Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Del Alma

del Alma Restaurant, located in downtown Corvallis, offers an elegant yet warm and inviting dining atmosphere with a view of the riverfront. del Alma means literally "of the soul", and the entire del Alma staff strives to create a dining experience that reflects their passion for excellent service, warm hospitality, and great food. The menu is inspired by the flavors and cuisines of Latin America, the Caribbean, and Spain and offers items ranging from tapas to full entrees. del Alma brings its passion for the vibrant flavors of Latin America and pairs it with the offerings of the Northwest, using fresh ingredients from local markets, farms, and ranches. The bar hosts an array of libations ranging from south-of-the-border classics to contemporary cocktails plus an interesting and food-friendly wine list featuring both Old and New World selections. Prix-fixe dinner specials are available on Wednesdays and pairing dinners are regularly featured.

136 SW Washington Ave STE 102
Corvallis, OR 97333
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Latin / Spanish, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(541) 753-2222

Website:
http://www.delalmarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking on both Washington Avenue and 2nd Street. Free public lot located at 2nd and Western.

Executive Chef:
Conor Claffey-Koller

Private Party Facilities:
del Alma has a private banquet room that can accommodate up to 50 for dinners and other events. Please contact the restaurant for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Carolyn Krueger: (541) 753-2222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Del Alma Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Tapas (36)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Waterfront (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Healthy (13)
Scenic View (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

I rated the food lower only because this is the second time we have had an early seating (5:30-6pm), and they had already run out of the daily special. One would expect that if you are dining late, but no way at 5:30pm they should already be out of the daily special when they just opened for dinner at 5pm! This is poor planning on the chef's part. Otherwise it's a great restaurant, however, a little more variety and selection on the tapas menu would be good - they don't seem to vary it enough.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely ambiance and excellent food! The menu has a great assortment of Latin dishes, and the kitchen and server staff worked hard to make sure my meal was free of my allergens. Overall a memorable and positive experience! I highly recommend Del Alma for a satisfying meal in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Tasty cocktails and wonderful service provided by Amy Peterson!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Visited Corvallis to watch the Gophers defeat the Bevers (Ski-U-Mah). I made this reservation for our party of 9. Outstanding service. Truly the best service. Seated right away. Our server was always attending to our needs. She kept pur water glasses full and wine and food coming perfectly. I'm a vegetarian and found great stuff including appetizers. The other 8 people raved about their meals. I hope to go back to Corvallis!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I went there for our anniversary. For a restaurant that's considered upscale, it had more misses than hits. First of all, the appetizer was fantastic, but our main course was either not seasoned enough or too salty.
Our server was friendly and very kind, but he forgot to check in on us when we needed to order a drink or had questions.
Speaking of drinks, my wife ordered a drink that she said tasted like cleaning solution. I do commend you guys on taking back the drink and making her a different drink.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Honestly, Del Alma never disappoints. Great cocktails, superior tapas, excellent service. Hands down our fav place in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent service from Collette. My date's filet was world class--my shrimp crema was good but not great. Outstanding drinks. Great ambience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great meal with friends from Spain and Italy. They loved the local ingredients and tasty food combinations. Service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

My second visit to DelAlma. Food is excellent. The layout of the restaurant is awkward, especially for the wait staff who have to carry dishes up several flights of stairs. And I observed more than one elderly guest having difficulty negotiating the stairs to reach the rest room. Probably not much to be done about this, but the service was very good and the food as well.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A bright spot in the Corvallis dining scene. Combination of small and large plates provides a range of choices. Service was excellent, attentive without being intrusive. Location on cul de sac near the Willamette River is both peaceful and interesting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food just okay, nicely presentated. Good salmon. Poor old tough flour tortilla. Desserts unimaginative. Lots of stairs to climb to get to various eating levels, but there is an evevator for top level. As restaurants go, the noise level was a tad too loud for relaxed conversing between old friends,. Food healthfully low on salt, no salt on table . Very well-trained, personable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outstanding service by our waitress. I'm sorry I don't have her name. Very congenial and fun.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We sat outdoors partly because it was colder and noisier inside. Everything we had was outstanding, and the service - even though we were outside - was attentive without being obtrusive. If we're ever in Corvallis again, we would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent menu choices. Great service and great taste

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The restaurant and food was outstanding. I would recommend this to anybody wanting good Spanish food not Mexican food.
Our bill but came in under $75 for two of us we had a three-course dinner and it was just outstanding.

