeting and found this yummy spot to have dinner with a group of 11 of us. Everything was delicious and we recommended it to other people attending our meeting. We will definitely go back if I ever make it out to Rapid City again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic good-bye dinner for my sister ...

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Fantastic good-bye dinner for my sister visiting from Massachusetts. She loved her steak, which was perfectly done medium rare. We only wish we could have saved room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food! The display of f ...

 
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great service and food! The display of food was beautiful and great quality. Everything was delicious! We had plenty of leftovers too! Our server personally boxed and bagged all of our leftovers and even labeled each box!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from the moment we walked ...

 
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in. Staff were very affable and accommodating, played with the kids and explained menu items in detail. Food was excellent with huge portions. We had a great experience and would return and recommend without hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice Downtown Restaurant

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu had a decent selection. The service was standard but nothing stood out. The food was prepared well and had good presentation. It was an older restaurant that was clean and had some upgrades but nothing high end on upgrades.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience, recommend to everyone

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiance and I are transplants to Rapid City and this place feels like home to us! We visit on every special occasion that we can. The food is AMAZING. The staff are kind, competent and friendly. We recommend to all of our friends to visit Delmonico's for a special night out. We will definitely be back as soon as we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived for our reservation to find that the table that was to be ours was still being used by people (just chatting with the check). We were in no big hurry, so opted to wait. 25 minutes later (and with a babysitter to pay), we asked if we could sit somewhere else. They apologized and said that they could sit us in a less "appealing" table. That was fine with us. However, only 5 minutes after sitting at that table another ("better") table opened up and they moved us - with complementary champagne! The staff was wonderful and very thoughtful! A great date night for my husband and I!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Evening

 
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We love going to Delmonico Grill for special occasions because they know how to treat their guests! We love the slow food movement so it works great for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost Perfection

 
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Every aspect of the dining experience was impeccable except for my steak was cooked rare when medium was requested. For $33 steak, it should be cooked to perfection every time in my opinion. However, the cut of meat was very good and I enjoyed the meal regardless of the undercooking. The entire party of 7 I was dining with had very good experiences as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

It was a very nice dining experience for ...

 
·Dined on February 6, 2016

It was a very nice dining experience for a friends birthday celebration. The food was excellent the menu has great variety along with the features. I am looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Week!

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I had such an awesome night out! We went for restaurant week and it was such a fun time! My only complaint is that people brought their small children. I understand a restaurant can't ban small children, but if they're making a ruckus, it's a bit distracting when you're out with people trying to have a conversation. Going out should be fun and not stressful and hearing kids screeching while trying to enjoy a nice meal, that I don't often get to indulge in, is a bummer. Other than that, the service and meal were amazing. Next time we will go later in the evening so as to avoid children.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top-notch food and service. Great downtown asset.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Top-notch food and service. A great asset for downtown and the entire Rapid City community. Overall, a very nice experience. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the "uptown feel" of the rest ...

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We enjoyed the "uptown feel" of the restaurant. Extremely friendly staff. My wife enjoyed her salmon, and I enjoyed the prime rib. Both were exceptional. So were the desserts. We've not been here before, but we'll certainly return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience!

 
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very good evening. Food was exceptional and our waiter, Paul, was on point!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.