Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 1.31mi

About Delicate Palate Bistro

Join us at the Bistro, where memories are born and great times are shared, while enjoying world class wines paired with exquisite cuisine.

35280 Brooten Rd
Pacific City, OR 97135
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Northwest, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 3:30m - 9:00pm Fall and Winter

Cross Street:
Pacific Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 965-6464

Website:
http://www.delicatepalatebistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live music once or twice a month from local musicians.

Parking Details:
Free parking available at Bistro and Inn.

Executive Chef:
Geoff Williams

Private Party Facilities:
Bistro dining room available for rent for exclusive dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Patt Williams: (503) 965-6464

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Delicate Palate Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

excellent food , wine and service. will return when in the area. Have already recommened to several friends

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

From appetizer through dessert, food was presented artistically and prepared creatively. The wine-list is outstanding, the ambience quiet and romantic.
A bit pricey, but not by big-city standards. On this occasion we we enjoyed a bouillabaise (outstanding!) and herb crusted halibut (perfec
It was our third visit to The Delicate Palate, and we'll keep returning!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The only thing we were disappointed I was that the halibut was way over cooked! Especially for the price we paid!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very nice place for the location. Food was ok to good. Service was very nice but slow.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Would highly recommend. Food was amazing, more than enough on portion size. Just excellent all the way around. Made me feel like we're at home, atmosphere. The food was way better than at home for me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We came here for my wife's birthday. The servers and owner were friendly and made an effort to ensure that we were enjoying the experience. The food was very good and correctly prepared. There is a well chosen wine list. This is a relatively expensive restaurant, but two or three cuts above anywhere else in the neighborhood.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

On vacation. It was highly recommended for dinner and didn't disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This used to be one of my favorites but over the past year-seems the portions are smaller and the prices are spendy (12$ for a glass of wine). This last visit costs us $200 for 4 of us and we only had soup and caesar salad (a smaller one) and an appetizer. The bar bill may have been at least 1/2 of that, but still...
afraid I' m going to have to cross them off my list :(

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent service, exquisite meal, fabulous wine selection and a perfect evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday there

Really outstanding food in a lovely setting
Our waitress was just excellent-very welcoming!!
She was attentive but not smothering
She allowed me to sample some of the wines

A very nice restaurant
I look forward to coming back when I'm down in Pacific City!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

For the price, we were expecting a little more professionalism. I ordered pork chops from their seasonal menu and was told 40 minutes later that they did not have enough, so I had to order another dish. My husband had the steak, although it had way too much pepper, it was cooked well. Needless to say, service was not up to par...unless you ordered wine. Other tables who ordered wine had better service than us. We did not order wine since it was getting too late and didn't want to drive to our hotel 30 minutes away. We have had better service in other reputable restaurants around the coastal area. On the positive side, their mushroom and tomato soup was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was way over cooked. My wife had a New York steak that was about 1/2 in thick and maybe 4-5 oz. cost almost $30. I had the halibut that had no flavor and was way to dry. It was about 6 in in length maybe 2 in wide and 1 in thick. It was cracked in 3 different places. This place is right on the coast and it had to be old. Payed over $30 for my meal and I've made better halibut at my house. I do not recommend this place. Way over priced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wine steward (owner?) was so accommodating and helped us select a nice bottle of wine. Crusted halibut with prawns, mashed potatoes and asparagus were fabulous. Beet salad was great. The only thing I must comment on in a slightly negative manner is the Caesar salad. Being a connoisseur of Caesar's.....well this was not a Caesar dressing. The slivered fresh Parmesan was good, lettuce good quality, but the dressing did not resemble Caesar. They really need to change that because otherwise, even though quite expensive, we really enjoyed the wonderful food and experience at the Delicate Palate!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Just get in the car and go here. You'll love it. One of our best finds on the Oregon Coast!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food generally. I had steak with wild mushrooms. Chocolate cake was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Second time to have dinner at this restaurant and both times the food was excellent, we went with friends and every one had a great meal from the halibut to the fillet

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Nice meal, good service, food was well prepared and plated. For a one horse beach town very excellent dining. Will visit again on our next trip. Exceeded our expectations.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2016

The Delicate Palate Bistro can hold its own in most places, but it definitely shines on the Oregon Coast. Excellent, attentive, personal service that lets you leisurely enjoy a peaceful dinner, while also making you feel like a special guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2015

This is a gem to be appreciated in the small beach town of Pacific City. We had our company strategy meeting and enjoyed a fine meal at the Bistro. It is a quint place perfect for a bit of fine dining in an otherwise Pub and Grill town. The food, service and everything was great. They were even patient with us as were kinda loud and crass at a couple of points in our conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2015

Food, atmosphere, waitress, were all excellent. We will come back on our next visit to Pacific City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2015

Perhaps they have changed owners. Our last experience was fabulous. This one was pitiful, I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2015

From the outside, it doesn't look like this bistro will amount to much. But step inside and you immediately feel the ambiance of a 5-star restaurant. The food goes right along with that (everything was excellent!), although the servers are not as uptight and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Very few people when we arrived at 6 on a Saturday night. We were not plated with our food until 7:45. Absolutely unacceptable. Asked two different servers what the reason was for the excessive wait. Got two different answers. "We're European style". Having traveled multiple times in Europe, perhaps the waiter should travel there before making an incorrect comparison. Second response was, "someone didn't show up for work".