I would recommend this to everybody in the valley that's how good the food and service was

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

It was an amazing experience...great food and light and elegant service from the wait staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food. Great service. Very enjoyable and quiet outside.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Server made nice effort to mark up menu items specially to identify those meeting our restricted dietary needs. Kitchen failed to deliver modified version of entree to meet those requirements, and presented standard version. A lengthy wait for a replacement followed. Kitchen attempted to make amends by providing a gratis meatball dish while waiting, but the recipient does not eat meat so had to politely refuse it. It was a nice gesture but it would have been better to ask if such a small plate was wanted, and if so, which item, given the many dietary restrictions involved. All agreed that main dishes were significantly overpriced, undersized and in a number of cases over spiced. Several left the restaurant hungry after completing the meal. This was a birthday dinner, which was made known when reservation was made, as were dietary restrictions, but unfortunately no attempt was made to provide a dessert that was safe to eat for the birthday person who had been identified in the reservation as one of the two in the party with dietary restrictions. Overall disappointing particularly given the $230 cost for a party of five. We have been coming here for years and each recent visit had been progressively more disappointing. Del Alma is now off of of list, sorry to say, particularly given the nice physical setting, good service overall, and limited alternatives in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. The wait staff was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We started out for an early dinner date on Saturday night. A 5pm reservation, and we were seated promptly. Our server was immediately at our table. A bit smothering initially, but later on in our meal, she was no where to be found. The food was very good, and our server was less smothering as the restaurant filled. The choices easilly matched our needs.

A comment on the table and chairs, the tables are too wide for an intimate conversation. The chairs had little to no center support. I ended up pulling my chair to the side so that my date and I could converse without shouting. The seating may be the reason that the restaurant became very noisy as the evening progressed.

I highly recommend the dessert/wine bar next door too! We shared a Chocolate Chipolte Ganache that was wonderful with the mixes of spices and chocolate! The accompaning wine flights were perfectly paired!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely top notch! Most memorable flavors. Excellent experience.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Too much going on with the meal combinations. Cocktails and drinks were good. Service was good. Tapas and drinks look to be the specialty for this place. For the cost I'd much rather hit up another restaurant in the area or Albany.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food, always something new and different as well as standards. Nicely presented. Superb service: attentive without being obtrusive. Never had a bad wait person. Good wine list of standards and newbies. Can be a little noisy on the upper levels.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

this was such a cosmopolitan restaurant in an unexpected place. it was great.. and Natalie was an excellent server!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous. Food is inventive and beautiful. Veggie/vegan items are slim, but what is offered is delicious. Wait staff is typically top drawer, but this particular night new, so not overly familiar with the menu and a little too chatty. Nonetheless, a wonderful meal. Bravo, Del Alma.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Nice atmosphere very nice wine and desert menu! Great service! Liked it!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I had a wonderful time. I attended the restaurant to treat my friend to a high quality and delicious meal for her birthday. I wanted a comfortable yet elevated atmosphere for a one in one meal instead of the normal loud and busy family restaurant we are used to. This was definitely achieved, and we had an amazing time and greatly enjoyed the food. The only unfortunate thing was the grilled shrimp in my meal seemed overcooked and rubbery for the price tag, however the overall flavor was excellent. I will definitely recommend this place to others as well as return myself!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Love Del Alma. Service is good, food is amazing and the drink list is extensive. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

We always enjoy Del Alma for special occasions when family visits and everyone raves about the food--this visit was no exception. There were several exclamations of "unbelievable" and "outstanding." Our waiter was especially knowledgeable about the food too. Thanks for a wonderful evening to celebrate a 90th birthday amongst us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

An enjoyable evening with wonderful service in a trendy and elegant location. Well done! We will return.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Visited for our anniversary. Such a warm welcome as we arrived. Our server was helpful and kind. Food was amazing! Definitely coming back again...our new favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The blending of flavors was magical. While the entree selection looked great we ate about four tapas items along with dessert and a bottle of cava from Spain (Not often found on a wine menu). It was a perfect meal for a date with my bride. Have already recommended it and will go again. Well worth the hour trip from Salem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic place for our 30th wedding anniversary. Possibly the best dining experience ever. Service was timely. Server was knowledgeable. Main dishes were exceptional. Desserts were indescribably delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was excellent. I had the tuna ceviche with avocado,papaya and plantain chips and the chick pea small plate. The menu is filled with great small plates that are interesting and satisfying and full entrees as well. Wish there were more choices of local wines being offered. Wine flights are a good idea. The design of the interior looks like it was meant for a chain and doesn't reflect the craft or artistry of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Del Alma consistently delivers a good meal. The dishes are creative twists on old favorites. Do not come here expecting to get a traditional chile relleno, for example. Every dish involves combinations of flavors from mexico, spain, italy, and the Pacific northwest. I often wish that each dish had one fewer ingredient; the dishes tend to be complex. Presentation is lovely. The wine list offers a good selection of Oregon and regional wines with a few things from Argentina and Spain. Service is generally good. I wish it were less noisy; it is hard to have a conversation sometimes because the surfaces are so "live". Hint: In addition to the desserts in the menu, you can often ask for a sampler of the ice creams of the day. They makes some amazing flavors!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Del Alma is always a place you can count on for excellent food and a great experience. There is nothing I've had there that I was disappointed in. For the quality and the service, they are very reasonably priced.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great meal and great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a delicious meal in Del Alma's beautiful environment. All of the staff were friendly, and our waitress was attentive abd helpful. There are no vegan options on the menu, however, and not many vegetarian choices, which will limit how often we will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Discovered it because my daughter was attending Oregon State University. She graduated this year, and I will miss the opportunity to dine here. Absolutely delicious food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Organic, Business Meals, Tapas, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.