Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Delmonico Grill

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: (605) 791-1664

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Romantic (16)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Delmonico grill was really good. Great food, fantastic amd knowledgeable servers. Would have rated it 5 stars across the board except for a couple of things. While the steaks were very tasty, the price for the taste I feel was not quite as good as it could have been. Dont get me wrong still tasty, but for that kind of money I wamted a knock your socks off steak. The highlight of the food were the sides. Best french onion soup I have ever had, plus the sweet potatoes amd creamed spinach were perfect. Dessert of butterscotch pot of crem was amazing too! Only other negative was the seating. My wife amd I were celebrating our 7th anniversary and we got put at a very small table on a shared bench style booth. No privacy, and there was little to no light at our table to read the menu. Overall great experience though, would definetly visit again for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

My Wife and I celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. The staff and the kitchen made this one of our best, all around, dining experiences in our 16 years of being together. Hard off to Delmonico.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Was as wonderful as usual. My place to go for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here, and could not have been happier with the food, service, and overall atmosphere! Steaks are the thing here, although they also have other good choices. The bourbon sweet potato side was excellent, the butterscotch pot de creme a perfect conclusion, and Jessica our waitress was outstanding! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our food was fabulous like always and my favorite server was so attentive, Brooke Dilley, even though we are family. I love their creativity with the sandwich special. I am a forever lunchtimer.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a classy place with excellent service. The wine list is good and they do beef like no one else in the area. Desserts are also excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Ribeye was overlooked
Mentioned to server & they did nothing about it
My wife's filet was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everyone loved there appetizers and meals. We Only had 1 of 4 steaks slightly overcooked but otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our meals and would recommend this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I shared the Delmonico steak. It was the best steak I've ever had. And the best meal I've ever had. I hope they continue to serve such wonderfully prepared food. We will be going back and getting the exact same thing. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Average restaurant Food was above average
But cost not in line with food. Service was good. Have eaten at restaurants where food
was better and cost less!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Expensive but worth it. Excellent food, wonderful ambience, relaxing with live piano music every night. Best prime rib and chili in the Black Hills, unique meal combos, massive wine list. Service is always friendly, suggest reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Limited menu but if you want a really good steak this is the place to go.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and an amazing meal. A bonus was our server, Jessica. She was charming and attentive and made us feel welcome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent prime steaks. Excellent service. Good overall menu with a reasonable choice of entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was our anniversary and I added it to our Open Table, not one person even mention it, so not even an offer of a dessert.
Our waitress was outstanding and most likely wasn't informed.
We were a little disappointed, but her service over came it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. We had the scallops, foie gras, and bison burger. Everything perfectly prepared. Superb service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent food and Daniel provided attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We were in town on vacation and celebrating our anniversary. Our waiter was very attentive and the food was well prepared. The restaurant was also in a great location for a stroll after dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love going to Delmonico for lunch and I always have their sandwich special because I've never had the same sandwich twice they are so creative and everything is so good great ambiance and wonderful service super friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food and great service! It was one of the best steaks I've had in awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Visiting Keystone and decided against the local fast food. This was a terrific find with great food, excellent service and a relaxing environment. We even had two children with us and they were beyond accommodating even though they ate off the adult menu. The Main Street is wonderful to stroll on and I highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Very classy restaurant; I'd say the nicest in the Rapid City area. This isn't a place to wear t-shirts and flip-flops, although some people still do. Make a reservation if you plan on going and expect a nice, classy place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good food and service, but would have liked a little background music.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Better than the first experience. The foods was better and the service much improved. In face I would say the waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Probably the best choice in Rapid City. Disappointed with the service, as the waiter did not seem to care - I guess everyone is a tourist to him? Charged for a order of mushrooms when the 2 of us did not have the soup/salad started and only had 1 standard side. I guess he had no discretion to waive the $3 for the mushrooms. Speaks to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I love this place for lunch. I always order the daily half sandwich special. Very creative sandwiches made by the chef. The staff makes you feel so welcome and the servers are so pleasant and attentive. My granddaughter, Brooke, works there and that's how I found out about this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the food. My husband's tuna was exceptional. The roe infused with wasabi was a perfect accompaniment adding a delightful texture and taste element. My tenderloin was flavorful and the carrot purée and seasonal grilled veggies were a perfect and out-of-the-ordinary partner to a steak.

We appreciate a thoughtful and skilled chef. Delmonico's delivered on both.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Quiet ambiance, upscale restaurant with appropriate decor for such a steakhouse. Menu offered an excellent items, with a wide selection of choices. There were two of us, and both our steaks were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very good steaks. They do not serve liquor if you are looking for a cocktail. The wine list was fine though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Great place for a steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was impeccable Jessica was awesome as a server. Food was prepared as we ordered

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were visiting from out of town. Service was exquisite. Wish the steak was served on a hot rather than cold plate. Creamed spinach wasn't the best. My husband loved his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Service was exceptionally slow given it was a Wednesday evening. We went there to celebrate a special occasion and knew it would be more expensive compared to other alternatives which was fine with us. We were disappointed with the food which was OK at best, I except much more from a restaurant, especially one that caters to RC's "high end" clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Pricy but worth it for a special occasion. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was very good and very enjoyable the waitress was above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always a Winner - The food and service at Delmonico's is great. This was our first trip there for lunch. We had the bison burger that was prepared perfectly. Even the fries were delightful. Jme (like Jamie) our server was very friendly and attentive. This restaurant has a winning formula.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best restaurant experiences I have had. Ribeye was perfect and the lamb was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always Consistent - We love Delmonico's. The food and service is outstanding. Jme (pronounced the same as Jamie) our server is a real pro, personally and very professional. The maître de was very friendly too and spent time chatting with us. Not much more to say other than it's the place to go for lunch or dinner in Rapid City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Casual Fine Dining. Good place to visit over lunch without having to raise voice. Great food!!!!!
Very friendly!!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Pretentious for sure, ugh, but a great filet, perfectly prepared

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.