About Delmonico Grill

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: 6057911664x

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Brie - Delmonico Grill, Rapid City, SD
Baked Brie - Delmonico Grill, Rapid City, SD

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great and the ambiance was ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great and the ambiance was lovely. I'm definitely going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect once again. Thanks for making ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Perfect once again. Thanks for making our 10th Anniversary special

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal after the annual ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a wonderful meal after the annual holiday light parade. The restaurant sat us in a lovely upper level table to enjoy our family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, fantastic service (Jessi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, fantastic service (Jessica), ambiance and decor is relaxing and very well done. Best scallops anywhere and perfectly prepared filet. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delmonicos provides excellent food along ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delmonicos provides excellent food along with amazing food and classy atmosphere. The service is outstanding. They focus very much on the social aspect of your dining experience. They wait until you finish one course to bring the next. They manage to provide the perfect amount of service where you will never be wanting but won't suffocate you and the conversation.

Amazing place to experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Bruschetta was awesome. C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great steaks. Bruschetta was awesome. Cheese platter is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful meal and our server, ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and our server, Daniel, did an excellent job!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been remodeled and is beautiful ins ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's been remodeled and is beautiful inside. The food has many levels of flavors and amazing very time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Historic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic service, excellent food, live ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent food, live (quiet) music--a wonderful place to have any type of meal! They have remodeled in the last year and the interior is modern but honors the history of the building. Overall a fantastic place to have a meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed in Rapid City for 4 night and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We stayed in Rapid City for 4 night and ate at Delmonico Grill 2 night because it was that delicious. The steaks are the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was overall delicious. Our one ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was overall delicious. Our one complaint would be it could have been warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local RC spot with quality food, n ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great local RC spot with quality food, nice ambiance & our waiter, Daniel was very knowledgeable & provided outstanding service. Wonderful experience & will definitely go back when I'm in town again! 👍

Tags: Historic, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dine here several times per Summer wh ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We dine here several times per Summer when we're in the Hills. Always remarkable beef dishes, friendly servers... we have a nice time on every visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing experience. Great foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Great food and service. Best place I've found in Rapid City.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was touted as one of the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This restaurant was touted as one of the best in Rapid City. Perhaps we hit it on a bad night, but it was Saturday. The place was well-appointed and inviting, but the food value just wasn't there. My wife and I both ordered the filet- mine was overcooked, despite my stressing how I wanted it done. The wrong soup was delivered, and the iceberg wedge salad I ordered was drowned in dressing. When I ordered a second draught, the waiter took my glass, even though it wasn't finished. Overall, a disappointing evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great meal as usual. The steaks are alwa ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal as usual. The steaks are always great but the prime rib sand which was awesome!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice menu and wine list. Our waiter kep ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice menu and wine list. Our waiter kept trying to upsell and wasn't really friendly to us. Maybe he pegged us as tourists but did not add to the experience of an otherwise nice evening with great food and nice ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great steak! The Delmonico is huge and g ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great steak! The Delmonico is huge and great taste, hIghly recommended for two or more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our annual visit to Rapid City wouldn't ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Our annual visit to Rapid City wouldn't be complete without a dinner at Delmonico Grill. Gluten free is not an obstacle. Scallop dinner and filet perfectly professionally prepared. Flourless chocolate torte best anywhere. See you next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has become our go-to-place for lunc ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This has become our go-to-place for lunch for 4 of us gals who meet on a weekly basis. Very affordable specials and great food. Everyone is very friendly. Never heard of Del Monico until my granddaughter started serving there, now that is my first choice, even if she is not serving.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Ribeye steaks I've ever ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

