About Delmonico Grill

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: (605) 791-1664

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Music (4)
Historic (4)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

NCO of the year

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

NCO of the year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. Food was good but sent ste ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 6 days ago

Good service. Food was good but sent steak back twice and still came back rare. I asked for medium well. They comped us a dessert for the trouble. Considering this is an expensive steak house the steak should be perfect.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was great and it is such a beaut ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great and it is such a beautiful place. Unfortunately my main meal was not hot so I didn't enjoy my meal for the price I payed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very nice for a night away for me an ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was very nice for a night away for me and hubby! Very classy feel and our steak was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Left a note suggesting that my date had ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Left a note suggesting that my date had some allergies- the server had recommendations ready to explain to my date without having to ask, making her feel important and allergies less of an embarrassment or hassle. Good service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for a special occasion. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great restaurant for a special occasion. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and reliably great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places to go ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to go for a date night. The food is always exceptional, the wine options are encompassing, and the atmosphere couldn't be better.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Some of the best ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Some of the best we've ever had. Food was really good, only issue keeping it from being a perfect 10 was that our steaks were cooked not quite as we expected my husbands medium steak was more medium rare, still bleeding and cool in the center, however my medium steak was cooked perfectly. The bruschetta was amazing. Make reservations. Spendy but really great service and nearly perfect food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic.... We were a party of 6 with ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fantastic.... We were a party of 6 with varied palates. Everyone was VERY happy with the food quality, taste and preparation. The double pork chop was amazing! The scallops in a risotto were some of the best i have eaten (and i have high expectations with a restaurant of this caliber) The staff was amazing....We were so happy that we gave them a gratuity way above normal. Best fine dining in Rapid City, imho.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed ourselves here. Our wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves here. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was outstanding. We have been here a couple times before but every time we go, the good seems to get better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have wanted to try Delmonico's, so resta ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Have wanted to try Delmonico's, so restaurant week's 8 0z. prime rib with whipped sweet potatoes and crème brulee special sounded like a real deal! Made reservations online for 5:00 pm requesting a quiet spot for our anniversary meal. Upon arrival, there were about four people on the main level eating and the same number at the bar. The host took us past all the empty booths to seat us at the last booth closest to the kitchen and the bar. I told the host that I requested a quiet booth for our anniversary meal (MEANING not next to the kitchen or the bar).

Host then seated us midway down the aisle in a booth. Waitress was pleasant and took our drink orders. Hubby had wine, I asked for hot black tea - Mia offered Earl Grey or Chamomile, so I had a lemonade. The "whipped" sweet potatoes and prime ribs were soon in a reasonable amount of time. Unfortunately, the whipped sweets were actually a puree, which was difficult to eat with the fork and knife provided. The prime rib was cooked perfectly, but the cut was odd since it wasn't a thin slice of the whole rib roast. What would have been a normal slice of prime rib was cut in half yielding a top and bottom portion. And my hubby got the better half as he was able to consume his entirely, while my half had a bit of connective tissue and fatty bits .

The quality of the meat was a little disappointing, since the normal price for a 16 oz. prime rib is $39.00 with all sides ala carte. It wasn't horrible, but for $39.00 I expect something fork tender and melt-in-your-mouth. This wasn't that, so we won't chance spending twice as much as the restaurant week's full meal cost on a larger portion of prime rib that might be just as disappointing.

The crème brulee was quite good, but I've had quite good crème brulee at other Rapid City restaurants (that also serve hot black tea). The service was attentive and the ambience was nice. But the overall experience was "meh".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had a great ribeye! Cooked perfectly and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a great ribeye! Cooked perfectly and very little waste. Would order it again. My wife had the pork chops. This is a great choice too! We also had a flourless chocolate desert that really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great, with a live pian ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ambiance was great, with a live piano player playing soft tunes in the background. The sea scallop appetizer was phenomenal. Very tasty. I had the "Dolphin on Green" ribeye. A good steak, but not exceptional for the price. I expected something more tender, but overall very good. My wife had the fillet which was excellent. Service was prompt and attentive, but not overbearing. All in all it was a pleasant and satisfying experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Jennifer was wonderful. She ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our server Jennifer was wonderful. She added much to our dining experience and took impeccable care of our table

