About Delmonico Grill

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: 6057911664x

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Brie
Baked Brie

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My experience was amazing. Our waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

My experience was amazing. Our waitress Jessica was polite and always was available for us. The Prime rib with mashed !sweet potato were the best.

The only concern; they don't have espresso coffee. I strongly suggest that they provide it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They definitely live up to their Micheli ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

They definitely live up to their Michelin star. Amazing service , sommelier, and food. Flavours beautifully paired ! Quite possibly the best dining experience we've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the third year my wife and I at ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was the third year my wife and I ate at this restaurant while attending the Sturgis Rally. My wife and I did not enjoy the food at all. Rib eye was not cooked properly and for my wife, they no longer offered the chicken she had ordered before but now offered only a chicken sandwich which she did not like. We really enjoy this restaurant and will return again. I believe that this is an isolated case and not the norm. Hopefully they will bring back a chicken dinner as not everyone are beef or seafood eaters.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The special of the night - Parmesan Crus ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The special of the night - Parmesan Crusted Flounder - served on a chowder with mussels, was as good as you could find anywhere! Wow! And the Butterscotch pot-de-crème was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit since the redesign, grea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our first visit since the redesign, great new decor that blends upscale with modern and a little country (bones on the wall!). Daniel was an impeccable server throughout with great recommendations. Bacon wrapped shrimp app was divine and the steaks were cooked perfectly. The pianist was a unobtrusive backdrop that was pleasant and did not overrun table conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is much improved from 2 years a ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food is much improved from 2 years ago, and the ambiance also improved.

We had a very nice time and will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server was vey attentive and had a g ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was vey attentive and had a great attitude/sense of humor. The food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What is there to write when you dined th ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What is there to write when you dined there TWICE in one week..❤️❤️❤️

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very nice. I found t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. I found the atmosphere very professional and it let you have a personal conversation with your date without the need to shout. The food was not only delicious but very beautifully plated. Overall I found the dining experience wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sisters and I were visiting Rapid Cit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My sisters and I were visiting Rapid City for the very first time. We dined at Delmonico Grill three nights in a row. We really enjoyed the food, wine, service, and atmosphere. Everyone was joyful and happy to have us dine with them. We shared one recommendation - new desserts - lemon pound cake or cherry pie.

I highly recommend Delmonico Grill!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived from flying all- day to Rapid ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We arrived from flying all- day to Rapid City, SD.

Both our waiter and the manager were very accommodating... I had a cheese platter as my meal with a wonderful glass of wine. My husband had the Shrip Appetizer which was wonderful and also a burger... His words exactly, "The best burger I have EVER had."

We are going back tonight for A Real Dinner, the steaks at the tables around us looked OUTSTANDING....

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious meal and a delightful ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had a delicious meal and a delightful server.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was luke warm. Beer was luke w ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our food was luke warm. Beer was luke warm. Waited a while for them to bring us a cold beer. Taste was great though. Waitress was very nice. It was our first time there and I expected more for $40 a plate. Great flavor though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was WONDERFUL! Our server was great a ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was WONDERFUL! Our server was great and the food was delicious! I will definitely recommend it to my friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu. I wanted prime rib, didn' ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Limited menu. I wanted prime rib, didn't know it wasn't available on Tuesday's. Wife wanted walleye, it wasn't on the menu at all. I had a rib eye, it was good, but nothing special. For the price, I have had just as good if not better for less. We are in no hurry to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine dinning and overall the best we fou ...

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fine dinning and overall the best we found in Rapid City. Rates with the best bug city restaurants. Extremely friendly Midwestern people and great service from all. Menu has good variety and some interesting items. Honey Bourbon steak tips and Kona Crusted ribeye were both very good. In the very active Main Street area which is great for walking and shopping.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We raise Angus cattle and are very parti ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We raise Angus cattle and are very particular about our beef. The rib eye steaks were excellent along with superb service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a very good time and meal. It was ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a very good time and meal. It was our 40th anniversary . Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A very pleasant experience. This is a qu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A very pleasant experience. This is a quality steakhouse that would be competitive in any major metropolitan city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We both had beef (strip steak and prime ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We both had beef (strip steak and prime rib) and they were cooked perfectly. The sides were typical, no complaints. You go for the steak. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, personable service. Excellent ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Friendly, personable service. Excellent food. Only complaint was scallop appetizer: it looked like they took 1 scallop and sliced it into thirds (pretty lame move for the price). Otherwise, the steaks, sweet mash potatoes, and grilled veggies were outstanding. Desserts were delicious (my daughter couldn't get enough of the chocolate torte). They accommodated my wife's celiac without issue. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill sever ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill several times each year and have enjoyed the great service, nice wines and superb food. They maintain consistently high standards. This visit was no exception. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great we went there three nights in a ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

