About Delmonico Grill

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: 6057911664x

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Brie - Delmonico Grill
Baked Brie - Delmonico Grill

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

Special Occasion (47)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a must if you are in Rapid City! ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is a must if you are in Rapid City! From the first bite of foie gras I knew I was in for something special! The French onion soup was the best I have ever had, and my steak was cooked to perfection, the butterscotch pot de crème outstanding! There were four of us and all of us loved our dinners! Katie our server could not have done a better job, so attentive and helpful! I wish my town had a restaurant this great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than the prime rib being full of t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Other than the prime rib being full of tendons and very to tough and the rack of lamb not being offered that night, our food was phenomenal. Our server was not very attentive as she did not come to see how our food was other than when we initially started eating thus being stuck with a sub-par prime rib.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Decor is amazing. Staff was very nice an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Decor is amazing. Staff was very nice and helpful. We ordered the bone in rib eye for two and it was huge and delicious. French Onion soup is excellent. Creamed spinach was good. Creme Brûlée was ok nothing outstanding. Would recommend highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been longtime fans ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I have been longtime fans of Delmonico Grill and have celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries there. We were disappointed this time, however. The restaurant has become very noisy, so is no longer a place for a quiet romantic meal. The food is still good but the service was less accommodating than in the past. Not sure that we will continue to call this our favorite special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

39th wedding anniversary

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

39th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place for lunch. Eating the ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love this place for lunch. Eating the specials are less expensive than going to McDonalds and the atmosphere is wonderful!!! Thankful they use Open Table to make reservations. So far all of their staff have been wonderful!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico's served one of the best steak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delmonico's served one of the best steaks I have ever had!! My husband had the prime rib and that was just as spectacular. The staff was so awesome. We never had empty glasses and felt so welcome and comfortable!! This restaurant is a definite must!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place for lunch, especia ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is a great place for lunch, especially if you have one of their specials. Less expensive than what you would get at fast food and much better. Every day it is the chefs choice for the half sandwich and soup. We were celebrating a birthday so after our lunch the 3 of us split their flourless chocolate torte. To die for with their cup of Douwe Egbet coffee. I did not even know about his place in downtown Rapid City until my granddaughter, Brooke, started working there. I have been there several times. Thank you Del Monico Grill for your excellent food and service. So friendly!!!!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Rapid City. Stopped for d ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great find in Rapid City. Stopped for dinner on a recent road trip. I had the Rib-eye and my wife Grilled Salmon. Everything was better than expected. Our waiter, Taylor did an excellent job. We will definitely go back if we get back in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My experience was amazing. Our waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My experience was amazing. Our waitress Jessica was polite and always was available for us. The Prime rib with mashed !sweet potato were the best.

The only concern; they don't have espresso coffee. I strongly suggest that they provide it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They definitely live up to their Micheli ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

They definitely live up to their Michelin star. Amazing service , sommelier, and food. Flavours beautifully paired ! Quite possibly the best dining experience we've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the third year my wife and I at ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was the third year my wife and I ate at this restaurant while attending the Sturgis Rally. My wife and I did not enjoy the food at all. Rib eye was not cooked properly and for my wife, they no longer offered the chicken she had ordered before but now offered only a chicken sandwich which she did not like. We really enjoy this restaurant and will return again. I believe that this is an isolated case and not the norm. Hopefully they will bring back a chicken dinner as not everyone are beef or seafood eaters.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The special of the night - Parmesan Crus ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The special of the night - Parmesan Crusted Flounder - served on a chowder with mussels, was as good as you could find anywhere! Wow! And the Butterscotch pot-de-crème was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit since the redesign, grea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our first visit since the redesign, great new decor that blends upscale with modern and a little country (bones on the wall!). Daniel was an impeccable server throughout with great recommendations. Bacon wrapped shrimp app was divine and the steaks were cooked perfectly. The pianist was a unobtrusive backdrop that was pleasant and did not overrun table conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is much improved from 2 years a ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food is much improved from 2 years ago, and the ambiance also improved.

We had a very nice time and will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server was vey attentive and had a g ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was vey attentive and had a great attitude/sense of humor. The food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What is there to write when you dined th ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What is there to write when you dined there TWICE in one week..❤️❤️❤️

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very nice. I found t ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. I found the atmosphere very professional and it let you have a personal conversation with your date without the need to shout. The food was not only delicious but very beautifully plated. Overall I found the dining experience wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sisters and I were visiting Rapid Cit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My sisters and I were visiting Rapid City for the very first time. We dined at Delmonico Grill three nights in a row. We really enjoyed the food, wine, service, and atmosphere. Everyone was joyful and happy to have us dine with them. We shared one recommendation - new desserts - lemon pound cake or cherry pie.

