About Delicate Palate Bistro

35280 Brooten Rd
Pacific City, OR 97135
View Larger Map

Join us at the Bistro, where memories are born and great times are shared, while enjoying world class wines paired with exquisite cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Northwest, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 3:30m - 9:00pm Fall and Winter

Cross Street:
Pacific Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 965-6464

Website:
http://www.delicatepalatebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live music once or twice a month from local musicians.

Parking Details:
Free parking available at Bistro and Inn.

Executive Chef:
Geoff Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Bistro dining room available for rent for exclusive dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Patt Williams: 5039656464x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Delicate Palate Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Oregon Coast
Best Restaurants in Lincoln City ›

Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
See All
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
30 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food generally. I had steak with w ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food generally. I had steak with wild mushrooms. Chocolate cake was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Second time to have dinner at this resta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Second time to have dinner at this restaurant and both times the food was excellent, we went with friends and every one had a great meal from the halibut to the fillet

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice meal, good service, food was well p ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Nice meal, good service, food was well prepared and plated. For a one horse beach town very excellent dining. Will visit again on our next trip. Exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Delicate Palate Bistro can hold its ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The Delicate Palate Bistro can hold its own in most places, but it definitely shines on the Oregon Coast. Excellent, attentive, personal service that lets you leisurely enjoy a peaceful dinner, while also making you feel like a special guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner for Board of Directors

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

This is a gem to be appreciated in the small beach town of Pacific City. We had our company strategy meeting and enjoyed a fine meal at the Bistro. It is a quint place perfect for a bit of fine dining in an otherwise Pub and Grill town. The food, service and everything was great. They were even patient with us as were kinda loud and crass at a couple of points in our conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Review

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

Food, atmosphere, waitress, were all excellent. We will come back on our next visit to Pacific City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps they have changed owners. Our la ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Perhaps they have changed owners. Our last experience was fabulous. This one was pitiful, I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Not What You Would Expect

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

From the outside, it doesn't look like this bistro will amount to much. But step inside and you immediately feel the ambiance of a 5-star restaurant. The food goes right along with that (everything was excellent!), although the servers are not as uptight and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Unacceptable

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Very few people when we arrived at 6 on a Saturday night. We were not plated with our food until 7:45. Absolutely unacceptable. Asked two different servers what the reason was for the excessive wait. Got two different answers. "We're European style". Having traveled multiple times in Europe, perhaps the waiter should travel there before making an incorrect comparison. Second response was, "someone didn't show up for work".

Now to the food. We were a party of 4. Two had the what was claimed to be a petit New York steak cooked medium rare. NONE of us have EVER seen a New York steak that

was 1/2" thick. Medium rare on this 1/2" steak was a paper thin pink line in the center.

The side vegetables were overcooked, including charred potatoes. Another person had the salmon which was mediocre at best. The side was the same

overcooked portion as above. The exception was the bouillabaisse I had, which was very good, and the only entree on our table that was in anyway near being worth the price.

Service. Lacking at best. Over 30 minutes to receive the bottle of wine we ordered. Server never came again to pour empty wine glasses. One water refill in 2 1/2 hours.

Will never again eat here. Better to spend the wait time driving north or south an hour to a better food source.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Nice "nice" restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Very nice "nice" restaurant in Pacific City; although unexpected. We made reservations based on the exterior; which was a big surprise when we went in. A big pleasant surprise.

Because of our surprise we brought two young children (to a caliber of restaurant we usually wouldn't) but the staff was gracious and very accommodating.

Only down side was the time of service. Didn't seem too busy but our meal was a two and a half hour event. A bit long with kids but the nice wine list helped and the staff was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Patience a must.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Great food! Horrible service time. Unbelievable length of time between ordering and meal delivery- over an hour. If you go you'll have a greatest. Just bring a long list of conversation topics and a load of patience with you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Dinner at 5:00 p.m. on a Thursday evening.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2015

The pan fried oysters were wonderful. My halibut was a bit dry. My husband's ahi tuna was cooked to perfection. We were the only ones in the restaurant at the time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It Had Been Awhile

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 20, 2014

We decided to visit the Delicate Palette again after a long hiatus due to a lack of opportunity. However, this time around everything meshed. Our visit the first time was a very pleasant experience. I wasn't really certain what we would find after such a long time. Fortunately, the dining experience this time was every bit as wonderful as what we had a few years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a Find!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 30, 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary here and gave the chef free rein. He didn't disappoint! Outstanding start to finish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real find