So great we went there three nights in a row! I've got food sensitivities and they took great care in making sure I could eat safely. Also, the coffee is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico Grill is Rapid City's finest restaurant!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Delmonico Grill is hands down the BEST fine dining Rapid City has to offer. It's menu is extraordinary with fine selections. The wine list is amazing and offers some of the BEST wines that you can find in this region.

The price is right for the amazing food! And, the wait staff are impeccable. If you are looking for dining that is "above" the ordinary and want excellent food and service, Delmonico Grill is your ticket!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service ever!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I proposed to my beautiful girlfriend on her birthday here. Best steaks we have ever enjoyed and my server and the Manger ensured it was the perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was nothing less than outstanding. Our server, Jessica, was exceptionally good; very personable, easy to talk with, and kept close tabs on us and our needs without hovering over us or butting in on conversation. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars across the board is that dinner in a fine dining establishment such as this shouldn't have the ambiance broken by the cries of infants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and w ...

vip
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and western South Dakota.

Lunch prices are very competitive. You can have lunch for less than $10 (daily lunch special starts at $8!!) but the food is of much better quality and imagination than at the other fast-food style restaurants in town. Seafood at this place is excellent and I am saying this as a someone who was borne and raised at sea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great (unexpected) dinner in Rapid City!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We live downtown Chicago and love to go out dine in nice places. Honestly, we had low expectation regarding dinner downtown Rapid City, but this restaurant proved us wrong with excellent quality, decor, service and delicious steaks (better than most in Chicago). Great surprise!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Dakota newbi

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Relaxing and nice atmosphere. In town. Excellent service and food. We split a ribeye steak that melt in your mouth. Appetizers and salad selection notable. A la carte sides complimented entres well. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal is always amazing, fresh and fl ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our meal is always amazing, fresh and flavorful. You will pay a little more but absolutely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food great. Beef prepared as ordered. Garlic mashed potatoes were great as side.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Between the quality of the food and our wonderful server Jenna, it was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a very long time. This was a business dinner with the CEO of the home party direct sales company that I work for and it was the perfect atmosphere. We left feeling cared for and filled with amazing food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and dining experience I have e ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Best food and dining experience I have ever had in 20 years!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Our server was very knowledgable and pleasant. Seemed to really know how to wait tables in a good testaurant. She took my salad plate away as soon as I was done, and then trid to take my husbands whle he was still eating-fork in hand! This is a constant problem in restaurants, in my opinion. But I was surprised it happened in a quality place with an apparently professional server.

The (?) Goldschmidt cab was lovely. Our steaks were good, bourbon mashed sweet potatoes also good. Decaf coffee was amazing! I wish I could make a cup of any coffee that good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our favorite date nite place

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Delmonico is our favorite date nite place in rapid city. Amazing food, Ambiance and the love the live piano playing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic. Wait staff was att ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Wait staff was attentive and professional, the food was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find In Rapid City

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We were in town for a meeting and found this yummy spot to have dinner with a group of 11 of us. Everything was delicious and we recommended it to other people attending our meeting. We will definitely go back if I ever make it out to Rapid City again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic good-bye dinner for my sister ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Fantastic good-bye dinner for my sister visiting from Massachusetts. She loved her steak, which was perfectly done medium rare. We only wish we could have saved room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food! The display of f ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great service and food! The display of food was beautiful and great quality. Everything was delicious! We had plenty of leftovers too! Our server personally boxed and bagged all of our leftovers and even labeled each box!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.