About Delmonico Grill

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: 6057911664x

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Brie - Delmonico Grill, Rapid City, SD

Report a photo problem

Baked Brie - Delmonico Grill, Rapid City, SD

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
See All
Modern Decor (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (5)
Historic (5)
Live Music (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great ribeye! Cooked perfectly and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great ribeye! Cooked perfectly and very little waste. Would order it again. My wife had the pork chops. This is a great choice too! We also had a flourless chocolate desert that really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great, with a live pian ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance was great, with a live piano player playing soft tunes in the background. The sea scallop appetizer was phenomenal. Very tasty. I had the "Dolphin on Green" ribeye. A good steak, but not exceptional for the price. I expected something more tender, but overall very good. My wife had the fillet which was excellent. Service was prompt and attentive, but not overbearing. All in all it was a pleasant and satisfying experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Jennifer was wonderful. She ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Jennifer was wonderful. She added much to our dining experience and took impeccable care of our table

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We so enjoy coming here for a special da ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 4 days ago

We so enjoy coming here for a special date night. It's the first place we think of when we want to go somewhere special. Food is very tasty and out of the ordinary. The only complaint was the sweet potatoes were too buttery. Love the relaxing atmosphere. The piano player helps create that. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food like always and amazing servi ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food like always and amazing service by Taylor who took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and prepared the ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was excellent and prepared the way it was ordered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family to Delmonico's for New ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my family to Delmonico's for New Years Eve. This is a tradition for us. We have always had a delicious dinner and the service was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter wasn't familiar with the orig ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waiter wasn't familiar with the origin of the "Dolphinized" food options & gave a smug look for me asking. Our steaks were good, but not great (my rib eye needed seasoning) & not worth the price.

It seemed they were trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good food, excellent wait staff.. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good food, excellent wait staff.. People very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Rapid City! F ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Rapid City! Food is consistently excellent and the service is always very good and friendly. Food and wine menu extensive with many great choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and delicious dining. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent service and delicious dining. Would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and fresh tasting ingredi ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fantastic food and fresh tasting ingredients. We will continue to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and the ambiance was ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was great and the ambiance was lovely. I'm definitely going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect once again. Thanks for making ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Perfect once again. Thanks for making our 10th Anniversary special

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal after the annual ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a wonderful meal after the annual holiday light parade. The restaurant sat us in a lovely upper level table to enjoy our family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, fantastic service (Jessi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, fantastic service (Jessica), ambiance and decor is relaxing and very well done. Best scallops anywhere and perfectly prepared filet. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delmonicos provides excellent food along ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delmonicos provides excellent food along with amazing food and classy atmosphere. The service is outstanding. They focus very much on the social aspect of your dining experience. They wait until you finish one course to bring the next. They manage to provide the perfect amount of service where you will never be wanting but won't suffocate you and the conversation.

Amazing place to experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Bruschetta was awesome. C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great steaks. Bruschetta was awesome. Cheese platter is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful meal and our server, ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and our server, Daniel, did an excellent job!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been remodeled and is beautiful ins ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's been remodeled and is beautiful inside. The food has many levels of flavors and amazing very time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Historic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic service, excellent food, live ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent food, live (quiet) music--a wonderful place to have any type of meal! They have remodeled in the last year and the interior is modern but honors the history of the building. Overall a fantastic place to have a meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed in Rapid City for 4 night and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We stayed in Rapid City for 4 night and ate at Delmonico Grill 2 night because it was that delicious. The steaks are the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was overall delicious. Our one ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was overall delicious. Our one complaint would be it could have been warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local RC spot with quality food, n ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great local RC spot with quality food, nice ambiance & our waiter, Daniel was very knowledgeable & provided outstanding service. Wonderful experience & will definitely go back when I'm in town again! 👍

Tags: Historic, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dine here several times per Summer wh ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We dine here several times per Summer when we're in the Hills. Always remarkable beef dishes, friendly servers... we have a nice time on every visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing experience. Great foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Great food and service. Best place I've found in Rapid City.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was touted as one of the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This restaurant was touted as one of the best in Rapid City. Perhaps we hit it on a bad night, but it was Saturday. The place was well-appointed and inviting, but the food value just wasn't there. My wife and I both ordered the filet- mine was overcooked, despite my stressing how I wanted it done. The wrong soup was delivered, and the iceberg wedge salad I ordered was drowned in dressing. When I ordered a second draught, the waiter took my glass, even though it wasn't finished. Overall, a disappointing evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great meal as usual. The steaks are alwa ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal as usual. The steaks are always great but the prime rib sand which was awesome!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice menu and wine list. Our waiter kep ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice menu and wine list. Our waiter kept trying to upsell and wasn't really friendly to us. Maybe he pegged us as tourists but did not add to the experience of an otherwise nice evening with great food and nice ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great steak! The Delmonico is huge and g ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great steak! The Delmonico is huge and great taste, hIghly recommended for two or more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our annual visit to Rapid City wouldn't ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our annual visit to Rapid City wouldn't be complete without a dinner at Delmonico Grill. Gluten free is not an obstacle. Scallop dinner and filet perfectly professionally prepared. Flourless chocolate torte best anywhere. See you next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has become our go-to-place for lunc ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This has become our go-to-place for lunch for 4 of us gals who meet on a weekly basis. Very affordable specials and great food. Everyone is very friendly. Never heard of Del Monico until my granddaughter started serving there, now that is my first choice, even if she is not serving.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Ribeye steaks I've ever ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

One of the best Ribeye steaks I've ever had! I've eaten in many fine steak houses all over the country and this was delicious! The sides were also amazing and off the beaten path. The French Onion Soup was excellent too. After all was said and done, I was also pleased with the bill.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a must if you are in Rapid City! ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is a must if you are in Rapid City! From the first bite of foie gras I knew I was in for something special! The French onion soup was the best I have ever had, and my steak was cooked to perfection, the butterscotch pot de crème outstanding! There were four of us and all of us loved our dinners! Katie our server could not have done a better job, so attentive and helpful! I wish my town had a restaurant this great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than the prime rib being full of t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Other than the prime rib being full of tendons and very to tough and the rack of lamb not being offered that night, our food was phenomenal. Our server was not very attentive as she did not come to see how our food was other than when we initially started eating thus being stuck with a sub-par prime rib.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Decor is amazing. Staff was very nice an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Decor is amazing. Staff was very nice and helpful. We ordered the bone in rib eye for two and it was huge and delicious. French Onion soup is excellent. Creamed spinach was good. Creme Brûlée was ok nothing outstanding. Would recommend highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been longtime fans ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I have been longtime fans of Delmonico Grill and have celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries there. We were disappointed this time, however. The restaurant has become very noisy, so is no longer a place for a quiet romantic meal. The food is still good but the service was less accommodating than in the past. Not sure that we will continue to call this our favorite special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

39th wedding anniversary

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

39th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place for lunch. Eating the ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love this place for lunch. Eating the specials are less expensive than going to McDonalds and the atmosphere is wonderful!!! Thankful they use Open Table to make reservations. So far all of their staff have been wonderful!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico's served one of the best steak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delmonico's served one of the best steaks I have ever had!! My husband had the prime rib and that was just as spectacular. The staff was so awesome. We never had empty glasses and felt so welcome and comfortable!! This restaurant is a definite must!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.