Now to the food. We were a party of 4. Two had the what was claimed to be a petit New York steak cooked medium rare. NONE of us have EVER seen a New York steak that
was 1/2" thick. Medium rare on this 1/2" steak was a paper thin pink line in the center.
The side vegetables were overcooked, including charred potatoes. Another person had the salmon which was mediocre at best. The side was the same
overcooked portion as above. The exception was the bouillabaisse I had, which was very good, and the only entree on our table that was in anyway near being worth the price.

Service. Lacking at best. Over 30 minutes to receive the bottle of wine we ordered. Server never came again to pour empty wine glasses. One water refill in 2 1/2 hours.

Will never again eat here. Better to spend the wait time driving north or south an hour to a better food source.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Very nice "nice" restaurant in Pacific City; although unexpected. We made reservations based on the exterior; which was a big surprise when we went in. A big pleasant surprise.
Because of our surprise we brought two young children (to a caliber of restaurant we usually wouldn't) but the staff was gracious and very accommodating.
Only down side was the time of service. Didn't seem too busy but our meal was a two and a half hour event. A bit long with kids but the nice wine list helped and the staff was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2015

Great food! Horrible service time. Unbelievable length of time between ordering and meal delivery- over an hour. If you go you'll have a greatest. Just bring a long list of conversation topics and a load of patience with you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2015

The pan fried oysters were wonderful. My halibut was a bit dry. My husband's ahi tuna was cooked to perfection. We were the only ones in the restaurant at the time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2014

We decided to visit the Delicate Palette again after a long hiatus due to a lack of opportunity. However, this time around everything meshed. Our visit the first time was a very pleasant experience. I wasn't really certain what we would find after such a long time. Fortunately, the dining experience this time was every bit as wonderful as what we had a few years ago.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary here and gave the chef free rein. He didn't disappoint! Outstanding start to finish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 19, 2014

Thanks to the reviews we found this gem. The Asian bouillabaisse was as good as reported by others. This Chef is top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2014

Hidden away but worth trying. Really high quality place in a nondescript place. Probably the best local establishment for dinner. Surprisingly great wine list and fresh food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2014

The service was great! We chose to sit in the sunroom. The appetizers were very good. The rest of the menu is overpriced. We had the halibut and it was a small portion for the price, and not all that fresh, albeit well-presented. The mashed potatoes with it were good. Wine by the glass was a decent value. Not sure if we would return or not. Maybe just for "tapas".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2014

While vacationing in Pacific City, we were celebrating our daughter's 13th birthday and choose the Delicate Palate Bistro for an upscale yet casual dinner celebration. We were extremely satisfied with our choice. The food selection and preparation was excellent, the wine list was strong, and the service was absolutely outstanding. The owner surprised our children at the end of the dinner with two very large pieces of chocolate cake which made the evening even more special. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2014

We enjoyed this little French bistro very much. Unpretentious excellent menu. The Asian fusion bouillabaisse was out of this world. The wine list was excellent. We appreciated the strong Oregon Pinot representation. Bartender makes great martinis and lemon drops! Good coastal find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2014

If I didn't believe that the five start rating should be reserved for the likes of The French Laundry and Alinea, Delicate Palate would have received five stars for its food. It was a delightful and completely unexpected dining experience in Pacific City. We will return there before leaving the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2014

A most unexpected quality restaurant for this small casual beach community.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2014

Waitress thought she was a know it all, kind of bossy. The salads were to big, the fish was over cooked. To many potatoes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2014

Great little restaurant with a French twist. Tucked in a gaudy-looking "Inn" sign within a mile or so of Highway 101. Waitress was very knowledgeable about beer and wine list and made excellent food suggestions. Our best meal of the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2014

What a find in an "off the grid" town. One could easily pass this restaurant located adjacent to a small motel. The menu offers a very eclectic yet appealing array of options. My husband and I split two excellent and substantial appetizers: fried oysters and ravioli stuffed with crab in a delectable white wine sauce with delicious bruschetta. I had a bowl of creamy tomato soup that was topped with a large and delicious puff pastry. My husband had seared Ahi tuna which was done to perfection. We finished this incredible dinner with one of the best renditions of Bananas Foster I have ever had: sauce was not extremely sweet, like in so many renditions.
Food doesn't come to your table quickly, only because the chef is preparing it with love!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2014

The food was good and plentiful. Our server was excellent. Unfortunately my chair was right next to a cadet heater in the wall and it was hot on my backside. They turned it down, but then it was cold. Maybe rethink that particular table location. And we drove past it twice because the Sign was hard to see. It was big but the name of the restaurant was small and unlit. We would eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2013

Delicate Palate is our choice when we go to the Oregon Coast for family vacation. Leave the kids and have a romantic "dad and mom getaway." Food is always great. Ambiance and service are fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.