Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Delmonico Grill

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: (605) 791-1664

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Business Meals (13)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Live Music (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

We were visiting from out of town. Service was exquisite. Wish the steak was served on a hot rather than cold plate. Creamed spinach wasn't the best. My husband loved his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Pricy but worth it for a special occasion. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was very good and very enjoyable the waitress was above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best restaurant experiences I have had. Ribeye was perfect and the lamb was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Casual Fine Dining. Good place to visit over lunch without having to raise voice. Great food!!!!!
Very friendly!!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Pretentious for sure, ugh, but a great filet, perfectly prepared

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Searched for the "best" steakhouse in Rapid City, SD and was looking forward to a nice, dry-aged rib eye. While I did not expect Peter Luger's or Wolfgang Steakhouse (my favorite) quality, certainly the service was very similar to those steakhouses (wink, wink). Seemed like some few folks are still being trained (e.g., dripping water all over the floor while filling a water glass, random placement of utensil). After the soup / salad, waited over an hour for the main and notified that there is a party of 20 being served (somewhat understandable but this restaurant is not small and should be able to accommodate or at least notify us when we walked in). My son's fillet was good, and my foie gras side was good; however, my rib eye was at least 30% fat (took a picture) and my wife's scallop / risotto was too salty. I think this place is trying to be "good / fancy" but needs to address some basics. Just because the dishes look "modern" and decor is "modern" does not mean a restaurant is good / fancy. Good food with good services would be bare minimum for any restaurant - although great steakhouses really get away with just good food with lousy services :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent beef. A bit pricey, but worth it for the most part.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Visiting from out of state. Great find! Staff friendly and welcoming. Nice menu with lots of options. Beautiful piano played while we dined on Saturday. Returned two nights later for our final dinner in Rapid City. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Many interesting choices on the menu. Food is dependably delicious. Wait staff friendly and helpful. On this occasion, our food was very slow but that's not the norm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great service, delicious food, wonderful background music with live pianist. Good wine list. Thoroughly enjoyable evening. Ask for Taylor, she is knowledgeable, friendly, service oriented waitress.
Hope to get back there sometime.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Once again Delmonico's provided a lovely backdrop for an excellent dinner. The food and service were wonderful for our son's birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Reviewing 2 successive nights: Draft beers were good, buffalo tartar was pleasing, salads standard, both petite and large tenderloins were excellent and correctly cooked. Good creme brulee. Good and friendly service 1st night.
1st dinner on a Wed night was so good we came back Thurs. Bad idea! Thurs night service started reasonably well but deteriorated--slow, refilled tea pot (with teabag in it!) with coffee and took forever doing it! Buffalo tartar and chili were good. Petite tenderloin was good. Unfortunately strip steak, while well seasoned, was tough. Sent it back for a small tenderloin. Server was not friendly about it, almost surly. Didn't seem particularly concerned about the quality, but did exchange it for tenderloin. Charged for the strip steak but deducted price of the 2 beers.
Overall, interesting menu, esp. starters. Erratic service and meat quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My friend and I had prime rib (served only Fri and Sat); it was tough and lacked flavor. Jazz piano background music was fairly loud and distracting; will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A fine, fun evening. I was puzzled by unusually lengthy wait for entrees to be served. By the time I was uncomfortable enough to ask our server about it, the food was served. I'd never experienced as long a delay in many prior visits. Food was delicious when arrived though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Steak was pretty good but that was all. Way too pricy for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very nice dining experience. I know and love the staff, however it was the first time meeting our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Very pleased with the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food with a cozy atmosphere without being formal. Service was very good. I had the beef tips and they were excellent. They had an Asian flair that was really tasty. Good wine selection. Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