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We so enjoy coming here for a special da ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We so enjoy coming here for a special date night. It's the first place we think of when we want to go somewhere special. Food is very tasty and out of the ordinary. The only complaint was the sweet potatoes were too buttery. Love the relaxing atmosphere. The piano player helps create that. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food like always and amazing servi ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food like always and amazing service by Taylor who took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and prepared the ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was excellent and prepared the way it was ordered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family to Delmonico's for New ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my family to Delmonico's for New Years Eve. This is a tradition for us. We have always had a delicious dinner and the service was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter wasn't familiar with the orig ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waiter wasn't familiar with the origin of the "Dolphinized" food options & gave a smug look for me asking. Our steaks were good, but not great (my rib eye needed seasoning) & not worth the price.

It seemed they were trying too hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good food, excellent wait staff.. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good food, excellent wait staff.. People very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Rapid City! F ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Rapid City! Food is consistently excellent and the service is always very good and friendly. Food and wine menu extensive with many great choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and delicious dining. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent service and delicious dining. Would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and fresh tasting ingredi ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fantastic food and fresh tasting ingredients. We will continue to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and the ambiance was ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was great and the ambiance was lovely. I'm definitely going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect once again. Thanks for making ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Perfect once again. Thanks for making our 10th Anniversary special

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal after the annual ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a wonderful meal after the annual holiday light parade. The restaurant sat us in a lovely upper level table to enjoy our family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, fantastic service (Jessi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, fantastic service (Jessica), ambiance and decor is relaxing and very well done. Best scallops anywhere and perfectly prepared filet. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delmonicos provides excellent food along ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delmonicos provides excellent food along with amazing food and classy atmosphere. The service is outstanding. They focus very much on the social aspect of your dining experience. They wait until you finish one course to bring the next. They manage to provide the perfect amount of service where you will never be wanting but won't suffocate you and the conversation.

Amazing place to experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Bruschetta was awesome. C ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great steaks. Bruschetta was awesome. Cheese platter is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful meal and our server, ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and our server, Daniel, did an excellent job!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been remodeled and is beautiful ins ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's been remodeled and is beautiful inside. The food has many levels of flavors and amazing very time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Historic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic service, excellent food, live ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent food, live (quiet) music--a wonderful place to have any type of meal! They have remodeled in the last year and the interior is modern but honors the history of the building. Overall a fantastic place to have a meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed in Rapid City for 4 night and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We stayed in Rapid City for 4 night and ate at Delmonico Grill 2 night because it was that delicious. The steaks are the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was overall delicious. Our one ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was overall delicious. Our one complaint would be it could have been warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local RC spot with quality food, n ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great local RC spot with quality food, nice ambiance & our waiter, Daniel was very knowledgeable & provided outstanding service. Wonderful experience & will definitely go back when I'm in town again! 👍

Tags: Historic, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dine here several times per Summer wh ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We dine here several times per Summer when we're in the Hills. Always remarkable beef dishes, friendly servers... we have a nice time on every visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing experience. Great foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Great food and service. Best place I've found in Rapid City.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was touted as one of the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This restaurant was touted as one of the best in Rapid City. Perhaps we hit it on a bad night, but it was Saturday. The place was well-appointed and inviting, but the food value just wasn't there. My wife and I both ordered the filet- mine was overcooked, despite my stressing how I wanted it done. The wrong soup was delivered, and the iceberg wedge salad I ordered was drowned in dressing. When I ordered a second draught, the waiter took my glass, even though it wasn't finished. Overall, a disappointing evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great meal as usual. The steaks are alwa ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal as usual. The steaks are always great but the prime rib sand which was awesome!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice menu and wine list. Our waiter kep ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice menu and wine list. Our waiter kept trying to upsell and wasn't really friendly to us. Maybe he pegged us as tourists but did not add to the experience of an otherwise nice evening with great food and nice ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.