Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Delmonico Grill

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: (605) 791-1664

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Romantic (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (6)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We happened to be in rapid city for work. My wife and I are not often impressed by restaurants butt we Loved delmonico grill. Loved the marrow bones design on the wall. Love the wine list. Love the manager drew. He worked pretty hard to make us happy and we appreciate his efforts. He was such a nice dude. I had the chili appetizer which has so much flavor. I also ordered a small loaf of bread for dunking. My wife had the scallop appetizer which had such s great sauce. The wedge salad with extra bacon is always a bonus. For entree my wife had a filet while I had the special of the day. Filet Oscar. I asked for a Pittsburgh medium rare. It was so amazing. I took pics bc this is my new standard for Pittsburgh medium rare. The wine list is great fir a small town. The prices are Great too compared to our big city restaurants . We went back a second night for a business meeting and the food was just as great. Of course we ordered extra wine ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my favorite place for lunch. Everyone is super friendly and very knowledgable servers. Love their daily sandwich special. always different.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Splendid! Enjoyed by our entire party of 6.
Each ordered something different and we're pleased how good each entree tasted. Fun selection

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was great. Nice wine list however, we prefer a cocktail before dinner. Not sure ther isn't a full bar but that would have made our dining experience more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Rapid City. Service is always phenomenal and the food even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding surprise in downtown Rapid City. We were visiting from northern CA, and were very happy to see a well-chosen and well-priced wine list to go with the outstanding steaks and sides! Very nice and efficient server (military spouse), and comfortable seating - thoroughly enjoyable!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2017

You MUST try the Bison Tartare! Our server was outstanding and we loved the restaurant decor and menu selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. Ambiance was very nice. Server couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

A quality experience lovely Pinot Gris to start, excellent tuna . My wife had the Parmesan crusted chicken and I had the filllet steak both were excellent. The Californian Malbec was a real find. Katie the waitress was lovely and efficient. For our short stay in Rapid Ciry this was a real find we would go back, not cheap but worth it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great service and food was excellent! Steaks cooked exactly as ordered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

They serve a lot of food. Best place in Rapid City

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My filet was wonderful but my friend's ny strip was tough as nails she said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

An unbelievable gem in the heart of rapid city's beautiful downtown

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful as always. Brought 2 gals for their first time and they were so impressed. Brooke was an attentive and joyful server. Introduced gals to Jessica also. We all had sandwich special and I treated them to the chocolate torte and coffee. We were there for 3 hours. Thank you, Del Monico.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Delicious and outstanding service. They have a great menu selection

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Was having a couples night out. Our server Jamie was helpful, pleasant and attentive. We have been here several times and will be many more. The food is always fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Steaks were excellent here and service as well. While initially being offered, yet again when reserving through Open Table, an unacceptable table, the staff were quick to switch us to a good booth. Everything else was excellent and we enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Lovely sophisticated dinner after a long day of driving thru the plains. Felt like I was in Chicago at a fine dining restaurant. Waitress was amazing. Food and wibe great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I love their lunch specials. Never had the same sandwich. The shaved prime rib sandwich was great except i wish the bread had been toasted well on both sides as tomato made bread soggy so took it off and ate the meat etc. with fork. Of all the times I've eaten here, this is the first suggestion for the chef next time. Great place to get together w friends because you can actually visit without talkng loud. Brooke was a super server. I'm prejudice because she's my granddaughter. All their servers are very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Delicious as always! Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful 50th Anniversary dinner with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very tasty. Hubby had the double pork chop and I had the Special of the Day - yellowtail fish. Both were so awesome. The double pork chop takes awhile to cook (its not two pork chops, it's one big hunk of meat) but it's worth it, the apple reduction sauce is to die for. The yellowtail was delicious, the skin was nice and crispy and the feta hushpuppies were divine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing food and even better service! I will go back every time I'm in Rapid City!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent flavor & food. Excellent service. Best food in this town.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We loved our meal at Delmonicos! Started with the tuna and oysters and had the ribeye for a main course. We should of split the steak as we over ordered.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Delmonico grill was really good. Great food, fantastic amd knowledgeable servers. Would have rated it 5 stars across the board except for a couple of things. While the steaks were very tasty, the price for the taste I feel was not quite as good as it could have been. Dont get me wrong still tasty, but for that kind of money I wamted a knock your socks off steak. The highlight of the food were the sides. Best french onion soup I have ever had, plus the sweet potatoes amd creamed spinach were perfect. Dessert of butterscotch pot of crem was amazing too! Only other negative was the seating. My wife amd I were celebrating our 7th anniversary and we got put at a very small table on a shared bench style booth. No privacy, and there was little to no light at our table to read the menu. Overall great experience though, would definetly visit again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My Wife and I celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. The staff and the kitchen made this one of our best, all around, dining experiences in our 16 years of being together. Hard off to Delmonico.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Was as wonderful as usual. My place to go for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here, and could not have been happier with the food, service, and overall atmosphere! Steaks are the thing here, although they also have other good choices. The bourbon sweet potato side was excellent, the butterscotch pot de creme a perfect conclusion, and Jessica our waitress was outstanding! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our food was fabulous like always and my favorite server was so attentive, Brooke Dilley, even though we are family. I love their creativity with the sandwich special. I am a forever lunchtimer.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a classy place with excellent service. The wine list is good and they do beef like no one else in the area. Desserts are also excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Ribeye was overlooked
Mentioned to server & they did nothing about it
My wife's filet was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everyone loved there appetizers and meals. We Only had 1 of 4 steaks slightly overcooked but otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our meals and would recommend this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I shared the Delmonico steak. It was the best steak I've ever had. And the best meal I've ever had. I hope they continue to serve such wonderfully prepared food. We will be going back and getting the exact same thing. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Average restaurant Food was above average
But cost not in line with food. Service was good. Have eaten at restaurants where food
was better and cost less!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food, wonderful ambience, relaxing with live piano music every night. Best prime rib and chili in the Black Hills, unique meal combos, massive wine list. Service is always friendly, suggest reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Limited menu but if you want a really good steak this is the place to go.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and an amazing meal. A bonus was our server, Jessica. She was charming and attentive and made us feel welcome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent prime steaks. Excellent service. Good overall menu with a reasonable choice of entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was our anniversary and I added it to our Open Table, not one person even mention it, so not even an offer of a dessert.
Our waitress was outstanding and most likely wasn't informed.
We were a little disappointed, but her service over came it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.