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

Thanks to the reviews we found this gem. The Asian bouillabaisse was as good as reported by others. This Chef is top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

Hidden away but worth trying. Really high quality place in a nondescript place. Probably the best local establishment for dinner. Surprisingly great wine list and fresh food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good appetizers, rest is overpriced

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

The service was great! We chose to sit in the sunroom. The appetizers were very good. The rest of the menu is overpriced. We had the halibut and it was a small portion for the price, and not all that fresh, albeit well-presented. The mashed potatoes with it were good. Wine by the glass was a decent value. Not sure if we would return or not. Maybe just for "tapas".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Outstanding Food & Service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2014

While vacationing in Pacific City, we were celebrating our daughter's 13th birthday and choose the Delicate Palate Bistro for an upscale yet casual dinner celebration. We were extremely satisfied with our choice. The food selection and preparation was excellent, the wine list was strong, and the service was absolutely outstanding. The owner surprised our children at the end of the dinner with two very large pieces of chocolate cake which made the evening even more special. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Coastal French Restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2014

We enjoyed this little French bistro very much. Unpretentious excellent menu. The Asian fusion bouillabaisse was out of this world. The wine list was excellent. We appreciated the strong Oregon Pinot representation. Bartender makes great martinis and lemon drops! Good coastal find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Another Pacific City attraction

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2014

If I didn't believe that the five start rating should be reserved for the likes of The French Laundry and Alinea, Delicate Palate would have received five stars for its food. It was a delightful and completely unexpected dining experience in Pacific City. We will return there before leaving the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great find!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

A most unexpected quality restaurant for this small casual beach community.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress thought she was a

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2014

Waitress thought she was a know it all, kind of bossy. The salads were to big, the fish was over cooked. To many potatoes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Wonderful surprise

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2014

Great little restaurant with a French twist. Tucked in a gaudy-looking "Inn" sign within a mile or so of Highway 101. Waitress was very knowledgeable about beer and wine list and made excellent food suggestions. Our best meal of the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2014

What a find in an "off the grid" town. One could easily pass this restaurant located adjacent to a small motel. The menu offers a very eclectic yet appealing array of options. My husband and I split two excellent and substantial appetizers: fried oysters and ravioli stuffed with crab in a delectable white wine sauce with delicious bruschetta. I had a bowl of creamy tomato soup that was topped with a large and delicious puff pastry. My husband had seared Ahi tuna which was done to perfection. We finished this incredible dinner with one of the best renditions of Bananas Foster I have ever had: sauce was not extremely sweet, like in so many renditions.

Food doesn't come to your table quickly, only because the chef is preparing it with love!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good and plentiful.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2014

The food was good and plentiful. Our server was excellent. Unfortunately my chair was right next to a cadet heater in the wall and it was hot on my backside. They turned it down, but then it was cold. Maybe rethink that particular table location. And we drove past it twice because the Sign was hard to see. It was big but the name of the restaurant was small and unlit. We would eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A little spot for romance

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 27, 2013

Delicate Palate is our choice when we go to the Oregon Coast for family vacation. Leave the kids and have a romantic "dad and mom getaway." Food is always great. Ambiance and service are fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best!!!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 19, 2013

We go out to eat mainly for special occasions. This was one of those evenings. The bartender was working as a waitress and doing the bar. She set us up by the fireplace. It was very nice. She was also very helpful with the wine list and menu items. The dinner was great as well as the presentation. The desserts fantastic. This restaurant is a great find in Pacific City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not to be missed!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 17, 2013

This newer dining/ wine bar should not be missed as it's one of the best - not only at the coast but in Oregon ! Everything we had was excellent and beautifully prepared. Even though we did not want an entire bottle if wine- the wine we had by the glass was delicious.we went back the very next evening to have yet another wonderful appetizer at the bar and also enjoyed desert. I will make sure I dine with them again (,and let friends know to go there )every time I return to the coast.it really added to our weekend of enjoyment in Pacific City,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great food, fresh taste

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 3, 2013

The Delicate Palate was a gem to find nestled in the little town of Pacific City.

We had a party of 6 and our food arrived hot, and at the same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

crab cakes and bouillabaisse

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 28, 2013

crab cakes and bouillabaisse were great, all in all a great evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.