NCO of the year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good service. Food was good but sent steak back twice and still came back rare. I asked for medium well. They comped us a dessert for the trouble. Considering this is an expensive steak house the steak should be perfect.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great and it is such a beautiful place. Unfortunately my main meal was not hot so I didn't enjoy my meal for the price I payed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was very nice for a night away for me and hubby! Very classy feel and our steak was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Left a note suggesting that my date had some allergies- the server had recommendations ready to explain to my date without having to ask, making her feel important and allergies less of an embarrassment or hassle. Good service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great restaurant for a special occasion. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and reliably great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to go for a date night. The food is always exceptional, the wine options are encompassing, and the atmosphere couldn't be better.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Some of the best we've ever had. Food was really good, only issue keeping it from being a perfect 10 was that our steaks were cooked not quite as we expected my husbands medium steak was more medium rare, still bleeding and cool in the center, however my medium steak was cooked perfectly. The bruschetta was amazing. Make reservations. Spendy but really great service and nearly perfect food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fantastic.... We were a party of 6 with varied palates. Everyone was VERY happy with the food quality, taste and preparation. The double pork chop was amazing! The scallops in a risotto were some of the best i have eaten (and i have high expectations with a restaurant of this caliber) The staff was amazing....We were so happy that we gave them a gratuity way above normal. Best fine dining in Rapid City, imho.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves here. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was outstanding. We have been here a couple times before but every time we go, the good seems to get better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Have wanted to try Delmonico's, so restaurant week's 8 0z. prime rib with whipped sweet potatoes and crème brulee special sounded like a real deal! Made reservations online for 5:00 pm requesting a quiet spot for our anniversary meal. Upon arrival, there were about four people on the main level eating and the same number at the bar. The host took us past all the empty booths to seat us at the last booth closest to the kitchen and the bar. I told the host that I requested a quiet booth for our anniversary meal (MEANING not next to the kitchen or the bar).

Host then seated us midway down the aisle in a booth. Waitress was pleasant and took our drink orders. Hubby had wine, I asked for hot black tea - Mia offered Earl Grey or Chamomile, so I had a lemonade. The "whipped" sweet potatoes and prime ribs were soon in a reasonable amount of time. Unfortunately, the whipped sweets were actually a puree, which was difficult to eat with the fork and knife provided. The prime rib was cooked perfectly, but the cut was odd since it wasn't a thin slice of the whole rib roast. What would have been a normal slice of prime rib was cut in half yielding a top and bottom portion. And my hubby got the better half as he was able to consume his entirely, while my half had a bit of connective tissue and fatty bits .

The quality of the meat was a little disappointing, since the normal price for a 16 oz. prime rib is $39.00 with all sides ala carte. It wasn't horrible, but for $39.00 I expect something fork tender and melt-in-your-mouth. This wasn't that, so we won't chance spending twice as much as the restaurant week's full meal cost on a larger portion of prime rib that might be just as disappointing.

The crème brulee was quite good, but I've had quite good crème brulee at other Rapid City restaurants (that also serve hot black tea). The service was attentive and the ambience was nice. But the overall experience was "meh".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a great ribeye! Cooked perfectly and very little waste. Would order it again. My wife had the pork chops. This is a great choice too! We also had a flourless chocolate desert that really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ambiance was great, with a live piano player playing soft tunes in the background. The sea scallop appetizer was phenomenal. Very tasty. I had the "Dolphin on Green" ribeye. A good steak, but not exceptional for the price. I expected something more tender, but overall very good. My wife had the fillet which was excellent. Service was prompt and attentive, but not overbearing. All in all it was a pleasant and satisfying experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Jennifer was wonderful. She added much to our dining experience and took impeccable care of our table

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We so enjoy coming here for a special date night. It's the first place we think of when we want to go somewhere special. Food is very tasty and out of the ordinary. The only complaint was the sweet potatoes were too buttery. Love the relaxing atmosphere. The piano player helps create that. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food like always and amazing service by Taylor who took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was excellent and prepared the way it was ordered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my family to Delmonico's for New Years Eve. This is a tradition for us. We have always had a delicious dinner and the service was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waiter wasn't familiar with the origin of the "Dolphinized" food options & gave a smug look for me asking. Our steaks were good, but not great (my rib eye needed seasoning) & not worth the price.
It seemed they were trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good food, excellent wait staff.. People very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.