About Delmonico Grill

609 Main Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, Delmonico Grill brings a jazzy metropolitan feel to our small city. Escape from your busy day with good food, a fun atmosphere and great service!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between 6th and 7th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-1664

Website:
http://www.delmonicogrill.biz/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as well as a number of public lots and parking garage in the downtown area. Shuttle services are also offered by many of the hotels.

Public Transit:
Trolley cars run for special events and all summer tourist season. Taxi service also available.

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Klinkel

Private Party Facilities:
Our mezzanine area is available for use for a more private dining experience. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Drew or Paul: 6057911664x

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Brie
Baked Brie

Delmonico Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
5 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Special Occasion
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

special occasion (39)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill sever ...

Dined 6 days ago

We usually dine at Delmonico Grill several times each year and have enjoyed the great service, nice wines and superb food. They maintain consistently high standards. This visit was no exception. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great we went there three nights in a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

So great we went there three nights in a row! I've got food sensitivities and they took great care in making sure I could eat safely. Also, the coffee is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delmonico Grill is Rapid City's finest restaurant!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Delmonico Grill is hands down the BEST fine dining Rapid City has to offer. It's menu is extraordinary with fine selections. The wine list is amazing and offers some of the BEST wines that you can find in this region. The price is right for the amazing food! And, the wait staff are impeccable. If you are looking for dining that is "above" the ordinary and want excellent food and service, Delmonico Grill is your ticket!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service ever!

Dined on June 4, 2016

I proposed to my beautiful girlfriend on her birthday here. Best steaks we have ever enjoyed and my server and the Manger ensured it was the perfect experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was nothing less than outstanding. Our server, Jessica, was exceptionally good; very personable, easy to talk with, and kept close tabs on us and our needs without hovering over us or butting in on conversation. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars across the board is that dinner in a fine dining establishment such as this shouldn't have the ambiance broken by the cries of infants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and w ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Best restaurant in the Black Hills and western South Dakota. Lunch prices are very competitive. You can have lunch for less than $10 (daily lunch special starts at $8!!) but the food is of much better quality and imagination than at the other fast-food style restaurants in town. Seafood at this place is excellent and I am saying this as a someone who was borne and raised at sea!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great (unexpected) dinner in Rapid City!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We live downtown Chicago and love to go out dine in nice places. Honestly, we had low expectation regarding dinner downtown Rapid City, but this restaurant proved us wrong with excellent quality, decor, service and delicious steaks (better than most in Chicago). Great surprise!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Dakota newbi

Dined on May 29, 2016

Relaxing and nice atmosphere. In town. Excellent service and food. We split a ribeye steak that melt in your mouth. Appetizers and salad selection notable. A la carte sides complimented entres well. Save room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal is always amazing, fresh and fl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our meal is always amazing, fresh and flavorful. You will pay a little more but absolutely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food great. Beef prepared as ordered. Garlic mashed potatoes were great as side.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal

Dined on April 29, 2016

Between the quality of the food and our wonderful server Jenna, it was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a very long time. This was a business dinner with the CEO of the home party direct sales company that I work for and it was the perfect atmosphere. We left feeling cared for and filled with amazing food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best food and dining experience I have e ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best food and dining experience I have ever had in 20 years!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

very nice

Dined on April 13, 2016

Our server was very knowledgable and pleasant. Seemed to really know how to wait tables in a good testaurant. She took my salad plate away as soon as I was done, and then trid to take my husbands whle he was still eating-fork in hand! This is a constant problem in restaurants, in my opinion. But I was surprised it happened in a quality place with an apparently professional server. The (?) Goldschmidt cab was lovely. Our steaks were good, bourbon mashed sweet potatoes also good. Decaf coffee was amazing! I wish I could make a cup of any coffee that good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite date nite place

Dined on April 2, 2016

Delmonico is our favorite date nite place in rapid city. Amazing food, Ambiance and the love the live piano playing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic. Wait staff was att ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Wait staff was attentive and professional, the food was out of this world.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find In Rapid City

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We were in town for a meeting and found this yummy spot to have dinner with a group of 11 of us. Everything was delicious and we recommended it to other people attending our meeting. We will definitely go back if I ever make it out to Rapid City again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic good-bye dinner for my sister ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Fantastic good-bye dinner for my sister visiting from Massachusetts. She loved her steak, which was perfectly done medium rare. We only wish we could have saved room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food! The display of f ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great service and food! The display of food was beautiful and great quality. Everything was delicious! We had plenty of leftovers too! Our server personally boxed and bagged all of our leftovers and even labeled each box!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service from the moment we walked ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in. Staff were very affable and accommodating, played with the kids and explained menu items in detail. Food was excellent with huge portions. We had a great experience and would return and recommend without hesitation.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Downtown Restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu had a decent selection. The service was standard but nothing stood out. The food was prepared well and had good presentation. It was an older restaurant that was clean and had some upgrades but nothing high end on upgrades.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience, recommend to everyone

Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiance and I are transplants to Rapid City and this place feels like home to us! We visit on every special occasion that we can. The food is AMAZING. The staff are kind, competent and friendly. We recommend to all of our friends to visit Delmonico's for a special night out. We will definitely be back as soon as we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived for our reservation to find that the table that was to be ours was still being used by people (just chatting with the check). We were in no big hurry, so opted to wait. 25 minutes later (and with a babysitter to pay), we asked if we could sit somewhere else. They apologized and said that they could sit us in a less "appealing" table. That was fine with us. However, only 5 minutes after sitting at that table another ("better") table opened up and they moved us - with complementary champagne! The staff was wonderful and very thoughtful! A great date night for my husband and I!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Evening

Dined on February 12, 2016

We love going to Delmonico Grill for special occasions because they know how to treat their guests! We love the slow food movement so it works great for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Almost Perfection

Dined on February 11, 2016

Every aspect of the dining experience was impeccable except for my steak was cooked rare when medium was requested. For $33 steak, it should be cooked to perfection every time in my opinion. However, the cut of meat was very good and I enjoyed the meal regardless of the undercooking. The entire party of 7 I was dining with had very good experiences as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very nice dining experience for ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was a very nice dining experience for a friends birthday celebration. The food was excellent the menu has great variety along with the features. I am looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Week!

Dined on January 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I had such an awesome night out! We went for restaurant week and it was such a fun time! My only complaint is that people brought their small children. I understand a restaurant can't ban small children, but if they're making a ruckus, it's a bit distracting when you're out with people trying to have a conversation. Going out should be fun and not stressful and hearing kids screeching while trying to enjoy a nice meal, that I don't often get to indulge in, is a bummer. Other than that, the service and meal were amazing. Next time we will go later in the evening so as to avoid children.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top-notch food and service. Great downtown asset.

Dined on January 24, 2016

Top-notch food and service. A great asset for downtown and the entire Rapid City community. Overall, a very nice experience. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the "uptown feel" of the rest ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

We enjoyed the "uptown feel" of the restaurant. Extremely friendly staff. My wife enjoyed her salmon, and I enjoyed the prime rib. Both were exceptional. So were the desserts. We've not been here before, but we'll certainly return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great experience!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Very good evening. Food was exceptional and our waiter, Paul, was on point!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

The food is delicious. I'm not sure if t ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

The food is delicious. I'm not sure if they were having an off night (it was Jan 1st) but both of our steaks came out under done. I ordered medium rare, and it was rare at best. My wife ordered medium and when we asked the manager on duty what he thought it was, he said a shade under medium rare. After sending it back, it was still on the rare side of medium. Otherwise, the food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef surprised us again the food wa ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The chef surprised us again the food was wonderful the atmosphere was great. We came here to celebrate New Year's Eve with my husband and my two daughters it's become a yearly tradition I would highly recommend this restaurant to eat at . You will not be disappointed .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soooo flavorful

Dined on December 23, 2015

Everything was delicious, but the butterscotch pot-de-crime is outrageously good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. Molly wonderful!

Dined on December 17, 2015

We had a wonderful meal!!!!And Molly our waitress was so Great!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Halloween Treat

Dined on November 1, 2015

Spent halloween night eating a great meal in lieu of handing out candy. We made the best choice! The food was awesome and plentiful with plenty for take home. Wine selection was top notch. We saved room for desert and glad we did. The waitress was very helpful and friendly, not easy to find these days. Happy Halloween!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We chose the Delmonico Grill for our 25t ...

Dined on October 28, 2015

We chose the Delmonico Grill for our 25th anniversary and weren't disappointed. The service was prompt and attentive and the large ribeye steaks were prepared just as we had requested. Overall a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! The staff were ...

Dined on October 27, 2015

The food was delicious! The staff were friendly and courteous yet professional. The wine selection was fine. It was a busy evening yet we were able to visit at our table and hear each other just fine. All in all a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Saturday night in Rapid City

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Rapid City has a very interesting food scene. Delmonico's from everything we read seemed to be the top spot for food and in price. Our Cabernet wine choice from California Katherine Goldschmidt was served at the proper temperature and tasted great. I started with a creamy cauliflower soup and others had salads that did not disappoint. The Ribeyes, strip steaks were all perfect. The Expresso (decaf) rub annd a cinnamon wine reduction worked great. Mushrooms, Truffle fries, Sweet potatoes and creamed spinach were all excellent. The only slight down was the homemade ice cream came to the table a bit melted. All other desserts and coffee was perfect. We all had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5

undercooked

Dined on October 21, 2015

Steak was ordered medium but when served at table was very rare. Requested they recook it which they did, but when brought back still very rare. Server was very helpful but from my experience never send food back the second time. Meal was deleted from bill so overall the dining experience was not a success. Again server was great and very pleasant. I am a previous restaurant owner so I hope I am not being harsh on this situation.. By the way it was our honeymoon!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Very good

Dined on October 17, 2015

My husband and I both had the filet and we were really impressed. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling through Rapid City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.