I highly recommend Delmonico Grill!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived from flying all- day to Rapid ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We arrived from flying all- day to Rapid City, SD.

Both our waiter and the manager were very accommodating... I had a cheese platter as my meal with a wonderful glass of wine. My husband had the Shrip Appetizer which was wonderful and also a burger... His words exactly, "The best burger I have EVER had."

We are going back tonight for A Real Dinner, the steaks at the tables around us looked OUTSTANDING....

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was fantastic! I sat a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service was fantastic! I sat at the bar and the bartender was very friendly and on top of her game in terms of service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious meal and a delightful ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had a delicious meal and a delightful server.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was luke warm. Beer was luke w ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our food was luke warm. Beer was luke warm. Waited a while for them to bring us a cold beer. Taste was great though. Waitress was very nice. It was our first time there and I expected more for $40 a plate. Great flavor though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was WONDERFUL! Our server was great a ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was WONDERFUL! Our server was great and the food was delicious! I will definitely recommend it to my friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu. I wanted prime rib, didn' ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Limited menu. I wanted prime rib, didn't know it wasn't available on Tuesday's. Wife wanted walleye, it wasn't on the menu at all. I had a rib eye, it was good, but nothing special. For the price, I have had just as good if not better for less. We are in no hurry to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine dinning and overall the best we fou ...

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fine dinning and overall the best we found in Rapid City. Rates with the best bug city restaurants. Extremely friendly Midwestern people and great service from all. Menu has good variety and some interesting items. Honey Bourbon steak tips and Kona Crusted ribeye were both very good. In the very active Main Street area which is great for walking and shopping.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We raise Angus cattle and are very parti ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We raise Angus cattle and are very particular about our beef. The rib eye steaks were excellent along with superb service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a very good time and meal. It was ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a very good time and meal. It was our 40th anniversary . Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A very pleasant experience. This is a qu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A very pleasant experience. This is a quality steakhouse that would be competitive in any major metropolitan city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We both had beef (strip steak and prime ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We both had beef (strip steak and prime rib) and they were cooked perfectly. The sides were typical, no complaints. You go for the steak. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, personable service. Excellent ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Friendly, personable service. Excellent food. Only complaint was scallop appetizer: it looked like they took 1 scallop and sliced it into thirds (pretty lame move for the price). Otherwise, the steaks, sweet mash potatoes, and grilled veggies were outstanding. Desserts were delicious (my daughter couldn't get enough of the chocolate torte). They accommodated my wife's celiac without issue. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill sever ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill several times each year and have enjoyed the great service, nice wines and superb food. They maintain consistently high standards. This visit was no exception. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great we went there three nights in a ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

So great we went there three nights in a row! I've got food sensitivities and they took great care in making sure I could eat safely. Also, the coffee is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico Grill is Rapid City's finest restaurant!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Delmonico Grill is hands down the BEST fine dining Rapid City has to offer. It's menu is extraordinary with fine selections. The wine list is amazing and offers some of the BEST wines that you can find in this region.

The price is right for the amazing food! And, the wait staff are impeccable. If you are looking for dining that is "above" the ordinary and want excellent food and service, Delmonico Grill is your ticket!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service ever!

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I proposed to my beautiful girlfriend on her birthday here. Best steaks we have ever enjoyed and my server and the Manger ensured it was the perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was nothing less than outstanding. Our server, Jessica, was exceptionally good; very personable, easy to talk with, and kept close tabs on us and our needs without hovering over us or butting in on conversation. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars across the board is that dinner in a fine dining establishment such as this shouldn't have the ambiance broken by the cries of infants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and w ...

vip
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and western South Dakota.

Lunch prices are very competitive. You can have lunch for less than $10 (daily lunch special starts at $8!!) but the food is of much better quality and imagination than at the other fast-food style restaurants in town. Seafood at this place is excellent and I am saying this as a someone who was borne and raised at sea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great (unexpected) dinner in Rapid City!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We live downtown Chicago and love to go out dine in nice places. Honestly, we had low expectation regarding dinner downtown Rapid City, but this restaurant proved us wrong with excellent quality, decor, service and delicious steaks (better than most in Chicago). Great surprise!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Dakota newbi

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Relaxing and nice atmosphere. In town. Excellent service and food. We split a ribeye steak that melt in your mouth. Appetizers and salad selection notable. A la carte sides complimented entres well. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.