One of the best Ribeye steaks I've ever had! I've eaten in many fine steak houses all over the country and this was delicious! The sides were also amazing and off the beaten path. The French Onion Soup was excellent too. After all was said and done, I was also pleased with the bill.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a must if you are in Rapid City! ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is a must if you are in Rapid City! From the first bite of foie gras I knew I was in for something special! The French onion soup was the best I have ever had, and my steak was cooked to perfection, the butterscotch pot de crème outstanding! There were four of us and all of us loved our dinners! Katie our server could not have done a better job, so attentive and helpful! I wish my town had a restaurant this great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than the prime rib being full of t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Other than the prime rib being full of tendons and very to tough and the rack of lamb not being offered that night, our food was phenomenal. Our server was not very attentive as she did not come to see how our food was other than when we initially started eating thus being stuck with a sub-par prime rib.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Decor is amazing. Staff was very nice an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Decor is amazing. Staff was very nice and helpful. We ordered the bone in rib eye for two and it was huge and delicious. French Onion soup is excellent. Creamed spinach was good. Creme Brûlée was ok nothing outstanding. Would recommend highly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been longtime fans ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I have been longtime fans of Delmonico Grill and have celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries there. We were disappointed this time, however. The restaurant has become very noisy, so is no longer a place for a quiet romantic meal. The food is still good but the service was less accommodating than in the past. Not sure that we will continue to call this our favorite special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

39th wedding anniversary

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

39th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place for lunch. Eating the ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love this place for lunch. Eating the specials are less expensive than going to McDonalds and the atmosphere is wonderful!!! Thankful they use Open Table to make reservations. So far all of their staff have been wonderful!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico's served one of the best steak ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delmonico's served one of the best steaks I have ever had!! My husband had the prime rib and that was just as spectacular. The staff was so awesome. We never had empty glasses and felt so welcome and comfortable!! This restaurant is a definite must!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place for lunch, especia ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is a great place for lunch, especially if you have one of their specials. Less expensive than what you would get at fast food and much better. Every day it is the chefs choice for the half sandwich and soup. We were celebrating a birthday so after our lunch the 3 of us split their flourless chocolate torte. To die for with their cup of Douwe Egbet coffee. I did not even know about his place in downtown Rapid City until my granddaughter, Brooke, started working there. I have been there several times. Thank you Del Monico Grill for your excellent food and service. So friendly!!!!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Rapid City. Stopped for d ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great find in Rapid City. Stopped for dinner on a recent road trip. I had the Rib-eye and my wife Grilled Salmon. Everything was better than expected. Our waiter, Taylor did an excellent job. We will definitely go back if we get back in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My experience was amazing. Our waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My experience was amazing. Our waitress Jessica was polite and always was available for us. The Prime rib with mashed !sweet potato were the best.

The only concern; they don't have espresso coffee. I strongly suggest that they provide it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They definitely live up to their Micheli ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

They definitely live up to their Michelin star. Amazing service , sommelier, and food. Flavours beautifully paired ! Quite possibly the best dining experience we've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the third year my wife and I at ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was the third year my wife and I ate at this restaurant while attending the Sturgis Rally. My wife and I did not enjoy the food at all. Rib eye was not cooked properly and for my wife, they no longer offered the chicken she had ordered before but now offered only a chicken sandwich which she did not like. We really enjoy this restaurant and will return again. I believe that this is an isolated case and not the norm. Hopefully they will bring back a chicken dinner as not everyone are beef or seafood eaters.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The special of the night - Parmesan Crus ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The special of the night - Parmesan Crusted Flounder - served on a chowder with mussels, was as good as you could find anywhere! Wow! And the Butterscotch pot-de-crème was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit since the redesign, grea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our first visit since the redesign, great new decor that blends upscale with modern and a little country (bones on the wall!). Daniel was an impeccable server throughout with great recommendations. Bacon wrapped shrimp app was divine and the steaks were cooked perfectly. The pianist was a unobtrusive backdrop that was pleasant and did not overrun table conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is much improved from 2 years a ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food is much improved from 2 years ago, and the ambiance also improved.

We had a very nice time and will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server was vey attentive and had a g ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was vey attentive and had a great attitude/sense of humor. The food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What is there to write when you dined th ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 31, 2016

What is there to write when you dined there TWICE in one week..❤️❤️❤️

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very nice. I found t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. I found the atmosphere very professional and it let you have a personal conversation with your date without the need to shout. The food was not only delicious but very beautifully plated. Overall I found the dining experience wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sisters and I were visiting Rapid Cit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2016

My sisters and I were visiting Rapid City for the very first time. We dined at Delmonico Grill three nights in a row. We really enjoyed the food, wine, service, and atmosphere. Everyone was joyful and happy to have us dine with them. We shared one recommendation - new desserts - lemon pound cake or cherry pie.

I highly recommend Delmonico Grill!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.